View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
28-07-2012, 08:14 AM
Perhaps the "bargaining chip " was in the hands of the SPL . Perhaps they wouldn't effect the transfer until they were sure that the EBT investigation could continue and have any teeth .
If that is the case then the SPL have won. that particular battle .
As it's so hard to separate the facts from the noise it's difficult to say for certain. But given the noise coming from ibrox and mccoist this week about never accepting the loss of titles, yesterday's announcement seems to be quite a big humiliation for the huns.
Caversham Green
28-07-2012, 08:24 AM
Perhaps the "bargaining chip " was in the hands of the SPL . Perhaps they wouldn't effect the transfer until they were sure that the EBT investigation could continue and have any teeth .
If that is the case then the SPL have won. that particular battle .
You mean the SPL bargaining against the SFA/SFL? Failing to transfer the share to Dundee wouldn't cause Sevco any problems, but if the SFA wanted the SPL to drop the investigation then it might give the SPL some leverage.
As it's so hard to separate the facts from the noise it's difficult to say for certain. But given the noise coming from ibrox and mccoist this week about never accepting the loss of titles, yesterday's announcement seems to be quite a big humiliation for the huns.
I think that's at the bottom of McCoist's latest infantile outburst. He talked himself into a corner and now looks an even bigger fool than he did before so he's doing what thick huns always do - blaming everyone else and spraying insults around. If he doesn't walk now he won't last the season IMO.
28-07-2012, 08:41 AM
You mean the SPL bargaining against the SFA/SFL? Failing to transfer the share to Dundee wouldn't cause Sevco any problems, but if the SFA wanted the SPL to drop the investigation then it might give the SPL some leverage.
Possibly. I suppose I mean that the SPL wanted to make sure that the EBT question continued...and this was their way of ensuring that the SFA included it as part of the membership criteria.
If that is the case (and, of course, it's only speculation) then the SPL have played a wee blinder.
BarneyK
28-07-2012, 08:48 AM
spot on but i would have liked to have seen a wage cap of about £1k a week rather than a transfer embargo that starts after this window shuts.
but thats just me :wink:
A wage cap for new signings, yeah. Existing players have contracts. It sticks in the craw to see them building a squad to stroll through the 3rd division - and could probably still finish top 3 in the SPL - but that's always going to happen with a club their size. Ally McCoist is looking and sounding increasingly demented, but he is right about the SFA showing no leadership throughout this whole thing. As for the stripping of titles though, nae luck bucko :greengrin
28-07-2012, 08:48 AM
I must be missing the point here - what in that statement specifically has upset you? They've been granted an SFA membership licence, the transfer embargo stands and the EBT dual contracts investigation goes on. Since the start of this whole thing, we as a support have fought to stop the game from becoming a farce in Scotland, and to the most part we've won. Yeah there could possibly be reconstruction next year which would let the Newco back into the SPL a year early (assuming they do the business on the park), but isn't it a reconstruction that we were all looking for anyway? The powers-that-be would have rolled over and let Newco back in, we stopped them. They would have dropped them into the SFL1, we stopped them. We restored the pride and respect in the game. After all that, why are we now walking away?
I'm adding my vote to this.
What else would people want? Complete annihilation of Rangers? The hanging of Murray and McCoist from the Vatican? Desirable, maybe :greengrin, but seriously....???
28-07-2012, 08:51 AM
What else would people want? Complete annihilation of Rangers? The hanging of Murray and McCoist from the Vatican? Desirable, maybe :greengrin, but seriously....???
We live and hope!
BarneyK
28-07-2012, 08:54 AM
That's what confuses me :dunno: My reading of the joint statement is that the so called "deal" has resulted in no concessions by the SPL or SFA. Not one. Yet still some are outraged.
28-07-2012, 08:56 AM
I must be missing the point here - what in that statement specifically has upset you? They've been granted an SFA membership licence, the transfer embargo stands and the EBT dual contracts investigation goes on. Since the start of this whole thing, we as a support have fought to stop the game from becoming a farce in Scotland, and to the most part we've won. Yeah there could possibly be reconstruction next year which would let the Newco back into the SPL a year early (assuming they do the business on the park), but isn't it a reconstruction that we were all looking for anyway? The powers-that-be would have rolled over and let Newco back in, we stopped them. They would have dropped them into the SFL1, we stopped them. We restored the pride and respect in the game. After all that, why are we now walking away?
You are kidding , right? Just because they call something a punishment doesn't mean it is....
Transfer embargo, they will now sign more players than any other Scottish club in this window. All the type of players they are signing just now will be eligible to sign for them next year on Sept 1st as well so in essence a 4 week signing ban in January.
£160,000 fine, not bad for witholding £14m in PAYE, bringing game into disrepute and only match .fixing considered worse in terms of wrongdoing. Surely an SPL club business plan rather than a punishment.
Repaying football debt, this will be staggered over several years and beneficiaries include other bastions of financial probity such as errrmmm Hearts. Stll well up on deal after shafting non footballing creditors.
10 point SPL penalty, instead of finishing second they finished ehhhhhh second.
In terms of consequences rather than punishment they have had to restart in div 3. But this will be div 3 not as we know it. On tv more than any club outwith Celtic, sudden interest in div 3 by the likes of Traynor et al....The Rangers Great adventure.
3 years in the lower leagues, unlikely, reconstruction will ensure a 2 year absence if not less.
Anybody holding out any hope of significant sanction for EBT scandal, 10 years of cheating, needs to remember Doncaster is the one leading that charge, hmmmm, slap on the wrist Ally?
Thank God for UEFA. The only authority with clear defined rules that kicked in instantly when Rangers scenario developed and were liquidated. 3 year ban from Europe the only punishment/consequence that will seriously hurt Rangers.
The football is back now and we can start watching games again, my season ticket has been signed and sealed since early bird deadline, but the disillusionment in Scottish football is palpable right now especially at Hibs with the double whammy of Cup Final humiliation and the Rangers farce fresh in everybody's mind. It will be a long time before wouds heal and football in this country regains any respect imo.
28-07-2012, 08:56 AM
What else would people want? Complete annihilation of Rangers? The hanging of Murray and McCoist from the Vatican? Desirable, maybe :greengrin, but seriously....???I wanted people tae stop trying tae make deals with them and instead tell them how it is, same as they would have with anybody else. This whole thing has been a disgrace from start tae finish. How regan and doncaster are still there is beyond me other then everybody must have agreed with what they have been doing and the way they've gone about it. Newco in division 3 or not, the people running the game in this country are still a shower of twisted *****.
28-07-2012, 08:59 AM
You are kidding , right? Just because they call something a punishment doesn't mean it is....
Transfer embargo, they will now sign more players than any other Scottish club in this window. All the type of players they are signing just now will be eligible to sign for them next year on Sept 1st as well so in essence a 4 week signing ban in January.
£160,000 fine, not bad for witholding £14m in PAYE, bringing game into disrepute and only match .fixing considered worse in terms of wrongdoing.
Repaying football debt, this will be staggered over several years and beneficiaries include other bastions of financial probity such as errrmmm Hearts. Stll well up on deal after shafting non footballing creditors.
In terms of consequences rather than punishment they have had to restart in div 3. But this will be div 3 not as we know it. On tv more than any club outwith Celtic, sudden interest in div 3 by the likes of Traynor et al....The Rangers Great adventure.
3 years in the lower leagues, unlikely, reconstruction will ensure a 2 year absence if not less.
Anybody holding out any hope of significant sanction for EBT scandal, 10 years of cheating, needs to remember Doncaster is the one leading that charge, hmmmm, slap on the wrist Ally?
Thank God for UEFA. The only authority with clear defined rules that kicked in instantly when Rangers scenario developed and were liquidated. 3 year ban from Europe the only punishment/consequence that will seriously hurt Rangers.
The football is back now and we can start watching games again, my season ticket has been signed and sealed since early bird deadline, but the disillusionment in Scottish football is palpable right now especially at Hibs with the double whammy of Cup Final humiliation and the Rangers farce fresh in everybody's mind. It will be a long time before wouds heal and football in this country regains any respect imo.:top marks
28-07-2012, 09:01 AM
That's what confuses me :dunno: My reading of the joint statement is that the so called "deal" has resulted in no concessions by the SPL or SFA. Not one. Yet still some are outraged.
I think people are mostly outraged at the fact that Rangers haven't learnt anything from this. They believe they've been hard done by and they are already trying to sign players that should be far beyond their financial capabilities.
Think about it. A division 3 club that has been newly formed, out spending an SPL club like our own, who are at least trying to do things the sensible way.
Something stinks and it goes beyond the usual stench of the hunnery.
28-07-2012, 09:04 AM
I think people are mostly outraged at the fact that Rangers haven't learnt anything from this. They believe they've been hard done by and they are already trying to sign players that should be far beyond their financial capabilities.
Think about it. A division 3 club that has been newly formed, out spending an SPL club like our own, who are at least trying to do things the sensible way.
Something stinks and it goes beyond the usual stench of the hunnery.
They are a much bigger team than us and can therefore spend much more than us on players. That was never going to change.
£160,000 fine, not bad for witholding £14m in PAYE, bringing game into disrepute and only match .fixing considered worse in terms of wrongdoing. Surely an SPL club business plan rather than a punishment.
The football is back now and we can start watching games again, my season ticket has been signed and sealed since early bird deadline, but the disillusionment in Scottish football is palpable right now especially at Hibs with the double whammy of Cup Final humiliation and the Rangers farce fresh in everybody's mind. It will be a long time before wouds heal and football in this country regains any respect imo.
Let's not forget that the SFA did try to have an immediate transfer embargo, which was knocked back by the Courts.
What else would you want?
BarneyK
£160,000 fine, not bad for witholding £14m in PAYE, bringing game into disrepute and only match .fixing considered worse in terms of wrongdoing.
A guilty verdict and a stripping of titles will finish it for me. What punishment do you think they should have received? The EBT/double contracts thing is the main issue I have. That's the one that allowed them to cheat and win honours they may not have won otherwise. And that hasn't been proven yet. Other than that, they went bust, they start again. There is precedent for this. I would certainly agree with a wage cap, but other than that...
28-07-2012, 09:07 AM
I wanted people tae stop trying tae make deals with them and instead tell them how it is, same as they would have with anybody else. This whole thing has been a disgrace from start tae finish. How regan and doncaster are still there is beyond me other then everybody must have agreed with what they have been doing and the way they've gone about it. Newco in division 3 or not, the people running the game in this country are still a shower of twisted *****.
The "deals" are what has been reported in the media. The interpretation I have is that the SFA said "this is what you have to sign up to before you're allowed in". Thus far, I don't see any concession on the SFA's part..... ie no deals have been struck.
28-07-2012, 09:09 AM
Let's not forget that the SFA did try to have an immediate transfer embargo, which was knocked back by the Courts.
How about accepting the transfer embargo from it's original immediate effect, or how about one of the available sanctions a court would accept such as suspension or expulsion?
28-07-2012, 09:09 AM
They are a much bigger team than us and can therefore spend much more than us on players. That was never going to change.
No they're not.
"Rangers" were a bigger club than us.
This "new club" don't know how big they are. They haven't played 1 league game in their history yet.
Yet, they're already piecing together a squad that would finish in the top 2 in the SPL, never mind DIV3.
28-07-2012, 09:10 AM
How about accepting the transfer embargo from it's original immediate effect, or how about one of the available sanctions a court would accept such as suspension or expulsion?
If your club was threatened with a sanction that wasn't allowed in the rules, would you accept it?
BarneyK
28-07-2012, 09:10 AM
The "deals" are what has been reported in the media. The interpretation I have is that the SFA said "this is what you have to sign up to before you're allowed in". Thus far, I don't see any concession on the SFA's part..... ie no deals have been struck.
:agree: The media have consistently throughout the whole affair tried to treat us like idiots, and to be fair, it seems to have worked with a fair few of the Newco fans. Funny that...:whistle:
28-07-2012, 09:12 AM
So there is no deal to make transfer embargo ineffectual by starting it after transfer window. A glaring 'deal' in my eyes.
28-07-2012, 09:12 AM
No they're not.
This "new club" don't know how big they are. They haven't played 1 league game in their history yet.
Yet, they're already piecing together a squad that would finish in the top 2 in the SPL, never mind DIV3.
Stop kidding yourself. They look like Rangers, act like Rangers and no doubt smell like them. The entire fanbase of the "old" Rangers will support them.
28-07-2012, 09:13 AM
It isn't. For Celtic and Rangers it is vital given the level of expectation from their fans. Making the 'facts' suit our wish list is simply deluded.
That wasn't how I read your previous post. It sounded like the financial consequences for Sevco of playing in the SPL without being eligible for European football would be worse than the costs of playing their way up from Division Three.
They can't get European football for the next three years regardless of which division they're in, so to my mind it's not relevant to the financial side of things. If not being in Europe upsets their fans, I can live with that :greengrin
28-07-2012, 09:14 AM
If your club was threatened with a sanction that wasn't allowed in the rules, would you accept it?
If I realised the punishment was lesser than one I could actually receive legitamally(sp:rolleyes:) then yes. But I don't share the arrogance of McCoist et al.
28-07-2012, 09:16 AM
If I realised the punishment was lesser than one I could actually receive legitamally(sp:rolleyes:) then yes. But I don't share the arrogance of McCoist et al.
But you would still contest the illegitimate punishment, which is my point. RFC were correct to question that... albeit they chose the wrong way... and so would any other club be.
BarneyK
28-07-2012, 09:16 AM
No they're not.
100% true. At least until they play 1 league game...:wink:
28-07-2012, 09:17 AM
Stop kidding yourself. They look like Rangers, act like Rangers and no doubt smell like them. The entire fanbase of the "old" Rangers will support them.
Well i'm not convinced that their "entire" fanbase will support them.
Playing in the divisions will take a hard hit on their numbers I reckon.
Ours dropped considerably when we only went into DIV1 and that was with our club and history still intact.
28-07-2012, 09:19 AM
Ours dropped considerably when we only went into DIV1 and that was with our club and history still intact.
Yeah, and we spent more money that the rest of the League in getting out of it too..... :greengrin
BarneyK
28-07-2012, 09:21 AM
What are the actual figures for that season? The line always used is that our attendances actually went up because we were having some measure of success. :dunno:
But you would still contest the illegitimate punishment, which is my point. RFC were correct to question that... albeit they chose the wrong way... and so would any other club be.
Not necessarily CWG. One Judge disagreed with another if you recall. SFA had right of appeal but never. Rangers have of course accepted it now when it isn't an effectual punishment.
Effectual punishment, the real thing lacking through all this sorry mess.
Their entire fan base will continue to support them which gives them a massive advantage in terms of potential match attendees. And as far as the hordes are concerned their club and history will be intact because they will be watching a team playing in the same strips in the same stadium.
28-07-2012, 09:22 AM
Just before liquidation I expected there to be a Rangers in the SPL with penalties backed by the Scottish Media. At the end of the season 2012/13 I expected the penalties to be reviewed and Rangers to get away with pretty much everything I really thought we were going to be totally shafted. The bigots would still turn up at Easter Road and turn my stomach
Not in my wildest deams did I expect Scottish football to do the right thing and treat newco Rangers like they would any other club. I take my hat off to the chairman who carried this through.
To me the only outstanding matters are the EBTs which must result in taking titles and with-holding the Cups with Rangers name removed. Doncaster and Regan must be removed, sacked for that matter. I am sure their lies to the press and us about Sky deals, civil unrest etc would be enough to hang them.
Most importantly the opportunity to revitalise the whole of Scottish football can't be missed and must be dealt with.
28-07-2012, 09:22 AM
What are the actual figures for that season? The line always used is that our attendances actually went up because we were having some measure of success. :dunno:
That's a myth. Our own share of the gate may have gone up.... but the away supports were very small.
28-07-2012, 09:24 AM
It all depends on which particular argument you want the 'facts' to fit.:greengrin
I think our attendances were down though.
28-07-2012, 09:39 AM
I'm not sure what more could have been done, without it starting to border on victimisation?
The fines that were dished out were pretty much the highest the rules allowed.
Rangers expected to reform and walk away from their financial responsibilities, but (creditors excepted) they have not been allowed to do this.
Sally stated that they would NEVER accept stripping of titles, and had to do some embarrassing back tracking yesterday on that one.
The only punishment that might be a non-punishment is the transfer embargo, but let's face it they were always going to walk div 3 (and 2) regardless.
If there is reconstruction that results in them getting back into the SPL sooner, although I can't see how, then surely that can only benefit us? Would you rather we stayed the same purely to keep them out another year?
I am happy enough with yesterday's outcome, it's better than I would have expected 2 months ago.
28-07-2012, 09:48 AM
The "deals" are what has been reported in the media. The interpretation I have is that the SFA said "this is what you have to sign up to before you're allowed in". Thus far, I don't see any concession on the SFA's part..... ie no deals have been struck.Aye, and none of the stuff tae try and get them in tae the SPL & 1st division happened either because it was in the papers right?. :rolleyes: The simple fact that regan, doncaster, ogilve, et al are still rolling along within the corridors of power of Scottish fitba tells me all I need tae ken about the rest of the people involved in the upper echelons too..
I wanted the Appellate Tribunal to resit and impose one of the penalties that was on the official list - a one season suspension of membership would have been my choice. The court verdict specifically stated that Rangers could not assume that the SFA was being directed to impose a more lenient punishment, so there was no legal reason not to go down that road. As it is, the start date of 1st September means that the sanction is not even as strict as the original one, which was intended to be helpful to Rangers. Never pat a rabid dog is the lesson to be learned from their behaviour!
While I have no doubt that the SFA backed down quite unnecessarily on this issue, there are other things which can be done in the future. The opportunity to restructure the voting and money distribution of the SPL must be taken. Fans of all clubs need to keep pressure on their officials to get this done. It's absolutely vital for the Scottish game's future.
The dual contract investigation has to continue. I can just about understand that the SPL might want to postpone action until the tax case is resolved, but they musn't let it drop. It could still have a big effect on Rangers' future and Green's profits. If it's decided that Rangers' past title wins were invalid, then UEFA are likely to take an interest. The current three year ban for lack of accounts could become something far larger.
In the shorter term we'll see how sound the financial plan presented with the licence application turns out to be.
It all depends on which particular argument you want the 'facts' to fit.:greengrin
I think our attendances were down though.
Nope :aok: average home attendance was up. We still lost around £5,000 000 though according to RP
Season 1998/99 - 1st Div - 18 games - Capacity 16281
Total - 183957
Highest - 14843
Average - 10220
Season 2011/12 - SPL - 19 games - Capacity 20421
Total - 188271
Highest - 15281
Average - 9909
28-07-2012, 09:51 AM
That's a myth. Our own share of the gate may have gone up.... but the away supports were very small.
They've had 13 years to grow taller tho. :agree:
28-07-2012, 09:54 AM
Nope :aok: average home attendance was up. We still lost around £5,000 000 though according to RP
Total - 183957
Highest - 14843
Average - 10220
Total - 188271
Highest - 15281
Average - 9909
What were the attendances like in Season 97/98 though?
28-07-2012, 10:05 AM
So there is no deal to make transfer embargo ineffectual by starting it after transfer window. A glaring 'deal' in my eyes.
To be fair, it was a 1 year embargo so no point in starting it in the middle of a transfer window.
Let's remember that the transfer embargo itself was an SFA/SPL cock up. They were NEVER going to suspend or throw out the Huns (they pretty much stated this was too harsh at the original tribunal) so it was either the embargo or another piddling fine.
I think the embargo, as ineffectual as it might turn out to be, is still going to be more of a nuisance to the hun than a £100k fine.
28-07-2012, 10:11 AM
To me the only outstanding matters are the EBTs which must result in taking titles and with-holding the Cups with Rangers name removed. Doncaster and Regan must be removed, sacked for that matter.
And don't forget Ogilvie!
He has been keeping a low profile recently, but remember that he was the recipient of an EBT and was well aware of what was going on.
28-07-2012, 10:17 AM
To be fair, it was a 1 year embargo so no point in starting it in the middle of a transfer window.
Let's remember that the transfer embargo itself was an SFA/SPL cock up. They were NEVER going to suspend or throw out the Huns (they pretty much stated this was too harsh at the original tribunal) so it was either the embargo or another piddling fine.
I think the embargo, as ineffectual as it might turn out to be, is still going to be more of a nuisance to the hun than a £100k fine.
It may be more of a nuisance in the longer term. If the marquee signings :greengrin don't attract the ST sales, then there will be cash-flow problems very soon. One can see the possibility of having to sell players, perhaps in January, with no ability to replace them.
Lungo--Drom
28-07-2012, 10:18 AM
He's been dreaming again...
"In recent days I have bumped into Celtic, Hearts
and Motherwell fans, and they were saying the
same thing - "It's time to stop kicking Rangers and
start getting Scottish football looking forward not
back".
28-07-2012, 10:26 AM
Season 1997/98 - SPL- 19 games - Capacity 16281
Total - 228475
Highest - 15565
Average - 12025
All attendance stats can be found here
http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/club_records_league_attendance.php
28-07-2012, 10:30 AM
Unfortunately this is true
28-07-2012, 10:32 AM
Total - 228475
Highest - 15565
Average - 12025
So it is a myth. :agree:
HibbyRod
28-07-2012, 10:34 AM
As regards the signing ban, if it kicks in in the first minute of September 1st this season, does that mean that it expires on the last day of August 2013? - thus they cannot sign any players over 18 years old for 2 full transfer windows (to end of Jan and August 2013)?
If so, I think that in fact this is a decent punishment, as effectively they can't make any signings until January 2014 window - albeit they can sign players up to the 1st September 2012.
Is this correct? :confused:
28-07-2012, 10:37 AM
Total - 228475
Highest - 15565
Average - 12025
So the average attendance DID drop by a significant amount. :greengrin
28-07-2012, 10:46 AM
A lot of noise has been made about this 'deal' and current offences, feels like a bit of misdirection to me. Therefore my thoughts are that the deal will be based on what is lurking in the background still to come out of which could potentially kill the club and put former and present custodians in a rather difficult legal position. Perhaps given the 'deal' is in place, it is due to the subsequent brushing under the carpet of explosive issues we do not know about?? Deal with the devil perchance?
28-07-2012, 10:52 AM
Shooting off on another topic.
Sunday's match at Brechin.
No doubt 3/4000 Rangers fans will turn up with a belligerent wha's like us attitude and treat the assembled Brechin fans, neutrals and TV audience to their full repertoire of bigoted sectarian songs.
I don't know if there are any sanctions for such behaviour in the SFL Rulebook but it will be interesting to see the reaction to what I think is the certainty of their misbehaviour. Will Brechin's finest take any action on the day? Will it solely be a matter for SFL, or do SFA, the compliance officer or EUFA get involved? Will we be treated to another outburst from Mr McCoist?
Oh, and by the way, I don't think I've seen anything about outcome of the investigation into the behaviour of the Rangers fans at the home match against Kilmarnock immediately after administration was announced. Has it been swept under the carpet too?
28-07-2012, 11:11 AM
As regards the signing ban, if it kicks in in the first minute of September 1st this season, does that mean that it expires on the last day of August 2013? - thus they cannot sign any players over 18 years old for 2 full transfer windows (to end of Jan and August 2013)?
If so, I think that in fact this is a decent punishment, as effectively they can't make any signings until January 2014 window - albeit they can sign players up to the 1st September 2012.
Is this correct? :confused:
aye, that's correct. Its why I changed my mind about it, originally I thought it was a waste of time :-)
28-07-2012, 11:40 AM
I'm not sure what more could have been done, without it starting to border on victimisation?
Rangers expected to reform and walk away from their financial responsibilities, but (creditors excepted) they have not been allowed to do this.
Might be missing something here, but isn't the force of your sentence above "Rangers expected to reform and walk away from their financial responsibilities, but, apart from walking away from all the people they owed money to, they have not been allowed to do this." :hmmm:
28-07-2012, 11:54 AM
My understanding was that the season in the first division resulted in a loss of £2.7m. When did Rod say it was £5m?
28-07-2012, 11:55 AM
Shooting off on another topic.
Sunday's match at Brechin.
No doubt 3/4000 Rangers fans will turn up with a belligerent wha's like us attitude and treat the assembled Brechin fans, neutrals and TV audience to their full repertoire of bigoted sectarian songs.
I don't know if there are any sanctions for such behaviour in the SFL Rulebook but it will be interesting to see the reaction to what I think is the certainty of their misbehaviour. Will Brechin's finest take any action on the day? Will it solely be a matter for SFL, or do SFA, the compliance officer or EUFA get involved? Will we be treated to another outburst from Mr McCoist?
Oh, and by the way, I don't think I've seen anything about outcome of the investigation into the behaviour of the Rangers fans at the home match against Kilmarnock immediately after administration was announced. Has it been swept under the carpet too?
I thought they were boycotting everybody?
28-07-2012, 11:55 AM
Total - 183957
Highest - 14843
Average - 10220
Total - 188271
Highest - 15281
Average - 9905
Is that £5m?!? I doubt our turnover was £5m that year!
28-07-2012, 12:06 PM
Sorry to keep banging on about this Stevie but the SFA are asking Rangers to accept the the original tribunal's decision which was a 1 year transfer embargo with immediate effect from when the tribunal sat.
They have tweeked it in a deal with Sevco that they will 'accept' embargo( very good of them when alternative is suspension or expulsion) but only on proviso that it starts on 1st Sept when window shuts.
Rangers wouldn't accept original embargo because it wouldn't allow debt free 'the Rangers' to sign any players this season, in other words it was a PUNISHMENT. They and the SFA are now happy to move forward that they have negotiated the new embargo which on paper is a punishment but really is nothing of the sort.
28-07-2012, 12:11 PM
Sorry to keep banging on about this Stevie but the SFA are asking Rangers to accept the the original tribunal's decision which was a 1 year transfer embargo with immediate effect from when the tribunal sat.
They have tweeked it in a deal with Sevco that they will 'accept' embargo( very good of them when alternative is suspension or expulsion) but only on proviso that it starts on 1st Sept when window shuts.
Rangers wouldn't accept original embargo because it wouldn't allow debt free 'the Rangers' to sign any players this season, in other words it was a PUNISHMENT. They and the SFA are now happy to move forward that they have negotiated the new embargo which on paper is a punishment but really is nothing of the sort.
As I said above, it could turn out to be more of a punishment than the original proposal. The original one would have had them cutting their financial cloth prudently. This one could have them struggling by Christmas.
28-07-2012, 12:15 PM
And, as I said above, it could turn out to be more of a punishment than the original proposal. The original one would have had them cutting their financial cloth prudently. This one could have them struggling by Christmas.
I hope you are right but the cynic in me finds it More likely that their legal team will probably find them a loophole enabling them to sign further players in January.:rolleyes:
28-07-2012, 12:16 PM
I hope you are right but the cynic in me finds it More likely that their legal team will probably find them a loophole enabling them to sign further players in January.:rolleyes:
Cynic? You? :greengrin
Sorry, couldn't resist it!!! :na na:
28-07-2012, 12:21 PM
Cynic? You? :greengrin
Sorry, couldn't resist it!!! :na na:
What is the use of straining after an amiable view of things, when a cynical view is most likely to be the true one?
Georg Bernard Shaw.:cb
28-07-2012, 12:25 PM
Average attendance for 97/98 was 12,025; 98/99 (Div 1) 10,433 and 99/00 11,603.
There is an argument that as div 1 teams carried, generally, smaller visiting supports therefore the home attendances increased. It is a reasonable argument to make and cant be proved or disproved either way and what a persons overall view is seems to depend on the point they are trying to make.
28-07-2012, 12:26 PM
Might be missing something here, but isn't the force of your sentence above "Rangers expected to reform and walk away from their financial responsibilities, but, apart from walking away from all the people they owed money to, they have not been allowed to do this." :hmmm:
I obviously meant in footballing terms. The rest were pretty much "bumped" the minute they entered administration, we all knew that.
I was refering to the fact they had been trying to get out of paying Sion, Hearts, Dundee United, etc. but they haven't managed to do that. I'm sure this was close to £3m, so that will dent their projected budget quite a bit.
28-07-2012, 12:38 PM
The original "punishment" was deemed to be illegal, as I said "an SFA/SPL cock up".
I suspect that if it was back-dated to original tribunal date there would be legal connotations. They had to reach a compromise and that compromise has been to allow them to get players in for div 3 instead of div 2 next season.
Personally I think it will be harder for them to attract players in the next few weeks than it would be next summer as div 3 champions.
They will need to pay a decent wage to compensate playing in div 3 and they will need to pay it for at least 2 years.
28-07-2012, 01:25 PM
The original "punishment" was deemed to be illegal, as I said "an SFA/SPL cock up".
I suspect that if it was back-dated to original tribunal date there would be legal connotations. They had to reach a compromise and that compromise has been to allow them to get players in for div 3 instead of div 2 next season.
Personally I think it will be harder for them to attract players in the next few weeks than it would be next summer as div 3 champions.
They will need to pay a decent wage to compensate playing in div 3 and they will need to pay it for at least 2 years.
The "decent wage" bit is key for me, this is putting financial pressure on them. They NEED to sign players that will ensure an SFL2 title and probably also have an eye on league reconstruction which would add even more pressure.
On phone so can't look them up (at least one was posted a few pages ago tho) but a few sources seem to indicate that just to stand still Newco need around 35-40,000minimum season ticket holders, any shortfall or additional expenditure is going to have to come out of all the financial backers, about 3 of them in total on last look!
Some of the hints that they'll need re-financing in the 2nd half of the season or will be staring Admin in the face again might not be that far off. :-)
Crazyhorse
28-07-2012, 01:57 PM
aye, that's correct. Its why I changed my mind about it, originally I thought it was a waste of time :-)
The "decent wage" bit is key for me, this is putting financial pressure on them. They NEED to sign players that will ensure an SFL2 title and probably also have an eye on league reconstruction which would add even more pressure.
On phone so can't look them up (at least one was posted a few pages ago tho) but a few sources seem to indicate that just to stand still Newco need around 35-40,000minimum season ticket holders, any shortfall or additional expenditure is going to have to come out of all the financial backers, about 3 of them in total on last look!
Some of the hints that they'll need re-financing in the 2nd half of the season or will be staring Admin in the face again might not be that far off. :-)
This is something I can't understand either signing guys on £7k a week to play in the 3rd division seems like financial suicide. Am I right in thinking the embargo means they can't even sell a player if they need to? The costs of running an operation like Rangers which doesn't seem to have 'downsized' at all despite the circumstances surely will lead to administration again. Unless of course they decide to pay staff using EBT's :cb
HibbyRod
28-07-2012, 02:01 PM
This is something I can't understand either signing guys on £7k a week to play in the 3rd division seems like financial suicide. Am I right in thinking the embargo means they can't even sell a player if they need to? The costs of running an operation like Rangers which doesn't seem to have 'downsized' at all despite the circumstances surely will lead to administration again. Unless of course they decide to pay staff using EBT's :cb
I'm pretty sure they can sell players during the embargo - they cannot sign players over 18 years old.
28-07-2012, 02:02 PM
It seems like bad management, but also fear and ego. They don't need a top-two-SPL side to romp through the divisions. Their youngsters, plus the best of the players signed from lower league clubs, would do that just as well, and not place them in financial difficulties. I think the real fear is that such a side would be badly turned over by SPL teams in cup competitions, and they wouldn't be able to handle that.
28-07-2012, 02:06 PM
Their entire fan base will continue to support them which gives them a massive advantage in terms of potential match attendees. And as far as the hordes are concerned their club and history will be intact because they will be watching a team playing in the same strips in the same stadium.
I suspect about half of the Huns will get behind them even more beligerently than ever. For the other half, the glory hunters, the novelty of Stenhousemuir and East Fife will soon wear off, and they'll take a sabbatical till the Huns are back in the SPL.
28-07-2012, 02:09 PM
They can sell them. Which, if my thinking is right, they might have to do in January just to keep the cash coming in.
My theory is that they are making these signings to attract the ST sales. That's a gamble.
28-07-2012, 02:10 PM
You make a good point there !!
Interestingly I have spoken , in the last couple of days, with a couple of Sports Journo's , one from Edinburgh and one from Aberdeen, and they both spoke of a ' Sugar Daddy ' prepared to top up wages for a season ala Tom Hart /George Best in order to offset any shortfall.
Nothing wrong in that as long it is all legal and above board .
28-07-2012, 02:11 PM
Technically it's a registration embargo so they can't buy but can get rid!
Like you, I think money could become an increasing issue
28-07-2012, 02:11 PM
You make a good point there !!
Interestingly I have spoken , in the last couple of days, with a couple of Sports Journo's , one from Edinburgh and one from Aberdeen, and they both spoke of a ' Sugar Daddy ' prepared to top up wages for a season ala Tom Hart /George Best in order to offset any shortfall.
Nothing wrong in that as long it is all legal and above board .
Those two words are the important ones. :greengrin
28-07-2012, 02:13 PM
In one judge's view but not in another judge's view(twice). SFA backed down.
BarneyK
28-07-2012, 02:13 PM
They can sell them. Which, if my thinking is right, they might have to do in January just to keep the cash coming in.
My theory is that they are making these signings to attract the ST sales. That's a gamble.
Who's buying though? These are players who seem to be short of offers right now when they are available on a freebie. What are the chances they will attract interest when Chuckie decides he wants a cool million for them.
28-07-2012, 02:16 PM
They shouldn't be taking gambles. Have they not learnt anything at all?
They have an opportunity to do things right this time. But it seems like the cycle is just going to repeat itself.
They want glory and they want it now. They don't care who they hurt in the process. Shower of b******s.
steviehibsleith
28-07-2012, 02:18 PM
Just heard jim traynor on the radio -2intersting points firstly is adamant that sevco will be in top tier next season as the leagues will be reconstructed to accommodate this -all driven by sky/espn money. Secondly doesn't think transfer embargo will effect them as they can sign players out of contract so they just tap players early - run out your contract and we can sign you.
28-07-2012, 02:19 PM
Who's buying though? These are players who seem to be short of offers right now when they are available on a freebie. What are the chances they will attract interest when Chuckie decides he wants a cool million for them.
Indeed. That's where the whole thing could unravel.
28-07-2012, 02:19 PM
I suspect about half of the Huns will get behind them even more beligerently than ever. For the other half, the glory hunters, the novelty of Stenhousemuir and East Fife will soon wear off, and they'll take a sabbatical till the Huns are back in the SPL.
If you can believe the Press then 38% of Rangers ST holders live outwith Scotland .
That equates to around 14/15000 tickets , many of whom live in Ulster. Can't see a large number of them making the journey every second week to watch 3rd Div football.
As you say the prospects of watching Albion Rovers / Stirling Albion et al will soon wear off and the glory hunters will disappear .
28-07-2012, 02:21 PM
Just heard jim traynor on the radio -2intersting points firstly is adamant that sevco will be in top tier next season as the leagues will be reconstructed to accommodate this -all driven by sky/espn money. Secondly doesn't think transfer embargo will effect them as they can sign players out of contract so they just tap players early - run out your contract and we can sign you.
No offence Stevie but did you really need that fat oik to spell that out for you.
When is a transfer embargo not a transfer embargo. When the SFA issue it.
BarneyK
28-07-2012, 02:22 PM
Yep. The leagues are restructuring - a top league of 30 and a second league of 12. That sounds fantastic. Well, it's the only way they can make the SPL next season, and if Jim Traynor said it's so... :blah:
28-07-2012, 02:29 PM
If, though, it's actually a registration embargo as stated above, they're going to have to cut the grass / do the laundry, or something for the next 12 months, because they won't be able to play football.:dunno:
28-07-2012, 02:33 PM
If, though, it's actually a registration embargo as stated above, they're going to have to cut the grass / do the laundry, or something for the next 12 months, because they won't be able to play football.:dunno:
Why? We register out of contract players after transfer window every year. From Sept 1st next season The Rangers will be able to sign and register players. It will effect them for a month next season that is all.
Edit. Think you are getting confused with this season and next. This season they can sign and register players till window shuts. Next season is when they will sign players out of contract on Sept 1st. Only Jan 4 week window is closed to them.
28-07-2012, 02:38 PM
Why? We register out of contract players after transfer window every year. From Sept 1st next season The Rangers will be able to sign and register players. It will effect them for a month next season that is all.
Because we're not banned from registering players?
I might be missing the point, but Traynor seems to be saying they will be able to pick up out of contract players during their forthcoming embargo - I'm assuming that, if they do, they won't be able to play them.
28-07-2012, 02:40 PM
I might be missing the point, but Traynor seems to be saying they will be able to pick up out of contract players during their forthcoming embargo - I'm assuming that, if they do, they won't be able to play them.
Yes. It's a 12 month signing embargo.
28-07-2012, 02:44 PM
He's talking about next season. They can sign all the players they want this season prior to 'embargo':rolleyes: kicking in.
28-07-2012, 03:17 PM
Traynor has spent the last six months as he has spent all his career, spouting pish and saying what he wants to be true/hopes will happen rather than reporting based on fact. Even a broken clock is right twice a day so a top league with the huns next year cannot be ruled out but I doubt it would be forced through - fan opposition would be mobilised again next summer. Traynor is best ignored and treated as the irrelevance that he is.
28-07-2012, 03:19 PM
Traynor is best ignored and treated as the irrelevance that he is.
I'd treat him as a roundabout.
Maybe. :greengrin
muirhousehibby
28-07-2012, 05:39 PM
http://www.scotzine.com/2012/07/the-legal-aspect-of-rangers-and-the-sfa-membership/
nice wee read this, seems if true once again Rangers seem to be getting the rules made up for them as the weeks go along!
Lungo--Drom
28-07-2012, 07:43 PM
Yup :agree: Unlike the attempts to get Sevco into the SPL and then the SFL1, which was rebuffed by fan protest and chairman integrity, they are, like a lab rat, learning which avenues in the maze get them an electric shock and which avenues they can sneak up and grab a biscuit. To be fair to all the supporters of other SFL/SPL clubs most ordinary folk are now exhausted and scunnered with the whole thing and the lab rats know this and so it is now they will wheedle through all the things such accepting 'punishments' which as you have pointed out are of course nothing of the sort. Cheatin' Hun *******s, still cheatinl, all the way since 1874. Don't you just hate them?
28-07-2012, 07:44 PM
Did Traynor not also tell all and sundry that they would be playing, no doubt about it, in the 1st this season?
28-07-2012, 07:47 PM
Did Traynor not also tell all and sundry that they would be playing, no doubt about it, in the 1st this season?
:agree: And only weeks before that was telling everyone they'd be playing this coming season in the SPL. He also said in the record, that Craig White was a billionaire, with wealth off the radar. He's an erse, part of the succulent lamb brigade.
Brando7
28-07-2012, 08:20 PM
How many SPL/ESPN games were shown on the TV last season anyone know? and is there any figures for this season?
Just got a letter through from SKY saying my sky sports & ESPN pacages is going up......no be paying it if there reduced SPL matches to show them in DIV 3
28-07-2012, 09:16 PM
Just got a letter through from SKY saying my sky sports & ESPN pacages is going up......no be paying it if there reduced SPL matches to show them in DIV 3
You'd better dig out your customer number then because I reckon you can put your house on every 3rd or 4th televised game being a Div 3 game!
28-07-2012, 09:20 PM
You'd better dig out your customer number then because I reckon you can put your house on every 3rd or 4th televised game being a Div 3 game!
Sky are wanting to show all Derhun away fixtures, and are trying to negotiate that deal apparently......
Twa Cairpets
28-07-2012, 09:25 PM
He's talking about next season. They can sign all the players they want this season prior to 'embargo':rolleyes: kicking in.
and that effectively has to last them until January 2014. Frankly if theyve a 12 mont ban I;d prefer it to kick in when they have a year under their belt with whatever they can scrape together this year rather than when theyre marginally more attractive with only 2 years untuil they get back to the SPL
28-07-2012, 09:34 PM
I'd treat him as a roundabout.
Maybe. :greengrin
More like a speed bump.
28-07-2012, 09:56 PM
More like a speed bump.
Difference is that you don't accelerate for speed bumps, then reverse back over them to make sure.
Brando7
28-07-2012, 10:45 PM
Sky are wanting to show all Derhun away fixtures, and are trying to negotiate that deal apparently......
Yea that wot i heard so i'm thinking every 2nd week be a div3 game.....would be looking for a reduction not an increase!!
28-07-2012, 11:05 PM
Yea that wot i heard so i'm thinking every 2nd week be a div3 game.....would be looking for a reduction not an increase!!
There is 1 solution and thats to cancel.
if everybody who has extreme disgust towards der hun cancelled their packages, SKY would lose millions.
Unfortunately, people won't. (even those who lie and say they will)
Lungo--Drom
28-07-2012, 11:08 PM
Sky Sports News understands that they'll need to buy a foreign language phrasebook before taking the outside broadcast truck to Stranraer, or as they would call it in the 'Clayhool' itself, a 'firin linguige frizbick kin' :tee hee:
28-07-2012, 11:18 PM
I hope that is the case.. It means our kick off times are less likely to be disrupted.
29-07-2012, 01:16 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4460613/Dumping-Gers-in-Div-3-was-fools-goal.html
Check out this pish from Davie Provan.
Did Hibs get £900,000 for finishing 11th last season? And why does he say it will be £80,000 for the same placing next year? Have I missed something or is this buffoon plucking figures out of thin air? :confused:
29-07-2012, 01:41 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4460613/Dumping-Gers-in-Div-3-was-fools-goal.html
Check out this pish from Davie Provan:
"the Hoops will suffer most"
That quote from his article should help pinpoint the venomous reasoning behind his sad rant. He is spewing about the fact there'll be no OF derby games for the next few years, no doubt a nice little earner for an ex-Celtic "legend", and letting fly with both barrels at the insignificant also-rans of Scottish football.
Personally, I wouldn't pay much attention to him.
29-07-2012, 07:20 AM
and that effectively has to last them until January 2014. Frankly if theyve a 12 mont ban I;d prefer it to kick in when they have a year under their belt with whatever they can scrape together this year rather than when theyre marginally more attractive with only 2 years untuil they get back to the SPL
No it doesn't. Next season, season 2013-14 they will be able to sign out of contract players from Sept 1st. From Sept 1st 2013 they will be able to sign players in similar contract positions to Shiels and Black. In other words they can sign as many players as they want next season as they can this season. The only time they won't be able to sign players is this January. It's a con.
29-07-2012, 07:29 AM
Did Hibs get £900,000 for finishing 11th last season? And why does he say it will be £80,000 for the same placing next year? Have I missed something or is this buffoon plucking figures out of thin air? :confused:
It's amazing that in ALL these articles by paid up members of the OF gravy train the blame is always the SFA, the SPL, the SPL chairmen, SFL chairmen or the fans of diddy clubs but never, NEVER, is any blame apportioned to Rangers and their various guardians for any financial consequences.
It's like painting a murderer as a victim and blaming the judge and jury for the consequence of his actions.
vanNISHtelroy
29-07-2012, 07:45 AM
But it is nice to know for definite from Provan's article that MJ did the write thing and all the rest of the SPL chairman are idiots for not wanting Rangers in! :wink:
29-07-2012, 07:45 AM
" + All revenues generated by the SPL are effectively put into one pot. This money comes from TV deals and other commercial contracts.
+ A support payment to the SFL and parachute payments to recently relegated clubs are then removed. All associated costs of running the SPL are also deducted.
+ The remaining amount is split two ways to the member clubs: 48% is divided equally between all 12 clubs while 52% is distributed to teams dependant upon their final league position.
+ The higher up the table that a club finishes, the more money they will receive - see table below. For season 2007/08, more than £18m was paid out to SPL clubs.
League position - % of cash pot
1 - 4% + 13% = 17%
2 - 4% + 11% = 15%
3 - 4% + 5.5% = 9.5%
4 - 4% + 4.5% = 8.5%
5 - 4% + 4.0% = 8.0%
6 - 4% + 3.5% = 7.5%
7 - 4% + 3.0% = 7.0%
8 - 4% + 2.5% = 6.5%
9 - 4% + 2.0% = 6.0%
10 - 4% + 1.5% = 5.5%
11 - 4% + 1.0% = 5.0%
12 - 4% + 0.5% = 4.5% "
Hibs would get 5% of £18m, that's £0.9m minus the bits in bold.
Why it would drop by 90% next year is anyone's guess!
29-07-2012, 07:46 AM
No it doesn't. Next season, season 2013-14 they will be able to sign out of contract players from Sept 1st. From Sept 1st 2013 they will be able to sign players in similar contract positions to Shiels and Black. In other words they can sign as many players as they want next season as they can this season. The only time they won't be able to sign players is this January. It's a con.
How will they be allowed to sign out of contract players? Is it not a registration ban?
Greens chat in the papers today is a disgrace. Rangers problems at an end but now other clubs will be the ones in trouble. No shame.
29-07-2012, 08:03 AM
+ The higher up the table that a club finishes, the more money they will receive - see table below. For season 2007/08, more than £18m was paid out to SPL clubs.Hibs would get 5% of £18m, that's £0.9m minus the bits in bold.
Why it would drop by 90% next year is anyone's guess!
In 2007/2008 up till last season the Sky money was £13m per season, due to change to £16m this season. If it was to drop 90% its not worth doing IMO.
Do you know the breakdown of the £18m figure Windy?
Caversham Green
29-07-2012, 08:06 AM
But if the ban started now, they'd be signing them in July next year and have them for pre-season. They wouldn't have to be limited to out of contract players either. In September next year they will be limited to players that no-one else wants and they'll have to start the season without them - not that that's going to be much of a problem in the lower leagues. Right now, they're looking to sign players of a higher standard than they need on long contracts and paying over the odd for them in the hope that it attracts season ticket buyers. If the likes of Ian Black or Craig Beattie aren't going to sign for Hibs I'd rather they were playing in the third division and taking money out of Rangers than for one of our SPL opponents.
It's amazing that in ALL these articles by paid up members of the OF gravy train the blame is always the SFA, the SPL, the SPL chairmen, SFL chairmen or the fans of diddy clubs but never, NEVER, is any blame apportioned to Rangers and their various guardians for any financial consequences.
It's like painting a murderer as a victim and blaming the judge and jury for the consequence of his actions.
Agree with you on this one. There's only one club to blame for the shambles that Scottish football is in, if any clubs do go bust in the coming seasons it will be Rangers FC's fault. We must never let them forget that.
29-07-2012, 08:28 AM
Agree with you on this one. There's only one club to blame for the shambles that Scottish football is in, if any clubs do go bust in the coming seasons it will be Rangers FC's fault. We must never let them forget that.
And what is conviently forgotten by the all the Hun apologists is that one club has already gone bust and thats them. Not only have they gone bust but have they broken the rules as laid down by footballs governing bodies, rules which all clubs (including them) had agreed to abide by.
Add in tax evasion (IMHO) on a massive scale which, under any other circumstances, would guarantee a prison sentence to the perpetrator(s). I believe in benefit fraud there is a threshold which, if breached, guarantees a prison sentence. The same rules should apply to Rangers (who soon will no longer exist), the custodians of the club who knew about it and failed in their duties as directors, and I would not exclude the beneficiaries of the scheme if they signed up (as is alleged) knowing this this was a scheme which was set up primarily to avoid paying tax. I did notice in Dodds statement he was very clear that tax was already deducted from the payment he recieved. You pays (receives!) your money you takes your chance.
29-07-2012, 08:32 AM
How will they be allowed to sign out of contract players? Is it not a registration ban?
Greens chat in the papers today is a disgrace. Rangers problems at an end but now other clubs will be the ones in trouble. No shame.
Embargo ends Sept 1st 2013.
29-07-2012, 08:41 AM
But if the ban started now, they'd be signing them in July next year and have them for pre-season. They wouldn't have to be limited to out of contract players either. In September next year they will be limited to players that no-one else wants and they'll have to start the season without them - not that that's going to be much of a problem in the lower leagues. Right now, they're looking to sign players of a higher standard than they need on long contracts and paying over the odd for them in the hope that it attracts season ticket buyers. If the likes of Ian Black or Craig Beattie aren't going to sign for Hibs I'd rather they were playing in the third division and taking money out of Rangers than for one of our SPL opponents.
If the ban was was from the original date set they wouldn't be able to sign players this season which in my mind is a suitable punishment.
In Summer next year they will line up the players they want with an agreement to sign them on September the first. If players similar in ilk to Shiels, Beattie and Black were floating around they will simply do a pre contract thing with them. This may be a verbal agreement as not sure if pre contracts are allowed under terms of embargo.
Caversham Green
29-07-2012, 08:44 AM
Another piece by Paul McConville:
http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.com/2012/07/28/the-brechin-ultimatum-did-sfa-botch-rangers-fcs-membership-are-any-rfc-players-registered/
A few interesting points to add to that - Brechin's chairman Ken Feguson is a solicitor, so he would be expected to understand these points, and he would not be acting in the best interests of his club if he failed to raise an objection.
Also, I seem to remember that City were chucked out of a cup (probably the Scottish) a few years ago for fielding ineligible players.
29-07-2012, 08:50 AM
There is 1 solution and thats to cancel.
if everybody who has extreme disgust towards der hun cancelled their packages, SKY would lose millions.
Unfortunately, people won't. (even those who lie and say they will)
I have cancelled mine and bought a freesat plus box. Does everything sky+ does but has no sky channels. One off payment to buy, connect to existing cables and off you go:greengrin:greengrin
29-07-2012, 08:51 AM
Fan power made sure Rangers were dealt with properly, its time the media were purged of the lying, hun a*rs- licking impostors that we have for football journalists in Scotland.
Difficulty is how could we threaten to boycott buying the Sun or the Record ? :greengrin
May'be telling anybody who advertises in those rags that we won't do business with them until the newspaper's sports columns are properly fumigated.
Caversham Green
29-07-2012, 09:00 AM
If the ban was was from the original date set they wouldn't be able to sign players this season which in my mind is a suitable punishment.
In Summer next year they will line up the players they want with an agreement to sign them on September the first. If players similar in ilk to Shiels, Beattie and Black were floating around they will simply do a pre contract thing with them. This may be a verbal agreement as not sure if pre contracts are allowed under terms of embargo.
It doesn't really matter if they sign players now or not, they'd still have enough to win the third division with what they have plus some decent under-eighteens, so arguably that would be a bit of a non-punishment.
If the ban started now they wouldn't have to line up players with pre-contracts etc next season, they'd be able to sign them straight away, the only difference is that now those players won't be available for the start of the season. They also have to depend on players of that quality a) being available and b) being prepared to wait to play in the second division rather than start the season at the right time and at a higher level.
No doubt they'll find some if they need them, but I think Black and anyone else who chooses to sign for them are fools who could well find themselves dumped and consigned to lower division obscurity as soon as Rangers find their way back to the top division .
VickMackie
29-07-2012, 09:03 AM
They're bust. They are a new club now. They should be allowed to start a fresh. No old debts or other 'punishments'.
They've been allowed in to the 3rd over other more qualified clubs. That's a generous offer.
Drop the embargo, they are a new club. Drop other sanctions.
Duel contracts to still be investigated. No relation to old club.
Let's get back to football. Whilst it's a huge event in Scottish football, and amusing, let's get in with it.
And the SPL should not be tryin to take their rights IMO.
SPL money shared evenly would do perfectly.
29-07-2012, 09:33 AM
They're bust. They are a new club now. They should be allowed to start a fresh. No old debts or other 'punishments'.
They've been allowed in to the 3rd over other more qualified clubs. That's a generous offer.
Drop the embargo, they are a new club. Drop other sanctions.
Duel contracts to still be investigated. No relation to old club.
Let's get back to football. Whilst it's a huge event in Scottish football, and amusing, let's get in with it.
And the SPL should not be tryin to take their rights IMO.
SPL money shared evenly would do perfectly.
Which is all very well BUT it's they themselves that are claiming they are a continuation of the club that went bust. It is also worth remebering the reasons they went bust and that reason, IMO, was down to criminality for which they should answer.
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 09:43 AM
Which is all very well BUT it's they themselves that are claiming they are a continuation of the club that went bust. It is also worth remebering the reasons they went bust and that reason, IMO, was down to criminality for which they should answer.
Aren't the SFA going to challenge their claim on keeping oldco history? Personally I think the notion that Sevco 5088 or "The Rangers FC 2012" = Rangers 1872-2012 is nothing but a pipe dream in Sally and his rabid hordes tiny minds. The stripped titles will be taken from oldco's record books, a dead, defunct entity that folded up with £55m, probably £140m, of unpaid debts. There is a price to pay for not paying debts, I.E, lost history!
Steven_Hibs
29-07-2012, 09:53 AM
Aren't the SFA going to challenge their claim on keeping oldco history? Personally I think the notion that Sevco 5088 or "The Rangers FC 2012" = Rangers 1872-2012 is nothing but a pipe dream in Sally and his rabid hordes tiny minds. The stripped titles will be taken from oldco's record books, a dead, defunct entity that folded up with £55m, probably £140m, of unpaid debts. There is a price to pay for not paying debts, I.E, lost history!
£140M might be a ruse, I heard it could have been double that :greengrin
29-07-2012, 10:26 AM
Dean Shiels is apparently going to sign a 4 year deal with The Rangers. Very very disappointing. These guys should be ashamed of themselves. :no way:
steviehibsleith
29-07-2012, 11:48 AM
Dean Shiels is apparently going to sign a 4 year deal with The Rangers. Very very disappointing. These guys should be ashamed of themselves. :no way:
The most teams are offering in premier league out with Celtic is £1500 a week. 4 year deal on this is 312,000 .rangers offering £7000 a week comes out at £1,456,000 may be disappointing but I know which one I would be taking.
29-07-2012, 11:52 AM
Why? He will be playing for one of the two biggest clubs in the Country with wages to match. He would be a fool not to snap their hands off when a four year deal has been offered.
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 12:03 PM
Why? He will be playing for one of the two biggest clubs in the Country with wages to match. He would be a fool not to snap their hands off when a four year deal has been offered.
Can't really criticise Deano for going for the payday, the criticism lies with the SFA for allowing a club that have left a trail of over £3m in unpaid football debts sign players at all. These debts should be cleared first. But then it goes back to the oldco, newco, chicken and egg scenario. If the SFA say oldco are the same entity then it is a disgrace they were allowed to sign one player let alone pay out the wages quoted.
29-07-2012, 12:09 PM
It seems to me that most, if not all of the players being associated with Sevco, wouldn't have had a snowball in hells chance of getting a contract with Oldco. It's a sign of the desperate times they're going through, and hopefully the straw that will break them before the season finishes, if they pay these chancers the money being quoted
29-07-2012, 12:17 PM
The most teams are offering in premier league out with Celtic is £1500 a week. 4 year deal on this is 312,000 .rangers offering £7000 a week comes out at £1,456,000 may be disappointing but I know which one I would be taking.
This is where administration is showing up as the debt avoiding financial tool it is. Hundreds of shafted small creditors must be fuming that this club is back arrogantly throwing wages around, AGAIN.
29-07-2012, 12:21 PM
That is assuming he will have no complaints when he becomes a " creditor " of one of the two biggest clubs in the country. :greengrin
29-07-2012, 12:23 PM
, the criticism lies with the SFA for allowing a club that have left a trail of over £3m in unpaid football debts sign players at all. These debts should be cleared first. But then it goes back to the oldco, newco, chicken and egg scenario. If the SFA say oldco are the same entity then it is a disgrace they were allowed to sign one player let alone pay out the wages quoted.
This is a very good point. The rules do have a clause that essentially means "if you have an outstanding footy debt then you are on a self imposed signing embargo"
They should only be allowed to sign players before the September embargo kicks in once they've payed those debts.... Remembering The Rangers themselves claim they're the exact same club.
29-07-2012, 12:33 PM
Ian Black has signed a 3yr deal with them as well
29-07-2012, 12:37 PM
Ian Black has signed a 3yr deal with them as well
We were all quick to blast him for doing it.
Yet we seem to be taking it easy on Shiels?
Get them both tae!
29-07-2012, 12:38 PM
That is assuming he will have no complaints when he becomes a " creditor " of one of the two biggest clubs in the country. :greengrin
True. :greengrin
Although the players who were with Oldco don't seem to have lost out through all of this. (Even those who agreed a wage reduction profited by being able to get out of jail free.)
ChooseLife
29-07-2012, 12:57 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4460613/Dumping-Gers-in-Div-3-was-fools-goal.html
^This is the reason the right decision has been made, Davie Provan is giving all forum users a good few digs in this article, GIRFUY:agree:
29-07-2012, 01:00 PM
This is where administration is showing up as the debt avoiding financial tool it is. Hundreds of shafted small creditors must be fuming that this club is back arrogantly throwing wages around, AGAIN.
Your spot on with that Spike and it appears that it is mainly in football where those responsible remain relatively unscathed by the event. Other companies disappear almost completely but football clubs just carry on, more or less as before.
Given Whytes reluctance to meet with any of the tax liabilities it appears, to me at least, that the decision was taken to bump Rangers long, long before February 14th and once that decision was made it was then a case of how much they could get away with before the authorities caught up with them.
I do hope when the liquidators are appointed they pursue all those responsible for this very public farce. I fear, however, that both the perpetrators and beneficiaries of this scam are going to get away with it, and laugh at the rest of us while doing so.
29-07-2012, 01:13 PM
Rangers FC Official@RFC_Official
[RANGERS XI] Alexander, Broadfoot, Goian, Bocanegra, Wallace, Hutton, Black, MacLeod, Little, McKay, McCulloch
Strong defence, with at least seven getting paid big bucks...
29-07-2012, 01:18 PM
[RANGERS XI] Alexander, Broadfoot, Goian, Bocanegra, Wallace, Hutton, Black, MacLeod, Little, McKay, McCulloch
Proves cheeky chappie McCoist was right that they would struggle to put out a team if embargo was enforced.:rolleyes: most 3rd div teams have so few internationalists.
29-07-2012, 01:20 PM
Is this the longest football administration in history? Presume taxes still unpaid or have they turned over a new leaf?
29-07-2012, 01:22 PM
Obscene how strong that side is but it won't be long until the realities of a Third Division income come in to play and they struggle to pay the wages.
Emerald
29-07-2012, 01:23 PM
A stronger team than most SPL sides can put out, makes you sick. Cheating ****. :grr:
VickMackie
29-07-2012, 01:28 PM
http://www.thesun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4460613/Dumping-Gers-in-Div-3-was-fools-goal.html
^This is the reason the right decision has been made, Davie Provan is giving all forum users a good few digs in this article, GIRFUY:agree:
Good thing it's not always about the money eh.
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 01:41 PM
A tim on Kerrydale street has added it up that the wages on show today are £5.5m a year with another £1.5m on the bench or in the stand. not including Sally's salary and the other back room hun nits. Circa £8.5m wage bill for a disgraced third division newco two months on from liquidation.
29-07-2012, 01:42 PM
In 2007/2008 up till last season the Sky money was £13m per season, due to change to £16m this season. If it was to drop 90% its not worth doing IMO.
Do you know the breakdown of the £18m figure Windy?
As I undertand it the percentages have been in place since the start of the SPL.
I'd hope that the change in voting rights, caused by the loss of Sevco, would mean a re-balancing of the percentages.
29-07-2012, 01:47 PM
Come on Brechin!
Chairman of sevco stating that league reconstruction talks are/ have been taking place
Newco to be invited into spl 2 next term????
29-07-2012, 01:53 PM
Green in today's paper "Rangers are now debt free".
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 01:54 PM
Sevco 5088 are debt free he means. They are also owed £5.5m from The Rangers FC 2012.
29-07-2012, 01:54 PM
Debt free and second biggest income in the country...that is the reality and always was going to be that way
29-07-2012, 01:56 PM
Sevco 5088 are debt free he means.
Indeed, but one look at the strip Ian Black was holding up for the cameras yesterday tells you everything you need to know.
29-07-2012, 02:01 PM
Chairman of sevco stating that league reconstruction talks are/ have been taking place
Newco to be invited into spl 2 next term????
Has there been any previous case where a team has been invited into a higher league rather than working their way up and earning their place by promotion? It makes me wonder if this is yet another example of a hun mouthpiece saying what they want to be true rather than basing a statement on fact, in the knowledge that their sycophantic media will then lap it up and run with it.
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 02:09 PM
No stars on the Sevco badge! :thumbsup:
29-07-2012, 02:13 PM
When a team that has had to start again after their predecessors spent way over their means and ended up owing HRMC such a huge amount of money can field a team with players who would be earning way over the SPL average, you know that Scottish football is utterly Donald Ducked.
I hope that they go bust all over again.
blaikie
29-07-2012, 02:17 PM
When a team that has had to start again after their predecessors spent way over their means and ended up owing HRMC such a huge amount of money can field a team with players who would be earning way over the SPL average, you know that Scottish football is utterly Donald Ducked.
I hope that they go bust all over again.
I suspect they'll have money troubles by Christmas!
29-07-2012, 02:21 PM
They are on the back of the shirt, UEFA had told them they aren't allowed stars above a badge for anything other than international trophies.
29-07-2012, 02:21 PM
To be fair this seasons shirt never had the stars above the badge so its not something thats happened in the last couple of weeks :agree:
29-07-2012, 02:23 PM
The ranting of a twat who is unable to see past Celtic and is only mourning the possible damage to his team and his own pocket, through loss of earnings. He couldn't give a toss about the 'self-inflicted harm' (his thoughts) suffered by the minnows who acted with principle and integrity.
29-07-2012, 02:24 PM
Looked around a handful of Newco fan forums, most of them unimpressed with Ian Black so far :greengrin
Hope that the physical nature of lower league football bites him right in the arse.
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 02:26 PM
They are on the back of the shirt, UEFA had told them they aren't allowed stars above a badge for anything other than international trophies.
UEFA should shut the cheating crooks down!
I note the BBC has them back as "Rangers" on the Third division page. That is not their name. :confused:
29-07-2012, 02:32 PM
Anyone see that mutant Rangers women in the crowd there?
got them on the shorts tho
Live Score.com has
Brechin City
0 - 1 (http://www.hibs.net/default.dll/game?comp=scotland_challenge_cup&game=617807)
Rangers
29-07-2012, 02:34 PM
Anyone see that mutant Rangers women in the crowd there?
You'll need to be a bit more specific
no sponsor either,,,or is it a ramsdens thingy????
bt
jeezo were now getting sash
Ryan69
29-07-2012, 02:35 PM
UEFA should shut the cheating crooks down!
I note the BBC has them back as "Rangers" on the Third division page. That is not their name. :confused:
Its just a big joke really. they are being called Rangers,same badge,near enough same strip,same players....including one they never even paid the ****s for,playing at same home stadium,with same fans singing their usual biggoted pish!
justice has definately not been served!
blaikie
29-07-2012, 02:38 PM
Big baldy centre back for Brechin is pretty decent, Better than O'Hanlon! ......oh we're all "Fenian *******s" was that!
29-07-2012, 02:40 PM
Let's not turn this into a match update thread folks :wink:
Leishy1995
29-07-2012, 02:41 PM
Celtic's real name is The Celtic and that isn't on sky sports etc. Brechin are probably doing better than we would.
29-07-2012, 02:42 PM
Brechin aren't doing too badly here...
29-07-2012, 02:48 PM
Yas
:giruy::giruy::giruy::lolrangers::lolrangers::lolr angers:
Hahahaha
1-1 haha, mugs!
29-07-2012, 02:49 PM
'Mon the Brechin.
This could be a fun season!
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 02:49 PM
Goian 17 grand a week. :na na: Get it up ye Sally. :agree:
29-07-2012, 02:50 PM
Hahahahahahahahahahaha, girfuy sally
Leishy1995
29-07-2012, 02:51 PM
GIRFUY! Hahaahahahahahahahhahahahahahahaha who are the people?
hibeefan95
29-07-2012, 02:52 PM
C'mon Brechin. There will be a party in my house if Brechin can get this win.
29-07-2012, 02:59 PM
Imagine the reaction if the diddy team win it! A bunch of unknown, unfit players who found their level in the diddy leagues playing for a diddy team who's won **** all!
Sure Brechin will dig their heels in and make sure that doesn't happen though.
ozzie
29-07-2012, 03:00 PM
bt
Does it not gave tennents is small letters under thier badge. There badge still says rfc
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 03:01 PM
A draw might suit Brechin better, return to new Mordor and six figure windfall.
Sevco Media Orcs getting excited that Rob McLean is calling Sevco, 'New Rangers' on BBC :greengrin Illiterate trash should look up liquidation.
Leishy1995
29-07-2012, 03:04 PM
The Rangers aren't the people.
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 03:08 PM
Green on another planet. Big tax case tribunal still to report, dual contracts scenario to be decided, and he wants the talk to be about his newco in the third divi. Guy is off his dial.
29-07-2012, 03:25 PM
bt
They have a sponsor
29-07-2012, 03:30 PM
Green on another planet. Big tax case tribunal still to report, dual contracts scenario to be decided, and he wants the talk to be about his newco in the third divi. Guy is off his dial.
Green behaves in much the way you would expect of someone in charge of HUN FC. Everything he says is usually a lie or half truth.
The game now is for the Hun and their media lapdogs to try to steer attention back to the fitba', but that is just not going to happen.
For me it is a simple question. If this is a 'Newco', why is there even a discussion about stripping titles etc. etc?
Glasgow Rangers are dead.
The SFA have broken most of thier rules in allowing Sevco5088 to take their place, but all this nonsense should stop now. There should have been no, 'conditional membership,' such a thing does not even exist in the SFA rulebook. Sevco should have been told that they are a new club, nothing to do with Glasgow Rangers, there are no titles, no cups, nothing - that was a different club. But the SFA/SPL are negiationg with a new club which does not actually have any titles'cups to be stripped of!!!
What is it that is so difficult to understand.
Oldco - (about to be) liqudated and gone forever.
Newco - new football club with no history, nothing.
Am I missing something?
29-07-2012, 03:30 PM
A draw might suit Brechin better, return to new Mordor and six figure windfall.
Would it not be extra time/penalties rather than a replay?
29-07-2012, 03:31 PM
Newco literally getting pumped here...
http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk154/giv1888/Ay-wqmECUAI2s5L.jpg
29-07-2012, 03:32 PM
Black showing the Team GB Karate team just what they are missing:agree:
29-07-2012, 03:33 PM
https://p.twimg.com/Ay-nfy1CYAA7zUI.jpg
Baba O'riley
29-07-2012, 03:39 PM
Would it not be extra time/penalties rather than a replay?
Correct; Alloa went out on penalties yesterday, along with Berwick
29-07-2012, 03:41 PM
This is quite enjoyable viewing :thumbsup:
Leishy1995
29-07-2012, 03:43 PM
It's great to see black getting bullied by them.
magpie1892
29-07-2012, 03:46 PM
Correct; Alloa went out on penalties yesterday, along with Berwick
A pens win for Brechin would be so sweet.
29-07-2012, 03:46 PM
When is there ever a two foot studs upper when you need one? :greengrin
29-07-2012, 03:47 PM
It's also quite sad, considering none of our standard of players could.
It just goes to show what a little elbow greece and determination can achieve. And thats what these DIV3 clubs are all about. We could probably learn a few things.
Lungo--Drom
29-07-2012, 03:49 PM
Getting a right laugh watching the jabbering orcs standing in the pishing rain at Brechin while their new team "climb up through the leagues" according to Chuckie Doll at half time. Awe aye, like 1-1 is climbing up through the leagues. It's a cup game anyway :tee hee: Ah just had a close up of Fat Sally looking arrogant, fat hun tool :lolrangers:
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 03:51 PM
When's Robbie Savage and Gazza coming on to save the new hun day?
green glory
29-07-2012, 03:52 PM
Wish I was able to watch this. Brechin winning on penalties would be very very gratifying.
Stuck on a cruise ship in Slovenia though. Darn.
29-07-2012, 03:52 PM
When's Robbie Savage and Gazza coming on to save the new hun day?
Soon as Hurtado's had his turn :flag:
29-07-2012, 03:59 PM
Soon as Hurtado's had his turn :flag:
Nice to see them getting all getting a good wash ! :-)
29-07-2012, 04:02 PM
They don't do walking away but a bit more rain and they'll melt like the Wicked Witch of the West!
29-07-2012, 04:04 PM
Nice to see them all getting a good wash ! :-)
Too bad it doesn't rain dettol.
29-07-2012, 04:06 PM
A pens win for Brechin would be so sweet.
One thing watching this game has illustrated to me, and which I must confess one finds rather gratifying; whether you are a Hun follower, or a Hun hater, or just an interested on-looking TV viewer, and whether they 'romp through the divisions' or struggle and slip up - THIS IS GOING TO GET VERY OLD AND VERY, VERY DULL, VERY QUICKLY!
I could watch one 90 minute reality TV show of the Queen working as a dinner lady in a school in a housing scheme and enjoy it, but three years of it...I almost pity the Hun.
Almost.
No, I'm lying. I come nowhere close to that.
29-07-2012, 04:06 PM
That Goian is total pish and 17k a week Haha
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 04:12 PM
definite foul on the O'Hanlon lookalike for Brechin. :rolleyes: New huns but same honest ref mistakes.
29-07-2012, 04:39 PM
Or Bleach.
29-07-2012, 04:41 PM
Obscene how strong that side is but it won't be long until the realities of a Third Division income come in to play and they struggle to pay the wages.
Agree 100%
29-07-2012, 04:42 PM
You think they cannot get any lower then....http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19040706
29-07-2012, 04:46 PM
You think they cannot get any lower then....http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19040706
Green could do with reading this Graham Spiers article - http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/firing-on-friends-not-foes.18271646
29-07-2012, 04:56 PM
I hope the SFA carpet him over that remark. He is playing a dangerous game there.
CabbageBoy
29-07-2012, 05:00 PM
No, its bigoted to expect a club to pay its' debts, to not cheat or be punished for cheating in the past. The SPL should have turned the other cheek. :wink:
29-07-2012, 05:04 PM
Pot calling kettle black I feel, or has he decided to ignore their history after all?
He is the only show in town for der hun until someone buys him out but he really is out of his depth with this type of remark in this particular football arena.
LeighLoyal
29-07-2012, 05:08 PM
Add up Sally's butthurted, 'power to the peepul' rant to this latest outburst and it should be straight to a disciplinary Hampden hearing. If Mad Vlad or Lennon had come out with this level of pish it would be throw away the key time.
29-07-2012, 05:24 PM
Absolutly incredible!
If he REALLY wanted to break with the past then he could have done it......... ALL the historical stuff can ONLY apply if they insist it's the same club..... so come on Green what is it you want?
The old Club and all that goes with it (+ the route into the SFA via a licence tranfer from old Rangers)
or
A nice shiney new club that you can call Rangers if you wish.... you'll need to go play in the non SFL leagues for a few years to meet the SFA/SFL entry conditions and hope that a re-construction will create an opening.
what is it?
I'm totally hacked off with this double standards and claiming the moral highground all the time..... I suppose he thinks if he spouts the same crap all the time people will start to believe it... dont let the truth get in the way eh........
:rules: :grr: etc etc
29-07-2012, 05:53 PM
You reap what you sow.
29-07-2012, 05:54 PM
I'd settle for acid rain.
quality stuff from green there :rolleyes: its bigotry right enough :yawn:
29-07-2012, 06:07 PM
Listening to Green's interview, it's quite amazing that he sees himself / his club as victims in all this. He's also remarkably uninformed on the rules or the facts behind the tax case and title-stripping question. Also tries to imply that he/ his ****ty little club care about Scottish football when their words and actions make clear that they don't.
29-07-2012, 06:24 PM
Green has a point though - how many of the Sellick fans baying for blood were doing so for justice rather than hatred?
That said, I'd like to wish him and his Sevco an unbigoted "all the worst" for the coming season.
29-07-2012, 06:39 PM
Green has a point though - how many of the Sellick fans baying for blood were doing so for justice rather than hatred?
That said, I'd like to wish him and his Sevco an unbigoted "all the worst" for the coming season.
Green doesn't have a point, he's just creating a diversion. The mass fan opposition to leniency/preferable treatment for sevco huns (by decent fans like me and most of us on hibs.net and at clubs across the country) was based on sporting integrity and an awareness of right and wrong. By playing the bigotry card Green is just a) playing to the hun victim mentality and b) trying to insinuate that he is one of them.
He assiduously avoids any acknowledgement that sevco have been done a massive favour by the other Scottish clubs in being allowed to reform in the senior leagues.
I've been listening to this pr1ck uttering his pish for a couple of months now. Sometimes I wonder if he and fat ally have a private wager on who can talk the most *****, and if so then right now it's a dead heat. I'd be really disappointed in any Hibs fan suggesting that anything he has said so far has any legitimacy.
magpie1892
29-07-2012, 07:07 PM
Green doesn't have a point, he's just creating a diversion. The mass fan opposition to leniency/preferable treatment for sevco huns (by decent fans like me and most of us on hibs.net and at clubs across the country) was based on sporting integrity and an awareness of right and wrong. By playing the bigotry card Green is just a) playing to the hun victim mentality and b) trying to insinuate that he is one of them.
He assiduously avoids any acknowledgement that sevco have been done a massive favour by the other Scottish clubs in being allowed to reform in the senior leagues.
I've been listening to this pr1ck uttering his pish for a couple of months now. Sometimes I wonder if he and fat ally have a private wager on who can talk the most *****, and if so then right now it's a dead heat. I'd be really disappointed in any Hibs fan suggesting that anything he has said so far has any legitimacy.
Nicely put.
Green wants a return, then out. That is all, and, why not? I'd gladly rape that nauseating club for a grand, let alone what Green hopes to clear.
That was a real struggle for hun today; dodgy in defence, only enforcers in midfield, and a midfielder and a bairn up front. I thought City played some decent stuff but hun were awful. Hun will win D3 by a distance - if they can avoid a 2nd liquidation. There's still much water to pass under the bridge in terms of EBT/FTT and/or dual contracts. hun were haemorraging cash last season in the SPL notwithstanding their two hilarious stabs at European competition and while (some) cuts have been made, they will be lucky to still be a going concern come October.
29-07-2012, 07:52 PM
One thing is certain he is giving Super Ally a run for his money in the talking shonet stakes :greengrin
Right on the money !!
This from the Chairman of the club who arguably " invented" bigotry or at best ensured it was kept at the forefront of Scottish football.
Am I the only one who thinks Green knows as much about Scotland and Scottish football as my arse knows about snipe shooting ?
I had little respect for the man prior to this interview now I have NONE .
With him spouting rubbish like that should SFA take any action on the frounds of bringing the game into disrepute ?
:confused::rolleyes:
29-07-2012, 10:44 PM
Green does not have any point. I hope the SFA fine him for bringing the game into disrepute. He's playing to the bigots in the newco support who refuse to accept their club deserved any sanctions. Odious individual in charge of a club who are not taking the opportunity to rid themselves of the dark aspects of their previous incarnation.
Lungo--Drom
29-07-2012, 10:59 PM
:stirrer: <-- that's me mixing up some hydro-cyanic acid to mix with the rain at their next match :devil:
I'd settle for acid rain.
30-07-2012, 06:26 AM
Green does not have any point. I hope the SFA fine him for bringing the game into disrepute. He's playing to the bigots in the newco support who refuse to accept their club deserved any sanctions. Odious individual in charge of a club who are not taking the opportunity to rid themselves of the dark aspects of their previous incarnation.
:agree: Bigotry has no place in football, and here we have an owner of one club ADDING to it. He should have the book thrown at him.
30-07-2012, 06:36 AM
:agree: Bigotry has no place in football, and here we have an owner of one club ADDING to it. He should have the book thrown at him.
Apparently Green was photographed singing and clapping along with supporters to 'if you hate Stuart Regan , clap your hands.'. How's that for class? What with Malcolm Murray saying that Rangers WILL be back in a reconstructed SPL1 very soon, and McCoist slagging off all and sundry, they are a cancer on Scottish football that doesn't remotely react to surgery.
30-07-2012, 06:40 AM
Apparently Green was photographed singing and clapping along with supporters to 'if you hate Stuart Regan , clap your hands.'. How's that for class? What with Malcolm Murray saying that Rangers WILL be back in a reconstructed SPL1 very soon, and McCoist slagging off all and sundry, they are a cancer on Scottish football that doesn't remotely react to surgery.
If this is true, thats just unbelievable? :rolleyes:
30-07-2012, 06:52 AM
Green should be made to justify his "bigots" remark.
Who was the remark aimed at? If he means other clubs hated the previous incarnation of Rangers then he is spot on, but he should have a bit of a look at Scottish football history before he opens his gob. If he does that he will find there are good reasons for that attitude. But it had nothing to do with bigotry on our part.
Was the attitude of fans driven by utter dislike of Rangers ... to an extent yes it was, but he should have a look at who was responsible for giving them the opportunity to give Rangers their just desserts.... as somebody else said ...... 'sow the wind'
There is nobody but Rangers to blame for what has happened over the last 6 months. But they now have a clean slate, a chance to reinvent the club and to ditch the baggage they carried which did nothing but damage to the game in this country.
Statements like that one just has me holding my head in my hands .......... it would appear DIFFERENT CLUB, SAME OLD RANGERS and that is a great great pity !!!
Get a grip Mr Green FFS !!!
30-07-2012, 06:57 AM
It is also worth remembering that when he bought the club formerly known as Rangers he admitted he had never heard of Davie Cooper. The ignorant buffoon probably feels his time as owner of Sheffield United prepared him for the Glasgow rivalry. Like others before him he will find out there are two sides to that particular coin.
Yet Regan and Doncaster where the two guys who bent over all ways to actually try to help him.
30-07-2012, 06:59 AM
Green should be made to justify his "bigots" remark.
Who was the remark aimed at? If he means other clubs hated the previous incarnation of Rangers then he is spot on, but he should have a bit of a look at Scottish football history before he opens his gob. If he does that he will find there are good reasons for that attitude. But it had nothing to do with bigotry on our part.
Was the attitude of fans driven by utter dislike of Rangers ... to an extent yes it was, but he should have a look at who was responsible for giving them the opportunity to give Rangers their just desserts.... as somebody else said ...... 'sow the wind'
There is nobody but Rangers to blame for what has happened over the last 6 months. But they now have a clean slate, a chance to reinvent the club and to ditch the baggage they carried which did nothing but damage to the game in this country.
Statements like that one just has me holding my head in my hands .......... it would appear DIFFERENT CLUB, SAME OLD RANGERS and that is a great great pity !!!
Get a grip Mr Green FFS !!!
Well put, and if we had any decent journalists in Scotland they would be requesting a full and frank interview with Mr Green to question him further on these serious claims about bigotry he makes.
Don Giovanni
30-07-2012, 07:04 AM
Green could do with reading this Graham Spiers article - http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/firing-on-friends-not-foes.18271646
Not normally a fan of Spiers but it is a good article and about time someone pulled THE Rangers up on their campaign to misrepresent the truth. They are attempting to re-write history by repeating their "victim" mantra over and over. Unfortunately, there are still too many complicit reporters in the Scottish media who are willing to help their cause.
30-07-2012, 07:31 AM
Bigotry. Absolutely unbelievable. The bad catholics did it and ran away.
30-07-2012, 08:02 AM
Apparently Rod is now an enemy of ra peepil.
http://leggoland2.blogspot.co.uk/
Now, more than ever, Rangers fans must be on their guard. And not just against Stewart Regan, Neil Doncaster, Peter Lawwell, Aberdeen, Dundee United, Hibernian, the Scottish Football Association and the Scottish Premier League.
Rangers supporters must also be on their guard against another enemy. The enemy within.
His name is Charles Green.
30-07-2012, 08:38 AM
If this is true, thats just unbelievable? :rolleyes:
http://willievass.photoshelter.com/gallery-image/290712-Brechin-City-v-Rangers/G0000z9BrSz46tzs/I0000ogpMFLcOipU/C00001oS41YZ.R7I
There's the evidence. Look at the muppets beside him laughing as well. :rolleyes:
30-07-2012, 08:53 AM
http://willievass.photoshelter.com/gallery-image/290712-Brechin-City-v-Rangers/G0000z9BrSz46tzs/I0000ogpMFLcOipU/C00001oS41YZ.R7I
There's the evidence. Look at the muppets beside him laughing as well. :rolleyes:
In itself, it's not exactly proof. However, there are a couple of folk in there who look embarrassed at what he's doing.
30-07-2012, 09:04 AM
to think that RFC used to be a very professionally run club as well(albeit a few decades ago right enough) but now being ran by a bunch of money men out for a quick buck, aided and abetted by wannabe neds like McCoist and jardine, a vile institution with no class or professionalism whatsoever.
30-07-2012, 09:04 AM
In itself, it's not exactly proof. However, there are a couple of folk in there who look embarrassed at what he's doing.
It has been written about in several media outlets from people who were there. Looks pretty convincing to me, simply from the reactions around about him. Had it just been him clapping and nothing else then I'd be inclined to agree with you.
30-07-2012, 09:17 AM
It has been written about in several media outlets from people who were there. Looks pretty convincing to me, simply from the reactions around about him. Had it just been him clapping and nothing else then I'd be inclined to agree with you.
Yeah, in circumstantial terms, it looks pretty damning. The guy two rows behind him seems to be thinking "oh, FFS." :greengrin
30-07-2012, 09:26 AM
The guy two rows behind him seems to be thinking "oh, FFS." :greengrin
The guy two rows behind is clearly praying .. "Please God, send down one of those bolts of lightning and take that Yorkshire tw*t out of the game"
LeighLoyal
30-07-2012, 09:26 AM
I hope they hammer Green into the dust for the outrageous pandering to his bigoted masses and the clapping along to their hate chants. The guy is a complete buffoon.
30-07-2012, 09:32 AM
Absolutely unbelievable, as someone has already said, here they have the perfect opportunity to rid the club of its bigot baggage and what happens, this guy panders to them, he is just in the door and already he is one of the knuckle dragging bigot ******s.
Caversham Green
30-07-2012, 09:37 AM
Is that Gordon Smith in the row behind? I thought he was a victim of D&P's swingeing redundancy cull.
30-07-2012, 09:38 AM
looks like sandy jardine smiling in the row behind(RHS)
calmac12000
30-07-2012, 09:39 AM
Bigotry. Absolutely unbelievable. The bad catholics did it and ran away.
"Bigotry:... one who treats members of a particular racial or religious group with hatred and/or intolerance."
Just when have such attitudes been displayed by anyone against Rangers? To the best of my knowledge Rangers supporters are not a racial or religious grouping. Therefore one may disagree with their point of view without being accused of harbouring bigoted or sectarian views.
In truth, it is symptomatic of the pseudo-scientific and intellectually vacuous arguments spun by apologists for the Rangers, who for far too long have been allowed to spin their nonsense without contradiction
30-07-2012, 09:41 AM
Well put, and if we had any decent journalists in Scotland they would be requesting a full and frank interview with Mr Green to question him further on these serious claims about bigotry he makes.
Sadly we have very few decent sports journalists in Scotland but hopefully one of them will pick it up. However, he or she is likely to be drowned out by the usual
p1sh spouted by the Traynors and Youngs who would not recognise serious journalism if it smacked them in the face with a wet fish.
Caversham Green
30-07-2012, 09:41 AM
looks like sandy jardine smiling in the row behind(RHS)
Aye you're right - getting my bigots in a twist.
Superb Bigots and jealous. WTF . What green knows about Scottish football you could write on the back of a postage stamp.
Plain and clear sectarian songs sung yesterday, which are being looked into by The police.
Knuckle dragging inbred Neanderthals.
30-07-2012, 09:47 AM
I hope they hammer Green into the dust for the outrageous pandering to his bigoted masses and the clapping along to their hate chants. The guy is a complete buffoon.
The SFA won't take any action unless unless they receive a complaint about the incident ( reason given for no action after the mass sectarian singing at the Kilmarnock game at Ibrox back in February )
Its not as if it was anything serious like a manager raising a finger during a game.
Complaints have to be submitted in triplicate countersigned and attested by 5 high court judges and be at the SFA Offices within 12 hours of the incident if they are to be considered. :greengrin
30-07-2012, 09:48 AM
As we speak, Regan, Doncaster, Longmuir et al. will have there head in their hands saying, 'why don't these people just shut the **** up'?
But this is brilliant stuff, and exactly what you would expect from Hun FC.
Green is rapidly emerging as another candidate for a knighthood - along with Craig Whyte - for services to Scotland and Scottish Football. If - and I hope they do - Rangers continue with this pathetic crusade against everyone and their dog, there will come a point where they will have to be kicked out completely.
And the good news keeps on coming. With just 22,000 to watch Inter Milan on Saturday, and Lawell begging the Imperial Leather dodgers to buy season tickets, it looks - as many predicted - that without someone to hate, hordes of Celtic fans are deserting the game. Looks like Celtic will be downsizing pretty soon.
The Scottish game is about to find its true place and level, but lets face it, it was ***** with the Old Firm, so how much worse can it actually get without them?
:party:
30-07-2012, 10:02 AM
As we speak, Regan, Doncaster, Longmuir et al. will have there head in their hands saying, 'why don't these people just shut the **** up'?
But this is brilliant stuff, and exactly what you would expect from Hun FC.
Green is rapidly emerging as another candidate for a knighthood - along with Craig Whyte - for services to Scotland and Scottish Football. If - and I hope they do - Rangers continue with this pathetic crusade against everyone and their dog, there will come a point where they will have to be kicked out completely.
And the good news keeps on coming. With just 22,000 to watch Inter Milan on Saturday, and Lawell begging the Imperial Leather dodgers to buy season tickets, it looks - as many predicted - that without someone to hate, hordes of Celtic fans are deserting the game. Looks like Celtic will be downsizing pretty soon.
The Scottish game is about to find its true place and level, but lets face it, it was ***** with the Old Firm, so how much worse can it actually get without them?
:party:
Also many Rangers fans not taking up season tickets as they don't trust Green and are not sure where their money will end up.
Will Rangers be able to afford paying their players and the upkeep of Ibrox & Murray Park in the coming months, I very much doubt it. :thumbsup:
30-07-2012, 10:18 AM
Absolutely unbelievable, as someone has already said, here they have the perfect opportunity to rid the club of its bigot baggage and what happens, this guy panders to them, he is just in the door and already he is one of the knuckle dragging bigot ******s.
Spot on! This guy has just parked his bum in the Ibrox hot seat and starts complaining about bigotry. Maybe he should've spent a little bit longer reading up on the old Rangers history and their 'traditions'. Alternatively, if he'd spent 5 minutes in the company of Ian Durrant he would've been left in no doubt just what he's let himself in for.