View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
19-01-2016, 12:10 PM
Surely the Judge should just stick to the facts of the case.
Maybe he did.
doddsy
19-01-2016, 12:12 PM
Not 'blind faith', Doddsy, natural faith. There is a wee bit of a difference. If you accept that corruption is intrinsic in our justice system, the game's a bogey.
You seem like a nice enough bloke so I don't want to disillusion you. There are a multiple of different levels of corruption. How do you think the vast majority of middle class Bankers got away with it yet a common bank robber gets 20 to 30 years in Jail? Just one example.
19-01-2016, 12:15 PM
Maybe he did.
No need for his commentary though. Can't see how SD's current share price is relevant and if it is relevant then it probably supports SD's case for losses.
19-01-2016, 12:16 PM
I'm no legal eagle but no matter that the judge seems a little bit strange, SD did not seem to present a very good case at all and there is no way you could find against sevco based on the evidence they provided.
19-01-2016, 12:20 PM
No need for his commentary though. Can't see how SD's current share price is relevant and if it is relevant then it probably supports SD's case for losses.
Given that we are coming to our view on the basis of Doleman's Tweets (welcome as they are), I'd say it's impossible to do anything other than speculate as to why he would say that. For example, he may be suspicious as to SD's motives bringing the case; perhaps he thinks that SD's recent troubles are driving the case more than they should. But..like i say.. that's only speculation on my part.
All will be clearer, one would hope, when the case actually goes to trial.
19-01-2016, 12:37 PM
The responses from the judge were at points weird but some hilarious however, reading through it, it seems the judge knew this was a joke in both case and SD representation. I personally think the judge was purely displeased at the time wasted. I mean and quote: Judge "where the original estimate of £200k damages came from?" SD Counsel "says he is not sure." Come on! He is representing the claimant and should have all info at hand and provide it on asking!! Its really simple, prove your morally right!
19-01-2016, 12:41 PM
Was there any reference to Sevco's false claim that the loan had been repaid last time they were in court ?
doddsy
19-01-2016, 12:42 PM
The responses from the judge were at points weird but some hilarious however, reading through it, it seems the judge knew this was a joke in both case and SD representation. I personally think the judge was purely displeased at the time wasted. I mean and quote: Judge "where the original estimate of £200k damages came from?" SD Counsel "says he is not sure." Come on! He is representing the claimant and should have all info at hand and provide it on asking!! Its really simple, prove your morally right!
Solatium in negligence cases is a non-accountable amount of money usually based on unquantifiable mental distress. Just because it is difficult to put a price on does not mean it is not worthy.
GreenPJ
19-01-2016, 12:43 PM
That is irrelevant in a court of law. Prove you are legally right is what they are interested in, you would hope they would be one in the same but we know that they aren't always.
19-01-2016, 12:47 PM
Yes I agree therefore:
Prove you are legally and morally right - if being legally and morally reasonable and truthful.
19-01-2016, 12:48 PM
Was there any reference to Sevco's false claim that the loan had been repaid last time they were in court ?
That's what I'm waiting for - surely to C****t even the Hun are NOT getting away with that ??
doddsy
19-01-2016, 01:02 PM
Yes I agree therefore:
Prove you are legally and morally right - if being legally and morally reasonable and truthful.
The case would not be being heard at all if there was no truth whatsoever in the matter. It is up to TRIFC to defend themselves against the Pursuer's (SD) account of what happened. It is obvious the GASL did comment on what he had been ordered not to by a previous court. This is an open and shut case made complex because it is TRIFC, the establishment's clumpany. The matter of how much is really quite irrelevant to the bigger matter of perjury which is why we have a circus going on with a somewhat clown of a Judge in my opinion.
19-01-2016, 01:10 PM
I agree with you but lets not get all bent out of shape by it. Facts are needed and SD Counsel did not provide these. The 5 day session will be a different spot altogether.
doddsy
19-01-2016, 01:20 PM
I agree with you but lets not get all bent out of shape by it. Facts are needed and SD Counsel did not provide these. The 5 day session will be a different spot altogether.
I hope so because it seems to me that MA is getting shortchanged from his legal team or there is more than meets the eye in all of this. It could be MA has been put off fighting the GASL hence the poor quality of his legal team's performance. I would be thinking of suing the Legal team at this point for very poor representation.
19-01-2016, 01:28 PM
Going by their performance so far I don't think Ashley even pays his lawyers a minimum wage.
19-01-2016, 01:30 PM
I'm sure it'll be different at the 5 day session. I get the feeling MA/SD are toying with this and will come in hard and heavy. Just a feeling ...
I hope so because it seems to me that MA is getting shortchanged from his legal team or there is more than meets the eye in all of this. It could be MA has been put off fighting the GASL hence the poor quality of his legal team's performance. I would be thinking of suing the Legal team at this point for very poor representation.
There's also the possibility that SD don't have much of a case, and his legal team are trying their best to gild it.
Ashley is just having a bit of fun with Rangers to pass the time.He can afford to do it and other than annoying King doesn't give a monkey's.
Brunswickbill
19-01-2016, 01:57 PM
I thought that I had seen Justice Peter Smith somewhere before
doddsy
19-01-2016, 02:00 PM
There's also the possibility that SD don't have much of a case, and his legal team are trying their best to gild it.
If that's their best then I'd really hate to see them at their worst. Mr Bean could do better.
19-01-2016, 02:01 PM
I thought that I had seen Justice Peter Smith somewhere before
There's something about a 'tache and a smirk that makes me deeply uncomfortable.
19-01-2016, 02:10 PM
There's something about a 'tache and a smirk that makes me deeply uncomfortable.
Have you had a bad experience with Mr Petrie?
doddsy
19-01-2016, 02:17 PM
I thought that I had seen Justice Peter Smith somewhere before#
If I was the accused and walked into Court and saw him, I'd think I'm stuffed before the off. Looks more like the 'Hangman'.
19-01-2016, 02:18 PM
Have you had a bad experience with Mr Petrie?
We all have. [emoji22]
19-01-2016, 02:26 PM
If that's their best then I'd really hate to see them at their worst. Mr Bean could do better.
Maybe, just maybe, they don't have a very good case. :cb
doddsy
19-01-2016, 02:34 PM
As the Scotland great King Kenny would say 'mibbes aye mibbes naw'.
:saltireflag
19-01-2016, 07:19 PM
the judge seems a little bit strange
Strange?? Shirley has his finger right on the pulse:
"One of the blogs insists that I am a Freemason, which is wrong," said the judge.
"Also, that my wife is a 'life-long Rangers supporter'."
He added: "She is from Edinburgh. The idea that she would support any Glasgow team is laughable."
Something's laughable all right.
magpie1892
20-01-2016, 05:55 PM
**** Direct have a very, very poor case. I'm sure more learned posters here will concur.
All we're seeing is Ashley thrashing about in a series of vindictive litigation.
It's not doing him any favours - and that's an understatement. It's getting to the point where NUFC's Sky money is keeping the SD ship afloat.
20-01-2016, 06:07 PM
Got some figures for us non financial whizz kids to back that up?
Has NU not just spent north of £20 mill on new players with more reportedly in the pipeline?
20-01-2016, 06:42 PM
**** Direct have a very, very poor case. I'm sure more learned posters here will concur.
All we're seeing is Ashley thrashing about in a series of vindictive litigation.
It's not doing him any favours - and that's an understatement. It's getting to the point where NUFC's Sky money is keeping the SD ship afloat.
I understand why you don't like Ashley, but that is just fanciful.
Even if the share price continues to tumble and he loses all the money he's made in the past 5 or so years, SD is still worth a whole lot more than NUFC. It was him who stemmed the losses at the club.
doddsy
20-01-2016, 07:03 PM
I disagree, I think he has a good case. The GASL negatively commented and that is no good for any buisness. I thinkd MA is getting bored now and his heart is not in it any more hence the poor representation of what is a good case.
20-01-2016, 07:18 PM
Evening times saying The Rangers have banned Chris McLaughlin, and the BBC re having another one of their 'boycotts':
BBC Scotland said: "We are disappointed that Rangers took the decision to ban our reporter Chris McLaughlin from Ibrox. We believe it is unjustifiable and we stand by the integrity and the quality of our journalism. "We will continue to report on Rangers both on and off the pitch and will feature match action where appropriate but, until this issue is resolved, we will not be sending journalists to Ibrox or attending Rangers’ press conferences.”
Corstorphine Hibby
20-01-2016, 07:20 PM
It always amazes me that people in Scotland are surprised to find the Institutions are inherently biased towards the establishment. Rangers are a club of the establishment. Mike Ashley is getting a hard lesson in learning just how corrupt Scotlands institutions really are. The Judge had no reason to begin stating of anything other than the facts of the case but chose to begin slating SD because it was already decided before he entered the Court what the outcome would be. I am anything but surprised, I would have been shocked if SD had been treated fairly. That is how the wee free of Scotland are, unfortunately for the rest of us who would prefer to live in an inclusive fair society one free of bigots. And for the record I am not a Catholic which should not matter anyhow but shockingly it does in this banana republic.
Not sure if this suits your argument or not but the top judge in Scotland who retired last year, Lord Gill is very much a Catholic, and a practicing one too. Just saying. ...
doddsy
20-01-2016, 07:22 PM
Evening times saying The Rangers have banned Chris McLaughlin, and the BBC re having another one of their 'boycotts':
BBC Scotland said: "We are disappointed that Rangers took the decision to ban our reporter Chris McLaughlin from Ibrox. We believe it is unjustifiable and we stand by the integrity and the quality of our journalism. "We will continue to report on Rangers both on and off the pitch and will feature match action where appropriate but, until this issue is resolved, we will not be sending journalists to Ibrox or attending Rangers’ press conferences.”
The siege mentality plays well with the hordes.
doddsy
20-01-2016, 07:26 PM
Not sure if this suits your argument or not but the top judge in Scotland who retired last year, Lord Gill is very much a Catholic, and a practicing one too. Just saying. ...
I did'nt know that but my experience of working in one of Scotland's institutions does not change my point of view whatsoever. :coolhib:
Purple & Green
20-01-2016, 07:32 PM
I'm no legal eagle but no matter that the judge seems a little bit strange, SD did not seem to present a very good case at all and there is no way you could find against sevco based on the evidence they provided.
That in a nutshell.
Mike Ashley clearly has enough money to dick around in court, but I can't see how you can win a case for financial loss when you are unable or unwilling to demonstrate what that loss is.
It's vexatious and an abuse of process. Doesn't mean he won't win the war, though.
20-01-2016, 08:04 PM
He would have been a good judge in cases of fraud where companies have gone underwater.
https://rangersfraudcase.wordpress.com/2016/01/19/judge-attacks-sports-direct-over-rfc-damages-claim/
I like this bit
Earlier counsel for Rangers, Mr McCormack QC had told the court that a witness statement from Ashley had only been received at 4.55pm on the day before the hearing, a delay blamed on the “festive rush,” in Sports Direct during the Christmas holidays.
It says to me Ashleys legal team were on the tills and stacking shelves and given their performance in Court perhaps they should have been!
With regards to the £200k damages.
I understand this is related to sales. The share price has naff all to do with this. The loss of sevco related sales in the sevco shops and elsewhere in Ned Direct would have been quite easy to qualify however is it not the case that sevco is required by the onerous contract to make good these non sales so in fact SD won't be affected.
Probably why it's been withdrawn sevcos legal team wouldn't need to be genius material to pick holes in that
20-01-2016, 08:26 PM
I did'nt know that but my experience of working in one of Scotland's institutions does not change my point of view whatsoever. :coolhib:
Despite the case being heard in England?
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
20-01-2016, 09:03 PM
They have a new fans group.
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160120/5998acd6cb2b503b6c5b44ae81f0264c.jpg
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160120/af6ca67e3fd22c01f04ac8ad7a0e3a72.jpg
Lovely people. [emoji3]
doddsy
20-01-2016, 09:07 PM
Despite the case being heard in England?
Your point being?
20-01-2016, 09:08 PM
Lovely people. [emoji3]
The irony of businesses going bust and losing money seems to be lost on these bears.😂😂😂😂
20-01-2016, 09:12 PM
https://bearsfightback.wordpress.com/2016/01/17/welcome-to-bears-fight-back/
20-01-2016, 09:15 PM
Lovely people. [emoji3]
Oh dear. ....
doddsy
20-01-2016, 09:15 PM
The irony of businesses going bust and losing money seems to be lost on these bears.
It's difficult to understand the psychology of these peepul. They are almost beyond help. The men in the white coats should be wading in with straightjackets for these total nutters. they have lost touch with all reality and are ill with bigotry. Deary me.
20-01-2016, 09:17 PM
The irony of businesses going bust and losing money seems to be lost on these bears.
:agree: Doesn't look like they have a typesetter or publicity department either. Or are they actually ERS football club?
Nice start, bound to be taken seriously by all.
Or is ERS football maybe a new breakaway sport they are launching?
Greenblood70
20-01-2016, 09:18 PM
Lovely people. [emoji3]
Absolutely hilarious - These trumpets never fail to amuse, they've been force fed bull**** by Level 5 PR for so long that they are incapable of rational and independent analysis. Puffed up pompous fools.
Prof. Shaggy
20-01-2016, 09:53 PM
Lovely people. [emoji3]
Well that was a fairly brief and half-hearted fightback.
"This site has been deleted by the authors"
I know one shouldn't laugh.....
20-01-2016, 09:56 PM
Well that was a fairly brief and half-hearted fightback.
"This site has been deleted by the authors"
I know one shouldn't laugh.....
Liquidation?
20-01-2016, 09:58 PM
Your point being?
You were using the case to back up your views on the Scottish establishment. Whilst those views may be valid, there are probably better ways of supporting them than a case being heard in another country :)
Prof. Shaggy
20-01-2016, 10:04 PM
Liquidation?
This could be a problem.
If they, or someone else starts a new Bears' Fightback, will that be a new Fightback or will it keep the, very short, History of the old Fightback.
Over to you, your Lordship..
20-01-2016, 10:06 PM
This could be a problem.
If they, or someone else starts a new Bears' Fightback, will that be a new Fightback or will it keep the, very short, History of the old Fightback.
ha...love it...maybe they've formed newFightbackco.....
doddsy
20-01-2016, 10:11 PM
You were using the case to back up your views on the Scottish establishment. Whilst those views may be valid, there are probably better ways of supporting them than a case being heard in another country :)
The Establishment are one and the same. Does'nt matter what part of the Uk. Read David Icke's stuff, he may be off the wall but a lot of what he says is closer to the truth than most.
20-01-2016, 10:15 PM
This could be a problem.
Sorry to be pedantic here but wouldn't it be the bears fight back, or the the bears fightback?
20-01-2016, 10:19 PM
Sorry to be pedantic here but wouldn't it be the bears fight back, or the the bears fightback?
Sorry to be even more pedantic, but I've always thought of them as the same lot of Bears. They didn't die, they still **** in the same woods.
20-01-2016, 10:22 PM
Sorry to be even more pedantic, but I've always thought of them as the same lot of Bears. They didn't die, they still **** in the same woods.
So they're only other bears for tax purposes?
As in the non payment of.
20-01-2016, 10:25 PM
Liquidation?
My thoughts too. Maybe had the internet turned off for not paying their bill. No inside knowledge, just a hunch.
20-01-2016, 10:25 PM
This could be a problem.
I bet it will be called "The The Bears Fightback" :greengrin
20-01-2016, 10:29 PM
So they're only other bears for tax purposes?
As in the non payment of.
EBT.
Enything But Tax.
Prof. Shaggy
20-01-2016, 10:30 PM
They might be the same Bears, and their pastoral ablutions might be liquidated; but does that excuse their verbal diarrhoea?
Further, if the Bears resumed their defecation after a pause would this count as a new poo or just the same old crap?
20-01-2016, 10:32 PM
They might be the same Bears, and their pastoral ablutions might be liquidated; but does that excuse their verbal diarrhoea?
Further, if the Bears resumed their defecation after a pause would this count as a new poo or just the same old crap?
Liquidised bear crap.....
It is old and it is beautiful, and its colours they are fine.
Prof. Shaggy
20-01-2016, 10:41 PM
Liquidised bear crap.....
It is old and it is beautiful, and its colours they are fine.
We've misinterpreted one of their favourite catch phrases:
WEE URSINE FECAL....
21-01-2016, 06:02 AM
My thoughts too. Maybe had the internet turned off for not paying their bill. No inside knowledge, just a hunch.
Maybe somebody's mum caught them under the bedsheets with the torch on after their internet allowance expired and as they'd finished their saucer of milk they should have been asleep?
WEE URSINE FECAL....
Superb! Deserves recognition.
21-01-2016, 07:41 AM
WEE URSINE FECAL....
Sounds Latin to me, it's a kaflik conspiracy
21-01-2016, 09:23 AM
https://beta.companieshouse.gov.uk/company/SC425159
All Sports Direct charges lifted from Sevco.
No indication of any charges from the new lenders ........yet.
Dan Sarf
21-01-2016, 09:48 AM
An Interesting Insight Into Warburton's Proclivities...
"The Rangers manager is a fan of sitting down, glass of wine in hand, as Jim White and co, bedecked in mandatory yellow ties and dresses, take you through the frenzied last hours of transfer activity." Glasgow Herald.
21-01-2016, 11:50 AM
Scotsman Rumours says it like it is
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/competitions/premiership/rumour-mill-aston-villa-want-stefan-johansen-ann-budge-fumes-at-spfl-scottish-football-draft-1-4007038
(http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/competitions/premiership/rumour-mill-aston-villa-want-stefan-johansen-ann-budge-fumes-at-spfl-scottish-football-draft-1-4007038)
Gets keen to add player before Morton encounter
MARK Warburton has said he is hopeful of signing a player before Rangers take on Morton.
The Gers boss, who has been pursuing St Johnstone forward Michael O’Halloran, said: “I’m very hopeful we will being in a player. We’re making good progress.” (The Scotsman) (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/rangers/rangers-will-not-resort-to-panic-buys-insists-mark-waburton-1-4007010)
21-01-2016, 01:05 PM
The Establishment are one and the same. Does'nt matter what part of the Uk. Read David Icke's stuff, he may be off the wall but a lot of what he says is closer to the truth than most.
"A lot".....Dearie me,the man's not"off the wall"as you put it,he's having a screaming argument with it about reptiles 💩
21-01-2016, 01:19 PM
"A lot".....Dearie me,the man's not"off the wall"as you put it,he's having a screaming argument with it about reptiles 💩
Decent keeper back in the day though.
21-01-2016, 01:31 PM
Decent keeper back in the day though.
Was it Coventry he played for?
Can't be arsed googling him,I'll just end up spitting feathers at his inane drivel😁
21-01-2016, 01:35 PM
Can't be arsed googling him,I'll just end up spitting feathers at his inane drivel😁
Hereford, started at coventry, before he unearthed the fact that we are controlled by reptilian shapeshifters.
21-01-2016, 01:39 PM
Hereford, started at coventry, before he unearthed the fact that we are controlled by reptilian shapeshifters.
🆒
Tell me more 😱
21-01-2016, 01:42 PM
David Icke?
Do me a favour.
The truest thing he said was that Prince Phillip was a reptialian life form from another universe.
21-01-2016, 01:44 PM
🆒
Tell me more 😱
Look at David Camerons face and that's all the proof you'll need :greengrin
21-01-2016, 01:47 PM
Look at David Camerons face and that's all the proof you'll need :greengrin
You may have a point 😁
21-01-2016, 03:23 PM
Are the Sevconian Six not meant to be entering guilty/not guilty pleas to the charges today ?
21-01-2016, 03:28 PM
I remember a tabloid wag of the day opening with the line "Former Coventry reserve goalkeeper and Son of God David Icke ..."
doddsy
21-01-2016, 05:53 PM
David Icke?
Do me a favour.
The truest thing he said was that Prince Phillip was a reptialian life form from another universe.
Everyone to their own. Nothing wrong with David Icke as far as I'm concerned. I did say he is a bit of the wall but well worth a read.
Prof. Shaggy
21-01-2016, 08:16 PM
Sounds Latin to me, it's a kaflik conspiracy
Naw, it's Geek.
21-01-2016, 09:02 PM
Everyone to their own. Nothing wrong with David Icke as far as I'm concerned. I did say he is a bit of the wall but well worth a read.
Is there an intelligent poster called doddsie on here ?
I think I'm talking to the wrong person 😕
21-01-2016, 09:06 PM
Everyone to their own. Nothing wrong with David Icke as far as I'm concerned. I did say he is a bit of the wall but well worth a read. I agree....He talks a lot of sense,amongst some of the more outrageous stuff that generally gets the press..
doddsy
21-01-2016, 09:11 PM
I agree....He talks a lot of sense,amongst some of the more outrageous stuff that generally gets the press..
:top marks Correct. when someone starts going off message the smear campaigns begin. A very interesting character indeed is Icke boy.
21-01-2016, 09:34 PM
Lovely people. [emoji3]
'We will look to hurt you legally possible ...... if you lose your business, your money, your home, your husband or wife, your children or your freedom ......'
Using 'Legally' should not prevent the Police from investigating (and charging whoever's responsible) for what is nothing more than an outright threat to ANYONE who dare venture an opinion which doesn't match theirs - what's next ? - a demand that certain books should be burned ??
I won't hold my breath though ..........
21-01-2016, 10:24 PM
Using 'Legally' should not prevent the Police from investigating (and charging whoever's responsible) for what is nothing more than an outright threat to ANYONE who dare venture an opinion which doesn't match theirs - what's next ? - a demand that certain books should be burned ??
Graham Spiers says he is contacting the police about this tomorrow. No specific threat against an individual made, so doubt much will come of it, but I hope the wee pluke is weeing himself tonight.
21-01-2016, 10:25 PM
Seriously? David Icke?
He's somewhere between deluded and deranged, bless him.
21-01-2016, 10:34 PM
Seriously? David Icke?
He's somewhere between deluded and deranged, bless him.
He's a Yam??????
21-01-2016, 10:50 PM
He's a Yam??????
To be honest, I don't know.
But it would make a lot of sense.
22-01-2016, 12:18 AM
http://m.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/14218723.Mark_Warburton_content_to_utilise_Murray_ Park_ranks_to_bolster_Rangers_squad/
Money too tight to mention?
22-01-2016, 12:39 AM
He's a Yam??????
More likely a Hereford man.
Unless the reptilian shapeshifters have taken over them...
22-01-2016, 06:06 AM
England/Scotland, it does'nt matter really does it, the handshakers are everywhere.
They even walk amongst us.
22-01-2016, 07:09 AM
Good to see Tommy Wright in this morning papers saying that Sevco have no chance of signing O'Halloran unless they significantly increase their offer. Warburton's position of "we won't be held to ransom" is increasingly looking like "we don't have that much money"....
22-01-2016, 07:15 AM
Good to see Tommy Wright in this morning papers saying that Sevco have no chance of signing O'Halloran unless they significantly increase their offer. Warburton's position of "we won't be held to ransom" is increasingly looking like "we don't have that much money"....
Will Warbs call on the Great Bears or whatever they're called to give Tommy Wright a little visit if this doesn't go ahead ? With the usual respect, of course.
22-01-2016, 07:52 AM
Police probing the bloggers.
https://t.co/Yw6ADTzvua
22-01-2016, 08:03 AM
He's a Yam??????
Seems like a potential owner, certainly the type. All he needs to do to get the 400,000 on side is set a deadline for the champions league win, get the plans in for the megasuperhotelstadium, promise to split the "old firm" by signing world cup stars and he's in.
All he'll actually need is a suitcase for the cash when he wants to have a share "issue".
Icke for the oiks. Believe.
seanshow
22-01-2016, 10:16 AM
DK cleared of contempt of court, no surprise they way that joke trial was going.
22-01-2016, 10:49 AM
Don't know how he could be given that his counsel lied in court or is this classed as inadmissible evidence? If so, then the judge has set a precedence!
22-01-2016, 10:53 AM
Don't know how he could be given that his counsel lied in court or is this classed as inadmissible evidence? If so, then the judge has set a precedent!
No precedent set. Judge at the time told counsel it had nothing to do with this case.
22-01-2016, 10:53 AM
Don't know how he could be given that his counsel lied in court or is this classed as inadmissible evidence? If so, then the judge has set a precedent!
Judge is quite clear that SD's failure to serve the injunction on DK properly, and their decision not to cross-examine him on his evidence, are major factors in his decision.
The "lying in Court" has nothing to do with the meat of the case itself.
I meant to post this earlier but about a week ago the DR rolled out Andy Goram, that well known & respected pundit to comment on The Rangers' new pre contract signings. Of course AG talked them up then came out with this beauty, something like, " I know the boy Windass was in huge demand before he signed for, em, Accrington Stanley! A classic from oor Andy!
Separately, good to see St J no longer maintaining a dignified silence & respectfully rolling over to The R's. Mind you its easy to hold firm when the offer is derisory, by all a/c's £200k & I'll take bets there's many conditions in there along the way.
22-01-2016, 11:18 AM
I meant to post this earlier but about a week ago the DR rolled out Andy Goram, that well known & respected pundit to comment on The Rangers' new pre contract signings. Of course AG talked them up then came out with this beauty, something like, " I know the boy Windass was in huge demand before he signed for, em, Accrington Stanley! A classic from oor Andy!
Separately, good to see St J no longer maintaining a dignified silence & respectfully rolling over to The R's. Mind you its easy to hold firm when the offer is derisory, by all a/c's £200k & I'll take bets there's many conditions in there along the way.
See Ozys Evening Times link from the wee small hours today. Rangers biggest newspaper cheerleader, Chris Jack, testing the water for Magic Hat not bringing anyone in.
Stuarty27
22-01-2016, 12:24 PM
There main transfer target has signed for Leeds
22-01-2016, 12:29 PM
They're main transfer target has signed for Leeds
Sorted that for you :wink:
22-01-2016, 12:45 PM
http://www.newsnow.co.uk/h/Sport/Football/Championship/Leeds+United/Transfer+News
That's the Brentford boy gone from Sevco's grasp.
Now i wonder if St Johnston know Leeds are on a shopping spree. :greengrin
22-01-2016, 12:58 PM
http://m.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/14218723.Mark_Warburton_content_to_utilise_Murray_ Park_ranks_to_bolster_Rangers_squad/
Money too tight to mention?
Ah, with 9 days left of the transfer-window, the start of the gentle 'Drip-drip' of info leaking through their media, that they might NOT be bolstering their squad to ensure they win the league - despite all their talk pre-January of doing so !!
Warbs - I’m a big fan of lean squads'
Especially when you have no choice, ya bawbag !!
I love this, whilst all the other fans of Scottish Football will be making 'shock/horror - the Hun's are skint !' jokes over this, only ONE set of fans will actually swallow this p*sh and still be making - 'We trust in Warbs' chants !!. Truly, truly, the Hun-fans are without doubt, the biggest, collective set of dumb-*****s in this world and they have a club that reflects this fact !!
http://www.newsnow.co.uk/h/Sport/Football/Championship/Leeds+United/Transfer+News
That's the Brentford boy gone from Sevco's grasp.
Now i wonder if St Johnston know Leeds are on a shopping spree. :greengrin
Sign for the zombies in Glasgow or sign for Steve Evans? TBF that's a tough choice as SE is a roaster but as a Celtc man I imagine he took extra pleasure in this signing. I think the guy's very ordinary anyway but it helps deflate Sevco so that's good.
22-01-2016, 03:45 PM
Good to see Tommy Wright in this morning papers saying that Sevco have no chance of signing O'Halloran unless they significantly increase their offer. Warburton's position of "we won't be held to ransom" is increasingly looking like "we don't have any money"....
Fixed that for you :aok:
22-01-2016, 08:11 PM
Sign for the zombies in Glasgow or sign for Steve Evans? TBF that's a tough choice as SE is a roaster but as a Celtc man I imagine he took extra pleasure in this signing. I think the guy's very ordinary anyway but it helps deflate Sevco so that's good.
Steve Evans is the roasters preferred choice of roaster. Which tells you all you need to know about this one.
22-01-2016, 11:36 PM
After a change of pants and no doubt, once again, reinforced by a bottle of buckle and near-moron IQ, that big, scary bear has emerged from behind it's mummy's sofa and is ready to take on all-comers -
https://bearsfightbacksite.wordpress.com/
'Bears Fight Back won’t be intimidated by certain journalists who don’t seem to understand the import of the word ‘legal’.
Seems I was wrong, he/she/it does consider that because the term 'Legally'was used, he/she/it considers itself 'Teflon' !!
I hope and pray the police catch the cretin behind this as I can already see the report in the papers - 'Shug Mac*****wits last words when being taken down were - 'But .... but ...... but ,,,,,, ye cannae dae this, ah used 'Legully' so ..... ffs, ur ye's joking ...... MAMMY !!'
22-01-2016, 11:43 PM
After a change of pants and no doubt, once again, reinforced by a bottle of buckle and near-moron IQ, that big, scary bear has emerged from behind it's mummy's sofa and is ready to take on all-comers -
https://bearsfightbacksite.wordpress.com/
'Bears Fight Back won’t be intimidated by certain journalists who don’t seem to understand the import of the word ‘legal’.
Seems I was wrong, he/she/it does consider that because the term 'Legally'was used, he/she/it considers itself 'Teflon' !!
I hope and pray the police catch the cretin behind this as I can already see the report in the papers - 'Shug Mac*****wits last words when being taken down were - 'But .... but ...... but ,,,,,, ye cannae dae this, ah used 'Legully' so ..... ffs, ur ye's joking ...... MAMMY !!'
I would be astonished if this sub-human can't be tracked down and banged up for a lengthy sentence. Then again, the wheels of justice turn slowly when forced to turn on their own.
22-01-2016, 11:50 PM
I would be astonished if this sub-human can't be tracked down and banged up for a lengthy sentence. Then again, the wheels of justice turn slowly when forced to turn on their own.
Must've been two for one on the buckie the Twitter is back up as well.
23-01-2016, 12:20 AM
Coventry Reserves if I recall correctly.
23-01-2016, 12:30 AM
Coventry Reserves if I recall correctly.
Youth at Coventry, played at Hereford.
23-01-2016, 07:11 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/14225330.Celtic_manager_Deila_defends_Stokes_loan_ move_to_Hibs_amid_Rangers_concerns/?ref=mr&lp=1
"Many" in Scottish football questioning Hibs/Stokes getting in the way of Rangers' entitlement to win the league this year...
Expect this to get more sour when The Rangers fail to sign anyone this window and especially if Warburton's smaller, threadbare squad starts to drop points on the run in...
Wonder if any of those many questioning Hibs putting up a challenge might expect referees to do their bit too?
23-01-2016, 07:19 AM
The switch has been queried by many in Scottish football because Hibs are currently vying with Rangers, who are just five points clear in the second tier table with 16 games remaining, for a place in the top flight.
This was all I could read before I get to the pay wall. Who is this "many"? And what does it have to do with Celtic that we're "vying" with Rangers??
This is absurd.
23-01-2016, 07:24 AM
RONNY Deila last night dismissed suggestions that Celtic were wrong to sanction Anthony Stokes’s loan move to Hibs – due to the fact the striker could help to prevent Rangers from winning promotion to the Premiership.
Stokes, who has featured just twice for Celtic all season, has joined the Edinburgh club until the end of the 2015/16 campaign and is set to play for them in a Championship match against St. Mirren at Easter Road this afternoon.
The switch has been queried by many in Scottish football because Hibs are currently vying with Rangers, who are just five points clear in the second tier table with 16 games remaining, for a place in the top flight.
Securing the services of the Republic of Ireland internationalist should, despite his lack of game time in recent months, improve Alan Stubbs's side significantly.
Peter Lawwell, the Celtic chief executive, last season admitted the Ibrox club’s absence from the Premiership costs the Parkhead club £10 million every financial year.
Deila, though, believes the move will prove beneficial for both Stokes and Celtic and stressed that Rangers must win promotion on their own merit.
“For me the most important thing for Stokes now is that he goes to an environment where he is wanted, where he will play and where he is happy so that he can get games and get his career on track again,” he said. “It will benefit him, it will benefit Hibs and it will benefit us.
“You have to be good enough if you are going to go up and every club now is getting new players in during January. If Rangers or Hibs or whoever is coming up, then they have to be good enough to get into the top division. That is how I am thinking about it.”
Deila has only played against Rangers once since he move to Scotland from Norway two years ago. His Celtic side beat their Glasgow rivals 2-0 in the semi-final of the League Cup at Hampden last season.
He admitted that he would like to pit his wits against the Ibrox club in the Premiership in the future – but stressed he was unconcerned about what was happening in the Championship this term. “I want to have the best teams in the top division, but I don’t care who comes up,” he said.
Meanwhile, Deila, who this week signed Danish centre half Eric Sviatchencko in a £1.5 million deal, stressed he could bring in another striker during the January transfer window following the departure of Stokes.
However, he confirmed that Nadir Ciftci, the Turkish centre forward who has only featured sporadically since joining from Dundee United in the summer due to the form of Leigh Griffiths, was still in his thoughts.
“It’s about getting the right ones,” he said as he prepared for the Premiership meeting with St. Johnstone at Celtic Park this afternoon. “If they are not then we won’t bring in anyone else. We have three strikers at the club, but if we find someone who we think will make us better and there’s a possibility to do it then we will look at doing it.
“It’s tough when you have one scoring all of the time. Nadir (Ciftci) came in the summer and needs time to adapt, like all of the players coming in, it takes time. He has shown his potential in some games, like Hearts away, but there is a lot more to come from him.
“We work every day in training and talk to him to get the best out of him. It’s a big change for him coming here, like it was with Gary (Mackay-Steven) and Stuart (Armstrong)."
23-01-2016, 08:35 AM
RONNY Deila last night dismissed suggestions that Celtic were wrong to sanction Anthony Stokes’s loan move to Hibs – due to the fact the striker could help to prevent Rangers from winning promotion to the Premiership.
Stokes, who has featured just twice for Celtic all season, has joined the Edinburgh club until the end of the 2015/16 campaign and is set to play for them in a Championship match against St. Mirren at Easter Road this afternoon.
Securing the services of the Republic of Ireland internationalist should, despite his lack of game time in recent months, improve Alan Stubbs's side significantly.
Peter Lawwell, the Celtic chief executive, last season admitted the Ibrox club’s absence from the Premiership costs the Parkhead club £10 million every financial year.
Deila, though, believes the move will prove beneficial for both Stokes and Celtic and stressed that Rangers must win promotion on their own merit.
“For me the most important thing for Stokes now is that he goes to an environment where he is wanted, where he will play and where he is happy so that he can get games and get his career on track again,” he said. “It will benefit him, it will benefit Hibs and it will benefit us.
“You have to be good enough if you are going to go up and every club now is getting new players in during January. If Rangers or Hibs or whoever is coming up, then they have to be good enough to get into the top division. That is how I am thinking about it.”
Deila has only played against Rangers once since he move to Scotland from Norway two years ago. His Celtic side beat their Glasgow rivals 2-0 in the semi-final of the League Cup at Hampden last season.
He admitted that he would like to pit his wits against the Ibrox club in the Premiership in the future – but stressed he was unconcerned about what was happening in the Championship this term. “I want to have the best teams in the top division, but I don’t care who comes up,” he said.
Meanwhile, Deila, who this week signed Danish centre half Eric Sviatchencko in a £1.5 million deal, stressed he could bring in another striker during the January transfer window following the departure of Stokes.
However, he confirmed that Nadir Ciftci, the Turkish centre forward who has only featured sporadically since joining from Dundee United in the summer due to the form of Leigh Griffiths, was still in his thoughts.
“It’s about getting the right ones,” he said as he prepared for the Premiership meeting with St. Johnstone at Celtic Park this afternoon. “If they are not then we won’t bring in anyone else. We have three strikers at the club, but if we find someone who we think will make us better and there’s a possibility to do it then we will look at doing it.
“It’s tough when you have one scoring all of the time. Nadir (Ciftci) came in the summer and needs time to adapt, like all of the players coming in, it takes time. He has shown his potential in some games, like Hearts away, but there is a lot more to come from him.
“We work every day in training and talk to him to get the best out of him. It’s a big change for him coming here, like it was with Gary (Mackay-Steven) and Stuart (Armstrong)."
Always said he was a great guy:greengrin
Bound to get fined for such anti the rangers sentiments.
Newcastlehibby
23-01-2016, 08:47 AM
Sorted that for you :wink:
Their main transfer target has signed for Leeds.
Sorted that for both of you. :greengrin:aok:
24-01-2016, 10:24 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scott-mcdermott-glass-whine-dave-7234129#UeLivVwOrokgQtkG.97
There's a great line in there about missing out on a player to a basket case of a club. Made me laugh.
If this was any other team no one would bother but it appears headlines news in the west the Smellic are trying to do over Der Hun.
We signed a quality player on loan simply as that.
None story move on....... O and btw the pressure is all on you Der Hun!
24-01-2016, 10:51 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/scott-mcdermott-glass-whine-dave-7234129#UeLivVwOrokgQtkG.97
There's a great line in there about missing out on a player to a basket case of a club. Made me laugh.
Who is Scott McDermot and why have rangers already effectively won the title?
With regards to people saying it was wrong to loan Stokes to us...what a crock of *****. There isn't another league on earth who would think like this, it's pathetic.
If this was any other team no one would bother but it appears headlines news in the west the Smellic are trying to do over Der Hun.
We signed a quality player on loan simply as that.
None story move on....... O and btw the pressure is all on you Der Hun!
Only in the wonderland that is Weegieland would the accepted thinking be that one deadly rival would want to help the other deadly rival. Does anyone believe this situation exists in Liverpool, Manchester or North London? The poisonous OF, joined at the hip for over 100 years with no cure in sight!
high bee
24-01-2016, 11:06 AM
Haha good read, you can sense the fear in his voice. The penny has dropped. They are broke, King cannot stump up even mediocre fees and will struggle to strengthen. The line about them being the best team because they beat us 4-2 is comedy gold, I guess Falkirk are the best team cause they beat them 2-1. Standby for the fan revolt when we start eating away at that points gap.
hibbypostie
24-01-2016, 11:24 AM
http://raillydecord.wordpress.com/2016/01/23/celtic-and-hibs-in-shock-fifa-probe/ :wink::greengrin
24-01-2016, 01:48 PM
Great stuff!!!
The irony is that some of them actually believe this is the case.
Wouldn't mind O'Halloran on loan to the end of the season though!!
24-01-2016, 02:08 PM
http://raillydecord.wordpress.com/2016/01/23/celtic-and-hibs-in-shock-fifa-probe/ :wink::greengrin
:thumbsup:Incisive, thought provoking journalism. Big Hibby welcome to O'Halleron. GG
24-01-2016, 02:12 PM
It's all a fenian conspiracy, Ah'm tellin ye!
Great stuff, though if the DR printed that no one would know it was a spoof!
O dear o dear. Green with envy!!
There problem is they haven't got a pot to piss in and are dredging bargain basement for players.
In a word
Get it roond ye
livi hibs 1875
24-01-2016, 06:01 PM
O dear o dear. Green with envy!!
There problem is they haven't got a pot to piss in and are dredging bargain basement for players.
In a word
Get it roond ye
That was 4 words:aok:
Cannae count
24-01-2016, 07:10 PM
Respectfully, Warburton has been a very loyal employee so far. He does what he's told and Dave King must be delighted.
However, Warbuon must be concerned that this gig will damage his reputation. Already overlooked for the Fulham, Reading and QPR jobs, if he can't get Rangers promoted this season his stock will fall even further.
Will he continue being loyal if he doesn't get to sign any players in January? Or will he start pointing the finger at others?
24-01-2016, 08:10 PM
Respectfully, Warburton has been a very loyal employee so far. He does what he's told and Dave King must be delighted.
However, Warbuon must be concerned that this gig will damage his reputation. Already overlooked for the Fulham, Reading and QPR jobs, if he can't get Rangers promoted this season his stock will fall even further.
Will he continue being loyal if he doesn't get to sign any players in January? Or will he start pointing the finger at others?
I was/am doubtful that he was a contender for any of those jobs. Struck me at the time that Level 5 were throwing a bait out there to try and get Rangers some compensation for him.......
24-01-2016, 09:02 PM
http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/the-guts-of-a-million/
24-01-2016, 09:35 PM
Great stuff, though if the DR printed that no one would know it was a spoof!
The Daily Record is beyond parady
24-01-2016, 10:47 PM
http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/the-guts-of-a-million/
Phil Mac is suggesting there is a story behind the laddie from Spurs returning to his parent club....
24-01-2016, 10:51 PM
Phil Mac is suggesting there is a story behind the laddie from Spurs returning to his parent club....
In that story or on Twitter? He's blocked me on Twitter so I can't see what he posts there.
24-01-2016, 11:07 PM
In that story or on Twitter? He's blocked me on Twitter so I can't see what he posts there.
It's in his blog and one the comments refers to non payment of lodging costs. As always there's no way to know for sure but my word I hope that's true lol
24-01-2016, 11:26 PM
It's in his blog and one the comments refers to non payment of lodging costs. As always there's no way to know for sure but my word I hope that's true lol
Ah, I see it now. I must have reading without taking it in when I first read it. Cheers.
25-01-2016, 01:09 AM
Can this thread not be detached from the poll of about four seasons back?
It is all rather embarassing!
25-01-2016, 07:30 AM
Can this thread not be detached from the poll of about four seasons back?
It is all rather embarassing!
If we hang on a wee bit longer it might become valid again.:greengrin
25-01-2016, 08:58 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/keith-jackson-missing-out-st-7238971#zMzSqvljbfesMdt1.97
Keef back on message.
Brentford guy overpriced - ✅
O'Halloran still on the radar - ✅
King has put in more dosh than you think - ✅
25-01-2016, 09:21 AM
King has put in more dosh than you think - ✅"It is believed" that King has put in more dosh than you think. No evidence required to support a belief. Faith based reporting in the Record.
25-01-2016, 09:29 AM
That'll be in line with his believed 'off the radar wealth!'
Bill Milne
25-01-2016, 09:41 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/keith-jackson-missing-out-st-7238971#zMzSqvljbfesMdt1.97
Keef back on message.
Brentford guy overpriced - ✅
O'Halloran still on the radar - ✅
King has put in more dosh than you think - ✅
Wrong on all counts, as usual. Do the The Huns fans still believe this tosh or does nobody care anymore?
25-01-2016, 09:58 AM
"It is believed" that King has put in more dosh than you think. No evidence required to support a belief. Faith based reporting in the Record.
They say £7m. Does The Lying King have untold wealth outside South Africa? There is a small limit to the amount of money he can take out of SA. Nobody in the MSM seems to think this might be relevant.
25-01-2016, 10:00 AM
Wrong on all counts, as usual. Do the The Huns fans still believe this tosh or does nobody care anymore?
Only thing missing was the disgusting behaviour of St J in looking for a King's ransom for O'Halloran :wink:
St J in serious danger of join Hibs, Celtic and the BBC in the growing list of fenian conspirators trying the stop The Rangers from reclaiming their rightful place at the top of the top tier. What will they be like when we catch and overtake them :greengrin
banchoryhibs
25-01-2016, 10:23 AM
They say £7m. Does The Lying King have untold wealth outside South Africa? There is a small limit to the amount of money he can take out of SA. Nobody in the MSM seems to think this might be relevant.
Of course to a man of King's wealth this makes no difference but the SA Rand has tanked against the £ and $ so his cash is shrinking fast....
25-01-2016, 10:38 AM
"After all, of all clubs, Rangers have learned the lessons of recklessness and binge spending in the market."
Really? Have they? I thought they've been running at a massive loss since their formation a few years ago and only exist due to the loose pocket strings of some dubious characters? Or maybe I am wrong and the daily ranger is correct :confused:
Keef's most spiffing quote is surely, "Since bursting his way into the boardroom to liberate his football club from a long list of charlatans", yes that's Glib & Shameless to whom Keef is referring. As another poster said, beyond parody. Keef also conveniently ignores the fact that King was previously in the boardroom alongside the aforementioned charlatans!
25-01-2016, 01:43 PM
Keef's most spiffing quote is surely, "Since bursting his way into the boardroom to liberate his football club from a long list of charlatans", yes that's Glib & Shameless to whom Keef is referring. As another poster said, beyond parody. Keef also conveniently ignores the fact that King was previously in the boardroom alongside the aforementioned charlatans!
And Walter Smith was chairman not so long ago.
25-01-2016, 03:12 PM
http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/the-guts-of-another-million/#more-7263
25-01-2016, 03:15 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160125/0a98cf102a9eda66cdade43ca219a372.jpg
25-01-2016, 03:16 PM
http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/the-guts-of-another-million/#more-7263
"The player would have been retired before all the instalments were paid"
25-01-2016, 06:14 PM
"The player would have been retired before all the instalments were paid"
I consider myself a relatively level headed sort
So it's probably a badge of honour that I have been blocked on twitter by this Phil chap, for my heinous crime - I pointed out to him that Edinburgh football rivalries exist with sporting passion but without the need for sinister sectarianism in my experience.
This 21C approach from this particular "dear reader" clearly vexed the playwright
25-01-2016, 06:31 PM
Plenty of the usual drivel from the MSM, but I get the sense that Jackson is hedging his bets. After all he got burnt over Craig Whyte.
I expect him to start peppering his stories with more quotes that he can lift out of context at a later date to 'prove' that he was the first journo to expose King's lies.
26-01-2016, 01:27 PM
http://www.weareperth.co.uk/wapforum/index.php?/topic/24528-semi-final-tickets/&page=28#comment-743976
I followed a link to a St Johnstone web site , in particular to some Sainty complaining to Doncaster at the SPFL.
The complaint about ticket allocations are understandable, but it would seem the SPFL put a mock up picture of their player Michael O'Halloran in a Rangers strip on the SPFL website.
If this is true , heads need to roll.
26-01-2016, 01:36 PM
Any thoughts on the legal interpretation of this meetng
https://johnjamessite.wordpress.com/2016/01/26/mcraebroadfoot-state-that-rangers-are-the-same-club/
26-01-2016, 01:48 PM
http://www.weareperth.co.uk/wapforum/index.php?/topic/24528-semi-final-tickets/&page=28#comment-743976
I followed a link to a St Johnstone web site , in particular to some Sainty complaining to Doncaster at the SPFL.
The complaint about ticket allocations are understandable, but it would seem the SPFL put a mock up picture of their player Michael O'Halloran in a Rangers strip on the SPFL website.
Can sympathise with all in this letter and our club would be similarly enraged and I hope we say so.
As for the mocked up photo it just emphasises my belief that the SPFL(and indeed SFA) are unprofessional silly little boys clubs run by small minded, backward thinking cliques who see every issue through Old Firm eyes.
26-01-2016, 01:52 PM
http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/checking-in-and-chequeing-out/#more-7275
26-01-2016, 01:57 PM
MASH v RIFC is in court again tomorrow. Think it's about shareholders rights.
26-01-2016, 02:03 PM
Interesting article on the SFM site.
http://www.sfm.scot/john-clark-meets-the-sfa/
26-01-2016, 02:09 PM
Can sympathise with all in this letter and our club would be similarly enraged and I hope we say so.
As for the mocked up photo it just emphasises my belief that the SPFL(and indeed SFA) are unprofessional silly little boys clubs run by small minded, backward thinking cliques who see every issue through Old Firm eyes.
Outrageous :wink:
26-01-2016, 02:20 PM
Any thoughts on the legal interpretation of this meetng
https://johnjamessite.wordpress.com/2016/01/26/mcraebroadfoot-state-that-rangers-are-the-same-club/
Briefly, Broadfoot's assertion that,
" the SFA had received legal advice that they are the same club and that the authorities are stuck with it "
They could get a second opinion, they could ask the lawyers to provide evidence of any previous decisions that supported their opinion, they could ask them what lodge they belonged to. :greengrin
26-01-2016, 02:42 PM
Briefly, Broadfoot's assertion that,
" the SFA had received legal advice that they are the same club and that the authorities are stuck with it "
They could get a second opinion, they could ask the lawyers to provide evidence of any previous decisions that supported their opinion, they could ask them what lodge they belonged to. :greengrin
They could show us the legal advice?
26-01-2016, 03:18 PM
http://linkis.com/celticnewsnow.com/FNX9C
Excellent letter from the Saints fan. I hope on Saturday both Hibs & Saints fans show mutual respect & demonstrate to the SFA that even within a not fit for purpose stadium that fans can support their team without unnecessary & costly segregation.
Indeed I hope this is the case.
I still cannot get my head around why the death trap of a main stand continually passes it's safety inspection especially with the roof (and other parts) being full of asbestos.
It'll be good to see where they get the money to build a new modern stand fit for purpose.
26-01-2016, 04:07 PM
I still cannot get my head around why the death trap of a main stand continually passes it's safety inspection especially with the roof (and other parts) being full of asbestos.
It'll be good to see where they get the money to build a new modern stand fit for purpose.
They have £1.2m a year coming in from FoH and 5,000 more season ticket holders just now. That will help.
They have £1.2m a year coming in from FoH and 5,000 more season ticket holders just now. That will help. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It will Ozy but that's supposed to all the club to run.... Wages bills etc. That won't cover the cost of a new stand as well as paying wages etc.
It will help but will the bank want to lend then that sort of cash after what they've been through??
Maybe if budge is guarantor??
26-01-2016, 04:29 PM
http://www.philmacgiollabhain.ie/checking-in-and-chequeing-out/#more-7275
That particular blog seems to have been hooked. Something contentious in its content?
26-01-2016, 04:37 PM
That particular blog seems to have been hooked. Something contentious in its content?
Aye. He never mentioned 'the word mines' pretentiously.
26-01-2016, 05:05 PM
It will Ozy but that's supposed to all the club to run.... Wages bills etc. That won't cover the cost of a new stand as well as paying wages etc.
It will help but will the bank want to lend then that sort of cash after what they've been through??
If the extra season tickets provides about £1.2m plus the £1.2m from FoH, that's a fair chunk of money.
They could pay for the new stand over 5 years and still have the same wage budget as us.
26-01-2016, 06:07 PM
They have £1.2m a year coming in from FoH and 5,000 more season ticket holders just now. That will help.
I thought that was to be used to buy the Club from Budge.
If the extra season tickets provides about £1.2m plus the £1.2m from FoH, that's a fair chunk of money. They could pay for the new stand over 5 years and still have the same wage budget as us. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I see.
Still hope they make it cheap and nasty!
26-01-2016, 06:14 PM
I read the missing blog earlier.
Just the usual Phil stuff. Suggesting the reason the Spurs loanee went back south was because his hotel bill was not getting paid and that Murray Park training ground was not up to scratch.
All couched in the usual " I was told " and the stenographers should ask certain question.
26-01-2016, 06:26 PM
Thanks gg :aok:
Odd that it's gone without explanation
26-01-2016, 06:41 PM
JJ certainly not missing the SFA on their same club stance.
https://johnjamessite.wordpress.com/2016/01/26/scottish-football-governance/#comments
BH Hibs
26-01-2016, 07:02 PM
Maybe the Spurs guy got back to him telling him not to post pish about their player.
Only if she gets a run to the bingo on a Thursday!
monarch
26-01-2016, 07:28 PM
If the extra season tickets provides about £1.2m plus the £1.2m from FoH, that's a fair chunk of money.
They could pay for the new stand over 5 years and still have the same wage budget as us.
The £1.2M per annum from FOH is going towards current operational expenses and also to eventually purchase the club from Anne Budge (plus interest).
26-01-2016, 08:40 PM
JJ certainly not missing the SFA on their same club stance.
https://johnjamessite.wordpress.com/2016/01/26/scottish-football-governance/#comments
I find his continuing claim to be a Rangers fan less and less tenable. There may well be Bluenoses who don't consider Sevco to be the same club, but I very much doubt they would express it in these terms.
Therefore, I find his pointing the finger at 'liars' to be a bit much.
27-01-2016, 11:30 AM
The £1.2M per annum from FOH is going towards current operational expenses and also to eventually purchase the club from Anne Budge (plus interest).
None of it is going into share purchase at the moment and probably never will.
27-01-2016, 11:58 AM
How did the Rangers court case go this morning?
27-01-2016, 12:09 PM
How did the Rangers court case go this morning?
They won
27-01-2016, 12:16 PM
They won
Does that mean they have opened up an 8 point gap?
27-01-2016, 12:24 PM
They won
That's a bit of a sore one.
Had they lost, it would have been very serious for them. As it is, I reckon they'll find the cash to last the season, or at least until ST's go on sale.
27-01-2016, 12:27 PM
That's a bit of a sore one.
Had they lost, it would have been very serious for them. As it is, I reckon they'll find the cash to last the season, or at least until ST's go on sale.
Yes I think so too now. The fact that they have not made any signings suggests that they are watching the pennies, so should be able to raise the extra cash to get them there.
27-01-2016, 12:33 PM
http://www.vanguardbears.co.uk/article.php?i=91&a=rangers-withdraw-business-from-the-herald
That will be why the herald retracted their story this morning.
It's also a great example of why the press can't be trusted.
27-01-2016, 12:44 PM
They won
Was that the case of MASH against Rangers because of the voting at the AGM rights ?
27-01-2016, 12:47 PM
Was that the case of MASH against Rangers because of the voting at the AGM rights ?
Yes. The judge who ordered them to allow Mash to vote last time did not make that permanent. It means they can try again and MASH have to come back to court and protect themselves each time.
27-01-2016, 12:53 PM
Yes. The judge who ordered them to allow Mash to vote last time did not make that permanent. It means they can try again and MASH have to come back to court and protect themselves each time.
Was there not going to be a follow up claim from Easdale nominees who actually lost their voting rights at the AGM ?
27-01-2016, 12:56 PM
Was there not going to be a follow up claim from Easdale nominees who actually lost their voting rights at the AGM ?
Don't think that's been confirmed yet.
27-01-2016, 12:59 PM
Oh. I thought it was Chuckie's appeal. Had it in mind that was just before the transfer deadline.
When is that, then?
27-01-2016, 01:03 PM
In fairness, it depends on the type and location and risk of the asbestos being disturbed and impacting on people, asbestos is a bad thing of course but the danger in many situations is only when it is has been or can be broken or damaged and its particles are present in the air and can be ingested through breathing.
Still, they should close that godawful rotting dump of a main stand down :greengrin
27-01-2016, 01:17 PM
Oh. I thought it was Chuckie's appeal. Had it in mind that was just before the transfer deadline.
When is that, then?
Think that may be this Friday
27-01-2016, 01:24 PM
Cheers. In that case, ignore my previous prognostications of doom. :greengrin
27-01-2016, 01:26 PM
That's if Chuckie pulls the £ 50 k together.
http://news.stv.tv/west-central/1339222-green-told-to-lodge-50000-bond-ahead-of-rangers-legal-fees-appeal/
That's if Chuckie pulls the £ 50 k together.
http://news.stv.tv/west-central/1339222-green-told-to-lodge-50000-bond-ahead-of-rangers-legal-fees-appeal/
I read somewhere that CG had indeed rustled up the £50k required, game on!
LeithSqualk
27-01-2016, 03:00 PM
In fairness, it depends on the type and location and risk of the asbestos being disturbed and impacting on people, asbestos is a bad thing of course but the danger in many situations is only when it is has been or can be broken or damaged and its particles are present in the air and can be ingested through breathing.
Still, they should close that godawful rotting dump of a main stand down :greengrin
So what if one of the hoofball merchants smacks a shot on goal into the roof of the death trap, if one of the tiles crack could asbestos rain down on the fans below?
27-01-2016, 03:30 PM
So what if one of the hoofball merchants smacks a shot on goal into the roof of the death trap, if one of the tiles crack could asbestos rain down on the fans below?
The point was, we don't know where the asbestos is and what measures have been taken to limit exposure, if its been encapsulated somehow then the answer is no, not necessarily. Risk Assessment should be done to determine the likelihood of it causing exposure.
Just as well its only one game vs the hoofballers though, lessens the chances... :wink:
27-01-2016, 08:09 PM
https://spiersstatement2016.wordpress.com/
The Herald’s Apology to Rangers FC
I feel I need to explain the context of The Herald clarification/apology published today regarding my column about Rangers FC and the fight against bigoted chanting.
Rangers took exception to a column I wrote in which I questioned “the mettle” of the current club board in tackling offensive chanting.
This opinion was based on the fact that, at a meeting I attended at Ibrox Stadium on August 31st 2015, a Rangers director told me that he thought The Billy Boys was “a great song”.
I subsequently expressed my dismay at the director’s comment in an email exchange with Rangers. There was, and is, no question of me calling any Rangers director a bigot.
Rangers duly complained to The Herald about my column. As the weeks passed a dispute arose, and the pressure brought upon the newspaper became severe.
The Herald told me repeatedly that they now had to find a way to a public resolution with Rangers. Having searched many avenues to reach an agreement with the club, the newspaper ultimately denied my request to withhold any clarification/apology until my own position was clearer.
The Herald has never told me that they disbelieved my version of events. I also retain the highest regard for Magnus Llewellin, the paper’s editor who has tried to resolve this problem.
My opinion – as expressed in my column – was based on a truthful account of my meeting with a Rangers director.
About Graham Spiers
Graham Spiers is a Scottish sports journalist who currently writes for The Herald and The Times, and also works for the BBC. He has won Scotland’s Sports Journalist of the Year award four times.
[QUOTE=s.a.m;4562460]https://spiersstatement2016.wordpress.com/
I feel I need to explain the context of The Herald clarification/apology published today regarding my column about Rangers FC and the fight against bigoted chanting.
Rangers took exception to a column I wrote in which I questioned “the mettle” of the current club board in tackling offensive chanting.
This opinion was based on the fact that, at a meeting I attended at Ibrox Stadium on August 31st 2015, a Rangers director told me that he thought The Billy Boys was “a great song”.
I subsequently expressed my dismay at the director’s comment in an email exchange with Rangers. There was, and is, no question of me calling any Rangers director a bigot.
Rangers duly complained to The Herald about my column. As the weeks passed a dispute arose, and the pressure brought upon the newspaper became severe.
The Herald told me repeatedly that they now had to find a way to a public resolution with Rangers. Having searched many avenues to reach an agreement with the club, the newspaper ultimately denied my request to withhold any clarification/apology until my own position was clearer.
The Herald has never told me that they disbelieved my version of events. I also retain the highest regard for Magnus Llewellin, the paper’s editor who has tried to resolve this problem.
My opinion – as expressed in my column – was based on a truthful account of my meeting with a Rangers director.
About Graham Spiers
Graham Spiers is a Scottish sports journalist who currently writes for The Herald and The Times, and
also works for the BBC. He has won Scotland’s Sports Journalist of the Year award four times.[/QUOTE
Wow! The power of Sevco is frightening, poor old Spiers being hung out to dry by his paper. Whatever happened to standing up for journalistic integrity? Now the Celtc fans will boycott The Herald & they'll be back where they started!
27-01-2016, 08:20 PM
About Graham Spiers
Graham Spiers is a Scottish sports journalist who currently writes for The Herald and The Times, and also works for the BBC. He has won Scotland’s Sports Journalist of the Year award four times.
That's an outrage that they buckled. I'd walk if I was Graham Spiers.
doddsy
27-01-2016, 08:20 PM
About Graham Spiers
What a very dark and disturbing story. Wtf is going on in Scotland that a Newspaper apologises to a so-called football club for highlighting vile sectarianism. I say so-called football club as it seems much more interested in being a vehicle for religious hatred than a normal football club. Very dark days indeed.
27-01-2016, 08:24 PM
It looks like it wasn't the editors that buckled, it was higher up. A real insight in to the way Sevco works behind the scenes. King protecting the clubs "traditions" no doubt. Shameful.
27-01-2016, 08:29 PM
It looks like it wasn't the editors that buckled, it was higher up. A real insight in to the way Sevco works behind the scenes. King protecting the clubs "traditions" no doubt. Shameful.
Yes I meant the upper echelons of the paper in general. It's a shocking decision.
27-01-2016, 08:34 PM
Wouldnt bother, its harmless. These jambos have been sitting under it for years and its not harmed them one bit.
Benny Brazil
27-01-2016, 08:35 PM
[QUOTE=s.a.m;4562460]https://spiersstatement2016.wordpress.com/
About Graham Spiers
Graham Spiers is a Scottish sports journalist who currently writes for The Herald and The Times, and
also works for the BBC. He has won Scotland’s Sports Journalist of the Year award four times.[/QUOTE
Wow! The power of Sevco is frightening, poor old Spiers being hung out to dry by his paper. Whatever happened to standing up for journalistic integrity? Now the Celtc fans will boycott The Herald & they'll be back where they started!
Absolutely shameful. I may not agree with much of what Spiers writes about but for once he stands up against the vile garbage coming from the Hun hordes and his paper is pressurised into apologising.
Scotland will never move on from this sectarian rubbish - not in my lifetime anyway.
27-01-2016, 08:37 PM
Why are posts about Hearts appearing on this thread?
27-01-2016, 08:40 PM
About Graham Spiers
This is maybe quite a fanciful idea but is this not the kind of thing that could (or should) be reported to the 'Press Standards' people ?. Basically, the Herald is admitting it's giving into blackmail and being prevented from doing what the papers are (allegedly) meant to do - present an honest and unbiased account of news in Scotland ??
27-01-2016, 08:43 PM
Incredible article. Pathetic that the Herald have apologised, unbelievable that a director can make claims like that and so so sad that instead of investigating what Spiers has said, Rangers would rather just ban the Herald.
27-01-2016, 08:45 PM
Incredible article. Pathetic that the Herald have apologised, unbelievable that a director can make claims like that and so so sad that instead of investigating what Spiers has said, Rangers would rather just ban the Herald.
Rangers know what he said is true so no need for an investigation. They just didn't want it made public.
27-01-2016, 08:47 PM
Rangers know what he said is true so no need for an investigation. They just didn't want it made public.
They really are a vile horribe institution......Scotland's shame........
Sectarianism is rife within the Club from the top down, and will never be eradicated.......
27-01-2016, 08:49 PM
This will be why the herald buckled.
http://www.vanguardbears.co.uk/article.php?i=91&a=rangers-withdraw-business-from-the-herald
They are skint.
This will be why the herald buckled.
They are skint.
"Defending our traditions" Jesus wept, sad embarrasing Neanderthals.
Scottish journalism is an irrelevence now sadly. Spiers being sha* on in a similar way to Jim spence. It's just f***in sad in a supposedly modern country.
27-01-2016, 10:54 PM
The Scottish government must take action! This has gone beyond the realms of a joke while trampling all over our games limited integrity! The insidious nature of the Glasgow based football associations, the media and BBC MUST NOW BE STOPPED!
28-01-2016, 07:17 AM
Maybe it is about time Parks got some of there own medicine from there customers!
28-01-2016, 07:20 AM
Rumour has it the Director is Donald Park, hence the reason they have fought so hard on this one.
doddsy
28-01-2016, 07:29 AM
It is time for all good men and women to keep voicing their concerns and anger on forums such as this. The Scottish Media
are scared of the backlash from the vile people who want to maintain vile sectarianism and religious hatred within football
here. Jim Spence and Graham Spiers are to be applauded not sacrificed by their bosses. Keep up the good work in trying to
rid our game of the evil sectarianism.
28-01-2016, 07:42 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/14231746.Apology__Spiers_on_Sport__December_30__20 15/
I tried searching for the original article, but it appears to have disappeared.
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/14173775.Spiers_on_Sport__Rangers_must_uphold_prog ress_by_resisting_return_of__the_old_songs_/?ref=mr&lp=6
(http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/14231746.Apology__Spiers_on_Sport__December_30__20 15/)
28-01-2016, 07:46 AM
They really are a vile horribe institution......Scotland's shame........
Sectarianism is rife within the Club from the top down, and will never be eradicated.......
Sectarianism is the backbone of their club and, if it was ever eradicated, they would fold. Same with Celtic, to a slightly less extent.
AndyM_1875
28-01-2016, 08:00 AM
He's freelance so that's not really something that will happen.
The Herald may cave in totally and stop taking his work though which would be outrageous.
I like Graham Spiers. Don't always agree with him but he's a proper old school hack who has no time for the bigots and writes informative pieces well. He's managed to upset both sides of the old firm recently so that's a sign he's doing his job properly.
He's light years ahead of the craven apologists at many of the tabloids and the spoofers with blogs like Phil.
28-01-2016, 08:04 AM
Which non rangers supporter wuld buy a newspaper that apologises to a club and a director that think Billy Boys is a great song.? Big mistake by the Herald.
Whole thing begs questions like...would any other journalist on the payroll ever dare to mention sectarian issues at Rangers now?......or just what other issues non football related is the Herald editorial so easily influenced on?
28-01-2016, 08:25 AM
He's freelance so that's not really something that will happen.
The Herald may cave in totally and stop taking his work though which would be outrageous.
I like Graham Spiers. Don't always agree with him but he's a proper old school hack who has no time for the bigots and writes informative pieces well. He's managed to upset both sides of the old firm recently so that's a sign he's doing his job properly.
He's light years ahead of the craven apologists at many of the tabloids and the spoofers with blogs like Phil.
He's also a Rangers fan - exactly the type of fan that Rangers need right now too.
He objects publicly to the bigotry instead of dismissing it as a minority and he holds the dodgy characters who have helped ruin his club up to scrutiny.
If they had more fans like him, and if the MSM were more prepared to be like him then Rangers would never have been allowed to get into the mess they have.
They really are their own worst enemy and they don't even realise it.
doddsy
28-01-2016, 08:55 AM
Which non rangers supporter wuld buy a newspaper that apologises to a club and a director that think Billy Boys is a great song.? Big mistake by the Herald.
Whole thing begs questions like...would any other journalist on the payroll ever dare to mention sectarian issues at Rangers now?......or just what other issues non football related is the Herald editorial so easily influenced on?
There are very few journalists who would put their heads on block and cover the sectarianism that still very sadly blights our game. The Donald Parks (if it was him) of the world want to maintain the sectarianism and some see it as a cash cow for the world to gawp at.
Here's the thing. We all know that ying needs a yang and opposites attract but it can be healthy and respectful without the need for the ugly vile religious hatred that attracts the neanderthal bigot. Get rid.
28-01-2016, 09:06 AM
There are very few journalists who would put their heads on block and cover the sectarianism that still very sadly blights our game. The Donald Parks (if it was him) of the world want to maintain the sectarianism and some see it as a cash cow for the world to gawp at.
Here's the thing. We all know that ying needs a yang and opposites attract but it can be healthy and respectful without the need for the ugly vile religious hatred that attracts the neanderthal bigot. Get rid.
Douglas Park, Shirley?
Donald played for us.
doddsy
28-01-2016, 09:27 AM
Douglas Park, Shirley?
Donald played for us.
Sorry Dad!
Douglas not Donald.
28-01-2016, 09:29 AM
Douglas Park, Shirley?
Donald played for us.
Did he?
28-01-2016, 09:30 AM
Did he?
He was coach, for sure, but wasn't he player-coach? I have a vague memory of him in a Hibs strip......
However, I'm old. :greengrin
28-01-2016, 09:32 AM
Douglas Park, Shirley?
Donald played for us.
Donald played for the Hearts, but he did coach with Hibs, and was caretaker manager between McLeish and Le God
28-01-2016, 09:35 AM
He was coach, for sure, but wasn't he player-coach? I have a vague memory of him in a Hibs strip......
He'd be about 48!!
doddsy
28-01-2016, 09:35 AM
Donald played for the Hearts, but he did coach with Hibs, and was caretaker manager between McLeish and Le God
Remember the moustache.
Quite an amiable dude and a great reputation for coaching the younger players if I remember correctly.
28-01-2016, 09:36 AM
Douglas Park, Shirley?
Donald played for us.
I think Douglas Park was also a coach :greengrin
28-01-2016, 09:38 AM
Remember the moustache.
Quite an amiable dude and a great reputation for coaching the younger players if I remember correctly.
Oh yes!! Deeks, Kenny Miller, Ian Muray, Tam McManus, Garry O
28-01-2016, 09:38 AM
Remember the moustache.
:agree: And the flesh coloured hair and mullet, :wink: Reminds me of a scrawny wee Hulk Hogan.
doddsy
28-01-2016, 09:42 AM
Exactly, he was well regarded for bringing the young guys through.
As well as the tache I seem to remember him going about in one of those director type brown camel hair coats.
28-01-2016, 09:42 AM
So am I, :greengrin definitely coached of course but remember him as a player for Hearts and Partick Thistle.
28-01-2016, 09:43 AM
We nicked him from Dundee United did we not?
28-01-2016, 09:48 AM
I think he was only 18 when he made his debut for Hibs, but yes, cam from Dundee Utd.
28-01-2016, 09:53 AM
Maybe he played as a Hibby in someone's testimonial then?
I have this vision.............. :greengrin
Don't think we nicked him. IIRC IM negotiated his release from Arabs then turned up at ER asking for a trial. I think I saw his 1st game ( & goal ) in 4-1 cup win over Pars. His Dad was sitting behind me IIRC.
28-01-2016, 09:59 AM
Another ex-Yam "leg-end" turned Hibs coach, Eamonn Bannon, did turn out briefly for Hibs first team in the mid-90s. Just once I think. Maybe that's what you're thinking of?
28-01-2016, 10:02 AM
Another ex-Yam "leg-end" turned Hibs coach, Eamonn Bannon, did turn out briefly for Hibs first team in the mid-90s. Just once I think. Maybe that's what you're thinking of?
Mmmmmebbe.
I'm turning into my old man. Once thoughts are in there, they're no gettin oot....:cb
28-01-2016, 10:06 AM
Back to The Rangers, has anybody got a copy of the original Graham Spiers article from 30th December?
28-01-2016, 11:13 AM
The rest of the Herald reporters getting in line. They don't need new signings apparently.
http://m.eveningtimes.co.uk/sport/14237034.Times_Talker__Do_Rangers_need_to_make_mor e_signings_in_the_January_transfer_window_/?ref=twtrec
28-01-2016, 11:22 AM
What an appalling self serving deluded lie of an article!
this all beggars belief!
28-01-2016, 11:40 AM
What an appalling self serving deluded lie of an article!
this all beggars belief!
Nah I think they are spot on. The Rangers don't need any players and arguably could let Waghorn and Wallace go and still win this League at a canter (it's pretty much in the bag already). It would mean even more money for superstars in the summer. Celtc are running scared because they know The Rangers are favourites for the Premiership next season already!
StevieT
28-01-2016, 11:41 AM
According to Wiki (yeh I know!), he joined Hibs in July 1994 as a coach. He was born in July 53 so that would make him 41 when he came to us
28-01-2016, 11:50 AM
You are so right - my bad :(