View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
20-06-2012, 10:07 PM
The problem with believing that though is that you are basically agreeing with the Celtic hordes that have bleated on about perceived injustices against them for decades.
What you're saying may be true of a couple of journos from the Record or Sun, but overall I think the coverage has been relatively fair. It's only natural that they report on the loudest voices and those are all coming from Rangers mouthpieces.
If Peter Lawell was screaming from the rooftops for Rangers to be booted to div 3 then the reporting in the Record from Traynor etc would be entirely different.
Don't forget the length of time they sat on this story, never mind Craigy Whyte's off the radar billions, the never, ever question just where Murray got his cash from to fund a decade of insane spending. Even the coverage of the admin process, sticking to the party line about whichever bidder, about how the CVA would pass, attacking anyone who dared suggest they deserve to go to SFL3 and start again. Yes, the Celtic fans go way over the top with their paranoia, but like most paranoia it stems from reality. If the last few months have taught us anything, it's that the system in this country will bend over backwards for Rangers.
There have been a couple journos who have tried to report this story as actual journalists; step on down Alex Thomson and Mark Daly. What investigative journalism have the Chick Young's and Jim Traynor's done? Men who seemed to have no shortage of sources or exclusives on Rangers during the good times suddenly fell silent. I remember Traynor cutting calls on his Sportsound phone in if they dared suggest Murray had any responsibility for the clubs current state.
We don't have a free and effective press in this country, certainly when it comes to sport. They have as large a role in this mess as anyone outwith Murray, Whyte and their cronies. An effective, functioning press would have been asking the proper questions years ago that would have stopped this from getting to this stage! Guess they were all too busy feasting on the succulent lamb :wink:
20-06-2012, 10:11 PM
Rangers trying to buy Bury and take their place in England...
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/rangers-plan-to-buy-an-english-club-904611
20-06-2012, 10:15 PM
Bury is just outside Manchester. I'm sure the Huns will be welcomed back to that neighbourhood.
20-06-2012, 10:18 PM
Web site up and running already, looks like this story has legs
http://www.buryrangers.co.uk/
Arf
Hank Schrader
20-06-2012, 10:22 PM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/rangers-plan-to-buy-an-english-club-904611
More press b*lls**t. Absolutely no danger that will happen.
20-06-2012, 10:23 PM
All for that, the sooner the better. :agree:
20-06-2012, 10:29 PM
Don't forget the length of time they sat on this story, never mind Craigy Whyte's off the radar billions, the never, ever question just where Murray got his cash from to fund a decade of insane spending. Even the coverage of the admin process, sticking to the party line about whichever bidder, about how the CVA would pass, attacking anyone who dared suggest they deserve to go to SFL3 and start again. Yes, the Celtic fans go way over the top with their paranoia, but like most paranoia it stems from reality. If the last few months have taught us anything, it's that the system in this country will bend over backwards for Rangers.
There have been a couple journos who have tried to report this story as actual journalists; step on down Alex Thomson and Mark Daly. What investigative journalism have the Chick Young's and Jim Traynor's done? Men who seemed to have no shortage of sources or exclusives on Rangers during the good times suddenly fell silent. I remember Traynor cutting calls on his Sportsound phone in if they dared suggest Murray had any responsibility for the clubs current state.
We don't have a free and effective press in this country, certainly when it comes to sport. They have as large a role in this mess as anyone outwith Murray, Whyte and their cronies. An effective, functioning press would have been asking the proper questions years ago that would have stopped this from getting to this stage! Guess they were all too busy feasting on the succulent lamb :wink:
Are Young and Traynor meant to be investigative journoulists though? I thought they were just football hacks that report on games :confused:
It bugs me how much importance people seem to give to the likes of them though.They are nothing. They have got no influence over anybody of any substance in the Scottish game.
Topographic Hibby
20-06-2012, 10:32 PM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/rangers-plan-to-buy-an-english-club-904611Yes the increased travel costs, accommodation and general hassle of getting from Glasgow to Bournemouth, Crawley and Yeovil etc are so much easier than those long haul journeys to take on Clyde or Queens Park. Not to mention that Green will have to raise CASH to BUY Bury.
Jeez-O, this Green guy is making Whyte, Murray and Co look like real astute business types!!
TH
20-06-2012, 10:33 PM
More press bull**** stories to get SPL to buckle and submit to the establishment world order. Pathetic.
20-06-2012, 10:33 PM
Are Young and Traynor meant to be investigative journoulists though? I thought they were just football hacks that report on games :confused:
It bugs me how much importance people seem to give to the likes of them though.They are nothing. They have got no influence over anybody of any substance in the Scottish game.
Well rightly or wrongly they are the most prominent, or among the most prominent commentators on the Scottish game. When the press turn to these Rangers PR mouthpieces instead of their business or other, more capable journalists to report this story, then yes, they are a factor.
20-06-2012, 10:37 PM
Right on que, grade A, prize winning bull****.
No facts, no quotes, no ******* chance. Ignoring that the Football League has already said they aren't and never will be welcome, ignoring that the authorities have said previously they'd never allow another situation remotely like MK Dons and that they have done about as much as possible to **** off FIFA and UEFA and this bring us to the conclusion that either A. These journalists are utter morons. B. They are deliberately printing crap to keep the Rangers fans buying papers.
The media should be reporting the truth of the situation, not constantly playing down their crimes, making up fake billionaire buyers, impossible escape routes and all the other torrents of crap they've been pushing for months now!
20-06-2012, 10:38 PM
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/rangers-plan-to-buy-an-english-club-904611:hilarious
Pity they couldnae find somewhere a bit further away than Bury
20-06-2012, 10:38 PM
All for that, the sooner the better. :agree:
To paraphrase Shakespeare:
Friends, Huns, fellow loyalists, lend me your ears;
I come to Bury Rangers, not to praise them.
The evil that huns do lives after them;
Yet Craig Whyte says he was ambitious;
And, sure, he is an dishonourable man.
I speak not to disprove what Charles Green spoke,
But here I am to speak what I do know.
20-06-2012, 10:53 PM
To paraphrase Shakespeare:
Friends, Huns, fellow loyalists, lend me your ears;
I come to Bury Rangers, not to praise them.
The evil that huns do lives after them;
Yet Craig Whyte says he was ambitious;
And, sure, he is an dishonourable man.
I speak not to disprove what Charles Green spoke,
But here I am to speak what I do know.
Ha ha ha :)
Drivel.
How often have they got to be told that all games in Scotland come under the jurisdiction of the SFA?
They would have to say no.
How often have they got to be told that all games in England come under the jurisdiction of the FA?
They have said no every time they have been asked by whoever cared to ask them.
Just something left over from April 1st.
20-06-2012, 11:01 PM
When the press turn to these Rangers PR mouthpieces instead of their business or other, more capable journalists to report this story, then yes, they are a factor.
Thing is, I don't remember how the whole story broke in the first place? Was it HMRC announcing the BTC or something? Did Keith Jackson have anything to do with it?
I'm just wondering why it was left to football journos and not business / finance correspondants? Was it just a case that nobody new there was a story to be found?
I mean, did anyone suspect there were the dual payments going on 5 or 10 years ago? Do we think that some in the media have know about it for years and said nothing, and they are only reporting it now since it all came out during the admin process?
I'm pretty sure that most of this was new news when the extent of the debts were revealed by D&P and the EBT payments by Newsnight. The media seemed genuinely shocked by what was revealed so I would doubt that parts of the press had been sitting on it for years.
I have no idea though. There's way too many issues to try and follow!!
20-06-2012, 11:06 PM
Well rightly or wrongly they are the most prominent, or among the most prominent commentators on the Scottish game. When the press turn to these Rangers PR mouthpieces instead of their business or other, more capable journalists to report this story, then yes, they are a factor.
Correct!
BBC Scotland continues to go to that erse "Chris McLaughlin Senior Football Reporter" whenever some new financial aspect crops up.
I'm sure they have far better qualified people on their staff than him to report on such stories.
Traynor has presented a couple of t.v.shows, and is a regular on Sportsound, where he's to be found with Chick and B. Dodds et al spouting absolute nonsense and still not decrying Minty Moonbeam Murray's part in all this.
The only reporter who's tried to cover this story from a Scottish Football perspective is Jim Spence.
20-06-2012, 11:26 PM
A message for Rangers Fans
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=NRVaLs4cBlg
Lungo--Drom
20-06-2012, 11:56 PM
Brilliant Mainboy, that's cheered ma hellish nightshift up a bit :greengrin
hibee1994
21-06-2012, 12:13 AM
As it says in the title
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/4385272/Rangers-plan-to-buy-Bury-and-play-in-English-League-One.html
Not even sure this is possible - can anyone confirm?
21-06-2012, 12:28 AM
So a dirty conniving club rotten to the very core, and I stand by my statement if it is not true. Why should Bury fans be sold out because Rangers are the biggest cheats in British football history? I hope now UEFA or FIFA step in and bury this sad sorry club once and for all.
hibee1994
21-06-2012, 12:34 AM
So a dirty conniving club rotten to the very core, and I stand by my statement if it is not true. Why should Bury fans be sold out because Rangers are the biggest cheats in British football history? I hope now UEFA or FIFA step in and bury this sad sorry club once and for all.
Totally agree. Btw love the unintentional pun at the end there :na na:
21-06-2012, 12:37 AM
Totally agree. Btw love the unintentional pun at the end there :na na:
I looked at it and thought 'christ, there isn't another word I can use!'
But on a serious note hopefully this will make a bigger body step up and take action, even the FA would bring sufficient news coverage to this story if it is indeed true.
21-06-2012, 12:37 AM
:top marks:thumbsup:
Tremendous!!!!
son of haggart
21-06-2012, 12:43 AM
surely this is good news? - good riddance to the stuff stuck on our shoes
21-06-2012, 12:45 AM
Brilliant!
hibee1994
21-06-2012, 12:47 AM
surely this is good news? - good riddance to the stuff stuck on our shoes
Far rather they were in the third division than destroying a club. How would you feel if your club went under because another one had cheated the tax man and gone into admin? Lets remember that Bury has supporters like us who have emotional ties to their club - it would be morally wrong to back this move even if it meant we were shot of Rangers.
21-06-2012, 01:13 AM
Let them go.
21-06-2012, 01:21 AM
Far rather they were in the third division than destroying a club. How would you feel if your club went under because another one had cheated the tax man and gone into admin? Lets remember that Bury has supporters like us who have emotional ties to their club - it would be morally wrong to back this move even if it meant we were shot of Rangers.
Exactly, we have to just hope that such a move is blocked by the relevant authorities to protect the integrity of both English and Scottish football. Bury are a club, with a history and a fan base just like us, just like Hearts, Queens Park and almost every other team, bar The Rangers FC 2012 of course. Hopefully we punt them to the 3rd Division and hopefully they don't in turn try to kill another club because they could not pay their taxes and cheated their way to success and in return were burdened with debt.
21-06-2012, 01:43 AM
Bury - How abso******lutely appropriate.:greengrin
Sabre rattling pish ..hammer us & we leave ..go easy on us & we stay because Scottish football needs us ..blah blah blah ..:blah:
Lungo--Drom
21-06-2012, 03:53 AM
It would be the perfect solution though. We wouldn't have to listen to any more of their jabbering pish because they wouldn't be in Scottish football anymore. I'd love to stand at the border and count how many of the 'loyal follow followers' make the long trip to the away games and vice versa how many English fans would make the trip north to the Royal'n'Loyal Burgh of Queen's Govan. Not many I think.
21-06-2012, 04:02 AM
Thing is, I don't remember how the whole story broke in the first place? Was it HMRC announcing the BTC or something? Did Keith Jackson have anything to do with it?
I'm just wondering why it was left to football journos and not business / finance correspondants? Was it just a case that nobody new there was a story to be found?
I mean, did anyone suspect there were the dual payments going on 5 or 10 years ago? Do we think that some in the media have know about it for years and said nothing, and they are only reporting it now since it all came out during the admin process?
I'm pretty sure that most of this was new news when the extent of the debts were revealed by D&P and the EBT payments by Newsnight. The media seemed genuinely shocked by what was revealed so I would doubt that parts of the press had been sitting on it for years.
I have no idea though. There's way too many issues to try and follow!!
Think the RangersTaxCase blog was up and running for about a year before Young or Traynor ever mentioned the Huns' finances. And when they did it was not to present facts but to promote the Huns' cause. They're either 'just match reporters' or they're not. The relentless stream of PR pish which has come from them this year clearly indicates they're not just match reporters - whatever else they are they've failed at it, miserably.
21-06-2012, 05:27 AM
Rangers buying Bury and playing in league 1:faf::faf::faf: leave it out, what a load of pesh, it will never happen. Huns grasping at straws, poor poor Huns, it's cr@p like this that makes footy fans hate them even more:violin:
21-06-2012, 05:50 AM
Hilarious. Talk about scaremongering, do it our way or we leave!! Our source said they are thinking about it. Article then goes on to say they don't know if it's even possible... Absolute pish. This has obviously been put out by Greens ppl and it is a twofold release in that 1) it attempts to put pressure on Spl chairmen to do as they say and 2) the Orc hordes will.be curling one out and start buying in to Chas Green!!!
21-06-2012, 06:11 AM
DAILY RANTIC TODAY
They have an exclusive dossier on how to save Scottish Football
One of the four measures headlined is.....
GLASGOW CUP TO BE REVIVED :faf::faf::faf:
Well thank **** for that :agree: we can all sleep peacefully now that if that proposition goes through Scottish Footy is saved :rockin:
21-06-2012, 06:37 AM
DAILY RANTIC TODAY
They have an exclusive dossier on how to save Scottish Football
One of the four measures headlined is.....
GLASGOW CUP TO BE REVIVED :faf::faf::faf:
Well thank **** for that :agree: we can all sleep peacefully now that if that proposition goes through Scottish Footy is saved :rockin:
Not going to read the rag, but what's the format for the Glasgow Cup? Is it two teams, one round, with no extra time or penalties, and compliant referees, so that it would be theoretically possible to have four matches between those teams, all of which could be televised? :faf:
21-06-2012, 06:46 AM
Fairly humorous and perhaps the only piece that's actually questioned Wally's motives;
Tom English: ‘Walter’s Agony’? What about agony of the fans
)
By TOM ENGLISH
Published on Thursday 21 June 2012 00:00
THIS Rangers story can sometimes feel like a Hollywood B movie, such is the bonkers nature of the plot.
There was one of these things on television recently, the Creeping Terror it was called (otherwise known as the Crawling Monster), a horror that came out in the 1960s in which a giant slug terrorises an American town after escaping from a crashed space ship. Frankly, after five months covering the outrageous twists and turns in the fall of Rangers the notion of some killer alien mollusc doesn’t seem so ludicrous any more. Nothing does. Even the loopy directors who made those crappy horror films would struggle to do justice to Rangers: The Movie. As the saying goes, truth is stranger than fiction.
Yesterday evening saw another development, the entrance into this great drama of Allan Bulloch, a Glasgow businessman who was once disqualified in the 1990s from being a company director for seven years and who was then declared bankrupt (twice) before re-inventing himself as Allan Stewart under which name he is said to be preparing an £11 million bid to buy Rangers along with his partner in their property developing firm, Stephen McKenna. Social networking went insane at the news. In a heartbeat their history was unveiled and it didn’t look good. HMRC once went after the pair of them for an unpaid tax bill of £78,000 and eventually wound up their company. Deja vu.
Here was the thing, though. Here was the equivalent of the alien slug in the crashed space ship. The surreal ‘You cannot be f****** serious!’ element was not so much their colourful past (Rangers people are almost unshockable about such things these days) but the suspicion that McKenna is, wait for it, a suspected Celtic fan! Could it be true? ‘Rangers sold to one of THEM!’ The Kafkaesqe nightmare would be complete at that point.
Is there any substance to these guys? You could do worse than assume a default position of presuming everyone who says they want to save Rangers is a bluffer. Stewart and McKenna, we are told, are about to drop out of the sky with £11m. Yeah, whatever. Only a few days ago most of the Rangers support believed that Walter Smith was poised to ride to the rescue backed up the fortunes of Jim McColl and Douglas Park and look how that turned out. Last Thursday, Smith issued a statement that said in its opening paragraph “I am leading a new bid for Rangers Football Club” but his leadership didn’t extend to cutting short his holiday to come back to Glasgow to do some face-to-face talking with the people who mattered.
Neither, of course, did it amount to much of a bid. Smith and McColl spoke of the necessity of getting the club out of Green’s hands and into the bosom of Rangers people who would stabilise it and then nurse it back to health. Clearly their fear was that Green would wreak even further damage on the beleaguered institution. So, their motives were pure, but where was their money? A bid of £6m was never going to cut it. You expected them to go higher, but they didn’t. They retreated. It was feeble stuff.
Those who can see no wrong in Smith are banking on his consortium returning if Green’s group doesn’t have the finance to keep the club going. They see it as a tactic rather than a piece of time-wasting worthy of some of the other time-wasters who have been involved in this story in the past. It was amusing to read of “Walter’s Agony” on Wednesday. What about the agony of the Rangers fans who believed that his group would do what needed to be done in order to get the club out of Green’s hands? Indeed, what about Smith’s mate who broke down in tears on the telephone? That, we were told, was the catalyst for the great man to try and save the club. McColl and Park have several fortunes between them but obviously not the interest to part with enough millions to back up their fighting talk with action. Maybe they’ll come again. That’s a straw that all Bears will be clutching right now.
In the meantime there is Green and a lengthy list of questions about who, precisely, is in his consortium and how much money they have. Oh yes, and the triple whammy of potential knockout blows, the 4 July SPL vote, the double contracts iceberg and Lord Carloway’s revised verdict on the sins of the Whyte era. Throw in the state of flux with the playing squad, the uncertain future of Ally McCoist, the disappointment of Smith’s apparently stomach-less consortium, the berating they’re getting from Celtic supporters as a club with no name and now the appearance of a potential new bidder with more baggage than a travelling orchestra and you begin to feel the pain of the Rangers fan in the street.
Walter’s Agony? Frankly, I could think of an awful lot of people more deserving of sympathy than the former Rangers manager.
bythecringe
21-06-2012, 06:48 AM
Good old Roddy sounding upbeat about his latest exclusive which allegedly sees Sevco5088 admitted to SPL and immediately relegated to 1st division. Don't see how that would work but he says this is the club chairmens' preferred route and "placates" fans. Once again no justice in Scottish football if this happens.
21-06-2012, 06:49 AM
This is a photo of Steve McKenna, one of the latest two prospective suitors :greengrin
Offside Trap
21-06-2012, 06:49 AM
Hilarious. Talk about scaremongering, do it our way or we leave!! Our source said they are thinking about it. Article then goes on to say they don't know if it's even possible... Absolute pish. This has obviously been put out by Greens ppl and it is a twofold release in that 1) it attempts to put pressure on Spl chairmen to do as they say and 2) the Orc hordes will.be curling one out and start buying in to Chas Green!!!
Pure propaganda and absolute tripe on so many levels. Pretty sure the Football League Chairman made a categoric statement just a couple of months ago saying Rangers and Celtic have got no chance of joining the Football League.
robinp
21-06-2012, 06:51 AM
Good old Roddy sounding upbeat about his latest exclusive which allegedly sees Sevco5088 admitted to SPL and immediately relegated to 1st division. Don't see how that would work but he says this is the club chairmens' preferred route and "placates" fans. Once again no justice in Scottish football if this happens.
Ha ha that's very funny. I think it would do the opposite, but hey, I'm just a fan. :aok:
21-06-2012, 06:54 AM
I'd assume by docking them enough points to see then dropped to bottom of the league.
The SPL seem to have the ability to come up what ever punishment they feel like, and Donkey won't have given up trying his best for the Huns.
drumatic44
21-06-2012, 07:03 AM
Just noticed on the BBC. web site that the huns are rumoured to be interested in buying English League 2 club Bury to get a foothold in the English League.
What a ******' pantomime, my friends you just could NOT make this up, what's the odds on a 500 page thread !!!
Allez les Verts. !!
21-06-2012, 07:26 AM
The Head of the SFL has already said there's no chance of this happening.
21-06-2012, 07:28 AM
Just noticed on the BBC. web site that the huns are rumoured to be interested in buying English League 2 club Bury to get a foothold in the English League.
What a ******' pantomime, my friends you just could NOT make this up, what's the odds on a 500 page thread !!!
Allez les Verts. !!
"oh no it isnt!" ;)
Well I did say about a week ago all that was missing in this story was a hostile takeover bid - and hey ho here it is. As a wise man said this story just keeps on giving!
21-06-2012, 08:11 AM
Bury - How abso******lutely appropriate.:greengrin
Bury Rangers, we have been saying that for years. :agree:
21-06-2012, 08:24 AM
Surely Rangers wont leave us in the lurch and move to Bury, they have been telling us Scottish football couldn't do without them? :lolrangers::fibber:
I'm confused? :confused:
If the story about Green trying to buy Bury and move Rangers to the English Div 1 are true, Rangers have committed suicide as far as Scotland is concerned.
Who on earth would vote to have them in the SPL in the full knowledge that they are preparing to walk away from the Scottish game?
21-06-2012, 08:35 AM
This is a photo of Steve McKenna, one of the latest two prospective suitors :greengrin
He played well in that game.
Off the bar
21-06-2012, 08:35 AM
Just watched the news with breakfast, can anyone tell me when Jimmy Carr played for rfc? Can't remember it myself but his tax arrangements sound very David Murray!
21-06-2012, 08:38 AM
If the story about Green trying to buy Bury and move Rangers to the English Div 1 are true, Rangers have committed suicide as far as Scotland is concerned.
Who on earth would vote to have them in the SPL in the full knowledge that they are preparing to walk away from the Scottish game?
Who would vote them in to the SPL knowing that for years their aim was to move to another league?
21-06-2012, 08:41 AM
I heard that. He has been consistently wrong until now, though.
The thing that annoyed me most about it was the suggestion that Sevco can't be relegated to the 3rd, because of the various infrastructural problems they would cause. They seem to miss the point that what we want to hear is that they will be treated the same way as any other club would, not as a special case. That is what would 'placate' fans.
Bighoose
21-06-2012, 08:45 AM
Anyone else thinking of the film "Weekend at Bernies" when reading all this guff in the papers?
Main character is plainly dead but everyone else appears oblivious to the fact....
BarneyK
21-06-2012, 08:53 AM
Just watched the news with breakfast, can anyone tell me when Jimmy Carr played for rfc? Can't remember it myself but his tax arrangements sound very David Murray!
Aye, from listening to the Jimmy Carr news story on BBC Scotland this morning it does sound very similar, right down to the payment being a repayable loan that doesn't need to be repaid. Curiously it seems to be acknowledged as 100% legal according to that report, simply morally dubious.
21-06-2012, 09:00 AM
Aye, from listening to the Jimmy Carr news story on BBC Scotland this morning it does sound very similar, right down to the payment being a repayable loan that doesn't need to be repaid. Curiously it seems to be acknowledged as 100% legal according to that report, simply morally dubious.
How long before jimmy Carr reveals that ken Dodd was the biggest inspiration in his career :greengrin
calum.mcd
21-06-2012, 09:01 AM
I'm confused, I thought Rangers died as they had no money so couldn't pay their debts. All that was in the pot from the New Club was 5.5m to cover Duff and Duffers bills, so all the creditors would get hee-haw if they knocked back the CVA. How come they've now got spare cash to buy their way into the English league by killing an English league team, which is in a better state than them. Either they've got cash or they haven't. The nonsense coming from Greyskull is astounding.
NewHun isn't really off the ground yet and I already hate them as much as I hated the old one.
BarneyK
21-06-2012, 09:04 AM
Has anyone had a look on a Bury Messageboard to see how excited they are getting?
21-06-2012, 09:05 AM
I heard that. He has been consistently wrong until now, though.
The thing that annoyed me most about it was the suggestion that Sevco can't be relegated to the 3rd, because of the various infrastructural problems they would cause. The seem to miss the point that what we want to hear is that they will be treated the same way as any other club would, not as a special case. That is what would 'placate' fans.
As has been said a million times now, they can't be relegated to the 3rd.
The SPL only has the power to transfer the share or not. If not then the SFL will have a vacancy, once the SPL invites another SFL member.
21-06-2012, 09:07 AM
The SPL only has the power to transfer the share or not. If not then the SFL will have a vacancy, once the SPL invites another SFL member.
Apologies - I'm aware of that. It was short-hand for: chucked out of the SPL, and then forced to apply for the vacancy thus created at the bottom end of the SFL.
21-06-2012, 09:17 AM
From what the beeb is now reporting it seems like the idea is now to transfer Rangers's share to Sevco and then retrospectively dock 'Rangers' however many points needed to finish below Dunfermline in 2011/12.
That way the Pars stay up and the Huns go down.
Not sure how Dundee might react (or whether retrospective punishment of a new entity is legal).
21-06-2012, 09:17 AM
The difference appears to be that Jimmy Carr's tax dodging was legal. David Murray's tax arrangements on the other hand........
21-06-2012, 09:20 AM
From what the beeb is now reporting it seems like the idea is now to transfer Rangers's share to Sevco and then retrospectively dock 'Rangers' however many points needed to finish below Dunfermline in 2011/12.
Not sure how Dundee might react (or whether retrospective punishment of a new entity is legal).
That cannot work as the points would have to have been deducted pre-split.
After the split the top six remain the top six regardless of how many point teams in the bottom six gain. Rangers could argue that they would have gained more points post-split had they been in the bottom six.
21-06-2012, 09:26 AM
The simple way for the SPL to deal with it is for the point docking for last Season to relegate Rangers at the end of last Season in the normal way to SFL 1 and Dunfemline avoids the drop. Liquidated Rangers 1872 would have no SPL share to transfer to any new club.
The SFL can then decide if they want New Rangers to be in Div 1,2 or 3 or even at all.
SurferRosa
21-06-2012, 09:30 AM
From what the beeb is now reporting it seems like the idea is now to transfer Rangers's share to Sevco and then retrospectively dock 'Rangers' however many points needed to finish below Dunfermline in 2011/12. That way the Pars stay up and the Huns go down. Not sure how Dundee might react (or whether retrospective punishment of a new entity is legal). This is surreal. How the **** can ye deduct points, retrospectively or otherwise, from a team that has never played a game. SevCo 5088 were never part of the SPL so dont have points to lose. We are after all, continually being told by the Cheats and their fans that they are now a new club. The depths to which the games authorities will now sink in order to try and rescue this despicable club are truly sickening.
21-06-2012, 09:32 AM
disguisting how many times their goin to bend over so the huns get away with it as lightly as possible. hopefully this new plan comes undone again, im geting sick of it tho. kill the ***** off
21-06-2012, 09:32 AM
Surely the English FA would have a right to turn around and stick two fingers up to any move by Rangers to buy a lower league English club and insert themselves into their place?
How many times do England need to say "no" before it sinks in?
21-06-2012, 09:36 AM
That cannot work as the points would have to have been deducted pre-split.
After the split the top six remain the top six regardless of how many point teams in the bottom six gain. Rangers could argue that they would have gained more points post-split had they been in the bottom six.
I heard that all Rangers games involving dual contract players would be changed to a 3 0 defeat (for Rangers, even the SPL wouldn't fix things that obviously!) Rangers finish the season on minus 10 points and are relegated to SFL 1.
Rangers- seen to be punished severely, SPL- seen to be strong, Uefa- seen to be appeased, honour and justice- seen to be held up, club chairman- see their finances not too badly damaged, Sky- seen to not be interfering by insisting on Rangers out of SPL.
The only thing not seen is me at another Scottish Football match.
21-06-2012, 09:42 AM
Surely the English FA would have a right to turn around and stick two fingers up to any move by Rangers to buy a lower league English club and insert themselves into their place?
The FA have said before they would block any attempt at creating another MK Dons style situation, ie the renaming and moving of a club.
Added to the Football League saying they aren't welcome, and UEFA being steadfast against clubs trying to change leagues they have no chance.
Not that pesky details like that are a factor in cloud cuckoo land when Sevco live.
21-06-2012, 09:45 AM
I heard that all Rangers games involving dual contract players would be changed to a 3 0 defeat (for Rangers, even the SPL wouldn't fix things that obviously!) Rangers finish the season on minus 10 points and are relegated to SFL 1.
Rangers- seen to be punished severely, SPL- seen to be strong, Uefa- seen to be appeased, honour and justice- seen to be held up, club chairman- see their finances not too badly damaged, Sky- seen to not be interfering by insisting on Rangers out of SPL.
The only thing not seen is me at another Scottish Football match.
hold on though, if they have been cheating for multiple years then that means multiple relegations surely??
21-06-2012, 09:46 AM
Is it 5.5m?
21-06-2012, 09:47 AM
The FA have said before they would block any attempt at creating another MK Dons style situation, ie the renaming and moving of a club.
Added to the Football League saying they aren't welcome, and UEFA being steadfast against clubs trying to change leagues they have no chance.
Not that pesky details like that are a factor in cloud cuckoo land when Sevco live.
To be fair, the source of the story here is the Sun (also being run in the Daily Mirror I guess) and they're not exactly known for their accurate/factual reporting.
"A source" who then goes on to speak about Rangers in the third person?
21-06-2012, 10:12 AM
hold on though, if they have been cheating for multiple years then that means multiple relegations surely??
Not saying it is right, disagree with that route entirely but a lot of chairman (including Dundee Utd) are deperate on a compromise
alfie
21-06-2012, 10:19 AM
The Herald now reporting that PFA Scotland arent happy with the TUPE transfer of the players to a company that isnt a football club and that insufficient notice was given to the players. Also threatening to take legal action to the tune of £5M against Sevco for not following the rules.
Where is that popcorn smiley? This thread just never stops giving... :greengrin
Seems to like a huddle as well
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4385424/The-new-Mr-Green-bidding-for-Rangers.html
21-06-2012, 10:53 AM
The Herald now reporting that PFA Scotland arent happy with the TUPE transfer of the players to a company that isnt a football club and that insufficient notice was given to the players. Also threatening to take legal action to the tune of £5M against Sevco for not following the rules.
Where is that popcorn smiley? This thread just never stops giving... :greengrin
If this is good, imagine what the thread will be like when the yams go bust :cb
alfie
21-06-2012, 10:58 AM
Well it will run to over 1000 pages, that's for sure!
21-06-2012, 11:00 AM
Craig Whyte said he stopped all the EBT's when he took over, I've not seen anything that disagrees with that, so I can't see how their record for last season can be changed if that is the case.
21-06-2012, 11:06 AM
Craig Whyte said he stopped all the EBT's when he took over, I've not seen anything that disagrees with that, so I can't see how their record for last season can be changed if that is the case.
As EBTs came from Murray Group that would make sense. Don't know how they can relegate Rangers from a league they shouldn't have been in then? Surely puts paid to that particular get out and they will need another of Baldrick's cunning plans.
21-06-2012, 11:07 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4385424/The-new-Mr-Green-bidding-for-Rangers.html
You couldn't make it up :faf::faf::tee hee::tee hee:
21-06-2012, 11:09 AM
I can't remember who was on the BBC's list, but it's possible that some of last season's squad had signing on fees paid via the EBT. I don't know though. :dunno:
21-06-2012, 11:16 AM
Sorry to go back about 300 pages but when Greene put in his offer he said it was conditional on Rangers playing in the same competitions. If Newco aren't invited into the SPL can he still pull out? (Remember he previously stated that some of the backers would not contribute if this was the case.) Also I assume the money has definately changed hands- can anyone confirm when Duff and Duffer confirmed this was the case? By the way really missing D & D with all their deadlines and *****
Newry Hibs
21-06-2012, 11:21 AM
I wonder if the rest of the SFL1 would be happy having TRFC dumped on them? It would pretty much mean no-one gets a chance of promotion next year. Maybe they will sacrifice sporting integrity for the privilege of hosting their fans.
Anyone know if league gate receipts are split in the SFL?
21-06-2012, 11:31 AM
I wonder if the rest of the SFL1 would be happy having TRFC dumped on them? It would pretty much mean no-one gets a chance of promotion next year. Maybe they will sacrifice sporting integrity for the privilege of hosting their fans.
They are split 100% to the home team and 0% to the away team, surely.
Newry Hibs
21-06-2012, 11:37 AM
They are split 100% to the home team and 0% to the away team, surely.
Maybe I'm thinking of cup games then (or there used to be)? I thought there was some kind of split in the SPL.
His dad use to work at the same place as me, big big celtic fan and also back in the day was Joe Bakers golfing buddy, stayed in Wishaw.
21-06-2012, 11:44 AM
Maybe I'm thinking of cup games then (or there used to be)? I thought there was some kind of split in the SPL.
There was a split in home income many many years ago if I recall correctly but this was done away with.
Cup games are split between the two teams after the SFA have taken a rake-off.
The split in the SPL is for commercial and TV income.
I would guess that there is much the same in the SFL for commercial income but this is tiny.
21-06-2012, 11:46 AM
Sorry to go back about 300 pages but when Greene put in his offer he said it was conditional on Rangers playing in the same competitions. If Newco aren't invited into the SPL can he still pull out? (Remember he previously stated that some of the backers would not contribute if this was the case.) Also I assume the money has definately changed hands- can anyone confirm when Duff and Duffer confirmed this was the case? By the way really missing D & D with all their deadlines and *****
According to the CVA document, Green's purchase was conditional on Rangers being in all domestic competitions next season. But I also remember DandD saying that the offer was irrevocable. :confused:
Money? Changing hands? It'll be the first time in this saga since 14 February...
21-06-2012, 11:47 AM
He may have stopped EBTs as a means of payment (which AFAIK is the tax issue) but there may have still been players who were on dual contracts which if not registered with SFA/SPL would be the footballing breach .
21-06-2012, 11:54 AM
We are witnessing a leviathan in it's death throes.
As they are supposedly bidding for an English club, and I agree there is less than a cat in hell's chance of this being given the neccessary approval, is it fair to assume his meeting with Rod went well? Green must have gained a lot of hope for the future from his exchange.
21-06-2012, 11:55 AM
I can't remember who was on the BBC's list, but it's possible that some of last season's squad had signing on fees paid via the EBT. I don't know though. :dunno:
here
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-18148818
calmac12000
21-06-2012, 12:04 PM
Living in Glasgow, I have mates who support various teams cluding Thistle and if they are representaive, I'd say the feeling viz. the Hun is virtually identical to that expressed on this forum. Therefore I would venture to suggest, that many First Division fans will be to say the least less than ecstatic about any solution that would allow SEVCO entry into SFL via Division One and I wouldn't blame them. Frankly, it is more of the same treatment of non-Huns fans as being nothing but mere fodder for their amusement. And they've got the cheek to wonder why no-one likes them.
21-06-2012, 12:13 PM
Steve Davis?
EH6 Hibby
21-06-2012, 12:24 PM
Rangers have been getting investigated about EBT's for quite a while, were they honestly continuing to pay employees even after they knew it was ilegal? Don't know why I'm surprised to be honest, their arrogance knows no bounds.
Caversham Green
21-06-2012, 12:40 PM
According to the CVA document, Green's purchase was conditional on Rangers being in all domestic competitions next season. But I also remember DandD saying that the offer was irrevocable. :confused:
Money? Changing hands? It'll be the first time in this saga since 14 February...
It was only the CVA offer that was conditional, when the CVA failed Sevcorandomnumbers was obliged to buy the assets of RFC.
21-06-2012, 12:41 PM
It was only the CVA offer that was conditional, when the CVA failed Sevcorandomnumbers was obliged to buy the assets of RFC.
Which assets are these? :greengrin
Caversham Green
21-06-2012, 12:42 PM
Which assets are these? :greengrin
Nobody knows.
21-06-2012, 12:49 PM
here
According to the BBC, 111 trusts were set up but, I only see 68 people listed.
I wonder whose names have been held back, and why?
21-06-2012, 12:52 PM
No club is able to compete in all domestic competitions, surely?! Hibs play in the SPL, League Cup and Scottish Cup. Falkirk play in the SFL, League Cup, Scottish Cup and the Challenge Cup. See the difference :greengrin
You 2 are the guys that will know better than most on here, but buying the assets gives them the 'bricks and mortar' but not the rights to actually play football yet. for that they are relying on the good will of somebody to accept an application to play in whatever league. If that's the case, why does it appear they have only applied to join the SPL, the top league in the country, and not applied to join where any new football club would expect to play, at the lowest level, which I would suspect is the West of Scotland League?
I find the whole thing curious that there is this assumption that they have some direct relationship with the football club that they bought the assets from.
21-06-2012, 12:55 PM
Lack of evidence, I'd guess.
21-06-2012, 12:57 PM
No club is able to compete in all domestic competitions, surely?! Hibs play in the SPL, League Cup and Scottish Cup. Falkirk play in the SFL, League Cup, Scottish Cup and the Challenge Cup. See the difference :greengrin
You 2 are the guys that will know better than most on here, but buying the assets gives them the 'bricks and mortar' but not the rights to actually play football yet. for that they are relying on the good will of somebody to accept an application to play in whatever league. If that's the case, why does it appear they have only applied to join the SPL, the top league in the country, and not applied to join where any new football club would expect to play, at the lowest level, which I would suspect is the West of Scotland League?
I find the whole thing curious that there is this assumption that they have some direct relationship with the football club that they bought the assets from.
:greengrin this is where we disagree with each other. I am still to be convinced that the "bricks and mortar" have been transferred. Cav is on the fence.
So... sorry to add to your confusion.... :greengrin
21-06-2012, 12:58 PM
Daly said on twitter a while back that some (mainly foreign players) weren't named if they couldn't be contacted and therefore had no right of reply.
kenny-55
21-06-2012, 12:58 PM
just been reading the infected ranger newspapers ( them all) and they are puporting that the deal is to admit the newco to the spl then relegate them for the various misdemeanors and into the first div for a year
not much of a punishement for gross misconduct hope to god the spl chairmen dont fall for this *hite
c'mon chairman do the right thing for the sake of the game
21-06-2012, 12:59 PM
Vote by SPL clubs to be scrapped..We are in Div 1
The vote planned for 4 July to to be scrapped as Sky have done a deal and we will play in Div 1 next season
The place is buzzing, discussing this on FF. No source given by OP. The vast majority don't want this. It's either SPL with no sanctions or Div 3. :dunno:
HibeeMG
21-06-2012, 12:59 PM
Motherwell will be balloting their society members regarding which way they will be voting on July 4th.
http://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2012/06/21/well-society-to-vote-on-newco-rangers
21-06-2012, 01:01 PM
So that was why Walter Smith abandoned his take-over bid then!
Motherwell will be balloting their society members regarding which way they will be voting on July 4th.
Good move by Motherwell I think!
Could every SPL club not do this?
21-06-2012, 01:31 PM
Hope the projections come into public domain. Fair play to Motherwell.
Gingertosser
21-06-2012, 01:32 PM
The vote planned for 4 July to to be scrapped as Sky have done a deal and we will play in Div 1 next season
The place is buzzing, discussing this on FF. No source given by OP. The vast majority don't want this. It's either SPL with no sanctions or Div 3. :dunno:
Unfortunately this is the kind of jiggery pokery I was expecting.
The fixture list is definately with Dunfermline in mind, Rangers relegated instead.
For me this would only confirm that the whole of Scottish football is willing to make up/change rules for the benefit of 2 teams, and on the basis that this went thro' -- I'd be gone for good :confused:
green glory
21-06-2012, 01:33 PM
http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2012/06/21/walking-away-from-north-britain/
An excellent article. Regardless of your views on independence, the demise of RFC could have long term social benefits for Scotland. Their 'culture' may not die out immediately but the lack of a meeting point for 40 odd thousand bigots every other week could only be positive.
21-06-2012, 01:41 PM
Apparently Romanov is saying he'll vote No. With 'Well letting the fans decide I'd think we could be looking at Us, Celtic, Hearts and Motherwell as definite No's, with I would imagine a solid chance of a No from St Mirren, Aberdeen and Dundee United. Rangers better start getting ready for 3rd Division football :greengrin
21-06-2012, 01:42 PM
And of course, they'll be starting the season with a 27 point deduction (a third of previous season) based on the recently agreed fair play rules on administration.
Even they might struggle to get promoted with that sort of hurdle to overcome. :wink:
Hibs07p
21-06-2012, 01:47 PM
I'm pretty sure Rangers stopped the EBT's in 2010, when HMRC hit them with the bill for the back tax. Whyte's slavering a lot of Tom Kite.
21-06-2012, 01:50 PM
Mad Vlad's rant is a classic, albeit complete with some Eastern European casual racism at the end..
21-06-2012, 01:53 PM
Apparently Romanov is saying he'll vote No. With 'Well letting the fans decide I'd think we could be looking at Us, Celtic, Hearts and Motherwell as definite No's, with I would imagine a solid chance of a No from St Mirren, Aberdeen and Dundee United. Rangers better start getting ready for 3rd Division football :greengrin
It makes sense. With Rangers certs to lose any vote and not be around for a while, voting for Rangers would have an impact on visiting support especially from Celtic, Hibs and Aberdeen.
At this rate, I can see the vote being unanimous, assuming it ever takes place.
21-06-2012, 01:54 PM
http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2012/06/21/walking-away-from-north-britain/
An excellent article. Regardless of your views on independence, the demise of RFC could have long term social benefits for Scotland. Their 'culture' may not die out immediately but the lack of a meeting point for 40 odd thousand bigots every other week could only be positive.
Whoa, you can't go mentioning politics on here, we'll have none of that nonsense. Down With This Sort of Thing! :greengrin
21-06-2012, 01:55 PM
It makes sense. With Rangers certs to lose any vote and not be around for a while, voting for Rangers would have an impact on visiting support especially from Celtic, Hibs and Aberdeen.
At this rate, I can see the vote being unanimous, assuming it ever takes place.
Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain.
21-06-2012, 01:55 PM
Maybe the others were employed by the Murray Group rather than RFC as I always understood that the EBT was a Murray Group scheme which was extended to RFC. :dunno: :confused:
Off the bar
21-06-2012, 02:05 PM
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20120621/vr-statement_2241384_2818454
appolgies for linking to 'their' website, say what you will about mad vlad but that statement is a cracker, even by his standards! particuarly enjoyed;
"The football mafia represented by former owners of Rangers FC and Rupert Murdoch's media are to blame for some of the worst problems to hit Scottish football and must not be allowed back in under any circumstances.''
and;
"They have lived beyond law and all morals, and should now be declared beyond the pale''
would be good if a few more chairman (four more to be precise) would come out in such unequivocal terms!
Lungo--Drom
21-06-2012, 02:05 PM
If NewHunCo The Rangers Sevco 5088 are admitted to SFL3 then it would take a minimum of three seasons to get promotion to the SPL.
There is a lot of assumption going on about the steamroller effect that they would retain that would enable them to do this.
1. Which players that are still with them would be happy in SFL3? I doubt that Green will do another Murray / Whyte and pay players he can't afford, at best he might employ a handful of second best stars for one season that he still can't really afford.
2. Exactly how many of the 'loyal' jabbering masses who currently 'follow follow' them and attend matches will want to attend SFL3 matches? I'd put my money on at least as many as currently go to the away games, i.e. the away crowd. This won't help clear debt or reduce their operating losses.
3. Don't dismiss the football in SFL3 or below that. Remember teams like Irvine Meadow (SJFL league) who we played a few years back in the Cup and at ER the score was only 3-0 whereas in a friendly against Barcelona we got trumped 7-0. SPL level is closer to SFL3 that you might think. With a handful of boys and old men and has beens a NewHunCo might not steamroller their way anywhere and even one season of no promotion would I believe IMHO be the...
....final nail in their bigoted coffin.
4. Sadly this probably means, as has already been said by another earlier poster, that the very worst blue blooded blue nosed jabbering bigoted orcs will choose another hive to live in, e.g. Hearts, Airdrie etc. or they might follow the example of FC United of Manchester who were created from new by rebel fans who disagreed with the takeover of Manchester United by the Americans. Different reason but they could do that form something like FC Rangers of Glasgow.
IMHO though, if the pro-Hun apologist elements planted everywhere in the establishment, SFA, SPL, media etc. can be overcome and NewHunCo don't get into the SPL or SFL1 then I think they will never be in the top flight of Scottish football again thankfully.
And of course, they'll be starting the season with a 27 point deduction (a third of previous season) based on the recently agreed fair play rules on administration.
Even they might struggle to get promoted with that sort of hurdle to overcome. :wink:
Lungo--Drom
21-06-2012, 02:10 PM
Totally agree Hoxton. I like it when someone says it like it is, especially someone at Vlad's level. What a brilliant antidote to some of the weaseling pish we've heard from the likes of D&P and Doncaster and Kennedy. No 'quantum blah blah' from Vlad of Vilnius Castle :D
appolgies for linking to 'their' website, say what you will about mad vlad but that statement is a cracker, even by his standards! particuarly enjoyed;
"The football mafia represented by former owners of Rangers FC and Rupert Murdoch's media are to blame for some of the worst problems to hit Scottish football and must not be allowed back in under any circumstances.''
and;
"They have lived beyond law and all morals, and should now be declared beyond the pale''
would be good if a few more chairman (four more to be precise) would come out in such unequivocal terms!
21-06-2012, 02:15 PM
here
Looking through that again is a real eye-opener :dizzy:
£1 million Nano Capucho received for 22 games played :faint:
Cheatin bassas :agree:
21-06-2012, 02:17 PM
If NewHunCo The Rangers Sevco 5088 are admitted to SFL3 then it would take a minimum of three seasons to get promotion to the SPL.
There is a lot of assumption going on about the steamroller effect that they would retain that would enable them to do this.
1. Which players that are still with them would be happy in SFL3? I doubt that Green will do another Murray / Whyte and pay players he can't afford, at best he might employ a handful of second best stars for one season that he still can't really afford.
2. Exactly how many of the 'loyal' jabbering masses who currently 'follow follow' them and attend matches will want to attend SFL3 matches? I'd put my money on at least as many as currently go to the away games, i.e. the away crowd. This won't help clear debt or reduce their operating losses.
3. Don't dismiss the football in SFL3 or below that. Remember teams like Irvine Meadow (SJFL league) who we played a few years back in the Cup and at ER the score was only 3-0 whereas in a friendly against Barcelona we got trumped 7-0. SPL level is closer to SFL3 that you might think. With a handful of boys and old men and has beens a NewHunCo might not steamroller their way anywhere and even one season of no promotion would I believe IMHO be the...
....final nail in their bigoted coffin.
4. Sadly this probably means, as has already been said by another earlier poster, that the very worst blue blooded blue nosed jabbering bigoted orcs will choose another hive to live in, e.g. Hearts, Airdrie etc. or they might follow the example of FC United of Manchester who were created from new by rebel fans who disagreed with the takeover of Manchester United by the Americans. Different reason but they could do that form something like FC Rangers of Glasgow.
IMHO though, if the pro-Hun apologist elements planted everywhere in the establishment, SFA, SPL, media etc. can be overcome and NewHunCo don't get into the SPL or SFL1 then I think they will never be in the top flight of Scottish football again thankfully.
Some of us have been advocating a return to two divisions. I wonder if this might happen now.
HibbyRod
21-06-2012, 02:18 PM
We could do with a few other Chairmen coming out to support Vlad's rant!
This would show that the other clubs should not stand for any weasel scenarios and "deals" that the SPL/Rangers New Club, Sky etc., try to concoct to mitigate their punishments!
The 10/11 other SPL Clubs are holding the aces in this fiasco. They should not let the opportunity to cleanse the game in Scotland to pass by! This is the chance in a lifetime.
Wonder how Michael Johnston is taking all this.
Auld Vlad's going down a storm on RM its hilarious :faf:
Another thing spell checker do these plums ever use it
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=223423
Gingertosser
21-06-2012, 02:25 PM
If they get relegated from the SPL to the 1st Div rather than Dunfermline, I would assume they would technically finish the season on -10 points, so would start from scratch or given the way the authorities in this country are bending over backwards, probably start on +3 points.
21-06-2012, 02:28 PM
Wonder how Michael Johnston is taking all this.
Right on que... http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18533267?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Seems he's moved back from the whole 'We must save them at ANY / ALL COSTS!!!!' viewpoint at least.
Still think he's talking **** though, 1,000 season tickets to equal the money lost by a few thousand Rangers fans coming twice a year? How cheap are Killie season tickets?!
21-06-2012, 02:31 PM
Is Jimmy Carr a Rangers fan? Seem to have similar tax arrangements. Hopefully all the tax dodging players will be shamed in the same way as he has.
21-06-2012, 02:32 PM
Right on que... http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18533267?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
Seems he's moved back from the whole 'We must save them at ANY / ALL COSTS!!!!' viewpoint at least.
Still think he's talking **** though, 1,000 season tickets to equal the money lost by a few thousand Rangers fans coming twice a year? How cheap are Killie season tickets?!
He better consider the impact of a boycott from other clubs if he votes "yes".
green glory
21-06-2012, 02:34 PM
I've noticed the Hun mentality is to never take seriously or believe anything from someone they don't consider one of them.
If they did they might have made their own board more accountable and avoided the death of their club.
kennyh
21-06-2012, 02:38 PM
With Vlad coming down off the fence thats 3 against NEWCO in the SPL.
Hibs, Hearts, St Mirren. Let’s see which other two will join us to block them. In my mind now all it needs is CFC to come out with a strong statement and it could quickly move to being a unanimous vote. Let’s face it if you know before or during the meeting its improbable they will get in then why vote that way and face the backlash from Hibs, Hearts, Dons, CFC and other fan groups.
I can’t wait to see how Green funds the club with little ST cash and walk up gate money every fortnight. Will 40-50000 Bears pay £25 to watch 3rd Div teams. Let’s see then if they do walking away. LOYAL ~ My Er$e
21-06-2012, 02:38 PM
My personal favourite - thanks for explaining it!!!!
Mad vlad is madder than mad jack McMad, in other words he is ***** Mad
21-06-2012, 03:01 PM
I've noticed the Hun mentality is to never take seriously or believe anything from someone they don't consider one of them.
If they did they might have made their own board more accountable and avoided the death of their club.
Reminds me of that Dylan song - "Who Killed Davey Moore", where nobody is to blame for the death of a boxer in the ring.
"Not us," says the angry crowd,
Whose screams filled the arena loud.
"It's too bad he died that night
But we just like to see a fight.
We didn't mean for him t' meet his death,
We just meant to see some sweat,
There ain't nothing wrong in that.
It wasn't us that made him fall.
No, you can't blame us at all."
My personal favourite - thanks for explaining it!!!!
Mad vlad is madder than mad jack McMad, in other words he is ***** Mad
Some start of on the moral high ground but after WilliamMunys contribution 3 post I think it is I just couldnt stop laughing :greengrin
BarneyK
21-06-2012, 03:08 PM
Is Jimmy Carr a Rangers fan? Seem to have similar tax arrangements. Hopefully all the tax dodging players will be shamed in the same way as he has.
They have no shame.
21-06-2012, 03:13 PM
With Vlad saying NO (bet the minions at Tynie are loving that, :wink: ) and Well putting it to a vote of fans (who'll say NO). It looks like the battle to keep New Huns out of the SPL is all but won. :thumbsup:
Onto round 2 : keeping the Huns out of the first division! No time for complacency.
21-06-2012, 03:16 PM
Hibs, Hearts, St Mirren.
I'm yet to see anything that confirms St Mirren will be voting No to NewCo.
With Hearts clearly now against admitting a NewCo and Motherwell now saying they will let the fans decide, I think you can add those two to Hibs and (IMO) Aberdeen as definitely voting against a NewCo.
Although they haven't publicly stated it, I think it would be very hard for Celtic to say Yes given their supporters feelings.
Dundee United have released season ticket figures that have them seriously worried and a No to NewCo might be their only way to redeem early statements about a vote based on financial necessity.
St Johnstone supporters are increasing the pressure on the club to say NO after the previous statements from chairman Brown, and Perth isn't that big a city that he can get away with ignoring their views.
I think by the 4th, barring any major developments, the required number of votes will be secured to ensure a No to NewCo.
21-06-2012, 03:19 PM
Onto round 2 : keeping the Huns out of the first division! No time for complacency.
Skip round 2, do not collect £200 tax rebate, go straight to round 3: keep the Huns out of the SFL. The debate should now be about whether they should be accepted into the bottom league, which is not SFL 1,2 or 3.
21-06-2012, 03:23 PM
I'm yet to see anything that confirms St Mirren will be voting No to NewCo.
With Hearts clearly now against admitting a NewCo and Motherwell now saying they will let the fans decide, I think you can add those two to Hibs and (IMO) Aberdeen as definitely voting against a NewCo.
Although they haven't publicly stated it, I think it would be very hard for Celtic to say Yes given their supporters feelings.
Dundee United have released season ticket figures that have them seriously worried and a No to NewCo might be their only way to redeem early statements about a vote based on financial necessity.
St Johnstone supporters are increasing the pressure on the club to say NO after the previous statements from chairman Brown, and Perth isn't that big a city that he can get away with ignoring their views.
I think by the 4th, barring any major developments, the required number of votes will be secured to ensure a No to NewCo.I would love for your prediction tae be right but there's too many slimy characters involved in Scottish fitba, I'll believe it only when I see it happen.
21-06-2012, 03:25 PM
Skip round 2, do not collect £200 tax rebate, go straight to round 3: keep the Huns out of the SFL. The debate should now be about whether they should be accepted into the bottom league, which is not SFL 1,2 or 3.
In the absence of a 'proper' pyramid system, SFL3 is the lowest league that they would need to join as the Highland League/Juniors etc are effectively completely separate.
21-06-2012, 03:25 PM
Comedy classic!
It's a weird, twisted world across in Edinburgh.
Oh my sides!
Caversham Green
21-06-2012, 03:26 PM
I think the idea of relegating them by way of a points deduction for last season is a non-starter.
First, they could only deduct the points for fielding ineligible players in individual games and the EBTs finshed before last season so that can't apply.
Secondly, a relegated team is obliged to transfer their share to the promoted team, so Oldco would have to transfer their share to Ross County, but Ross County already have Dunfy's share anf dthey're not allowed to hold two. There's no mechanism for transferring the share to the relegated team.
Thirdly, if they transfer the share to Newco, Newco have never earned any points in the SPL so can't have them deducted, nor have they been relegated so they can't be ineligible before becoming eligible.
From a legal standpoint it just doesn't work.
What a knob this guy is ,he gets it wrong ,then its
"Now, perhaps more than ever before, we need our true supporters to back the club - regardless of who "Club 12" turns out to be."
IMO unless they ditch him Killie's going to be empty next season his "finance & integrity " speech still hits a nerve .
21-06-2012, 03:29 PM
In the absence of a 'proper' pyramid system, SFL3 is the lowest league that they would need to join as the Highland League/Juniors etc are effectively completely separate.
SFL3 is the lowest league that they would need to join for the purpose of getting back in to the SPL within three years. This is still Huns trying to decide what their punishment should be. Throw them right oot the four leagues and let them try and get back in once they've proved they can behave decently for a few years. (That's assuming that they still exist as Huns. If they don't, there's nothing to throw out and they should start again as a new club just like any other startup - and no startup walks into the SFL, does it?)
21-06-2012, 03:31 PM
I think the idea of relegating them by way of a points deduction for last season is a non-starter.
First, they could only deduct the points for fielding ineligible players in individual games and the EBTs finshed before last season so that can't apply.
Secondly, a relegated team is obliged to transfer their share to the promoted team, so Oldco would have to transfer their share to Ross County, but Ross County already have Dunfy's share anf dthey're not allowed to hold two. There's no mechanism for transferring the share to the relegated team.
Thirdly, if they transfer the share to Newco, Newco have never earned any points in the SPL so can't have them deducted, nor have they been relegated so they can't be ineligible before becoming eligible.
From a legal standpoint it just doesn't work.
I think you're right. It will only be done under a reconstruction plan to merge the SPL/SFL and with specific new rules inserted to cope with allowing such byzantine Hunsaving mechanisms.
Theoretically, just about possible given the will from all sides. Practically it must be nearly impossible to get it all agreed and signed off in a month! Let's hope so, anyway. :wink:
21-06-2012, 03:33 PM
At last, someone echoing my view.
West of Scotland League and all other football leagues in Scotland come under the umbrella organisation that is the SFA. They want to register to play football, they have to do it with the blessing of the SFA.
21-06-2012, 03:41 PM
More to do with the fact Killie turn over both end stands + a bit of the main stand to both OF teams. It can mean up to 10,000 Rantic fans at a Killie game. Multiply it by two and then divide by the normal number of Killie home games (19) and you can see where Johnston gets 1000 from.
Mind you, it was a daft business model for them to build such a big stadium that it could only possibly be filled by Rantic. Even they don't fill that allocation most of the time nowadays either.
Lungo--Drom
21-06-2012, 03:58 PM
Sorry if this has been posted before:
http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/327897
The Daily Express, not a paper I'd buy but it is priceless. The language and emphatic prose really made my day. If you can't be bothered following the link what it says is Charles Green is a b*****t filled knob :D
21-06-2012, 04:01 PM
James Shaw@JGBSCaley Thistle chairman Kenny Cameron: fans who say that Rangers have been punished sufficiently "are in an extremely small minority".
Another saying no to Sevco?
21-06-2012, 04:20 PM
More to do with the fact Killie turn over both end stands + a bit of the main stand to both OF teams. It can mean up to 10,000 Rantic fans at a Killie game. Multiply it by two and then divide by the normal number of Killie home games (19) and you can see where Johnston gets 1000 from.
Mind you, it was a daft business model for them to build such a big stadium that it could only possibly be filled by Rantic. Even they don't fill that allocation most of the time nowadays either.
Not entirely true, was it not the SPL that dictated a stadium of 10,000 was the minimum requirement to be compliant. Stadiums of that size are just not feasible/realistic for teams such as Killie, Ross County, Dunfermline etc...
21-06-2012, 04:48 PM
After all this is done and we are down (95% cert now) Green should come out and say that we will not be buying ANY players from teams that said NO.
Over the years we have funded Hearts / Hibs / Utd to the tunes of millions of pounds. This MUST STOP.
SPL teams outwith Celic rely on transfer fees from Rangers every couple os seasons. Not only should this stop - they should be told it is stopping.
A very p8ssed off Fan
Hallelujah. :greengrin
21-06-2012, 04:53 PM
Not entirely true, was it not the SPL that dictated a stadium of 10,000 was the minimum requirement to be compliant. Stadiums of that size are just not feasible/realistic for teams such as Killie, Ross County, Dunfermline etc...
Killie's ground is nearly double that minimum!
21-06-2012, 04:54 PM
After all this is done and we are down (95% cert now) Green should come out and say that we will not be buying ANY players from teams that said NO.
Over the years we have funded Hearts / Hibs / Utd to the tunes of millions of pounds. This MUST STOP.
SPL teams outwith Celic rely on transfer fees from Rangers every couple os seasons. Not only should this stop - they should be told it is stopping.
A very p8ssed off Fan
Hallelujah. :greengrin
Given he's got **** all money, that's pretty much a given. :greengrin
21-06-2012, 04:57 PM
Killie had a total attendance of about 110k last year. It would appear that they have at about 5k more per rantic match so a rough average would those games worth about 20% extra punters than if they had no rantic games.
Kille therefore I think probably have the most to lose in terms of home gate receipts when there are no Rangers in the SPL
Not sure where he’s getting the 1,000 season tickets from though. Taking the 5k average (the final Celtic game last year was no indication as that was a title winning game) the max he will lose by having no Rangers is 10k fans…over 19 games this is 526 punters more on average across the season. Factor in the fact that there is no guarantee that they will get 4 Rantic visits (bottom 6 performance or the unique SPL methodology of playing a team away 3 times in a season) the correct and prudent way to budget would be for only 1 visit…this then only requires an average increase of 263 across the season to be mitigated.
So on the face of it he is saying he needs an extra 400k (1,000 * £400) to mitigate the impact of no Huns but in reality it would be 250k (10,000 * £25) absolute worst case and for future budgeting he should be taking a conservative view (to avoid overspending and underperforming) and that would be about 125k (5,000 * £25).
It’s been said before these losses in no way reflect any gains from reduced policing costs, increased attendance caused by better competition etc. Might be easy for me to say but 125k seems a small price to pay for protecting sporting integrity and starting the SPL down a path of fairness for all members.
21-06-2012, 04:58 PM
SFL3 is the lowest league that they would need to join for the purpose of getting back in to the SPL within three years. This is still Huns trying to decide what their punishment should be. Throw them right oot the four leagues and let them try and get back in once they've proved they can behave decently for a few years. (That's assuming that they still exist as Huns. If they don't, there's nothing to throw out and they should start again as a new club just like any other startup - and no startup walks into the SFL, does it?)
Inverness Caledonian Thistle?
21-06-2012, 05:09 PM
SPL / SFA Take note...
http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/sport/9775174.Quakers_lose_FA_appeal_over_drop_into_Nort hern_League/?ref=mc
21-06-2012, 05:11 PM
SPL / SFA Take note...
http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/sport/9775174.Quakers_lose_FA_appeal_over_drop_into_Nort hern_League/?ref=mc
We don't have the same pyramid system as they have in England, unfortunately.
21-06-2012, 05:17 PM
I would love for your prediction tae be right but there's too many slimy characters involved in Scottish fitba, I'll believe it only when I see it happen.
Sadly on the money, I fear Dan. Would love them to prove me wrong though, and that there still remains some testicular activity within Scottish football administration.
21-06-2012, 05:21 PM
Killie had a total attendance of about 110k last year. It would appear that they have at about 5k more per rantic match so a rough average would those games worth about 20% extra punters than if they had no rantic games.
Kille therefore I think probably have the most to lose in terms of home gate receipts when there are no Rangers in the SPL
Not sure where he’s getting the 1,000 season tickets from though. Taking the 5k average (the final Celtic game last year was no indication as that was a title winning game) the max he will lose by having no Rangers is 10k fans…over 19 games this is 526 punters more on average across the season. Factor in the fact that there is no guarantee that they will get 4 Rantic visits (bottom 6 performance or the unique SPL methodology of playing a team away 3 times in a season) the correct and prudent way to budget would be for only 1 visit…this then only requires an average increase of 263 across the season to be mitigated.
So on the face of it he is saying he needs an extra 400k (1,000 * £400) to mitigate the impact of no Huns but in reality it would be 250k (10,000 * £25) absolute worst case and for future budgeting he should be taking a conservative view (to avoid overspending and underperforming) and that would be about 125k (5,000 * £25).
It’s been said before these losses in no way reflect any gains from reduced policing costs, increased attendance caused by better competition etc. Might be easy for me to say but 125k seems a small price to pay for protecting sporting integrity and starting the SPL down a path of fairness for all members.
Especially as quite a few local Huns might find it a jolly good wheeze to go along to Rugby Park should their drug of choice suddenly become unavailable.
21-06-2012, 05:33 PM
Jim Spence@bbcjimspenceTo those The Rangers fans continuing to threaten me via twitter I really don't do walking away so forget it
Lovable lot.:rolleyes:
21-06-2012, 05:43 PM
Jim Spence@bbcjimspenceTo those The Rangers fans continuing to threaten me via twitter I really don't do walking away so forget it
i wondered where McCoist had got to, what a twitter he is
21-06-2012, 06:09 PM
Alex Thomson winding them up when they try it to him is hilarious stuff!
Its ridiculous, you'd think after all of this they might start listening to the elements of the media that are actually trying to report facts / truth to them. But no, they relentlessly attack the few journos that are, at least on part, fighting for them, while still lapping up the nonsense that the Daily Ranger, Chick Young and Traynor et all peddle to them.
It is this total lack of humility, the continued arrogance and blinkered ignorance that stops me feeling any sympathy for the vast majority of their knuckle dragging support.
21-06-2012, 06:18 PM
Spence has identified the club with extremely low season ticket sales as St Johnstone, with only 200.
They'll be going bust then if they don't vote No on those sort of numbers.
21-06-2012, 06:19 PM
Inverness Caledonian Thistle?
Voted in to third division, won it at the fourth time of asking and gained progressive promotions to eventually get into SPL.
21-06-2012, 06:33 PM
Hibs, Hearts, St Mirren. Let’s see which other two will join us to block them. In my mind now all it needs is CFC to come out with a strong statement and it could quickly move to being a unanimous vote. Let’s face it if you know before or during the meeting its improbable they will get in then why vote that way and face the backlash from Hibs, Hearts, Dons, CFC and other fan groups.
I can’t wait to see how Green funds the club with little ST cash and walk up gate money every fortnight. Will 40-50000 Bears pay £25 to watch 3rd Div teams. Let’s see then if they do walking away. LOYAL ~ My Er$e
A friend of mine is a RFC ST holder and has contacted the club (or is it Sevco) asking if a refund will be available if they end up in SFL3. The ticket office could not answer his question.
Does this mean Sevco FC expect to be plying their trade in the SPL or have they just not thought through the worst case scenario?
21-06-2012, 06:34 PM
Killie were one of the first clubs to rebuild their stadium to meet all seater criteria. They opened it in 1995, some four years before the SPL came into existence.
Even if had there would have been no reason to put in 18,128 seats.
Killie did get decent crowds in the 1990s. I can recall Hibs drawing a crowd of 13,000 on a Friday night Sky televised match.
They would have been better building a 13,000 seater stadium with decent sized seats (which wouldprobably be as big as the current stadium).
neilmartinrocks
21-06-2012, 06:35 PM
Spence has identified the club with extremely low season ticket sales as St Johnstone, with only 200.
i know quite a few saintees and only two of them have renewed the rest are waiting for the vote.
21-06-2012, 06:42 PM
Voted in to third division, won it at the fourth time of asking and gained progressive promotions to eventually get into SPL.
Inverness were not a Newco anyway. They arose as an enforced merger between Caledonian and Thistle. They would have had the SFA membership as the sucessor to Caledonian.
I think that the SFL basically blackmailed them into a merger. This was originally supposed to include Clachnacuddin as well but they pulled out and opted to stay in the Highland League.
21-06-2012, 06:50 PM
[QUOTE=dangermouse;3270783]A friend of mine is a RFC ST holder and has contacted the club (or is it Sevco) asking if a refund will be available if they end up in SFL3. The ticket office could not answer his question.
Ona a related theme, I saw a tweet earlier that said that the season ticket money was being paid to Oldco, not Sevco.
Killie were one of the first clubs to rebuild their stadium to meet all seater criteria. They opened it in 1995, some four years before the SPL came into existence.
Even if had there would have been no reason to put in 18,128 seats.
Killie did get decent crowds in the 1990s. I can recall Hibs drawing a crowd of 13,000 on a Friday night Sky televised match.
They would have been better building a 13,000 seater stadium with decent sized seats (which wouldprobably be as big as the current stadium).
That wouldn't be the game where Ray Wilkins & John Hughes made what was likely their débuts & we got beat 3-1, if my memory isn't playing games with me!
21-06-2012, 07:09 PM
[QUOTE=dangermouse;3270783]A friend of mine is a RFC ST holder and has contacted the club (or is it Sevco) asking if a refund will be available if they end up in SFL3. The ticket office could not answer his question.
Ona a related theme, I saw a tweet earlier that said that the season ticket money was being paid to Oldco, not Sevco.
I would imagine that since it still holds the licenses it is the only one of the two legally allowed to.
21-06-2012, 07:13 PM
That wouldn't be the game where Ray Wilkins & John Hughes made what was likely their débuts & we got beat 3-1, if my memory isn't playing games with me!
It was 4-2. It was Hughes's debut. Wilkins did play but his debut was earlier at home to Raith.
The crowd was a bit lower than I though at 10,872 but not bad for a very wet Friday night with the match televised.
21-06-2012, 07:21 PM
It was 4-2. It was Hughes's debut. Wilkins did play but his debut was earlier at home to Raith.
The crowd was a bit lower than I though at 10,872 but not bad for a very wet Friday night with the match televised.
They had a car as a prize in the half time draw, I'm sure the Hibs fans tickets weren't entered.
alan1875
21-06-2012, 07:21 PM
Anyone seen Romanovs statement about newco on BBC yet? Thats another definite no!
VickMackie
21-06-2012, 07:23 PM
Are killies last two seasons total attendances now skewed because they allowed the title decider away team to fill the stadium?
That's not gonna happen every year.
alan1875
21-06-2012, 07:24 PM
Just noticed it In the other thread.. My bad, it's hard to keep track. Good on him though... Crazy beggar!
21-06-2012, 07:39 PM
Are killies last two seasons total attendances now skewed because they allowed the title decider away team to fill the stadium?
That's not gonna happen every year.
Not unless they play Celtic in December!
21-06-2012, 07:43 PM
Jim spence says Dundee Utd are to issue a statement on their position on a newco at 9pm tonight. :agree:
Thanks for that I seem to do better twenty odd years further back :Ummm:
21-06-2012, 07:46 PM
Genuinely starting to believe they're ****ed in all honesty.
I'm guessing this nonsense about entering into the SFL at the First Division is likely to be nonsense, as there'd be 22 clubs with an awfully justifiable reason for complaint!
21-06-2012, 07:52 PM
Spence reckons chairman was saying no earlier today but wanted to speak to fans. Surely will still be no.
Hibs, Celtic, Hearts, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd all saying no then? They're gone :flag:
21-06-2012, 07:52 PM
kudos to the saints fans
virtualhibby
21-06-2012, 07:55 PM
Its a no from DUFC. On the website:D
Sent from the commode in my listening room.
EuanH78
21-06-2012, 07:59 PM
Jim Spence @bbcjimspence (https://twitter.com/bbcjimspence) United say they cannot vote newco into Spl
21-06-2012, 08:00 PM
Havent heard much from the succulent lamb journos recently. Reckon a few characters are wondering what kind of living they're going to be able to make from sniffing the seats in Sevco5088 FC's boardroom.
21-06-2012, 08:01 PM
I think now that Mad Vlad has set the precident, you'll find a lot more clubs coming out making similar statements over the next few days
Stoney Hibee
21-06-2012, 08:03 PM
United website very slow....I wonder why???
Surely only matter of time before further clubs issue statements.
21-06-2012, 08:03 PM
BREAKING NEWS: Dundee Utd Say No to Rangers Newco in SPL.
Dundee Utd have just issued this statement on their website after meeting with their fans...
"Dundee United tonight met with Supporters' groups to discuss the newco situation prior to the all club vote on the proposal to transfer Rangers share on 4th July.
Following what was a robust and constructive meeting, the Club's position on how we will vote was substantiated by the viewpoint of the various supporters groups. The meeting finished with all in agreement as to what the correct course of action would be.
The Board of Directors of Dundee United are unequivocal in the belief that a form of sporting punishment must form part of the reasoning behind any decision made and, therefore, cannot vote the newco into the SPL. General sporting integrity and, more importantly, the integrity of Scottish football must also play a significant part in the decision making process. It is our belief that any form of sporting punishment must be unambiguous in the message it displays.
The financial well being of the Club, both in the short and long term, must also be at the forefront of our thoughts. We would encourage our supporters to purchase season ticket books as a show of support to our Club. The Board of Directors will act in the best interest of Dundee United and our supporters and Scottish football on this matter. The financial consequences of not showing this support for our Club are extremely serious."
21-06-2012, 08:05 PM
I think now that Mad Vlad has set the precident, you'll find a lot more clubs coming out making similar statements over the next few days
Perhaps they know that there won't be a Newco by the time 4th July comes round. I don't think Green has the money to pay the wages next week.
Leishy1995
According to their club site.
http://t.co/ls1MQsKH
Dundee Utd have just issued this statement on their website after meeting with their fans...
"Dundee United tonight met with Supporters' groups to discuss the newco situation prior to the all club vote on the proposal to transfer Rangers share on 4th July.
Following what was a robust and constructive meeting, the Club's position on how we will vote was substantiated by the viewpoint of the various supporters groups. The meeting finished with all in agreement as to what the correct course of action would be.
The Board of Directors of Dundee United are unequivocal in the belief that a form of sporting punishment must form part of the reasoning behind any decision made and, therefore, cannot vote the newco into the SPL. General sporting integrity and, more importantly, the integrity of Scottish football must also play a significant part in the decision making process. It is our belief that any form of sporting punishment must be unambiguous in the message it displays.
The financial well being of the Club, both in the short and long term, must also be at the forefront of our thoughts. We would encourage our supporters to purchase season ticket books as a show of support to our Club. The Board of Directors will act in the best interest of Dundee United and our supporters and Scottish football on this matter. The financial consequences of not showing this support for our Club are extremely serious."
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-yXZ01b1O4i0/T8WH2DRka3I/AAAAAAAAAjg/fk8KHnnKV1I/s1600/yes_logo.png
VickMackie
21-06-2012, 08:08 PM
Yaaaaaas!
Well in United. Although I can understand why clubs won't come out and issue statements until after the vote. Saying nothing and then voting no hurts the huns more.
Going to be pretty obvious who will vote YES as they won't release a statement.
On the other hand - everyone could release a statement and July 4th will then be a foregone conclusion.
Can't see them being in the SPL (I know many won't believe it till they see it official) - the next question is what happens next - does the SFL want them?
Can see it going 3 ways -
1 - SFL 3
2 - Reforming into a new SPL2 - basically a compromise to get them in
3 - No football at Ibrox next season - :pray:
21-06-2012, 08:09 PM
Pretty clear warning there about the financial implications of not supporting the club next season.
Hibs fans take note.
21-06-2012, 08:10 PM
Going to be pretty obvious who will vote YES as they won't release a statement.
On the other hand - everyone could release a statement and July 4th will then be a foregone conclusion.
Can't see them being in the SPL (I know many won't believe it till they see it official) - the next question is what happens next - does the SFL want them?
Can see it going 3 ways -
1 - SFL 3
2 - Reforming into a new SPL2 - basically a compromise to get them in
3 - No football at Ibrox next season - :pray:
It should be #1 but I suspect it will be #3 then #2 one year from now.
21-06-2012, 08:11 PM
Havent heard much from the succulent lamb journos recently. Reckon a few characters are wondering what kind of living they're going to be able to make from sniffing the seats in Sevco5088 FC's boardroom.
:-))
21-06-2012, 08:14 PM
Pretty clear warning there about the financial implications of not supporting the club next season.
Hibs fans take note.
Hibs fans also take note that if the club says NO to the Newco then WE have to fill the revenue gap........get your season tickets bought if you really do want a No vote
21-06-2012, 08:16 PM
If fans don't support their clubs next season the clubs will be ****ed
The strength of support has to be as strong as the boycott was going to be
21-06-2012, 08:16 PM
Hibs fans also take note that if the club says NO to the Newco then WE have to fill the revenue gap........get your season tickets bout if you really do want a No vote
Yep.
If we want the no vote then we as a support have to help make up the loss of income.
Renew a season ticket, buy one, if you can't afford that get to one extra game a season, buy a strip, buy a pie but whatever it is do your bit.
21-06-2012, 08:17 PM
For anyone that can get on followfollow, the United statement thread is classic viewing.
http://forum.followfollow.com/showthread.php?t=879662&page=4
21-06-2012, 08:18 PM
Hibs fans take note.
Very much so PB......I would urge any Hibs fan that can possibly afford a season, half season or a few walk ups next season to really try and do so. This really is a crucial time for Scottish football, a day I've welcomed, but a day which means we truly do need to get behind Hibernian in the form of getting to the games at ER.
Offside Trap
21-06-2012, 08:22 PM
Hibs fans take note.
:agree: Nail on head.
Celtic apart, all of the SPL clubs are going to need their supporters to invest next season. I hope that every supporter who can afford to does. The clubs are making a brave decision here - and whilst we as fans can all opine that it is clearly a no brainer decision on the sporting integrity front, I don't want to see my club follow Rangers and get into financial difficulties as a result. Watershed moment.
kennyh
21-06-2012, 08:27 PM
If fans don't support their clubs next season the clubs will be ****ed
The strength of support has to be as strong as the boycott was going to be
Totally agree, I get across for quote a few games but will make more of an effort once NewCo are in SFL3 or lower.
JoeTortolanoFanClub
21-06-2012, 08:27 PM
It should be #1 but I suspect it will be #3 then #2 one year from now.
It should be #3.
mixumatosis
21-06-2012, 08:31 PM
Time for the United fans to step up to the plate. If there's footage of a queue out the door of the ticket office on tomorrow's news off the back of this statement it'll make the decision much easier for a lot of clubs.
21-06-2012, 08:33 PM
Time for the United fans to step up to the plate. If there's footage of a queue out the door of the ticket office on tomorrow's news off the back of this statement it'll make the decision much easier for a lot of clubs.
Let's all go up and stand in the queue. :greengrin
21-06-2012, 08:35 PM
Brilliant news.
This might just be the shot in the arm that the game here needs.
I can see a lot more fans getting behind their clubs next season as a show of support for doing the right thing.
2nd place in the league will be up for grabs for a number of clubs which might mean Champs League again? or at least an extra Euro spot for someone outside the OF.
It should also mean a more exciting league with more meaningful games which leads to more fans etc. Maybe we've reached the bottom and this can be the start of something much better :thumbsup:
21-06-2012, 08:36 PM
The next few years (probably 3 seasons) when Rangers are out the league will be crucial for Hibs.
If they can really push on and build then it could be exciting times - if ever we needed to support the club it's strangely now.
Regarding the investment into Rangers - could a few more clubs come out and state they are saying NO then would Green and people looking to invest be scared away - putting them in even more problems :agree:
21-06-2012, 08:36 PM
I don't really do league away games these days...but if DUFC folloe this through I will make a point of going to our opener with them.....
Supporters really need to back up their words and if we get the result and change thats so badly needed then we need to step up and do our bit
21-06-2012, 08:37 PM
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=223452&st=0
I also agree that the teams that vote no need the extra support from their fans to help supplement any loss in revenue.
21-06-2012, 08:38 PM
Queues should come when they actually vote no
Sent from my GT-I9001 using Tapatalk 2
21-06-2012, 08:39 PM
I don't really do league away games these days...but if DUFC folloe this through I will make a point of going to our opener with them.....
Supporters really need to back up their words and if we get the result and change thats so badly needed then we need to step up and do our bit
Spot on, as well as supporting Hibs we should try to pack out the away ends at all the clubs who voted no, they will all deserve it
21-06-2012, 08:41 PM
Spot on, as well as supporting Hibs we should try to pack out the away ends at all the clubs who voted no, they will all deserve it
Do the people who make the Killie pies do mail order ?
21-06-2012, 08:44 PM
Spot on, as well as supporting Hibs we should try to pack out the away ends at all the clubs who voted no, they will all deserve itIf the right decision is made here I can see myself maybe getting on the road a bit more and going tae some away games again helping out those clubs that done the right thing. Even if the huns get voted out I would still boycott any clubs I knew that voted for them though.
21-06-2012, 08:45 PM
I intend to try and attend a few more away games next season.
Show some solidarity and all that. Only away game I probably won't attend is Kilmarnock who as of now have hinted they will back Newco huns. No surprise there though.
hibby72
21-06-2012, 08:46 PM
dufc say no to rangers into spl ,,6 more to go hahaha
21-06-2012, 08:48 PM
kudos to them and mad vlad for coming out and saying how they will vote
21-06-2012, 08:50 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned anywhere, but FIFA rules have been changed since Airdrie bought out Clydebank, so that particular route is definitely OUT for The Rangers;
"3. Altering the legal form or company structure of a club to facilitate its qualification on sporting merit and/or its receipt of a licence for a domestic league championship, to the detriment of the integrity of a sports competition, is prohibited. this includes, for example, changing the headquarters, changing the name or transferring stakeholdings between different clubs."
21-06-2012, 08:51 PM
Aldi do Killie Pies :greengrin
21-06-2012, 08:51 PM
"Singin' bye-bye
miss the old Kille pies..."
... "The day The Rangers died"
VickMackie
21-06-2012, 08:52 PM
SPL with teams playing against Celtic for 12 next year should make things tighter.
Get in tae thum!
Genuinely excited about the league for the first time in years.
Hibs will get more support from me next year.
21-06-2012, 08:53 PM
dufc say no to rangers into spl ,,6 more to go hahaha
2 Shirley.
If Hibs, Hearts and United say No, then only another 2 are needed.
21-06-2012, 08:54 PM
Aldi do Killie Pies :greengrin
Cheers. :thumbsup:
I'll buy a couple and munch my way through while I listen to the radio commentary.
21-06-2012, 08:54 PM
Celtic fans to boycott Rugby Park seemingly.
21-06-2012, 08:55 PM
2 Shirley.
Celtic and Aberdeen.
Sorted.
21-06-2012, 08:55 PM
Congratulations to United. For most of this saga I've expected Rangers to be back in next season's SPL, albeit with some penalty attached, but it's getting increasingly unlikely. I'll go to Tannadice for the SPL opener now.
21-06-2012, 08:57 PM
The only certain Yes votes now are Kilmarnock and Ross County. Even Green might vote No if he doesn't have the dosh to pay SPl wages. :cb
21-06-2012, 08:58 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned anywhere, but FIFA rules have been changed since Airdrie bought out Clydebank, so that particular route is definitely OUT for The Rangers;
"3. Altering the legal form or company structure of a club to facilitate its qualification on sporting merit and/or its receipt of a licence for a domestic league championship, to the detriment of the integrity of a sports competition, is prohibited. this includes, for example, changing the headquarters, changing the name or transferring stakeholdings between different clubs."
That should deal with the Bury takeover, or any similar scheme, too.
21-06-2012, 08:58 PM
I intend to try and attend a few more away games next season.
Show some solidarity and all that. Only away game I probably won't attend is Kilmarnock who as of now have hinted they will back Newco huns. No surprise there though.
It's a double whammy for those clubs (like Killie) who are clearly keen to vote with Newco - they lose the Huns shilling and lose the support from the other 11 SPL away fans. IMHO the lead shown by Yams and DUFC today will encourage the likes of Hibs, Dons, Celtic and others to come out with similar positions. Those left on the sidelines - either suspiciously quiet or in support of Der Cheating Hun are short-sighted and will lose lots of extra ££££ as others see them for who they are and boycott their grounds - NO SPORTING INTEGRITY.
Mikeystewart
21-06-2012, 08:59 PM
2 Shirley.
The way I see it
Hearts - No
Dundee United - No
Motherwell - No (Based on the fans survey as the vote has been given to the fans)
Celtic - they will probably loose the most money in the league due to dual sponsorships and old firm games but they will surely vote No
Hibs - From what Petrie has came out with regarding sporting integrity I don't know if its safe to have us down as a No.
Based on the above I'm convinced the Newco's application will be declined.
Hibby Hippy
21-06-2012, 08:59 PM
The wedge for a season ticket is sitting here in a drawer but its not dependant on just Hibs voting no,it's dependant on sevco fc not getting into the SPL,div 1 or any spl2 nonsense either.They should be made to apply to the bottom tier like any other new club.
VickMackie
21-06-2012, 09:00 PM
Feeling a bit sorry for Killie fans here.
Their club management are on the verge of folding them if SPL fans follow up on abandoning them.
I'm pretty sure their fans will all be 95% against like all others.
21-06-2012, 09:01 PM
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=223452&st=0
I also agree that the teams that vote no need the extra support from their fans to help supplement any loss in revenue.
I love the post stating "I'm fed up of hearing this word 'integrity'"
Interesting twist still think the fudge SPL2 is the next "attempt" to soften the blow for them. Unfair on the hardworking honest clubs trying to do the right thing like Falkirk in the SFL who have had more than their fair share of knock backs
Mikeystewart
It's a double whammy for those clubs (like Killie) who are clearly keen to vote with Newco - they lose the Huns shilling and lose the support from the other 11 SPL away fans. IMHO the lead shown by Yams and DUFC today will encourage the likes of Hibs, Dons, Celtic and others to come out with similar positions. Those left on the sidelines - either suspiciously quiet or in support of Der Cheating Hun are short-sighted and will lose lots of extra ££££ as others see them for who they are and boycott their grounds - NO SPORTING INTEGRITY.
I think if 5 clubs come out publicly NO then the rest will follow nothing to loose by voting No. A lot to loose if they vote yes even if their votes don't effect the outcome.
Rossco1875
If the right decision is made here I can see myself maybe getting on the road a bit more and going tae some away games again helping out those clubs that done the right thing. Even if the huns get voted out I would still boycott any clubs I knew that voted for them though.
All hold you to that :greengrin
21-06-2012, 09:02 PM
That should deal with the Bury takeover, or any similar scheme, too.
Would have thought so.
The stance of Petrie, Hearts and Dundee Utd should hopefully give confidence to St Mirren/St Johnstone and the like to maybe lean towards 'no', which hopefully has Celtic and Aberdeen in the camp already. I know it only needs five clubs to vote no, but it'd be terrific if even more than that voted no to make sure a resounding message was sent.
ScotMid on Easter Road sells Killie pies as well by the way :wink:
21-06-2012, 09:06 PM
All hold you to that :greengrinIf the Huns end up in division 3 I'll see you for the trip on our opening day :thumbsup: if you're going, that is :wink:
Mikeystewart
21-06-2012, 09:07 PM
Is there not some rule that states applicants for the SFL have to submit 3 years of accounts or will they just ignore this rule in Rangers case, is it a given that Newco will be accepted into SFL?
BarneyK
21-06-2012, 09:08 PM
Well done the Arabs and (cough) theyams...God Bless that mental Russkie
John_the_angus_hibby
21-06-2012, 09:09 PM
and;
Utterly classic bonkers but brilliant!
Congratulations to United. For most of this saga I've expected Rangers to be back in next season's SPL, albeit with some penalty attached, but it's getting increasingly unlikely. I'll go to Tannadice for the SPL opener now.
The SFA & SPL Exec will be having crisis meetings tomorrow to discuss Plan F on how to get the Huns out of this mess.
Looks like the clubs have decided to take a stand for the "good of the game" - something which our football authorities should have done months ago instead of cowering away in the corners hoping the problem would just go away. Once this is all over and the Huns are in the 3rd Div, I'd like to see a summary of the behaviour/positions taken by each and every journo, SFA/SPL Exec, politician so there is no misunderstanding about who supported self-interest, bigotry and cheating ... over sport and fair play. Name and shame them :greengrin
Is there not some rule that states applicants for the SFL have to submit 3 years of accounts or will they just ignore this rule in Rangers case, is it a given that Newco will be accepted into SFL?how funny would it be if they didnae get in there either :hilarious dinnae think I'd ever be able tae stop laughing :faf:
I wouldn't be surprised if Killie see the lie of the land and eventually vote no as well in the hope of heading of boycotts by away fans.
Rossco1875
If the Huns end up in division 3 I'll see you for the trip on our opening day :thumbsup: if you're going, that is :wink:
Train up to dundee:greengrin
On that rangers media forum someone states that STV reported that we are voting no anyone see that report?
21-06-2012, 09:10 PM
On that rangers media forum someone states that STV reported that we are voting no anyone see that report?:aok:
seanshow
21-06-2012, 09:12 PM
Allow me to be Mr Doom here, The fans of the 10 clubs should wholeheartedly support their teams financially.......
After 4th July! :cb
21-06-2012, 09:14 PM
Is there not some rule that states applicants for the SFL have to submit 3 years of accounts or will they just ignore this rule in Rangers case, is it a given that Newco will be accepted into SFL?
The bigger problem is Green's business plan will not have allowed for 3 years in the wilderness of Scottish Football. A few more twists and turns in this yet. Wouldn't surprise me if the NewHuns decided just not to play at all, take their ball home and sulk :greengrin
Mikeystewart
21-06-2012, 09:14 PM
On that rangers media forum someone states that STV reported that we are voting no anyone see that report?
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/rangers/106806-rangers-newco-vote-the-spl-powerbrokers-in-their-own-words/