View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
27-06-2012, 02:17 PM
What's this all about then?
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug (https://twitter.com/#!/BBCchrismclaug)spokesman for #Rangers (https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23Rangers) administrators confirms to me that offer of £8.7M for the club was rejected on Monday. Bid was from Stewart& McKenna
27-06-2012, 02:28 PM
An unbelievable blog! You would have to think that inciting hate and sectariansm leading to disorder and who knows what?? Should be placed in the hands of the Scottish Government and or the Police.
27-06-2012, 02:28 PM
What's this all about then?
spokesman for #Rangers (https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23Rangers) administrators confirms to me that offer of £8.7M for the club was rejected on Monday. Bid was from Stewart& McKenna
Strange, if true.
Perhaps CG is backing out of the deal :confused: But, that then begs the question... why would anyone bid more for a business that is worth less than it was last week?
27-06-2012, 02:33 PM
According to the STV Twitter, Spartans have not and will not be launching any legal challenge to block any Newco application.
27-06-2012, 02:38 PM
According to the STV Twitter, Spartans have not and will not be launching any legal challenge to block any Newco application.Pity really, because somebody should, why should well run clubs who have been waiting tae get in tae the leagues be bumped by some none club jumping the queue and the rules being bent tae allow them tae do so.
27-06-2012, 02:42 PM
Pity really, because somebody should, why should well run clubs who have been waiting tae get in tae the leagues be bumped by some none club jumping the queue and the rules being bent tae allow them tae do so.
Are the rules being bent, though?
If a place becomes available, then Sevco and others may apply. If they satisfy the criteria, then they will be considered. If they don't, they won't. It's only if that process isn't followed that anyone can actually complain.
As an aside, although I tend not to believe what STV tell me, it wouldn't surprise me if Spartans have no legal action planned. They may be well-run, but they won't have the cash to splash on legal action which, at the moment, isn't needed.
27-06-2012, 02:42 PM
According to the STV Twitter, Spartans have not and will not be launching any legal challenge to block any Newco application.
They won't need to, they'll just need to have their application ready to hand in when it's finally realised that Newco have neither a team to play nor the funds to survive.
27-06-2012, 02:44 PM
If a place becomes available, then Sevco and others may apply. If they satisfy the criteria, then they will be considered. If they don't, they won't. It's only if that process isn't followed that anyone can actually complain.
As an aside, although I tend not to believe what STV tell me, it wouldn't surprise me if Spartans have no legal action planned. They may be well-run, but they won't have the cash to splash on legal action which, at the moment, isn't needed.
If the requirement of 3 years financial records is accurate, then surely they will be if Sevco are admitted?
27-06-2012, 02:48 PM
If the requirement of 3 years financial records is accurate, then surely they will be if Sevco are admitted?
It does seem a strange rule.
How can a new club ever be established?
You cannot have three years accounts without operating. You cannot operate without SFA membership.
I doubt whether such a rule is legally sustainable.
Are the Newco Gretna and the Newco Clydebank members of the SFA?
27-06-2012, 02:48 PM
But they haven't been. That's my point. If they are, THEN others have the right to complain. Nothing untoward has happened yet, so why take legal action?
LeighLoyal
27-06-2012, 02:49 PM
Boo hiss! I know the guy who does their accounts, I suspect they will be in slightly better order than Slimeco's.
27-06-2012, 02:50 PM
Strange, if true.
Perhaps CG is backing out of the deal :confused: But, that then begs the question... why would anyone bid more for a business that is worth less than it was last week?
Even though it is worth less this week than it was last week, it might still be worth £8.7m this week. There is just the faint possibility that it was worth more last week than someone actually paid for it. Which the polis and Hector between them may eventually determine (unless The Hun Apologist In Chief "Jim" Traynor eloquently convinces them that there's nothing to see there and they move on).
27-06-2012, 02:52 PM
You cannot have three years accounts without operating. You cannot operate without SFA membership.
Page 11 here clarifies things.
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resources/documents/ClubLicensing/PartTwo-NationalClubLicensing/8%20%20Legal%20Admin%20&%20Finance%20Criteria%20%282%29.pdf
Audited accounts are NOT needed for entry to the SFA. All that is required is the 2011 Accounts......
which Sevco doesn't have. :greengrin
27-06-2012, 02:52 PM
As an aside, although I tend not to believe what STV tell me, it wouldn't surprise me if Spartans have no legal action planned. They may be well-run, but they won't have the cash to splash on legal action which, at the moment, isn't needed.I thought I read somewhere that they had tae have a certain number of years worth of financial history/acconuts or whatever tae get a licence from the SFA? (or maybe I read that wrong). They certainly cannae have that. If that is the case there should be nae discussion at all about them getting in anywhere but it is apparently being discussed so they must be going tae dae something which isnae right with that rule (if indeed it is a rule and I've no made it up :greengrin ).
27-06-2012, 02:53 PM
Presumably you have to operate for 3 years at junior level first?
Could be an SFL rather than SFA rule. :dunno:
Strange, if true.
Because it was worth far more than £5.5 million a week ago so the new figure is still a decent price for the land and trophies to melt down.
27-06-2012, 02:54 PM
I thought I read somewhere that they had tae have a certain number of years worth of financial history/acconuts or whatever tae get a licence from the SFA? They certainly cannae have that. If that is the case there should be nae discussion at all about them getting in anywhere but it is apparently being discussed so the must be going tae dae something which isnae right with that rule.
They don't need that. It's another Hibs.net myth.... which I was starting to believe :greengrin
See above for my interpretation.... which still gooses them, IMO.
27-06-2012, 02:55 PM
They don't need that. It's another Hibs.net myth.... which I was starting to believe :greengrin
See above for my interpretation.... which still gooses them, IMO.:aok:
27-06-2012, 02:57 PM
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resources/documents/ClubLicensing/PartTwo-NationalClubLicensing/8%20%20Legal%20Admin%20&%20Finance%20Criteria%20%282%29.pdf
Audited accounts are NOT needed for entry to the SFA. All that is required is the 2011 Accounts......
With good management a new club would have been established in the South of Scotland League as soon as the BTC reared its head. This is what happened with FC United of Manchester.
They would then have been a position to apply for SFL3.
They appear to have missed the boat!
27-06-2012, 02:59 PM
With good management a new club would have been established in the South of Scotland League as soon as the BTC reared its head. This is what happened with FC United of Manchester.
They would then have been a position to apply for SFL3.
They appear to have missed the boat!
27-06-2012, 03:00 PM
Has it come from section 8.1.2??
A club is required to submit a summary of financial information covering the reporting year for 2011 and the
previous two years i.e. 2010 and 2009 as detailed below.
27-06-2012, 03:02 PM
I believe this was the reason that Gretna2012 had to join the East of Scotland league, as the Newco didn't meet the eligibility requirements.
I guess any club would need to join a junior league and gradually develop sufficient finances or credentials to meet the criteria.
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resources/documents/ClubLicensing/PartTwo-NationalClubLicensing/8 Legal Admin & Finance Criteria (2).pdf
Cheers for clearing up CWG. To be fair, this myth extends beyonds the boundaries of .net :agree:
If the SFL admit Rangers I can certainly see based on the above, why other clubs would take legal action.
27-06-2012, 03:02 PM
Has it come from section 8.1.2??
The previous page. 8.1.1.... under "Entry", which Sevco would be applying for.
27-06-2012, 03:05 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18606923
Looks like Brown has come to a similar conclusion as our own Caversham as to whether Green actually owns the property or not...
27-06-2012, 03:05 PM
The previous page. 8.1.1.... under "Entry", which Sevco would be applying for.
Section 8.1.2. (as quoted above) also appears to apply to the "entry" criteria?
27-06-2012, 03:15 PM
Section 8.1.2. (as quoted above) also appears to apply to the "entry" criteria?
So they would get entry but not be able to qualify for Platinum (i have read some of it :greengrin), Gold, Silver or Bronze status.
Which does what exactly? I'm assuming doesn't restrict the club from entering certain leagues?
Brando7
27-06-2012, 03:15 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18614220
Sandy Jardine now taking a pop at the freed 8
27-06-2012, 03:16 PM
Presumably you have to operate for 3 years at junior level first?
I have just looked up the record of Gretna FC 2008. They were formed after the liquidation of Gretna FC and applied to both the South of Scotland League and the East of Scotland League. They were admitted to the East of Scotland League.
This is a Senior rather than a Junior League. It is not clear if they are members of the SFA.
Clydebank FC were re-established in 2003 and joined the Scottish Junior Football Association.
27-06-2012, 03:16 PM
2 options open to them, do a Gretna and join the west of Scotland League
or do an Airdrie Utd and take over an ailing club (Killie?)
from Wiki
Airdrie United were formed in 2002, following the bankruptcy of Airdrieonians (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Airdrieonians_F.C.).[1] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-0)
Airdrieonians had finished runners-up in the Scottish First Division (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Football_League_First_Division) in the 2001–02 season (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_First_Division_2001-02)[2] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-1) but went out of business with debts approaching £3 million.[3] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-2) The collapse of "The Diamonds", as they were known due to their distinctive kits,[4] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-3) created a vacancy in the Scottish Football League (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Football_League) (in the Scottish Third Division (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Football_League_Third_Division)). Accountant and Airdrieonians fan Jim Ballantyne (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Jim_Ballantyne) attempted, with the help of others, to gain entry with a club called "Airdrie United" who were essentially to be a reincarnation of Airdrieonians.[5] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-4) Their application however was rejected as the then English (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/England) Northern Premier League (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Northern_Premier_League) side Gretna (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Gretna_F.C.) were preferred by league members over the new Airdrie United.[6] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-5)
Airdrie United then went on to complete a buy-out of the ailing Second Division (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Football_League_Second_Division) side Clydebank (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Clydebank_F.C.)[7] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-6) and with SFL approval the club was relocated to Airdrie,[8] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-7) the strips were transformed to resemble that of Airdrieonians, and the name was changed to Airdrie United. While this means that the club is therefore officially a continuation of Clydebank it is almost universally accepted as a reincarnation of Airdrieonians, with Clydebank having been reformed by supporters groups and entering into the West Region Junior League (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Junior_Football_Association,_West_Region) .
27-06-2012, 03:19 PM
2 options open to them, do a Gretna and join the west of Scotland League
or do an Airdrie Utd and take over an ailing club (Killie?)
from Wiki
Airdrie United were formed in 2002, following the bankruptcy of Airdrieonians (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Airdrieonians_F.C.).[1] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-0)
Airdrieonians had finished runners-up in the Scottish First Division (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Football_League_First_Division) in the 2001–02 season (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_First_Division_2001-02)[2] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-1) but went out of business with debts approaching £3 million.[3] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-2) The collapse of "The Diamonds", as they were known due to their distinctive kits,[4] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-3) created a vacancy in the Scottish Football League (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Football_League) (in the Scottish Third Division (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Football_League_Third_Division)). Accountant and Airdrieonians fan Jim Ballantyne (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Jim_Ballantyne) attempted, with the help of others, to gain entry with a club called "Airdrie United" who were essentially to be a reincarnation of Airdrieonians.[5] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-4) Their application however was rejected as the then English (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/England) Northern Premier League (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Northern_Premier_League) side Gretna (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Gretna_F.C.) were preferred by league members over the new Airdrie United.[6] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-5)
Airdrie United then went on to complete a buy-out of the ailing Second Division (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Football_League_Second_Division) side Clydebank (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Clydebank_F.C.)[7] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-6) and with SFL approval the club was relocated to Airdrie,[8] (http://www.hibs.net/#cite_note-7) the strips were transformed to resemble that of Airdrieonians, and the name was changed to Airdrie United. While this means that the club is therefore officially a continuation of Clydebank it is almost universally accepted as a reincarnation of Airdrieonians, with Clydebank having been reformed by supporters groups and entering into the West Region Junior League (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Junior_Football_Association,_West_Region) .
I seem to recall that the rules were changed to stop other clubs 'doing an Airdrie United'.
Is this another hibs-net myth?
grammyb111
27-06-2012, 03:26 PM
This is worth a read, exploring the options of a new club (this was at the time Gretna went under) especially since it was written by a brilliant young journalist... :wink:
http://www.heraldscotland.com/fresh-blood-most-likely-ending-to-gretna-fairytale-1.876500
27-06-2012, 03:28 PM
Duff and Phelps win award Shocker!!
http://www.business7.co.uk/business-news/scottish-business-news/2012/06/27/no-headline-106408-23901493/
WTF
27-06-2012, 03:28 PM
That Jandy Sardine is a fishy booger! :agree:
27-06-2012, 03:29 PM
The smoking gun... (http://tiny.cc/6rikgw)
Craigy boy Whyte is still there or thereabouts. :thumbsup:
27-06-2012, 03:32 PM
Mike Farrell@mikefstvAccording to title deeds, the floating charge held by Craig Whyte over Murray Park is still valid http://bit.ly/NNblxX (http://t.co/3oRVFTnw)
27-06-2012, 03:34 PM
Mike Farrell@mikefstvAccording to title deeds, the floating charge held by Craig Whyte over Murray Park is still valid http://bit.ly/NNblxX (http://t.co/3oRVFTnw)
Maybe that was the reason for the apparent fudge in the CVA documentation?
27-06-2012, 03:35 PM
The smoking gun... (http://tiny.cc/6rikgw)
Craigy boy Whyte is still there or thereabouts. :thumbsup:
Ouch.
Now we see why the more recent bidders have walked away. He owns the property and would appear to want to keep it that way.
Surely that also rules them out of the SPL full stop since 'The Rangers' do not own their own stadium?
banchoryhibs
27-06-2012, 03:39 PM
"If we don't have money from fees for players leaving - which we are completely entitled to - then what are we supposed to build on, fresh air?"
Aye right Sandy............... I very much doubt that newco is entitled to any fee :rules:and good luck with the fresh air construction business:giruy:
When you've stopped whinging maybe you'll apologise to all the creditors who are getting zip from the disgrace that is your club:lolrangers:
27-06-2012, 03:43 PM
"If we don't have money from fees for players leaving - which we are completely entitled to - then what are we supposed to build on, fresh air?"
Aye right Sandy............... I very much doubt that newco is entitled to any fee :rules:and good luck with the fresh air construction business:giruy:
When you've stopped whinging maybe you'll apologise to all the creditors who are getting zip from the disgrace that is your club:lolrangers:
Should it not read?
"..... the disgrace that WAS your club"!
27-06-2012, 03:52 PM
I thought I read somewhere that they had tae have a certain number of years worth of financial history/acconuts or whatever tae get a licence from the SFA? (or maybe I read that wrong). They certainly cannae have that. If that is the case there should be nae discussion at all about them getting in anywhere but it is apparently being discussed so they must be going tae dae something which isnae right with that rule (if indeed it is a rule and I've no made it up :greengrin ).
I think the confusion is that you need three years accounts to obtain a UEFA Licence and you cant play in the SPL without one.
We have moved on from that, however, and I agree with CWG they are still snookered by the very rules they tried to circumvent. Their cunning plan, which I am sure appeared watertight when it was drawn up whenever, is unravelling before their hun eyes.
27-06-2012, 03:56 PM
I hope there is a lot more to come, love seeing these H.U.N. oh so do gooders getting it right up them, Jardine is a typical blue nosed ar$e
27-06-2012, 04:03 PM
Can you believe the stuff that jardine comes out with.Ive never liked the guy and the fact that just about every explayer who actually cares about the club has resigned but he clings onto green and his cohorts shows the stature of the guy.Its staggering that they are now not paying back £60 -130m(depending on the big tax case) and he bleats about players legitimately wanting out from that shambles of a team.Green himself admitted there was a risk this could happen and the fact that all the decent players at ibrox want to leave tells its own story.Green doesnt seem confident they cant walk away for nothing and of course we now have the ridiculous situation where the newco get the balance of the jellyfish transfer but rapid get nowt.I know im still laughing at the £800,000 hertz arent going to get for wallace but how they have the cheek to criticise others while keeping players they havent paid for is beyond me.they are a loathsome bunch and still nobody has apologised for the damage to the game they have done and the shambles that is scottish football. We are just over 5 weeks away from the new season and none of the 4 scottish leagues know the line ups.Its no coincidence there have been so few transfers with this mess going on.It looks increasing likely they will end up in div 3 and they will bleat away.I hope they go back to the crowds of the 80s pre souness and they can reflect on trophies won under false pretences.Its so embarassing and makes vlad look like a saint.Unfortunately this will run and run and will affect scottish football for years.They must put in place rules where if it happens again its div 3 for any club who have done what rangers have done.Its past the laughing stage now and the quicker the police sort it out and bring to book those who have caused this the quicker we can get back to talking about actual football
27-06-2012, 04:08 PM
I hope there is a lot more to come, love seeing these H.U.N. oh so do gooders getting it right up them, Jardine is a typical blue nosed ar$e
I thought he was a Jamboid?
27-06-2012, 04:13 PM
Hmmmmm
so there's an old newco, a newco and a newnewco? :confused:
Sevco Scot Ltd, Sevco 5088 and RFC2012 ........ jeez summat fishy going on! :greengrin
27-06-2012, 04:50 PM
Hmmmmm
so there's an old newco, a newco and a newnewco? :confused:
Sevco Scot Ltd, Sevco 5088 and RFC2012 ........ jeez summat fishy going on! :greengrin
Green planning to sell the football club and rent Ibrox to them? Could be a nice little earner.
27-06-2012, 04:58 PM
I thought he was a Jamboid?
not sure about sandy pullar jardine, but john greig was iirc, and i've just noticed greig's birthday is the same day of the year as mine :gun: the ****
27-06-2012, 05:04 PM
Nick Griffin (https://twitter.com/#!/nickgriffinmep): "Murder of Rangers is shocking indictment of capitalist football & sectarian agenda of Scottish Labour & SNP. It's bad for Celtic too. Wasn't called 'Old Firm' for nothing. All part of anti-identity drive implicit in globalisation and corporate takeovers. Resist or lose the human sense of belonging!"
You know you are very goosed when outwith your Hun media outlets the only backing is from one of the most hated men in Britain who is a racist bigot... hey wait a minute... that is like their fans... :lolrangers::lolrangers:
27-06-2012, 05:06 PM
Duff and Phelps win award Shocker!!
http://www.business7.co.uk/business-news/scottish-business-news/2012/06/27/no-headline-106408-23901493/
WTFmaybe there's a conflict of interest there too......
.....and they're involved with the company that own the magazine :greengrin
I would have thought something like a "shysters of the decade" award would have been mair appropriate for them.
27-06-2012, 05:14 PM
Mike Farrell@mikefstvRangers spokesman also confirms assets were sold to Sevco 5088 Ltd and then transferred on to Sevco Scotland Ltd http://bit.ly/NNblxX (http://t.co/3oRVFTnw)
(http://www.hibs.net/mikefstv/status/218027212413214720)
27-06-2012, 05:32 PM
STV again;-)
The floating charge has no value as there is no debt owed tp CW.
We dealt with this hundreds of pages ago ;-)
Dr Jimmy
27-06-2012, 05:34 PM
Chris Brookmyre just tweeted the new Rangers song.
"we are Rangers, super Rangers, no one likes us, And it appears we may have failed to appreciate the potential long term ramifications of this".
Catchy isn't it?
27-06-2012, 05:50 PM
STV again;-)
The floating charge has no value as there is no debt owed tp CW.
We dealt with this hundreds of pages ago ;-)
Sorry......:greengrin
"we are Rangers, super Rangers, no one likes us, And it appears we may have failed to appreciate the potential long term ramifications of this".
Catchy isn't it?
27-06-2012, 05:52 PM
On FollowFollow they've started a thread spouting Bible verses to make themselves feel better and believe they'll survive :faf::faf::faf:
Apparently Scotland has failed in its duty as a Christian country because the church isn't trying to save the huns!
http://forum.followfollow.com/showthread.php?t=881922
27-06-2012, 05:54 PM
Catchy isn't it?
27-06-2012, 06:11 PM
I'm off the net for 20 hours and I miss all this! Hard to keep a grip on what's going on :dizzy: :greengrin. Each day brings a new reason to have a grin on my face.
One thing, the Huns are goosed not because "no one likes them", it's because they were a corrupt tax dodging cheating club.
27-06-2012, 06:21 PM
On FollowFollow they've started a thread spouting Bible verses to make themselves feel better and believe they'll survive :faf::faf::faf:
Apparently Scotland has failed in its duty as a Christian country because the church isn't trying to save the huns!
No disrespect to anyone with genuine religious feelings, but I always think that turning to religion in times of trouble.or stress is an indication of sensing the end is near.
27-06-2012, 06:34 PM
the facts apparrently
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPQklBgETnM&feature=share
27-06-2012, 06:38 PM
Got a £5 cheque through the post :wink:
Matty_Jack04
27-06-2012, 06:40 PM
@alextomo: Rangers: Ontario Teachers Pension Fund will neither confirm nor deny a deal to buy the club.
@alextomo: Yesterday a spokesman for the newco dismissed any such deal as nonsense.
@alextomo: My source: "Definite asset sale. Very confident. Sevco Scotland bought Ibrox for £500k and have a deal agreed in principle to sell for about
@alextomo: Source adds on Rangers sale: " definitely not buying club - just assets. Annual repayments of loan and rent approx £3m a season."
....make of that what u will but it doesn't sound promising for der hun
27-06-2012, 06:43 PM
So now they're appealing to something which doesn't exist to help save something that doesn't exist.
Yup, that's bound to do it!
(In all fairness though, only something that doesn't exist could find that shower appealing in any way, shape or form)
27-06-2012, 07:10 PM
alex thomson@alextomoMy source: "Definite asset sale. Very confident. Sevco Scot bt Ibrox for £500k and have a deal agreed in principle to sell for about £8m"
Does this sound feasible? Is it legal? Could creditors go after the proceeds?
John_the_angus_hibby
27-06-2012, 07:11 PM
Nick Griffin (https://twitter.com/#!/nickgriffinmep): "Murder of Rangers is shocking indictment of capitalist football & sectarian agenda of Scottish Labour & SNP. It's bad for Celtic too. Wasn't called 'Old Firm' for nothing. All part of anti-identity drive implicit in globalisation and corporate takeovers. Resist or lose the human sense of belonging!"
You know you are very goosed when outwith your Hun media outlets the only backing is from one of the most hated men in Britain who is a racist bigot... hey wait a minute... that is like their fans... :lolrangers::lolrangers:
But it is also meaningless twaddle. Utter nonsense from a twat. He is just fishing for some future west of Scotland BNP votes from the shiftless aimless knuckle dragging moronic neanderthals that are the ex Rangers support. Blue shirts = brown shirts ...
27-06-2012, 07:35 PM
But it is also meaningless twaddle. Utter nonsense from a twat. He is just fishing for some future west of Scotland BNP votes from the shiftless aimless knuckle dragging moronic neanderthals that are the ex Rangers support. Blue shirts = brown shirts ...
What's the difference between Rangers and the BNP?
One is a bankrupt organisation, tainted by racism, bigotry and criminality, the other is ............
blaikie
27-06-2012, 07:38 PM
http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/420/img2169tx.jpg:faf:
27-06-2012, 07:52 PM
Catchy isn't it?
Been a fan of CB's since reading his book (i think his first - edit: not his first, just the first that I read) "A big boy did it and ran away!". He's two things that wee Chick Young ain't - a writer and a genuine St Mirren fan.
27-06-2012, 07:57 PM
Been a fan of CB's since reading his book (i think his first) "A big boy did it and ran away!". He's two things that wee Chick Young ain't - a writer and a genuine St Mirren fan.
He used to have a very funny column in the Football Pink.
Remember that?
27-06-2012, 08:19 PM
Not sure, boiling a frog?one fine day?
Quite Ugly One Morning? And as Glory Glory says a genuine St Mirren fan and talented writer.
27-06-2012, 08:37 PM
....another two players walking. John Fleck and Juan Manuel Ortiz.
dolphan
27-06-2012, 08:53 PM
Been a fan of CB's since reading his book (i think his first - edit: not his first, just the first that I read) "A big boy did it and ran away!". He's two things that wee Chick Young ain't - a writer and a genuine St Mirren fan.
There's a glossary of Scottish terms in the back of 'A Tale Etched in Blood and Hard Black Pencil' in which half the entries are illustrated through cutting remarks about old firm fans and references to some cup match against Rangers in which St Mirren were robbed - it's hilarious :greengrin
27-06-2012, 09:40 PM
sure he had an Asian female police constable who supported Rangers for all of the ironies. Xavier?
Angelique de Xavia in 'A Big Boy Did it and Ran Away' :tee hee:, 'The Sacred Art of Stealing' and 'A Snowball in Hell'
She's also Catholic and her brother supports Celtic.
Lungo--Drom
27-06-2012, 09:49 PM
Jesus will forgive them for all their sins, and luckily he will also forgive me for being unable to find it in my heart to forgive them also O:)
So now they're appealing to something which doesn't exist to help save something that doesn't exist.
Yup, that's bound to do it!
(In all fairness though, only something that doesn't exist could find that shower appealing in any way, shape or form)
27-06-2012, 09:56 PM
Maybe Hibs will sign someone by then too.
We signed Clancy did we no?
27-06-2012, 10:04 PM
Anyone watched the John Brown rant yet???
Pant wettingly funny.
27-06-2012, 10:20 PM
From KDS
I've just checked one 10 minute video
It's hilarious...Bomber Brown addressing the hoardes
At one point a Hunette shouts 'here's 20 quid' in all seriousness
Hedrush
27 Jun 2012, 08:46 PM
Warning contains lots of huns.
Part 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MY_wjFY9swg&feature=plcp
Part 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGjMIxAYKvE&feature=plcp
Part 3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ot0VCMetUc&feature=plcp
Don't know how to embed sry
Edit for part 3
27-06-2012, 10:22 PM
Pant wettingly funny.
There's an unedited version on Hun media. It's hilarious, the guy sounds like he's no stranger tae the bevy :hilarious
Edit: the one posted above
27-06-2012, 10:25 PM
There's an unedited version on Hun media. It's hilarious, the guy sounds like he's no stranger tae the bevy :hilarious
Tom Hall@ScotFootBlogGrossly unfair. but if the news tonight was an episode of Taggart you'd see John Brown and think "aye, he did it." Still, he's trying.
27-06-2012, 11:08 PM
From KDS
Hedrush
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Edit for part 3
Just another deluded fud only telling them what they want to hear.
The long and short of this is "We're ****ed"
27-06-2012, 11:34 PM
So am I reading it as Sevco Scotland is selling the property on to someone else?
Isn't Tomo's quoted figure the same as the failed bid the two Celtic property developers made on Monday...
Curiouser and curiouser...
27-06-2012, 11:36 PM
Best laugh for ages. How many Huns are going to save them, blue knights, Walters mob. Sandy Jardine and now bomber brown. They are totally deluded. They are well and truly ****ed. He claimed it was ticketus and white that was behind Green. You could not make it up.
27-06-2012, 11:43 PM
Some interesting reading - Glad this guy is reporting as it is. Some of the abuse he get's makes you wonder what type of society we live in :rolleyes:
http://www.scotzine.com/2012/06/a-hurting-rangers-employee-hits-out-after-a-simple-request-for-confirmation/
http://www.scotzine.com/2009/12/sectarian-vile-bigoted-racist-%E2%80%93-vanguard-bears-on-the-offensive-after-being-outed/
27-06-2012, 11:52 PM
From KDS
Hedrush
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Edit for part 3
Unleash the dogs of war:greengrin looked like an episode of The Scheme.
In all seriousness the more they unsettle Green and co the more it's all just going to collapse in a heap of rubble. They will be lucky to be ready to play in any leahue come the start of the season.
Expect Traynor to portray Brown as Caesar tomorrow in the press not the pub bore loudmouth he came across as.
Lungo--Drom
28-06-2012, 01:00 AM
A fight breaks out inside the Follow Follow HQ after Craig Whyte is captured
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJIr_EL_4m8
Marching on Hampden
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSKtx2A1X80
Arguing over two young Celtic fans on the outskirts of Govan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-z3M2_EzIA
Lungo--Drom
28-06-2012, 01:11 AM
I like the bit near the beginning of part 3 where I am pretty sure he says, "This club is going from strength to strength." WTF? He's either "McF****n Mad" (to paraphrase a Hun the other day talking about Vlad) or he's had one or ten cans of Tennents too many :O
From KDS
Hedrush
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Edit for part 3
28-06-2012, 01:33 AM
Arguing over two young Celtic fans on the outskirts of Govan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-z3M2_EzIA
They look far too clean to be Celtc fans :agree:
easteroad
28-06-2012, 01:49 AM
From KDS
Hedrush
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Edit for part 3
:faf: And when you're in yer death beds years fi now would ye give aw that Buckie up for just one day, just one day tae say "gonnae no dae this". :saltireflag
woodythehibee
28-06-2012, 04:31 AM
Ness signing for Stoke City (source: journo from Twitter)
28-06-2012, 05:59 AM
A thought occurred to me last night, when I was nowhere near the computer.
What about the outcome of the Strathclyde Police investigation of the sale of Rangers (IA) from David Murray to Craig Whyte? If it is found that there were dodgy dealings, will that mean that everything that has happened since was just a bad dream (like Dallas!)?
Seriously, if it is found something was illegal in that deal, will it still be the case that Charles Green/Sevco own the club?
Would Rangers become the "Proceeds of Crime"?
Am I just confusing and already tangled web?
28-06-2012, 06:06 AM
Pant wettingly funny.
Not seen it but I understand that he had the humility to actually apologise for the fact his former team has damaged Scottish football and cheated for years. If he did that then, good on him, he get my respect.
28-06-2012, 06:18 AM
Mare woe for the peepul as Gazza's back on the sauce ..
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4398796/Paul-Gascoigne-worse-for-wear-in-pictures-of-Middle-East-hotel-booze-up.html
28-06-2012, 06:34 AM
Not seen it but I understand that he had the humility to actually apologise for the fact his former team has damaged Scottish football and cheated for years. If he did that then, good on him, he get my respect.
I think maybe you need to watch it and then say he gets your respect. Its nothing but a shambles of an ego filled rant that is designed to appeal to the worst of their "support"
Jamie Ness to sign for Stoke. Haven't watched him too much so don't know how he'll get on.
28-06-2012, 06:43 AM
Jamie Ness to sign for Stoke. Haven't watched him too much so don't know how he'll get on.
Looked an exceptional young prospect, but missed a lot of last season through injury.
Absolutely ran the show in the first OF game at Ibrox last season.
28-06-2012, 07:22 AM
:greengrin Ohh now that is an interesting tit bit....talking of mammaries...if Sevco 5088 go mammaries up due to no income / player wages etc etc...this could be the way Green is screening his investment...will scupper him if Broxy Sevco was in fact looking to 'rent' to Sevco 5088 to service the purchase £5.5 million ....
Much more to give yet from this...certainly enough to fill the close season anyway
(so based on Cav's company reg info)...wonder if my supposition was correct...or reports in media are coming from .net again :hmmm:
28-06-2012, 07:35 AM
It is highly humorous
1875er
28-06-2012, 08:09 AM
Somebody should tell John Bomber Brown that its Sheffield United and not Sheffield UniteT..... what a plum....
Brando7
28-06-2012, 08:18 AM
Wonder if anyone turned up for training then?
Brando7
28-06-2012, 08:30 AM
Apparently they did
http://www.wattsfield.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/footballteamphotounder9sunited.jpg
28-06-2012, 08:35 AM
Rangers squad spotted on pre season road trip.
Squad (http://arizonaoddities.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/Tumbleweed_rolling_2.jpg)
28-06-2012, 08:44 AM
11 - but two are goalies.
Not even a full team.
28-06-2012, 08:56 AM
Pant wettingly funny.got a link?
28-06-2012, 09:05 AM
got a link?
Make yourself a nice bug mug of tea and get out the biccies and enjoy this....http://yfrog.com/f26h0z
28-06-2012, 09:12 AM
Here's a thought.
The outcome of the proposed vote next week on whether Newco Rangers should be allowed into the SPL is known, a big fat NO. So, why not change the vote to
Who should take the place in the SPL vacated by Rangers (IA)?
28-06-2012, 09:20 AM
Here's a thought.
The outcome of the proposed vote next week on whether Newco Rangers should be allowed into the SPL is known, a big fat NO. So, why not change the vote to
Who should take the place in the SPL vacated by Rangers (IA)?
Because the vote is on an application by Newco. It has to be formally taken.
Once that has happened, then your question may be relevant.
Twa Cairpets
28-06-2012, 09:29 AM
Sandy Jardine has reiterated that there is no break Rangers' long and illustrious history.
Fans have been angered by jibes from some quarters and completely ill-informed reporting that there is a 'new' Rangers and the 'old' one has ceased to exist.
Jardine said: "It's a lot of nonsense that our history does not carry on. There are a lot of other fans out there saying that we are a new club but that's not the case.
"We never worried about what other supporters said in the past and we shouldn't worry about what other supporters say now.
"What matters is what Rangers supporters think.
"We are a club with 140 years of history and next year we will be a club with 141 years of history.
"If and when we win another Championship flag we will add it to the 54 we already have."
Speaking on RangersTV, Jardine said: "Whatever league we will be playing in we will still be playing in the same stadium, we will still be playing in a blue shirt.
"We will have the same supporters and the same staff. Nothing has changed and people have to realise that.
"We have a Hall of Fame board recognising our greatest players and I have no doubt that in the future other players will be added to it and they will be delighted to be among greats like Davie Meiklejohn, George Young and John Greig.
"This fallacy that our history has ended is just banter from other supporters and some of our fans have taken the bait. They should just ignore it.
"We have a rich history - Barcelona, Nine in a Row, 54 league titles - are we going to forget that? I don't think so."
What a total fud.
Also, I asked this a few pages back, but who is running the "offiicial" Ranger site? If its oldco, why the hell are they incurring cost.
If its the newco (or one of them), why are they still claiming to be a football team called rangers with a badge with 5 stars. they aren't that club. It doesnt exist Sandy boy.
28-06-2012, 09:29 AM
Police have just arrived and gone into #Rangers (http://www.hibs.net/search/%23Rangers) Murray Park pic.twitter.com/kUEJOlyE (http://t.co/kUEJOlyE)
(Tweeted by Gordon Chree)
green glory
28-06-2012, 09:33 AM
Police have just arrived and gone into #Rangers (http://www.hibs.net/search/%23Rangers) Murray Park pic.twitter.com/kUEJOlyE (http://t.co/kUEJOlyE)
Hopefully arresting Sally as part of the ongoing investigation.
28-06-2012, 09:38 AM
Make yourself a nice bug mug of tea and get out the biccies and enjoy this....http://yfrog.com/f26h0zcheers :aok:
and :hilarious
28-06-2012, 09:39 AM
What a total fud.
Also, I asked this a few pages back, but who is running the "offiicial" Ranger site? If its oldco, why the hell are they incurring cost.
If its the newco (or one of them), why are they still claiming to be a football team called rangers with a badge with 5 stars. they aren't that club. It doesnt exist Sandy boy.
That's fine Mr Jardine - if it's the same club, the same history, the same successes etc, you won't mind carrying over the debts and facing the appropriate sanctions for financial mismanagement.
Sorry, but you can't have it both ways. It's either an entirely clean slate, or you face the music and deal with the mess your club and it's previous incumbents have made.
28-06-2012, 09:43 AM
St mirren vote no to newco
28-06-2012, 09:44 AM
That's fine Mr Jardine - if it's the same club, the same history, the same successes etc, you won't mind carrying over the debts and facing the appropriate sanctions for financial mismanagement.
Sorry, but you can't have it both ways. It's either an entirely clean slate, or you face the music and deal with the mess your club and it's previous incumbents have made.
:top marks:
Also, that money you reckoned you were entitled to yesterday (for the walk-away players), you really should show a bit of humilty and recognise that any money should really be heading to the folk that your old team bumped.
How can a club be so dispicable after only existing for a couple of weeks?!
1875er
28-06-2012, 09:56 AM
:How can a club be so dispicable after only existing for a couple of weeks?!
:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: Spot On.
Caversham Green
28-06-2012, 10:01 AM
What a total fud.
Paul McConville asked the same thing - and why are Duff & Phelps still working at Ibrox? It no longer bolongs to their client company.
http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.com/2012/06/23/duff-phelps-are-they-webmasters-and-bankers-for-charles-green/
jamieross
28-06-2012, 10:01 AM
Wouldnt hold my breath for Alexander. Was reported to be at training http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18623659?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
28-06-2012, 10:04 AM
10 players turn up for training - no manager there :confused:
Jane Lewis reporting "BBC Scotland has received details of plans being put in place to allow a #Rangers (https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23Rangers) Newco to play in the 1st Division this season. "
Whoever has made these plans needs to be fired!
SFL clubs have already come out and said they don't want them in Div 1 - they are going to be lucky to even be playing in the SFL in just over a months time!
28-06-2012, 10:05 AM
drafted in to make up squad numbers
28-06-2012, 10:06 AM
10 players turn up for training - no manager there :confused:
Jane Lewis reporting "BBC Scotland has received details of plans being put in place to allow a #Rangers (https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23Rangers) Newco to play in the 1st Division this season. "
it's just pre-fitness tests today and tomorrow(or sommit like that), training starts monday
28-06-2012, 10:07 AM
"BBC Scotland has received details of plans being put in place to allow a #Rangers Newco to play in the 1st Division this season. "
Gus Fring
28-06-2012, 10:13 AM
BBC reporting the Huns will parachute into division 1.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18625293
Disgusting and if true, I will have no further involvement in Scottish football.
28-06-2012, 10:14 AM
"BBC Scotland has received details of plans being put in place to allow a #Rangers Newco to play in the 1st Division this season. "
If that happens the games a bogey I am afraid. Completely against any sporting integrity argument.
LeighLoyal
28-06-2012, 10:14 AM
Better not!!! :confused: Disgrace upon disgrace if allowed.
28-06-2012, 10:15 AM
If a vote was to be held and Celtic voted against Newhun, the the result would be carnage on a scale we haven't seen before. Could it be that the other clubs have 'leaked' their intentions to avoid the vote even being held, thus avoiding the violence which will undoubtedly follow.
Completely agree the other clubs have tried to manage this news and to be fair have done so effectively thus far IMO.
28-06-2012, 10:15 AM
This is the important clause, IMO:-
All these changes have to be approved by SPL and SFL clubs over the next few days.
28-06-2012, 10:18 AM
If this happens then I'm not going back. I'm sick of these allowances being made for a club that cheated.
28-06-2012, 10:19 AM
Disgusting and if true, I will have no further involvement in Scottish football.
It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval
all those on here wanting a nighthood for RP should think again, and that goes for the other chairmen that have been getting plaudits the last few days, they want sporting integrity....but only if it's for one season :wink:
28-06-2012, 10:21 AM
If this happens then I'm not going back. I'm sick of these allowances being made for a club that cheated.
It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval
:fuming:
28-06-2012, 10:22 AM
The important clause, however is
"All these changes have to be approved by SPL and SFL clubs over the next few days."
1875 NO 1
28-06-2012, 10:23 AM
I think Traynor is right, up to a point.
If there is a deal to put Newco in Div 1, then sporting integrity is being served in name only. It would be a carve up.
However, he's a slaver to suggest Rangers would be put in Div 1 against their will.
That couldn't happen.
Also, if Rangers really want to start again in Div 3, why have they applied for the SPL?
I think huns will be back in the top division in a years time. Debt free. In a very very strong position to re build.
Fans are being taken for a ride. Its a carve up. Petrie and other chairman talk re sporting integrity but money is still over riding factor.
northgreen24
28-06-2012, 10:24 AM
all those on here wanting a nighthood for RP should think again, and that goes for the other chairmen that have been getting plaudits the last few days, they want sporting integrity....but only if it's for one season :wink:
totally agree if this happens then all over for me. This could jsut be old news but if it happens then JT was correct re the sporting integrity being a smokescreen. if they start anywhere other than the bottom like every other club would then Scottish football is finished.......:rolleyes:
28-06-2012, 10:25 AM
Make yourself a nice bug mug of tea and get out the biccies and enjoy this....http://yfrog.com/f26h0z
That is great.
" ah made a bid o 8.7 mullyin" :greengrin
28-06-2012, 10:25 AM
Hopefully arresting Sally as part of the ongoing investigation.
Lodge meeting?
LeighLoyal
28-06-2012, 10:26 AM
Basically, 12 months down the line newco Huns walk back into the spl debt free to compete with eleven honest clubs saddled with debts. And will be free to do it all again and shaft us all because they arra peepul! That'll be shinging bright!! :brickwall
28-06-2012, 10:26 AM
Apparently Petrie is briefing Green. WTF is our Chairman doing if this turns out to be true? He called for integrity and as such should not be seen to support these plans. They need to be removed from Senior Football and told to re-apply to join 3rd division, not just parachuted into division one. It all seemed to be going so well, if they do get put in D1, I'll be telling the club I don't want a season ticket any more and see if it's possible to get the money back for it.
Scottish Football appeared to be moving forward ever so slightly towards a new era, but now it appears as if it's prepared to shoot itself in the foot to accommodate the cheats.
28-06-2012, 10:27 AM
totally agree if this happens then all over for me. This could jsut be old news but if it happens then JT was correct re the sporting integrity being a smokescreen. if they start anywhere other than the bottom like every other club would then Scottish football is finished.......:rolleyes:
just had a quick look on followfollow, even a couple of them think it's laughable
hun 1
It's good for us too. We would therefore only need one promotion to get back into the top league.
I still believe that Division Three is the "right" thing to do but these are exceptional circumstances.
hun 2
Sporting integrity my butt, if they want sporting integrity, then give them true sporting integrity and go to the third division. That way we the Rangers decide our own fate and not be used as a cash cow for clubs who want to penalise us more than is merited.
AL-Qaholik
"It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval."
Makes it sound like Petrie is the driving force behind letting the cheating bassas start from in the 1st Division??:confused::confused:
Really, REALLY not a clever move just a day after the club releases a statement begging for lapsed season ticket holders to return.
Not to mention, being the complete ****in opposite of "sporting integrity"!!
I think we all collectively need to contact the club (and encourage other clubs to do likewise) and make sure they are under no illusions that 'relegation' to Division 1 is nowhere near good enough!
I'm fuming! :fuming::fuming:
Basically, 12 months down the line newco Huns walk back into the spl debt free to compete with eleven honest clubs saddled with debts. And will be free to do it all again and shaft us all because they arra peepul! That'll be shinging bright!! :brickwall
exactly
28-06-2012, 10:29 AM
"It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval."
Makes it sound like Petrie is the driving force behind letting the cheating bassas start from in the 1st Division??:confused::confused:
Really, REALLY not a clever move just a day after the club releases a statement begging for lapsed season ticket holders to return.
Not to mention, being the complete ****in opposite of "sporting integrity"!!
I think we all collectively need to contact the club (and encourage other clubs to do likewise) and make sure they are under no illusions that 'relegation' to Division 1 is nowhere near good enough!
I'm fuming! :fuming::fuming:
I did not read it like that, i think Petrie is just the spokesman for the clubs? :confused: I hope i'm right.
28-06-2012, 10:31 AM
I did not read it like that, i think Petrie is just the spokesman for the clubs? :confused: I hope i'm right.
Yep this does not sound good but I would definitely want clarification of RP's role here before I go off on one....
AL-Qaholik
28-06-2012, 10:32 AM
I hope so too...
28-06-2012, 10:32 AM
Yep this does not sound good but I would definitely want clarification of RP's role here before I go off on one....
You might want clarification of the truth of the story first.
28-06-2012, 10:33 AM
I think it will be because he is on the SFA committee.
Events have moved significantly even since they would have started talking about these ideas a couple of weeks ago.
There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that this has been planned for weeks now. All the guff about 'no' votes was a smokescreen to keep the 'plebs' happy. I also expect most of the players to make a u turn when it's officiall and the ownership of Rangers is sorted out. Rangers will have lost a few battles but there's only going to be one winner of the war.
Basically, 12 months down the line newco Huns walk back into the spl debt free to compete with eleven honest clubs saddled with debts. And will be free to do it all again and shaft us all because they arra peepul! That'll be shinging bright!! :brickwallI dinnae like the way this keeps cropping up, it could be just mair media pro newhun propaganda but if it turns out tae be true then then it's good bye Scottish fitba from me.
I'll not be puting my money in tae bent fitba leagues that fund the gravy train on which twisted b******s like doncaster and ogilvie grow rich.
28-06-2012, 10:34 AM
You might want clarification of the truth of the story first.
Yes definitely...but you'd probably have been better directing that at those who actually have gone off on one!
28-06-2012, 10:34 AM
I agree there would need to be clear clarification of what is going on.
In saying that I think the default position at present re Rangers should be not to believe the press given the blatant scaremongering and lies that have been shamelessly peddled throughout this whole sorry affair.
28-06-2012, 10:35 AM
"but Neil Alexander, Kirk Broadfoot, Lee McCulloch, Ross Perry and Lee Wallace attended Murray Park with assistant manager Kenny McDowall on Wednesday.
Darren Cole, Kane Hemmings, Kyle Hutton , Kal Naismith and Andrew Mitchell were also there but manager Ally McCoist was absent."
its a 'whos who' of football stars!
i cant see them getting the required support to enter Div 1.....and the SPL pay $1 million to broadcast there games....what a joke if that goes through
28-06-2012, 10:36 AM
Yes definitely...but you'd probably have been better directing that at those who actually have gone off on one!
Ken...... I'm just trying to stop you doing the same. :greengrin The rest are lost causes :greengrin
28-06-2012, 10:37 AM
I agree there would need to be clear clarification of what is going on.
In saying that I think the default position at present re Rangers should be not to believe the press given the blatant scaremongering and lies that have been shamelessly peddled throughout this whole sorry affair.
Yup :agree:
Brando7
28-06-2012, 10:38 AM
http://www.sonstrust.net/
Get your vote in :agree:
28-06-2012, 10:39 AM
Ken...... I'm just trying to stop you doing the same. :greengrin The rest are lost causes :greengrin
I'd managed to keep ma trap shut on all this until 10 mins ago.... then just had a wee "WTF" moment :greengrin
28-06-2012, 10:40 AM
I'd managed to keep ma trap shut on all this until 10 mins ago.... then just had a wee "WTF" moment :greengrin
Ok....there have been many of those since 14 February :greengrin
Remember... there needs to be 22 SFL clubs to vote for this nonsense.
28-06-2012, 10:40 AM
Warning!....before everyone goes off on one after reading this...ther is not a single quote in article or info attributted to anyone...on the other side its got pretty specific 'details'
BBC Scotland has learned of plans being put in place that would allow Rangers to move directly into Scottish Division One in the coming season.
Rangers FC plc is soon to be liquidated and Charles Green's consortium are reforming the club.
But Green's Rangers newco has not gained support to replace the old club (http://www.hibs.net/sport/0/football/18577192) in the Scottish Premier League.
And senior Scottish football figures are proposing that Rangers start season 2012-13 in the second tier.
There are also plans for the SPL and Scottish Football League bodies to be merged (http://www.hibs.net/sport/0/football/18566770) into a new organisation called 'The Scottish Professional Football League' in 12 months' time.
The main points of the proposals are:
Rangers are to be relegated with immediate effect and replaced in the SPL by Dundee.
Television rights for Rangers matches in Scottish Football League Division One are to be bought by the SPL for £1m.
The SPL and SFL will merge into one body at the start of season 2013-14.
Play-offs between the top two divisions will be introduced in time for the coming season with one team from the top flight and three from the second tier competing for a place in the following season's SPL.
There will be an increase in the parachute payments made to clubs relegated from the SPL.
Changes will be made to the distribution model for clubs in the top two tiers with teams in the lower leagues earning a similar amount to the current set-up.
A new pyramid system will become effective from season 2014-15 that will allow a potential place in the new league format for a team from either the Highland league or newly-created 'Lowland League'.
Rangers newco's acceptance into the Scottish FA would only be approved if they accept responsibility for the football debts and fines incurred by the pervious club along with their waiving of rights to a legal challenge.
It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval.
All these changes have to be approved by SPL and SFL clubs over the next few days and should the proposals not gain support, it remains possible that Rangers could begin next season in Scottish Division Three, the lowest league in the senior set-up.
Division One clubs Falkirk, Raith Rovers and latterly Morton have voiced their opposition to any plans to place the Rangers newco in the second tier.
With no Rangers currently in the SPL, 'Club 12' is listed on the league's fixtures for season 2012-13 and Dunfermline, who were relegated from the top flight last season, expected to be reinstated.
Dundee, who finished second to promoted Division One champions Ross County last season, have not gone public with their view on who should take the place of Club 12.
28-06-2012, 10:43 AM
Rangers newco's acceptance into the Scottish FA would only be approved if they
accept responsibility for the football debts and fines incurred by the pervious
club along with their waiving of rights to a legal challenge.
So punishment for debts and fines could be points deduction? what happened to ongoing deduction in points for liquidation?
Assuming the following goes against them.....
Bix tax case - not a footballing matter?
Dual contracts - dismissed from SFL? History books amended?
EBTs - loss of sfl/sfa membership?
(also the decision on suspension of signing players - what happened to that?)
28-06-2012, 10:43 AM
All these changes have to be approved by SPL and SFL clubs over the next few days and should the proposals not gain support, it remains possible that Rangers could begin next season in Scottish Division Three, the lowest league in the senior set-up.
we need the pressure applied to get this result
28-06-2012, 10:44 AM
Warning!....before everyone goes off on one after reading this...ther is not a single quote in article or info attributted to anyone...on the other side its got pretty specific 'details'It's also got our Rod's name in it...
28-06-2012, 10:44 AM
Ok....there have been many of those since 14 February :greengrin
Remember... there needs to be 22 SFL clubs to vote for this nonsense.
So its basically - BBC journo thinks that CG has approached RP as SFA spokesperson to get advice on how Newco get into Div 1. RP may have advised to say you've nae chance as you'll need 22 votes...
28-06-2012, 10:45 AM
Very wide of the mark. People like Traynor still live in the land of power brokers and succulent lamb, and have no comprehension of how this process works.
the SFA can only broker a proposal between the different authorities, in no way are they king-maker in this situation
any SPL proposal requires ratification by the SPL clubs, and would probably require a 11-1 majority due to there being a material change to the SPL financial arrangements
likewise any SFL proposal can only be ratified its members once it had been formulated and circulated.
Whilst the guys in the comfy seats might have had some informal discussion no proposals from either the SPL or the SFL exist, never mind any votes or discussions scheduled.
I can only conclude that Traynor has been overdosing on X-Files re-runs to come up with that stuff.
Looks like Traynor wasn't as far off the mark as you thought.
Looks like he was spot on.
Lungo--Drom
28-06-2012, 10:46 AM
Well there was me foolishly getting ready to buy a posh leather card holder for my first ST and head to ER after work on Friday to get ma free Home top, and I slept like a log this morning, thinking that the Hun was slipping down the drain faster than butter off a hot knife, then I wake up to read this:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/mobile/football/18625293
"It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has
been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on
the plans to gain their approval."
So the ridiculous rumours we heard that the Tache was at Edinburgh Airport talking to Green over a week ago were true then and this has already been done and dusted and the Hibs FC chairman has been implicitly involved? :O :<
28-06-2012, 10:47 AM
"but Neil Alexander, Kirk Broadfoot, Lee McCulloch, Ross Perry and Lee Wallace attended Murray Park with assistant manager Kenny McDowall on Wednesday.
Darren Cole, Kane Hemmings, Kyle Hutton , Kal Naismith and Andrew Mitchell were also there but manager Ally McCoist was absent."
its a 'whos who' of football stars!
i cant see them getting the required support to enter Div 1.....and the SPL pay $1 million to broadcast there games....what a joke if that goes through
So Alexander won't be pitching up here then.
28-06-2012, 10:47 AM
Warning!....before everyone goes off on one after reading this...ther is not a single quote in article or info attributted to anyone...on the other side its got pretty specific 'details'
BBC Scotland has learned of plans being put in place that would allow Rangers to move directly into Scottish Division One in the coming season.
Rangers FC plc is soon to be liquidated and Charles Green's consortium are reforming the club.
But Green's Rangers newco has not gained support to replace the old club (http://www.hibs.net/sport/0/football/18577192) in the Scottish Premier League.
And senior Scottish football figures are proposing that Rangers start season 2012-13 in the second tier.
There are also plans for the SPL and Scottish Football League bodies to be merged (http://www.hibs.net/sport/0/football/18566770) into a new organisation called 'The Scottish Professional Football League' in 12 months' time.
Rangers are to be relegated with immediate effect and replaced in the SPL by Dundee.
Television rights for Rangers matches in Scottish Football League Division One are to be bought by the SPL for £1m.
Play-offs between the top two divisions will be introduced in time for the coming season with one team from the top flight and three from the second tier competing for a place in the following season's SPL.
There will be an increase in the parachute payments made to clubs relegated from the SPL.
Changes will be made to the distribution model for clubs in the top two tiers with teams in the lower leagues earning a similar amount to the current set-up.
A new pyramid system will become effective from season 2014-15 that will allow a potential place in the new league format for a team from either the Highland league or newly-created 'Lowland League'.
Rangers newco's acceptance into the Scottish FA would only be approved if they accept responsibility for the football debts and fines incurred by the pervious club along with their waiving of rights to a legal challenge.
It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval. All these changes have to be approved by SPL and SFL clubs over the next few days and should the proposals not gain support, it remains possible that Rangers could begin next season in Scottish Division Three, the lowest league in the senior set-up.
Division One clubs Falkirk, Raith Rovers and latterly Morton have voiced their opposition to any plans to place the Rangers newco in the second tier.
With no Rangers currently in the SPL, 'Club 12' is listed on the league's fixtures for season 2012-13 and Dunfermline, who were relegated from the top flight last season, expected to be reinstated.
Dundee, who finished second to promoted Division One champions Ross County last season, have not gone public with their view on who should take the place of Club 12.
IF (and its a big IF) the is true, does this mean Rod is the spokesperson letting the huns skip 2 divisions?
28-06-2012, 10:48 AM
I feel its worth reposting this.....I have highlighted a few bits I stated...
We appear to have reached the watershed of change within Scottish Football.
Where we will end up is still a road to be mapped out, and there is a long road yet to go.
What I am utterly convinced of however is that the new age we are living in of social media (Message Boards / Twitter / Face Book / Blogs etc) has caused this sea change that in a different / previous era would not have been possible.
While, initially at least, the administrators of our game and the media (and to some extent clubs) in general provided their own cartoon versions of King Canute / Muhammed Saeed al-Sahaf (The former Iraq 'Information' minister) informing us that everything was OK and we did not need to concern ourselves with things...that they would soon be back to 'normal' - the ordinary (and some extra ordinary) football supporter has used his/her collective voice via these newish media to make it clear that their idea of 'normal' was a whole different thing. A league set up that had become almost as worthy in 'competition' as WWF was no longer going to be tolerated. The ungracious fall and exposing of one of the 'ring leaders' being the cue.
Carpe Diem could well be the banner under which things have got to where they are now. A chink of light in a door that has now well and truly been bust open. There appears an element of shock among the games administrators and media at the ground swell and resolution of supporters not to allow the previous Status Quo to be restored - aided it has to be said by further damaging news to that case on an almost daily basis.
The clubs have also had to - grudgingly in some cases - accept that their supporters would not accept them colluding in a fudge. The realisation that the finances of the game were going to be hit one way or another is not easy. But when the death of the game is weighed against a few years of financial redressing...sense has prevailed.
Positives have already come in rebuilding for the future in the shape of clubs talking with their support - exemplified in the 'Lets Work Together' project being formed within our own club - which will bring the game back closer to those that are the life blood of it after all.
However even although the watershed has been reached those same supporters who have played their part in things reaching this point should remember that true revolution is marked by the map and route worked out after it, and not by the mere watershed moment itsself.
Many a revolution has failed to make its ultimate mark due to losing momentum and drive after the watershed. Thinking 'its acheived' leading to a lack of effort and resolve to build the future. Pressure and support needs to to continue be applied in equal measure if the true reward of a game we can once again be proud of is to be acheived. Pressure on those who are not listening, or are listening but ignoring, and support for those who put supporters and the best interest of the game first
Emerald
28-06-2012, 10:50 AM
IF (and its a big IF) the is true, does this mean Rod is the spokesperson letting the huns skip 2 divisions?
IF this is true, Petrie should walk.
Gingertosser
28-06-2012, 10:50 AM
Petrie has to come out and explain what is happening here.
I am very aware that Hibs don't normally respond to media rumours, but in this instance he has been directly named.
Only yesterday we were being asked to buy season tickets, to back the team.
If the owners of all clubs think this is a fit & proper punishment, they have totally misunderstood the feelings of all fans or are trying to pull the wool over our eyes.
I will give Petrie the benefit of doubt at the moment, but he really needs to respond, and ASAP.
28-06-2012, 10:51 AM
If there is nae truth in any of this and it's just media pro newhun nonsense I would like tae hear it from the horses mouth. As well as stating that they will be against newco in the SPL I would also like tae hear a public statement from these same clubs that they are not doing any dirty deals. If they want season ticket sales tae increase they better knock this nonsense on the heid right away. They can issue all the statements they want about needing more money but they'll not get a penny from me and many others I would imagine, until this is settled.
28-06-2012, 10:51 AM
Rod Petrie chairs the SFA's "professional game board". I would imagine they would be the ones coming up with this? Its membership list does not fill me with confidence. :rolleyes:
Petrie
Peter Lawwell
Alan McRae, Cove Rangers president
Sandy Stables, Highland League honorary president
Jim Ballantyne, Scottish Football League president, chairman of Airdrie (and recently pictured in "Rangers Fighting Fund" gear at Linfield v Huns friendly)
Stewart Regan
Neil Doncaster (oh dear)
David Longmuir, SFL chief exec.
Campbell Ogilvie (wtf!)
Ralph Topping, think he's resigned, not sure if replaced?
28-06-2012, 10:55 AM
This is why all the SPL chairmen were so keen to get their No to newco response out as they had all been briefed on this stitch up with our own Mr Petrie clearly at the forefront of it all.
28-06-2012, 10:57 AM
If there is any truth in any of this, it needs 22 votes out of 29.
Step away from the valium, guys.
28-06-2012, 10:57 AM
If any member of the board has supported a Newco in division 1 I'd want them out before I'd consider putting anything into Hibs - was made redundant a couple of weeks ago and lord knows I have better things to waste my savings on.
Will wait to see the facts before making any decisions though.
mayo hibee
28-06-2012, 10:58 AM
Rod needs to come out and dismiss this fairly quickly here. If it's true then Hibs are done for. Our supporters won't buy season tickets and other teams supporters will boycott Hibs for Petrie fronting the plan to get them back in.
Personally, if this is true and goes ahead, I'm finished with Hibs and Scottish football. I know I won't be the only one.
LeighLoyal
28-06-2012, 10:59 AM
If this has any truth to it then it's Scottish football's suicide note. Will confirm we play in a bent league prefixed to ensure only two clubs can ever win, neither of whom need to adhere to any principal of financial integrity as they each have a get out of jail free reset button. We may as well all go home now.
28-06-2012, 10:59 AM
Doesn't Petrie have some position as an SFA 'jacket'? In which case it might be appropriate for him to be briefed/brief a chairman of an applicant club.
One hopes the conversation went something like:
CG: 'Oh go on, go on, go on let us in league 1 - pleeeeeeeeease!'
RP: 'No'
CG: 'Oh go on, go on, go on...'
RP: 'It's not my decision'
CG: 'Oh go on, go on, go on...'
RP: 'Time's up - I've got some accounts to file.'
28-06-2012, 11:00 AM
I'm not going to get upset about this until I find out what other changes are brought in. If it includes far greater revenue sharing to create a more level SPL then I may just reverse my decision to not by a season ticket.
green glory
28-06-2012, 11:01 AM
I think we're all getting a bit carried away. Considering how many SFL clubs have already stated their position, it's probably a non-starter. At least Petrie can say 'well we tried'.
Looks like a chairman has leaked this proposal to the BBC, judging by the detail.
SFL clubs may have their heads turned by the extra cash on offer and promise of play-offs for SPL entry.
Still, several clubs have voiced objection to this route already and will be wary of a fans' backlash.
And judging by the players that turned up at Murray Park today, Sevco might struggle to get out of Div One!
The Rod element of the story is unsubstantiated but I'd be very disappointed if he was at the heart of this "fudge"...
Oh dear, If this is true about Rod giving advice on how to skip a couple of divisions and only drop them one league below the SPL then that's me out. Livvi got punted to the 3rd this proves to me Scottish football is fixed and corrupt. Only if this is true and i'm sure we will find out soon enough. The whole thing has been handled ridiculously bad and they really should have been punted down at the start.
28-06-2012, 11:02 AM
I think we're all getting a bit carried away. Considering how many SFL clubs have already stated their position, it's probably a non-starter. At least Petrie can say 'well we tried'.maybe that's only their position as things stand unless any deals can be done that benefit them.
1875 NO 1
28-06-2012, 11:04 AM
Rod Petrie chairs the SFA's "professional game board". I would imagine they would be the ones coming up with this? Its membership list does not fill me with confidence. :rolleyes:
Petrie
Peter Lawwell
Alan McRae, Cove Rangers president
Sandy Stables, Highland League honorary president
Jim Ballantyne, Scottish Football League president, chairman of Airdrie (and recently pictured in "Rangers Fighting Fund" gear at Linfield v Huns friendly)
Stewart Regan
Neil Doncaster (oh dear)
David Longmuir, SFL chief exec.
Campbell Ogilvie (wtf!)
Ralph Topping, think he's resigned, not sure if replaced?
2 months ago Petrie in BTG said he hoped new league under SFA would solve problem.
Petrie is feathering his nest to takeover as President of SFA. Cambell Ogilvy wanted survive the EBT scandal.
Also, big changes will be announced soon re Hibs. A new board of directors I think.
28-06-2012, 11:06 AM
2 months ago Petrie in BTG said he hoped new league under SFA would solve problem.
Petrie is feathering his nest to takeover as President of SFA. Cambell Ogilvy wanted survive the EBT scandal.
Also, big changes will be announced soon re Hibs. A new board of directors I think.
Aything to back that up or just wild speculation ?
Twa Cairpets
28-06-2012, 11:06 AM
This is why all the SPL chairmen were so keen to get their No to newco response out as they had all been briefed on this stitch up with our own Mr Petrie clearly at the forefront of it all.
There you go again Spikey Boy.
Assuming the worst before seeing what the actual truth of it is.
If its true, then Petries position for me becomes untenable, but let's wait and see eh? Don't assume the worst all the time my pessimistic friend.
28-06-2012, 11:08 AM
If its true, then Petries position for me becomes untenable, but let's wait and see eh? Don't assume the worst all the time my pessimistic friend.Do you trust these people that run our game going on the past? I wouldnae trust them as far as I could throw a grand pianae.
28-06-2012, 11:10 AM
If its true, then Petries position for me becomes untenable, but let's wait and see eh? Don't assume the worst all the time my pessimistic friend.
I keep thinking "Rod's no that daft is he?". He wouldn't be backing the newhuns into the first division against the wishes of 99% of Hibs fans at the same time as his manager is pleading for ST renewals. Hopefully he's just advising CG on procedure....if the report is actually correct that is.
28-06-2012, 11:11 AM
'tache is bluffing. He wants them in D3, which is not where they should be - they should be in the West of Scotland League. Putting it about that they might be in D1 so that it seems like a big punishment for them to end up in D3 (whereas in truth they will be getting off lightly to be in D3). 'tache is just softening us up for a D3 compromise.
Wat Dabney
28-06-2012, 11:12 AM
Since the beginning of this saga I've thought that the final outcome would that we would all be sold out by our clubs and that some faux punishment would be handed out to "Rangers". Looks like it's coming true. Feel really let down that RP has been trying to do deals whilst coming out with the sporting integrity crap. I've spent thousands of pounds following Hibs over the years. Well, not a penny more. I just can't face going back. My integrity won't allow it. Sad day.
28-06-2012, 11:12 AM
IF this is true, and it certainly seems that it may well be, we must pray that the SFL teams vote against it - Rangers will be back in the SPL within a year, debt free and still a huge club with all the perks that go with it; meanwhile all the other clubs who took (what seems to be) a principled stance will be in greater financial trouble, and subject to much, much harsher penalties should they ever go down the same road as Rangers.
NOT the change that is needed, and a massive open goal missed if it goes ahead - Scottish Football will still be finished. The SFL teams have never had any money anyway, and I'm sure they'd much prefer Rangers to start in SFL3. Fingers crossed they do.
28-06-2012, 11:13 AM
Looks like Traynor wasn't as far off the mark as you thought.
Looks like he was spot on.
Are you arguing with anything I said in that post?
28-06-2012, 11:18 AM
I keep thinking "Rod's no that daft is he?". He wouldn't be backing the newhuns into the first division against the wishes of 99% of Hibs fans at the same time as his manager is pleading for ST renewals. Hopefully he's just advising CG on procedure....if the report is actually correct that is.Well it's very simple them, make a public statement rubbishing it.
28-06-2012, 11:21 AM
I think it's a case of making our feelings clear again then.
No to Newco, No to First Divishuns.
If the SPL have to pay £1m to buy tv rights, we're effectively subsidising the Huns' path back to the SPL.
**** that for a game of sodjers.
28-06-2012, 11:21 AM
If rangers go into the 1st Division they cant be promoted the next season, they require a UEFA license to compete in the SPL, to get a UEFA license you need 3 years audited accounts. So they need to be elsewhere other than the SPL for 3 years before they can get entry. Unless this revamp of the leagues also means scrapping that rule.
28-06-2012, 11:22 AM
This story hasn't been created from thin air, the level of detail suggest it's come from someone in the loop.
It's worrying stuff.
28-06-2012, 11:22 AM
Think about it. After all he has been saying there is no danger this has been arranged by Rod!
28-06-2012, 11:23 AM
If rangers go into the 1st Division they cant be promoted the next season, they require a UEFA license to compete in the SPL, to get a UEFA license you need 3 years audited accounts. So they need to be elsewhere other than the SPL for 3 years before they can get entry. Unless this revamp of the leagues also means scrapping that rule.well when it comes tae saving the huns is there any rule that cannae be changed?
28-06-2012, 11:24 AM
well when it comes tae saving the huns is there any rule that cannae be changed?
UEFA Rules.
LeighLoyal
28-06-2012, 11:25 AM
This has to be slapped down asap. It's Div 3 or oblivion and there is no road in between if any integrity is to remain.
Twa Cairpets
Do you trust these people that run our game going on the past? I wouldnae trust them as far as I could throw a grand pianae.
I think Regan is a good guy without any of the OF baggage and is changing a lot in the background of Scottish football, especially grassroots and organisation.
I think Petrie is many things, but he's not daft and this would be a spectacular OG with a a support who are, it has to be said, a tad on the fickle side.
Doncaster is a clueless fud out of his depth.
I truly hope that I'm right.
I also think one more report inth media shouldnt have us wetting ourselves until we hear what's actually happening. That Bury story didn't last long, did it? Spin, hype, posturing, bu tat the end of it a decision has to be made within a legal framework. Huns to Div 1 would, looking at the Raith statement yesterday alone, be starting a legal challenge roller coaster that would kill the game.
Think about it. After all he has been saying there is no danger this has been arranged by Rod!
Rod has never came out and said they should be in the 3rd division though has he? What if this turns out to be correct Andy? what defence will you have for us all? If it is indeed false, bit to detailed for it to be rubbish for me btw then Petrie should rubbish the claims right away as it may have a huge effect on season tickets.
Gus Fring
My understanding of that paragraph is that Petrie is looking to change the structure of the game (something he's been a huge supporter of for many years) and he, in his role at the SFA, has told Gree what they want to do. It seems it won't just be a simple "drop into division 1" and carry on as normal. There are some pretty big caveats attached. The most important one is
That leaves the door open for sufficient punishment without the idiot Huns going back crying to the court of session.
28-06-2012, 11:26 AM
"It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has
been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on
the plans to gain their approval."
Have read this sentence over a good few times now and it does not seem to me to be English. It does not, for example, say that Rod has briefed Charliebhoy on how to gain the approval of club chairmen for the plans. It just runs briefed, Rod, plans and approval together in a grammatically disjointed way to give a certain effect. I suspect weejia hunduggery, intended to undermine the 'tache.
28-06-2012, 11:26 AM
E-mail the board? We need to know, if it is true I will feel stitched up by the whole of Scottish football, what an absolute farce.:bitchy:
28-06-2012, 11:27 AM
Think about it. After all he has been saying there is no danger this has been arranged by Rod!Well then the rumours about underhand deals need tae be squashed before they dae any mair damage. Petrie can have my season ticket money on Monday if I can get a written and signed guarantee that I will get my money back if that team end up anywhere bar division 3.
28-06-2012, 11:30 AM
Rod has never came out and said they should be in the 3rd division though has he? What if this turns out to be correct Andy? what defence will you have for us all? If it is indeed false, bit to detailed for it to be rubbish for me btw then Petrie should rubbish the claims right away as it may have a huge effect on season tickets.
Because that's little to do with Rod. That's the SFL's call.
28-06-2012, 11:30 AM
E-mail the board? We need to know, if it is true I will feel stitched up by the whole of Scottish football, what an absolute farce.:bitchy:
Why don't you email the board? Me, I'll wait and see what all this is about before getting too upset about it.
28-06-2012, 11:32 AM
1st division is only a punishment for old Rangers, New co starting in Div1 is not a punishment it is a gold watch.
Any new club no matter what they offer MUST with no if's,buts or maybes MUST start at the bottom of the leagues. Allowing a new club to bypass 2 divisions without kicking a ball is wrong on every level of what football is all about. We may as well scrap leagues if this is allowed and debate every season who finishes in what position.
We hear of teams that have been accused of buying league titles Man City etc at least they had to play games, being dropped up 2 divisions would go beyond any team buying a title it would go way beyond all that is right in the game.
Total disgrace if put into Division 1 without playing
28-06-2012, 11:33 AM
Luke Shanley on SSN just now.
restructure for season 2013/14
Playoffs from 'next season' - old SFL1 2nd,3rd,4th and old SPL1 11th.
Surely next season means 2013/14 and not 2012/13 ? (panic)
28-06-2012, 11:33 AM
Are you arguing with anything I said in that post?
What about the bit where you say "no plans exist"?
If the BBC report is true, they do.
28-06-2012, 11:34 AM
Why don't you email the board? Me, I'll wait and see what all this is about before getting too upset about it.or wait 'til it's too late?
Lungo--Drom
28-06-2012, 11:35 AM
Roderick McKenzie Petrie, aka The Tache, please make a statement to us, the fans of Hibernian FC (oh no I'm sounding like one of the weeping Huns on FF now) as to whether the BBC news item regarding you and Charles Green in talks to have Sevco in SFL1 are true or false. Thanking you in advance.
28-06-2012, 11:36 AM
Because that's little to do with Rod. That's the SFL's call.
If it's nothing to do with him then he shouldn't be advising anyone on anything then. That's why I'd like this cleared up. I've already bought my ST for next season but will demand my cash back if he really has had any involvement in Newco getting into the first division.
28-06-2012, 11:37 AM
This has been my position all along TC. What do you honestly think was discussed in the six hour meeting of the 3 authorities prior to all the SPL chairmen announcing their no to a newco? Petrie will be a major architect In this reconstruction as he was in the proposal for a top league of 10.
The decision making now lies in the hands of the SFL chairmen who could say no but I predict that the inducements on offer will be enough to persuade many. I retain optimism on that front though you may be pleased to hear:wink:
This is my honest reading of the situation as it has unfolded which you may see as pessimistic but if this is what happens then I think a fair bit of pessimism may befall Scottish football.
28-06-2012, 11:37 AM
This story is pretty much consistent with what I was told at the weekend and mentioned on here, minus the RP spokesman bit. Although Jim Traynor is undoubtedly a trumpet, it looks like he had been fed the same information which is not far from the truth.
You begin to wonder if the SPL chairmen announcing 'no' to Newco in the SPL has been a deliberate side show and smokescreen, and all along they have been angling on the compromise of getting Rangers into Div 1. What proposal will the SPL Clubs actually be voting for/against on 4 July:dunno:
28-06-2012, 11:42 AM
Unless sevco are applying for a place in div 3 then I'm out.
If Petrie has been behind this then the club are ****** as not only will they see home crowds drop but away fans will be justifiably boycotting ER too. If this is nonsense then they better put out a statement pronto.
28-06-2012, 11:44 AM
or wait 'til it's too late?
It's always helpful to have some facts before doing anything.
28-06-2012, 11:44 AM
My understanding of that paragraph is that Petrie is looking to change the structure of the game (something he's been a huge supporter of for many years) and he, in his role at the SFA, has told Gree what they want to do. It seems it won't just be a simple "drop into division 1" and carry on as normal. There are some pretty big caveats attached. The most important one is
That leaves the door open for sufficient punishment without the idiot Huns going back crying to the court of session.
It's also inconceivable that the SPL clubs won't have been discussing and horse trading in the background. It may be this is the best "integrity" deal RP has managed to push through and if he'd gone for the full on D3 approach, his fellow chairmen might've let the *******s straight into the SPL.
28-06-2012, 11:45 AM
It's also useful to pre-empt situations.
28-06-2012, 11:45 AM
If this is true, Petrie has betrayed us all. We are told the club monitor the message boards closely, so he will have determined that our collective opinion is worthless, or certainly worth less than a few quid from playing Rangers is.
This club will be dead by the end of the season if true.
LeighLoyal
28-06-2012, 11:47 AM
Sounds to me like another nice trade off/deal for the huns: accept a new voting structure, the paltry fines coming your way for oldco crimes, £160k, and a few lost league titles for the dual contracts scam, maybe a ban from the Scottish Cup for a year (whoopy do!) .... and you get to keep your history and walk in debt free to spl land in 2013. I call that a sham and no punishment for the crimes of RFC.
28-06-2012, 11:47 AM
It's always helpful to have some facts before doing anything.IMO it's best tae keep the pressure on tae try and stop the the wrong thing from happening befor it does and until the right thing is done. I wouldnae dismiss this out of hand or Petrie's involment, he was right at the front pushing for the 10 team league naebody wanted.
28-06-2012, 11:48 AM
UEFA Rules.
Is it a rule that the SPL have that to play in the top flight you need a UEFA license or is it an UEFA rule. Is it is just an SPL rule I can see that one getting scrapped.
What about the bit where you say "no plans exist"?
If the BBC report is true, they do.
Even the BBC state that it is merely a proposal.
i'm sick and tired of all this pish :zzzzz!:
28-06-2012, 11:49 AM
It's also useful to pre-empt situations.
Well all that's happening here is, yet again, people taking any little shred of news that Hibs, or someone at Hibs, can be seen in a bad light, then everyone running with it.
At this stage, with needing season tickets sold, that's a bit dangerous.
I'd like to see what the proposals are, who is leading them and what the process is.
What do you think you are pre-empting and what influence do you think you currently have?
28-06-2012, 11:49 AM
Even the BBC state that it is merely a proposal.well it shouldnae even be that, it shouldnae be getting discussed period. It wouldnae be if it wisnae them!
28-06-2012, 11:50 AM
It's also inconceivable that the SPL clubs won't have been discussing and horse trading in the background. It may be this is the best "integrity" deal RP has managed to push through and if he'd gone for the full on D3 approach, his fellow chairmen might've let the *******s straight into the SPL.
If the BBC story is true, you can bet your bottom dollar that will be RP's defence. Rangers in Division 3 was never a realistic option, other SPL Clubs wouldn't have supported it and would have let them into the SPL, blah blah.
Wait also for the argument coming out about policing/stewarding problems if Newco were in Div3.
28-06-2012, 11:51 AM
From KDS
Hedrush
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Edit for part 3
Quite alarming. "hunt Charles Green doon for the rest of his days" .. then the topper - "we still have our dignity" :faf:
28-06-2012, 11:53 AM
well it shouldnae even be that, it shouldnae be getting discussed period.
Exactly. If Petrie has any and I mean any involvement in this I'm done. Also I can see fans of other clubs boycotting our ground because of his involvement. I personally can't see the BBC printing this if Petrie has absolutely nothing at all to do with it.
Proposals have been leaked to the BBC about a plan for a restructuring of Scottish professional football.
You would think so.
Lets not let that get in the way though..........
If this is true, Petrie has betrayed us all. We are told the club monitor the message boards closely, so he will have determined that our collective opinion is worthless, or certainly worth less than a few quid from playing Rangers is.
Not just Petrie.
All fans will have been betrayed by their chairmen.
Newry Hibs
It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval.
I read this as all the other clubs (or at least a few of them) led by RP have come up with a plan and RP has briefed Green to gain Newco's approval. It smacks of actually asking Newco if they wouldn't mind awfully slumming it in Div 1 for a year.
A disgrace if true.
So, for example, the one year transfer embargo - or it's more punitive replacement - will be reinstated.
It may be that all the circumstances around RFC and the penalties yet to be served on the club would combine to seriously undermine their efforts to get back into the SPL in one season.
28-06-2012, 11:56 AM
'tache is bluffing. He wants them in D3, which is not where they should be - they should be in the West of Scotland League. Putting it about that they might be in D1 so that it seems like a big punishment for them to end up in D3 (whereas in truth they will be getting off lightly to be in D3). 'tache is just softening us up for a D3 compromise.
I sincerely hope you are right - Rangers in SFL 1 would be a sham.
I think it's a case of making our feelings clear again then.
No to Newco, No to First Divishuns.
If the SPL have to pay £1m to buy tv rights, we're effectively subsidising the Huns' path back to the SPL.
**** that for a game of sodjers.
Yup. Permanent bye-bye from me..
Roderick McKenzie Petrie, aka The Tache, please make a statement to us, the fans of Hibernian FC (oh no I'm sounding like one of the weeping Huns on FF now) as to whether the BBC news item regarding you and Charles Green in talks to have Sevco in SFL1 are true or false. Thanking you in advance.
blaikie
28-06-2012, 11:58 AM
If this isn't true Petrie should come out with a statment ASAP!
Nearly every fan of every club in the top flight want these *******s in the 3rd division at least. The SPL needs to rebuild and grow forget the TV deals sponsorships etc its about ****ing football, And if the Hibs board and monitoring the Message boards .... Listen to the fans, We are Hibernian Football Club!
28-06-2012, 11:58 AM
Well all that's happening here is, yet again, people taking any little shred of news that Hibs, or someone at Hibs, can be seen in a bad light, then everyone running with it.
At this stage, with needing season tickets sold, that's a bit dangerous.
I'd like to see what the proposals are, who is leading them and what the process is.
What do you think you are pre-empting and what influence do you think you currently have?
I've written to the board.
I think my influence in doing so is minimal, but more than doing nothing.
My season ticket money is waiting to be paid. Ironically, like you, I'm awaiting some facts before it gets used.
28-06-2012, 12:00 PM
Even the BBC state that it is merely a proposal.
You say Tomato...
What's the difference between a plan and a proposal?
Proposals have been leaked to the BBC about a plan for a restructuring of Scottish professional football.
This would be an absolute kop out and make a nonsense of all this 'sporting intergrity' stance.
This lot should not be allowed back in to Scottish Football never the 3rd division. If they are allowed to go straight in to div one, what's the point anymore?
If they get away with this I reckon we should all go in to liquidation and start afresh with no debts and just call oursekves New Hibs, new Yam, new Motherwell etc etc.
28-06-2012, 12:01 PM
I'd have no issue with the above if it was D3 for NewCo (it should be nothing less IMHO) and we looked at expanding the top tier beyond 12 clubs - and perhaps the other leagues so thus allowing the likes of Spartans, Gala etc a way into the lower leagues.. BUT D1 for the Rangers is a show-stopper for me.
28-06-2012, 12:03 PM
Bottom or I'm done
28-06-2012, 12:04 PM
I'd have no issue with the above if it was D3 for NewCo (it should be nothing less IMHO) and we looked at expanding the top tier beyond 12 clubs - and perhaps the other leagues so thus allowing the likes of Spartans, Gala etc a way into the lower leagues.. BUT D1 for the Rangers is a show-stopper for me.
That's how I feel.
However, maybe Rangers will have to agree to wait 3 years before they are eligible for promotion.
I'll have to think about that option.
DrewDogg1875
28-06-2012, 12:04 PM
Simply put, this cannot/should not be allowed to happen. Especially given that the 'play-offs' will likely be in place by next season, giving Sevco two realistic chances of being back in the SPL after just one season away. A complete joke. Zero sporting integrity in this proposal.
What the **** has rod Petrie got to do with this?
28-06-2012, 12:06 PM
Great so its going to cost everyone else a total of £1m to save a team of cheats I don't know why we bother
28-06-2012, 12:06 PM
That's how I feel.
However, maybe Rangers will have to agree to wait 3 years before they are eligible for promotion.
I'll have to think about that option.
There's no sporting integrity in that IMHO, D. Can they also not be relegated in those 3 years?
A move to D1 would be contrived. The lowest tier is the suitable punishment IMHO.
28-06-2012, 12:07 PM
Absolute no-brainer.
It hardly changes things at all, everyone knows they would be back in the top league the following season...pile o ****.
By the way, Rod is Chairman of the SFA Professional Board and would have an obvious role to play in facilitating any proposals for a new set up.
What isn't clear is the extent to which the newco angle is really being looked at and what the plans are to deal with it.
To start with the opening line there about relegation to the SFL is nonsense. There is no club to relegate, this would be a newco application.
Like the SPL clubs having a vote it could be that the question is being asked on where the new club would be welcomed and this will need to be agreed by the various members clubs?
The SPL chairman who made commnets didn't sound like they were all ready to be part of a stitch up did they?
There's no sporting integrity in that IMHO, D. Can they also not be relegated in those 3 years?
A move to D1 would be contrived. The lowest tier is the suitable punishment IMHO.
Yeah, you're probably right.
28-06-2012, 12:09 PM
Assuming the worst? I think he's bang on. This will happen, and it's a bloody disgrace.
28-06-2012, 12:09 PM
Must admit I am disappointed if RP has had discussions or is in favour of Rangers going into SPL1. As we all know there are 3 sides to every story. (If the press are involved you can normally add a 4th). You just need to look at the opening post of the transfer thread to see Chick, a BBC man, saying we were going to sign 2 players both of whom are away to other clubs.
I would be surprised if at some time on his charm offensive Green had not sought a meeting with our Rod. I would also be surprised if a discussion as to where newco could be next season either SPL, SFL1 or SFL 3 had not taken place. In the course of the article it says "It is understood Rangers chief executive Green has been "briefed" by Hibernian chairman Rod Petrie on the plans to gain their approval." I do not for one minute think that RP would seek Greens' approval for any vote Hibs were going to make. It would suit Newco to make out they had a heavyweight like RP on their side.
Throughout the whole saga BBC have, with the exception of Jim Spence, pleaded newco's case. Until proven otherwise I think the story is a bag of t!ts and should be treated as such.
For the record I do think the opportunity to revitalise Scottish football through a league re-structure has to be taken. This might take the form of 3 leagues which unfortunately may be in newco's favour. Stopping newco is not a good enough reason to hold back Scottish football again.
28-06-2012, 12:12 PM
Even if RP did meet with Green with these proposals, it doesn't mean that he voted for them - he may have been outnumbered.
calmac12000
28-06-2012, 12:14 PM
As much as this article set my blood pressure soaring, the rational part of my brain notes the total lack of concrete evidence. In addition I am having difficulty envisaging "Don" Rod Petrie as the front man for a sinister conspiracy, dedicated to ensuring the men from Govan don't recieve their just desserts. As this story emerges from a source almost wholy lacking in credibility i.e. the Rangers sympathising football media, I will take its contents under advisement. I would not be surprised if the corrupt cabal of figures such as Doncaster, were not plotting on a Hun friendly resolution, but believing in "the force" I have to hope that honesty and integrity can prevail over the invidious forces of darkness and bigotry represented by the Hun's and their media lackeys.
VickMackie
28-06-2012, 12:15 PM
I was looking forward to the season for the first time in years.
That's gone now. Back to the same old ahit after 1 season.
I think I was the first to say this would happen on the big rangers thread about div 1 tae.
**** Scottish football.
28-06-2012, 12:24 PM
I've written to the board.
I think my influence in doing so is minimal, but more than doing nothing.
My season ticket money is waiting to be paid. Ironically, like you, I'm awaiting some facts before it gets used.
What is the email address for the board?