View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
07-02-2015, 06:12 AM
What this year has shown is that ultimately it can all come down to the football.
It's pretty difficult for The Jonny Hun to sing his proscribed party songs at 0-4 to Hibs with half an hour to play
They were humiliated that day and you sensed they were a downtrodden support struggling to come to terms with what was happening to them .But against Celtic they were outsinging them and the full Sectarian Repitoire got an airing ,and both Clubs got paid handsomely for producing an anti climax of a game . Is this really what we want to be beaming around the World . although any neutral watching would of switched it off after a while if it was a football game they were looking to watch .
07-02-2015, 09:59 AM
Stock Exchange statement on the Meeting.
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12241662.html
Love the bit where it suggest King could be faced with jail time under section 216 of companies act if he is appointed director of the Rangers Football Club without prior court clearance.
Their NOMAD , W H Ireland says they will resign with immediate effect if the meeting vote goes in favour of King and Co.
07-02-2015, 10:15 AM
Their NOMAD , W H Ireland says they will resign with immediate effect if the meeting vote goes in favour of King and Co.
Yeah, and King counters by saying that they won't need to resign, because he'll sack them!
08-02-2015, 06:21 PM
So what is this about, then?
http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/headlines/item/8486-club-statement
IT is regrettable that the Board of Rangers Football Club were not in attendance at today's important Scottish Cup tie against Raith Rovers.
Given the events over the past few days and after advice from the Club, the decision was made not to attend the game.
The Board has a duty of care to the fans, staff and stewards to ensure safety at the ground at all times and they believe this was the correct decision.
08-02-2015, 06:24 PM
They were advised not to attend for their own safety
08-02-2015, 06:56 PM
They were advised not to attend for their own safety
Maybe on Friday night they will be incognito in the hibs end
08-02-2015, 07:41 PM
Those 8000 The Rangers supporters looked really angry though
08-02-2015, 07:46 PM
Has Ashley actually watched a game since he took defacto control of the club? He's doing a great job so far.
08-02-2015, 07:51 PM
Hmm....page 888 of this thread. How appropriate.
:devil:
I dinnae get what you mean
IrnBru22
09-02-2015, 02:18 AM
Rangers hat on the newcastle website
http://www.nufcdirect.com/club-score-knitted-hat-904672?colcode=90467218
09-02-2015, 08:26 AM
Someone screenshot that before its taken down and pass onto the SFA before the ruling in March...
09-02-2015, 08:28 AM
£3 is quite reasonable
09-02-2015, 08:32 AM
£3 is quite reasonable
:agree: How are the Newcastle rangers black and white striped ones doing on the rangers website? I cant find them.
The Mike Ashley fun masks don't seem to be there either. Maybe holding back for a big marketing campaign before the Cup Final?
09-02-2015, 06:49 PM
£3 is quite reasonable
That's more than the entire odious club is worth.
09-02-2015, 06:56 PM
London hotel cancels the G M booking.
https://twitter.com/STVGrant/status/564873014886817792
Could it be a tent in Hyde Park as a venue ! :greengrin
09-02-2015, 06:59 PM
BBC Sportsound reveal their true (blue) colours on Twitter
BBC Sportsound @BBCSportsound 2h2 hours ago (https://twitter.com/BBCSportsound/status/564849902447235072) Sportsound on air 810mw with Chick Young and Falkirk boss Peter Houston. Scottish Cup QF draw and Rangers disappointing cup exit to Raith
I was at that hotel last week (work conference). It's not huge and it's in Kensington. Imagine.....Made in Chelsea vs we are the people!!!!
You can almost hear the sense of relief from the people that livein that area!!
09-02-2015, 08:10 PM
I'm doing some work within the London hotel industry at the moment and Sevco are going to find it tough in securing a venue. Even although it's a cut-throat industry, the industry talks and establishments will know that this is a gig that is a no-no from the off.
Choosing the Millennium at Gloucester Road was a shocking choice. The hotel has to consider their guests who are paying top dollar for their rooms. If it turns into a media circus, which it will, then the hotel simply has to say nope and walk away.
I'd imagine that their EGM will be held at some venue attached to a hotel in London Docklands where residents and neighbours are few.
09-02-2015, 08:54 PM
You know times are hard when the Daily Ranger is banned from Ibrox
Andy Coyle @STV_Andy 10m10 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/STV_Andy/status/564902446963912705) Daily Record banned by Rangers board now. Ridiculous. http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-board-slap-ban-daily-5135276 … (http://t.co/RUGGPF28W0)
09-02-2015, 09:01 PM
It's horrible to see them have this much trouble. I was hoping for a lot more.
09-02-2015, 09:24 PM
It's horrible to see them have this much trouble. I was hoping for a lot more.
There's always Friday.........:greengrin
portycabbage
09-02-2015, 09:39 PM
They'll just have to concoct match reports that bear no resemblence to what actually happened in games. As usual.
09-02-2015, 10:04 PM
As they say, same as The Chronicle being banned by NUFC. It's not a great way to win friends and influence peepul.
09-02-2015, 10:16 PM
Sons Of Struth announce plans for Friday night demo v Hibernian, We have been asked by a few fans what our plans are for Friday nights game v Hibs. Same format again, 6.45 SOS to leave District Bar7.00 Arrive front door and join other fans to protest 7.45 depart stadium
they don't half like their sons of something or other p@sh dont they :greengrin
09-02-2015, 10:22 PM
The Daily Record, perhaps more than any other newspaper, has exposed what has been going on behind the scenes at our club – particularly over the last four years.
“Most notably, they told us about Craig Whyte’s deal with Ticketus and, more recently, the selling of the stadium name to Mike Ashley for £1.
But - most notably - didn't the 'R*tard' tell you Craig Whyte's wealth was 'off the radar' ??
Still - a shocking way to treat the club-newspaper - it's supported both old and new versions of the Hun !!
09-02-2015, 10:24 PM
Sons Of Struth announce plans for Friday night demo v Hibernian, We have been asked by a few fans what our plans are for Friday nights game v Hibs. Same format again, 6.45 SOS to leave District Bar7.00 Arrive front door and join other fans to protest 7.45 depart stadium
they don't half like their sons of something or other p@sh dont they :greengrin
I like the blue knights - just couldn't get the images of a Barron Knights tribute band out of my head.
portycabbage
09-02-2015, 11:24 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31327070
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/11398591/Rangers-fans-demand-entry-to-EGM-in-London.html
10-02-2015, 07:12 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31327070
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/11398591/Rangers-fans-demand-entry-to-EGM-in-London.html
Rangers Board experiencing what the rest of us has had to put up with for decades :greengrin
wills
10-02-2015, 07:50 AM
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by jonty http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=4295501#post4295501)
So now King has got his EGM (despite reports to the contrary) and its a reported cost of £200,000 - who (is supposed to) pays for that
Money well spent, I'd say.
money up front I hope
10-02-2015, 07:51 AM
I like the blue knights - just couldn't get the images of a Barron Knights tribute band out of my head.
A Taste of Aggro or The Chapel Lead is Missing. They were horrendous but then so are The Rangers
10-02-2015, 08:42 AM
Its a real shame that its not going to be at the Millennium as they have a great big foyer area at reception where they could easily have got wee wullie blue nose set up with his organ to pipe in the faithful.
10-02-2015, 10:00 AM
The Daily Record, perhaps more than any other newspaper, has exposed what has been going on behind the scenes at our club – particularly over the last four years.
“Most notably, they told us about Craig Whyte’s deal with Ticketus and, more recently, the selling of the stadium name to Mike Ashley for £1.
But - most notably - didn't the 'R*tard' tell you Craig Whyte's wealth was 'off the radar' ??
Still - a shocking way to treat the club-newspaper - it's supported both old and new versions of the Hun !!
Yes and lets not forget the Sports editor at the time was emailing his articles to Craig Whyte to get the ok with the content, couldnt be more corrupt. Same person then got high paid job at club as well.
10-02-2015, 10:13 AM
http://maleysbhoys.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/dr2-300x225.jpg
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/sites/default/files/imagecache/400xY/2014/2/23434706.jpg
http://www.scotzine.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/rip-rangers-235x300.jpg
10-02-2015, 11:48 AM
The thread on FF, covering the Daily Record ban, is a hoot. It's clear that a lot of the bears don't have a clue which way to turn and they're arguing among themselves at the 'swooshness' and stupidity of some of the posts. The traditional hun hatred of the DR has caused the non-thinkers to celebrate the actions of their hated board and applaud them for kicking out the rancid newspaper, which is ironically spotlighting and exposing the self same hated board. The brighter ones are beginning to turn to hypocrisy and have decided to cuddle up to the DR and Keith Jackson's deep searching investigative journalism for the next few weeks till the board are kicked out at their big meeting. They say the new board will reverse the DR ban and ...... oh wait, will they not have to revert to hating the Daily Record as usual? You couldn't write a funnier script.:greengrin
10-02-2015, 12:05 PM
My only real disappointment in all of this is that the MSM are not sticking the boot in. They are never slow to crow about other clubs when they hit the skids - this is a massive story, yet they continue to act like rabbits in the headlights.
Off the bar
10-02-2015, 12:26 PM
My only real disappointment in all of this is that the MSM are not sticking the boot in. They are never slow to crow about other clubs when they hit the skids - this is a massive story, yet they continue to act like rabbits in the headlights.
They don't quite believe its happening, I think most of the MSM still think this will blow over and The rangers will be back with a full hunbrox winning stuff. They hav'nt grasped quite how badly run, demoralised and **** the've become.
AndyM_1875
10-02-2015, 12:38 PM
The 'Off the radar' stuff has become a bit cliché and that was in the Jabba era where Rangers were treated with reverence by the Record. In the post financial meltdown world of Rangers and the post Jabba world at the Record the paper has treated the club pretty dispassionately and at times brutally.
To be fair to Keith Jackson (despite what the Twitter hysterics would have you believe) in the post Rangers meltdown world he has persistently gone through the charlatans running Rangers like a dose of salts and handed out thoroughly deserved kickings in print to the likes of Whyte, Green, Ahmed, Murray, and now he has earned the ire of fat Mike and Llambias resulting in the ban.
That ban will be nothing short of a wet dream to the boys at the Record's Sports Desk.
10-02-2015, 01:00 PM
They don't quite believe its happening, I think most of the MSM still think this will blow over and The rangers will be back with a full hunbrox winning stuff. They hav'nt grasped quite how badly run, demoralised and **** the've become.
You'd have thought the absence of succulent lamb in the press lounge would have had them wondering.
10-02-2015, 02:15 PM
The 'Off the radar' stuff has become a bit cliché and that was in the Jabba era where Rangers were treated with reverence by the Record. In the post financial meltdown world of Rangers and the post Jabba world at the Record the paper has treated the club pretty dispassionately and at times brutally.
To be fair to Keith Jackson (despite what the Twitter hysterics would have you believe) in the post Rangers meltdown world he has persistently gone through the charlatans running Rangers like a dose of salts and handed out thoroughly deserved kickings in print to the likes of Whyte, Green, Ahmed, Murray, and now he has earned the ire of fat Mike and Llambias resulting in the ban.
That ban will be nothing short of a wet dream to the boys at the Record's Sports Desk.
The Record has been like a Rangers fanzine for years. Even in the lowest division the most minor of mundane events at this lowly club was elevated to back page headlines, the other papers were nowhere near as slavish.
A kicking from Keith Jackson, you've got to laugh:rolleyes: Jackson merely bends in the wind as the Rangers fans allegiances switch from one white knight to another.
It is clearly a mouthpiece for the criminal Dave King and his cronies at the moment hence the reason the current board have banned them and hence the reason the crap they print won't change one bit.
In the end though who really cares as I doubt many non Rangers or Celtic supporters still buy this rag.
10-02-2015, 02:25 PM
The thread on FF, covering the Daily Record ban, is a hoot. It's clear that a lot of the bears don't have a clue which way to turn and they're arguing among themselves at the 'swooshness' and stupidity of some of the posts. The traditional hun hatred of the DR has caused the non-thinkers to celebrate the actions of their hated board and applaud them for kicking out the rancid newspaper, which is ironically spotlighting and exposing the self same hated board. The brighter ones are beginning to turn to hypocrisy and have decided to cuddle up to the DR and Keith Jackson's deep searching investigative journalism for the next few weeks till the board are kicked out at their big meeting. They say the new board will reverse the DR ban and ...... oh wait, will they not have to revert to hating the Daily Record as usual? You couldn't write a funnier script.:greengrin
'mong-media' is hilarious too BUT not without a touch of irony/hypocrisy ? -
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=279785&page=4
'They appoint their staff on the basis of religion and heritage'
'It is a sectarian scribble book and should never again be allowed near our club'
I would also add ET and Gollum to the list.
Of course, Souness DIDN'T sign Mo Johnson (as recently, compared to their history, in 1989), mainly, because of the failure CAUSED by their 100+ years of dedication/devotion to religion and heritage ??.
'IT' is sectarian ?? - Wtf ?? - one of THEM accusing anyone of being SECTARIAN ??
That's either either deliberate or an 'under-cover Kafflik' ??
10-02-2015, 02:27 PM
I was amazed to see the arguments against a Dave King takeover by the current board including a reference to his 'problems' with the South African tax authorities.
That might have been a fair call if you disregard the fact the the main power at the Big Hoose (apart from Ashley) is Sandy Easdale who did time comparatively recently for VAT fraud.
10-02-2015, 02:29 PM
I was amazed to see the arguments against a Dave King takeover by the current board including a reference to his 'problems' with the South African tax authorities.
That might have been a fair call if you disregard the fact the the main power at the Big Hoose (apart from Ashley) is Sandy Easdale who did time comparatively recently for VAT fraud.
Not as comparatively recently as King who would still be inside if he hadn't handed over his £40million.
10-02-2015, 03:50 PM
As 'fair' as the coverage that rag's given them since their tax-con was discovered ?. Jabba apart, it's been 'pro-Hun' for as far back as I can remember. And when Marlborough/Murray + 'Big-money' arrived, their devotion merely increased, with whatever left over, for their 'Partners-in-Grime', Septic !. 'World Football's biggest game', ''World's biggest clubs/fans', 'OF for the EPL', 'SFA at fault', 'Anti-Rangers' etc, etc have reguarly been screamed out from it's headlines !!
Today's absolutely-shameless article is just another embarrassment to our national game but, sadly, not much different than the rest of our so-called 'Media' when it comes to the 'The Ugly Sisters' - whoring itself to the lowest common-denominator !
AndyM_1875
10-02-2015, 03:58 PM
As 'fair' as the coverage that rag's given them since their tax-con was discovered ?. Jabba apart, it's been 'pro-Hun' for as far back as I can remember. And when Marlborough/Murray + 'Big-money' arrived, their devotion merely increased, with whatever left over, for their 'Partners-in-Grime', Septic !. 'World Football's biggest game', ''World's biggest clubs/fans', 'OF for the EPL', 'SFA at fault', 'Anti-Rangers' etc, etc have reguarly been screamed out from it's headlines !!
Today's absolutely-shameless article is just another embarrassment to our national game but, sadly, not much different than the rest of our so-called 'Media' when it comes to the 'The Ugly Sisters' - whoring itself to the lowest common-denominator !
Of course the Record is unashamedly Pro Old Firm. That's who buys it.
Look at it's target market. It's aimed at weegies whose interests are Planet Old Firm and West of Scotland whinging .
If it's balanced football reporting you want then head to the Bleacher Report or occasionally the UK based qualities
10-02-2015, 05:21 PM
Hibs really want this to rumble and rumble. If they get a positive result at the EGM, it will galvanise the support and they will get a good manager in, like McCall.
Hope this mess continues
10-02-2015, 05:31 PM
Hibs really want this to rumble and rumble. If they get a positive result at the EGM, it will galvanise the support and they will get a good manager in, like McCall.
Hope this mess continues
Thankfully it has to :greengrin even if they manage to oust Big Mike and the rest of the plastic Geordies they will quickly find out that they really "don't do walking away", they will need to be paid whatever price he reasonably wants for his shares, plus those nasty secured loans - so far none of the other "the rangers men" have been able to put up the sort of cash Ashley has - this one will roll for a bit yet, and there will be another tax or NI bill potentially.
10-02-2015, 06:05 PM
Look at it's target market. It's aimed at weegies whose interests are Planet Old Firm and West of Scotland whinging .
If it's balanced football reporting you want then head to the Bleacher Report or occasionally the UK based qualities
Bleacher Report? Pure click bait, no more.
'Off the radar' is copyright Keith Jackson, in his EXCLUSIVE story revealing the man behind the legend called Craig Whyte. Rangers were in full melt down by this point, with the bank running the board and Murray almost forced to sell as his own empire collapsed.
Sorry, but I don't quite trust your reading of the media landscape.
portycabbage
10-02-2015, 07:47 PM
Thankfully it has to :greengrin even if they manage to oust Big Mike and the rest of the plastic Geordies they will quickly find out that they really "don't do walking away", they will need to be paid whatever price he reasonably wants for his shares, plus those nasty secured loans - so far none of the other "the rangers men" have been able to put up the sort of cash Ashley has - this one will roll for a bit yet, and there will be another tax or NI bill potentially.
The loan has to be repaid in full to get Ashley's directors off the board, regardless of the GM (from what I've read)-
"...under the terms of the new loan facility, Sports Direct is entitled to appoint two directors for the length of the facility."
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31010900
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31010900)
10-02-2015, 08:44 PM
The loan has to be repaid in full to get Ashley's directors off the board, regardless of the GM (from what I've read)-
"...under the terms of the new loan facility, Sports Direct is entitled to appoint two directors for the length of the facility."
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31010900
(http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31010900)
Yep, it does, makes you wonder why the "the rangers men" never put it up if they had it - they'll have to at some point unless they find a way to get the authorities to ignore King's past.
10-02-2015, 09:14 PM
I wasn't looking for 'Balanced reporting' (certainly not from them) - the point I was making is their hypocrisy.Their 'Piece\article' of today tries to make out that they have 'been there for them' (the fans) throughout this entire con\scam - where the reality is that they've jumped into bed with every Tom, Dick & Shuggie that's been in charge !. Even long after Whyte took over - long enough for them to have further verified his 'credentials' - Jackson was STILL 'bigging him up' -
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/revealed-how-new-rangers-bosses-1106183
Playing OF games overseas, 'British League-cup'etc, etc and dropping team-names like Arsenal, Man Utd into the mix etc, etc.
So if Whyte was really guilty of 'Duping' Murray, then the 'R*tard' - along with 99% of the SMSM - are equally guilty of 'Duping' their fans with the hype they gave him !. Instead, they had the gall to publish that shameless tripe without the slightest embarrassment !!
portycabbage
10-02-2015, 09:17 PM
Yep, it does, makes you wonder why the "the rangers men" never put it up if they had it - they'll have to at some point unless they find a way to get the authorities to ignore King's past.
I think it's not that the "the rangers men" (I assume this is the King/3 bears lot) didn't put the money up, it's just that the current board went with Ashley's offer. And whether the authorities allow King to be on the board or not, the club will still owe the money to Ashley, which means Ashley is still entitled to 2 directors on the board.
I'm not sure on the legalities of King refusing to pay the debt, or somehow removing Ashley's men despite it being part of the £10m loan conditions. What takes precedence - the loan contract, or the shareholder vote to remove them and put King's lot in?
10-02-2015, 09:27 PM
I think it's not that the "the rangers men" (I assume this is the King/3 bears lot) didn't put the money up, it's just that the current board went with Ashley's offer. And whether the authorities allow King to be on the board or not, the club will still owe the money to Ashley, which means Ashley is still entitled to 2 directors on the board.
I'm not sure on the legalities of King refusing to pay the debt, or somehow removing Ashley's men despite it being part of the £10m loan conditions. What takes precedence - the loan contract, or the shareholder vote to remove them and put King's lot in?
I think you're right about how the loan came to be made. I just think that it needn't have got that far if the current "good guys" put their money where their mouths were earlier. Not going to miss a chance to kick them
Would be amazed if the loan terms didn't make it repayable regardless. Might be able to avoid it if they liquidated the club again?
portycabbage
10-02-2015, 09:55 PM
Would be amazed if the loan terms didn't make it repayable regardless. Might be able to avoid it if they liquidated the club again?
I think Ashley has that sewn up - IIRC he gets to appoint an administrator and has the securities over various sevco assets.
King seems to have said that the loan may be legally challenged -
"The concern I have is that there are strong allegations that the commercial arrangements are very much in favour of Sports Direct and to the detriment of Rangers. If that was the case, it would be something we would look at.
"If Mike Ashley put £10m into Rangers, I'd expect there to be some cash in the bank, that would be quite pleasant. Would we pay him immediately? I don't think so. There needs to be a forensic investigation.
"If there's some form of malfeasance, the club would have a claim against Sports Direct, in which case I would rather his money was in the club and I would attach the money in lieu of a claim and not pay him back.
"Our intention is in the interests of transparency. If people have acted improperly, it can't be swept under the carpet. It's not going to be a witch hunt."
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31139420
The bit that I wonder about though is whether he can challenge the terms of the loan, specifically Ashley having the right to pick 2 directors. If the vote goes against Llambias and Leach - do they get left where they are, put straight back in again, or are sevco in breach of the loan contract by voting them off?
10-02-2015, 10:11 PM
I think Ashley has that sewn up - IIRC he gets to appoint an administrator and has the securities over various sevco assets.
King seems to have said that the loan may be legally challenged -
"The concern I have is that there are strong allegations that the commercial arrangements are very much in favour of Sports Direct and to the detriment of Rangers. If that was the case, it would be something we would look at.
"If Mike Ashley put £10m into Rangers, I'd expect there to be some cash in the bank, that would be quite pleasant. Would we pay him immediately? I don't think so. There needs to be a forensic investigation.
"If there's some form of malfeasance, the club would have a claim against Sports Direct, in which case I would rather his money was in the club and I would attach the money in lieu of a claim and not pay him back.
"Our intention is in the interests of transparency. If people have acted improperly, it can't be swept under the carpet. It's not going to be a witch hunt."
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31139420
The bit that I wonder about though is whether he can challenge the terms of the loan, specifically Ashley having the right to pick 2 directors. If the vote goes against Llambias and Leach - do they get left where they are, put straight back in again, or are sevco in breach of the loan contract by voting them off?
Sorry, sarcasm on my part - we need a sarcy smiley! - he certainly has a secured charge over the assets and cops the lot in the event of a liquidation.
As far as King's legal remedies are concerned, he seems to be interpreting UK law in much the same way as when he recently declared himself the winner in his South African tax case.
The Ashley loan to the rangers wasn't a case of there being any doubt about the terms of the loan or anyone being unable to understand it - commercial loan to a commercial entity - I wonder what was illegal about it, I guess that will be one for King to fight with Ashley in court about if the board changes come about in the way he wants.
10-02-2015, 10:22 PM
Murray couldn't give Huns RIP away until Whyte came along.
When Huns RIP were liquidated, Green made the only serious offer to acquire the assets for Sevco Huns.
So where were the Three Bears and their money when all this was happening? At least King has a decent excuse - he was on trial for massive tax evasion and didn't know how much it would cost to buy his way out of a lengthy prison sentence.
10-02-2015, 11:08 PM
I think you're right about how the loan came to be made. I just think that it needn't have got that far if the current "good guys" put their money where their mouths were earlier. Not going to miss a chance to kick them
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12227853.html
I don't think there will be anything in the Ibrox kitty come their meeting.
The £ 10 million facility was in two parts. the first £ 5 million was used to repay the £ 3 million already due to Mash Holdings and remaining £ 2 million will be eaten up with Jan. and Feb. wages and running costs. The second £ 5 million would be available after Ashley's guys do due diligence ie is he still in charge.
If King wins he will inherit an empty kitty , a stack of bills, March wages and a bill for the meeting he called. The incoming board better have deep pockets. :greengrin
ACLeith
11-02-2015, 06:30 AM
"Our intention is in the interests of transparency. If people have acted improperly, it can't be swept under the carpet."
Did Dave King really say that? Wow, that must be one of the quotes of 2015 :cb
Its a real shame that its not going to be at the Millennium as they have a great big foyer area at reception where they could easily have got wee wullie blue nose set up with his organ to pipe in the faithful.
True story about the Millennium Hotel. Bruce Springsteen was staying there about 10 years ago & he wandered round the corner to nearby pub, I forget the name, for a pint. Next thing he's up on stage doing karaoke. Chaos of course ensued with people arriving from everywhere, imagine it now in age of Twitter! Genuinely true, I've been in pub & seen the pix. Bet they're upset to lose the custom of hundreds of rancid bears!
portycabbage
11-02-2015, 08:22 AM
Did Dave King really say that? Wow, that must be one of the quotes of 2015 :cb
I know, the convicted fraudster turned would-be protector of truth and propriety!
11-02-2015, 08:27 AM
True story about the Millennium Hotel. Bruce Springsteen was staying there about 10 years ago & he wandered round the corner to nearby pub, I forget the name, for a pint. Next thing he's up on stage doing karaoke. Chaos of course ensued with people arriving from everywhere, imagine it now in age of Twitter! Genuinely true, I've been in pub & seen the pix. Bet they're upset to lose the custom of hundreds of rancid bears!
And they could have had pictures of wee wullie up next to the Boss as well, they have missed a real opportunity for the heart of London to get the Manchester treatment.These are the queens most loyal subjects as well, maybe they could hold it somewhere down Pall Mall way?
11-02-2015, 08:38 AM
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12227853.html
I don't think there will be anything in the Ibrox kitty come their meeting.
The £ 10 million facility was in two parts. the first £ 5 million was used to repay the £ 3 million already due to Mash Holdings and remaining £ 2 million will be eaten up with Jan. and Feb. wages and running costs. The second £ 5 million would be available after Ashley's guys do due diligence ie is he still in charge.
If King wins he will inherit an empty kitty , a stack of bills, March wages and a bill for the meeting he called. The incoming board better have deep pockets. :greengrin
'SD will also have the right to nominate two directors to the board of Rangers for the duration of the Facility...'
If that means Ashley's men stay on the board until he gets his £10m back, then King is only going to get rid of half the board if his motion is passed.
11-02-2015, 03:28 PM
And they could have had pictures of wee wullie up next to the Boss as well, they have missed a real opportunity for the heart of London to get the Manchester treatment.These are the queens most loyal subjects as well, maybe they could hold it somewhere down Pall Mall way?
Should hold it at Stamford Bridge because it was all their fans that caused the trouble in Manchester remember. It wasn't supporters of RIP Rangers
11-02-2015, 04:09 PM
Should hold it at Stamford Bridge because it was all their fans that caused the trouble in Manchester remember. It wasn't supporters of RIP Rangers
:greengrin :agree: Theres nae chance a load of drunken fans of the team formerly known as Glasgow rangers would have gone down south for a major European final and behaved the same as they normally do, they have no form after all:wink:
The bizarre thing about their Chelski "connection" is the new boys seem to court it as Chelski are a big team and they play in blue but Chelski's recent surge has meant that other than a few numpties I really don't think they are comfortable aligning themselves with the latest version of newhun.
I have been to Stamford Bridge as a neutral with 3 die hard old style chelski men 7 or 8 times. Firstly, you rarely see a Union Jack there and certainly not on the scale you do at the SD arena, Secondly they have very few songs (one man went to mow and Celery, Celery) never mind all the Huns wee ditties, and thirdly, the 3 guys I go with have adopted Hibs and are up quite a bit, including pre season friendlies.
11-02-2015, 06:59 PM
Only King a convicted criminal in a multi million pound fraud would have the audacity to cast aspersions at a guy who whatever else he is has never been cast as dishonest.What the bigot numpties don't seem to latch on to is that the "Rangers Men"could have bought the business from Murray or failing that for £6million when it went belly up.They chose not to do so -I wonder why?
11-02-2015, 08:15 PM
Only King a convicted criminal in a multi million pound fraud would have the audacity to cast aspersions at a guy who whatever else he is has never been cast as dishonest.What the bigot numpties don't seem to latch on to is that the "Rangers Men"could have bought the business from Murray or failing that for £6million when it went belly up.They chose not to do so -I wonder why?
They didn't actually have the chance.
If you remember, the CVA had a clause in it that said that, if it failed, the assets would be sold to Sevco for £5.5m. Sevco couldn't have been outbid.
They didn't actually have the chance.
If you remember, the CVA had a clause in it that said that, if it failed, the assets would be sold to Sevco for £5.5m. Sevco couldn't have been outbid.
They could have bought it from SDM for a pound and a penny!
11-02-2015, 08:46 PM
They could have bought it from SDM for a pound and a penny!
Give or take £18m [emoji33]
portycabbage
11-02-2015, 09:09 PM
Give or take £18m [emoji33]
What's your thoughts on the situation with the Ashley loan condition that he gets 2 directors for the duration of the loan, given that the GM may vote them off? Can they be voted off without the loan being repaid? It seems to me that most of the votes on boardroom changes at the GM are a bit pointless, given the situation with Paul Murray and King's hurdles, as well as the difficulties ousting Llambias and Leach.
11-02-2015, 09:16 PM
What's your thoughts on the situation with the Ashley loan condition that he gets 2 directors for the duration of the loan, given that the GM may vote them off? Can they be voted off without the loan being repaid? It seems to me that most of the votes on boardroom changes at the GM are a bit pointless, given the situation with Paul Murray and King's hurdles, as well as the difficulties ousting Llambias and Leach.
I wouldn't trust DK tbh.
I can't see him moving into the Boardroom one day, and then paying the loan off the next. As someone mentioned earlier, he's already hinted that he wouldn't.
I'm sure he has his strategy for the funding of the club, but I can see him stringing MA out for a while on the money....even if it goes to Court.
portycabbage
11-02-2015, 09:30 PM
I wouldn't trust DK tbh.
I can't see him moving into the Boardroom one day, and then paying the loan off the next. As someone mentioned earlier, he's already hinted that he wouldn't.
I'm sure he has his strategy for the funding of the club, but I can see him stringing MA out for a while on the money....even if it goes to Court.
Think that may have been me!
King also hinted that he would work with Ashley - does that mean he knows that he and other shareholders can't vote Llambias and Leach off?
11-02-2015, 09:42 PM
Think that may have been me!
King also hinted that he would work with Ashley - does that mean he knows that he and other shareholders can't vote Llambias and Leach off?
I think they can. And they will, even although that might trigger the loan repayment. I don't see the point of the GM otherwise.
Having said that, it's such a mucky story that I could see a deal being done with MA before the GM..... and there are any number of possible scenarios in that event.
12-02-2015, 10:01 AM
:greengrin :agree: Theres nae chance a load of drunken fans of the team formerly known as Glasgow rangers would have gone down south for a major European final and behaved the same as they normally do, they have no form after all:wink:
The bizarre thing about their Chelski "connection" is the new boys seem to court it as Chelski are a big team and they play in blue but Chelski's recent surge has meant that other than a few numpties I really don't think they are comfortable aligning themselves with the latest version of newhun.
I have been to Stamford Bridge as a neutral with 3 die hard old style chelski men 7 or 8 times. Firstly, you rarely see a Union Jack there and certainly not on the scale you do at the SD arena, Secondly they have very few songs (one man went to mow and Celery, Celery) never mind all the Huns wee ditties, and thirdly, the 3 guys I go with have adopted Hibs and are up quite a bit, including pre season friendlies.
Last time I went to Stamford Bridge (a few years ago, admittedly) they were having a good old **** the IRA singalong in the pubs.
12-02-2015, 10:16 AM
Praise for the Daily Record ehhhhhhhh, in the Daily Record, from the diplomat of our times.......
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bombers-back-john-brown-issues-5148681
......and the video of Keith Jackson et al is toe curling. These guys call themselves journalists.
12-02-2015, 11:01 AM
Last time I went to Stamford Bridge (a few years ago, admittedly) they were having a good old **** the IRA singalong in the pubs.
They will do, and still do, every club has them - Chelsea probably have quite a few proportionately who don't like the IRA and also like the odd Hun tune as well I am sure. As we know from followers of the now defunct Glasgow Rangers they don't always know the facts behind what they are singing about, or are incapable of researching and understanding the facts and the irrelevance of it in the modern world.
12-02-2015, 11:53 AM
Praise for the Daily Record ehhhhhhhh, in the Daily Record, from the diplomat of our times.......
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/bombers-back-john-brown-issues-5148681
......and the video of Keith Jackson et al is toe curling. These guys call themselves journalists.
Sounds like it will be feisty on Friday. Take care everybody.
12-02-2015, 12:17 PM
Bit of respect everybody, bit of respect.
AndyM_1875
12-02-2015, 01:18 PM
Bleacher Report? Pure click bait, no more.
'Off the radar' is copyright Keith Jackson, in his EXCLUSIVE story revealing the man behind the legend called Craig Whyte. Rangers were in full melt down by this point, with the bank running the board and Murray almost forced to sell as his own empire collapsed.
Sorry, but I don't quite trust your reading of the media landscape.
and what media landscape is that? The MSM and the New media?
I probably trust the MSM less than you (Jackson's re-positioning of himself is quite remarkable) and I'll make no apologies for dismissing the dull witterings of loonball bloggers who seem to shoot themselves in the foot at every opportunity as they manage to get every big result surrounding this story wrong as they're too wrapped up in their own wee cycle of bitterness to form a coherent and objective opinion.
12-02-2015, 03:54 PM
and what media landscape is that? The MSM and the New media?
I probably trust the MSM less than you (Jackson's re-positioning of himself is quite remarkable) and I'll make no apologies for dismissing the dull witterings of loonball bloggers who seem to shoot themselves in the foot at every opportunity as they manage to get every big result surrounding this story wrong as they're too wrapped up in their own wee cycle of bitterness to form a coherent and objective opinion.
The MSM dropped the ball massively with The Rangers debacle, as we all know. And the mainstream media is often complacent, insular and in favour of the status quo.
However, at least long-established titles employ actual reporters who are at least familiar with the concept of journalistic rigour. They still do the odd investigation at times, too.
Replace this with click-bait junk like The Bleacher Report (who serve no one except their shareholders) and we really will be sunk.
AndyM_1875
12-02-2015, 04:01 PM
The MSM dropped the ball massively with The Rangers debacle, as we all know. And the mainstream media is often complacent, insular and in favour of the status quo.
However, at least long-established titles employ actual reporters who are at least familiar with the concept of journalistic rigour. They still do the odd investigation at times, too.
Replace this with click-bait junk like The Bleacher Report (who serve no one except their shareholders) and we really will be sunk.
Agree with you on the long established titles but I think we're sunk already as most of the so called new media is just bitter agenda peddling bollocks written by zoomers and fruitcakes based on nothing more than ill founded rumours and the personal fantasies of questionable individuals.
12-02-2015, 11:12 PM
Agree with you on the long established titles but I think we're sunk already as most of the so called new media is just bitter agenda peddling bollocks written by zoomers and fruitcakes based on nothing more than ill founded rumours and the personal fantasies of questionable individuals.
13-02-2015, 07:16 AM
Sounds like it will be feisty on Friday. Take care everybody.
I wonder how many ex players managers etc will heed Bomber Browns Clarion Call to congregate and Pracefully Protest outside Ibrox tonight ,might actually head along and see who I can spot ,sounds like it could be entertaining
13-02-2015, 07:19 AM
Bomber looks awfy like Freddy Cruger in the pic.
13-02-2015, 07:55 AM
BBC Sportsound reveal their true (blue) colours on Twitter
Pathetic beyond belief and really sums them all up. I can hardly believe that's a real tweet- so blatant.
13-02-2015, 10:30 AM
Pathetic beyond belief and really sums them all up. I can hardly believe that's a real tweet- so blatant.
What did it say?
13-02-2015, 11:04 AM
'We had some of the greatest moments of our lives playing football for Rangers and now it’s time for us to give something back'- Great idea, how about either their EBT 'Loans' or the TAX they should've paid ?
Apart from that,an alliance of the 'R*tard' and 'Ra Peepul's R*tard' has to be the perfect match !!
15-02-2015, 02:18 PM
Noticed that the Rangers Football Club accounts to 30/6/2014 as opposed to the holding company accounts were put on to the Companies House site on Friday 13th.
ftp://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/image/5e/8d/5a/54/6c/d0/ce/1d/77/11/cb/6d/40/06/bb/a0/blREX+0L0046-271118_3-11864869.pdf
Can't see anything sensational, but keener eyes than mine, might want to look ! :greengrin
Noticed that the Rangers Football Club accounts to 30/6/2015 as opposed to the holding company accounts were put on to the Companies House site on Friday 13th.
ftp://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/image/5e/8d/5a/54/6c/d0/ce/1d/77/11/cb/6d/40/06/bb/a0/blREX+0L0046-271118_3-11864869.pdf
Can't see anything sensational, but keener eyes than mine, might want to look ! :greengrin
Income £17.12 M
expenditure £25.3 M
hahahaha no that looks like well balanced account, a loss of just over £8M :greengrin
15-02-2015, 02:51 PM
What did it say?This
BBC Sportsound @BBCSportsound2h2 hours ago (https://twitter.com/BBCSportsound/status/564849902447235072)Sportsound on air 810mw with Chick Young and Falkirk boss Peter Houston. Scottish Cup QF draw and Rangers disappointing cup exit to Raith
15-02-2015, 08:31 PM
Hun-believable
portycabbage
16-02-2015, 10:00 AM
A selection of sevco fans views on one of their players from the other night-
"I've no idea what Kyle Hutton's qualities are. Should never have been a new deal."
"On the goal Kyle Hutton just doesn't track the runner. Lazy. How we kept giving him deals I just do not know."
"Kyle Hutton could be a very good footballer if he applied himself properly"
"I usually give Kyle Hutton pelters but he was been pretty good tonight. Nice range of passing."
"Kyle Hutton is worse than Diet Irn-Bru":tee hee:
http://hereisthecity.com/en-gb/2015/02/13/rangers-fans-react-on-twitter-to-kyle-huttons-performance-v-hibs/
17-02-2015, 08:22 AM
Looks like they have found some mugs, sorry 5 star hotel , willing to accept their business.
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12251436.html
17-02-2015, 08:26 AM
Looks like they have found some mugs, sorry 5 star hotel , willing to accept their business.
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12251436.html
Used to enjoy staying there in my standard life days..
Lets see how this plays out. I reckon the venue will be cancelled again on the basis of security / safety reasons and then the date will move to the right. Just a hunch.
17-02-2015, 09:09 AM
I wonder how many ex players managers etc will heed Bomber Browns Clarion Call to congregate and Pracefully Protest outside Ibrox tonight ,might actually head along and see who I can spot ,sounds like it could be entertaining
Nacho Novo turned-up - ONE 'Legend' out of the numerous 'Legends' they signed during Murray's time at 'Greyskull' .............
Seems like the new-version of the Hun aren't 'Truly one of the world's biggest clubs' (as more than a few of their 'tax-dodging Mercs' liked to quote on their arrival) - if Novo's the best they can pull !!
17-02-2015, 09:24 AM
Lets see how this plays out. I reckon the venue will be cancelled again on the basis of security / safety reasons and then the date will move to the right. Just a hunch.
I don't see what all the fuss is about. As far as I understand, King in theory has the majority of the shareholders' votes and will win the ballot if all eligible votes are included. The present board think that holding the meeting in London will somehow, weaken King's chances and that there is a chance that the meeting will be further postponed because of the disruption caused by a lynch mob mentality. If there is a danger of this, why don't they simply give their proxy votes to the relevant groups and go through the formality of the ballot, which they will apparently win. What is the point of the lynch mob descending on London for a ten minute meeting? Unless Ashley has a trump card up his sleeve.
17-02-2015, 09:25 AM
Nacho Novo turned-up - ONE 'Legend' out of the numerous 'Legends' they signed during Murray's time at 'Greyskull' .............
Seems like the new-version of the Hun aren't 'Truly one of the world's biggest clubs' (as more than a few of their 'tax-dodging Mercs' liked to quote on their arrival) - if Novo's the best they can pull !!
I believe Ian Ferguson was there.
17-02-2015, 11:17 AM
I don't see what all the fuss is about. As far as I understand, King in theory has the majority of the shareholders' votes and will win the ballot if all eligible votes are included. The present board think that holding the meeting in London will somehow, weaken King's chances and that there is a chance that the meeting will be further postponed because of the disruption caused by a lynch mob mentality. If there is a danger of this, why don't they simply give their proxy votes to the relevant groups and go through the formality of the ballot, which they will apparently win. What is the point of the lynch mob descending on London for a ten minute meeting? Unless Ashley has a trump card up his sleeve.
I don't know whether holding the meeting in London was to try and keep in with any fund managers still holding their toxic investments that Green sold them, or in the hope a lot fewer of the fan shareholders will make the trip ( and fail to fill in the postal voting form properly or fix a stamp )
What is sure, I can't see Ashley's people walking into this meeting and accepting defeat with good grace.
If the counts been done and Ashley can't win , there will be dirty tricks to derail King, and that can only be bad for Sevco ! :thumbsup:
17-02-2015, 11:21 AM
I don't know whether holding the meeting in London was to try and keep in with any fund managers still holding their toxic investments that Green sold them, or in the hope a lot fewer of the fan shareholders will make the trip ( and fail to fill in the postal voting form properly or fix a stamp )
What is sure, I can't see Ashley's people walking into this meeting and accepting defeat with good grace.
If the counts been done and Ashley can't win , there will be dirty tricks to derail King, and that can only be bad for Sevco ! :thumbsup:
Admin and 25 points deduction😄
17-02-2015, 11:35 AM
Maybe they were afraid of a lynch mob getting them in Glasgow and feel safer in London. When they lose the vote they will not need to go back to Ibroke and avoid a doing at the hands (and feet) of ruffians.
17-02-2015, 01:04 PM
As the song goes
"things, can only get better"
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/auditor-deloitte-raises-concerns-over-rangers-1-3692619
AndyM_1875
17-02-2015, 01:21 PM
As the song goes
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/auditor-deloitte-raises-concerns-over-rangers-1-3692619
Certainly if the EGM fails, next season Rangers will have significantly lower expenditures and significantly lower income streams as the fans that remain will not buy Season Tickets and the walk ups won't go whilst the current board is in place. Retail is a bust flush anyway as profits go to Mike Ashley/Sports Direct rather than Rangers. On the bright side most of the 7k a week mob are all out of contract (except fatty Boyd) and none will be renewed but if income is drastically reduced then you will definitely be looking at a second Administration and -25.
I can't see how that can be avoided although I'll take my lead from CWG as he will have a better understanding of the figures
hibees59
17-02-2015, 01:49 PM
Maybe not
https://twitter.com/grangehotels/status/567676016127406080 :greengrin
17-02-2015, 04:17 PM
@BBCchrismclaug: .@BBCSport understands the #Rangers EGM will now take place at Ibrox.
17-02-2015, 04:20 PM
@BBCchrismclaug: .@BBCSport understands the #Rangers EGM will now take place at Ibrox.
The big hoose has to be useful for something. :agree:
17-02-2015, 04:25 PM
@ScotlandSky: Sky sources: @RangersFC EGM will now take place at Ibrox, but NOT on March 4; date TBC. More on @SkySportsNewsHQ #Rangers
17-02-2015, 04:36 PM
I hope for their sake that the The Rangers board manage to keep themselves segregated away from the The Rangers fans at this one a bit better than they've managed for other teams' fans in recent weeks.
17-02-2015, 04:41 PM
I hope for their sake that the The Rangers board manage to keep themselves segregated away from the The Rangers fans at this one a bit better than they've managed for other teams' fans in recent weeks.
I'd put the board in the corner where they put the Hibs supporters at Ibrox
17-02-2015, 08:17 PM
I'd put the board in the corner where they put the Hibs supporters at Ibrox
Stick them in the opposition net. Nothing Will disturb them there
17-02-2015, 09:42 PM
From the article on bbc. Dave king says...
"It is not the Rangers way to threaten individuals and there should be zero tolerance for this."
Hahahaha.
17-02-2015, 09:46 PM
"It is not the Rangers way to threaten individuals and there should be zero tolerance for this."
Hahahaha.
So no calls from fat Sally types asking for people who happen not to agree with their unusual view of the world to be named then?
Lucky they seem to have a true blue moral crusader this time around[emoji6]
17-02-2015, 10:30 PM
They have a dressing room Jacuzzi - sit in the hotting tub of a rotting club.
17-02-2015, 11:17 PM
So no calls from fat Sally types asking for people who happen not to agree with their unusual view of the world to be named then?
Lucky they seem to have a true blue moral crusader this time around[emoji6]
That's what immediatley sprung to mind when I read it.
18-02-2015, 07:37 AM
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12252905.html
GM at Grange Hotel cancelled because of threats made by persons unknown.
Bet Ashley used to think the Geordies were trouble. :greengrin
18-02-2015, 08:11 AM
You have to assume that there will be a very vocal protest inside and outside the ground for this .The police bill wil be considerable and it's difficult not to see things kicking off Off. If king et al aren't winning the vote .and giving the Punters what they want
18-02-2015, 08:21 AM
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12252905.html
GM at Grange Hotel cancelled because of threats made by persons unknown.
Bet Ashley used to think the Geordies were trouble. :greengrin
Yet another reason for charging them with bringing the game into disrepute.
18-02-2015, 08:41 AM
Hahahaha.
Quote of the year 😂
18-02-2015, 09:26 AM
According to King, the vote is a formality and will take a few minutes with no debate. "It was always my intention to vote by proxy and not travel to London and it remains the case that I will be in Glasgow with my fellow directors ready to commence the business of the day." Nothing like confidence so why resort to threats and thuggery!
portycabbage
18-02-2015, 10:38 AM
According to King, the vote is a formality and will take a few minutes with no debate. "It was always my intention to vote by proxy and not travel to London and it remains the case that I will be in Glasgow with my fellow directors ready to commence the business of the day." Nothing like confidence so why resort to threats and thuggery!
Seems to be jumping the gun a little there. And the bit about threats and intimidation not being the "Rangers way" reminded me of the "glib and shameless liar" quote. Anyway he meant "the the Rangers way".
18-02-2015, 10:48 AM
Seems to be jumping the gun a little there. And the bit about threats and intimidation not being the "Rangers way" reminded me of the "glib and shameless liar" quote. Anyway he meant "the the Rangers way".
:agree: I hope it is king, the clamour for him makes no sense at all -they quickly turned on Whyte then Green, both of whom were unknown quantities but potentially dodgy - the rest is history, including the love ins.
Here we have a guy where there is no doubt about his criminality, Ashley is many things as he is an accomplished and ruthless businessman - free of everything that goes with all of the aforementioned.
Really looking forward to how they get round the fit and proper person issue, as well as that associated with previously being a director of the now defunct Glasgow rangers.
18-02-2015, 11:19 AM
You have to assume that there will be a very vocal protest inside and outside the ground for this .The police bill wil be considerable and it's difficult not to see things kicking off Off. If king et al aren't winning the vote .and giving the Punters what they want
How will Scottish/Glasgow Police deal with the number of folk turning up for this, maybe the Police should take the decision for it not to go ahead on safety grounds, if they can't handle over 1000 fans turning up at Ibrox at night time then where will the resources come from to deal with this riot that is going to happen at Ibrox on the night.
Newry Hibs
18-02-2015, 11:44 AM
So what is this vote actually for? Reading a bbc item on it, it's to remove all 4 directors and vote on 3 others including King.
Is this a straight fight between King and Ashley?
18-02-2015, 11:51 AM
How will Scottish/Glasgow Police deal with the number of folk turning up for this, maybe the Police should take the decision for it not to go ahead on safety grounds, if they can't handle over 1000 fans turning up at Ibrox at night time then where will the resources come from to deal with this riot that is going to happen at Ibrox on the night.
The huns should make it all ticket charging say £100 entrance fee to their shareholders. That should just about pay for their Police bill.
18-02-2015, 11:54 AM
All this may have been funny but to be honest it's boring the **** out me now.... Not a day goes by without these muppets hogging the headlines. I wish they would just OFF!!!
AndyM_1875
18-02-2015, 12:06 PM
BBC Scotland last night were saying the Proxy votes are to be in by March 2. If King is right and has done his calculations correctly there won't be an EGM as the existing directors won't turn up to be humiliated. They'll resign en masse prior to the EGM and King & his cohorts take control and that will be that.
King bought over 15% of the club in early January. It appears he also bought out one of the institutional investors as well in late January so he is by far the biggest shareholder. Add to that you have the 3 Bears and the two fans groups who also hold shares the vote should be a fait accompli. What will be worth watching is how they deal with Ashley afterwards. When King made his pitch at that staged media event he unsurprisingly didn't attempt to pick a fight with Fat Mike.
18-02-2015, 12:17 PM
As the song goes
Would be nice to keep them down and ensure the zombies go back to their grave.
GreenPJ
18-02-2015, 12:19 PM
BBC Scotland last night were saying the Proxy votes are to be in by March 2. If King is right and has done his calculations correctly there won't be an EGM as the existing directors won't turn up to be humiliated. They'll resign en masse prior to the EGM and King & his cohorts take control and that will be that.
King bought over 15% of the club in early January. It appears he also bought out one of the institutional investors as well in late January so he is by far the biggest shareholder. Add to that you have the 3 Bears and the two fans groups who also hold shares the vote should be a fait accompli. What will be worth watching is how they deal with Ashley afterwards. When King made his pitch at that staged media event he unsurprisingly didn't attempt to pick a fight with Fat Mike.
I thought Ashley had agreement that he would have 2 board members until the debt was paid - I would imagine any early repayment terms would have to be agreed and I can't see that having been done in time soI think there will still be a bun fight.
18-02-2015, 12:24 PM
Even if King wins the vote surely the biggest hurdle to his ambitions is the SFA's fit and proper person test.
A convicted tax fraudster who was on the Rangers board that ultimately suffered an insolvency event. He claims he has assurances there is no impediment to his coronation but I would find that staggering.
The SFA could fudge things and allow it as they fear damage to a major Scottish club but on the other hand if this disreputable character leads The Rangers into another financial abyss the knives will be out and fingers pointed at the SFA for dereliction of duty.
18-02-2015, 12:29 PM
Even if King wins the vote surely the biggest hurdle to his ambitions is the SFA's fit and proper person test.
A convicted tax fraudster who was on the Rangers board that ultimately suffered an insolvency event. He claims he has assurances there is no impediment to his coronation but I would find that staggering.
The SFA could fudge things and allow it as they fear damage to a major Scottish club but on the other hand if this disreputable character leads The Rangers into another financial abyss the knives will be out and fingers pointed at the SFA for dereliction of duty.
If he wins the SFA will ask the rangers how they want it dealt with, exit left then reinvent some more acceptable rules.
Business as usual
18-02-2015, 12:35 PM
He could maybe do a Romanov or Ashley and appoint some patsies to run things for him from arms length. That way he wouldn't breach any rules.
18-02-2015, 12:41 PM
He could maybe do a Romanov or Ashley and appoint some patsies to run things for him from arms length. That way he wouldn't breach any rules.
He would probably be deemed a shadow director in those circumstances. That has its own implications, in Company law at least.
18-02-2015, 12:47 PM
He would probably be deemed a shadow director in those circumstances. That has its own implications, in Company law at least.
But would SFA see it like that or just do SFA?
AndyM_1875
18-02-2015, 12:54 PM
Much will depend on who is on the SFA panel.
Rod Petrie has a history of wanting to boot Rangers in the nuts. Undoubtedly Peter Lawell would vote cynically for King out of his own club's self interest.
If the SFA don't allow Dave King to serve on the board he'll just appoint 'his man' to run the club but everyone knows who'll be running the show.
Dermot Desmond, a tax exile in Gibraltar/Barbados, is majority shareholder in Celtic and although he doesn't run the club or serve on the board he makes a lot of decisions for them. For all his tax issues in South Africa, Dave King's biggest business client is still the South African government. It's far from cut & dried.
Off the bar
18-02-2015, 01:42 PM
Rod Petrie has a history of wanting to boot Rangers in the nuts. Undoubtedly Peter Lawell would vote cynically for King out of his own club's self interest.
If the SFA don't allow Dave King to serve on the board he'll just appoint 'his man' to run the club but everyone knows who'll be running the show.
Dermot Desmond, a tax exile in Gibraltar/Barbados, is majority shareholder in Celtic and although he doesn't run the club or serve on the board he makes a lot of decisions for them. For all his tax issues in South Africa, Dave King's biggest business client is still the South African government. It's far from cut & dried.
It is though, by the SFA rules King can't pass the fit and proper test, even if you ignore his South African affairs, he was on the board when the old company went down the pan and that fact alone rules him out.
18-02-2015, 02:04 PM
It is though, by the SFA rules King can't pass the fit and proper test, even if you ignore his South African affairs, he was on the board when the old company went down the pan and that fact alone rules him out.
Covered here? - http://www.barrellison.co.uk/legal-news-and-views/director-disqualification
18-02-2015, 02:25 PM
But would SFA see it like that or just do SFA?
From what I understand about Company Law, DK would have a bigger problem with the Procurator Fiscal than the SFA. :greengrin
Off the bar
18-02-2015, 02:27 PM
Covered here? - http://www.barrellison.co.uk/legal-news-and-views/director-disqualification
Not sure about the 'real world' legalities of him holding a directorship but I'm pretty sure it is an SFA rule that if you were on the board of a club that goes mammaries skyward you are disqualified for 5 years before you can be involved at board level again with a club.
From what I understand about Company Law, DK would have a bigger problem with the Procurator Fiscal than the SFA. :greengrin
And I suspect that is what the SFA will wait for rather than becoming involved and making the decision themselves. That way they don't alienate 10s of thousands of fans on either side of the debate.
18-02-2015, 03:09 PM
Hun at work told me this morning that the reason Mccoist is still there is the 12 month rolling contract he was on stipulated that if either party wanted it ended early there was a penalty clause meaning the party ending the contract had a significant compensation payment to make, both sides are refusing to budge on it hence the current stand off (and happily for the, the Rangers it makes Mccoist look bad)
Any of you financial types know if that's plausible? Matey seemed adamant about it. :dunno:
18-02-2015, 03:09 PM
So what is this vote actually for? Reading a bbc item on it, it's to remove all 4 directors and vote on 3 others including King.
Is this a straight fight between King and Ashley?
Is one of the others not Paul Murray who is not allowed to be a Director of a Scottish Football Club as he was a director of Rangers under David Murray and Whyte. He is therefore banned for a minimum of 3 years from being a Director of a football club which will not expire until the summer.
BTW does anyone know what he does because he never puts money up, just hangs about like a bad smell under anyone that will have him.
Think his defence at the time was something like "I asked for paperwork but they wouldn't give it to me so I stayed to keep an eye on things, it wisnae me I just took the benefits going"
18-02-2015, 03:13 PM
Hun at work told me this morning that the reason Mccoist is still there is the 12 month rolling contract he was on stipulated that if either party wanted it ended early there was a penalty clause meaning the party ending the contract had a significant compensation payment to make, both sides are refusing to budge on it hence the current stand off (and happily for the, the Rangers it makes Mccoist look bad)
Any of you financial types know if that's plausible? Matey seemed adamant about it. :dunno:
Not an employment specialist but would not surprise me if there was a pay off clause. Everyone else seemed to have one that left the club with a bag of money under their arm. It actually makes McCoist look better as he can claim they wanted him to pay to leave and that would be unfair. (Ignoring the fact he is on shedloads of money to get serenaded by Hibs supporters after the game.)
18-02-2015, 03:13 PM
Daily Record reported yesterday that McCoist was aware of the 5 loan players from Newcastle, and agreed to take them.
He must have been doing more than his garden then
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-fans-group-fear-ban-5181445
18-02-2015, 03:22 PM
Daily Record reported yesterday that McCoist was aware of the 5 loan players from Newcastle, and agreed to take them.
He must have been doing more than his garden then
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-fans-group-fear-ban-5181445
So it's McCoist who is still responsible for all their useless results recently? :-)
AndyM_1875
18-02-2015, 03:40 PM
Not sure about the 'real world' legalities of him holding a directorship but I'm pretty sure it is an SFA rule that if you were on the board of a club that goes mammaries skyward you are disqualified for 5 years before you can be involved at board level again with a club.
It becomes an issue if/when he gets control at Rangers and gets elected to what will then be the new acting board of Rangers.
The SFA will then want to talk to him and ask questions of him.
18-02-2015, 03:40 PM
It becomes an issue if/when he gets control at Rangers and gets elected to what will then be the new acting board of Rangers.
The SFA will then want to talk to him and ask questions of him.
...at which point he will be in contravention of the Companies Act, no?
AndyM_1875
18-02-2015, 03:55 PM
...at which point he will be in contravention of the Companies Act, no?
He seems pretty confident....
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/11402097/Rangers-news-Dave-King-supplies-evidence-to-pass-fit-and-proper-test.html
18-02-2015, 03:58 PM
:greengrin Thats it get the rozzers in,
Is that you back from South America?
18-02-2015, 03:58 PM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/11402097/Rangers-news-Dave-King-supplies-evidence-to-pass-fit-and-proper-test.html
He has only mentioned the SA angle. He hasn't mentioned the UK bit, which is much more important.
“his appointment would be in breach of section 216 of the Insolvency Act 1986.
“Subject to certain limited e*xceptions, S. 216 requires a person to obtain the leave of the Court before becoming a director of a company if, in the preceding five years, that *person was a director of a company which went into liquidation whilst they were a director (or within one year of their ceasing to be a director) and the name of the new company
of which they wish to be a director is the same as, or similar to, the name of the company which went into *liquidation.
“This section applies to Mr King given he was, at the relevant time, a director of the company which previously owned the Rangers Football Club. This means that if he were to become a director of the Company without such leave then, unless he fell within one of the limited exceptions, he would be committing a criminal offence, punishable by imprisonment or a fine or both.
“The Board is not aware that Mr King either has such leave or comes within any of the other limited exceptions to S.216.”
18-02-2015, 03:59 PM
:greengrin Thats it get the rozzers in,
Is that you back from South America?
Fraid so. :rolleyes:
18-02-2015, 04:02 PM
Is one of the others not Paul Murray who is not allowed to be a Director of a Scottish Football Club as he was a director of Rangers under David Murray and Whyte. He is therefore banned for a minimum of 3 years from being a Director of a football club which will not expire until the summer.
BTW does anyone know what he does because he never puts money up, just hangs about like a bad smell under anyone that will have him.
Think his defence at the time was something like "I asked for paperwork but they wouldn't give it to me so I stayed to keep an eye on things, it wisnae me I just took the benefits going"
So it is 5 years according to the other articles. Presume they will just ignore that and believe if they shout loud enough all the problems will go away.
18-02-2015, 04:04 PM
Fraid so. :rolleyes:
Oh well, at least you are here to keep the masses up to date with happenings at Castle Greyskull. You don't need sun or interesting places for that.
18-02-2015, 04:19 PM
Seriously? That's mental if true.
What exactly is Dave King's business? I've never heard it mentioned.
And what exactly makes him interested in Rangers?
He seems to have a few quid, made in South Africa. Is he originally from Scotland?
It was widely reported as this at the time Sally headed for his garden so I would assume it's true.
18-02-2015, 06:32 PM
It was widely reported as this at the time Sally headed for his garden so I would assume it's true.
Ah right, I'd missed that.... Everything I hear is just their fans moaning big time that Ally is sticking around taking money out their club instead of just pissing off :agree: ..... Surely if they were aware they'd know he wasn't the leech they're painting him as :greengrin
18-02-2015, 09:45 PM
Anyone who thinks the SFA are gonna stop King in any way are kidding themselves on.... They are the most incompetent bunch I have ever had the displeasure of meeting. They won't have the balls to step in.
portycabbage
18-02-2015, 09:49 PM
He has only mentioned the SA angle. He hasn't mentioned the UK bit, which is much more important.
“his appointment would be in breach of section 216 of the Insolvency Act 1986...
...if he were to become a director of the Company without such leave then, unless he fell within one of the limited exceptions, he would be committing a criminal offence, punishable by imprisonment or a fine or both.
“The Board is not aware that Mr King either has such leave or comes within any of the other limited exceptions to S.216.”
I take it that's from the current boards statement? How likely is it that King risks those sanctions if he gets voted in? Seems crazy that there's a vote to elect 2 people that can't really be directors, partly to replace 2 directors that can't really be replaced under the SD loan conditions.
P.s. I was hoping for some more info in this bbc article but it just says-
"As part of this agreement, Sports Direct are entitled to appoint two directors until the loan has been repaid, but no new directors have been appointed."
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31524925
Surely the plan is just to re-elect his current two directors?
19-02-2015, 12:02 AM
Anyone who thinks the SFA are gonna stop King in any way are kidding themselves on.... They are the most incompetent bunch I have ever had the displeasure of meeting. They won't have the balls to step in.
Incompetence doesn't come into it. Fear is the reason. They are terrified of both Rangers and Celtic clubs and supporters.
19-02-2015, 05:50 AM
RangersMedia @RangersMedia 8h8 hours ago (https://twitter.com/RangersMedia/status/568179479249620992) Derek Llambias has tonight disbanded the Rangers Fans Board
19-02-2015, 06:59 AM
RangersMedia @RangersMedia 8h8 hours ago (https://twitter.com/RangersMedia/status/568179479249620992) Derek Llambias has tonight disbanded the Rangers Fans Board
Wasn't that the lot who released details of a confidential meeting they had with Llambias? Sure they released a statement yesterday saying they expected to be disbanded for doing so...
19-02-2015, 09:04 AM
As has been said, though, it's less about the SFA and more about the law.
19-02-2015, 09:15 AM
He may seem pretty confident but in the words of a South African judge.....
“The court are unanimous in finding that he [King] is a mendacious witness whose evidence should not be accepted on any issue unless it is supported by documents and other objective evidence. It was remarkable that King showed no sign of embarrassment or any emotion when he conceded that he had lied to the (Sars) commissioner in a number of his income tax returns. In our assessment, he is a glib and shameless liar.”
19-02-2015, 09:17 AM
I take it that's from the current boards statement? How likely is it that King risks those sanctions if he gets voted in? Seems crazy that there's a vote to elect 2 people that can't really be directors, partly to replace 2 directors that can't really be replaced under the SD loan conditions.
P.s. I was hoping for some more info in this bbc article but it just says-
"As part of this agreement, Sports Direct are entitled to appoint two directors until the loan has been repaid, but no new directors have been appointed."
Surely the plan is just to re-elect his current two directors?
It's from the Board's statement, but it reflects the law as I understand it. The interesting part for me is that, although King has said he is entitled to serve on the Board under SA law, he hasn't responded to the bit about UK law.
19-02-2015, 09:28 AM
Incompetence doesn't come into it. Fear is the reason. They are terrified of both Rangers and Celtic clubs and supporters.
Although I agree there is an element of 'Fear', I think the largest factor with the GFA is 'Corruption'!
19-02-2015, 10:05 AM
It's from the Board's statement, but it reflects the law as I understand it. The interesting part for me is that, although King has said he is entitled to serve on the Board under SA law, he hasn't responded to the bit about UK law.
Now I'm clutching at straws here as I know absolutely nothing about business law etc and how it works, but could he just move the head office to another country ( let's say South Africa ) for instance and then British Law couldn't do a thing about it? Also would he then have less tax to pay as the head office isn't I'n the uk etc.
19-02-2015, 10:15 AM
Now I'm clutching at straws here as I know absolutely nothing about business law etc and how it works, but could he just move the head office to another country ( let's say South Africa ) for instance and then British Law couldn't do a thing about it? Also would he then have less tax to pay as the head office isn't I'n the uk etc.
The company that owns the club is registered in the UK, as is the company that owns that company. It wouldn't matter where the "head office" is located.
19-02-2015, 10:17 AM
Ashley tightens his grip on retail......
http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/confirmed-mike-ashley-is-the-new-rangers-retail-ruler-with-security-over-club-tradema.118843843
19-02-2015, 10:26 AM
Ashley tightens his grip on retail......
http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/confirmed-mike-ashley-is-the-new-rangers-retail-ruler-with-security-over-club-tradema.118843843
That's a powerful hold he has on the club :greengrin. Wonder if this includes "the Huns", "Dirty Bluesnoses", "Zombies", "NewHuns", "succulent lamb", "we don't do walking away", "these people should be named" ?
19-02-2015, 11:40 AM
The company that owns the club is registered in the UK, as is the company that owns that company. It wouldn't matter where the "head office" is located.
Cheers, there was me thinking of how I would get round the law if I was him and I couldn't even get that right lol. As I said I don't have a clue about all this business law.
Newry Hibs
19-02-2015, 12:10 PM
A (good?) summary of the EGM and the protagonists.
19-02-2015, 12:53 PM
I cant understand why anyone would want two of the directors who are responsible for this mess in the first place to be in charge of the new the the Rangers? Are King and Murray not as culpable as Murray, Whyte, Green etc? At least Ashley seems to have some concept of running things and also running rings around these amateurs.
19-02-2015, 01:10 PM
Good summary. Looks like King might scrape a win on pens. But that'll be just the start of more fun and games down Hunbrox way. This is not even the end of the beginning.
19-02-2015, 01:39 PM
So, if it all goes to the "the rangers mens" plan
- they will have at least 2 directors who would be illegally on the board of a UK company and banned from holding the directorships,
- they would be at the mercy of when big Mike wants his loans repaid,
- they would have key assets still secured to big Mike,
- they will never be the main beneficiaries of merchandising profits,
- they will not own the right to use their club badge or other recognised "the rangers" brand images,
- they have an £8m or so loss to date,
- they have more tax and NI looming
Where's my cheque book? - Craig Whytes £1 purchase price looks generous.
On the plus side I don't think there is anything stopping them using all those stars on the shirt so a new badge design should be easy (unless the deal with Ashley ties the badge he owns to the strip :greengrin) Its not as if the rangers have much tradition to worry about, a few costly lower league titles and one victory over Hibs in a cup tie isn't worth putting on a badge.
19-02-2015, 03:25 PM
If King wins I fully expect an influx of top-quality players on out-of-this-world wages - and no-one will ask (especially our MSM) where the money's coming from until the next administration. The Hun are big on 'Tradition' and theirs is cheating.
portycabbage
19-02-2015, 10:00 PM
So, if it all goes to the "the rangers mens" plan
- they will have at least 2 directors who would be illegally on the board of a UK company and banned from holding the directorships,
- they would be at the mercy of when big Mike wants his loans repaid,
- they would have key assets still secured to big Mike,
- they will never be the main beneficiaries of merchandising profits,
- they will not own the right to use their club badge or other recognised "the rangers" brand images,
- they have an £8m or so loss to date,
- they have more tax and NI looming
Where's my cheque book? - Craig Whytes £1 purchase price looks generous.
On the plus side I don't think there is anything stopping them using all those stars on the shirt so a new badge design should be easy (unless the deal with Ashley ties the badge he owns to the strip :greengrin) Its not as if the rangers have much tradition to worry about, a few costly lower league titles and one victory over Hibs in a cup tie isn't worth putting on a badge.
They will also be in violation of the Ashley loan conditions if they vote his directors off and don't allow him to put them straight back in.
19-02-2015, 10:04 PM
They will also be in violation of the Ashley loan conditions if they vote his directors off and don't allow him to put them straight back in.
:aok: Keep em coming :greengrin
20-02-2015, 07:57 AM
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12256028.html
So its Friday 6th March for the gunfight at the OK Corral. :greengrin
20-02-2015, 09:55 AM
Hmm, answers to shareholders from questions to Dave King( a glib and shameless liar), about his intentions going forward.
Not spin from the Daily Record but direct answers required for scrutiny. This should be a hoot.
20-02-2015, 10:19 AM
Isn't the condition of the loan that Ashley nomnates two directors not these particular two? He could nominate alternatives.
20-02-2015, 10:22 AM
Isn't the condition of the loan that Ashley nomnates two directors not these particular two? He could nominate alternatives.
Am thinking Vladimir Romanov and Carson Yeung could do a job for him.
20-02-2015, 10:25 AM
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12256028.html
So its Friday 6th March for the gunfight at the OK Corral. :greengrin
No doubt the SMSM will be all over this and no doubt their 'fans' (Neanderthals) will belt out their usual repertoire of bigoted/sectarian hymns - equally no doubt the SMSM/SFA won't hear it !
20-02-2015, 11:29 AM
Will that tent be erected again?
20-02-2015, 11:44 AM
Could put craig whyte on the board:greengrin
20-02-2015, 12:19 PM
Could put craig whyte on the board:greengrin
No , he's banned for the same reason as Dave King ! :greengrin
20-02-2015, 12:26 PM
No , he's banned for the same reason as Dave King ! :greengrin
Statistically you'd think it would be harder to find someone who is banned than to find someone to join your board who isn't a criminal, fraudster, tax dodger etc...........but the new boys seem to attract them like flies to a turd. They really haven't got off to a very good start for such a new club.
portycabbage
20-02-2015, 07:59 PM
I'm assuming he'll go with same guys and that he'll want to get them back in if voted off, but I think you're right on the loan conditions.
21-02-2015, 07:51 AM
All this talk about what Ashley is going to do and what he's not going to do might be irrelevant. If King gets in with his mob, the SFA might just grow some and knock Ashley off his pedestal in order to make life easier for the new management to succeed and get them back to the top flight which is a priority for the SFA blazers.
21-02-2015, 08:29 AM
All this talk about what Ashley is going to do and what he's not going to do might be irrelevant. If King gets in with his mob, the SFA might just grow some and knock Ashley off his pedestal in order to make life easier for the new management to succeed and get them back to the top flight which is a priority for the SFA blazers.
At the beginning of the year Ashley wanted to increase his stake in Rangers but the SFA said no, because he had agreed to limit his stake to 10%.
Was the knock-back because this was the agreement or to leave the door open for others ?
If King wins the vote , Ashley will revert to a minority shareholder with a commercial deal with the club. But will the SFA and the courts approve King as a Director of Rangers ?
The SFA might like to see a Rangers controlled by the Three Bears , with Ashley and King out of the picture.
Trouble could be , King wins and not allowed to be a director , only 2 new directors appointed.
Motion is to empty all 4 current directors , but the loan agreement allow Ashley to appoint 2 new directors.
Result, board split 2 Vs 2, happy days :cb
21-02-2015, 08:35 AM
At the beginning of the year Ashley wanted to increase his stake in Rangers but the SFA said no, because he had agreed to limit his stake to 10%.
Was the knock-back because this was the agreement or to leave the door open for others ?
If King wins the vote , Ashley will revert to a minority shareholder with a commercial deal with the club. But will the SFA and the courts approve King as a Director of Rangers ?
The SFA might like to see a Rangers controlled by the Three Bears , with Ashley and King out of the picture.
Trouble could be , King wins and not allowed to be a director , only 2 new directors appointed.
Motion is to empty all 4 current directors , but the loan agreement allow Ashley to appoint 2 new directors.
Result, board split 2 Vs 2, happy days :cb
:agree: And just because SFA have their own wee set of flexible rules I am not so sure that company law prevents anyone (who is not already banned!) from buying up as much as they like of a UK listed company - like the rangers.
So Ashley could actually call the SFA's bluff potentially by going for more shares - the existing "loyal" shareholders could of course bleat no surrender, or not do walking away but there could well be some in there who will fancy a profit - up to Ashley really and his aims are not that clear at the moment.
21-02-2015, 09:20 AM
Looks like the knives are out for big Mike but hey, you don't take a knife to a gunfight.
21-02-2015, 09:42 AM
Just a thought but, if King is disbarred from being a Director, there's nothing to stop him having a controlling share in the Clumpany and appointing a stooge to represent his interests on the Board.... a bit like Romanov at Hearts.
21-02-2015, 10:49 AM
Just a thought but, if King is disbarred from being a Director, there's nothing to stop him having a controlling share in the Clumpany and appointing a stooge to represent his interests on the Board.... a bit like Romanov at Hearts.
Two things with that,
That would make King a shadow director, and could still find himself in trouble from the Courts at least.
King is an egotist, he will want his name up there in lights if he is putting money/effort into reviving the corpse of RFC.
21-02-2015, 07:45 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/31565781
Rangers fans reported over singing naughty songs.
Is it just me that thinks that The Rangers might struggle to finish fourth? :cb
21-02-2015, 07:58 PM
I think you'll be in a minority there. Sevco will easily be be in the top four and will still be strong favourites for second place. They're the ones we'll have to beat for the playoff final. If we can beat them I'm sure we'll go on to beat the Premiership team to get promotion.
21-02-2015, 08:50 PM
The only thing that will happen there is that the guy who reported it will get into trouble
bathhibby
21-02-2015, 10:19 PM
Stan Collymore @StanCollymore 2m2 minutes ago
So the ex RUC officer who #CFC want info on and pushed the guy off the train..
Is indeed a Rangers & Chelsea fan.
Vindication complete.
RETWEETS
FAVORITES
Tweet text
22-02-2015, 04:30 PM
:agree: I hope it is king, the clamour for him makes no sense at all -they quickly turned on Whyte then Green, both of whom were unknown quantities but potentially dodgy - the rest is history, including the love ins.
Here we have a guy where there is no doubt about his criminality, Ashley is many things as he is an accomplished and ruthless businessman - free of everything that goes with all of the aforementioned.
Really looking forward to how they get round the fit and proper person issue, as well as that associated with previously being a director of the now defunct Glasgow rangers.
Now I might have got this completely wrong but I thought that Directors of liquidated businesses were prevented for 5 years from being a Director of another company???
If so then what does King intend to do? Break the Law?
22-02-2015, 04:37 PM
Now I might have got this completely wrong but I thought that Directors of liquidated businesses were prevented for 5 years from being a Director of another company???
You are definitely right. I was doing this in stages - my first hope is that if the anti Ashley boys rally behind King and he gets enough votes for his motion then the situation you highlight is what should arise. How will the SPFL or anyone else get around that?
The rangers - the club that keep on giving.
22-02-2015, 04:53 PM
You are definitely right. I was doing this in stages - my first hope is that if the anti Ashley boys rally behind King and he gets enough votes for his motion then the situation you highlight is what should arise. How will the SPFL or anyone else get around that?
The rangers - the club that keep on giving.
It seems curious to me that the SFA haven't warned King off for that very reason given that they warned off Ashley from increasing his stake.....
22-02-2015, 04:58 PM
It seems curious to me that the SFA haven't warned King off for that very reason given that they warned off Ashley from increasing his stake.....
It should be a no brainer for them, as by any stretch of the rules he is banned - by the SFA themselves and UK company law regardless - theres every chance the SFA have given him the nod that another revision of the rules will occur, otherwise why is he still pushing for more control / power?
On the UK company law front my understanding is that if Ashley got his hands on even more shares it might not fit the football rules but he isn't actually breaking any company law by doing so - maybe he fancies blazing a trail by taking the blazers on? I defer to any better informed experts as not really my area.
22-02-2015, 05:01 PM
It should be a no brainer for them, as by any stretch of the rules he is banned - by the SFA themselves and UK company law regardless - theres every chance the SFA have given him the nod that another revision of the rules will occur, otherwise why is he still pushing for more control / power?
On the UK company law front my understanding is that if Ashley got his hands on even more shares it might not fit the football rules but he isn't actually breaking any company law by doing so - maybe he fancies blazing a trail by taking the blazers on? I defer to any better informed experts as not really my area.
The SFA have no control over the law - it doesn't matter what rules they change.
Saturday Boy
22-02-2015, 05:02 PM
I always wanted to get a post in before CWG and Cav. :greengrin The SFA won't do anything here yet, nobody has broken any rules. Including flexible ones.
22-02-2015, 05:07 PM
I always wanted to get a post in before CWG and Cav. :greengrin The SFA won't do anything here yet, nobody has broken any rules. Including flexible ones.
What I was asking was why the SFA hadn't warned King off like he did with Ashley?
The SFA have no control over the law - it doesn't matter what rules they change.
:agree: Yet Craig Whyte got the Ibrox Gig - it was more subjective then as all under the SFA control, here the original issue remains valid - WTF is King doing if his criminal convictions mean he doesn't even pass the SFA test?
Not entirely true.
They are banned from directorships of companies that have similar names. So, he and Murray are stuffed anyway :greengrin
22-02-2015, 05:08 PM
What I was asking was why the SFA hadn't warned King off like he did with Ashley?
Is it because he is the rangers minded?
22-02-2015, 05:08 PM
:agree: Yet Craig Whyte got the Ibrox Gig - it was more subjective then as all under the SFA control, here the original issue remains valid - WTF is King doing if his criminal convictions mean he doesn't even pass the SFA test?
My point is that what the SFA think or do isn't relevant. The law of the land prevents him becoming a director does it not?
22-02-2015, 05:12 PM
:thumbsup: Ashley isn't breaking any company law regardless and King &co aren't unless they get their version of control so all hypothetical until they all get together in the big tent at Ibrox.
22-02-2015, 05:16 PM
My point is that what the SFA think or do isn't relevant. The law of the land prevents him becoming a director does it not?
Yep, I have been a company director so you wont find me saying any different, just incredulous that they carry on regardless. King wins the day at the meeting of shareholders and the SFA have a live issue if they haven't acted earlier to stop him doing what he is doing.
Saturday Boy
22-02-2015, 05:17 PM
:thumbsup: Ashley isn't breaking any company law regardless and King &co aren't unless they get their version of control so all hypothetical until they all get together in the big tent at Ibrox.
Thanks for this. For a few minutes I was thinking I was "over thinking" , my current phrase of the moment. :aok:
22-02-2015, 05:19 PM
Thanks for this. For a few minutes I was thinking I was "over thinking" , my current phrase of the moment. :aok:
:greengrin I didn't get to where I am today by over thinking!
22-02-2015, 05:22 PM
Only vaguely related to this thread but, anyway......
On a tour of the Allianz Arena today, the Tour Guide explained why one corridor we walked through was painted Orange. She said that Orange is "the internationally recognised colour for Sports Journalists".
And we thought it was just Scotland :wink:
22-02-2015, 05:40 PM
The last time this was in the media, Regan (or maybe DK)went on record as saying that the SFA had had a meeting with DK. Don't think he disclosed the content. However, he did go on Sportsound and set out the procedure.
1. DK becomes a director.
2. RFC disclose that to the SFA, together with a declaration of "fit and proper".
3. SFA decide if he is "f&p".
4. if not, they take action.
In other words, there's SFA the SFA can do until he's appointed.
22-02-2015, 05:47 PM
The last time this was in the media, Regan (or maybe DK)went on record as saying that the SFA had had a meeting with DK. Don't think he disclosed the content. However, he did go on Sportsound and set out the procedure.
2. RFC disclose that to the SFA, together with a declaration of "fit and proper".
4. if not, they take action.
In other words, there's SFA the SFA can do until he's appointed.
I wasn't really meaning official action. I am just wondering why, if he is barred by law from becoming a director, they haven't had a quiet word with him? If he is barred by law then it doesn't make a blind bit of difference what decision the SFA come up with in regard to being a fit and proper person... Or am I missing something?
22-02-2015, 05:59 PM
I wasn't really meaning official action. I am just wondering why, if he is barred by law from becoming a director, they haven't had a quiet word with him? If he is barred by law then it doesn't make a blind bit of difference what decision the SFA come up with in regard to being a fit and proper person... Or am I missing something?
Not missing anything, I think.
Other than what appears to be DK's tendency to run rough-shod over any laws and regulations, and deal with the consequences later.:greengrin
22-02-2015, 06:03 PM
I see your point, You should be right about the SFA but they are that inward looking and reactive to events that it wouldn't surprise me if they've told Dodgy Dave that so long as he can fiddle a way round UK company law, they will hide behind that, thus keeping the rangers horde happy for now and giving the SFA a cop out either way.
22-02-2015, 06:40 PM
Not missing anything, I think.
Other than what appears to be DK's tendency to run rough-shod over any laws and regulations, and deal with the consequences later.:greengrin
Now that would be fun to watch. My money would be on the the crusty old guy in the wig.......... :greengrin
22-02-2015, 06:56 PM
From memory there were Reports the King had met privately with Reagan to talk through some issues so you have to assume that he would have been looking to see what S F A position would be further down the line if certain situations arose .more recently Ashley's Lawyers were able to speak with S F. A S Lawyers in preparation for the Hearing that was put back till March .Presumably we will never get any detail of these meetings re what was discussed ,but if there are any loop holes or ways to interpret rules in different ways both King and Ashley must know what they think they can get away with as a result of these meetings
22-02-2015, 07:00 PM
I actually think the SFA might have to play this by the book and knock King and Murray back. The last thing they want is a visit from Mike Ashley's lawyers asking why he is prevented from taking a place on the board because of one rule but other rules are ignored to allow King in.
Although trying to predict anything with the SFA or New Rangers is a mugs game.
22-02-2015, 08:16 PM
Not entirely true.
They are banned from directorships of companies that have similar names. So, he and Murray are stuffed anyway :greengrin
So a company that has claimed to every fool who will listen THAT THEY ARE THE SAME CLUB and nothing changed couldn't possibly have king I'n charge then as that would obviously mean they are very very different entity.
22-02-2015, 08:23 PM
So a company that has claimed to every fool who will listen THAT THEY ARE THE SAME CLUB and nothing changed couldn't possibly have king I'n charge then as that would obviously mean they are very very different entity.
You're missing the point. :)
It's nothing to do with the new club/same club argument. It's to do with the name.
22-02-2015, 08:25 PM
Reagan, Doncaster & Co must be on fantastic money considering the amount of stress ONE club has continually caused them (and the entire game) over the last 3-4 years - it's surprising one or both haven't wrapped by now. They must be getting some tremendous 'support' from somewhere ..........
Either way, the SFA will be forced to address this issue sooner, rather than later and, going by their previous 'form', I fully expect their decision will be a totally immoral, cowardly and outrageous one !!
22-02-2015, 08:47 PM
It's nothing to do with the new club/same club argument. It's to do with the name.
Yeah, but they could get round it by calling themselves Sevco F C. and Sevco International F C.
22-02-2015, 08:57 PM
I understand that, but that's what I'm on about ( sarcastically ) they say it's still rangers not the rangers.
22-02-2015, 09:52 PM
4. if not, they take action.In any system anywhere, I'd have to say that's a daft way to go about something. To let something happen then decide if they want to allow it. Especially in this case when it's in the papers every day. The SFA should get off its behind and proactively comment on the stuff in the media.
22-02-2015, 10:48 PM
In any system anywhere, I'd have to say that's a daft way to go about something. To let something happen then decide if they want to allow it. Especially in this case when it's in the papers every day. The SFA should get off its behind and proactively comment on the stuff in the media.
Like the Hearts takeover? Buffoons the lot o them.
23-02-2015, 07:48 AM
In any system anywhere, I'd have to say that's a daft way to go about something. To let something happen then decide if they want to allow it. Especially in this case when it's in the papers every day. The SFA should get off its behind and proactively comment on the stuff in the media.
Possession is 9/10 ths of the law.
Granton Stanton
23-02-2015, 05:01 PM
Good in depth discussion on Spanish TV re current situation with The Rangers
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMF5RnCelFE&feature=youtu.be&app=desktop
bringbackbenny
23-02-2015, 05:27 PM
Telegraph preview of friday fixture! Yet another boycott on the cards?
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/11354357/live-football-tv-this-week.html
Our weekly chance to check on what chaotic nonsense has befallen Rangers and what havoc Mike Ashley has managed to wreak north of the border in the last seven days carries us to a Friday night in Falkirk. Inevitably all the coverage, and most of the crowd, will be interested in the UK's most farcical club (settle down fans of Leeds and QPR, you've got nothing on these guys) but spare a thought for Falkirk who used to yo-yo up and down out of this league quite a bit before they suddenly found Hearts, Hibs and Billy Smart's Travelling Circus joining them at the second tier.
Currently fifth, Falkirk have a great chance to claim a famous win here given how abysmally Rangers are playing football, conducting their business, treating their wives, tending to their gardens, behaving on the way home from the pub and everything else besides.
23-02-2015, 05:33 PM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/11354357/live-football-tv-this-week.html
Our weekly chance to check on what chaotic nonsense has befallen Rangers and what havoc Mike Ashley has managed to wreak north of the border in the last seven days carries us to a Friday night in Falkirk. Inevitably all the coverage, and most of the crowd, will be interested in the UK's most farcical club (settle down fans of Leeds and QPR, you've got nothing on these guys) but spare a thought for Falkirk who used to yo-yo up and down out of this league quite a bit before they suddenly found Hearts, Hibs and Billy Smart's Travelling Circus joining them at the second tier.
Currently fifth, Falkirk have a great chance to claim a famous win here given how abysmally Rangers are playing football, conducting their business, treating their wives, tending to their gardens, behaving on the way home from the pub and everything else besides.
:greengrin I detest the Telegraph's politics, but that's funnnae.
23-02-2015, 06:27 PM
:greengrin I detest the Telegraph's politics, but that's funnnae.
Hope that journalist isn't on twitter. The Ibrox 'brown shirts' will be mobilising as we speak.:greengrin
23-02-2015, 06:38 PM
Hope that journalist isn't on twitter. The Ibrox 'brown shirts' will be mobilising as we speak.:greengrin
Isn't there a journo who is a Hibby at the Telegraph? I seem to recall an article before one of the two recent cup finals where he wrote about the roller coaster of following Hibs. I dont think it was this guy though.
23-02-2015, 06:45 PM
Isn't there a journo who is a Hibby at the Telegraph? I seem to recall an article before one of the two recent cup finals where he wrote about the roller coaster of following Hibs. I dont think it was this guy though.
Alan Tyres - wrote a good article after we were relegated.
23-02-2015, 06:49 PM
Presumably he was feeling a bit deflated at the time?
23-02-2015, 06:51 PM
Presumably he was feeling a bit deflated at the time?
:greengrin Tube! :cb
23-02-2015, 06:53 PM
:thumbsup: That's the one - found it, thanks.
http://www.alantyers.com/archives/659
That's a beauty!
After the years of lip syncing between the SMSM, the SFA and all forms of zombies it would seem, now that Ashley is involved, for better or for worse, some media outlets are honing in.
SFA will be twitching lol.
23-02-2015, 07:16 PM
Tubeless. :cb
blindsummit
23-02-2015, 07:32 PM
Tread carefully now :greengrin
24-02-2015, 10:34 AM
Doncaster responds to allegations of sectarian chanting from the Rangers fans
It remains the SPFL's position that if it can be established that clubs have done everything required in overall management of the event pre-match, during the game and post-match then they have no case to answer....
24-02-2015, 10:55 AM
Doncaster responds to allegations of sectarian chanting from the Rangers fans
Like being savaged by a sponge
24-02-2015, 11:09 AM
It seems Tom Farmer has no shortage of tyres. :rolleyes:
I'll get my complimentary cappucinno. :offski:
24-02-2015, 11:45 AM
Like being savaged by a sponge
24-02-2015, 02:58 PM
Staggeringly blatant and biased headline on back page of Daily Record today. Despite a probe in to their sectarian singing this is the headline.......
You couldn't make it up:greengrin
24-02-2015, 03:12 PM
Not that I'm in any way a supporter of his, but Phil McG said on Twitter that the racist chanting was included in the match report - contrary to what the Record say.
Phil MacGiollaBhain @Pmacgiollabhain · 3h 3 hours ago (https://twitter.com/Pmacgiollabhain/status/570211466877521920)I just checked back with sources VERY close to the action. The racist abuse of @StanCollymore (https://twitter.com/StanCollymore) WAS in the match report.
24-02-2015, 03:18 PM
Staggeringly blatant and biased headline on back page of Daily Record today. Despite a probe in to their sectarian singing this is the headline.......
You couldn't make it up:greengrin
It's official, the rangers are not sectarian bigots, that was the now defunct Glasgow rangers presumably.
25-02-2015, 06:07 AM
@SkySportsNewsHQ: BREAKING: James Easdale resigns as a director at @RangersFC. #SSNHQ
"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"
Don Giovanni
25-02-2015, 06:27 AM
@SkySportsNewsHQ: BREAKING: James Easdale resigns as a director at @RangersFC. #SSNHQ
"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"
Hmmmm.... thats a tough yin.
I can't decide whether he's a rat deserting a sinking ship or he's been forced to walk the plank?
25-02-2015, 06:47 AM
Is there any significance in that? Is he one of Ashleys men?
25-02-2015, 06:54 AM
Hmmmm.... thats a tough yin.
I can't decide whether he's a rat deserting a sinking ship or he's been forced to walk the plank?
A rat who has been forced to walk the plank?
25-02-2015, 07:01 AM
Is there any significance in that? Is he one of Ashleys men?
Im not a great believer in coincidences - yesterday the rangers fans trust bought up loads more shares, from one of the investment houses that easedale held proxy votes with.
fewer proxy votes = greater chance of losing = he's done the maths & doesn't want to be in the wee teepee on the pitch when the votes are counted
25-02-2015, 07:01 AM
My Rangers supporting colleague said to me yesterday that the directors would start to get wind of the direction of the proxy so would start to resign before the EGM has taken place. Looks like he's just the first.