View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
14-07-2012, 07:44 PM
Im going to stick my neck out here and say have it your way but I reckon it wont be long until this sevco have won more tropheys than hibs, including scottish cup.
To paraphrase
Reality is finally dawning
Even you and your fellow supporters understand and accept that Rangers dont exist
14-07-2012, 07:45 PM
Im going to stick my neck out here and say have it your way but I reckon it wont be long until this sevco have won more tropheys than hibs, including scottish cup.
Oh dear. Clutching at straws and hitting out at us.
You must be really hurting that your bent institution has sunk without a trace and you're left with a club with no trophies/history/credibility to support instead.
What a wonderful set of circumstances to find yourself in :tee hee:
So we a new company? How can a new company have ebt's, cant have it both ways, make up ur mind.You shouldnt have a ground ..you shouldnt have players ..you shouldnt have a training ground but you do ..if its good enough for you then its good enough for Mr Tax man to seize..you cant have it all ways ..
To paraphrase
Even you and your fellow supporters understand and accept that Rangers dont exist
Who. 😜
Brando7
14-07-2012, 07:48 PM
Im really confused about this whole thing now....
If they are a new company all together. doesnt that mean they cant use the "old" rangers badge/crest and its history etc is wiped clean?
with the season starting in the next few weeks ive not seen anything other than them still selling the "old" shirts etc. no hint of the new branding etc. can they use the stuff from the "old" team??!!
they keep going on about this being a new company but on the surface it seems the same to me....
like alot of people have said even tho they got bumped to the 3rd the whole thing stinks. they shouldnt be in the 3rd at all if you ask me. not untill they have done their 3 years in the west of Scotland league or wherever and have followed the rules. getting sick of the whole thing now.
Apparantly sevco bought the copyright of the Rangers F.C. club crest and various other badges and crests during the asset purchase
blueisthecolour
14-07-2012, 07:48 PM
I'm not sure we even go to the bother of producing a programme when we get drawn against diddy teams from the third division :dunno:
Im sure your right, why produce programs when hardly anyone goes to your games.
14-07-2012, 07:50 PM
Nobody goes to rangers games anymore. :faf::faf:
Apparantly sevco bought the copyright of the Rangers F.C. club crest and various other badges and crests during the asset purchase
Yes, they did. In that respect, it is right that Seb can call himself Rangers.
However, given that the proposed liquidators of RFC will be reviewing the sale of the assets, it's likely that that part of the deal will also come under scrutiny.
Whatever number of fans we take to games now, will be that many more fans that what Rangers will ever take to a game ever again.
...WentToMowAnSPL
14-07-2012, 07:52 PM
I was thinking this myself.
And it would cost them far too much to print off match programs themselves. They wouldn't want to risk going into administration.
What self respecting firm would want to enter into a contract with zombie hun fc ?
14-07-2012, 07:52 PM
I'm so upset that another song has disappeared of our songlist, i loved it when a rangers player, remember them?
Remember when one of them was injured, and laying on the deck or being treated by the trainer, remember we'd all sing, DIE DIE DIE DIE YA HUN, well thats gone for ever now. :boo hoo:
We never thought that the entire club would take the song literally eh? Good on them for thinking outside the box and going that little bit extra.
14-07-2012, 07:54 PM
What self respecting firm would want to enter into a contract with zombie hun fc ?
None.
But I wouldn't say that there were that many self respecting firms in Scotland.
I can picture it now: "Buy your sevco pre-match programmes now!..... Sponsered by the Daily Record!".
14-07-2012, 07:54 PM
Who.
The guy whose post I quoted?
14-07-2012, 07:55 PM
Was at East Fife today thinking it would be what Rangers have to look forward to next season. One wee stand in a two-horse town. Then I realised...you'll need a promotion just to get to play at grounds that *****e!!
blueisthecolour
14-07-2012, 07:55 PM
To paraphrase
Reality is finally dawning, hence the emergency meeting being had by ict on monday about finance, and going by Saints statement they were counting on Rangers being back within a year.
Brando7
14-07-2012, 07:56 PM
How many compaines named under Rangers does one man need?
http://company-director-check.co.uk/director/916889225
14-07-2012, 07:58 PM
Reality is finally dawning, hence the emergency meeting being had by ict on monday about finance, and going by Saints statement they were counting on Rangers being back within a year.
Sunday.
But what's a day? July 12th....followed by Friday 13th. :greengrin
14-07-2012, 07:59 PM
It's not the fear of going bust thats worrying them, its the fear of being relegated because they couldn't spend as much as before.
No clubs will be going "bust" due to Rangers not being in the SPL.
Clubs will just have to spend less and find alternative sources of financing.
Still.... if my club having less money means no more Rangers, then so be it.
:faf: miaow!!
Someone's hurting :hilarious
blueisthecolour
14-07-2012, 08:03 PM
Was at East Fife today thinking it would be what Rangers have to look forward to next season. One wee stand in a two-horse town. Then I realised...you'll need a promotion just to get to play at grounds that *****e!!
Yes thats good, we can enjoy playing at elgin and hampden, its an improvement to some of the grounds we been playing at.
14-07-2012, 08:03 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=npjOSLCR2hE
blueisthecolour
14-07-2012, 08:05 PM
Sunday.
But what's a day? July 12th....followed by Friday 13th. :greengrin
And then sat 14th or am i missing something?
14-07-2012, 08:06 PM
Half a team. :greengrin
14-07-2012, 08:06 PM
Yes thats good, we can enjoy playing at elgin and hampden, its an improvement to some of the grounds we been playing at.
There you go again with that royal we, your new team has never played one game of professional football in its life.
14-07-2012, 08:07 PM
rangers got their 12th of July, every other club in Scotland got the 13th to celebrate :)
Which grounds were those?
Sevco haven't played at any ground yet.
blueisthecolour
14-07-2012, 08:08 PM
[QUOTE=wee_hibee;3295057]It's not the fear of going bust thats worrying them, its the fear of being relegated because they couldn't spend as much as before.
But they should continue as before, remember the fans are going to start buying season tickets, they said they would if clubs said no, chairmen kept their word, will the fans?
14-07-2012, 08:08 PM
Your old club? :dunno:
About £140m?..........oh sorry that's HMRC
14-07-2012, 08:16 PM
I wondered how long until Blue turned up. It's been great reading, and he's still not mentioned the great escape yet.
Sally, and Sandy are making ready for the great Fightback.:greengrin
14-07-2012, 08:18 PM
Time for ROD to follow Dundee Utd's lead and publicly announce we will not support an SPL 2 designed to fast track sevco back
Well done utd
14-07-2012, 08:20 PM
I wondered how long until Blue turned up. It's been great reading, and he's still not mentioned the great escape yet.
Sally, and Sandy are making ready for the great Fightback.:greengrin
I was wondering that too pal, i bet he's seething behind his keyboard. He's nearly cracked a couple of times tonight, he reminds me of Winston goading him with his winning ticket in the bookies in still game. Although this time we all have the winning ticket. :greengrin
STEVIE......STEVIE........:greengrin
14-07-2012, 08:25 PM
Bob FTP Malcolm played for East Fife today. When he left Rangers (RIP), would you have imagined he'd finish his career at a higher level than Rangers?
14-07-2012, 08:26 PM
Your old club? :dunno:
BlueWASthecolour?
Hank Schrader
14-07-2012, 08:29 PM
You, like a high majority of your fellow Sevco supporters, are a humongous bellend.
14-07-2012, 08:29 PM
"But they should continue as before, remember the fans are going to start buying season tickets, they said they would if clubs said no, chairmen kept their word, will the fans?" - spewisthecolour
You have another wee greet over your old club's demise and let Hibs, a club who pays their taxes, worry about ourselves. Pride came before your club's fall and yet still you and many 'fans' like you snipe.
Have you no shame :confused:
14-07-2012, 08:35 PM
Half a team. :greengrin
Quality
14-07-2012, 08:51 PM
Now I know where I've seen you before! It's that new Irn Bru advert isn't it :wink:
14-07-2012, 08:52 PM
Now I know where I've seen you before! It's that new Irn Bru advert isn't it :wink:
:faf::faf: :not worth
14-07-2012, 08:53 PM
You, like a high majority of your fellow Sevco supporters, are a humongous bellend.
614 pages and at last we have the concise summary.
14-07-2012, 08:55 PM
14-07-2012, 08:59 PM
Enjoy the journey is what im planing to do, thanks for the info though, lets just hope there is no change of plans to try get us back in to spl, we are happy to start in division 3 and see where it takes us.
Ah, there you are. We thought you'd had a terrible accident and fell down a mine shaft or somethin.
Oh wait, naw, that wiz yir club
14-07-2012, 09:05 PM
Why is this erchiehole still tolerated on here? Get him tae!! Enjoy Peterhead, Elgin etc ya balloon :giruy:
14-07-2012, 09:06 PM
[QUOTE=wee_hibee;3295057]It's not the fear of going bust thats worrying them, its the fear of being relegated because they couldn't spend as much as before.
But they should continue as before, remember the fans are going to start buying season tickets, they said they would if clubs said no, chairmen kept their word, will the fans?
BITC
You have always made good contributions to this forum and always been up front about where your allegience lies regardless if we agree or otherwise with your posts.
I remember very well the great adventure that we had in the 1st Division and how refreshing it was to visit grounds with terraces and old fashioned turnstyles. You are in for a great adventure as well and I do believe you will enjoy it while making a genuine contribution to every club in the country on the way up. SEVCO 5088 can never be the old Rangers but I do believe they will emerge again in the top flight, in fact I hope they do because I think they will bring with them a strong lobby for a return to "safe" standing areas in grounds as well as a greater respect for the "smaller" clubs. It really could be a healthy thing for the game.
It is a fact that Rangers Football Club no longer exists (or at least will no longer exist when it is liquidated) but the new club will be or will become whatever the fans of that club want it to be. No doubt there will be Rangers in the title somewhere. You are a football supporter and I wish you well.
blueisthecolour
14-07-2012, 09:06 PM
I was wondering that too pal, i bet he's seething behind his keyboard. He's nearly cracked a couple of times tonight, he reminds me of Winston goading him with his winning ticket in the bookies in still game. Although this time we all have the winning ticket. :greengrin
STEVIE......STEVIE........:greengrin
When this thread started(is there a bigger one on hibs.net?) I said i would leave it for hibs fans to discuss, and that would still be the case had a poster not mentioned me, im going for a short time and leave hibs fans to continue talking about Rangers..... have fun folks, when I return i will have a wee peek in to say hullo hullo;-) It's ok I know where I will know where to find the thread, it will be at the top of the page where it always is:-) have fun folks im away for some irn bru, sponcers of the sfl.
14-07-2012, 09:09 PM
Why is this erchiehole still tolerated on here? Get him tae!! Enjoy Peterhead, Elgin etc ya balloon :giruy:
I think it is novelty value. Remember watching an old 'Survival' or summat like that on BBC 2 years ago with sharks using seals as playthings. Reminds me of something along those lines.
Could be that he keeps coming back because he has nowhere else to go?
14-07-2012, 09:10 PM
When this thread started(is there a bigger one on hibs.net?) I said i would leave it for hibs fans to discuss, and that would still be the case had a poster not mentioned me, im going for a short time and leave hibs fans to continue talking about Rangers..... have fun folks, when I return i will have a wee peek in to say hullo hullo;-) It's ok I know where I will know where to find the thread, it will be at the top of the page where it always is:-) have fun folks im away for some irn bru, sponcers of the sfl.
You'll be away greetin! :bye:
14-07-2012, 09:12 PM
Make sure you pay cash, there's nae mair credit for the likes of you.
Oh aye, and don't offer 8p in the pound for it either. Like your former rivals, that just won't wash any more :greengrin
blueisthecolour
14-07-2012, 09:13 PM
[QUOTE=blueisthecolour;3295080]
BITC
You have always made good contributions to this forum and always been up front about where your allegience lies regardless if we agree or otherwise with your posts.
I remember very well the great adventure that we had in the 1st Division and how refreshing it was to visit grounds with terraces and old fashioned turnstyles. You are in for a great adventure as well and I do believe you will enjoy it while making a genuine contribution to every club in the country on the way up. SEVCO 5088 can never be the old Rangers but I do believe they will emerge again in the top flight, in fact I hope they do because I think they will bring with them a strong lobby for a return to "safe" standing areas in grounds as well as a greater respect for the "smaller" clubs. It really could be a healthy thingi for the game.
It is a fact that Rangers Football Club no longer exists (or at least will no longer exist when it is liquidated) but the new club will be or will become whatever the fans of that club want it to be. No doubt there will be Rangers in the title somewhere. You are a football supporter and I wish you well.
Do you know what, ive had a little banter tonight, hopfully some haven't taken much offence, but that is a really good post you have posted and thanks for your good wishes.
14-07-2012, 09:15 PM
Do you know what, ive had a little banter tonight, hopfully some haven't taken much offence, but that is a really good post you have pisted and thanks for your good wishes.
Look at you, complimenting yourself on your own posts :greengrin
14-07-2012, 09:16 PM
[QUOTE=CentreLine;3295158]
Do you know what, ive had a little banter tonight, hopfully some haven't taken much offence, but that is a really good post you have pisted and thanks for your good wishes.
Being pisted would probably account for the melancholy tripe in his post....night night.
14-07-2012, 09:18 PM
Is that just like a Noncer:greengrin
Sponsor ya prat.
14-07-2012, 09:26 PM
[QUOTE=blueisthecolour;3295169]
Being pisted would probably account for the melancholy tripe in his post....night night.
So would being fisted....:greengrin
14-07-2012, 09:31 PM
[QUOTE=Hamilton Handling;3295174]
So would being fisted....:greengrin
Hey, steady, that would bring tears to the eyes and there has not been too much to cry about this weekend
14-07-2012, 09:33 PM
Stevie.............Stevie................Stevie... .............
14-07-2012, 09:36 PM
Oh flower of Scotland, when will we see, the huns again....
14-07-2012, 09:43 PM
14-07-2012, 09:46 PM
What its no fair, we the fans want div3 and got it, what wont be fair is if we are put higher up to protect sponcership deals ect, ive not went against the rules of hibs.net which means im ok to stay and post if I choose, you on the other hand are breaking hib.net rules byy telling posters to **** off unless im picking you up wrong.
You wanted it when you knew thats the best you would get.
Your silence recently speaks volumes
Sent from my GT-I9001 using Tapatalk 2
14-07-2012, 09:52 PM
"I hope they do because I think they will bring with them a strong lobby for a return to "safe" standing areas in grounds as well as a greater respect for the "smaller" clubs. It really could be a healthy thingi for the game. "
Rangers and their fans never had and never will have any respect for 'smaller' clubs.
14-07-2012, 10:03 PM
BITC
I remember very well the great adventure that we had in the 1st Division and how refreshing it was to visit grounds with terraces and old fashioned turnstyles. You are in for a great adventure as well and I do believe you will enjoy it while making a genuine contribution to every club in the country on the way up. SEVCO 5088 can never be the old Rangers but I do believe they will emerge again in the top flight, in fact I hope they do because I think they will bring with them a strong lobby for a return to "safe" standing areas in grounds as well as a greater respect for the "smaller" clubs. It really could be a healthy thing for the game.
Good post - and I hope you're right that the genuine football fans among the Rangers support get the upper hand on their journey.
Let's just remember that Hibs have been liquidated before - and we still consider our history from 1875.
14-07-2012, 10:07 PM
Good post - and I hope you're right that the genuine football fans among the Rangers support get the upper hand on their journey.
Let's just remember that Hibs have been liquidated before - and we still consider our history from 1875.
no we haven't
14-07-2012, 10:09 PM
no we haven't
OK - 'ceased to exist'
14-07-2012, 10:13 PM
OK - 'ceased to exist'
we have never ceased to exist, a dodgy person, I believe our company secretary took a load of cash from our account and ****** off, we then did the decent thing and took a years break from the league while we sorted ourself out financially.
We didn't
Borrow ****loads of cash
Buy players we couldn't afford
not pay our taxes
break SFA rules to keep winning
Anyone want to confirm the hard facts on this wee lie the huns like to push.
14-07-2012, 10:17 PM
Aye right.
14-07-2012, 10:18 PM
Aye right.
sorry maybe sounded wrong, no calling you a hun, but heard a few huns come out with this now
14-07-2012, 10:29 PM
sorry maybe sounded wrong, no calling you a hun, but heard a few huns come out with this now
Cheers. The cases are completely different - we were stuffed by the other half of the OF stealing our players and weakening the club to a point of uncompetitiveness (the Hibs cup winning side teamsheet of 1887 and Celtc's founding teamsheet in 1888 make interesting reading).
The 'oldco' folded in 1891 and we were readmitted to Scottish football on a non-sectarian basis in 1893. We still count our 1887 Scottish cup as 50% of that trophy's wins.
But the similarity is - that in 1888 (when professionalism was officially banned) one half of the OF were happy to break the rules by bribing supposedly amateur players. Different century. Different form of cheating. Different arsecheek.
Same Old Firm.
Brando7
14-07-2012, 10:32 PM
we have never ceased to exist, a dodgy person, I believe our company secretary took a load of cash from our account and ****** off, we then did the decent thing and took a years break from the league while we sorted ourself out financially.
We didn't
Borrow ****loads of cash
Buy players we couldn't afford
not pay our taxes
break SFA rules to keep winning
Mismanagement over the next few years led to the club becoming homeless and it ceased operating during 1891.[9] A reformed club was established and they acquired a lease on a site in late 1892 that was to become known as Easter Road. Hibernian played its first match at Easter Road on 4 February 1893.[22] Despite this interruption, the club today views the period since 1875 as one continued history and therefore counts the honours won between 1875 and 1891, including the 1887 Scottish Cup.[23][24] The club were admitted to the Scottish Football League in 1893, although they had to win the Second Division twice before being elected into the First Division in 1895.[9]
crewetollhibee
14-07-2012, 10:54 PM
stevie.............stevie................stevie... ............. scotch corner......scotch corner......scotch corner..........
14-07-2012, 11:09 PM
http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/529516_10151282944745031_2116384786_n.jpg
14-07-2012, 11:17 PM
Well I came on here tonight and wondered why 5 pages had appeared all of a sudden. Then I saw bluewasthecolour had been contributing. Hilarious stuff!!
14-07-2012, 11:23 PM
Met a guy wae a rangers top on tonight, I thought, how retro !!
Emerald
15-07-2012, 12:23 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/disgusted-chairmen-call-for-sfa-chief-stewart-regan-to-stand-down-1-2412833
Great read here. :agree:
15-07-2012, 12:38 AM
42 clubs. Should have been split into 3 leagues of 14. Rangers back where they belong in two seasons. 14 clubs in each league - play each other twice then split into top 6 bottom 8 (play each other twice again top six playing total 36 games bottom 8 playing total 40 games for much needed extra revenue). All clubs play each other equal home and away.
How can anyone argue with that?:agree:
15-07-2012, 07:06 AM
[QUOTE=CentreLine;3295158]
Do you know what, ive had a little banter tonight, hopfully some haven't taken much offence, but that is a really good post you have posted and thanks for your good wishes.
Are you not forgetting it will not be any adventure as your disgusting colleagues are going to boycott all away games? It is the town councils of these teams who should be thanking you for not turning up and wrecking their towns. Will be interesting to see if your manky mob stick to their boycott. By the way and that I also am firmly in the gtf category when it comes to you.
15-07-2012, 07:15 AM
You wanted it when you knew thats the best you would get.
Yip. A bit like when a bird knocks you back (not that I know anything about that) and you tell your mates "I didnae fancy her anyway. Just asked her for a laugh"
When inside you are seething.
That how all the Huns are feeling right now! And with the running costs of Ibrox and Murray Park around £20m a year I think its only going to get better.
Enjoy.
BarneyK
15-07-2012, 07:36 AM
42 clubs. Should have been split into 3 leagues of 14. Rangers back where they belong in two seasons. 14 clubs in each league - play each other twice then split into top 6 bottom 8 (play each other twice again top six playing total 36 games bottom 8 playing total 40 games for much needed extra revenue). All clubs play each other equal home and away.
How can anyone argue with that?:agree:
It would only result in the Huns being back in 2 seasons if (a) they win the leagues or play-offs, and (b) they were able to implement it in the next couple of weeks. Seems like a good set-up, mind. If there had been a bit more leadership from the Governing bodies before now, it may well have been the solution. Instead they fannied around trying desperately to be seen to be doing something whilst in reality pushing for the status quo.
15-07-2012, 07:45 AM
I notice that although quick to dump Dunfrmline from SPL pages and also to add Ross County to the same. We still have articles and 'rangers' as one of the list4d teams. how long will the denial last?
15-07-2012, 07:50 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/disgusted-chairmen-call-for-sfa-chief-stewart-regan-to-stand-down-1-2412833
Tough for some SPL teams. In recent years we've seen the likes of St Mirren, Killie, St Johnstone and ICT become established SPL clubs with decent teams.
That hasn't been achieved by sustainable spending based on income from their support coming in.
If we have a period of adjustment then it's much needed.
Dalkeith
15-07-2012, 07:53 AM
what would be the impact on game if by 5pm monday newco where back in spl or in div 1?
15-07-2012, 08:02 AM
Because if all the 'erchiehole's' were launched it would be a very sparsely poulated place indeed :wink:
what would be the impact on game if by 5pm monday newco where back in spl or in div 1?
Armageddon. A quick death for Scottish football.
15-07-2012, 08:04 AM
I suspect that Rangers could sue, if they were so inclined. A number of their players, with substantial market value, have walked away on the grounds that they were demoted. I am sure they could evidence others that have not been signed.
Just saying, likes.
15-07-2012, 08:09 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2012/07/15/dundee-united-and-hearts-insist-there-s-no-chance-newco-rangers-will-find-a-way-into-spl-86908-23908629/
DUNDEE UNITED and Hearts last night insisted Rangers newco stand NO chance of being admitted to the SPL or an SPL2 tomorrow. A conference call of the SPL board took place on Friday, outlining the options available following the SFL’s decision to put Gers in the Third Division. And further informal calls between other club chiefs have since taken place ahead of tomorrow’s SPL agm.
United chairman Stephen Thompson, who jetted in today from a family holiday in the USA, told MailSport last night the SPL can’t make a mockery of democracy. He said: “Both scenarios are total non-starters. They have NO chance of happening.” Hearts managing director David Southern also fired out a similar message last night.
It’s understood Aberdeen, St Johnstone, Motherwell, Celtic and Hibs are just as unequivocal on their original decision to refuse the newco a place in the top flight.
15-07-2012, 08:10 AM
Interesting comments from St. Mirren! I wonder who the five clubs are? Killie, Motherwell, ICT, St Mirren look like the obvious ones, but who else? When will our 'leaders' start talking up the Scottish game though? Well said Hertz and Dundee Utd.
Gilmour said: “This is horrific news for St Mirren FC. The consequences are terrible – catastrophic even. I just hope they realise the damage they have done to Scottish football. Five clubs in the SPL could be in administration within weeks – and we will have to do everything we can to avoid being one of them.”
Such feeling has prompted speculation that the SPL 2 plan could yet be revived at tomorrow’s SPL agm but Hearts managing director David Southern cast doubt on that last night. “Anything’s possible for discussion but certainly nothing has been mentioned to us as a club that that is on the agenda for discussion,” Southern said. “We think it would be a very, very short discussion indeed. We are focused on the new season. Rangers, as has been elected, will play in Division Three. That’s how it stands at the moment and that’s how we fully expect it to stand at five o’clock on Monday evening.”
A statement from Dundee United was more emphatic. It said: “For the avoidance of doubt, following yesterday’s vote, the club would not support any counter proposals for the formation of SPL 2 or regarding any other route for The Rangers FC to join the SPL.”
15-07-2012, 08:47 AM
No matter if Sevco play in div 3 or are suspended by the SFA the result will be the same as if the SFL hat votied them in to div 1.
The year long propaganda, scaremongering and no doubt a genuine administration victim or two will ensure Sevco are back in any reconstructed top flight next season and probably without any further sanction.
The chances of a 3 or 4 year delay to a top flight return I would suggest are very near nil.
Unless we hold strong:wink:
15-07-2012, 08:52 AM
When are the Hibs board going to release a statement to let people know where they stand? :confused:
I don't like the silence at all.
15-07-2012, 08:56 AM
Well not only were we struggling we had to compete with more clubs overspending, well I have no sympathy for st mirren and ict. Now we know why they could compete In the top flight. Rangers on a smaller scale. IMO its time to bring in rules to stop this kind of irresponsibility.
15-07-2012, 08:56 AM
Not sure if it's already been suggested, but a worry for me is that clubs like Killiemarnock who now need more punters coming through the gates might attempt to acquire some former Rangers fans by starting to present themselves as a Protestant football club. And so Protestant bile, which has traditionally attached itself to just one big club might, with the demise of that focus, become attached to several smaller ones. This would not be good.
15-07-2012, 09:00 AM
Not sure if it's already been suggested, but a worry for me is that clubs like Killiemarnock who now need more punters coming through the gates might attempt to acquire some former Rangers fans by starting to present themselves as a Protestant football club. And so Protestant bile, which has traditionally attached itself to just one big club might, with the demise of that focus, become attached to several smaller ones. This would not be good.
Haven't killie already had an element of this before?
I doubt the people on the killie board are saying "Lets become bigots and hopefully we can attract some desperate huns".
It's more likely that ex-Rangers fans will just turn up for games, dragging their bile along with them.
15-07-2012, 09:02 AM
Every club has to cut back, will we now try and attract more catholics? :confused: Clubs will try to attract more fans from every faith, and nationality.
15-07-2012, 09:02 AM
This is the best thing that could ever happen to Scottish fitba. We're a tiny nation of 5 million who stupidly based their whole footballing model on that off the most heavily invested (and most debt-ridden leagues) on the planet. If we now find our league being the equivalent of the Irish and Croatian so be it. That's our level. Let those who are "fortunate" enough to be supporting a club in England, France, Germany, Spain and Italy continue to chase European glory and let us just get back to basics and back to football. If Sky f*** off (PLEASE DO!!!!) and we all need to cut back so be it.... Bring it on.
15-07-2012, 09:04 AM
When are the Hibs board going to release a statement to let people know where they stand? :confused:
When Petrie's finished his croissants and logged online to see his name has been mentioned in a leaked email. I'd expect something tomorrow...
15-07-2012, 09:04 AM
They will struggle seeing as ROD is part of the corruption going on at the SFA
15-07-2012, 09:05 AM
Interesting comments from St. Mirren! I wonder who the five clubs are? Killie, Motherwell, ICT, St Mirren look like the obvious ones, but who else? When will our 'leaders' start talking up the Scottish game though? Well said Hertz and Dundee Utd.
I think Killie are the only obvious one. The usual suspects would have been Hearts but Vlad has been throwing money at them lately. The only other one might be Aberdeen but Stewart Milne would have to withdraw his backing, or get pissed off with the amount of abuse his stewardship gets. Same could be said for STF I suppose. United are in a better position this year than last, following the sales last year, although they are more reliant on TV money than some of the others. ICT, St.Mirren and St.J all have little or no debt to carry and Celtic, although they now have the largest debt outside Hearts, are in a good position and can carry it easily.
15-07-2012, 09:08 AM
This is the best thing that could ever happen to Scottish fitba. We're a tiny nation of 5 million who stupidly based their whole footballing model on that off the most heavily invested (and most debt-ridden leagues) on the planet. If we now find our league being the equivalent of the Irish and Croatian so be it. That's our level. Let those who are "fortunate" enough to be supporting a club in England, France, Germany, Spain and Italy continue to chase European glory and let us just get back to basics and back to football. If Sky f*** off (PLEASE DO!!!!) and we all need to cut back so be it.... Bring it on.
Excellent post
Banish the big earners, keep 3-4 experienced pros and let the young boys flourish
15-07-2012, 09:09 AM
Couldn't agree more. :agree:
Besides, if most clubs in the SPL can only attract an average of 5000 (0.001%) of the Scottish population to their grounds, then its clear that we're not doing enough to promote our game.
15-07-2012, 09:11 AM
Any proof to back that statement up Stuart? :confused:
15-07-2012, 09:13 AM
Every club has to cut back, will we now try and attract more catholics? :confused: Clubs will try to attract more fans from every faith, and nationality.
I don't actually know how many DodoHun fans were catholics, but I feel confident that there won't be 50,000 people attending SevcoHuns D3 matches, and that many of those who won't be attending will have enjoyed the sound of the loyal folk songs. Is all I'm saying.
15-07-2012, 09:16 AM
I don't actually know how many DodoHun fans were catholics, but I feel confident that there won't be 50,000 people attending SevcoHuns D3 matches, and that many of those who won't be attending will have enjoyed the sound of the loyal folk songs. Is all I'm saying.
If Hibs went pop tomorrow, would you go and watch Hearts, i imagine they are your nearest club?
I think you are needlessly worrying about nothing here. :wink:
15-07-2012, 09:17 AM
Also if they enjoy the loyal folk songs so much , why would they go somewhere where they are not sung?
15-07-2012, 09:18 AM
If Hibs went pop tomorrow, would you go and watch Hearts, i imagine they are your nearest club?
That would never happen.
As Hearts aren't our closest club.
The fanbase of Leith Athletics would take a sudden upturn though. :wink:
15-07-2012, 09:19 AM
Wait and see.
15-07-2012, 09:22 AM
That would never happen.
As Hearts aren't our closest club.
The fanbase of Leith Athletics would take a sudden upturn though. :wink:
:greengrin I'd forgotten about them.
15-07-2012, 09:24 AM
Wait and see.
I'm hoping your right and knowing our ROD he'll put the necessary spin on it to save his neck !
15-07-2012, 09:25 AM
I would be tempted to watch Hearts if they adopted enough of the things I like about Hibs - for example, if they abandoned their disgusting strips and adopted green tops with white sleeves.
Fitba is an attractive game. If the Huns do actually go pop, 50 thousand people will not disappear.
I'm not really that worried - it's just there's possibly an argument for keeping poison in one place until an effective antidote is invented. :wink:
15-07-2012, 09:28 AM
scotch corner......scotch corner......scotch corner..........
15-07-2012, 09:54 AM
I'm hoping your right and knowing our ROD he'll put the necessary spin on it to save his neck !
It depends Stuart. If Petrie was actually behind it then his position is untenable, given his public utterances.
I suspect something more political though, and I further suspect that Rod is exactly where he wants to be, having played his part (from the inside) in engineering this situation to end up in a place of his choosing.
No votes have went Rangers way have they? Are Rangers in a better position than what we wanted them to be (other than die altogether that is)?
I think if you had asked Rod at the start of all this what the end result should be this would not be far away from his, or our, desired outcome.
Twa Cairpets
15-07-2012, 09:55 AM
Couldn't agree more. :agree:
Besides, if most clubs in the SPL can only attract an average of 5000 (0.001%) of the Scottish population to their grounds, then its clear that we're not doing enough to promote our game.
Your Maths are wrong. It's about 0.1% of the national population.
It's also an irrelevant statistic. Per capita, Scottish football is one of the best attended leagues in the world. As a percentage of population, the only valid figure is local support, which is very high. Hibs have unfortunately the lowest percentage local attending support of any spl team, around 2%. Most clubs attract at least 5% on a match day.
15-07-2012, 10:21 AM
It depends Stuart. If Petrie was actually behind it then his position is untenable, given his public utterances.
I suspect something more political though, and I further suspect that Rod is exactly where he wants to be, having played his part (from the inside) in engineering this situation to end up in a place of his choosing.
No votes have went Rangers way have they? Are Rangers in a better position than what we wanted them to be (other than die altogether that is)?
I think if you had asked Rod at the start of all this what the end result should be this would not be far away from his, or our, desired outcome.
As I said - for Hibs sake I hope yer right mate
ginger_rice
15-07-2012, 10:27 AM
Your Maths are wrong. It's about 0.1% of the national population.
It's also an irrelevant statistic. Per capita, Scottish football is one of the best attended leagues in the world. As a percentage of population, the only valid figure is local support, which is very high. Hibs have unfortunately the lowest percentage local attending support of any spl team, around 2%. Most clubs attract at least 5% on a match day.
I can remember reading years ago that for a club to thrive they needed to attract 10% of the local population on a regular basis, IIRC that was in the mid 70's and may have related to Engurlund. AFAIK didn't RP say that we needed an average of 11k to break even does that figure still stand.
CyberSauzee
15-07-2012, 10:40 AM
Tommo's latest blog
http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thomsons-view/rangers-leaked-email/2305
WTF has Petrie been up to?
Apologies I’ve not been able to get this out in full til now but here’s the email leaked to Channel 4 News last Thursday the details of which I blogged on Friday.
Some club chairmen say that Mr Regan should now resign as a result of what’s going on here, back on June 23rd. That is a matter for them.
The email of June 23 is to:
Scottish Premier League chief exec Neil Doncaster; Scottish Football League boss David Longmuir, SFL President Jim Ballantyne, SFA vice-president Alan McRae, Hibernian FC chief exec Rod Petrie and SPL chairman Ralph Topping.
It seems to me the key points revealed are:
1. SR talks about RFC being “relegated” which isn’t possible since it’s liquidated, not relegated
2. He’s setting up a secret back channel to brief the Ibrox Newco and C Green via Mr Petrie to avoid ‘surprises’
3. The timetable laid out appears to show a catastrophic mis-reading of the mood of both SPL and SFL who clearly called his bluff on all key votes.
4. Dundee into SPL as a fait accompli. Hardly likely to please rival candidates
5. Green must accept the transfer embargo even though this has been ruled unlawful.
Stewart Regan’s email:
”Dear all,
Many thanks for your contribution and support over the last two weeks in trying to deliver a programme of change that will move Scottish football forward whilst addressing the need to deal with the Rangers matter with integrity and in line with our own values as an organisation.
I was hugely encouraged with where we got to last night on a long and tiring phone call and I thank all of you for your efforts to move this issue forward.
I thought it would be helpful if I summarised where I think we are:
1. The Rangers Football Club will be relegated to the 1st Division of the SFL with immediate effect and will be replaced in the SPL by Dundee FC.
2. The television rights for Rangers FC matches in the SFL will be purchased by the SPL for the sum of £1m as a one-off fee for the season 2012/2013.
3. The two leagues will merge into a single league body – The Scottish Professional Football League – effective season 2013/14 – with a working party set up immediately involving representatives from the SPL, SFL and (if required) the Scottish FA to plan the integration of the two bodies – people, rules, rebranding, commercial considerations and so on.
4. A new Board of Directors will be appointed to govern the single league. The make up of this Board will consist of an Independent Chairman, CEO, 3 representatives from the Premier League, 2 representatives from the Championship/Leagues 1 & 2 and 2 Independent Non-Executive Directors.
5. Play-offs will be introduced immediately with the first matches taking place at the end of the coming season 2012/2013.
6. Enhanced parachute payments will be implemented from the end of the season 2012/2013 to soften the landing for club(s) relegated from the Premier League.
7. A revised all-through distribution model will be put in place to provide: a) An all-through distribution model for clubs 1-22 and a minimum guarantee for 20 clubs in Leagues 1 & 2, equivalent to what they would earn under the current settlement agreement.
8. A Pyramid System will be put in place which open up the bottom of League 2 effective from the end of season 2013/2014 with the first opportunity for promoted clubs to enter the league being 2014/15 thus allowing for licensing to take place.
9. Consolidation below the Third Division to take place to create a Lowland & Highland League structure effective 2014/15 with appropriate play-offs and promotion/relegation to be put in place. Clubs to be briefed that the previous season 2013/2014 will involve the opportunity to enter play-offs for the first time.
In terms of actions/timings I think the following needs to happen in this coming week:
A) A joint statement today from all 3 bodies confirming that productive discussions have taken place on a new blueprint for Scottish football. Consultation will continue over the next two weeks with a view to clubs getting together week commencing 2nd July to try and agree the way forward. (D Broadfoot to provide this and circulate to DL/ND for approval)
B) Rod P / Jim B to finalise the all-through financial model by Wednesday this week latest.
C) Neil / David to finalise the detail on Governance, Commercials and Play-Offs (ideally Monday/Tuesday) and incorporate these, plus the financials in B) above into a legally binding Heads of Terms ‘draft’ for presentation to each league body w/c 2nd July.
D) DL to organise SFL Board Meeting w/c 25th June to gain buy-in to the plan and also arrange an all club meeting w/c 2nd July
E) ND to gain support from SPL Clubs 28th June
F) SFL Clubs Meeting to be planned for 3rd July
G) SPL Club Meeting to be planned for 4th July
H) Scottish FA Board to sign off on the final plan post 4th July. Subject to approval all bodies (including Newco) to sign legal documentation.
I) Agree joint communication strategy
J) In parallel to A-D above, could Rod Petrie please brief Charles Green confidentially on the discussions from a Scottish FA perspective so that there are ‘no surprises’ and there is a general acceptance of the plan plus all of the other conditions discussed e.g. transfer embargo, fines, repayment of football debt, waiving rights to legal challenge, acceptance of relegation and so on.
K) Andrew to ensure our check list of disclosures relating to Newco and Fit & Proper Person criteria are delivered by 2nd july. The Board will need these plus the Heads of Terms above in order to complete this plan.
The Scottish FA Board have agreed to provide a one-off restructuring budget of £1m on condition the above plan is delivered.
I hope this covers everything.
Speak soon….now off to the airport!
Regards
Stewart”
15-07-2012, 11:02 AM
:tub4:
Caley now holding emergency board meeting to discuss consequences of Rangers in Div 3. Details on BBC web page.
15-07-2012, 12:39 PM
So now some SPL clubs are coming out and crying foul over this.
Pathetic.
It would appear to me from this that, at least some of them, were assuming we were all stitched up the back. Making noises about integrity, but hoping that the SFL clubs would simply bend over and screw their own fans in the process, having their cake and eating it too, as it where. At least Killie's Chairman has had the balls to be open about his views throughout, I respect that more than the St Mirrens and ICT's stances in all honesty.
Perhaps if there had been more spine in our game, and this had all been sorted out months ago, there'd have been more time for clubs to adjust, rather than leaving it till the last possible minute. Hell at this point even if Rangers are let back into the SPL on Monday, I can't see them producing a squad that would be a stick on for Top 6 football.
Some folk at the upper end of our game really need to wake up.
15-07-2012, 12:49 PM
So now some SPL clubs are coming out and crying foul over this.
Pathetic.
It would appear to me from this that, at least some of them, were assuming we were all stitched up the back. Making noises about integrity, but hoping that the SFL clubs would simply bend over and screw their own fans in the process, having their cake and eating it too, as it where. At least Killie's Chairman has had the balls to be open about his views throughout, I respect that more than the St Mirrens and ICT's stances in all honesty.
Perhaps if there had been more spine in our game, and this had all been sorted out months ago, there'd have been more time for clubs to adjust, rather than leaving it till the last possible minute. Hell at this point even if Rangers are let back into the SPL on Monday, I can't see them producing a squad that would be a stick on for Top 6 football.
Some folk at the upper end of our game really need to wake up.
St Mirren and ICT are just panicing because they know that with their lack of finances, they are far more likely to face the fear of relegation at the end of the season.
The way I see it..... if you can't survive in the SPL, except relegation and let the next team in.
No clubs will be going bust if they don't spend more than what they can afford. Simples.
15-07-2012, 12:58 PM
St Mirren and ICT are just panicing because they know that with their lack of finances, they are far more likely to face the fear of relegation at the end of the season.
The way I see it..... if you can't survive in the SPL, except relegation and let the next team in.
No clubs will be going bust if they don't spend more than what they can afford. Simples.
:agree: Clubs will just have to live within their means, in every other walk of life that is what you do. Why does football think its any different?
No club should run their business relying on 1 or 2 visits a season from one club
15-07-2012, 01:07 PM
Great article on STV site regarding QOS statement.
Queen of the South claim SPL 'has failed its clubs and Scottish football’
Queen of the South have attacked Scottish football’s governing bodies over their handling of which league a Rangers newco will play in this season.
In a statement explaining why they votes yes to Charles Green’s new company playing in the First Division, the Second Division side accused senior members of the SFA and SPL of "focusing on and exaggerating the possible 'Armageddon' rather than rallying and actively trying to find solutions" to the issue. The Palmerston side said they feared that the opportunity of introducing league reconstruction would be lost, claiming “the message from the governing bodies was that, even with a 'no' vote, they would continue to pursue the newco Rangers playing in one of the top two tiers next season”.
Dundee United and Hearts have moved to quash speculation that discussions over an SPL2 could be held during Monday’s SPL AGM.
Queen of the South have called on the three bodies running the game to introduce "badly needed" reconstruction measures such as play-offs between the top tier and First Division.
In a statement on their official website, the club said: “Scottish football is badly in need of reconstruction.
“The SPL has failed. It has failed as an organisation to attract the level of sponsorship, TV deals etc, that were the very reason for its creation. It has failed its clubs and Scottish football as a whole, not least in its handling of this situation.
“Three governing bodies are too many and Scottish football should be reorganised under one governing body that can represent and be responsible for all of the clubs. “The real risk, therefore, was that we would end up with Rangers newco not in Division Three anyway but with none of the benefits of league reconstruction or additional revenue for the SFL: the vote, in effect, becoming 'Newco in Division One with benefits' v 'Newco in top two tiers with no benefits'. “We felt that if there was any chance of getting league reconstruction, and the other overall benefits to the game, that we had to vote 'yes'.
“These changes are long overdue and we urge the governing bodies to continue working towards these proposals, even on the back of the 'no' vote. The fact is these proposals should have been proposed and considered separately from the Rangers issue in the first place.”
Governing bodies
In recent days the pressure has increased on SFA chief executive Stewart Regan and his SPL counterpart Neil Doncaster.
Regan has spoken of a "slow, lingering death" for Scottish football should a newco play in the bottom tier of the game.
While praising the role of SFL chief executive David Longmuir, the Dumfries-based side criticised both Regan and Doncaster for their conduct.
They said: “We have been incredibly disappointed and angry at the actions and leadership of the senior members of the SFA and SPL throughout this whole saga. There have been statements, both public and private, that have amounted to little more than threats.
“The dialogue has been negative, focusing on and exaggerating the possible 'armageddon' rather than rallying and actively trying to find solutions that all clubs and, more importantly, supporters would feel comfortable supporting.
“Instead we were presented with a set of proposals that no-one was happy with. More importantly, the message from the governing bodies was that, even with a 'no' vote, they would continue to pursue the newco Rangers playing in one of the top two tiers next season.”
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/queen-of-south/110965-queen-of-the-south-claim-spl-has-failed-its-clubs-and-scottish-football/?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
15-07-2012, 01:09 PM
100% correct.
If some teams have to pay the price for their spending policies, so be it. Teams have went into admin before and emerged just fine, it only becomes a problem if you're stupid enough to owe all your money to the Revenue!
I firmly expect the league to expand at the end of the season to save the SPL clubs from relegation anyway...
Big Ed
15-07-2012, 01:40 PM
I firmly expect the league to expand at the end of the season to save the SPL clubs from relegation anyway...
I think Sevco United (or whatever they call themselves) and their followers might have something to say about that.
15-07-2012, 02:09 PM
I think Sevco United (or whatever they call themselves) and their followers might have something to say about that.
They will not have much of an input into this as they will not even get a vote in the SFL!
I think enlargement will be on the agenda to get Sevco back in the top league within two years.
...WentToMowAnSPL
15-07-2012, 02:28 PM
If you want a laugh newsnow.co.uk are no longer showing rangers in the list of teams under SPL !
Http://newsnow.co.uk/h/Sport/Football/SPL
15-07-2012, 03:33 PM
Tommo's latest blog
http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thomsons-view/rangers-leaked-email/2305
WTF has Petrie been up to?
Apologies I’ve not been able to get this out in full til now but here’s the email leaked to Channel 4 News last Thursday the details of which I blogged on Friday.
Some club chairmen say that Mr Regan should now resign as a result of what’s going on here, back on June 23rd. That is a matter for them.
The email of June 23 is to:
Scottish Premier League chief exec Neil Doncaster; Scottish Football League boss David Longmuir, SFL President Jim Ballantyne, SFA vice-president Alan McRae, Hibernian FC chief exec Rod Petrie and SPL chairman Ralph Topping.
It seems to me the key points revealed are:
1. SR talks about RFC being “relegated” which isn’t possible since it’s liquidated, not relegated
2. He’s setting up a secret back channel to brief the Ibrox Newco and C Green via Mr Petrie to avoid ‘surprises’
3. The timetable laid out appears to show a catastrophic mis-reading of the mood of both SPL and SFL who clearly called his bluff on all key votes.
4. Dundee into SPL as a fait accompli. Hardly likely to please rival candidates
5. Green must accept the transfer embargo even though this has been ruled unlawful.
Stewart Regan’s email:
”Dear all,
Many thanks for your contribution and support over the last two weeks in trying to deliver a programme of change that will move Scottish football forward whilst addressing the need to deal with the Rangers matter with integrity and in line with our own values as an organisation.
I was hugely encouraged with where we got to last night on a long and tiring phone call and I thank all of you for your efforts to move this issue forward.
I thought it would be helpful if I summarised where I think we are:
1. The Rangers Football Club will be relegated to the 1st Division of the SFL with immediate effect and will be replaced in the SPL by Dundee FC.
2. The television rights for Rangers FC matches in the SFL will be purchased by the SPL for the sum of £1m as a one-off fee for the season 2012/2013.
3. The two leagues will merge into a single league body – The Scottish Professional Football League – effective season 2013/14 – with a working party set up immediately involving representatives from the SPL, SFL and (if required) the Scottish FA to plan the integration of the two bodies – people, rules, rebranding, commercial considerations and so on.
4. A new Board of Directors will be appointed to govern the single league. The make up of this Board will consist of an Independent Chairman, CEO, 3 representatives from the Premier League, 2 representatives from the Championship/Leagues 1 & 2 and 2 Independent Non-Executive Directors.
5. Play-offs will be introduced immediately with the first matches taking place at the end of the coming season 2012/2013.
6. Enhanced parachute payments will be implemented from the end of the season 2012/2013 to soften the landing for club(s) relegated from the Premier League.
7. A revised all-through distribution model will be put in place to provide: a) An all-through distribution model for clubs 1-22 and a minimum guarantee for 20 clubs in Leagues 1 & 2, equivalent to what they would earn under the current settlement agreement.
8. A Pyramid System will be put in place which open up the bottom of League 2 effective from the end of season 2013/2014 with the first opportunity for promoted clubs to enter the league being 2014/15 thus allowing for licensing to take place.
9. Consolidation below the Third Division to take place to create a Lowland & Highland League structure effective 2014/15 with appropriate play-offs and promotion/relegation to be put in place. Clubs to be briefed that the previous season 2013/2014 will involve the opportunity to enter play-offs for the first time.
In terms of actions/timings I think the following needs to happen in this coming week:
A) A joint statement today from all 3 bodies confirming that productive discussions have taken place on a new blueprint for Scottish football. Consultation will continue over the next two weeks with a view to clubs getting together week commencing 2nd July to try and agree the way forward. (D Broadfoot to provide this and circulate to DL/ND for approval)
B) Rod P / Jim B to finalise the all-through financial model by Wednesday this week latest.
C) Neil / David to finalise the detail on Governance, Commercials and Play-Offs (ideally Monday/Tuesday) and incorporate these, plus the financials in B) above into a legally binding Heads of Terms ‘draft’ for presentation to each league body w/c 2nd July.
D) DL to organise SFL Board Meeting w/c 25th June to gain buy-in to the plan and also arrange an all club meeting w/c 2nd July
E) ND to gain support from SPL Clubs 28th June
F) SFL Clubs Meeting to be planned for 3rd July
G) SPL Club Meeting to be planned for 4th July
H) Scottish FA Board to sign off on the final plan post 4th July. Subject to approval all bodies (including Newco) to sign legal documentation.
I) Agree joint communication strategy
J) In parallel to A-D above, could Rod Petrie please brief Charles Green confidentially on the discussions from a Scottish FA perspective so that there are ‘no surprises’ and there is a general acceptance of the plan plus all of the other conditions discussed e.g. transfer embargo, fines, repayment of football debt, waiving rights to legal challenge, acceptance of relegation and so on.
K) Andrew to ensure our check list of disclosures relating to Newco and Fit & Proper Person criteria are delivered by 2nd july. The Board will need these plus the Heads of Terms above in order to complete this plan.
The Scottish FA Board have agreed to provide a one-off restructuring budget of £1m on condition the above plan is delivered.
I hope this covers everything.
Speak soon….now off to the airport!
Regards
Stewart”
This is as good as Regan's letter of resignation. And IMHO, this email would not have become public had it been leaked to the usual Scottish media. We really need to keep guys like Alex Thomson (C4 News) in Scottish Football. He more than anyone has got under the skin of the under-hand, murky dealings of the SFA, SPL and OF over the last few months.
Hibby_G
15-07-2012, 03:33 PM
yep then hearts are next
15-07-2012, 03:38 PM
And IMHO, this email would not have become public had it been leaked to the usual Scottish media. We really need to keep guys like Alex Thomson (C4 News) in Scottish Football. He more than anyone has got under the skin of the under-hand, murky dealings of the SFA, SPL and OF over the last few months.Normally I'd completely agree with you, but actually in this case the Telegraph published the email before Thomson did. He's been talking about the email for some days, but he was second in this particular race.
15-07-2012, 03:56 PM
Normally I'd completely agree with you, but actually in this case the Telegraph published the email before Thomson did. He's been talking about the email for some days, but he was second in this particular race.
Probably because he didn't want to come out with it until he was 100% certain that the email was genuine.
Papers on the other hand will release anything, regardless of whether its conformed facts or not.
15-07-2012, 04:07 PM
SFA asked to respond to FIFA re Rangers players' transfers
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11788/7902904/FIFA-requests-SFA-answers
The Scottish Football Association has been asked to provide information by FIFA about why former Rangers players have been blocked from continuing their careers elsewhere. The SFA has been unable to process international clearance for the likes of Steven Naismith and Steven Davis, who exercised their right to leave the club under employment law when Sevco Scotland bought the assets of Rangers, following an objection from those in charge at Ibrox.
The matter is now in the hands of FIFA, who have written to Scotland's governing body seeking information. One of the players, Kyle Lafferty, had been expected to make his competitive debut for Sion on Sunday but the Swiss club did not include him in their squad for their victory over Grasshoppers.
Lawyer Margaret Gribbon, who represents seven of the players, has asked the SFA to move quickly to ensure they are able to relaunch their careers. Gribbon said: "Following the refusal of the SFA to issue players registrations, the new clubs have all referred the matter to FIFA. "FIFA have now written to the SFA in each case requesting reasons why the players' registrations were blocked. "It remains entirely unclear the facts and matters upon which Rangers oldco and Rangers newco rely in order to support their position that the players acted in breach of contract. "Presumably they have made their reasons known to the SFA and if so, these have not been shared with my law firm, Bridge Litigation, who represent the majority of the players. "FIFA have given the SFA seven days to respond but it is hoped that given the straightforward nature of the request the SFA will be in a position to reply sooner. "We remain confident that FIFA will grant ITC (International Transfer Clearance) enabling the players to continue playing football with their new clubs."
Sevco chief executive Charles Green has argued that the players were in breach of contract when they joined other clubs but PFA Scotland believe their members were free agents.
Among the players to leave Rangers this summer, Naismith has linked up with Everton, Davis has gone to Southampton, Steven Whittaker has signed for Norwich and Jamie Ness has joined Stoke. As well as Davis, Ness and Lafferty, Gribbon represents Allan McGregor, Rhys McCabe, Sone Aluko, and John Fleck.
15-07-2012, 04:43 PM
Could somebody PLEASE tell me when Duff and Duffer are finished and BDO take over?????
Thanks in advance.
Brando7
15-07-2012, 06:24 PM
Just been sent this not sure if it real or not tho
Mr John Paul Clark/ Mr David John Whitehouse
Duff & Phelps
43-45PORTMAN SQUARE WH1 6LY
LONDON
15th July 2012
Dear Sirs
THE RANGERS FOOTBALL CLUB PLC (IN ADMINISTRATION)
I refer to our telephone conversation on the 9th July 2012, letter of 11th July 2012 and my letter of same regarding the above. I refer also to my telephone conversation on the 11th July 2012 at 11.02pm to which I still await a response.
I now am pleased to confirm that on the 14th July 2012 I became a shareholder in the above company by way of a private sale. My share certificate number is C0697808442.
The Rangers Football Club PLC is still de facto an active company and only de jure in administration still permitting the company to trade. I am aware that the assets of the company were sold and I have now received a full report on the per se liabilities and contingent liabilities.
I have to say that prima facia in February 2012 based upon the balance sheet that I have seen I am somewhat surprised that Craig Whyte deemed the ‘company’ insolvent. I now require immediate answers to questions regarding the state of the company both before Administration and to date.
In order that there are no misunderstandings I submit that at the time of Administration namely St. Valentine’s Day (14th February) 2012 the said company was not ‘insolvent’ and that the assets exceeded the liabilities.
I also submit that since May 2011 a sum in the region of £50 million was at worst stolen at best misappropriated from the company with the knowledge of many that at the time were involved in the company including but not limited to bankers, lawyers, accountants, and other professionals.
I submit that Messrs’ Lloyds Bank PLC permitted in excess of £30 million that should have been paid to The Rangers Football Club PLC was actually deposited and paid into the account of The Rangers FC Ltd (formerly known as Wavetower Ltd) and that Wavetower Limited changed its name solely for the purposes of ensuring any payments made to The Rangers Football PLC be deposited into the account of The Rangers FC Ltd hoping the bank would either inadvertently/negligently (at best) purposefully (at worst) would permit such. Since the amounts are by no means small it is clear that as Administrators you have taken no steps to deal with this.
I also submit that although your firm “considered the ethical guidelines within the IPA” your appointment per se contravenes s.994 of The Companies Act 2006:
(1)A member of a company may apply to the court by petition for an order under this Part on the ground—
(a) that the company’s affairs are being or have been conducted in a manner that is unfairly prejudicial to the interests of members generally or of some part of its members (including at least himself), or
(b) that an actual or proposed act or omission of the company (including an act or omission on its behalf) is or would be so prejudicial.
Your firm acquired MCR BC which advised Craig Whyte on the acquisition of the majority shareholding from Sir David Murray. It was further retained, by your own admissions and documents we have seen, to advise on structural matters post acquisition.
I am not convinced that representations you made to HMRC regarding the level of involvement in the pre-Administration era were necessary the whole truth. Notwithstanding that you have cited officially that HMRC ‘were aware’ of your involvement and did not object to your appointment you have produced no document to substantiate such a claim.
As you are supposedly experienced insolvency practitioners you will of course be aware the meaning of the word ‘insolvent’ and its legal ramifications.
On the 14th February 2012 the company held in its bank account in cleared funds (cash) £3,373,170 yet according to reports leaked to the media the company was unable to pay its contribution to HMRC of less than £300,000. I note that on the 14th February 2012 at 13.07pm the said amount was transferred from the company’s account with the Bank of Scotland to your account.
According to information that has been supplied to me since February 2012 to date your firm has received nearly £20,000,000 in fees together with over £5,000,000 in fees to lawyers engaged by your firm. £2.7 million in fees was also paid by Charles Green as a condition of your firm selling the assets of the company to his company Sevco 5088 Ltd which in fact is now Sevco Scotland Ltd even though negotiations had previously been with Sevco 5088 Ltd.
All in all none of those companies have produced accounts or a business plan capable of proper scrutiny and review yet a commodity such as Ibrox Park and Murray Park was sold for £5.5 million with the condition that over half the same amount was also paid in legal fees.
Substantial monies were also paid to Lambert Smith who provided supposedly a valuation and other monies were paid to other agents and advisors.
Between 14th February 2012 and 20th March 2012 the company received just over one million pounds in revenue (£1,055,870) and it appears that money has been used for the costs of administration. The same story it can be said in the months of April and May.
I also note that the company was at one time a member or an associate member of the FSA via registration through a company called Origen Financial Services Ltd that started its life as Bondco 767 Ltd on the 10th March 2000 then changed its name to Momentum Financial Services Ltd on the 2nd March 2005 and ultimately became Origen trading from Farnborough in Hampshire.
Although your firm made an application to the Court of Session on the 19th March 2012 the order granting validity to your appointment was founded upon (a) truthful and accurate statements made to the Court and (b) that the costs of the application would be borne by your firm and not from the Administration.
Brando7
15-07-2012, 06:25 PM
Part 2
In order to make clear again I contend that neither was complied with and further if that contention is correct the validity of your appointment per se is further in doubt and a nullity.
I require a full explanation and supporting documents with regard to the shares the Company held in Arsenal Holdings PLC. The company owned historically 16 shares and sold such using the services of an FSA broker Pritchard which was a company ‘owned’ by Craig Whyte although he appeared solely as a company secretary. The amount involved was slightly under £250,000. What actions/steps have you taken to secure the return of those monies that are held in an account that is subject to injunction? According to information received an agreement was reached in May of this year yet I now seek full disclosure.
I need not remind you that your firm are under a Statutory Duty to investigate the affairs of the company in accordance with the Insolvency Act 1986. Transactions that were carried out at undervalue as per s.238; fraudulent preferences as per s.239 and of course transactions to defraud creditors as per s.423. The difficulties in all of the three above are that your firm was involved at all levels of day to day management during the Craig Whyte regime making it impossible to effectively and with transparency undertake such a Statutory Duty. In simple words you would effectively be conducting an investigation into your own conduct.
I also seek sight of the Collyer Bristow Solicitors files especially as million seemed to have ‘gone through’ their client account. I shall be filing a notice with the Law Society since it would appear that whilst all of the dramatis personae are busy suing each other no one seems to have bothered making a report to the Law Society into the manner upon which the said esteemed law firm was able to handle millions without having carried out the Statutory Guidelines imposed by legislation and by the Law Society in money laundering.
In May 2011 approximately (I am awaiting documentation at the time of writing) £26,000,000 was paid to Collyer Bristow Solicitors by Ticketus as an advance fee on season ticket sales for the following three seasons but of which only £19,700,000 would be due to The Rangers Football Club PLC the difference of course in professional fees.
The reason the amount was paid to Collyer Bristow Solicitors was in order that any sums due to the Rangers Football Club PLC would only be paid once Craig Whyte had completed his acquisition of the club. Ticketus were thus relying on Craig Whyte completing his acquisition and I now understand that Sir David Murray was seriously misled into believing Craig Whyte had the financial resources by showing a letter from Collyer Bristow Solicitors evidencing proof of funds.
Of course your firm would have known that since it was your firm that advised Craig Whyte on this matter and of course Collyer Bristow Solicitors would also have known such. The letter from Collyer Bristow Solicitors is facsimile to the ‘letters of comfort’ that Roberto Calvi held from the Vatican Bank which permitted him to extend his fraud in Italy and fool the Italian Central Bank.
In June 2011 your firm duly advised Craig Whyte to pay Ticketus £3,000,000 and a further £5,000,000 in September 2011 and your fees and legal fees of such were in the region of £1,000,000. The said sums were not due to Ticketus since they had advanced monies on ticket sales for the following three years and incidentally on a rate of interest that would qualify as usury. I understand also that Ticketus was in fact introduced by MCR BC which in itself would be a serious conflict of interest.
In September 2011 a day after The Rangers Football Club PLC paid £5,000,000 to Ticketus supposedly in repayment of its obligation under the advance made Ticketus paid the same amount of £5,000,000 as a further advance at exorbitant interest rate to the client account of Collyer Bristow Solicitors. This payment lacks common sense and suggest an open scheme of money laundering and adds to the fuel of allegations that Craig Whyte was being effectively induced at best blackmailed at worst into taking decisions he would not normally.
I fail to comprehend the manner upon which you have failed so openly in your statutory duties to a Company that should never have been in this position.
On the 5th February 2012 the SFA opened an investigation into monies due to Dundee United Football Club over a competition match that was played on 5th February 2012. Yet at the time the amount The Rangers Football Club PLC held in its account was in excess of £4 million. Of course Craig Whyte was well aware that professional fees were due and he invariable considered those to be more priorities than paying for tickets that as I understand are always paid late by clubs but nonetheless paid.
A complaint was then made against Rangers Football Club PLC to the SFA that frankly made little sense other than to ensure that Craig Whyte would be blamed for all wrongs and torts and the professional advisors would seem to be the ‘save what one can’ brigade. The complaints made, not properly explained by whom amount to the following which the SFA claim to be violations of the disciplinary code: (i) failure to disclose that Craig Whyte had previously been a disqualified director (ii) failure to ensure that Craig Whyte acted in accordance with the disciplinary code as per previous (iii) suffering an insolvent event (iv) bringing the game into disrepute (v) failure to pay ticket monies to Dunfermline.
The obligations of disclosure fell upon Craig Whyte and not Rangers Football Club PLC. The company was not insolvent and if anyone has brought the game per se into disrepute it has been the bankers, lawyers and insolvency practitioners. The failure to pay ticket monies to Dunfermline could easily have been remedied since on 12th February 2012 there was over £3m in the company’s bank account and the SFA hearing was rescheduled to a date when your firm were (unfortunately) administrators and could have paid that.
At all material times you were aware that Craig Whyte had been a disqualified director even though his disqualification period ended in 2007. There was per se nothing unlawful in him participating in the management of any company yet his fear of exposure induced him into taking actions that he would not normally have taken.
Whyte however, was made to believe that if the said information came to light he would face ‘serious consequences’ and possible ‘criminal sanctions’ according to an email that I have seen from MCR BC to Mr Whyte. As I have stated publicly fear is the fuel of blackmailers and directly and/or indirectly Mr Whyte was placed in a position whereby he feared exposure. When Mr Whyte was no longer prepared to ‘pay the exorbitant professional fees,’ in exchange for his antecedents not being revealed, a member of MCR BC ‘tipped off’ the BBC into his antecedents which permitted the BBC to film the expose on Mr Whyte.
Mr Whyte was also persuaded into appointing your firm as administrators in order to (according to an email) ‘soften the blow’ and allow him to escape any potential penal sanctions. Since this debacle has tentacles at the very pillar of Scottish society financial, professional and political only if your firm obtained the appointment could much of what was known to many be not exposed.
The rest is history.
I submit that Rangers Football Club PLC has (i) been subjected to a deliberate perpetrated fraud in excess of £50,000,000 (ii) never insolvent as it held almost £3.5 million cash in the bank as of February 2012 (iii) your appointment is seriously unfair and prejudicial to the shareholders and as a consequence as a shareholder I reserve the right to make an application in my own name to the Court under s.994 of the Companies Act 2006 evidencing the above and other material.
You will appreciate that if my contentions are correct as they are then Rangers Football Club PLC should never have faced any disciplinary from the SFA, never received a points deduction, never been made subject to Administration, never been expelled from the SPL and any other sanction that it has been subject to.
The damages to the Company and the club are recoverable from your firm, your insurers, and any third party that has acted as a result of the Administration.
I seek the return of all the monies obtained by your firm, legal fees, and any other professional fees which on a conservative estimate are in the region of £25,000,000 to be placed into an account at either the Court of Session or The High Court of Justice and that any further prejudicial or unfair acts in disposing of assets cease forthwith.
It causes no joy or satisfaction at having to submit this letter since the contents demonstrate a failure in the control systems that Parliament and the legislators have drafted and re-drafted
for the last 30 years. The tentacles of corruption here have extended even into ensuring the Parliament in Westminster adjourn/vacate the enquiry into the state of Scottish Football and the Rangers Affair sine die simply because its findings would be an alarm to the faithful supporters and those who believe in fairness and non-discrimination.
In light of the content of this letter I will be sending a copy to the SFA/SPL/SFL.
It follows that time is of the essence and I urge upon you an immediate response.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Yours sincerely
Giovanni Di Stefano
15-07-2012, 06:30 PM
Could somebody PLEASE tell me when Duff and Duffer are finished and BDO take over?????
Thanks in advance.
According to their report the other day, there are some things that D &P have still to finalise, before they can start the liquidation process and hand over to BDO.
Like ordering new shredding machines :greengrin
15-07-2012, 06:33 PM
Part 2
In order to make clear again I contend that neither was complied with and further if that contention is correct the validity of your appointment per se is further in doubt and a nullity.
I require a full explanation and supporting documents with regard to the shares the Company held in Arsenal Holdings PLC. The company owned historically 16 shares and sold such using the services of an FSA broker Pritchard which was a company ‘owned’ by Craig Whyte although he appeared solely as a company secretary. The amount involved was slightly under £250,000. What actions/steps have you taken to secure the return of those monies that are held in an account that is subject to injunction? According to information received an agreement was reached in May of this year yet I now seek full disclosure.
I need not remind you that your firm are under a Statutory Duty to investigate the affairs of the company in accordance with the Insolvency Act 1986. Transactions that were carried out at undervalue as per s.238; fraudulent preferences as per s.239 and of course transactions to defraud creditors as per s.423. The difficulties in all of the three above are that your firm was involved at all levels of day to day management during the Craig Whyte regime making it impossible to effectively and with transparency undertake such a Statutory Duty. In simple words you would effectively be conducting an investigation into your own conduct.
I also seek sight of the Collyer Bristow Solicitors files especially as million seemed to have ‘gone through’ their client account. I shall be filing a notice with the Law Society since it would appear that whilst all of the dramatis personae are busy suing each other no one seems to have bothered making a report to the Law Society into the manner upon which the said esteemed law firm was able to handle millions without having carried out the Statutory Guidelines imposed by legislation and by the Law Society in money laundering.
In May 2011 approximately (I am awaiting documentation at the time of writing) £26,000,000 was paid to Collyer Bristow Solicitors by Ticketus as an advance fee on season ticket sales for the following three seasons but of which only £19,700,000 would be due to The Rangers Football Club PLC the difference of course in professional fees.
The reason the amount was paid to Collyer Bristow Solicitors was in order that any sums due to the Rangers Football Club PLC would only be paid once Craig Whyte had completed his acquisition of the club. Ticketus were thus relying on Craig Whyte completing his acquisition and I now understand that Sir David Murray was seriously misled into believing Craig Whyte had the financial resources by showing a letter from Collyer Bristow Solicitors evidencing proof of funds.
Of course your firm would have known that since it was your firm that advised Craig Whyte on this matter and of course Collyer Bristow Solicitors would also have known such. The letter from Collyer Bristow Solicitors is facsimile to the ‘letters of comfort’ that Roberto Calvi held from the Vatican Bank which permitted him to extend his fraud in Italy and fool the Italian Central Bank.
In June 2011 your firm duly advised Craig Whyte to pay Ticketus £3,000,000 and a further £5,000,000 in September 2011 and your fees and legal fees of such were in the region of £1,000,000. The said sums were not due to Ticketus since they had advanced monies on ticket sales for the following three years and incidentally on a rate of interest that would qualify as usury. I understand also that Ticketus was in fact introduced by MCR BC which in itself would be a serious conflict of interest.
In September 2011 a day after The Rangers Football Club PLC paid £5,000,000 to Ticketus supposedly in repayment of its obligation under the advance made Ticketus paid the same amount of £5,000,000 as a further advance at exorbitant interest rate to the client account of Collyer Bristow Solicitors. This payment lacks common sense and suggest an open scheme of money laundering and adds to the fuel of allegations that Craig Whyte was being effectively induced at best blackmailed at worst into taking decisions he would not normally.
I fail to comprehend the manner upon which you have failed so openly in your statutory duties to a Company that should never have been in this position.
On the 5th February 2012 the SFA opened an investigation into monies due to Dundee United Football Club over a competition match that was played on 5th February 2012. Yet at the time the amount The Rangers Football Club PLC held in its account was in excess of £4 million. Of course Craig Whyte was well aware that professional fees were due and he invariable considered those to be more priorities than paying for tickets that as I understand are always paid late by clubs but nonetheless paid.
A complaint was then made against Rangers Football Club PLC to the SFA that frankly made little sense other than to ensure that Craig Whyte would be blamed for all wrongs and torts and the professional advisors would seem to be the ‘save what one can’ brigade. The complaints made, not properly explained by whom amount to the following which the SFA claim to be violations of the disciplinary code: (i) failure to disclose that Craig Whyte had previously been a disqualified director (ii) failure to ensure that Craig Whyte acted in accordance with the disciplinary code as per previous (iii) suffering an insolvent event (iv) bringing the game into disrepute (v) failure to pay ticket monies to Dunfermline.
The obligations of disclosure fell upon Craig Whyte and not Rangers Football Club PLC. The company was not insolvent and if anyone has brought the game per se into disrepute it has been the bankers, lawyers and insolvency practitioners. The failure to pay ticket monies to Dunfermline could easily have been remedied since on 12th February 2012 there was over £3m in the company’s bank account and the SFA hearing was rescheduled to a date when your firm were (unfortunately) administrators and could have paid that.
At all material times you were aware that Craig Whyte had been a disqualified director even though his disqualification period ended in 2007. There was per se nothing unlawful in him participating in the management of any company yet his fear of exposure induced him into taking actions that he would not normally have taken.
Whyte however, was made to believe that if the said information came to light he would face ‘serious consequences’ and possible ‘criminal sanctions’ according to an email that I have seen from MCR BC to Mr Whyte. As I have stated publicly fear is the fuel of blackmailers and directly and/or indirectly Mr Whyte was placed in a position whereby he feared exposure. When Mr Whyte was no longer prepared to ‘pay the exorbitant professional fees,’ in exchange for his antecedents not being revealed, a member of MCR BC ‘tipped off’ the BBC into his antecedents which permitted the BBC to film the expose on Mr Whyte.
Mr Whyte was also persuaded into appointing your firm as administrators in order to (according to an email) ‘soften the blow’ and allow him to escape any potential penal sanctions. Since this debacle has tentacles at the very pillar of Scottish society financial, professional and political only if your firm obtained the appointment could much of what was known to many be not exposed.
The rest is history.
I submit that Rangers Football Club PLC has (i) been subjected to a deliberate perpetrated fraud in excess of £50,000,000 (ii) never insolvent as it held almost £3.5 million cash in the bank as of February 2012 (iii) your appointment is seriously unfair and prejudicial to the shareholders and as a consequence as a shareholder I reserve the right to make an application in my own name to the Court under s.994 of the Companies Act 2006 evidencing the above and other material.
You will appreciate that if my contentions are correct as they are then Rangers Football Club PLC should never have faced any disciplinary from the SFA, never received a points deduction, never been made subject to Administration, never been expelled from the SPL and any other sanction that it has been subject to.
The damages to the Company and the club are recoverable from your firm, your insurers, and any third party that has acted as a result of the Administration.
I seek the return of all the monies obtained by your firm, legal fees, and any other professional fees which on a conservative estimate are in the region of £25,000,000 to be placed into an account at either the Court of Session or The High Court of Justice and that any further prejudicial or unfair acts in disposing of assets cease forthwith.
It causes no joy or satisfaction at having to submit this letter since the contents demonstrate a failure in the control systems that Parliament and the legislators have drafted and re-drafted
for the last 30 years. The tentacles of corruption here have extended even into ensuring the Parliament in Westminster adjourn/vacate the enquiry into the state of Scottish Football and the Rangers Affair sine die simply because its findings would be an alarm to the faithful supporters and those who believe in fairness and non-discrimination.
In light of the content of this letter I will be sending a copy to the SFA/SPL/SFL.
It follows that time is of the essence and I urge upon you an immediate response.
I look forward to hearing from you.
Yours sincerely
Giovanni Di Stefano
I think there is the problem, him being sincere i just dont believe it. :wink:
I have no idea if this is correct or not, but if this is a real letter it can only drag this whole fiasco on even longer. And in my book thats to the detriment of sevco, i'm all for that. :wink:
15-07-2012, 06:34 PM
Harold Shipman, Saddam Hussein, chemical Ali, Gary Glitter, Ian Brady, Van Hugstratton and now Rangers
You have to agree De Stefano is pretty consistent in the kind of people he defends Haha what a mentalist
15-07-2012, 06:49 PM
According to their report the other day, there are some things that D &P have still to finalise, before they can start the liquidation process and hand over to BDO.
Like ordering new shredding machines :greengrin
Thanks for the reply.
I'm still confused though. How long exactly are they allowed to put off leaving and, presumably, somehow still making money from this? Surely The Liquidators should now be in place? :dunno:
15-07-2012, 06:53 PM
Thanks for the reply.
I'm still confused though. How long exactly are they allowed to put off leaving and, presumably, somehow still making money from this? Surely The Liquidators should now be in place? :dunno:
There will be administrative things still to be done..... one of which was the report they issued the other day. IIRC, they had to wait 30 days from the CVA before they could start putting it to bed.
I reckon BDO will be in within the next few weeks.
sh00byd00
15-07-2012, 06:53 PM
Make any excuses you want or bury your head in the sand, but Petrie is a ****ing disgrace. I don't believe a word that cretin utters and the sooner he's gone from our club the better.
15-07-2012, 06:57 PM
Make any excuses you want or bury your head in the sand, but Petrie is a ****ing disgrace. I don't believe a word that cretin utters and the sooner he's gone from our club the better.
Thanks, Fife. :wink:
LeighLoyal
15-07-2012, 06:58 PM
On Giovanni.... Sounds like good stuff. The more complicated and mired in court action the hun situation gets the more likely the whole rotten mob and its Sevco reincarnation might snuff it for good. Would be too good to be true!
15-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Sounds like good stuff. The more complicated and mired in court action the hun situation gets the more likely the whole rotten mob and its Sevco reincarnation might snuff it for good. Would be too god to be true!
TBH, all the stuff that letter mentions should be reviewed by the Liquidators anyway.
They do say "your enemy's enemy is your friend", but I'm not yet ready to call Di Stefano my mate....:greengrin
15-07-2012, 07:03 PM
On Giovanni.... Sounds like good stuff. The more complicated and mired in court action the hun situation gets the more likely the whole rotten mob and its Sevco reincarnation might snuff it for good. Would be too good to be true!
Unfortunately that isn't the way things work in this country.
As soon as something becomes too complicated, everybody simply turns a blind eye to it.
People don't want to have to think too hard about anything, thats the problem.
This whole mess is one mega mind tangle and it wouldn't surprise me if it was soon just brushed aside only to be forgotton about at the top.
15-07-2012, 07:04 PM
Unfortunately that isn't the way things work in this country.
As soon as something becomes too complicated, everybody simply turns a blind eye to it.
People don't want to have to think too hard about anything, thats the problem.
This whole mess is one mega mind tangle and it wouldn't surprise me if it was soon just brushed aside only to be forgotton about at the top.
That's quite a slur on BDO, and they're not even in post yet.
15-07-2012, 07:07 PM
15-07-2012, 07:10 PM
To be honest Di Stefanos email probably just got deleted, he is no longer allowed to act in England, Scotland or Italy
i recall the courts asked him for his legal qualification when trying to represent someone recently and he couldn't provide them, his response was along the lines of i don't need them
15-07-2012, 07:15 PM
Qualified or not, I think Mr Di Stefano(?) has summed up the whole affair pretty accurately and it is going to take a Philadelphia lawyer to sort it all out.
When is it the new season starts? A week on Saturday?
Looks like this thread has a long time to run unless a new thread is started - Rangers in Liquidation'. That one will run for years!!!
15-07-2012, 07:21 PM
To be honest Di Stefanos email probably just got deleted, he is no longer allowed to act in England, Scotland or Italy
i recall the courts asked him for his legal qualification when trying to represent someone recently and he couldn't provide them, his response was along the lines of i don't need them
The letter, though, was written in "his" capacity as a shareholder in RFC, albeit with the benefit of the knowledge that "he" has.
LeighLoyal
15-07-2012, 07:25 PM
Meanwhile over on Sevco Media the trogs think they are about to be invited back in to save the SPL. Satan will ice skate to work first!
15-07-2012, 07:34 PM
Meanwhile over on Sevco Media the trogs think they are about to be invited back in to save the SPL. Satan will ice skate to work first!
Same on FF and also that they would accept the invitation as long as it was without any sanctions af all. What planet are they on?
15-07-2012, 07:36 PM
Same on FF and also that they would accept the invitation as long as it was without any sanctions af all. What planet are they on?
If that was to happen, this and every site, would go down into meltdown
15-07-2012, 07:48 PM
Thats awful nice and generous of them.
No doubt the SPL club chairman will bite their hands off with that offer. :rolleyes:
15-07-2012, 07:59 PM
Journos are reporting the Inverness chairman as saying that they have received assurances from sponsors and will stick by their no to newco position. This is after their much heralded "emergency" board meeting.
Sevco aren't getting in.
https://twitter.com/TyroneSTV
https://twitter.com/BBCBMcLauchlin
Brando7
15-07-2012, 08:29 PM
My main concern is not the SKY deal or sponsors, it it actually the bank of who these clubs own money 2, you have have SFA head Regan saying armageddon, Huncaster saying meltdown all the papers saying 5-6 clubs going to the wall in weeks......if i was the bank i'd be like well wait just now U no doing a Rangers on us n demand their cash
Lets not forgot why all SPL slubs are in as much debt as they are in because the SFA demanded a 10,000 seater stadium that half empty every week at the cost of 10's millions of pounds..most clubs are probably still trying to pay this off and will be for years to come
sh00byd00
15-07-2012, 08:34 PM
Because you haven't given me much to go on other than a smiley, i have no idea why you disagree with me.
If you are swallowing this is all coming from Regan, with no input whatsoever from the rest of the SFA board members, then fair enough, keep posting smileys.
15-07-2012, 08:36 PM
My main concern is not the SKY deal or sponsors, it it actually the bank of who these clubs own money 2, you have have SFA head Regan saying armageddon, Huncaster saying meltdown all the papers saying 5-6 clubs going to the wall in weeks......if i was the bank i'd be like well wait just now U no doing a Rangers on us n demand their cash
Lets not forgot why all SPL slubs are in as much debt as they are in because the SFA demanded a 10,000 seater stadium that half empty every week at the cost of 10's millions of pounds..most clubs are probably still trying to pay this off and will be for years to come
to be fair, that was the SPL rule - not the SFA. Yet another ridiculous rule associated with this discredited Mickey Mouse organisation.
15-07-2012, 08:47 PM
Killie owe about £11m and they would appear to be in the worst position. Celtic owe £14m which is not really a problem. Hearts don't really count. Aberdeen owe about £13m but as long as wiggy is there, and wants to be there, this will not be an issue. We probably owe about £6m-£7m and, as the Dons substitute Wiggy for STF. United will owe around about £5m and, probably are the most vulnerable after Killie. motherwell owe probably less that 500k and ICT and St.M operate on an even keel with little (under £100k) or no debt at all. St. Johnstone operate profitably, or at least they did before this season.
I dont buy the Armageddon scenarios. Rangers have gone, and they were most likely to but others, Kilmarnock apart, are stable enough. Hearts could go either way and are technically insolvent, have been for years, but Vlad appears to be continuing to fund them.
15-07-2012, 08:48 PM
Most of the clubs don't have bank overdrafts because they aren't allowed them. Some have no debt at all, most of the rest (including Hibs) have structured debt (mortgages, guaranteed loans).
15-07-2012, 08:50 PM
I think it may, and while there is a Glasgow Rangers the newco can't use the name unless HMRC allow them to do so, which they wont if there are court cases ongoing.
Apologies if that sounds like I know what I'm talking about. If it does, it was an accident.
They can use the name. Sevco bought it from RFC. HMRC have no say in the matter, anyway.
15-07-2012, 08:59 PM
I stand corrected, cheers for that.
Do you know why they aren't using it now?
They would probably use Rangers as a trading name.... and, until the SFL season starts, they're not really trading. I'm fairly sure they will call themselves Rangers, or similar.
15-07-2012, 08:59 PM
15-07-2012, 09:00 PM
I stand corrected, cheers for that.
Do you know why they aren't using it now?
I think they need to re-register the name, even although they now own the rights.
15-07-2012, 09:03 PM
Because you haven't given me much to go on other than a smiley, i have no idea why you disagree with me.
If you are swallowing this is all coming from Regan, with no input whatsoever from the rest of the SFA board members, then fair enough, keep posting smileys.
I'm sorry. I don't regard petrie as a "****ing disgrace" & I think he is far from bring a a cretin. Sometimes views are expressed, such as yours, where it is impossible to post anything other than a disbelieving smiley. Rest assured, however, that my head is far from being buried in the sand and I believe I have a fairly accurate view of both Regan and doncaster.
15-07-2012, 09:13 PM
To be fair, if the SPL did go cap in hand to newco like that, if I was them I'd be making such demands. That says 'we need you or we are all doomed' so why not push their luck.
It's not going to happen of course, but it's by no means the most ridiculous thing they've come out with!
15-07-2012, 09:17 PM
I think they need to re-register the name, even although they now own the rights.
They can't use the name as a company name till the oldco is finally liquidated. See Fiorentina, they didn't take their old name back till a good few years later. At the moment Rangers oldco are still a company, and two companies can't have the same, or overtly similar names...
15-07-2012, 09:19 PM
They can't use the name as a company name till the oldco is finally liquidated. See Fiorentina, they didn't take their old name back till a good few years later. At the moment Rangers oldco are still a company, and two companies can't have the same, or overtly similar names...
The companies can't have the same names. As I said, though, Sevco bought Rangers, the brand (ie its trading name), and can therefore use it.
15-07-2012, 09:28 PM
The companies can't have the same names. As I said, though, Sevco bought Rangers, the brand (ie its trading name), and can therefore use it.
D&P have scheduled a company meeting for 31 July for the sole purpose of passing a resolution to change the name of RFC plc (IA). Thus freeing the name up for Sevco Scotland to use instead.
http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/rangers-football-club-plc-to-become-rfc-2012-plc-sevco-scotland-ltd-will-be-rangers-football-club-ltd/
More on the Inverness "sticking to their guns" story.
http://www.google.com/hostednews/ukpress/article/ALeqM5hhXo4IpzIqGpt7jyijVUKzbgB3yg?docId=N02114813 42385138739A
Inverness still opposed to newco in SPL
(UKPA) – 35 minutes ago
Inverness have reaffirmed their opposition to the Rangers newco joining the Clydesdale Bank Premier League.
The Inverness board held an emergency meeting on Sunday to discuss the Scottish Football League decision to admit the Ibrox club to the Third Division and reject a plan to out them in the First.
Reports had claimed SPL clubs could be on the verge of a U-turn despite being expected to name Dundee or Dunfermline as the replacement for Rangers on Monday at their annual general meeting. But Inverness joined Dundee United and Hearts in this weekend stating they would not change their initial opposition to the SPL application.
And they dismissed claims their club will be placed in immediate danger from any reduction in income that comes with the SFL decision.
Chairman Kenny Cameron said in a statement: "We are one of the few clubs with no bank debt whatsoever, so our position is very far from immediately threatening, as has been alleged.
"We look forward to the new season on the back of renewed commitment over the weekend from our major shareholders and sponsors, for which we are very grateful.
"They fully appreciate that in May we, like other clubs, set our budget for 2012-13 and now there will be real change to the commercial curve because of events outwith our control.
"It is important that our supporters keep making their contribution via season ticket sales.
"We took their views on board and continue to hold the position that not allowing 'newco' Rangers into the SPL is the correct decision."
15-07-2012, 09:35 PM
D&P have scheduled a company meeting for 31 July for the sole purpose of passing a resolution to change the name of RFC plc (IA). Thus freeing the name up for Sevco Scotland to use instead.
http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/rangers-football-club-plc-to-become-rfc-2012-plc-sevco-scotland-ltd-will-be-rangers-football-club-ltd/
]
That is to avoid the two companies having the same name; Sevco will change their own name at the same time. However, as I say, the trading name is with Sevco already.... they can call themselves "Rangers" at any time.
15-07-2012, 09:46 PM
They will always be Sevco F C as far as I am concerned. Rangers Football Club died of shame and corruption. :agree:
magpie1892
15-07-2012, 10:46 PM
Papers on the other hand will release anything, regardless of whether its conformed facts or not.
Bollocks.
15-07-2012, 10:49 PM
Bollocks.
Some papers will. :wink: That Craigy White lad could have solved this fiasco early doors, by using some of the billion pounds he has kicking around in his bank. :greengrin
15-07-2012, 10:56 PM
Bollocks.
Magpie1892..... I present to you....
The "Daily Record" and The "Scottish Sun".
:sick:
16-07-2012, 06:39 AM
AND the fact that if you read what's said and any of the actual quotes.... Taking out the rags own spin..... You find that their meltdown stories are based on Sky walking away this season.
As Sky and ESPN have already (all be it low key) said they'd continue to the end of the existing contracts, and appear to have confirmed same to ICT this is yet another Weegiemedia story aimed at putting pressure on the fans and chairmen of all us "diddy" clubs :-)
16-07-2012, 06:40 AM
Bollocks.
It's not bollocks. Just look at some of the 'reporting' of this fiasco, scaremongering, entirely fictitious figures being portrayed as fact, etc. Either you work for one of these rags or are at the wind-up.
16-07-2012, 07:33 AM
Not to mention the Hootsmon
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/rangers-newco-counting-the-cost-of-their-demise-1-2412834
utter, utter garbage. Where do they get these figures from??
On the other hand, the Observer had this the same day
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2012/jul/14/sfl-rangers-optimism
Take your pick.
16-07-2012, 08:35 AM
Bollocks.
Albeit not a newspaper, STV had Craig Whyte deducting VAT from players' wages. :greengrin
magpie1892
16-07-2012, 08:44 AM
It's not bollocks. Just look at some of the 'reporting' of this fiasco, scaremongering, entirely fictitious figures being portrayed as fact, etc. Either you work for one of these rags or are at the wind-up.
Then the op should have qualified the statement. Yes, I am a journalist, and work (freelance) for one of the red-tops which does have a (well earned) reputation for ****mery but to say all papers print whatever is the bigger lie.
16-07-2012, 08:51 AM
Then the op should have qualified the statement. Yes, I am a journalist, and work (freelance) for one of the red-tops which does have a (well earned) reputation for ****mery but to say all papers print whatever is the bigger lie.
Please quote me on where I said "all" papers. Because I don't recall saying that. :confused:
"Some" tabloids take risks and print off stories before they have their facts straight, so they can be the first in there.
Take the Daily Records story on Leigh Griffiths headbutt for example. They were forced to retract their statement and issue an apology to the club after they were informed that it never happened and couldn't provide any evidence that it did happen.
16-07-2012, 09:11 AM
brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinCharles Green and Ally McCoist arrive at Hampden for SPL agm
Craig Ewing@CraigyBhoy88Why is Green and McCoist at the SPL meeting, they are an SFL club so have no right to be there
:worried:
16-07-2012, 09:13 AM
brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinCharles Green and Ally McCoist arrive at Hampden for SPL agm
Craig Ewing@CraigyBhoy88Why is Green and McCoist at the SPL meeting, they are an SFL club so have no right to be there
:worried:
The oldco will still have a share in the SPL, until it's transferred to either Dundee or Dunfermline.
16-07-2012, 09:18 AM
The oldco will still have a share in the SPL, until it's transferred to either Dundee or Dunfermline.
But are Green and McCoist still employees of the oldco? I thought they had already jumped ship.
16-07-2012, 09:20 AM
Charles Green at Hampden as SPL allow Rangers representation at AGM
Rangers are being represented at Monday’s annual general meeting of the Scottish Premier League.
STV understands Charles Green is at Hampden with Ally McCoist, as the SPL has so far failed to request Duff and Phelps to relinquish the company’s member share. The member clubs of the league voted against the newco Rangers assuming the old company’s share at a ballot on July 4.
Under the SPL’s rules, the old company should have ceased to be entitled to hold a share on that date, as they had already ceased to be the owner and operator of a club.
Nobody at the SPL was available for comment at the time of publication.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/rangers/111021-charles-green-at-hampden-as-spl-allow-rangers-representation-at-agm/
16-07-2012, 09:27 AM
Charles Green at Hampden as SPL allow Rangers representation at AGM
Rangers are being represented at Monday’s annual general meeting of the Scottish Premier League.
STV understands Charles Green is at Hampden with Ally McCoist, as the SPL has so far failed to request Duff and Phelps to relinquish the company’s member share. The member clubs of the league voted against the newco Rangers assuming the old company’s share at a ballot on July 4.
Under the SPL’s rules, the old company should have ceased to be entitled to hold a share on that date, as they had already ceased to be the owner and operator of a club.
Nobody at the SPL was available for comment at the time of publication.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/rangers/111021-charles-green-at-hampden-as-spl-allow-rangers-representation-at-agm/
What a mess, do these boys work for two companies now?
And what other managers attend the SPL meetings?
16-07-2012, 09:27 AM
Is Pat Fenlon at Hampden with Petrie today?
16-07-2012, 09:29 AM
The oldco will still have a share in the SPL, until it's transferred to either Dundee or Dunfermline.They are not the oldco though are they? they have **** all tae dae with the SPL......
.....or :hmmm:
16-07-2012, 09:35 AM
They are not the oldco though are they? they have **** all tae dae with the SPL......
.....or :hmmm:
BBC Sport @BBCSport (http://twitter.com/BBCSport)
SPL chairmen tell BBC Scotland there is no chance of a reprieve for the new Rangers at their annual meeting http://bbc.in/NsLg8i (http://t.co/SkZ1vbKZ)
Retweeted by Chris McLaughlin (http://twitter.com/BBCSport)
16-07-2012, 09:35 AM
This is unbelievable :grr:
Grant Russell@STVGrantOldco had vote on share transfer. Presumably they'll have voting rights today as well and decide which club, if any, replaces them.
16-07-2012, 09:37 AM
SPL chairmen tell BBC Scotland there is no chance of a reprieve for the new Rangers at their annual meeting http://bbc.in/NsLg8i (http://t.co/SkZ1vbKZ)
why have they invited them then if it has f all tae dae with them?
16-07-2012, 09:38 AM
"Reprieve"?? They haven't been punished. How could they be reprieved? :confused:
16-07-2012, 09:43 AM
Surely today's meeting should be used to remove the Oldco SPL membership. How long do these things take???
It makes a total mockery of Scottish Football that the owner and manager of a 3rd division team are at the SPL meeting.
ginger_rice
16-07-2012, 09:48 AM
"Reprieve"?? They haven't been punished. How could they be reprieved? :confused:
I appreciate what you're saying, however for me it's just badly worded (not your post BTW), the meaning is crystal clear though no way back for oldco/newco FC. And that's what really matters.
16-07-2012, 09:54 AM
Is Pat Fenlon at Hampden with Petrie today?
They'll be there because SFA are deciding on their punishment today.
16-07-2012, 09:56 AM
They'll be there because SFA are deciding on their punishment today.What exactly has that got tae dae with the SPL AGM?
16-07-2012, 10:00 AM
You cannot be serious!
Name a club who are in financial difficulty because the authorities forced them to build 10,000 seater stadiums?
Is that why Hibs have a 20,000 seater stadium? How about Killie, who built an 18,000 seater stadium long before the SPL were even thought of? Similarly did they put a gun to the head of Hearts to build a 17,000 seater ground?
It cannot be Inverness or St Mirren because they have much smaller stadia. It obviously is not the reason for Rangers' economic difficulties because the development was carried out many years ago. Nor for that matter Celtic because the 60,000 seater stadium was build 15 years beack before Fergus McCann handed over a debt free club to the new owners.
The only sizable development at Motherwell took place in the mid 1990s. St Johnstone's stadium was built in the 1980s. Dundee United's development largely took place in the 1990s. Finally Aberdeen have had no development since the early 1990s.
The fact that SPL clubs are in financial trouble is nothing to do with stadia. It is all to do with paying too much money for players. So clubs cannot blame the SPL or the SFL for current finacial problems.
16-07-2012, 10:01 AM
What exactly has that got tae dae with the SPL AGM?
Both events taking place today I think. Was in papers over weekend?
16-07-2012, 10:01 AM
I appreciate what you're saying, however for me it's just badly worded (not your post BTW), the meaning is crystal clear though no way back for oldco/newco FC. And that's what really matters.
Yes but everything that's come out of the MSM since Feb 14th has been 'badly worded'. Taken together, the hunners and hunners of badly worded reports have amounted to a tissue of lies. And it's still going on. DodoHun is ******d, and this is at last being acknowledged. What still needs to be acknowledged more widely imo is that Scottish 'journalism' is ******d.
16-07-2012, 10:04 AM
Both events taking place today I think. Was in papers over weekend?I'm no disputing that, they may both conveniently be taking place at Hampden today but they are two different things, why are McCoist and Green in the SPL meeting, it has **** all tae dae with them.
16-07-2012, 10:07 AM
Is there ANY chance a line can finally be drawn in the sand today and then we can all get on with it? An announcement from the SPL/SFA/SFL saying all the decisions are now final, announce whether it's Dunfermline or Dundee in the SPL, confirm SevCo will have to earn promotion from SFL3 and let's all just look forward to the new season?
16-07-2012, 10:09 AM
Is there ANY chance a line can finally be drawn in the sand today and then we can all get on with it? An announcement from the SPL/SFA/SFL saying all the decisions are now final, announce whether it's Dunfermline or Dundee in the SPL, confirm SevCo will have to earn promotion from SFL3 and let's all just look forward to the new season?
Anyhting less would be a joke.
They should also be making clear just when the clubs will talk about changes in the voting structure and money distibution and it should also be made quite clear where ongoing plans to merge the governing bodies and make some of those other changes comes into it.
As it stands it has all been mixed up and mixed in to various different decisions and proposals. Someone needs to take this by the baws now and make pretty clear what is happening, when and why.
Bighoose
16-07-2012, 10:31 AM
Scottish Sun reporting today that D3 clubs will need to stump up £50,000 to cover the costs of cops of to "baby sit" the Rangers fans on each visit.
Simple answer is then dont invite them, they wont be losing out much anyway.
And does this mean we will save £100K by not playing them, not to mention the savings in domestos and air freshner?
Bet you Regan and Doncaster didnt have this in their Armageddon Powerpoint presentation.
mayo hibee
16-07-2012, 10:38 AM
How is it that when lower league teams drew Rangers in the cup it was a nice money spinner for them despite only getting half the gate, yet when they get them twice at home in the league and get all the takings we get stories about them being crippled by policing costs.
More media bull****.
16-07-2012, 10:41 AM
How is it that when lower league teams drew Rangers in the cup it was a nice money spinner for them despite only getting half the gate, yet when they get them twice at home in the league and get all the takings we get stories about them being crippled by policing costs.
More media bull****.
I thought that too, but PTS pointed out the games were always on telly, and that paid for any extra cost incurred. I cant believe the sevco games wont be covered by tv, so if thats the case, i agree it is more bull**** from the west coast media.
16-07-2012, 10:51 AM
BREAKING NEWS ... latest scenes from SPL AGM at Hampden!
https://www.facebook.com/twitter/photo/?id=6604163964&l=e5c262cd52&pid=10280487
Brando7
16-07-2012, 10:54 AM
Can someone tell me why Charles Green Ally McCoist are at Hampden??????
thought this meeting was for SPL clubs? :greengrin
16-07-2012, 10:57 AM
BREAKING NEWS ... latest scenes from SPL AGM at Hampden!
https://www.facebook.com/twitter/photo/?id=6604163964&l=e5c262cd52&pid=10280487
Cracking left hook from the Iron Mowser himself there.
16-07-2012, 11:00 AM
Can someone tell me why Charles Green Ally McCoist are at Hampden??????
thought this meeting was for SPL clubs? :greengrin
There is some suggestion they are at a different meeting with the SFA, who are due to discuss their licence application.
Dalkeith
16-07-2012, 11:16 AM
The Chinese whispers outside Hampden are suggesting it will be Dundee who are named Club 12. But these are nothing more than rumours at the moment.
-bbc
16-07-2012, 11:21 AM
More media bull****.
The policing expenses are taken from the gate receipts before the remainder is split between the clubs. Having said that, I'm sure they will still make a decent profit from two home games against SevCo. Best advice would be to charge them £15 each with no concessions until they can behave themselves.
The £50,000 quoted would be on a SevCo following of probably 6,000+ which isn't going to happen for all but the Clyde and Queen's Park games. And even then I think the £50,000 is seriously over-exaggerated as it's not as if there will be loads of home fans looking for a pagger?
16-07-2012, 11:29 AM
There is some suggestion they are at a different meeting with the SFA, who are due to discuss their licence application.
and if it's not, they could be there on behalf of D&P who still hold the SPL share.
Given the statements and quotes from Chairmen (and that Green and McCoist have made presentations to the SPL before) I can't imagine there's any rabbits to be pulled from the hat.
Dalkeith
16-07-2012, 11:42 AM
dundee it is official
A press release from the SPL has just landed on our desks...
bbc
16-07-2012, 11:42 AM
Dundee are in the SPL.
Sevco are in Div 3.
All done and dusted. Let's move on.
16-07-2012, 11:43 AM
dundee it is official
Had to be. Total no brainer!
16-07-2012, 11:43 AM
Just announced it will be Dundee in SPL this coming season.
16-07-2012, 11:44 AM
Good, Can we now concentrate on our up and coming campaign?
16-07-2012, 11:46 AM
Think it should have been Dunfermline, but am looking forward to an SPL campaign with no Buns and Dundee and Ross County in it. Will have a freshness about it.
16-07-2012, 11:47 AM
Glad that's sorted. I saw Dundee play at Lancaster in a friendly last week and there were about 300 Dee fans there which seemed a decent following. Team didn't look up to much though and will need to do a lot of work in a short space of time.
16-07-2012, 11:48 AM
Also idea of SPL2 looks to be over :thumbsup:
also
Raman Bhardwaj@STVRamanKilmarnock chairman Michael Johnston elected on to SPL board.
Raman Bhardwaj@STVRamanSteve Brown (St Johnstone FC) and Derek Weir (Motherwell FC) stepped down as SPL Directors.
16-07-2012, 11:48 AM
Glad that's sorted. I saw Dundee play at Lancaster in a friendly last week and there were about 300 Dee fans there which seemed a decent following. Team didn't look up to much though and will need to do a lot of work in a short space of time.
They are actually a first division outfit in the SPL which could see them being pumped most weeks unless they make a few signings in the next 6 weeks.
16-07-2012, 11:49 AM
Full SPL Press Release
http://lockerz.com/s/225530125
16-07-2012, 11:51 AM
They are actually a first division outfit in the SPL which could see them being pumped most weeks unless they make a few signings in the next 6 weeks.
They'll get their 9 point fix from us at least. Unless we make a few more signings ourselves.
16-07-2012, 11:52 AM
Dundee are in the SPL.
Sevco are in Div 3.
All done and dusted. Let's move on.
Totally agree. Can we now archive this thread and start a new one about how we are ALL going to supports our clubs in 2012/13.
A new league without Rangers. A new beginning! A clean slate! Let's look forward, don't look back!
They'll get their 9 point fix from us at least. Unless we make a few more signings ourselves.
In Fenlon I trust :cb
Same could be said of most promoted sides though really?
16-07-2012, 11:53 AM
Totally agree. Can we now archive this thread and start a new one about how we are ALL going to supports our clubs in 2012/13.
A new league without Rangers. A new beginning! A clean slate! Let's look forward, don't look back!
We could file it alongside the calendar thread :devil:
16-07-2012, 11:54 AM
Same could be said of most promoted sides though really?
Newly promoted sides don't normally have 3 weeks to prepare for the step up. Ross County have already been making signings this summer.
16-07-2012, 11:54 AM
Not a chance... the administration, and then the liquidation, is going to run for a looooooooong time yet. :greengrin
16-07-2012, 11:55 AM
Don't particularly agree with Dundee* but I'm happy that they've made a decision and hopefully now we can move on and focus on the football.
*However, the return of the Dundee derby and 2 further Hibs games in Dundee is an undeniably good thing!
16-07-2012, 11:56 AM
so, that's the dundee billy boys replacing the govan billy boys :rolleyes: swell
BarneyK
16-07-2012, 11:56 AM
Well chuffed with this. A victory for the "diddies", and most importantly the fans :thumbsup:
BarneyK
16-07-2012, 11:57 AM
Don't particularly agree with Dundee* but I'm happy that they've made a decision and hopefully now we can move on and focus on the football.
*However, the return of the Dundee derby and 2 further Hibs games in Dundee is an undeniably good thing!
The Dundee derby would have been a big draw in light of a Hunnish absence.
16-07-2012, 11:59 AM
so, that's the dundee billy boys replacing the govan billy boys :rolleyes: swell
Behave yourself!
16-07-2012, 11:59 AM
Happy days, looking forward to playing and Dundee and watching the derby. Now let's get on with supporting the Cabbage. And laughing at the huns.
16-07-2012, 12:02 PM
Raman Bhardwaj@STVRamanKilmarnock chairman Michael Johnston elected on to SPL board.
That's an interesting one considering he went against every other team in the SPL by abstaining a couple of weeks ago. Presumably he'll have been voted in by the same members who voted against Sevco.
I wonder what the thinking is behind that.
16-07-2012, 12:03 PM
Yeah definitely need to focus on Hibs but there will be much more entertainment to come from the hapless zombie Huns
16-07-2012, 12:04 PM
That's an interesting one considering he went against every other team in the SPL by abstaining a couple of weeks ago. Presumably he'll have been voted in by the same members who voted against Sevco.
Rotation, probably.
16-07-2012, 12:04 PM
He'll be punted from the Killie board soon, so wont be lasting long.
or
its his present for not voting 'yes'
or
He's in touch with the fans, so he'll do whats right.
:faf: sorry, couldnt help myself.
16-07-2012, 12:05 PM
Rotation, probably.
My thoughts too, but if you're completely out of touch should you get a shot?
I haven't been Prime Minister yet. When is it my turn? :greengrin
mayo hibee
16-07-2012, 12:05 PM
It is great that a line can be drawn under this for now at least
BUT...
How can that weasel Doncaster who talked our league minus Sevco into the ground now be allowed to continue in his role with no recriminations? What are Sky going to say to him next time there's a tv rights discussion?
"So Neil, we have you on record saying that the SPL is nothing without Rangers, so here's 50 quid for the TV rights - take it or leave it".
The league has no credibility while he us in charge, he MUST now resign. I can't see Regan surviving much longer, but Doncaster must not be allowed to emerge from this shambles which he has presided over unscathed.
16-07-2012, 12:06 PM
Rangers first game announced as Brechin away a week on Saturday in the Ramsdens Challenge cup.
Have they ever won this trophy. :greengrin
Will they have enough players for a team?
16-07-2012, 12:08 PM
My thoughts too, but if you're completely out of touch you should get shot.
I haven't been Prime Minister yet. When is it my turn? :greengrin:agree:
16-07-2012, 12:09 PM
My thoughts too, but if you're completely out of touch should you get a shot?
I haven't been Prime Minister yet. When is it my turn? :greengrin
It could be argued he was the ONLY SPL chairman with the baws to stand against the tide whereas the rest of them fully expected the SFL clubs to bail them out by sending Rangers to Div 1.
16-07-2012, 12:14 PM
Rangers first game announced as Brechin away a week on Saturday in the Ramsdens Challenge cup.
THAT IS NOT FAIR.
The season we were in SFL1 they didn't play that competition. Team we had then would have walked it.
Why are the Huns being allowed to play in it?
I DEMAND AN ANSWER. :grr:
16-07-2012, 12:15 PM
Right, so who were all those who were going to buy season tickets now?
16-07-2012, 12:16 PM
Right, so who were all those who were going to buy season tickets now?
Not me, i'm not buying one.
16-07-2012, 12:21 PM
Is this the end of it now, has this finished for good or can we expect any more shenanigans, are there any more meetings organised? :confused:
Brando7
16-07-2012, 12:21 PM
I take it the SLF have invited Annan & Airdrie Utd to move up or have they to wait until Dundee accept?
Still think Dunfermline will lodge an appeal against todays announcment that might drag this on further
16-07-2012, 12:26 PM
We could file it alongside the calendar thread :devil:
What is this 'Calendar thread' people speak off??
16-07-2012, 12:26 PM
I take it the SLF have invited Annan & Airdrie Utd to move up or have they to wait until Dundee accept?
Still think Dunfermline will lodge an appeal against todays announcment that might drag this on further
I think that secretly the pars will be happy with the decision.
16-07-2012, 12:30 PM
Stranraer are the ones being promoted from Division Three, aren't they?
I'd also say Dunfermline will be happy to play in SFL1 given that's where they expected to play and have built a squad accordingly.
16-07-2012, 12:30 PM
They have never won anything they hav'nt even played a game yet
16-07-2012, 12:33 PM
Is this the end of it now, has this finished for good or can we expect any more shenanigans, are there any more meetings organised? :confused:
Doncaster and Regan were seen leaving Hampden on a jet pack, vowing revenge on those "pesky, meddling diddy clubs".
Scottish Football beaks are easily startled but they will soon be back - and in greater numbers!
16-07-2012, 12:35 PM
I have a wee 100 pounds if you want to match it that they do not take 9 points off us.
Caversham Green
16-07-2012, 12:38 PM
Dundee had already applied for membership of the SPL and their resignation was accepted in principle by the SFL on Friday so I wouldn't have thought there's anything further to do there.
I can't see that Dunfermline have anything to appeal against or anyone to appeal to - the SPL is invitation based, and they've invited Dundee. In any case, by a strict interpretation of the SPL rules, Dunfemline were ineligible.