View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
21-12-2014, 07:30 PM
So does Mccoist get £750,000 to sit in his garden for the next year? I'll have some of that
21-12-2014, 07:31 PM
Would be nice to see EL tel in the Rangers dug out on Saturday, bring it on
Works two ways. It gets him off our books and we know what tactics to expect.
Better get some extra footballs for Saturday then
Hibs 13/5 on Saturday with bet365...
Rangers even money. :duck:
21-12-2014, 07:32 PM
http://www.reactiongifs.us/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/raining_david_tennant_nosedrip.gif
21-12-2014, 07:34 PM
Rangers even money. :duck:
Bookies are rarely wrong HC :cb however I would dispute this on two fronts.......1) The Rangers are lilian gish and 2) I went out with a bookie (female :greengrin) for years and she was an utter utter mentalist......and a Yam.........lump on Hibs :aok:
21-12-2014, 07:37 PM
Fat Sally is now on gardening leave according to Sky sports, so another twist for Saturday's game
21-12-2014, 07:41 PM
Bookies are rarely wrong HC :cb however I would dispute this on two fronts.......1) The Rangers are lilian gish and 2) I went out with a bookie (female :greengrin) for years and she was an utter utter mentalist......and a Yam.........lump on Hibs :aok:
Bookies are wrong loads, if they weren't then coupons would be easy.
21-12-2014, 07:43 PM
I'm sure there will be top teams from Britain and all over Europe queuing up for his managerial skills after his successive promotions with that fine club
sauzee1966
21-12-2014, 07:52 PM
Looks like he bottled the Hibs game and now no longer manager of newco......
21-12-2014, 07:52 PM
Bookies are wrong loads, if they weren't then coupons would be easy.
I was being ironic bingo :greengrin not about the ex mind, she was tonto bonkers :faf:
21-12-2014, 07:54 PM
Expect Billy Davis to be installed very soon! That's the rumour from Ibrox anyway.
21-12-2014, 07:55 PM
Expect Billy Davis to be installed very soon! That's the rumour from Ibrox anyway.
Cheers for telling me mate ;)
21-12-2014, 07:56 PM
Cheers for telling me mate ;)
Anytime mate [emoji6]
He would do well for them.
21-12-2014, 07:58 PM
Kenny McDowall put in charge until end of season
21-12-2014, 07:59 PM
Not till the summer anyway. McDowell placed in charge till the end of the season.
21-12-2014, 07:59 PM
Not till the summer anyway. McDowell placed in charge till the end of the season.
Thank god, really wouldn't want them to get Davis in before our game!
21-12-2014, 08:00 PM
Thank god, really wouldn't want them to get Davis in before our game!
Not sure they an afford another managers salary anyway
21-12-2014, 08:01 PM
Not sure they an afford another managers salary anyway
Not unless Ashley pumps in cash they won't! They really are a shambles [emoji1]
21-12-2014, 08:02 PM
Booooooooooo! McCoist must stay :greengrin Is he getting gardening tips from Butcher? Billy Davies can't keep his trap shut so well suited to that job. I give it 6 games before he's in front of the beaks.
21-12-2014, 08:03 PM
Let the squad cuts begin!
BurghHibby
21-12-2014, 08:04 PM
That'll be next Saturday night then!:greengrin
21-12-2014, 08:09 PM
Few unhappy players in Ibrox just now. May lump big on Hibs now.
21-12-2014, 08:10 PM
He's not had a call yet
21-12-2014, 08:11 PM
He was the last 'rangers' man with any say. I can see Ashley doing a Charles Green here. If we can win on Saturday I fancy our chances for second.
21-12-2014, 08:12 PM
Few unhappy players in Ibrox just now. May lump big on Hibs now.
Aye because a new manager may make them work for their money! :greengrin
If McDowell is in charge until seasons end then that is a fair indication that MA has no intention of investing in players in January in my opinion.
He's not had a call yet
Few of the Rangers lads expect it to happen soon. Been talk of it all last week apparently. I've no idea who would want that job if I'm honest.
21-12-2014, 08:13 PM
If McDowell is in charge until seasons end then that is a fair indication that MA has no intention of investing in players in January in my opinion.
The end of the season could be January for the The Rangers
21-12-2014, 08:16 PM
Few of the Rangers lads expect it to happen soon. Been talk of it all last week apparently. I've no idea who would want that job if I'm honest.
Under normal circumstances I would agree, I'm just not sure how they could afford the additional mouth or mouths to feed
21-12-2014, 08:17 PM
The end of the season could be January for the The Rangers
Not sure how it could be unless they entered admin again. Even if we overtook them by then they wouldn't be that far behind us at that point.
21-12-2014, 08:19 PM
Under normal circumstances I would agree, I'm just not sure how they could afford the additional mouth or mouths to feed
Ashley is the only one with cash. If he doesn't fund them, then it could be serious trouble for them!!
21-12-2014, 08:20 PM
McDowell will probably play their players in the correct position. Bad for us.
21-12-2014, 08:29 PM
Ashley is the only one with cash. If he doesn't fund them, then it could be serious trouble for them!!
Fingers crossed
seanshow
21-12-2014, 08:38 PM
What I would like to know is, the outcome of what rules are been broken if Ashley is funding Two seperate clubs.
Are we competing for a play off spot against a new cheating club fielding player they cannot afford...once again!
surely Dempster and Budge should be getting their solicitors involved as well as 'the tache' with his SPFA connections?
21-12-2014, 08:40 PM
I would take it in a minute.
You could be assured I would be the worst manager in either of their histories and would look to receive a bumper pay off for my pathetic efforts.
21-12-2014, 08:45 PM
£750k - think I'll take up gardening :greengrin
21-12-2014, 08:46 PM
12 grand a week for a year. He should end up with a garden as good as the botanic gardens IMO.
21-12-2014, 08:47 PM
12 grand a week for a year. He should end up with a garden as good as the botanic gardens IMO.
Or on a par with TB's at least :greengrin
Weststandwanab
21-12-2014, 08:50 PM
He's on gardening leave. Not much work to be done in the garden until March/April at least
Where is the garden ?
21-12-2014, 08:52 PM
Butcher? :pray:
21-12-2014, 08:52 PM
If he gets himself any clients I hope he refrains from sha**ing the home owners wife ..... :greengrin
21-12-2014, 08:58 PM
Butcher? :pray:
Now that really would be funny [emoji1]
21-12-2014, 08:59 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/30520365
"you're just in it for the money...."
He will be able to swap tips with Butcher.
21-12-2014, 09:28 PM
@mrewanmurray: Heard of well paid Rangers player who approached club this month, seeking January move. Reply one stop short of "We'll drive you to airport"
@mrewanmurray: Highly paid but not regularly playing might narrow it down more.
21-12-2014, 09:33 PM
@mrewanmurray: Heard of well paid Rangers player who approached club this month, seeking January move. Reply one stop short of "We'll drive you to airport"
At least 4/5 names come to mind
21-12-2014, 09:39 PM
Including only those who could get the same money anywhere else will narrow it down a lot more.
21-12-2014, 10:02 PM
Really clever of The Rangers board, Mccoist won't be at the AGM and has to keep his gob shut or he'll lose any pay off.
TheFamous1875
21-12-2014, 10:12 PM
Now that really would be funny [emoji1]
Especially if he was the sole reason your pal Kenny chose not to come home! :na na:
21-12-2014, 10:12 PM
Especially if he was the sole reason your pal Kenny chose not to come home! :na na:
My thoughts exactly [emoji1]
21-12-2014, 10:15 PM
First thought that came to mind when I read the news on BBC was
What credibility do Rangers and McCoist have left if any ?
They are stumbling towatds being a club in " freefall"
21-12-2014, 10:20 PM
Still hearing Butchers favourite TC
21-12-2014, 10:21 PM
1387913879 quite a funny headline from the Record!
21-12-2014, 10:22 PM
First thought that came to mind when I read the news on BBC was
What credibility do Rangers and McCoist have left if any ?
They are stumbling towatds being a club in " freefall"
Whit? They've just advanced to the Hibs plan of sacking a manager shortly before the agm. Surely not stumbling at all if Petrie's advising them:greengrin
21-12-2014, 10:22 PM
Still hearing Butchers favorite TC
I've no inside info on this I'm just passing on what Kenny said tonight that he'd heard Davis is fav and couple of the Rangers lads also heard the same!
Be great if Butcher got it though [emoji1]
21-12-2014, 10:25 PM
I've no inside info on this I'm just passing on what Kenny said tonight that he'd heard Davis is fav and couple of the Rangers lads also heard the same!
Be great if Butcher got it though [emoji1]
Exactly , must be finished his garden by now
21-12-2014, 10:25 PM
If not fat Sally can finish it off!!
22-12-2014, 06:55 AM
The panto continues today with the AGM:
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug22m22 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/546931052489744384)#Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) chairman David Somers will tell shareholders at AGM: there exists anti Rangers feeling perhaps in scottish football establishment.
Douglas Fraser @BBCDouglasF1m1 minute ago (https://twitter.com/BBCDouglasF/status/546936325996560385)#Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) chairman David Somers to spell out need for cost-cutting at AGM today. His speech has conspicuous lack of thanks to Ally McCoist
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug33s33 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/546936702083031040)
Somers: had to deal with legacy issues. Lack of appetite from shareholders to invest just to pay wages and utility bills. #Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash)
Douglas Fraser @BBCDouglasF 10m10 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCDouglasF/status/546942416876761089) #Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) shareholders gather at Ibrox with share price at 18p, down from 26p in a month, from 93p in 2 yrs
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug5m5 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/546937336131780608)Somers: #Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) can only spend what it earns. Living beyond means for many years. This should have been addressed by previous boards.
Douglas Fraser @BBCDouglasF2m2 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCDouglasF/status/546938110039556096)
#Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) chairman: "living beyond its means for years: cost cutting and efficiency should have been addressed years ago, in lower divisions"
22-12-2014, 07:42 AM
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug22m22 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/546931052489744384)#Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) chairman David Somers will tell shareholders at AGM: there exists anti Rangers feeling perhaps in scottish football establishment.
Douglas Fraser @BBCDouglasF1m1 minute ago (https://twitter.com/BBCDouglasF/status/546936325996560385)#Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) chairman David Somers to spell out need for cost-cutting at AGM today. His speech has conspicuous lack of thanks to Ally McCoist
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug33s33 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/546936702083031040)
Somers: had to deal with legacy issues. Lack of appetite from shareholders to invest just to pay wages and utility bills. #Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash)
Douglas Fraser @BBCDouglasF 10m10 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCDouglasF/status/546942416876761089) #Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) shareholders gather at Ibrox with share price at 18p, down from 26p in a month, from 93p in 2 yrs
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug5m5 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/546937336131780608)Somers: #Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) can only spend what it earns. Living beyond means for many years. This should have been addressed by previous boards.
Douglas Fraser @BBCDouglasF2m2 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCDouglasF/status/546938110039556096)
#Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash) chairman: "living beyond its means for years: cost cutting and efficiency should have been addressed years ago, in lower divisions"
So... Rangers problems due to club living beyond its means, but let's blame 'anti-Rangers' feeling?
22-12-2014, 07:44 AM
Of course there's anti rangers feeling within Scottish football. That's because they're horrible ****s.
Genuine laugh out loud moment there! Please don't mince your words in future! :wink:
22-12-2014, 08:16 AM
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12192436.html
The Sevco statement to the AGM. Love the second last para.
" ...... we cannot expect any help from outside Ibrox. We will have to do it by ourselves. "
Not enough dodgy Ref decision going their way this season ! :greengrin
22-12-2014, 08:28 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenny_McDowall
I also never realised their new manager had been a coach at Parkhead for 10 years.
22-12-2014, 08:52 AM
Most of their current crowd are from parts of N.ireland and many of their Scottish based fans wear England tops. And they struggle with their unpopularity. Ho ho ho. Looking like the newest team in Scotland is heading back to the sewer again like its now defunct predecessor
22-12-2014, 09:17 AM
Surely these fools won't fall for the "no one likes us , we don't care" siege mentality trick that Charles Green pulled.........again. They can't be that stupid, can they?
TowerHibs
22-12-2014, 09:34 AM
Just seen this on twitter. Nice wee cosy, intimate setting...
22-12-2014, 09:38 AM
The phrase of the day must be "legacy issues".
9 mentions in the Rangers statement, 7 in the one paragraph!
DarrenSQH
22-12-2014, 09:38 AM
Just seen this on twitter. Nice wee cosy, intimate setting...
If theres any way possible to waste cash then the the rangers will. Lets rent a tent and pay someone to put it on the pitch rather than use a conference room.
22-12-2014, 09:40 AM
If theres any way possible to waste cash then the the rangers will. Lets rent a tent and pay someone to put it on the pitch rather than use a conference room.
To be fair, there's normally a few thousand go to these things, so it does make sense.
22-12-2014, 09:43 AM
Is that the very expensive lights for helping the grass grow in the background too?
22-12-2014, 09:56 AM
Is that the very expensive lights for helping the grass grow in the background too?
They're a legacy issue from the previous regime.:cb
22-12-2014, 09:59 AM
So... Rangers problems due to club living beyond its means, but let's blame 'anti-Rangers' feeling?
NewHuns haven't got a pot to piss in, having squandered a turnover bigger than all the lower division clubs put together - yet still think they deserve help from everyone else 😆 It's ****ing hilarious.
And just as funny is Regan & Doncaster would be seriously looking to finance these ****ers if it wasn't for those pesky paying football fans. Don't think the Armagedon speech will work this time, somehow 😢
22-12-2014, 10:04 AM
http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/12192436.html
The Sevco statement to the AGM. Love the second last para.
" ...... we cannot expect any help from outside Ibrox. We will have to do it by ourselves. "
Not enough dodgy Ref decision going their way this season ! :greengrin
What a load of contradictory bs that statement is.
Boo hoo I've had to deal with a lot of 'legacy' issues (spending beyond our means) but delighted to sign a load more players this summer on big contracts.
No one likes us but we are responsible for the infighting and divisions that cause all the negative headlines.
Hearty congratulations to Alastair, who is absent on gardening leave because he's screwing us for the full value of his contract.
22-12-2014, 10:07 AM
We might think our Board is unpopular ...
http://youtu.be/kfSoIGbU4lk
22-12-2014, 10:19 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1251631546/snake_normal.jpg jake the snake @celticservant (https://twitter.com/celticservant) · 24m 24 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/celticservant/status/546981907653988352)
#SevcoAGM (https://twitter.com/hashtag/SevcoAGM?src=hash) guy beside me shouting "thieving *******s - you stole our club & now have taken our dignity". His teeth just fell out https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v1/72x72/1f602.png
22-12-2014, 10:32 AM
Wow!
That is brilliant! To paraphrase Oscar Wilde, The unspeakable booing the cheatable!
22-12-2014, 10:39 AM
Fair cheered me up. LOL moment.
22-12-2014, 10:54 AM
Surely there are only so many times a club company can launch a new share issue.
22-12-2014, 10:58 AM
Surely there are only so many times a club company can launch a new share issue.
Don't know the answer to that one, but if Mike Ashley is underwriting it then it's almost certain his stake will rise above 10%. Ball is in your court, SFA.
22-12-2014, 11:08 AM
Petrie will be looking at that little tent and wondering just how far away from the shareholders he could pitch his.
22-12-2014, 11:16 AM
:greengrin How many of the nominees for a place on the Hibs board will that have frightened off :wink:
The Pointer
22-12-2014, 11:19 AM
Watching the video, it's like looking right into a nest of vipers. Having been in a pub in Paisley Road West during the Commie Games and seeing 'Durranty' and his droogs I understand where they're coming from.
22-12-2014, 11:48 AM
Just watched it. Chortle. :greengrin
22-12-2014, 12:02 PM
Just watched it. Chortle. :greengrin
I think the man filming it believes they are "****bags" but I could be mistaken.
22-12-2014, 12:16 PM
My immediate thought was that Sally must stay, yet perhaps The Rangers circus is just about to get even funnier.
Will this have any bearing on their ability to plug the £8 million black hole? Time must be running out.
22-12-2014, 12:17 PM
That video is hilarious. Wonder who's idea it was to pitch a tent miles away from the fans lol
22-12-2014, 12:26 PM
Sweepstake has started on how long they have left before admin mkII. £5 gets you in.
22-12-2014, 12:28 PM
It's the season of goodwill, gentlemen. You didn't even get them a card :-D
22-12-2014, 12:30 PM
It's the season of goodwill, gentlemen. You didn't even get them a card :-D
They should all be holding up red cards.
22-12-2014, 12:33 PM
Walter Smith to Rangers? Kheredine Idessane BBC Scotland
Former Scotland manager Craig Brown on #Rangers: Board should 'get down on hands and knees' and get Walter Smith to come back as manager
22-12-2014, 12:38 PM
That is brilliant! To paraphrase Oscar Wilde, The unspeakable booing the cheatable!
Is that not the part of the ground where we usually get tickets for?
22-12-2014, 12:44 PM
Is that not the part of the ground where we usually get tickets for?
Yes that's the Govan west corner.
22-12-2014, 12:56 PM
They do hatred better than anybody, even against their own. Got to give them that.
22-12-2014, 01:10 PM
The financial affairs of this newco is such a shambles I have to admit I don't really know where things stand now as far as whether they are any closer to going into administration again, or not.
Will Ashley be allowed to keep drip-feeding them cash to stave off administration? Is that allowed, given his involvement with Newcastle United?
22-12-2014, 01:18 PM
I read yesterday that they need to raise over £8 million by 1st April just to stay afloat.
:bye: Sevco.
22-12-2014, 01:21 PM
That cheered me up no end.:greengrin
22-12-2014, 01:37 PM
Share issue rejected by shareholders.
Tick tock.
22-12-2014, 01:42 PM
That video is hilarious. Wonder who's idea it was to pitch a tent miles away from the fans lol
Head of Security, I would imagine.
22-12-2014, 01:43 PM
Tick tock.
Crikey! :thumbsup:
22-12-2014, 01:44 PM
Tick tock.
Is this valid though? Surely the Board control enough stock to push through a share issue if they want to?
22-12-2014, 01:54 PM
Is this valid though? Surely the Board control enough stock to push through a share issue if they want to?
Per the formal notice
The Board is disappointed that Resolution 9 was not passed as it limits its options for future funding.
22-12-2014, 01:57 PM
The financial affairs of this newco is such a shambles I have to admit I don't really know where things stand now as far as whether they are any closer to going into administration again, or not.
Will Ashley be allowed to keep drip-feeding them cash to stave off administration? Is that allowed, given his involvement with Newcastle United?
It would appear that the spineless SFA rules are there to be laughed at. Ashley just has to dip into his back-pocket now and again and pay them £10k and then do as he pleases.
22-12-2014, 02:01 PM
Per the formal notice
Oh I see.
No need to worry - in sure Walter Mitty, sorry, Dave King, is ready to jet in from his South African base to save Christmas!
His wealth is seldom declared to the authorities - sorry again, I meant 'off the scale'.
Hilarious, fair cheered me up :thumbsup:
seanshow
22-12-2014, 02:10 PM
It would appear that the spineless SFA rules are there to be laughed at. Ashley just has to dip into his back-pocket now and again and pay them £10k and then do as he pleases.
at our expense, get it sorted Petrie!!
22-12-2014, 02:29 PM
If there is no share issue then surely all it would take is the SFA to put the brakes on Ashley and they are stuffed. Will the SFA have the bottle to enforce their own rules is the question.
22-12-2014, 02:38 PM
If there is no share issue then surely all it would take is the SFA to put the brakes on Ashley and they are stuffed. Will the SFA have the bottle to enforce their own rules is the question.
I can predict the hysterical statement now:
'For the avoidance of doubt, by not allowing Sir Michael of MASH to break the terms of his agreement with the SFA, the SFA are casting material doubt on The Club's ability to operate as a going concern. We're f***ed but we will turn the uninformed hordes on you, ya bas!!'
22-12-2014, 02:48 PM
The argument with the SFA is now a sideshow.
The ball is now in Ashley's court. The big question for him is whether he wants to continue to prop up a business that is seeing its funding opportunities running out quickly.
22-12-2014, 02:56 PM
Hee hee GIRFUY
22-12-2014, 02:56 PM
If the rangers are going to go into admin again how long do people think it'll take to happen?
If Ashley withdraws support are we looking at days or is it a longer game than that?
22-12-2014, 02:58 PM
If the rangers are going to go into admin again how long do people think it'll take to happen?
If Ashley withdraws support are we looking at days or is it a longer game than that?
I can see them making it until the end of the season before going to the wall.
22-12-2014, 02:59 PM
The argument with the SFA is now a sideshow.
The ball is now in Ashley's court. The big question for him is whether he wants to continue to prop up a business that is seeing its funding opportunities running out quickly.
That depends if the SFA want to enforce it or not - assuming Ashley is found guilty of a breach that is :faf:
With the hearing scheduled for 27 Jan, is it too cynical to suggest that the SFA will impose a £10k fine and a transfer ban beginning in Feb?
22-12-2014, 03:04 PM
That depends if the SFA want to enforce it or not - assuming Ashley is found guilty of a breach that is :faf:
With the hearing scheduled for 27 Jan, is it too cynical to suggest that the SFA will impose a £10k fine and a transfer ban beginning in Feb?
It's an irrelevance now, IMO.
22-12-2014, 03:05 PM
I can see them making it until the end of the season before going to the wall.
With what?
If Ashley decides not to support a business that has no alternative sources of funding, that's it.
ACLeith
22-12-2014, 03:16 PM
With what?
If Ashley decides not to support a business that has no alternative sources of funding, that's it.
More loans from MA = more security taken against them = more chance that the SFA will rule against them? And if they do, what happens then? Are they forced to repay the loans and when they can't it's the end for a second time? I am probably talking rubbish as I know nought about these issuesplayers but if not they're doomed if the get more from MA and doomed if they don't?
22-12-2014, 03:17 PM
With what?
Stop it with all this sexy talk.
(Don't really, keep talking)
Weststandwanab
22-12-2014, 03:17 PM
If Ashley withdraws financial support it would be almost immediate in my opinion.
Probably not the other side of that coin is 27th Jan is far enough away that Admin 2 may start before then and thereby making their hearing irrelevant.
22-12-2014, 03:21 PM
More loans from MA = more security taken against them = more chance that the SFA will rule against them? And if they do, what happens then? Are they forced to repay the loans and when they can't it's the end for a second time? I am probably talking rubbish as I know nought about these issuesplayers but if not they're doomed if the get more from MA and doomed if they don't?
1. I can't see MA continuing to prop them up if the share issue isn't happening. (disclaimer, MA has made millions out of selling *****, so who I am to second-guess him? :greengrin)
2. if he does lend them more money, secured, if and when they go pop he can call in his security. He will rank before the other creditors.
3. I don't see that the SFA should be influenced by any of this. IMO, they have been reduced to bit-players now.
22-12-2014, 03:56 PM
Just to clarify:-
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/30573031
Rangers shareholders voted in favour of a new share issue at the club's AGM.
However, as one of the proposed resolutions was not passed, the club will first have to offer existing shareholders the right to maintain the size of their stakes.
That means a non-shareholder looking to underwrite the new issue can only buy any unsold shares.
22-12-2014, 04:05 PM
Thanks for this - couldn't work out what was happening.
22-12-2014, 04:36 PM
With what?
If they don't raise the £8 million or so that they need for this season from the existing shareholders couldn't King or Kennedy buy up the balance to keep things going? They were both interested when the board decided to take Ashley's loans. I'm not convinced that they're totally dependent on Ashley while there are potential shareholders who want to strengthen the football business rather than making a profit.
22-12-2014, 04:55 PM
If they don't raise the £8 million or so that they need for this season from the existing shareholders couldn't King or Kennedy buy up the balance to keep things going? They were both interested when the board decided to take Ashley's loans. I'm not convinced that they're totally dependent on Ashley while there are potential shareholders who want to strengthen the football business rather than making a profit.I don't think that "interest" ever became visible in the way of actual cash. Seems more like interest in the vein of Craig Whyte interest.
22-12-2014, 05:00 PM
I don't think that "interest" ever became visible in the way of actual cash. Seems more like interest in the vein of Craig Whyte interest.
There was some doubt about King's offer, though one of his partners has just been on Radio Scotland repeating the claim that there were people with money who would have made their identity public once the offer had been accepted.
I don't think there's any doubt about Kennedy's ability to put in a few million.
22-12-2014, 05:00 PM
It's an irrelevance now, IMO.
Why do you think that?
FWIW I think you are right, if only because SFA won't want to be seen to be hurting them in any way.
22-12-2014, 05:02 PM
Rangers shareholders voted in favour of a new share issue at the club's AGM.
However, as one of the proposed resolutions was not passed, the club will first have to offer existing shareholders the right to maintain the size of their stakes.
That means a non-shareholder looking to underwrite the new issue can only buy any unsold shares.
What does this mean? A defensive move against possible hostile take over (although I am not sure who that would be)?
22-12-2014, 05:08 PM
Armageddon II awaits us
22-12-2014, 05:50 PM
There was some doubt about King's offer, though one of his partners has just been on Radio Scotland repeating the claim that there were people with money who would have made their identity public once the offer had been accepted.
I don't think there's any doubt about Kennedy's ability to put in a few million.
Don't forget the fraud trial has yet to begin . Whyte singing like a canary, who knows what other deals / ownerships of assets could be called into question.
Apart from Ashley who seems to have a grip on things, an interest in the retail business and stacks of cash, I don't see any others risking large amounts at the moment.
22-12-2014, 05:59 PM
Why do you think that?
FWIW I think you are right, if only because SFA won't want to be seen to be hurting them in any way.
Irrelevance is probably the wrong word. I think that it's a sideshow compared to the real issue of getting cash.
22-12-2014, 06:16 PM
If there is no new share issue, could Ashley refuse a new loan to force them into administration? He would be one of their largest creditors and therefore in a position to pick up the club for very little, whilst using the admin process to dump overpaid and underperforming players and ex-managers.
Might make him unpopular with the unwashed hordes, but I don't think that would bother him.
Weststandwanab
22-12-2014, 07:27 PM
If there is no new share issue, could Ashley refuse a new loan to force them into administration? He would be one of their largest creditors and therefore in a position to pick up the club for very little, whilst using the admin process to dump overpaid and underperforming players and ex-managers.
Might make him unpopular with the unwashed hordes, but I don't think that would bother him.
That is exactly what will happen - sooner or later - in my opinion.
22-12-2014, 07:27 PM
The size of his loan isn't important. The fact that he has security, though, is.
22-12-2014, 08:08 PM
David Somers - what a guy:
His statement read: "In these past 12 months, I have been surprised at a number of things. Firstly, the highly negative aspect of most of the media reporting regarding Rangers.
"Secondly, because it is clear to me that a stronger Rangers is good for Scottish football, I have been very disappointed to realise that outside of Ibrox, there sadly still exists a great deal of anti-Rangers feeling, perhaps (although I hope not) even in the football establishment."
22-12-2014, 08:24 PM
But he can't own more than 10% I thought?
22-12-2014, 08:34 PM
He can if he dumps Newcastle, though.
Or, he could buy the assets out of administration, rent them to NewSevco, and make a decent income for very little outlay and without the hassle and need to be involved in another underachieving fitba team.
22-12-2014, 08:34 PM
He can but some form of punishments will likely follow, however technically no one can stop him buying more shares
Weststandwanab
22-12-2014, 09:40 PM
No but his dog - who is non resident for tax purposes - and lives in Luxemburg could
Or, he could buy the assets out of administration, rent them to NewSevco, and make a decent income for very little outlay and without the hassle and need to be involved in another underachieving fitba team.
Oh yes that would work too
22-12-2014, 09:58 PM
The size of his loan isn't important. The fact that he has security, though, is.
Thanks - thought creditors got to vote according to the debt they were owed, but it seems having title to the assets means Ashley would have the club by the balls.
He can but some form of punishments will likely follow, however technically no one can stop him buying more shares
If Ashley makes the best offer to the administrators then it would be very difficult for the SFA to knock him back.
We can discuss Celtic wanting to have Rangers back in the top flight but imo they would never stand back and let the SPFL allow them to have Ashley, with his funding ability, bend the rules with dual ownership.
Ashley will want Rangers in top league as merchandise sales will be much greater but as it stands he needs someone else to pump money in and i would imagine most serious players now are waiting for the next insolvency event (possibly Ashley too) as they need to shed some player costs and perhaps they are thinking the possibilty of another year in championship is not a deal breaker?
If Ashley gets some assets from a default then the insolvency might suit him with someone like King coming in on his white horse being the new front man and letting him have merchandise rights plus property rental without breaking the ownership rules.
22-12-2014, 11:31 PM
The press chearleading for the SFA to allow Ashley to take over Sevco.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/11309378/Mike-Ashley-wants-Rangers-takeover-clearance-as-AGM-turns-ugly.html
I would say OK with the priviso that the club could not operate in our top division. A bit like Barca and Real second strings in La Liga 2. :greengrin
22-12-2014, 11:46 PM
His statement read: "In these past 12 months, I have been surprised at a number of things. Firstly, the highly negative aspect of most of the media reporting regarding Rangers.
"Secondly, because it is clear to me that a stronger Rangers is good for Scottish football, I have been very disappointed to realise that outside of Ibrox, there sadly still exists a great deal of anti-Rangers feeling, perhaps (although I hope not) even in the football establishment."
It's taken him 12 months to come to this conclusion? :confused:
23-12-2014, 12:03 AM
And paint himself as the reluctant saviour, only stepping in because everyone else had made such a mess of it.
VivaHiberña
23-12-2014, 02:54 AM
It's taken him 12 months to come to this conclusion? :confused:
At this rate I wouldn't bet on him figuring out why. :greengrin
AndyM_1875
23-12-2014, 08:20 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/11309378/Mike-Ashley-wants-Rangers-takeover-clearance-as-AGM-turns-ugly.html
I would say OK with the priviso that the club could not operate in our top division. A bit like Barca and Real second strings in La Liga 2. :greengrin
As Ashley has already stated he plans to not be the majority shareholder in Newcastle by mid 2016 so a process in in place anyway. Rangers being stuck in the Championship for another season is no big deal for Ashley as he is restructuring the club completely. He is cost cutting already and clearing out the old guard. You can expect to see the 7 grand a week brigade have their contracts ended or paid up and the age of the squad to come down. If Hearts and Hibs go up this year from the Championship it gives Rangers a clear run at the Championship in 2015/16.
Lets look at it rationally - For the SFA the lure of a healthy Rangers as opposed to the staggering sick excuse of a club they are just now is huge. Llambias will sell them the vision of a financially secure and healthy Rangers. Remember as well that SFA Committee includes Stewart Regan, Peter Lawell and Rod Petrie. Regan is leaving, Petrie himself has presided over his own annus horriblus and Lawell has an annual £10m funding gap to fill - he needs Rangers. These men don't care about being unpopular and know they are in an impossible position, they will be criticized whatever they do. They preside over clubs in a league with no sponsor and a pitiful TV deal.
Expect Ashley to get his request to take his stake up to 29.9% passed with conditions.
23-12-2014, 08:30 AM
The self pity is embarrassing. Rangers had the SFA and the media in their pockets for decades, now they claim to be the downtrodden underdog. Perhaps the reason they are so disliked is because of the behaviour of the club and its fans. Just saying, Davie.
23-12-2014, 08:44 AM
The self pity is embarrassing. Rangers had the SFA and the media in their pockets for decades, now they claim to be the downtrodden underdog. Perhaps the reason they are so disliked is because of the behaviour of the club and its fans. Just saying, Davie.
Agree,and then he needs to think about the sectarian hatred that the throwback followers of the now defunct Glasgow rangers still spout as it is definitely having an effect on how civilized society views the newest team in Scotland. It's a pity that sort of culture wasn't allowed to die when Glasgow rangers ceased to exist. Maybe Somers could do something about that?
Then there would be a chance of his utterances and the next version of the club being better received?
23-12-2014, 09:06 AM
We can discuss Celtic wanting to have Rangers back in the top flight but imo they would never stand back and let the SPFL allow them to have Ashley, with his funding ability, bend the rules with dual ownership.
Ashley will want Rangers in top league as merchandise sales will be much greater but as it stands he needs someone else to pump money in and i would imagine most serious players now are waiting for the next insolvency event (possibly Ashley too) as they need to shed some player costs and perhaps they are thinking the possibilty of another year in championship is not a deal breaker?
If Ashley gets some assets from a default then the insolvency might suit him with someone like King coming in on his white horse being the new front man and letting him have merchandise rights plus property rental without breaking the ownership rules.
Here's another possibility. The football club owns Ibrox and the training complex, but its accounts show a large debt to the plc. Could the plc write off the debt in return for the property which the club would then rent? The next step would be to put the club up for sale, with a clear statement that it will close if there are no purchasers. Rangers men step in to save the institution.
Everyone wins. Ashley keeps his retail deals, onerous contracts continue, other shareholders start seeing a return from what's now a profitable property company, and crowds flock back to a football club which is clear of any problems related to dual ownership.
23-12-2014, 09:30 AM
Here's another possibility. The football club owns Ibrox and the training complex, but its accounts show a large debt to the plc. Could the plc write off the debt in return for the property which the club would then rent? The next step would be to put the club up for sale, with a clear statement that it will close if there are no purchasers. Rangers men step in to save the institution.
Everyone wins. Ashley keeps his retail deals, onerous contracts continue, other shareholders start seeing a return from what's now a profitable property company, and crowds flock back to a football club which is clear of any problems related to dual ownership.
I've said in the past that a "sale and leaseback" might be a way out, although I hadn't thought about the holding company doing it. You could be on to something.
What has intrigued me even more now is that, according to one report I read (DR, I think), Ashley voted against the "pre-emptive rights" resolution yesterday. I'm not sure why he would have done that, other than to give him first dibs on the shares and prevent the likes of King getting involved. However, since it was the Board that proposed the resolution in the first place...... :cb
It's like Boardwalk Empire.
23-12-2014, 10:33 AM
As Ashley has already stated he plans to not be the majority shareholder in Newcastle by mid 2016 so a process in in place anyway.
Ashley needs to find a buyer for Newcastle first, though. So far he hasn't done so, although he may well be lining someone up.
23-12-2014, 10:54 AM
Ashley needs to find a buyer for Newcastle first, though. So far he hasn't done so, although he may well be lining someone up.
ALL he needs is someone willing to pay £X millions for the club and be willing to take on the £128 million debt :thumbsup:
23-12-2014, 10:59 AM
Surely we need to have "achieved" something to be classed as "underachieving" :offski: your insults are like water off a ducks back :wink:
I get the impression that the Rangers downfall is imminent, whereas any sale of Newcastle is likely to be very protracted. Ashley may get pelters from the fans, but he's at almost every game so he must be enjoying life as a Premiership chairman. Probably opens a lot more doors in the hospitality and boardrooms on match days in the Premiership than he's ever likely to get north of the border.
23-12-2014, 11:03 AM
As Ashley has already stated he plans to not be the majority shareholder in Newcastle by mid 2016 so a process in in place anyway. Rangers being stuck in the Championship for another season is no big deal for Ashley as he is restructuring the club completely. He is cost cutting already and clearing out the old guard. You can expect to see the 7 grand a week brigade have their contracts ended or paid up and the age of the squad to come down. If Hearts and Hibs go up this year from the Championship it gives Rangers a clear run at the Championship in 2015/16.
Lets look at it rationally - For the SFA the lure of a healthy Rangers as opposed to the staggering sick excuse of a club they are just now is huge. Llambias will sell them the vision of a financially secure and healthy Rangers. Remember as well that SFA Committee includes Stewart Regan, Peter Lawell and Rod Petrie. Regan is leaving, Petrie himself has presided over his own annus horriblus and Lawell has an annual £10m funding gap to fill - he needs Rangers. These men don't care about being unpopular and know they are in an impossible position, they will be criticized whatever they do. They preside over clubs in a league with no sponsor and a pitiful TV deal.
Expect Ashley to get his request to take his stake up to 29.9% passed with conditions.
And what a position Mr Petrie finds himself in. Potentially voting for an easing or bending of the rules in order to allow Sevco safe passage to back where they belong (etc. etc)...
Our Chairman has an opportunity to acknowledge that The Rangers spend money they don't have - just like the previous Club did, and Hearts did as well. If they can't stand on their own two feet - tough...
Tough choice Me Petrie: let's see if your actions favour The Rangers or Hibs...
23-12-2014, 11:07 AM
As Ashley has already stated he plans to not be the majority shareholder in Newcastle by mid 2016 so a process is in place anyway.
I'm not so sure that's what he actually said, unless it's a new statement.
He has said that he would be in charge at Newcastle till at least the end of next season, not sure that relates to him leaving at that point, just that if there was a buyer then it would take that long for it to be concluded. I've not heard of any buyer making themselves known, although there are the usual rumours abour Qatar and various middle eastern/chinese/korean/american consortiums that fly about from time to time.
AndyM_1875
23-12-2014, 11:24 AM
And what a position Mr Petrie finds himself in. Potentially voting for an easing or bending of the rules in order to allow Sevco safe passage to back where they belong (etc. etc)...
Our Chairman has an opportunity to acknowledge that The Rangers spend money they don't have - just like the previous Club did, and Hearts did as well. If they can't stand on their own two feet - tough...
Tough choice Me Petrie: let's see if your actions favour The Rangers or Hibs...
Rod will vote on what he's presented with by Llambias. If its a constructive & positive presentation/discussion then he may vote in favour of allowing dispensation.
Whatever we think of his recent tenure as Hibs CEO he is totally professional and will make a dispassionate decision that won't be influenced by old grievances but what he is presented with on the day.
Regan will undoubtedly back Rangers and Lawell wants Rangers in the top flight & brand Old Firm restarted. He's in charge of a club that has downsized for 3 years and still has an annual £10m hole in its accounts which it fills via player sales with VVD the next out the door. The rest of the Celtic pool are either pushing 30, damaged goods or so bang average you'd never get any club to pay serious cash for any of them.
23-12-2014, 11:31 AM
What's maybe not been talked about much is the ongoing situation of Livingston/East Fife/Dumbarton regarding joint ownership. These 3 clubs are currently going through the disciplinary process and if the SFA roll over for Rangers (and Ashley) then there could be some serious back-tracking needed down Hampden way :duck:
23-12-2014, 12:06 PM
I had the occasion to talk to Brian Kennedy recently through work related matters
A Hibs daft family, a gent, in my brief experience of him, and most certainly not the archetypal rangers man
He released a press statement after his loan offer was rejected outlining in clear detail the 9 terms of loan
It was a no lose situation for him as a financier, his statement made that crystal clear, and he wasn't unhappy to walk away
23-12-2014, 12:20 PM
Rod will vote on what he's presented with by Llambias. If its a constructive & positive presentation/discussion then he may vote in favour of allowing dispensation.
Whatever we think of his recent tenure as Hibs CEO he is totally professional and will make a dispassionate decision that won't be influenced by old grievances but what he is presented with on the day.
Regan will undoubtedly back Rangers and Lawell wants Rangers in the top flight & brand Old Firm restarted. He's in charge of a club that has downsized for 3 years and still has an annual £10m hole in its accounts which it fills via player sales with VVD the next out the door. The rest of the Celtic pool are either pushing 30, damaged goods or so bang average you'd never get any club to pay serious cash for any of them.
Indeed.
We are fortunate to have a non-Exec Chairman prepared to vote for the good of Scottish Football and to the potential detriment of his own Club.
Where would be without such people?
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 12:40 PM
Indeed.
We are fortunate to have a non-Exec Chairman prepared to vote for the good of Scottish Football and to the potential detriment of his own Club.
Where would be without such people?
Sent from a phone
Yeah - just make wee digs while ignoring the facts ... :rolleyes:
http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/18065520
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2144376/Hibernian-chairman-hints-vote-Rangers.html
23-12-2014, 01:04 PM
Yeah - just make wee digs while ignoring the facts ... :rolleyes:
http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/18065520
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2144376/Hibernian-chairman-hints-vote-Rangers.html
Why don't you read what I wrote in the context of the post I was replying to, instead of getting wee digs in??:rolleyes:
The links you post are over 2 years old, btw.
As it is, since then, rules have been invented, bent or overlooked completely during the Sevco fiasco and yet here they stand on the precipice of liquidation, all because of their sense of entitlement and pathological problem with spending money they don't have.
So, does Sir Rod of Petrie throw them a life ring, or stick a hose down their throat, so to speak. Is it stick or twist?
We - that is Hibs - don't 'need' a strong Rangers, quite the opposite. Scottish Football needs to 'move on' from this SMSM and BBC fiction that somehow a Rangers is required, at any cost.
Rangers operated a failed business model, just like their owner, Sir David Murray, whose business interest OWE a staggering £780m.
The Rangers/Sevco operate on the same lines, but if they can be allowed to survive they will (eventually) 'come back' through an acquiescent media and sheer critical mass. In the meantime Clubs like Aberdeen and Dundee United, Inverness even are thoroughly enjoying life without them.
Us? Oh, we're third - behind - yes, you guessed it, the omnishambles that is The Rangers/Sevco.
Hell mend them.
23-12-2014, 01:08 PM
I had the occasion to talk to Brian Kennedy recently through work related matters
A Hibs daft family, a gent, in my brief experience of him, and most certainly not the archetypal rangers man
He released a press statement after his loan offer was rejected outlining in clear detail the 9 terms of loan
It was a no lose situation for him as a financier, his statement made that crystal clear, and he wasn't unhappy to walk away
He was greeting when his take over failed in 2012, though.
23-12-2014, 01:13 PM
Why don't you read what I wrote in the context of the post I was replying to, instead of getting wee digs in??:rolleyes:
The links you post are over 2 years old, btw.
As it is, since then, rules have been invented, bent or overlooked completely during the Sevco fiasco and yet here they stand on the precipice of liquidation, all because of their sense of entitlement and pathological problem with spending money they don't have.
So, does Sir Rod of Petrie throw them a life ring, or stick a hose down their throat, so to speak. Is it stick or twist?
We - that is Hibs - don't 'need' a strong Rangers, quite the opposite. Scottish Football needs to 'move on' from this SMSM and BBC fiction that somehow a Rangers is required, at any cost.
Rangers operated a failed business model, just like their owner, Sir David Murray, whose business interest OWE a staggering £780m.
The Rangers/Sevco operate on the same lines, but if they can be allowed to survive they will (eventually) 'come back' through an acquiescent media and sheer critical mass. In the meantime Clubs like Aberdeen and Dundee United, Inverness even are thoroughly enjoying life without them.
Us? Oh, we're third - behind - yes, you guessed it, the omnishambles that is The Rangers/Sevco.
Hell mend them.
So why the dig at RP?
23-12-2014, 01:17 PM
So why the dig at RP?
Have you not read what I wrote in the context of the post I was replying to then?
23-12-2014, 01:58 PM
Have you not read what I wrote in the context of the post I was replying to then?
One of the reasons that Scottish football is goosed is the history of people protecting individual clubs instead of the interests of the game in general.
RP was one of the first to come out against Rangers the last time around and I'd be surprised if he went against his principles when it comes to future discussion or voting re sevco. If there is allowance in the rules for any dispensation, then I doubt he'd be for anything that benefits the Rangers to the detriment of any other club - including Hibs.
In any case, no such discussion or vote has taken place, so I don't see the need for yet another cheap shot at RP.
AndyM_1875
23-12-2014, 02:59 PM
Rod won't be voting as Chairman of Hibs. It will be as an office bearer of the SFA. He has to consider whether he thinks Llambias plans are viable and whether he thinks Ashley's plans for Rangers (regardless of the past) are viable going forward for that club.
The current league placings of Rangers or Hibs are completely irrelevant. Whatever decision the SFA including Rod make they will be in an impossible position because they be criticized regardless of what they do.
23-12-2014, 03:28 PM
Why don't you read what I wrote in the context of the post I was replying to, instead of getting wee digs in??:rolleyes: The links you post are over 2 years old, btw. As it is, since then, rules have been invented, bent or overlooked completely during the Sevco fiasco and yet here they stand on the precipice of liquidation, all because of their sense of entitlement and pathological problem with spending money they don't have. So, does Sir Rod of Petrie throw them a life ring, or stick a hose down their throat, so to speak. Is it stick or twist? We - that is Hibs - don't 'need' a strong Rangers, quite the opposite. Scottish Football needs to 'move on' from this SMSM and BBC fiction that somehow a Rangers is required, at any cost. Rangers operated a failed business model, just like their owner, Sir David Murray, whose business interest OWE a staggering £780m. The Rangers/Sevco operate on the same lines, but if they can be allowed to survive they will (eventually) 'come back' through an acquiescent media and sheer critical mass. In the meantime Clubs like Aberdeen and Dundee United, Inverness even are thoroughly enjoying life without them. Us? Oh, we're third - behind - yes, you guessed it, the omnishambles that is The Rangers/Sevco. Hell mend them.
Well said that man
23-12-2014, 03:50 PM
Today's informal meeting will be purely so the SFA can tell Aslhey via Llambias how best the SFA can facilatate Ashley in getting whatever he wants whilst fudging their own articles in such a way that it looks like they are following their own vague rules.
No doubt Llambias will emerge saying only "very positive talks have taken place"
23-12-2014, 03:58 PM
Rod won't be voting as Chairman of Hibs. It will be as an office bearer of the SFA. He has to consider whether he thinks Llambias plans are viable and whether he thinks Ashley's plans for Rangers (regardless of the past) are viable going forward for that club.
The current league placings of Rangers or Hibs are completely irrelevant. Whatever decision the SFA including Rod make they will be in an impossible position because they be criticized regardless of what they do.
In which case there is no point in Hibernian having a non-Exec Chairman of Hibernian involved.
Seems to me like a uniquely unilateral position to take, and by definition potentially damaging to Hibs.
They will be criticised by The Rangers fans if they DON'T stick to their own rules... Why does one Club have to survive no matter what????
23-12-2014, 04:05 PM
In which case there is no point in Hibernian having a non-Exec Chairman of Hibernian involved.
Seems to me like a uniquely unilateral position to take, and by definition potentially damaging to Hibs.
They will be criticised by The Rangers fans if they DON'T stick to their own rules... Why does one Club have to survive no matter what????
Shirley it's the only one he can take?
23-12-2014, 04:26 PM
Shirley it's the only one he can take?
Correct. The SFA is there to look after the 'Old Firm' and The Rangers in particular.
Good job Rod understands this.
Meanwhile somewhere in the real world someone stands up for the ordinary football fan.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 04:39 PM
Can someone tell me what RP has or hasn't done re. this issue?
23-12-2014, 04:48 PM
I expect talk of league reconstruction to be brought up soon, especially if we win on Saturday.
23-12-2014, 05:12 PM
Correct. The SFA is there to look after the 'Old Firm' and The Rangers in particular.
Meanwhile somewhere in the real world someone stands up for the ordinary football fan.
Sent from a phone
So Rangers fans don't matter then?
Who is this mythical person in the real world who stands up for the ordinary football fan?
23-12-2014, 05:26 PM
Sent from a phone
You've misunderstood me. The stance he has to take is on behalf of the SFA. In this situation, that's his job.
23-12-2014, 05:32 PM
Can someone tell me what RP has or hasn't done re. this issue?
Someone earlier said that not to worry RP will have the Yuletide fireside chat with Lambias and if the latest Sevco CEO put a good case forward for ignoring the rules then he's not let his position as Hibs Chairman influence him.
The SFA are supposed to apply the rules without fear or favour. If only this was the case.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 05:36 PM
Rod Petrie is a disgrace to Hibernian Football Club.
I've no idea what his role at the SFA is.
23-12-2014, 05:38 PM
Someone earlier said that not to worry RP will have the Yuletide fireside chat with Lambias and if the latest Sevco CEO put a good case forward for ignoring the rules then he's not let his position as Hibs Chairman influence him.
The SFA are supposed to apply the rules without fear or favour. If only this was the case.
Sent from a phone
What are the rules that he is expected to ignore?
23-12-2014, 05:42 PM
Sent from a phone
Rod Petrie is a disgrace to Hibernian Football Club.
I've no idea what his role at the SFA is.
So nobody knows what he's done or is going to do?
Fine - might as well have a pop at him then!
How boring and pathetic!
23-12-2014, 05:45 PM
So Rangers fans don't matter then?
Who is this mythical person in the real world who stands up for the ordinary football fan?
How about Turnbull Hutton, Chairman of Raith Rovers?
Exposed the lies and deception during the Sevco/Club 12 shenanigans and received death threats and police protection as a result.
His crime? To point out that TRFC could not be parachuted into Div 1.
He understand the ordinary football fan I'd suggest.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 05:47 PM
What are the rules that he is expected to ignore?
I don't know, what about dual ownership and influence?
Or are you not keeping up with the story over at Ibrox?
FYI. The only way Rangers make payroll is from secured loans from Moke Ashley owner of Newcastle United.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 05:50 PM
You've misunderstood me. The stance he has to take is on behalf of the SFA. In this situation, that's his job.
I've not misunderstood you at all.
The SFA doesn't apply the rules without fear or favour.
It's Chairman is the recipient of a £95k EBT Loan from Rangers 1872. He, for example, is completely conflicted.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 05:52 PM
I don't know, what about dual ownership and influence?
Or are you not keeping up with the story over at Ibrox?
FYI. The only way Rangers make payroll is from secured loans from Moke Ashley owner of Newcastle United.
Sent from a phone
There's no need for that. Of course I am keeping up with the events.
So what is the SFA rule on dual ownership that RFC will be allowed to break?
23-12-2014, 05:54 PM
Today's informal meeting will be purely so the SFA can tell Aslhey via Llambias how best the SFA can facilatate Ashley in getting whatever he wants whilst fudging their own articles in such a way that it looks like they are following their own vague rules.
No doubt Llambias will emerge saying only "very positive talks have taken place"
Most likely, sadly.
I'd be delighted if RP didn't allow such a thing to occur based on his own principles and an understanding of what is good for the rest of Senior football in Scotland.
And for the avoidance of doubt, one Club should not be allowed to survive simply because it plays at Ibrox.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 05:57 PM
Why the snide questions then??
You obviously DONT think that there is anything preventing dual ownership.
I do.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:00 PM
I do.
Sent from a phone
CWG deals with the facts available and keep us all well informed of now things are moving along. He doesn't let petty paranoia get in the way of his judgement.
I know who I pay attention to on these threads.
23-12-2014, 06:00 PM
So what is the SFA rule on dual ownership that RFC will be allowed to break?
I also get that you see nothing wrong with The Rangers having been allowed to transfer their history and records of achievement from the liquidated entity, in contrast to Airdrie & Gretna, who couldn't even use the same name.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:02 PM
I do.
Sent from a phone
There's no snide questions, and I certainly don't think that. I've read the rules, and know for example that the famous 10% that is bandied about is a myth.
23-12-2014, 06:04 PM
I also get that you see nothing wrong with The Rangers having been allowed to transfer their history and records of achievement from the liquidated entity, in contrast to Airdrie & Gretna, who couldn't even use the same name.
Sent from a phone
Rangers paid for it :)
23-12-2014, 06:07 PM
CWG deals with the facts available and keep us all well informed of now things are moving along. He doesn't let petty paranoia get in the way of his judgement.
I know who I pay attention to on these threads.
I didn't realise he was omnipotent and infallible. Thanks for letting me know.
I'm not paranoid, but I'm certainly not holding my breath expecting the SFA, which includes our Dear Leader, from growing a set.
And as for your snide remark, why not play the ball rather than the man?
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:10 PM
I didn't realise he was omnipotent and infallible. Thanks for letting me know.
I'm not paranoid, but I'm certainly not holding my breath expecting the SFA, which includes our Dear Leader, from growing a set.
And as for your snide remark, why not play the ball rather than the man?
Sent from a phone
If I was omnipotent and infallible, would I be a Hibby?😁
AndyM_1875
23-12-2014, 06:11 PM
How is it damaging to Hibs? This is not a decision that can be made with short term thinking.
Rod is acting for the SFA, not Hibs. He will listen with impartiality to Derek Llambias which is a damn sight more than Lawell will do who will no doubt be clearing as many obstacles as possible
23-12-2014, 06:12 PM
So nobody knows what he's done or is going to do?
Fine - might as well have a pop at him then!
How boring and pathetic!
I am no Petrie fan but this thread is producing one of the most contrived attacks on him I have seen here. I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry.
23-12-2014, 06:12 PM
There's no snide questions, and I certainly don't think that. I've read the rules, and know for example that the famous 10% that is bandied about is a myth.
Ok - and I never mentioned 10% btw - can TRFC keep accepting secured loans and other finance just to keep the lights on, from the owner of another Club?
Can MASH own 29.9% of the Hun or not?
In other words what's the point of a dual ownership rule in principle if it cannot or won't be applied when CLEARLY there is just that scenario here today??
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:13 PM
How is it damaging to Hibs? This is not a decision that can be made with short term thinking.
Rod is acting for the SFA, not Hibs. He will listen with impartiality to Derek Llambias which is a damn sight more than Lawell will do who will no doubt be clearing as many obstacles as possible
I genuinely and sincerely hope this is the case.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:19 PM
Ok - and I never mentioned 10% btw - can TRFC keep accepting secured loans and other finance just to keep the lights on, from the owner of another Club?
Can MASH own 29.9% of the Hun or not?
In other words what's the point of a dual ownership rule in principle if it cannot or won't be applied when CLEARLY there is just that scenario here today??
Sent from a phone
The rules aren't prescriptive in terms of the numbers. However, the fact that the compliance officer saw fit to make the charge suggests that at least he ....and perhaps others in the SFA....think that there is a case to answer.
I've not been following this circus in any great depth, but what I do know is that I hope Rangers beat Celtic in the forthcoming League Cup tie. Celtic dishing out a humiliating thrashing would be very funny indeed, but not as funny as Rangers in their current predicament beating Celtic would be.
I am no Petrie fan but this thread is producing one of the most contrived attacks on him I have seen here. I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry.
I'm not attacking anyone. I've merely pointed out that our closest rival The Rangers are in danger of going bang and the SFA need to adjudicate on whether they can be kept alive by the owner of another Club. Our own Chairman is part of this process.
Since then I've been told I don't know what I'm talking about and Rod will listen and do what is best for the SFA.
I personally think the SFA are a parcel of rogues, incompetent and inept. Barry Hearn agreed with me :greengrin:
But, to govern is to choose, and Rods got choices to make that I hope don't impact on Hibs first and Scottish football more generally.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:22 PM
Rangers paid for it :)
Aye so they did. £1.
A unique event in the history of asset sales and (dare I say it) accountancy?
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:27 PM
The rules aren't prescriptive in terms of the numbers. However, the fact that the compliance officer saw fit to make the charge suggests that at least he ....and perhaps others in the SFA....think that there is a case to answer.
Delicately handled :greengrin:
In my simple mind the question is simply can Rangers be allowed to continue only by being able to accept finance from the owner of another Club?
I don't believe there is any precedent for this being allowed.
The implications of this being allowed are uncertain but they won't be good for anyone but Mike Ashley, first, then the Hun, second.
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:30 PM
Aye so they did. £1.
A unique event in the history of asset sales and (dare I say it) accountancy?
Sent from a phone
Wis a fiver.
Someone was cheated.
And it's not unique. Goodwill and brands can be valued at anything that suits the situation.
23-12-2014, 06:32 PM
Delicately handled :greengrin:
In my simple mind the question is simply can Rangers be allowed to continue only by being able to accept finance from the owner of another Club?
I don't believe there is any precedent for this being allowed.
The implications of this being allowed are uncertain but they won't be good for anyone but Mike Ashley, first, then the Hun, second.
Sent from a phone
There is no precedent. My expectation is that, once this situation is done, the rules will be tightened up....much like the 10/15/25 points deduction business.
23-12-2014, 06:34 PM
I'm not attacking anyone. I've merely pointed out that our closest rival The Rangers are in danger of going bang and the SFA need to adjudicate on whether they can be kept alive by the owner of another Club. Our own Chairman is part of this process.
You had a dig at RP, more or less saying that he would do the wrong thing from a Hibs point of view.
The reality is that none of us know what he'll do.
23-12-2014, 06:43 PM
Wis a fiver.
Someone was cheated.
And it's not unique. Goodwill and brands can be valued at anything that suits the situation.
But this was the first time that anyone had attempted to buy football history' and 'achievements' I believe?
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:48 PM
There is no precedent. My expectation is that, once this situation is done, the rules will be tightened up....much like the 10/15/25 points deduction business.
Interesting. That's my worry that a failing restarted Club, unable to meet payroll without cash from MASH, will be allowed to carry on. Then, the Laws will be tightened up after...
Sent from a phone
23-12-2014, 06:49 PM
But this was the first time that anyone had attempted to buy football history' and 'achievements' I believe?
Sent from a phone
I've no idea on that score. I'd be surprised if it was.
For the record, it was the brand and badge that were bought. The argument as to whether that includes the history etc, as I've said many times, will probably not be settled until the Court decides.
23-12-2014, 06:52 PM
I'm surprised that Rod would even be a lot to make a decision, given that said decision could lead to Rangers taking a 25 point hit, benefiting us.
Surely Rod's position is a conflict of interest, no? Not that that's stopped folk at the SFA before...
AndyM_1875
23-12-2014, 06:58 PM
Sent from a phone
No. Happened with both Napoli and Fiorentina. In fact in the case of Fiorentina they bought back their old liquidated entity too.
Steve Gibson restarted Middlesbrough FC in summer 1986 with a new company after the liquidator had been called in and the gates closed. Don't go saying to a Smoggie that his club can't trace its history back to 1876 though. The continuity is the same football club but a different corporate structure of ownership.
23-12-2014, 06:58 PM
You had a dig at RP, more or less saying that he would do the wrong thing from a Hibs point of view.
The reality is that none of us know what he'll do.
Do you get email notifications every time Rod's name comes up in a thread so that you can quickly get on and defend him or at the very least attack those who criticise him?
23-12-2014, 07:00 PM
Do you get email notifications every time Rod's name comes up in a thread so that you can quickly get on and defend him or at the very least attack those who criticise him?
Yeah, of course.
23-12-2014, 09:04 PM
No. Happened with both Napoli and Fiorentina. In fact in the case of Fiorentina they bought back their old liquidated entity too.
Steve Gibson restarted Middlesbrough FC in summer 1986 with a new company after the liquidator had been called in and the gates closed. Don't go saying to a Smoggie that his club can't trace its history back to 1876 though. The continuity is the same football club but a different corporate structure of ownership.
Did Leeds not technically meet the blender a few years back too?
Ultimately, it's an emotional thing, nobody will successfully convince (a lot of at least) a support that their club is dead and all the history is gone while they're still sat in the same stadium watching guys run about in the same strip. The media was never going to go on that crusade, as all it would have brought them would have been reduced circulation / viewers and abuse.
As others have said, they aren't the first club to do it, or the worst offenders; hell Juventus still count the titles they lost for match fixing.
23-12-2014, 09:11 PM
But didn't Boro actually have the year 1986 on their crest? Not sure if they still do.
AndyM_1875
23-12-2014, 09:27 PM
But didn't Boro actually have the year 1986 on their crest? Not sure if they still do.
They did but that was more to do with what they saw as their year of rescue. Boro see their year of Founding as 1876.
andrew70
23-12-2014, 09:28 PM
Yes they do.
23-12-2014, 09:32 PM
They did but that was more to do with what they saw as their year of rescue. Boro see their year of Founding as 1876.
I see. Cheers for that.
AndyM_1875
23-12-2014, 09:39 PM
Did Leeds not technically meet the blender a few years back too?
Ultimately, it's an emotional thing, nobody will successfully convince (a lot of at least) a support that their club is dead and all the history is gone while they're still sat in the same stadium watching guys run about in the same strip. The media was never going to go on that crusade, as all it would have brought them would have been reduced circulation / viewers and abuse.
As others have said, they aren't the first club to do it, or the worst offenders; hell Juventus still count the titles they lost for match fixing.
They did, as did Pompey. Assets, brands etc moved to new operating companies & old holding Companies liquidated. CWG may know more with regards to the specifics though.
I can't blame the MSM for not going down that road though as It's a pointless argument, a complete waste of time. People follow teams, not corporate registrations.
24-12-2014, 12:17 PM
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_fa_news.cfm?page=2986&newsID=14129&newsCategoryID=1
Not what some folk expected. Will Ashley take legal action?
24-12-2014, 12:19 PM
With the sfa refusing Ashleys request, is that them ****ed now?
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_fa_news.cfm?page=2986&newsID=14129&newsCategoryID=1
My gast is suitably flabbered!:cb
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_fa_news.cfm?page=2986&newsid=14129&newscategoryid=1
not what some folk expected. Will ashley take legal action?
Petrie !!!
24-12-2014, 12:24 PM
Petrie !!!
Whose this Petie guy? Seems a decent sort :wink:
24-12-2014, 12:29 PM
With the sfa refusing Ashleys request, is that them ****ed now?
I'm not sure that's the legal term but let's hope so. :greengrin
24-12-2014, 12:36 PM
Can't help feeling that he may not be that bothered.
Although he would have preferred to get control this way, I think he was trying it on. Plan B might be to use his security in Admin 2.
AndyM_1875
24-12-2014, 12:37 PM
Although he would have preferred to get control this way, I think he was trying it on. Plan B might be to use his security in Admin 2.
25 point deduction then.
24-12-2014, 12:37 PM
With more twists and turns than Snake Pass, things are rarely what they seem in the Sevco Fiasco.
However, credit where it's due - the SFA grow a set and say on yer bike Mike.
:applause:
24-12-2014, 12:40 PM
25 point deduction then.
According to some, the onerous contracts that are crippling the Clumpany survive Administration.
If so - then potentially the big L beckons... if MASH wants to sell the whole thing on, cleansed, to 'Real Rangers' men (who will need to create Third Rangers).
AndyM_1875
24-12-2014, 12:44 PM
Why would liquidation happen? No need for it.
Don't have an intransigent creditor desperately trying to make a point there like HMRC.
Business would be sold on and probably quickly.
24-12-2014, 12:44 PM
or the scenario I proposed a couple of days ago of selling the club while the plc retains the property.:greengrin
24-12-2014, 01:05 PM
Petrie deserves all of the criticism he gets for how he has handled things at Hibs over the past 7/8 years.
The thing is though, if you remember back to the first time things went "pop" for der hun, he had us eating out of his hand. There were Che Petrie t-shirts and the like on the go. IIRC it was he who first spoke about "sporting integrity" and the need for Scotland to have well-run clubs. His appearance on the love TV debate at the time was very impressive. It was the "hard but fair" approach that we should really always be poking for from our authorities and decision-makers.
It's very easy to all get into our corners and battle/debate in a prejudiced manner on a number of subjects. But I have to say that I thought the authorities did well the first time round - Turnbull Hutton, Petrie etc stood up well for what they what was right. And I'm not saying this because I'm "anti-Rangers" - they actually handed The Rangers a massive opportunity to rebuild their reputation and work their way back to where they were before, rather than punishing them (the fact that they've chosen to squander that opportunity through excess, grandiose and corruption of those in charge at that club has been their choice.) I thought what happened was a decent outcome for all parties (albeit the more vengeful amongst fans of other clubs would have loved them to have been "killed off" and the The Rangers fans will always bear a grudge over how hard they were punished.) Regan, Doncaster et al were obviously a total embarrassment with their cries of armageddon but that's what we have come to expect of clowns like that.
It is great to see this being announced today. Hopefully the past few years will have shown those in charge of our game that life can go on without the OF and that observing the rules,fair play and (dare I say it) sporting integrity are actually more important than vaulting The Rangers into the top flight in the quickest way possible.
As regards this whole scenario going forward I would trust Petrie 100% to do the right thing for Scottish football and I think a role within the SFA should be what he focusses on going forward. I'd like to see him leave Hibs, his credibility is beyond repair at ER following our footballing demise over the past few years. That is not to say that he doesn't have strengths and that we shouldn't acknowledge the fact that he has occasionally managed to get things right.
24-12-2014, 01:08 PM
Why would liquidation happen? No need for it.
Don't have an intransigent creditor desperately trying to make a point there like HMRC.
Business would be sold on and probably quickly.
Well liquidation would end the onerous contracts owned by Charles of Normandy & Co. These include suppliers getting rewarded with bonuses for The Rangers getting promoted...
Isn't a CVL a possibility? Big Mike has security over some of the heritable assets...
24-12-2014, 01:13 PM
According to some, the onerous contracts that are crippling the Clumpany survive Administration.
If so - then potentially the big L beckons... if MASH wants to sell the whole thing on, cleansed, to 'Real Rangers' men (who will need to create Third Rangers).
Can't see why the Onerous Contracts would survive administration Would be interested in finding out why.
Even if they did, the decision as to who the company is sold on to is not MASH's. With a secured debt, they don't have a vote in a CVA.
24-12-2014, 01:24 PM
:agree::thumbsup:
Spoke to my cousin a Newcastle fan/shareholder and and he told me " this man is all about money/profit , not an ounce of sentiment "
Next three /five months should be interesting with the potential for the club to be
" donald ducked" again - but in this instance it could be big time !!
24-12-2014, 01:27 PM
Well liquidation would end the onerous contracts owned by Charles of Normandy & Co. These include suppliers getting rewarded with bonuses for The Rangers getting promoted...
Isn't a CVL a possibility? Big Mike has security over some of the heritable assets...
A CVA is possible, but Ashley has little or no say in how that pans out.
AndyM_1875
24-12-2014, 01:31 PM
Can't see why the Onerous Contracts would survive administration Would be interested in finding out why.
Even if they did, the decision as to who the company is sold on to is not MASH's. With a secured debt, they don't have a vote in a CVA.
Onerous contracts will be expunged by Admin2.
This time they would have to get it right.
I have a feeling King will reappear. This time he will have to show he's is not 'all fart & nae *****' as my dear auld Leith granny used to say.
24-12-2014, 01:31 PM
Outrageous! Didn't the SFA read Somers' statement on Monday about anti-the rangers sentiment outside ibrox? This was the perfect opportunity to prove him wrong and they blew it.
24-12-2014, 01:44 PM
A CVA is possible, but Ashley has little or no say in how that pans out.
Are the letters CVA and CVL inter-changeable here?
24-12-2014, 01:46 PM
Are the letters CVA and CVL inter-changeable here?
They're different things.
A CVL (liquidation) is unlikely, IMO.
24-12-2014, 01:50 PM
Onerous contracts will be expunged by Admin2.
This time they would have to get it right.
I have a feeling King will reappear. This time he will have to show he's is not 'all fart & nae *****' as my dear auld Leith granny used to say.
According to McGillobhain, that might not happen.
The South African Revenue Service are re-visiting tax cases that have been settled, with a view to re-negotiating them. :cb
24-12-2014, 01:54 PM
So Ashley can't increase his stake.
They need £8 million to survive the season.
The AGM voted against a further share issue.
Are they left only with the option of Ashley providing more loans in return for assets?
24-12-2014, 01:57 PM
The AGM voted against a further share issue.They voted against something, but I don't think it was exactly that.
24-12-2014, 01:58 PM
So Ashley can't increase his stake.
They need £8 million to survive the season.
The AGM voted against a further share issue.
Are they left only with the option of Ashley providing more loans in return for assets?
That's not quite the case.
They voted for the share issue. The bit they voted against was getting rid of the provision that they had to offer them to current shareholders first. So... they have to do that first, and give current shareholders the opportunity to maintain their current holding. Only then can they offer them to others.
I can't get my head round the implications of that yet, except that the whole process will take more time than they have.
24-12-2014, 02:01 PM
That's not quite the case.
They voted for the share issue. The bit they voted against was getting rid of the provision that they had to offer them to current shareholders first. So... they have to do that first, and give current shareholders the opportunity to maintain their current holding. Only then can they offer them to others.
I can't get my head round the implications of that yet, except that the whole process will take more time than they have.
Cheers for clarifying that, CWG. Do you reckon further loans from Ashley is their only hope short term?
24-12-2014, 02:04 PM
Cheers for clarifying that, CWG. Do you reckon further loans from Ashley is their only hope short term?
It would seem so.
Despite today's news, he still has his hands around their cojones.
or the scenario I proposed a couple of days ago of selling the club while the plc retains the property.:greengrin
I have thought that Ashley will end up with most of the assets (including stadium if further loans are required?) and the merchandising rights. This will allow King/Kennedy etc to rent the lot and run a football club on money generated from football operations while paying sizeable annual fees for facilities. A situation that it think suits Celtic enormously as it will allow the Rangers to creep back into the top league but with this restricted income it should allow Celtic to dominate them for years to come.
24-12-2014, 02:14 PM
I have thought that Ashley will end up with most of the assets (including stadium if further loans are required?) and the merchandising rights. This will allow King/Kennedy etc to rent the lot and run a football club on money generated from football operations while paying sizeable annual fees for facilities. A situation that it think suits Celtic enormously as it will allow the Rangers to creep back into the top league but with this restricted income it should allow Celtic to dominate them for years to come.
A strange one for Celtic though.
A "dominated" Rangers would be lucky to get about 5000 people to go to their games regularly. None of their fans would want to go to see them get regularly pumped by Celtic. So what's the point having them up there making up the numbers? In Celtic's eyes they'd become just another diddy team.
Celtic need them to be strong - just a wee bit less strong than Celtic.
Imo Celtic would be as well having Rangers out the picture altogether.
Crazyhorse
24-12-2014, 02:17 PM
If I was omnipotent and infallible, would I be a Hibby?
It is possible CWG. Just look at me I've never been wrong about anything, although I am a disgruntled Hibby most of the time.
24-12-2014, 02:20 PM
Why haven't they had a serious go at a fan ownership model? For a club of that size it's feasible, but instead they allow themselves to be butchered by the likes of Whyte, Green, Ashley. If they got organized, they could do it, especially now.
24-12-2014, 02:22 PM
It will be interesting in admin 2 to find out if Ibrox or Murray Park have securities on them?
24-12-2014, 02:22 PM
It is possible CWG. Just look at me I've never been wrong about anything, although I am a disgruntled Hibby most of the time.
I'm modest enough to admit that I was wrong about something once. It was only once though and it was way back in 1984......
A strange one for Celtic though.
A "dominated" Rangers would be lucky to get about 5000 people to go to their games regularly. None of their fans would want to go to see them get regularly pumped by Celtic. So what's the point having them up there making up the numbers? In Celtic's eyes they'd become just another diddy team.
Celtic need them to be strong - just a wee bit less strong than Celtic.
Imo Celtic would be as well having Rangers out the picture altogether.
I know its a fine balance in reality, i suppose if Rangers get a good manager in then it would give them a fighting chance. Another McCoist and they would be favourites for relegation!