View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 [180] 181

20-02-2025, 01:36 PM
BBC article says

"The prospective owners would acquire more than 50% of the Rangers shares while taking on the debt"

BBC News - Rangers takeover involving 49ers could be completed by June
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/cjw2dvy2y23o

Which if true, presumably paves the way for a Black Knights takeover of Hibs?

Makes me boak that we could do that only after changing rules to suit that sickening lot

20-02-2025, 01:40 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/2XXPAHvsicMFnLGr9

SF 49ers are lot older than The Rangers.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Greenworld
20-02-2025, 01:41 PM
Cheers for that.

A bit more detail than the DR piece, and probably more reliable.I'm interested in the unnamed investor... for if the rules do not get changed then this person is key

Sent from my SM-S938B using Tapatalk

20-02-2025, 02:06 PM
My first reaction when I read this yesterday was that it was another bout of pre-season ticket sales guff. Hopefully it is, I want to see those ***** bankrupt and gone in my lifetime.

20-02-2025, 03:06 PM
If the report I read is correct the Yanks will buy shares from existing shareholders. While this may trigger a run for the door by a few relieved people it’ll give Rangers zilch.

20-02-2025, 03:35 PM
Guess I'll not be spending any money going to see the 49ers next time I'm out in the Bay Area next time I'm out that way with work then! :greengrin

20-02-2025, 03:48 PM
https://images.app.goo.gl/2XXPAHvsicMFnLGr9

SF 49ers are lot older than The Rangers.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
I’ve got (good) bottles of wine older than The Rangers

20-02-2025, 03:58 PM
Looking at it impartially I can see why they'd be a club someone with cash is looking to buy. They have guaranteed crowds of 50k every week and an easy route into atleast the Europa league every year.

They have one real competitor (albeit one that is significantly better and bigger than them and have been for the best part of 20 years).

20-02-2025, 03:58 PM
Rangers board are 69ers to get in with 49ers

LunasBoots
20-02-2025, 04:34 PM
If the report I read is correct the Yanks will buy shares from existing shareholders. While this may trigger a run for the door by a few relieved people it’ll give Rangers zilch.

Yup buy a few shares, loan some money, expect it back, like Rangers have been doing for years is provaly the reality if theres any truth in it at all.

20-02-2025, 04:54 PM
I’ve got (good) bottles of wine older than The Rangers

And I’ve got cr@p bottles of wine older than the rangers.

On a side note if the rangers were a wine they’d be called vinegar. Bitter as f@@k.

20-02-2025, 06:56 PM
Looking at it impartially I can see why they'd be a club someone with cash is looking to buy. They have guaranteed crowds of 50k every week and an easy route into atleast the Europa league every year.

They have one real competitor (albeit one that is significantly better and bigger than them and have been for the best part of 20 years).

Depends on how much your buying them for. A couple of quid, sure why not. Tens of millions, you'd be off your head considering their debt.

*I've not read anything on it so no idea how much any potential investment is.

Hibs4185
20-02-2025, 07:04 PM
Depends on how much your buying them for. A couple of quid, sure why not. Tens of millions, you'd be off your head considering their debt.

*I've not read anything on it so no idea how much any potential investment is.

Daily record saying Dave kind turned down £17 million for his 12% share a couple of years ago! Hahahaha

They’re saying he might sell now though. No way they are valued at over £50 milioin

20-02-2025, 07:16 PM
Daily record saying Dave kind turned down £17 million for his 12% share a couple of years ago! Hahahaha

They’re saying he might sell now though. No way they are valued at over £50 milioin

If 12% is worth £17m, the whole shebang is £142m.

Shining bright.

Hibs4185
20-02-2025, 07:36 PM

Shining bright.

Exactly no way they are worth anything like that. Another nonsense story to inflate the fans egos.

20-02-2025, 07:46 PM

Shining bright.

I'm out!

20-02-2025, 07:51 PM
I'll invest £1 but I want 100% of the company.

20-02-2025, 08:02 PM
I'll invest £1 but I want 100% of the company.
Is that you Mr White?

20-02-2025, 08:04 PM
Is that you Mr White?

Walter White?

20-02-2025, 08:09 PM
Walter White?
Craig Whyte😆

21-02-2025, 09:21 AM
The Rangers 2012ers, soccer’s newest franchise. It’s gotten the Orcs very excited, though they know no details yet. Wall to wall coverage from the media loyal.

Greenworld
21-02-2025, 09:30 AM
The Rangers 2012ers, soccer’s newest franchise. It’s gotten the Orcs very excited, though they know no details yet. Wall to wall coverage from the media loyal.Let's assume there is truth in it ...let's assume the 50% figure is correct then something as shifted at the SFA.
Personally I hope so for it opens up opportunities for Hibs

Sent from my SM-S938B using Tapatalk

21-02-2025, 10:55 AM
The Rangers 2012ers, soccer’s newest franchise. It’s gotten the Orcs very excited, though they know no details yet. Wall to wall coverage from the media loyal.They maybe want to focus on this?
Scottish meejah won't.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250221/a852c0e4889ce7cc33ae8495cbf3eec7.jpg

Trinity Hibee
21-02-2025, 11:24 AM
https://x.com/matondoprop/status/1892668307611721894

A good laugh

21-02-2025, 11:48 AM
They maybe want to focus on this?
Scottish meejah won't.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250221/a852c0e4889ce7cc33ae8495cbf3eec7.jpg

More importantly do the potential owners know that every home game the will be signing vile songs about them?

21-02-2025, 02:47 PM

The staunch will go berserk if they find out :greengrin

21-02-2025, 02:52 PM
The staunch will go berserk if they find out :greengrin

Nah they won't. They only hate Catholics when it suits them.

Cooshed Kid
21-02-2025, 03:05 PM
More importantly do the potential owners know that every home game the will be signing vile songs about them?

That's the weird thing about the interest of the 49ers. Are they really so ignorant about what they are negotiating to buy or do they simply not foresee the likelihood of a clash of cultures and damage to their reputation? Rangers/Sevco as known to us cannot be marketed to the US sports-consumer without a great deal of whitewashing and deodorant.

21-02-2025, 03:07 PM

They only hate Scottish or Irish Catholics. Italian, Spanish, American Catholics are fine in their hate filled minds

21-02-2025, 03:10 PM

Are you suggesting they lack integrity? Outrageous :greengrin

21-02-2025, 03:31 PM
The member of the York family who seems to be running the sports side of things went to Notre Dame https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jed_York

These guys :greengrin

https://londoncelticpunks.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/notre-dame-fighting-irish.jpg

21-02-2025, 03:34 PM
The member of the York family who seems to be running the sports side of things went to Notre Dame https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jed_York

https://londoncelticpunks.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/notre-dame-fighting-irish.jpg

F****n b******s :greengrin

21-02-2025, 04:17 PM

As did Mrs Hobo back in the day:)

21-02-2025, 04:31 PM

Fantastic that TRIFC may have finally abandoned their sectarianism. Chairman Paddy Stewart will have no problem explaining that to the wider fanbase…. No, really.

Renfrew_Hibby
21-02-2025, 04:42 PM
F****n b******s :greengrin

Green and yellow away kit to celebrate the new partnership.

21-02-2025, 04:50 PM
Fantastic that TRIFC may have finally abandoned their sectarianism. Chairman Paddy Stewart will have no problem explaining that to the wider fanbase…. No, really.

Hope the new owners empty the fans who sing banned songs

Fifeshirehibs
21-02-2025, 04:53 PM
The Big Hoose guys with their electronic tags as armbands might not approve San Sevco 2012ers as the new clumpany.

21-02-2025, 05:09 PM
Green and yellow away kit to celebrate the new partnership.

Change the stadium name from Ibrox to the Saint Francis Arena and get it blessed by the Pope.

21-02-2025, 05:23 PM
Change the stadium name from Ibrox to the Saint Francis Arena and get it blessed by the Pope.
Change their shirt color to red like the Cardiff owner tried to do a few years back, oh and just for good measure, change their logo to a Cardinal (the bird) :greengrin

21-02-2025, 05:39 PM
Change their shirt color to red like the Cardiff owner tried to do a few years back, oh and just for good measure, change their logo to a Cardinal (the bird) :greengrin

They mitre have to do that 😉

21-02-2025, 05:41 PM
They mitre have to do that 😉
They'd try and shoot the cardinal with a Canon probably..

21-02-2025, 06:07 PM

York family presumably haven't done much due diligence yet.

21-02-2025, 07:07 PM
Presumably they’ll be given the Board’s copy of the Ibrox Songbook so they can join in the community singing.

Pinkie
21-02-2025, 08:14 PM
Maybe the York family of San Francisco is doing the whole thing for a laugh - seeing how much blue pound they can funnel into repairing Catholic Churches in the USA before anybody notices?

Jock O
21-02-2025, 08:27 PM
Seen something on a mail out re interview with Dave King on this where he is saying this was all his work on arranging as they, Rangers Board, have turned him down for his return and he is desperate to get further investment, he is also saying that its a way of getting his share capital back first but that there will be further investment. He is clearly saying on it though it is not a done deal and shareholders are still in discussion.

Cannot find it now, but assume its one of the footie blogs or mail outs that I have deleted. No-one else seen this interview with King?

21-02-2025, 09:00 PM
Seen something on a mail out re interview with Dave King on this where he is saying this was all his work on arranging as they, Rangers Board, have turned him down for his return and he is desperate to get further investment, he is also saying that its a way of getting his share capital back first but that there will be further investment. He is clearly saying on it though it is not a done deal and shareholders are still in discussion.

Cannot find it now, but assume its one of the footie blogs or mail outs that I have deleted. No-one else seen this interview with King?

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/dave-king-breaks-silence-over-34727381

This appears to be the article? Says he wants the deal to be his lasting legacy at The rangers.

21-02-2025, 09:14 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/dave-king-breaks-silence-over-34727381

This appears to be the article? Says he wants the deal to be his lasting legacy at The rangers.
So the Lying King is setting up a deal that involves a high profile catholic family becoming the primary shareholder at Ibrox and that family are going to clear all the debt and repair the crumbling stadium? This still smells like ****** to me. If it does go through the Rangers fan's will never forget King that's a certainty and he'll never be able to set foot in Glasgow ever again. :faf::faf:

21-02-2025, 09:30 PM
York family presumably haven't done much due diligence yet.
Looking forward to the day when the take down the picture of King Charles and replace it with a picture of the Pope in the home dressing room at Ibrox.😁😁

21-02-2025, 10:04 PM
Looking forward to the day when the take down the picture of King Charles and replace it with a picture of the Pope in the home dressing room at Ibrox.😁😁

It would certainly make the songbook a lot slimmer…or would it?

21-02-2025, 10:12 PM
Wait till they find out King Billy was on the Vatican payroll.

21-02-2025, 10:13 PM

Up to our knees in f****n bucks.

21-02-2025, 10:22 PM

😂 superb

Jock O
21-02-2025, 10:30 PM

Thats it, looks like he has syndicated it ensuring it gets publicity and making it very difficult for current directors to say no. He is a persistent grifter, got to give him that.

21-02-2025, 10:31 PM
Presumably they’ll be given the Board’s copy of the Ibrox Songbook so they can join in the community singing.

The Govan 69ers. (1)69(0)ers that is…

21-02-2025, 10:42 PM
The Lying King is fortunate Jimmy Bell is gone, he'd have flown to South Africa and ripped Kings throat out....:greengrin

Fifeshirehibs
22-02-2025, 06:59 AM
San Govan Twenty 12ers .

hibstag
22-02-2025, 07:59 AM
San Govan Twenty 12ers .

The Govan Administrators

22-02-2025, 09:16 AM

:not worth

Fifeshirehibs
22-02-2025, 10:50 AM
Kris Voyd will definitely meltdown if the San Fran Irish takeover, remember when down the divisions they signed Billy King , just so they could put KING Billy on their team lines.

22-02-2025, 11:34 PM
Thought they said they didn’t do walking away. There were a huge number contradicting that today.

PHeffernan
23-02-2025, 12:11 AM
Kris Voyd will definitely meltdown if the San Fran Irish takeover, remember when down the divisions they signed Billy King , just so they could put KING Billy on their team lines.

I watched him playing for Arbroath tonight at Stenhousemuir

23-02-2025, 12:24 AM
Thought they said they didn’t do walking away. There were a huge number contradicting that today.

Us of a certain vintage well remember the John Grieg years and how empty Ibrox was.

23-02-2025, 12:34 AM
they Do Do walking away

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Gka-kvDWkAAYLj6?format=jpg&name=large

23-02-2025, 06:27 AM
I think the Rangers still need 2 touchdowns to catch the Celtics.

They better wear their shooting cleets in the next game

23-02-2025, 06:52 AM
they Do Do walking away

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Gka-kvDWkAAYLj6?format=jpg&name=large

There’ll been more folk in watching the warm ups than that 😂

23-02-2025, 08:42 AM
Us of a certain vintage well remember the John Grieg years and how empty Ibrox was.

Yes we sure can. All in the days when they were a comparatively less awful club, with an undesirable sectarian policy and followed by a nasty sectarian mob. They hadn’t yet become the self entitled, pseudo supremacist, big I AM, overreaching financially under David Murray, that eventually led to death of their club. Perhaps well now see a slow realisation that it was all an impossible dream to reinvent the club. They are now sleepwalking in to the “revenge of David King” who seems to be visiting upon them their worst nightmare. Ownership by a Catholic consortium, headed up by a fella called Cavenagh and a Chairman called Paddy.
Empty seats you say…. Wait until they wake up, then we’ll see walking away that will look like the Olympic walking race took a wrong turn and arrived in Govan.

23-02-2025, 04:34 PM
Clement about to be sacked according to the sun

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

23-02-2025, 04:38 PM

That'll wipe out a huge chunk of the money they've made this year in Europe. Ah well, **** 'em.

PHeffernan
23-02-2025, 04:38 PM
Yes we sure can. All in the days when they were a comparatively less awful club, with an undesirable sectarian policy and followed by a nasty sectarian mob. They hadn’t yet become the self entitled, pseudo supremacist, big I AM, overreaching financially under David Murray, that eventually led to death of their club. Perhaps well now see a slow realisation that it was all an impossible dream to reinvent the club. They are now sleepwalking in to the “revenge of David King” who seems to be visiting upon them their worst nightmare. Ownership by a Catholic consortium, headed up by a fella called Cavenagh and a Chairman called Paddy.
Empty seats you say…. Wait until they wake up, then we’ll see walking away that will look like the Olympic walking race took a wrong turn and arrived in Govan.

:greengrin Good stuff

23-02-2025, 04:42 PM

Wonder who’ll take the reins in the short term, hope it’s Alex Rae

23-02-2025, 04:49 PM

They better keep their paws off SDG 😜

23-02-2025, 04:49 PM
I think the Rangers still need 2 touchdowns to catch the Celtics.

They better wear their shooting cleets in the next game

Wait till they're losing in the 4th Quarter and their Coach tells them they need a 'Hail Mary'.

23-02-2025, 04:58 PM
Wonder who’ll take the reins in the short term, hope it’s Alex Rae

Slippy G is out of work at the moment.

23-02-2025, 05:01 PM
They better keep their paws off SDG 😜

It'll be someone out of contract, they're broke and they'll be hurting big time to pay off Clement and his staff.

23-02-2025, 05:04 PM
Just seen the Daily Record saying that the pay off that he will get is bigger than the 1.2 million reported.

23-02-2025, 05:09 PM
Just seen the Daily Record saying that the pay off that he will get is bigger than the 1.2 million reported.

That 1.2 figure was bollocks the first time it was reported. He's on a 4 year contract at approx 2.5 million a year due to an extension Sevco offered him. It'll cost them a fortune to fire him. Just another terrible financial decision by Sevco.

23-02-2025, 05:12 PM
That 1.2 figure was bollocks the first time it was reported. He's on a 4 year contract at approx 2.5 million a year due to an extension Sevco offered him. It'll cost them a fortune to fire him. Just another terrible financial decision by Sevco.

Is that figure just for Clement, and his coaching staff is extra

Fifeshirehibs
23-02-2025, 05:24 PM
Dream team to take over from The Belgian Waffle is Comical Ali, Kris Voyd as assistant and Wee Kneel McCann as coach.

23-02-2025, 05:24 PM

Couldn’t happen to a nicer club

23-02-2025, 05:25 PM
Is that figure just for Clement, and his coaching staff is extra

That's his salary as I understand it but obviously I don't know what agreement they'd come to for a pay off. His staff would add to that. The accounts will tell next year I guess but I'd doubt it'd be much less than 10M to get rid of them all though it may be paid in installments. Either way, they've made Clement a wealthy man.

23-02-2025, 05:33 PM

Depends on the terms of his contract. From what I've read unless you are a Klopp/Pep level manager the contract is generally 3 to 6 months severance payment.

Still be a decent chunk of cash but not the at the level you are mentioning.

23-02-2025, 05:40 PM
Depends on the terms of his contract. From what I've read unless you are a Klopp/Pep level manager the contract is generally 3 to 6 months severance payment.

Still be a decent chunk of cash but not the at the level you are mentioning.
We'll see in the accounts but never in a month of Sundays would Clement have settled for a 6 month pay off when he was offered a 4 year extension by a Sevco in a weak bargaining position. I'll happily stick my neck out and say getting rid of them all will be closer to 10M than 1.2.

23-02-2025, 05:43 PM
We'll see in the accounts but never in a month of Sundays would Clement have settled for a 6 month pay off when he was offered a 4 year extension by a Sevco in a weak bargaining position. I'll happily stick my neck out and say getting rid of them all will be closer to 10M than 1.2.

If he's on 2.5 million a year then 6 months is a 1.25 million pound pay off. He's not a top level elite manager, it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if it's something along those lines.

I wouldn't say Sevco were in that weak of a bargaining position either. It's not as if the fans loved him when he signed it or he'd won the league.

No point banding about figures of 10 million as you done previously though when as we say nobody will know until the accounts.

23-02-2025, 05:43 PM
Dream team to take over from The Belgian Waffle is Comical Ali, Kris Voyd as assistant and Wee Kneel McCann as coach.
What's old Magic Hat up to these days?

23-02-2025, 05:55 PM
We can relax safe in the knowledge that they won’t be coming after David Gray.

I wouldn’t rule out a move for Manager of the Year elect Neil Critchley after setting the SPL alight and another huge statement win at McDairmid Park today.

23-02-2025, 05:58 PM
If he's on 2.5 million a year then 6 months is a 1.25 million pound pay off. He's not a top level elite manager, it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if it's something along those lines.

I wouldn't say Sevco were in that weak of a bargaining position either. It's not as if the fans loved him when he signed it or he'd won the league.

No point and banding about figures of 10 million as you done previously though when as we say nobody will know until the accounts.
1.25 million is chump change and he'd have been gone before now if the figure was that low. Anyway, I'm getting back to rubber necking the car crash they are and laughing at them.

23-02-2025, 06:08 PM

I'm as much in the know as you are - but no danger they've 10mil to chuck around. Even the 1.2m figure seems high!

Donegal Hibby
23-02-2025, 06:13 PM
New rangers to part company with Clement …

https://x.com/ibroxrocks/status/1893722524535382203?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1893722524535382203%7Ctwgr% 5E31766be144a438bc6d9a984a45673b613bf5285c%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.rangersnews.uk%2Fnews%2F done-clement-gone-philippe-clement-to-be-sacked-by-rangers-as-heart-and-hand-tip-official-announcement%2F

23-02-2025, 06:13 PM
Clement, Van Der Heyden & Rae away tonight. Issam Charai taking over as interim manager with Kevin Thomson comin up to first team, Brian Gilmour & Colin Stewart. Clement has agreed to waive 50% of pay off.

Got this from a Ranngers fan a few minutes ago

23-02-2025, 06:14 PM
I'm as much in the know as you are - but no danger they've 10mil to chuck around. Even the 1.2m figure seems high!

Agreed. Rangers are a financial mess but no danger they agreed to a contract paying clement 10 million if they had to get rid of him.

Anything up to a year is my best guess, but I'd imagine it's less than that.

23-02-2025, 06:22 PM
Clement, Van Der Heyden & Rae away tonight. Issam Charai taking over as interim manager with Kevin Thomson comin up to first team, Brian Gilmour & Colin Stewart. Clement has agreed to waive 50% of pay off.

Got this from a Ranngers fan a few minutes ago

it’s bizarre he lasted so long. How on earth did he survive some of those results, topped off by Queen’s Park? They are going to finish second no matter what happens, but perhaps season ticket renewals being due soon has forced their hand?

On a personal note, I shall miss him. Long may the circus continue.

23-02-2025, 08:06 PM
And he's gone - which is a tad disappointing

K-Zazu
23-02-2025, 08:16 PM
Gerrard back to Rangers maybe?

LunasBoots
23-02-2025, 08:19 PM
Thought he was doing a great job for the p45ers

He's here!
23-02-2025, 08:38 PM
it’s bizarre he lasted so long. How on earth did he survive some of those results, topped off by Queen’s Park? They are going to finish second no matter what happens, but perhaps season ticket renewals being due soon has forced their hand?

On a personal note, I shall miss him. Long may the circus continue.

He actually started well by winning the League Cup and I think he had them top of the table for a while, but they're ultimately just miles off the pace when it comes to competing with Celtic.

Reminded me a bit of Van Gaal at Man U. Decent enough manager but under immense pressure to get a once all-conquering club back to that level despite it being skint.

Perhaps telling that he continued to have them playing quite well in Europe, away from the domestic scene.

Only real surprise was that he didn't go after the Queen's Park result, although I'm glad he stayed on long enough to win at Tynecastle.

23-02-2025, 08:40 PM
And he's gone - which is a tad disappointing

A sad day, but he leaves some great memories :greengrin

23-02-2025, 08:44 PM
Gerrard back to Rangers maybe?

I really don’t know who’d take the job. I suspect Gerrard may be able to get a Championship team down south in the hope of doing a decent enough job to keep a job for a while, but the hot seat at The The’s is a total poisoned chalice.

23-02-2025, 08:49 PM
I really don’t know who’d take the job. I suspect Gerrard may be able to get a Championship team down south in the hope of doing a decent enough job to keep a job for a while, but the hot seat at The The’s is a total poisoned chalice.

it depends upon how much money becomes available after the San Fransevco takeover. Rangers might become an attractive proposition again. It needs to dramatically turn the club around, as right now it’s a shambles.

23-02-2025, 08:50 PM
They'll want to get their hands on those Yankee $ to fund recruitment.

23-02-2025, 08:53 PM

Big time. The laptop loyal in the media have been celebrating it like it’s a lottery win.

23-02-2025, 09:00 PM

Considering Celtc just earned £38m for flopping in Europe, the Yanks are going to have to shell out millions to to play catch up.

Maybe we can get the music man at Hibs to play "Working for the Yankee dollar" the next time the The Rangers come to town

23-02-2025, 09:05 PM
Aren’t there tighter financial rules coming in from UEFA so they might not be allowed huge expenditure.

23-02-2025, 09:10 PM
Aren’t there tighter financial rules coming in from UEFA so they might not be allowed huge expenditure.

Yes, new rules relating to spending not exceeding turnover. It’s more strict than the likes of Chelsea, Man City and PSG were able to spend after takeovers, for example, but it could still be a huge boost for a club that has been relying upon loans from its owners to keep the lights on. Time will tell.

23-02-2025, 09:12 PM
Thanks. That’s interesting.

23-02-2025, 09:24 PM
It’s odd timing to sack Clement, IMO. They’re finishing second this season regardless, they’re out of the cups but they’re going well in Europe. Unless they have a replacement lined up I can’t imagine who’d want to take over such a poisoned chalice of a role so it’s unlikely we’ll see a significant upturn in fortunes.

23-02-2025, 09:25 PM
Big time. The laptop loyal in the media have been celebrating it like it’s a lottery win.
Just waiting for the 1st Gerrard to Rangers rumour 🙄

Jock O
23-02-2025, 09:34 PM
It’s odd timing to sack Clement, IMO. They’re finishing second this season regardless, they’re out of the cups but they’re going well in Europe. Unless they have a replacement lined up I can’t imagine who’d want to take over such a poisoned chalice of a role so it’s unlikely we’ll see a significant upturn in fortunes.

I suspect the noise from influential supporters groups was deafening, and just too much to ignore now, as you say its a bit of a risk at this time, but Gerrard for 3 months would probably appease the baying mobs, who they will be asking to put their hand in their pocket for next year soon, and I suspect currently next years ST money is probably already spoken for.

Albahibs
23-02-2025, 09:43 PM

Agree on the odd timing, given the Euro run. Mind you the Queens Park result was a belter :greengrin. Surely Derek McInnes will be front runner? Can't see the hordes being overly enthused about him this time around either.

LunasBoots
23-02-2025, 09:48 PM
Wee 'Barry Barry' is the talk 🤣

PHeffernan
23-02-2025, 09:52 PM
I suspect the noise from influential supporters groups was deafening, and just too much to ignore now, as you say its a bit of a risk at this time, but Gerrard for 3 months would probably appease the baying mobs, who they will be asking to put their hand in their pocket for next year soon, and I suspect currently next years ST money is probably already spoken for.

I think it's all in hand.
The 49'ers take over has been cooking for a while and they will want to choose their own manager.
To that end Rangers, 3 weeks ago, brought in a Moroccan as assistant manager, Issame Charrai, just in case Jigsaw Clement's Rangers went to pieces and they needed to replace him with an interim until the summer.
Queens Park with a St Mirren chaser has seen that come to pass with the hordes revolting and I expect Charrai to be wheeled into place to look after the shop until the 49'ers managerial appointment.

23-02-2025, 09:57 PM
Agree on the odd timing, given the Euro run. Mind you the Queens Park result was a belter :greengrin. Surely Derek McInnes will be front runner? Can't see the hordes being overly enthused about him this time around either.

I don’t know if he’d take it. He seems pretty sensible with the jobs he takes.

23-02-2025, 10:02 PM
I think it's all in hand.
The 49'ers take over has been cooking for a while and they will want to choose their own manager.
To that end Rangers, 3 weeks ago, brought in a Moroccan assistant manager, Issame Charrai, just in case Jigsaw Clement's Rangers went to pieces and they needed to replace him with an interim until the summer.
Queens Park with a St Mirren chaser has seen that come to pass with the hordes revolting and I expect Charrai to be wheeled into place to look after the shop until the 49'ers managerial appointment.
Charrai was born and raised in Belgium and spent his playing career there, from the little I can find it seems the Moroccan connection came later? Anyway, it seems coincidental that the American group brought in a Belgian to assist a fellow Belgian so I'd be curious to learn who drove his appointment.

Albahibs
23-02-2025, 10:06 PM
I don’t know if he’d take it. He seems pretty sensible with the jobs he takes.

PHeffernan
23-02-2025, 10:13 PM
Charrai was born and raised in Belgium and spent his playing career there, from the little I can find it seems the Moroccan connection came later? Anyway, it seems coincidental that the American group brought in a Belgian to assist a fellow Belgian so I'd be curious to learn who drove his appointment.

:aok: Charrai took over this month from Andries Ulderink who left Rangers for 'personal' reasons. There appeared to be no previous professional connection between Clement and Charrai with Rangers recruitment guy wheeling him into place.
Charrai led the Morocco Under-23's to the African Cup of Nations title. Maybe Rangers hope him and Igamane will be pied pipers of Ibrox who have the best young Moroccan talent arriving in Glasgow as Ange did at Cellik with the Japanese guys.

23-02-2025, 10:53 PM
Had to laugh on a facebook feed that Rangers fans had launched to go funding thingy to raise enough money to pay clement off to go.

Some wag immediately replied with
"We are the paypal" .... well made me laugh.

24-02-2025, 06:12 AM

Yep gets the fans off their case simply that

24-02-2025, 08:44 AM
Kettlewell’s out of work or Lennon might fancy it if he doesn’t get the Patrick job 😂

24-02-2025, 09:14 AM
Apparently Barry Ferguson, Kevin Thomson and Neil McCann until May [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

24-02-2025, 11:24 AM
Hopefully they win every game other than against us for the rest of the season.

They then get the jobs full time and subsequently get relegated.

24-02-2025, 11:28 AM
Ex Kelty Hearts dream team due to be in place
Bazza and Thomo

monarch
24-02-2025, 12:18 PM
Had to laugh on a facebook feed that Rangers fans had launched to go funding thingy to raise enough money to pay clement off to go.

Going by the religious persuasion of the proposed new owners should be “We are the Papal”. :greengrin

24-02-2025, 12:41 PM
Apparently Barry Ferguson, Kevin Thomson and Neil McCann until May [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

STV reporting

Rangers interim management team until the end of the season: Barry Ferguson, Neil McCann, Billy Dodds and Allan McGregor

monarch
24-02-2025, 12:43 PM

Going by the religious persuasion of the proposed new owners should be “We are the Papal”. :greengrin

24-02-2025, 12:44 PM
STV reporting

Rangers interim management team until the end of the season: Barry Ferguson, Neil McCann, Billy Dodds and Allan McGregor

Kris Boyd must be wondering how he's no had a call yet.

24-02-2025, 12:47 PM
STV reporting

That’s half of the Sportsound/Sportscene crew gone now😂

Chorley Hibee
24-02-2025, 12:50 PM

That's got to be the staunchest management team in the world. 🤣

DIXIHIBS
24-02-2025, 12:51 PM
Kris Boyd must be wondering how he's no had a call yet.

Not staunch enough??

24-02-2025, 12:52 PM
😂😂

24-02-2025, 12:54 PM
This is absolutely incredible :confused::confused::confused:

I wonder if they will roll out the 'we know what it's like to play for the famous blue' pish to install some fight to the team :greengrin

Crazyhorse
24-02-2025, 12:57 PM

Someone mentioned to me that Slippy would have to pay back a couple of million dollars to the Saudis if he took another job within two years of leaving.
I suppose with the imminent £100billion investment (Daily Ranger) they can pay that for him!

hibby rae
24-02-2025, 01:06 PM
STV reporting

"Four Huns, no cups"

24-02-2025, 01:11 PM
STV reporting

Rangers interim management team until the end of the season: Barry Ferguson, Neil McCann, Billy Dodds and Allan McGregorThey're still waiting to hear from Ian Paisley jnr to add a bit of balance.

24-02-2025, 01:12 PM
STV reporting

#PrayForJose

24-02-2025, 01:12 PM
Get rid of a manager who’s won titles then employ three who’ve failed in the Scottish lower leagues and an angry ex goalkeeper 😂😂 The Rangers just keep on giving.

24-02-2025, 01:14 PM
FFS don't even know where to start with that except laugh. If anyone doesn't believe Sevco are broke there's the proof right there and I'm not having any waiting to appoint a big name in the summer s***e. If those 4 former heroes of the Kings 11 make even half a fist of it they'll get the gig full time in the summer. McGregor in a management team..... :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

one day maybe...
24-02-2025, 01:17 PM
STV reporting

Barney McGrew, Cuthbert, Dibble & Grubb :wink:

cekim
24-02-2025, 01:19 PM
Is this an April fools??
Absolutely bizarre

24-02-2025, 01:19 PM
"Four Huns, no cups"
Seamless appointment from Nils Koppen probably whose name looks suspiciously like "No Trophies" in Flemish :greengrin

Jock O
24-02-2025, 01:20 PM
This is absolutely incredible :confused::confused::confused:

I wonder if they will roll out the 'we know what it's like to play for the famous blue' pish to install some fight to the team :greengrin

And to make the fans "pony up"! it is the most bonkers thing this exec team have done, of quite a few crazy things. It is just such a gathering the wagons round the homestead type move, its incredible even for Rangers. I assume all will be doing it for next to nothing to save "the People". Funniest thing is KT has been completely overlooked in favour of some fellow TV pundits. He must now know its never going to be for him.

The assistant manager must be thinking WTF too.

Complete basket case of a club currently.

He's here!
24-02-2025, 01:22 PM

I guess it just goes to show that the pull of being directly involved in the game again trumps any punditry role for a lot of ex-players. Generally I've found McCann to be pretty decent as a match analyst but, while you'd think he might regard developing his media role as a more secure option, as soon as a club comes calling (perhaps Rangers in particular?) he's straight back into one of the shoogliest professions there is.

24-02-2025, 01:24 PM
Will someone think of BBC Scotland?? Its a mass migration of blue nose punditry to a actual real football team.

24-02-2025, 01:25 PM

24-02-2025, 01:26 PM
Surely Jim Traynor has a role to play? New goalie perhaps?

24-02-2025, 01:27 PM
Wonder which one of them is going to be the Social Convenor?

24-02-2025, 01:35 PM
Wonder which one of them is going to be the Social Convenor?Who gets to keep the pens? Who gets a badge for his blazer pocket? Surely one of them will get a big bunch of keys on a wee chain?

Someone has to be given a whistle, personally I'd give it to McGregor.

Crazyhorse
24-02-2025, 01:36 PM
Will someone think of BBC Scotland?? Its a mass migration of blue nose punditry to a actual real football team.

Don’t know how we are going to cope without them on the airwaves 😅

24-02-2025, 01:39 PM
FFS don't even know where to start with that except laugh. If anyone doesn't believe Sevco are broke there's the proof right there and I'm not having any waiting to appoint a big name in the summer s***e. If those 4 former heroes of the Kings 11 make even half a fist of it they'll get the gig full time in the summer. McGregor in a management team..... :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

McGregor will be in charge of the team bonding sessions.

24-02-2025, 01:41 PM
Kenny Miller will be raging he didnt get The Call.

24-02-2025, 01:41 PM
Can they not get McCoist on board too and get him off the commentaries for a few months

24-02-2025, 01:42 PM

Wee Robbo will be on overtime covering the games up north with Doddsy migrating south for the spring.

24-02-2025, 01:43 PM
Get rid of a manager who’s won titles then employ three who’ve failed in the Scottish lower leagues and an angry ex goalkeeper 😂😂 The Rangers just keep on giving.

Aye but he can parade around the Ibrox pitch wearing all orange, so fully qualified as a coach. :lolrangers:

24-02-2025, 01:43 PM
Can they not get McCoist on board too and get him off the commentaries for a few months

Kris Boyd, too just to gie us all peace!

24-02-2025, 01:48 PM
What would be the Hibs equivalent of this? Yogi, Collins, O'Connor and Tam McManus? [emoji23]

24-02-2025, 01:49 PM
Why not keep Clement when they are still in the European competition, he is actually not bad at that bit!

So it's a Bam, a Psychopath, a Catholic literal left footer and Doddsy 🤣🤣🤣

24-02-2025, 01:49 PM
What would be the Hibs equivalent of this? Yogi, Collins, O'Connor and Tam McManus? [emoji23]

Riordan, O'Connor, McManus and Budgie

24-02-2025, 01:50 PM

The Proclaimers, Kezia Dugdale and Spud from Trainspotting

24-02-2025, 01:55 PM

Davie Farrell, Callum Milne, Conrad Logan and Begbie more like

24-02-2025, 02:04 PM
STV reporting

The Fuddy Huddys

24-02-2025, 02:10 PM
There'll be no space for the Subs on the bench. That said, McGregor will probably get a few pitch side bans.

24-02-2025, 02:13 PM
Initially thought it was a bit of a joke when they talked about Barry Ferguson as Interim coach, didn't actually expect them to follow through with it!

ROFL

Bushwoof
24-02-2025, 02:22 PM
Seamless appointment from Nils Koppen probably whose name looks suspiciously like "No Trophies" in Flemish :greengrin
That didn't get enough praise :not worth

24-02-2025, 02:22 PM
Maybe CWG or someone else with more knowledge of the accounts than me can tell me what Sevco's overall debt is currently? They lost 17M last year and it's supposed to be not great again this year but what is the total level of debt they've accumulated since 2012?

24-02-2025, 02:27 PM
Maybe CWG or someone else with more knowledge of the accounts than me can tell me what Sevco's overall debt is currently? They lost 17M last year and it's supposed to be not great again this year but what is the total level of debt they've accumulated since 2012?

The 2024 accounts are imminent. They are due with Companies House next month.

Just as ours are "out-of-date", so will theirs be (up to June 24). So the "current debt" is virtually impossible to tell.

24-02-2025, 02:42 PM
The 2024 accounts are imminent. They are due with Companies House next month.

Just as ours are "out-of-date", so will theirs be (up to June 24). So the "current debt" is virtually impossible to tell.
Do you know what the level was last year? I have a thought process going on here :greengrin

24-02-2025, 02:54 PM
Do you know what the level was last year? I have a thought process going on here :greengrin

Ignore my previous ramblings.... that's the football club :rolleyes:

The plc that owns the club, Rangers International, has published its accounts for June 24.

The total amount of loans repayable then was £25m, £22m of which was "investor loans". Total debt the previous year was £16m.

Ralphy C
24-02-2025, 03:00 PM
McGregor will be in charge of the team bonding sessions.
And when it doesny work out we'll get the hidden "vickys" :na na:

24-02-2025, 03:03 PM
Appointing loyalists whose only attribute appears to be anger to leadership positions, eschewing options who have track records and ability maybe explains why MAGA hats are popping up at Ibrox these days.

24-02-2025, 03:05 PM

Kano, Fish from Marillion, Irvine Welsh and Benny Brazil

24-02-2025, 03:13 PM
Ignore my previous ramblings.... that's the football club :rolleyes:

The plc that owns the club, Rangers International, has published its accounts for June 24.

The total amount of loans repayable then was £25m, £22m of which was "investor loans". Total debt the previous year was £16m.
So did the 16M from the previous year carry over and add to the 22M or is it not as simple as that? Apologies, I haven't even reached the level of dumbass when it comes to understanding this legal financial stuff :greengrin

24-02-2025, 03:16 PM
So did the 16M from the previous year carry over and add to the 22M or is it not as simple as that? Apologies, I haven't even reached the level of dumbass when it comes to understanding this legal financial stuff :greengrin

They owed £16m in the previous year. There have been further (net) loans of £9m in the latest year, making it £25m at the end of that year.

24-02-2025, 03:26 PM
They owed £16m in the previous year. There have been further (net) loans of £9m in the latest year, making it £25m at the end of that year.
Got it now, thank you for that :thumbsup:

DIXIHIBS
24-02-2025, 03:41 PM
Follow Follow is a hoot. The Huns are revolting. They REALLY hate Billy Dodds.

24-02-2025, 03:42 PM

I saw that. What have they got against the jug lugged Hun b*****d? :dunno:

24-02-2025, 03:46 PM
They have basically picked a team if failed managers, no doubt they will do a lot of shouting.

24-02-2025, 03:46 PM
Wondered that myself, can't recall anything he did in the past for them to hate him?

gringojoe
24-02-2025, 03:51 PM
Going to be a very packed dugout if they all turn up.

24-02-2025, 03:52 PM
I feel sorry for Jose Mourinho, he'll be keeching his underdungers at the thought of coming up against those tactical geniuses :faf::faf:

24-02-2025, 04:06 PM

They're on the huns payroll anyway so no real change.

24-02-2025, 04:27 PM
They have basically picked a team if failed managers, no doubt they will do a lot of shouting.

They’ve pick a management team of real rangers men.

Trouble is I don’t think there’s a single real rangers man in the playing squad.

King Billy, 1690 , Derry’s Wall etc, they won’t have a clue what they’re on about :greengrin

24-02-2025, 04:28 PM
https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1894074750965616919?t=omAi-TzRaZVpijj9tKpdZg&s=19

You won't believe the colour of car Ferguson has..

24-02-2025, 05:12 PM
Wot no Bomber Brown??

24-02-2025, 05:15 PM
https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1894074750965616919?t=omAi-TzRaZVpijj9tKpdZg&s=19

Will go down a storm with the replica shirt every day Dads - Baz - stanch AF - what a man.

Lendo
24-02-2025, 05:22 PM
This is like the footballing equivalent of a Trump Cabinet nominee. Useless but loyal.

24-02-2025, 06:08 PM

For those not on social media, Barry Ferguson rocked up to Ibrox in his ORANGE Ford RANGER

That might be the staunchest arrival ever

24-02-2025, 06:12 PM

Just a guess, but could it be this?

Fifeshirehibs
24-02-2025, 06:39 PM
This is the Liz Truss ,Kamikwasi equivalent in the Football World. When wee Kneel left Dunfermline all that could be said was " aye he turned up everyday ".True Story.

Fifeshirehibs
24-02-2025, 06:45 PM
There's dancing in the streets of fenerbache tonight.

24-02-2025, 06:46 PM
Seemingly Working for 25k a week the old boys split ?

24-02-2025, 06:58 PM
I feel sorry for Jose Mourinho, he'll be keeching his underdungers at the thought of coming up against those tactical geniuses :faf::faf:

Does he have the full licence for coaching in unfamiliar competitions??

24-02-2025, 07:07 PM
Does he have the full licence for coaching in unfamiliar competitions??
Are any of them qualified to coach in Europe? I honestly don't know the answer to that?

Hibs4185
24-02-2025, 07:27 PM
Did Barry Ferguson no go bankrupt? How very sevco

24-02-2025, 07:46 PM
Ferguson, w-

24-02-2025, 09:02 PM
They're falling apart at SanFranSveco.

24-02-2025, 09:06 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/8Cx1BM4X/IMG-5826.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Radge70
24-02-2025, 09:45 PM
Did Barry Ferguson no go bankrupt? How very sevco

All of 4 of them were EBT beneficiaries. Never mind the 49ers, they are the Dodgers

24-02-2025, 09:46 PM
Letter in today’s Scotsman expressing the hope that Rangers being “ owned by Catholics” will lead to a reduction in sectarianism in Scottish football. Some hope.

24-02-2025, 09:48 PM
Wot no Bomber Brown??

He's been put in charge of the deeds and will spend the rest of the season standing on the steps making a tit of himself.

24-02-2025, 09:50 PM
Are any of them qualified to coach in Europe? I honestly don't know the answer to that?

Baz was once on a coach in Europe going to Benidorm, does that count?

Radge70
24-02-2025, 09:55 PM
Letter in today’s Scotsman expressing the hope that Rangers being “ owned by Catholics” will lead to a reduction in sectarianism in Scottish football. Some hope.

They have been owned by Catholics for the past 13 years

24-02-2025, 09:57 PM

Who are they?

Radge70
24-02-2025, 10:15 PM
Who are they?

Celtic

24-02-2025, 10:16 PM
Celtic

24-02-2025, 10:26 PM
For those not on social media, Barry Ferguson rocked up to Ibrox in his ORANGE Ford RANGER

That might be the staunchest arrival ever

Fair play to the boy who replied: The only reason Ferguson is driving an Orange Ranger is because there were no Red Honda Ulsters available :not worth

24-02-2025, 10:37 PM
See the pub in River City is now a Queens Park pub.

24-02-2025, 11:01 PM

Like it.

24-02-2025, 11:08 PM

Brilliant 👏

25-02-2025, 05:49 AM
Seen this on twitter

Hun Direction 😅

https://i.ibb.co/mCsBm3L0/20250225-064800.jpg (https://ibb.co/bgh3xkSF)

25-02-2025, 05:59 AM
STV reporting

Kevin Thomson will be gutted

25-02-2025, 06:03 AM
I can't stop laughing, this is dripping with Hun desperation, reaching out to some cheap, staunch, apologists to try appease the rabid fanbase. Maybe second is achievable 😁

25-02-2025, 06:08 AM
Seen this on twitter

Hun Direction 😅

Who is the boy in the middle

25-02-2025, 08:55 AM
Who is the boy in the middle

The only one with any qualifications, and also the only one who is not Rangers Minded...so the scapegoat

25-02-2025, 08:58 AM
The only one with any qualifications, and also the only one who is not Rangers Minded...so the scapegoat
He looks so happy 😂

Victor
25-02-2025, 10:48 AM
But who exactly is in charge? Is it wee Barry, with Mr Angry McGregor as his enforcer?

25-02-2025, 10:52 AM
Seen this on twitter

Hun Direction 😅

Only direction they're going is sideways with Barry the Crab.

tonyrougier123
25-02-2025, 11:16 AM
Seen this on twitter

Hun Direction 😅

Take that minus Williams, Owen’s Barlow and Donald just orange.

25-02-2025, 12:55 PM
Surely Jim Traynor has a role to play?
*******! I'd completely forgotten about him.

Thatdayinmay16
25-02-2025, 02:54 PM
Take that minus Williams, Owen’s Barlow and Donald just orange.

Don't you mean Take VAT

25-02-2025, 03:16 PM
He must be wondering what he's got himself into surrounded by those half wits.

25-02-2025, 04:07 PM
He must be wondering what he's got himself into surrounded by those half wits.

I assume half wit is the total of all of their skills and competene.

Seriously it looks like some Belgian dude getting how photo taken with some other waxworks at Madame Hunsaudes..

25-02-2025, 04:11 PM
He must be wondering what he's got himself into surrounded by those half wits.And then there were fourhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250225/7aeca7920187dd99aa34cecebd513fec.jpg

Fifeshirehibs
25-02-2025, 07:01 PM
If the four interims haven't passed their exams does The Fifth Man have to do the Fenerbache game on his own.

25-02-2025, 07:06 PM
If the four interims haven't passed their exams does The Fifth Man have to do the Fenerbache game on his own.
Didn't Hearts have that same issue when Naebadges was in charge but McAvoy (spelling?) was officially the coach for Euro games? Wonder if he'll get canned as soon as they are knocked out?

Victor
26-02-2025, 06:39 AM
Someone should tell wee Barry that giving players ‘a clip round the ear’ is no longer an acceptable, or legal, method of encouraging a player. Maybe he should change his name to Barney.

26-02-2025, 07:00 AM
They're still waiting to hear from Ian Paisley jnr to add a bit of balance.

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkAnd from Boab Malcolm, to see if someone can take over the running of his icy at such short notice :hilarious 28569

26-02-2025, 10:50 AM

Can't find any evidence McGregor has any coaching badges from a quick search. The other four all have their pro licence.

Edit: I would have found it a bit weird if McCann and to a lesser extent Dodds didn't have their pro licence as they are experienced coaches/managers at a decent enough level. I was surprised Barry The Crab has had his so long (9 years).

26-02-2025, 12:24 PM
Kevin Thomson will be gutted

He is.

Victor
26-02-2025, 01:27 PM
Can't find any evidence McGregor has any coaching badges from a quick search. The other four all have their pro licence.

Edit: I would have found it a bit weird if McCann and to a lesser extent Dodds didn't have their pro licence as they are experienced coaches/managers at a decent enough level. I was surprised Barry The Crab has had his so long (9 years).

The piece by Tom English ( I know!) on the BBC Sport app would suggest that McGregor has no coaching experience -“McGregor has kept a pretty low profile since he retired as a player. He hasn't given off the impression of a man desperately keen to get involved on a training ground, but here he is”

26-02-2025, 02:20 PM
He is.Been outhunned by some proper hunnish types, despite his best efforts.

26-02-2025, 05:49 PM
He is.

I wonder if he'd have walked along an M8 full of broken glass for a job with that ****?

26-02-2025, 05:51 PM
He is.

Silver, his reputation will be enhanced by not being involved with Barry and Co

27-02-2025, 11:37 AM
49ers agree take-over deal at Ibrox

After months of negotiation, 49ers Enterprises have finally agreed a take-over deal with Scottish giants Rangers, and will acquire a controlling 51% stake in the Ibrox club. This move underscores the growing trend of American investment in Scottish football, with Dundee, Dundee United, Hibernian and Aberdeen among others already attracting US capital.

Rangers, a club steeped in history and boasting a 50,000-seater stadium, offers access to the fierce Old Firm derby against Celtic, a fixture with global appeal. Crucially, Rangers' established dominance in Scotland, alongside Celtic, almost guarantees European qualification, including the lucrative Champions League pathway.

However, the takeover isn't without potential complications, particularly concerning 49ers Enterprises’ existing ownership of Leeds United. Scottish Football Association (SFA) rules, designed to protect the integrity of competitions, restrict individuals from holding controlling stakes in multiple clubs simultaneously. Article 13 of SFA regulations could pose a hurdle, potentially requiring special dispensation for the deal to proceed given the shared ownership with Leeds.

The coming months will reveal how this ambitious deal progresses and its impact on both Rangers and, indirectly, Leeds United. With Premier League football all but guaranteed next season, the 49ers have two options. Flip the club for a quick profit, or be in it for the long haul! The latter, although financially more lucrative, will involve a long term project and massive investment to stabilise the club - with no guarantee of success.

27-02-2025, 11:45 AM
...Scottish Football Association (SFA) rules, designed to protect the integrity of competitions....

27-02-2025, 12:05 PM

After months of negotiation, 49ers Enterprises have finally agreed a take-over deal with Scottish giants Rangers, and will acquire a controlling 51% stake in the Ibrox club. This move underscores the growing trend of American investment in Scottish football, with Dundee, Dundee United, Hibernian and Aberdeen among others already attracting US capital.

Rangers, a club steeped in history and boasting a 50,000-seater stadium, offers access to the fierce Old Firm derby against Celtic, a fixture with global appeal. Crucially, Rangers' established dominance in Scotland, alongside Celtic, almost guarantees European qualification, including the lucrative Champions League pathway.

However, the takeover isn't without potential complications, particularly concerning 49ers Enterprises’ existing ownership of Leeds United. Scottish Football Association (SFA) rules, designed to protect the integrity of competitions, restrict individuals from holding controlling stakes in multiple clubs simultaneously. Article 13 of SFA regulations could pose a hurdle, potentially requiring special dispensation for the deal to proceed given the shared ownership with Leeds.

The coming months will reveal how this ambitious deal progresses and its impact on both Rangers and, indirectly, Leeds United. With Premier League football all but guaranteed next season, the 49ers have two options. Flip the club for a quick profit, or be in it for the long haul! The latter, although financially more lucrative, will involve a long term project and massive investment to stabilise the club - with no guarantee of success.

I don’t see how that can progress if we were told that Black Knights could not take control?

27-02-2025, 12:09 PM
I don’t see how that can progress if we were told that Black Knights could not take control?

They can sell their stake in Leeds.

27-02-2025, 12:09 PM

Someone will have the actual text of the rules, but as I remember it basically came down to being at the SFA's discretion rather than black and whites rules.

You'd think that this sets a precedent for us if BK do want further ownership (including possible majority ownership), but in Scottish football you never know…

27-02-2025, 12:11 PM

"Steeped", they just can't help themselves can they.

27-02-2025, 12:12 PM
Someone will have the actual text of the rules, but as I remember it basically came down to being at the SFA's discretion rather than black and whites rules.

You'd think that this sets a precedent for us if BK do want further ownership (including possible majority ownership), but in Scottish football you never know…

The fact that it's at the SFA's discretion surely indicates it will be given the go ahead.

Trinity Hibee
27-02-2025, 12:13 PM
Went back to the first page of this and funnily enough stv links are broken. Trying to erase it from history.

Sky sports links still work though. Brought a smile to my face

27-02-2025, 12:15 PM

That’s right. Think they said it’ll be reviewed on a case by case basis. So;

Old Firm = fine
Everyone else = not fine.

27-02-2025, 12:18 PM

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/media/1819/articles-of-association.pdf

Article 13.

27-02-2025, 12:25 PM
He is.
He can jump back on the radio and pretend to be ‘Hibee’ again then. Tosser

27-02-2025, 12:45 PM

some Leeds fans think maybe Red Bull will buy out the 49ers at Elland Road

i'm not sure where that article is from but it's on a Leeds fans site

maybe they don't know about our strict SFA rules :)

27-02-2025, 12:50 PM
Still can't quite get my head around this whole deal. Why would a group sell Leeds who are (probably) going to get promoted to the EPL and the financial riches that comes with that, then take over Sevco who have large debts, a crumbling stadium, and play in a league that financially has chump change on offer in comparison to the EPL. I'm not seeing the attraction myself.

27-02-2025, 12:55 PM

i'm not sure where that article is from but it's on a Leeds fans site

maybe they don't know about our strict SFA rules :)

Apparently, the dual-ownership rules are stricter in the Championship than they are in the Premier League. If Leeds weren't promoted, the deal would probably be blocked by the FA.

(source... something I read through half-shut eyes somewhere :cb)

27-02-2025, 12:57 PM
Still can't quite get my head around this whole deal. Why would a group sell Leeds who are (probably) going to get promoted to the EPL and the financial riches that comes with that, then take over Sevco who have large debts, a crumbling stadium, and play in a league that financially has chump change on offer in comparison to the EPL. I'm not seeing the attraction myself.

i agree :agree: 49ers set aside £10m a few months back for surveyor/Architect fees etc on the planned extension of Elland Road, or maybe they're setting everything up for RB, but like you i just can't understand why they would be willing to miss out on all the riches from the league of milk & honey.

which leaves us with the SFA already saying aye awrite then, i'm sure BK's were going to be discussing with the SFA a few months back about changing the rules ? or certainly intended to anyway, maybe BK's were waiting on the SFA's beloved Sevco changing the rules first so they wouldn't need to

27-02-2025, 01:01 PM

I think I can see it.

Business are often sold on their "potential" value rather than their "actual" value. (eg online "things" that are worthless on paper, making losses consistently but have the potential to be huge.)

Leeds have a huge potential now that promotion looks likely. The 49ers can cash in on that, and probably make a decent profit. Waiting for a couple of years might diminish that potential.

Rangers are poor value just now, but have potential. Perhaps the 49ers see ways of maximising that, and making a decent profit along the lines of Fergus McCann at Celtic.

27-02-2025, 01:06 PM
Apparently, the dual-ownership rules are stricter in the Championship than they are in the Premier League. If Leeds weren't promoted, the deal would probably be blocked by the FA.

Mmm, but why does that read like the 51% ownership of Sevco has already been agreed without a "but only if Leeds are promoted". i'll need to try find out who wrote that article

this needs further investigating ;)

27-02-2025, 01:07 PM

But Brentford are in the premier and were restricted to 15% (or was it 25%) of Hibs. Does that mean the black knights can have a higher proportion?

27-02-2025, 01:11 PM
I think I can see it.

Business are often sold on their "potential" value rather than their "actual" value. (eg online "things" that are worthless on paper, making losses consistently but have the potential to be huge.)

Leeds have a huge potential now that promotion looks likely. The 49ers can cash in on that, and probably make a decent profit. Waiting for a couple of years might diminish that potential.

Rangers are poor value just now, but have potential. Perhaps the 49ers see ways of maximising that, and making a decent profit along the lines of Fergus McCann at Celtic.
From what I see the Sevco fans don't have the patience to wait that long. Celtic are doing exceptionally well at the moment but this is 25 years after McCann left and to add to that, Celtic being in fine shape will mean at best Sevco getting a little larger piece of the cake domestically than they currently get but with no guarantee of success in Europe. I understand the potential part but to me at least there's at least half a dozen English clubs that could apply to with a potential for far greater return on their money. Ah well, my dream of seeing the Sevco mob going bust for good may be just that, a pipe dream. We'll soon see I guess.

27-02-2025, 01:11 PM
New York Times yesterday https://www.nytimes.com/athletic/6158247/2025/02/26/rangers-49ers-leeds-takeover-explained/

you can read more using this site

https://12ft.io/