View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
08-06-2015, 02:51 PM
Don't worry, so are The Rangers
So, The Rangers budget is based on ST Sales and a loan from Sports Direct.
Where's the big investment?
"However, he said the club's budget would be dependent on season ticket uptake and the Sports Direct loan."
Herald (http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/king-mccall-is-still-in-the-running-to-be-rangers-manager.1433769197)
Is this the current loan? So if they ask for it back the budget is STs minus £5m!
08-06-2015, 02:56 PM
"We need players to be competitive in the Premiership, so there will be substantial investment in next months. It may be necessary to over-invest."
Looks like they're going to spend big this summer.
Share issue per chance? Also why are they worrying about the Premiership when they are in the Championship?
08-06-2015, 03:02 PM
Is this the current loan? So if they ask for it back the budget is STs minus £5m!
They didn't make that clear Col but I presumed it was.
08-06-2015, 03:04 PM
This should clear up any doubt :wink:
http://news.stv.tv/west-central/1322536-over-investment-may-be-necessary-at-rangers-says-chairman-dave-king/
08-06-2015, 03:08 PM
http://news.stv.tv/west-central/1322536-over-investment-may-be-necessary-at-rangers-says-chairman-dave-king/
Should have been headlined, 'King avoids giving concrete answers to any questions'
So, The Rangers budget is based on ST Sales and a loan from Sports Direct.
Where's the big investment?
"However, he said the club's budget would be dependent on season ticket uptake and the Sports Direct loan."
Herald (http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/king-mccall-is-still-in-the-running-to-be-rangers-manager.1433769197)
I wish I'd copied that link, almost completely different story now.
08-06-2015, 03:10 PM
So they are going to over borrow then?
Probably tap up Ashley again!
08-06-2015, 03:16 PM
Should have been headlined, 'King avoids giving concrete answers to any questions'
Some may call it "window dressing" :wink:
08-06-2015, 03:17 PM
So they are going to over borrow then?
Probably tap up Ashley again!
What I got from that was that King was willing to spend more than should be necessary to get his team promoted this season but that the only concrete guarantee of any income was through Season Ticket Sales. He's once gain put the onus on the Fans to give them the required budget.
The only other money mentioned was.
1) An attempt to avoid paying back Ashley's Loan and using it on the team instead
2) A vague promise of investment from King, dependent on the Fans stumping up for Season Tickets.
There were no guarantees of investment from King or the 3 Bears, no mention of further Loans and no mention of a Shares Issue
08-06-2015, 03:18 PM
So a team massively in debt are going to overspend their budgets?
What a ****ing shambles of a club.
08-06-2015, 03:28 PM
So a team massively in debt are going to overspend their budgets?
What a ****ing shambles of a club.
The Rangers are debt free, DK said so on the live press link. :rolleyes:
08-06-2015, 03:32 PM
Oops, sorry!
08-06-2015, 04:00 PM
I read it as the budget available will depend on how many season tickets are sold and whether they have to pay back the 5m to MA immediately.
Not an unreasonable statement to make
For a normal club maybe but when you have just won control of the club in a fiercely competitive manner based on promises to invest £30m then some may be a bit miffed.
08-06-2015, 04:13 PM
They must have paid Ashley back his loan then :rolleyes:
hibbytam
08-06-2015, 04:18 PM
I might be wrong, but I think the only debt they'll have is with Ashley, and the various other shareholders that have thrown money at them to keep the lights on.
I don't think any banks, or anyone with any financial sense, would lend them anything.
08-06-2015, 04:43 PM
Oops, sorry!
No need to be sorry! He stressed that there is no debt whatsoever, his words..
They are going to throw money at winning the championship - Think that they have been doing that all their lives :wink:
08-06-2015, 04:54 PM
Best to just concentrate on making our team stronger and competitive rather than worrying about what these muppets are doing. Just sit back and watch their car crash of a club.
08-06-2015, 04:55 PM
No need to be sorry! He stressed that there is no debt whatsoever, his words..
They are going to throw money at winning the championship - Think that they have been doing that all their lives :wink:
All 3 seasons of it! :greengrin
Dr Jimmy
08-06-2015, 04:59 PM
It's their wage bill they need to worry about or they will be racking the debt up sooner than later.
08-06-2015, 04:59 PM
All 3 seasons of it! :greengrin
Brian McLauchlin has the vid up on his BBC twitter - https://twitter.com/BBCBMcLauchlin :greengrin
EDIT - Yeah, let's over invest, again :rolleyes:
Best to just concentrate on making our team stronger and competitive rather than worrying about what these muppets are doing. Just sit back and watch their car crash of a club.
To be fair I'll let Leeann and Allan concentrate on Hibs and celebrate with them.
As a football fan I'll have a good hoot at the misfortune of all other clubs, particularly our rivals.
08-06-2015, 05:37 PM
Because throwing money at it has worked for them recently, eh?
Make it all the sweeter when we win the league.
08-06-2015, 05:45 PM
It sounded desperate to me. Gie us yer money for STs and honestly we will spend hunners and hunners oan players. Why doesn't he just do as he said he would and invest his own cash? Oh aye that's right he is a lying *******!!!!
gaz1875
08-06-2015, 06:37 PM
One thing I noticed during the interview was he couldn't stare into your eyes and tell the truth :eyes:
08-06-2015, 06:42 PM
By the sound of it they assume that the championship is won. I like that. It means when we turn them over and they have to play the playoffs again I will laugh all the harder.
"We have three transfer windows to get it right"? Pretty big assumptions in that wee sentence alone.
08-06-2015, 06:49 PM
The following is on STV Sports News. I've simply copied and pasted without comment from me:
King said budgets, and his own investment, would be dependent on the season ticket uptake and the loan from Sports Direct.
He said: I think it’s probably the right thing to over invest this season to make sure that we do comfortably come out of the league and at least have a fairly strong squad going into next season that could probably be topped up over the next couple of windows.
"I don’t have a figure in mind [for how much it would take to win promotion] as that is dependant on a lot of factors outside our control.
"It would depend on whether we can renegotiate the commercial arrangements, it will depend on the level of season ticket uptake, it will depend on whether we repay the £5 million loan.
"So what I’m saying is that the investment must be whatever it takes to comfortably win the league and to build a squad that can substantially take us forward."
King has stated previously he believes it would take around £30m to put Rangers on a level-footing with rivals Celtic and promised to provide 50% of the funding as he seeks to restore Rangers to their previous dominant position.
King was speaking to the media on Monday as he launched the club's season ticket renewals for 2015/16.
The club confirmed season ticket prices were going up 5%, double the rate of inflation.
He said: "I hope to sell out the season tickets. If we did that that would bring in around £12-13m.
08-06-2015, 06:57 PM
Sorry but I personally think he's full of *****.
They will do **** all this season!
08-06-2015, 07:00 PM
Sorry but I personally think he's full of *****.
They will do **** all this season!
Depends who they sign. It's possible they will do **** all. But it's just as possible that they will spend big money and walk the league.
08-06-2015, 07:03 PM
Depends who they sign. It's possible they will do **** all. But it's just as possible that they will spend big money and walk the league.
Its possible... But I just don't believe him! They had a huge wage bill last season and Hearts pissed all over them by more than 20 points!
We just need to worry about winning as many of our games as possible and we will be just fine. No fear at all looking at that mob. No manager, no players so let them keep talking themselves up while we actually go about signing players that will win us the league.
Kavinho
08-06-2015, 07:03 PM
One thing I noticed during the interview was he couldn't stare into your eyes and tell the truth :eyes:
Aye aye..
eye thought this was funny. Hope I don't fall foul of the I/net Polis for it though
08-06-2015, 07:07 PM
Its possible... But I just don't believe him! They had a huge wage bill last season and Hearts pissed all over them by more than 20 points!
We just need to worry about winning as many of our games as possible and we will be just fine. No fear at all looking at that mob. No manager, no players so let them keep talking themselves up while we actually go about signing players that will win us the league.
The big danger is if they appoint a competent manager and give him a decent wedge to play with.
08-06-2015, 07:08 PM
The big danger is if they appoint a competent manager and give him a decent wedge to play with.
I just can't see it.
08-06-2015, 07:17 PM
Thing is there are so many things needing money spent on it around their club. Ibrox is crumbling and requires a massive upkeep, they have no recruitment strategy, no manager, no players and no long term strategy as well as Sally and McDowell's drain on the club and that is not even mentioning whatever Ashley decides to do about his loan, security on the club's assets and kit deals.
How does King deal with it?
It will all be okay if we sell all the season tickets and raise £12m and just stick our fingers in our ears when Ashley says anything..
08-06-2015, 07:18 PM
I don't think they have a decent wedge to give a new manager.
Last season they sold 17,000 season tickets. I doubt they will sell that many this time. Given their higher cost base I think they will be shopping in the same market as us for players.
08-06-2015, 07:19 PM
It never rains but it pours. :greengrin
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-33050105
08-06-2015, 07:20 PM
Given that last year's budget wasn't enough to buy promotion, they'll need to spend even more this season.
Latest rumour (admittedly from a Septic fan at work) is that King hasn't put a penny into Sevco Huns because he's not allowed to move money out of South Africa.
08-06-2015, 07:21 PM
I just can't see it.
The problem imo is that with 25k plus season tickets it should be possible for them to have a biģger budget than us. Obviously it then comes down to how it's used but I'd be wary of mcall or Warburton being given the pre season and say double our player budget. It's not really that much by their standards and both those guys have done well on small budgets at their previous clubs. Hopefully mash squeezes them by the financial nuts and they end up with ian durrant or Bob malcolm in charge :greengrin
08-06-2015, 07:22 PM
The problem imo is that with 25k plus season tickets it should be possible for them to have a biģger budget than us. Obviously it then comes down to how it's used but I'd be wary of mcall or Warburton being given the pre season and say double our player budget. It's not really that much by their standards and both those guys have done well on small budgets at their previous clubs. Hopefully mash squeezes them by the financial nuts and they end up with ian durrant or Bob malcolm in charge :greengrin
Bob Malcolm would be priceless [emoji16]
gaz1875
08-06-2015, 07:25 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-33050105
I thought this was to do with his on field antics when I read the headlines earlier haha
08-06-2015, 07:36 PM
If I read the report correctly, DK reckons they are on £12-13m if they sell all the ST's. How many is that? 40k? So 25k STs would be £7.5-8m.
Knock off £1m for VAT, add on a few million for TV etc and there's the budget.
£10m ............For everything. Players,non-playing staff,overheads, stadium repairs..... and the MASH loan.:greengrin
I thought this was to do with his on field antics when I read the headlines earlier haha
Bet the Dirty basa Even had an Elbow Pointing out the Window... :wink:
The Godfather
08-06-2015, 07:53 PM
I have no doubt THE Rangers will be stronger this season that last. But I also have no doubt so will we. Lets not forget we will have a core of a squad that has played under the same manager, bonded together and understands what the manager wants from them. They have lost that backbone and will need to find a new manager and replace the deadwood with quality. I also doubt they have or will get the funds in place to build a squad good enough for the start of the season. Therefore, the key to us going up is to start fast build up a lead whilst hopefully they start slow and also make sure we beat them at home. 10-15 more points than last season and I think that would be enough for us to win the league (only my opinion).
08-06-2015, 07:55 PM
I have no doubt THE Rangers will be stronger this season that last. But I also have no doubt so will we. Lets not forget we will have a core of a squad that has played under the same manager, bonded together and understands what the managers wants from them. They have lost that backbone and will need to find a new manager and replace the deadwood with quality. I also doubt they have or will get the funds in place to build a squad good enough for the start of the season. Therefore, the key to us going up is to start fast build up a lead whilst hopefully they start slow and also make sure we beat them at home. 10-15 more points than last season and I think that would be enough for us to win the league (only my opinion).
I like that scenario. Hitting the ground running will be crucial for us.
08-06-2015, 08:04 PM
I have no doubt THE Rangers will be stronger this season that last. But I also have no doubt so will we. Lets not forget we will have a core of a squad that has played under the same manager, bonded together and understands what the manager wants from them. They have lost that backbone and will need to find a new manager and replace the deadwood with quality. I also doubt they have or will get the funds in place to build a squad good enough for the start of the season. Therefore, the key to us going up is to start fast build up a lead whilst hopefully they start slow and also make sure we beat them at home. 10-15 more points than last season and I think that would be enough for us to win the league (only my opinion).
Personally I'm amazed they didn't just give McCall another 12 months. He would be working now to reshape their squad. The longer they delay the better from our point of view.
Its getting a bit late for them now.The best players will be signing up to one of the many thousands of other clubs so to sort out there immediate future.Not waiting for some weird Scottish backwards second tier club to sign them.
08-06-2015, 09:21 PM
Personally I hope The Rangers put a good footballing side together. I really think Hibs play better and are far more effective playing teams who get the ball down and have a go. I also think Stubbs will have learned a lot from last seasons poor results against sides who sit in, making it hard for us to pass through them, and will be a lot wiser in how to deal with this. All in all I'm quietly confident if this team can get off to a flyer we will be very hard to stop.
08-06-2015, 09:24 PM
Personally I hope The Rangers put a good footballing side together. I really think Hibs play better and are far more effective playing teams who get the ball down and have a go. I also think Stubbs will have learned a lot from last seasons poor results against sides who sit in, making it hard for us to pass through them, and will be a lot wiser in how to deal with this. All in all I'm quietly confident if this team can get off to a flyer we will be very hard to stop.
Cant agree, i want them to struggle and get relegated. :confused:
08-06-2015, 09:40 PM
Cant agree, i want them to struggle and get relegated. :confused:
My point was that if they put a decent passing side together we would beat them as in my opinion we are making huge strides and have a squad who have had a season knowing how Stubbs wants them to play. If they try to take us on at our own game I have no doubt we would come out on top. But yeah... Part of me agrees with you!! :greengrin
08-06-2015, 10:43 PM
Seems some of the supporters are revolting.......
http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=284071&page=1
Beware if offended by language
08-06-2015, 11:16 PM
i would say 98.75% of the govananters are revolting, wont click on the link though i've witnessed the vileness in the past :agree:
08-06-2015, 11:36 PM
The Glib and Shameless Liar has more s***e inside him than a Christmas goose......
09-06-2015, 06:50 AM
All will be unveiled on Friday ,including new Manager and his plans for complete restructuring of the Club similar to what Dempster did when she came in to us .
So wil wait to see what actually Transpires then and who they appoint to key positions and how he states he is going to fund rebuilding the squad .
He promised Transparency ,:rolleyes:so the Fans will want answers before they start snapping up Season Tickets again for another year in the Championship
Sadly, 'The Scotsman' these days is nothing more than an East Coast version of the 'Daily R*tard' - the headline shoud say 'Rangers board WOULD LIKE/PREFER to ignore Mike Ashley loan demand' but it can't, it can only ASK it's shareholders. Ok, it's highly unlikely they would agree to it as they haven't tippled that King as just the latest crook (albeit a proven one) to be in charge and so is currently more popular than MA but the headline is just another 'WE'RE RANGERS - WE DECIDE' ego-massage for the moron-loyal.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-33050105i
Lee McCulloch, done for speeding! Just when you thought Newco couldn't get any funnier!
Off the bar
09-06-2015, 08:01 AM
i
Lee McCulloch, done for speeding! Just when you thought Newco couldn't get any funnier!
Apparently he was disappointed by the fine but delighted with the 3 points.
I'll get my coat.
09-06-2015, 08:09 AM
"Since we came in, we have demonstrated that we have done everything we said we were going to do,"
"The club needed money, we put the money in. We've done our bit."
The Lyin' King
They've stumped up 2 (or is it 3) emergency loans of £1.5 mill each. As these are loans, they'll presumably be getting it back.
Is that going to be it as regards, putting the money in?
What happened to the promises of £50/£30/£20 million investment he was going to make?
Dave King and the £50 mill investment promise (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2588429/Dave-King-commit-30m-ensure-Rangers-return-Scottish-Premiership.html)
09-06-2015, 08:16 AM
If I read the report correctly, DK reckons they are on £12-13m if they sell all the ST's. How many is that? 40k? So 25k STs would be £7.5-8m.
Knock off £1m for VAT, add on a few million for TV etc and there's the budget.
£10m ............For everything. Players,non-playing staff,overheads, stadium repairs..... and the MASH loan.:greengrin
And if they bring in a decent manager and he brings in his own assistants and back room team there will be £2m less to spend on players. They'll then start recruiting new players who'll be asking for twice what they are really worth. It's not looking great for them.
crewetollhibee
09-06-2015, 08:30 AM
And if they bring in a decent manager and he brings in his own assistants and back room team there will be £2m less to spend on players. They'll then start recruiting new players who'll be asking for twice what they are really worth. IT'S LOOKING GREAT !!!
Fixed that for you.
All will be unveiled on Friday ,including new Manager and his plans for complete restructuring of the Club similar to what Dempster did when she came in to us . [QUOTE=Ronniekirk;4394197]
I doubt this very much. We were a complete shambles last close season but luckily LD was appointed before we went down or else I doubt she would have been at ER now. Newco's plans were all predicated on being in the top flight, we were the only possible obstacle to that certainty in their mind. Their failure to achieve that has impacted on their potential to hire a top manager & their ability to sell season tickets with all the knock on effects those failures bring. DK is now desperately launching his version of a Ponzi scheme, moving money around to provide an appearance of wealth without actually spending any of his own money. I think Friday will see more desperate pleas for cash & very few specific details.
PS, I note DK's still getting an easy ride in the DR, shades of Whyte & Green. I look forward to their volte face before too long!
09-06-2015, 09:25 AM
Will be interesting to see how many of them buy into King's new era for the club. The DR is back in cheerleader mode but other members of the MSM being a bit more cautious - Tom English at the BBC is definitely sceptical.
A lot of people dropped their season tickets last year (as King told them to). Will they pick up the habit again?
Nothing will shift tickets like exciting new signings, but so far there's nothing.
09-06-2015, 09:27 AM
haha some class reading there :greengrin
09-06-2015, 09:55 AM
How come Dave King looks like the Old Uncle who's been forced to pose for the photos but is not sure what's actually going on?
09-06-2015, 09:55 AM
haha some class reading there :greengrin
Could be The Rangers £5 million MA loan was from Newcastle sponsors WONGA. Borrow £5 million and pay back £267 million ! Nice.
vincipernoi
09-06-2015, 10:00 AM
How come Dave King looks like the Old Uncle who's been forced to pose for the photos but is not sure what's actually going on?
he could easily win a most fixed / forced and least convincing smile compettition
09-06-2015, 10:16 AM
he could easily win a most fixed / forced and least convincing smile compettition
It's his stare authoritatively at the tax man face. That ended well.
09-06-2015, 10:46 AM
He also looks like he hasn't bought a shirt for about 20 years. Perplexingly trampy style for such a wealthy man.
I always want the worst for these mutants the more pain the happier I am,**** them
09-06-2015, 11:43 AM
I've been looking back at the interim accounts up to 31/12/14 and doing some basic calculations. They had revenue of £13.1m and expenditure of £16.1m so a trading loss of £3m, but that was in a period in which they made £1m from the Commonwealth Games and a Scotland international, so I reckon that if they maintained their current level of income and spending they'd be looking at an £8m loss for next season.
However, King's talking about raising player spend to £12m from I believe about £6m. To counter that he wants 45,000 season tickets sold - unlikely. The average gate up to 31/12/15 was 32,500 (it doesn't matter much over a season whether they pay on the day or have seasons) so if they got a 10,000 increase next season they'd increase income by about £4m. To me it looks as if his plan for next season needs at least £10m to cover losses before they even start building a scouting network or repairing the neglected buildings. I don't think it's going to happen.
Looking further forward, the plan is to run the club at a massive loss for 3 years after which it will suddenly break even, apparently by access to European income. Even if this somehow happened, they'd be back to the Oldco position - one Europa league qualifying defeat away from disaster.
By my rather simplistic calculations the cunning plan hasn't a chance. The action should start heating up after the EGM on Friday.
09-06-2015, 11:56 AM
By my rather simplistic calculations the cunning plan hasn't a chance. The action should start heating up after the EGM on Friday.
But it's Dave King, so everything's OK.
portycabbage
09-06-2015, 02:03 PM
I've been looking back at the interim accounts up to 31/12/14 and doing some basic calculations. They had revenue of £13.1m and expenditure of £16.1m so a trading loss of £3m, but that was in a period in which they made £1m from the Commonwealth Games and a Scotland international, so I reckon that if they maintained their current level of income and spending they'd be looking at an £8m loss for next season.
However, King's talking about raising player spend to £12m from I believe about £6m. To counter that he wants 45,000 season tickets sold - unlikely. The average gate up to 31/12/15 was 32,500 (it doesn't matter much over a season whether they pay on the day or have seasons) so if they got a 10,000 increase next season they'd increase income by about £4m. To me it looks as if his plan for next season needs at least £10m to cover losses before they even start building a scouting network or repairing the neglected buildings. I don't think it's going to happen.
Looking further forward, the plan is to run the club at a massive loss for 3 years after which it will suddenly break even, apparently by access to European income. Even if this somehow happened, they'd be back to the Oldco position - one Europa league qualifying defeat away from disaster.
Re the bit in bold - if they buy seasons then they will still have paid even if they don't turn up on the day, and it allows them to budget (Ha!) if they have the money up front. I still agree their plan is rubbish.
09-06-2015, 03:45 PM
"Since we came in, we have demonstrated that we have done everything we said we were going to do,"
"The club needed money, we put the money in. We've done our bit."
The Lyin' King
They've stumped up 2 (or is it 3) emergency loans of £1.5 mill each. As these are loans, they'll presumably be getting it back.
Is that going to be it as regards, putting the money in?
What happened to the promises of £50/£30/£20 million investment he was going to make?
Dave King and the £50 mill investment promise (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2588429/Dave-King-commit-30m-ensure-Rangers-return-Scottish-Premiership.html)
'But I would say I would probably have to put in £30m of the £50m over the period of time. And I could probably get other people to put in £20m. Would I be willing to invest £30m despite what happened previously ? Of course. Sure.'
Doesn't exactly square with the message coming from him yesterday ?. Either way, I've a suspicion THAT quote is going to come back and bite him on his Hun-a*se big-style !
Hopefully King can finish-off the sterling-work begun by Sir Craig Whyte and continued by Charles Green - two men to whom Scottish Football and society owe so much.
09-06-2015, 05:48 PM
i
STOP PRESS
Lee McCulloch has been arrested and charged with impersonating a footballer.
09-06-2015, 07:18 PM
Law and Wallace up for grabs for 500k
09-06-2015, 07:21 PM
Law and Wallace up for grabs for 500k
wallace maybe but not law hes pish
09-06-2015, 07:53 PM
wallace maybe but not law hes pish
Buy one get one free :greengrin
09-06-2015, 08:10 PM
buy one get one free :greengrin
bogof
09-06-2015, 09:07 PM
bogof
09-06-2015, 10:23 PM
Fulham sniffing around Warburton now apparently
10-06-2015, 07:18 AM
Fulham sniffing around Warburton now apparently
Fingers crossed, the only suitable candidate left will be Super Ally :greengrin
10-06-2015, 07:21 AM
Fingers crossed, the only suitable candidate left will be Super Ally :greengrin
Lee McCullough and Ian durrant dream team? Both the rangers "men" and bound to be cheap.
10-06-2015, 07:40 AM
Lee McCullough and Ian durrant dream team? Both the rangers "men" and bound to be cheap.
They were never cheap before[emoji23]
10-06-2015, 07:50 AM
They were never cheap before[emoji23]
Agree, but money should never be an issue where the rangers men are concerned, the last 3 daily ****** verified billionaires have surely proven that 😆
10-06-2015, 08:06 AM
Ian Cathro would be an interesting one. Obviously a very good coach to be doing so well at just 28. But would it be too high pressured a job at that age?
Could see it being McCall. And most Rangers fans I know don't really want him, and think he's only marginally better than Mcoist.
10-06-2015, 08:35 AM
Ashley want 9 million quid back from the Rangers sharpish according to the daily mirror.
10-06-2015, 08:40 AM
Ashley want 9 million quid back from the Rangers sharpish according to the daily mirror.
I feel dirty :greengrin
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/mike-ashley-fires-warning-rangers-5855480
But on the other hand
http://hereisthecity.com/en-gb/2015/06/09/dave-king-this-is-what-rangers-want-to-do-with-ashleys-sports-di/
10-06-2015, 09:14 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/mike-ashley-fires-warning-rangers-5855480
But on the other hand
http://hereisthecity.com/en-gb/2015/06/09/dave-king-this-is-what-rangers-want-to-do-with-ashleys-sports-di/
The DR presumably think they are being clever casting Ashley as the villian in all this. I think they might regret p*****g off the one person with the resources to sort the club out.
10-06-2015, 09:17 AM
But on the other hand
King is a complete fantasist!
10-06-2015, 09:24 AM
Here's a novel idea....
If King reckons that The Rangers can't afford to pay back the 5 million to Ashley right now, why doesn't he dip in to his obviously vast reserves of wealth and loan his Club 5 million, pay back Ashley with it and then allow them to pay him back after a couple of years, interest free.
That way, Ashley's hold over them is reduced, The Rangers share of the profit from the retail sales is back to it's previous level (if the DR is to be believed) and everybody's happy.
Surely to a man of his means, this is the ideal solution, no?
10-06-2015, 09:33 AM
Here's a novel idea....
If King reckons that The Rangers can't afford to pay back the 5 million to Ashley right now, why doesn't he dip in to his obviously vast reserves of wealth and loan his Club 5 million, pay back Ashley with it and then allow them to pay him back after a couple of years, interest free.
That way, Ashley's hold over them is reduced, The Rangers share of the profit from the retail sales is back to it's previous level (if the DR is to be believed) and everybody's happy.
Surely to a man of his means, this is the ideal solution, no?
Reading the articles, I don't think the £5m is the main issue here, I think they want to renegotiate the merchandise deal and security. They're basically saying that the orcs just won't buy merchandise if this doesn't happen. This does fall down though, if the details of the deal I have heard about are true, in which the club need to buy any excess not sold, whilst I don't know the threshold for this, I am pretty sure MASH will have it in their favour and legally watertight.
This is truly the club that keep giving, I have had years of entertainment from the rangers and their dodgy dealings. I also think DK is clueless if he thinks he can get one over on Mike Ashley.
10-06-2015, 09:39 AM
So far all Mr King has done so far is to:
A) .... Ask the fans to buy season tickets
B)..... Make the glaringly obvious statement that a club with the 2nd biggest budget in Scotland shouldn't finish 3rd in the Championship
C)..... Encourage a club whose previous incarnation was liquidated to refuse to repay a loan
As far as I can see, what he has not done is put a figure on what money he himself can ( or will ) put into the club .... a load of vague pish about 'substantial sums' means nothing.
WINTER IS COMING :greengrin
10-06-2015, 10:21 AM
King is a complete fantasist!
[emoji106] but he is their fantasist. Some business model he just announced bearing in mind all the things he said he was going to do[emoji1]
10-06-2015, 10:22 AM
King's sales pitch the other day appeared to be 'for every £1 the fans put in, I'll put in £1 less'.
10-06-2015, 10:47 AM
[emoji106] but he is their fantasist. Some business model he just announced bearing in mind all the things he said he was going to do[emoji1]
Latest in a long line of them since David Murray, happily duping the hun faithfull and removing them of their cash to fuel their fantasy and delusions of grandeur, and yet again the Scottish Football authorities sit back and do nothing but pander to these crooks and lunatics.
10-06-2015, 11:43 AM
Cheeky chappy! http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/mobile/news/ally-mccoist-opens-new-hospice-garden-209765n.128512024
Alan62
10-06-2015, 11:58 AM
Personally, I love their enthusiasm for an 'off-the-scale' wealthy The Rangers man. King is a magnificent example of the genre with all the bluff and bluster of his predecessors, Murray, Whyte and Green.
My suspicion is that King is looking to make money from The Rangers rather than lose money. There's no way that ambition could possibly square with the restoration of the club to 'their rightful place in Scottish football'. I suspect that this thread will run and run and that the comedic value will only increase in the coming months. Here's hoping.
10-06-2015, 12:21 PM
The DR presumably think they are being clever casting Ashley as the villian in all this. I think they might regret p*****g off the one person with the resources to sort the club out.
People in Scotland don't even read the DR, what are the chances Ashley is ever likely to see the article. :greengrin
10-06-2015, 12:52 PM
People in Scotland don't even read the DR, what are the chances Ashley is ever likely to see the article. :greengrin
I doubt that sorry paper will last the next 5 years.
10-06-2015, 01:04 PM
I doubt that sorry paper will last the next 5 years.
As one of their main 'Stories' from yesterday was that Miley Cyrus had her photograph taken naked with her Pet Pig (photo included), I tend to agree with you.
10-06-2015, 01:33 PM
But on the other hand
'King pointed to the fact that dwindling season ticket sales, and fan protests against Ashley indicated the need for Sports Direct to accommodate some of the Rangers board's concerns, if they indeed did want to make the arrangement a success in any way'
Emmm - exactly WHO was it that asked the 'Moron-Loyal' to NOT buy season-tickets ???
10-06-2015, 01:45 PM
Cheeky chappy! http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/mobile/news/ally-mccoist-opens-new-hospice-garden-209765n.128512024
Ah, so that's where he's been the past few months! Good of him to work on a garden that will benefit many, rather than just concentrating on the one at his house.
I'm sure he made a generous donation as well.
10-06-2015, 01:49 PM
Ah, so that's where he's been the past few months! Good of him to work on a garden that will benefit many, rather than just concentrating on the one at his house.
I'm sure he made a generous donation as well.
The income from The Rangers first 2,000 Season Tickets will go to paying McCoist until his contract ends in December
You've gotta love the guy for his dedication to the cause
10-06-2015, 02:05 PM
The income from The Rangers first 2,000 Season Tickets will go to paying McCoist until his contract ends in December
To be fair it does keep the money away from that bad man Ashley so he is doing it for the club, not for himself
10-06-2015, 02:34 PM
one thing that the fans can be assured of there is that all of the money from the season tickets is going to go into the football side of the club.
So where's the money coming from for the other expenses of the club? The maintenance of Ibrox?
10-06-2015, 02:39 PM
So where's the money coming from for the other expenses of the club? The maintenance of Ibrox?
To be fair, it's a line our club trot out year after year.
10-06-2015, 02:47 PM
I think Super Ally was undermined by all the grief he had to put up with as manager.
With his batteries refreshed, and the club now under the visionary leadership of The King, I am sure he'd thrive as manager. It would also save them forking out for another manager at the same time.
Sign him (back) up!
10-06-2015, 02:56 PM
Surely he's right. They are a football club. All moneys are going to the football side of the club. Even any that might find their way into his pocket.
10-06-2015, 03:15 PM
Full statement from Ashley now up:
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/mike-ashley-issues-statement-outlining-5857906?_sm_au_=iVVLFNrlq0sl76rs
Crucially, did the New Board leave it all to the very last minute and were then left with no viable alternative? The consequence of what happened is that Rangers Plc no longer has a public listing, nor is it subject to the AIM regulatory rules which is all the more important in circumstances where the new Chairman of the New Board has, as is a matter of public record, been prosecuted for and admitted liability in respect of various criminal offences in South Africa, resulting in the payment then of approximately £44 million to cover liabilities and fines in South Africa.
Ooft!
10-06-2015, 03:49 PM
If they have to pay back Ashley then the next 12,500 adult season tickets will be needed to cover that.
10-06-2015, 03:50 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/mike-ashley-issues-statement-outlining-5857906?_sm_au_=iVVLFNrlq0sl76rs
Ooft!
Dave King seemed to think getting Ashley's men kicked off the Board was the end of the war. I think he's made a big mistake.
10-06-2015, 03:55 PM
If they have to pay back Ashley then the next 12,500 adult season tickets will be needed to cover that.
They don't do 'walking away', unless the back pockets are full of readies. Good ol' McCoist and Ashley.
10-06-2015, 03:55 PM
It's okay, King is a multi millionaire who variously says he is going to put up £20m, £30m, £40m or £50m and he had a nomad lined up thus making the business look a little bit more credible than it does without one - that's all before you take into account his plan to "over invest". :faf:
He's the man for the job.
10-06-2015, 03:56 PM
WINTER IS COMING :greengrin
More the Orange Walkers than the White walkers.
(Apologies to non GoT fans)
10-06-2015, 04:02 PM
All joking aside, if King and his cronies are dripping in cash and ready to invest millions into their club, why don't they bite the bullet and get shot of Ashley for what, by their standards and financial intention,s is a drop in the ocean?
10-06-2015, 04:04 PM
So according to Ashley the simple solution is to repay the £5m he gave as a short term loan then security is released and they go to a 51%/49% relationship on goods profit. Can see where he is coming from.
What could King's problem be?
10-06-2015, 04:05 PM
Ooft!
Indeed.
The key question is when exactly did this happen and what steps did the New Board take as part of normal contingency planning to consider alternative NOMADs and engage with the AIM Regulator so as to ensure that the AIM listing was preserved?
I'd have thought the key question was, what did the NOMAD see that made them decide against working for RIFC?
10-06-2015, 04:06 PM
All joking aside, if King and his cronies are dripping in cash and ready to invest millions into their club, why don't they bite the bullet and get shot of Ashley for what, by their standards and financial intention,s is a drop in the ocean?
A track record of not paying their way? unless they have to to avoid going to jail :dunno:
10-06-2015, 04:12 PM
That was my thought as well.
King could Loan the Club 5M, interest free. They could use it to pay off Ashley, thus benefiting from an increased percentage of Retail Sales. King gets paid back when the Club have the money.
Not a problem to a Billionaire like King, surely.
10-06-2015, 04:26 PM
Especially as it would bring about an immediate improvement in retail income. Honestly, I know it sounds weird, but I do sometimes wonder if these Rangers owners are quite as keen to put in their own money as they claim!
10-06-2015, 05:20 PM
Keith Downie @SkySports_Keith 4m4 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/SkySports_Keith/status/608684091412754432) BREAKING: Mike Ashley has relinquished his position on the Newcastle board along with Finance Director John Irving, who is leaving the club.
10-06-2015, 05:23 PM
Neal Walker @SkyWalker_Neal 3m3 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/SkyWalker_Neal/status/608684976436064257) New #NUFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/NUFC?src=hash) boss Steve McClaren joins the club's Board, along with Graham Carr and Bob Moncur. Only PL boss to also sit on his club's board.
10-06-2015, 05:48 PM
That was my thought as well.
King could Loan the Club 5M, interest free. They could use it to pay off Ashley, thus benefiting from an increased percentage of Retail Sales. King gets paid back when the Club have the money.
Not a problem to a Billionaire like King, surely.
Agreed.... :agree: I'm totally flummoxed :confused:
I just CAN'T think of a reason why he'd not stump up the dosh to make things all nice and lovely financially with Der Hun....
10-06-2015, 06:12 PM
Ooft!
Ashley making the obvious staement about the delisting and yet one the succulent lamb brigade haven't mentioned or intimated once.
10-06-2015, 07:05 PM
Exactly, and they secure the brands, training ground etc etc. The revenue from retail sales must be horrendous if the Hun Board are not interested to increasing their stake from 25% to 51% (on repayment). The Hun fiasco keeps giving and giving :thumbsup:
10-06-2015, 07:36 PM
Sports Direct V Rangers international football club in Chancery court tomorrow under Applications.....
https://www.justice.gov.uk/courts/court-lists/list-chancery-judges
Any legal minds on here explain?
10-06-2015, 08:04 PM
So according to Ashley the simple solution is to repay the £5m he gave as a short term loan then security is released and they go to a 51%/49% relationship on goods profit. Can see where he is coming from.
What could King's problem be?
And that is the million dollar question! Everyone knows the simple solution for King is to pay Ashley his dough and that's that... He's got the cash and he's a The Rangers man... So what's the problem??
10-06-2015, 08:13 PM
Sports Direct V Rangers international football club in Chancery court tomorrow under Applications.....
I'm not a legal eagle but I would take a guess that he wants the first £5m of season ticket money ring fenced until they pay him back?
Indeed.
I'd have thought the key question was, what did the NOMAD see that made them decide against working for RIFC?
The Lying King.
10-06-2015, 09:13 PM
And that is the million dollar question! Everyone knows the simple solution for King is to pay Ashley his dough and that's that... He's got the cash and he's a The Rangers man... So what's the problem??
How do you know he has the cash? We know he is a convicted criminal in financial matters and there will always be suspicion till he shows the colour of his money. The bulk of the Sevco support think he is the Messiah, but some of the brighter ones, the ones with two ears and two eyes, are sniffing a wee rat. They might be strong bookie's favourites to win the Championship next year, but I think, deep down, they will be fragile and there for the taking, if we can keep a decent squad together.
portycabbage
10-06-2015, 09:42 PM
You may have requested legal minds, but here's a sevco guy in the DR instead-
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-sports-direct-head-court-5859827
p.s. There'll be a few chancers in Chancery if King and Ashley are involved!
10-06-2015, 09:49 PM
How do you know he has the cash? We know he is a convicted criminal in financial matters and there will always be suspicion till he shows the colour of his money. The bulk of the Sevco support think he is the Messiah, but some of the brighter ones, the ones with two ears and two eyes, are sniffing a wee rat. They might be strong bookie's favourites to win the Championship next year, but I think, deep down, they will be fragile and there for the taking, if we can keep a decent squad together.
I really do think he has the cash. If I'm wrong I'll piss myself laughing like the rest of us though!! :greengrin
10-06-2015, 10:37 PM
I really do think he has the cash. If I'm wrong I'll piss myself laughing like the rest of us though!! :greengrin
Anyone who has lost, criminally, £44m, must be a nervous wreck at the prospect of bank rolling a white elephant of a football club. I bet he's not getting 8 hours sleep a night.
Newry Hibs
11-06-2015, 07:38 AM
Ooft!
Though what Ashley is forgetting is that King is actually a fit and proper person. The SFA said so (or was it the SPFL).
11-06-2015, 09:14 AM
Keith Downie@SkySports_Keith 4m4 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/SkySports_Keith/status/608684091412754432) BREAKING: Mike Ashley has relinquished his position on the Newcastle board along with Finance Director John Irving, who is leaving the club.
I'm surprised not more has been made of this. What are the reasons behind it, unless he is looking for a tighter control at the Rangers? No more 'dual interests'.
11-06-2015, 09:26 AM
I'm surprised not more has been made of this. What are the reasons behind it, unless he is looking for a tighter control at the Rangers? No more 'dual interests'.
I can't see how he could do that with only 9% shareholding.
11-06-2015, 09:27 AM
He still has the dual interests. He is only stepping back from the Board at Newcastle.
11-06-2015, 09:40 AM
He still has the dual interests. He is only stepping back from the Board at Newcastle.
cheers, us plebs don't understand the complexities of boardrooms. Shares are things you get on a plate in a pub.
11-06-2015, 09:43 AM
I think we exchanged messages a couple of months back CWG but I still think Ashley is/has played an absolute blinder here - he's very astute and sharp in my opinion the way he has held his cards until the 'showdown'.
The Ibrox hordes are starting to turn a little on King - slowly but it's gathering momentum. There has not been much anti-Ashley / Sports Direct sentiment, even on their forums. As it stands he knows that there is still a large large groundswell of 'blind faith' fans who will buy the new shirts and merchandise. He also has a £5 million 'noose' around the Ibrox neck........and a shareholding.
With them having to pay off McCoist, also Alexander's tribunal loss, and a possible £5 million debt to Ashley - no wonder King has beads of sweat on his brow - regardless of how many season tickets are sold, that could account for half the anticipated player budget. McCall and his backroom would have cost a wedge too.
If King pays back Ashley - fans will ask, whose money was used - theirs of King's. Ashley as I said, I think, has played (and is playing) a blinder.
Asides that £5 million loan, how much do you reckon it would take to buy out Ashley's stake in The Rangers (shareholding and retail share) ?
11-06-2015, 09:57 AM
He still has absolute control at Newcastle, and has now committed to stay there until they 'win something'... Could be a very long time.
I've never been convinced that Ashley wanted to take control of Rangers. I think he saw a good opportunity to run their retail operation and did a favourable deal with Charles Green. He probably thought their inevitable rise back to the top division would lead to easy profits, but when things went wrong he then became a bigger investor to protect his interests.
He is now - with just 9% - holding a very strong hand. The idea that Dave King can renegotiate a more favourable deal looks a bit fanciful, unless he can back that up with a large wedge of cash.
Jumbo
11-06-2015, 09:59 AM
Keith Jackson just tweeted that Ashley also taking them to court of session in Edinburgh 😆
11-06-2015, 10:07 AM
Keith Jackson just tweeted that Ashley also taking them to court of session in Edinburgh 😆
If they die again I might actually die..
11-06-2015, 10:12 AM
Keith Jackson just tweeted that Ashley also taking them to court of session in Edinburgh
Did he give any details as to what the case was about?
Jumbo
11-06-2015, 10:26 AM
Didn't say, though just posted, not likely to be going after £5m in London or Edinburgh today, more likely a gagging order on the board
11-06-2015, 11:02 AM
It is gagging order
11-06-2015, 11:02 AM
Guy has just tweeted from London High Court - Sports Direct seeking an injunction to stop confidential info being disclosed at tomorrow's shareholder GM.
11-06-2015, 11:12 AM
Didn't say, though just posted, not likely to be going after £5m in London or Edinburgh today, more likely a gagging order on the board
It is gagging order
Guy has just tweeted from London High Court - Sports Direct seeking an injunction to stop confidential info being disclosed at tomorrow's shareholder GM.
Cheers.
Sounds like he has them by the short and curlies.
11-06-2015, 11:14 AM
James Doleman - Freelance journo is tweeting live from court
11-06-2015, 11:29 AM
Saw this yesterday - good thinking by the charity but cannot tell if Fat Ally is genuinely that gullible, or if it's a piss-take to the club
http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/news/ally-mccoist-opens-new-hospice-garden-209765n.128512024
11-06-2015, 11:34 AM
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
@jamesdoleman: This is the first time I've been in court when a Daily Record article is the key piece of evidence :)
11-06-2015, 12:03 PM
[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
@jamesdoleman: This is the first time I've been in court when a Daily Record article is the key piece of evidence :)
So to sum up m'lurd in referring to the right honourable Joan burnie article the prosecution now rests
crewetollhibee
11-06-2015, 12:19 PM
Injunction granted.
11-06-2015, 12:21 PM
Judge tells counsel for Sports Direct says she is "flabbergasted" by the legal costs claimed.
11-06-2015, 12:26 PM
Reading James Doleman's tweets this morning has been high entertainment.
Judge orders £20,000 in costs to be paid by RFC to Sports Direct
11-06-2015, 12:30 PM
Add in the £84,000 Alexander won, Sally's cash (£70,000 a month)........no wonder they are wanting a season ticket push :faf:
Dave King will have to register himself as a player at this rate :greengrin
11-06-2015, 12:31 PM
thats £ 20,000 for now subject to a detailed assessment of total claim.
11-06-2015, 12:34 PM
Another 50 adult season tickets wasted :-)
11-06-2015, 12:37 PM
Judge tells counsel for Sports Direct says she is "flabbergasted" by the legal costs claimed.
To flabbergast a high court judge I think the costs claimed must be mega !
11-06-2015, 12:38 PM
thats £ 20,000 for now subject to a detailed assessment of total claim.
Yeah. Somebody else tweeted that the final bill might be "north of 7 figures "
Struggling to reconcile the 2 myself :)
11-06-2015, 01:03 PM
So The Rangers fan sites are now trying to urge fans not to buy strips and merchandise as only a tiny portion of the retail goes back to the club allegedly.......
The Rangers fans are now fragmented into those that don't trust their new Board, and those that think Ashley is harming them, those that want to back King..........Disunity United :greengrin
King has stated at a press conference that they need volume season ticket sales ideally and has not given any inkling as to what he and his new Board will invest into the playing side of the club.....
The Rangers have no manager and have released 11 playing staff this week.......McCall now being heavily backed into second favourite
Pre-season starts in around 2/3 weeks...............
The Rangers are apparently going to 'invest' this phantom money to not only win our league but challenge Celtic next season as part of a 3 year plan..........:faf:
:party:
......just wait until their screaming bairns come out with 'oi Da, I want the new Rangers strip fir ma birthday/Christmas/to annoy ma Celtic mates at school' :greengrin
I quite like Mike Ashley :aok:
@jamesdoleman: Judge notes there has been no denial from counsel for RFC that the board leaked confidential information to the Daily Record
@jamesdoleman: "The Daily record is a newspaper which wants to make a splash, invariably through hyperbole" judge says
11-06-2015, 01:13 PM
@jamesdoleman: Judge notes there has been no denial from counsel for RFC that the board leaked confidential information to the Daily Record
@jamesdoleman: "The Daily record is a newspaper which wants to make a splash, invariably through hyperbole" judge says
Did I not read something recently about Paul Murray wanting to extend the olive branch to the Record and get them back 'onside' ? Had they not been banned from attending games until the new Board took over ?
11-06-2015, 01:17 PM
So The Rangers fan sites are now trying to urge fans not to buy strips and merchandise as only a tiny portion of the retail goes back to the club allegedly.......
The Rangers fans are now fragmented into those that don't trust their new Board, and those that think Ashley is harming them, those that want to back King..........Disunity United :greengrin
King has stated at a press conference that they need volume season ticket sales ideally and has not given any inkling as to what he and his new Board will invest into the playing side of the club.....
The Rangers have no manager and have released 11 playing staff this week.......McCall now being heavily backed into second favourite
The Rangers are apparently going to 'invest' this phantom money to not only win our league but challenge Celtic next season as part of a 3 year plan..........:faf:
......just wait until their screaming bairns come out with 'oi Da, I want the new Rangers strip fir ma birthday/Christmas/to annoy ma Celtic mates at school' :greengrin
wrong on 2 points.
1. It is unlikely they know who their da is but their brother does look similar and he does sleep in his mums bed. and
2. Having any mates far less Celtic wans is highly unlikely. :wink:
11-06-2015, 01:18 PM
You have to think that all this crap going on in the background (again) for Rangers means they are having their focus distracted from the football?
A good start to this next season is crucial for us.
11-06-2015, 01:24 PM
How many days was it between the SFA declaring DK fit and proper and the high court ruling he could not be trusted to keep a contract?
11-06-2015, 01:30 PM
Kinda dawned on me earlier that popping Ally on gardening leave, getting rid of McDowell and appointing McCall have done nothing to improve their fortunes, other than tie up more cash they dont have! Should of kept fat Ally on...
11-06-2015, 01:32 PM
Kinda dawned on me earlier that popping Ally on gardening leave, getting rid of McDowell and appointing McCall have done nothing to improve their fortunes, other than tie up more cash they dont have! Should of kept fat Ally on...
They won more points per game under McCoist than McCall.
11-06-2015, 01:35 PM
They seem to be hemorrhaging money - Ibrox needs money spent on it, they have committed to investing in their youth/scouting, talk of a new share issue......
In all honesty I can see another admin event...............................:cb
11-06-2015, 01:38 PM
It was McCoist's decision to resign (at least that's the public story)
Given that they still had to pay him for 12 months after handing in his notice, he's done not too badly out of it.
11-06-2015, 01:40 PM
It was McCoist's decision to resign (at least that's the public story)
Given that they still had to pay him for 12 months after handing in his notice, he's done not too badly out of it.
Sure he was encouraged to go! And he could have stayed on til the end of this season! If they had the balls and money then to get in a decent manager instead of old caught in the headlights McDowell then they may have had a better second half of the season...
11-06-2015, 02:11 PM
Round One to Ashley
Ashley Wins Injunction (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/rangers-mike-ashley-wins-retail-deal-injunction-1-3799720)
They seem to be hemorrhaging money - Ibrox needs money spent on it, they have committed to investing in their youth/scouting, talk of a new share issue......
In all honesty I can see another admin event...............................:cb
A general question.
Can there be a share issue when the company isn't listed on a stock exchange?
And. What is the status of shares when they're not listed?
11-06-2015, 02:29 PM
A general question.
And. What is the status of shares when they're not listed?That's two questions.
1. Yes.
2. They are unlisted.
(sorry, couldn't resist) Here's an article http://www.moneywise.co.uk/investing/investment-guides/five-things-you-need-to-know-about-investing-unlisted-companies
Off the bar
11-06-2015, 02:31 PM
A general question.
From my limited understanding they can issue the shares but it will be very difficult for people who 'invest' to then sell them on. A bit like hearts 'share' issue except in this case you might get a certificate.
11-06-2015, 02:54 PM
From my limited understanding they can issue the shares but it will be very difficult for people who 'invest' to then sell them on. A bit like hearts 'share' issue except in this case you might get a certificate.
Hibs aren't listed either and we have a share issue right now.
Off the bar
11-06-2015, 02:57 PM
Hibs aren't listed either and we have a share issue right now.
Fair point but in the same way it's an emotional investment rather than a 'make money' financial one. And I may be wrong but I think selling them is more difficult as you're not selling through a market like AIM.
11-06-2015, 02:57 PM
They will also have the bill to send several of their remaining players to assisted living homes for the summer.
11-06-2015, 03:13 PM
Fair point but in the same way it's an emotional investment rather than a 'make money' financial one. And I may be wrong but I think selling them is more difficult as you're not selling through a market like AIM.
I'm not saying their delisting will make things any easier - just that it's possible!
11-06-2015, 03:14 PM
It's the transferability, or rather the lack of it, that is the problem. That makes them less attractive to buy, and hence would have to be pitched at a much lower price than they might have, had they still been on the AIM.
Off the bar
11-06-2015, 03:16 PM
I'm not saying their delisting will make things any easier - just that it's possible!
I guess the big difference for the hun is that they've already had a push to sell shares as an investment and chuckie Green had reasonable success with them, now the only people who would buy shares in them are fans, and those fans have already been shaken down several times.
11-06-2015, 03:20 PM
I guess the big difference for the hun is that they've already had a push to sell shares as an investment and chuckie Green had reasonable success with them, now the only people who would buy shares in them are fans, and those fans have already been shaken down several times.
Maybe it's time to call Brian Kennedy!
11-06-2015, 03:41 PM
A general question.
Public companies can offer shares to the public, listed or not, private companies cannot.
11-06-2015, 03:54 PM
I understand that they have taken an idea from FIFA and are to commission a movie based on the life of Ibrox legend, Lee McCulloch. The soundtrack is to be provided free of charge by the band, Elbow.
11-06-2015, 03:58 PM
I understand that they have taken an idea from FIFA and are to commission a movie based on the life of Ibrox legend, Lee McCulloch. The soundtrack is to be provided free of charge by the band, Elbow.
......as Lee slides into yet another late tackle, the referee reaches for his yellow card. Rolling his eyes, he brandishes the card and breaks into Elbow's latest smash hit....
What Time Do You Call This?
11-06-2015, 04:05 PM
......as Lee slides into yet another late tackle, the referee reaches for his yellow card. Rolling his eyes, he brandishes the card and breaks into Elbow's latest smash hit....
What Time Do You Call This?
Well I doubt it will be 'An audience with the Pope' .
11-06-2015, 04:21 PM
Cathro resigned at Valencia
anon1875
11-06-2015, 04:21 PM
I honestly ****ing hate rangers so much, hopefully King ****s them over and they go bust again. Did anyone hear about that orange fest in Glasgow last week?
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/orangefest-organisers-claim-controversial-orange-5834627
11-06-2015, 04:34 PM
Cathro resigned at Valencia
Wow, 28 year old that's never been a manager in his own right. Gamble! :cb
11-06-2015, 04:35 PM
Cathro would be a disaster.
11-06-2015, 04:37 PM
Cathro would be a disaster.
For us or for them?
Obviously a very talented coach. Question would be if it was too high pressured a job at 28
11-06-2015, 04:44 PM
For us or for them?
Obviously a very talented coach. Question would be if it was too high pressured a job at 28
For them.How is he obviously a very talented coach-I know this is often said but I see nothing to justify it.
vincipernoi
11-06-2015, 04:53 PM
I honestly ****ing hate rangers so much, hopefully King ****s them over and they go bust again. Did anyone hear about that orange fest in Glasgow last week?
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/orangefest-organisers-claim-controversial-orange-5834627
that's a particularly gormless Kenny McDowell look-alike next to the biddy in the white parka on her phone
11-06-2015, 05:14 PM
For them.How is he obviously a very talented coach-I know this is often said but I see nothing to justify it.
What evidence would you be looking for?
The fact that a manager chose to take him to Valencia with him as his assistant at 28 speaks volumes to me
andrew70
11-06-2015, 05:39 PM
The fact that a manager chose to take him to Valencia with him as his assistant at 28 speaks volumes to me
He's a cracking coach, his story is fantastic and he will do well. I don't think he'll end up at Rangers but if he does it's definitely bad news for us.
I don't think he's daft enough to go to Ibrox.
11-06-2015, 05:40 PM
Colin Calderwood
11-06-2015, 05:43 PM
He's a cracking coach, his story is fantastic and he will do well. I don't think he'll end up at Rangers but if he does it's definitely bad news for us.
The new Rangers job is a bad job for anybody just now. He would be mad to take it.
Doesn't sound as though Cathro is going to Newco. Apparently left for family reasons, departure was agreed some time ago & is not currently considering any offers. Good! Far too imaginative an appointment for the Neanderthals!
Ryan69
11-06-2015, 06:07 PM
In the footballing world anywhere....its very impressive!
Get involved in that mob and he blows it!
He is not that stupid!
andrew70
11-06-2015, 06:19 PM
The new Rangers job is a bad job for anybody just now. He would be mad to take it.
In the footballing world anywhere....its very impressive!
Get involved in that mob and he blows it!
He is not that stupid!
I agree I don't think he's daft enough to go. He's a clever and intelligent young man who has done very well for himself. He will know that the job at Ibrox is a poisoned chalice.
Not worth gambling his whole career on it.
11-06-2015, 06:51 PM
And Warburton has now been installed as favourite for Sheffield Wednesday.
Wonder what mcoist is up to? 🌲🌹🌲🌹🌱
Greenblood70
11-06-2015, 06:57 PM
At this rate I can see sevco doing a 'Blackpool' next season.
**crosses fingers**
The turmoil at Sports Ibrox Direct is known throughout the world, there was even a swipe at them in the New York Times or similar the other week.
ANYONE would be daft to take any job there in those circumstances alone never mind all the other crap that goes with the club.
Kavinho
11-06-2015, 10:42 PM
At this rate I can see sevco doing a 'Blackpool' next season.
**crosses fingers**
Better not laugh too loud, or you'll be hit with a20k defamation suit!
Benny Brazil
11-06-2015, 11:06 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/rangers-mike-ashley-wins-retail-deal-injunction-1-3799720
Love the Rankgers First spokesman's comment in this article - “I would like to see Mike Ashley actually open up his eyes and see that we are a worldwide massive team."
11-06-2015, 11:41 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl-lower-divisions/rangers-mike-ashley-wins-retail-deal-injunction-1-3799720
Love the Rankgers First spokesman's comment in this article - “I would like to see Mike Ashley actually open up his eyes and see that we are a worldwide massive team."
Fascinating stuff. Ashley demands a General Meeting (he must already know he hasn't got enough support to pass any resolutions) and drags The Rangers to court the day before, all of which is costing the club yet more money.
King has made a big enemy here.
12-06-2015, 12:45 AM
Fascinating stuff. Ashley demands a General Meeting (he must already know he hasn't got enough support to pass any resolutions) and drags The Rangers to court the day before, all of which is costing the club yet more money.
King has made a big enemy here.
A big enemy with deep, deep, deep pockets.
12-06-2015, 06:32 AM
They should just give him his 5m quid back then off he goes never to be seen again. Oh wait...
He doesn't need deep, deep, deep pockets. If sevco break agreements all Ashley has to do it take them to court again and again until they realise he has them done up like a kipper and sevco pick up the legal bill.
12-06-2015, 07:57 AM
When king first took over he was at pains to labour the point he would sit down with Ashley and try and work something out ,but very quickly it became all about how Ashley had stitched up the club and the supporters .
Any chance he had of trying to renegotiate contracts in Rangers favour ,but keep Ashley on board ,on basis that at present he isn't maximising profit ,as fans world wide are boycotting buying official merchandise because of Ashley are now Gone I think , unless King climbs down . But the danger was two big ego s would go head to head ,and it would end up with court and added expense for Rangers . Intersting to see what tact the meeting now takes today . Will king continue to castigate Ashley ,trying to appeal to the rangers support that he (king )is the good guy ,and its Ashley that's holding the club to ransom ,and blocking him starting the rebuilding job that's needed ,or will he hold out an Olive Branch and hope Ashley gets back round the table with him .Interesting side show diverting away from fact they haven't yet appointed new manager and started building a squad for next season yet . Can't wait for the next instalment
12-06-2015, 07:58 AM
World wide massive? Deary me. They've existed about 4 years and the highest they've been is third in the second tier of Scottish football and they filled their stadium once last season.
They will be calling themselves "the famous" next.
12-06-2015, 08:18 AM
When king first took over he was at pains to labour the point he would sit down with Ashley and try and work something out ,but very quickly it became all about how Ashley had stitched up the club and the supporters .
Any chance he had of trying to renegotiate contracts in Rangers favour ,but keep Ashley on board ,on basis that at present he isn't maximising profit ,as fans world wide are boycotting buying official merchandise because of Ashley are now Gone I think , unless King climbs down . But the danger was two big ego s would go head to head ,and it would end up with court and added expense for Rangers . Intersting to see what tact the meeting now takes today . Will king continue to castigate Ashley ,trying to appeal to the rangers support that he (king )is the good guy ,and its Ashley that's holding the club to ransom ,and blocking him starting the rebuilding job that's needed ,or will he hold out an Olive Branch and hope Ashley gets back round the table with him .Interesting side show diverting away from fact they haven't yet appointed new manager and started building a squad for next season yet . Can't wait for the next instalment
It might be too late already. King called a GM himself to kick Ashley's people off the board. If you are demanding public meetings then I would say negotiations have failed.
12-06-2015, 08:21 AM
Unless I am misinterpreting things, it appears that the massive drop in sales worldwide is being attributed to Ashley's involvement. That probably contributes to their problem but could it not be that sales have dropped mainly because they became a crappy, wee 2nd division club through spectacular mismanagement and have only managed ( maybe that should again be mismanaged ) to crawl back to a position where they could once again re-enter the top tier. Is this stigma, ignominy and years in obscurity not the reason for the loss of loyalty?
World wide massive? Deary me. They've existed about 4 years and the highest they've been is third in the second tier of Scottish football and they filled their stadium once last season.
They will be calling themselves "the famous" next.
Forget about this 4 years existence nonsense as we all know it's bull and it's something we have a wee dig at them over but in reality it's the same Rangers as before, nothing has changed, we all still know how deluded they are.
12-06-2015, 08:28 AM
When does the game start today? And who is commentating on Twitter?
12-06-2015, 08:40 AM
Forget about this 4 years existence nonsense as we all know it's bull and it's something we have a wee dig at them over but in reality it's the same Rangers as before, nothing has changed, we all still know how deluded they are.
Different legal entity, different business as a result of a deliberate decision to liquidate the old business. I prefer to recognise this.
It seems that it's only in football the effect of liquidation can be ignored. Choosing not to ignore it acknowledges how they walked away from their debt so it's churlish not to highlight that the cost of doing this is that the previous entity is gone. It's how liquidation in the UK works.
12-06-2015, 08:52 AM
Different legal entity, different business as a result of a deliberate decision to liquidate the old business. I prefer to recognise this.
It seems that it's only in football the effect of liquidation can be ignored. Choosing not to ignore it acknowledges how they walked away from their debt so it's churlish not to highlight that the cost of doing this is that the previous entity is gone. It's how liquidation in the UK works.
They bought and retained the brand,though, in all its "glory".[emoji6]
12-06-2015, 09:00 AM
The Davester will not be in attendance, apparently.
12-06-2015, 09:01 AM
...and:
Herald Scotland @heraldscotland 55s56 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/heraldscotland/status/609284044468174849) BREAKING: Mike Ashley's gagging order on Rangers extended to Scotland http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/mike-ashleys-gagging-order-on-rangers-has-no-teeth-in-scotland-says-leading-solicitor.128765846 … (http://t.co/dm2Mj7UfrD)
12-06-2015, 09:03 AM
When does the game start today? And who is commentating on Twitter?
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-egm-live-updates-ibrox-5859223
12-06-2015, 09:05 AM
...and:
Herald Scotland@heraldscotland 55s56 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/heraldscotland/status/609284044468174849) BREAKING: Mike Ashley's gagging order on Rangers extended to Scotland http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/mike-ashleys-gagging-order-on-rangers-has-no-teeth-in-scotland-says-leading-solicitor.128765846… (http://t.co/dm2Mj7UfrD)
Has has he asked for legal cost from our courts too ?
12-06-2015, 09:05 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/rangers-egm-live-updates-ibrox-5859223
Not much of a war if one side doesn't turn up.
BBCBMcLauchlin @BBCBMcLauchlin 6m6 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/BBCBMcLauchlin/status/609283431541960704) Glasgow, Scotland (https://twitter.com/search?q=place%3A791e00bcadc4615f)Rangers chairman Dave King will NOT be attending this mornings EGM at Ibrox. #bbcsportscot (https://twitter.com/hashtag/bbcsportscot?src=hash)
12-06-2015, 09:13 AM
...and:
Herald Scotland@heraldscotland 55s56 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/heraldscotland/status/609284044468174849) BREAKING: Mike Ashley's gagging order on Rangers extended to Scotland http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/mike-ashleys-gagging-order-on-rangers-has-no-teeth-in-scotland-says-leading-solicitor.128765846… (http://t.co/dm2Mj7UfrD)
That article just replaced an earlier one where The Herald interviewed some 'expert' explaining how the Gagging Order didn't apply in Scotland.
They've now had to make an embarrassing U-Turn and change both the headline and article after a number of people pointed out the COS decision in the comments section.
The previous comments pointing it out are still there, for now ;)
What a ballsup by The Herald
12-06-2015, 09:14 AM
It's the same set of supporters in the same stadium but supporting a different club. This might have been fudged beyond belief by our footballing authorities in a desperate effort to cling to the comfort blanket of the blue pound :rolleyes: , but it's still the truth.
12-06-2015, 09:50 AM
They bought and retained the brand,though, in all its "glory".[emoji6]
Yep the four year old new boys bought that part of the now defunct glasgow rangers[emoji1] they could only do it because they ceased to exist. If they really still existed they could have saved a few quid by not picking over the carcass and buying the"name".That went well!
Off the bar
12-06-2015, 09:50 AM
From the BBC article today
'the board also want shareholders to consider removing the voting rights of shareholders who own stakes in other clubs and a renegotiation of the club's arrangement with Sports Direct.'
Along with voting to not repay mash the money, it's going to be an interesting egm!
Alan62
12-06-2015, 10:16 AM
So they're looking to change their articles of association to penalise minority shareholders? That'll be an easy process then. Not. It's sad to think that there will be a time in the future when The Rangers don't provide the close season entertainment. It could be a while away, right enough, but it'll happen one day ...
12-06-2015, 10:45 AM
Can't help but feel Keith Jackson is backing the wrong horse. Again.
The tone of the coverage is clear: 'Ashley goes to war' and 'King hits back' is code for 'Dave King is the hero trying to fight for Rangers'.
But it's not true. It was King who started the 'war'. Ashley, having negotiated a very good deal with the Chuckie Green regime, is now defending his interests.
If this turns into a protracted battle to the death, there is only one winner. Ashley could see shirt sales drop to zero and still not give a f***. Dave King seems less impressive with each passing day.
12-06-2015, 11:20 AM
Can't help but feel Keith Jackson is backing the wrong horse. Again.
The tone of the coverage is clear: 'Ashley goes to war' and 'King hits back' is code for 'Dave King is the hero trying to fight for Rangers'.
But it's not true. It was King who started the 'war'. Ashley, having negotiated a very good deal with the Chuckie Green regime, is now defending his interests.
If this turns into a protracted battle to the death, there is only one winner. Ashley could see shirt sales drop to zero and still not give a f***. Dave King seems less impressive with each passing day.
He def won't give a flying one as new Rangers are contracted to buy unsold stock.
12-06-2015, 11:23 AM
He def won't give a flying one as new Rangers are contracted to buy unsold stock.
Who the **** signed off on that deal? Sounds like a Celtc fan taking the piss.
12-06-2015, 11:30 AM
From the BBC article today
'the board also want shareholders to consider removing the voting rights of shareholders who own stakes in other clubs and a renegotiation of the club's arrangement with Sports Direct.'
Along with voting to not repay mash the money, it's going to be an interesting egm!
If they remove the voting rights of shareholders with shares in other teams. How hard would it be for MA, to give his sell his shares to a mate ( for a pound) and then letting him vote ( wink wink ).
12-06-2015, 11:34 AM
If they remove the voting rights of shareholders with shares in other teams. How hard would it be for MA, to give his sell his shares to a mate ( for a pound) and then letting him vote ( wink wink ).
As they can out vote him now anyhow, is it not needlessly antagonistic?
King talks about a renegotiating 'holistic' relationship with Sports Direct, then does what he can to p*** MA off. Seems like an amateur.
12-06-2015, 12:14 PM
GGTTHIsn't there some issue about this rule, which I think is an SFA rule? MA owns shares in an English FA club, and it is unclear how SFA rules could be applied to owning shares in another FA's club. Also, I understand the English FA has no such dual ownership rules?
I could be completely and utterly wrong.
12-06-2015, 12:18 PM
Wasn't it today that Paul Murray was going to announce the new manager?
12-06-2015, 12:21 PM
As they can out vote him now anyhow, is it not needlessly antagonistic?
King talks about a renegotiating 'holistic' relationship with Sports Direct, then does what he can to p*** MA off. Seems like an amateur.
But King will still expect to tap into the Newcastle subs bench for players to prop up their title bid 😏
12-06-2015, 01:11 PM
But King will still expect to tap into the Newcastle subs bench for players to prop up their title bid 😏
He probably will!
12-06-2015, 02:08 PM
The jungle lambegs of Hundom seem to suggest they're going for Warburton/Weir.
Warburton's career is unconventional to say the least: crap player turned city trader turned youth coach turned manager. His managerial record consists of taking over an already decent side in league 1 mid-season, not changing much and getting them promoted, then getting them to the Championship play offs while falling out with the chairman and getting the heave-ho. He's never had to build a team from scratch and he's never been anywhere near the sort of profile he'd have at the New Huns. On that basis, seems a better bet (for us) than McCall. :wink:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mark_Warburton
12-06-2015, 02:11 PM
Warburton's career is unconventional to say the least: crap player turned city trader turned youth coach turned manager. His managerial record consists of taking over an already decent side in league 1 mid-season, not changing much and getting them promoted, then getting them to the Championship play offs while falling out with the chairman and getting the heave-ho. He's never had to build a team from scratch and he's never been anywhere near the sort of profile he'd have at the New Huns. On that basis, seems a better bet (for us) than McCall. :wink:
It doesn't matter who they get, they've got little or no money to spend.
12-06-2015, 02:34 PM
It doesn't matter who they get, they've got little or no money to spend.
Aye but DK says if they buy loads of seasons he will lump in loads of cash. Do you not believe him?
😀
12-06-2015, 03:18 PM
Dave King, [director] Douglas Park and [investors] George Letham and George Taylor, if you count their share purchases, their investment in the business is over £8m. That's not a sum to be dismissed
Errr, did these guys buy new shares, or did they buy them from other shareholders? If its the latter, then the people they bought the shares from will have got the money, not the club? In which case the £8m "invested in the business" didn't all go to the benefit of the business?
Of course, I could be wrong.
12-06-2015, 03:51 PM
Wasn't it today that Paul Murray was going to announce the new manager?
How did that go? Is it Carver backed up with the Newcastle treatment room until the season starts?
12-06-2015, 04:17 PM
I like how the results of the vote won't be announced until Monday. I'm definitely not suggesting any improperiety at all, just an interesting way of doing things.
12-06-2015, 04:18 PM
Errr, did these guys buy new shares, or did they buy them from other shareholders? If its the latter, then the people they bought the shares from will have got the money, not the club? In which case the £8m "invested in the business" didn't all go to the benefit of the business?
Of course, I could be wrong.
Nope. You're right.
12-06-2015, 04:21 PM
Aye but DK says if they buy loads of seasons he will lump in loads of cash. Do you not believe him?
I don't think that's what he actually said. He said he wanted the fans to contribute megabucks through STs. If that ended in a shortfall, he would then invest what was needed. Aye,right Dave. :greengrin
12-06-2015, 04:36 PM
That's one way of looking at it. I suspect many Bees fans might disagree. I think he'd be a good choice and harmful for us. But I suspect he's got better offers in the English lower leagues.
12-06-2015, 04:49 PM
That's one way of looking at it. I suspect many Bees fans might disagree. I think he'd be a good choice and harmful for us. But I suspect he's got better offers in the English lower leagues.
:agree: They punched above their usual weight last season, played good football - not sure the new boys are the best move for him but he might see the prospect of managing the myth as tempting without really appreciating the toxic nature of the tradition of the institution that stands behind it - certainly not one to go into thinking its just about the football.
12-06-2015, 04:58 PM
Nope. You're right.
So its sounds like a bunch of rich(ish) the rangers "men" are passing the shares around amongst themselves, and when the music stops whoevers holding them is the new loss making mug?
If so, since they are all "the rangers men" its got to be better to just put the same cash up in the form of low interest long term loans to help their club like STF has done instead of playing pass the parcel with a turd as they seem to be doing?
12-06-2015, 06:49 PM
From a career point of view Warburton would be better staying in England. Any success at Sevco Huns will be put down to them having a much higher budget than their opponents (especially in the second tier) and failure to achieve everything with that financial backing will damage his reputation.
Personally I'm just hoping that they keep delaying the appointment which will leave the new man with less time to assemble a new squad from an ever shrinking pool of players and even less time to work with them.
12-06-2015, 06:56 PM
BDO's latest report. .....
http://www.bdo.co.uk/__data/assets/pdf_file/0008/1347695/RFC-progress-report-12-06-15-WEBSITE.pdf
12-06-2015, 07:02 PM
BDO's latest report. .....
http://www.bdo.co.uk/__data/assets/pdf_file/0008/1347695/RFC-progress-report-12-06-15-WEBSITE.pdf
What does it all mean in simple terms?
12-06-2015, 07:07 PM
What does it all mean in simple terms?
There's no real change from before. The Big Tax Case is ongoing, as is their "correspondence "with Duff and Phelps. Both of those things will have an effect on the eventual dividend to creditors.
2 new things stick out:-
1. They got less than they hoped from the Jelavic deal, as Hull were relegated.
2. There will be an interim dividend shortly of 6/7 pence in the £.
12-06-2015, 07:14 PM
There's no real change from before. The Big Tax Case is ongoing, as is their "correspondence "with Duff and Phelps. Both of those things will have an effect on the eventual dividend to creditors.
2 new things stick out:-
1. They got less than they hoped from the Jelavic deal, as Hull were relegated.
2. There will be an interim dividend shortly of 6/7 pence in the £.
Can any of this affect The Rangers (Sevco) or is it all from the old (liquidated) club?
12-06-2015, 07:20 PM
Can any of this affect The Rangers (Sevco) or is it all from the old (liquidated) club?
It's very unlikely that any of it would affect the current club.
The only remote possibility is if BDO manage to argue that D&P's handling of the administration was so wrong that it should be reversed. However, any financial fall out of that would probably be borne by D&P's insurance.
That is, if they have any [emoji48]