View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
calmac12000
10-07-2012, 10:47 AM
Nobody's been conned. Nobody's suggesting you sign their stupid petition. My simple point which I think is quite clear is, 'why were we singled out from all the supporters of the other 10 SPL clubs as being the most likely to sign.' Whether we actually share their desire to get rid of Regan is neither here nor there. Furthermore the reference to Lawwell is immaterial to my point.
Apologies, had a long day and the old grey matter wasn't functioning:tin hat:
10-07-2012, 11:59 AM
This is an astonishing letter. Stuart Regan stands accused of outright lying to SFL and SPL clubs.
http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/morton-chairman-launches-scathing-attack-on-scottish-footballs-top-brass.18111915
There can be no place for Doncaster and Regan in Scottish football after this, no matter what state it is in.
If they had a shred of decency, they would go now. Even Bankers have got the message.
10-07-2012, 12:06 PM
There can be no place for Doncaster and Regan in Scottish football after this, no matter what state it is in.
If they had a shred of decency, they would go now. Even Bankers have got the message.
That Banker is still on £2m per annum for the foreseeable that's how much decency he has got. You have answered yourself by including decency and Doncaster/Regan in the same sentences. They wouldn't know the meaning of it.
10-07-2012, 12:20 PM
Who is going to make them quit though?
I made this point many pages ago. There is no vehicle for removing these guys from Office. The fans have no say in who runs the game, these two could merrily carry on for years to come, or of course follow the Banker method and leave with a generous severance settlement and pension.
I think moving forward, fans need to be given a say in who runs the game, either directly or indirectly. Forcing those who seek these jobs to put forward their vision for the game and build support, rather than being appointed in a dark Boardroom by a cadre of Chairmen / Businessmen.
10-07-2012, 12:33 PM
If they had a shred of decency, they would go now. Even Bankers have got the message.Too bad they wouldnae ken what that was if it walked up and smacked them right between the eyes.
virtualhibby
10-07-2012, 12:42 PM
From alex thomson twitter;
Having seen STV list I can say it is definitely 14 - 3 pro D3. At least one of the 'undecideds' is 100% opposed to D1.
Don Giovanni
10-07-2012, 12:55 PM
The rules should have and should still be followed which would avoid this bringing of our national sport into disrepute.
The most galling thing for me is that it is our games' leaders that have brought it into disprepute. Their insistance on bending and breaking the rules for the benefit of a new company is unbelieveable. Doncaster and Regan are supposed to be the ones insisting that the rules and regulations are followed - not advising that they be ignored / changed / disregarded to suit their (newcos) agenda.
It is clear that these two charlatans are not fit for purpose..., and whilst I'm on me soap box the man at the very top (Ogilvy) should have been put on gardening leave pending serious investigation anaw.
This whole sorry episode has disgraced our footballing authorities.
calmac12000
10-07-2012, 01:20 PM
It is blatantly obvious that the "desperate duo" are incapable of conceivingof a strong and healthy Scottish game without the presence of the corruption represented by Rangers/SEVCO.
Someone, somewhere must have put this notion into their psyche, to the extent that they are willing to overlook their primary responsibility i.e. the interests of their member clubs in favour of this delusion. If the existence of a nefarious conspiracy is deemed not to be true then the only credible explanation must be that these two gentlemen, have acted with an almost unheard of degree of incompetence.
I find nether argument totally convincing and suspect the truth is a mixture of the two.
Where this leaves Scottish football is an urgent need for a root and branch reform, with no sacred cows left unmolested. If we don't take this opportunity to divorce the game we love from corruption, sectarianism and blatant cheating it is unworthy of survival in the modern era.
:rules::saltireflag:lolrangers:
10-07-2012, 01:34 PM
Where this leaves Scottish football is an urgent need for a root and branch reform, with no sacred cows left unmolested.
I fancy Donkey "Neil" Doncaster might be well up for a bit of ruminant-molesting. He's just got a look about him.
10-07-2012, 01:42 PM
Having seen STV list I can say it is definitely 14 - 3 pro D3. At least one of the 'undecideds' is 100% opposed to D1.
I think the problem is still the actual vote.
As it stands it is still unclear and even just allowing Rangers/Sevco to play in the league might allow the SFL board the ability to "place" them in Division 1.
Looking at the actual wording of the vote ..
(i) That the Scottish Football League Members agree to admit Sevco Scotland Limited as an Associate Member and agrees to permit Rangers F.C. to play in the League during Season 2012/13.
There is nothing in this vote that says that they will automatically play in Division 3. The SFA/SFL/SPL have already said that the rules can be bent to allow Rangers into Division 1 so a YES vote here could pave the way for an SFA/SFL/SPL stitch up.
(ii) That the Scottish Football League Members direct the Board of Management of The Scottish Football League (the “Board”) to provide that Rangers F.C. shall play in the Third Division of the Scottish Football League during Season 2012/13 unless the Board shall have to its satisfaction negotiated and reached agreement with The Scottish Premier League and The Scottish Football Association on a series of measures which the Board shall consider to be in the best interests of the game, how it is structured, how it is governed and how it is financed, whereupon the Board shall be authorised to provide that Rangers F.C. shall play in the First Division of the Scottish Football League during Season 2012/13.
This is the YES vote that will send Rangers straight into Division 1. It is worded in such a way that the SFA/SFL/SPL will basically do whatever they want without any recourse or comeback. I suspect that, like the SPL vote, this option is there more out of hope than expectation. However, a NO vote does not necessarily kill Rangers chances of Division 1 .. please refer to the wording of section (i).
(iii) That the Scottish Football League Members in terms of Rule 12 approve the resignation of either Dundee F.C. or Dunfermline Athletic F.C., whichever shall be admitted to join the Scottish Premier League for Season 2012/13, such resignation to take effect as at the date of admission of such club to the Scottish Premier League, notwithstanding that the requisite notice under Rule 12 shall not have been given.Details of the series of measures referred to at (ii) above shall be made available to the Members in advance of the meeting and an opportunity for full discussion of those measures will be given prior to the proposals being put to the meeting.
It seems strange that Dundee have been told they are unable to vote, and yet they have also named Dunfermline in the wording of this vote? They also state in this proposal that details of the measures at (ii) (Rangers punishment/penalties) will be provided prior to the meeting? Do they mean the meeting on the 13th or a future meeting where they decide whether it is Dundee or Dunfermline that goes up?
IMHO, I think that the proposals are far from clear and really need some clarification before being put to the SFL clubs. If they are not clarified I can actually see a postponement of any voting. A delay that would, IMO, put Rangers into the wilderness for a season (and potentially an 11 team league).
10-07-2012, 02:06 PM
Doesn't matter how they vote. Regan and Doncaster will fix it for newco. That is the sad thing about this sham.
magpie1892
10-07-2012, 02:07 PM
Doesn't matter how they vote. Regan and Doncaster will fix it for newco. That is the sad thing about this sham.
I honestly don't think they can, and I honestly do think they are finally realising it.
10-07-2012, 02:16 PM
I honestly don't think they can, and I honestly do think they are finally realising it.
Fingers crossed. If, and its a big if, it means clubs go bust then so be it. Any current SPL club that went bust would be back applying for Div 3 in some shape or form within a year or two.
jamieross
10-07-2012, 02:17 PM
Dont know if its been posted already. McGregor in talks with Besiktas http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18784045
magpie1892
10-07-2012, 02:19 PM
Fingers crossed. If, and its a big if, it means clubs go bust then so be it. Any current SPL club that went bust would be back applying for Div 3 in some shape or form within a year or two.
I still think there's a reasonable chance we'll never see a team in blue play at Ibrox ever again. Wishful thinking, perhaps, but this situation is beyond Doncaster and Regan now. HMRC are waiting to strike, and they're atop a long queue.
magpie1892
10-07-2012, 02:20 PM
Dont know if its been posted already. McGregor in talks with Besiktas http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18784045
Liking the headline. Someone at BBC online is 'off message'...
10-07-2012, 02:33 PM
And why would six SPL club go bust?
The only SPL team with unsustainable debts is Hearts.
Other clubs could be in financial difficulty if the TV money was pulled from under them. However this would only be to the extent that they had taken on more in terms of players contracts than could be justified in the current state of the SPL.
The obvious route would be Administration in the way that Motherwell did it rather than the D&P type fiasco. The Administrators come in and clear the player out whose contracts cannot be afforded. The bulk of the debts would likely reside with the owners so a CVA can be agreed and after a points penalty they could be back in business.
Over the years three Scottish clubs have been liquidated: Third Lanark, Airdrieonians, and Gretna. We will soon be able to add number four Rangers. Lots of teams have been in Administration some more than once including Livingston and Dundee.
I do not beleive that the situation is that much worse than the situation when the Sky TV deal was rejected ten years back at a time when clubs were paying big wages or when Satanta went bust.
DCI Gene Hunt
10-07-2012, 02:41 PM
People seem to be assuming that this Sevco90210 or whatever they're called are actually going to be voted into the SFL, never mind joining Div3. From what I've seen most of the clubs aren't very welcoming of Phoenix Rangersto start with, they might be lucky to get Div3 never mind Div1.
I can see this rumbling on into the new season with no resolve, eventually Donkey and Ranger will be forced to go, Sevco might get shoehorned if they'ew lucky into Div3 at the last minute with some whinging from Traynor, Daily Record and the other slavering talking heads, and by Autumn the dust will have settled and it'll be all quiet again, with the possibility of slightly fairer football for the time being in the SPL with the OF's stranglehold on the sport partially broken and one half flung into the lower leagues for the next few seasons.
Just my tuppence.
Gene
green glory
10-07-2012, 02:46 PM
People seem to be assuming that this Sevco90210 or whatever they're called are actually going to be voted into the SFL, never mind joining Div3. From what I've seen most of the clubs aren't very welcoming of Phoenix Rangersto start with, they might be lucky to get Div3 never mind Div1.
I can see this rumbling on into the new season with no resolve, eventually Donkey and Ranger will be forced to go, Sevco might get shoehorned if they'ew lucky into Div3 at the last minute with some whinging from Traynor, Daily Record and the other slavering talking heads, and by Autumn the dust will have settled and it'll be all quiet again, with the possibility of slightly fairer football for the time being in the SPL with the OF's stranglehold on the sport partially broken and one half flung into the lower leagues for the next few seasons.
Just my tuppence.
Gene
Correct. People are also forgetting when the oldco officially go into liquidation in only a few weeks, BDO, HMRC's liquidators will be looking at every aspect of this whole sorry/hilarious affair with a microscope. If they deem the asset transfer was done below market value it could very well be jumpers for goalposts in the streets of Govan.
10-07-2012, 02:47 PM
Alex Thomson on the answers from UEFA and FIFA
http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thomsons-view/questions-answered-footballs-governing-bodies/2235
10-07-2012, 02:51 PM
And why would six SPL club go bust?
The only SPL team with unsustainable debts is Hearts.
Other clubs could be in financial difficulty if the TV money was pulled from under them. However this would only be to the extent that they had taken on more in terms of players contracts than could be justified in the current state of the SPL.
The obvious route would be Administration in the way that Motherwell did it rather than the D&P type fiasco. The Administrators come in and clear the player out whose contracts cannot be afforded. The bulk of the debts would likely reside with the owners so a CVA can be agreed and after a points penalty they could be back in business.
Over the years three Scottish clubs have been liquidated: Third Lanark, Airdrieonians, and Gretna. We will soon be able to add number four Rangers. Lots of teams have been in Administration some more than once including Livingston and Dundee.
I do not beleive that the situation is that much worse than the situation when the Sky TV deal was rejected ten years back at a time when clubs were paying big wages or when Satanta went bust.
Indeed. Administration is a problem when the largest creditor is one that will be 'unsympathetic' so basically HMRC. Most clubs would bounce back, simply because the debt will be to an owner as you say.
Hearts are a special messed up case of their own, given that I can't see Vlad ever agreeing to a CVA, but still.
Killie seem to have a truckload of debt, they seem like candidates for administration some point soon. But even then, you'd think of so many clubs were 'on the edge' they'd currently be punting every player they could and reducing their wage bill, yet I see no signs of that, at least no more than any other day.
Of course if anything we are best placed, given that STF has been stated to be ready to 'save' the club from any future difficulties, so we have a safety net lest things really go mammaries skyward in the SPL...
10-07-2012, 03:15 PM
I think the problem is still the actual vote.
As it stands it is still unclear and even just allowing Rangers/Sevco to play in the league might allow the SFL board the ability to "place" them in Division 1.
Looking at the actual wording of the vote ..
(i) That the Scottish Football League Members agree to admit Sevco Scotland Limited as an Associate Member and agrees to permit Rangers F.C. to play in the League during Season 2012/13.
There is nothing in this vote that says that they will automatically play in Division 3. The SFA/SFL/SPL have already said that the rules can be bent to allow Rangers into Division 1 so a YES vote here could pave the way for an SFA/SFL/SPL stitch up.
(.
The rules are quite clear Stevie (99.2 I think) that, if a vacancy arises in the SFL, it is in the bottom league.
10-07-2012, 03:25 PM
The rules are quite clear Stevie (99.2 I think) that, if a vacancy arises in the SFL, it is in the bottom league.
Clyde wanting clarification on the voting. But I agree, the first vote should be "do we let that bunch into the SFL?" and the second vote (if required) :wink: should be will we let them play in the Third, second or first division?
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/clyde/110268-clyde-want-change-to-sfl-resolutions-on-rangers-first-division-vote/
10-07-2012, 03:28 PM
Clyde wanting clarification on the voting. But I agree, the first vote should be "do we let that bunch into the SFL?" and the second vote (if required) :wink: should be will we let them play in the Third, second or first division?
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/clyde/110268-clyde-want-change-to-sfl-resolutions-on-rangers-first-division-vote/
I really don't see why there should be a second vote at all. Rules say 3rd division so they should go there with no special treatment
10-07-2012, 03:33 PM
I really don't see why there should be a second vote at all. Rules say 3rd division so they should go there with no special treatment
Longmuir himself said, last week, that the rules would need to be changed if Sevco were voted into D1. My question is... why can't they try and change the rules first?
KiddA
10-07-2012, 03:49 PM
What a shocking article, Craig Burley is a grade A P##CK :grr:
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2012/07/08/craig-burley-column-sfl-minnows-must-vote-rangers-newco-into-first-division-86908-23906004/
What a clueless w##ker he is :bitchy: he should be made to apologize to every club he just brought down.
Deek01
10-07-2012, 03:52 PM
Complete and utter pr!ck
10-07-2012, 03:55 PM
He sums up his own article perfectly
'The knuckle draggers- always the ones who make the most noise- have succeeded in making their voice heard.'
Craig Burley is the king Fud in all the kingdom of fuddery.
10-07-2012, 03:55 PM
What a shocking article, Craig Burley is a grade A P##CK :grr:
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2012/07/08/craig-burley-column-sfl-minnows-must-vote-rangers-newco-into-first-division-86908-23906004/
What a clueless w##ker he is :bitchy: he should be made to apologize to every club he just brought down.you were expecting anything else from that publication or the cretins that write for it?
10-07-2012, 03:56 PM
He's part of that west coast media, that think the world revolves around two teams. He's just a dick who thinks he's the Scottish Mark Lawrenson. :rolleyes:
KiddA
10-07-2012, 03:56 PM
He sums up his own article perfectly
'The knuckle draggers- always the ones who make the most noise- have succeeded in making their voice heard.'
Craig Burley is the king Fud in all the kingdom of fuddery.
10-07-2012, 04:13 PM
I am completely taken aback by the sheer nerve this guy has in calling the club chairmen the names he has.
I have passed this on to friends for their opinions and i hope someone has the bottle to take him on.
All that because he needs publicity.
Well he has got it now.
What a pure and utter moron of a man!!!!
jane_says
10-07-2012, 04:13 PM
And talking of knuckle-draggers Craig..........
phantomscotsman
10-07-2012, 04:25 PM
And talking of knuckle-draggers Craig..........
Guys a total c**k...
PaulC
10-07-2012, 04:27 PM
"I’ve heard comments from clubs like Cowdenbeath, Peterhead insisting they must start from scratch in the Third – who are these people and how are they qualified to make a decision that will affect clubs 10 times their size?"
So what qualifications did David Murray have to run a football club into the ground......what qualifications did Craig Whyte have to run a derelict club even further into shame and disgrace and who says that the jokers now owning Rangers are any more qualified to do the job. The guys on the boards of these smaller clubs are successful business men and are only making the decisions that those further up the football ladder (i.e Donkey Doncaster and Regan) are too afraid to make themselves.
What a complete pr*ck Burley is and should be made to apologise for that shameful drivel
The guy is complete and total **** Witt . Calling the guys that run lower league teams muppets. That for me is disrespectful and to be honest expected from an ex OF player.
So they get 200 the principal of the matter being their clubs are run in the correct manner cos that's the only way they will survive.
The lower league chairman are really in theory cutting their noses off to spite their faces cos deep down they know that there would and will be a loss in revenue should they vote NO however integrity is the name of the game and well done to then.
As for burley. **** off back under the rock you crawled from you prize A dick.
KiddA
10-07-2012, 04:37 PM
I am completely taken aback by the sheer nerve this guy has in calling the club chairmen the names he has.
I have passed this on to friends for their opinions and i hope someone has the bottle to take him on.
All that because he needs publicity.
Well he has got it now.
What a pure and utter moron of a man!!!!
I agree, this should not be left alone, he should be sacked for this, totally out of order with some of his comments.
10-07-2012, 04:38 PM
That's the point though, the respective boards of the SFA/SFL/SPL are bypassing the rules. They've already stated that it's not in the rules that it has to be the bottom league and that they COULD go straight into Division 1 if they wanted to.
The wording of the first vote (i) could easily be used by the SFA/SFL to get what they want.
"You all said yes to allowing Rangers to play in the league in 2012/13. The only place available now, at such short notice, is Division 1. We'll put Rangers in Division 1 (regardless of the 2nd vote)."
The SFA/SFL/SPL have already shown that they will happily tell lies to get what they want, so the wording for vote (i) needs to be clear that it's Division 3 (not even "lowest" division as again they could twist it to "lowest division possible" when they stitch everyone up).
10-07-2012, 04:42 PM
That's the point though, the respective boards of the SFA/SFL/SPL are bypassing the rules. They've already stated that it's not in the rules that it has to be the bottom league and that they COULD go straight into Division 1 if they wanted to.
The wording of the first vote (i) could easily be used by the SFA/SFL to get what they want.
"You all said yes to allowing Rangers to play in the league in 2012/13. The only place available now, at such short notice, is Division 1. We'll put Rangers in Division 1 (regardless of the 2nd vote)."
The SFA/SFL/SPL have already shown that they will happily tell lies to get what they want, so the wording for vote (i) needs to be clear that it's Division 3 (not even "lowest" division as again they could twist it to "lowest division possible" when they stitch everyone up).
Longmuir said completely the opposite a couple of weeks ago.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/9337279/Rangers-would-have-to-start-in-Scottish-League-Division-Three-says-SFL-chief-executive-David-Longmuir.html
"“It would be a newco scenario and the only way we could accommodate any new application would be to create a gap in the Third Division through the play-offs with teams shuffling up,” said Longmuir
“We would then judge every case on its own merits. There would be no provision for any newco Rangers to go into the First Division rather than the Third Division.”
Emerald
10-07-2012, 04:47 PM
He MUST be wanting the SFL to vote against newco by writing this :dunno: His article should be pinned on the wall of every Scottish football club director until after the vote and then used to wipe their erses with. THAT my friends is exactly the kind of west coast, weegie, old firm arrogant pr1ck that we should all remember to bury in the past when the great Rangers are no more.:bye: :na na::na na::na na:
10-07-2012, 04:50 PM
Reading that again I'm actually stunned how hugely disrespectful it is.
I know a few guys involved in the lower leagues and at senior and junior level, particularly at Spartans, and the jobs these guys hold down in their 'real' lives more than qualify them to run the business side of football clubs.
Burleys attitude is just typical of what I'd expect from OF apologists, completely deluded about how important or interesting they are to non OF fans. I've got a few acquaintances who are currant buns and they are genuinely perplexed as to why other clubs don't want to see them in the SPL next year. The general argument seems to be 'but we are Rangers', that's it really.
Burley and the other jokers that pass for the football press in Scotland would probably get a massive shock if they ever extracted their heads from the rectum of the OF for long enough.
virtualhibby
10-07-2012, 04:51 PM
A bit of reverse phsycology? Did he really think the SFL chairman would change their minds because if these comments, or was he thinking this will make them radge and provoke a reaction to force D3 at best? :confused:
Ex celtic chump remember.
Sent from the commode in my listening room.
10-07-2012, 04:59 PM
http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thomsons-view/questions-answered-footballs-governing-bodies/2235
Regan now saying Old Ranger's SFA membership is being transferred to Sevco F C .
Is this specifically against SFA Articles of Association Rule 16. Memberships are only transferable within a group for " solvent reconstruction ".
I don't think even Regan can think the Dead Huns were solvent.
10-07-2012, 05:07 PM
Longmuir said completely the opposite a couple of weeks ago.
That's my point.
The goalposts have been moved so many times they're not even on the pitch anymore!!
The wording in part (ii) is so skewed to taking the voting options away from the clubs and handing it to "corrupt" boards it is beyond belief. That is why I reckon the wording for part (i) has deliberately left out "Division 3", and it needs to be rectified before any vote.
It would be a very niaive chairman that made the assumption that part (i) is a guaranteed Division 3 entry.
10-07-2012, 05:09 PM
I definitely agree with others, would that transfer be enough for them to be seen as the same business and thus have creditors come looking for their cash?
10-07-2012, 05:19 PM
Regan now saying Old Ranger's SFA membership is being transferred to Sevco F C .
Is this specifically against SFA Articles of Association Rule 16. Memberships are only transferable within a group for " solvent reconstruction ".
I don't think even Regan can think the Dead Huns were solvent.He'll no be worried about that, he can just bend it, break it or completely re-write it. :rolleyes:
10-07-2012, 05:19 PM
Wouldn't it be wonderful if the meeting was televised. Firstly, to give transparency but secondly, what marvellous entertainment as the 'diddy clubs' revolt. Even better if Donkey and Regan are there to be verbally savaged.
Edit: Delete that word 'verbally'.
10-07-2012, 05:35 PM
I don't have a problem with this.
It means that the SFA can punish Sevco for Oldco's misdemeanours. and possibly hold them liable for footballing debts. The footballing debts (especially outwith Scotland) is probably something that has worried the SFA, for fear of FIFA involvement and a potential backlash.
I suspect that it's also something that the SFA could force Sevco to do, to get past the 3 years accounts issue that has been touched on before.
Lungo--Drom
10-07-2012, 05:43 PM
Without disrespecting your commode or the poo within it, I wonder if you happened to see the utter ****ing piece of stinking **** Burley lurking in it whilst wiping your derrier? :)
A bit of reverse phsycology? Did he really think the SFL chairman would change their minds because if these comments, or was he thinking this will make them radge and provoke a reaction to force D3 at best? :confused:
Ex celtic chump remember.
Sent from the commode in my listening room.
10-07-2012, 05:46 PM
I definitely agree with others, would that transfer be enough for them to be seen as the same business and thus have creditors come looking for their cash?
No...it's a different company
10-07-2012, 05:50 PM
It that means that the SFA can punish Sevco for Oldco's misdemeanours. and possibly hold them liable for footballing debts. The footballing debts (especially outwith Scotland) is probably something that has worried the SFA, for fear of FIFA involvement and a potential backlash.
I suspect that it's also something that the SFA could force Sevco to do, to get past the 3 years accounts issue that has been touched on before.
that's my take on it....transfer the licence and the history .
Again...it's only one year's accounts.....which Sevco don't have.
LeighLoyal
10-07-2012, 05:51 PM
I don't have a problem with this.It that means that the SFA can punish Sevco for Oldco's misdemeanours. and possibly hold them liable for footballing debts. The footballing debts (especially outwith Scotland) is probably something that has worried the SFA, for fear of FIFA involvement and a potential backlash.I suspect that it's also something that the SFA could force Sevco to do, to get past the 3 years accounts issue that has been touched on before.Doesn't this mean they have a bigger shout of keeping their history? Sounds like a pro hun move to me. The cheated trophy's could have been stripped from oldco. So Regan wants to parachute Sevco into SFL 1 and allow them to carry on trading as the oldco in all but name. I'd be quite happy to see their history lost, oldco stripped of the cheated gongs and Sevco in SFL 3. That is what SHOULD happen. No doubt the hun loving barbarians in suits have other ideas.
10-07-2012, 06:15 PM
It that means that the SFA can punish Sevco for Oldco's misdemeanours. and possibly hold them liable for footballing debts. The footballing debts (especially outwith Scotland) is probably something that has worried the SFA, for fear of FIFA involvement and a potential backlash.
But they won't will they. If the plan is have them back in the SPL by next season, there isn't going to be any further punishments beyond fines or suspended sentences. Perhaps a totally pointless suspension for a season, suspended as long as they don't do it again etc.
10-07-2012, 06:24 PM
He'll no be worried about that, he can just bend it, break it or completely re-write it. :rolleyes:
Or blow it oot his @rse as far as I am concerned.
10-07-2012, 06:40 PM
Doesn't this mean they have a bigger shout of keeping their history? Sounds like a pro hun move to me. The cheated trophy's could have been stripped from oldco. So Regan wants to parachute Sevco into SFL 1 and allow them to carry on trading as the oldco in all but name. I'd be quite happy to see their history lost, oldco stripped of the cheated gongs and Sevco in SFL 3. That is what SHOULD happen. No doubt the hun loving barbarians in suits have other ideas.
Possibly, but it does allow other actions to be taken as well.
I don't think an SFA membership transfer would see them parachuted, I'm pretty sure they needed the SPL share for that.
I also think there is more chance of trophies being stripped with the SFA transfer than without it. Kill Oldco dead and you kill any/all outstanding punishments, including the stripping of trophies and footballing debts.
Transfering the SFA membership allows "Rangers" to keep their history (a bitter pill to take), but also allows the SFA to continue with their EBT investigations and the CoS ruling to refer back to the tribunal, and punish as they see fit.
Let's be honest here, regardless of what we say on the message boards, most (in a few years time) would view Sevco as "Rangers", and they'd still have their history. Go to the official Airdrie site and check out their Club History if you think that "Rangers" would have died with Oldco.
But they won't will they. If the plan is have them back in the SPL by next season, there isn't going to be any further punishments beyond fines or suspended sentences. Perhaps a totally pointless suspension for a season, suspended as long as they don't do it again etc.
Regan might be fronting an SFA bid to get Sevco into Division 1 but he's not the SFA, and I suspect that the EBT's and the embarrassment caused by the Court ruling have ruffled a few feathers at SFA headquarters.
seanshow
10-07-2012, 06:45 PM
http://www.clydefc.co.uk/news/2012/07/10/4139/
Clyde FC's latest statement picking holes in Friday's proposal, and laying it out in plain English for all to see. :wink:
10-07-2012, 06:53 PM
It means that the SFA can punish Sevco for Oldco's misdemeanours. and possibly hold them liable for footballing debts. The footballing debts (especially outwith Scotland) is probably something that has worried the SFA, for fear of FIFA involvement and a potential backlash.
There is'nt a more straight forward, unambiguous clause in the all of the SFA or SPL 's Articles, Rules and Regulations than this one, article 16, and it can be turned on its head and it does not get a mention from TV pundits or newspaper hacks who prefer to insult SFL Clubs who want to see the rules that are written, enforced.
10-07-2012, 07:04 PM
Clyde FC's latest statement picking holes in Friday's proposal, and laying it out in plain English for all to see. :wink:
I notice that they've picked up on the point I was making earlier about the wording of resolution (i).
It is also clear that they, and hopefully other SFL clubs, have absolutely no trust in those fronting the SFA and the SPL. And as such, they have no trust in resolution (ii) being carried out in a just and reasonable manner.
Excellent statement .. hopefully it will hit the tabloids tomorrow, but with the part the DR/Sun has played in this fiasco I'm not holding my breath.
Caversham Green
10-07-2012, 07:05 PM
that's my take on it....transfer the licence and the history .
Again...it's only one year's accounts.....which Sevco don't have.
According to Alex Thomson's blog though, (see Greeginger's link) the SFA have said:
the…policy relates to applications for a new membership. In this case, Rangers Newco will be applying for the transfer of an existing membership held with the Oldco.Rangers Oldco submitted the necessary financial information for 2009 and 2010. It did not submit for the year 2011, which resulted in the Judicial Panel sanctioning the club a total of £160,000 for various breaches of its Articles of Association, and also imposing a transfer embargo which has been subsequently set aside after the Court of Session ruling by Lord Glennie.
Which sound to me a lot like some rewritten history.
Brando7
10-07-2012, 07:06 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/2012/07/10/farepak-creditors-to-be-given-50p-in-pound-for-money-owed-following-collapse-of-savings-firm-86908-23906797/
If this anything to go by BDO will have their hands full sorting Rangers mess out, six years to sort out the Farepak collapse
10-07-2012, 07:47 PM
I thought the spl clubs voted not to transfer the membership from oldco to newco - which is why newco couldn't play on spl??
10-07-2012, 07:52 PM
I thought the spl clubs voted not to transfer the membership from oldco to newco - which is why newco couldn't play on spl??
They refused to transfer the SPL share, meaning they got turfed out the SPL.
SFA membership is required to get into the SFL/SPL.
I'm guessing that a straight transfer of SFA membership suits both parties as it gives the SFA a bit of control over Sevco with regards to ongoing investigations and disciplinary matters. It also gives Sevco the "green" light to get into the SFL .. if allowed. :wink:
SurferRosa
10-07-2012, 07:57 PM
I think that was the OldCos SPL share they voted on.....not SFA membership...
10-07-2012, 08:07 PM
I think that was the OldCos SPL share they voted on.....not SFA membership...
They refused to transfer the SPL share, meaning they got turfed out the SPL.
SFA membership is required to get into the SFL/SPL.
I'm guessing that a straight transfer of SFA membership suits both parties as it gives the SFA a bit of control over Sevco with regards to ongoing investigations and disciplinary matters. It also gives Sevco the "green" light to get into the SFL .. if allowed. :wink:
So they've got round the sfa application criteria by transferring to a company with zero accounts. Handy.
Brando7
10-07-2012, 08:10 PM
Berwick Rangers Board tonight agreed unanimously that should the new Rangers FC be admitted to the SFL for the new season, that they would support a move directly into SFL Division Three. The Club has also taken on board the feelings of their Supporters Club, Supporters Trust and the countless individual fans who have contacted them directly. There will be no further statement from the club on this matter. :aok:
http://www.berwickrangersfc.co.uk/f-news/news.html
10-07-2012, 08:35 PM
Am I reading this correctly that under resolution 2 if the majority of SFL clubs vote for newco to go into Division 3 then this could be trumped by the SFL Board reaching agreement with the SPL/SFA to place newco into Division 1. In other words, the SFL clubs effectively have no ultimate say unless they vote no to resolution 2?
If so, then the vote is rigged and its a stitch up. Absolutely outrageous:confused:
10-07-2012, 08:52 PM
Am I reading this correctly that under resolution 2 if the majority of SFL clubs vote for newco to go into Division 3 then this could be trumped by the SFL Board reaching agreement with the SPL/SFA to place newco into Division 1. In other words, the SFL clubs effectively have no ultimate say unless they vte no to resolution 2?
If so, then the vote is rigged and its a stitch up. Absolutely outrageous:confused:
That's not my reading of it. If they vote No to Resolution 2, then there is no negotiation. Sevco are in D3.
However, it would all be so much simpler if they voted No to Resolution 1. :greengrin
10-07-2012, 08:54 PM
According to Alex Thomson's blog though, (see Greeginger's link) the SFA have said:
Which sound to me a lot like some rewritten history.
So, if they haven't submitted for 2011, does that mean they are in breach of the regulations? I do hope so.
John_the_angus_hibby
10-07-2012, 09:02 PM
"I’ve heard comments from clubs like Cowdenbeath, Peterhead insisting they must start from scratch in the Third – who are these people and how are they qualified to make a decision that will affect clubs 10 times their size?"
So what qualifications did David Murray have to run a football club into the ground......what qualifications did Craig Whyte have to run a derelict club even further into shame and disgrace and who says that the jokers now owning Rangers are any more qualified to do the job. The guys on the boards of these smaller clubs are successful business men and are only making the decisions that those further up the football ladder (i.e Donkey Doncaster and Regan) are too afraid to make themselves.
What a complete pr*ck Burley is and should be made to apologise for that shameful drivel
They know how to run football clubs properly. And I would say its more bloody difficult at SFL level where ever penny has to be accounted.
Caversham Green
10-07-2012, 09:11 PM
So, if they haven't submitted for 2011, does that mean they are in breach of the regulations? I do hope so.
Well yes, but they've already been punished for that apparently - £160k fine that hasn't been paid and a signing embargo that was overturned.
Surely they've been punished enough.
10-07-2012, 09:13 PM
Well yes, but they've already been punished for that apparently - £160k fine that hasn't been paid and a signing embargo that was overturned.
Surely they've been punished enough.
Agreed... but don't call me Shirley.
10-07-2012, 09:21 PM
Stenhousemuir manager, Davie Irons, has steppped down, citing 'personal reasons'.:hmmm:
Caversham Green
10-07-2012, 09:26 PM
Agreed... but don't call me Shirley.
Oops, sorry.
Seriously though Janice, does the SFA comment not sound like a hefty fudge to you? I don't recall failure to submit accounts being one of the charges and in any case the sentence hasn't been served and it doesn't look like it will be.
And what is it that can't be transferred from one legal entity to another? I thought it was SFA memership, but I've rather lost track a bit.
10-07-2012, 09:31 PM
Oops, sorry.
Seriously though Janice, does the SFA comment not sound like a hefty fudge to you? I don't recall failure to submit accounts being one of the charges and in any case the sentence hasn't been served and it doesn't look like it will be.
And what is it that can't be transferred from one legal entity to another? I thought it was SFA memership, but I've rather lost track a bit.
Actually, I had misread the quote. I'm with you in that I can't remember the accounts being an issue. However, as has been demonstrated, Regan has a penchant for saying one thing one day and another the next.
As for the last bit.... blowedifano.
10-07-2012, 09:38 PM
I have done a wee review of the various SFL club websites. It looks like 2 say YES with nine saying NO. There are a few sitting on the fence, with a few "no comments". The STV website say it is 14 NO - 2 YES, but I have yet to see Yes comments from Cowdenbeath, Partick Thistle, Ayr, East Fife & Stirling Albion. I think Hamilton will say NO, but STV think they are undecided. http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-first/108222-rangers-newco-vote-sfl-clubs-outline-their-positions-on-the-issue/
ADMINS - it would be good to keep this a thread on its own, rather than merge into the 'other' Rangers/Newco thread.
Cowdenbeath - "After a difficult week and a difficult decision for us all, Cowdenbeath FC are looking to their own fans and any other fans to show their financial support to us." Does that mean they will vote NO STV seem to think so!!
Dumbarton - "After hearing arguments on both sides, a clear majority of those voting (55 to 28) reluctantly felt that admitting the Newco into the First Division would be the better option for Scottish football and smaller clubs as a whole – though no-one was happy with the situation other clubs have been put in." YES
Dundee - Not Eligible to Vote
Dunfermline - "I can now confirm for the avoidance of any doubt that our position has not changed following yesterday's meeting and this is, we will continue to vote NO to "Newco" being parachuted into SFL1" NO
Falkirk - "We believe that introducing Rangers to the First Division as proposed throws away any chance of introducing real change to our game…..we cannot therefor support the current proposal put forward by the SPL" NO
Hamilton - "As you are aware the proposal being favoured by the governing bodies is that Rangers Newco are parachuted into the Irn Bru SFL Division 1, contrary to Scottish Football League rules. If our Governing bodies ever get round to tabling any firm proposal to vote on it is unlikely in our opinion that this proposal, in isolation, would be acceptable to the members." Likely NO
Livingston - Not Known
Morton - "Under the current SFL rules, any Club making an application for membership should be admitted to the 3rd Division. I personally see no reason to make any exception to that at this time and would therefore vote accordingly." NO
Partick Thistle - Not Known but STV say NO
Raith Rovers - "Raith Rovers would like to take the opportunity to thank fans, both of the club and other teams across Scotland, who’ve taken the time to contact us regarding the recent developments within Scottish Football. A few Aberdeen fans have grouped together to sponsor players for next season. One group, Aberdeen Fans For Sporting Integrity, are sponsoring Roary Rover and will donate the shirt to a local charity at the end of the season. They’ve already raised so much money that they are supporting other clubs in a similar way." Likely to be NO
Airdrie Utd - Will abstain
Albion Rovers - Not Known
Alloa - "We would also like to assure our fans that we will not be bullied into a decision by any outside influences, but will act in the best interest of Alloa first and Scottish football second. Sporting integrity will of course weigh heavily in any decision we make." Sitting on the fence!
Arbroath - "The Board of Arbroath Football Club will be making no public comment at this stage on the current crisis in Scottish football." Not Known
Ayr - Not Known from Website but STV say NO
Brechin - Not Known
East Fife - Not Known but STV say NO
Forfar - Not Known
Queen of the South - "we ask the fans, in the meantime, to trust that we will make the best decision for Queen of the South FC." Not Known
Stenhousemuir -"For the reasons stated above, we would anticipate that the Rangers Newco would be entering at Div 1." YES
Annan Athletic - NO
Berwick Rangers - NO
Clyde - NO
East Stirling - Not Known
Elgin - Not Known
Montrose - Not Known
Peterhead - Not Known
Queens Park - Not Known
Stirling Albion - Not Known but STV say NO
Stranraer - "We hold the stance that it is our place to act in the best long term interests of Stranraer FC and for Scottish Football as a whole and see no reason to breach the integrity of the SFL by filling a vacancy at any level other than at the lowest tier. " NO
10-07-2012, 09:40 PM
Perhaps before voting the SFL should watch Chariots of Fire (which 'premiered' this evening).
Producer David Puttnam summed up the film in 5 words
"The power of saying NO"
Harpandcastle
10-07-2012, 09:51 PM
I would be 99% sure Livingston will vote no. They have already said they are watching closely after being demoted to the 3rd themselves and expect Rangers to be treated in the same manner.
10-07-2012, 09:54 PM
I have done a wee review of the various SFL club websites. It looks like 2 say YES with nine saying NO. There are a few sitting on the fence, with a few "no comments". The STV website say it is 14 NO - 2 YES, but I have yet to see Yes comments from Cowdenbeath, Partick Thistle, Ayr, East Fife & Stirling Albion. I think Hamilton will say NO, but STV think they are undecided. http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-first/108222-rangers-newco-vote-sfl-clubs-outline-their-positions-on-the-issue/
[/COLOR][/FONT]
Presumably this is for Resolution 2.
Given that Clyde have already said they would vote No to Resolution 1, it would be good to know how clubs are going to vote on that.
10-07-2012, 09:58 PM
Berwick Rangers Board tonight agreed unanimously that should the new Rangers FC be admitted to the SFL for the new season, that they would support a move directly into SFL Division Three. The Club has also taken on board the feelings of their Supporters Club, Supporters Trust and the countless individual fans who have contacted them directly. There will be no further statement from the club on this matter. :aok:
http://www.berwickrangersfc.co.uk/f-news/news.html
You've got to admire the principles and straightforward no nonsense approach of the so called wee clubs to this affair, the ones I have read like Stenhousemuir, Berwick, Raith and Clyde put the likes of Regan and Doncaster, to name but a few to shame. It really is as simple as these clubs have chosen to make it - do what feels obviously right, listen to your own fans and trusts, guage the non hun public opinion then say and do the right thing - take Green, Doncaster and Regan along with the Kilmarnock reptile out the way and this really should be simple now.
Hopefuly the administrators and the tax man will finally get down to properly pursuing the actual value that remaons in the assett as well as there being a full and ongoing investigation into the criminality that may have arisen as the valuation of the assets and the transfer itself was made, as well as all the other conduct issues that must surely still be outstanding.
10-07-2012, 10:01 PM
Presumably this is for Resolution 2.
Given that Clyde have already said they would vote No to Resolution 1, it would be good to know how clubs are going to vote on that.
Yes - the bit about them playing in the SFL1.
10-07-2012, 10:03 PM
Yes - the bit about them playing in the SFL1.
Did you see anything about Resolution 1? Clyde made a good case for saying No to that.
10-07-2012, 10:07 PM
Did you see anything about Resolution 1? Clyde made a good case for saying No to that.
Not that I recall. It was more about SFL1 or SFL3. Most are not happy with the difficult position they have been put in. Some clubs are not prepared to say anything public prior to the vote.
10-07-2012, 10:09 PM
Not that I recall. It was more about SFL1 or SFL3. Most are not happy with the difficult position they have been put in. Some clubs are not prepared to say anything public prior to the vote.
Sounds to me that most will vote yes to Resolution 1, in the hope that they'll get a couple of decent pay days as Seb travels up through the Divisions.
Lungo--Drom
10-07-2012, 10:18 PM
Contrary to what a lot of us thought, FIFA will not be kicking the SFA's butt or Regan's for that matter:
http://m.stv.tv/sport/football/clubs/rangers/110253-fifa-sporting-merit-should-come-first-in-rangers-first-division-vote/
FIFA has basically given the Scottish authorities carte blanche to do what they want when they want. So it's not just in Scotland that the football authorities are corrupt. ****ers!
Caversham Green
10-07-2012, 10:25 PM
Stenhousemuir manager, Davie Irons, has steppped down, citing 'personal reasons'.:hmmm:
He was Gretna's manager when they went bust wasn't he?
10-07-2012, 10:26 PM
As for the last bit.... blowedifano.Come on guys, get a grip! We're relying on you two to guide us through all this! Don't fall apart on us now.
10-07-2012, 10:27 PM
Come on guys, get a grip! We're relying on you two to guide us through all this! Don't fall apart on us now.
Just call me Stewart, and call him Neil. :greengrin
10-07-2012, 10:37 PM
That's not my reading of it. If they vote No to Resolution 2, then there is no negotiation. Sevco are in D3.
However, it would all be so much simpler if they voted No to Resolution 1. :greengrin
I don't follow how newco would end up in SFL 3 if the SFL clubs vote 'no' to resolution 2:confused:
Resolution 2 starts:
'(ii) That the Scottish Football League Members direct the Board of Management of The Scottish Football League (the “Board”) to provide that Rangers F.C. shall play in the Third Division of the Scottish Football League during Season 2012/13..............'
So a 'no' to resolution 2 means that SFL Clubs are effectively voting against newco going to SFL3. There is nothing in any of the resolutions stating what will happen to newco if the SFL Clubs vote yes to resolution 1 and no to resolution 2. If the SFL Board have the autonomy to put newco into any SFL Division they see fit (as has been reported elsewhere) then I don't see an automatic route to SFL Div 3 if there is a no vote to resolution 2.
Hopefully I'm missing something:confused:
10-07-2012, 10:40 PM
I don't follow how newco would end up in SFL 3 if the SFL clubs vote 'no' to resolution 2:confused:
Resolution 2 starts:
'(ii) That the Scottish Football League Members direct the Board of Management of The Scottish Football League (the “Board”) to provide that Rangers F.C. shall play in the Third Division of the Scottish Football League during Season 2012/13..............'
So a 'no' to resolution 2 means that SFL Clubs are effectively voting against newco going to SFL3. There is nothing in any of the resolutions stating what will happen to newco if the SFL Clubs vote yes to resolution 1 and no to resolution 2. If the SFL Board have the autonomy to put newco into any SFL Division they see fit (as has been reported elsewhere) then I don't see an automatic route to SFL Div 3 if there is a no vote to resolution 2.
They don't, though. There is a clause in the SFL Rules that says that ANY new entrant has to start in D3. So... a yes to Resolution 1 has them in the SFL. A No to Resolution 2 avoids the possibility of negotiation into D1. So they start in D3.
Orourke73
10-07-2012, 10:51 PM
They don't, though. There is a clause in the SFL Rules that says that ANY new entrant has to start in D3. So... a yes to Resolution 1 has them in the SFL. A No to Resolution 2 avoids the possibility of negotiation into D1. So they start in D3.
So if it's a no, no, they are playing nowhere? Or does it go to another vote if someone else applies, ie spartans or gala?
10-07-2012, 10:55 PM
Resolution 2 starts:
You're not missing anything. Resolutions 1 and 2 have been carefully crafted by an evil lawyer and are intended to be misleading. The only way this can be fixed is for the clubs to propose an amendment to Resolution 1 before voting. It should be amended so that it says that Sevco are to be admitted to the SFL at Division 3. Resolution 2 can then be safely binned. However, I don't know if the rules for an SFL Special General Meeting allow amendments to be made at the meeting. If they do not then the clubs either have to go along with this evil plan or vote not to allow the huns into the SFL at all. That's been the plan all along because Longmuir, Regan and Donkey think that there's no way the clubs will do that.
10-07-2012, 10:58 PM
So if it's a no, no, they are playing nowhere? Or does it go to another vote if someone else applies, ie spartans or gala?
If R1 is a No...there is no need for R2
Orourke73
10-07-2012, 11:12 PM
Aye, sorry. What I really meant though, are newco the only team applying and if so that seems a bit unfair on the likes of Gala, spartans or any other club with 3 years accounts who could have applied for the vacant spot.
If R1 is a No...there is no need for R2
10-07-2012, 11:18 PM
Oops, sorry.
UEFA club licence.
10-07-2012, 11:39 PM
http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/332109
Concessions now being offered by Chuckie Green.
" Let us sign players for the rest of July then we will agree to a signing ban. " :rolleyes:
You could not make it up !
10-07-2012, 11:40 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422381/The-true-cost-of-Rangers-relegation.html
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422507/Fixtures-mayhem-seems-a-cert-now.html (http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422381/The-true-cost-of-Rangers-relegation.html)
10-07-2012, 11:42 PM
http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/332109
Concessions now being offered by Chuckie Green.
" Let us sign players for the rest of July then we will agree to a signing ban. " :rolleyes:
You could not make it up !
he really IS coming the k*** now
10-07-2012, 11:44 PM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422381/The-true-cost-of-Rangers-relegation.html
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422507/Fixtures-mayhem-seems-a-cert-now.html (http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422381/The-true-cost-of-Rangers-relegation.html)
Oh ffs!
1875godsgift
10-07-2012, 11:47 PM
I've fired off a few emails to various addresses. Latest one went to SFL clubs, SPL clubs, Both organisations, the Media and a few SPL fan clubs (grouped below).
[email protected],
[email protected]
cc:
[email protected],
[email protected]
Admins, ya pricks, :greengrin any chance of a sticky on this? I think it's important our voices should be heard.
Thanks to DChibs for doing all the groundwork :top marks
AmericanHib
11-07-2012, 01:10 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422507/Fixtures-mayhem-seems-a-cert-now.html
I love the last two lines in the first story.
"The vote to save our game will be one that places shamed Rangers into the First Division. Anything else and we can stand outside the crime scene tape and count the bodies."
Wow!
11-07-2012, 02:30 AM
Oh ffs!
It doesn't mention that the vast majority of that loss will impact Celtc and Sevco the most. Most of the SPL sides only see a fraction of that money anyway.
11-07-2012, 02:32 AM
he really IS coming the k*** now
:agree: that's just ludicrous.
11-07-2012, 02:32 AM
It doesn't mention that the vast majority of that loss will impact Celtc and Sevco the most. Most of the SPL sides only see a fraction of that money anyway.
Very true.
11-07-2012, 05:49 AM
(http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422381/The-true-cost-of-Rangers-relegation.html)http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422507/Fixtures-mayhem-seems-a-cert-now.html
This is the build up to the vote starting. Be prepared for some end of the world type journalism in the days ahead. Embarrassing and they are a disgrace to their profession.
11-07-2012, 06:07 AM
If the people who are in charge at Clyde had been in charge at Rangers the last 20 years they wouldn't now be Sevco. Craig Burley take note.
11-07-2012, 06:11 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4422507/Fixtures-mayhem-seems-a-cert-now.html
The solution to the second 'story' is to allow Sevco Huns to die, and not replace them so the SPL has 11 teams, and they play each other twice at home and twice away, no need for the split making a 40 game season. It also doesn't impact on the SFL fixtures. That also gives a full season to get a proper solution and allow the clubs like Spartans a chance to get a presentation for joining the league prepared, all for the end of the season.
McSwanky
11-07-2012, 06:19 AM
Something I don't understand... If all these prophecies of financial Armageddon are accurate, how come our club (one of the most financially aware clubs in the SPL) are still signing players?
I'm sick and tired of these scare stories in the red tops, what a load of selective, one-sided, self preserving drivel.
11-07-2012, 06:32 AM
Something I don't understand... If all these prophecies of financial Armageddon are accurate, how come our club (one of the most financially aware clubs in the SPL) are still signing players?
I'm sick and tired of these scare stories in the red tops, what a load of selective, one-sided, self preserving drivel.
It is because no one believes Donkeycaster and Regan :wink:
We all know they're making it up as they go along ..
11-07-2012, 06:52 AM
What a load of sh I te! No quotes, no balance, just wind and pish!
WHAT ABOUT THE COST OF THE FANS WALKING AWAY?!?!
11-07-2012, 06:57 AM
Best line of that article..."This is neither scaremongering or rumours..."
You couldn't make this stuff up :faf: :faf: :faf:
11-07-2012, 07:28 AM
Best line of that article..."This is neither scaremongering or rumours..."
You couldn't make this stuff up :faf: :faf: :faf:
Well they clearly did!! Along with the headline about Rangers being "Relegated"...they really really don't get it do they!?!
swazzie
11-07-2012, 07:44 AM
Aye, sorry. What I really meant though, are newco the only team applying and if so that seems a bit unfair on the likes of Gala, spartans or any other club with 3 years accounts who could have applied for the vacant spot.
So, for my simple brain, resolutionwise, as currently drafted:-
a) if clubs vote NO to resolution 1, the matter ends and Sevco do not get into the SFL anywhere and there is no resolution 2
b) if clubs vote YES to resolution 1, Sevco will be placed into the SFL and we move to resolution 2
c) if clubs vote NO to resolution 2, Sevco are in Division 3
d) if clubs vote YES to resolution 2, the SFL have the discretion to put them in Division 1
And in all cases it is a straight majority vote
Is that all right? :dunno:
11-07-2012, 08:12 AM
a) if clubs vote NO to resolution 1, the matter ends and Sevco do not get into the SFL anywhere and there is no resolution 2
b) if clubs vote YES to resolution 1, Sevco will be placed into the SFL and we move to resolution 2
d) if clubs vote YES to resolution 2, the SFL have the discretion to put them in Division 1
That's my understanding. On (d), the clubs are effectively giving the SFL Board the power to negotiate a deal which suits them, in return for putting Seb in D1.
11-07-2012, 08:13 AM
The solution to the second 'story' is to allow Sevco Huns to die, and not replace them so the SPL has 11 teams, and they play each other twice at home and twice away, no need for the split making a 40 game season. It also doesn't impact on the SFL fixtures. That also gives a full season to get a proper solution and allow the clubs like Spartans a chance to get a presentation for joining the league prepared, all for the end of the season.
because thats far too sensible.
11-07-2012, 08:41 AM
For the accountants...
Duff & Phelps report
http://www.rangers.co.uk/staticFiles/a2/b6/0,,5~177826,00.pdf
11-07-2012, 09:03 AM
Unfortunately, part (c) is not so cut and dried. If they vote no to resolution (ii) it is then removed from the equation and you are left with the YES vote for resolution (i). Resolution (i) does not stipulate Div. 3 so Rangers could (with a bit of rule bending) be placed anywhere in the SFL.
11-07-2012, 09:08 AM
This seems correct to me. As they are unlikely to vote NO to Resolution 1, why waste time and oxygen on the other stuff as they going to end up in Div 1.
11-07-2012, 09:31 AM
Unfortunately, part (c) is not so cut and dried. If they vote no to resolution (ii) it is then removed from the equation and you are left with the YES vote for resolution (i). Resolution (i) does not stipulate Div. 3 so Rangers could (with a bit of rule bending) be placed anywhere in the SFL.
No they can't, Stevie. The rule is there. The Board have no power to put them anywhere they want. If the clubs vote no to R2, and the Board try to ignore the rule, there will be an unholy row.
11-07-2012, 09:34 AM
Observation - I have noticed that the % of those opposed to Div1 for NewCo but will continue to support the game has been steadily increasing.
I'm in that camp but wondering why more recent voters are increasingly taking that option?
Suburban Hibby
11-07-2012, 09:35 AM
I see the ever reliable Daily Mail is claiming an exclusive
SPL to announce 16-team top-flight league to come into play by 2015
By Brian Marjoribanks
PUBLISHED: 00:48, 11 July 2012 | UPDATED: 00:49, 11 July 2012
..The SPL are set to promise to set up a 16-team top flight within three years in return for newco Rangers being parachuted into next season's First Division.
The plan, which will be discussed at an SFL board meeting at Hampden on Wednesday, represents a last-gasp bid by the league to safeguard its lucrative television deals in the wake of the Ibrox club's collapse.
Sportsmail understands the proposal would see a move from the current four divisions to three by 2015, but with no play-offs planned between the top and second tiers.
While not certain to be voted through in what promises to be a fractious meeting of all 30 SFL members on Friday, the deal is being perceived in SPL circles as a breakthrough for lower-league clubs who are seeking radical reform of the Scottish game as the price for allowing newco Rangers to drop just one league.
The proposed solution is also being seen as a bid to stave off a total implosion of the Scottish game after SFA chief executive Stewart Regan warned of 'a slow, lingering death' if the Ibrox club were banished to the Third Division - thereby threatening existing TV deals with Sky and ESPN.
Last night's development came as more lower-league clubs turned their fire on Regan and his SPL counterpart, Neil Doncaster.
Morton chairman Douglas Rae accused Doncaster of 'mammoth failure' in his handling of the crisis and of having 'lost his way' during the long-running saga.
He further alleged that Regan had lied over claims the SFA would have blocked newco Rangers gaining entry to the SPL, even if top-flight clubs had not voted 10-1 against admitting them on July 4.
Clyde, meanwhile, called on the SFL to clarify exactly what is being voted for on Friday -- amid growing fears that newco Rangers will be 'railroaded' into the First Division regardless of how the voting goes.
Describing the overall situation as an 'unholy mess', Raith Rovers chairman Turnbull Hutton last night claimed Doncaster and Regan were now living on borrowed time.
He told Sportsmail: 'Their positions are becoming untenable. I don't know who will wield the axe or whether they will choose to fall on their swords, but the pair of them have presided over an unholy mess.
Under fire: SPL chief Neil Doncaster has been criticised for his handling of the situation
'Rangers went into administration in February -- it's July and people are still asking what is going to happen. The honest answer ahead of Friday's SFL meeting is I haven't a bloody clue -- and neither does anyone else.
It's an almighty shambles.' Morton counterpart Rae had earlier accused the SPL and SFA of 'bullying' and 'deceiving' SFL clubs during a meeting last week, warning of dire consequences if they did not vote Rangers into the First Division.
'Doncaster was totally unable to get his (SPL) clubs to accept the decision going forward that he wanted,' said Rae.
'Following that mammoth failure, he now expects the SFL clubs to bail him out, which would mean ignoring the views of our supporters.
'Quite frankly, Neil Doncaster seemed to many to be a man who had lost his way and is unable to get back on the right road.
'The most concerning point about Regan's presentation was he departed from truth as he became increasingly desperate to get his viewpoints accepted.
Red card: Rangers will have to play their football in the First Division
'When asked what would have happened if SPL clubs had voted newco Rangers entry to the Premier League, he stated that the SFA would block it.
'The following day, Stewart countermanded in the press what he had told the SFL meeting the previous day.
'It is extremely disappointing the chief executive of the SFA was unable to give a truthful response to SFL chairmen.'
Now Clyde are seeking changes to Friday's resolutions after claiming the clubs no longer seem to have a clear choice between sending the newco to the First or Third divisions.
The club said in a statement: 'We are being asked to make one of the most important decisions for Scottish football in a vacuum devoid of factual information, that vacuum having been filled with unhelpful rhetoric and scaremongering by the chief executives of the SFA and SPL.'
As Scottish football's civil war raged on, former SFA president George Peat last night insisted the game had 'hit a brick wall' and that he was now glad to be on the outside looking in.
Peat, who stepped down from his Hampden post last summer after four years in the job -- and having commissioned Henry McLeish's Review of Scottish Football -- said: 'I am happy to be outside of it all now. It is sad what has happened at Rangers.
'After the McLeish report came out, we were all working together on the way forward . When I left the SFA, the relationship between the SPL and the SFL was very good.
'People were looking at things from the same point of view. Nobody could foresee what was going to happen.
'I hope that what has happened at Rangers hasn't blown it all apart but, from an administration point of view, Scottish football has hit a brick wall.'
Peat admitted he had sympathy for Regan, who he insisted had a responsibility to act for the greater good of the game. 'I believe Stewart has been unfairly criticised,' he said.
'Someone has to take the lead and that's what he did. He is not going to please everybody.
'All he has done is to spell out the road the game could go down and what will happen.
'Perhaps it didn't make good reading for some but, in all of it, somebody has to explain the facts of the situation, whether they are pretty or not.
'He might have gone too far in some people's eyes but this is a situation that has far-reaching consequences.
'SFL clubs have been put in an invidious position. It is SFL clubs who are suffering and they feel they have had the problem dumped on them.
'The clubs are never all going to agree but what is important right now is that people look at what is right for the long-term future of the game.'
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2171772/SPL-announce-16-team-flight-league-come-play-2015.html#ixzz20Iyd09lB
11-07-2012, 09:37 AM
look at the coupon oan sally McCoist, like he's done sommit in his union jack boxer shorts and he can't get off the ground for the weight of it
Lungo--Drom
11-07-2012, 09:39 AM
NewHunCo / Sevco5088 actually play a match shockerooni!
'All the bitter orange in one glass...'
www.followfollow.com/news/tmnw/kelty_hearts_v_rangers__wednesday_25th_july_749189/index.shtml
And Stefan Winiarski is donating some of his testimonial money to the Huns fighting fund :faf: Bunch a pricks! Hope it pishes doon for the full 90 ya Hun fuds!
11-07-2012, 09:56 AM
So many issues with that article and such poor journalism, yet again based around their agenda to get Rangers into Division 1. Firstly, how can the SPL board promise anything without clearing it with their member clubs? And why do we need Rangers in the 1st Division for a 16 team league? And why do we have to wait until 2015?
Lungo--Drom
11-07-2012, 09:58 AM
DTS it's a good question. I remember when those who would be walking away numbered 75% and now it is down to 62%.
To be honest I think it shows the honesty of the voters. If it still said 75% (or higher) were walking away then it would cast a wee but of doubt on people's honesty with themselves if nothing else but the fact that it has slowly fallen, currently 62.62% to be precise, suggests it is an accurate reflection of feeling.
Most of us are outraged at the goings on, first with the Huns and now the SPL and SFA. But for those who have voted that they will be walking away unless the Huns get kicked down to SFL3, it is a BIG commitment to make. To say 'I will walk away from the team I support'. I am one of the 62.62%. Simply because now we all know what a corrupt cesspit and pro Old Firm fix up the SPL is I do not want to spend hours of my life watching a lie. A lie that there are 12 teams competing fairly in a football league. Okay so the Huns are now out of the SPL but corruption still rules as Dungcaster and Regan try and twist and bend and break every rule in the book to ensure that the money cart called 'Rangers' gets back into the SPL as soon as possible, aka season 2013/14. So therefore the lie lives on.
I don't blame any Hibby for voting to stay with Scottish football. It will be a huge huge wrench to make the break, but as one of the 62% I couldn't watch a rigged one horse (or in reality two horse) race that the SFL is, or perhaps they should cut the crap and rename it the Scottish Old Firm Circus With Side Shows Provided By The Hick Clubs?
SOFCWSSPBTHC for short.
Observation - I have noticed that the % of those opposed to Div1 for NewCo but will continue to support the game has been steadily increasing.
I'm in that camp but wondering why more recent voters are increasingly taking that option?
11-07-2012, 10:09 AM
So many issues with that article and such poor journalism, yet again based around their agenda to get Rangers into Division 1. Firstly, how can the SPL board promise anything without clearing it with their member clubs? And why do we need Rangers in the 1st Division for a 16 team league? And why do we have to wait until 2015?
Not sure if it's the same bloke, but Brian Marjoribanks played for us briefly in the 1960s (and for the yams).
11-07-2012, 10:13 AM
I don't blame any Hibby for voting to stay with Scottish football. It will be a huge huge wrench to make the break, but as one of the 62% I couldn't watch a rigged one horse (or in reality two horse) race that the SFL is, or perhaps they should cut the crap and rename it the Scottish Old Firm Circus With Side Shows Provided By The Hick Clubs?
SOFCWSSPBTHC for short.
Thanks for not blaming any of us who will continue to go along and support our club. The fear of being cast as a social pariah by the much more principled and honest majority has given me several sleepless nights. :greengrin
Past caring now where they stick Rangers. Hibs are making some OK signings and Rangers won't be in the SPL when the new season kicks off. GGTTH
11-07-2012, 10:14 AM
No they can't, Stevie. The rule is there. The Board have no power to put them anywhere they want. If the clubs vote no to R2, and the Board try to ignore the rule, there will be an unholy row.
I admire your trust, but how many rules have already been bent/ignored in this whole saga.
Yesterday we were told that the SFA membership had been transfered to Sevco. despite it being against the rules.
There were so many lies by the SFA/SPL at the last SFL meeting that a minor obstacle, such as a "rule" is clearly not going to stop them trying to do whatever they want.
I think it was either Longmuir or Regan that said there was actually nothing in the rules that stated a new club had to start in Division 3, it was simply that this had been the historical norm. i.e. tell us you want them in and we'll do the rest. Resolution (i) is the majority vote needed for them to do exactly that.
11-07-2012, 10:14 AM
For the accountants...
Duff & Phelps report
http://www.rangers.co.uk/staticFiles/a2/b6/0,,5~177826,00.pdf (http://www.rangers.co.uk/staticFiles/a2/b6/0,,5%7E177826,00.pdf)
Some mind boggling figures in there.
Scottish Legal Costs £ 520,000
English Legal Costs £ 1,650,000 to date.
Also 8.3 Action against Collyer Bristow due to restart in October 2012 has been vacated. Expected to restart Summer/Autumn 2013.
Media Consultancies £ 144,000 to date.
11-07-2012, 10:21 AM
I admire your trust, but how many rules already been bent/ignored in this whole saga.
Yesterday we were told that the SFA membership had been transfered to Sevco. despite it being against the rules.
There were so many lies by the SFA/SPL at the last SFL meeting that a minor obstacle, such as a "rule" is clearly not going to stop them trying to do whatever they want.
I think it was either Longmuir or Regan that said there was actually noting in the rules thast stated a new club had to start in Division 3, it was simply that this had been the historical norm. i.e. tell us you want them in and we'll do the rest. Resolution (i) is the majority vote needed for them to do exactly that.
This is the SFL, though. If sufficient clubs are voting against Resolution 2, in the belief that thay are voting against D1 entry, and the SFL Board ignore that... then I am confident that the Clubs will vote the Board out. As for what Longmuir/Regan are reported to have said, that is clearly wrong. They know that, and the Clubs know that.
Now... shhhh on this. We clearly disagree.... do you want yer accounts done or no? :greengrin
I noticed that as well ,be interesting to see how many new members we have acquired since the poll started
11-07-2012, 10:54 AM
Thanks for not blaming any of us who will continue to go along and support our club. The fear of being cast as a social pariah by the much more principled and honest majority has given me several sleepless nights. :greengrin
Past caring now where they stick Rangers. Hibs are making some OK signings and Rangers won't be in the SPL when the new season kicks off. GGTTH
You will care when they are back in our league the following season though.
11-07-2012, 10:57 AM
I still think at over 60% the amount of folk who say they will walk away is frightening. Even if thats drops to 10% its still a lot of fans not prepared to watch rigged football.
11-07-2012, 11:00 AM
Checking in from sunny Switzerland. Just realised the last time I was here they went into admin. :-) Still think the arithmetic looks bad for the New Huns on Friday. Time to email Hibs our opposition to SPL2!
11-07-2012, 11:00 AM
Not sure if it's the same bloke, but Brian Marjoribanks played for us briefly in the 1960s (and for the yams).
Different guy. :aok:
11-07-2012, 11:02 AM
I wonder whats changed, a 16 team league was deemed not profitable enough only a few months ago?
11-07-2012, 11:33 AM
I read in some article the other day on the voting rites for all clubs if the SPL & SFL joined forces again. It stated the SPL would hold 16 'A' shares in the set up and lower clubs old 'B' shares with A&B having different voting rites.
Strange that the SPL were to have 16 shares, makes you wander. As somebody said a couple of weeks back a 16 club SPL wouldn't work.
11-07-2012, 11:42 AM
I think a lot of us are going to be disappointed come Friday, I have heard they are going to be in Division one and this is from a source within Ibrox.
Ian Black thinks they are going to be in Division One and I wouldn't be surprised if this is where Dean Shiels ends up.
I sincerely hope I'm wrong.
Caversham Green
11-07-2012, 11:48 AM
Some mind boggling figures in there.
Scottish Legal Costs £ 520,000
English Legal Costs £ 1,650,000 to date.
Also 8.3 Action against Collyer Bristow due to restart in October 2012 has been vacated. Expected to restart Summer/Autumn 2013.
Media Consultancies £ 144,000 to date.
It's the Assets Realisations that boggle my mind:
Goodwill (i.e. the 'Rangers' name, brand and business) £1.
Stock (valued at £2,000 in the CVA document) £1.
Player registrations (Valued at £7.9m int the CVA doc and they were offered £2m for Naismith alone) £2.75m.
Heritable properties (Ibrox and Murray Park? - mibbes aye, mibbes naw) £1.5m.
John_the_angus_hibby
11-07-2012, 11:48 AM
I think a lot of us are going to be disappointed come Friday, I have heard they are going to be in Division one and this is from a source within Ibrox.
Ian Black thinks they are going to be in Division One and I wouldn't be surprised if this is where Dean Shiels ends up.
Would piss me off, but would not surprise me. It's sort of the unpalatable middle ground, not in the SPL but not in D3. Would have me going to games, but a bit grumpy.
11-07-2012, 11:50 AM
Player registrations (Valued at £7.9m int the CVA doc and they were offered £2m for Naismith alone) £2.75m.
£4m loss from February to June, and what a spend on fees etc!
Gingertosser
11-07-2012, 11:56 AM
I think they have managed to pish off enough SFL clubs to get a NO vote for entry into SFL.
Come Monday they will be catapulted back into SPL, hold onto your season tickets....preferably near a lighter.
11-07-2012, 11:59 AM
I think they have managed to pish off enough SFL clubs to get a NO vote for entry into SFL.
Come Monday they will be catapulted back into SPL, hold onto your season tickets....preferably near a lighter.
Presumably this was the strategy behind Craig Burley's choice of language.
11-07-2012, 12:02 PM
You will care when they are back in our league the following season though.
I will still be supporting Hibs though.
11-07-2012, 12:28 PM
That's gonna bite them on the bum.:agree:
11-07-2012, 12:34 PM
Now... shhhh on this. We clearly disagree.... do you want yer accounts done or no? :greengrin
LOL .. fair enough. :wink:
11-07-2012, 12:37 PM
With the issue of the 'Interim' Report by D&P, how close are we to the arrival of BDO and the start of the blood on the carpets ?
CWG/ CG - any views ?
11-07-2012, 12:44 PM
With the issue of the 'Interim' Report by D&P, how close are we to the arrival of BDO and the start of the blood on the carpets ?
CWG/ CG - any views ?
I have only skimmed the Report, but it does say that there are a few items to be dealt with before that happens. If I were a cynic, I might think that meant shr*dding of st*ff...... but I'm not, so I won't.
I would guess a few weeks away yet. That said, if it goes on long enough, BDO might lose patience and just walk in.
11-07-2012, 12:50 PM
I've never wanted you to be more wrong, SB!
11-07-2012, 12:51 PM
I have only skimmed the Report, but it does say that there are a few items to be dealt with before that happens. If I were a cynic, I might think that meant shr*dding of st*ff...... but I'm not, so I won't.
I would guess a few weeks away yet. That said, if it goes on long enough, BDO might lose patience and just walk in.
I love the thought of BDO just smashing their way in, unannounced. A bit like the Spanish Inquisition or Elliot Ness. :greengrin
11-07-2012, 01:00 PM
14 club SPL proposed with THREE promotion slots for the 1st Division. Funny that...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18795597
11-07-2012, 01:05 PM
I love the thought of BDO just smashing their way in, unannounced. A bit like the Spanish Inquisition or Elliot Ness. :greengrin
Liquidators don't use comfy chairs!
11-07-2012, 01:17 PM
I wonder whats changed, a 16 team league was deemed not profitable enough only a few months ago?
I read in some article the other day on the voting rites for all clubs if the SPL & SFL joined forces again. It stated the SPL would hold 16 'A' shares in the set up and lower clubs old 'B' shares with A&B having different voting rites.
Strange that the SPL were to have 16 shares, makes you wander. As somebody said a couple of weeks back a 16 club SPL wouldn't work.
Backs are now against the wall big time. Also while I think 16 would be great...whos to say that its not 16...playing twice (30 games) and then double round of games in an 8/8 split = 44 games (and giving the possibility of 4 OF games)
Devil is always in the detail
11-07-2012, 01:18 PM
Would piss me off, but would not surprise me. It's sort of the unpalatable middle ground, not in the SPL but not in D3. Would have me going to games, but a bit grumpy.
Division 1 is not where Sevco F C should start life, I think we all agree on that , but there may be one or two pieces of baggage the New Huns will have to accept.
The transfer ban and settling football creditor debts would certainly be a burden but the best part would be they would be stuck with Green.
The New Club will never get fully supported by the bulk of the Hun followers, I see the Share sales being a total flop and season ticket purchase look-warm at best.There will be disgruntled factions sniping from the sidelines because Green and Co are not Rangers Men and anything and everything that is done will be questioned as if its a pocket-lining con by the owners. No doubt the succulent lamb brigade ( if they are still in employment ) will give headlines to every grievance and this will lead to boycotts and protests which will weaken Hun F C for the next few years.
Division 1 might also get the enlarged Premier League we want , but why , if its what the game needs is it only being used as a bargaining chip with the SFL Clubs to benefit the Govan Dodgers ?
Division 3 might see Green bail out allowing " real Rangers Men " in. I would worry if McColl, Park and a few others with some real money behind them got control and united the hoardes. The Club would return to nearer their previous domination of Scottish Football in a much shorter time span.
11-07-2012, 01:22 PM
Backs are now against the wall big time. Also while I think 16 would be great...whos to say that its not 16...playing twice (30 games) and then double round of games in an 8/8 split = 44 games (and giving the possibility of 4 OF games)
Knowing Doncaster and his buddies everything will be geared to 4 OF televised games sooner rather than later.
11-07-2012, 01:23 PM
And who is supposed to cough up more money to watch 22 home games never mind away ones? Yup, that's right, you and me not the *******s who sit on their fat ***** watching the games on TV :grr:
Do the right thing SFL clubs and get Sevco to apply for Div 3 :agree:
11-07-2012, 01:29 PM
14 club SPL proposed with THREE promotion slots for the 1st Division. Funny that...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18795597
More pressure from the SPL to get SFL clubs to vote Rangers into Division 1!!
Following the SPL vote the resounding statement was "it's out of our hands and up the the SFL now" ... but since then they have done everything in their power to scare, threaten .. and now entice .. the SFL clubs to place Rangers into Division 1!!
11-07-2012, 01:29 PM
There is no way of fitting 44 League games in. There are not enough slots for 22 rounds of fixtures taking account of European midweek fixtures, SFA Cup and International breaks.
EUFA are pressing the 20-team Leagues - Spain, Italy, France, England - to reduce to 18-teams.
The BBC are reporting that a 14-team SPL1 is proposed. That would presumably work with a split after 26 matches, and a second round for the top 7 and bottom t with a further 12 matches. That gives the current 38 matches.
11-07-2012, 01:31 PM
Following the SPL vote the resounding statement was "it's out of our hands and up the the SFL now" ... but since then they have done everything in their power to scare, threaten .. and now entice .. the SFL clubs to place Rangers into Division 1!!
Yep, and also the top 30% of the league being promoted means that Rangers would have to be unbelievably poor in order to not be promoted from the 1st. Any other year they would've had no relegation and promoted 2.
11-07-2012, 01:31 PM
There is no way of fitting 44 League games in. There are not enough slots for 22 rounds of fixtures taking account of European midweek fixtures, SFA Cup and International breaks.
EUFA are pressing the 20-team Leagues - Spain, Italy, France, England - to reduce to 18-teams.
The BBC are reporting that a 14-team SPL1 is proposed. That would presumably work with a split after 26 matches, and a second round for the top 7 and bottom t with a further 12 matches. That gives the current 38 matches.
14 would have top 6 and bottom 8, giving 36 or 40 games.
11-07-2012, 01:33 PM
I would take that article with at least a ton of salt - the Daily Mail isn't the most dependable source on what's going on in Scottish football at the best of times.
(I wondered when George Peat would slink back up to the surface of the swamp. Still his slimy old self, I see.)
11-07-2012, 01:35 PM
:rolleyes:That's sporting integrity for you though :wink:
11-07-2012, 01:38 PM
Division 1 is not where Sevco F C should start life, I think we all agree on that , but there may be one or two pieces of baggage the New Huns will have to accept.
The transfer ban and settling football creditor debts would certainly be a burden but the best part would be they would be stuck with Green.
The New Club will never get fully supported by the bulk of the Hun followers, I see the Share sales being a total flop and season ticket purchase look-warm at best.There will be disgruntled factions sniping from the sidelines because Green and Co are not Rangers Men and anything and everything that is done will be questioned as if its a pocket-lining con by the owners. No doubt the succulent lamb brigade ( if they are still in employment ) will give headlines to every grievance and this will lead to boycotts and protests which will weaken Hun F C for the next few years.
Division 1 might also get the enlarged Premier League we want , but why , if its what the game needs is it only being used as a bargaining chip with the SFL Clubs to benefit the Govan Dodgers ?
Division 3 might see Green bail out allowing " real Rangers Men " in. I would worry if McColl, Park and a few others will some real money behind them got control and united the hoardes. The Club would return to nearer their previous domination of Scottish Football in a much shorter time span.
:agree: A lot in what you say here - I'm beginning to think that all things considered, Rangers Newco led by Charles Green in Div One might be the least worst of a lot of thoroughly unpalatable scenarios.
11-07-2012, 01:41 PM
represents a last-gasp bid by the league to safeguard its lucrative television deals in the wake of the Ibrox club's collapse.
Does anyone actually know if the television deal relies on Rangers being in the league? They're presenting it as a matter of fact that the TV deal will collapse if Rangers aren't in division 1. Well that's how I see it anyway.
Besides, I would hardly describe 80m or whatever it is over 5 years 'lucrative' in the current climate.
11-07-2012, 01:43 PM
Get you paper work done :wink:
Not a single quote in that article :rolleyes: fantasy....off the record briefing...waving some bait to see if a bite...take your pick
Also should SPL have to ask its members in the next couple of weeks to vote on a change to league.....Rangers FC (IA) would be able to vote on this
Brando7
11-07-2012, 01:43 PM
Division 3 might see Green bail out allowing " real Rangers Men " in. I would worry if McColl, Park and a few others with some real money behind them got control and united the hoardes. The Club would return to nearer their previous domination of Scottish Football in a much shorter time span.
SFA & SFL need to watch how they play this embargo deal to let them in div 1, if green saying he'll take the ban if they get into div 1 but remember there is a loophole in SPL rules that states that "clubs who cannot sign players are still able to bring in free agents, as long as they are replacing departing players" I make that 10 players depends if SFL rules say the same? they could have their embargo in div 1 and still sign player of any age not just under18's
Div 3 for me..........at any cost!!
11-07-2012, 01:48 PM
I would take that article with at least a ton of salt - the Daily Mail isn't the most dependable source on what's going on in Scottish football at the best of times.
Wheras their record on English Football is, err, even worse!
Two days ago they reported that Roberto Manchini had signed a contract to become the manager of Russia. The next day he signed a five year contract with Manchester City.
11-07-2012, 01:51 PM
Wheras their record on English Football is, err, even worse!
Two days ago they reported that Roberto Manchini had signed a contract to become the manager of Russia. The next day he signed a five year contract with Manchester City.
As you say.
I'm surprised that the "Newco exclusive" didn't finish up with an analysis of the effects of the Rangers scandal on property values in Bearsden or Newton Mearns.
And they didn't mention Polish plumbers once .... :confused:
11-07-2012, 01:51 PM
Get you paper work done :wink:
Not a single quote in that article :rolleyes: fantasy....off the record briefing...waving some bait to see if a bite...take your pick
Also should SPL have to ask its members in the next couple of weeks to vote on a change to league.....Rangers FC (IA) would be able to vote on this
Got the invoices printed, just getting the kids to lick the envelopes .. school holidays have their uses. :wink:
Almost every newspaper article has been fantasy, but someone is feeding them with these stories and the fact that no SFA/SPL representatives ever come out to deny them kinda leaves you guessing where the info originated. Every step of the way, and with each door closing on the Rangers saga, the newspapers are fed stories that are clearly trying to sway those involved towards picking the best solution for Rangers.
This whole mess could have been finished the day that the CVA was rejected, by following the rules and placing Sevco into Division 3. By dragging this out the SFA/SPL have only increased the chances of there being no Rangers in any division!
11-07-2012, 01:53 PM
Does anyone actually know if the television deal relies on Rangers being in the league? They're presenting it as a matter of fact that the TV deal will collapse if Rangers aren't in division 1. Well that's how I see it anyway.
Besides, I would hardly describe 80m or whatever it is over 5 years 'lucrative' in the current climate.
My understanding is that it does, and if Newco are out of the League or in Div Three, everyone in Scottish football will suffer, and those who suffer worst will be the SPL clubs outwith the OF.
Erm, I mean, other than Celtc. :devil:
Brando7
11-07-2012, 01:58 PM
£1 for Goodwill
£1 for SFA Membership
£1 for SPL Share
£1 for Leasehold Interests
£1 for Stock
£5 for Subsidiary Companies Share Capital
£2,749,990 for Player Contracts & Registrations
£1,500,000 for Heritable Properties
£1,250,000 for Plant & Machinery
So is that proof coming from D&P they sold Ibrox & Murray Park for £1.5m??????
11-07-2012, 02:06 PM
Got the invoices printed, just getting the kids to lick the envelopes .. school holidays have their uses. :wink:
Almost every newspaper article has been fantasy, but someone is feeding them with these stories and the fact that no SFA/SPL representatives ever come out to deny them kinda leaves you guessing where the info originated. Every step of the way, and with each door closing on the Rangers saga, the newspapers are fed stories that are clearly trying to sway those involved towards picking the best solution for Rangers.
This whole mess could have been finished the day that the CVA was rejected, by following the rules and placing Sevco into Division 3. By dragging this out the SFA/SPL have only increased the chances of there being no Rangers in any division!
My kids are at camp...having to make my own coffee!
Bit in bold - oh how I wish i could beleive that...infact I am realising that i'm missing the daily club saviour speeches...followed by the walking away...must be about Charlie time
11-07-2012, 02:06 PM
If the SFA or SPL make a formal denial of this sort of tripe, it just gives the journos the opportunity for another "exclusive".
IU don't know that even the lawyers fully understand what's been going on for the last six months.
And the 'leak' doesn't necessarily have to be from the SFA or SPL. The SFL's full of people who may be involved in running one of the SFL clubs, but whose first allegiance is to Rangers.
Trust me - I know. I live three miles from Airdrie's ground, and eight miles from Motherwell's. People may go to Fir Park or New Broomfield on the Saturdays, but when Sunday comes and the Huns are on Sky or ESPN, a lot of them are in front of the TV in their Rangers shirts.
You'll find the same attitudes among the guys who run the SFL teams. Or even among former office-bearers in the SFA .... :devil:
There is a HUGE amount of disinformation going on, and the press are just stoking it up to sell their grotty chip-wrappers.
11-07-2012, 02:14 PM
£1 for Goodwill
£1 for SFA Membership
£1 for SPL Share
£1 for Stock
Yup. If this is typical of what administrators deliver for their money then it is a very shoddy profession indeed.
11-07-2012, 02:29 PM
This is the SFL, though. If sufficient clubs are voting against Resolution 2, in the belief that thay are voting against D1 entry, and the SFL Board ignore that... then I am confident that the Clubs will vote the Board out. As for what Longmuir/Regan are reported to have said, that is clearly wrong. They know that, and the Clubs know that.
Agree with this. If the SFL chairman do not approve R2 then the SFL Board have no mandate to negotiate terms with the SPL and SFA, or to place Newco in Div 1.
Caversham Green
11-07-2012, 03:01 PM
That's gonna bite them on the bum.:agree:
:agree: Apart from anything else, they valued it at £4.6m for a straight liquidation - not as current use value.
neilmartinrocks
11-07-2012, 03:13 PM
Just an idea but with all this bribery, blackmail and bull**** going on from sevco and their chums why don't the S.F.L. chairmen say "ok we will vote you into Div 1 but we want 30-40% of your annual turnover for 3 years". I mean if money is all that matters why not?
:greengrin:greengrin
11-07-2012, 04:09 PM
Over £2 million has now been accumulated in administration fees since this fiasco broke.
No wonder its such a long drawn out process. Duff and Phelps must be laughing all the way to the bank.
11-07-2012, 05:33 PM
80,000,000 .................. Lucrative
0 ................................ Not Lucrative
11-07-2012, 05:36 PM
I've never wanted you to be more wrong, SB!
If they think Scottish Football is in a crisis now, wait till they shoehorn the Huns into Div 1.
Armaggedon I tell you. No ..... wait .......... that word's been used already has it not?
The baw will definitely be burst.
DevonLoch
11-07-2012, 05:48 PM
The original deal seems to rely on Rangers being in the Premier League, or as explained below four OF games per season (maybe we should boot Celtic into Div 3 as well to preserve the league Old Firm derbies and the TV deal!
Some details of the original deal, extracted from the Daily Mail again.....
A guarantee of four Old Firm games per season is written into the new agreement, which kills off any proposal to significantly expand the top flight before 2017.
‘One of the conditions of this deal — as with all major sponsorships — is that Celtic and Rangers remain in the league. It is also a condition that they play each other four times a season. That’s been with us for the entirety of the current deal and before that with Setanta.’
Doncaster, though, insisted supporters had to accept them (no expansion to league and early kick off time ) as a price to pay for their clubs receiving the ‘lifeblood’ of television income.
Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2064512/Scottish-Premier-League-agree-new-80m-TV-deal.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2064512/Scottish-Premier-League-agree-new-80m-TV-deal.html#ixzz20KwnEhG1)
11-07-2012, 06:00 PM
Source?
11-07-2012, 06:05 PM
The original deal seems to rely on Rangers being in the Premier League, or as explained below four OF games per season (maybe we should boot Celtic into Div 3 as well to preserve the league Old Firm derbies and the TV deal!
With the knowledge that HMRC had been breathing down their necks for some time, and refusing to budge, it makes you wonder how thick the person must be who agreed to such a clause. Not only thick but dangerous and should not be trusted even to be sent for the pies.
11-07-2012, 06:10 PM
Source?
Article by an ex SKY producer in the Mail on Sunday who said from his experience of working for SKY for a number of years that the 80,000,000 contract will be binned if the Zombie Huns end up in div 3. His words, not mine by the way.
DevonLoch
11-07-2012, 06:25 PM
Was in the Daily Record originally so must be true! mmmmm I wonder......
"No Rangers equals no Sky, unless Gers are back very soon," a source at the broadcaster told the Daily Record. "It's just not going to be commercially worth it if it's going to be any longer than 12 months with no Old Firm league games."
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/news/sky-threat-pull-plug-spl-113142799.html
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2012/06/15/revealed-sky-tv-threatened-spl-after-rangers-fans-cancelled-subscription-deals-86908-23896063/
11-07-2012, 06:28 PM
If they think Scottish Football is in a crisis now, wait till they shoehorn the Huns into Div 1.
Armaggedon I tell you. No ..... wait .......... that word's been used already has it not?
The baw will definitely be burst.
:agree:The TV money is easy for the SFA/SPL to quantify as its specific and built into contracts. They haven't got a clue what the impact is going to be on gate receipts to the clubs. That would be too much like hard work to try quantify that. Much easier to just stick Newco into Div 1, maintain TV revenue and just hope that the fans forget all about it - they probably regard that as "acceptable collateral damage". However, if fans do walk away from the game in big numbers, they've no more cards to play. What could they possibly do to get the fans back? They couldn't exactly say, erm, sorry lads lets stick the Newco into Div 3.
Nope, if they were doing their jobs, they'd stick to their rules, dump the Newco into Div3 and then WORK on getting the best outcome for the clubs and the game.
PaulC
11-07-2012, 06:28 PM
The original deal seems to rely on Rangers being in the Premier League, or as explained below four OF games per season (maybe we should boot Celtic into Div 3 as well to preserve the league Old Firm derbies and the TV deal!l (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2064512/Scottish-Premier-League-agree-new-80m-TV-deal.html#ixzz20KwnEhG1)
Now there is a solution I think everyone would buy into !!!!! Sometimes the simplest ideas are the best.
...WentToMowAnSPL
11-07-2012, 06:36 PM
Fantastic idea !!
11-07-2012, 06:37 PM
£1 for Goodwill
£1 for SFA Membership
£1 for SPL Share
£1 for Stock
Not sure but the CVA document lodged with the court of session listed some of these as;
£109,613,870 Freehold Property Including Ibrox Stadium and Murray Park
£ 2,931,968 Leasehold Property - Albion Road Car Park
£ 620,000 Goodwill
£ 39,495 Trademarks
£ 7,661,456 Player registrations
£ 3,907,345 Fixtures and fittings
Spot the difference. Justify the difference.
11-07-2012, 06:42 PM
With the knowledge that HMRC had been breathing down their necks for some time, and refusing to budge, it makes you wonder how thick the person must be who agreed to such a clause. Not only thick but dangerous and should not be trusted even to be sent for the pies.
Or an arrogant bully who got off with flaunting the rules for so long, they thought they didn't matter.
11-07-2012, 06:57 PM
Article by an ex SKY producer in the Mail on Sunday who said from his experience of working for SKY for a number of years that the 80,000,000 contract will be binned if the Zombie Huns end up in div 3. His words, not mine by the way.
Wasn't aksing for the source of the 80m figure - was aksing for the source of the 0 figure!
11-07-2012, 07:41 PM
There will be another TV deal, even if Sevco are in Division Three where they belong. It just won't be as lucrative as the proposed £80m/5 year Sky deal.
On the other hand, changing the distribution of the TV money means that Sellick will take most of the hit. Just reduce the 17%/15%/9.5% for the first three places to 10%/9.5%/9% and the deal can drop by 13% with little effect on the rest of us.
11-07-2012, 07:53 PM
The proposed change to a 14 team SPL has been a long time coming but is absolutely unacceptable as the BBC say that it will only be implemented if the Huns are in Div 1. According to them, if they are in Div 3 all bets are off. It's clearly being considered now purely for the benefit of the Huns and not in any way for the benefit of any other team.
HibbyDave
11-07-2012, 07:57 PM
Type in "Explain debt to a hun".
Beware, this cartoon is very rude and contains lots and lots of sweary words...... DO NOT VIEW IF EASILY OFFENDED!
Sorry if already been posted or if I'm not supposed to mention other sites etc etc
11-07-2012, 07:59 PM
There will be another TV deal, even if Sevco are in Division Three where they belong. It just won't be as lucrative as the proposed £80m/5 year Sky deal.
On the other hand, changing the distribution of the TV money means that Sellick will take most of the hit. Just reduce the 17%/15%/9.5% for the first three places to 10%/9.5%/9% and the deal can drop by 13% with little effect on the rest of us.
They could do with also not negotiating on the basis of something which is not totally certain. You can be fairly sure of 4 OF games a year but to hinge the entire TV deal on it doesn't take into account relegations, a bottom 6 finish or bankruptcy.
It's was a lunatic deal in the first place and prices us very low.
11-07-2012, 08:05 PM
The proposed change to a 14 team SPL has been a long time coming but is absolutely unacceptable as the BBC say that it will only be implemented if the Huns are in Div 1. According to them, if they are in Div 3 all bets are off. It's clearly being considered now purely for the benefit of the Huns and not in any way for the benefit of any other team.
Totally agree. The only thing that should be decided this week is where to put new huns (D3 & they should think themselves lucky). Any decision on league reorganisation or merging governing bodies should be properly thought out and debated separately. Anything else will just confirm this as another example of corruption.
11-07-2012, 08:26 PM
So no TV deal of any sort would be available because Rangers were away for a couple of years extra.
You are suffering from the Stockholm sydrome Mr Doncaster!
11-07-2012, 08:29 PM
Totally agree. The only thing that should be decided this week is where to put new huns (D3 & they should think themselves lucky). Any decision on league reorganisation or merging governing bodies should be properly thought out and debated separately. Anything else will just confirm this as another example of corruption.
:agree:Div 3 should not be the end of it. All the "concessions" the huns were going to make as part of the "promotion" into Div 1 should also apply i.e. they should be forced to pay back every penny owed to other clubs, min 12 month ban from signing payers - extended for taking the SFA to court, punished for double contracts, etc etc. They are on no position to negotiate anything at this point, so we should screw every penny/concession we can out of them while we can. Fail to do that, and we'll all regret it when that arrogant, obnoxious bunch return to the SPL.
11-07-2012, 08:30 PM
[/B]
3pm Saturday kick offs and more fans attracted because of it = lucrative.
11-07-2012, 08:36 PM
So no TV deal of any sort would be available because Rangers were away for a couple of years extra.
He has signed up for a tv deal that only works when there are 4 old firm games a season, any change in that and the tv deal collapses. Why did he sign up for this, he's a clown who couldn't run a piss up in a brewery?
Rangers or newco or whatever they are called, MUST make the top 6 every season. What rules will they change up if thats not the case?
I despair at this, when will we ever learn?
11-07-2012, 08:48 PM
Beware, this cartoon is very rude and contains lots and lots of sweary words...... DO NOT VIEW IF EASILY OFFENDED!
Sorry if already been posted or if I'm not supposed to mention other sites etc etc
Very funny and clever....
Bear 1 "EBT's are an instrument" Bear 2 "A Flute?"
Bear 1 "You are insolvent" Bear 2 "Nobody sniffs glue"......
Gave me a good chuckle:greengrin
11-07-2012, 09:08 PM
Dear god.
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_fa_news.cfm?page=2986&newsID=10179&newsCategoryID=1
11-07-2012, 09:13 PM
Dear god.
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_fa_news.cfm?page=2986&newsID=10179&newsCategoryID=1
And not before time.
11-07-2012, 09:14 PM
He has signed up for a tv deal that only works when there are 4 old firm games a season, any change in that and the tv deal collapses. Why did he sign up for this, he's a clown who couldn't run a piss up in a brewery?
Rangers or newco or whatever they are called, MUST make the top 6 every season. What rules will they change up if thats not the case?
I despair at this, when will we ever learn?
This 'clause' has been repeated ad nauseum in the press, and hinted at by Doncaster, but is it fact?
I've not seen anything from Sky RE the current deal with a year left to run. Indeed their only statement thus far has been that they have no plans to stop showing Scottish Football.
There is of course an unsigned deal starting 2013 on the table. This will likely need renegotiating, which is entirely Sky's prerogative to do so.
Personally, I think we will keep the current deal, unchanged for the coming season regardless of what happens. Sky won't want to be tarred with this mess so will stay well clear. They have enough heat on them from Government as it is after all. This will bode well for the future as they will see just what happens to subscription numbers in Scotland; I can't think all the Rangers fans will cancel, many will still watch football on Sky, so the Legaue can then negotiate a new deal during next season to replace the unsigned one currently on the table.
I would also assume a deal for whatever league Rangers find themselves in would happen too.
calmac12000
11-07-2012, 09:23 PM
It would be instructive if at the end(?) of this saga someone were to prepare a list of all the falsehoods, obfuscations and downright lies perpetrated by the main players in this game.
From the beginning in February so much crap has been written that I don't believe a word anyone says, without some sort of verification.
It is truly a sad and depressing state of affairs in Scottish football and if the authorities succeed in their ans for NewCo Huns to join SFL Division One, I genuinely fear the Armageddon scenario prophesised by the desperate duo. will come to pass.:confused::confused:
11-07-2012, 09:24 PM
Dear god.
Sounds good and no mention of newco Rangers in the statement.
Excellent, we'll take that please SFA and we'll have newco in Division 3 at the same time:na na:
11-07-2012, 09:30 PM
Dear god.
Looking ominous.....
11-07-2012, 09:36 PM
Excellent, we'll take that please SFA and we'll have newco in Division 3 at the same time:na na:
You obviously haven't read any of the recent posts on this. I posted earlier that the proposal, which you appear to enthusiastically refer to, was outlined on the BBC and according to them, the proposal only goes ahead if the Huns are in Div. 1. If they are in Div. 3 the proposal is binned. The term 'Rangers' may not appear in the proposal but the proposal is totally about Rangers. Sorry, to take the wind from your sails. :greengrin
11-07-2012, 09:41 PM
:agree:Div 3 should not be the end of it. All the "concessions" the huns were going to make as part of the "promotion" into Div 1 should also apply i.e. they should be forced to pay back every penny owed to other clubs, min 12 month ban from signing payers - extended for taking the SFA to court, punished for double contracts, etc etc. They are on no position to negotiate anything at this point, so we should screw every penny/concession we can out of them while we can. Fail to do that, and we'll all regret it when that arrogant, obnoxious bunch return to the SPL.
Much as I loathe the Huns, I'd have to disagree with you. Sevco are a new club and should be treated as such by placing them in Division Three. I'm aware that will mean their return to the SPL in three years having incurred comparatively little debt as they ensure successive promotions.
On the other hand, if they are given an unfair advantage by starting life in Division One then they have to acept the same punishments that Huns RIP would have received. And everything you propose is in total just a good starting point.
11-07-2012, 09:54 PM
Dear god.
And not before time.
Looking ominous.....
Go back thirteen months.....
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/a-16-team-spl-would-mean-163-20m-loss-says-neil-doncaster-1-1668828
Total ****wit Doncaster
11-07-2012, 09:57 PM
Actually spoke to a reasonable Hun in the pub tonight who wants the SFL 3 because of the cheating Murray years. Nothing about getting back at other teams. Quite impressed. :confused:
John_the_angus_hibby
11-07-2012, 09:59 PM
You obviously haven't read any of the recent posts on this. I posted earlier that the proposal, which you appear to enthusiastically refer to, was outlined on the BBC and according to them, the proposal only goes ahead if the Huns are in Div. 1. If they are in Div. 3 the proposal is binned. The term 'Rangers' may not appear in the proposal but the proposal is totally about Rangers. Sorry, to take the wind from your sails. :greengrin
If NewCo is admitted into D3 they will probably be back in the SPL following successive promotions. So is the question not: are the proposals worth the additional 2 years of no NewCo in the SPL? I think if delivered they would worth it.
11-07-2012, 10:02 PM
16 team SPL???
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/9338483.stm
Doncaster, ya Donkey
11-07-2012, 10:04 PM
If NewCo is admitted into D3 they will probably be back in the SPL following successive promotions. So is the question not: are the proposals worth the additional 2 years of no NewCo in the SPL? I think if delivered they would worth it.
Don't be so sure. I think they might struggle to get half decent players, if they survuve the humiliation
11-07-2012, 10:09 PM
Maybe I'm missing something here but the proposals will have the Huns back in the SPL in one year.
11-07-2012, 10:11 PM
Don't be so sure. I think they might struggle to get half decent players, if they survuve the humiliation
A debt free club with £25 million of funding PA.....struggle :rolleyes:
11-07-2012, 10:22 PM
Maybe I'm missing something here but the proposals will have the Huns back in the SPL in one year.
First to SPL = 1 year
3rd to SPL = 3 years
Diff = Der Hun in SPL for an additional 2 years
11-07-2012, 10:26 PM
First to SPL = 1 year
3rd to SPL = 3 years
Diff = Der Hun in SPL for an additional 2 years
So the fix is to make sure they get back into the SPL in the 3 years, 3 promotion places stacks the odds of a relatively poor Sevco coming back into the SPL.
Do you think the SFL1 plan is now not what they're planning for and that this is a deal which suits more SFL chairmen than not?
11-07-2012, 10:28 PM
So the fix is to make sure they get back into the SPL in the 3 years, 3 promotion places stacks the odds of a relatively poor Sevco coming back into the SPL.
Do you think the SFL1 plan is now not what they're planning for?
I was explaining a post to Jim44.
FWIW, I think Der Hun will be in SFL3 - the SFL clubs will ensure it, and the SPL won't take the risk of alienating their teams' core support. Least thats what I'm hoping for.
11-07-2012, 10:31 PM
FWIW, I think Der Hun will be in SFL3 - the SFL clubs will ensure it, and the SPL won't take the risk of alienating their teams' core support. Least thats what I'm hoping for.
Sorry, I'd lost the thread a bit. It's become a bit of a saga.
I agree with that, but I'm sure the negotiations are centred around getting Sevco back into the SPL quickly. Suddenly, from nowhere today we hear of a fix to get them back in - almost certainly - in 3 years. Which is a bit of a change because I'm sure earlier we were told that SFL1 was the only real choice.
Doncaster should learn from the idiocy of tying the tv rights, such as they are to a guaranteed number of OF games. I reckon Sevco need serious investment and I don't think Green is one. Without big money, I can't see them making such an easy journey from 3 to 1 to SPL.
11-07-2012, 10:37 PM
My head is spinning with the vagueness and uncertainty. My understanding is that with the most recent proposal Newco goes into Div.1 (for one year), in season 2013-14 (new structure) if in top 3 in season 2013-14 they will be in SPL1 = 1 year absence from SPL.
11-07-2012, 10:43 PM
Do you think the SFL1 plan is now not what they're planning for and that this is a deal which suits more SFL chairmen than not?
Sorry, I'd lost the thread a bit. It's become a bit of a saga.
I agree with that, but I'm sure the negotiations are centred around getting Sevco back into the SPL quickly. Suddenly, from nowhere today we hear of a fix to get them back in - almost certainly - in 3 years. Which is a bit of a change because I'm sure earlier we were told that SFL1 was the only real choice.
Doncaster should learn from the idiocy of tying the tv rights, such as they are to a guaranteed number of OF games. I reckon Sevco need serious investment and I don't think Green is one. Without big money, I can't see them making such an easy journey from 3 to 1 to SPL.
Where do you guys get the Huns taking three years to get back to the SPL from? Today's proposal will see them back in one year.
11-07-2012, 10:47 PM
Where do you guys get the Huns taking three years to get back to the SPL from? Today's proposal will see them back in one year.
FFS, sorry - yeah you're right. Well maybe this move is more about trying to convince the SFL1 clubs. 3 promo places a year from 2013-2014. I would still come back to my original point though that Doncaster should learn not to tie his ship to a single anchor. What if they don't make it back in year 1?
Lungo--Drom
11-07-2012, 10:52 PM
It is the best video on the internet re. the Huns, total classic and very well scripted! I have watched it over 30 times now. My fave line is, "Is any of this making the slightest bit of sense Jabba?" :faf:
Orourke73
11-07-2012, 11:00 PM
I'm probably being a total fanny here, but I read the statement from sfa, spl & sfl pretty different than the bbc one. To me the sfa one reads more like newhun may not get in to sfl at all but there would be a route in next year, or is that just wishful thinking?
oh and by the way ma heids spinnin tae.
My head is spinning with the vagueness and uncertainty. My understanding is that with the most recent proposal Newco goes into Div.1 (for one year), in season 2013-14 (new structure) if in top 3 in season 2013-14 they will be in SPL1 = 1 year absence from SPL.
11-07-2012, 11:02 PM
FFS, sorry - yeah you're right. Well maybe this move is more about trying to convince the SFL1 clubs. 3 promo places a year from 2013-2014. I would still come back to my original point though that Doncaster should learn not to tie his ship to a single anchor. What if they don't make it back in year 1?
Yes, today's proposal is a wee carrot (3 promotions with Newco a certainty IMHO) But remember, if they don't accept them into Div.1, the new proposal is binned. This means that Newco have to be considered for Div.3 But Regan and Doncaster have said that this WILL NOT happen and they will engineer a situation where Newco will come back to the SFL in one season. As I said earlier, my head is spinning with all these proposals and press reports etc. etc.. I am only absolutely convinced of one thing ........... Rangers will be out of the SPL for no more that one season.
11-07-2012, 11:11 PM
I would a love it if the meeting went something like this on friday:
Doncaster/Regan: We strongly propose that....
SFL: Shut the ****** up. Here's what's happening. You give us cast iron guarantees of reconstruction and distribution of income immediately. Failure to do so will result in Sevco not being admitted at any level in the SFL.
Doncaster/Regan: But but but we'll bring in SPL 2 and you'll be fu...
SFL: Shut the ****** up. You can have Sevco or no Sevco. Give us what we want, NOW, or we'll ****ing ruin you.
Doncaster/Regan: We'll withhold the Settlement monies...
SFL: No, you ****ing won't. Because we'll sue your sorry, quivering ***** and you'll be monumentally ****ed, possibly insolvent and your clubs will be ****ing begging to be part of the SFL again.
SFL: Anything else? No? Well sign here and ****** off with your tails between your legs.
Pure fantasy of course, but it would be absolutely terrific.
EK_Hibs
11-07-2012, 11:21 PM
So we know the *****y Scottish Sun are banging the drum for Sevco to be parachuted into SFL1...
I wonder who they'll have acting as cheerleader for Sevco next?
Will it be..Bomber Brown?
Will it be...Andy Goram?
Will it be....Watty Smith?
Will it be.....Sandy Jardine?
NO...none of them!!!
It's Theo Paphitis off of Dragon's Den of course!!!
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/4424436/Theo-Paphitis-If-you-said-to-me-your-big-idea-is-Rangers-in-Division-3-Im-out.html
LeighLoyal
11-07-2012, 11:26 PM
The 11 SPL clubs said NO to Sevco - ten no's and one abstention - but these jokers didn't get the message. Who gives them the right to gerrymander Sevco into SFL1 and wreck Scottish football in the process? Are media creatures like Burley and other OF parasites running (ruining!) our game? It wouldn't matter to me if Hibs signed McFadden on a three year deal if Sevco are in SFL1. The irony being that RFC died due to outrageous office bearer behaviour over decades, but the ones really being punished for it are long suffering fans of law abiding clubs that are going to be forced to accept the newco and their bigoted fans back in the fold in one year. I start supporting Edinburgh Rugby if that happens.
11-07-2012, 11:28 PM
So we know the *****y Scottish Sun are banging the drum for Sevco to be parachuted into SFL1...
Will it be...Andy Goram?
NO...none of them!!!
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/4424436/Theo-Paphitis-If-you-said-to-me-your-big-idea-is-Rangers-in-Division-3-Im-out.html
Rangers have been "naughty"?
11-07-2012, 11:40 PM
Sorry it was a bit late in the night for me to send a sarcastic post. I thought the :na na: might have given it away :greengrin
11-07-2012, 11:44 PM
Will it be...Andy Goram?
NO...none of them!!!
It's Theo Paphitis off of Dragon'
s Den of course!!!
Beware of Greeks fearing rifts. Just take care of your childrens' inheritance, Theo, keep your big nose out of Scottish football.
11-07-2012, 11:53 PM
Sorry it was a bit late in the night for me to send a sarcastic post. I thought the :na na: might have given it away :greengrin
Sorry for missing the sarcasm and irony. As I've said a few times, my mind is spinning with all this cr@p.
12-07-2012, 05:50 AM
I reckon there will be a good bit more pant wetting and room for negotiation from our inspired leaders of the game before the voting starts.
I hope that, in the end, integrity (not just sporting integrity) prevails and we see a simple following of the existing rules that place Sevco Scotland into Div 3 (if they are lucky enough for that) with transfer ban and further penalties in place. Plus, the immediate resignation of Doncaster et all with a new unified team/structure in place getting back to grass roots football for the future of our game.
I have a dream...
12-07-2012, 06:04 AM
Will it be...Andy Goram?
NO...none of them!!!
Yet another ill informed opinion that the old firm are scottish football. The rest of us might as well just not bother were only here to make up the numbers
12-07-2012, 06:16 AM
Maybe I'm missing something, but surely it's to the advantage of the majority of SFL clubs to have der Hun reborn in SFL 3? If they get lifted straight into the 1st Divison then the vast majority of SFL clubs will miss out on the chance of playing them and therefore sacrifice a big pay-day.
12-07-2012, 06:35 AM
Maybe I'm missing something, but surely it's to the advantage of the majority of SFL clubs to have der Hun reborn in SFL 3? If they get lifted straight into the 1st Divison then the vast majority of SFL clubs will miss out on the chance of playing them and therefore sacrifice a big pay-day.
That big pay day is not certain though. Some clubs have voiced concerns about the cost of policing, stewards etc. Plus the grounds are only capable of taking limited numbers. Do we know how many supporters Sevco Scotland have and should it be Div 3, will they really follow them to away games?
12-07-2012, 06:49 AM
I never said that ...... The figure remains nil until any new deal could be worked out ... nil it would be until that happens, the guy who wrote the article didnt seem very positive about any deal though.
Not sure what the last bit of your post is supposed to mean. If it was aimed at me you can .... well I'm sure you can work it out!
12-07-2012, 06:54 AM
That big pay day is not certain though. Some clubs have voiced concerns about the cost of policing, stewards etc. Plus the grounds are only capable of taking limited numbers. Do we know how many supporters Sevco Scotland have and should it be Div 3, will they really follow them to away games?
Pretty sure it will be big enough to fill most 3rd and then 2nd division grounds. Anyway .. I suppose if you are a fan of the Zombie Huns you have a chance to say in 3 or 4 years time that you have been to every ground in Scotland. :greengrin
12-07-2012, 06:55 AM
A follow-up to an excellent article that was in yesterday's Herald, http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/could-channel-run-by-the-netherlands-top-flight-point-way-ahead-for-spl.18131361.
Which went into greater detail on the back of the blog that appeared last week (see +/- 50 pages back).
12-07-2012, 07:24 AM
The figure remains nil until any new deal could be worked out ... nil it would be until that happens, the guy who wrote the article didnt seem very positive about any deal though.
Donkastrian pish.
12-07-2012, 07:33 AM
They would also, I imagine the Police would insist, have to make the Rangers games all ticket. The Policing (and stewarding) would initially be overkill until they found a level that was predictable and that may take a wee while so the clubs that played them early might not benefit as much as some may think. Grounds may well need to be reassessed as to their capacity, and given current health and safety legislation, maximising potential income for the club involved is going to be the last thing that is considered.
I see this whole venture fraught with more difficulties than I can forsee benefits.
12-07-2012, 07:35 AM
Donkastrian pish.
Dencaster has previous when he predicted the demise of numerous Championship clubs, incuding his own, when the On-digital deal collapsed.
In fact his own club has done quite well without him.
12-07-2012, 07:36 AM
Dear god.
'As a minimum, clubs in the current third and fourth divisions will receive the settlement agreement proportion guaranteed as per the current arrangement.'
An agreement to honour a contractual agreement. What, no more threats and bullying ?
12-07-2012, 07:37 AM
They would also, I imagine the Police would insist, have to make the Rangers games all ticket. The Policing (and stewarding) would initially be overkill until they found a level that was predictable and that may take a wee while so the clubs that played them early might not benefit as much as some may think. Grounds may well need to be reassessed as to their capacity, and given current health and safety legislation, maximising potential income for the club involved is going to be the last thing that is considered.
I see this whole venture fraught with more difficulties than I can forsee benefits.
Fear of their marauding fans is one of the characteristics that might define "Rangers" as a "toxic brand" (c. alextomo). Chuck them out altogether - SPL, SFL, SFA, Scottish society.
12-07-2012, 07:38 AM
If anyone was in any doubt that Doncaster is a compulsive liar.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/scot_prem/9338483.stm
"If the vote goes against two SPL leagues of 10 then we have the status-quo, but that's something that everyone accepts should not be the case," Doncaster said on BBC Radio Scotland's Sportsound programme.
"No one else has put any alternatives up. I think those who want 16 teams in the top flight are deluding themselves.
"That would take a lot of money out of the game, because clubs would play each other just twice.
"So if you take away half of the big games, you're talking about half of the value being lost - around £7m."
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/a-16-team-spl-would-mean-163-20m-loss-says-neil-doncaster-1-1668828
Doncaster, who favours a ten-team top flight, insisted that the forum had been a valuable opportunity to get the realities of the situation across to fans.
"I think the most helpful thing from my point of view was being able to explain that the choice we have is not between a ten and a 16, because football cannot afford at this point to go to a system of once home, once away," the SPL chief said.
"So we have to look at alternative models that mean playing twice home, twice away because fans cannot afford to pay more for their football but we need to, wherever we can, bring more money into football."If we go to a 16-team league, which would appear to be the fans' more favoured model, then we would have to find 20m from somewhere else to keep fans on the financial even keel that they are on at the moment and I do not know where that would come from."
12-07-2012, 07:43 AM
I would a love it if the meeting went something like this on friday:
Doncaster/Regan: We strongly propose that....
SFL: Shut the ****** up. Here's what's happening. You give us cast iron guarantees of reconstruction and distribution of income immediately. Failure to do so will result in Sevco not being admitted at any level in the SFL.
Doncaster/Regan: But but but we'll bring in SPL 2 and you'll be fu...
SFL: Shut the ****** up. You can have Sevco or no Sevco. Give us what we want, NOW, or we'll ****ing ruin you.
Doncaster/Regan: We'll withhold the Settlement monies...
SFL: No, you ****ing won't. Because we'll sue your sorry, quivering ***** and you'll be monumentally ****ed, possibly insolvent and your clubs will be ****ing begging to be part of the SFL again.
SFL: Anything else? No? Well sign here and ****** off with your tails between your legs.
Pure fantasy of course, but it would be absolutely terrific.
Brilliant script. If we could sell tickets for this meeting and televise on SKY/ ESPN, it would generate enough money to keep Scottish Football solvent for the next 10 years. Personally, I'd pay to watch a repeat every night for the whole of next season. :thumbsup:
magpie1892
12-07-2012, 08:13 AM
[/B] Pretty sure it will be big enough to fill most 3rd and then 2nd division grounds. Anyway .. I suppose if you are a fan of the Zombie Huns you have a chance to say in 3 or 4 years time that you have been to every ground in Scotland. :greengrin
Most Zombie Huns need to start by visiting Ipox....
12-07-2012, 09:02 AM
Apologies if already posted - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylucI-soxJ4 - :greengrin
12-07-2012, 09:10 AM
The latest plea for Div1 for Rangers by Henry McLeish :
According to McLeish, who compiled a wide-ranging review of the game in this country for the SFA, Scottish clubs do not have the “luxury of an ideal world” in which natural justice would see newco Rangers start life in the Third Division after their rejection last week by
Scottish Premier League clubs.
Article in the Scotsman.
12-07-2012, 09:17 AM
Have teams in the lower divisions coped with rangers and celtic visiting for cup-ties/pre-season games? Yes.
Have they enjoyed the TV revenue, build-up, media exposure and income generated? Yes.
Can they cope with that twice a season? Absolutely.
Anything else is just scare-mongering which Doncaster et al are renowned at.
We keep hearing about fear and uncertainty in Scottish Football if there is no Sevco FC.
Bollocks.
Uncertainty, yes.
Fear? No danger.