View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
07-09-2017, 05:36 PM
Chris McLaughlinVerified account @BBCchrismclaug 52s53 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/905846601310236672)
#SFA (https://twitter.com/hashtag/SFA?src=hash) has written to clubs saying it has declined #SPFL (https://twitter.com/hashtag/SPFL?src=hash) request for independent review into #Rangers (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Rangers?src=hash)' use of EBTs
07-09-2017, 05:38 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170907/066660076add92d1c45a9a70ff7166ec.png
a decision that our Chairman must have been involved in.
07-09-2017, 05:47 PM
Don't see any mention of Celtic's use of EBT re Juniniho ?
07-09-2017, 05:51 PM
Was there a side letter?
07-09-2017, 05:55 PM
How long did that go on for?
07-09-2017, 05:55 PM
Was there a side letter?
No, which is why Celtic went straight to HMRC and paid the tax.
07-09-2017, 05:57 PM
Wonder if this is why Celtic leaked letter today.
Corrupt as ****. Complete and utter disgrace but absolutely no surprise. This country needs a complete overhaul of the football authorities. Basically those cheating filthbags can do whatever they like with impunity. This is utterley radical but I would be happy to not turn up for home games against Sevco if the movement was strong enough.
Using an EBT was not an football offence in itself. The offence was making payments which hadn't been declared in the contracts sent to the SFA or league. Celtic used an EBT for Juninho's severance pay i.e the balance of his declared contract. As it happens Billy Dodds only had an EBT from Rangers for the same reason so was also never an ineligible player.
07-09-2017, 06:00 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170907/ad68b814037f6690ed5a765823e9c30d.jpg
07-09-2017, 06:00 PM
Wonder if this is why Celtic leaked letter today.
Don't think you'd get very good odds down the bookie :greengrin
Their reluctance to cooperate with a review damns them.
07-09-2017, 06:03 PM
The main Board consists of eight members: the Scottish FA Office Bearers (Alan McRae, President; Stewart Regan, Chief Executive; and Rod Petrie, Vice-President), plus Ralph Topping (SPFL), Michael Mulraney (SPFL), Tom Johnston (Scottish Junior FA) and independent non-executive directors, Barrie Jackson and Gary Hughes.
07-09-2017, 06:03 PM
'It would be impossible to satisfy every supporter, every club'
There is only club they are interested in satisfying!!!
07-09-2017, 06:06 PM
damn the corrupt SFA and damn PETRIE for being part of that corrupt SFA
07-09-2017, 06:08 PM
Such a poor letter.
07-09-2017, 06:08 PM
damn the corrupt SFA and damn PETRIE for being part of that corrupt SFA
That's why the Hibs fans have been ignored on here. Petrie is in this up to his neck. The man is a disgrace.
07-09-2017, 06:10 PM
That's why the Hibs fans have been ignored on here. Petrie is in this up to his neck. The man is a disgrace.
Steady. We don't how the SFA board meeting voting went, do we?
07-09-2017, 06:14 PM
What the last paragraph actually says
"Given the nature of the issues, it will be impossible to satisfy any supporters other than those of The Rangers. Every other club official and every other member club can gtf. Nevertheless the Board of the Scottish FA is not fit for purpose. It has acted without integrity and in the best interests of The Rangers at all times. However, anyone who wishes to discuss this matter is welcome to contact me directly on 0141 616 1690... though I'll just let it ring or it will be permanently engaged".
07-09-2017, 06:14 PM
Even if he voted against he should be resigning in protest.
07-09-2017, 06:16 PM
No, we don't.
I wonder if the club were holding off on releasing a statement until this became public.
07-09-2017, 06:17 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170907/394b8f07f955283dfd2c16d981b5f3e7.jpg
07-09-2017, 06:17 PM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMy thoughts entirely. Just when it seems he may have turned the corner with our support he turns round and delivers us one almighty boot in the baws[emoji34]
07-09-2017, 06:19 PM
Last thought on the matter. Is it a coincedence NL new contract was announced the same day we got shafted. Mmmmmm
07-09-2017, 06:22 PM
that is my first thought as well :agree: might change my mind in a few days, then again maybe not
07-09-2017, 06:24 PM
Out-****ing-rageous.
07-09-2017, 06:35 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170907/537da3b07817ef2f9a4f7c2d164fe992.png
07-09-2017, 06:46 PM
Using an EBT was not an football offence in itself. The offence was making payments which hadn't been declared in the contracts sent to the SFA or league. Celtic used an EBT for Juninho's severance pay i.e the balance of his declared contract. As it happens Billy Dodds only had an EBT from Rangers for the same reason so was also never an ineligible player.
People get lost in the complexity.
Rangers did not disclose full details of player contracts. (Flatly denied existence of side letters outwith declared details).
Players weren't eligible.
The tax is between them and HMRC.
07-09-2017, 06:50 PM
An independent review is exactly that..independent. It doesn't need the SFA to agree to its setting up.
If one goes ahead, depending on who sets it up, its terms of reference and its powers, they could be forced to participate.
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
07-09-2017, 07:12 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170907/c189921adc2ce95a0f1ecd2c9ed8fc8f.png
07-09-2017, 07:14 PM
An independent review is exactly that..independent. It doesn't need the SFA to agree to its setting up.
If one goes ahead, depending on who sets it up, its terms of reference and its powers, they could be forced to participate.
That's what's needed more than anything. An independent review. We need the truth of what happened. Who knew what and when?
Chorley Hibee
07-09-2017, 07:20 PM
Last thought on the matter. Is it a coincedence NL new contract was announced the same day we got shafted. Mmmmmm
No coincidence at all in my opinion.
07-09-2017, 07:24 PM
It should also be noted that the SFA hasn't completely closed the door on further action. That goes for both the Big and Wee tax cases.
07-09-2017, 07:24 PM
https://thecelticblog.com/2017/09/blogs/the-sfa-has-declared-war-on-celtic-tonight-there-can-be-and-will-be-only-one-winner/
Worth a read
07-09-2017, 07:25 PM
It should also be noted that the SFA hasn't completely closed the door on further action. That goes for both the Big and Wee tax cases.
Just as well as I'm pretty sure there is not a lot of 'moving on' happening. [emoji23]
07-09-2017, 07:38 PM
https://thecelticblog.com/2017/09/blogs/the-sfa-has-declared-war-on-celtic-tonight-there-can-be-and-will-be-only-one-winner/
Worth a read
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football-celtic-win-farry-fight-1077916.html
A reminder of the Fergus v Farry spat referred to.
07-09-2017, 07:38 PM
Worth a read
Time will tell if the "house gets cleaned" or not, I for one sincerely hope that it does.....
07-09-2017, 07:52 PM
"The image of the game in Scotland can only be damaged further by 'raking over the coals' of everything that has happened in the last six years for a further lengthy period of time.".
Can't agree. The image of the Scottish game is damaged by the authorities overlooking the blatant disregard for the correct registration of players by one of its then biggest clubs!! My dad, a Broughton Road boy and Hibee since the early 50s, says I am obsessed by this but I don't think I am!!
Stonewall
07-09-2017, 08:02 PM
If Hibs have changed their minds about releasing a statement it's because something has changed. It could be that they are protecting RP or it could be they have a strategy and that doesn't involve grandstanding in the press or RP giving up a position of influence with the SFA.
In in truth we have no idea what is going on in the background here but it's looking more likely that it will all come out in the wash. I do find it hard to believe that Petrie is corrupt though.
07-09-2017, 08:02 PM
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football-celtic-win-farry-fight-1077916.html
A reminder of the Fergus v Farry spat referred to.
What a complete embarrassment Scottish football can be, what a bunch of toe rags (for want of a better word) run our game!!
07-09-2017, 08:14 PM
The main issue with thecelticblogs position is that they only want justice for Celtic. Furthermore they want Celtic to replace Rangers as the team with most influence. Neither the team or supporters have a egalitarian bone in their body.
07-09-2017, 08:16 PM
The main issue with thecelticblogs position is that they only want justice for Celtic. Furthermore they want Celtic to replace Rangers as the team with most influence. Neither the team or supporters have a egalitarian bone in their body.
100% this. Let's not assume they are altruistic.
And....can we perhaps not hang our chairman until facts are known?
07-09-2017, 08:28 PM
Not necessarily. Flouncing out not always the best policy!
07-09-2017, 08:31 PM
"Given the nature of the issues, it will be impossible to satisfy any supporters when satisfying the supporters of Rangers was, and always has been, our sole mission'
07-09-2017, 08:39 PM
And....can we perhaps not hang our chairman until facts are known?Indeed.
Given that the SPFL asked for the independent review, on behalf of all 42 clubs, it's a bit premature to assume he's one of the bad guys.
high bee
07-09-2017, 08:42 PM
I have a feeling and a hope that this stance by the SFA will unify fans to push through an independent review.
Wasn't that fussed before but this statement reeeks of a cover up. Why on earth would a governing body refuse to participate in a review, its taken weeks for them to come up with a half baked excuse.
07-09-2017, 08:45 PM
The SFA are just reeking of fear - I would love to know what it is they are terrified of. Hopefully a spell in Barlinnie for some of them......
07-09-2017, 08:49 PM
Doesn't really matter if the turkeys don't vote for xmas... they'll still be on the table when it comes.
07-09-2017, 08:51 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170907/394b8f07f955283dfd2c16d981b5f3e7.jpg
Combining their refusal to take part in an independent investigation with this statement, it looks to me like the SFA hope to deflect attention from their misdeeds by going after Oldco Rangers again. Perhaps they hope that if they double Craig Whytes's lifetime ban from football other matters will be forgotten. They're mistaken.
07-09-2017, 09:32 PM
How much would it cost to get an impartial revue? Surely not much per inteterested party?
07-09-2017, 10:00 PM
''SFA have declared war on Celtc."
They're not very good at building common cause with other Scottish football supporters are they?
07-09-2017, 10:13 PM
And....can we perhaps not hang our chairman until facts are known?
The facts are proving tricky to get to with this silence from Easter road. Fact is that Rod Petrie is on an 8 man board trying to stonewall an investigation into corruption in the game.
07-09-2017, 10:39 PM
As someone pointed out earlier, Regan and Doncaster are English and therefore will probably have none of the usual 'OF baggage' of supporting either one of the 'Ugly Sisters'. What I do think has happened is that when they got these posts, they've been told by the previous incumbents something along the lines of 'This is the way Scottish Football has always operated so just carry on in the same way - you're answerable to no-one - even the media !' !. However, the way in which they've both bent over backwards to aid & abet the Hun is very strange, they've done everything bar wear a Hun-scarf and sing the 'Sash' !!.The Hun MUST have something over them (and others) to have merited the staunch support that Regan & Doncaster have given them and the first thing that springs to mind is money/bungs !. I have a feeling we're maybe witnessing the 'End' and don't think we'll have long to wait - someone will crack !
1875godsgift
07-09-2017, 11:13 PM
As someone pointed out earlier, Regan and Doncaster are English and therefore will probably have none of the usual 'OF baggage' of supporting either one of the 'Ugly Sisters'. What I do think has happened is that when they got these posts, they've been told by the previous incumbents something along the lines of 'This is the way Scottish Football has always operated so just carry on in the same way - you're answerable to no-one - even the media !' !. However, the way in which they've both bent over backwards to aid & abet the Hun is very strange, they've done everything bar wear a Hun-scarf and sing the 'Sash' !!.The Hun MUST have something over them (and others) to have merited the staunch support that Regan & Doncaster have given them and the first thing that springs to mind is money/bungs !. I have a feeling we're maybe witnessing the 'End' and don't think we'll have long to wait - someone will crack !
So..... finally...... ARMAGEDDON !!!!!!
07-09-2017, 11:24 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170907/70d16413a05bd331b118dedc3916392a.jpg
Here is the letter the SPFL sent the SFA. It's perfectly reasonable and for the SFA to be refusing means they have something very big to hide.
I can't believe our chairman is in on this.
08-09-2017, 04:34 AM
Every club should have an organised protest.. Every game. Whether it is a banner, a song, every game.
08-09-2017, 06:00 AM
The facts are proving tricky to get to with this silence from Easter road. Fact is that Rod Petrie is on an 8 man board trying to stonewall an investigation into corruption in the game.
Actually that's your interpretation, not a fact.
It's not incumbent on RP or Hibs to make statements just because you demand it.
As Tom English said last night, the SFA were never going to agree the enquiry in this form as the SPFL is effectively putting all the blame on the SFA.
Argylehibby
08-09-2017, 07:05 AM
A board that may have voted 7 1 to do so. The one may feel that staying put and taking control when the flack ousts the current chairman and being better able to clean up the game. Until we know he's someone supporting the move on group isn't he entitled to be assumed innocent?
08-09-2017, 07:08 AM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkAnd the balance of the vote might be 7-1 with Rodders being the lone voice. Most committees operate on majority is presented as unanimous to show solidarity. If Rod's dirty, that will come out eventually and be dealt with one way or the other. Like many, I'm pre judging nothing.
Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
08-09-2017, 07:21 AM
You really need to stop whipping yourself in to an anti-Petrie frenzy. we don't know the facts yet.
08-09-2017, 07:33 AM
As Tom English said last night, the SFA were never going to agree the enquiry in this form as the SPFL is effectively putting all the blame on the SFA.Not sure what information English has, but the SPFL letter to the SFA didn't specify the form of the enquiry. Indeed, they suggested that its form had still to be established.
08-09-2017, 07:48 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170907/70d16413a05bd331b118dedc3916392a.jpg
Here is the letter the SPFL sent the SFA. It's perfectly reasonable and for the SFA to be refusing means they have something very big to hide.
I can't believe our chairman is in on this.
I bet Doncaster sent that with his arm twisted. I know he represents the clubs, but I bet he was uncomfortable sending that letter.
08-09-2017, 07:49 AM
Rangers tax case has released Andrew Dicksons evidence to the FTT.
https://rangerstaxcase.wordpress.com/2017/09/08/ftt-transcript-for-andrew-dickson/
This man is still employed by the SFA.
08-09-2017, 07:50 AM
A board that may have voted 7 1 to do so. The one may feel that staying put and taking control when the flack ousts the current chairman and being better able to clean up the game. Until we know he's someone supporting the move on group isn't he entitled to be assumed innocent?
Which I hope is very much the case !.
08-09-2017, 07:51 AM
As Tom English said last night, the SFA were never going to agree the enquiry in this form as the SPFL is effectively putting all the blame on the SFA.
It's not an interpretation at all. It is a fact that he is on that board. And it is a fact that they are trying to stonewall this enquiry.
08-09-2017, 07:53 AM
You really need to stop whipping yourself in to an anti-Petrie frenzy. we don't know the facts yet.
He is part of the SFA board which is trying to stop us getting to the facts. Fact.
08-09-2017, 07:56 AM
And the balance of the vote might be 7-1 with Rodders being the lone voice. Most committees operate on majority is presented as unanimous to show solidarity. If Rod's dirty, that will come out eventually and be dealt with one way or the other. Like many, I'm pre judging nothing.
Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
I'm not pre judging either. If he's clean, we'll find out soon when he comes out in favour of a full enquiry. Until then he has to take full responsibility for the statement released on behalf of the 8 man board he is on yesterday.
08-09-2017, 08:00 AM
I'm not pre judging either. If he's clean, we'll find out soon when he comes out in favour of a full enquiry. Until then he has to take full responsibility for the statement released on behalf of the 8 man board he is on yesterday.
He's also chair of a club which, as a member of the SPFL, has called for an independent enquiry. He has to take responsibility for that, too.
08-09-2017, 08:11 AM
He's also chair of a club which, as a member of the SPFL, has called for an independent enquiry. He has to take responsibility for that, too.
You forgot to end your post with "Fact".
I can't take it seriously otherwise. Fact.
08-09-2017, 08:12 AM
Absolutely. All the clubs are on both sides here. If the clubs really want the SFA to participate then it will happen. The SFA is the clubs and that's why it's fair to hold our club to account.
08-09-2017, 08:12 AM
Not sure what information English has, but the SPFL letter to the SFA didn't specify the form of the enquiry. Indeed, they suggested that its form had still to be established.
Poorly worded by me regarding the form of any enquiry, which as you say still needs established.
What he was saying was that the SPFL letter almost gave the appearance that the SPFL were totally clean and were in effect pointing the finger at the SFA. Hence the SFA were never going to say "aye ok, lets open up the books".
I dont see that from the letter, but he may be privy to more confidential details.
08-09-2017, 08:14 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170908/6e7c68c40e323dd5b9368e59a327f635.jpg
Andrew Dickson admitting side letters were removed from files before they were given to HMRC. That's when you move from tax avoidance to tax evasion.
08-09-2017, 08:17 AM
https://www.lastditchtackle.com/blog/2017/9/8/scottish-fas-reputation-left-in-tatters-over-review-refusal
08-09-2017, 08:19 AM
Absolutely. All the clubs are on both sides here. If the clubs really want the SFA to participate then it will happen. The SFA is the clubs and that's why it's fair to hold our club to account.
My point is you can't hang RP for one thing, without recognising that he's part of the executioner's team as well.
The fact that the SFA have dug their heels in here, and that there is clear division between the 2 bodies, may actually be good for the process, IMO. A well-placed MSP, independent of either body, would be an appropriate person to get things moving. Would that Margo was still around....:rolleyes:
08-09-2017, 08:21 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170908/7b8d6b3a4b38ab0d496f233cfea006e1.jpg
Dickson admits he drafted all the side letters.
This man still sits on the Sevco board and works for the SFA.
08-09-2017, 08:32 AM
Not entirely correct. The SFA includes the likes of lowland leagues, youth and juniors. SPFL is entirely different set of clubs with different ambitions.
Also, you cant go down the road of "SPFL good, SFA bad" here - the make up of the SFA main board which knocked back the SPFL letter includes SPFL reps;
(Alan McRae, President; Stewart Regan, Chief Executive; and Rod Petrie, Vice-President), plus Ralph Topping (SPFL), Michael Mulraney (SPFL), Tom Johnston (Scottish Junior FA) and independent non-executive directors, Barrie Jackson and Gary Hughes.
08-09-2017, 09:01 AM
Not entirely correct. The SFA includes the likes of lowland leagues, youth and juniors. SPFL is entirely different set of clubs with different ambitions.
Also, you cant go down the road of "SPFL good, SFA bad" here - the make up of the SFA main board which knocked back the SPFL letter includes SPFL reps;
(Alan McRae, President; Stewart Regan, Chief Executive; and Rod Petrie, Vice-President), plus Ralph Topping (SPFL), Michael Mulraney (SPFL), Tom Johnston (Scottish Junior FA) and independent non-executive directors, Barrie Jackson and Gary Hughes.
I'm definitely not going down the SPFL good, SFA bad root. As I said the clubs are on both sides here.
There was a small window of opportunity for our club to put itself on the right side here but I think that is rapidly closing.
08-09-2017, 09:04 AM
We could spend hours trying to establish the differing agendas of that Board. The 2 extremes of "it happened. It's gone. Let's move on" and "haud on.We were cheated. Let's nail them" will exist, as well as some in-between. For now, the former rules, and any further analysis is fruitless.
08-09-2017, 10:22 AM
https://www.rangersobserver.com/news/2017/9/7/lawwell-wrote-to-sfa-in-august-demanding-further-action-against-rangers
Bit of balance. [emoji23]
08-09-2017, 10:43 AM
https://thecelticblog.com/2017/09/blogs/stewart-regan-truth-or-consequences/
08-09-2017, 10:50 AM
Which I hope is very much the case !.
Rod Petrie, whether he is up to his neck in it or not, in control of the SFA, shudder at the thought. It's been long enough since we last qualified as it is.
08-09-2017, 12:09 PM
http://www.celticquicknews.co.uk/sfa-cover-up-lies-unfit-members-of-uefa-or-fifa/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter
08-09-2017, 12:09 PM
Still not a peep from Traceyhibs? Fans rep? [emoji23]
08-09-2017, 12:26 PM
Still not a peep from Traceyhibs? Fans rep? [emoji23]
You hounding her and calling her out is helpful isn't it.....
08-09-2017, 12:44 PM
You hounding her and calling her out is helpful isn't it.....
I generally sympathise with the view that she's been left in a really difficult position. But total silence? Even just a statement to say the board has resolved not to make public comment would help.
Having a fans rep that doesn't talk to the fans is kind of pointless, no?
08-09-2017, 12:45 PM
I generally sympathise with the view that she's been left in a really difficult position. But total silence? Even just a statement to say the board has resolved not to make public comment would help.
Having a fans rep that doesn't talk to the fans is kind of pointless, no?
Especially since her election pitch was all about communicating with fans.
08-09-2017, 01:42 PM
https://thecelticblog.com/2017/09/blogs/an-open-letter-to-the-scottish-sporting-press/
08-09-2017, 02:17 PM
https://thecelticblog.com/2017/09/blogs/an-open-letter-to-the-scottish-sporting-press/
o/t That James Forrest is one boring ****, I can rarely get to the end of his waffle.
08-09-2017, 02:19 PM
Statement from Scottish Football supporters Association.
http://scottishfsa.org/national-fans-organisation-backs-spfl-calls-for-a-review-of-historical-governance-issues/
08-09-2017, 02:40 PM
o/t That James Forrest is one boring ****, I can rarely get to the end of his waffle.
The awful format of the website puts me off even before I get to the words!
Tornadoes70
08-09-2017, 02:46 PM
Statement from Scottish Football supporters Association.
http://scottishfsa.org/national-fans-organisation-backs-spfl-calls-for-a-review-of-historical-governance-issues/
Nothing wrong with their seeking openness and accountability from a governing body. Especially one that informs us they have the good of the game at the center of their ethos :greengrin.
08-09-2017, 02:51 PM
Yea I'm sure the Celtic 'bloggers' have all of Scottish football's best interests at heart.
08-09-2017, 03:18 PM
Yea I'm sure the Celtic 'bloggers' have all of Scottish football's best interests at heart.
Their intent doesn't really bother me, just that on this occasion they are right to want an enquiry.
08-09-2017, 03:21 PM
First and foremost I have Hibs interests at heart but that doesn't mean that I don't care about Scottish footballs best interests........
08-09-2017, 04:14 PM
Surely we all need to follow this lead? Whether or not they are serving a united platform, their agenda on the whole is correct.
08-09-2017, 04:29 PM
Surely we all need to follow this lead? Whether or not they are serving a united platform, their agenda on the whole is correct.
Their 'agenda' consists of giving their bitterest rivals another kicking whilst ensuring the current one horse race continues. Self- righteous, hypocritical pompous ****ers rather than leaders.
IMHO of course. :greengrin
Velma Dinkley
08-09-2017, 04:31 PM
Rangers haven't had a kicking yet. Once they've had one, we can think about giving them another. 😀
08-09-2017, 04:52 PM
Their 'agenda' consists of giving their bitterest rivals another kicking whilst ensuring the current one horse race continues. Self- righteous, hypocritical pompous ****ers rather than leaders.
Their "agenda" (and what our agenda should be) is driven by a justified sense of being aggrieved at having had to make sacrifices, staring down your own fans demanding that you splash the cash and watching your club suffer as a result, whilst those in charge of the club take the flak, all in the name of running a business sensibly, properly and ensuring that the club exists for years to come, whilst other clubs have taken shortcuts to success, having broken the rules along the way, failing to have been punished, failing to have co-operated honestly and openly with enquiries and bringing the whole game into disrepute. The people behind these misdeeds still hold positions of power at clubs and at the authorities - this fact is ridiculous and laughable.
The fans of their club, and ours, are buying tickets for a competition that has lost credibility in the eyes of the fans in terms of the consistency of how punishments for blatant rule-breaking are handed out.
There is only so long that a competition lacking in "sporting integrity" can be viable.
A proper, impartial investigation is required. We need to have confidence in the people running our game. We need ALL clubs to co-operate, to act with appropriate candour (i.e. it doesn't become a Celtic-minded witch hunt), we may need to punish individuals or organisations appropriately and we need to do it properly.
We need to know how financial chicanery on the scale carried out by Rangers will be punished if it carried out in future, and have confidence in the people in charge to do so.
Otherwise why shouldn't Celtic, Hibs or anyone else not just play the way Rangers 1872 RIP did?
Rangers fans should be as interested in this as anyone. They might win a league at some point in the future. If they do, they should want to take great pride in the salvation of their club from where it was to a position where it wins a tough, clean competition fair and square. Their insistence on keeping their tainted titles and refusal to co-operate with previous enquiries, generally defensive/aggressive nature and general bawbaggery makes this a difficult situation to envisage.
Then we need to move on.
(ps - we shouldn't be put off doing this by the fact that there probably are a good few foil-hatted, foaming-mouthed Celtic lunatics who are desperate to put the boot into their old rivals).
08-09-2017, 05:16 PM
https://www.rangersobserver.com/news/2017/9/7/lawwell-wrote-to-sfa-in-august-demanding-further-action-against-rangers
Bit of balance. [emoji23]
'Despite the overwhelming desire of most Scottish clubs to move past this topic .......................' :faf:
08-09-2017, 05:53 PM
Their "agenda" (and what our agenda should be) is driven by a justified sense of being aggrieved at having had to make sacrifices, staring down your own fans demanding that you splash the cash and watching your club suffer as a result, whilst those in charge of the club take the flak, all in the name of running a business sensibly, properly and ensuring that the club exists for years to come, whilst other clubs have taken shortcuts to success, having broken the rules along the way, failing to have been punished, failing to have co-operated honestly and openly with enquiries and bringing the whole game into disrepute. The people behind these misdeeds still hold positions of power at clubs and at the authorities - this fact is ridiculous and laughable.
The fans of their club, and ours, are buying tickets for a competition that has lost credibility in the eyes of the fans in terms of the consistency of how punishments for blatant rule-breaking are handed out.
There is only so long that a competition lacking in "sporting integrity" can be viable.
A proper, impartial investigation is required. We need to have confidence in the people running our game. We need ALL clubs to co-operate, to act with appropriate candour (i.e. it doesn't become a Celtic-minded witch hunt), we may need to punish individuals or organisations appropriately and we need to do it properly.
We need to know how financial chicanery on the scale carried out by Rangers will be punished if it carried out in future, and have confidence in the people in charge to do so.
Otherwise why shouldn't Celtic, Hibs or anyone else not just play the way Rangers 1872 RIP did?
Rangers fans should be as interested in this as anyone. They might win a league at some point in the future. If they do, they should want to take great pride in the salvation of their club from where it was to a position where it wins a tough, clean competition fair and square. Their insistence on keeping their tainted titles and refusal to co-operate with previous enquiries, generally defensive/aggressive nature and general bawbaggery makes this a difficult situation to envisage.
Then we need to move on.
(ps - we shouldn't be put off doing this by the fact that there probably are a good few foil-hatted, foaming-mouthed Celtic lunatics who are desperate to put the boot into their old rivals).
Fantastic post.
08-09-2017, 06:21 PM
Exactly.
08-09-2017, 06:50 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/competitions/premiership/aberdeen-chief-backs-sfa-decision-to-reject-review-of-rangers-tax-case-1-4555105
Aberdeen chairman takes up his traditional pro Rangers stance.
08-09-2017, 06:56 PM
There seems now to be nobody in the game now saying that there is no evidence of cheating, just that having an enquiry will make them look bad. That's not really a defence at all and I can't see it lasting. I just don't see people moving on until the truth is heard.
08-09-2017, 07:02 PM
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/competitions/premiership/aberdeen-chief-backs-sfa-decision-to-reject-review-of-rangers-tax-case-1-4555105
Aberdeen chairman takes up his traditional pro Rangers stance.
Is he really too stupid to see that the negativity continues because they are getting away with it? Most people would see it as a good thing if there was a thorough clean out at the SFA...........
08-09-2017, 07:17 PM
Do you dislike Celtic that much? Your responses are nothing short of incredulous!
08-09-2017, 07:21 PM
Do you dislike Celtic that much? Your responses are nothing short of incredulous!
I thought they were pretty accurate.
08-09-2017, 07:22 PM
Some of us dislike everyone bar the cabbage
08-09-2017, 07:23 PM
Nothing wrong with that.
08-09-2017, 07:33 PM
I thought they were pretty accurate.
In what way?
08-09-2017, 07:34 PM
i guess I'm not as parochial as that!
08-09-2017, 07:35 PM
Nothing wrong with that.
there is where justice is concerned!
08-09-2017, 07:45 PM
there is where justice is concerned!
Two different things. If someone wants to take time out to insult another team then that's cool.
08-09-2017, 08:00 PM
Two different things. If someone wants to take time out to insult another team then that's cool.
Again and at this juncture, that is parochial and emotionally unintelligent.
08-09-2017, 08:00 PM
i guess I'm not as parochial as that!
So you like other teams as well as the cabbage? Cool
08-09-2017, 08:02 PM
So you like other teams as well as the cabbage? Cool
this isn't about tribalism, it's about justice! But cool nonetheless 👍
08-09-2017, 08:07 PM
this isn't about tribalism, it's about justice! But cool nonetheless 👍
So you said you weren't narrow minded? Is having a like for one team only narrow minded?
08-09-2017, 08:08 PM
Perhaps you could highlight the particular points you find 'incredulous' . Cheers. :aok:
08-09-2017, 08:39 PM
Perhaps you could highlight the particular points you find 'incredulous' . Cheers. :aok:
Look back through your posting regarding Celtic.
08-09-2017, 08:42 PM
So you said you weren't narrow minded? Is having a like for one team only narrow minded?
I don't recall narrow minded?
08-09-2017, 08:52 PM
Look back through your posting regarding Celtic.
That's not really an answer is it?
08-09-2017, 08:54 PM
I want sevco nailed, I want the SFA and all who sail in her nailed, I want it acknowledged that our system is corrupt, has been corrupt for years and needs to be replaced, I want shot of everyone who thinks we can just carry on regardless, I really, really want our media to grow a collective pair.
Imagination, that's all it takes and I don't give a bxgger about any Celtic agenda; in this instance they are on the side of the goodies (ourselves and everyone else the rangers have been pxssing on for years). I've spent most of my life having to accept our footie is rigged, I don't want my grandson having to put up with it for the rest of his life as well.
he deserves better, we deserve better.
08-09-2017, 08:56 PM
In what way?
I didn't realise that there is more than one way of being accurate or indeed of me thinking something is accurate.
08-09-2017, 08:56 PM
I want sevco nailed, I want the SFA and all who sail in her nailed, I want it acknowledged that our system is corrupt, has been corrupt for years and needs to be replaced, I want shot of everyone who thinks we can just carry on regardless, I really, really want our media to grow a collective pair.
Imagination, that's all it takes and I don't give a bxgger about any Celtic agenda; in this instance they are on the side of the goodies (ourselves and everyone else the rangers have been pxssing on for years). I've spent most of my life having to accept our footie is rigged, I don't want my grandson having to put up with it for the rest of his life as well.
08-09-2017, 09:04 PM
I didn't realise that there is more than one way of being accurate or indeed of me thinking something is accurate.
There is more than one way of being accurate.
08-09-2017, 09:05 PM
That's not really an answer is it?
In context wth incredulous, of course it is!
08-09-2017, 09:07 PM
I don't recall narrow minded?
parochial
08-09-2017, 09:11 PM
parochial
Limited outlook or scope? Perhaps looking past one club?
08-09-2017, 09:17 PM
In context wth incredulous, of course it is!
Actually it's not, my own posts don't make me incredulous so I'll need your assistance. :greengrin
You could easily quote the offending posts, I really didn't mind defending them or admitting I am wrong if required. It's usually the latter but you never know. :greengrin
So maybe you could try and highlight what it is in particular I have said about Celtic that makes you incredulous.
08-09-2017, 09:19 PM
Brilliant.
08-09-2017, 09:20 PM
Limited outlook or scope? Perhaps looking past one club?
Many definitions to the word. Limited outlook, why would you look beyond your own?
08-09-2017, 09:24 PM
I guess what I am not clear about is who (exactly) are the SFA? If they are representing the clubs how can they refuse to participate? Who employs Regan, Dickson et al and can the clubs not collectively tell them to participate or else bolt?
Tornadoes70
08-09-2017, 09:42 PM
I guess what I am not clear about is who (exactly) are the SFA? If they are representing the clubs how can they refuse to participate? Who employs Regan, Dickson et al and can the clubs not collectively tell them to participate or else bolt?
Its very likely most of the clubs do want to want to move on as seen by the Aberdeen chairman. Its the fans who will ultimately be the driving force of any change in Scottish football. The Celtic fans must have been piling on the pressure to its board. I'm all for the titles being stripped of which should have occurred at the first instance wherewith the SFA would not be in the absurd position its been drawn into by a desire to treat the fans like idiots with the transparently deceitful farcical 'Lord' Nimmo Smith cover up.
Even now at this very late stage it would be better for Scottish football if the SFA took responsibility for its actions with an apology for attempting to deceive and engage with the stripping of the titles as its the correct course of action to take and try to repair the damage done. If not its bound to fall with the main players like Regan disappearing in shame.
Its always the cover up that nails them as the true old cliches state.
The atmosphere at the governing bodies must be fraught with fear and tension just now but it didn't have to be that way if they had acted properly in the first instance.
Glory Glory.
08-09-2017, 09:59 PM
Its very likely most of the clubs do want to want to move on as seen by the Aberdeen chairman. Its the fans who will ultimately be the driving force of any change in Scottish football. The Celtic fans must have been piling on the pressure to its board. I'm all for the titles being stripped of which should have occurred at the first instance wherewith the SFA would not be in the absurd position its been drawn into by a desire to treat the fans like idiots with the transparently deceitful farcical 'Lord' Nimmo Smith cover up.
Even now at this very late stage it would be better for Scottish football if the SFA took responsibility for its actions with an apology for attempting to deceive and engage with the stripping of the titles as its the correct course of action to take and try to repair the damage done. If not its bound to fall with the main players like Regan disappearing in shame.
Its always the cover up that nails them as the true old cliches state.
The atmosphere at the governing bodies must be fraught with fear and tension just now but it didn't have to be that way if they had acted properly in the first instance.
Glory Glory.Not sure that "most of the clubs" want to move on. It's the clubs (the SPFL) who have asked for the independent enquiry. They couldn't have come to that without a majority.
Tornadoes70
08-09-2017, 10:16 PM
Not sure that "most of the clubs" want to move on. It's the clubs (the SPFL) who have asked for the independent enquiry. They couldn't have come to that without a majority.
Personally I think most of the clubs would like to move on as demonstrated from the Aberdeen chairman however its highly likely they're being pressured into taking a course of action in the form of an independent inquiry from the ordinary fans of whom are not buying into the no sporting advantage and imperfect registration findings.
If I'm wrong no problem mate its just my point of view.
Glory Glory.
08-09-2017, 10:30 PM
There seems now to be nobody in the game now saying that there is no evidence of cheating, just that having an enquiry will make them look bad. That's not really a defence at all and I can't see it lasting. I just don't see people moving on until the truth is heard.
I remember, when this first happened in 2012, the majority of the SPL clubs chairmen/boards didn't appear to be in too much of a hurry to see the Hun punished until they got a warning from their own supporters and the likes of Turnbull Hutton voicing his opinion - and I can see the same thing having to happen again. Most chairmen/boards are just fixated on the money coming into their club but strangely don't seem to consider the long-term effect on our game if the Hun go un-punished - to me it looks like they've learnt nothing from then !
Tornadoes70
08-09-2017, 10:47 PM
Not sure that "most of the clubs" want to move on. It's the clubs (the SPFL) who have asked for the independent enquiry. They couldn't have come to that without a majority.
Just wanted to add that there's no-one more than me who wishes they had taken the decision to strip them of the titles when they should have. I have no pleasure whatsoever in seeing a governing body being dragged into the gutter. However the truth and correct moral path is far more important than saving what has become an immoral deceitful empire. I detest what the authorities have become when it perversely sets itself above justice.
I'm an admirer of your posts CropleyWasGod not looking at all to argue merely giving my opinion.
Glory Glory Sir.
08-09-2017, 11:15 PM
That's is what makes the SFA's refusal to agree to an enquiry look so odd to say the least. I suspect there will be one despite their statement.
09-09-2017, 06:04 AM
Many definitions to the word. Limited outlook, why would you look beyond your own?
To get to the big picture and to put it right.
09-09-2017, 06:08 AM
Actually it's not, my own posts don't make me incredulous so I'll need your assistance. :greengrin
You could easily quote the offending posts, I really didn't mind defending them or admitting I am wrong if required. It's usually the latter but you never know. :greengrin
So maybe you could try and highlight what it is in particular I have said about Celtic that makes you incredulous.
You know where your posts are and the content in them. I'm not offended by your apparent dislike of Celtic and their singular agenda, I'm intrigued as to why you seem unable to agree with the actions of a club seeking justice?
09-09-2017, 06:47 AM
You know where your posts are and the content in them. I'm not offended by your apparent dislike of Celtic and their singular agenda, I'm intrigued as to why you seem unable to agree with the actions of a club seeking justice?
And again. Point put the specific posts where I criticised Celtic which left you incredulous. You seem unable to.
09-09-2017, 07:12 AM
Oh yes indeed.
09-09-2017, 07:13 AM
Just wanted to add that there's no-one more than me who wishes they had taken the decision to strip them of the titles when they should have. I have no pleasure whatsoever in seeing a governing body being dragged into the gutter. However the truth and correct moral path is far more important than saving what has become an immoral deceitful empire. I detest what the authorities have become when it perversely sets itself above justice.
I'm an admirer of your posts CropleyWasGod not looking at all to argue merely giving my opinion.
Glory Glory Sir.
That body lost its way a while back i doubt they will suddenly find their Moral Compass now unless forced to do so They weren't slow to Act after the Cup Final when The Rangers put them under pressure with lies and untruths , but that was sorted out in a reasonable timeframe
This has dragged on for so long ,and if it wasn't for this thread ,even i would have lost interest i suspect .
Their was talk immediately in the aftermath of Sevco being demoted of the need for a Fair Financial Framework for Clubs to work to so that Clubs couldn't gain advantage by living out with their means
Its no real surprise to me this hasn't been implemented ,as the Governing Bodies have known ,until The Rangers get back into the Group Stages of European Football ,and reform their Cartel with Celtic where they finish first and second every year ,they will need to spending well out with their means
Maybe i am just to Cynical though and its all in hand
Stonewall
09-09-2017, 07:14 AM
That's is what makes the SFA's refusal to agree to an enquiry look so odd to say the least. I suspect there will be one despite their statement.
It's odd if there's nothing to hide.
The SFA's position certainly appears untenable, so we may get an enquiry, although based on previous experience they will probably try to influence it's scope and terms.
The fact that they are leaking letters to the press to try and isolate Celtic and distract from the real issues indicates they are not going to go down without a fight.
As for the other member clubs, maybe they want the enquiry for genuine reasons or are bowing to fan pressure: maybe they are paying lip service and hope that it all goes away with the SFA refusal. Who knows, but I would think twice about stickining my neck out too far and risking the wrath of the Hun hoards.
09-09-2017, 07:42 AM
And again. Point put the specific posts where I criticised Celtic which left you incredulous. You seem unable to.
From 1300 onward.
09-09-2017, 08:41 AM
That body lost its way a while back i doubt they will suddenly find their Moral Compass now unless forced to do so They weren't slow to Act after the Cup Final when The Rangers put them under pressure with lies and untruths , but that was sorted out in a reasonable timeframe
This has dragged on for so long ,and if it wasn't for this thread ,even i would have lost interest i suspect .
Their was talk immediately in the aftermath of Sevco being demoted of the need for a Fair Financial Framework for Clubs to work to so that Clubs couldn't gain advantage by living out with their means
Its no real surprise to me this hasn't been implemented ,as the Governing Bodies have known ,until The Rangers get back into the Group Stages of European Football ,and reform their Cartel with Celtic where they finish first and second every year ,they will need to spending well out with their means
Maybe i am just to Cynical though and its all in hand
No-one was demoted. :tsk tsk:
09-09-2017, 09:12 AM
From 1300 onward.
Yet again, point out the posts where my criticism of Celtic left you incredulous. You really do seem unable to do that.
09-09-2017, 09:22 AM
Yet again, point out the posts where my criticism of Celtic left you incredulous. You really do seem unable to do that.
no ta, you are right i am unable to.
Andycolo
09-09-2017, 09:34 AM
Then we need to move on.
Hits the nail on the head.
Make no mistake there will be action taken whatever the SFAwant. In some ways I welcome this decision as it removes control of thedirection of the enquiry from their hands.
Hopefully the action will be led by Celtic, and it lookslikely that this is their position. This would be best, if for no other reason,in that they have access to avenues such as the Court for Arbitration in Sportand UEFA which are unavailable to private individuals.
Even if Celtic back off a Judicial Reviewwill be sought and, if necessary crowdfunded, by Celtic supporters. It would beregrettable if this was allowed to be portrayed as Celtic alone questioning theSFA but there is a determination to see this through.
The question now is what side of the line are other SPFLclubs and supporters going to stand on. This has dragged on for too long andthis must be addressed now.
09-09-2017, 10:18 AM
no ta, you are right i am unable to.
I know.
09-09-2017, 10:33 AM
Glory Glory Sir.
I do. But that's mainly because I think it would be ****ing hilarious. :greengrin
09-09-2017, 10:35 AM
Chris McLaughlinVerified account @BBCchrismclaug 1m1 minute ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/906465795802386432)
#Celtic (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Celtic?src=hash) release statement saying if #SFA (https://twitter.com/hashtag/SFA?src=hash) don't agree to Rangers EBT review it represents "failure in transparency and leadership."
09-09-2017, 10:38 AM
It's odd if there's nothing to hide.
The SFA's position certainly appears untenable, so we may get an enquiry, although based on previous experience they will probably try to influence it's scope and terms.
The fact that they are leaking letters to the press to try and isolate Celtic and distract from the real issues indicates they are not going to go down without a fight.
As for the other member clubs, maybe they want the enquiry for genuine reasons or are bowing to fan pressure: maybe they are paying lip service and hope that it all goes away with the SFA refusal. Who knows, but I would think twice about stickining my neck out too far and risking the wrath of the Hun hoards.
I really don't think that's an option, they have now backed themselves in to a corner where if there is an enquiry it will have to be totally independent. Their statement may have unintentionally made an enquiry more likely now.
Stonewall
09-09-2017, 10:43 AM
[QUOTE=grunt;5163927]Chris McLaughlinVerified account @BBCchrismclaug 1m1 minute ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/906465795802386432)
#Celtic (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Celtic?src=hash) release statement saying if #SFA (https://twitter.com/hashtag/SFA?src=hash) don't agree to Rangers EBT review it represents "failure in transparency and leadership."[/QUOTE
Not happy about their letter being leaked yesterday. Gloves are off.
09-09-2017, 10:46 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DJRq3uZWsAAU-JT.jpg:large
09-09-2017, 10:46 AM
I really don't think that's an option, they have now backed themselves in to a corner where if there is an enquiry it will have to be totally independent. Their statement may have unintentionally made an enquiry more likely now.Call me a conspiracy theorist, but perhaps there are those within the SFA who have been aiming for this outcome all along. [emoji849]
09-09-2017, 10:47 AM
Chris McLaughlinVerified account @BBCchrismclaug 1m1 minute ago (https://twitter.com/BBCchrismclaug/status/906465795802386432)
#Celtic (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Celtic?src=hash) release statement saying if #SFA (https://twitter.com/hashtag/SFA?src=hash) don't agree to Rangers EBT review it represents "failure in transparency and leadership."[/QUOTE
Not happy about their letter being leaked yesterday. Gloves are off.
Good. It's time Hibs picked a side here and I think it's always better to be on the side of those looking for the truth.
09-09-2017, 10:48 AM
Call me a conspiracy theorist, but perhaps there are those within the SFA who have been aiming for this outcome all along. [emoji849]
I've been thinking along similar lines since the SFA statement came out.
09-09-2017, 10:51 AM
Celtic have published all their correspondence with the SFA on the issue.
http://cdn.celticfc.net/assets/downloads/SFA_Correspondence.pdf
Gloves really are coming off.
09-09-2017, 10:58 AM
Good. It's time Hibs picked a side here and I think it's always better to be on the side of those looking for the truth.
Who says they haven't already decided what side they are on and always have been?
It looks like a very clever game of chess has been played in the background by Celtic and others.
Kavinho
09-09-2017, 11:00 AM
[QUOTE=Stonewall;5163932]
The truth is out there!
09-09-2017, 11:03 AM
I've been thinking along similar lines since the SFA statement came out.There's no evidence, of course, but it's as valid as the knee-jerk assumption that Rod has stitched us up.
09-09-2017, 11:03 AM
Who says they haven't already decided what side they are on and always have been?
It looks like a very clever game of chess has been played in the background by Celtic and others.
Let's hope we have. Now is the time to go public on that.
09-09-2017, 11:12 AM
There's no evidence, of course, but it's as valid as the knee-jerk assumption that Rod has stitched us up.
Aye. :greengrin
09-09-2017, 11:16 AM
It would be brilliant to find out that Hibs and Rod had been working away in the background to get to the truth here and I will be the first to congratulate them if that is the case.
The Pointer
09-09-2017, 11:25 AM
While I haven't attempted to contribute anything to this lengthy debate I enjoy much of the inciteful comments contributed by many of you.
I think we've been in a trough those past few weeks and think the SFA statement which prompted this Celtc one may take us towards another crest, this in turn hopefully leading to some heads rolling - eventually. However, I think it's important that we hear from the other professional clubs to get their opinion, but there hasn't been a peep (apart from Stewart Milne) and I have no idea what their attitude is - let alone that of Hibs.
I don't want those in charge during this sorry episode to continue and would like us to start from a clean sheet, therefore I hope all those in favour of 'integrity and fairness' ultimately succeed for the image and future prosperity of the game in Scotland.
Roll on page 2000.
09-09-2017, 11:34 AM
Now that everyone is going public, I don't think it's fair if Celtic are alone in this. It's time for Hibs and the other clubs to show their support.
09-09-2017, 11:39 AM
Now that everyone is going public, I don't think it's fair if Celtic are alone in this. It's time for Hibs and the other clubs to show their support.
Given the events of the last couple of days then it probably is now time for Hibs to say something.
Its now clear to me why Hibs didnt make the promised statement. It is just a shame Tracey was hung out to dry and not allowed to say that the plans had changed but she couldnt divulge why.This whole thing though isnt straightforward.
The current rangers is not the same club as the one with 54 titls, some of which were tainted and so we cant strip titles that they didnt win. What we could do is make it clear they are a new club with only a few years history and only 3 lower league titles to their name
09-09-2017, 12:12 PM
Its now clear to me why Hibs didnt make the promised statement. It is just a shame Tracey was hung out to dry and not allowed to say that the plans had changed but she couldnt divulge why.This whole thing though isnt straightforward.
The current rangers is not the same club as the one with 54 titls, some of which were tainted and so we cant strip titles that they didnt win. What we could do is make it clear they are a new club with only a few years history and only 3 lower league titles to their name
Titles still need to be stripped from old Rangers.
Celtic release statement saying if SFA don't agree to Rangers EBT review it represents "failure in transparency and leadership."
Absolutely correct. The SFA's line about not wanting to rake over the coals deserves nothing but contempt.
MichaelTheCelt
09-09-2017, 12:35 PM
Don't doubt for a minute that the Hibs board have been working on something in the background. Maybe Celtic have taken the lead on this particular issue behind the scenes and the rest were waiting to see what Lawwell and Co done.
09-09-2017, 01:08 PM
Dons supporters organisation react to SFA statement.......at odds with Stewart Milne.
http://www.donssupporterstogether.com/reaction-to-sfa-ebt-statement/
09-09-2017, 01:13 PM
Call me a conspiracy theorist, but perhaps there are those within the SFA who have been aiming for this outcome all along. [emoji849]
I think it is part of a strategy, and perhaps it could even have been devised by someone with a history of clever deals but who prefers them done without the glare of publicity.
Do we know anyone like that? 😉
09-09-2017, 01:15 PM
Titles still need to be stripped from old Rangers.
That's not what an enquiry would be about though so it's worth considering the realistic outcome we could get from this. A liong and expensive enquiry to tell us that mistakes were made in how the original rules were designed?
I think a number of people asking for this to be looked at again are expecting some sort of justice in the form of action against Rangers.
That's not going to happen.
09-09-2017, 01:19 PM
That's not what an enquiry would be about though so it's worth considering the realistic outcome we could get from this. A liong and expensive enquiry to tell us that mistakes were made in how the original rules were designed?
I think a number of people asking for this to be looked at again are expecting some sort of justice in the form of action against Rangers.
09-09-2017, 01:21 PM
According to Chris McLaughlin there are no top flight clubs in favour of a review specific to Rangers. (apart of course from Celtic)
09-09-2017, 01:25 PM
According to Chris McLaughlin there are no top flight clubs in favour of a review specific to Rangers. (apart of course from Celtic)
Shock horror, because the rest unlike Celtic are *****bags.
09-09-2017, 01:25 PM
They are trying to isolate Celtic on Sportsound. It's time for other clubs to step up.
09-09-2017, 01:28 PM
Why is it so unrealistic for fans to think more can be done? Titles should be stripped. Do you think Celtic would honestly waste time wanting another investigation if they really didn't think titles could be taken from The Rangers?
They know there is plenty that can still be taken against them, but other clubs are afraid. As usual.
09-09-2017, 01:33 PM
They are trying to isolate Celtic on Sportsound. It's time for other clubs to step up.
Maybe other clubs have got skeletons in their closet ?
09-09-2017, 01:44 PM
Maybe other clubs have got skeletons in their closet ?
That's more than probable. Any enquiry will be about Scottish Football and how it is run as a whole.
09-09-2017, 01:53 PM
An enquiry into the events involving Rangers / Sevco should investigate who knew what and when, and who was involved in any cover-ups or dodgy agreements made behind the scenes. There are people still in positions of authority involved in it all and, if they were guilty of wrongdoing, they should be removed.
If it's found that rules were boken and procedures not followed, then that will open the door to futher action to rectify that wrongdoing (e.g. shoud the titles have been stripped or not)
Andycolo
09-09-2017, 02:40 PM
Why is it so unrealistic for fans to think more can be done? Titles should be stripped. Do you think Celtic would honestly waste time wanting another investigation if they really didn't think titles could be taken from The Rangers?
They know there is plenty that can still be taken against them, but other clubs are afraid. As usual.
A lack of foresight is not something you can accuse Celticof. The effect of stripping titles on The Rangers would not be tangible as theyare a new club. This is not the main thrust of Celtic’s approach or the Celticsupporters and shareholders who have been driving this.
The main concern is to lay bare what happened and to makesure this cannot happen again. Unless the whole corrupt mess is exposed thesame cabal will do it all again whenever necessary, and that may be soonerrather than later.
Undeniably title stripping and new club definition may bethe logical corollary of the exposure of corruption but that is not the mainobject of the exercise.
09-09-2017, 03:02 PM
That's more than probable. Any enquiry will be about Scottish Football and how it is run as a whole.
What, you mean they might look at some of the payment arrangements that happened at Hearts? That would be terrible. [emoji6]
09-09-2017, 05:04 PM
An enquiry into the events involving Rangers / Sevco should investigate who knew what and when, and who was involved in any cover-ups or dodgy agreements made behind the scenes. There are people still in positions of authority involved in it all and, if they were guilty of wrongdoing, they should be removed.
If it's found that rules were boken and procedures not followed, then that will open the door to futher action to rectify that wrongdoing (e.g. shoud the titles have been stripped or not)
The door is not open and there's no prospect of it being opened. Celtic didn't ask for that either.
It's not about applying pressure for it to happen, it can't be done.
If lessons haven't been learned then an enquiry might root out something that still needs changed in current rules but that's about it. The SFA I suspect think it already has changed and an enquiry would be a waste of time and money. I don't know enough about changes made to have a view on that.
09-09-2017, 05:34 PM
McLaughlin's made that statement based on speaking to 2-3 people at director-level from each club - just like 2012, their views/opinions won't match that of the fans who pay week-in and week-out.
09-09-2017, 05:36 PM
Email correspondence between Regan and Dickson at the time of the awarding of Rangers euro license.
https://www.scribd.com/mobile/document/234391335/Licence-Issues
Caversham Green
09-09-2017, 05:59 PM
Interesting that he feels it necessary to say 'specific to Rangers' as that would suggest that they are not averse to some sort of enquiry. Is McLaughlin being a bit disingenuous here? In any case Celtc's tone so far seems to be more about the authorities' governance rather than 'specific to Rangers' as well.
09-09-2017, 07:52 PM
It won't. That's already been ruled on. Recent legal advice confirmed again it's a non starter.
If people are pushing for an enquiry then they should be aware of the limits of it.
09-09-2017, 08:04 PM
It won't. That's already been ruled on. Recent legal advice confirmed again it's a non starter.
If people are pushing for an enquiry then they should be aware of the limits of it.
That was the SFA's legal advice, wasn't it?
09-09-2017, 09:48 PM
The SPFL could strip the titles tomorrow. Who would challenge them? New Rangers? It's not their titles. Can't see BDO being interested in doing it on behalf of old Rangers. No money in it.
09-09-2017, 11:44 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170909/8e7696425613cc720b7ddafea0991670.jpg
Tornadoes70
10-09-2017, 01:16 AM
The SPFL could strip the titles tomorrow. Who would challenge them? New Rangers? It's not their titles. Can't see BDO being interested in doing it on behalf of old Rangers. No money in it.
Correct Ozy. its untrue for anybody to state legality has been an insurmountable obstacle for stripping the titles and in fact there's only ever been an unwillingness by the authorities to strip them. It was the correct action to take then and its still the correct action to take now and at any time in the future.
10-09-2017, 07:05 AM
You don't think Sevco would legally challenge any title stripping? :confused:
10-09-2017, 07:34 AM
Apart from the fact that Sevco never won them, I'm pretty sure that in the SPFL's rules there will be a clause that allows them to do just that for whatever reason it likes.
It's not really the point though. That would not get us to the truth. I want the fact the Walter Smith and Greame Souness took bribes out in the open, I want them disgraced. I want the members of the SFA who help the cover up exposed and banned from football. Only a full transparent enquiry gets us that.
10-09-2017, 07:40 AM
Let them. Would expose the old club/new club question to fresh legal scrutiny and would shine a spotlight on the murky secretive 5 way agreement and perhaps, perhaps might provide real transparency and truth. This could finally provide some faith that the game is run honestly and fairly in this country.
Personally I think title stripping shouldn't be our focus at this time but a real independent inquiry into football governance in this country is long overdue. The old boys network at the SFA has long since been unfit for purpose and fans' concerns that it isn't run for the benefit of all has been brought in to sharp focus over the last 5 years. The revelation of corruption at FIFA and UEFA should make us even more determined to ensure our SFA is operating above reproach.
10-09-2017, 07:45 AM
Apart from the fact that Sevco never won them, I'm pretty sure that in the SPFL's rules there will be a clause that allows them to do just that for whatever reason it likes.
It's not really the point though. That would not get us to the truth. I want the fact the Walter Smith and Greame Souness took bribes out in the open, I want them disgraced. I want the members of the SFA who help the cover up exposed and banned from football. Only a full transparent enquiry gets us that.
And if a full and transparent enquiry doesn't result in the punishments you have already deemed appropriate?
The focus has to be on transparency and improving things as we move forward otherwise a lot of lawyers will have enriched themselves for nowt.
10-09-2017, 07:49 AM
A lack of foresight is not something you can accuse Celticof. The effect of stripping titles on The Rangers would not be tangible as theyare a new club. This is not the main thrust of Celtic’s approach or the Celticsupporters and shareholders who have been driving this.
The main concern is to lay bare what happened and to makesure this cannot happen again. Unless the whole corrupt mess is exposed thesame cabal will do it all again whenever necessary, and that may be soonerrather than later.
Undeniably title stripping and new club definition may bethe logical corollary of the exposure of corruption but that is not the mainobject of the exercise.
That's a more than decent summary
10-09-2017, 08:03 AM
McLaughlin's made that statement based on speaking to 2-3 people at director-level from each club - just like 2012, their views/opinions won't match that of the fans who pay week-in and week-out.
Equally comments made to a BBC reporter may not accurately reflect the private discussions taking place in the boardroom.
10-09-2017, 08:09 AM
They do, however, seem to think that they "bought" them. Another argument altogether there.
10-09-2017, 08:13 AM
They do, however, seem to think that they "bought" them. Another argument altogether there.
They certainly did "buy" some of them with dodgy contracts and EBTs
10-09-2017, 08:24 AM
Amd if a full and transparent enquiry doesn't result in the punishments you have already deemed appropriate?
The focus has to be on transparency and improving things as we move forward otherwise a lot of lawyers will have enriched themselves for nowt.
I agree with you 100%. I was just getting carried away with myself in regards to Smith and Souness.
Getting to the truth of what happened is this most important thing.
10-09-2017, 08:26 AM
They think they 'bought' them of oldco. If they have a problem, they can take that up with them. [emoji23]
10-09-2017, 08:34 AM
They think they 'bought' them of oldco. If they have a problem, they can take that up with them. [emoji23]
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIt's a good point since, at law, you cannot pass on an item that you cannot show you had good title to.
So if Oldco obtained anything fraudulently they couldn't actually pass it on or sell it. Sevco will be able to ask for their money back though[emoji6]
10-09-2017, 08:50 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/sfa-stance-over-rangers-ebt-11143447
10-09-2017, 09:03 AM
It's a good point since, at law, you cannot pass on an item that you cannot show you had good title to.
So if Oldco obtained anything fraudulently they couldn't actually pass it on or sell it. Sevco will be able to ask for their money back though[emoji6]
As I said, another argument altogether...:greengrin
Tornadoes70
10-09-2017, 09:41 AM
They would have been entitled to a judicial review and there would have been a legal ruling. Far far more beneficial than the mess the governing bodies have created. I would have thought in any case the judiciary would have found against the oldco as there were grounds for stripping the titles due to the side letters etc.
Cheshire Hibee
10-09-2017, 10:13 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/sfa-stance-over-rangers-ebt-11143447
Trust me the SPFL review will be a cover up as well, Doncaster was adamant that "the Rangers" wouldn't be relegated, he tried everything to keep them in the top flight.
It will be interesting to see what spin he puts on that....
If it hadn't been for the fans reactions and the threat to boycott their own clubs matches then they would never have been relegated, at worst they would have got away with a 15 point deduction.
10-09-2017, 11:10 AM
Trust me the SPFL review will be a cover up as well, Doncaster was adamant that "the Rangers" wouldn't be relegated, he tried everything to keep them in the top flight.
If it hadn't been for the fans reactions and the threat to boycott their own clubs matches then they would never have been relegated, at worst they would have got away with a 15 point deduction.
They never were. They ceased to be and another entity replaced them playing their first match against Brechin registered as Sevco because Rangers FC (In Administration) were still registered with the SFA.
They were never relegated or demoted. They started again and, imo, were given preferential treatment that allowed them to enter the senior leagues so soon after their formation.
10-09-2017, 11:39 AM
And yet again positioned as a Celtic / Rangers spat when in fact every club in the land has an interest in the outcome of a review and in seeing proper governance of the game.
The SFA are not fit for purpose and are bringing our game into disrepute. They selectively poke fingers at fans, player and manager behaviour when it suits their purpose yet cannot keep their own house in order, turn a blind eye to blatant sectarianism, knowingly allow children to be put at risk and act as advocates for the OF when under threat. Amateurs and cowards.
10-09-2017, 12:00 PM
My thoughts:
http://hibscomebackison.blogspot.co.uk/2017/09/scottish-footballs-shame.html
Tornadoes70
10-09-2017, 12:15 PM
My thoughts:
Excellent well written thoughtful piece that clearly identifies the key issues in absence of emotional bias. It sets out the facts in a balanced manner. The governing bodies especially the SFA have many questions to answer and should engage with the calls for an independent inquiry. Great stuff.
Ps, you look far more intelligent than I had pictured you. :greengrin
10-09-2017, 12:17 PM
Excellent well written thoughtful piece that clearly identifies the key issues in absence of emotional bias. It sets out the facts in a balanced manner. The governing bodies especially the SFA have many questions to answer and should engage with the calls for an independent inquiry. Great stuff.
Ps, you look far more intelligent than I had pictured you. :greengrin
:faf: don't be fooled!
Tornadoes70
10-09-2017, 12:19 PM
:faf: don't be fooled!
Brilliant.
10-09-2017, 12:21 PM
My thoughts:
Brilliant article.
10-09-2017, 12:29 PM
My thoughts:
Brilliant article.
10-09-2017, 01:36 PM
Ha-ha-ha - typical 'Daily Rectum' tactics - a headline that looks as if it's written in support of the issue but with a sub-line that reveals their real opinions -
'Michael reckons the SFA's stance not to involve themselves in the SPFL review leaves them exposed to the conspiracy theorists'
So, all those who just want the truth and a governing-body that's actually fit-for-purpose are labelled 'Conspiracy theorists' - the 'Rectum' would do well to remember that 'Conspiracy theorists' won their fight to see the Hun thrown out of the SPL IN 2012 when the GFA basically wanted little, if any, punishment to be dealt out to the offenders at all !
InchHibby
10-09-2017, 01:51 PM
My thoughts:
A good post and the part I totally agree in is, we can't complain about their dominance in winning trophies as they do have a much larger support and much more revenue coming in than probably us all put together except Celtic of course, but to cheat over the top of all that gaining them an advantage on buying any player with tax free payments just stinks of pure greed and cheating in the highest order.
Also the totally ludicrous voting system that existed when change was required, a voting system that meant as long as the bigot brothers voted the same, no changes could be made.
They kept saying it's up to us to get to their standards which is fair enough, but how could we possibly do that. This SFA needs to be dissolved.
10-09-2017, 01:51 PM
http://thefrontofthebus.blogspot.com/2017/09/lies-damned-lies-and-sfa.html
Kavinho
10-09-2017, 01:55 PM
They never were. They ceased to be and another entity replaced them playing their first match against Brechin registered as Sevco because Rangers FC (In Administration) were still registered with the SFA.
They were never relegated or demoted. They started again and, imo, were given preferential treatment that allowed them to enter the senior leagues so soon after their formation.
All of which was supported by the Coral case ( when they refused to pay out on a large wager on Rangers being relegated)
10-09-2017, 03:17 PM
If it hadn't been for the fans reactions and the threat to boycott their own clubs matches then they would never have been relegated, at worst they would have got away with a 15 point deduction.The SPFL are proposing an independent review.
10-09-2017, 03:18 PM
It's a good point since, at law, you cannot pass on an item that you cannot show you had good title to.
Sent from my SM-J320FN using TapatalkSince they only paid £1 for them, it's hardly worth the bother [emoji16]
10-09-2017, 03:44 PM
Since they only paid £1 for them, it's hardly worth the bother [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-A510F using TapatalkA quids a quid, Craig Whyte bought a football club for one.
10-09-2017, 03:45 PM
https://footballtaxhavens.wordpress.com/2017/09/10/hearts-admin-part-3-hmrc-owed-1-75m-for-kaunas-loans-for-unpaid-payenic-shonky-share-offer-un-issued-shares/
10-09-2017, 04:00 PM
https://footballtaxhavens.wordpress.com/2017/09/10/hearts-admin-part-3-hmrc-owed-1-75m-for-kaunas-loans-for-unpaid-payenic-shonky-share-offer-un-issued-shares/
"Dr Budge"? :confused:
10-09-2017, 04:06 PM
"Dr Budge"? :confused:
Yep, she's got a doctorate in Stand Building .
10-09-2017, 04:39 PM
Yep, she's got a doctorate in Stand Building .
More likely a nickname she got from her habit of going "Nurse! Nurse!" when 'throda used to 'explain' things to her at the weekly meetings.
10-09-2017, 06:42 PM
My thoughts:
Brilliant 👍
10-09-2017, 07:14 PM
"Dr Budge"? :confused:Yeah.
Seen that before in various things. Assuming it's a PhD or similar.
Or else one of those honorary doctorates that get handed out, where most recipients are too classy to actually use the "Dr." [emoji849]
Yeah.
Or else one of those honorary doctorates that get handed out, where most recipients are too classy to actually use the "Dr." [emoji849]
Convention is that recipients of honourary doctorates donot use the form Dr.
Can't see she has one, though.
10-09-2017, 07:30 PM
Convention is that recipients of honourary doctorates donot use the form Dr.
Can't see she has one, though.Here you go...
https://www.hw.ac.uk/about/news/heriot-watt-summer-graduations.htm
It's not clear whether she was already a doctor before the honorary one, though.
Edit...she was, with another honorary one...
http://www.bloomberg.com/research/stocks/private/person.asp?personId=1585737&privcapId=34790807&previousCapId=2410530&previousTitle=Taylor%20Wessing%20LLP
Classy.
10-09-2017, 07:34 PM
Here you go...
https://www.hw.ac.uk/about/news/heriot-watt-summer-graduations.htm
It's not clear whether she was already a doctor before the honorary one, though.
Another announcement that needs proof-read!
10-09-2017, 07:39 PM
Why are the forelock-tuggers across the way referring to her as Mrs Budge when they could be calling her Drs Budge? :confused:
10-09-2017, 07:40 PM
Yeah.
Sent from my SM-A510F using TapatalkMaybe it's like Dr Doolittle? Only Mrs Budge writes to the animals rather than talks to them.
The SFA are not fit for purpose and are bringing our game into disrepute. They selectively poke fingers at fans, player and manager behaviour when it suits their purpose yet cannot keep their own house in order, turn a blind eye to blatant sectarianism, knowingly allow children to be put at risk and act as advocates for the OF when under threat. Amateurs and cowards.
Post of the Decade`s.. :aok: Totally Agree ( and have done so since the early 1980`s.. )
10-09-2017, 10:10 PM
https://twitter.com/leighgrifflths/status/906954607259258880
Good to see a current Scotland player stand up for the truth.
10-09-2017, 10:12 PM
https://twitter.com/leighgrifflths/status/906954607259258880
Good to see a current Scotland player stand up for the truth.
That's a spoof account.
10-09-2017, 10:32 PM
That's a spoof account.
I realised as soon as I posted. [emoji3]
10-09-2017, 10:46 PM
That's a spoof account.
Btw, has your blog on this subject your most read to date? It seems to be getting lots of retweets all over the place and even my dad sent it to me, which makes a change from stories about Mayo. [emoji3]
majorhibs
10-09-2017, 11:01 PM
Why is it you & a very few others on this thread & topic seem to go out of your way to continually suggest that something like pursuing this further would be, according to what your interpretation of unnamed "legal experts" "believe " would be some sort of a bad thing?
11-09-2017, 12:32 AM
https://www.sfm.scot/sfa.pdf
11-09-2017, 07:12 AM
Btw, has your blog on this subject your most read to date? It seems to be getting lots of retweets all over the place and even my dad sent it to me, which makes a change from stories about Mayo. [emoji3]
Yeah, I replied with a link to it on one of the Rangers TAC Car twitter accounts and it got picked up from there. Got a lot of traffic from twitter and Kerrydale Street as a result.
It got a lot more views than the Hibs one I wrote on Lennon, that's for sure.
11-09-2017, 09:06 AM
Yeah, I replied with a link to it on one of the Rangers TAC Car twitter accounts and it got picked up from there. Got a lot of traffic from twitter and Kerrydale Street as a result.
It's good that people know it's not just Celtic fans who care about this issue.
11-09-2017, 09:07 AM
https://www.sfm.scot/sfa.pdf
I think it's hilarious that everyone including Scottish football's "authorities" uses the terms "big tax case" and "wee tax case" to refer to the Huns' nefarious schemes. Terms coined by "conspiracy theorists" on the comments section of an internet blog iirc. :wink:
11-09-2017, 09:24 AM
I think it's hilarious that everyone including Scottish football's "authorities" uses the terms "big tax case" and "wee tax case" to refer to the Huns' nefarious schemes. Terms coined by "conspiracy theorists" on the comments section of an internet blog iirc. :wink:
The same blogs they claim not to read. [emoji23]
11-09-2017, 09:25 AM
Also, congrats on being declared a fully fledged bampot. [emoji23]
11-09-2017, 10:03 AM
Today would be a good day for Hibs to come out in support of an independent enquiry.
11-09-2017, 10:20 AM
Also, congrats on being declared a fully fledged bampot. [emoji23]
It's been a long time coming. :greengrin
11-09-2017, 10:33 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170911/9c3516e03e8937790c0ac9e644ce5857.png
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170911/aac0998b7761a209e59298c7aa44e786.png
11-09-2017, 11:06 AM
Page 1314
Remember Bannockburn
Hope within my lifetime there is no such thing as a Brittania to rule the waves or indeed "waive the rules"
11-09-2017, 11:17 AM
So, other than emailing Hibs (they've ignored me), contacting fans' reps (they're ignoring us), conducting online polls (bet they've seen them but - ignored), how do we get Hibs to engage or even respond on this? :confused: