View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread
03-07-2012, 09:53 AM
[QUOTE=Caversham Green;3283151]
You could be right.
On the precedent thing, I don't think that FTT verdicts have any precedent value in law. I think this was more about "sending a message".
That said, HMRC may keep the pot boiling for a little longer. IF the SPL/SFL both bomb Sevco out... and CG exercises his right to renege on the deal (has he paid yet? :confused:)...that changes things completely again.
I hope that regardless of how things pan out they do come back with a verdict as it allows Scottish football to resolve the future with a clear understanding of what wrong doings were done - even if the club that did the wrongs no longer legally exist.
I suspect that the judgement is known considering how long ago the appeal hearing was, and they are waiting strategically. If HMRC wins/won, the message is pretty clear to other clubs, If HMRC lost/lose the case, it may be irrelevant to Rangers, but would be in the interests of HMRC to never mention this again. Which is kind of whats happening now..
03-07-2012, 10:07 AM
This isn't something that has just happened, it's been going on in the media (papers and TV) for decades, these non stories sell the product and as the ugly sisters have the majority of support in this country it will continue forever, it really annoys me when STV Edinburgh start chirping on about them rather than clubs in the East of Scotland first, I've emailed and complained plenty but the usual stock reply comes back.
Traynor is an erse and he knows it, his fawning over the huns is boak inducing but as said it sells the product, they can drag former players out from all over the world to comment on the Ibrox fiasco but wouldn't and couldn't care less about the rest of Scottish football or what goes on in it.
This will never end in my opinion so we better get used to it.
03-07-2012, 10:11 AM
Then what? Blackmail SFL 3 clubs that no one will go to away cup games against them if they get into Division 3.
Rangers aren't getting into the SPL. That's what everyone wanted and that's what will happen. Whatever happens in the leagues below is upto the people in charge of they clubs, not the SPL clubs.
That would be all well and good if certain executives (and some clubs?) from the SPL weren't attempting to bribe the SFL clubs with tv money and threaten to cut them off outside SPL2 if they vote no.
03-07-2012, 10:23 AM
The smaller clubs are run by businessmen who have football at the front of their thoughts. Regan and Doncaster are businessmen who have themselves at the front of their thoughts. I can see a stitch up coming and R+D leaving with big handshakes, and the new people coming in, unable to comment about the old regime or undo the changes.
Lungo--Drom
03-07-2012, 10:27 AM
It's the first good thing to come out of the 'Clayhool' for many a year and 10/10 to their board for flicking the V to the proHun media and SPL bully boys.
green glory
03-07-2012, 10:28 AM
The smaller clubs are run by businessmen who have football at the front of their thoughts. Regan and Doncaster are businessmen who have themselves at the front of their thoughts. I can see a stitch up coming and R+D leaving with big handshakes, and the new people coming in, unable to comment about the old regime or undo the changes.
If Doncaster in particular can leave by any means, it can only be a good thing.
A hard kick up the arse on the way out would most appropriate.
03-07-2012, 10:28 AM
Instead of pursuing Murray, Green etc and hounding Lowell for Celtc's opinion on Sevco, the succulent lamb brigade put the boot into the other clubs with half truths and supposition about how we're all doomed if we don't bow down to new Rangers.
Traynor's comments about Hibs 'getting rid' of Billy Brown is a case in point. I don't buy tabloids but sadly many people do and believe what is written.
Thankfully sites like rangers tax case and Paul McConville's blog put these hacks to shame.
Prepare for anti-non OF stories to increase if sevco are not allowed in to Div1.
03-07-2012, 10:30 AM
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaug On steps of Hampden, Raith Rovers chairman Turnbull Hutton says the game is corrupt. Says he's been lied to, threatened and bullied. #SFL (https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23SFL)
Excellent. So far the diddy clubs are coming out best in all of this, and the diddier the better. (We are less diddy and it remains to be seen exactly how well we come out of it.)
Caversham Green
03-07-2012, 10:32 AM
[QUOTE=CropleyWasGod;3283156]
I hope that regardless of how things pan out they do come back with a verdict as it allows Scottish football to resolve the future with a clear understanding of what wrong doings were done - even if the club that did the wrongs no longer legally exist.
I suspect that the judgement is known considering how long ago the appeal hearing was, and they are waiting strategically. If HMRC wins/won, the message is pretty clear to other clubs, If HMRC lost/lose the case, it may be irrelevant to Rangers, but would be in the interests of HMRC to never mention this again. Which is kind of whats happening now..
The tax tribunal and the 'double contracts' investigation are two separate but connected issues. It's possible that Rangers broke tax laws without breaking the SFA/SPL rules regarding payments to players and vice versa, so the halting of the tax tribunal doesn't mean that the SPL investigation should end. I agree that the latter should continue if only to assess whether any honours need to be annulled.
The tax tribunal was about establishing the quantum of tax that RFC should pay rather than their innocence or guilt and that required examination of each individual case. That's not really worth it when there's no-one to provide information or argue Rangers' side - if I'm right about the tax advisers no longer being retained, but if it was nearly done and dusted they might finish it off in the interests of completeness (is that a word?). There won't be any urgency though. The SPL investigation should be easier though, they only have to establish innocence or guilt and it only really needs one hidden contract to do that. On the face of it Dodds and Boumsong have already provided enough evidence in their public pronouncements.
mayo hibee
03-07-2012, 10:38 AM
Twitter reports seem to be suggesting that the SFL clubs are coming out strongly against sevco to sfl1. I'm guessing the SPL chairmen are seeing this coming, hence the reports of late discussions to change the SPL vote to yes.
All those SPL clubs only made those statements last week because they had been told that Sevco would go to SFL1 and they could wash their hands of it and preach about sporting integrity. Now it's not working out we'll see what their true opinions are.
Unfortunately I fear Rod is down there with Regan and Donkey as the most responsible and worst of them in all this. The whole thing is disgusting. SFL3 for Sevco or else Scottish football becomes damaged beyond repair.
03-07-2012, 10:41 AM
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaugOn steps of Hampden, Raith Rovers chairman Turnbull Hutton says the game is corrupt. Says he's been lied to, threatened and bullied. #SFL (https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23SFL)
Quite an accusation! Look forward to hearing what he says to substantiate this. With such an illustrious first name I'd expect nothing but integrity :greengrin
http://www.stranraerfc.org/
Now that's a statement.
:not worth Absolutely superb. Have a read at that Keevins, Traynor and all the other hun apologists.
ginger_rice
03-07-2012, 10:47 AM
Quite an accusation! Look forward to hearing what he says to substantiate this. With such an illustrious first name I'd expect nothing but integrity :greengrin
:not worth Absolutely superb. Have a read at that Keevins, Traynor and all the other hun apologists.
Irrespective of the size, stature, history and resources of the club filling the vacancy, the opportunity exists for that club to find their way back to their natural tier in the league structure in a fair and equitable manner while being encouraged to trade and exist successfully within the means at their disposal.
Well done Stranraer and that from a club in a town where there are more huns per head of population than anything else!
Lungo--Drom
03-07-2012, 10:51 AM
Look at it this way, excluding the Hootsmon, the tabloid papers and the Herald are all Glasgow based and so it will always be easier to report on something "a few doors down" than something 40 miles, 120 miles etc. away.
From experience in the north of Ireland these things are insidious and often unnoticed simply because they have 'always been' or certainly 'always been within living memory'. I'd imagine for over 40 years anyway but possibly longer the Old Firm has been the dominant side show in Scottish media. Unfortunately what has become clear is that although they are happy to report on both sides of the 'Old Firm' when it suits the fat poltroons who spout out the 'stories' for each day's edition, once the Huns started getting into deeper water than usual back in February we've had to put up with a whole farmyard's worth of sh*t being peddaled by these Wedgie-centric hacks. Those who operated behind a veil of 'Old Firm-ness' but who were actually Huns or pro-Huns have, sometime around mid-April, let their disguise fall away completely, spouting openly pro-Hun drivel. Celtic fans don't care because they see themselves as being the ultimate winners of the fantastic Billy v's Tim scrap and so they are currently seeing the world through green and white tinted specs. If nothing else this whole farce has shown just how many people in the media and Scotland in general have a bit of bigoted Hunnery hidden in them and also Scotland is clearly as corrupt as places like Italy and some African countries which is plain embarrassing.
03-07-2012, 10:55 AM
If the bluenoses want to get any sort of credibility back they should just say
Ok we will go in to div 3 and do what everybody else has to do
Just stop bleating with yer sob and wasn't our fault stories...
Have you not figured out yet that you were right about one thing for all these years ... Yer song tha says
'We are rangers no-one likes us'
See yiz
GIRFUY
03-07-2012, 10:59 AM
Chris McLaughlin @BBCchrismclaugOn steps of Hampden, Raith Rovers chairman Turnbull Hutton says the game is corrupt. Says he's been lied to, threatened and bullied. #SFL (https://twitter.com/#!/search/%23SFL)
The quotes from Hutton in the BBC Football report on Saturday (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18656012) clearly implied theats and bullying, I was amazing that more wasn't made of it - glad to see he's turned it up a notch.
03-07-2012, 11:06 AM
Doncaster doing a presentation to the SFL now, why? He's in charge of the SPL, whats he got to do with the SFL?:confused:
03-07-2012, 11:07 AM
the fat poltroons who spout out the 'stories' for each day's edition
Le mot juste:thumbsup:
03-07-2012, 11:19 AM
Three things .
1. Gordon Brown the horse racing guy told me a story once when he worked for the Daily Record .There was a good Hamilton meeting on one night and Brown offered to write up a feature for the paper . "No room for it" was the response from the editor . "Ally McCoist is going and probably some other Old Firm players" said Brown . "Take a photographer with you" said the editor without blinking.
2. A decent sized paper or even a few will go to the wall in the next five years . Print media is on the way out and this smells like self preservation.
3. News International hacked a murdered teenage girls phone . Read that last sentence back .
VickMackie
03-07-2012, 11:20 AM
The quotes from Hutton in the BBC Football report on Saturday (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18656012) clearly implied theats and bullying, I was amazing that more wasn't made of it - glad to see he's turned it up a notch.
Obviously a 'taig', or so I read about everyone who has a negative view of rangers. Can anyone enlighten me on what a taig is?
I guess some sort of Irish catholic?
******s.
03-07-2012, 11:21 AM
Doncaster doing a presentation to the SFL now, why? He's in charge of the SPL, whats he got to do with the SFL?:confused:
He should be standing apologising for the mess and then he should be tendering his resignation.
03-07-2012, 11:24 AM
REceived a copy blog which claims that SFA knew Rangers were not eligible to have a FIFA licence next year- as per Senior source in Hampden. It goes on to raise the question-
If SPL/SFL/SFA believe Rangers need special treatment as is demonstrated by the parachute suggestion, how long have they known about Rangers problems and covered up for them (for the benefit of the game)? Hints that this could be C4s story today
03-07-2012, 11:24 AM
Perhaps he has been set up by the SPL clubs.....
03-07-2012, 11:30 AM
Neil Doncaster tells sfl that Sky, Espn and sport 5 deals at threat as contracts require RFC in spl in 2013/14 value 17.35 mill
Imagine signing up for that deal in the first place?
yeezus.
03-07-2012, 11:32 AM
I'm going to be annoyed if they enter the 1st division, but I'll never walk away from Scottish football... no matter how bad it gets.
03-07-2012, 11:32 AM
Anyone fancy putting together a breakdown of the media in Scotland and put them into Good / Average / Bad categories ?
You could do this for reporters on radio/twitter/t.v - this Rangers farce has definitely shown up a few :agree:
03-07-2012, 11:33 AM
Neil Doncaster tells sfl that Sky, Espn and sport 5 deals at threat as contracts require RFC in spl in 2013/14 value 17.35 mill
Comical Neilly.
Well done to all the SFL clubs intending to reject the proposal you have earned a load of respect from me and i assume many others.
Shows the corruption in the game, as it proves that - even if they were the worst team in the league - Rangers would never be relegated.
Kaiser_Sauzee
The precedent was set with Airdrieonians, Livingston and Gretna.
The Rangers should apply for Division 3. Anything else would be a sham and an embarrassment.
:agree: Utter disgrace.
Wonder how many millions will be lost if nobody wants to watch a rigged sport any more?
VickMackie
03-07-2012, 11:34 AM
The STV news Edinburgh is a joke.
And now for your local news. Camera pans to outside ibex with the latest developments on rangers. :faf:
03-07-2012, 11:36 AM
there should be more to report on scottish fitba as a whole with the huns in div 3. a chance to learn more about the smaller teams and towns they play in
mayo hibee
03-07-2012, 11:38 AM
When was that deal signed - was it under Donkey's time in charge of the SPL? If so, he needs to tender his resignation. This week.
03-07-2012, 11:38 AM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/rangers/109094-raith-director-we-are-being-bullied-and-lied-to-over-rangers-situation/
I have really grown to like several of the SFL clubs recently with their stance against what's going on here :agree:
03-07-2012, 11:39 AM
:agree: Utter disgrace.
Wonder how many millions will be lost if nobody wants to watch a rigged sport any more?
I suspect we may be about to find out as when the SFL clubs say no I fully expect a volte face from spl and a warm welcome offered to sevco fc
IFONLY
03-07-2012, 11:41 AM
And now for your local news. Camera pans to outside ibex with the latest developments on rangers. :faf:
I noticed that as well, they have the audacity to call it news from Edinburgh and the East.
03-07-2012, 11:43 AM
I noticed that as well, they have the audacity to call it news from Edinburgh and the East.
Fife is very OF focussed.
03-07-2012, 11:43 AM
Shows the corruption in the game, as it proves that - even if they were the worst team in the league - Rangers would never be relegated.
:agree: :rolleyes:
I thought Sky had come out and said nothing's going to change anyway regardless of where the new club play ? :confused:
03-07-2012, 11:44 AM
I suspect we may be about to find out as when the SFL clubs say no I fully expect a volte face from spl and a warm welcome offered to sevco fc
Don't think so. It's gone too far now - fans won't tolerate that degree of cynicism imo.
Caversham Green
03-07-2012, 11:47 AM
:agree: The assumption that an understrength Newco will automatically win promotion shows total contempt for the SFL1 clubs as well.
Newry Hibs
03-07-2012, 11:47 AM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/rangers/109094-raith-director-we-are-being-bullied-and-lied-to-over-rangers-situation/
I have really grown to like several of the SFL clubs recently with their stance against what's going on here :agree:
East Fife say 'No' ..... according to todays Sportday live thing on BBC sport website.
FOOTBALL
Scottish second division side East Fife have released a statement stating their belief newco Rangers should enter Scotland's third division at the start of the season.
"The board of directors of East Fife FC, however, is unanimous in its view that we shall not support any integrated plan that in our view compromises sporting integrity by involving the admission of any 'newco' directly into Division One," a statement on the club's website reads. "Any 'newco' must follow the normal application route into the bottom tier."
John_the_angus_hibby
03-07-2012, 11:48 AM
Talk about a bullet in the skull just to make sure they ared dead. This is getting more Tarantinoesque by the hour.
Ha, nice picture. Point well made and I know you are right, which is why I said justice will be how I feel when I see it, or when the dust settles. But, I am drawn to the dramatic side of this, can't help it and it is getting quite emotional. In a pretty complex and grey world this issue is allowing football fans in Scotland to stand on a clear platform of doing the right thing, or wanting the right thing and 'justice' to come to pass.
We may end up accepting grudgingly over time a grey, middle ground outcome. But from here it looks like a fudge and because we see an alternative is less appealing than it ever was.
But it's always nice to finish with a dramatic flurry, so ...
The next 24 hours will determine whether I share my love of the Hibernian experience with my grandchildren or not.
But if we sign Deano I'm ****ing there! :)
alexedwards
03-07-2012, 11:51 AM
Have Sky come out and said nothing's going to change anyway regardless of where the new club play ? :confused:
Believe it to be words to that effect but don't have a direct quote. Doncaster is scaremongering - we would require a direct quote from Sky to confirm their position. However, he does appear to be lying as Sky won't want to lose the Scottish subscriptions in any circumstance and would more than likely continue to support Scottish football.
IF Sky suggested differently they would be pretty much saying to viewers - "the sport we show is rigged."
03-07-2012, 11:51 AM
Have Sky come out and said nothing's going to change anyway regardless of where the new club play ? :confused:
I said this right at the start when ND banded about figures without backing up his claim. Show us the contract, the small print, and get a statement from Sky to back up your claims Neil ?
03-07-2012, 11:52 AM
East Fife say 'No' ..... according to todays Sportday live thing on BBC sport website.
FOOTBALL
Scottish second division side East Fife have released a statement stating their belief newco Rangers should enter Scotland's third division at the start of the season.
"The board of directors of East Fife FC, however, is unanimous in its view that we shall not support any integrated plan that in our view compromises sporting integrity by involving the admission of any 'newco' directly into Division One," a statement on the club's website reads. "Any 'newco' must follow the normal application route into the bottom tier."
Good old STV. Spinning the story again, and ignoring the facts.
East Fife say ANY NEWCO. They don't say "Rangers"
Integrity and the Accies :faf:
Many rumours of cash payments in broon envelopes :wink:
there's a morally WRONG
FOOTBALL
and there's a morally RIGHT :agree:
"Green is accusing SPL chairmen of bowing to fan power instead of acting for the good of Scottish football. (Daily Express)"
And there was little old me thinking that football was for the benefit of fans not businessmen in it for a quick buck. Green seems to forget that if the decent thing is done fans will still be around long after he has gone.
Video of Raith Director saying the SFA / SPL the game is corrupt
03-07-2012, 11:53 AM
It hasn't been signed. He's talking about the new as yet unsigned £80M over 5 years deal that's support to start the season after next.
03-07-2012, 11:54 AM
If Newco did get into div 3 then no doubt Sportsound would suddenly start to broadcast live games with Chick Hun being the touchline reporter.
To mimick Kevin Keegans finest moment - "I would love it, LOVE IT if they went to Div 3 and failed to get promoted"
03-07-2012, 11:54 AM
Now that's a statement.
Fantastic statement there from Stranraer and I just hope that other clubs at that level come out with a similar stance over the coming days.
There should be no way that Rangers are playing in anything other than the third division next season and if that ends up not being the case then it would be nothing short of a disgrace.
03-07-2012, 11:55 AM
I still can't get my head round the SPL Chairmen all coming out and saying no to the SPL and then seemingly taking the lead on trying to get them accepted to SFL1.
Are we quite sure on where this came from and how it's being led?
Rangers themsleves seem to have gone quite quiet on it all.
Hibstrooper
03-07-2012, 11:58 AM
I don't know if this has been covered in any of the 522 :eek: pages so far however I think more pressure needs to be put onto the BBC for a fair and equal division of spend to support the national game. All the recent panic around Rangers is all to do with TV money. We aren't going to get close to the English Sky deal however as we all contribute to BBC via our license fees I think we are right to question why they aren't supporting the game in Scotland to the same extent they are down South.
They've recently renewed their MOD rights for £180m (that's no live games, just a highlights package) on top of £15m a year for Championship games and highlights.
Assuming that the MOD rights are for 3 years that's £75m a year they are pumping into the English game on top of the ludicrous Sky and BT deal.
Does anyone know the figures of what they are contributing to the Scottish game, I doubt it is £7.5million a year which would give us a representative share and surely go someway to combatting some of the recent pressures/concerns.
03-07-2012, 11:58 AM
It hasn't been signed. He's talking about the new as yet unsigned £80M over 5 years deal that's support to start the season after next.
Even worse, if signed we'd now know for certain Rangers must play SPL football no matter what?
03-07-2012, 12:02 PM
Now that's a statement.
I almost forgive them for beating us in that game at er after reading that
03-07-2012, 12:05 PM
Three things .
1. Gordon Brown the horse racing guy told me a story once when he worked for the Daily Record .There was a good Hamilton meeting on one night and Brown offered to write up a feature for the paper . "No room for it" was the response from the editor . "Ally McCoist is going and probably some other Old Firm players" said Brown . "Take a photographer with you" said the editor without blinking.
2. A decent sized paper or even a few will go to the wall in the next five years . Print media is on the way out and this smells like self preservation.
3. News International hacked a murdered teenage girls phone . Read that last sentence back .
Couldn't agree more with your last 2 points. The Scottish media, and certainly Scottish sports journalism and the hierarchy of the papers they work for are en route to being a self-inflicted bust flush. Can't come soon enough, so that we're left with actual newspapers who, agree or disagree with what the angle they take, are relatively intelligent/thought provoking and don't treat their readers like drooling, one celled amoebas.
yeezus.
03-07-2012, 12:07 PM
We don't even get local news - we get news from Newcastle and Dumfries. :rolleyes:
03-07-2012, 12:14 PM
Sfa will not allow rfc newco into spl says Stewart Regan
Stage 1 tick. :thumbsup:
All this hassle seems to be about covering Doncaster's erse for agreeing a dreadful TV deal.
Jim Spence @bbcjimspence
SurferRosa
03-07-2012, 12:15 PM
Jim Spence @bbcjimspence (https://twitter.com/#%21/bbcjimspence) Sfa will not allow rfc newco into spl says Stewart Regan
green glory
03-07-2012, 12:16 PM
Reagan speaks some sense at least.
https://twitter.com/bbcjimspence/status/220128228302524416
03-07-2012, 12:18 PM
Petrie must've had a word with Regan :wink:
rubber mal
03-07-2012, 12:19 PM
Reagan speaks some sense at least.
https://twitter.com/bbcjimspence/status/220128228302524416
Can the Daily Record not over-rule the SFA though?
alfie
03-07-2012, 12:19 PM
Jim Spence @bbcjimspence (https://twitter.com/#%21/bbcjimspence) Sfa will not allow rfc newco into spl says Stewart Regan
Which is what we all agreed about 300 pages ago; Sevco dont meet the criteria for SPL anyway. And they wont for three years, so they might as well start in SFL3 (if the SFL will have them).
It appears they wont have the players or budget to play in the SPL either, but at least their stadium meets the criteria.
03-07-2012, 12:20 PM
hope this news isnt to soften us up before the blow that they'l allow them in the first. i just dont trust those running the game one bit
there's not a lot you can add to that well.said that man
LeighLoyal
Div 3 is the place for the new hun. They can't be sanctioned for Rangers FC's crimes because they are not Rangers FC, they are a new club with no history that happens to play at the same stadium. There is a structure in place that allows them to apply for SFL membership in Div 3. Any attempt to leverage them into SFL 1 would spell the end of Scottish football as a league based on sport. RFC ran up £140m of debts and liquidated (died!) to avoid payment and the newco (new club) should not benefit from that disgraceful event.
03-07-2012, 12:22 PM
Exactly. Doncaster should be emptied for that mistake alone.
The thing is though, the £17m is the SPL's loss. The SFL chairmen will have a wry smile and thinking "nae luck".
03-07-2012, 12:23 PM
no, but sally McCoist can
03-07-2012, 12:30 PM
Which equals commercial suicide, mass demonstrations, claims of lying, corruption and gross incompetence by the SFA, SPL and all those SPL clubs who vote to allow this Newco into the SPL - and in particular those that publicly stated they would not do so (incl Hibs). Going to be an interesting few days. I might well end up a Stranraer supporter at the end of it.
Div 3 is the place for the new hun. They can't be sanctioned for Rangers FC's crimes because they are not Rangers FC, they are a new club with no history that happens to play at the same stadium. There is a structure in place that allows them to apply for SFL membership in Div 3. Any attempt to leverage them into SFL 1 would spell the end of Scottish football as a league based on sport. RFC ran up £140m of debts and liquidated (died!) to avoid payment and the newco (new club) should not benefit from that disgraceful event.
And this is what Chairmen with votes to cast must remember.
[Edit -for-the-benefit-of-the-pedantically-minded :greengrin :
Yes, I KNOW they're no liquidated yet, but that is the route they've chosen.]
mglancy23
Dirkster23
Does that include the proposed SPL 2 though :dunno:
03-07-2012, 12:33 PM
Exactly. Doncaster should be emptied for that mistake alone.
The thing is though, the £17m is the SPL's loss. The SFL chairmen will have a wry smile and thinking "nae luck".
It appears its the new deal he's managed to secure? Even worse in my opinion, the new deal is only viable if the old firm are in the league, in fact the top 6. He needs booted in the bollox, and sacked as fast as humanly possible.
03-07-2012, 12:34 PM
Does that include the proposed SPL 2 though :dunno:
No idea yet.
03-07-2012, 12:38 PM
Jim Spence @bbcjimspence (http://twitter.com/#!/bbcjimspence)
Up to 6 SPL clubs at risk according to Stewart Regan. Sounds like option being presented is first division or nothing
Caversham Green
03-07-2012, 12:38 PM
Fair enough, but why is he only saying that now? Think of the trouble he could have saved by saying it at the outset.
03-07-2012, 12:40 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18687492
Anyone else sickened by the timing of this apology?
Certainly gives credence to Jim Traynor's article as a public apology is one of the areas the "rebel", "panicking" SPL chairman have allegedley given Rangers to address before they make a "dramtic U-turn" and vote the Newco back in.
I will be livid if the Huns get in Div 1 never mind the SPL.
I honestly think feelings are running so high among fans that if Rangers are in the SPL next season crowds will be laughably low and the atmosphere with regards SPL football from non-media types and non Rangers fans will range from apathetic to poisonous rage.
I have a feeling this will not end tomorrow and the meeting will be adjourned with no decision taken.
alexedwards
03-07-2012, 12:40 PM
Up to 6 SPL clubs at risk according to Stewart Regan. Sounds like option being presented is first division or nothing
Bollox.
03-07-2012, 12:41 PM
I wish to state, publicly if the Newco Rangers do not end up in SFL division 3 (or lower) my support will transfer to my local team.
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/danielcrowe/History.html
The player profiles are worth a read
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/danielcrowe/CurrentSquad.html
Jimmy Murray is 'local hero'
03-07-2012, 12:43 PM
Fair enough, but why is he only saying that now? Think of the trouble he could have saved by saying it at the outset.
Fan and club chairmen pressure maybe?
03-07-2012, 12:47 PM
One thing I want to know is do Club 12 have a website? Surely this is THE major criteria for SPL status ..
SneakersO'Toole
03-07-2012, 12:49 PM
But yet at least 7 SPL clubs have pubically came out and stated their intention to vote no to the newco?!?! Where are all the facts that back up these claims that have been made? Everything is guesswork.
Its more scaremongering drivel from the suits that run our game.
03-07-2012, 12:51 PM
But yet at least 7 SPL clubs have pubically came out and stated their intention to vote no to the newco?!?! Where are all the facts that back up these claims that have been made? Everything is guesswork.
Its more scaremongering drivel from the suits that run our game.
:agree: stains the lot of them!
03-07-2012, 01:01 PM
Certainly gives credence to Jim Traynor's article as a public apology is one of the areas the "rebel", "panicking" SPL chairman have allegedley given Rangers to address before they make a "dramtic U-turn" and vote the Newco back in.
I will be livid if the Huns get in Div 1 never mind the SPL.
I honestly think feelings are running so high among fans that if Rangers are in the SPL next season crowds will be laughably low and the atmosphere with regards SPL football from non-media types and non Rangers fans will range from apathetic to poisonous rage.
I have a feeling this will not end tomorrow and the meeting will be adjourned with no decision taken.
Who cares about an apology from a guy at what is, a new club.
Where's Whyte, where's Murray, where's Greg, Smith and all the other 'Rangers Men' who actually did the deeds?
03-07-2012, 01:02 PM
All this rubbish up to 6 teams could fold etc without the Newco is unreal. Hand on heart here, i'd rather my team stood up to the bullies of football even if it did mean the death of Hibs rather than playing in a corrupt league and being bullied for the rest of our days. This whole thing is already brought me to the brink blanking this farcical league. Anyone who is involved in trying to bring Newco into the Div 1. Should be booted. I'd love everyone to resign and start a new system altogether and bring in football men. Raith Chairman hit the nail on the head by saying they are a bunch of bullies. If they think they can get away with it then the teams should walk and leave the whole thing up in the air. To many holes in the SPL/SFA trying to just make cash off the ugly sisters.
03-07-2012, 01:04 PM
For all that will be made of this "contract" it was not a contract as such since Sky had never signed it iirc
The SPL could have draw up a proposal to buy Edinburgh castle for £1 but it's meaningless with siggies
Gus Fring
03-07-2012, 01:06 PM
What worries me most (and apologies if this has already been mentioned) Is that if the TV deal does hinge on Rangers being in the SPL in 2013/14 than that means they MUST win the 1st Division. It cannot be taken as a given that this will happen based on how "good" Rangers used to be! They still have a transfer embargo in place (that should stay in place!). What will happen is that they will essentially be allowed to run roughshod over the other SFL1 teams to "earn" promotion and anything that could harm them achieving that (red cards, bans, appeals, signings etc) will go in their favour so as not to upset Sky!
03-07-2012, 01:19 PM
I don't think there's any way that Sky or any other commercial partner can write into a contract who plays in the SPL. I don't believe they ever have and I don't believe they ever will.
What could happen is Sky can say, "hmmm, doesn't look like any Huns in the SPL in the next year or 2, we're not too keen on signing off that deal we verbally agreed, let's knock £5M or so off, shall we?"
It is ludicrous to suggest that the SPL would lose the entire tv deal, but even if Sky decided to walk away it's ludicrous to suggest we couldn't find another broadcaster or even resurrect the old SPL tv idea. There is no way the entire £16M could possibly be at risk unless the SPL decided not to sell its tv rights at all.
Doncaster has badly misjudged the public mood at every step, now he is badly misjudging the mood at SFL clubs. Hopefully, he is finding out just how badly right about now. :wink:
SurferRosa
What worries me most (and apologies if this has already been mentioned) Is that if the TV deal does hinge on Rangers being in the SPL in 2013/14 than that means they MUST win the 1st Division. It cannot be taken as a given that this will happen based on how "good" Rangers used to be! They still have a transfer embargo in place (that should stay in place!). What will happen is that they will essentially be allowed to run roughshod over the other SFL1 teams to "earn" promotion and anything that could harm them achieving that (red cards, bans, appeals, signings etc) will go in their favour so as not to upset Sky!
A good point. It would be very interesting to see how many refereeing decisions would go in their favour...:hmmm:
calmac12000
Woe to you oh Scottish football fan, for you have turned your back on the lord your god that is Rangers football club. You have been deaf to the cries of the Pharisees in the SFA/SFL when they begged you to turn away from the road to perdition and eternal damnation that must surely follow the exclusion of Rangers from the SPL. You have gainsaid the scribes of the Scottish media, who have striven earnestly to set before you the great lamentations that will surely arise in the land as a result of "Hungeddon". You are deaf to the prophecies of great weeping and gnashing of teeth, that were foretold by the ancient prophets such as Gordon Smith who wondered the land for countless days after his expulsion from the Garden of Edam. You must remember that these sins will lie on you and your children's children at least until Rangers are undisputed kings of Scottish football.
It is not too late, realise your sin, support the newco and abandon any pretence at honour, dignity and fairness.
Before its too late gonnae save the Rangers!
03-07-2012, 01:20 PM
James Matthews@SkyScotSky sources: SPL Chief exec Neil Doncaster's plan for #rangers (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23rangers) 1st division re-entry "badly received" by SFL chairmen at meeting
03-07-2012, 01:23 PM
james matthews@skyscotsky sources: Spl chief exec neil doncaster's plan for #rangers (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23rangers) 1st division re-entry "badly received" by sfl chairmen at meeting
03-07-2012, 01:23 PM
James Matthews@SkyScotSky sources: SPL Chief exec Neil Doncaster's plan for #rangers (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23rangers) 1st division re-entry "badly received" by SFL chairmen at meeting
I never saw that coming, :wink: I wonder what donkeys next move is, he must be running out of scams soon?
03-07-2012, 01:25 PM
A good point. It would be very interesting to see how many more refereeing decisions would go in their favour...:hmmm:
Fixed that for you. :greengrin
03-07-2012, 01:26 PM
They should make these meetings available on pay per view to show some transparency - I am sure they would make a load of money through that.
Seems Scottish Football is becoming more corrupt than FIFA with voting etc! :rolleyes:
The way I see things going -
Newco 100% not in SPL - we knew that a while ago - still think Celtic's silence is a disgrace.
Newco 100% won't be in Div 1 - correct decision
Newco will go into Division 3 - but avoid transfer ban - have they not just signed two players over the last few days anyway :confused:
The question is - how will the media adapt with Newco out of the SPL - will they get any mentions on the news / radio / Sportscene (t.v) etc - like they currently do - hopefully will change all the Rangers and Celtic chat we are used to and other clubs will take the spotlight more.
03-07-2012, 01:28 PM
I never saw that coming, :wink: I wonder what donkeys next move is, he must be running out of scams soon?
Can someone outline why there is no vote at this SFL meeting? Given the season is a month away how many more delays before everyone is clear what is happening to Rangers and the other teams involved in any divisional moves.
John_the_angus_hibby
03-07-2012, 01:29 PM
hope this news isnt to soften us up before the blow that they'l allow them in the first. i just dont trust those running the game one bit
This. Until they kick of the first game in the 3rd or not at all I won't believe it!
03-07-2012, 01:31 PM
Can someone outline why there is no vote at this SFL meeting? Given the season is a month away how many more delays before everyone is clear what is happening to Rangers and the other teams involved in any divisional moves.
Presumably because there was no application as the SPL vote has yet to take place this Thursday.
It is clear that the SFL do not want to know about Doncaster's harebrained scheme.
dchibs
03-07-2012, 01:37 PM
Doncaster must go-SIMPLES
Hibby-Nessie
03-07-2012, 01:38 PM
STV North we get a wee bit about ICT or Ross County, Aberdeen and Dundee Utd, the rest is OF. Have also noticed 9 times out of 10 they always show them scoring against Hibs :confused:
green glory
03-07-2012, 01:39 PM
Doncaster must go-SIMPLES
FACT! End of.
03-07-2012, 01:54 PM
STV North we get a wee bit about ICT or Ross County, Aberdeen and Dundee Utd, the rest is OF. Have also noticed 9 times out of 10 they always show them scoring against Hibs :confused:
You think that's bad, we Pitlochry residents also get the Aberdeen opt out so any Tayside story is missed as that's the Dundee opt out!!
03-07-2012, 01:55 PM
He does not miss the powers that run our game, says it how it is....100% agree with him....
03-07-2012, 01:58 PM
My father used to work with Turnbull Hutton at Diageo. He's one of the good guys.
03-07-2012, 01:59 PM
Rangers' psychological ineptitude has been remarkable. If this type of apology had come as soon as Green took over and been accompanied by the "concessions" he's apparently now offering then Rangers would be looking at a yes from the SPL tomorrow. At least some of the players who've left would still be at Ibrox and he could have sold a few to keep the cash-flow moving.
All that was needed to keep the SPL chairmen onside was a statement that the club was sorry about the behaviour of the previous owner - not in keeping with the club's values blah blah - we accept the transfer ban punishment waffle waffle etc etc. I think the Court of Session appeal was what started turning everything against them.
I'll just throw in another small rules detail. The SFL requires a two year period of notice for a member to leave. The only documented exception to this is a club entering the SPL as 1st division champions. Neither Dunfermline nor Dundee meet this condition so they have to stay in the SFL next season unless compensation for breach of the notice period is paid.
SurferRosa
03-07-2012, 02:03 PM
Fixed that for you. :greengrin
Newco will go into Division 3 - but avoid transfer ban - have they not just signed two players over the last few days anyway :confused:
I think they can sign, or re-sign, players that are already there.
alfie
03-07-2012, 02:07 PM
I think they can sign, or re-sign, players that are already there.
RFC can re-sign any existing contracted players, Sevco are a new team and dont have any sanctions against them. Unless I'm very much mistaken? :confused:
AllyT
03-07-2012, 02:11 PM
RFC can re-sign any existing contracted players, Sevco are a new team and dont have any sanctions against them. Unless I'm very much mistaken? :confused:
Surely they need an SFA licence or something to be able to sign players? If so do they have one?
alfie
03-07-2012, 02:14 PM
I assume that they can give a player a contract - like any other employee, but as they aren't a member of the SFA, they cant register any players with the SFA, or play in any matches under SFA jurisdiction (e.g. SFL). It's a quandary wrapped up in an enigma! :wink:
John_the_angus_hibby
03-07-2012, 02:17 PM
Rangers' psychological ineptitude has been remarkable. If this type of apology had come as soon as Green took over and been accompanied by the "concessions" he's apparently now offering then Rangers would be looking at a yes from the SPL tomorrow. At least some of the players who've left would still be at Ibrox and he could have sold a few to keep the cash-flow moving.
All that was needed to keep the SPL chairmen onside was a statement that the club was sorry about the behaviour of the previous owner - not in keeping with the club's values blah blah - we accept the transfer ban punishment waffle waffle etc etc. I think the Court of Session appeal was what started turning everything against them.
I'll just throw in another small rules detail. The SFL requires a two year period of notice for a member to leave. The only documented exception to this is a club entering the SPL as 1st division champions. Neither Dunfermline nor Dundee meet this condition so they have to stay in the SFL next season unless compensation for breach of the notice period is paid.
This has been a massive fail and one that will haunt them and the game. If this had been the public position and if they took leadership in demonstrating contrition with the argument of trying to achieve that and limiting the financial blow back on the league, then they may have mitigated a huge level of opinion forming against them. The demented fans take their lead from the numpties who run them.
But when you see the ex players, ex suckers at the teats (wedgia) and the sort of guys who are attracted to run them, such an early apology was impossible as it goes against everything they believe. Their RIGHT to lord over everyone else.
Damn them.
03-07-2012, 02:20 PM
I assume that they can give a player a contract - like any other employee, but as they aren't a member of the SFA, they cant register any players with the SFA, or play in any matches under SFA jurisdiction (e.g. SFL). It's a quandary wrapped up in an enigma! :wink:
What's Sandy Jardine's take on this? He's the razor-sharp analyst I'd always look to for clarity.
alfie
03-07-2012, 02:24 PM
What's Sandy Jardine's take on this? He's the razor-sharp analyst I'd always look to for clarity.
I know he would be the first person I would call if I had any questions about TUPE regulations or contract issues! :agree:
03-07-2012, 02:36 PM
Excellent statement from Stranraer FC :top marksIt's a pity the people at the top of our game have nae such integrity. The people at the top end just make speeches about it tae try and pull the wool over folks eyes tae get them tae part with their money but they have nae ****in' idea what it is. At least the shyster running Killie was honest if nothing else, he openly admitted that money and greed are more important than doing the right thing, as for the rest of them :bitchy:
03-07-2012, 02:45 PM
This has been a massive fail and one that will haunt them and the game. If this had been the public position and if they took leadership in demonstrating contrition with the argument of trying to achieve that and limiting the financial blow back on the league, then they may have mitigated a huge level of opinion forming against them. The demented fans take their lead from the numpties who run them.
But when you see the ex players, ex suckers at the teats (wedgia) and the sort of guys who are attracted to run them, such an early apology was impossible as it goes against everything they believe. Their RIGHT to lord over everyone else.
Damn them.
Yes. They completely fell on the sword of their own arrogance and sense of entitlement. If they'd had the savvy to say this at the start, they probably would have stood a good chance. But the numpty tendency attached to the club made it completely impossible to issue such words (as patently insincere as they are) without being slapped down first.
I some ways its even more pathetic to such grovelling transparently opportunistic politicking. Much too little, far too late.
03-07-2012, 02:45 PM
Video of Raith Director saying the SFA / SPL the game is corruptI'd like tae see anybody make a case against that.
green glory
03-07-2012, 02:51 PM
16 of the 30 clubs required to vote yes if Newhun to get into SFL1.
https://twitter.com/bbcchrismclaug/status/220167454851207168
03-07-2012, 02:53 PM
I wish to state, publicly if the Newco Rangers do not end up in SFL division 3 (or lower) my support will transfer to my local team.
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/danielcrowe/History.html
The player profiles are worth a read
http://homepage.ntlworld.com/danielcrowe/CurrentSquad.html
Jimmy Murray is 'local hero'
:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth
SneakersO'Toole
03-07-2012, 02:54 PM
Is that voting ratio actually written into the rules or is this another thing being made up by the Doncaster and Co to save Rangers?
16 out of 30 isn't much of a majority in my book.
03-07-2012, 02:57 PM
That cant be right, surely it should be 28-2?
yeezus.
03-07-2012, 02:58 PM
Excellent statement from Stranraer FC :top marksIt's a pity the people at the top of our game have nae such integrity. The people at the top end just make speeches about it tae try and pull the wool over folks eyes tae get them tae part with their money but they have nae ****in' idea what it is. At least the shyster running Killie was honest if nothing else, he openly admitted that money and greed are more important than doing the right thing, as for the rest of them :bitchy:
:thumbsup:the wee toon has suffered enough at the hands of Rangers anyway. Great statement.
http://www.stranraerfc.org/index.php/9-uncategorised/222-club-statement
03-07-2012, 03:03 PM
Is that voting ratio actually written into the rules or is this another thing being made up by the Doncaster and Co to save Rangers?
Looks like the rules are being bent at least. The draft proposal on Friday talked about play-offs from SFL1 to the SPL, which would involve reconstruction. That definitely needs a 2/3 majority. If they've taken that out of the proposal to just make it a 50%+1 vote, then the proposal is a lot less attractive to First Division clubs.
03-07-2012, 03:04 PM
Sky previously came out and said they wouldn't walk away from Scottish football, but they would want re negotiate the deal if rangers were not in the league. So it would seem that Doncaster and the rest of them are basing it on sky re negotiating the rights and buying them for nothing! Still concerned that Doncaster would accept that!
yeezus.
03-07-2012, 03:10 PM
Sky previously came out and said they wouldn't walk away from Scottish football, but they would want re negotiate the deal if rangers were not in the league. So it would seem that Doncaster and the rest of them are basing it on sky re negotiating the rights and buying them for nothing! Still concerned that Doncaster would accept that!
:agree: The scaremongering that Rangers fans are embarking on is unbelievable. I didn't realise that Sky would renegotiate..
03-07-2012, 03:10 PM
WTF has New Rangers got to do with Doncaster now anyway? He's in charge of the SPL...his league has lost a club, he should just focus on replacing them with the team that finished 2nd in the SFL1 and let the SFL sort out who replaces them.
He's totally overstepping his remit and you can bet every last pound you have that this is only because it's Rangers (although it's not Rangers cause they are deid, its Servco and the sooner people start understanding that the better!!)
Erse.
Jim Spence @bbcjimspence (http://twitter.com/#%21/bbcjimspence)
Up to 6 SPL clubs at risk according to Stewart Regan. Sounds like option being presented is first division or nothingYeah Regan.Six more clubs at risk of going into liquidation and getting away with it if sevco are voted into the SPL from nowhere.WHAT PLANET ARE THESE GUYS ON?
03-07-2012, 03:18 PM
Just been all the way through their rules and NOWHERE does it have a 16/30 vote, it does refere to a 75% majority.
03-07-2012, 03:25 PM
PFA SCOTLAND RESPONSE TO ALLEGATION PLAYERS ACTING IN BREACH OF CONTRACTJack Ross
3rd July 2012
http://pfascotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/PFAScotland_LOGO-324x166.jpg (http://pfascotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/PFAScotland_LOGO.jpg)
PFA Scotland understands that Mr Charles Green has written to all clubs in the English Premier League and Championship alleging that our members who have exercised their legal right not to be employed by Sevco Scotland Ltd (newco), have acted in breach of contract. This is repeated and PFA Scotland will shortly be writing to all clubs outlining our Solicitor’s legal view on this matter and sharing with them legal guidance issued by the Scottish FA which we believe supports the Players’ position. Whilst it is accepted that newco is entitled to argue breach of contract, the Players Union is dismayed that attempts are being made to prevent our members from playing professional football simply because the have exercised their legal right not to transfer to newco.
PFA Scotland President and FIFPro Executive Member Tony Higgins said ” I haven’t spoken to a single Employment or Sports Solicitor who agrees with Mr Green’s interpretation of the law. Our members are being advised by our employment specialists, Brian Napier QC and Wil Van Megen, Head of Legal Department at FIFPro. We are supremely confident that under TUPE and European Law on basic principles of freedom of movement, our members are entitled to sign for new clubs.”
PFA Scotland’s Lawyer, Margaret Gribbon of Bridge Litigation who acts on behalf of the majority of the objectors said “It is newco who have in actual fact acted unlawfully by failing to inform and consult with Rangers players prior to the TUPE transfer. Newco has never employed the Players or held their registration, yet they believe they are entitled to prevent the Scottish FA from releasing the Players’ registrations to the new company. Newco is not a member of any footballing body in Scotland and it is unclear what league they will be playing in at the start of the season. It is simply not credible therefore for Mr Green to accuse the players of being motivated by financial gain. The Players’ reasons for leaving are purely professional and Mr Green would not have had a club to buy had it not been for their salary sacrifices. We do not consider that the newco’s allegation of breach of contract will stand up to scrutiny and so in the event of the Players’ registrations not being issued to a new club, we will look to FIFA and/or the Court of Session for a speedy remedy.”
03-07-2012, 03:27 PM
brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinSfl clubs will meet again next Thursday to decide if Rangers newco will be allowed into SFL. 50% vote required. More soon
Jings.:rolleyes:
This will still be going on at Christmas.
03-07-2012, 03:30 PM
brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinSfl clubs will meet again next Thursday to decide if Rangers newco will be allowed into SFL. 50% vote required. More soon
So it doesn't even need a majority?!
SneakersO'Toole
03-07-2012, 03:32 PM
Just been all the way through their rules and NOWHERE does it have a 16/30 vote, it does refere to a 75% majority.
Why oh why does that not surprise me.
Messrs Doncaster, Regan et al evidentally have absolutely no shame. Flouting the rules when they are clear as day for everyone else to see.
03-07-2012, 03:34 PM
PFA SCOTLAND RESPONSE TO ALLEGATION PLAYERS ACTING IN BREACH OF CONTRACT
Jack Ross
3rd July 2012
http://pfascotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/PFAScotland_LOGO-324x166.jpg (http://pfascotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/PFAScotland_LOGO.jpg)
PFA Scotland understands that Mr Charles Green has written to all clubs in the English Premier League and Championship alleging that our members who have exercised their legal right not to be employed by Sevco Scotland Ltd (newco), have acted in breach of contract. This is repeated and PFA Scotland will shortly be writing to all clubs outlining our Solicitor’s legal view on this matter and sharing with them legal guidance issued by the Scottish FA which we believe supports the Players’ position. Whilst it is accepted that newco is entitled to argue breach of contract, the Players Union is dismayed that attempts are being made to prevent our members from playing professional football simply because the have exercised their legal right not to transfer to newco.
PFA Scotland President and FIFPro Executive Member Tony Higgins said ” I haven’t spoken to a single Employment or Sports Solicitor who agrees with Mr Green’s interpretation of the law. Our members are being advised by our employment specialists, Brian Napier QC and Wil Van Megen, Head of Legal Department at FIFPro. We are supremely confident that under TUPE and European Law on basic principles of freedom of movement, our members are entitled to sign for new clubs.”
PFA Scotland’s Lawyer, Margaret Gribbon of Bridge Litigation who acts on behalf of the majority of the objectors said “It is newco who have in actual fact acted unlawfully by failing to inform and consult with Rangers players prior to the TUPE transfer. Newco has never employed the Players or held their registration, yet they believe they are entitled to prevent the Scottish FA from releasing the Players’ registrations to the new company. Newco is not a member of any footballing body in Scotland and it is unclear what league they will be playing in at the start of the season. It is simply not credible therefore for Mr Green to accuse the players of being motivated by financial gain. The Players’ reasons for leaving are purely professional and Mr Green would not have had a club to buy had it not been for their salary sacrifices. We do not consider that the newco’s allegation of breach of contract will stand up to scrutiny and so in the event of the Players’ registrations not being issued to a new club, we will look to FIFA and/or the Court of Session for a speedy remedy.”
Even further proof that Charles Green is not a fit and proper person to be running a football club - he is an arrogant gob***** who, like Sandy Jardine and Ally McCoist, has blatantly tried to play to the knuckle-dragging element of the Rangers support to try and intimidate and vilify the very players whose acceptance of 75% pay cuts kept the old company in business til the end of the season.
03-07-2012, 03:35 PM
brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinLivingston chairman says clubs warned of "financial Armageddon" if vote goes against Rangers newco more @bbcsportsound (http://www.hibs.net/#!/bbcsportsound)
03-07-2012, 03:37 PM
brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinLivingston chairman says clubs warned of "financial Armageddon" if vote goes against Rangers newco more @bbcsportsound (http://www.hibs.net/#!/bbcsportsound)is that the same as being lied tae and threatened?
What a despicable shower of twisted lying *******s we have running our game :bitchy:
brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinLivingston chairman says clubs warned of "financial Armageddon" if vote goes against Rangers newco more @bbcsportsound (http://www.hibs.net/#%21/bbcsportsound)Hardly surprising givin their location.Plus a wee brown envelope i'm sure.This is stinking
03-07-2012, 03:39 PM
:agree: The scaremongering that Rangers fans are embarking on is unbelievable. I didn't realise that Sky would renegotiate..
This is for a deal that hasn't been signed yet, so Sky are well within their rights to withdraw that offer.
I suspect strongly that they wouldn't change the current deal. Sky have enough heat on them as it is without the bad press that would follow being seen to try and influence the make up of a league and the status of the tax cheats.
A new renegotiated deal plus a fairer income distribution wouldn't likely hurt us all that much. Celtic will bare the brunt.
03-07-2012, 03:43 PM
They would renegotiate on the deal that is due to be signed. I dont think it stated that there must be x amount of old firm games, but as it hasnt been signed they can re negotiate. The media, Rangers and the SPL are basing their projections of lost income on the basis that there would be no revenue from commercial streams at all. IMO the deals that are already signed wont have a clause about Rangers not being in the SPL, however, if they are up for renewal they will not pay as much. If SKY didnt show as many games and therefore the deal was worth less, I dont see that it would be a bad thing as more normal kick off times would benefit people.
03-07-2012, 03:45 PM
This is all bollocks. If the future TV deals are the missing £16M, then how can the clubs miss what they have never had? And who would the vast majority of that cash go to anyway?
The SFA/SPL must really think that we're all complete idiots if they think that they can convince us that we need Rangers in the SPL in order to generate the finance that they and Celtic gobble up the vast majority of anyway, in order to maintain the huge gulf that already exists (or did exist) between them and the rest.
If clubs haven't learned not to rely on TV money after the previous collapses of SPL TV and Setanta, then hell mend them.
03-07-2012, 03:46 PM
So far I can only think the following teams have declared. If it is a 50/50 split not looking good. Feel free to update
Against Rangers entry to Div 1 (7)
Raith
Stranraer
East Fife
Dunfermline
Livingston
Clyde
Dundee
For (1)
Hamilton
LeighLoyal
03-07-2012, 03:46 PM
Just about the death of Scottish football then. If they are allowed into SFL 1 my support for Scottish football ends that day as it's now a pointless exercise. £140m of debt avoided, liquidation, take 12 months in SFL1 as punishment. Beyond a joke.
03-07-2012, 03:47 PM
This is for a deal that hasn't been signed yet, so Sky are well within their rights to withdraw that offer.
I suspect strongly that they wouldn't change the current deal. Sky have enough heat on them as it is without the bad press that would follow being seen to try and influence the make up of a league and the status of the tax cheats.
A new renegotiated deal plus a fairer income distribution wouldn't likely hurt us all that much. Celtic will bare the brunt.
Correct its for the new deal, they wouldnt walk away but they would re negotiate so it would mean less for the SPL but not the levels that Doncaster and the rest would have you believe. I am starting to think that the SPL, Media and Rangers are starting to worry that this may not be such a bad thing for non old firm clubs and could actually lead to become a benefit, financially, to other clubs. If 2 or 3 years down the line and Scottish football was functioning fine without Rangers in the top flight then they may struggle to regain the strangle hold, although I am sure the media will do their best to glorify the years that Rangers were in the top flight as being so much better.
03-07-2012, 03:48 PM
Sorry if already posted but this Q&A with David Longmuir on Express website is interesting
Q: “David, the document which you sent out to your member clubs did seem terribly slanted.
A: “Towards what?”
Q: “Towards allowing Rangers to be gerrymandered into the First Division.”
A: “I’m sure there will be many opinions on the document but it was a factual document: that’s the current reality.”
Q: “Well, I just wanted to ask you about a couple of the claims.”
A: “I’m not able to give you any more than what is in the document at the moment. Our meeting is not until Tuesday.”
Q: “Could you explain the claim that the settlement agreement is at risk if Rangers start in the Third Division?”
A: “I’ll be explaining that to the clubs on Tuesday. The clubs come first at the moment, I’m afraid.”
Q: “Actually, it seems as though Rangers come first: that’s how this document comes across.”
A: “Well, I only have one responsibility and that is to the clubs of the SFL. They will come first.”
Q: “Earlier this month you said: ‘There would be no provision for any newco Rangers to go into the First Division rather than the Third Division’. So what has changed in the last two weeks?”
A: “The stark reality of the position is the key to this situation.”
Q: “Has there been a great deal of coercion from the SPL and the SFA regarding this issue?”
A: “There has been a lot of consultation.”
Q: “But not coercion?”
A: “I am saying only that there has been a lot of consultation and discussion and people taking a reality check.”
Q: “Do you think that it’s essential for the well-being of Scottish football for this [Rangers 2012 in the First Division] to succeed?”
A: “All I want is for Scottish football to thrive and survive. That’s my main ambition.”
Whole article can be seem here http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/330177/League-chief-faces-tough-questions/
03-07-2012, 03:49 PM
This is all bollocks. If the future TV deals are the missing £16M, then how can the clubs miss what they have never had? And who would the vast majority of that cash go to anyway?
The SFA/SPL must really think that we're all complete idiots if they think that they can convince us that we need Rangers in the SPL in order to generate the finance that they and Celtic gobble up the vast majority of anyway, in order to maintain the huge gulf that already exists (or did exist) between them and the rest.
If clubs haven't learned not to rely on TV money after the previous collapses of SPL TV and Setanta, then hell mend them.
They will use revenue projections to calculate budgets etc, but in this instance its risky basing your budgets on a revenue stream that is yet to be confirmed. The SKY deal in question hasnt been signed so it would be risky to have been calculating budgets based on that.
03-07-2012, 03:49 PM
Is that SFL or SFL 1?
By next Thursday is he meaning 12th July how ironic is that? The Airdrie chairman may be busy that day? :greengrin
calmac12000
03-07-2012, 03:50 PM
Its surely not a normal negotating practise to sabotage your own side before any negotiations take place. This is surely precisely what Donkey Doncaster is doing with all his "the end of the world is nigh" garbage. I am extremely reluctant ever to see anyone loss their livelihood, but I would heartily suggest Mr. Doncaster urgently consider his position. Before it becomes untennable.
Emerald
03-07-2012, 03:50 PM
FIFA and UEFA should really be getting involved at this point. When club chairmen and the rest of Scottish football fans are saying the game here is corrupt, something should be done. Football should be a fair competition on a level playing field, not that it ever has been here. This goes to prove just how bad things actually are. Its the desperate last throws of a doomed mafia (Romanov is not far wrong). They all deserve to be burried for this utter scandal. :devil:
03-07-2012, 03:53 PM
the annan ath chairman looked raging on the tv earlier he will prob vote against:flag::flag::flag:
03-07-2012, 03:53 PM
Its surely not a normal negotating practise to sabotage your own side before any negotiations take place. This is surely precisely what Donkey Doncaster is doing with all his "the end of the world is nigh" garbage. I am extremely reluctant ever to see anyone loss their livelihood, but I would heartily suggest Mr. Doncaster urgently consider his position. Before it becomes untennable.
Its been untenable for months?
03-07-2012, 03:54 PM
FIFA and UEFA should really be getting involved at this point. When club chairmen and the rest of Scottish football fans are saying the game here is corrupt, something should be done. Football should be a fair competition on a level playing field, not that it ever has been here. This goes to prove just how bad things actually are. Its the desperate last throws of a doomed mafia (Romanov is not far wrong). They all deserve to be burried for this utter scandal. :devil:
Completely spot on.
03-07-2012, 03:55 PM
Doncaster is at it. :rolleyes:
Posted by "corsica" on the RTC blog, who has a good track record, quoting a friend described as a "senior News International employee".
“any statement about Sky’s position beyond our statement that we will not walk away in relation to Scottish football is sheer fantasy. We have not even discussed or considered renegotiation. That’s not to say it won’t happen but it has NOT been discussed. We have not even intimated to anyone within Scottish football that we will seek to renegotiate”.
A recent article from the Sun (who let's face it are going to get the inside track here):
But last night the source said Sky chiefs had reacted with fury at one newspaper’s claims they’re on the brink of “tearing up” the contract if the Light Blues are dumped.
One senior source told The Scottish Sun: “Sky has never, ever discussed pulling out of covering Scottish football. We have not discussed that possibility either with the SPL or any other footballing authority.
“Nor has that been considered within Sky despite all the problems being faced by Scottish football at present.”
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4378835/We-wont-walk-away-but-we-want-new-deal.html
03-07-2012, 03:55 PM
St. Johnstone say they will vote no tomorrow.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2012/07/03/rangers-in-crisis-st-johnstone-sticking-to-their-guns-over-newco-vote-86908-23903956/?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed
Hibs and Aberdeen confirmed they would vote no tomorrow in their statements late last week.
03-07-2012, 03:57 PM
A recent article from the Sun (who let's face it are going to get the inside track here):
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4378835/We-wont-walk-away-but-we-want-new-deal.html
I wonder if the Sun will run a story on this in the next week, which will blow this scaremongering out of the water? Good story for the paper, good PR for Sky.
LeighLoyal
03-07-2012, 03:57 PM
The whole of Scottish football should be supended by FIFA/UEFA for bringing the game into disrepute globally if CheatCo walk back after 12 months,
03-07-2012, 04:00 PM
I wonder if the Sun will run a story on this in the next week, which will blow this scaremongering out of the water? Good story for the paper, good PR for Sky.
nice 1 back to 3oclock kick offs on saturdays for all then:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :flag::flag::flag:
yeezus.
03-07-2012, 04:04 PM
They would renegotiate on the deal that is due to be signed. I dont think it stated that there must be x amount of old firm games, but as it hasnt been signed they can re negotiate. The media, Rangers and the SPL are basing their projections of lost income on the basis that there would be no revenue from commercial streams at all. IMO the deals that are already signed wont have a clause about Rangers not being in the SPL, however, if they are up for renewal they will not pay as much. If SKY didnt show as many games and therefore the deal was worth less, I dont see that it would be a bad thing as more normal kick off times would benefit people.
Exactly, Hibs fans travelling up to Inverness 4 times in previous seasons for non-3 o'clock kick-off's was mad.
03-07-2012, 04:07 PM
if its written in the rules that 75% of the vote is needed to change things can someone not challenge the 50% theve came out with now? hopefully it wont matter anyway.
also goin by a couple things put on here linked to twitter, is the vote now for them to get in the first division or nothing at all?
SneakersO'Toole
03-07-2012, 04:09 PM
76. MAJORITY REQUIREMENT TO AMEND MAJORITY REQUIREMENTS
Any resolution to alter the requisite majority to carry a resolution to amend
the required majority to alter a Rule shall itself require a seventy five per cent
(75%) majority of the Members.
Maybe I'm going blind in my ripe old age of 28 but I don't see anything within the above to say that 16/30 is a sufficient voting ratio to pass through something of this magnitude?!?!
03-07-2012, 04:14 PM
alex thomson@alextomoAirdrie Chairman and Football League President Jim Ballantyne has several hundred Rangers shares
He also said earlier that Campbell Ogilvie had 4000 Rangers' shares, which he transferred too his wife when he went to Hearts.
03-07-2012, 04:31 PM
alex thomson@alextomoAirdrie Chairman and Football League President Jim Ballantyne has several hundred Rangers shares
He also said earlier that Campbell Ogilvie had 4000 Rangers' shares, which he transferred too his wife when he went to Hearts.
Not worth the paper they are printed on now. :greengrin
03-07-2012, 04:45 PM
The great football swindle is about to happen...
03-07-2012, 04:49 PM
Up to 6 SPL clubs at risk according to Stewart Regan.
Well I'm guessing it's not one of the clubs that have publicly stated that they are voting NO. That only leaves 6 clubs, 1 of which has already been liquidated and one of the others is CELTIC?
I never knew things were so bad down Parkhead way .. I'd be gutted if they ended up going into liquidation as well!
03-07-2012, 04:54 PM
What time are they going to vote?
03-07-2012, 04:56 PM
All I think about now is just how corrupt the guys who run our game are. Doncaster, Regan and Longmuir, totally corrupt, totally out of their depth. All member clubs should be demanding their resignations immediately. The document that was outed last week was shocking and insulting to all other clubs and supporter's.....Not bothered about the game, or clubs outwith the Old Firm....At least Turnbull Hutton spoke of the reality on the Hampden steps....
I would love to see FIFA come down on these clowns like a ton of bricks....
03-07-2012, 05:07 PM
They won't though.
03-07-2012, 05:12 PM
They won't though.
They will, if it's not sorted out fairly!
03-07-2012, 05:13 PM
All I think about now is just how corrupt the guys who run our game are. Doncaster, Regan and Longmuir, totally corrupt, totally out of their depth. All member clubs should be demanding their resignations immediately. The document that was outed last week was shocking and insulting to all other clubs and supporter's.....Not bothered about the game, or clubs outwith the Old Firm....At least Turnbull Hutton spoke of the reality on the Hampden steps....
Turnbull Hutton is more likely to be sanctioned for calling them corrupt:rolleyes:
03-07-2012, 05:13 PM
The great football swindle is about to happen...
Yep. Of that I am confident.
The death of Scottish football that has been foretold will happen, and that's from the fans of the good, honest, law abiding clubs deciding that they cannot bear to see the teams they have invested in financially and emotionally play in a league created by hustlers and con men.
03-07-2012, 05:14 PM
All I think about now is just how corrupt the guys who run our game are. Doncaster, Regan and Longmuir, totally corrupt, totally out of their depth.
No more highlighted that Longmuir's TOTAL change of opinion regarding Rangers in SFL1!
Last week he's saying that there is no way that they would get into SFL1 .. a couple of (behind the scenes) meetings with Green, Reagan and Donkeycaster and, lo and behold, today he's saying that it's a necessity to prevent an armageddon-like collapse of Scottish football!!
03-07-2012, 05:20 PM
No more highlighted that Longmuir's TOTAL change of opinion regarding Rangers in SFL1!
Last week he's saying that there is no way that they would get into SFL1 .. a couple of (behind the scenes) meetings with Green, Reagan and Donkeycaster and, lo and behold, today he's saying that it's a necessity to prevent an armageddon-like collapse of Scottish football!!
A week's a long time in football. :greengrin
03-07-2012, 05:20 PM
I hope that Alex Thomson (and anyone else seriously probing the corruption involved) manages to get a proper BBC/Channel 4 analysis of what has gone on this week .. before the SFL vote next week!
This scaremongering is BEYOND corrupt!
Even SKY are issuing statements that the threats of lost TV deals and figures of £17m are absolute bollocks! And that they have not even spoken to anyone about renogiation, never mind "walking away"!
Emerald
03-07-2012, 05:23 PM
Yep. Of that I am confident.
The death of Scottish football that has been foretold will happen, and that's from the fans of the good, honest, law abiding clubs deciding that they cannot bear to see the teams they have invested in financially and emotionally play in a league created by hustlers and con men.
Its not a league anymore, it is a staged show for the benefit of the old firm. How can any club justify asking the paying public to hand over £400 to watch that. Roll up roll up, give us your dosh and we'll make sure this sham of a league facilitates Rangers and Celtic to carry on their rape of Scottish football, and if EVER they were to fall, we'll change the rules to make sure they cant suffer. :grr: Grant Stott is in wrong shows me thinks, this is the real pantomime. :confused:
03-07-2012, 05:24 PM
I had a word with Bill who's good with words and he penned this... ;)
To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day,
To the last syllable of recorded time;
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
Life's but a walking shadow, a poor player,
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage,
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.
Seemed rather apt.
03-07-2012, 05:27 PM
Turnbull Hutton is more likely to be sanctioned for calling them corrupt:rolleyes:
That would not surprise me in the slightest Spike
03-07-2012, 05:28 PM
Motherwell FC@MotherwellFCYes to Newco: 119 (18%) No to Newco: 542 (82%) Votes not returned: 247
03-07-2012, 05:29 PM
Its not a league anymore, it is a staged show for the benefit of the old firm. How can any club justify asking the paying public to hand over £400 to watch that. Roll up roll up, give us your dosh and we'll make sure this sham of a league facilitates Rangers and Celtic to carry on their rape of Scottish football, and if EVER they were to fall, we'll change the rules to make sure they cant suffer. :grr: Grant Stott is in wrong shows me thinks, this is the real pantomime. :confused:
Who want to leave it and play in a more lucrative, commercial league in another country/countries as soon as anybody will have them.
The game's admins are like abused spouses who keep coming back for more.
03-07-2012, 05:29 PM
Yip, it is all very underhand...I wonder how long these numpties at Hampden will continue in their respective roles? Will more Clubs and Chairman like Turnbull Hutton, come out and say the games corrupt, and will they hound these jokers out?
John_the_angus_hibby
03-07-2012, 05:32 PM
Motherwell FC‏@MotherwellFCYes to Newco: 119 (18%) No to Newco: 542 (82%) Votes not returned: 247
Well done the Steelmen!
03-07-2012, 05:39 PM
Anyone have a link?
alnewhaven
03-07-2012, 05:40 PM
Notice the BB Scotland presenters Freudian slip over Malcolm Murrays apology? " He made his invention ...err .intervention ..."
TheEastTerrace
03-07-2012, 05:40 PM
Anyone have a link?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17325775
03-07-2012, 05:43 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/17325775
03-07-2012, 05:44 PM
Id rather watch a 24 hour children in need marathon than listen to those cackling poppinjays for an hour.
03-07-2012, 05:57 PM
Tom English has Traynors cards marked
03-07-2012, 05:57 PM
Notice the BB Scotland presenters Freudian slip over Malcolm Murrays apology? " He made his invention ...err .intervention ..."
I just about choked on my stir-fry in anticipation to what was coming up...WTF .. :rolleyes:
03-07-2012, 05:59 PM
Jim Traynor again spouting pish, he says 2 west coast clubs will go bust if they dont get the £600k they are due in a couple of months from i think he said SKY? When pressed who the clubs were, he wouldn't say. :rolleyes: What a fanny.
03-07-2012, 06:03 PM
Tom English has Traynors cards marked
what's being said?
03-07-2012, 06:07 PM
what's being said?
Pretty much what Blackpool said above, claimed 3 clubs would go bust in August without £650k of Sky money, English said name them then and he clamped up and said you will read it in a decent paper, just the usual pish spouting really but English pulled him up on everything and asked him to prove it
Ajanet
03-07-2012, 06:09 PM
how can rangers vote tomorrow when SPL meet ?
rangers are NOT A CLUB or in SPL!!!!!!!? so when the clubs meet tomorrow and rangers are (NO MORE) who or what could vote ????
if you are not in the SPL you can not vote end of
:bye:
03-07-2012, 06:11 PM
Pretty much what Blackpool said above, claimed 3 clubs would go bust in August without £650k of Sky money, English said name them then and he clamped up and said you will read it in a decent paper, just the usual pish spouting really but English pulled him up on everything and asked him to prove it
What decent paper would that be then Mr Traynor?
Daily Record?
What a complete gobs***e of a man. :blah:
03-07-2012, 06:13 PM
Daily Record?
Exactly, the Sunday Sport is a more reliable source than them, Aliens turn my son into Fish Finger is closer to the truth than anything either of them print
03-07-2012, 06:16 PM
I have sent an email to SFA, can't wait to see if they respond, and if so, in what context:rolleyes:
03-07-2012, 06:16 PM
Daily Record?
The record rarely get things wrong, Craig Whyte is a billionaire with wealth off the radar the record told us. Are you telling me this is not true?
03-07-2012, 06:20 PM
Jim Traynor again spouting pish, he says 2 west coast clubs will go bust if they dont get the £600k they are due in a couple of months from i think he said SKY? When pressed who the clubs were, he wouldn't say.
Why would they not get the Sky money in a couple of months?
The existing TV agreement is already in place, so unless Sky (not going to happen) or the SPL (not going to happen) don't pay them the money that they are legally bound to, then it's yet more scaremongering bollocks.
03-07-2012, 06:22 PM
Jim Traynor again spouting pish, he says 2 west coast clubs will go bust if they dont get the £600k they are due in a couple of months
Going bust is quite a lucrative route to take at the moment!
03-07-2012, 06:25 PM
Why would they not get the Sky money in a couple of months?
The existing TV agreement is already in place, so unless Sky (not going to happen) or the SPL (not going to happen) don't pay them the money that they are legally bound to, then it's yet more scaremongering bollocks.
You are right, its more pish to bribe/blackmail/convince the stupid that football cant do without the huns. He's scared for his own job, they all are.They are just making any old sheite up now, and some dafty's are still falling for it.
03-07-2012, 06:26 PM
Im sure a few clubs are watching this sorry saga unfold, and if Newco gets in at a decent level, then precedent will have been set, other clubs may then take same route, and start again??:confused:
InchHibby
03-07-2012, 06:26 PM
It's probably been said and discussed on other Forums,if so I apologise but here we go.
I have spoken to numerous Huns,some family friends,some work colleague's,and approximately 95 per cent of them actually want to restart in Division Three.
The reason being is that they seem to think that without their finance,gate money,for three seasons and the reduced sponsorship from whoever,will lead to afew other Clubs going to the wall.
Then when they do actually climb back into the SPL they will then carry out their threat of boycotting every Club who had the audacity to vote them down.
I sincerely believe that this is what will happen and it only strengthens my belief that the sooner we get shot of them and that other mob the quicker and better it will be for the rest of us.
The Glasgow press and anybody else that has taken the time to warn us of the pitfalls if we do not accept them back into the fold with no more than a rap on the knuckles.
Do these same people not realise that the game in Scotland is already at rock bottom and more to the point,a major laughing stock which was created by not only the OF but the Heirarchy who run this game and most of all the Glasgow press.
There are those of us that have waited years for this opportunity and now that it has come along we must grasp it with both hands and change the game for better and for the benefit to all Clubs.
The problem with these people is FEAR, fear that any other club may challenge them if finances and voting structures were fair and even.
They have had it sown up for decades now and they know it, and the same people put insurmountable obstacles in the way as to ensure that the two top positions within the SPL will be fought over by the OF.
I say banish them to Division Three or we are simply wasting our time and returning to the same old humdrum ways,scrapping for third place,and them buying our best players whenever a threat occurs.
Once again I apologise if all this has been said but I am that angry over the whole stitch up I had to get it of my chest.:thumbsup:
The Baldmans Comb
03-07-2012, 06:28 PM
Jim Traynor again spouting pish, he says 2 west coast clubs will go bust if they dont get the £600k they are due in a couple of months from i think he said SKY? When pressed who the clubs were, he wouldn't say. :rolleyes: What a fanny.
Trayner is just completely making this up out of absoutely nowhere. SKY have said no such thing and it would be bonkers to think they are just going to stop all TV payments.
The man insults your intelligence and looks down and patronises all football supporters either on air or in his column in the Daily Record. How anyone can buy trash that treats you as a complete imbecile is really beyond me.
Gus Fring
03-07-2012, 06:31 PM
THIS!
All this talk of clubs going bust etc, whats to stop them doing exactly what Rangers have done and coming back as a newco? Oh wait, because the SPL,SFL and SFA wouldn't bend over backwards for any other club.
SurferRosa
03-07-2012, 06:33 PM
Dear me, it was 6 clubs earlier on and 2 clubs after that......they dont even have the brains to co-ordinate their lies.
Matty_Jack04
03-07-2012, 06:34 PM
If our game wasn't desperate to blow itself up we could follow the rules stick newco in the 3rd and our governing bodies, media, chairmen and fans could get our heads together on how to get more fans through the gates and stop the constant doom and gloom nonsense that's filled the papers since febuary and be prepared for the start of the new season....but naw not untill they wasted all
Oppertunity trying to save them and keep the same old routine going
03-07-2012, 06:37 PM
No need to apologise mate, you have just summed up how most supporters [other than those blue-nosed variety obviously], feel. Get them to futt, Div 3 at the very least. I for one will be glad of the rest from all their knuckle-dragging neanderthalls coming through and abusing honest, law abiding Edin folk as they go about their buisness. No longer will they be attacked as they walk along London Road, just because they are wearing something green, the kids wont have to witness their loutish behaviour, urinating in gardens/shop doorways, listening them shout/sing about being "up to their knees in fienen blood" and many more anti catholic ditties. Miss them ? Not a chance, match days will be a lot more enjoyable without them. One down, just their other half to go.
03-07-2012, 06:39 PM
From Twitter...
Craig beattie @CraigBeats
So motherwell have put it to there fans to vote on the newco!!! 83% theoretically have voted there own club into administration!! THOUGHTS
Some more of Beattie's wonderful insights here: https://twitter.com/#!/CraigBeats
03-07-2012, 06:41 PM
Agreed. Murray's apology sounded like the last cry from a drowning man mixed with "It wisnae me".
Once the dust has settled, there should be only one winner emerging from this fiasco and that's integrity (no matter what pain each and every club has to bear - and all will take some kind of hit no doubt).
If not, then shut the shop.
Gus Fring
03-07-2012, 06:46 PM
From Twitter...
Craig beattie @CraigBeats
So motherwell have put it to there fans to vote on the newco!!! 83% theoretically have voted there own club into administration!! THOUGHTS
Some more of Beattie's wonderful insights here: https://twitter.com/#!/CraigBeats
Very difficult to take his claims seriously given he's an ex Yam. He knows an awful lot about motherwells finances but knew nothing of Hearts'?
Thats like asking for babysitting advice from Craig Thomson
03-07-2012, 06:46 PM
posted on twitter, so no idea if its true?
SKY make £398,625,000m per year in Scotland alone yet the SPL is only 'worth' £18m a season...
03-07-2012, 06:47 PM
What do fans do if they allow New Co in to SFL1? I'd like to see fans getting together to boycott all matches one weekend. Do you think it could get close to happening?
03-07-2012, 06:49 PM
SKY make £398,625,000m per year in Scotland alone yet the SPL is only 'worth' £18m a season...They're giving it all tae the EPL :rolleyes:
03-07-2012, 06:51 PM
They will, if it's not sorted out fairly!
Its funny how traynor and his ilk never mention what fifa are going to do.On top of the shambles we have now we still have the transfer embargo that was challenged by rangers in court to be settled.We also have the ebt outcome to come and the sfa investigation into the dual contracts as well as the police investigation into whytes takeover which will rumble on for months.Unless the newco go into the third division this will not be finished by a long chalk and instead of making up improbable stories about what sky might do traynor and the like should be looking into the effect on our game that newco getting shoehorned into div one would cause.As has been pointed out the sky contract is in place for next season so the guff about them not paying an instalment in august is spurious as if they didnt they would be in breach of contract or are they trying to say they only signed the contract if rangers were always in the league even if they faced relegation.In other words sky decide who stays in the spl.Absolutely pathetic.
The whole saga is now beyond a joke and it could turn off thousands of fans for years to come and the resultant problems that would bring.The saddest thing is that i just cant see a solution that isnt going to damage our game badly.
03-07-2012, 06:51 PM
SKY make £398,625,000m per year in Scotland alone yet the SPL is only 'worth' £18m a season...
I don't think it's true they make £398 billion here, naw.
03-07-2012, 06:53 PM
I don't think it's true they make £398 billion here, naw.
Could they mean 398 million?
03-07-2012, 06:57 PM
To add numbers to all the talk of the SKY deal and its impact you might be surprised that it accounts for 7.28% of SPL income. Not an insignificant amount granted but hardly "financial armageddon". If you deduct Rangers whole income from the figures, not even adding another team to balance this out, then the figure rises to 10.38%. It would hurt but, again, hardly armageddon.
What led to the situation we are in was that prior to Craig Whytes takeover Rangers had trading losses for the previous ten seasons of £87.7m, on top of bumping the taxman for around £60m, and that, gentlemen (and ladies!) is the real "financial armageddon" and should be the story the journalists are pursuing.
I fail to see how a football club that loses this amount of money can be anything other than a complete liability. Shoot the ****ers now and be done with it.
03-07-2012, 06:57 PM
we could follow the rules stick newco in the 3rd
If we followed the rules they wouldn't even get into the 3rd!!
03-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Rod's going to have some explaining to do if the SPL newco vote is postponed tomorrow.
This statement was issued by Hibs last Thursday night: (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120629/club-statement_2262950_2826110)
At an informal meeting of SPL clubs held at Hampden Park yesterday, the views of Hibernian FC were represented by Chairman Rod Petrie. The Chairman articulated very clearly that the Club is ready and willing to cast its vote on the transfer of the Rangers share in the SPL at the formal meeting of clubs on 4 July.
The Chairman made the point that the vote should proceed without any further delay and that Hibernian FC will vote against the share transfer. The resolution will fail if four other clubs vote against it or abstain. If as a result of the vote on 4 July the Rangers newco is not voted into the SPL then it will be for other bodies to decide if and at what level Rangers might be accommodated within Scottish football.
(my emphasis)
03-07-2012, 07:00 PM
Could they mean 398 million?
From less than 2 million households (that's a guess) and a few thousand pubs and clubs ?
Seems a lot, but someone who works in their call centre might be along soon to throw a bit light on it.
03-07-2012, 07:01 PM
Just read what he had to say on the SFA / Green document, this guy tells it like it is, why should it be any more complicated than being seen as the high handed overt threat that it is. Turnbull Hutton crazy name, top guy.
Maybe we the protest for the first game after the dodgy deal has been struck is to wear Turnbull T shirts at all the opening games or Hun away fixtures?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18680165
03-07-2012, 07:02 PM
Rod's going to have some explaining to do if the SPL newco vote is postponed tomorrow.
This statement was issued by Hibs last Thursday night: (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20120629/club-statement_2262950_2826110)
At an informal meeting of SPL clubs held at Hampden Park yesterday, the views of Hibernian FC were represented by Chairman Rod Petrie. The Chairman articulated very clearly that the Club is ready and willing to cast its vote on the transfer of the Rangers share in the SPL at the formal meeting of clubs on 4 July.
The Chairman made the point that the vote should proceed without any further delay and that Hibernian FC will vote against the share transfer. The resolution will fail if four other clubs vote against it or abstain. If as a result of the vote on 4 July the Rangers newco is not voted into the SPL then it will be for other bodies to decide if and at what level Rangers might be accommodated within Scottish football.
(my emphasis)
He's only 1 of 12 though.
03-07-2012, 07:04 PM
From less than 2 million households (that's a guess) and a few thousand pubs and clubs ?
Seems a lot, but someone who works in their call centre might be along soon to throw a bit light on it.
Average Sky subscription is around £50/month or £600/year. If they make £398m, that works out at 664,000 subscribers. That probably sounds about right.
03-07-2012, 07:07 PM
A years full subscription can't be far off £1000 per household (full package of tv, broadband and phone) pubs and clubs can pay that per month. With a million subscribers that's easily 1 billion.
03-07-2012, 07:08 PM
Average Sky subscription is around £50/month or £600/year. If they make £398m, that works out at 664,000 subscribers. That probably sounds about right.
That would be gross profit though. :wink:
VickMackie
03-07-2012, 07:11 PM
I've always been anti British league because I want the Scottish national team but I'm thinking we should just go for it and get rid of these leeches at te top of the Scottish games.
03-07-2012, 07:13 PM
I recall they passed 10m UK subsribers about two years ago so that might not be far away.
03-07-2012, 07:13 PM
Thread over on Samaritans.com says Brown has come charging in with the cavalry with this - http://www.football365.com/spl/78626...ite-flag-Brown. The natives are creaming themselves over it and to a man want Brown to lead them into Division3. We're kind of singing from the same hymn book aren't we.
03-07-2012, 07:15 PM
Plus advertising revenue, business packages (pubs etc). It could comfortably be that figure. It's a lot of money. And the Scottish Football gets comparatively little, it seems.
03-07-2012, 07:22 PM
Thread over on Samaritans.com says Brown has come charging in with the cavalry with this - http://www.football365.com/spl/78626...ite-flag-Brown. The natives are creaming themselves over it and to a man want Brown to lead them into Division3. We're kind of singing from the same hymn book aren't we.
“Newco Rangers chairman Malcolm Murray on Tuesday issued an apology for the distress caused to Scottish football by those in charge of the old company, one of six concessions reported to be part of Green's plan to persuade SPL clubs to perform a mass U-turn”.
Concessions? Consessions?
What do Newco actually have to concede?
03-07-2012, 07:25 PM
Plus advertising revenue, business packages (pubs etc). It could comfortably be that figure. It's a lot of money. And the Scottish Football gets comparatively little, it seems.
Thing is you don't get what's fair in life you get what you negiotate. With idiots like Doncaster running our game it should hardly be a surprise that we get a paltry amount from sky.
03-07-2012, 07:27 PM
Results so far in a poll overby asking 'where do you want us to be in August?'
SPL - Nothing less (even with massive penalties) 19 5.56%
Division 1 52 15.20%
Division 3 271 79.24%
03-07-2012, 07:27 PM
His apology was preceded by the statement that they had nothing to apologise for. Hardly counts, does it?
03-07-2012, 07:30 PM
Just read what he had to say on the SFA / Green document, this guy tells it like it is, why should it be any more complicated than being seen as the high handed overt threat that it is. Turnbull Hutton crazy name, top guy.
Maybe we the protest for the first game after the dodgy deal has been struck is to wear Turnbull T shirts at all the opening games or Hun away fixtures?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18680165
I've a much better idea.
IF there's a boycott game of any sort, it should be on a Saturday when Raith are at home. We should all - supporters of all clubs who support a boycott that is - head over to Raith and show Turnbull some meaningful support by paying at the gate and literally singing his praises.
So far, I think he may have been the only honest man in this whole sorry episode.
Gus Fring
03-07-2012, 07:31 PM
For anyone doing the math it may help to know Sky's ARPU was £544 in 2011 and from my time working there (which hasn't been since 2008) Sky Sports uptake was lower per capita than in England.
goosefat
03-07-2012, 07:31 PM
It's probably been said and discussed on other Forums,if so I apologise but here we go.
I have spoken to numerous Huns,some family friends,some work colleague's,and approximately 95 per cent of them actually want to restart in Division Three.
Not too sure about that. Can any of those knuckle draggers actually count to three?
03-07-2012, 07:32 PM
The SPL offer to the SFL is £1million to allow Rangers into SFL1. That works out at £33,333 per SFL club (assuming that Rangers will get their 1/30th share). Thinking from the point of view of an SFL3 chairman, if I can charge visitors £10, as is not unusual in division 3, then that represents 3,333 visiting supporters. I can get more money by having Rangers in division 3 for a season provided I can get 1,700 of them into the visitors' area for each of their 2 visits. Most can do that (and Queen's Park have a real opportunity to cash in). Disregarding sporting integrity for the moment it seems a very low offer to ward off the financial armageddon that Doncaster and Regan foresee. If the SPL ups it to £5 million it might be worth considering. A small price to save the national game.
03-07-2012, 07:36 PM
I've a much better idea.
IF there's a boycott game of any sort, it should be on a Saturday when Raith are at home. We should all - supporters of all clubs who support a boycott that is - head over to Raith and show Turnbull some meaningful support by paying at the gate and literally singing his praises.
So far, I think he may have been the only honest man in this whole sorry episode.
:thumbsup: Does it for me, to be fair there seem to be quite a few making the right noises or at least they seem more straightforward than some of the SPL guys appear to be. Think that your idea would be a very visible protest as all the other colours would stand out nicely if the TV cameras got interested!
Chibs
03-07-2012, 07:36 PM
No Hun in Scottish football
03-07-2012, 07:37 PM
(my emphasis)
What justification could there be for postponing it? Most of the clubs have already said how they are going to vote, and the league is due to start in just a month. They really need to just get on with it. :grr:
03-07-2012, 07:39 PM
What justification could there be for postponing it? Most of the clubs have already said how they are going to vote, and the league is due to start in just a month. They really need to just get on with it. :grr:
Passing the buck back to the SFL. Some of the SPL clubs (eg St. Mirren) would be against Newco in the SPL, but would want assurance that they would get into SFL1.
03-07-2012, 07:42 PM
I've a much better idea.
I'm up for that. :aok:
..... and we could even go dancing in the streets of Raith after the game.
03-07-2012, 07:43 PM
Thing is you don't get what's fair in life you get what you negiotate. With idiots like Doncaster running our game it should hardly be a surprise that we get a paltry amount from sky.
We get what our game is worth - which is very little. If it hadn't been a rigged market for the bigot sisters for so long it might have become a more competitive and interesting league. Then we would get better money.
As it is it is 5hit, with no real competition for the title and a standard of play that is pretty much rank rotten. A big thank you to the generations of blazers who have been complicit in the Rantic vampire slowly sucking the life from the hollowed out corpse of our game. The quicker they go bust, leave or are kicked out the better.
Do you know why the journalists are so big on finding a berth for Club 12? Why they get so irate about Scotland managers under performing? Every early European exit, every failure to qualify for the Euros or World Cup, every reduction in Scottish places in european competition as the quotient falls means one thing. Less gravy train visits abroad to watch the footie and pi5h it up on the expenses and from other people's wallets. They see Club 12's readmission as one of their two golden tickets to europe every season and they believe - probably rightly - that without them, at least for the short to medium term, there will be less jaunts abroad. They have no long term interest in the good of the game whatever.
The ONLY people with an honest interest in the future of our game are the paying fans.
03-07-2012, 07:47 PM
Passing the buck back to the SFL. Some of the SPL clubs (eg St. Mirren) would be against Newco in the SPL, but would want assurance that they would get into SFL1.
Ludicrous, the spl and its clubs should get no say after voting them out and shouldn't be blackmailing the SFL teams. Scottish football is so corrupt its unreal.
03-07-2012, 08:02 PM
Incredible. Brown manages to turn it in to a Green surrendering to Celtic issue. Completely missing the point and reeling in the bigoted hordes with his inflammatory language.
The man is from the dark ages and Scotland needs him and his kind kept out of football.
03-07-2012, 08:06 PM
Yes. And this is why Doncaster et al are desperate to make sure Green does not walk away. It would be interesting to see what would happen if the Huns said no to the SPL/SFL plan and insisted on applying for SFL Division 3. :cb
The scaremongering from sevco.weeg press,and the associations has been ridiculous.
Proves that the huns had/have infiltrated the dicision making processes on alot of aspects of our game.
And are still trying to..
Did any teams go bust when Setanta went bust?
Teams which get relegated lose the tv cash and not just rangers supporters gate money,every SPL teams away support.
I'm disgusted
If Sevco(who aren't even a football team) cheat their way into the SPL2 then Scottish football will die.
Unless we have another breakaway league
Scottish sporting integrity league division one
03-07-2012, 08:19 PM
Yes. And this is why Doncaster et al are desperate to make sure Green does not walk away. It would be interesting to see what would happen if the Huns said no to the SPL/SFL plan and insisted on applying for SFL Division 3. :cb
Yes we have a common aim for them to go into Div.3, but our motives and long term plans couldn't be different. We want them in Div.3, partially as a punishment for their sins but more importantly, to pave the way for a fairer and more democratic SPL. They want Div.3 in order to avoid the suffocating sanctions which they would incur in the SPL and possibly to a lesser degree in Div.1 but more importantly, they have been brainwashed into thinking that, without them, the SPL will meet it's maker before next season is finished. I think they'll be disappointed.
03-07-2012, 08:22 PM
Graham Spiers @GrahamSpiers
I can just about guarantee what Peter Lawwell and the Celtic boardroom want re this "Rangers punishment": Div 1 NOT Div 3. :confused:
03-07-2012, 08:27 PM
I can just about guarantee what Peter Lawwell and the Celtic boardroom want re this "Rangers punishment": Div 1 NOT Div 3. :confused:
'Siamese twins' comes to mind ..... joined at the derriere.
03-07-2012, 08:41 PM
Why are you :confused:. Last thing celtic want is for them to be in division 3. They don't even want them in division 1 and would keep them in the SPL if they could.
03-07-2012, 08:46 PM
Lawwell's statement
Peter Lawwell, chief executive: “We are fully aware of our supporters’ concerns regarding the current situation across Scottish football and the breadth of opinion within our supporter base. The issues are complex and there is much uncertainty.
“Our guiding principle is that we will do what is in the best interests of Celtic Football Club and our supporters, consistent with upholding the interests and reputation of Scottish football. I can also give assurance that we will communicate further and directly with supporters at the appropriate time
03-07-2012, 08:54 PM
lets all :faf: at rangers hahahaha :flag::flag::flag:
03-07-2012, 08:55 PM
Yes we have a common aim for them to go into Div.3, but our motives and long term plans couldn't be different. We want them in Div.3, partially as a punishment for their sins but more importantly, to pave the way for a fairer and more democratic SPL. They want Div.3 in order to avoid the suffocating sanctions which they would incur in the SPL and possibly to a lesser degree in Div.1 but more importantly, they have been brainwashed into thinking that, without them, the SPL will meet it's maker before next season is finished. I think they'll be disappointed.
Yes, while there might be some decent Huns who want to do what is morally right, I think the majority now want to go to Division 3 as a means of punishing the rest of Scottish Football for daring to try to punish them. Donkeycaster and his chums actually believe that the SPL will meet its maker if the Huns go to Division 3. So it would be an absolute nightmare for them if Green walked away and some bampot like Brown took over. They could make Scottish football authorities look even more 5hite than then already do Can you imagine the SFL voting for the SPL Division 1 plan only to have the Huns tell them to shove it - they want to go to Division 3.
FWIW I think fears that Scottish football would die without the Huns are as well founded as the Millenium Bug panic - ie pure bollox.