View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 [163] 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181

02-04-2018, 01:58 PM
Speaking of worth a read - this is :faf:

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/topic/314897-hibs-only-4-points-behind-with-a-game-in-hand/

The Leith Dutch
02-04-2018, 02:11 PM

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/topic/314897-hibs-only-4-points-behind-with-a-game-in-hand/

Loving the idea of Celtic going to "throw matches after they clinch the title to keep us out of Europe".

I'd assume Celtic would be professional about it but at the same time, after a long hard season I wouldn't imagine there'll be quite the same conviction in their play.....

Crazyhorse
02-04-2018, 02:42 PM
Loving the idea of Celtic going to "throw matches after they clinch the title to keep us out of Europe".

I'd assume Celtic would be professional about it but at the same time, after a long hard season I wouldn't imagine there'll be quite the same conviction in their play.....

Odds of 7/1 on Hibs coming 2nd are tempting...

Aim Here
02-04-2018, 03:22 PM
According to that boy Morelos himself, via the Scotsman, the *real* Chinese team that was bidding silly money for him wasn't Beijing Rehne after all - and that surely puts paid to the utterly mental story that Beijing decided not to buy Morelos for £lots because they snapped up a 26-year old free agent left-back from M*ngolia instead.

Apparently the real team was Guangzhou Evergrande, from 1000 miles away, in southern China - and to be fair that's actually much more plausible. GZ have got money to burn since they just turned a €20m profit buying some Spurs midfielder and selling him on to Barcelona. Maybe they thought they could repeat the exercise again, buying up a middling player from the UK, training him up a little (in Morelos case, teaching him to hit a barn door from 2 yards away, perhaps) and then selling him back to Europe for bigger bucks than they paid in the first place. I mean, it wouldn't necessarily work, but businessmen who are flush with cash do tend to entertain relatively fanciful notions - just ask Elon Musk.

It's probably the most reasonable explanation for the stories, though why nobody could get the team's name right in the first place is still a mystery.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/rangers/rangers-striker-alfredo-morelos-opens-up-on-transfer-offers-from-china-1-4716451

02-04-2018, 03:28 PM
According to that boy Morelos himself, via the Scotsman, the *real* Chinese team that was bidding silly money for him wasn't Beijing Rehne after all - and that surely puts paid to the utterly mental story that Beijing decided not to buy Morelos for £lots because they snapped up a 26-year old free agent left-back from M*ngolia instead.

Apparently the real team was Guangzhou Evergrande, from 1000 miles away, in southern China - and to be fair that's actually much more plausible. GZ have got money to burn since they just turned a €20m profit buying some Spurs midfielder and selling him on to Barcelona. Maybe they thought they could repeat the exercise again, buying up a middling player from the UK, training him up a little (in Morelos case, teaching him to hit a barn door from 2 yards away, perhaps) and then selling him back to Europe for bigger bucks than they paid in the first place. I mean, it wouldn't necessarily work, but businessmen who are flush with cash do tend to entertain relatively fanciful notions - just ask Elon Musk.

It's probably the most reasonable explanation for the stories, though why nobody could get the team's name right in the first place is still a mystery.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/rangers/rangers-striker-alfredo-morelos-opens-up-on-transfer-offers-from-china-1-4716451

Was there not a bbc journalist who claimed to have seen the bid? If so, surely the name of the team bidding would have been confirmed at that point?

Aim Here
02-04-2018, 03:37 PM
Was there not a bbc journalist who claimed to have seen the bid? If so, surely the name of the team bidding would have been confirmed at that point?

Well someone's wrong here.

The options that a BBC journalist made a mistake or that Morelos did.

The BBC journalist was probably given some sort of quick briefing or quick flash of some documentation, that was enough to cause him to retract his tweets. There's a good chance he hadn't heard of either of the two teams in question beforehand.

Morelos was the subject of a series of life-changing offers from the club over a period of weeks, and no doubt would have investigated where he was going to be living and working for the next few years.

I suspect that, outwith the possibility that either party is actually deliberately lying for some reason, Morelos is the one more likely to get the story right.

Tynie01011973
02-04-2018, 03:37 PM
https://twitter.com/BBCKheredine/status/959209133802229760?s=19

Kheredine Idesane was the BBC journalist who confirmed he had seen the Beijing bid.

02-04-2018, 03:40 PM

Kheredine Idesane was the BBC journalist who confirmed he had seen the Beijing Resume bid.

Someone should ask KI since Morelos is now apparently contradicting that tweet.

Fuzzywuzzy
02-04-2018, 04:35 PM
Was it not a load ***** as the club's that were all mentioned had their quota of foreign players PLUS the 100% tax would have made the deal utterly ridiculous for a player that isn't that good

Newry Hibs
02-04-2018, 05:14 PM

What's TLB hivs? I get the hivs part.

02-04-2018, 05:17 PM
What's TLB hivs? I get the hivs part.

The Lurgan Biggot.. apparently being a confident person from the minority faith in your home country and the country of your current employer does not go down too well ..

02-04-2018, 05:27 PM
Relative League Form

Warburton, season 2016/17: P24, Pts 43 = 1.79pts/match

Caixinha: P10, Pts 18 = 1.8pts/match

Murty: P22, Pts 41 = 1.86pts/match*

*Murty's results have dropped to 1.62pts/match since the January investment. His Wage Bill is now £4M pa more than Warburton's.

All that money spent on loans in January and they are getting worse. [emoji23]

02-04-2018, 05:28 PM
Someone should ask KI since Morelos is now apparently contradicting that tweet.

I feel a bit for Morelos here. He is being played as a pawn in a game here.

02-04-2018, 05:36 PM

Kheredine Idesane was the BBC journalist who confirmed he had seen the Beijing bid.

Link not working for me, what’s going on now

02-04-2018, 05:49 PM

Rangers won’t be in Europe long enough for anyone to notice.

02-04-2018, 05:50 PM
Well someone's wrong here.

The options that a BBC journalist made a mistake or that Morelos did.

There are other options, such as somebody's lying.

02-04-2018, 05:54 PM
There are other options, such as somebody's lying.

Surely not!

02-04-2018, 06:09 PM
Link not working for me, what’s going on now

You need to copy and paste it into your address bar Billy. It's Kheredine's retraction tweet after he'd been set right by Jabba

Tynie01011973
02-04-2018, 06:13 PM
You need to copy and paste it into your address bar Billy. It's Kheredine's retraction tweet after he'd been set right by Jabba

Yes,sorry my tablet doesn't seem to do links so need to open in browser

02-04-2018, 06:18 PM
Yes,sorry my tablet doesn't seem to do links so need to open in browser

Happy to help :spammy:

02-04-2018, 07:11 PM
Happy to help :spammy:

Thanks, this is old news, why has it reappeared today?

02-04-2018, 07:14 PM

No idea bud... I lost the plot yonks ago

02-04-2018, 07:20 PM
No idea bud... I lost the plot yonks ago

You and I

02-04-2018, 07:23 PM

No team on this planet would pay anything like the £8-9-10m quoted and then pay the same amount again in tax - personally, I don't think he's even in the £1m bracket !

02-04-2018, 08:14 PM
No team on this planet would pay anything like the £8-9-10m quoted and then pay the same amount again in tax - personally, I don't think he's even in the £1m bracket !

Apart from anything else there are severe restrictions on overseas player in the Chinese League.

Firstly they wouldn’t have offered that sort of money and secondly Sevco would have snapped their hand off for anything approaching that source of money.

This is has the hallmarks of a Jim Traynor PR stunt backed up by his old buddies in the media.

02-04-2018, 10:35 PM

Because Morelos has come out and said it was a different team that had bid for him. But if KI had actually seen the bids like he claimed, then he would've got the team right.

03-04-2018, 12:53 AM
Because Morelos has come out and said it was a different team that had bid for him. But if KI had actually seen the bids like he claimed, then he would've got the team right.

Exactly - this is shaping up to be yet another red-coupon for 'Satan's 11' !!

08-04-2018, 08:57 AM
MBNA will be withdrawing the Rangers branded credit card. Possibly Dave King related due to recent hearings etc? The start of more serious things hopefully.

08-04-2018, 09:35 AM
So, has he actually followed up on his offer to comply with the ruling on Rangers International shares yet?

Or was it yet another porky pie?

08-04-2018, 11:43 AM
MBNA will be withdrawing the Rangers branded credit card. Possibly Dave King related due to recent hearings etc? The start of more serious things hopefully.

I don't think this is significant. MBNA are in a general process of withdrawing from affinity credit cards. Mine was linked to the NTS until I was sent a new one a couple of months ago. I, and Rangers fans, have the same credit facilities as before, but no portion of payments will go to MBNA's previous partner. It's simply a corporate decision by MBNA not to renew agreements when they expire.

08-04-2018, 12:28 PM
MBNA will be withdrawing the Rangers branded credit card. Possibly Dave King related due to recent hearings etc? The start of more serious things hopefully.Given the possible cold-shouldering,

Might Be Not Advisable to be associated with TRFC.

[emoji849]

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

08-04-2018, 01:09 PM
Given the possible cold-shouldering,

[emoji849]

You'll cut yourself, you will.:greengrin

08-04-2018, 02:10 PM

Lloyds Banking Group recently bought MBNA so may be something to do with a change of strategy.

08-04-2018, 02:12 PM
Lloyds Banking Group recently bought MBNA so may be something to do with a change of strategy.

And Lloyd’s already dumped an Ibrox club once before and were unlikely to want to be involved with another.

08-04-2018, 02:14 PM
Given the possible cold-shouldering,

[emoji849]

Sent from my SM-A510F using TapatalkMight just be all the exceptionally high frauds they have to investigate since half the population know the pin number's 1690?

08-04-2018, 06:16 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180408/bf43838c762dbad8794fa979606ca12b.jpg

10-04-2018, 04:47 PM
The paragons of virtue that are the Rangers' fans are being treated unfairly it would seem.

http://club1872.co.uk/news/club-1872-response-to-public-comments-made-about-the-rangers-support-by-elected-politicians-in-scotland/

10-04-2018, 04:49 PM
The paragons of virtue that are the Rangers' fans are being treated unfairly it would seem.

http://club1872.co.uk/news/club-1872-response-to-public-comments-made-about-the-rangers-support-by-elected-politicians-in-scotland/

Snowflakes don't like the tables being turned, even if just in their fetid minds.

10-04-2018, 04:57 PM

At least we know it's that pesky small minority that's to blame for it all again. All Klub 1690 have to do is say what this minority is doing that is wrong and get the rest of the clubbers to sort the bad boys out, thus restoring the previously excellent reputation of the supporters of the club that replaced the now defunct Glasgow rangers. Easy.

10-04-2018, 04:57 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180410/d159abe0e4d53f6f1bfc95c59abc2d99.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180410/17aeb02d3fbecf5e859a8da897af7a25.jpg

Looks like the takeover panel are not impressed by Dave’s offer.[emoji23]
The race is on, will Dave stump up or will the spfl get the split fixtures out first.

10-04-2018, 05:37 PM

The Mary Whitehouse’s of the 21st century for all things hunnish. What a bunch of clowns. Was it not that mob that released the statement about Lennon cupping his ears?

No one likes them - but they care a lot.

10-04-2018, 06:22 PM

"This is partly due to the actions of a small minority of our supporters but is largely down to an agenda in certain areas of the press and Scottish political life."

Sauzee16
10-04-2018, 06:24 PM
"This is partly due to the actions of a small minority of our supporters but is largely down to an agenda in certain areas of the press and Scottish political life."

The deeply disturbing thing is each and every one of them will believe it.

10-04-2018, 06:26 PM
Looks like the takeover panel are not impressed by Dave’s offer.[emoji23]
The race is on, will Dave stump up or will the spfl get the split fixtures out first.

So, despite his Lackies in the media issuing his press release about him complying with the Takeover Panel decision, he still hasn't acted on it.

10-04-2018, 09:43 PM
So, despite his Lackies in the media issuing his press release about him complying with the Takeover Panel decision, he still hasn't acted on it.

But he is still deemed a fit and proper person after due diligence was carried out
Would love to see the documentation and reports held re this

GreenOnions
10-04-2018, 10:29 PM

Although it's the usual paranoia of the guilty with distracting hyperbole this piece is actually written much better than most stuff produced by the football club they support. Perhaps they should suggest to their scribe that he applies to The Rangers for a job in their media relations department? Mind you - a successful application would mean less amusement amongst the general public whenever The Rangers issue a statement :-(

Wee Effen Bee
10-04-2018, 11:19 PM
They have written to two party leaders: is there a book opening on which party leader hasn’t been contacted? Mind you, if it’s wee Ruthie, she might welcome the deflection as her radio and tv interviews recently have been absolute car crashes!

10-04-2018, 11:38 PM

'With that in mind we have written to the chair of this group to ask about the makeup of the working party, the scope of their work and how organisations like Club 1872 can feed into the process.'

That just takes my breath away (and it shouldn't - it's the Hun after all) but that 'offer's on a par with arsonist's asking the Fire-Brigade for best-practice on 'How to set fires without being caught' !

11-04-2018, 01:46 PM
'With that in mind we have written to the chair of this group to ask about the makeup of the working party, the scope of their work and how organisations like Club 1872 can feed into the process.'

That just takes my breath away (and it shouldn't - it's the Hun after all) but that 'offer's on a par with arsonist's asking the Fire-Brigade for best-practice on 'How to set fires without being caught' !

Looks like this fellow might know....

http://etims.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/hibernian.jpg

11-04-2018, 03:06 PM

Your use of the term ‘Hun’ is the most sectarian thing ever!!

Despite their admirable restraint under extreme provocation, don’t be surprised if you’ve goaded a small minority of loyalists into further unpalatable behaviour.

In short, it’s all your fault.

Fuzzywuzzy
11-04-2018, 04:05 PM
They seem to think that 'hun'is a derogatory term for a protestant. I've never called a protestant a hun. If you said that to Mrs Mainwaring-Smythe from Chipping Sodbury she'd wonder wtf you were talking about.

11-04-2018, 05:03 PM
They seem to think that 'hun'is a derogatory term for a protestant. I've never called a protestant a hun. If you said that to Mrs Mainwaring-Smythe from Chipping Sodbury she'd wonder wtf you were talking about.

The term Hun to describe them is nothing to do with religion. Its attachment to the club that died goes back to a friendly against Everton in the early 50s when in their usual manner their follow followers ran amok in a drink fuel rampage through Liverpool. A journalist wrote an article calling them a "horde of marauding huns".

Reference to this article has since been used in court to circumvent the now sadly departed Offensive Behaviour At Football act.

11-04-2018, 05:39 PM

It is a descriptive behavioural word consisting of three letters, which say as much as a book about those it is applied to.

ACLeith
11-04-2018, 06:05 PM
They seem to think that 'hun'is a derogatory term for a protestant. I've never called a protestant a hun.
As one of them I am happy for you to call me a bampot, buffoon, cretin, deluded etc but if I found out you'd called me a Hun I'd challenge you to a duel with pistols at dawn on the pitch at ER
😇😱

11-04-2018, 06:09 PM
As one of them I am happy for you to call me a bampot, buffoon, cretin, deluded etc but if I found out you'd called me a Hun I'd challenge you to a duel with pistols at dawn on the pitch at ER
😇😱

... but then you'd be up to your knees in fenian blood.

Soooo...

ACLeith
11-04-2018, 06:11 PM
... but then you'd be up to your knees in fenian blood.

Soooo...

Only if I am a better shot than him - and with the state of my eyesight nowadays that's unlikely😀
But you're right we'll just go to the pub together instead 😇

monarch
11-04-2018, 07:32 PM
Going back years a number of their supporters groups proudly referred to themselves as "Huns" prefaced by their locality. It was only after "fenian" was deemed to be offensive that it was decided by them that they should be equally offended by the term "Hun".

Old firm balance you see. :rolleyes:

11-04-2018, 08:08 PM
They have written to two party leaders: is there a book opening on which party leader hasn’t been contacted? Mind you, if it’s wee Ruthie, she might welcome the deflection as her radio and tv interviews recently have been absolute car crashes!

Apparently she tweeted back to them "Are you OK, hun?"

11-04-2018, 11:17 PM
The term Hun to describe them is nothing to do with religion. Its attachment to the club that died goes back to a friendly against Everton in the early 50s when in their usual manner their follow followers ran amok in a drink fuel rampage through Liverpool. A journalist wrote an article calling them a "horde of marauding huns".

Reference to this article has since been used in court to circumvent the now sadly departed Offensive Behaviour At Football act.

Sorry but my late Grand-dad told me that calllng them 'The Hun' originated just after the 1st world-war with Germany - Rangers-fans were no angels even then and at that time, being called a 'Hun' was considered a great insult so it was only natural it was applied to them !

11-04-2018, 11:21 PM
I think I’ve watched too many cup final videos on YouTube. I’m getting spammed on YouTube with ads from The Rangers trying to flog season tickets with the message “we are the people”.

12-04-2018, 04:42 PM
Bates just signed 4 year deal with hamburg, great move for him.

12-04-2018, 05:13 PM

Special relationship. [emoji23]

12-04-2018, 05:31 PM
Is that Sevco getting another 8 million quid transfer fee? 😂

12-04-2018, 05:39 PM
What will our internet chums in the west make of this move?

I thought the the Rangers were one of the top clubs in the world yet this gadgie is apparently heading for the nether regions of the Bundesliga.

Let's hope they Follow, Follow.

12-04-2018, 06:27 PM
Is that Sevco getting another 8 million quid transfer fee? 😂
Free agent.

12-04-2018, 06:35 PM
I think I’ve watched too many cup final videos on YouTube. I’m getting spammed on YouTube with ads from The Rangers trying to flog season tickets with the message “we are the people”.

I remember there once being an article in the paper, outraged about a sentence that was on the top of a Rangers flag that was apparently the name of a Loyalist anthem.

Not knowing what it referred to and being curious, I stuck it into Youtube to listen to the song in question. When you hear Rangers and Celtic fans singing, I honestly never know what's bile and what is not.

For years after, on the column down the right where it suggests songs you might want to listen to I'd have anthems of bigotry, all adorned with red hands, Union flags, balaclavas and guns and the like.

It used to piss me right off, and not for the first time I had to awkwardly explain to Mrs Smartie what exactly I had been looking at on my computer.

13-04-2018, 09:22 AM
I automatically assumed Bates was a financial offload. Had no idea he was a free agent.

Great move for him, but The Rangers' fans should be livid - he's one of their most promising young players prior to his injury.

I thought they would have built on a future defense around Bates, McCrorie, John and Tavernier.

13-04-2018, 09:23 AM
I automatically assumed Bates was a financial offload. Had no idea he was a free agent.

Great move for him, but The Rangers' fans should be livid - he's one of their most promising young players prior to his injury.

I thought they would have built on a future defense around Bates, McCrorie, John and Tavernier.

This time last year he was playing for their development team v Hibs.

13-04-2018, 10:27 AM

Isn’t John only on loan?

13-04-2018, 10:28 AM
Isn’t John only on loan?

He is

Tynie01011973
13-04-2018, 10:40 AM
He is

No he signed 3 1\2 permanent deal for them in december

13-04-2018, 10:40 AM
Are Sevco not dead yet?

13-04-2018, 10:42 AM
No he signed 3 1\2 permanent deal for them in december

Your right, must have missed it

13-04-2018, 12:06 PM
Are Sevco not dead yet?

Life support machine.

13-04-2018, 12:12 PM
Life support machine.

I'd like to be the one to turn it off please 😁

13-04-2018, 12:14 PM

There's a waiting list. :greengrin

13-04-2018, 12:15 PM

I'll be happy just watching.

13-04-2018, 01:12 PM
Are Sevco not dead yet?
Going by Dave the King maker, they are going to win the league next season:greengrin

13-04-2018, 02:38 PM
Going by Dave the King maker, they are going to win the league next season:greengrin

3rd Division?

13-04-2018, 05:22 PM
Slightly off topic but isn't it interesting how Ally McCoist, after a period of keeping a very low profile after his costly exit from the the Rangers, is never out of the media pontificating on everything Rangers. How the west coast hordes must hang on every word.

On topic. Any chance of him worming his way back in again?

Wee Effen Bee
13-04-2018, 05:36 PM
Sorry but my late Grand-dad told me that calllng them 'The Hun' originated just after the 1st world-war with Germany - Rangers-fans were no angels even then and at that time, being called a 'Hun' was considered a great insult so it was only natural it was applied to them !
Warning: history lesson approaching:
I always believed it was because the Royal family were Germans (known as the Hun in WW1). The family name was Battenberg before having to change it to Windsor due to anti-German feeling in 1917 - London had been bombed and, a year or so earlier, the Lusitania was sunk. Couldn’t have anyone thinking they were the enemy 🤔 as 1000s of people from German extraction had already been detained and/or deported after riots throughout England -not sure if we had them too. Anyway, Rangers’ unconditional support for the Royals was legendary so, later on, Rangers = Royalty erse-lickers = the Hun! Nowt to do with religion at all! Simple really! 😁

MartinfaePorty
13-04-2018, 05:38 PM
Saxe-Coburg Gotha was it not?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

13-04-2018, 05:43 PM
I always believed it was because the Royal family were Germans (known as the Hun in WW1). The family name was Battenberg before having to change it to Windsor due to anti-German feeling in 1917 - London had been bombed and, a year or so earlier, the Lusitania was sunk. Couldn’t have anyone thinking they were the enemy 🤔 as 1000s of people from German extraction had already been detained and/or deported after riots throughout England -not sure if we had them too. Anyway, Rangers’ unconditional support for the Royals was legendary so, later on, Rangers = Royalty erse-lickers = the Hun! Nowt to do with religion at all! Simple really! 😁
I love how they waited until 1917 to change their name. Clearly hedging their bets.

13-04-2018, 07:48 PM
Interesting thread on the Rangers Fans Forum about the merits of signing McGinn and McGeouch in the summer.

They are allowed to use sweary words over there!!!

13-04-2018, 08:21 PM
Interesting thread on the Rangers Fans Forum about the merits of signing McGinn and McGeouch in the summer.

The language they use is disgusting

13-04-2018, 08:40 PM

One of them managed to thumb this -

'McGinn has said he would never play for us. I don't understand why people suggest him'

I can't recall McGinn saying anything at all about them but if it's true then he's just gone even further up in my estimation and respect - a young, professional footballer who wants to go far in the game and have nothing to do with 'The Place Where Football Goes To Die' !

13-04-2018, 09:39 PM
Sir David Murray annoucing that he and The Wife are splitting up after 7 years.
Interesting part of the article that will cheer up Rangers fans no end was this line .....

"Since 2008 Murray’s personal wealth has gone down from an estimated £720 millon to £180 million"

Then again, maybe not. :cool2:

The Pointer
13-04-2018, 10:16 PM

'Mountbatten' not 'Windsor'.

Not sure about the story either as I'd always believed it was a (relatively) more recent thing. Maybe someone who is in their nineties can confirm.

14-04-2018, 10:51 AM
For what it’s worth I had never heard Rangers called the huns until their fans started laying waste to various parts of England in the late 60s.

14-04-2018, 12:54 PM
For what it’s worth I had never heard Rangers called the huns until their fans started laying waste to various parts of England in the late 60s.

It was a quite famous newspaper headline in the 1970s, in a Midlands Newspaper, after one of their many rampages through an English town.

As an aside, my Grandad always said that, although Celtc were always considered to be a Catholic/Irish club, Rangers weren't really considered to be a 'Protestant' club until the 1920s. He said that side of things surfaced quite heavily when large numbers of Protestants left Ireland after Independence and started settling over here, combined with the generally anti-Irish feeling at the time because of the Irish fight for independence.

Ozymandias
14-04-2018, 09:13 PM
I followed the link from the Celtic ticket thread to have a look, and in a kind of repulsed fascination scrolled through more of the first page. The closest I can get to describing it in a single word is "rabid"

I know they're playing Celtc tomorrow but threads like:

"Official Rangers v Taigs"
"Embra Tarriers"
"The Official Semi final Sash Bash"
"No Pope of Rome"
"**** Tickets"

Give a flavour of the general tone and level. It is if nothing else a fascinating insight into the minds of people who are, seemingly, permanently furious. The posts are reminiscent of Donald Trump tweets - short, incoherent and deeply unpleasant. They genuinely inhabit an alternative reality, and (as with a Trump) I look forward to the day when their existence is looked back upon as an aberration.

14-04-2018, 09:38 PM
They're very silly boys.

The permanent state of fury combined with too much lager in the lodge and being 20st plus won't end well for the vast majority of their ageing male fan base.

The ones that do survive will be finished off by what actually happens on the pitch over the next few seasons under their current owner.

Wee Effen Bee
14-04-2018, 09:47 PM
'Mountbatten' not 'Windsor'.

Not sure about the story either as I'd always believed it was a (relatively) more recent thing. Maybe someone who is in their nineties can confirm.

Only from 1960: Lizzie the 2nd wanted her descendants to have ‘different’ names😁. George V used Windsor in 1917.

14-04-2018, 10:03 PM
Hibernian as a club and the fans who follow it should be extremely proud that fans of der hun hate us so much. I would be gutted if they didn't.

Pescarese
14-04-2018, 10:16 PM
Only from 1960: Lizzie the 2nd wanted her descendants to have ‘different’ names😁. George V used Windsor in 1917.
Her name is Windsor. Her husband’s name is Mountbatten. They’re royals so it all gets needlessly complicated, they like having lots of names. I don’t think any of it has anything to do with the Huns, aka West of Scotland football supporters.

CathroMustStay
14-04-2018, 10:41 PM
I followed the link from the Celtic ticket thread to have a look, and in a kind of repulsed fascination scrolled through more of the first page. The closest I can get to describing it in a single word is "rabid"

"Embra Tarriers"
"No Pope of Rome"
"**** Tickets"

Give a flavour of the general tone and level. It is if nothing else a fascinating insight into the minds of people who are, seemingly, permanently furious. The posts are reminiscent of Donald Trump tweets - short, incoherent and deeply unpleasant. They genuinely inhabit an alternative reality, and (as with a Trump) I look forward to the day when their existence is looked back upon as an aberration.

To describe Sevconians as knuckle draggers would be doing a great service to the many kind hearted knuckle draggers that congregate across the globe.

Fuzzywuzzy
15-04-2018, 08:38 AM
What a ****ing car crash

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/topic/315091-uda-all-the-way/?page=1

And they have a Scottish battalion?

15-04-2018, 08:47 AM
20555Albert Kidd certainly gets around.

Fuzzywuzzy
15-04-2018, 08:48 AM
They love their latin

AltheHibby
15-04-2018, 08:54 AM
http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/aston-villa-glasgow-rangers-hooliganism-11998382#ICID=sharebar_whatsapp

Hope this works. It's from my local paper.

15-04-2018, 09:13 AM
http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/aston-villa-glasgow-rangers-hooliganism-11998382#ICID=sharebar_whatsapp

typical hun behaviour, huns today, huns tomorrow, huns forever....

15-04-2018, 09:27 AM
Her name is Windsor. Her husband’s name is Mountbatten. They’re royals so it all gets needlessly complicated, they like having lots of names. I don’t think any of it has anything to do with the Huns, aka West of Scotland football supporters.

They do have loads of names to allow them to avoid paying tax. All this while investing our tax monies in tax havens abroad. They make me sick!

15-04-2018, 10:09 AM

Read through that, and it appears that Alex Cropley played for Villa that day.

15-04-2018, 10:19 AM

Philip is from the brilliantly named Schleswig-Holstein Sonderburg Glucksburgs. Liz is from the house of Saxe Coburg and Gotha. The Windsors are German on both sides. I will never get why all this is of interest to Rangers fans :dunno:

15-04-2018, 10:34 AM
Philip is from the brilliantly named Schleswig-Holstein Sonderburg Glucksburgs. Liz is from the house of Saxe Coburg and Gotha. The Windsors are German on both sides. I will never get why all this is of interest to Rangers fans :dunno:

My wife is German and I call her 'Hun'. She thinks it's sweet.

Nobody tell her :wink:

15-04-2018, 12:25 PM
My wife is German and I call her 'Hun'. She thinks it's sweet.

Nobody tell her :wink:An RAF officer I know tells me that when he was based in Germany he used to call his German counterparts Box heads. The reason for it was the square shaped helmets they wore during the second world war and that so many of them seemed to have geometrical shaped haircuts.

Apparently war comics in the 50's and 60's also used to have British Tommies refering to them that way as well

Should we also be calling huns box heads?

15-04-2018, 12:33 PM

"Embra Tarriers"
"No Pope of Rome"
"**** Tickets"

Thankfully it’s a minority! 🙄

AltheHibby
15-04-2018, 12:36 PM
It was a quite famous newspaper headline in the 1970s, in a Midlands Newspaper, after one of their many rampages through an English town.

As an aside, my Grandad always said that, although Celtc were always considered to be a Catholic/Irish club, Rangers weren't really considered to be a 'Protestant' club until the 1920s. He said that side of things surfaced quite heavily when large numbers of Protestants left Ireland after Independence and started settling over here, combined with the generally anti-Irish feeling at the time because of the Irish fight for independence.

Apparently the "Huns" headline is an urban myth. I searched for it and found an excellent article in the Irish Post.

What does the word 'hun' mean and what is its place in today's society? - https://www.irishpost.com/news/what-does-the-word-hun-mean-and-what-is-its-place-in-todays-society-91001?utm_source=whatsapp&utm_campaign=article&utm_medium=web

15-04-2018, 01:03 PM
Read through that, and it appears that Alex Cropley played for Villa that day.

Well there you go then... entirely justifiable behaviour under the circumstances

15-04-2018, 01:43 PM
An RAF officer I know tells me that when he was based in Germany he used to call his German counterparts Box heads. The reason for it was the square shaped helmets they wore during the second world war and that so many of them seemed to have geometrical shaped haircuts.

Apparently war comics in the 50's and 60's also used to have British Tommies refering to them that way as well

Should we also be calling huns box heads?

It was ‘squareheads’ rather than boxheads.

15-04-2018, 01:45 PM
It was ‘squareheads’ rather than boxheads.He definitely said box but maybe it was just him☺

Square will do nicely!

15-04-2018, 02:28 PM

Just another typical example of the collective Hun IQ !. Proud to fly the union-jack, pledge allegiance to the Queen, wear England-shirts etc, etc - and when they set one foot over the border they lay waste to everything and everyone they can get their paws on !

The Pointer
15-04-2018, 02:32 PM

Right. I was thinking of Lord Mountbatten as that name was a replacement for 'Battenburg'.

15-04-2018, 02:38 PM
He definitely said box but maybe it was just him☺

Square will do nicely!

It was defo boxheads mate. Or it was in BAOR 79 till 82. Hermans was a more friendly term also used.

15-04-2018, 02:39 PM
It was defo boxheads mate. Or it was in BAOR 79 till 82. Hermans was a more friendly term also used.[emoji106]

The Pointer
15-04-2018, 02:41 PM

I would agree and suggest 'boxhead' was a term used by the septics.

The Pointer
15-04-2018, 02:43 PM
It was defo boxheads mate. Or it was in BAOR 79 till 82. Hermans was a more friendly term also used.

Corrected. Just to confirm, I'll ask the ex-tanky I work with. He enjoys recalling things like that. ;-)

15-04-2018, 02:46 PM
I would agree and suggest 'boxhead' was a term used by the septics.

It might have been squarehead in the training mauals (commando mags) but in Muenster, Osnatraz etc it was boxhead.

15-04-2018, 02:59 PM
Corrected. Just to confirm, I'll ask the ex-tanky I work with. He enjoys recalling things like that. ;-)

If he is ex 4RTR they were up the road from us in York barracks :aok:

On the other hand they used to refer to us as island monkeys :greengrin

15-04-2018, 03:32 PM
A certain Hibee from Brandenburg just refers to them as the Erics, apparently..

15-04-2018, 03:38 PM
Was Sir Glib and Shameless at the game today? Or was he afraid of getting lifted at the airport? 😂😂😂

15-04-2018, 07:41 PM
20555Albert Kidd certainly gets around.

Rock on Tommy.

Stonewall
15-04-2018, 07:47 PM

I was in Australia many years ago and ended up working in a ski resort. The Austrian and Swiss ski instructors were called boxheads by the Aussies. So both terms in use.

Kavinho
15-04-2018, 09:16 PM
Rock on Tommy.

Chalm down chalm down.......

15-04-2018, 09:20 PM
Is it not great watching the car crash on the pitch just now at Sevco.

majorhibs
15-04-2018, 09:29 PM

Better than great!

15-04-2018, 11:39 PM
Rod sitting with the sevco directors yesterday.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180415/fa1e6f6499c4c69f7b8dce3a092ef5a7.jpg

15-04-2018, 11:47 PM

Just using the empty seat that Sir Glib and Shameless didn't need....... :faf:

16-04-2018, 12:05 AM

Hold on, looking like one or two of the knuckle-draggers are starting to tipple - thread on 'Muppet-media' -

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/topic/315156-was-murty-flung-under-the-bus-to-kickstart-the-moonbeam-for-st-sales/

One of them's thumbed his/hers/its opinion -

'Dodgy Dave flung him (Murty) under the bus this week, as soon as any group of players know a manager is gone the knives come out and grudges are settled, why did king do this in the run up to such an important game? No one in the right mind would do that, no-one
murty gone, Jimmy Nic takes over on a temp basis. Season tickets are due for renewal on the 15th of May....lots of high profile managers are linked, moonbeam delivered to sell STs then Jimmy Nichols gets it in the summer once we’ve all renewed'

Admittedly I've no idea who/what 'moonbeam' is but it's obvious the poster has tippled to the Hun way of getting their dough - the Hun use their chums in the media to link high-profile names with the 'Ibrokes' job (names that in reality, wouldn't set foot in their place - stadium or Glasgow) but it's enough for the 'IQ-challenged Loyal' to part with their giro-money as it gets them thinking of a return to the old days of when they used to steam-roller over all opposition - completely oblivious of the fact that for that to happen, the SFA would need to allow them to CHEAT again ?. Yeah, I know we all know the SFA would indeed love to do that for them but thanks to the publicity of the FIRST time they were caught cheating, it's highly unlikely !

16-04-2018, 12:13 AM
Record are reporting that Morelos stuck the head on Docherty. Doesn’t sound like a happy dressing room going into these last 4 weeks.

16-04-2018, 12:22 AM
Record are reporting that Morelos stuck the head on Docherty. Doesn’t sound like a happy dressing room going into these last 4 weeks.

I cannot believe that story we are expected to believe Morelos actually hit something on target?

16-04-2018, 12:44 AM
I cannot believe that story we are expected to believe Morelos actually hit something on target?
Morelos was aiming for his arse.........

16-04-2018, 01:30 AM

Doubt that very much - apart from the fact he'd have missed, Morelos has shown he's very much in the camp of the typical South-American footballer - only attack when the team's behind you ................. and even then, only when it's local and the police are behind you !. Morelos is nothing but a dirty, cheating, diving, greetin-faced, rubber-couponed little piece of **** - all of which makes him the ideal employee for the hell that he's in !

16-04-2018, 02:11 AM
A certain Hibee from Brandenburg just refers to them as the Erics, apparently..

Auf Wiedersehen, Pet.

Doh Rae Me
16-04-2018, 05:32 AM
Morelos was aiming for his arse.........

:not worth
Good one:not worth

16-04-2018, 07:34 AM
I take it Glasgow's finest are trawling video evidence as we speak to identify the offenders.

When will we see them brought to book and brought before the courts?

16-04-2018, 10:37 AM

He’s doing well to hide his smirk under his tache there...

16-04-2018, 10:44 AM
He’s doing well to hide his smirk under his tache there...He'll have his overcoat with the extra large plate and wide pockets sewn into the lining for the half time spread.

Magic marker for writing 3-2 under all the seats as well

16-04-2018, 11:40 AM
He’s doing well to hide his smirk under his tache there...

Petrie's tears of laughter.

16-04-2018, 11:54 AM
No Sevco statement today?

16-04-2018, 12:22 PM

being groomed by his payroll masters ...

16-04-2018, 02:56 PM
The sevco directors are of course guests of the SFA.The Celtic directors are out of shot on the other side.

16-04-2018, 02:58 PM
So why was Rod in with the blue brigade?

Conspiracy theorists, over to you.

16-04-2018, 03:38 PM
So why was Rod in with the blue brigade?

Conspiracy theorists, over to you.

He arrived earlier on his broom, just incase they wanted anything else swept under the carpet.

16-04-2018, 06:12 PM
He was handing out copies of the five way agreement autographed by his good self.

17-04-2018, 05:53 PM
http://club1872.co.uk/news/club-1872-member-update-2/

17-04-2018, 05:56 PM
Asking the mugs for more money (copyright Gorgie Galoots)

17-04-2018, 05:59 PM

They're a great wee comedy act, if I could I'd give them the keys to planet Sevco right now and let them run the show.

17-04-2018, 06:01 PM

What's with the Six Pointed Star logo on their website?

17-04-2018, 06:03 PM
What's with the Six Pointed Star logo on their website?

For Petrofac winners only. We can but dream.

17-04-2018, 06:04 PM
One for the bean counters on here
How much have Rangers spent since they became a new club?

17-04-2018, 06:26 PM

LEt's all club together so I can get a seat on the board - sums it up for me. Any chance this is the guy who made the board only to be emptied because of a very dubious internet history?

17-04-2018, 06:41 PM

Entitled wee p*****.

Would love to see them get a seat on the board - guaranteed to go even more wrong than it is already.

17-04-2018, 06:43 PM
Taken from facebook
Some of The Rangers highlights for you https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/f3a/3/16/1f44d.png👍
McCoist as manager,
McCoist on gardening leave,
Kenny McDowall as manager,
McDowall on gardening leave,
Administration,
Having to reapply to join the lower tier,
Ball stuck in hedge,
Same old Alloa always cheating,
3 failed attempts at the Petrofac cup,
Tannadice boycott,
Sandaza prank call,
Where's ra title deeds,
Craig Whyte wealth aff the radar,
Charles Green,
Dallas Cowboys,
The Gazebo at the AGM,
Gangsters in charge,
Hibs 3-2 Rangers,
Hampden Riot,
Lee Wallace is a grass,
Warburton the next England manager,
Bread wrappers for hats,
The gap is closing,
There is no gap,
The Rangers are coming,
Going for 55,
Joey Barton,
5-1 at Celtic Park,
5-1 at Ibrox,
Pitch invasion at Firhill,
Martyn Waghorn fighting with weans outside chip shops,
Warburton getting dragged out of a press conference,
Jim Traynor,
Traynor's press releases,
Warburton resigning/ being sacked,
Pedro Caixinha,
Caixinha's press conferences,
Pedro's mini leagues,
Progres,
Arguing with fans in a hedge,
Carlos Pena,
Dalcio,
Banning green boots,
Dogs and caravans,
Murty,
Headstands,
McInnes is coming home,
Didn't want McInnes anyway,
Chinese bid for Morelos,
Whit's the goalie daein Tam?
4-0 at Hampden,
Captain suspended,
Miller sacked,
Fans chain the gates.....

17-04-2018, 06:44 PM
That group are in Dave Kings pocket which is why a new one was launched today.
I think they are called follow Rangers.
It’s all very Judean peoples front.

17-04-2018, 07:01 PM
Taken from facebook
Some of The Rangers highlights for you https://static.xx.fbcdn.net/images/emoji.php/v9/f3a/3/16/1f44d.png👍
McCoist as manager,
Administration,
Ball stuck in hedge,
Tannadice boycott,
Sandaza prank call,
Where's ra title deeds,
Charles Green,
Dallas Cowboys,
The Gazebo at the AGM,
Gangsters in charge,
Hibs 3-2 Rangers,
Hampden Riot,
Lee Wallace is a grass,
Bread wrappers for hats,
The gap is closing,
There is no gap,
The Rangers are coming,
Going for 55,
Joey Barton,
5-1 at Celtic Park,
5-1 at Ibrox,
Jim Traynor,
Pedro Caixinha,
Pedro's mini leagues,
Progres,
Carlos Pena,
Dalcio,
Banning green boots,
Dogs and caravans,
Murty,
Headstands,
McInnes is coming home,
Chinese bid for Morelos,
4-0 at Hampden,
Captain suspended,
Miller sacked,
Great times. The gift that keeps on giving.

Aim Here
17-04-2018, 07:33 PM
Union Bears are announcing a protest at the next Hearts game. Apparently they intend to buy a ticket, go to the game, watch the match, and not sing any offensive or bigoted songs. This will apparently pressure the Rangers bignobs to get their act together and sort out the mess that is the football team.

I can't see that tactic working with any normal team, but Rangers has always been a little bit special, so maybe it'll prove effective here.

https://www.facebook.com/247987625238024/photos/a.633695940000522.1073741827.247987625238024/1637390189631087/?type=3

17-04-2018, 07:48 PM
Taken from facebook
McCoist as manager,
Administration,
Ball stuck in hedge,
Tannadice boycott,
Sandaza prank call,
Where's ra title deeds,
Charles Green,
Dallas Cowboys,
The Gazebo at the AGM,
Gangsters in charge,
Hibs 3-2 Rangers,
Hampden Riot,
Lee Wallace is a grass,
Bread wrappers for hats,
The gap is closing,
There is no gap,
The Rangers are coming,
Going for 55,
Joey Barton,
5-1 at Celtic Park,
5-1 at Ibrox,
Jim Traynor,
Pedro Caixinha,
Pedro's mini leagues,
Progres,
Carlos Pena,
Dalcio,
Banning green boots,
Dogs and caravans,
Murty,
Headstands,
McInnes is coming home,
Chinese bid for Morelos,
4-0 at Hampden,
Captain suspended,
Miller sacked,

That's fab.

17-04-2018, 08:10 PM
Union Bears are announcing a protest at the next Hearts game. Apparently they intend to buy a ticket, go to the game, watch the match, and not sing any offensive or bigoted songs. This will apparently pressure the Rangers bignobs to get their act together and sort out the mess that is the football team.

I can't see that tactic working with any normal team, but Rangers has always been a little bit special, so maybe it'll prove effective here.

https://www.facebook.com/247987625238024/photos/a.633695940000522.1073741827.247987625238024/1637390189631087/?type=3

Can you imagine what it will be like if Naismith scores the winner ?

17-04-2018, 08:21 PM
Taken from facebook
McCoist as manager,
Administration,
Ball stuck in hedge,
Tannadice boycott,
Sandaza prank call,
Where's ra title deeds,
Charles Green,
Dallas Cowboys,
The Gazebo at the AGM,
Gangsters in charge,
Hibs 3-2 Rangers,
Hampden Riot,
Lee Wallace is a grass,
Bread wrappers for hats,
The gap is closing,
There is no gap,
The Rangers are coming,
Going for 55,
Joey Barton,
5-1 at Celtic Park,
5-1 at Ibrox,
Jim Traynor,
Pedro Caixinha,
Pedro's mini leagues,
Progres,
Carlos Pena,
Dalcio,
Banning green boots,
Dogs and caravans,
Murty,
Headstands,
McInnes is coming home,
Chinese bid for Morelos,
4-0 at Hampden,
Captain suspended,
Miller sacked,

Packed a lot in for a new club!

17-04-2018, 08:28 PM
Packed a lot in for a new club!

Bomber on the steps of Ibrox was a particular highlight. I highly recommend a second watch.

They really are gullible idiots.

Kaff
17-04-2018, 08:49 PM
Taken from facebook
McCoist as manager,
Administration,
Ball stuck in hedge,
Tannadice boycott,
Sandaza prank call,
Where's ra title deeds,
Charles Green,
Dallas Cowboys,
The Gazebo at the AGM,
Gangsters in charge,
Hibs 3-2 Rangers,
Hampden Riot,
Lee Wallace is a grass,
Bread wrappers for hats,
The gap is closing,
There is no gap,
The Rangers are coming,
Going for 55,
Joey Barton,
5-1 at Celtic Park,
5-1 at Ibrox,
Jim Traynor,
Pedro Caixinha,
Pedro's mini leagues,
Progres,
Carlos Pena,
Dalcio,
Banning green boots,
Dogs and caravans,
Murty,
Headstands,
McInnes is coming home,
Chinese bid for Morelos,
4-0 at Hampden,
Captain suspended,
Miller sacked,

Nice of Billy Joel to change the lyrics to his best seller, what's the title now. Stokes didn't light the fire?

17-04-2018, 09:16 PM
Bomber on the steps of Ibrox was a particular highlight. I highly recommend a second watch.

“Where’s the deeds?”

17-04-2018, 09:21 PM

Did I hear the rumour correctly - seemingly Bomber was looking to get into the Rangers dressing room on Sunday to discuss the performance?

Obviously he wasn't allowed.

Topographic Hibby
17-04-2018, 09:37 PM
Did I hear the rumour correctly - seemingly Bomber was looking to get into the Rangers dressing room on Sunday to discuss the performance?

Obviously he wasn't allowed.Phil Mac Four Names makes oblique reference to it here:

https://philmacgiollabhain.ie/2018/04/16/grisly-carnage-versus-professional-excellence/

“Reasoned mediation might not be in his skill set...” - his prose style is a real pain in a sore place, but occasionally he does hit the spot. As to whether Brown actually offered his “skills” to the Sevco dressing room.....who knows.

17-04-2018, 09:46 PM
Phil Mac Four Names makes oblique reference to it here:

https://philmacgiollabhain.ie/2018/04/16/grisly-carnage-versus-professional-excellence/

“Reasoned mediation might not be in his skill set...” - his prose style is a real pain in a sore place, but occasionally he does hit the spot. As to whether Brown actually offered his “skills” to the Sevco dressing room.....who knows.

He really is very good at the smug Celtc prick thing,

18-04-2018, 05:59 AM
He really is very good at the smug Celtc prick thing,As well as the rewriting of history.

The other day, he tweeted that Sevco is the legal name for the club, and that they "trade as" RFC. I called him out about it, but have had no reply.

Such is his standing, that many will believe him on this, and other things, without question.

18-04-2018, 08:45 AM
As well as the rewriting of history.

The other day, he tweeted that Sevco is the legal name for the club, and that they "trade as" RFC. I called him out about it, but have had no reply.

Such is his standing, that many will believe him on this, and other things, without question.

Standard behaviour.

The last Celtc fan who tried to give me a ‘if you know your history’ lecture suddenly lost all interest in the subject when I bit back and corrected his fanciful rubbish.

18-04-2018, 01:10 PM
Taken from facebook
McCoist as manager,
Administration,
Ball stuck in hedge,
Tannadice boycott,
Sandaza prank call,
Where's ra title deeds,
Charles Green,
Dallas Cowboys,
The Gazebo at the AGM,
Gangsters in charge,
Hibs 3-2 Rangers,
Hampden Riot,
Lee Wallace is a grass,
Bread wrappers for hats,
The gap is closing,
There is no gap,
The Rangers are coming,
Going for 55,
Joey Barton,
5-1 at Celtic Park,
5-1 at Ibrox,
Jim Traynor,
Pedro Caixinha,
Pedro's mini leagues,
Progres,
Carlos Pena,
Dalcio,
Banning green boots,
Dogs and caravans,
Murty,
Headstands,
McInnes is coming home,
Chinese bid for Morelos,
4-0 at Hampden,
Captain suspended,
Miller sacked,

Can't believe they missed out Shooders. :rolleyes:

And 4-0 at ER ya bas!

18-04-2018, 02:28 PM

Love a rangers statement:faf:

18-04-2018, 03:21 PM
Sorry if already posted earlier, but Stillian Petrov, latest Old Firm apologist wheeled out to tell us how much Scottish Football is only about two clubs...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/43801225

18-04-2018, 03:36 PM
Is winning the league with 4 or 5 games to spare a lack of challenge? Im sure just about every major league at the moment has a league winner with the same or more games to spare :confused:

18-04-2018, 03:55 PM
Is winning the league with 4 or 5 games to spare a lack of challenge? Im sure just about every major league at the moment has a league winner with the same or more games to spare :confused:

I'm sure that the supporters of Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen, StMirren, Inverness, Ross County, Kilmarnock, St Johnstone (I'll probably have forgotten somebody) ... all of whom have won Cups in the years since RFC's demise.... would prefer to go back to the duopoly. :greengrin

18-04-2018, 04:00 PM
Sorry if already posted earlier, but Stillian Petrov, latest Old Firm apologist wheeled out to tell us how much Scottish Football is only about two clubs...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/43801225

Comments like this really piss me off. Why does it have to be The Rangers who challenge Celtic. He can ram his comments up his arse. Guys like him are what’s wrong with Scottish football. Same with Sutton, fat Sally etc.. League was fine without the Huns in it.

18-04-2018, 04:51 PM
It would be interesting to hear Neil Lennon's take on his old teammate's comments.

I took them more as a sly dig at Sevco tbh, and he suggested that Aberdeen and Hibs should be seen as the main challengers these days.

I had hoped that the would be the kind of thing Lennon would want to pin to the dressing room wall this weekend, but it didn't actually come across that way as much as I'd hoped.

18-04-2018, 05:07 PM
I was told today that the rangers condition is bad for Scottish football. I pointed out that Hibs - winning the cup, 18,000 average attendance, Hearts high average attendance, Aberdeen 2nd place a number of times and decent average attendance and LC win, St J SC win, Dundee Utd cup win etc etc and der hun having won the square root of **** all suggested that it was very good for Scottish football and only really bad for them. He countered with " but Hibs are never going to win the league" he gave up when I said but neither are rangers any time soon.
Full of their own self importance and Scottish football is doing ok thanks very much and part of that is because they are *****. They don't get, or don't want to get, that a strong challenge to celtic doesn't need to come just from them but is much better to come from 4 or 5 teams. Hibs, Aberdeen, Hearts and der hun challenging would be much better than the duopoly we have historically had

18-04-2018, 05:41 PM
The newspapers seem to have an overwhelming desire to slip old players a few hundred quid to prattle meanlessly about the OF.They should seek help for this strange pre occupation.

18-04-2018, 06:39 PM
I was told today that the rangers condition is bad for Scottish football. I pointed out that Hibs - winning the cup, 18,000 average attendance, Hearts high average attendance, Aberdeen 2nd place a number of times and decent average attendance and LC win, St J SC win, Dundee Utd cup win etc etc and der hun having won the square root of **** all suggested that it was very good for Scottish football and only really bad for them. He countered with " but Hibs are never going to win the league" he gave up when I said but neither are rangers any time soon.
Full of their own self importance and Scottish football is doing ok thanks very much and part of that is because they are *****. They don't get, or don't want to get, that a strong challenge to celtic doesn't need to come just from them but is much better to come from 4 or 5 teams. Hibs, Aberdeen, Hearts and der hun challenging would be much better than the duopoly we have historically had

18-04-2018, 06:52 PM
The newspapers seem to have an overwhelming desire to slip old players a few hundred quid to prattle meanlessly about the OF.They should seek help for this strange pre occupation.

Old players who are amongst the worst managers ever to disgrace the Scottish game...Rae and McCulloch anyway.

18-04-2018, 07:46 PM
https://rabona.tribuna.com/en/1664919?utm_source=others&utm_medium=share&utm_campaign=ios

18-04-2018, 08:56 PM
https://www.facebook.com/ian.toghill/videos/10204804131338930/

18-04-2018, 09:13 PM

I don't want these filth challenging for anything - if they did, for me, it'd be like they were being rewarded for their cheating !. Before their cheating came out I always felt like a dark-cloud had descended on the game whenever they 'won' anything !

majorhibs
18-04-2018, 09:24 PM
He really is very good at the smug Celtc prick thing,

As well as the rewriting of history.

Standard behaviour.

The last Celtc fan who tried to give me a ‘if you know your history’ lecture suddenly lost all interest in the subject when I bit back and corrected his fanciful rubbish.

Why worry? I lost interest in correcting halfwit tics 30 years ago. You will never get through to them. Ever. Soap dodgers they will remain for eternity.
CWG thanks for years financial expertise but imo your zombie attitude has gone too far. They are Zombies, FFS! Let one bite you if your that desperate to be in amongst!
Tics are so so easy, couple of facts pre 1887, their bottom jaw drops, they realise they’re skelped, they retreat cos education isnae for them. Easy.

18-04-2018, 09:47 PM

Great post

19-04-2018, 06:03 AM
Why worry? I lost interest in correcting halfwit tics 30 years ago. You will never get through to them. Ever. Soap dodgers they will remain for eternity.
CWG thanks for years financial expertise but imo your zombie attitude has gone too far. They are Zombies, FFS! Let one bite you if your that desperate to be in amongst!
Tics are so so easy, couple of facts pre 1887, their bottom jaw drops, they realise they’re skelped, they retreat cos education isnae for them. Easy.Not sure what you mean. Last week I was a Jambo. This week a Hun? [emoji849]

19-04-2018, 06:50 AM
Not sure what you mean. Last week I was a Jambo. This week a Hun? [emoji849]

On the plus side you're getting good value out of your union flag. Every little helps :thumbsup:

19-04-2018, 07:41 AM

LTYHF :wink:

19-04-2018, 07:46 AM

I frequently have that problem reading major's posts too, but he's also called me a hun on several occasions. I wear it like a badge of pride these days.

19-04-2018, 07:51 AM
Not sure what you mean. Last week I was a Jambo. This week a Hun?

You undercover Tims with your deflectionary wiles. :tsk tsk:

Curried
19-04-2018, 07:53 AM
According to Mark McDougall of the Daily Record “Raging Andy Halliday screams at Rangers fan as he's hooked after horror first half”.

In his in-depth expose McDougall pointed out the following: “It's then understood a Rangers supporter shouted at him as he made his way to the bench and Halliday reacted angrily to the abuse appearing to mouth f***ing bawbag, with the supporter believed to have been taken away by stewards”.

It’s just a shame this “journalist” didn’t post the following photo in support of his claim:

http://www.heraldscotland.com/resources/images/7676786.jpg?display=1&htype=0&type=responsive-gallery

19-04-2018, 07:59 AM

Sent from my SM-A510F using TapatalkTwo cheeks, same erse[emoji6]

I know you're actually a Hibby.

19-04-2018, 08:28 AM
According to Mark McDougall of the Daily Record “Raging Andy Halliday screams at Rangers fan as he's hooked after horror first half”.

In his in-depth expose McDougall pointed out the following: “It's then understood a Rangers supporter shouted at him as he made his way to the bench and Halliday reacted angrily to the abuse appearing to mouth f***ing bawbag, with the supporter believed to have been taken away by stewards”.

It’s just a shame this “journalist” didn’t post the following photo in support of his claim:

http://www.heraldscotland.com/resources/images/7676786.jpg?display=1&htype=0&type=responsive-gallery

Halliday looks like your stereotypical hun. They all have the same facial expression

19-04-2018, 08:51 AM

They are Sevco staff, surely?

19-04-2018, 09:01 AM
They are Sevco staff, surely?

That's his point.

There are a few photos of the incident, from different angles. He's clearly screaming at the front row of the bench.

erskine-hibby
19-04-2018, 09:09 AM
https://www.facebook.com/ian.toghill/videos/10204804131338930/

Glad it brought a smile to your face. Whoever actually made it is to be commended. Couldn't help but put in on my Facebook page😂😂🤡🤡😂😂

Topographic Hibby
19-04-2018, 09:15 AM
http://www.heraldscotland.com/resources/images/7676786.jpg?display=1&htype=0&type=responsive-galleryJimmy Nicholl looks are real busy guy. Big help to the manager.............:rolleyes:

19-04-2018, 09:17 AM
Jimmy Nicholl looks are real busy guy. Big help to the manager.............:rolleyes:

And I can’t belive they’ve let the boy Bates sit with them either
He’s told them to get too

19-04-2018, 09:56 AM
That's his point.

There are a few photos of the incident, from different angles. He's clearly screaming at the front row of the bench.

Ah!

:dizzy:

19-04-2018, 10:08 AM

You seem to change your allegiances more often than I change my socks.

It's about time you picked one team and stuck to them.

19-04-2018, 10:09 AM
You seem to change your allegiances more often than I change my socks.

It's about time you picked one team and stuck to them.

***ake, your feet must be mingin....

I'll always be loyal to the famous. Forever blowing bubbles, and never walking alone.

19-04-2018, 10:43 AM

I'll always be loyal to the famous. Forever blowing bubbles, and never walking alone.

I sense a Michael Jackson joke somewhere in the ether.....

19-04-2018, 12:05 PM
Anybody want to guess how long "EastEnclosureBear" is going to last on SevcoMedia? :greengrin

You obviously seem to quite like the idea of commerating something that has **** all to do with Rangers and I’m the idiot? :lol:

Seriously though people need to move on and grow up from this pish. It’s a big **** off dried in skid mark on our football club. It’s clear as ****ing day why we are hated so much. The whole Protestant Union Loyalist thing is just an escape for lonely unstable ****s. 2018 and *****s are still banging on about what happened hundreds of years ago. I’ve grown out of it, it is sad to see grown men still so heavily involved in it. Worshipping the Queen, like she gives a **** :lol:

Probably upset a fair few on here giving it its our heritage, your not a Rangers fan etc the usual when someone tells it how it is.

Educate yourselves, take a step back, replace that empty mind with open one. You’ll find your quality of life improves not sitting there just ****ing raging over a religion or some other irrelevant pish.

hughio
19-04-2018, 01:14 PM
Anybody want to guess how long "EastEnclosureBear" is going to last on SevcoMedia? :greengrin

I didn't realise they had such enlightened souls in their ranks.East Enclosure Bear's to be commended.

But on a wider note how long can the present shambles go on?Change there must be coming.King's got to be on his way.He doesn't seem to have the cash to buy up the shares hes been told by the Court to purchase.He must be sick to the back teeth of the cost of his failures to date and all the ongoing backbiting.
Almost feel sorry for him.

19-04-2018, 02:24 PM
I didn't realise they had such enlightened souls in their ranks.East Enclosure Bear's to be commended.

But on a wider note how long can the present shambles go on?Change there must be coming.King's got to be on his way.He doesn't seem to have the cash to buy up the shares hes been told by the Court to purchase.He must be sick to the back teeth of the cost of his failures to date and all the ongoing backbiting.
Almost feel sorry for him.

How long is it now since the DR claimed he was going to comply with the Share Purchase order?

They seem to have gone awfully quiet on the subject ever since.

19-04-2018, 02:28 PM

Loyal eh! Burn the witch.

19-04-2018, 02:37 PM

What thread is that on? I'd love to see the reactions to that post.

19-04-2018, 02:42 PM

Some fair points 😅
You obviously seem to quite like the idea of commerating something that has **** all to do with Rangers and I’m the idiot? :lol:

Seriously though people need to move on and grow up from this pish. It’s a big **** off dried in skid mark on our football club. It’s clear as ****ing day why we are hated so much. The whole Protestant Union Loyalist thing is just an escape for lonely unstable ****s. 2018 and *****s are still banging on about what happened hundreds of years ago. I’ve grown out of it, it is sad to see grown men still so heavily involved in it. Worshipping the Queen, like she gives a **** :lol:

Probably upset a fair few on here giving it its our heritage, your not a Rangers fan etc the usual when someone tells it how it is.

Educate yourselves, take a step back, replace that empty mind with open one. You’ll find your quality of life improves not sitting there just ****ing raging over a religion or some other irrelevant pish.

19-04-2018, 02:47 PM
Some fair points [emoji28]
You obviously seem to quite like the idea of commerating something that has **** all to do with Rangers and I’m the idiot? [emoji38]

Seriously though people need to move on and grow up from this pish. It’s a big **** off dried in skid mark on our football club. It’s clear as ****ing day why we are hated so much. The whole Protestant Union Loyalist thing is just an escape for lonely unstable ****s. 2018 and *****s are still banging on about what happened hundreds of years ago. I’ve grown out of it, it is sad to see grown men still so heavily involved in it. Worshipping the Queen, like she gives a **** [emoji38]

Educate yourselves, take a step back, replace that empty mind with open one. You’ll find your quality of life improves not sitting there just ****ing raging over a religion or some other irrelevant pish.It'll never catch on[emoji6]

19-04-2018, 03:26 PM

http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/topic/315213-hummel/?page=37

As usual, there is a clamour for an orange kit. EEB's post is in response to someone suggesting they do one in UVF colours (orange/purple).

19-04-2018, 07:16 PM

As usual, there is a clamour for an orange kit. EEB's post is in response to someone suggesting they do one in UVF colours (orange/purple).

I'm actually quite surprised at the low level of replies he received. Maybe it's beginning to sink in that their problem lies with the baggage they carry...

... Aye! OK! :faf: I'm away for a lie down :greengrin

Fuzzywuzzy
19-04-2018, 07:30 PM

'The reason 'we' are hated so much is because we are the biggest club in Scotland (despite our current woes). The rest can never be us. We were formed as a football club, not on sectarian principles. We acknowledge and respect our history and never try to hide it through shame.'

Well **** me with a strapon

19-04-2018, 07:49 PM
'The reason 'we' are hated so much is because we are the biggest club in Scotland (despite our current woes). The rest can never be us. We were formed as a football club, not on sectarian principles. We acknowledge and respect our history and never try to hide it through shame.'

Well **** me with a strapon

I worked with a guy who used to head up the commercial team at Rangers...they had , at the time , about 150,000 people on their customer database...they had a campaign to try to get another 100,000 on it...they engaged with their community asking them to introduce a rangers supporting friend too them..incentives offered etc...they expected at least a 50% uplift - they got under 3000 new names..

it led them to understand, not that they would publicly admit, that they are not a global fanbase club in the way Celtic are...they are dominantly supported by the west of Scotland diaspora...they are a big club in scottish terms - no doubt, but globally - nowhere near the appeal of Celtic, who have huge Irish support base across the globe, and other league's big teams, who have brands which have international cross community appeal in a way Rangers never will have.

19-04-2018, 08:12 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/43828476

... apparently TRFC are ‘ahead of the curve’ [emoji15]

Difficult to believe that the fans are still swallowing this manure

19-04-2018, 09:19 PM

They’re not, they’re raging about it and hurling abuse at him all over the internet.

The Pointer
19-04-2018, 09:27 PM

Huns using 'maskirovka'. (Russian word for obfuscation/sleight of hand.)

19-04-2018, 09:39 PM

Well **** me with a straponHard to imagine who really wants to be whatever it is they are.

Thankfully there are an awful lot of people who follow them and think the same way as this guy so they can't see the direction GASL and the assorted bears etc are taking them.

Long may it continue

19-04-2018, 09:53 PM
They’re not, they’re raging about it and hurling abuse at him all over the internet.

So “highly respected businessman” Alastair Johnston lives out his days as an apologist for Dave Lying King and getting abuse from the hordes.

It’s a strange retirement to choose, but each to their own.

Crazyhorse
19-04-2018, 10:22 PM
Some fair points 😅

Clearly some of the Sevco fans would prefer to support a football team like this guy. Many of them however seem to want to be in the KKK/Orange Order. The problem is that the jokers in charge know they can make much more money out of the facists much like Celtc (I was there) know they can make much more out of peddling the sectarian plastic paddy p1sh.

20-04-2018, 07:32 AM
Clearly some of the Sevco fans would prefer to support a football team like this guy. Many of them however seem to want to be in the KKK/Orange Order. The problem is that the jokers in charge know they can make much more money out of the facists much like Celtc (I was there) know they can make much more out of peddling the sectarian plastic paddy p1sh.There are some out there. My cousin who supported the now defunct Glasgow rangers has genuinely given up on the tribute act.

He doesn't want his kids to be dragged into the sectarian hate stuff. He now takes the kids to ER and follows Scotland everywhere as well as the odd Newcastle game.

20-04-2018, 11:20 AM

They are absolutely spewing. Glorious. :greengrin

20-04-2018, 11:51 AM
DR reporting that DK will make his offer next week.

According to them, there are unlikely to be too many acceptances.

Also, the new share issue will take place "within weeks, not months".

20-04-2018, 12:10 PM

CWG, how feasible is it to make a few calls to significant investors, hinting at negative consequences for the company if they take up the offer?

You’d think that the logical thing would be to take the money and run, but perhaps these shareholders will be persuaded to stick by the club.

20-04-2018, 12:29 PM
CWG, how feasible is it to make a few calls to significant investors, hinting at negative consequences for the company if they take up the offer?

You’d think that the logical thing would be to take the money and run, but perhaps these shareholders will be persuaded to stick by the club.

Dunno about feasible, but it would be illegal :greengrin

The DR are saying that the current share price is 27.5p, whereas the offer will be 20p. There's your "persuading" right there......

That said, anybody who makes their financial decisions based on a few lines in the Record, deserves to get shafted. :cb

20-04-2018, 12:33 PM
Dunno about feasible, but it would be illegal :greengrin

The DR are saying that the current share price is 27.5p, whereas the offer will be 20p. There's your "persuading" right there......

TBH, anybody who makes their financial decisions based on a few lines in the Record, deserves to get shafted. :cb

To hold on, you’ve got to be confident that King’s financial turnaround can work... and it’s based on large income from European football.

Exciting times at Ibrox!

Pescarese
21-04-2018, 06:58 PM

Hope it’s not that soon. I’m looking forward to shouting “We’ve got an Ofir, we’ve got an Ofir, you’ve not, you’ve not.”

Ok, I’ll get my coat ...

26-04-2018, 09:37 AM
The press is full of Steve Gerrard "locked in talks" to be their next manager stories. Another, but even less experienced, youth coach. Excellent! :greengrin

RoslinInstHibby
26-04-2018, 09:42 AM
The press is full of Steve Gerrard "locked in talks" to be their next manager stories. Another, but even less experienced, youth coach. Excellent! :greengrin

just going for the big name option eh? awful job for a 1st time manager to take, few rumours about Neil Warnock....

26-04-2018, 09:45 AM
just going for the big name option eh? awful job for a 1st time manager to take, few rumours about Neil Warnock....

Gerrard would shift more STs but be a disaster. Warnock would probably do ok but surely too savvy to take it?

RoslinInstHibby
26-04-2018, 09:52 AM
Gerrard would shift more STs but be a disaster. Warnock would probably do ok but surely too savvy to take it?

bit of rangers fan by all accounts, also has a home up here....would be a mistake for him though

KerPlunk
26-04-2018, 09:56 AM

I think the Gerrard stories are just the usual agitprop garbage planted by Jabba’s goblins to get the daft Huns to renew whilst at the same time deflecting from the mess in the back room and on the park.
Even assuming there was any truth to the Stevie G. stuff, if he were to do the smallest bit of due diligence/research, he would soon realise not to touch Sevco with the biggest of jobby covered sticks.

26-04-2018, 09:58 AM
I think the Gerrard stories are just the usual agitprop garbage planted by Jabba’s goblins to get the daft Huns to renew whilst at the same time deflecting from the mess in the back room and on the park.
Even assuming there was any truth to the Stevie G. stuff, if he were to do the smallest bit of due diligence/research, he would soon realise not to touch Sevco with the biggest, ****t1est of sticks.

One of the Scottish tabloid journalist was talking about him on Clyde last night
Said there’s something in it, whether just enquiries from Rangers side
Said also would take Gary McAllister as his assistant, if it was to happen

26-04-2018, 10:00 AM
One of the Scottish tabloid journalist was talking about him on Clyde last night
Said there’s something in it, whether just enquiries from Tangersbside, which beggars belief
Said also would take Gary McAllister as his assistant, if it was to happen

Fixed that for you.

Really can't see them going with each other.

26-04-2018, 10:02 AM
Seemingly he fell out with Rodgers at Liverpool because he was no longer an automatic starter.

"I didn’t enjoy missing big games," Gerrard told BT Sport.

"I sat on the bench against Manchester United and Real Madrid and for me, I don’t want people to remember me as a substitute, maybe that’s being a bit selfish but I’ve played for the first team for 17 years and I’ve been a key part of the team"

"Sitting on the bench at home against Manchester United at home was tough to take as well and was probably the reason why I was sent off within 30 seconds."

An ego driven inexperienced youth coach with a grudge that's prone to over-emotional responses? Sounds perfect. :wink:

26-04-2018, 10:02 AM
I've no idea whether Gerard will eventually be a good manager or not, but at this stage of his career the link to Rangers must be about getting season tickets sold. His name might be attractive to top players, the available budget might not.

It takes attention away from the current big Ibrox question. Will King put money in an account this week for the share offer?

26-04-2018, 11:10 AM
If he is appointed, will he deny his Kafflick background like Joey Barton did?

26-04-2018, 11:20 AM
If he is appointed, will he deny his Kafflick background like Joey Barton did?

He already is. Claiming he went to a Catholic school but isn't actually Catholic. Like his parents would have sent him there if he wasn't. :rolleyes:

Steven79
26-04-2018, 11:41 AM
He already is. Claiming he went to a Catholic school but isn't actually Catholic. Like his parents would have sent him there if he wasn't. :rolleyes:

It's different in England as many kids go to the local Catholic school despite not being Catholic nor their parents.

26-04-2018, 11:49 AM
It's different in England as many kids go to the local Catholic school despite not being Catholic nor their parents.

One of his daughters is called Lourdes.

I guess they just liked the name.

KerPlunk
26-04-2018, 12:17 PM
One of his daughters is called Lourdes.

I guess they just liked the name.

The other kids are called ‘Knock’ and ‘Santiago de Compostela’.

26-04-2018, 12:28 PM

It's quite common. Less of a hang-up in England about **** like that.

26-04-2018, 12:28 PM
Same up hear. You are not forced to go to a "catholic school just because you are one. Many parents choose to send their kids to yhem as they tend to have better academic achievement and discipline due to the ethos. Think is almost 50% non catholic background these days

26-04-2018, 12:31 PM
The other kids are called ‘Knock’ and ‘Santiago de Compostela’.

I believe the family cat Vatican and dog Fatima get along well...

26-04-2018, 02:26 PM
It's quite common. Less of a hang-up in England about **** like that.

Because the C of E is as Catholic as you can get without having a Pope.

26-04-2018, 02:30 PM

Once tried explaining the concept of a non-sectarian football club to my rangers mate. I support Hibs, but as a kid attended episcopalian services.

“Ach you’re still a Fenian b******” was his thoughtful reply.

26-04-2018, 02:36 PM

That would be an ecumenical matter.

26-04-2018, 03:35 PM
That would be an ecumenical matter.

Carefull now...

26-04-2018, 03:40 PM
Rikki Fulton in his persona as Rangers manager would be priceless in acting this one out!!

' Steven Gerrard' ye say? Bring him in. Well hello there. Now Steven, welcome to Rangers, but first I must ask ye, What school did ye go tae?'

26-04-2018, 03:42 PM
Carefull now...

Down with that sorta t'ing!

26-04-2018, 03:45 PM
Re Gerrard:

Wikipedia seems to be confused, as it says "He is a practising Roman Catholic".

26-04-2018, 04:54 PM

I was a practicing Episcopalian who went to a Catholic school just outside Glasgow, neither my parents (including my Rangers supporting, masonic Lodge attending father), nor the school had any issues with it. It was a good school and it was where all my friends were going so that was where I wanted to go. It's really not an issue in Scotland either.