View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 [66] 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181

04-07-2012, 07:22 PM
Has anyone voiced their approval?

Hamilton

04-07-2012, 07:23 PM
Falkirk FC‏@falkirkbairnsRANGERS NEWCO APPLICATION: Falkirk FC Board Statement http://bit.ly/Op0RFb (http://t.co/XQhzdXdg)

That smells of 'give us a deal and you can have NewCo in SFL1'

04-07-2012, 07:28 PM

You are bang on mate.

We have the no vote we all wanted.

The worst that should happen to Killie is that the hopefully large Hibs away support there next season take the pee by singing about them being Rangers lovers. To take any action as supporters which would lead to Killie's fans possibly losing their club because of the actions of one man who was acting 'against' their wishes would be a tragedy and totally unfair to the folk who have followed Killie for years and in the face of huge pressure to follow the old firm.

Some of the clubs involved in this vote today voted the way they did under huge pressure from their fans, Hibs not least of these. If the clubs had been left to their own devices there is no doubt that the vote would have gone the other way, due to the fact that a number of them are now scratching their heads wondering how they are going to fill the financial hole this has created. We got what we wanted in the beginning and now its up to US to save our clubs from the consequences ....... Thats the reality.

When I read some of the posts on this board I am reminded of the film Rob Roy:

In the film everybody thinks one of Rob Roy's men has stolen all the money he was given to buy cattle. One of the characters goes on and on saying he thinks that the guy is guilty ........ after a bit Rob Roy ( Liam Neeson ) turn to him and says " bad enough that it should be so without you wishing it"

Thats the impression I am beginning to get here ..... some folk are so bloody determined that Rangers newco should start in the 3rd division ... or even better nowhere ... and go on and on and on about no comin' back, fitbas deid tae me blah blah blah, that I am beginning to think they WANT Rangers newco shoehorned into Division 1 so that they can feel all bloody moral and superior when they do chuck it.Probably just as well then that some of those folk dinnae actually give a **** what you think!

northgreen24
04-07-2012, 07:29 PM

suppose it does but for their yes vote they are expecting much more change that has been offered. As much as i feel "the ranger" should start in division 3 i would accept sfl 1 if it meant changes that falkirk are asking for TBH

04-07-2012, 07:30 PM

Really?

I read it quite differently.

John_the_angus_hibby
04-07-2012, 07:30 PM

You are bang on mate.

We have the no vote we all wanted.

The worst that should happen to Killie is that the hopefully large Hibs away support there next season take the pee by singing about them being Rangers lovers. To take any action as supporters which would lead to Killie's fans possibly losing their club because of the actions of one man who was acting 'against' their wishes would be a tragedy and totally unfair to the folk who have followed Killie for years and in the face of huge pressure to follow the old firm.

Some of the clubs involved in this vote today voted the way they did under huge pressure from their fans, Hibs not least of these. If the clubs had been left to their own devices there is no doubt that the vote would have gone the other way, due to the fact that a number of them are now scratching their heads wondering how they are going to fill the financial hole this has created. We got what we wanted in the beginning and now its up to US to save our clubs from the consequences ....... Thats the reality.

When I read some of the posts on this board I am reminded of the film Rob Roy:

In the film everybody thinks one of Rob Roy's men has stolen all the money he was given to buy cattle. One of the characters goes on and on saying he thinks that the guy is guilty ........ after a bit Rob Roy ( Liam Neeson ) turn to him and says " bad enough that it should be so without you wishing it"

Thats the impression I am beginning to get here ..... some folk are so bloody determined that Rangers newco should start in the 3rd division ... or even better nowhere ... and go on and on and on about no comin' back, fitbas deid tae me blah blah blah, that I am beginning to think they WANT Rangers newco shoehorned into Division 1 so that they can feel all bloody moral and superior when they do chuck it.

This. Sensible and fair. Thanks for posting.

04-07-2012, 07:33 PM
Seems McCoist is claiming at a Rangers Fighting Fund meeting tonight that our very own Rod wanted Rangers in the SPL but with sanctions (from todays vote meeting) - I think our Chairman has some explaining to do if that's the case.

Wat Dabney
04-07-2012, 07:34 PM
Seems McCoist is claiming at a Rangers Fighting Fund meeting tonight that our very own Rod wanted Rangers in the SPL but with sanctions (from todays vote meeting) - I think our Chairman has some explaining to do if that's the case.

https://twitter.com/nmckay82/status/220599812142280704

04-07-2012, 07:34 PM
As I understand it, the next set of votes come from the DIV1 league only. (It looks like they're going to overwhelmingly vote "no") to let newco in their league.

Then the next set of votes will then go out to all the SFL clubs (1, 2 & 3) in an attempt to get into DIV3.

I "think" thats whats going on.

Ta for that WH
So that means that the current Div 1 teams get a vote (except Dundee who say they'll not vote on this) .....but is it a simple majority for them to decide on whether they let the huns into that league.
Do you know what date the vote will be, cos I hope to celebrate them getting bombed down into Div 3

Sorry, guys, you are both wrong.

ALL SFL clubs vote on the proposal to let Sevco into Division 1. That needs a simple majority, ie 15 clubs out of 29, to pass it. So far, 10 have said they would vote against it, and 1 for.

The vote is on the 12th, of course :0)

04-07-2012, 07:35 PM
Seems McCoist is claiming at a Rangers Fighting Fund meeting tonight that our very own Rod wanted Rangers in the SPL but with sanctions (from todays vote meeting) - I think our Chairman has some explaining to do if that's the case.That just cannae be true, he's as straight as a die is Rod

04-07-2012, 07:36 PM

If that was the case, he would have voted yes.

I believe every club would have been made to vote before viewing the votes of others in order to prevent a "change of heart".

Raman Bhardwaj‏@STVRamanLivingston director David Stoker says Neil Doncaster's position is untenable.One SPL chairman has told us Doncaster won't survive. #pressure (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23pressure)

Piqué
Raman Bhardwaj ‏@STVRaman
Livingston director David Stoker says Neil Doncaster's position is untenable.One SPL chairman has told us Doncaster won't survive. #pressure

Edit: Ahh just beaten to it!

Brando7
04-07-2012, 07:38 PM
I agree with this.

The fans now have a chance to strengthen the league, that means turning up to every game in high numbers and showing that the league can survive without THEM.

The Killie chairman done what he felt was best for his own club, he had to. Killie will seriously struggle financially and will need to make serious cutbacks. But the blow can be softened if more people start turning up for games.

It's a "no Rangers" league right now, that should be incentive enough to get numbers through the gates.

No so sure about that

http://killiefc.com/forum/viewthread.php?tid=71514

04-07-2012, 07:39 PM
That just cannae be true, he's as straight as a die is Rod

What was it you said about sarcasm the other day?:greengrin

Livingston director David Stoker says Neil Doncaster's position is untenable.One SPL chairman has told us Doncaster won't survive. #pressure

Edit: Ahh just beaten to it!He should have been punted months ago as soon as he started acting in the interests of just one club. Unless of course he secretly had the backing of others.

What was it you said about sarcasm the other day?:greengrinIf you cannae beat them, join them :wink: :greengrin

04-07-2012, 07:42 PM

ALL SFL clubs vote on the proposal to let Sevco into Division 1. That needs a simple majority, ie 15 clubs out of 29, to pass it. So far, 10 have said they would vote against it, and 1 for.

Actually now 11 as per BBC-
Partick Thistle, Falkirk, Dunfermline, Raith Rovers, Morton, Livingston, East Fife, Stranraer, Stirling Albion, Peterhead and Clyde.

Hamilton in favour

04-07-2012, 07:43 PM

Cheers for clearing that up CWG. :thumbsup:

It seems odd to me how the system works like that. Why on earth would DIV2 and DIV3 have much interest in whether Rangers played in DIV1 or not? They don't have anything to gain from it.

ancienthibby
04-07-2012, 07:44 PM
https://twitter.com/nmckay82/status/220599812142280704

If any of that is true, I'd imagine it would just be procedural - RP, as Chairman of an SPL committee, would be duty bound to go by the rules of procedure.

That said we know where the Hibs vote (and the Hibs Fan votes) were cast!

OUT YOU MANKY HUNS!!!!!!

Well done Rod!!:agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::ag ree::agree::agree:

04-07-2012, 07:45 PM

It seems odd to me how the system works like that. Why on earth would DIV2 and DIV3 have much interest in whether Rangers played in DIV1 or not? They don't have anything to gain from it.

Oh, but they do :greengrin

If they vote against them going into D1, but FOR them going into D3, every club scores with a couple of home games against them.

04-07-2012, 07:45 PM
Raman Bhardwaj‏@STVRamanLivingston director David Stoker says Neil Doncaster's position is untenable.One SPL chairman has told us Doncaster won't survive. #pressure (http://www.hibs.net/#!/search/%23pressure)

Good, every one of them should fall on their swords.....Leaderless and gutless.....

04-07-2012, 07:46 PM
No so sure about that

http://killiefc.com/forum/viewthread.php?tid=71514

Killie fans were always going to be angered by this.

But how angry would they be in the near future when they face relelgation or go into administration had their chairman voted "no" to letting Rangers in?

It was an extremely difficult position for him to be in.

04-07-2012, 07:46 PM

Does someone not miss out on promotion is Rangers went into SFL 1?

04-07-2012, 07:47 PM

That not what was said.

04-07-2012, 07:48 PM
Does someone not miss out on promotion is Rangers went into SFL 1?

No, because 2 clubs would be promoted into the SPL, meaning their would be 2 gaps to fill in DIV1. One for newco and the other for the promoted club from DIV2.

I had to spend time thinking about it. :greengrin

Lungo--Drom
04-07-2012, 07:48 PM
It'll just be that fat bitter hun tool behaving like a wee wean cause they've been refused entry into the SPL. The guy operates on the same despicable level as Dungcaster.

04-07-2012, 07:50 PM
Oh, but they do :greengrin

If they vote against them going into D1, but FOR them going into D3, every club scores with a couple of home games against them.

Very true! :aok:

Carry on then SFL. :wink:

04-07-2012, 07:50 PM
Very true! :aok:

Carry on then SFL. :wink:

Yup, they must consider financial issues above sporting integrity :greengrin

04-07-2012, 07:51 PM
Why on earth would DIV2 and DIV3 have much interest in whether Rangers played in DIV1 or not? They don't have anything to gain from it.

If Rangers start in Div 3 then all those teams can look forward to a decent pay day when the hoardes turn up at their ground. If they go straight into Div 1 they won't get that.

The unlucky ones will be the teams that get relegated to make way for Rangers as they move up the leagues. The lucky ones go up with Rangers and get them in consecutive seasons.

04-07-2012, 07:52 PM

I'm guessing that it's because they're voting on whether to admit a new club into the SFL structure, as well as selecting a league for them.:dunno:

04-07-2012, 07:52 PM

Apologies if posted already...https://twitter.com/#!/davidstoker_lfc

04-07-2012, 07:54 PM

The tweet in question said 'Petrie etc' which is a bit different from Petrie going it alone. That suggests sanctions etc were discussed as an option which they should have been and then quite rightly dismissed. Looks like the evidence still suggests Petrie did the right thing for the right reasons.

04-07-2012, 07:55 PM
If any of that is true, I'd imagine it would just be procedural - RP, as Chairman of an SPL committee, would be duty bound to go by the rules of procedure.

That said we know where the Hibs vote (and the Hibs Fan votes) were cast!

OUT YOU MANKY HUNS!!!!!!

Well done Rod!!:agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::agree::ag ree::agree::agree:

For me AH there was absolutely nothing for Rod or Hibs to debate, argue or consider. Our 'position' was apparently clear as per our statement of voting intent. If Petrie was reconsidering or negotiating a change of position as late as today, he not only has explaining to do (after all his integrity statements), but he has gone way down in my estimation.

No to Newco, no SPL place, no debate. That should be Hibernian's clear position in my opinion. Rangers have cheated football AND the non football supporting public - 3rd division, if they got it, would still be a let off in my book. They've evaded paying millions of pounds, possibly 8 times Doncaster's guesstimate that Scottish football will 'lose'. I'm firmly of the belief not only football, but Scottish society would benefit greatly without Rangers.

Can you tell I'm no fan of them :-)

04-07-2012, 07:55 PM
No, because 2 clubs would be promoted into the SPL, meaning their would be 2 gaps to fill in DIV1. One for newco and the other for the promoted club from DIV2.

13 team league in SPL then😄

04-07-2012, 07:57 PM

McCoist is a cowardly, lying fat ****. Everything he says and everything he does is to not be trusted. His quotes are worth repeating only for their comedic value and to remind ourselves of the pain he is currently suffering and to revel in in his misery.

04-07-2012, 07:58 PM

I believe every club would have been made to vote before viewing the votes of others in order to prevent a "change of heart".

What rod petrie wants is irrelevant he was there to represent hibs not himself

04-07-2012, 08:00 PM

But how angry would they be in the near future when they face relelgation or go into administration had their chairman voted "no" to letting Rangers in?

Don't know why you're sticking up for him. It's clear that the big threat now is the other clubs' fans boycotting Rugby Park - as they were the only club who didn't vote no. There was no choice for him to make. The only worse thing he could have done would be to vote yes to newhun - and that really would have been commercial suicide.

I'm guessing that it's because they're voting on whether to admit a new club into the SFL structure, as well as selecting a league for them.:dunno:

Cheers, I get it now. :aok:

I never realized that the first set of votes was just to invite them "anywhere" in the division, i thought it was strictly for DIV1. Now I see that the first set of votes will be to get them in the SFL and the second set of votes will be to decide where they land in the SFL.

Apologies for my misunderstanding on the matter.

It'll just be that fat bitter hun tool behaving like a wee wean cause they've been refused entry into the SPL. The guy operates on the same despicable level as Dungcaster.

:agree: Ridiculous to start slating the 'tachemeister on the say-so of McCoist, Jardine, Smith (W), Smith (G) or any of the rest of them. Their credibility is, er, low.

04-07-2012, 08:01 PM

Wrong. If Rangers start in SFL3 then another club would move up from
SFL 3 to SFL 2 and one from SFL2 to SFL1. Those two clubs would miss out if Newco went straight in to SFL1. I think.:greengrin

04-07-2012, 08:03 PM
13 team league in SPL then

Rangers leaving the SPL would leave 1 gap and the relegated Dunfermline would then leave 2 gaps in the SPL. Both Dunfermline and Ross county would be promoted to the SPL (giving it 12 teams), leaving 2 gaps in DIV1. A gap for Rangers and a gap for the newly promoted team from DIV2. (Giving DIV1 10 teams). :aok:

Sorry, made a few edits there, i'm getting myself confused now!

04-07-2012, 08:06 PM

I never realized that the first set of votes was just to invite them "anywhere" in the division, i thought it was strictly for DIV1. Now I see that the first set of votes will be to get them in the SFL and the second set of votes will be to decide where they land in the SFL.

....err....I said I was guessing! :greengrin Don't take it as read, but it makes sense. When there is a vacancy in the SFL, clubs apply and the winner is generally admitted at the bottom. It's not a given that they'll be admitted at all, let alone bounced into the 1st (though it seems likely).

04-07-2012, 08:09 PM
....err....I said I was guessing! :greengrin Don't take it as read, but it makes sense. When there is a vacancy in the SFL, clubs apply and the winner is generally admitted at the bottom. It's not a given that they'll be admitted at all, let alone bounced into the 1st (though it seems likely).

No it doesn't.

12 clubs have expressed a view. 11 have said they are against.

04-07-2012, 08:10 PM
No it doesn't.

Does that then mean that they can't get into any of the Divisions now and will have to apply for entry into Division 3?

Sorry, I suppose their is still a lot more clubs left to vote.

04-07-2012, 08:11 PM

You're still not getting it. :greengrin

The FIRST vote is on whether they are going into Division 1.

If they fail, then they will apply for the vacancy in D3, along with anybody else who wants to apply.

04-07-2012, 08:12 PM
Does that then mean that they can't get into any of the Divisions now and will have to apply for entry into Division 3?

They need 15 votes out of 29 to get in, so it's not definite yet.

04-07-2012, 08:13 PM
You're still not getting it. :greengrin

The FIRST vote is on whether they are going into Division 1.

If they fail, then they will apply for the vacancy in D3, along with anybody else who wants to apply.

Thats what I thought originally! My heads spinning! :greengrin

The point I was making earlier was about the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 voting whether they get into DIV1 or not. I don't see why they would get a vote in the matter, considering it doesn't effect them if Rangers get into DIV1.

04-07-2012, 08:14 PM
Thats what I thought originally! My heads spinning! :greengrin

The point I was making earlier was about the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 voting whether they get into DIV1 or not. I don't see why they would get a vote in the matter, considering it doesn't effect them if Rangers get into DIV1.

BUT IT DOES :greengrin

04-07-2012, 08:15 PM
Actually now 11 as per BBC-
Partick Thistle, Falkirk, Dunfermline, Raith Rovers, Morton, Livingston, East Fife, Stranraer, Stirling Albion, Peterhead and Clyde.

Hamilton in favour

When did this happen? Last week Les gray was saying no.

http://www.hamiltonadvertiser.co.uk/hamilton-lanarkshire-sport/hamiltonaccies/2012/06/28/accies-chairman-doesn-t-want-rangers-to-join-the-first-division-51525-31274978/

04-07-2012, 08:15 PM

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/s480x480/575022_414458771931205_1866195662_n.jpg

04-07-2012, 08:17 PM
BUT IT DOES :greengrin

But in what way?

It doesn't effect Cowdenbeath from getting promoted into DIV1 as their would be 2 slots open for both Rangers and Cowdenbeath (The promoted team from DIV2).

I understand that if Rangers don't get into DIV1, they could then be voted into DIV3 (which is when I think DIV3 should then decide whether they want them or not).

But it seems that the whole of the SFL vote on these matters, regardless of which league it has an effect on.

04-07-2012, 08:17 PM
Probably just as well then that some of those folk dinnae actually give a **** what you think!

Probably true DD. In fact totally true.

But ye see ... ah dae care what folk think, every opinion is worthwhile no matter if I think that opinion is wrong or counter productive or in no way takes the argument forward or attempts to reach a compromise which could resolve a sad sad situation.

The inability to compomise for the greater good has lead to most of histories major cock ups, at least thats what I think.

Oh I forgot ... you dont give a **** what I think.

04-07-2012, 08:19 PM
No it doesn't.

and there are two abstentions. :agree:

04-07-2012, 08:19 PM
But in what way?

It doesn't effect Cowdenbeath from getting promoted into DIV1 as their would be 2 slots open for both Rangers and Cowdenbeath (The promoted team from DIV2).

I understand that if Rangers don't get into DIV1, they could then be voted into DIV3 (which is when I think DIV3 should then decide whether they want them or not).

But it seems that the whole of the SFL vote on these matters, regardless of which league it has an effect on.

It's not about promotion etc. As I said earlier, it's about the income from games against RFC

04-07-2012, 08:22 PM
Tom Hall‏@ScotFootBlogCowdenbeath say not to a First Division newco http://s.coop/q1cy (http://t.co/8AuipuDP) (and Donald Findlay's coming to get Neil Doncaster)
"Chairman Donald Findlay added – “Speaking for myself, and myself alone, it is clear to me that people at the highest levels of our game have tried to hold a gun to my head and the heads of my colleagues. That will never work. But I have a long memory and will not forget what they tried to do and the way they tried to bend me, and this Club, to their will. That will never be allowed to happen”

Nick Eardley‏@nickeardley
Stewart Regan: there will be “social unrest” in Scotland if Rangers aren't allowed in to First Division. On http://scotsman.com (http://t.co/mIKgJJrs) soon

ancienthibby
04-07-2012, 08:23 PM
For me AH there was absolutely nothing for Rod or Hibs to debate, argue or consider. Our 'position' was apparently clear as per our statement of voting intent. If Petrie was reconsidering or negotiating a change of position as late as today, he not only has explaining to do (after all his integrity statements), but he has gone way down in my estimation.

No to Newco, no SPL place, no debate. That should be Hibernian's clear position in my opinion. Rangers have cheated football AND the non football supporting public - 3rd division, if they got it, would still be a let off in my book. They've evaded paying millions of pounds, possibly 8 times Doncaster's guesstimate that Scottish football will 'lose'. I'm firmly of the belief not only football, but Scottish society would benefit greatly without Rangers.

Can you tell I'm no fan of them :-)

Indubitably!!

04-07-2012, 08:24 PM
When did this happen? Last week Les gray was saying no.

http://www.hamiltonadvertiser.co.uk/hamilton-lanarkshire-sport/hamiltonaccies/2012/06/28/accies-chairman-doesn-t-want-rangers-to-join-the-first-division-51525-31274978/

Sorry, read what has been referred to on their website as "ill-informed speculation and erroneous reporting on our position in relation to various, hypothetical scenarios". Appears they haven't made a decision as of Monday 2nd. http://www.acciesfc.co.uk/

Makes it 11 against (so far) 0 for as far as I am aware. edit Now 12 if reports on Cowdenbeath are to be believed.

04-07-2012, 08:25 PM
Stewart Regan: there will be “social unrest” in Scotland if Rangers aren't allowed in to First Division.

He can bolt on the first ship out with Doncaster as well.

There will be unrest if they DO get into the 1st.

04-07-2012, 08:27 PM
They need 15 votes out of 29 to get in, so it's not definite yet.

Surely as only 28 clubs will be voting there only needs to be 14 against to stop it. Depending on who you read 11/12 clubs have already said no.

paul mcConville has just tweeted ths

Paul McConville‏@Paulmcc12RT@pault1888 (http://www.hibs.net/#!/pault1888): Donald Findlay QC refuses to support Newco into Div 1. Yes, THAT Donald Findlay.> Verily the lion shall lie down with the lamb

If true add Cowdenbeath to the list.

04-07-2012, 08:27 PM
It's not about promotion etc. As I said earlier, it's about the income from games against RFC

But the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 wouldn't gain any income from Rangers games, unless any of them played them in cup games.

It just doesn't seem right that the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 get a say on Rangers being in DIV1 or not.

The SPL got to vote independently about them playing in the SPL, so why not the divisions?

I realize this could still be a good thing, because its likely that Rangers will probably end up in DIV3, with all DIV3 clubs voting "no" against them getting into DIV1, but I really don't believe its fair that they should get a say in the matter.

It would make more sense if DIV1 got to vote independently, then DIV2 (if DIV1 turned them down), then DIV3 (If DIV2 turned them down).

The whole set up just seems strange to me.

04-07-2012, 08:29 PM
Sorry, read what has been referred to on their website as "ill-informed speculation and erroneous reporting on our position in relation to various, hypothetical scenarios". Appears they haven't made a decision as of Monday 2nd. http://www.acciesfc.co.uk/

Makes it 11 against (so far) 0 for as far as I am aware. edit Now 12 if reports on Cowdenbeath are to be believed.

Might not matter :greengrin

04-07-2012, 08:29 PM
Tom Hall‏@ScotFootBlogCowdenbeath say not to a First Division newco http://s.coop/q1cy (http://t.co/8AuipuDP) (and Donald Findlay's coming to get Neil Doncaster)
"Chairman Donald Findlay added – “Speaking for myself, and myself alone, it is clear to me that people at the highest levels of our game have tried to hold a gun to my head and the heads of my colleagues. That will never work. But I have a long memory and will not forget what they tried to do and the way they tried to bend me, and this Club, to their will. That will never be allowed to happen”

Stewart Regan: there will be “social unrest” in Scotland if Rangers aren't allowed in to First Division. On http://scotsman.com (http://t.co/mIKgJJrs) soon

Why do Regan and Doncaster continually spout pish.....Social unrest eh.....Do the guys running our game not realise that Newco have no rights, nil, diddly squat.......Anything other than fairness will see social unrest from supporter's of every other team.....Can't believe what is running our game, astounding.....:rolleyes:

04-07-2012, 08:30 PM

:agree::agree::agree:

04-07-2012, 08:31 PM
But the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 wouldn't gain any income from Rangers games, unless any of them played them in cup games.

It just doesn't seem right that the clubs in DIV2 and DIV3 get a say on Rangers being in DIV1 or not.

The SPL got to vote independently about them playing in the SPL, so why not the divisions?

I realize this could still be a good thing, because its likely that Rangers will probably end up in DIV3, with all DIV3 clubs voting "no" against them getting into DIV1, but I really don't believe its fair that they should get a say in the matter.

It would make more sense if DIV1 got to vote independently, then DIV2 (if DIV1 turned them down), then DIV3 (If DIV2 turned them down).

ARRRGGGHHHHHH :greengrin

IF they say no, and Sevco get into D3, almost every club in d1, d2 and d3 will get at least two games against them!!

Im now beginning to truly believe they are well and truly done if Findlay is voting against them

Why do Regan and Doncaster continually spout pish.....Social unrest eh.....Do the guys running our game not realise that Newco have no rights, nil, diddly squat.......Anything other than fairness will see social unrest from supporter's of every other team.....Can't believe what is running our game, astounding.....:rolleyes:

Somebody should remind them that "social unrest" will always exist as long as Rangers fans exist.

04-07-2012, 08:34 PM

I believe their were a couple of lads who went onto Pussbook inciting riots who got sent down for comments like that. Regan needs to go back on Holiday and stay there.

04-07-2012, 08:34 PM
Surely as only 28 clubs will be voting there only needs to be 14 against to stop it. Depending on who you read 11/12 clubs have already said no.

paul mcConville has just tweeted ths

Paul McConville‏@Paulmcc12RT@pault1888 (http://www.hibs.net/#!/pault1888): Donald Findlay QC refuses to support Newco into Div 1. Yes, THAT Donald Findlay.> Verily the lion shall lie down with the lamb

If true add Cowdenbeath to the list.

Yeah, you're right. I had forgotten Dundee drop out.

04-07-2012, 08:36 PM
ARRRGGGHHHHHH :greengrin

IF they say no, almost every club in d1, d2 and d3 will get at least two games against them.

I know what you're saying mate, I do. :wink: (and don't every team play eachother 4 times?) :greengrin)

But with the way the system is set up, it seems more or less pointless to have this vote to get them into DIV1 in the first place, because the DIV2 and DIV3 clubs are always going to vote "no", because as you say, it means they'll get games against them, meaning boosted income.

So having this vote in place to try and get them into DIV1 is a complete waste of time, because the majority are obviously going to vote "no".

da-robster
04-07-2012, 08:38 PM
That tweet which says Petrie wanted Rangers in with sanctions but that was rejected reeks of "we never wanted to be in your league anyway". I wouldn't trust it at all.

04-07-2012, 08:38 PM
I know what you're saying mate, I do. :wink: (and don't every team play eachother 4 times?) :greengrin)

But with the way the system is set up, it seems more or less pointless to have this vote to get them into DIV1 in the first place, because the DIV2 and DIV3 clubs are always going to vote "no", because as you say, it means they'll get games against them, meaning boosted income.

So having this vote in place to try and get them into DIV1 is a complete waste of time, because the majority are obviously going to vote "no".

1. they only keep their home gates.... so it IS 2 games.

2. it's not a waste of time, given that the SFA/SPL have put forward inducements to get them to vote yes. Thus far, those haven't worked, but they could have.

04-07-2012, 08:39 PM

The SPL is a separate entity, with one division. The SFL has three divisions, and the 1st Div. is part of a bigger structure. Clubs in the SPL have membership of the SPL, and clubs in Div.s 1, 2 and 3 are members of the SFL. Sevco could, theoretically, be relegated at the end of a joyless season in the 1st! It's not just about the SPL and the 1st.

Edit: I've not really made that any clearer, have I?:greengrin
I suppose what I'm trying to say is that if a new club wants to gain membership of the SFL, then it is relevant all the clubs in that League.

04-07-2012, 08:40 PM
Having read the blue brazils statement my favourite part is them referring to "rangers" in inverted commas haha

04-07-2012, 08:42 PM
Thats the impression I am beginning to get here ..... some folk are so bloody determined that Rangers newco should start in the 3rd division ... or even better nowhere ... and go on and on and on about no comin' back, fitbas deid tae me blah blah blah, that I am beginning to think they WANT Rangers newco shoehorned into Division 1 so that they can feel all bloody moral and superior when they do chuck it.

I want Rangers in Division 3 or worse so I can feel that Scottish football is moral after all and so that I can come back.

Stewart Regan: there will be “social unrest” in Scotland if Rangers aren't allowed in to First Division. On http://scotsman.com (http://t.co/mIKgJJrs) soonAnother shyster, he can get the same plane as doncaster and they can baith GTF

2. it's not a waste of time, given that the SFA/SPL have put forward inducements to get them to vote yes. Thus far, those haven't worked, but they could have.

1. Sorry, that fact went over my head like a lot of things today. :wink:

2. I thought the inducements (bribes) were only aimed at the DIV1 clubs, I never realized that they were covering all 3 divisions.

I suppose its starting to make a bit more sense now. :greengrin

I'll probably need to sleep on it a little now before it all sinks in. :wink:

04-07-2012, 08:43 PM

I get the impression you really love Rod :lips seal.

The Killie board have effectively killed their club though. They won't have the Rangers money and now on top of that their going to lose thousands from the fans of other teams not turning up at Rugby park. You know they wanted Rangers in, I know it, everyone knew it but then, everyone knew it was going to be a NO to the newco so why not just toe the line and vote no :confused:.

04-07-2012, 08:45 PM

The SPL and the SFL are two seperate entities, who work together with regards to relegation/promotion. This is why SPL had a seperate vote. The SFA is inclusive of Div1, 2 and 3. As the newco are trying to get into Div 1 this affects all 3 leagues, as currently there is a vacancy. If the vacancy is not filled by newco (as is the rules) then there will be an extra promotion from Div2 and 3, therefore changing which teams are in each league.

04-07-2012, 08:46 PM
@timgrigg76: Celtic voted against Rangers to stay in the SPL. Is the Pope catholic? #MickeyMouseFootball

04-07-2012, 08:47 PM

The Killie board have effectively killed their club though. They won't have the Rangers money and now on top of that their going to lose thousands from the fans of other teams not turning up at Rugby park. You know they wanted Rangers in, I know it, everyone knew it but then, everyone knew it was going to be a NO to the newco so why not just toe the line and vote no :confused:.

Everybody didn't know for sure what was going to happen. Many people where worried that clubs were going to do a U-Turn and go against sporting integrity.

Killie were just as clueless as every other club on each others stance.

None of the clubs knew for sure what the other clubs were going to vote for until the voting was done.

04-07-2012, 08:47 PM
Utterly speechless with the latest nonsense from Regan. Scottish society will rest easy when these two muppets are no longer the figureheads of the game. Disgusting

04-07-2012, 08:48 PM

I suspect the words "amnesty" and "kiss and make up" will be out in force as the season approaches

04-07-2012, 08:50 PM

What a bellend regan has shown himself to be. This latest stunt is nothing short of bringing the country, never mind the game, into disrepute.
Time for him to gtf and the sooner the better.

SJNB Hibby
04-07-2012, 08:55 PM
Wrong. If Rangers start in SFL3 then another club would move up from
SFL 3 to SFL 2 and one from SFL2 to SFL1. Those two clubs would miss out if Newco went straight in to SFL1. I think.:greengrin

Actually, various scenarios--If the Huns get promoted, then at least one team, relegated from SFL2 won't play them at all, 2 if the playoffs are won by a SFL 3 team, which would then play them 4 times, So promotion from Divi3 has a massive incentive next year, ditto for SFL2-1 the next year.
Also-are Rangers not now in the Bells Challenge cup, replacing Dundee??? and tough times starting at entry level in the SFA Cup and SL Cup Huns:na na::na na:

04-07-2012, 08:55 PM
I'm slowly starting to think we might actually have a product folk will want to drag their backsides off their sofa's and support next season. :pray:

04-07-2012, 08:57 PM
Andy Cameron @andycameron1940 I will be there wherever Rangers play but I'm still angry at the punishment. It's like being charged with GBH for a slap in the face!

Doddery auld fud. When are these trumpets going to understand these are no longer punishments, because Rangers no longer exist.

They are now consequences.

04-07-2012, 08:59 PM
Tom Hall‏@ScotFootBlogRegan on Rangers to Third Division: “If we allowed that to happen, it would simply be a dereliction of duty."

Tom Hall‏@ScotFootBlog
Stewart Regan: "Division One for Rangers is the only show in town as far as the future of Scottish football is concerned.”

Do you think his brain has melted?:dunno:

ginger_rice
04-07-2012, 08:59 PM
Tom Hall‏@ScotFootBlog

Well we'll have a chance to find out in Stirling on Saturday when 10,000 of them turn up for their annual jolly jamboree! If it does kick kick off big time Regan should be charged with inciting public disorder.

04-07-2012, 09:01 PM
Im now beginning to truly believe they are well and truly done if Findlay is voting against them

From the statement that Findlay made, it sounds like the scare tactics and scaremongering by Doncaster and Reagan have really got his goat (so to speak) and this, as much as anything, has resulted in his stance.

He's basically putting his current team ahead of his previous love. Fair play to him.

04-07-2012, 09:02 PM

I would think it is best to completely not believe anything coming out of Rangers or the Rangers loving press at this time. The spin and lies have been incredible.

04-07-2012, 09:02 PM
The Herald reported today that Broxi Bear had said 'No to Newco' and signed for Blair Drummond Safari Park!

04-07-2012, 09:04 PM
Tom Hall‏@ScotFootBlogRegan on Rangers to Third Division: “If we allowed that to happen, it would simply be a dereliction of duty."

Tom Hall‏@ScotFootBlog
Stewart Regan: "Division One for Rangers is the only show in town as far as the future of Scottish football is concerned.”

Do you think his brain has melted?:dunno:

Pitiful, shameful comments from Regan......Pandering to Derhun is nauseating, our game really is rotten to its foundations......

Matty_Jack04
04-07-2012, 09:07 PM
There was a comment on the Celtic statement which at the time struck me as odd but I forgot about untill that bletbering idiot Reagan started flapping his gums I'm hoping someone can ease my worries....

The Celtic line :" The matter is now within the jurisdiction of the Scottish Football Association and it will be for the SFA to decide on the future of Rangers newco. "

Now regan : @ScotFootBlog: Stewart Regan: "Division One for Rangers is the only show in town as far as the future of Scottish football is concerned.”
And...
@ScotFootBlog: Regan: "expect a newco to carry some of the sanctions which would have related to the club had it still been in the previous incarnation."

My worry is that somehow the SFA have the say on where newco will play next season no SFL vote on the 12th just a right we say SFL1 and that's final....can this happen?

mayo hibee
Another shyster, he can get the same plane as doncaster and they can baith GTF

That Regan comment is unbelievable, it really is a new low for these guys and this whole saga

BUT...

It absolutely reeks of desperation too. For the first time I am actually starting to believe that the good guys are going to win out here - 12-0 so far in the SFL1 voting stakes, chairmen openly calling for Donkey's resignation and the media mood starting to shift against the continual brain dead piss being spouted by the suits in charge. This story could have a happy ending yet, one which could genuinely signal the start of a new brighter era for Scottish football and one where the corrupt moneymen, Regan and Doncaster, are not involved.

The Herald reported today that Broxi Bear had said 'No to Newco' and signed for Blair Drummond Safari Park!

Superb. :faf::faf:

HibeeSince85
04-07-2012, 09:08 PM
Pitiful, shameful comments from Regan......Pandering to Derhun is nauseating, our game really is rotten to its foundations......

Regan's on Twitter, he should be made personally aware how his comments are coming across!

04-07-2012, 09:09 PM
I would think it is best to completely not believe anything coming out of Rangers or the Rangers loving press at this time. The spin and lies have been incredible.I never said I believed it tae be true, that disnae mean I think it cannae be. I dinnae trust any of them, any one of them would sell their granny if they thought they'd make a quick buck out of it and get away with it.

alexedwards
04-07-2012, 09:11 PM

The SPL broke away from the 40-club SFL in 1998. Any vote on SPL business goes to a vote all member SPL clubs - currently 11.
Likewise any vote on SFL business goes to all member clubs - currently 30 minus absentions. You vote as a league member not on a divisional basis.
If there was SPL1 & 2 it would be for all SPL members - 1 member 1 vote.

04-07-2012, 09:12 PM
Regan's on Twitter, he should be made personally aware how his comments are coming across!

He just blocks you if dare criticise him, all I did was ask him if he had drafted his resignation last night.

@stewartregan if you want to have a go though.

green glory
04-07-2012, 09:13 PM
Looking ahead a bit. The vote on Newhun's entry into SFL1 is scheduled for next week. Doomed to failure probably judging by the comments from 11 if the SFL1 clubs so far.

Then we'll have the attempts to shoehorn them into SFL3.

See the link below for the campaign to get Spartans in to SFL3 instead of the bigots formerly known as Rangers.

No to Newco. Yes to Spartans.

Send the Hun to hell.

HibeeSince85
04-07-2012, 09:16 PM
He just blocks you if dare criticise him, all I did was ask him if he had drafted his resignation last night.

@stewartregan if you want to have a go though.

He's a phanny, I've tweeted him already, everyone else should do too, if he has to block them all so be it:greengrin

04-07-2012, 09:18 PM
He's a phanny, I've tweeted him already, everyone else should do too, if he has to block them all so be it:greengrin

Couldn't resist :greengrin

https://twitter.com/de_generated/status/220627355071295489

04-07-2012, 09:20 PM
I'm not sure I believe this...
It purports to be an interview with Regan in tomorrow's Scotsman.

http://www.twitlonger.com/show/i5s0so

The Scotsman seem to have (temporarily?) mislaid Regan article on site - here's full text:

Stephen Halliday

SCOTTISH Football Association chief executive Stewart Regan has issued a startling warning of “social unrest” in Scotland if newco Rangers are denied entry to the First Division of the Scottish Football League following the emphatic rejection today of their application to retain top-flight football at Ibrox.

Regan’s remarkable comment came as he insisted admission to the First Division is now the only viable option if Scottish football wishes to avoid what he described as a “slow, lingering death”.

The Scottish Premier League turned down Charles Green’s bid to have Rangers’ existing share in the organisation transferred to his newco for next season, with ten of the member clubs voting against the application. It is understood Green cast the only vote in favour, while Kilmarnock chairman Michael Johnston is believed to have abstained.

The SPL will now await the outcome of an SFL meeting next week when that organisation’s 30 clubs will vote on a proposal to accept newco Rangers into the First Division in the new season ahead of an amalgamation of the league governing bodies from 2013-14.

There is considerable opposition and resistance to the plan among SFL clubs and their supporters with many believing Rangers should have to apply for entry to the Third Division in the wake of their spectacular financial collapse.

But Regan bluntly asserted that Scottish football simply cannot afford to have Rangers outwith the top two tiers of the league structure, with his argument not confined to the commercial impact their absence would have.

“Without Rangers, there is social unrest and a big problem for Scottish society,” claimed Regan. “They have a huge fan base and to contemplate the situation where those fans don’t have a team to support, where those fans are effectively left without a game to follow, I just think that could lead to all sorts of issues, all sorts of problems for the game.

“Tribalism in football is really important. It is part of the game. People follow their clubs with pride, it is passed down from generation to generation. There are thousands of Rangers fans whose fathers and parents and grandfathers have been Rangers fans. You can’t contemplate a situation without that and if Rangers weren’t to exist that could have real dire consequences.

“There is a lot of emotion around this subject because Rangers are a huge institution in Scottish football history and they are where they are. Their fans have been hurt, they don’t know what’s happening. There hasn’t been a great deal of leadership at the club and there hasn’t been a huge amount of communication from the football authorities.

“The SPL have now decided that Rangers won’t be coming back into the SPL. From our perspective it’s important we set out the landscape because there is only one solution for the game now.

“The only solution for the game now is that Rangers come into the Scottish Football League and they come into it in the First Division. If Rangers were to go anywhere other than the First Division, then there would something in the region of £15.7 million worth of losses to the game.

“For the bigger clubs at the top of the league, that’s half their annual distributions. For clubs at the bottom it is basically wiping out their entire distributions, for some of the smaller clubs it’s a huge proportion of their annual turnover.

“The same will be true for most clubs. Perhaps clubs could survive for a short period of time but it’s not sustainable. Even if Rangers end up in the First Division, there is still going to be a £5 million loss of income to the SPL clubs. The game is not sustainable so there would be a slow lingering death for the game in Scotland. It would then trickle down to the SFL. From our perspective as the governing body and we cannot allow that to happen.

“If we allowed that to happen, it would simply be a dereliction of duty. Therefore, this whole decision-making process has been one of the most challenging and complex decisions that I have ever been involved in in 27 years of business as sport.

“Some clubs in the SFL are afraid of the implications of the decisions. There is the moral argument, the fear of a fans’ backlash and there are financial implications to consider. But when we look at the alternative, it is not possible to think about it without thinking of the game withering on the vine. We cannot contemplate that and the message has to be that Division One for Rangers is the only show in town as far as the future of Scottish football is concerned.”

Regan admits the influence of television contracts, which are largely predicated on the presence of Celtic and Rangers in the Scottish game, are the biggest single factor in his determination to ensure the Ibrox club drop no lower than the First Division. “We have had dialogue with the broadcasters,” he added, “and we understand what the various stakeholders from Sky television, ESPN, Sport Five and a number of the SPL’s other commercial partners are likely to do in the event Rangers are not in either of the top two tiers. It’s not pretty. That’s why we cannot sit back and let that happen without trying to get all parties to accept this is the only solution which can keep the game afloat.

“Without Old Firm games, the value drops, the overseas deals are almost exclusively about the Old Firm derby and that would go immediately. Then you look at the rest of the game and what it is worth. It is fair to say the broadcasters would live with a year without Rangers in the SPL, because it could be a fantastic story for them, which is why I think First Division rights will be an interest as people will want to see how this club is going to bounce back.”

Regan conceded, however, that there can be no guarantee a financially weakened Rangers will climb back to the top flight at the first attempt. “If Rangers don’t get promoted, then the game has got another year to suffer with the financial consequences that brings,” he said. “I can’t predict what will happen, because Rangers at the moment are a weakened team because of everything that has gone on.

“They are a newco at the moment, they have got very few players on their books. They are going to be entering the SFL in whatever division with a weakened team and I don’t think it’s by any means certain they are going to come back in the way they or their fans might like them to recover.

“It’s going to be a slow recovery to get back to the football fitness they have shown in the past. So we can’t look into the future and say ‘what if they don’t operate in a certain way?’. We can only look at building the foundations, to change the game for the better and provide an infrastructure that can bring financial certainty to the other 41 clubs.”

Regan confirmed that sanctions will apply to newco Rangers in the First Division and also made it clear the formation of an SPL2 will be pursued in order to accommodate the Ibrox club if they are rejected by the SFL next week. “The SFA have to transfer Rangers’ membership from oldco to newco,” he said. “That can be done with any conditions attached to it that the SFA board deem fit. We would expect a newco to carry some of the sanctions which would have related to the club had it still been in the previous incarnation. The membership cannot be transferred on financial grounds alone. It has to have a degree of sporting integrity and that means sporting sanctions.”

04-07-2012, 09:20 PM
That full interview is unreal

04-07-2012, 09:21 PM

I expect a substantial increase in the inducements offered. The £1 million offered previously was less than Sevco's followers will spend on SFL admission money in the next three seasons if starting in division 3 and fell short of a reasonable reward for averting armageddon.

mayo hibee
04-07-2012, 09:21 PM
Looking ahead a bit. The vote on Newhun's entry into SFL1 is scheduled for next week. Doomed to failure probably judging by the comments from 11 if the SFL1 clubs so far.

See the link below for the campaign to get Spartans in to SFL3 instead of the bigots formerly known as Rangers.

Send the Hun to hell.

I have to say, personally, I have no issue with the New Huns starting in SFL3 provided that it is done by the book and they meet the existing criteria. I would like to think that if Hibs ever came to this fate that New Hibs would be considered to have more to offer to Scottish football than Spartans. Same should go for New Rangers.

alexedwards
04-07-2012, 09:23 PM
There was a comment on the Celtic statement which at the time struck me as odd but I forgot about untill that bletbering idiot Reagan started flapping his gums I'm hoping someone can ease my worries....

The Celtic line :" The matter is now within the jurisdiction of the Scottish Football Association and it will be for the SFA to decide on the future of Rangers newco. "

Now regan : @ScotFootBlog: Stewart Regan: "Division One for Rangers is the only show in town as far as the future of Scottish football is concerned.”
And...
@ScotFootBlog: Regan: "expect a newco to carry some of the sanctions which would have related to the club had it still been in the previous incarnation."

My worry is that somehow the SFA have the say on where newco will play next season no SFL vote on the 12th just a right we say SFL1 and that's final....can this happen?

Not to the best of my knowledge...may not be much but can't see how you can force a member into an organisation against the wishes of the majority of it's members - although anything is possible in Scottish football.
Have to say I am aghast at Regan's behaviour - there are many who thought he was a good appointment but now none of us can trust
anything he says; Doncaster's in a league of his own for pure fantasy; Topping needs tipped as SPL CM; CO has a lot to answer for and can't be trusted. Should be a no-brainer to bin this lot - we need to clear the decks.

green glory
04-07-2012, 09:23 PM

Send the Hun to hell.

I forgot the link. That makes me a fanny lol.

https://twitter.com/spartansfc/status/220604853544685568

HibeeSince85
04-07-2012, 09:24 PM
Couldn't resist :greengrin

https://twitter.com/de_generated/status/220627355071295489

I was more polite in the hope of getting some form of response, however, reading that article above I'd go with your wording:greengrin

vanNISHtelroy
04-07-2012, 09:25 PM

Its a one man board :rolleyes:

Theres was no point at all in us abstaining from a certain vote, MJ appears to have set out to anger folk...theres no proper reason to do it.

We want Johnston out, we want Johnston out!

Minder
04-07-2012, 09:29 PM
For any sevco's reading this - cheer up it is not all doom and gloom.

Her Majesty was looking cheerful in the Cathedral today - if she can smile you can as well.

You have a new journey to look forward to next season - could be 1st could be the third. Could even be Tescos or the bingo.

And something else to smile about, its the twelfth next week, get yer best colours ready, fine tune your flutes and get ready to bang yer drums. Might be the last time - so go in style.

And just think, if the wee teams do crunch yer balls next week, we will all be singing and dancing.

04-07-2012, 09:31 PM
Never thought I would say it....................roll on July 12th. Might go out for a wee walk!

04-07-2012, 09:36 PM
That article with all the quotes from Regan is disgusting.

He is basically admitting what we have all thought for years, that the old firm are favoured by the authorities and scottish football is all about them, screw the rest of us. It will never be a level playing field as long as this lot are in charge, him and Doncaster need to go, now. :fuming:

delbert
04-07-2012, 09:37 PM
Its a one man board :rolleyes:

Theres was no point at all in us abstaining from a certain vote, MJ appears to have set out to anger folk...theres no proper reason to do it.

We want Johnston out, we want Johnston out!

Without a doubt every club in Scotland should make sure that no away fans go to Rugby Park for any game next season, Johnston was looking after the interests of his own team for sure, but couldn't (or more likely wouldn't) look at the big picture re the trashed integrity of Scottish Football. If a few clubs go to the wall fine, we all know we have too many anyway, but lets make sure that one of the first to go is Killie and that traitorous little ******* Johnston can go with them - as somebody else said earlier, I can still get my pies at the butchers !!

04-07-2012, 09:37 PM
Eh? ... social unrest ...... ye gods can this man ever run out of ways to talk nonsense. Rangers, new rangers, newco, zombie huns .. whatever you want to call them are / were a bloody football team .... anybody who thinks society will talerate 'social unrest' on the back of the demise of a football club is just plain bloody daft.

banchoryhibs
04-07-2012, 09:39 PM
I do wonder what world Regan lives in. Did we hear roars of objections and dismay when the infirm spoke about joining English / European leagues..... no we did not.

I'll also bet that the greatest part of the alleged money "lost" to the game would actually be lost to Newco FC

Division 3 or complete liquidation! :agree: Nothing less:agree:

04-07-2012, 09:40 PM
Can someone clarify to me the one where the hins want to be in div3 and they see that as some sort of punishment for the rest of us. **** off ya deluded bunch of fuds. England didnt want or need you, the atlantic league was a joke only real in your little world and now it looks like most of Scotland dont want you either. No one likes you and you sure as **** care now!!!!!

green glory
04-07-2012, 09:41 PM
No to SFL3 I say.

Expunge the Hun.

vanNISHtelroy
04-07-2012, 09:42 PM
Without a doubt every club in Scotland should make sure that no away fans go to Rugby Park for any game next season, Johnston was looking after the interests of his own team for sure, but couldn't (or more likely wouldn't) look at the big picture re the trashed integrity of Scottish Football. If a few clubs go to the wall fine, we all know we have too many anyway, but lets make sure that one of the first to go is Killie and that traitorous little ******* Johnston can go with them - as somebody else said earlier, I can still get my pies at the butchers !!

No offence but while I want MJ out as soon as possible, I don't want to see my club go to the wall.

04-07-2012, 09:43 PM

Aye fine ...... and what about the folk who have followed Killie for years and to a man were against anything but a no vote from their chairman and made that clear to him before the vote ......... what about them ?

If a few clubs go to the wall ? So sod them eh? Its no as if they are 'big' clubs like us is it ....... aye so a few thousand have followed them through thick and thin for years ..... what do they matter.

Fk me ..... & we call the huns arrogant.

04-07-2012, 09:44 PM
Regan doesn't do irony does he?

Social unrest, aye? It would be much better if we allowed in the club whose fans trashed Manchester, physically attacked their opposition's manager and then sent him (and others) parcel bombs. How will we live without these pillars of society........

04-07-2012, 09:54 PM
:agree: Ridiculous to start slating the 'tachemeister on the say-so of McCoist, Jardine, Smith (W), Smith (G) or any of the rest of them. Their credibility is, er, low.

Correct

04-07-2012, 09:56 PM
No offence but while I want MJ out as soon as possible, I don't want to see my club go to the wall.

I hope you get rid of him soon. Killie is a good club with a proud history. We will be coming down the road for the games this season:aok:

04-07-2012, 09:59 PM
That article with all the quotes from Regan is disgusting.

He is basically admitting what we have all thought for years, that the old firm are favoured by the authorities and scottish football is all about them, screw the rest of us. It will never be a level playing field as long as this lot are in charge, him and Doncaster need to go, now. :fuming:

:agree: talk about showing your true colours! He is effectively saying Rangers are too big to fail and must be bailed out at all costs.....and therefore that they have, do and will be able to act with impunity as they can never be lower than the 1st div. Also that all efforts will be made at any point to ensure they are able to compete at the top level for purely revenue generating reasons and that sporting considerations are of a secondary nature.

For the chairman of a countries football association to state such a belief and to make all attempts to create such a scenario is almost beyond belief and must surely lead to demands for his resignation.

04-07-2012, 10:00 PM
Good luck to the Killie fans, but their chairman has put their club in an impossible position by not doing the obvious thing and voting no once it was clear that Sevco would not be in the SPL next season. They make as much from Sellick as they did from the Huns, but the key is the boycotting by fans of the other ten SPL clubs. I can see them sinking into the First Division for a few years as a consequence of having to make cutbacks.

Minder
04-07-2012, 10:00 PM

They have moved quick to get a replacement in:

https://encrypted-tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ6H_sMs-Ru6t8z7StqVMfEdBer38gyUwvHYgr-s_uZZmQFhl9I

04-07-2012, 10:04 PM
I would think it is best to completely not believe anything coming out of Rangers or the Rangers loving press at this time. The spin and lies have been incredible.

I think that Dan is becoming desperate in trying to pin something on Rod.

04-07-2012, 10:05 PM
:agree: talk about showing your true colours! He is effectively saying Rangers are too big to fail and must be bailed out at all costs.....and therefore that they have, do and will be able to act with impunity as they can never be lower than the 1st div. Also that all efforts will be made at any point to ensure they are able to compete at the top level for purely revenue generating reasons and that sporting considerations are of a secondary nature.

For the chairman of a countries football association to state such a belief and to make all attempts to create such a scenario is almost beyond belief and must surely lead to demands for his resignation.

Exactly, the whole episode has been handled badly, undignified, and totally shambolic.....Regan & Doncaster are totally corrupt, with their preservation of Derhun.....The must be held accountable for their appalling ineptitude and corruptness

alexedwards
04-07-2012, 10:13 PM
Just in case there's scaremongering over SPL2 (most likely to happen) there is a precedent shown in the link below that it would need to go to a 75% vote in favour of an SPL2 by SFL clubs............

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_div_1/6573379.stm

Alternatively, SFL clubs could resign from the security of the SFL and join the dead duck that is the SPL. A risky strategy for any club and if a club did just that it would feel the wrath of it's own fans and others or succumb to major bribery . :cb

04-07-2012, 10:14 PM
I think the strain has been too much for Regan. That interview looks like the ramblings of a man who has lost the possession of his faculties. Send for a doctor someone.

04-07-2012, 10:17 PM
Aye fine ...... and what about the folk who have followed Killie for years and to a man were against anything but a no vote from their chairman and made that clear to him before the vote ......... what about them ?

If a few clubs go to the wall ? So sod them eh? Its no as if they are 'big' clubs like us is it ....... aye so a few thousand have followed them through thick and thin for years ..... what do they matter.

Well said Bovril. :agree:

QMU-1875
04-07-2012, 10:19 PM
Has it been confirmed that the tache has backed the proposal to have them in the 1st division? Will buy a season ticket based on this fact, no excuses I will support my club if they truly have scottish football's integrity at heart!

04-07-2012, 10:20 PM
So one of the very reasons we've seen Scottish football brought to it's knees - the tv deal tied to OF - is to then form the basis for moving forward?

What did football learn from the collapse of Ondigital and Setanta?

The authorities should have sought to widen the revenue streams and advise clubs on contingency plans. Same applies for the OF threats to leave for elsewhere.

Doesn't this whole charade make it even more likely that Rangers and Celtic redouble efforts to leave and were back where we are now re the tv deals?

See this as truly a new beginning right the wrongs of the old duopoly which I've argued long should have seen intervention from the powers that's be.

I'm not holding my breath tho'

04-07-2012, 10:26 PM
Doncaster and now Regan have to go. Positions untenable based on blatent breach of fundamental sporting integrity and up standing of the game in Scotland.

In addition the current oh so suspect business model they say will fall down with Newco being outbid top division for 2 years or more - this is the operating model they oversee.

They had almost 4 months to consider robust options but have gone from one disaster to another. Doncaster has been found out by SPL clubs today who went 100% against him (even Green said today Newco were led to believe they still had a chance to get in - by SPL reps). He has to go.

Regan's quoted rant tonight is arguably the worst admission that the game is almost dead. In addition while Newco went to court of session he stood by and effectively let Newco breach a uefa no no when it comes to legal challenges.

We are no nearer a final solution. We dont know when or if double contracts charge will be followed through or if transfer embargo will be lifted or not. Maybe they both hope we will forget about it. Regan tonight has effectively said its Newco in D1 AND they must get promoted. He is almost feeling sorry for them and the weakened team they have. No transfer embargo I would suggest.

What next if Newco finish 3rd in D1? Do try change the rules next summer?

Get your coats lads......

04-07-2012, 10:28 PM
I am at the stage where Im not sure which way is up, down or if I even exist.

However the spiel from Regan quoted below still makes as little sense as it did when they first started this doomsday scaremongering.

"The only solution for the game now is that Rangers come into the Scottish Football League and they come into it in the First Division. If Rangers were to go anywhere other than the First Division, then there would something in the region of £15.7 million worth of losses to the game. For the bigger clubs at the top of the league, that’s half their annual distributions. For clubs at the bottom it is basically wiping out their entire distributions, for some of the smaller clubs it’s a huge proportion of their annual turnover."

What on earth does he mean? Is this £15.7 million per club? NO. Is it total annual? I presume so. How much is SPL as opposed to SFL?
What does he mean by distributions, as it seems clear that he distinguishes that from turnover.

If its annual and its lost from the game and its based largely on lost television revenue, then surely most of these losses are incurred by Celtic? Does anyone know what share the Old Firm got from the TV payments in relation to other SPL clubs?

Regardless, clubs may need to sell players to adjust, but in the end Scottish football will find its financial level.

Having said all that.... Never before have the SFL and the Diddy SPl teams had the Old Firm over such a large barrel. Ive always been on ensuring Rangers were held accountable for their deeds more than where exactly they play. IF sanctions on them are appropriate to their crimes, and we were all able in essence able to dictate to the Old Firm how things were going to be then it might be worth all the other clubs having them in Div 1.

ehf
04-07-2012, 10:29 PM
I think the strain has been too much for Regan. That interview looks like the ramblings of a man who has lost the possession of his faculties. Send for a doctor someone.

He's way out of his depth. It's common knowledge that there has been a toxic morrass at Ibrox for decades, and we've only seen the tip of the iceberg so far. The SPL and SFL chairmen know this, which is why they are voting against the Huns despite the financial meltdown it will cause. It is impossible that Regan doesn't know it as well. This is the last act of a desperate man, a sports administrator who realises he will never work again.

04-07-2012, 10:29 PM
That interview is surely a wind up and not the actual comments of the person in charge of the governing body in this country!?

If that article is genuine then Stewart Regan really must be forced out ASAP as that is actually beyond belief.

04-07-2012, 10:30 PM

:agree: Agree, but Johnston has made this problem for them. As a club, they will now pay for it however substantial. Speaking for myself, I know that I won't be back at Rugby Park anytime soon rightly or wrongly

jamesjamieson
04-07-2012, 10:34 PM
Not to the best of my knowledge...may not be much but can't see how you can force a member into an organisation against the wishes of the majority of it's members - although anything is possible in Scottish football.
Have to say I am aghast at Regan's behaviour - there are many who thought he was a good appointment but now none of us can trust
anything he says; Doncaster's in a league of his own for pure fantasy; Topping needs tipped as SPL CM; CO has a lot to answer for and can't be trusted. Should be a no-brainer to bin this lot - we need to clear the decks.

:top marks :agree:

jamesjamieson
04-07-2012, 10:38 PM
What about Malcolm Murray? After the most insincere apology in the history of Scottish football yesterday, apparently he came into today's meeting thinking that all the SPL clubs would bend over for him - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/9376851/Rangers-hopes-of-reprieve-in-SPL-vote-sunk-by-arrogant-Malcolm-Murray.html.

The conceit and arrogance of certain members of the Rangers hierarchy is breathtaking. Not all, but certainly some.

The Baldmans Comb
04-07-2012, 10:41 PM
I hope you get rid of him soon. Killie is a good club with a proud history. We will be coming down the road for the games this season:aok:

I certainly won't be going '60 miles to Kilmarnock to see Hibernian play'

Both Kilmarnock's owner and their manager at a very crucial time in the debate made it very clear that they thought a 10 point deduction and a never to be paid £170,000 fine were 'fitting punishments' for 15 years of financial doping,supreme arrogance and the inciting of the mob by McCoist and Jardine.

Instead I plan to phone up either Clyde or Raith Rovers and buy a £15 ticket for one of their SFL games and ask the girl at the other end to pass it on free of charge to a deserving Raith Rovers or Clyde fan.

Raith Rovers and Clyde are the sort of teams run by the sort of men I very much admire and respect and Kilmarnock certainly are not getting any of my money.

PS Regan is an out of his depth looney.

04-07-2012, 10:41 PM

He may have argued for sanctions then when that wasn't happening voted no

If so what the hell is he doing?

Twa Cairpets
04-07-2012, 10:42 PM
That interview is surely a wind up and not the actual comments of the person in charge of the governing body in this country!?

If that article is genuine then Stewart Regan really must be forced out ASAP as that is actually beyond belief.

I've always defended Regan as Ive always found him sensible and constructive, but if that article is true it is staggering. Short term pain - definitely, but re-admittance would have meant certain destruction of the game, and sfl1 may if it means fans turning their back on the game.

04-07-2012, 10:42 PM

Both Kilmarnock's owner and their manager at a very crucial time in the debate made it very clear that they thought a 10 point deduction and a never to be paid £170,000 fine were 'fitting punishments' for 15years of financial doping,supreme arrogance and the inciting of the mob by Mccoist and Jardine.

Instead I plan to phone up either Clyde and Raith Rovers and buy a £15 ticket for one of their SFL games and ask the girl at the other end to pass it on free of charge to a deserving Raith Rovers fan.

Raith Rovers and Clyde are the sort of teams run by the sort of men I very much admire and respect and Kilmarnock certainly are not getting any of my money.

Will you support a boycott of Hibs if Petrie was fighting for the Huns with sanctions and was part of Doncaster's document?

ehf
04-07-2012, 10:50 PM
What about Malcolm Murray? After the most insincere apology in the history of Scottish football yesterday, apparently he came into today's meeting thinking that all the SPL clubs would bend over for him - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/9376851/Rangers-hopes-of-reprieve-in-SPL-vote-sunk-by-arrogant-Malcolm-Murray.html.

The conceit and arrogance of certain members of the Rangers hierarchy is breathtaking. Not all, but certainly some.

Murray is nothing more than a paid flunkey for a couple of very dodgy arbitrageurs who are exploiting the situation in cahoots with Duff + Phelps and Craig Whyte (as is Green). An apology from him is worth diddly squat.

The Baldmans Comb
04-07-2012, 10:53 PM
Will you support a boycott of Hibs if Petrie was fighting for the Huns with sanctions and was part of Doncaster's document?

Petrie is the chairman of the SFA professional committee so of course he was part of the Doncaster document and he would have been leading the charge to get 'the huns' into SFL 1.This has been widely reported and I don't have a problem with that as he is wearing his SFA hat as that is where he sees his future career.

Hibs as a club voted no and were consistently no, Kilmarnock on the other hand were yes and then abstention which for me is far to much.

What about you?

Don't you think £15 to brave clubs such as Clyde or Raith Rovers or Dunfermline is a far better use of your money that £20 to Kilmarnock?

04-07-2012, 10:58 PM
Petrie is the chairman of the SFA professional committee so of course he was part of the Doncaster document and he would have been leading the charge to get 'the huns' into SFL 1.This has been widely reported and I don't have a problem with that as he is wearing his SFA hat as that is where he sees his future career.

Hibs as a club voted no and were consistently no, Kilmarnock on the other hand were yes and then abstention which for me is far to much.

What about you?

Don't you think £15 to brave clubs such as Clyde or Raith Rovers or Dunfermline is a far better use of your money that £20 to Kilmarnock?That document should never have been sent out by anybody in any position and anybody involved with it should go. If he was then regardless of how Hibs voted, he'd be nae better than doncaster or regan. Anybody involved with that document containing threats, bribes and blackmail would have a brass neck banging on about integrity.

The Baldmans Comb
04-07-2012, 11:10 PM
That document should never have been sent out by anybody in any position and anybody involved with it should go. If he was then regardless of how Hibs voted, he's nae better than doncaster or regan and has a brass neck banging on about integrity.

What do you mean IF???

Mr Petrie is the chairman of the SFA professional game board and Vice president on the SFA main board which is responsible for all high level football governance and strategy issues.That is why he was briefing Charles Green last week??

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_football.cfm?page=2560

I don't have a problem with this as it's his SFA role and not his Hibs role though fair enough if you do as of course I can see your sporting integrity argument.

gramskiwood
04-07-2012, 11:20 PM
I think that Dan is becoming desperate in trying to pin something on Rod.

We know Petrie's keeness for "financial prudence" I don't think DD's far off the mark.

04-07-2012, 11:35 PM

More insincere than this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MSHaCzb3yYk

04-07-2012, 11:40 PM

What about you?

Don't you think £15 to brave clubs such as Clyde or Raith Rovers or Dunfermline is a far better use of your money that £20 to Kilmarnock?

I agree with your principled stance, just the thought of Petrie being involved in that scandalous document and arguing to keep the Huns in the SPL makes me sick as a Hibs fan

04-07-2012, 11:53 PM
I still can't believe that Regan interview. Surely there are now grounds for Fifa or Uefa to act as this isn't sport any more, its a manufactured and manipulated product with glass ceilings for some and get out of jail cards for others. If clubs die because another one is suddenly three tiers down then so be it. The ones who have run a tight ship will replace them and the bust clubs can just do the whole newco thing.

This talk of social unrest has to be the end of him and the final straw. This isn't light pressure any more its full on intimidation and I'd be surprised if the law didn't become involved in some way.

This is truly embarrassing given this mans position. We were a laughing stock before due to our reliance on the old firm but its now the people running our game who are lifting their skirts to them.

...And **** the national team.

04-07-2012, 11:57 PM
Regan and Doncaster have to go now, surely?

Also, I think it says a lot when Donald Findlay is so disgusted with the bribery and corruption that his statement gets the majority of fans on his side. I neve thought I'd see the day I agreed with anything he said.

gramskiwood
04-07-2012, 11:58 PM
I agree with your principled stance, just the thought of Petrie being involved in that scandalous document and arguing to keep the Huns in the SPL makes me sick as a Hibs fan

That's why we need to hear from the club that RP was not working on their behalf but as an official of the sfa. If true then he should resign. I'm very suspicious of his role in all this.
(Just because you're paranoid, doesn't mean they're not out to get you. :greengrin

1875godsgift
05-07-2012, 01:22 AM

Also, I think it says a lot when Donald Findlay is so disgusted with the bribery and corruption that his statement gets the majority of fans on his side. I neve thought I'd see the day I agreed with anything he said.

Can anybody with a bit of time on their side compile a list of e-mail addresses to be published on here?

I'm thinking of SFL clubs who have voted no to the newco in division 1, and who I would like to offer my support.

Also on the list would be SPL clubs who valued sporting integrity above greed and avarice, they should also be congratulated on their moral stance.

I would also like the contact details of Doncaster and Reagan to be included in the list of people we need to lobby, as their nepotism in this matter reeks of corruption.
I realise Reagan and Doncaster are at the top of there respective trees, but surely there is a complaints procedure which should enable fans to show complete distrust in the decision making of these two muppets.

woodythehibee
05-07-2012, 04:33 AM
Where is Regan's latest interview?

05-07-2012, 04:38 AM
Where is Regan's latest interview?

In the Scotsman

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/rangers-newco-slow-lingering-death-for-scottish-football-if-rangers-in-third-division-1-2392610

05-07-2012, 04:39 AM
I still can't believe that Regan interview. Surely there are now grounds for Fifa or Uefa to act as this isn't sport any more, its a manufactured and manipulated product with glass ceilings for some and get out of jail cards for others. If clubs die because another one is suddenly three tiers down then so be it. The ones who have run a tight ship will replace them and the bust clubs can just do the whole newco thing.

This talk of social unrest has to be the end of him and the final straw. This isn't light pressure any more its full on intimidation and I'd be surprised if the law didn't become involved in some way.

This is truly embarrassing given this mans position. We were a laughing stock before due to our reliance on the old firm but its now the people running our game who are lifting their skirts to them.

...And **** the national team.

But surely there would be social unrest if "rangers" were without a league to play in?
Is this why. Were likely to see the govt dip their oar in?

05-07-2012, 05:14 AM
They have moved quick to get a replacement in:

https://encrypted-tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ6H_sMs-Ru6t8z7StqVMfEdBer38gyUwvHYgr-s_uZZmQFhl9I

Well he has been out of work since we sacked him :)

Matty_Jack04
05-07-2012, 05:31 AM
Still can't believe Regans statement I'm hoping someone takes him to task today but I won't hold my breathe

Sickened just when you think people are doing the right thing there's someone in a position of power tearing it apart

05-07-2012, 05:58 AM

That interview made me speechless. If these are the public views of the the head of the SFA you have to assume this influences their whole approach to the regulation and management of our game:

Refereeing of games
Application of the rules
Disciplinary rules, penalties, appeals
Nation team player selection
National Team management appointments

This whole mess has revealed what many of us suspected for years, that corruption and bias was endemic in the game.

05-07-2012, 06:04 AM
Romanov was right! Media monkeys and OF mafia is spot on IMO

05-07-2012, 06:05 AM
Can anybody with a bit of time on their side compile a list of e-mail addresses to be published on here?

I'm thinking of SFL clubs who have voted no to the newco in division 1, and who I would like to offer my support.

Also on the list would be SPL clubs who valued sporting integrity above greed and avarice, they should also be congratulated on their moral stance.

I would also like the contact details of Doncaster and Reagan to be included in the list of people we need to lobby, as their nepotism in this matter reeks of corruption.
I realise Reagan and Doncaster are at the top of there respective trees, but surely there is a complaints procedure which should enable fans to show complete distrust in the decision making of these two muppets.

I've fired off a few emails to various addresses. Latest one went to SFL clubs, SPL clubs, Both organisations, the Media and a few SPL fan clubs (grouped below).

[email protected],
[email protected]

cc:

[email protected],

[email protected]

05-07-2012, 06:10 AM
Romanov was right! Media monkeys and OF mafia is spot on IMO

Just a bit of fun research likes:

http://www.heidtoheid.co.uk/showAllQuotes.cgi?flavour=Person

05-07-2012, 06:19 AM
Just a bit of fun research likes:

http://www.heidtoheid.co.uk/showAllQuotes.cgi?flavour=Person
:greengrin Very good

05-07-2012, 06:45 AM
Having not got anywhere near a copy of The Scotsman this morning, is the interview indeed accurate?

05-07-2012, 06:45 AM

This quote from Mark Dingwall of rangers supporters trust sums them up really.

"We are disappointed but not surprised by this decision which has been taken out of malice rather than for the greater good of the Scottish game"

PeeKay
05-07-2012, 06:50 AM
If the Newco are shoehorned into SFL1 with sanctions applied they might end up being so weakened that they don't win the league. Cue immediate league reconstruction with a 16 team SPL. It could have a silver lining after all.

05-07-2012, 06:53 AM
I am at the stage where Im not sure which way is up, down or if I even exist.

However the spiel from Regan quoted below still makes as little sense as it did when they first started this doomsday scaremongering.

"The only solution for the game now is that Rangers come into the Scottish Football League and they come into it in the First Division. If Rangers were to go anywhere other than the First Division, then there would something in the region of £15.7 million worth of losses to the game. For the bigger clubs at the top of the league, that’s half their annual distributions. For clubs at the bottom it is basically wiping out their entire distributions, for some of the smaller clubs it’s a huge proportion of their annual turnover."

What on earth does he mean? Is this £15.7 million per club? NO. Is it total annual? I presume so. How much is SPL as opposed to SFL?
What does he mean by distributions, as it seems clear that he distinguishes that from turnover.

If its annual and its lost from the game and its based largely on lost television revenue, then surely most of these losses are incurred by Celtic? Does anyone know what share the Old Firm got from the TV payments in relation to other SPL clubs?

Regardless, clubs may need to sell players to adjust, but in the end Scottish football will find its financial level.

Having said all that.... Never before have the SFL and the Diddy SPl teams had the Old Firm over such a large barrel. Ive always been on ensuring Rangers were held accountable for their deeds more than where exactly they play. IF sanctions on them are appropriate to their crimes, and we were all able in essence able to dictate to the Old Firm how things were going to be then it might be worth all the other clubs having them in Div 1.

This to me has always been the big picture.

If the newco are in Div1 when the dust settles then O.K. ... The fact is that this situation has finally given the rest of Scottish football the chance to reel the OF in .... its what we do with that power from now on that really counts. All clubs in Scotland now have the power to expand the leagues .. this would allow for more than 1 promotion place in Div1 which would get rid of the newco in Div1 being guaranteed promotion to the detriment of Falkirk or whoever in a 1 promotion place situation.

It would also allow for play offs, which everybody appears to want.

This could be worked out in a weekend if the 3 bodies were to get together in a room NOW and thrash this out until it was settled.

Where Zombie rangers end up should take second place to this.

05-07-2012, 06:53 AM
This quote from Mark Dingwall of rangers supporters trust sums them up really.

"We are disappointed but not surprised by this decision which has been taken out of malice rather than for the greater good of the Scottish game"

I think they forget one thing.... At the start of the season the clubs all sit down and agree to the RULES for clubs going into Administration or have financial difficulties.... They have gone into liquidation and become a Newco and hence have to be voted back into a league.... Remember when Annan were voted in when Gretna went bust.... Exactly the same.... But no... They are being picked upon.

The rules were set and agreed upon... So abide by them. Staring into the abyss me thinks and rightly so.

05-07-2012, 06:56 AM
Having not got anywhere near a copy of The Scotsman this morning, is the interview indeed accurate?

Seems to be. It is on their official site. Unbelievable.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/rangers-newco-slow-lingering-death-for-scottish-football-if-rangers-in-third-division-1-2392610

05-07-2012, 06:58 AM
If the Newco are shoehorned into SFL1 with sanctions applied they might end up being so weakened that they don't win the league. Cue immediate league reconstruction with a 16 team SPL. It could have a silver lining after all.

Won't happen like that though will it.

Shoving them into SFL1 says we can only do without them for a season. No way will any sanctions that could effect that be put in place. Ditto no hope of league expansion, as they will want their precious 4 Old Firm games.

If that happens you may as well just have a rule that says the Old Firm must both finish in the Top 6 every season and be done with it.

05-07-2012, 07:11 AM
Seems to be. It is on their official site. Unbelievable.

Those comments are totally outrageous. His position now is completely untenable and he must resign or be emptied. He is publicly advocating a different set of rules for a company which has been in existence a matter of days, with no business track record, no financial accounts and hardly any employees/players.

The head of the Scottish game is taking part in corruption, bullying and bribery.

As for the comments 'social unrest' and 'slow lingering death'. Astonishing:grr:

05-07-2012, 07:24 AM
That's Scottish Cup and Scotland International games off the Beefster family calendar.

I'm so sickened by the whole episode, this season may be my last either way.

VickMackie
05-07-2012, 07:29 AM
If they're struggling to get promotion we'll no doubt see the usual penalties at crucial points of the game to help them.

If we can only do without them for one season then what they're saying is that they're gambling Scottish football on them winning the 1st.

I suppose they'll be about 1/100 at the bookies anyway.

05-07-2012, 07:30 AM
[QUOTE=DC_Hibs;3285372]I've fired off a few emails to various addresses. Latest one went to SFL clubs, SPL clubs, Both organisations, the Media and a few SPL fan clubs (grouped below).

Nice one!

Is it worth adding SKY to the situation? It appears that a lot of what happens to Scottish football is actually in their hands. To start with some clarity over the existing terms of the deal, and when renegotiations might kick in would help. Bottom line though, if the SPL is no longer an attractive enough product we're going to have live without the same amount of tele money - or do something that makes Scottish football interesting to people..

My other thought is that SKY themselves are trying to squeeze Rangers back into the SPL as fast as possible. If this is true, then they have a vested interest in scaring the hell out of the Scottish administrators behind the scenes, while at the same time placating fans that they will look after us, and they are the loyal guardians of Scottish football. SKY should be reminded that if they want to play hardball over Scottish football - in order to pervert the course of justice regards Rangers - the I hope supporters around the country can pull the plug on their own SKY subscriptions. By gum why we're at it, should supporters perhaps appeal to Mr Branson that an opportunity to plant a sore one in SKYs direction has just presented itself?

05-07-2012, 07:34 AM

Bought a copy and it is all there in quotes .. 'slow lingering death', 'social unrest' etc. In the next breath Regan admits 'I can't predict what will happen' .. What a complete arse he is!

05-07-2012, 07:36 AM

Both Kilmarnock's owner and their manager at a very crucial time in the debate made it very clear that they thought a 10 point deduction and a never to be paid £170,000 fine were 'fitting punishments' for 15 years of financial doping,supreme arrogance and the inciting of the mob by McCoist and Jardine.

Instead I plan to phone up either Clyde or Raith Rovers and buy a £15 ticket for one of their SFL games and ask the girl at the other end to pass it on free of charge to a deserving Raith Rovers or Clyde fan.

PS Regan is an out of his depth looney.

Good for you:applause:

I'm sure the guys at Clyde or Raith Rovers will be happy to take your cash.

We (my family) on the other hand will be on our way to see our family in Kilmarnock, who have supported their club for years. We'll have a pint before the match, and then after to discuss the game. They will have been on the front line to get rid of the guy who calls himself their Chairman.:aok:

05-07-2012, 07:44 AM
Bought a copy and it is all there in quotes .. 'slow lingering death', 'social unrest' etc. In the next breath Regan admits 'I can't predict what will happen' .. What a complete arse he is!

Doncaster is U-turning pretty quick now as well. - from the BBC website

"Motherwell and St Mirren had expressed concern about the financial impact of not having Rangers in the division.
But, when asked if he thought clubs would now face insolvency, Doncaster replied: "I wouldn't have thought so."

05-07-2012, 07:46 AM

"Motherwell and St Mirren had expressed concern about the financial impact of not having Rangers in the division.
But, when asked if he thought clubs would now face insolvency, Doncaster replied: "I wouldn't have thought so."

Pathetic pairing! P45s prepared .. pronto!

Wat Dabney
05-07-2012, 07:47 AM
What Reagan is implying is that "Rangers" cannot be suspended/expelled from football PERIOD - thus prejudicing the result of the SFA appellate tribunal still to re-convene. Also this says to "Rangers" and, I suppose, Celtic - you can do anything you want and you still won't be thrown out of scottish football - the worst they will ever get is a demotion to SFL1. :brickwall

05-07-2012, 07:48 AM
Leopards really cant change their spots

The expectation beforehand within the SPL – shared by the Scottish Football Association – was that the outcome would be another deferral, leaving it to the Scottish Football League clubs to accept Rangers into their ranks and sparing the top division chairmen from a decision they did not want to make.

There were also some who hoped that Rangers would be able to make sufficient case – coupled with a clear and evident change of attitude – for their admission to the SPL.

However – and not for the first time in this saga – Rangers utterly misread the mood of the other SPL clubs. The faux pas occurred despite the fact that Rangers had been briefed at a meeting on Sunday attended by two other SPL chairmen and a vice-chairman, who stressed the need for humility.

Murray, in blazer and club tie, arrived at the gathering on Wednesday with the frontman for the Sevco consortium, Charles Green – who did not sport the club’s uniform – and Ally McCoist, the Ibrox manager. A presentation brochure was distributed to the delegates.

The back page featured a photograph of a Rangers title win with the words “We Are Rangers” emblazoned across it.

“The arrogance was unbelievable,” said one chairman. “The atmosphere hardened immediately. Charles Green conducted himself well enough but the Rangers chairman was arrogant and dogmatic.”

Another who was present told The Daily Telegraph: “Some people in the room wanted a reason to make a case for Rangers but the standard of the presentation was woeful.
“Ally and Charles Green were not always on the same page but that was not damaging. The chairman was another matter entirely and the brochure was substandard – you could have easily knocked something better together given half an hour. It makes you wonder what kind of management team they have.”
Murray, Green and McCoist absented themselves from the meeting to allow discussion, then returned for the vote and cast theirs as a proxy for Duff & Phelps, administrators of the Rangers oldco.
Only Michael Johnston of Kilmarnock gave them any sort of support with an abstention, while the other 10 clubs – including those who had expressed a degree of willingness to help Rangers, voted ‘No’ to the newco’s admission.
The Rangers party departed and a further two-hour discussion ensued. “It was constructive,” said one who took part. “People actually listened to one another and respected the other positions. It was a huge leap of faith for integrity and it’s now up to the SFA and SFL to make their decision.”
Neil Doncaster, the SPL chief executive, said of the decision to refuse the newco entry: “Clearly there were discussions going on between the newco and the members and ultimately that could have led to a presentation and a proposal put to clubs that they might have said yes to.
“In the end the proposal put forward to the clubs was considered and they said no.”
He added: “I think [the vote] surprised a number of people. Money is important in professional football and I think what our chairmen have done today is put aside the short-term commercial considerations, that would ordinarily drive behaviour, ahead of the longer-term interests of their clubs – and supporter involvement has clearly been a huge part of that.
“Ultimately they believe they have made the right decision and one that brings a bit more clarity to an unclear world. Until we know where Rangers are playing next year we won’t be able to ascertain what the damage is to the Scottish game.
“A number of people have said the decision today has enhanced the reputation of the league but it’s not for me to say.”
Celtic released a statement in which they expressed the integrity of Scottish football as the main reason behind their opposition of newco Rangers entering the SPL.
It read: “Today’s decision to refuse access into the SPL was an overwhelming one and demonstrates the depth of feeling amongst everyone involved in Scottish football.
“Fundamentally, the Celtic Board has also been very mindful of the need to take what it believes to be the correct course of action in protecting the integrity of the game in Scotland.
“Throughout the whole sequence of events leading up to today’s decision the Celtic Board has been of the singular view that the integrity of the game in Scotland is of paramount importance.”
The Rangers Supporters’ Trust, meanwhile, accused other SPL clubs of acting out of “malice”.
Mark Dingwall, as spokesman for the Trust, said: “We are disappointed but not surprised by this decision which has been taken out of malice rather than for the greater good of the Scottish game.”

05-07-2012, 07:50 AM

Holy ***** of course there is going to be a financial impact... Do they think we're ****ing stupid. Doncaster and Reagan don't have a ****ing clue do they!!

It's about doing the right thing and the right thing has been done. Doing it the right way stops a free fur all... It declare liquidation, form as a new company and stay where you are.

Not read all the quotes but have Doncaster or Reagan actually come out and said Newco are in the wrong????

05-07-2012, 07:50 AM
What Reagan is implying is that "Rangers" cannot be suspended/expelled from football PERIOD - thus prejudicing the result of the SFA appellate tribunal still to re-convene. Also this says to "Rangers" and, I suppose, Celtic - you can do anything you want and you still won't be thrown out of scottish football - the worst they will ever get is a demotion to SFL1. :brickwallThis whole farce has firmly knocked on the heid and should have removed any misconception that anybody may have had that Scottish fitba isnae completely and utterly rigged in favour of just two clubs. They're no even trying tae hide it now.

Corrupt and rotten tae the core. :agree:

05-07-2012, 07:52 AM
Good for you:applause:

I'm sure the guys at Clyde or Raith Rovers will be happy to take your cash.

We (my family) on the other hand will be on our way to see our family in Kilmarnock, who have supported their club for years. We'll have a pint before the match, and then after to discuss the game. They will have been on the front line to get rid of the guy who calls himself their Chairman.:aok:

Why no go through for a pint with your family, then stay in the pub during the game, giving your money to some honest tax paying public house owner, rather than stumping up cash to a club with a chairman that as good as advocates cheating and not paying tax, watch the scores on SSN in the pub then meet your family after and get the run down on another Hibs victory :wink:

Clear conscious :aok:

05-07-2012, 07:54 AM
By STEPHEN HALLIDAY
Published on Thursday 5 July 2012 00:21

SCOTTISH Football Association chief executive Stewart Regan has warned that football faces a “slow lingering death” in this country if newco Rangers are denied entry to the First Division of the Scottish Football League (http://www.hibs.net/#) following the emphatic rejection yesterday of their application to retain top-flight football at Ibrox.

Regan’s remarkable comment came as he insisted admission to the First Division is now the only viable option. He also made the startling warning of “social unrest” if Rangers cease to exist.
The Scottish Premier League turned down Charles Green’s bid to have Rangers’ existing share in the organisation transferred to his newco for next season, with ten of the member clubs voting against the application. It is understood Green cast the only vote in favour, while Kilmarnock chairman Michael Johnston is believed to have abstained.
The SPL will now await the outcome of an SFL meeting next week when that organisation’s 30 clubs will vote on a proposal to accept newco Rangers into the First Division in the new season ahead of an amalgamation of the league governing bodies from 2013-14.

There is considerable opposition and resistance to the plan among SFL clubs and their supporters (http://www.hibs.net/#) with many believing Rangers should have to apply for entry to the Third Division in the wake of their spectacular financial collapse.
But Regan last night bluntly asserted that Scottish football simply cannot afford to have Rangers outwith the top two tiers of the league structure, with his argument not confined to the commercial impact their absence would have.
“Without Rangers, there is social unrest and a big problem for Scottish society,” claimed Regan. “They have a huge fan base and to contemplate the situation where those fans don’t have a team to support, where those fans are effectively left without a game to follow, I just think that could lead to all sorts of issues, all sorts of problems for the game.
“Tribalism in football is really important. It is part of the game. People follow their clubs with pride, it is passed down from generation to generation. There are thousands of Rangers fans whose fathers and parents and grandfathers have been Rangers fans. You can’t contemplate a situation without that and if Rangers weren’t to exist that could have real dire consequences.
“There is a lot of emotion around this subject because Rangers are a huge institution in Scottish football history and they are where they are. Their fans have been hurt, they don’t know what’s happening. There hasn’t been a great deal of leadership at the club and there hasn’t been a huge amount of communication from the football authorities.
“The SPL have now decided that Rangers won’t be coming back into the SPL. From our perspective it’s important we set out the landscape because there is only one solution for the game now.
“The only solution for the game now is that Rangers come into the Scottish Football League (http://www.hibs.net/#) and they come into it in the First Division. If Rangers were to go anywhere other than the First Division, then there would something in the region of £15.7 million worth of losses to the game.
“For the bigger clubs at the top of the league, that’s half their annual distributions. For clubs at the bottom it is basically wiping out their entire distributions, for some of the smaller clubs it’s a huge proportion of their annual turnover.
“The same will be true for most clubs. Perhaps clubs could survive for a short period of time but it’s not sustainable. Even if Rangers end up in the First Division, there is still going to be a £5 million loss of income to the SPL clubs. The game is not sustainable so there would be a slow lingering death for the game in Scotland. It would then trickle down to the SFL. From our perspective as the governing body and we cannot allow that to happen.
“If we allowed that to happen, it would simply be a dereliction of duty. Therefore, this whole decision-making process has been one of the most challenging and complex decisions that I have ever been involved in in 27 years of business as sport.
“Some clubs in the SFL are afraid of the implications of the decisions. There is the moral argument, the fear of a fans’ backlash and there are financial implications to consider. But when we look at the alternative, it is not possible to think about it without thinking of the game withering on the vine. We cannot contemplate that and the message has to be that Division One for Rangers is the only show in town as far as the future of Scottish football is concerned.”
Regan admits the influence of television contracts, which are largely predicated on the presence of Celtic and Rangers in the Scottish game, are the biggest single factor in his determination to ensure the Ibrox club drop no lower than the First Division. “We have had dialogue with the broadcasters,” he added, “and we understand what the various stakeholders from Sky television, ESPN, Sport Five and a number of the SPL’s other commercial (http://www.hibs.net/#) partners are likely to do in the event Rangers are not in either of the top two tiers. It’s not pretty. That’s why we cannot sit back and let that happen without trying to get all parties to accept this is the only solution which can keep the game afloat.
“Without Old Firm games, the value drops, the overseas deals are almost exclusively about the Old Firm derby and that would go immediately. Then you look at the rest of the game and what it is worth. It is fair to say the broadcasters would live with a year without Rangers in the SPL, because it could be a fantastic story for them, which is why I think First Division rights will be an interest as people will want to see how this club is going to bounce back.”
Regan conceded, however, that there can be no guarantee a financially weakened Rangers will climb back to the top flight at the first attempt. “If Rangers don’t get promoted, then the game has got another year to suffer with the financial consequences that brings,” he said. “I can’t predict what will happen, because Rangers at the moment are a weakened team because of everything that has gone on.
“They are a newco at the moment, they have got very few players on their books. They are going to be entering the SFL in whatever division with a weakened team and I don’t think it’s by any means certain they are going to come back in the way they or their fans might like them to recover.
“It’s going to be a slow recovery to get back to the football fitness they have shown in the past. So we can’t look into the future and say ‘what if they don’t operate in a certain way?’. We can only look at building the foundations, to change the game for the better and provide an infrastructure that can bring financial certainty to the other 41 clubs.”
Regan confirmed that sanctions will apply to newco Rangers in the First Division and also made it clear the formation of an SPL2 will be pursued in order to accommodate the Ibrox club if they are rejected by the SFL next week. “The SFA have to transfer Rangers’ membership from oldco to newco,” he said. “That can be done with any conditions attached to it that the SFA board deem fit. We would expect a newco to carry some of the sanctions which would have related to the club had it still been in the previous incarnation. The membership cannot be transferred on financial grounds alone. It has to have a degree of sporting integrity and that means sporting (http://www.hibs.net/#) sanctions.”

05-07-2012, 07:57 AM
'Tribalism in football is really important. It is part of the game'

Dear oh dear...that is one of the justifications..so in effect the bitter bigotry will be a big miss to the game in Scotland if its no in his opinion manufactured to continue...any wonder that this has gone on for so long with little effective punishment....

05-07-2012, 07:59 AM

Dear oh dear...that is one of the justifications..so in effect the bitter bigotry will be a big miss to the game in Scotland if its no in his opinion manufactured to continue...any wonder that this has gone on for so long with little effective punishment....He should be punted on the basis of that statement alone, never mind the rest of it.

05-07-2012, 08:06 AM
Why no go through for a pint with your family, then stay in the pub during the game, giving your money to some honest tax paying public house owner, rather than stumping up cash to a club with a chairman that as good as advocates cheating and not paying tax, watch the scores on SSN in the pub then meet your family after and get the run down on another Hibs victory :wink:

Killie are more than their Chairman. The fans were against the Newco and "HE" decided to rail against that. "60 miles to Kilmarnock to see Hibernian play".:wink:

His abstention was wrong and I'm sure that when the Killie fans get their club back, I'll raise a glass with them.:aok:

05-07-2012, 08:08 AM

But if they go to Div3 you can expect the same, so they have fewer divisions to climb.

05-07-2012, 08:10 AM

Dear oh dear...that is one of the justifications..so in effect the bitter bigotry will be a big miss to the game in Scotland if its no in his opinion manufactured to continue...any wonder that this has gone on for so long with little effective punishment....

It is part of football he says well so are leagues and being promoted and relegated based on results. The man is a clown shoe.

05-07-2012, 08:14 AM

He should be punted on the basis of that statement alone, never mind the rest of it.

Giving a new twist to the phrase oft-repeated during the credit crunch:

Too bigoted to fail

05-07-2012, 08:14 AM
If the newco are in Div1 when the dust settles then O.K. ...

If NewCo are in Div1 then they are there through bribery, threats and scaremongering .. there is absolutely nothing "O.K." about that!

05-07-2012, 08:22 AM

Also, I think it says a lot when Donald Findlay is so disgusted with the bribery and corruption that his statement gets the majority of fans on his side. I neve thought I'd see the day I agreed with anything he said.Indeed, it seems they have made a massive miscalculation tae people's reaction tae threats and blackmail. Time for them tae for once dae the right thing (if they're even cabable of that) and tae clear their desks or time for it tae be done for them.

05-07-2012, 08:31 AM
As i have said before If it means the death of scottish football so be it. We cannot have a sport that is designed to only work around 2 clubs. Trash the whole thing and start again. Generations of bigots will have to find something else to do at the weekend. (Maybe they can go to church) Vive la Revolution

05-07-2012, 08:31 AM
Okay, I have deliberated, pontificated, considered and done a lot of soul searching. Regan and Doncaster's positions are untenable. We must move to a one tier system asap. The SFA as the umbrella organization should have made the proper decision. They did not and I find that scandalous. Sometimes in life when you are in a position of power you are mandated to say or do something you do not agree with. I think Petrie is in that position between his two hats. Which one is his true feelings I know not. To cast history up of him being a tight ass is a hibs.net myth in my opinion. The most important thing in this to me is that Hibs have acted with decorum in this and made the proper decision with Petrie as the spokesman. Therefore, this afternoon a season ticket will be purchased but extremely underused unfortunately.

05-07-2012, 08:33 AM
He should be punted on the basis of that statement alone, never mind the rest of it.

On that statement alone, I agree with him. Football is, to a great extent, about tribalism. That's the bit that Mercer misunderstood when he tried to take us over. Quote "this isn't football, it's tribalism"... that was the point at which I realised he just didn't get it.

05-07-2012, 08:35 AM
On that statement alone, I agreee with him. Football is, to a great extent, about tribalism. That's the bit that Mercer misunderstood when he tried to take us over. Quote "this isn't football, it's tribalism"... that was the point at which I realised he just didn't get it.I actually quoted the wrong post and didnae change it. I meant the whole statement should be enough tae see him emptied, never mind his part in the rest of the dirty dealings.

05-07-2012, 08:37 AM
I actually quoted the wrong post and didnae change it. I meant the whole statement should be enough tae see him emptied, never mind his part in the rest of the dirty dealings.

*******. To think I wasted a minute of my life on my post. :greengrin

alexedwards
05-07-2012, 08:38 AM
The question that always raises it's head in this fiasco - is who are Doncaster/Regan acting for?
And why are they running about like Abbott & Costello so desperately to have Rangers in SFL1 or SPL2 against the wishes of almost everyone?
There has to a massive motive - money is usually the culprit.
So what is the desperation?

Neil Doncaster presided over the signing of commercial contract's with a get-out clause for the partner's stipulating -
"If Rangers or Celtic leave the SPL the agreement is terminated."

What it should have said.........
"If Rangers or Celtic VOLUNTARILY leave the SPL the agreement is terminated."

This is the financial meltdown - caused by Doncaster's incompetence - he is to blame - it his fault for missing what is a standard item. Either of these clubs could leave the SPL if they were relegated and he didn't spot it. Now he's running about trying to save his own career and he has everyone in Scottish football up in arms. Crikey! Even 75% of Rangers fans accept they have to go to Div 3 and still we talk of forcing leagues; every fan spending time and emotion to block this; clubs wasting time; clubs being threatened; talk of social unrest, and all to save one man's career.
He blew it - he missed out one word - voluntarily. Boot him - we need a competent CE who won't bring financial meltdown upon us.
Regan has also bought into this and shown himself incompetent as a CE -boot him too.
All of this because of one man's inability to do his job is the only thing that make's sense in why a continual railroading is on the agenda.

05-07-2012, 08:38 AM
*******. To think I wasted a minute of my life on my post. :greengrinsorry :greengrin

05-07-2012, 08:41 AM
Jane Lewis‏@JaneLewisSportNewco Rangers say their pre-season trip to Germany is off. The team was due to play three games in Germany between 18-25 July

05-07-2012, 08:42 AM
Jane Lewis‏@JaneLewisSportNewco Rangers say their pre-season trip to Germany is off. The team was due to play three games in Germany between 18-25 Julywhat team? :greengrin

05-07-2012, 08:55 AM

The Portman Hotel Kilmarnock best looking bar staff at any away pub. Worth the 60 mile trip alone. :drool:

Gingertosser
05-07-2012, 08:57 AM
Sportsound last night

I may be mistaken but when Cosgrove was grilling Traynor about what the DR had actually exposed during 4 months, Traynor claimed they broke the Ticketus deal. When challenged by Cosgrove that the RTC had in fact beat them to it, did I hear right, when Traynor replied that Graham Speirs hadn't beaten him to it.

Had he just exposed Graham Speirs as the man behind the RTC ?

Anyone else hear this last night, or did I get it wrong ?

05-07-2012, 08:57 AM
Apols if already posted, Cowdenbeath statement:

http://www.cowdenbeathfc.com/index.php?act=viewNews&id=1075

Even Donald Findlay gets the integrity argument and won't vote for Div1. Struggling to see where any votes for the Hun are going to come from?

05-07-2012, 08:59 AM
Sportsound last night

I may be mistaken but when Cosgrove was grilling Traynor about what the DR had actually exposed during 4 months, Traynor claimed they broke the Ticketus deal. When challenged by Cosgrove that the RTC had in fact beat them to it, did I hear right, when Traynor replied that Graham Speirs hadn't beaten him to it.

Had he just exposed Graham Speirs as the man behind the RTC ?

Anyone else hear this last night, or did I get it wrong ?

Just typical Fatty petulance. There's no way Traynor knows the identity of RTC or it would've been splashed all over the paper quicker than you can say, "irresponsible rabble rousing".

DCI Gene Hunt
05-07-2012, 09:03 AM
Have been following this whole drawn-out saga with amusement, boredom and anger all in equal measure.

If there is anything that has sent me into a rage about this whole sorry mess, it has been the arrogance and out-and-out bias shown by Dungcaster and the other prat, and the arrogance of The Artist Formerly Known As Rangers. That statement by Regan in The Scotsman makes me furious, their bias isn't even hidden anymore, they are making it very clear that in their eyes Scottish Football is nothing without Rangers and the rest of us simply don't matter. The desperation of the arguements would be hilarious if the demented nutters making these statements weren't so serious about it. As for The Artist Formerly Known As Rangers, their arrogance is pathetic. "We Are Rangers". Yes we know you are. Big deal. get in line along with everyone else.

Total farce, scandal, absolutely clear to all that Scottish Football is corrupted to the core and RIGGED in favour of the OF.

I for one am not interested in RIGGED sport run by corrupt individuals.

This whole thing totally honks and if Dungcaster and Regan's heads do not roll after this I will eat my own Hibs shirt.

Gene

05-07-2012, 09:07 AM
Apols if already posted, Cowdenbeath statement:

http://www.cowdenbeathfc.com/index.php?act=viewNews&id=1075

Even Donald Findlay gets the integrity argument and won't vote for Div1. Struggling to see where any votes for the Hun are going to come from?

You know the situation is dire when you agree with Findlay.

PeeKay
05-07-2012, 09:08 AM
BBC reporting that SFA now showing their true colours (blue of course) in blocking the transfer of registration for ex-hun players.

05-07-2012, 09:09 AM
On the small matter which now arises for the SPL as to finalising the identity of Club 12, why should this decision await the SFL vote next Thursday as indicated by Doncaster yesterday?

The SPL’s next priority is to identify who will replace Rangers as Club 12 in the new season which kicks off on 4 August. Three First Division clubs – Dunfermline, Dundee and Falkirk – currently meet SPL criteria.

“Our clubs have not made a decision on that yet,” added Doncaster. “We will do so in due course after the SFL have deliberated.

I don't see why they can't make this decision prior to next week's vote. Indeed it's essential that they do so if by delaying they effectively force three clubs rather than just one to abstain from next week's vote.

Is this a further subtle form of manipulating the process in RFC's favour?

05-07-2012, 09:10 AM
The interview was also being run as the main sport story in The Herald today.

Quite astonishing points of view from Regan - particularly the societal breakdown angle...

alexedwards
05-07-2012, 09:13 AM
On the small matter which now arises for the SPL as to finalising the identity of Club 12, why should this decision await the SFL vote next Thursday as indicated by Doncaster yesterday?

I don't see why they can't make this decision prior to next week's vote. Indeed it's essential that they do so if by delaying they effectively force three clubs rather than just one to abstain from next week's vote.

Is this a further subtle form of manipulating the process in RFC's favour?

Why would Falkirk be introduced to this? - it is manipulation.

05-07-2012, 09:13 AM

Yep the sort of perverted terrorist and political tribalism that is very much the make up of the Old Firm games are something that football and particularly society can well do without. An idiotic comment.

05-07-2012, 09:18 AM
On that statement alone, I agree with him. Football is, to a great extent, about tribalism. That's the bit that Mercer misunderstood when he tried to take us over. Quote "this isn't football, it's tribalism"... that was the point at which I realised he just didn't get it.

Sporting tribalism fine, tribalism extolling the virtues of murderous terrorist organisations and 300 year old battles, not fine. I wonder if his social unrest comment is shared by the Ambulance and hospital staff that deal with the fallout of this tribalism as to be honest I bet they are delighted there isnt the 4 times a year carnage after an OF Game next year.

05-07-2012, 09:24 AM
Sporting tribalism fine, tribalism extolling the virtues of murderous terrorist organisations and 300 year old battles, not fine. I wonder if his social unrest comment is shared by the Ambulance and hospital staff that deal with the fallout of this tribalism as to be honest I bet they are delighted there isnt the 4 times a year carnage after an OF Game next year.

Yeah, agreed. Probably wrong to concentrate on one bit of a wholly ludicrous statement.

05-07-2012, 09:25 AM
So dos this mean SPL and by implication have been sponsoring bigotry and tribalism since 1998?

Great strapline!

05-07-2012, 09:37 AM
Sorry if already posted: -

http://www.scottishfootballblog.co.uk/2012/07/rangers-newco-looking-for-revolution.html

Rangers newco: Looking for a revolution

A drookit summer has seen Scottish football drowning in uncertainty and indecision.

We finally got a decision yesterday. The SPL chairmen voted against letting the Rangers newco into the top flight.

That was hardly surprising. Some of the chairmen - 10 said "no" - might have voted with a heavy heart and some might very well be daft.

But not daft enough to risk losing the core of their own support.

A predictable decision and not one that removed much uncertainty.

Too many clubs - the Rangers newco among them - don't yet know what league they will be playing in when the season kicks off in just a few weeks.

That the SPL saying "no" would force Rangers into the Third Division seemed the most plausible outcome until a few days ago.

Then the argument that the only way for Scottish football to survive was to parachute Rangers into the First Division was unleashed.

If the SFL clubs didn't agree then the SPL - whose role in all this should have ended yesterday when they said an emphatic "no" - would engineer a breakaway SPL2 to accommodate the newco.

Last night that theme was picked up by the SFA's Stewart Regan in a series of quotes that should - in a game governed by any sanity - disqualify him from holding office.

He has certainly destroyed any lingering hope that the SFA will adopt a neutral stance in any of this.

I don't really care that Regan diminishes himself with every utterance. I do care that he diminishes our game when he's doing it.

When a director of a First Division club stands on the steps of Hampden and denounces our game as "corrupt" then something is rotten to the core.

And for what?

Regan is giving up. Aided and abetted by the SPL's Neil Doncaster - who should really be run out of Hampden forthwith - he's surrendering.

He's seeking comfort in a broken business model. His vision of Scottish football is one where any real change is possible only if it suits the needs of television companies whose commitment to Scotland is half hearted at best.

He's saying that we can only thrive if we fix the game to allow a quick route back to the top flight for a club that has seen the most gargantuan mismanagement in Scottish football history.

A quick fix that most fans of that club seem to reject themselves.

He's saying that it's OK to bully lower league clubs if it provides solace for all the SPL clubs who have mismanaged their own finances.

And he's turning this cowardice on it's head and painting himself as some sort of hero.

He sees something heroic in saying that he's worked out a way to return as quickly as possible to a flawed status quo.

We deserve more. More than Regan and Doncaster, a couple of middle ranking marketing men who have fallen into the trap of believing their own lies.

More than footballing authorities who care not a jot for moving the game forward.

What could we learn from this long, bleak summer?

We know that fans care about the future, that they're prepared to speak up and show their passion.

Would the future of the Scottish game be better served by harnessing that passion or by allowing Regan to disenfranchise more and more supporters?

We've seen that the SPL experiment has failed. It's failed to create a sustainable model for its clubs, failed to create an environment that could predict or halt a huge corporate collapse in its midst.

The SPL was the game's attempt to hitch a lift to a promised land, to the riches of unfettered sporting capitalism. Scottish football didn't get there. It got run over and left behind.

Greed, chasing the quick buck, canoodling with corporate sponsors and ignoring the fans hasn't worked.

But the fans are still there. They still care.

Could we not take the positives from that and create a more sustainable game, a more sensible game?

A new football model for Scotland that has fans and communities at its heart? A game that we could again be proud of?

It won't be easy. Of course it won't.

But if Dundee United or Hibs, Hearts or Aberdeen, Kilmarnock or Elgin, Cowdenbeath or Stranraer are surviving only on the back of four Old Firm games a season and 30 pieces of Sky's silver then we need to make hard decisions.

We need to reinvent. We need to involve the fans in that reinvention.

And we need to do it quickly.

It will take vision though. It will take inspiration.

When we look for vision or inspiration at Hampden what do we find?

Stewart Regan and Neil Doncaster.

Their vision condemns us to relive the mistakes of the past. Their vision won't halt the "slow, lingering death" of Scottish football it will only perpetuate it.

Don't believe them, stand up to them. Tell your club how you feel, shout it from the rooftops.

Every fan of every club should have had enough of being let down by non entities like this.

It's our game and they are our clubs.

Now is the time to prove it.

05-07-2012, 09:53 AM
We now know without any doubt, those at the top of OUR game are corrupt. Where does this corruption stop, every dodgy decision that goes against us now, every penalty?

The seed of doubt has gone, we know the SPL and the SFA will fight to give rantic preferential treatment. Could referee's and linesmen be next on their radar, make sure both teams win, we cant have any teams beating their favorites, am i wrong or too late?

05-07-2012, 10:07 AM
Sorry if already posted: -

http://www.scottishfootballblog.co.uk/2012/07/rangers-newco-looking-for-revolution.html

Rangers newco: Looking for a revolution

A drookit summer has seen Scottish football drowning in uncertainty and indecision.

We finally got a decision yesterday. The SPL chairmen voted against letting the Rangers newco into the top flight.

That was hardly surprising. Some of the chairmen - 10 said "no" - might have voted with a heavy heart and some might very well be daft.

But not daft enough to risk losing the core of their own support.

A predictable decision and not one that removed much uncertainty.

Too many clubs - the Rangers newco among them - don't yet know what league they will be playing in when the season kicks off in just a few weeks.

That the SPL saying "no" would force Rangers into the Third Division seemed the most plausible outcome until a few days ago.

Then the argument that the only way for Scottish football to survive was to parachute Rangers into the First Division was unleashed.

If the SFL clubs didn't agree then the SPL - whose role in all this should have ended yesterday when they said an emphatic "no" - would engineer a breakaway SPL2 to accommodate the newco.

Last night that theme was picked up by the SFA's Stewart Regan in a series of quotes that should - in a game governed by any sanity - disqualify him from holding office.

He has certainly destroyed any lingering hope that the SFA will adopt a neutral stance in any of this.

I don't really care that Regan diminishes himself with every utterance. I do care that he diminishes our game when he's doing it.

When a director of a First Division club stands on the steps of Hampden and denounces our game as "corrupt" then something is rotten to the core.

And for what?

Regan is giving up. Aided and abetted by the SPL's Neil Doncaster - who should really be run out of Hampden forthwith - he's surrendering.

He's seeking comfort in a broken business model. His vision of Scottish football is one where any real change is possible only if it suits the needs of television companies whose commitment to Scotland is half hearted at best.

He's saying that we can only thrive if we fix the game to allow a quick route back to the top flight for a club that has seen the most gargantuan mismanagement in Scottish football history.

A quick fix that most fans of that club seem to reject themselves.

He's saying that it's OK to bully lower league clubs if it provides solace for all the SPL clubs who have mismanaged their own finances.

And he's turning this cowardice on it's head and painting himself as some sort of hero.

He sees something heroic in saying that he's worked out a way to return as quickly as possible to a flawed status quo.

We deserve more. More than Regan and Doncaster, a couple of middle ranking marketing men who have fallen into the trap of believing their own lies.

More than footballing authorities who care not a jot for moving the game forward.

What could we learn from this long, bleak summer?

We know that fans care about the future, that they're prepared to speak up and show their passion.

Would the future of the Scottish game be better served by harnessing that passion or by allowing Regan to disenfranchise more and more supporters?

We've seen that the SPL experiment has failed. It's failed to create a sustainable model for its clubs, failed to create an environment that could predict or halt a huge corporate collapse in its midst.

The SPL was the game's attempt to hitch a lift to a promised land, to the riches of unfettered sporting capitalism. Scottish football didn't get there. It got run over and left behind.

Greed, chasing the quick buck, canoodling with corporate sponsors and ignoring the fans hasn't worked.

But the fans are still there. They still care.

Could we not take the positives from that and create a more sustainable game, a more sensible game?

A new football model for Scotland that has fans and communities at its heart? A game that we could again be proud of?

It won't be easy. Of course it won't.

But if Dundee United or Hibs, Hearts or Aberdeen, Kilmarnock or Elgin, Cowdenbeath or Stranraer are surviving only on the back of four Old Firm games a season and 30 pieces of Sky's silver then we need to make hard decisions.

We need to reinvent. We need to involve the fans in that reinvention.

And we need to do it quickly.

It will take vision though. It will take inspiration.

When we look for vision or inspiration at Hampden what do we find?

Stewart Regan and Neil Doncaster.

Their vision condemns us to relive the mistakes of the past. Their vision won't halt the "slow, lingering death" of Scottish football it will only perpetuate it.

Don't believe them, stand up to them. Tell your club how you feel, shout it from the rooftops.

Every fan of every club should have had enough of being let down by non entities like this.

It's our game and they are our clubs.

Now is the time to prove it.

Great article and completely spot on.

GreenPJ
05-07-2012, 10:13 AM
Great article and completely spot on.

Judging by the statements made by Cowdenbeath and Clyde boards along with fans comments on the media sites I can't help but think that Doncaster and Reagan's response to the SPL no vote and the vivid language and scaremongering they have been using has only helped drive them closer to the conclusion that they don't want.

Lungo--Drom
05-07-2012, 10:13 AM
Well they say most murders are the result of an issue related to sex or murder so I agree with what you are saying.

So they are running about like Abbott & Costello for one of those things. Sex or money. Probably money like you say. But perhaps also blackmail? Perhaps someone, or rather somehun, has threatened to:
A) kill them
B) expose the "sauna photographs"
C) burn their houses down
D) expose their complicity/duplicity in the long running pro-Hun or pro-OF rotten apple cart

In other words, in all seriousness, perhaps someone with a lot of power or someone holding a lot of photographs is leaning on them big style? That's certainly the way they are behaving, like small time mobsters sweating to save their dough before the big boys come over from Chicago and fit them with Cuban ties.

The question that always raises it's head in this fiasco - is who are Doncaster/Regan acting for?
And why are they running about like Abbott & Costello so desperately to have Rangers in SFL1 or SPL2 against the wishes of almost everyone?
There has to a massive motive - money is usually the culprit.
So what is the desperation?

Neil Doncaster presided over the signing of commercial contract's with a get-out clause for the partner's stipulating -
"If Rangers or Celtic leave the SPL the agreement is terminated."

What it should have said.........
"If Rangers or Celtic VOLUNTARILY leave the SPL the agreement is terminated."

This is the financial meltdown - caused by Doncaster's incompetence - he is to blame - it his fault for missing what is a standard item. Either of these clubs could leave the SPL if they were relegated and he didn't spot it. Now he's running about trying to save his own career and he has everyone in Scottish football up in arms. Crikey! Even 75% of Rangers fans accept they have to go to Div 3 and still we talk of forcing leagues; every fan spending time and emotion to block this; clubs wasting time; clubs being threatened; talk of social unrest, and all to save one man's career.
He blew it - he missed out one word - voluntarily. Boot him - we need a competent CE who won't bring financial meltdown upon us.
Regan has also bought into this and shown himself incompetent as a CE -boot him too.
All of this because of one man's inability to do his job is the only thing that make's sense in why a continual railroading is on the agenda.

05-07-2012, 10:15 AM
Herein lies the problem though: How do we get rid of the suits in charge of our game?

FIFA expressly forbids political involvement, so we can't ask the government to do it. We (the fans) have absolutely no power over the game, despite that without us there'd be nothing.

We need to find a way to get these guys out, then give the fans power. I'd like to see us able to vote for who we want to be in charge of the game. Candidates would serve fixed terms and have to campaign. I'd nominate that guy from Raith Rovers for a kick off.

05-07-2012, 10:19 AM
Makes sense as soon as possible to sort out League's for this season

Dunfermline/Dundee into SPL
Newco into 3rd Division and sort out all the other teams in SFL 2/3 by knocking them up a place.

Seems simple or am I being to optimistic?

Lix
05-07-2012, 10:20 AM
We now know without any doubt, those at the top of OUR game are corrupt. Where does this corruption stop, every dodgy decision that goes against us now, every penalty?

The seed of doubt has gone, we know the SPL and the SFA will fight to give rantic preferential treatment. Could referee's and linesmen be next on their radar, make sure both teams win, we cant have any teams beating their favorites, am i wrong or too late?
This is it for me.
We have all suspected for most of our football watching lives that the playing field was more squint than the old Easter Road slope.... But we didn't want to believe that we were right, as that would mean the game was corrupt. Surely not?!!
I have followed the financial shenanigans with rapt attention throughout this whole sordid saga but never really thought we would end up here.
Some of the statements and behaviour of the Succulent Lamb media and those entrusted with our beloved game have frankly both shocked and appalled me. It had been way worse than any of our previous paranoid inclinations would have suggested.
I'm afraid the genie is out of the bottle now though.
The only way back (well forward actually) for the game in Scotland is to listen to the fans and put sporting integrity and fairness back at the front.
I actually think we're now at a point where that is the only feasible solution so am strangely encouraged about the future.

05-07-2012, 10:27 AM
We (the fans) have absolutely no power over the game, despite that without us there'd be nothing.

Which is exactly what makes us the most powerful entity in the game!

Whats more powerful.... 10's (maybe even 100's) of thousands of football fans, or a few guys in suites with fancy titles?

We ARE the game and if they want to threaten us with their so called "proposals", then we should start fighting back with a few proposals of our own.

WE have the power to change the game for the better. Its OUR game.

05-07-2012, 10:33 AM
Makes sense as soon as possible to sort out League's for this season

Dunfermline/Dundee into SPL
Newco into 3rd Division and sort out all the other teams in SFL 2/3 by knocking them up a place.

Seems simple or am I being to optimistic?

The more logical (if slightly biased) solution is this....

Leave the SFL1, 2 and 3 as it is, and have an 11 team SPL next season, with, either no relegation from the SPL or a play off to bring the number up to 12 for the following season, with the SFL bringing up clubs to create the vacancy in the SFL 3.

Benefits:

all clubs are in the right league next season with no Dunfermline/Dundee debate
Everybody knows the situation for the endo of next season
Junior clubs have time to prepare their bids
Oh aye, and no Rangers (in any form) next season

Problems:

one SPL team have a free week every week
eh, that's all

05-07-2012, 10:33 AM
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for contacting the club and for expressing your views. I am sure that you will appreciate that the club has received an extraordinary number of emails and letters from supporters on this subject. Due to the volume of correspondence we are simply unable to reply to each email and letter by specifically responding to each point raised. I can assure you however that every comment has been read and fully understood by the Directors of the Club.

As regards the possible admission of a Rangers Newco to the SPL, the Club made it known some time ago that it would vote against such a proposal. The Club also made known its view that there should be no further delay and that a vote should proceed on 4 July 2012. As widely reported the vote took place on 4 July 2012 and Hibernian along with other clubs voted overwhelmingly to reject the admission of a Rangers Newco into the SPL. It is now certain that Rangers will not participate in the SPL for season 2012/13.

Rangers’ representatives have now confirmed that they will formally apply for admission to the SFL for season 2012/13. It will now be for other bodies to determine if and at what level Rangers might be accommodated within Scottish football from 2012/13 onwards.

This decision has been made at a difficult time for Scottish football and will mean that all SPL clubs will suffer some financial damage. Our Club, along with the others, will need every supporter to get behind their club and play a positive role in ensuring the future viability of our Club and of the professional game in Scotland.

Thank you again for your email and for your continued support of your Club.

Regards

Scott Lindsay/Rod Petrie

05-07-2012, 10:34 AM
The more logical (if slightly biased) solution is this....

Leave the SFL1, 2 and 3 as it is, and have an 11 team SPL next season, with, either no relegation from the SPL or a play off to bring the number up to 12 for the following season, with the SFL bringing up clubs to create the vacancy in the SFL 3.

Benefits:

all clubs are in the right league next season with no Dunfermline/Dundee debate
Everybody knows the situation for the endo of next season
Junior clubs have time to prepare their bids
Oh aye, and no Rangers (in any form) next season

Problems:

one SPL team have a free week every week
eh, that's all

Less income from less home games.

What happens at the split?

05-07-2012, 10:35 AM
Which is exactly what makes us the most powerful entity in the game!

Whats more powerful.... 10's (maybe even 100's) of thousands of football fans, or a few guys in suites with fancy titles?

We ARE the game and if they want to threaten us with their so called "proposals", then we should start fighting back with a few proposals of our own.

WE have the power to change the game for the better. Its OUR game.

Yes, but at present there is no means for us to exercise that power.

How do we do it? Do we boycott games, which will really only serve to weaken our own clubs? Do we boycott the handful of Scotland games a year then?

Thus far the powers at be have at every opportunity ignored the fans, be it the numerous petitions, our thoughts on League Reconstruction etc. The clubs have finally listened to us, perhaps they will do so again.

While we do have the power, using it is rather more difficult.

05-07-2012, 10:37 AM
I am actually starting to think the comments by Regan and Doncaster are part of a carefully planned campaign to try and mitigate the backlash and fallout with the Hun being dropped down. They are if you think about it in many ways protecting the clubs with their ludicrous pro-Rangers comments. It has in many ways taken the heat off the clubs at this time which is likely to lead in the end with the right decisions being made. One down one to go.

05-07-2012, 10:39 AM
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for contacting the club and for expressing your views. I am sure that you will appreciate that the club has received an extraordinary number of emails and letters from supporters on this subject. Due to the volume of correspondence we are simply unable to reply to each email and letter by specifically responding to each point raised. I can assure you however that every comment has been read and fully understood by the Directors of the Club.

As regards the possible admission of a Rangers Newco to the SPL, the Club made it known some time ago that it would vote against such a proposal. The Club also made known its view that there should be no further delay and that a vote should proceed on 4 July 2012. As widely reported the vote took place on 4 July 2012 and Hibernian along with other clubs voted overwhelmingly to reject the admission of a Rangers Newco into the SPL. It is now certain that Rangers will not participate in the SPL for season 2012/13.

Rangers’ representatives have now confirmed that they will formally apply for admission to the SFL for season 2012/13. It will now be for other bodies to determine if and at what level Rangers might be accommodated within Scottish football from 2012/13 onwards.

This decision has been made at a difficult time for Scottish football and will mean that all SPL clubs will suffer some financial damage. Our Club, along with the others, will need every supporter to get behind their club and play a positive role in ensuring the future viability of our Club and of the professional game in Scotland.

Thank you again for your email and for your continued support of your Club.

Regards

Scott Lindsay/Rod Petrie

A reasonable response I think.

05-07-2012, 10:40 AM
Yes, but at present there is no means for us to exercise that power.

How do we do it? Do we boycott games, which will really only serve to weaken our own clubs? Do we boycott the handful of Scotland games a year then?

Thus far the powers at be have at every opportunity ignored the fans, be it the numerous petitions, our thoughts on League Reconstruction etc. The clubs have finally listened to us, perhaps they will do so again.

While we do have the power, using it is rather more difficult.

We do EVERYTHING we can to be heard.

We don't need to boycott games, but we can however create big banners to let our feelings be known, we can also get the fans from every club to come together and perform major protests against this.

People need to get angry. People don't get angry enough these days and just accept what their spoon fed.

Twa Cairpets
05-07-2012, 10:45 AM
I was mystified that Regan could put out that interview, which on a first reading (and indeed second reading) is astonishing.

However, for the sake of debate (and because I admit to being a bit of a Regan apologist as I'm impressed with other stuff he has done for the grassroots of the game), I think it warrants further analysis:

1) He doesnt say that Rangers need to be in because of an affection for or allegiance to Rangers. I dont think he has any. It isnt a case that we need Rangers to help Rnagers, it is that he belives we need Rangers for the sake of everyone else. (I dont agree with him, but thats opinion).
2) Assuming the above, it doesnt indicate corruption at all.
3) Assuming he believes that the financial implications of no hun would result in the administration/liquidation of several member clubs, he presumably has a duty to work in th einterest of those clubs if he genuinely believes them to be at risk.
4) The "social unrest" related to no hun, not div3 hun. Stupid thing to say either way, bit not scaremongering to ge tthem to div 1
5) I agree with the tribalism element. Of course thats what football is.

I believe he is wrong - I'd stress that. I think allowing the hun back into div 1 will absolutely kill the game because of the strength of feeling, but I can see where he is coming from when you take the understandable distaste for hundom out of the consideration process.

Brando7
05-07-2012, 10:49 AM
I've fired off a few emails to various addresses. Latest one went to SFL clubs, SPL clubs, Both organisations, the Media and a few SPL fan clubs (grouped below).

[email protected],
[email protected]

cc:

[email protected],

[email protected]

Fab post m8, I have emailed a few clubs after each statement they have issued one at a time but now i can do it all in one go...:thumbsup:

05-07-2012, 10:51 AM
I was mystified that Regan could put out that interview, which on a first reading (and indeed second reading) is astonishing.

However, for the sake of debate (and because I admit to being a bit of a Regan apologist as I'm impressed with other stuff he has done for the grassroots of the game), I think it warrants further analysis:

1) He doesnt say that Rangers need to be in because of an affection for or allegiance to Rangers. I dont think he has any. It isnt a case that we need Rangers to help Rnagers, it is that he belives we need Rangers for the sake of everyone else. (I dont agree with him, but thats opinion).
2) Assuming the above, it doesnt indicate corruption at all.
3) Assuming he believes that the financial implications of no hun would result in the administration/liquidation of several member clubs, he presumably has a duty to work in th einterest of those clubs if he genuinely believes them to be at risk.
4) The "social unrest" related to no hun, not div3 hun. Stupid thing to say either way, bit not scaremongering to ge tthem to div 1
5) I agree with the tribalism element. Of course thats what football is.

I believe he is wrong - I'd stress that. I think allowing the hun back into div 1 will absolutely kill the game because of the strength of feeling, but I can see where he is coming from when you take the understandable distaste for hundom out of the consideration process.

Apologise all you want for him :greengrin

What I took out of his statement can be put far more succinctly than your summary, and that is that the guy is a complete bellend who should be removed from office before he does anything further to harm not only the game but people's perceptions of the country.

He taking that ****** idiot Doncaster with him as well.

05-07-2012, 11:05 AM

We don't need to boycott games, but we can however create big banners to let our feelings be known, we can also get the fans from every club to come together and perform major protests against this.

People need to get angry. People don't get angry enough these days and just accept what their spoon fed.

Perhaps I'm being too cynical here. But what we have here are structures where the guys at the top can decide how long they want to do their jobs, what they fancy doing with them, with no method for them to be removed by anybody. We can wave banners and be as angry as we like, they can choose to ignore it and happily cash their paychecks.

I suspect Regan and Doncaster will stay in their no doubt nice offices for a long time to come. Their never flinching support of Rangers will keep the media onside with them and eliminate one big source of pressure.

Football is corrupt to the core, anyone expecting FIFA or UEFA to do anything about it forgets how corrupt both those bodies are as well. They, like our own authorities will be desperate to sweep this under the rug. The key thing once these muppets are gone is that we create a system where by such things cannot happen again. Directly elected by the fans would be something I'd like to see, but any system where by someone can't just take the job then do whatever they like for as long as they fancy would be an improvement.

05-07-2012, 11:10 AM
Perhaps I'm being too cynical here. But what we have here are structures where the guys at the top can decide how long they want to do their jobs, what they fancy doing with them, with no method for them to be removed by anybody. We can wave banners and be as angry as we like, they can choose to ignore it and happily cash their paychecks.

I suspect Regan and Doncaster will stay in their no doubt nice offices for a long time to come. Their never flinching support of Rangers will keep the media onside with them and eliminate one big source of pressure.

Football is corrupt to the core, anyone expecting FIFA or UEFA to do anything about it forgets how corrupt both those bodies are as well. They, like our own authorities will be desperate to sweep this under the rug. The key thing once these muppets are gone is that we create a system where by such things cannot happen again. Directly elected by the fans would be something I'd like to see, but any system where by someone can't just take the job then do whatever they like for as long as they fancy would be an improvement.

You need a ladder to climb a ladder, take away their ladder and they'll have nothing to stand on.

These guys are "high up", because we're their ladder.

Without us there as their stepping stones, they have nothing to keep them up there.

We are their power and without us, they have none.

05-07-2012, 11:10 AM
Has it been announced who the "1" out of the 12 were?

05-07-2012, 11:12 AM

Killie

05-07-2012, 11:13 AM

Old Huns voted yes, Killie abstained.

05-07-2012, 11:20 AM
Speaking to a Killie fan at my work today about yesterday and was saying the the board of killie wanted a yes vote but the fans wanted a know which is why they chose to abstain, meaning they didnt want to vote against their own beleifs but didnt want to go against the fans either.

Twa Cairpets
05-07-2012, 11:25 AM
Apologise all you want for him :greengrin

What I took out of his statement can be put far more succinctly than your summary, and that is that the guy is a complete bellend who should be removed from office before he does anything further to harm not only the game but people's perceptions of the country.

He taking that ****** idiot Doncaster with him as well.

Agree with your analysis of Doncaster.

As for the rest of the post, you've not actually addressed any of the points, but just name called. Hey - you may be right, and he may be a bellend, but what comes after? This whole thing started with the huns under the watch of the old style SFA with its endless committees and being headed up by the like of Gordon Smith. Whether or not you agree with the Regans stance on the huns (and I emphatically dont), scottish football is more than just the SPL and SFL, and Regan has modernised and streamlined the administration of the sport dramtically. Do we really want a return to how it was before? Because the fallout has happened on Regans watch doesnt make him cuplable. He's been (in my opinion) disingenuous in his comments, but if his belief is that more clubs will go bust then he has a duty to say it. Again, I stress that my view is that the long term moral/financial impact of some other teams going bump is preferable to the short term financial benefit.

05-07-2012, 11:27 AM
I am beginning to think that if this whole thing is not sorted out next week, that Scottish Football should be put out of its misery.

When the SFL vote not to accept Newco into Division one as they surely will, that must be the end of the saga.

If Doncaster, Regan, et al continue and try to create an SPL2 in order to accommodate the ****, that will be the end for me. It will prove that they are prepared to pull the whole house down rather than admit defeat.

How the hell are teams expected to build for next season with all these distractions?

05-07-2012, 11:44 AM
11 Team SPL Proposal.

As suggested earlier by another poster, we could just have an 11 team SPL this season. To accomplish this fairly, do away with the split and play each other 4 times, making a total of 40 games.

This would mean that each club would have one extra home game, thereby helping in a small way to make up for any missing cash from home gate v Rankers.

How does that sound?

05-07-2012, 11:47 AM

I totally agree and it has already been shown, by the vote yesterday, that we can demonstrate our power. We won by flooding our Clubs with letter and email so we just need to do it again.

05-07-2012, 11:49 AM
11 Team SPL Proposal.

As suggested earlier by another poster, we could just have an 11 team SPL this season. To accomplish this fairly, do away with the split and play each other 4 times, making a total of 40 games.

This would mean that each club would have one extra home game, thereby helping in a small way to make up for any missing cash from home gate v Rankers.

How does that sound?

BUT THAT WOULD MEAN THERE WOULD BE NO VACANCY IN THE SFL!!!!!

Brilliant idea :greengrin

05-07-2012, 11:58 AM
11 Team SPL Proposal.

How does that sound?

It's not a terrible idea, but it would need 44 dates to play the 40 games, with each team being idle for the 4 games not played against the 12th team. That could cause scheduling issues because you would need to find six additional dates in the season.