View Full Version : Generic Sevco / Rangers meltdown thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181

12-07-2012, 09:26 AM
Have teams in the lower divisions coped with rangers and celtic visiting for cup-ties/pre-season games? Yes.
Have they enjoyed the TV revenue, build-up, media exposure and income generated? Yes.
Can they cope with that twice a season? Absolutely.

Anything else is just scare-mongering which Doncaster et al are renowned at.

We keep hearing about fear and uncertainty in Scottish Football if there is no Sevco FC.
Bollocks.
Uncertainty, yes.

Fear? No danger.

Absolutely spot on

12-07-2012, 09:31 AM
The latest plea for Div1 for Rangers by Henry McLeish :
According to McLeish, who compiled a wide-ranging review of the game in this country for the SFA, Scottish clubs do not have the “luxury of an ideal world” in which natural justice would see newco Rangers start life in the Third Division after their rejection last week by 
Scottish Premier League clubs.

Article in the Scotsman.

Shame that Henry McLeish, when in political office and in such an influential position when a politician, didn't see that investment in facilities, coaching, teaching and youth were the way forward for Scottish football.

Life in a democracy is overseen by law, rules and regulations. Henry M needs to see the game abide, meantime, with what EVERY club agreed to. By all means revisit them, but after they have been followed accordingly on this occasion.

The three bodies have had ample time to introduce some of the recommendations of his report. Idle hands and all that.

calmac12000
12-07-2012, 09:49 AM
According to McLeish, who compiled a wide-ranging review of the game in this country for the SFA, Scottish clubs do not have the “luxury of an ideal world” in which natural justice would see newco Rangers start life in the Third Division after their rejection last week by 

Article in the Scotsman.

Ipso facto, they just have to put up with blatant cheating, breaches of the rules etc..
WTF, do these Hun apologists find the basic concepts of sport so foreign and difficult to understand? I can't help thinking that there's a massive disconnect herebetween the great mass of supporters who see a fairily straightforward case of cheating and a so-called elite who patronisingly feel it is fine to load the decks in their favour.

12-07-2012, 10:22 AM
Albion Rovers will demand compensation should derby rivals Airdrie United be promoted to Division One because the new Rangers are voted into Division Three.
Full story: The Sun :confused:

12-07-2012, 10:24 AM
Doncaster & Regan are forgetting one thing. The SFL still have the option of not inviting the huns into the SFL. So hopefully they turn round and say huns go into the 3rd and we still get all the league reforms or kiss goodbye to the hun.
Job done.
The hun would probably be back in the SPL in 2 years with all the reconstruction.

12-07-2012, 10:28 AM
Shame that Henry McLeish, when in political office and in such an influential position when a politician, didn't see that investment in facilities, coaching, teaching and youth were the way forward for Scottish football.

Life in a democracy is overseen by law, rules and regulations. Henry M needs to see the game abide, meantime, with what EVERY club agreed to. By all means revisit them, but after they have been followed accordingly on this occasion.

The three bodies have had ample time to introduce some of the recommendations of his report. Idle hands and all that.

Nobody should know better than McLeish the effect of financial impropriety

12-07-2012, 10:33 AM

Article in the Scotsman.

Why should anyone pay any attention to someone who lost their job after getting caught with their fingers in the till. I can see why he might empathise with rangers given they've both been guilty of dipping the pockets of the taxpayer.

12-07-2012, 10:48 AM
Have teams in the lower divisions coped with rangers and celtic visiting for cup-ties/pre-season games? Yes.
Have they enjoyed the TV revenue, build-up, media exposure and income generated? Yes.

Anything else is just scare-mongering which Doncaster et al are renowned at.

We keep hearing about fear and uncertainty in Scottish Football if there is no Sevco FC.
Bollocks.
Uncertainty, yes.

Fear? No danger.

He's full of it ..

Caversham Green
12-07-2012, 10:52 AM
Doncaster & Regan are forgetting one thing. The SFL still have the option of not inviting the huns into the SFL. So hopefully they turn round and say huns go into the 3rd and we still get all the league reforms or kiss goodbye to the hun.
Job done.
The hun would probably be back in the SPL in 2 years with all the reconstruction.

:agree: The SFA statement is an absolute commitment whatever happens with the Sevco vote tomorrow. If they withdraw it because the vote goes the 'wrong' way thay would be confirming their own corruption and would demonstrably not be acting in the best interests of the Scottish game.

The worry is that a deal has already been struck and the statement is a show of good faith (for want of a more accurate description) ahead of a favourable vote tomorrow.

12-07-2012, 10:52 AM
Not read all the millions if threads but what if no one votes to allow them back in??

12-07-2012, 10:54 AM
If an SFL club gets angry enough they could easily take the SFL to court for being in breach of its own rule book.As we have seen the court tends to uphold the written word.

12-07-2012, 10:56 AM
Not read all the millions if threads but what if no one votes to allow them back in??

Then the SFL have a problem.

My guess is that Resolution 3 (the one to accept the resignation of either Dundee or Dunfermline) will be deferred. It would be easier for the SFL to reject that resignation, as otherwise there will be an odd number of clubs.

12-07-2012, 11:11 AM
What strikes me is the lack of integrity shown not only by the Huns management but also their followers. If it was me and Hibs had been caught cheating and with their hands in the till, then I'd be furious at them and be demanding answers instead of looking for loopholes to avoid just punishment.

If I was in their shoes, I'd never set foot in an SPL stadium again and would be looking further down the food chain for my fitba kicks, maybe even a local team.

But for them this is not an option because for the masses fitba is at best secondary to their bigoted lifestyle and it's only through Rangers that they can live that.

We arrrra people! Low lifes!

12-07-2012, 11:12 AM

I am sure they can cope, I dont for a second think they wont. My point was that it may not be as lucrative as some might think.

A cold Tuesday night in November in Peterhead or Elgin, with Rangers already cantering clear, is not going to sell out the same as a one off cup tie. Given the precautions that Peterhead may have to put in place then Rangers will not be the cash cow that their supporters in the media would have us believe.

You are right though, we have nothing to fear.

12-07-2012, 11:34 AM
Job done.

Could that be a reason for the postponement of deciding Club 12. If they are not in the SFL perhaps welcome back to SPL.

LeighLoyal
12-07-2012, 11:38 AM
What strikes me is the lack of integrity shown not only by the Huns management but also their followers. If it was me and Hibs had been caught cheating and with their hands in the till, then I'd be furious at them and be demanding answers instead of looking for loopholes to avoid just punishment.

If I was in their shoes, I'd never set foot in an SPL stadium again and would be looking further down the food chain for my fitba kicks, maybe even a local team.

But for them this is not an option because for the masses fitba is at best secondary to their bigoted lifestyle and it's only through Rangers that they can live that.

We arrrra people! Low lifes!

Scotland's Shame don't do shame like they don't do paying bills.

12-07-2012, 11:41 AM
I am sure they can cope, I dont for a second think they wont. My point was that it may not be as lucrative as some might think.

A cold Tuesday night in November in Peterhead or Elgin, with Rangers already cantering clear, is not going to sell out the same as a one off cup tie. Given the precautions that Peterhead may have to put in place then Rangers will not be the cash cow that their supporters in the media would have us believe.

You are right though, we have nothing to fear.

Having lived and worked up there Falcon let me tell you there are a good percentage of Rangers fans around these places.....in fact, sadly there are a fair percentage all over Scotland. They'll (SFL clubs) have no problem attracting the Rangers away crowd even for a meaningless game.

12-07-2012, 11:57 AM
Sure I heard Grant Stott saying on the radio that SPL are going to give any prize money due to Rangers for finishing second to Hearts to help offset the lost fees for Wallace. Surely this is not correct and Hearts shouldn't get any preference over other creditors? (Could anyone with knowledge or CC or CWG confirm?)

EuanH78
12-07-2012, 11:59 AM
According to STV, 17 -2 against 1st Div. so far. http://sport.stv.tv/football/108222-rangers-newco-vote-sfl-clubs-outline-their-positions-on-the-issue/

1 Abstention (Airdrie) and 1 inelgible (Dundee). Assuming all vote as intended, and I cant see any reason why they wouldnt, it's Newco in 3rd unless Regan overrules...

Surely not though eh?

12-07-2012, 12:01 PM
Sure I heard Grant Stott saying on the radio that SPL are going to give any prize money due to Rangers for finishing second to Hearts to help offset the lost fees for Wallace. Surely this is not correct and Hearts shouldn't get any preference over other creditors? (Could anyone with knowledge or CC or CWG confirm?)

My gut feeling is that this is an unfair preference, and one that the Liquidator (when appointed) may well challenge.

However, there is precedence from earlier on when the SFA or someone sorted out Dunfermline/Dundee United with cash owed to them by RFC. At the time I also thought that was an unfair preference, but, since no other creditor seemed to pick up on it, concluded that I had got it wrong.

VickMackie
12-07-2012, 12:01 PM

Good decision IMO, if true, theyre takin and using a player they've not paid for. Some should go to Vienna but I'm sure it's only SPL member clubs that will get it.

12-07-2012, 12:03 PM
According to STV, 17 -2 against 1st Div. so far. http://sport.stv.tv/football/108222-rangers-newco-vote-sfl-clubs-outline-their-positions-on-the-issue/

1 Abstention (Airdrie) and 1 inelgible (Dundee). Assuming all vote as intended, and I cant see any reason why they wouldnt, it's Newco in 3rd unless Regan overrules...

Surely not though eh?

Regan has no power to over-rule.

However, I'm not going to rely on STV's reporting. I think they have been pretty poor throughout all this, and have showed an ignorance of the important issues that shames a national broadcaster.

Although many clubs did declare their stance last week, that was before the latest attempt at buying them off. I suspect the final count will be much closer.

12-07-2012, 12:04 PM
Good decision IMO, if true, theyre takin and using a player they've not paid for. Some should go to Vienna but I'm sure it's only SPL member clubs that will get it.

Absolutely disagree. Why should a football club get cash ahead of the taxpayer, or the wee corner shop?

12-07-2012, 12:07 PM
My gut feeling is that this is an unfair preference, and one that the Liquidator (when appointed) may well challenge.

However, there is precedence from earlier on when the SFA or someone sorted out Dunfermline/Dundee United with cash owed to them by RFC. At the time I also thought that was an unfair preference, but, since no other creditor seemed to pick up on it, concluded that I had got it wrong.

Sorry didn't realise my grammar was as bad in original post until I read it back"(Could anyone with knowledge or CC or CWG confirm?)" which hinted that you and CC didn't have knowledge. Bit embarrassed reading it now. (red sheepish face smiley if there was one)

LeighLoyal
12-07-2012, 12:08 PM

What about all the SPL prize money they ripped off from law abiding clubs for the duration of their financial doping? I include the millions they got out of the Champions league ahead of Celtic when they were fielding ineligible players. If Sevco and their bigoted legions are going to claim that history (newco = oldco) then they should be sued for every penny.

12-07-2012, 12:09 PM
Sorry didn't realise my grammar was as bad in original post until I read it back"(Could anyone with knowledge or CC or CWG confirm?)" which hinted that you and CC didn't have knowledge. Bit embarrassed reading it now. (red sheepish face smiley if there was one)

No need to apologise. You were right in what you implied :greengrin

12-07-2012, 12:09 PM
Absolutely disagree. Why should a football club get cash ahead of the taxpayer, or the wee corner shop?

I would guess that the approach would be illegal and and the liquidator could demand the cash.

Over to BDO.

12-07-2012, 12:10 PM

:agree: or Rapid Vienna as that makes SPL appear to look after themselves at the expense of others. They would never do that now would they?

12-07-2012, 12:17 PM
(red sheepish face smiley if there was one)

Admin pricks should put :blushie: in the [More] smileys bit.

12-07-2012, 12:50 PM
An outstanding read from Rangerstaxcase today :The Last Drink In The Last Chance Saloon (http://rangerstaxcase.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/the-last-drink-in-the-last-chance-saloon/)12/07/2012 237 Comments (http://rangerstaxcase.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/the-last-drink-in-the-last-chance-saloon/#comments)

It is roughly seventeen months since this project started. Despite all of the revelations from this blog, and from other ‘new media’ outlets, little has changed in the world of Scottish football. This might seem a strange claim given that the largest football club in the country has become insolvent and now sits on corporate death-row awaiting its execution. However, the major institutions that feed on the blood of Scottish football fans: the SFA; the SPL; and the newspapers- appear to have learned little from events in this time.
They still believe that the people who pay their wages are imbeciles. They still dish out fatuous lies and peddle disinformation as if Sir David Murray was still in his heyday. The hysterical exaggerations and tales of impending financial doom should be transparent to the businessmen who fill most of the Chairman roles at Scottish football clubs. Anyone with even a few minutes of business experience will see through the lies of the Scottish football establishment. These scare stories are not the issue. It is the dangling of long requested changes in the structure of the Scottish game that will present clubs from both the Scottish Premier League and the Scottish Football League with a dilemma.
From their public statements, it is clear that the driving forces behind this attempt at league-rigging are SFA Chief Executive Stewart Regan and SPL Chief Executive Neil Doncaster. Despite being paid to promote the Scottish game, they have spent recent weeks trying to convince advertisers and TV companies that their product is worthless without someone representing Rangers’ legacy playing in the SFL1 next season. It is as if Sevco Ltd was a panacea and that this new club will be guaranteed promotion to the SPL within a single season.
Let us be in no doubt. Scottish football faces a period of turmoil and some financial belt-tightening regardless of what happens in any of the upcoming votes. (If Servco Ltd are forced to start in SFL3, the nattering nabobs of the mainstream Scottish sports press will doubtless blame every player transfer and setback on ‘internet bampots’ and shortsighted fans of so-called ‘diddy teams’). The Scottish game became unsustainable and unhealthily unbalanced towards just two clubs. In an era when it is easy to watch the best football from every country all week long, we need to extract the cancers that have been devouring our game for over twenty years rather than battling to preserve them. Among the assorted symptoms of the illness facing our game are:

Scottish football has failed to develop a single stand-out talent since the early 1980s
Scottish football has been spending more than it takes in for far too long
Scottish football has fallen far behind global standards in the quality of entertainment it offers
Scottish football had become dull and uninteresting for all but the fans of the two clubs that could entertain thoughts of ever winning the league.
There is a now a golden opportunity for creative minds to remake the game. Instead, we have intellectual pygmies telling us that everything in Scottish football is fantastic and must be saved at all costs. What is worth saving? Declining attendances? A terrible set of TV contracts that do not realise the full value of the Scottish game? A national team that cannot qualify for any international competitions? We have a game that is viewed with universal contempt for both its lack of technical quality and the lopsidedness of its top division. This is where our game finds itself almost three decades after the “Souness Revolution” started at Rangers. The false economies started by David Holmes, and placed on steroids by David Murray, eventually devastated all around it. Rangers embodied the ideas that financial might made right and reckless spending was the key to success. Their demise should be a cautionary tale to others to get their house in order. Instead, the Scottish football establishment wants to send the signal that if you are going to fail, make sure you do it on a spectacular scale: we will make everyone else carry you if it goes wrong.
Mr. Doncaster trained as a lawyer and has an MBA. If Scottish football was a case study at a business school, anyone submitting a paper that recommended crushing the last remnants of fairness in the game to prop up a failed old-order would not get a passing mark. Doncaster in particular is failing. (Funny that Messers Doncaster & Regan find it so easy to predict the effects of Sevco Ltd playing in SFL3, but could not use these same skills to anticipate Rangers’ implosion. Even when the aforementioned ‘internet bampots’ had warned years earlier of a crisis brewing at Ibrox, the men with the crystal ball today were unable to see something that was so obvious). When the dust settles on this disaster one way or another, one can only hope that Doncaster and Regan have absented themselves. It is clear that they lack the imaginations required to improve our game. Our hopes for restoring the thrill of Scottish football now rests on the men who run the clubs in the SPL and the SFL. We must hope that they have the backbone to stand-up to being bullied and the foresight to realise that all that is being dangled by Regan & Doncaster can be obtained anyway- without sacrificing the game and without the hired hands for whom this all appears to be just a job.
If fairness fails and Sevco Ltd is able to field a team in the SFL1 next season, it is for each fan to make an individual decision on whether it is worth returning to watch a game played with loaded dice. For those who do decide to go back (I am still undecided), something will still be missing in the game. An unfillable void will have opened. The men who will vote on this decision have to realise that they are not just voting on short-term revenues. They are going to irreparably alter the Scottish game whatever happens. Money will ebb and flow in football in proportion to the excitement and quality of the competition. If fans believe that there is no competition because a winner is preordained, money will leave and it will stay gone.

12-07-2012, 12:58 PM
An outstanding read from Rangerstaxcase today:Among the assorted symptoms of the illness facing our game are:

Scottish football has failed to develop a single stand-out talent since the early 1980s
Scottish football has fallen far behind global standards in the quality of entertainment it offers

Scottish football had become dull and uninteresting for all but the fans of the two clubs that could entertain thoughts of ever winning the league.

Those are the issues Doncaster, Regan et al should be concerned about, rather than behaving like Chicken Little because Rangers are bankrupt. And those issues would still be there whether the TV deal was worth £8 billion or 8p.

12-07-2012, 12:59 PM
What time is the vote tomorrow?

Caversham Green
12-07-2012, 01:34 PM

The Hootsmon reckons so as well - http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/hearts-to-get-lee-wallace-fee-from-spl-place-money-1-2406425

My take on it many moons ago was that the SPL is a sort of co-operative and the money it brings in belongs to everyone and no-one until such time as it is distributed, so it can distribute it as it sees fit within its own rules. That's only a suggestion though, as you imply and CWG has confirmed, I'm not anyone with knowledge.

Mind you, I'm not CC either.

12-07-2012, 01:41 PM
STV reporting Brechin will vote yes to Rangers in SFL 1 tomorrow.

12-07-2012, 02:10 PM
An outstanding read from Rangerstaxcase today :The Last Drink In The Last Chance Saloon (http://rangerstaxcase.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/the-last-drink-in-the-last-chance-saloon/)12/07/2012 237 Comments (http://rangerstaxcase.wordpress.com/2012/07/12/the-last-drink-in-the-last-chance-saloon/#comments)

It is roughly seventeen months since this project started. Despite all of the revelations from this blog, and from other ‘new media’ outlets, little has changed in the world of Scottish football. This might seem a strange claim given that the largest football club in the country has become insolvent and now sits on corporate death-row awaiting its execution. However, the major institutions that feed on the blood of Scottish football fans: the SFA; the SPL; and the newspapers- appear to have learned little from events in this time.
They still believe that the people who pay their wages are imbeciles. They still dish out fatuous lies and peddle disinformation as if Sir David Murray was still in his heyday. The hysterical exaggerations and tales of impending financial doom should be transparent to the businessmen who fill most of the Chairman roles at Scottish football clubs. Anyone with even a few minutes of business experience will see through the lies of the Scottish football establishment. These scare stories are not the issue. It is the dangling of long requested changes in the structure of the Scottish game that will present clubs from both the Scottish Premier League and the Scottish Football League with a dilemma.
From their public statements, it is clear that the driving forces behind this attempt at league-rigging are SFA Chief Executive Stewart Regan and SPL Chief Executive Neil Doncaster. Despite being paid to promote the Scottish game, they have spent recent weeks trying to convince advertisers and TV companies that their product is worthless without someone representing Rangers’ legacy playing in the SFL1 next season. It is as if Sevco Ltd was a panacea and that this new club will be guaranteed promotion to the SPL within a single season.
Let us be in no doubt. Scottish football faces a period of turmoil and some financial belt-tightening regardless of what happens in any of the upcoming votes. (If Servco Ltd are forced to start in SFL3, the nattering nabobs of the mainstream Scottish sports press will doubtless blame every player transfer and setback on ‘internet bampots’ and shortsighted fans of so-called ‘diddy teams’). The Scottish game became unsustainable and unhealthily unbalanced towards just two clubs. In an era when it is easy to watch the best football from every country all week long, we need to extract the cancers that have been devouring our game for over twenty years rather than battling to preserve them. Among the assorted symptoms of the illness facing our game are:

There is a now a golden opportunity for creative minds to remake the game. Instead, we have intellectual pygmies telling us that everything in Scottish football is fantastic and must be saved at all costs. What is worth saving? Declining attendances? A terrible set of TV contracts that do not realise the full value of the Scottish game? A national team that cannot qualify for any international competitions? We have a game that is viewed with universal contempt for both its lack of technical quality and the lopsidedness of its top division. This is where our game finds itself almost three decades after the “Souness Revolution” started at Rangers. The false economies started by David Holmes, and placed on steroids by David Murray, eventually devastated all around it. Rangers embodied the ideas that financial might made right and reckless spending was the key to success. Their demise should be a cautionary tale to others to get their house in order. Instead, the Scottish football establishment wants to send the signal that if you are going to fail, make sure you do it on a spectacular scale: we will make everyone else carry you if it goes wrong.
Mr. Doncaster trained as a lawyer and has an MBA. If Scottish football was a case study at a business school, anyone submitting a paper that recommended crushing the last remnants of fairness in the game to prop up a failed old-order would not get a passing mark. Doncaster in particular is failing. (Funny that Messers Doncaster & Regan find it so easy to predict the effects of Sevco Ltd playing in SFL3, but could not use these same skills to anticipate Rangers’ implosion. Even when the aforementioned ‘internet bampots’ had warned years earlier of a crisis brewing at Ibrox, the men with the crystal ball today were unable to see something that was so obvious). When the dust settles on this disaster one way or another, one can only hope that Doncaster and Regan have absented themselves. It is clear that they lack the imaginations required to improve our game. Our hopes for restoring the thrill of Scottish football now rests on the men who run the clubs in the SPL and the SFL. We must hope that they have the backbone to stand-up to being bullied and the foresight to realise that all that is being dangled by Regan & Doncaster can be obtained anyway- without sacrificing the game and without the hired hands for whom this all appears to be just a job.
If fairness fails and Sevco Ltd is able to field a team in the SFL1 next season, it is for each fan to make an individual decision on whether it is worth returning to watch a game played with loaded dice. For those who do decide to go back (I am still undecided), something will still be missing in the game. An unfillable void will have opened. The men who will vote on this decision have to realise that they are not just voting on short-term revenues. They are going to irreparably alter the Scottish game whatever happens. Money will ebb and flow in football in proportion to the excitement and quality of the competition. If fans believe that there is no competition because a winner is preordained, money will leave and it will stay gone.

"If you look after the sport the money will follow you, if you look after the money you'll kill the sport.''

My favourite quote from this whole mess.

Caversham Green
12-07-2012, 02:18 PM

If Dundee are promoted to the SPL it seems Brechin's first fixture of the season will be a Challenge Cup tie at home to Sevco. I wonder if that changes depending on what league Sevco find themselves in.

12-07-2012, 02:42 PM
Clyde get wired in about it again...

The Board of Clyde Football Club has received the papers in advance of tomorrows SFL meeting and will consider the Heads of Terms supplied. We continue to have the same fundamental concerns about this process, however the overriding concern is a point which we have made to the SFL.

We have received absolutely no information on the organisation Sevco Scotland Ltd whom we are being asked, and encouraged, to vote straight into the top division of the SFL under resolution 2 and possibly into SFL 3 under Resolution 1. We have no business plan, list of directors, details of ownership, statement of capital adequacy or any proposals relating to the provision of any similar information in the near future. David Longmuir has clearly stated that he will distribute all the information he has got or is able to distribute.

Whilst the notion that there is a leap of faith to be taken in terms of some of the matters, there can be no leap of faith with something as fundamental as knowing who is being admitted to the league. The very fact that there is no information of any kind being made available on this company undermines the authorities efforts to direct the new entrant to SFL 1. It is actually impossible for any member of the SFL to make an objective assessment of the proposals under Resolutions 1 and 2 and could be seen as irresponsible to support either proposal in such a void of information.

It is our hope that some credibility can be introduced to this process and we would ask that whoever holds information on Sevco Scotland Ltd provides a full and detailed pack to David Longmuir in order that even at the eleventh hour the SFL clubs are given reason to support any Resolutions that they might wish to vote on. We have to assume that the SFA and SPL hold such information otherwise they would not press so heavily for entry to SFL 1.

If a leap of faith is to be taken, then in the current circumstances it will be taken blindly and the only logical outcome of taking that kind of risk would be to enter them to SFL 3, where, should any subsequent issues arise they will be contained within the lowest league rather than disrupting the top flight of the SFL.

The other matter that is entirely outside the gift of the SFL is the need for the SPL clubs to confirm that contrary to what Neil Doncaster stated on their behalf, the SPL will meet its obligations to the SFL under the Settlement Agreement.

12-07-2012, 02:42 PM

Because it's SPL prize money and I doubt it will go to any creditor if it goes into the ex Hun black hole...

I think it's the right decision for the SPL to do something right for a change

12-07-2012, 02:43 PM

The Board of Clyde Football Club has received the papers in advance of tomorrows SFL meeting and will consider the Heads of Terms supplied. We continue to have the same fundamental concerns about this process, however the overriding concern is a point which we have made to the SFL.

We have received absolutely no information on the organisation Sevco Scotland Ltd whom we are being asked, and encouraged, to vote straight into the top division of the SFL under resolution 2 and possibly into SFL 3 under Resolution 1. We have no business plan, list of directors, details of ownership, statement of capital adequacy or any proposals relating to the provision of any similar information in the near future. David Longmuir has clearly stated that he will distribute all the information he has got or is able to distribute.

Whilst the notion that there is a leap of faith to be taken in terms of some of the matters, there can be no leap of faith with something as fundamental as knowing who is being admitted to the league. The very fact that there is no information of any kind being made available on this company undermines the authorities efforts to direct the new entrant to SFL 1. It is actually impossible for any member of the SFL to make an objective assessment of the proposals under Resolutions 1 and 2 and could be seen as irresponsible to support either proposal in such a void of information.

It is our hope that some credibility can be introduced to this process and we would ask that whoever holds information on Sevco Scotland Ltd provides a full and detailed pack to David Longmuir in order that even at the eleventh hour the SFL clubs are given reason to support any Resolutions that they might wish to vote on. We have to assume that the SFA and SPL hold such information otherwise they would not press so heavily for entry to SFL 1.

If a leap of faith is to be taken, then in the current circumstances it will be taken blindly and the only logical outcome of taking that kind of risk would be to enter them to SFL 3, where, should any subsequent issues arise they will be contained within the lowest league rather than disrupting the top flight of the SFL.

The other matter that is entirely outside the gift of the SFL is the need for the SPL clubs to confirm that contrary to what Neil Doncaster stated on their behalf, the SPL will meet its obligations to the SFL under the Settlement Agreement.

Perfect - if true, the Huns shouldn't be getting anywhere near Division 3 never mind anywhere else in the leagues

12-07-2012, 02:58 PM
Because it's SPL prize money and I doubt it will go to any creditor if it goes into the ex Hun black hole...

I think it's the right decision for the SPL to do something right for a change

It is, IMO, illegal though.

12-07-2012, 02:59 PM

Ach, it's well known that Clyde are taigs. This has no relevance.

c. Mason Boyne III

12-07-2012, 03:02 PM
It is, IMO, illegal though.

It doesn't belong to Rangers though does it? The SPL will be able to balance this off before it becomes the sum due to Rangers and so creditors have no right to it as Rangers have no right to it.

12-07-2012, 03:06 PM
It doesn't belong to Rangers though does it? The SPL will be able to balance this off before it becomes the sum due to Rangers and so creditors have no right to it as Rangers have no right to it.

It does, though, in that its money earned by them for their league place. In the same way as the money due for Jelavic from Everton, the admins/liquidators should collect it and distribute it amongst the creditors.

12-07-2012, 03:14 PM
Clyde are fast becoming my 2nd favourite team with their handing of this, every statement they come out with is tremendous

Taz_hibee
12-07-2012, 03:20 PM
It does, though, in that its money earned by them for their league place. In the same way as the money due for Jelavic from Everton, the admins/liquidators should collect it and distribute it amongst the creditors.

But if the money was due this season to RFC who no longer exist then can they not redistribute as they see fit.

12-07-2012, 03:20 PM

Yeah but the SPL have the ability to net off any football debt and so that would come off before it becomes a final sum due to Rangers surely?

12-07-2012, 03:21 PM
Ive been avoiding hun-related news for weeks now. Its interminable and boring and the journalists dont know anythung anyway.

Can i be cheeky and ask for an update? :greengrin

12-07-2012, 03:22 PM
But if the money was due this season to RFC who no longer exist then can they not redistribute as they see fit.

RFC do exist, though. They are still in administration, soon to be in liquidation.

12-07-2012, 03:23 PM
Yeah but the SPL have the ability to net off any football debt and so that would come off before it becomes a final sum due to Rangers surely?

You're missing the point, though. It's against the law, IMO.

12-07-2012, 03:23 PM
Ive been avoiding hun-related news for weeks now. Its interminable and boring and the journalists dont know anythung anyway.

NO. F R O.

12-07-2012, 03:26 PM
NO. F R O.

Meanie :greengrin

Are they a) less ****ed than last week or b)more ****ed than last week?

12-07-2012, 03:27 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18813407

Rangers: SFL clubs line up against newco in Division One
Chances of the new Rangers being voted into Division One appear to be diminishing with three more clubs coming out against the proposal.
Scottish Football League clubs meet to vote on the matter on Friday, with Division Three the other option.
The SFL, Scottish Premier League and Scottish FA have negotiated a restructuring of the divisions in return for Rangers in Division One.
But Elgin City, Peterhead and Arbroath all say they will vote against.
Continue reading the main story (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18813407#story_continues_2)
“There is no alternative but to admit a newco team into Division Three”
Peterhead FC

Promoted Dumbarton, who previously announced that a poll of members and supporters showed a majority in favour of Rangers joining them in Division One, now say they will not necessarily be bound by that.
The Sons will make a final decision on hearing presentations at the Hampden meeting.
Berwick Rangers this week announced that they would be voting for Rangers to be placed in the fourth tier, while Division Three rivals Annan Athletic and Second Division East Fife have reiterated their opposition to Rangers in Division One.
Clyde have stated that, although they would prefer to have the new Rangers join them in the bottom tier, not enough information had been provided by the Sevco consortium that now owns Rangers' assets.
Before Scotland's governing bodies agreed their package of proposals, First Division clubs Cowdenbeath, Falkirk, Livingston, Morton, Partick Thistle and Raith Rovers, along with relegated Dunfermline, had all indicated they would be against Rangers playing in the second tier.
Third Division clubs Queen's Park and Stirling Albion were similarly minded, while Stranraer suggested that Rangers should be required to apply for admission to the bottom tier along with other interested non-league clubs.
That means there are a potential 17 votes for Rangers being refused admission to Division One - a majority of the SFL's 30 clubs.

Rangers crisis explained

Rangers went into administration owing up to £134m to unsecured creditors and will eventually be liquidated.
As a result its registrations with the Scottish FA and Scottish Premier League were terminated.
Charles Green led a consortium which bought Rangers' assets for £5.5m.
The former Sheffield United chief executive is reforming Rangers as a new company.
But the 'newco' did not get the required votes for re-admittance to the SPL.
Instead the new Rangers could start life in Scottish Division One or Three.

Only Second Division outfit Stenhousemuir have gone public with an intention to vote for Rangers in the second tier.
Charles Green's Sevco consortium was forced to apply for entry to the SFL after SPL clubs voted against the new Rangers being admitted to the top flight with the old company destined for liquidation.
Peterhead expressed surprise that a 16-team top-flight, which had been rejected as "unattractive and potentially undeliverable" in the SPL's own strategic plan in April 2011, was now being proposed "a mere 36 hours prior to Friday's meeting".
"Whilst we have always stated that we would welcome proposals for league reconstruction independent of the Rangers crisis, we are left with a sense of wonderment at many of the newly proposed changes to the league - changes that were deemed wholly unworkable prior to newco Rangers application to join the SFL after expulsion from the SPL," they said in a website statement.
"Although we are to come under severe pressure from bodies outwith the SFL to accept these fast-tracked changes to accommodate a newco team and to hail this proposal as a 'blueprint to safeguard the future of Scottish football', we must retain our stance and those of the majority of our fans to vote no.
"We still believe that to maintain fairness in our game and to restore faith in Scottish football, there is no alternative but to admit a newco team into Division Three.
"We understand the ramifications of this as laid out by the SFA and understand that there will be financial implications for all clubs should this be the outcome.
"However, although there may be tough times ahead for Scottish football, we believe we can weather the storm."

LeighLoyal
12-07-2012, 03:28 PM
Looking like it will be a 17-1 no vote on Sevco. I would suspend them for a year before they got in SFL3. Quite excited about the league and Hibs next year without that shower of sh it. :aok:

12-07-2012, 03:29 PM
You're missing the point, though. It's against the law, IMO.

I'm not. It's all about what's due and when. If the SPL rules are that you get the prize money but before you do we can take off anything due to another member then that's your final total that becomes due.

12-07-2012, 03:30 PM
Meanie :greengrin

Are they a) less ****ed than last week or b)more ****ed than last week?

My instinct is that they are less so. A week ago, the SFL were dead set against them. I suspect that attitudes might have been softening this week, in view of some of the SPL2-type stuff being explained a bit better.

That said, Clyde's attitude is hardening :greengrin We like Clyde.

12-07-2012, 03:33 PM
I'm not. It's all about what's due and when. If the SPL rules are that you get the prize money but before you do we can take off anything due to another member then that's your final total that becomes due.

I would say that the law trumps the SPL rules, despite what Blatter et all might say. In this case, there is a clear preference being shown to one creditor (Hearts) over all others. The liquidators will be on to this when they are appointed. If need be, they will sue Hearts. :greengrin

Brando7
12-07-2012, 03:35 PM

C9.1 If any Club defaults in making payment of any sum or sums due to the Company and/or to another Club the Board shall be entitled to apply any sums which, under these Rules, would otherwise be payable to the defaulting Club by the Company in discharge of any debt due by such Club in default to the Company and/or such other Club in such manner as the Board shall determine.

12-07-2012, 03:38 PM
C9.1 If any Club defaults in making payment of any sum or sums due to the Company and/or to another Club the Board shall be entitled to apply any sums which, under these Rules, would otherwise be payable to the defaulting Club by the Company in discharge of any debt due by such Club in default to the Company and/or such other Club in such manner as the Board shall determine.

That would apply in a normal situation, where the club was not insolvent. It wouldn't stand up to Court scrutiny if the liquidators sued Hearts for it.

12-07-2012, 03:39 PM
My instinct is that they are less so. A week ago, the SFL were dead set against them. I suspect that attitudes might have been softening this week, in view of some of the SPL2-type stuff being explained a bit better.

That said, Clyde's attitude is hardening :greengrin We like Clyde.

Clyde good, Brechin bad.

12-07-2012, 03:43 PM
https://tammcturk.jux.com/296648 :thumbsup:

12-07-2012, 03:44 PM

Clyde good, Brechin bad.

Never liked that stupid hedge anyway.

calmac12000
12-07-2012, 04:18 PM
https://tammcturk.jux.com/296648 :thumbsup:

Well said that man, Tam!:top marks

calmac12000
12-07-2012, 04:30 PM

Christ, lucky you asked 'cos if the Huns don't get into SPL 1, tomorrow is the end of the world as we know it.I dinna ken if Doncaster and Reagan have actually given a time for this cataclysim, but I'd say lunch time tomorrow or thereabouts.:devil:

12-07-2012, 04:36 PM
That would apply in a normal situation, where the club was not insolvent. It wouldn't stand up to Court scrutiny if the liquidators sued Hearts for it.

I actually think they'd be OK. Rangers (oldCo) are only entitled to the prize money minus any unpaid and overdue debts to other member clubs.

Lungo--Drom
12-07-2012, 04:40 PM
Aye :aok:
Am now getting up after sleeping off a night shift, and singing, "The Huns are goin' tae hell, the Huns are goin' tae hell" (to the tune of 'The Huns are goin' bust') :faf:

Looking like it will be a 17-1 no vote on Sevco. I would suspend them for a year before they got in SFL3. Quite excited about the league and Hibs next year without that shower of sh it. :aok:

12-07-2012, 04:41 PM
The Clyde statement makes a valid point but I doubt that anyone has that sort of financial information on Sevco. I count Charles Green in that group.

I'm amazed that he managed to scrape the £5.5m together but doubt if he now has any capital left and, as we all know, there is sod all revenue coming in from ST sales.

12-07-2012, 04:42 PM
I actually think they'd be OK. Rangers (oldCo) are only entitled to the prize money minus any unpaid and overdue debts to other member clubs.

In terms of the SPL rules, yes they are. However, by applying those rules the SPL are assisting RFC in granting a preference to one creditor over another.

12-07-2012, 04:44 PM
The Clyde statement makes a valid point but I doubt that anyone has that sort of financial information on Sevco. I count Charles Green in that group.

I'm amazed that he managed to scrape the £5.5m together but doubt if he now has any capital left and, as we all know, there is sod all revenue coming in from ST sales.

Has he actually paid it? I didn't read the D&P statement in any detail, but I know he hadn't a few weeks ago.

Lungo--Drom
12-07-2012, 04:45 PM
Dungcaster and Regan have one of those escape pod thingies that Blofeld had in the 007 movie 'You Only Live Twice'. As soon as the vote goes 'NO' the two of them are gonna disappear through a secret door, jump in the escape pod and disappear in a puff of rocket smoke...
...only to surface in a Rangers bar in Torremolinos :devil:

Christ, lucky you asked 'cos if the Huns don't get into SPL 1, tomorrow is the end of the world as we know it.I dinna ken if Doncaster and Reagan have actually given a time for this cataclysim, but I'd say lunch time tomorrow or thereabouts.:devil:

Lungo--Drom
12-07-2012, 04:50 PM
Correct. The latest spouting on the Pravda website virtually says, "ST sales are screwed"

http://www.rangers.co.uk/news/football-news/article/2847706

Pear shaped, heading, rapidly :aok:

12-07-2012, 04:51 PM
Has he actually paid it? I didn't read the D&P statement in any detail, but I know he hadn't a few weeks ago.

I kind of assumed that, as someone posted that Hunbrox was now registered in the same of Sevco Scotland Ltd.

Yes, I know, stupid to make assumptions based on normal business practice. I apologise.

12-07-2012, 04:53 PM
I kind of assumed that, as someone posted that Hunbrox was now registered in the same of Sevco Scotland Ltd.

Yes, I know, stupid to make assumptions based on normal business practice. I apologise.

B*ggar.... I missed that. Gonny tell me whae? (serious, btw)

12-07-2012, 04:58 PM
B*ggar.... I missed that. Gonny tell me whae? (serious, btw)

I'm pretty sure it was a couple of weeks ago and someone had checked with Registers of Scotland.

12-07-2012, 05:02 PM
Nice to see the huns have still got other interests outside of football :aok: Keep them cheerful in these tough economic times.

http://m.guardian.co.uk/ms/p/gnm/op/sXYaa2BIO2rv9CuuCukyCgg/view.m?id=15&gid=news/blog/2012/jul/12/belfast-orange-order-march-scuffles&cat=top-stories

12-07-2012, 05:06 PM
Jim Goodwin of St Mirren is the latest to appeal for Div 1 for Newco. What a pillock. His club vote them out of the SPL but he's squealing for the SFL clubs to save his club. I hate them and their club with a passion but is it really any surprise that the Hun supporters are up in arms when they read this sort of thing?

12-07-2012, 05:11 PM
In terms of the SPL rules, yes they are. However, by applying those rules the SPL are assisting RFC in granting a preference to one creditor over another.

I disagree. The creditors are only entitled to money to which the OldCo was entitled. The OldCo aren't entitled to the prize money due to unpaid and overdue debts to member clubs.

12-07-2012, 05:11 PM

Rangers released this statement today re season tickets.

"The Club is disappointed it has been unable to provide season ticket holders with clarity on the arrangements for season ticket renewals.

As you are aware, there is a meeting tomorrow with the SFL board and member clubs to discuss which division Rangers will play in next season.

Following that meeting we hope to be in a position to provide greater clarity on season ticket renewals, pricing and payment processes - which will be communicated directly with season ticket holders.

The Club would like to thank season ticket holders once again for their patience during this difficult period."

12-07-2012, 05:25 PM

"The Club is disappointed it has been unable to provide season ticket holders with clarity on the arrangements for season ticket renewals.

As you are aware, there is a meeting tomorrow with the SFL board and member clubs to discuss which division Rangers will play in next season.

Following that meeting we hope to be in a position to provide greater clarity on season ticket renewals, pricing and payment processes - which will be communicated directly with season ticket holders.

The Club would like to thank season ticket holders once again for their patience during this difficult period."

If Sevco are lucky enough to be admitted to the third division I wonder how much they will charge for season tickets given that entry to most third division games is around £10 and the average third division season ticket is around £180.

12-07-2012, 05:43 PM
Donkastrian pish.

Dont know if the guy who wrote the article had any agenda .. as I recall he made no comment about the ability of Scottish football clubs to get through without a TV deal. As far as I know he was only giving his informed opinion regarding SKY's attitude to the current situation and what he thought they were likely to do based on his experience.

IMO ... As long as stuff is put in place to ensure as much as possible that no innocent club goes to the wall SKY can stick their TV deal. The loss of clubs who had nothing to do ( as individual clubs ) with the current crisis is the only worry I would have about it and is the only possible reason I would talerate THEM in SFL1. ....... I am well aware that for most this isnt a consideration and so be it.

As it is it looks more and more likely that the Zombie Huns will be in Div 3 next season and if thats the case nobody will be more pleased than me. One things for sure, this should be a decision for the SFL and them alone, without any pressure or if you like 'blackmail' from the SPL or SFA.

alexedwards
12-07-2012, 05:44 PM

The reason for a "yes" vote for Brechin is they will get Newco in Ramsdens Cup if Newco in SFL1 and if Dundee promoted - as per information passed forward from Div 2 director - sneaky horrible barstwewards. :fuming:

VickMackie
12-07-2012, 05:50 PM

I agree on a moral level it should be split evenly but for some warped reason I can't explain I think SPL prize money should stay with clubs.

Wouldn't have complaints either way and it would be funny just cos it's hearts.

12-07-2012, 05:53 PM

How did they release the statement? Should they be saying Rangers as they are technically no longer a football club neither are Sevco Scotland. How can you sell season tickets when you don't know what league you are going to play in...if any? Trading standards please!

Lungo--Drom
12-07-2012, 05:59 PM
It was released on the official Rangers website as per the link I posted a couple or so pages back. I agree with what you are saying. But to answer one of your questions, Sevco 5088/Sevco Scotland bought the rights to the name and badge as part of the £5.5m that Green & friends paid. So yes they can say 'Rangers' as they own that brand now and as for Trading Standards the only people who should really be complaining are the Hun fans and most of them think Trading Standards are the big flags the Shankill Road shop keepers hold up on big poles when they are marching on an Orange walk :devil:

How did they release the statement? Should they be saying Rangers as they are technically no longer a football club neither are Sevco Scotland. How can you sell season tickets when you don't know what league you are going to play in...if any? Trading standards please!

12-07-2012, 06:03 PM
It was released on the official Rangers website as per the link I posted a couple or so pages back. I agree with what you are saying. But to answer one of your questions, Sevco 5088/Sevco Scotland bought the rights to the name and badge as part of the £5.5m that Green & friends paid. So yes they can say 'Rangers' as they own that brand now
and as for Trading Standards the only people who should really be complaining are the Hun fans and most of them think Trading Standards are the big flags the Shankill Road shop keepers hold up on big poles when they are marching on an Orange walk :devil:

Crazyhorse
12-07-2012, 07:07 PM

'difficult period' with no money coming in I assume. I've been wondering how sevco are paying the wages of all the staff at the moment. Or are oldco still doing that?

calmac12000
12-07-2012, 07:18 PM
Nice to see the huns have still got other interests outside of football :aok: Keep them cheerful in these tough economic times.

http://m.guardian.co.uk/ms/p/gnm/op/sXYaa2BIO2rv9CuuCukyCgg/view.m?id=15&gid=news/blog/2012/jul/12/belfast-orange-order-march-scuffles&cat=top-stories

Coming to a Third Division ground near you from August:cb

12-07-2012, 07:27 PM
I'm pretty sure it was a couple of weeks ago and someone had checked with Registers of Scotland.

Ocht, I hate it when reality scunners my conspiracy theories.

Still, it does mean that BDO will be all over that particular transaction..... :greengrin

12-07-2012, 07:30 PM
I disagree. The creditors are only entitled to money to which the OldCo was entitled. The OldCo aren't entitled to the prize money due to unpaid and overdue debts to member clubs.

This is why lawyers are so rich :greengrin

We'll need to agree to disagree. :aok:

12-07-2012, 07:45 PM
CWG, think of it as the SPL creditors having a security over the SPL prize money. The unsecured creditors only get what's left.

BarneyK
12-07-2012, 07:47 PM
alex thomson ‏@alextomo
New blog sent on leaked email from S Regan - if lawyers likes might be up tonight/ tomorrow.

Exciting stuff. My guess is that the SFA and SPL are going to finally do the right thing and make Sevco rejoin the bottom tier of Scottish football, before quickly introducing a new proposition for a 40 team SPL. Each team plays each other once (at Ibrox) and all gate receipts go to Chuckie Green for the Rangers Fighting Fund.

12-07-2012, 07:50 PM
Actually spoke to a reasonable Hun in the pub tonight who wants the SFL 3 because of the cheating Murray years. Nothing about getting back at other teams. Quite impressed. :confused:

One of my dad's old friends, also a 'reasonable hun', was saying that anything other than SFL 3 as a minimum, would be wrong. He'd prefer that Rangers started again at the bottom of the pile and worked their way back up to the SPL in a dignified manner - no hand outs, no bending the rules.....

I too was quite impressed - though the person I speak of is a good, intelligent guy.

12-07-2012, 07:53 PM
CWG, think of it as the SPL creditors having a security over the SPL prize money. The unsecured creditors only get what's left.

I'm trying not to say anymore, cos I'm obviously in a minority of one....

Ach, sod it. I see your point, but can't agree. There is no security, just a rule that isn't supported by law. (IMO!!!) I would, however, like to hear two lawyers argue it in Court.

12-07-2012, 07:59 PM
One of my dad's old friends, also a 'reasonable hun', was saying that anything other than SFL 3 as a minimum, would be wrong. He'd prefer that Rangers started again at the bottom of the pile and worked their way back up to the SPL in a dignified manner - no hand outs, no bending the rules.....

I too was quite impressed - though the person I speak of is a good, intelligent guy.

They're going for this option in the belief it will be sanction free and they'll walk every league

12-07-2012, 08:08 PM

Ach, sod it. I see your point, but can't agree. There is no security, just a rule that isn't supported by law. (IMO!!!) I would, however, like to hear two lawyers argue it in Court.

I agree with you.

Any money, prize money or otherwise, owed to the oldco should be split amongst the creditors pro rata.

12-07-2012, 08:10 PM
I agree with you.

Any money, prize money or otherwise, owed to the oldco should be split amongst the creditors pro rata.

:party:

You and me, kid, you and me.

Caversham Green
12-07-2012, 08:13 PM

Right, to put it another way, the money due to Rangers FC (RIP) had conditions attached to it. Those conditions are that RFC pay off any debts due to other SPL members - it's written into the rules that RFC signed up to, so it forms a contract. Rangers haven't delivered on that condition, so the SPL are entitled to withhold payment. No-one can be forced to pay where a contract hasn't been satisfied, regrdless of the sovency or otherwise of the 'creditor'.

12-07-2012, 08:21 PM
Right, to put it another way, the money due to Rangers FC (RIP) had conditions attached to it. Those conditions are that RFC pay off any debts due to other SPL members - it's written into the rules that RFC signed up to, so it forms a contract. Rangers haven't delivered on that condition, so the SPL are entitled to withhold payment. No-one can be forced to pay where a contract hasn't been satisfied, regrdless of the sovency or otherwise of the 'creditor'.

... but no him :greengrin

Okay, it's the bit in bold that I'm going to nitpick about. It isn't in the rules that RFC have to pay off other clubs first. It is, though, in the rules that the SPL can withhold monies due to other clubs. In my mind, there is a subtle difference there. (although I'm thinking that difference might blow my argument completely:rolleyes:)

In any event, the contract which exists .. couldn't that be challenged in Court as being at odds with the law?

Caversham Green
12-07-2012, 08:28 PM
... but no him :greengrin

Okay, it's the bit in bold that I'm going to nitpick about. It isn't in the rules that RFC have to pay off other clubs first. It is, though, in the rules that the SPL can withhold monies due to other clubs. In my mind, there is a subtle difference there. (although I'm thinking that difference might blow my argument completely:rolleyes:)

In any event, the contract which exists .. couldn't that be challenged in Court as being at odds with the law?

No, because the fact that RFC willingly signed up to the rules makes it a legally binding contract. The rules haven't been followed regardless of the subtle difference you refer to so the contract hasn't been satisfied by RFC, and the contract itself makes provision for such an event. It's not much different from a builder that goes bust halfway through a contract.

12-07-2012, 08:34 PM
No, because the fact that RFC willingly signed up to the rules makes it a legally binding contract. The rules haven't been followed regardless of the subtle difference you refer to so the contract hasn't been satisfied by RFC, and the contract itself makes provision for such an event. It's not much different from a builder that goes bust halfway through a contract.

I'm beginning to waver here. I have, however, another straw to clutch at.....

What about the fact that RFC (IA) are no longer a member of the SPL? So Hearts are not owed anything by another member. The SPL would withhold RFC's money and....adjust Hearts' share unilaterally? Is that allowed?

Or they could just say "sorry, Hearts, you're getting nothing more. We're keeping it."

HibeesLittleHel
12-07-2012, 08:48 PM
A state of the art UEFA licensed 55k capcity football stadium
An ajoining car par where away fans can get parked up and stoned (both ways)
A state of the art training facility in the leafy burbs of Glasgow

FFS!!!
Get this sorted!!
Rotten fish give off less odour.

Surely the FSA ha to scrutinise this "deal" and rag the lot of them off.

Grrrrrrr!!
:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

12-07-2012, 08:50 PM

It's a strange ons indeed. If the money is being paid to HMFC because RFC owed them then the SPL must reckon it was money due to RFC which means their must be a legal claim by non-football creditors of RFC. Do SPL rules trump the rule of law?

12-07-2012, 08:53 PM
A state of the art UEFA licensed 55k capcity football stadium
An ajoining car par where away fans can get parked up and stoned (both ways)
A state of the art training facility in the leafy burbs of Glasgow

FFS!!!
Get this sorted!!
Rotten fish give off less odour.

Surely the FSA ha to scrutinise this "deal" and rag the lot of them off.

Grrrrrrr!!
:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

It won't be the FSA that challenge it, but it will be BDO.

HibeesLittleHel
12-07-2012, 08:54 PM
Huh? The British Darts Organisation?!!:wink:

12-07-2012, 08:56 PM
Huh? The British Darts Organisation?!!:wink:

They have more chance of hitting the bullseye than the FSA do :agree:

HibeesLittleHel
12-07-2012, 09:04 PM
Yeah true but despite my pathetic attempt at humour I am outraged that this obvious cronyism and manipulation of the rules can even be contemplated never mindcompleted.
Ibrox alone is prime real estate even with the listed building order on it. You only need look at what Arsenal did to Highbury to realise the potential value of the land and fixtures. What guarantees have Sevco given that'll stop them doing the dirty deed and moving th New Team to Milngavie or Easterhouse?

12-07-2012, 09:07 PM
Yeah true but despite my pathetic attempt at humour I am outraged that this obvious cronyism and manipulation of the rules can even be contemplated never mindcompleted.
Ibrox alone is prime real estate even with the listed building order on it. You only need look at what Arsenal did to Highbury to realise the potential value of the land and fixtures. What guarantees have Sevco given that'll stop them doing the dirty deed and moving th New Team to Milngavie or Easterhouse?

The defence will be "this was the only offer". However, that will be difficult to defend.

Rest assured that the liquidators will be looking closely at this when they are appointed. As I understand the rules, even if Sevco do as you say and move the team, whilst selling off the properties, the liquidators will be able to sue them for any profit.

Crazyhorse
12-07-2012, 09:17 PM
They're going for this option in the belief it will be sanction free and they'll walk every league
Many probably do Joe although some seem genuinely ashamed the tax dodging etc has gone on and feel rightly or wrongly that by starting at the bottom they can remove some of the tarnish. With such a big support base I would think there is the full spectrum from neo nazi filth and loyalist nut jobs through to guys who have been brought up as supporters but who hate all that crap. It does tend to be the former who come through to ER unfortunately.

HibeesLittleHel
12-07-2012, 09:19 PM
down the line. I'm more worried about the here and now. £1-5m for these assets is derisory and no reflection of the market value IMHO.
For the realisation of the assests to be denied to the creditors of Rangers Plc is wrong and all creditors includingus as taxpayers willl lose out.
Grrrrrrr!

12-07-2012, 09:21 PM
down the line. I'm more worried about the here and now. £1-5m for these assets is derisory and no reflection of the market value IMHO.
For the realisation of the assests to be denied to the creditors of Rangers Plc is wrong and all creditors includingus as taxpayers willl lose out.
Grrrrrrr!

But if it plays out as I expect, that money will go to the creditors. The legal costs of chasing it too, I would hope.

Mark79
12-07-2012, 09:26 PM
A days worth of columbian marching powder for garry?

12-07-2012, 09:35 PM

I'd also debate any parallel with Highbury. Have you been down there? There is absolutely no comparison to Ibrox - and surrounding environs. If Ibrox was turned into flats, they'd be hard pushed to sell them for £100k - never mind £1M+. I don't think it could ever be classed as prime real estate. Govan ain't Islington.

12-07-2012, 09:38 PM
I would, however, like to hear two lawyers argue it in Court.
I'd agree with you, providing Sevco have to pay the costs for both sides. Lawyers charge even more than accountants!

I'm beginning to waver here. I have, however, another straw to clutch at.....

What about the fact that RFC (IA) are no longer a member of the SPL? So Hearts are not owed anything by another member. The SPL would withhold RFC's money and....adjust Hearts' share unilaterally? Is that allowed?

Or they could just say "sorry, Hearts, you're getting nothing more. We're keeping it."
Huns RIP were still a member of the SPL at the end of the season, hence their entitlement to the prize money and the SPL being able to divert it to Hearts. Next straw? :greengrin

12-07-2012, 09:39 PM
If this has been posted already, I apologise for the duplicate, but the internet here is quite slow tonight and I can't be bothered going back through the previous pages:

http://www.clydefc.co.uk/news/2012/07/12/4141/

12-07-2012, 09:42 PM
It's clear that after all their sterling efforts Cropley and Caversham need a long holiday. Perhaps a cruise?

http://youtu.be/7YUiBBltOg4

12-07-2012, 09:42 PM
I'd agree with you, providing Sevco have to pay the costs for both sides. Lawyers charge even more than accountants!

Huns RIP were still a member of the SPL at the end of the season, hence their entitlement to the prize money and the SPL being able to divert it to Hearts. Next straw? :greengrin

I think I may be admitting defeat here. Until the Court case. :greengrin

12-07-2012, 09:43 PM
It's clear that after all their sterling efforts Cropley and Caversham need a long holiday. Perhaps a cruise?

http://youtu.be/7YUiBBltOg4

Do I have to share a cabin with him?

SJNB Hibby
12-07-2012, 09:44 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18816436

Once again that overused canard "why punish the fans etc"
I think the fans had a nice day out at Wembley a few years back, basically on the back of a club overspending-DO YOU HEAR US HUNS??!!

12-07-2012, 09:45 PM

I'm sure there was some discussion of this about 200 pages ago...:wink:

12-07-2012, 09:47 PM

Some probably are, however the person I refer to was talking about keeping the transfer embargo too and repaying back as much of the debt as the club could, whilst surviving. His whole position on the subject was about 'dignity'.

I am under no illusions that he is not in the minority though.

Lungo--Drom
12-07-2012, 09:51 PM
Yup fraid so, and to paraphrase a song from way back by The Cranberries:

"With their flags and their 'loyalty',
and their rants and their hate...
...what's in your head, zombiehun, zombiehun, zombiehun?"

:cb:

Coming to a Third Division ground near you from August:cb

Lungo--Drom
12-07-2012, 10:00 PM
The thing is, they would walk every league with the teams they've had over all the last years and years of cheating.

Those players from last season have now mostly done walking away and irrespective of Chuckie Doll / SFA v's various English clubs in court, the fact is those players have gone.

ZombieHuns now have a raggletaggle of disparates and children playing for them and unless Chuckie Doll can somehow raise silly money to get back on the old "we have great expensive players" wagon of lies then I am (fingers crossed) not so sure about them raging through the divisions ready for a 2015 return to the SPL.

As a coincidentally corrupt boss of mine once said to a co-worker, "Things change." :cb:

12-07-2012, 10:16 PM

Thou dost protest too much. :wink:

His nickname is Big Daddy by the way.

12-07-2012, 10:18 PM
Thou dost protest too much. :wink:

His nickname is Big Daddy by the way.

Shirley not?

12-07-2012, 10:27 PM
Alloa latest to say GTF to Regan and Doncaster.

This now has nothing to do with the currants and is all about a power struggle. If this is the best that Doncaster and Regan can dish up then I expect resignations to be penned when the vote and swing of power goes against them tomorrow afternoon.

Alloa says D3 (http://tiny.cc/fztchw)

12-07-2012, 10:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfZTOq7D390&feature=player_embedded

Piss off Gordon Smith

Well Said Alex Thomson

Orourke73
12-07-2012, 10:29 PM
Shirley not?

And he's got giant haystacks

HibeeBigFly
12-07-2012, 10:34 PM
Raith rovers and Clyde should play each other in a pre season integrity cup match.

Another vote tomorrow! Still shaking my head in disbelief that the spl had to vote them out. Why no vote for division 2?

Emerald
12-07-2012, 10:37 PM
The Scotland Tonight debate (tonight). :grr::brickwall:take that

If you didn't see it, the three smillies explains. On the bright side, its like the night before Christmas and Gordon Smith is about to get his bag of coal, fud :greengrin

As for Archie :bye: :na na::faf::dummytit:

12-07-2012, 10:46 PM
The Scotland Tonight debate (tonight). :grr::brickwall:take that

If you didn't see it, the three smillies explains. On the bright side, its like the night before Christmas and Gordon Smith is about to get his bag of coal, fud :greengrin

As for Archie :bye: :na na::faf::dummytit:

Agreed, only Thompson spoke any sense and as for Archie he should have been put down years ago, he's like the bumbling old fool from the fast show

12-07-2012, 10:55 PM
Agreed, only Thompson spoke any sense and as for Archie he should have been put down years ago, he's like the bumbling old fool from the fast show

They are part of a football ecosystem that has palpably failed Scottish football over the last 14 years, and still they just cannot see past it.

There's an interview in The Herald tomorrow with the old SPL chief exec Roger Mitchell. His verdict: "The SPL will be consigned by history as a 14-year error of judgment." Pretty damning stuff.

12-07-2012, 11:04 PM
They are part of a football ecosystem that has palpably failed Scottish football over the last 14 years, and still they just cannot see past it.

There's an interview in The Herald tomorrow with the old SPL chief exec Roger Mitchell. His verdict: "The SPL will be consigned by history as a 14-year error of judgment." Pretty damning stuff.

Yep bit like politics in that everyone likes to blame each other or say it was down to the mess they inherited

im growing fed up of it now, only morbid fascination is keeping me going, really hope we at least get a bit closure either way tomorrow

calmac12000
12-07-2012, 11:10 PM

Agree, 100% -what is it with these Muppets they just don't get it do they, FFS its not bloody rocket science!
:rules::rules::rules::cb

12-07-2012, 11:30 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfZTOq7D390&feature=player_embedded

Piss off Gordon Smith

Well Said Alex Thomson

Smith is a tramp, that is all.

13-07-2012, 01:10 AM
I think its embarrassing that an English journo is the only person talking any sense on this subject within the media. When Smith started talking about "most league titles, 4 European finals..." someone had to step in and ask him how many of these titles have been won by cheating and clearly spending well outwith their means.

If SPL 2 is rushed through in an attempt to get these cheats back into the top division in one season then Scottish football will die on its feet. It will show just how corrupt or game is. This whole incident has been a joke from day one every other nation is laughing at us. I would hate to say that I would never return to Hibs because its in the blood I love supporting my team but if these creeps attempt to fast track a team that has stolen money from the public purse for years into the top division, hand on heart my love for football in this country will die.

Would the SPL or SFA do this for us back when we were close to going out of business? will they do it should Mad Vlad decide enough is enough? I have my doubts.

Regan and Doncaster must go!!!

:giruy::giruy::giruy:

13-07-2012, 04:41 AM

This now has nothing to do with the currants and is all about a power struggle. If this is the best that Doncaster and Regan can dish up then I expect resignations to be penned when the vote and swing of power goes against them tomorrow afternoon.

Stinging :top marks

"We must remember we are here to manage and administer our National game and not to implement anyones narrow will against the avalanche of public and fan opinion, using the excuse of promises of changes which should be taking place anyway." - Mike Mulraney, Alloa Chairman.

13-07-2012, 05:08 AM
I think its embarrassing that an English journo is the only person talking any sense on this subject within the media. When Smith started talking about "most league titles, 4 European finals..." someone had to step in and ask him how many of these titles have been won by cheating and clearly spending well outwith their means.

If SPL 2 is rushed through in an attempt to get these cheats back into the top division in one season then Scottish football will die on its feet. It will show just how corrupt or game is. This whole incident has been a joke from day one every other nation is laughing at us. I would hate to say that I would never return to Hibs because its in the blood I love supporting my team but if these creeps attempt to fast track a team that has stolen money from the public purse for years into the top division, hand on heart my love for football in this country will die.

Would the SPL or SFA do this for us back when we were close to going out of business? will they do it should Mad Vlad decide enough is enough? I have my doubts.

Regan and Doncaster must go!!!

:giruy::giruy::giruy:

I loved Archie and Smith continually questioning the "motivation" of some fans wanting "Rangers" to be put in Div 3 (i.e. treated like ANY OTHER CLUB). Talk about hypocrisy ? :rolleyes: Smith was banging on about 54 league titles, 4 euro finals, blah blah as if that's a logical reason to treat them preferentially. Alex Thomson is the only one who is not driven by their emotions or have a vested interest in supporting "Rangers".

So, once Regan and Doncaster resign today (as they should), people like Smith and Archie should be retired and fresh views/ideas and commentators brought in. New refs from abroad, new commentators (get Alex Thomson signed up !), new media and some of the SFL Chairmen promoted to higher positions within the game. Let the cleansing begin...

13-07-2012, 05:22 AM
Todays the day when we will find out if scottish football can sink any lower or if it will finally draw a line under this disgraceful saga and do the right thing.

Today is also the day when I hope to find out if I can continue to watch my club next season.

13-07-2012, 05:37 AM

Well done the Wasps. A well run community football club who know the right thing to do. They are at the centre of so many local initiatives and really are the complete opposite in every respect to the Huns.

13-07-2012, 05:42 AM
Hunmageddon part 2 I hope everyone sticks with their word :agree:

13-07-2012, 05:48 AM
It has been said that Dundee are not allowed to vote, but Dunfermline are. Can anyone explain that for me, because there hasn't been a decision on who, if anyone, will replace Rangers (RIP) in the SPL

13-07-2012, 05:51 AM
Have we worked out who their main "Taig" rivals are gonna be in each division on the way up? They can stop pretending it's all about football after todays vote.

13-07-2012, 05:53 AM
It has been said that Dundee are not allowed to vote, but Dunfermline are. Can anyone explain that for me, because there hasn't been a decision on who, if anyone, will replace Rangers (RIP) in the SPL

Lawyers have stated all 30 clubs entitled to vote.

13-07-2012, 06:01 AM
Great to see the statements from teams like Alloa, Peterhead, Raith Rovers and Clyde.

I'm ashamed of the way Hibs and the other SPL clubs have acted though.

Sporting integrity Rod says knowing full well they'll try and force SFL clubs to ignore sporting integrity and be blackmailed- very poor.

Maybe this kind if corruption is common place in football and we just don't usually hear about it?

I'd be a lot more comfortable supporting Hibs financially if those involved in operation Donkeycaster were to resign.

13-07-2012, 06:01 AM
Smith is a tramp, that is all.

I've met him and he's a decent guy but he's a ka hunt when it comes down to ra Gers/OF are be all and end all.

13-07-2012, 06:04 AM
Off to Newcastle today for work so I just hope that the borders will be open when I come back tonight...giving all the chat about social anarchy blahblahblah

13-07-2012, 06:51 AM
Just really hoping it is a decision for the 3rd division today and we can draw a line under this shambles and everybody can get back to worrying about Hibs prospects next season.

If it is div3 .... What a prospect for a new dawn for Scottish football.

I just hope the administrators of our game dont conspire to screw that up as well ..... because their handling of this farce has been a disaster.

13-07-2012, 06:59 AM
I hope there is no vote today. Ideally it will drag on until it's too late for newco to play anywhere.

Eric
13-07-2012, 07:02 AM

It was mentioned on the news on TV last night, before the Alloa statement was released, that the meeting today is being chaired by the Alloa secretary. I find that rather interesting.:wink:

13-07-2012, 07:05 AM
On BBC Scotland this morning, John Yorkston confirmed that Dunfermline will vote for SFL3 and he was pretty confident that the majority of clubs would be of a similar view.

He was spoke about the delay in the decision as to whether it is Dunfermiine or Dundee for the SPL place. He said that, if the vote goes against Newco going into SFL1, the SPL are likely to meet again on Monday and vote them into the SPL.

If that was to happen, then Regan's 'death of scottish football' nightmare would become a reality.

13-07-2012, 07:17 AM
Smaller clubs totally disregarded.
No mention of the small clubs often pivotal role within their respective communities.
"lack of ambition" aimed at the smaller club (probably because they dont spend their way to oblivion)
Other fans "motivation" questioned, no mention that cheating may be part of it.
Criminality only mentioned by the Englishman.
No mention of defrauding the taxman, and the state, of the best part of £100m.
Why do they argue about the economics when, clearly, the Rangers model has been proved to be flawed. And probably illegal.
No mention of the £1m saved by Strathclyde Police, and god knows how much by the NHS and support agencies.
Smith seems to think Sevco are still Rangers. If they pay their bills Gogs they will be.
TV deal and "Rupert" gets what he wants when Rupert has not let on what he wants, in fact he looks like he couldnt care less. maybe he has bigger worries? Shurely not.
(perhaps we should phone Sky to cancel the sports package as they might not be showing SPL football next season. All the pundits are telling us this? I will call today)
No mention that Rangers have been trying to leave Scottish football for nearly 20 years now. Every slightly ambivalent comment by anyone remotely connected with teh English leagues has been seized upon as positive.
Why do they all try to drag Celtic into Rangers mess?

Seems like Smith, MacPherson and the like, are part of the problem.

I loved Archie and Smith continually questioning the "motivation" of some fans wanting "Rangers" to be put in Div 3 (i.e. treated like ANY OTHER CLUB). Talk about hypocrisy ? :rolleyes: Smith was banging on about 54 league titles, 4 euro finals, blah blah as if that's a logical reason to treat them preferentially. Alex Thomson is the only one who is not driven by their emotions or have a vested interest in supporting "Rangers".

So, once Regan and Doncaster resign today (as they should), people like Smith and Archie should be retired and fresh views/ideas and commentators brought in. New refs from abroad, new commentators (get Alex Thomson signed up !), new media and some of the SFL Chairmen promoted to higher positions within the game. Let the cleansing begin...

13-07-2012, 07:29 AM
I've met him and he's a decent guy but he's a ka hunt when it comes down to ra Gers/OF are be all and end all.

Finding one good thing to say about him, I'll volunteer that he caused stunned silence one Saturday afternoon on a BBC Radio Scotland hunlovein with Young and Traynor by openly stating that he, Smith, was a Rangers fan. He all but challenged the others to there and then give up their St Mirren and Airdrie pish, which naturally they didn't.

13-07-2012, 07:57 AM
I hope there is no vote today. Ideally it will drag on until it's too late for newco to play anywhere.

I'm undecided between
No vote
or
Division 3 followed by Green walking away and Sevco getting liquidated.

13-07-2012, 08:10 AM

13-07-2012, 08:11 AM
Any idea what time the vote is today. Want to know when I may get some good news:agree:

13-07-2012, 08:12 AM
The meeting is a waste of time and money. Just get the SFL club chairmen to email in their decisions. It'll save them dragging their beer bellies and ill-fitting suits up the Hampden steps in the hope of being glimpsed on Reporting Scotland.

Division 3 for the New Huns and they should consider themselves lucky they are not down in the West of Scotland Juniors.

13-07-2012, 08:13 AM
We need to see some common sense today, this will be a new club with no business history, we do not know if they will be run well or have what it takes to complete a season, the last thing we need if they are not able to run with new club is this carry on again.

The only thing that can and should be done is go by the rules more than ever. No club should ever be given the chance to come in at this level especially one with no proof they can actually run it behind them. Division 3 it has to be and if run well and they win it then they earn their spot if they fail to get the club running then it is nice and easy to remove them for your Spartans etc. They would already be getting done a favour getting in ahead of some clubs anyways.

13-07-2012, 08:17 AM
Personally i think that time has come and gone.
Just over 2 weeks before the season kicks off. No business plan, no team, no ground (Green claims to have Ibrox but liquidators will review that), insignificant season tickets sales.

If they can't fulfil their initial fixtures, then are they going to accept 3-0 defeats or will they argue against it?
I cant see how their application for SFL3 would be approved over any other team who have the above in place.

13-07-2012, 08:18 AM
I'm undecided between
No vote
or
Division 3 followed by Green walking away and Sevco getting liquidated.

We need to see some common sense today, this will be a new club with no business history, we do not know if they will be run well or have what it takes to complete a season, the last thing we need if they are not able to run with new club is this carry on again.

The only thing that can and should be done is go by the rules more than ever. No club should ever be given the chance to come in at this level especially one with no proof they can actually run it behind them. Division 3 it has to be and if run well and they win it then they earn their spot if they fail to get the club running then it is nice and easy to remove them for your Spartans etc. They would already be getting done a favour getting in ahead of some clubs anyways.

If there's any doubt at all that SevcoHuns can complete the season, there should be no question of them being admitted to any division of the SFL. Those diddy club chairmen who want to see details of SevcoHun ownership etc before they vote on anything are spot on.

Gingertosser
13-07-2012, 08:19 AM
I still firmly believe, come Monday evening, the huns will be Club 12 playing in the SPL :cb

13-07-2012, 08:21 AM

A question for Gordon, if I may.

In 2000, Spain won the gold medal medal for basketball at the paralympics.

It was subsequently discovered that none of their players had any form of disability.

Do you agree, that Spain should have been allowed to retain their gold medal?

And do you agree that Ben Johnson's 100 metre world record time of 9.79 seconds lasted for 13 years until it was finally beaten by Tim Montgomery in 2002?

13-07-2012, 08:31 AM
Well if I didn't despise Traynor enough already, his piece today pleading not to put rangers in the 3rd has sealed the deal.
Rangers to the 1st is for the greater good apparently.
And of the lower league clubs - "they are little more than unambitious social clubs within their communities".
He describes anyone wanting rangers in the 3rd as jackasses.
P.s - I only bought the paper because of the vote today

13-07-2012, 08:40 AM
Well if I didn't despise Traynor enough already, his piece today pleading not to put rangers in the 3rd has sealed the deal.
And of the lower league clubs - "they are little more than unambitious social clubs within their communities".
P.s - I only bought the paper because of the vote todayBetween that and the drivel by Burley I really hope these clubs refuse them entry altogether. Then we'll see what the next move is by the 'sporting integrity' :rolleyes: people of the SPL when their plans tae bully, blackmail and bribe these clubs have backfired.

13-07-2012, 08:54 AM

Your Call on BBC going to be a hoot next season, Traynor taking calls from incensed Sevco supporters complaining about getting lost on the way to Elgin or Peterhead and getting a up hedge up their backside in Brechin.

Might have time to take a few calls from non-Old Firm fans, that's assuming Traynor still is employed by the BBC.

13-07-2012, 08:55 AM
The meeting is a waste of time and money. Just get the SFL club chairmen to email in their decisions. It'll save them dragging their beer bellies and ill-fitting suits up the Hampden steps in the hope of being glimpsed on Reporting Scotland.

Division 3 for the New Huns and they should consider themselves lucky they are not down in the West of Scotland Juniors.

I don't know why but I can't wait for reporting scotland tonight

13-07-2012, 08:56 AM

Imagine describing his club, Airdrie, like that.

13-07-2012, 08:57 AM
I still firmly believe, come Monday evening, the huns will be Club 12 playing in the SPL :cb

If so then safe to say Scottish football is finished. No one will go back.

13-07-2012, 08:58 AM
The Telegraph does't pull its punches on the stewardship of Regan and Doncaster.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/9396188/Rangers-in-crisis-SFL-to-cast-judgment-on-Rangers-and-the-Scottish-games-authorities.html

13-07-2012, 09:03 AM

My dread scenario.

Would explain why no decision on Dundee or Dunfermline though, I've never been able to work out the delay on that one.

13-07-2012, 09:05 AM

By the way, if I was a Director of an SFL club I would ban him until he apologised.

The Telegraph does't pull its punches on the stewardship of Regan and Doncaster.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/rangers/9396188/Rangers-in-crisis-SFL-to-cast-judgment-on-Rangers-and-the-Scottish-games-authorities.html

"Threats and bribes...." Strong stuff!

13-07-2012, 09:06 AM
"Threats and bribes...." Strong stuff!Calling it what it is!

GreenOnions
13-07-2012, 09:26 AM

:greengrin Ha, ha. You've just summed up the mood on this entire thread. Totally agree hopefully the right thing will be done today and then everyone can move on.

GreenOnions
13-07-2012, 09:33 AM

Best suggestion yet for the new name for Sevco: "I can't believe it's not Rangers" :greengrin

13-07-2012, 09:34 AM
i'm not sure who i detest the most

1. neil doncaster
2. stewart regan
3. old huns
4. new huns
5. jim traynor
6. craig burley
7. gordhun smith
8. craig whyte
9. hun neds McCoist/brown/jardine
10. Duff and Phelps
11. archie McPhershun
12. Brechin city

the dirty dozen

13-07-2012, 09:34 AM
Alex Thompsons latest blog is claiming a leaked Stewart Regan email set out the plan and timetable to get the Huns into 1st division and in it he asks Rod Petrie to breif Charles Green on what is happening.

I feel our chairman is playing us all for fools. By clearly being part of the cut up of Scottish football

13-07-2012, 09:35 AM
Thing is newco buns have to apply to the SFL for admittance, why does everyone think they will even be admitted.Now, wouldnt it be funny as ---k if they are turned down hahahahahaha......

13-07-2012, 09:35 AM
Alex Thompsons latest blog is claiming a leaked Stewart Regan email set out the plan and timetable to get the Huns into 1st division and in it he asks Rod Petrie to breif Charles Green on what is happening.

I feel our chairman is playing us all for fools. By clearly being part of the cut up of Scottish football

Hopefully the SFL will put paid to all their plans :greengrin

13-07-2012, 09:36 AM

bit.ly/Ohx398Surely no! "sporting integrity is beyond purchase"

13-07-2012, 09:38 AM
http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thomsons-view/football-chairmen-living-fairytale-world/2265

Dalkeith
13-07-2012, 09:40 AM
http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thomsons-view/football-chairmen-living-fairytale-world/2265

“In parallel to the above, could Rod Petrie please brief Charles Green confidentially on the discussions from a Scottish FA perspective so that there are ‘no surprises’ and there is a general acceptance of the plan…”
So the “Rangers” boss gets full briefings on the quiet to keep him sweet whilst -as clubs like Clyde make clear – they go begging for basic information about what’s on offer in return for soft-landing Mr Green’s Blues.

if true then RP has lost all my respect

declan macmanus
13-07-2012, 09:40 AM
Mr Petrie should do the honourable thing and resign from either the Hibs board or from his position at the SFA. His position in blatantly trying to shoehorn the newco into SFL1 is an absolute disgrace.

13-07-2012, 09:44 AM
Mr Petrie should do the honourable thing and resign from either the Hibs board or from his position at the SFA. His position in blatantly trying to shoehorn the newco into SFL1 is an absolute disgrace.

He should have resigned on 05/11/11.

Bighoose
13-07-2012, 09:48 AM
Heres my guess at a timeline....

SFL clubs rightly will vote them into Div3 today.

SPL/SFA will then step in and we will have SPL2 by Monday with Newco Sevco in there.

BDO will uncover some serious bad stuff at liquidated Old Co.

Various Court cases will be going on as to who owns what to whom from when.

Newco Sevco will then struggle their way through 2-3 months of season (remember this will be the same business model that still lost £4M in 3 months while in Admin FFS) before being they are put in Admin.

And we're back to where we are just now, but with the game in an even bigger mess than before.

As someone said previously, how can anyone just allow them into a league without some proper guarantee they are not going to go
t!t$ up is beyond any sensible person.

And Charlie Green scribbling on the back of a fag packet is not a business plan format I am familiar with.

13-07-2012, 09:48 AM
Anyone think there is any chance that Doncaster will come out afterwards and say that SFL3 (which is looking likely) is not a viable option and then say that they will be allowed into the SPL after all?

Nothing would surprise me anymore.

13-07-2012, 09:49 AM

Under his remit (SFA or SPL?) he has to do as instructed by the boss.

Reading parts of the email available, by not referring to him as RP (as others have been by initials) he's either not included in the email, or Regan is asking the others to instruct him to do it.

Is there love lost between Regan and Petrie?

This is just a farce now, the SFA should have cleaned this up a long time ago. Regan and Doncaster out.

Rossco1875
13-07-2012, 09:51 AM
Anyone know what time we might hear some news about the vote?

13-07-2012, 09:52 AM
Was in the Daily Record originally so must be true! mmmmm I wonder......

"No Rangers equals no Sky, unless Gers are back very soon," a source at the broadcaster told the Daily Record. "It's just not going to be commercially worth it if it's going to be any longer than 12 months with no Old Firm league games."

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/news/sky-threat-pull-plug-spl-113142799.html

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/2012/06/15/revealed-sky-tv-threatened-spl-after-rangers-fans-cancelled-subscription-deals-86908-23896063/

Some strange dates on those articles. One is Thursday 14th June and the DR one is 25th June. :confused:

Protest by Rangers fans. :thumbsup:

http://api.plixi.com/api/tpapi.svc/imagefromurl?size=medium&url=http%3A%2F%2Flockerz.com%2Fs%2F224585512

Anyone know what time we might hear some news about the vote?

The meeting is at 11am. "At the conclusion of the meeting there will be a buffet lunch".

At 2pm there will be a ritual sacrifice of ..... someone.

LeighLoyal
13-07-2012, 09:53 AM
These clowns Regan and Doncaster are doing more damage to the Scottish game than even Rangers FC 1872-2012 (RIP). I want no changes to the structure to accomodate Sevco 2012 in a SPL 2 set up. These pair of Sevco agents must be removed!

13-07-2012, 09:53 AM

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalkindeed, spouting off about 'sporting integrity' then being party tae two organisations that are blackmailing, bribing and threatening the clubs of another.

http://farm2.staticflickr.com/1390/5180038474_b3b16f5ba3_q.jpg http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/1915000/images/_1917364_rodpetrie150.jpg

13-07-2012, 09:55 AM
Dear Scott

Many thanks for your response. I realise how busy you will have been dealing with correspondence at this difficult time.

With Rod Petrie proclaiming that integrity was 'beyond purchase' and voting no to Sevco being in the SPL I was looking to contribute a bit more than usual in the coming season.

However, having found that the whole thing has been a stitch up I'm afraid I won't be back at Easter Road this season. The money I was going to put into Hibs will most likely go to my dad's favourite team Partick Thistle although teams like Clyde and Raith Rovers seem to be worthy causes too.

I believe that Rod Petrie should resign from his position at Hibs as he has been part of gerrymandering and a threatening, bullying approach towards the SFL clubs, which quite frankly is utterly shameful to the good name of Hibernian Football Club.

I realise finances will be very tight and would like to wish all at Hibernian all the best.

It is with great sadness that the actions of Rod Petrie and his collusion with Doncaster and Regan have led me to not be able to support the club until mr Petrie resigns.

Yours sincerely

13-07-2012, 09:56 AM
indeed, spouting off about 'sporting integrity' then being party tae two organisations that are blackmailing, bribing and threatening the clubs of another.

http://farm2.staticflickr.com/1390/5180038474_b3b16f5ba3_q.jpg http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/1915000/images/_1917364_rodpetrie150.jpg

Do you know whether he carried out this duty (which he is employed to do, after all) under protest, or willingly?

13-07-2012, 09:56 AM
Under his remit (SFA or SPL?) he has to do as instructed by the boss.

Reading parts of the email available, by not referring to him as RP (as others have been by initials) he's either not included in the email, or Regan is asking the others to instruct him to do it.

Is there love lost between Regan and Petrie?

This is just a farce now, the SFA should have cleaned this up a long time ago. Regan and Doncaster out.If it's no compatible with the views he claims tae hold on sporting integrity then he should resign. Or is he only in favour of that if it disnae mean giving up his position otherwise he'll no bother.

13-07-2012, 09:57 AM
Heres my guess at a timeline....

SFL clubs rightly will vote them into Div3 today.

SPL/SFA will then step in and we will have SPL2 by Monday with Newco Sevco in there.

BDO will uncover some serious bad stuff at liquidated Old Co.

Various Court cases will be going on as to who owns what to whom from when.

Newco Sevco will then struggle their way through 2-3 months of season (remember this will be the same business model that still lost £4M in 3 months while in Admin FFS) before being they are put in Admin.

And we're back to where we are just now, but with the game in an even bigger mess than before.

As someone said previously, how can anyone just allow them into a league without some proper guarantee they are not going to go
t!t$ up is beyond any sensible person.

And Charlie Green scribbling on the back of a fag packet is not a business plan format I am familiar with.

Given the apparent strength of feeling against newco on the part of the SFL clubs I could see the D1 clubs refusing to join an SPL2, so new huns would have no-one to play there. And despite the posturing I think the SPL chairmen know that to allow the newhuns back into the SPL now would be suicide.

13-07-2012, 09:58 AM
Do you know whether he carried out this duty (which he is employed to do, after all) under protest, or willingly?He's involved and that's enough. Has he or any of the others involved with the SPL spoken out against the actions of doncaster and regan? Have I missed it? If they're no against it, they're for it and remaining silent disnae get them off the hook.

13-07-2012, 10:02 AM
Has he or any of the others involved with the SPL spoken out against the actions of doncaster and regan? Have I missed it? If they're no against it, they're for it and remaining silent disnae get them off the hook.

I am still unclear as to whether he even did what he was instructed to do. All we have is part of an email suggesting that he be asked to do it, and the story has grown from there.

Even if he did, the important issue for me is whether he did so willingly or not.

TrinityHibs
13-07-2012, 10:03 AM

1. neil doncaster
2. stewart regan
3. old huns
4. new huns
5. jim traynor
6. craig burley
7. gordhun smith
8. craig whyte
10. Duff and Phelps
11. archie McPhershun
12. Brechin city

the dirty dozen

Where's Davie Murray? Actually how could you hate wee Craigie he has brought der hun to their knees. You got to like a man that does that.

“In parallel to the above, could Rod Petrie please brief Charles Green confidentially on the discussions from a Scottish FA perspective so that there are ‘no surprises’ and there is a general acceptance of the plan…”
So the “Rangers” boss gets full briefings on the quiet to keep him sweet whilst -as clubs like Clyde make clear – they go begging for basic information about what’s on offer in return for soft-landing Mr Green’s Blues.

Don't see it that way. Petrie has a position at the SFA and he was required to pass on information to Green who was the owner of an organisation that had applied to join the SFA and had applied to have an SPL share transferred to his NewCo.
I'm sure any deal being proposed was a Doncaster/Regan conncoction and Petrie little more than the messenger.

The important point was it did not affect Petrie's voting when he put his Hibs hat back on and there is no suggestion he has attemted to influence any other SPL or SFL Chairmen.

Off the bar
Anyone think there is any chance that Doncaster will come out afterwards and say that SFL3 (which is looking likely) is not a viable option and then say that they will be allowed into the SPL after all?

Nothing would surprise me anymore.

Dunfermline chairman John Yorkston agrees;

"Ourselves and Dundee are the two main contenders, though I wouldn't rule out the SPL doing something regarding newco if Rangers or newco are put into the Third Division.

"They may actually go with Rangers. They still haven't ruled out Rangers. Rangers have still got the share in the league and that might be an option they go for if they believe Rangers in the Third Division is the right decision."

hope your both wrong div 3 only answer for me

He's involved and that's enough. Has he or any of the others involved with the SPL spoken out against the actions of doncaster and regan? Have I missed it? If they're no against it, they're for it and remaining silent disnae get them off the hook.

Yuo've been watching too many 80's action films, J :wink:

13-07-2012, 10:04 AM
I am still unclear as to whether he even did what he was instructed to do. All we have is part of an email suggesting that he be asked to do it, and the story has grown from there.

Even if he did, the important issue for me is whether he did so willingly or not.Well you've got your views and I've got mine. If he's involved, willingly or otherwise then he's as guilty as the rest. If he disapproves he could and should resign. The fact that none of the SPL chairmen have spoken out against the actions of doncaster or regan tells me all I need tae ken about their position re. newco in the 1st division.

13-07-2012, 10:05 AM
Tyrone Smith‏@TyroneSTVDundee are 'perplexed' after being told by the SFL last night they would be allowed to vote today. Given no reason for the sfl u-turn

Does this mean that Dunfermline will be back in SPL? :dunno:

13-07-2012, 10:05 AM
Now hearing that Dundee were told last night they would be allowed to vote after all!!!

Total shambles.

13-07-2012, 10:07 AM
Don't see it that way. Petrie has a position at the SFA and he was required to pass on information to Green who was the owner of an organisation that had applied to join the SFA and had applied to have an SPL share transferred to his NewCo.
I'm sure any deal being proposed was a Doncaster/Regan conncoction and Petrie little more than the messenger.

The important point was it did not affect Petrie's voting when he put his Hibs hat back on and there is no suggestion he has attemted to influence any other SPL or SFL Chairmen.

I'd have to disagree there. By stating Hibs position so early on in the process, and uttering the now immortal phrase 'sporting integrity' he has shown other clubs that it is possible to stand up to the SPL/SFL/SFA and stand your own ground.

If he's sticking in at the SFA it'll be because he can see Regan going and a opportunity. Say what you like about Rod but he does like an opportunity :wink:

Brando7
13-07-2012, 10:09 AM
The meeting is at 11am. "At the conclusion of the meeting there will be a buffet lunch".

At 2pm there will be a ritual sacrifice of ..... someone.
If the vote goes against them they probably get refused their buffet lunch :)

Lungo--Drom
13-07-2012, 10:09 AM
You forgot Henry McLeish in your list who states in the BBC Sport website:

HENRY McLEISH ON NEWCO RANGERS "My view is that Rangers in SFL 1 would be the best
and most serious option. One, to find a home for
Rangers and let them find their feet in Scottish
football. "But, the most important point, this will allow us to
move on to much bigger issues in Scottish football
than the future of Rangers newco. "In the last season, 28% of all the people going
through the turnstiles in Scotland were because of
Rangers. "If you add Celtic figures into that, 60% of all the
fan base in Scotland is the Old Firm."

What a rancid ****ing inbred **** filled ******** eh? I hope he chokes on his dinner.

1. neil doncaster
2. stewart regan
3. old huns
4. new huns
5. jim traynor
6. craig burley
7. gordhun smith
8. craig whyte
10. Duff and Phelps
11. archie McPhershun
12. Brechin city

the dirty dozen

13-07-2012, 10:13 AM
Latest from Twitter

Grant Russell‏@STVGrantAll SFL chairpersons now appear to be inside for the meeting and vote. Now the wait begins for the outcome.

Fork Eye‏@scotfitbaquotesPerhaps it's time to consider new faces at the top of Scottish football. (Raith Rovers chairman Turnbull Hutton, July 2012)

Colin Paterson‏@CP_acadvertiser
Airdrie's No to Newco vote will be delivered today by the club's nominated official at the meeting, director Ann Marie Ballantyne.

Colin Paterson‏@CP_acadvertiserOfficial: Airdrie will be voting No to Newco Rangers in SFL1 today

brian mclauchlin‏@BBCBMcLauchlinRaith chairman Turnbull Hutton says the situation is a shambles as he enters meeting at Hampden.

13-07-2012, 10:13 AM
Special offer for Sevco 90210 FC
http://www.coffincompany.co.uk/cardboard-coffin

Save 33%

13-07-2012, 10:14 AM
Well you've got your views and I've got mine. If he's involved, willingly or otherwise then he's as guilty as the rest. If he disapproves he could and should resign. The fact that none of the SPL chairmen have spoken out against the actions of doncaster or regan tells me all I need tae ken about their position re. newco in the 1st division.

...or, looking at it another way, the continued silence of the SPL men is to give Regan and Doncaster the chance to either sort things or hang themselves.

13-07-2012, 10:16 AM
I'd have to disagree there. By stating Hibs position so early on in the process, and uttering the now immortal phrase 'sporting integrity' he has shown other clubs that it is possible to stand up to the SPL/SFL/SFA and stand your own ground.

If he's sticking in at the SFA it'll be because he can see Regan going and a opportunity. Say what you like about Rod but he does like an opportunity :wink:

There is no way Petrie could get Regan's position as SFA Chief Executive and remain as a Hibs Director. Petrie's climb up the ladder will see him SFA President if there is no Armageddon any time soon. :greengrin

Lungo--Drom
13-07-2012, 10:17 AM
In his SFA role the Tache must act, or rather should act without favour to the fact that he is our chairman, to wit, impartially. It has been put more eloquently by others, over a week ago, that he has two hats to wear. Hibs and SFA. I think his 'Hibby leprechaun' outfit at the SPL vote shows where he stands on Hibs. If he is doing things with his SFA hat on that outwardly might be misconstrued I am sure it is only because we don't know everything that is going on behind closed doors.

13-07-2012, 10:19 AM
There is no way Petrie could get Regan's position as SFA Chief Executive and remain as a Hibs Director. Petrie's climb up the ladder will see him SFA President if there is no Armageddon any time soon. :greengrin

"Petrie leaves Hibs and runs Scottish Football."

some fans will say 1 out of 2 aint bad :wink:

13-07-2012, 10:20 AM
...or, looking at it another way, the continued silence of the SPL men is to give Regan and Doncaster the chance to either sort things or hang themselves.regan and doncaster are past sorting anything out and should have been removed long since. If all SPL clubs are for sporting integrity doncaster should no longer even be working for the SPL and the SFL clubs would be having nae other decision tae make than whether tae let newco in at div3 only, instead of all the other crap from doncaster about letting them in tae div1.

13-07-2012, 10:22 AM
regan and doncaster are past sorting anything out and should have been removed long since. If all clubs are for sporting integrity doncaster should no longer even be working for the SPL and the SFL clubs would be having nae other decision tae make other than whether tae let newco in at div3 only, instead of all the other crap from doncaster about letting them in tae div1.

If the SFL vote goes against them today, that will happen very soon. The sporting integrity lobby will have won.

13-07-2012, 10:24 AM
If the SFL vote goes against them today, that will happen very soon. The sporting integrity lobby will have won.Lets hope so, then we can all get back tae watching our fitba.

13-07-2012, 10:25 AM
Lets hope so, then we can all get back tae watching our fitba.

F that. This thread is my life now!! :greengrin

13-07-2012, 10:26 AM
F that. This thread is my life now!! :greengrin:greengrin

13-07-2012, 10:27 AM
Meeting now underway according to BBC.

Lungo--Drom
13-07-2012, 10:27 AM
Another complete Hunpuppet to be added to the list of loathsome people from a few posts back:

Daily Record journalist Hugh Keevins says the
Scottish Football League have to vote Rangers
into the First Division today, with SFL clubs to
meet at Hampden this morning to vote on the
fate of Charles Green's Sevco Scotland Limited.

T

LeighLoyal
13-07-2012, 10:32 AM
Another complete Hunpuppet to be added to the list of loathsome people from a few posts back:

Daily Record journalist Hugh Keevins says the
Scottish Football League have to vote Rangers
into the First Division today, with SFL clubs to
meet at Hampden this morning to vote on the
fate of Charles Green's Sevco Scotland Limited.

T

One thing that has come out of this Sevco saga is the obvious bias of the Glasgow media monkey's. Vlad had it spot on with these villains: Keevins, Traynor, Chic Young, Burley.... A corrupt rascal multitude! I excuse Jim Spence and Alex Thomspon.

13-07-2012, 10:35 AM
Daily Record has been an absolute disgrace during this period . The Armageddon type tone throughout the whole saga has been embarrassing . If Sevco go to Div 3 look for a "Scottish Football is Dead" piece . If they go to Div 1 then it will be how the chairmen of the diddy clubs copped out .

Off the bar
13-07-2012, 10:37 AM
I really hope we get a decision soon, I've got work to do that does'nt involve constantly refreshing this thread and the bbc live text

13-07-2012, 10:41 AM
Where's Davie Murray? Actually how could you hate wee Craigie he has brought der hun to their knees. You got to like a man that does that.

as for whyte, it's that devious crooked little dwarfish scrote that has led to the buns splattered all over the news every single day for months now :( and not all of it good reading :wink:

You forgot Henry McLeish in your list who states in the BBC Sport website:

make that the dirty fourteen now :agree:

infact, make that 15, the daily ******

13-07-2012, 10:42 AM
Some great tweets from Willie Miller

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller@alextomo (http://www.hibs.net/alextomo) It's a combination of problems. Regan and Doncaster are clearly inept and untrustworthy, but are those behined them any better?

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller Doncaster last Nov: "expanded SPL will create £20m loss". Doncaster this Jul: "to avoid £16m loss vote RFC into Div 1, and we'll expand SPL"

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller@MadFitba (http://www.hibs.net/MadFitba) Because the corruption at Rangers pales in comparison to the endemic weakness, laziness, and pro-Rangers bias within the SFA.

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller ..."We have no business plan, list of directors, details of ownership, statement of capital adequacy". http://www.heraldscotland.com/mobile/sport/f … (http://t.co/boj1Rx5A) ‪#NOtoNEWCO‬ (http://www.hibs.net/search/%23NOtoNEWCO)

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller Also wise comments from Clyde today. http://www.heraldscotland.com/mobile/sport/f … (http://t.co/boj1Rx5A) "We have received absolutely no information on... Sevco Scotland Ltd"

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller There was me thinking that Henry McLeish couldn't embarrass himself more than he did when he was Labour leader...

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller A fair whack of ex-‪#Rangers‬ (http://www.hibs.net/search/%23Rangers) fans seem to want the newco to start in the 3rd purely because they think it'll hurt other clubs. Typical evil.

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller@bbcsportsound (http://www.hibs.net/bbcsportsound) Pressley said "we need to fix the game, not just fix things for Rangers". Traynor hears "We need to fix RFC to fix the game"

Off the bar
13-07-2012, 10:54 AM
CHARLES GREEN"It is a very important day and I think there is lots of good, really responsible articles put out in the press today. which papers do you read chuck?

"I think it is time now for realisation. I think the vilification and persecution has to end and common sense has to prevail and I think it will. are you high mate?

"I think it is very difficult for the other clubs and the other leagues, and for the managers to understand who they are going to be playing and when their season will start and who their opposition will be. There are cup games in a few weeks' time and we all need to move on." yup with you in div 3 you t w a t

Dalkeith
13-07-2012, 10:55 AM
CHARLES GREEN CONT: "We've always been prepared for both (Division One and Three) The fans have always said they are happy to go to (Division) Three, we just want to get a decision and move on.
"I hope it will be (the end of the situation) but I'm not convinced it will."

13-07-2012, 10:55 AM
I get the feeling from Green's comments he is thinking it will be Div3.

13-07-2012, 11:00 AM
CHARLES GREEN CONT: "We've always been prepared for both (Division One and Three) The fans have always said they are happy to go to (Division) Three, we just want to get a decision and move on.

Some of his comments about vilification and punsishment would be fair if Rangers surived administration.

As it is what he fails to see is this is a new compnay and what is being asked is to promote a new company straight to a division that would not be the natural starting place for anyone else.

SurferRosa
13-07-2012, 11:07 AM
Tyrone Smith‏@TyroneSTVDundee are 'perplexed' after being told by the SFL last night they would be allowed to vote today. Given no reason for the sfl u-turn

Does this mean that Dunfermline will be back in SPL? :dunno:

if there`s suddenly no longer any conflict of interest then it`s more likely the Huns will be back in the SPL...

13-07-2012, 11:10 AM

That last line could mean so many different things..............SPL vote?, his backers walk away? BDO do their job?

Is the sequel about to start?

13-07-2012, 11:12 AM
...or, looking at it another way, the continued silence of the SPL men is to give Regan and Doncaster the chance to either sort things or hang themselves.

Completely agree. Regan and Doncaster have made such a mess of things that their bosses will not allow them the luxury of resigning right now. They wiill have to stay and work through this and then get sacked.

13-07-2012, 11:12 AM
Latest from BBC website

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18826839?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Rangers: Clubs fear Division Three vote could be overruled

Dunfermline and Clyde fear ways will be found not to abide by any decision to vote Rangers
into Division Three.

The Scottish Football League is meeting to decide whether the "newco" Rangers
will play there or Division One.

But Clyde claim that the Scottish Football Association and Scottish Premier
League have warned they might not act on the vote of the 30 clubs.

And John Yorkston, who is hoping the Pars will play in the SPL, said: "They
still haven't ruled out Rangers."

After the old Rangers headed for liquidation, Charles
Green's Sevco consortium had its application for membership of the SPL rejected
by 10 or the other 11 clubs.

Now the SFA and SPL have warned that, should Rangers drop to Division Three,
it could lead to a reduction in vital television contract money and financial
problems for clubs throughout Scotland.

They have offered the 30 SFL clubs a working party into reorganising the
league structure and other financial incentives should they vote for Rangers in
Division One.

But Yorkston told BBC Scotland: "We did have a meeting of the board, but
we're still going to be voting for Rangers to go to the Third Division.

We are trying to be fair here and there can't have rules for one and different
rules for others.
"We are aware of the financial consequences to our club and other clubs, but
we feel the sporting integrity is the right way to go."

Nine clubs had gone public with their opposition to Rangers in Division One
ahead of the meeting, with another nine having indicated that they were so
minded before the negotiations between the three governing bodies.

No matter which division Rangers are voted into, Dunfermline and Dundee are
due to learn on Monday which will replace the Ibrox club in the top flight.

"Ourselves and Dundee are the two main contenders, though I wouldn't rule out
the SPL doing something regarding newco if Rangers or newco are put into the
Third Division," said Yorkston, who thought there would be calls for the
resignation of top personnel at the SFA and SPL.

"They may actually go with Rangers. Rangers have still got the share in the
league and that might be an option they go for if they believe Rangers in the
Third Division is the right decision."

Clyde, who have questioned whether there is enough information about the new
Rangers' finances to allow them into either division, had similar fears
following alleged comments by the SPL chief executive.

"Neil Doncaster told the SFL clubs that the SPL would not allow Rangers to
join the Third Division as the loss of £16m would not be countenanced," said the
Division Three club's latest statement.

"He is also on record as having said that a 16-team league would cost £20m,
therefore we can hardly have confidence that the focus on finance will allow
these proposals to come to life.

"Given that the SPL and SFA have signalled a clear intention to act against
any decision that might result in Sevco Scotland Ltd being admitted to the Third
Division...We can expect that, no matter what the SFL clubs decide, Sevco
Scotland will not be playing in the Third Division in the coming season."

13-07-2012, 11:13 AM

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller@alextomo (http://www.hibs.net/alextomo) It's a combination of problems. Regan and Doncaster are clearly inept and untrustworthy, but are those behined them any better?

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller Doncaster last Nov: "expanded SPL will create £20m loss". Doncaster this Jul: "to avoid £16m loss vote RFC into Div 1, and we'll expand SPL"

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller@MadFitba (http://www.hibs.net/MadFitba) Because the corruption at Rangers pales in comparison to the endemic weakness, laziness, and pro-Rangers bias within the SFA.

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller ..."We have no business plan, list of directors, details of ownership, statement of capital adequacy". http://www.heraldscotland.com/mobile/sport/f … (http://t.co/boj1Rx5A) ‪#NOtoNEWCO‬ (http://www.hibs.net/search/%23NOtoNEWCO)

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller Also wise comments from Clyde today. http://www.heraldscotland.com/mobile/sport/f … (http://t.co/boj1Rx5A) "We have received absolutely no information on... Sevco Scotland Ltd"

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller There was me thinking that Henry McLeish couldn't embarrass himself more than he did when he was Labour leader...

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller A fair whack of ex-‪#Rangers‬ (http://www.hibs.net/search/%23Rangers) fans seem to want the newco to start in the 3rd purely because they think it'll hurt other clubs. Typical evil.

Willie Miller‏@DonWillieMiller@bbcsportsound (http://www.hibs.net/bbcsportsound) Pressley said "we need to fix the game, not just fix things for Rangers". Traynor hears "We need to fix RFC to fix the game"

He's not wrong is he! :top marks

13-07-2012, 11:18 AM
F that. This thread is my life now!! :greengrin

Lol. Me sitting here by the poolside in IBIZA reading all this proves its now bloody mine as well :-/

13-07-2012, 11:21 AM
Latest from BBC website

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18826839?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Dunfermline and Clyde fear ways will be found not to abide by any decision to vote Rangers
into Division Three.

Division One.

rules for others.

join the Third Division as the loss of £16m would not be countenanced," said the

any decision that might result in Sevco Scotland Ltd being admitted to the Third

Petrie knows Hibs will be signing their own death warrant if he votes for Sevco to enter the SPL. I wouldn't be back for one.

13-07-2012, 11:23 AM
Latest from BBC website

into Division Three.

Division One.

rules for others.

So if the vote goes anyway other than what they are looking for, the voting system will quite simply be ignored?

Dangerous, dangerous game.

13-07-2012, 11:33 AM
So if the vote goes anyway other than what they are looking for, the voting system will quite simply be ignored?

If that happens, every club needs to resign from their respective league and the SFA.

fife hfc
13-07-2012, 11:34 AM

I have a season ticket for this season but if they do this then I will never go back to Easter Road and will never spend another penny on Scottish football. It sickens me that all rules will be ignored to suit Sevco. I love Hibs but not going to waste money on a fixed sport, set up to support one club.

BarneyK
13-07-2012, 11:36 AM

No danger that's really Willie Miller. :greengrin

13-07-2012, 11:36 AM
I have a season ticket for this season but if they do this then I will never go back to Easter Road and will never spend another penny on Scottish football. It sickens me that all rules will be ignored to suit Sevco. I love Hibs but not going to waste money on a fixed sport, set up to support one club.

Surely no one will go back if this happens. There would be no point in Scottish football.

13-07-2012, 11:40 AM
If that happens, every club needs to resign from their respective league and the SFA.

It makes me wonder though. If they are simply going to have their way with it, then whats the point having a vote on it in the first place?

Is it just to take the complete piss or what?

13-07-2012, 11:40 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/18798033

As it happens

13-07-2012, 11:41 AM

100% correct. our footballing 'governing body' has governed 2 teams, and 2 teams only. if they sanction rangers into anything other than the 3rd division, resignation of all clubs is priority.

thus in turn will give our 'governing body' their 2 teams back as celtic won't resign. they want away... now is time

fife hfc
13-07-2012, 11:47 AM
I've wondered about the SPL 2. How can it work if all the SFL teams refuse to join? So far only Airdrie, Brechin and Stenhousemuir are expected to for them a very small league indeed.

13-07-2012, 11:52 AM
How long does it take to bloody vote! :rolleyes:

VickMackie
It makes me wonder though. If they are simply going to have their way with it, then whats the point having a vote on it in the first place?

Is it just to take the complete piss or what?

If they get enough votes for SFL 1 they can say they followed the rules. If they don't theyll make new ones.

See the Ireland referendum. You voted no to Europe but guess what we'll just keep going til you accept it. I'm not big on Irish politics, of any sort, but i think it's the same thing here.

Strange that every club that has been involved in any votes or discussion (except Celtic) would have if been in Rangers position already be in Div 3 with no votes with no discussions at the very best. The fact that a vote even took place or any discussions regardless of outcome really shows the disgrace our game is.

There is nothing to celebrate if they end up in Div 3, the disgraceful votes and carry on to try and avoid them being in Div 3 was a step beyong what is right. There simply should not have been any votes.

13-07-2012, 11:54 AM
How long does it take to bloody vote! :rolleyes:

There are three resolutions. One would expect that there will be a lot of debate, certainly about two of the questions; if Clyde get their way, there will be much discussion on Resolution 1.