View Full Version : Match Updates 2020-21 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80

06-09-2020, 01:08 PM
I did the same over a week a few years back and took in Estoril as well. Great places to visit and it was European week so I caught CL and Europa as well as league games.

There used to be another top flight team near Lisbon, we went there too but i think they went bust not long after it.

Ground was maybe 15k and the game we were at was lucky if there was a 1000 there. Might have been a cup game though.

06-09-2020, 01:16 PM
Is the manager of Wycombe in a band?

Yeah.

06-09-2020, 01:31 PM
Horgan takes an excellent penalty. Who knew?

Fairly sure he scored one for us in a friendly. Maybe Dunfermline.

06-09-2020, 01:38 PM
Fairly sure he scored one for us in a friendly. Maybe Dunfermline.

Right, thanks.

06-09-2020, 05:18 PM
Iceland boy blazes a penalty over in the 92nd minute... lucky *******s

Couldn't hit a Bjarndoorson

That Kyle Walker seems like a very unlikeable chap...

06-09-2020, 05:23 PM
Come on Finland 👍

EI255
06-09-2020, 07:03 PM
Come on Finland [emoji106]Why Finland??

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

06-09-2020, 07:16 PM
Come on Finland 👍

Wonderful result.

06-09-2020, 07:20 PM
Why Finland??

Better team by a mile. Also 4/1 in play just after half time😎

Mixu also 👍

06-09-2020, 07:20 PM
Wonderful result.

Brilliant to watch too.

06-09-2020, 07:37 PM
Watching Germany vs Swiss. Compared to Scotland the other night, this is a different sport. Both teams leagues ahead. Excellent match.

06-09-2020, 07:40 PM
Watching Germany vs Swiss. Compared to Scotland the other night, this is a different sport. Both teams leagues ahead. Excellent match.

Russia v Hungary was amazing too. Have £50 on Latvia so that’s on now 🙏

Quarters
06-09-2020, 07:58 PM
Not as odd as the Wycombe keepers shirt, what’s that all about.

They’re Mardi Gras colours; the owners are from Louisiana.

06-09-2020, 08:29 PM

What's happened to Germany in this 2nd half? What a mess.

06-09-2020, 08:32 PM
Better team by a mile. Also 4/1 in play just after half time😎

Mixu also 👍

Had a few locals here as i watched from the kitchen and made snacks. Finland dealt with them easy enough. I think Kenny is the right appointment but will be a while till we see the best of them. If he gets the time that is.

06-09-2020, 09:17 PM
Had a few locals here as i watched from the kitchen and made snacks. Finland dealt with them easy enough. I think Kenny is the right appointment but will be a while till we see the best of them. If he gets the time that is.

Could care about ROI at all to be honest mate. Sorry if that’s harsh but good luck with Kenny for you 👍

06-09-2020, 09:24 PM
What's happened to Germany in this 2nd half? What a mess.

Goal changed the game. Should've been 2 or 3 up. Honestly don't think Germany care that much about the nation's league. Trying out players and formations. All the Bayern lads on holiday after CL. Swiss a very solid side, though. Above Germany in the rankings.

JammyDoidger
08-09-2020, 02:36 PM
Porteous starts for the under 21s.

08-09-2020, 02:55 PM
Porteous starts for the under 21s.

Think live on you tube 430 kick off

08-09-2020, 03:14 PM
Think live on you tube 430 kick off

https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/live-scotland-under-21s-v-lithuania/?rid=13925

Click on this at 4.25, will take you to the link

08-09-2020, 03:45 PM
What’s the background to the player on the bench Lewis Fiorini, Man City player on loan at FC Breda

08-09-2020, 05:37 PM
Good 1-0 win for the Scots. Totally controlled the game. Just need a little extra up front.

EI255
08-09-2020, 06:52 PM
Alan Smith Co commentating on Den v Eng. Was also Co commentator for the Armenia v Estonia game earlier on [emoji848]

08-09-2020, 06:59 PM
Alan Smith Co commentating on Den v Eng. Was also Co commentator for the Armenia v Estonia game earlier on [emoji848]

I don’t think any of them will actually be on grounds in international games.

EI255
08-09-2020, 07:08 PM
Who's the English jessie with the ladies bun? (number 7)

08-09-2020, 07:12 PM

Kalvin Phillips from Leeds I presume.

08-09-2020, 07:15 PM

I thought it was the jobby emoji

08-09-2020, 07:25 PM
Shorts sponsors are Cherry Red Records. A fine label.

Reissue-tastic :aok:

08-09-2020, 07:48 PM
Good 1-0 win for the Scots. Totally controlled the game. Just need a little extra up front.

Scot Gemmill a pretty decent coach. Has coached most of the Scotland age grades I think. Must be in with a shout of the national job at some stage I would’ve thought.

EI255
08-09-2020, 08:33 PM
Sad spot, but I see that the same two English flags that were on display in Iceland are laid out behind the goals this evening in Denmark.

Lucky fans(?) or players carrying them for a mate?

EI255
08-09-2020, 08:34 PM
Scot Gemmill a pretty decent coach. Has coached most of the Scotland age grades I think. Must be in with a shout of the national job at some stage I would’ve thought.Gotta be better than the current coach.

EI255
08-09-2020, 08:34 PM
Kalvin Phillips from Leeds I presume.It's not a good look.

09-09-2020, 05:15 AM
Sad spot, but I see that the same two English flags that were on display in Iceland are laid out behind the goals this evening in Denmark.

Lucky fans(?) or players carrying them for a mate?

It was the physio or something. Henry winter tweeted about it. Really not a big deal.

SJNB Hibby
10-09-2020, 09:02 PM
Lens just beat PSG 1-0, START of a covid effect on football?
Early I know but....

10-09-2020, 10:20 PM
Lens just beat PSG 1-0, START of a covid effect on football?
Early I know but....

PSG had like 9 players missing due to Covid. Don't see it being an issue longer term though.

SJNB Hibby
11-09-2020, 12:26 AM
PSG had like 9 players missing due to Covid. Don't see it being an issue longer term though.

Thats what I mean though....points dropped because of covid. Because of playing the ECL Final only 2 weeks ago etc

12-09-2020, 12:41 PM
The Fulham defending for that 2nd Arsenal goal was utterly horrendous.

12-09-2020, 12:48 PM
Quality 3rd from Arsenal.

12-09-2020, 12:51 PM
Quality 3rd from Arsenal.

:agree: good start to the season for them.

Fulham look really poor. All over the pitch they're poor.

12-09-2020, 12:52 PM
Very tidy performance from Arsenal so far. Very much in control.

12-09-2020, 12:58 PM
:agree: good start to the season for them.

Fulham look really poor. All over the pitch they're poor.

It is. They do indeed look poor with not far off the same squad that were relegated the season before last.

Tierney also looks good.

12-09-2020, 01:03 PM
Maybe just me but Scott Parker looks like what I would imagine Nigel Farage’s son to look like - the suit, the hair, even his face.

Magpie
12-09-2020, 01:35 PM
Don’t expect Fulham to get much this season.

Magpie
12-09-2020, 01:39 PM
Does anyone know how Aberdeen went about selecting supporters for their game today?

12-09-2020, 03:32 PM
Adam Jackson scores for Lincoln

12-09-2020, 04:03 PM
Adam Jackson scores for Lincoln

Good to hear - gave everything to Hibs, clearly wanted to move closer to family which in these times isn't anything to hold against him and hope he does well.

12-09-2020, 04:10 PM
Looks like Horgan managed to play for 90 minutes this week.

12-09-2020, 04:18 PM
surprise defeat for livi at home to hamilton

aberdeen win against killie with a typical 1-0 scoreline

can't see the heartz result anywhere but they probably won

12-09-2020, 04:33 PM
surprise defeat for livi at home to hamilton

aberdeen win against killie with a typical 1-0 scoreline

can't see the heartz result anywhere but they probably won

I doubt it, their keeper let in three :wink:

12-09-2020, 04:36 PM
Does anyone know how Aberdeen went about selecting supporters for their game today?

Ballot.

12-09-2020, 04:37 PM
Why is that Liverpool penalty allowed to stand? I thought if the ball deflected off another part of your body it wasn’t handball.

12-09-2020, 04:43 PM
Leeds level with a great goal from Harrison!

Good game so far.

12-09-2020, 04:52 PM
Leeds will do well this season methinks.....

12-09-2020, 04:53 PM
Leeds will do well this season methinks.....
They’ll need to defend better than that.

12-09-2020, 04:59 PM
Liverpool 2-2 Leeds

12-09-2020, 05:00 PM
2-2 leeds

could finish 5-5 at this rate

12-09-2020, 05:02 PM
They’ll need to defend better than that.

Oh I doubt they will get into Europe but I don't think they'll be fighting relegation either and I'm sure they would settle for that right now.....

12-09-2020, 05:03 PM
young dude struijk is having a bit of a mare for leeds, koch not much better

3-2. :(

12-09-2020, 05:03 PM
Liverpool 3-2 Leeds

12-09-2020, 05:05 PM
Some finish by Salah.....

12-09-2020, 05:53 PM
3-3

12-09-2020, 05:55 PM
pick that out 3-3

12-09-2020, 06:16 PM
Liverpool 4-3 Leeds

Salah hat trick

12-09-2020, 06:16 PM
the most stupid idiotic penalty to give away, cost his team a point on his debut

12-09-2020, 06:17 PM
the most stupid idiotic penalty to give away, cost his team a point on his debut

Beyond daft :agree:

12-09-2020, 06:19 PM

Crazy challenge

12-09-2020, 06:40 PM
Any idea why. Newcastle are 3/1 at West Ham?

12-09-2020, 08:19 PM
1 0 Newcastle, Abysmal performance by West Ham so far, grim run of games coming up too.

12-09-2020, 08:24 PM

Baffling but I’ll take it. 👍

12-09-2020, 09:41 PM

Ridiculous that price.

12-09-2020, 09:50 PM
Ridiculous that price.

Yep. Take it all day long mind you. West Ham are so so flat.

12-09-2020, 10:01 PM
Yep. Take it all day long mind you. West Ham are so so flat.

If I had seen it I would have lumped on. Free money.

13-09-2020, 02:26 PM
Leicester ahead at West Brom

c31
13-09-2020, 02:29 PM
Leicester ahead at West Brom

Leicester's strip would make you boak...

13-09-2020, 02:32 PM
Leicester's strip would make you boak...

Aye, horrendous.

13-09-2020, 02:46 PM
Leicester now 3-0 up. Two penalties.

13-09-2020, 04:42 PM
0-1 Everton decent from them so far

13-09-2020, 04:46 PM
Everton looking pretty good so far. Rodriguez has been excellent. Long may it continue

13-09-2020, 05:13 PM
who does kane think he is pushing all the everton players away after that foul :confused:

13-09-2020, 05:13 PM
Poor spurs. After a good 5 years under Poch winning nothing, it looks like they're back to winning nothing.

13-09-2020, 05:16 PM
Jose doing his usual magic boring football at Spurs, his day has gone, that team looks tired of ideas, absolutely no pressure from them to get the ball back, quite shocking really.

13-09-2020, 05:16 PM
Spurs look a poor side these days. Mourinho is yesterday’s man and his ways don’t work anymore in terms of competing at the very top. You just have to look at the job Arteta is doing to see the contrast. He’s getting everything possible out of an average group and playing good football into the mix. Where are Spurs going under Mourinho? What players has he improved in a similar time in charge to Arteta?

13-09-2020, 05:17 PM
who does kane think he is pushing all the everton players away after that foul :confused:

Yup,but why did no one push him back ?

13-09-2020, 05:21 PM
Yup,but why did no one push him back ?

dunno, i did see one swipe his hands away in a "who the tuck do you think you are punk" manner :greengrin

EI255
13-09-2020, 05:22 PM
Get it right up ye Kane and Deli.

THFC are pi5h.

13-09-2020, 05:30 PM
All 3 of Everton's new signings were excellent. Time will tell but it would be great to see an exciting Everton team up there challenging. Maybe not Champions League yet, we shall see!

13-09-2020, 05:31 PM
Spurs look a poor side these days. Mourinho is yesterday’s man and his ways don’t work anymore in terms of competing at the very top. You just have to look at the job Arteta is doing to see the contrast. He’s getting everything possible out of an average group and playing good football into the mix. Where are Spurs going under Mourinho? What players has he improved in a similar time in charge to Arteta?

Spurs were in absolutely dreadful form for the best part of a year before he joined. He's actually done a decent job if you look at the results.

13-09-2020, 05:34 PM
Everton looked good there :greengrin

13-09-2020, 05:43 PM
Everton looked like a different team a breath of fresh air

Jose did not look too pleased

Speaking of which anyone know when the Hearts Documentary is out ? :greengrin

13-09-2020, 05:47 PM
Spurs were in absolutely dreadful form for the best part of a year before he joined. He's actually done a decent job if you look at the results.

Spurs look as rudderless now as they did when he arrived IMO. Again, particularly compared to Arteta, he looks a dinosaur nowadays. I can’t think of anyone Mourinho has improved. He’ll be sacked by xmas, IMO, having fallen out with everyone.

13-09-2020, 05:48 PM
Levy is the problem at Spurs. They haven't seen the need to buy anyone decent apart from pretty average premier league players.

Everton on the other hand have bought a new midfield and look like adding a few more before the end of the window on 5th October.

That Rodriguez is a tremendous acquisition.

13-09-2020, 05:50 PM
Everton looked like a different team a breath of fresh air

Jose did not look too pleased

Speaking of which anyone know when the Hearts Documentary is out ? :greengrin

I’d forgotten all about that. I’m sure the production company gave a rough idea on Twitter so I’m sure someone will know.

13-09-2020, 05:51 PM
Levy is the problem at Spurs. They haven't seen the need to buy anyone decent apart from pretty average premier league players.

Everton on the other hand have bought a new midfield and look like adding a few more before the end of the window on 5th October.

Rodriguez is far too good for Everton. I’ve no idea if he has had injury issues but if he stays fit then he’ll be outstanding for them.

Magpie
13-09-2020, 05:59 PM

Levy should have backed Pochettino more than he did. He had the team playing entertaining football and got them to a Champions League final without signing any players for about 18 months.

They spent a lot of money on a new stadium but if they don’t produce on the pitch they won’t be filling the stadium.

As another user mentioned, the results under Mourinho haven’t actually been terrible. I think towards the end of last season only Liverpool and Man City had taken more points than Spurs after Mourinho’s arrival?

They have a tight schedule now with 7 games in the next two weeks or something.

13-09-2020, 06:06 PM
C'mon Everton!! Three brilliant signings and all of them played well. Richarlison looked much improved as well. Carlsberg weekend, Hibs and Everton both win and hearts well they're not even allowed to play yet😃

13-09-2020, 06:08 PM
Levy should have backed Pochettino more than he did. He had the team playing entertaining football and got them to a Champions League final without signing any players for about 18 months.

They spent a lot of money on a new stadium but if they don’t produce on the pitch they won’t be filling the stadium.

As another user mentioned, the results under Mourinho haven’t actually been terrible. I think towards the end of last season only Liverpool and Man City had taken more points than Spurs after Mourinho’s arrival?

They have a tight schedule now with 7 games in the next two weeks or something.Poch had good backing, not great but decent. He got them to a Cl final but sacrificed the league to achieve it. It was ultimately meaningless. Everton had signed a whole midfield for the money Poch spent on N'Dombele.

Agree Levy is more the problem. Far too easy to blame Mourinho. This isn't the Spurs side of 2/3 years ago. Vertonghen, their best defender, got old and left. Replaced in the side with Eric Dier. Walker, an excellent fullback, left and was replaced with Aurier. Moussa Dembele, a brilliant player, left and was replaced with N'Dombele who is overweight and injury prone. Dele Ali went completly off a cliff form wise.

2/3 players lose form, 2/3 move on and aren't replaced, thats all it takes

13-09-2020, 06:09 PM
Should have added earlier that it's great to see Mourinho struggle.

SideBurns
13-09-2020, 06:14 PM
Aye, horrendous.

Reminds me a wee bit of the infamous 'chocolate' Coventry City strip from the 70s (did they no' wear it at Easter Road?).

13-09-2020, 06:20 PM
Rodriguez is far too good for Everton. I’ve no idea if he has had injury issues but if he stays fit then he’ll be outstanding for them.

Odd remark. So George Best was far too good for Hibs? Frank Sauzee? Everton are a pretty big club!

Magpie
13-09-2020, 06:22 PM
Poch had good backing, not great but decent. He got them to a Cl final but sacrificed the league to achieve it. It was ultimately meaningless. Everton had signed a whole midfield for the money Poch spent on N'Dombele.

Spurs net spend must have been one of the lowest in the PL under Pochettino’s tenure?

13-09-2020, 06:27 PM
Odd remark. So George Best was far too good for Hibs? Frank Sauzee? Everton are a pretty big club!

I never saw George Best at Hibs. Sauzee probably was too good for Hibs in that he could have been playing at a much higher level. It’s really not that odd a remark - would it still be odd if I said Messi was too good for East Fife? It’s the same thing, just on a less extreme level.

13-09-2020, 06:33 PM
Spurs net spend must have been one of the lowest in the PL under Pochettino’s tenure?

Probably not helped by the fact their stadium was 500 million over budget.

They have spent good money and just because guys like Kane didn't cost 150 million, never winning a trophy with that squad is still very poor.

13-09-2020, 06:34 PM
Spurs look as rudderless now as they did when he arrived IMO. Again, particularly compared to Arteta, he looks a dinosaur nowadays. I can’t think of anyone Mourinho has improved. He’ll be sacked by xmas, IMO, having fallen out with everyone.

Neil Lennon of EPL 🤣

13-09-2020, 06:48 PM
Probably not helped by the fact their stadium was 500 million over budget.

They have spent good money and just because guys like Kane didn't cost 150 million, never winning a trophy with that squad is still very poor.

I could see Kane looking for a move to be honest. He just doesn’t look like winning anything at spurs. As others have said, Mourinho is a football dinosaur now. His style of football has been overtaken by Pep and even Pep’s football coaching runs the risk of being overtaken by the German school. Spurs need to get someone like Nagelsmann from Leipzig - give them some energy and direction

13-09-2020, 06:55 PM
I never saw George Best at Hibs. Sauzee probably was too good for Hibs in that he could have been playing at a much higher level. It’s really not that odd a remark - would it still be odd if I said Messi was too good for East Fife? It’s the same thing, just on a less extreme level.

All right, mate!

Magpie
13-09-2020, 06:55 PM
I could see Kane looking for a move to be honest. He just doesn’t look like winning anything at spurs. As others have said, Mourinho is a football dinosaur now. His style of football has been overtaken by Pep and even Pep’s football coaching runs the risk of being overtaken by the German school. Spurs need to get someone like Nagelsmann from Leipzig - give them some energy and direction

I think Kane will ask to leave next summer but Levy won’t let him go lightly, he has another 4 years on his contract and I can’t see Levy letting him go for anything under £150m, maybe even more.

13-09-2020, 07:36 PM
All right, mate!

Apologies, I didn’t mean for that to come across as arsey as it did on reading it back :greengrin

13-09-2020, 07:40 PM
Paris SG losing again. Game getting a bit tasty. Neymar is a horrible wee so and so

13-09-2020, 08:08 PM
I think Kane will ask to leave next summer but Levy won’t let him go lightly, he has another 4 years on his contract and I can’t see Levy letting him go for anything under £150m, maybe even more.

Swap him for Bale

13-09-2020, 08:36 PM
Swap him for Bale

A world class striker for a washed up golfer. No one is that daft.

13-09-2020, 08:46 PM
OM 5 mins away from their first le classique win in about 10 years.

13-09-2020, 08:50 PM
OM 5 mins away from their first le classique win in about 10 years.

Been a decent game. Some of the tackling had been pretty tough!

13-09-2020, 08:56 PM
Square go in the Paris game! Right kick off 👊

13-09-2020, 08:56 PM
Been a decent game. Some of the tackling had been pretty tough!

Full on fight now :lol:
**** psg

13-09-2020, 08:58 PM
Full on fight now :lol:
**** psg

4 red cards !

13-09-2020, 08:59 PM
4 red cards !

Make it 5! Neymar gets his jotters

13-09-2020, 09:13 PM
À jamais le première :flag:No social distancing in Marseille tonight.

13-09-2020, 09:39 PM
The PSG 8 0 v 1 The Marseilles 9

:wtf:

13-09-2020, 09:43 PM
Bit mad

https://twitter.com/opengoalsport/status/1305254759620804609?s=21

13-09-2020, 09:44 PM
Poch had good backing, not great but decent. He got them to a Cl final but sacrificed the league to achieve it. It was ultimately meaningless. Everton had signed a whole midfield for the money Poch spent on N'Dombele.

Agree Levy is more the problem. Far too easy to blame Mourinho. This isn't the Spurs side of 2/3 years ago. Vertonghen, their best defender, got old and left. Replaced in the side with Eric Dier. Walker, an excellent fullback, left and was replaced with Aurier. Moussa Dembele, a brilliant player, left and was replaced with N'Dombele who is overweight and injury prone. Dele Ali went completly off a cliff form wise.

2/3 players lose form, 2/3 move on and aren't replaced, thats all it takes

It’s surely harsh to blame Levy for replacing Walker and Dembele with Aurier and N’Dombele. They must have cost about £75m between them, and came with good reputations. They’ve just been poor performers.

13-09-2020, 10:09 PM
Bit mad

https://twitter.com/opengoalsport/status/1305254759620804609?s=21

Some tweey this from Neyamr, not sure what all went on?

Único arrependimento que tenho é por não ter dado na cara desse babaca

14-09-2020, 07:03 AM
It’s surely harsh to blame Levy for replacing Walker and Dembele with Aurier and N’Dombele. They must have cost about £75m between them, and came with good reputations. They’ve just been poor performers.

I agree, that's why I don't think poch gets anywhere near enough stick. The billion pound stadium is the huge thing no one talks about. Made an absolute mess of it.

14-09-2020, 10:05 AM
Paris SG losing again. Game getting a bit tasty. Neymar is a horrible wee so and so
Boy oh boy, that game was a throw back to the football played when I was a young man, miss it in a way. 👌

14-09-2020, 10:19 AM
Get ****ed Neymar and PSG. As a Marseille fan, absolutely delighted.

14-09-2020, 11:45 AM
Some footage of the ref warming up before the PSG OM game last night :greengrin

https://mobile.twitter.com/andyha_/status/1305252588154167301

renato
14-09-2020, 12:19 PM
À jamais le première :flag:No social distancing in Marseille tonight.

Well done OM 👍.

Brilliant exchange between TT and AVB last night too:

Villas-Boas: "Tuchel told me that I should play Lotto. I told him that he had played Lotto against Atalanta"

14-09-2020, 01:25 PM
Interesting to see how the Neymar racist claim is handled. Horrendous if true and the OM player should face seriously ban. So should Di Maria for spitting days after leaving quarentine for Covid 19

14-09-2020, 07:08 PM
Interesting to see how the Neymar racist claim is handled. Horrendous if true and the OM player should face seriously ban. So should Di Maria for spitting days after leaving quarentine for Covid 19

Im sure we’re all committed to being against racist abuse. It has to be said though, if there was an occasion to be sceptical about the veracity of a players claim, Neymar is that player. Wasn’t there the false chucking banana claim against the Tartan Army?

Steve Mandanda was rightly el phenomeno yesterday, 9/10 in L’Equipe, some unbelievable saves, there was one from Veratti in the first half from 6 yards that I’ve rewatched five times and I still can’t work how he reacted so quick.

Magpie
14-09-2020, 08:41 PM
Brighton have been unlucky this evening

14-09-2020, 08:59 PM
Im sure we’re all committed to being against racist abuse. It has to be said though, if there was an occasion to be sceptical about the veracity of a players claim, Neymar is that player. Wasn’t there the false chucking banana claim against the Tartan Army?

Steve Mandanda was rightly el phenomeno yesterday, 9/10 in L’Equipe, some unbelievable saves, there was one from Veratti in the first half from 6 yards that I’ve rewatched five times and I still can’t work how he reacted so quick.Neymar said 'Scots fans are racist' after game staged in London. Turned out banana which was thrown was thrown by a German tourist.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

EI255
14-09-2020, 09:12 PM
Brighton have been unlucky this eveningThey were.

Not really that impressed with Chelsea. Fortunate to come away 1-3 winners.

Magpie
14-09-2020, 10:25 PM
They were.

Not really that impressed with Chelsea. Fortunate to come away 1-3 winners.

Will take a bit of time for the likes of Havertz and Ziyech to settle in but Werner will score goals. Chilwell and Silva will be strong additions to their defence. Don’t know much about Mendy the goalkeeper they are bringing in.

I think they will get top four but think they are still a bit of way off being title contenders. Next week against Liverpool will be a good test for them.

15-09-2020, 06:46 AM
Will take a bit of time for the likes of Havertz and Ziyech to settle in but Werner will score goals. Chilwell and Silva will be strong additions to their defence. Don’t know much about Mendy the goalkeeper they are bringing in.

I think they will get top four but think they are still a bit of way off being title contenders. Next week against Liverpool will be a good test for them.

Mendy is an interesting story. Rejected twice at french academies, had given up on football and doing various odd jobs at 24, four years later he takes Rennes on a run to champions league qualification and £20 million player at 28.

15-09-2020, 06:49 PM
No McGinn for Villa, rested or injured?

16-09-2020, 06:50 PM
St Mirren 1 v 0 Celtic

Lee Erwin

16-09-2020, 07:06 PM
St Mirren 1 v 1 Celtic

16-09-2020, 07:06 PM
St Mirren 1 v 1 Celtic

Boo

16-09-2020, 07:07 PM
St Mirren 1 v 1 Celtic

Duffy header

16-09-2020, 08:24 PM
Celtic are boring this season - Huns a far better and more exciting team, sadly.

16-09-2020, 08:33 PM
PSG 0 v 0 Metz

Abdou Diallo sent off for PSG second yellow 65 minutes

16-09-2020, 08:41 PM
Celtic are boring this season - Huns a far better and more exciting team, sadly.

Celtic have played a game less and there’s one goal in the goal difference. Can’t be that much difference in excitement terms?

16-09-2020, 08:42 PM
leeds reserves equalise v hull in the 93rd minute, hull deserved to win this with docherty pulling out a good save by cassila, shoot out now

bielsa obviously couldn't give a stuff about a cup run by playing a different 11 from the game at liverpool, poor show bielsa

thegaffer12
16-09-2020, 08:53 PM
St Mirren looked good tonight. Shows that Saturdays result was no mean feat.

16-09-2020, 08:55 PM
PSG 1 v 0 Metz. FT

16-09-2020, 08:58 PM
hull win 9-8

16-09-2020, 08:59 PM
Hull City knockout Leeds United on penalties in ELC

16-09-2020, 09:04 PM
Leeds out......................:bye:

17-09-2020, 06:12 AM
Celtic have played a game less and there’s one goal in the goal difference. Can’t be that much difference in excitement terms?

Stats, meh :greengrin

I am just basing it on the matches I have watched.

Rangers seem to have the tools to break down teams a bit easier. They have invested heavily in fast skilful players like Kent - and as we know with Boyle, pace is a massive tool in this league.

Celtic feel a bit more pedestrian by comparison - they will win most of their matches, but for the riches at their disposal I would be hoping / expecting more if I supported them.............especially this season.

17-09-2020, 07:24 AM
Just looking at Celtic’s stats on bbc website from last nights game
They had 77% possession, that must be the highest for a while

17-09-2020, 08:16 AM

Rangers seem to have the tools to break down teams a bit easier. They have invested heavily in fast skilful players like Kent - and as we know with Boyle, pace is a massive tool in this league.

Celtic feel a bit more pedestrian by comparison - they will win most of their matches, but for the riches at their disposal I would be hoping / expecting more if I supported them.............especially this season.

So far this season they've scored 6 once, 5 twice, 3 v Motherwell...

17-09-2020, 08:21 AM

I agree. Rangers to me look the better, more balanced team so far. What worries me is that over the last couple of seasons Rangers strengths have really shown up our weaknesses. That's not so much the case when we play Celtic.

17-09-2020, 08:39 AM
I can't be the only one that feels a bit sorry for St Mirren.

That's two games in a row that they could feel a bit aggrieved about not being awarded a penalty.

17-09-2020, 10:18 AM
I can't be the only one that feels a bit sorry for St Mirren.

That's two games in a row that they could feel a bit aggrieved about not being awarded a penalty.

Aye they're not getting the breaks just now that's for sure.

17-09-2020, 10:36 AM
Aye they're not getting the breaks just now that's for sure.

I thought they played quite well last night, just need some luck, I liked the look of Erahon.

17-09-2020, 10:37 AM
I thought they played quite well last night, just need some luck, I liked the look of Erahon.

Yeah, agree .They look a better side this season . Think Goodwin is doing a decent job . Could see them competing for a top six slot ..

mal
17-09-2020, 10:40 AM

Celtic have scored 2 more goals than the Rangers despite having playing 1 game fewer. They've also scored in all their games while the Rangers failed to break down Livi. In fact, the Rangers have only scored 4 more goals than us. Their biggest success this season has been in preventing the opposition from scoring.

17-09-2020, 10:49 AM
Yeah, agree .They look a better side this season . Think Goodwin is doing a decent job . Could see them competing for a top six slot ..

Didn't see last nights game however was genuinely surprised how poor they were on Saturday on the back of another poor performance away in Perth when they were flattered only losing by one. Think they have a decent squad in the main.

17-09-2020, 10:51 AM
Didn't see last nights game however was genuinely surprised how poor they were on Saturday on the back of another poor performance away in Perth when they were flattered only losing by one. Think they have a decent squad in the main.

Yeah, agree on that ...you can only assume their disrupted preparation had quite an impact on them. Their aftermath comments suggested they were feeling sorry for themselves ..wouldn’t have helped them

17-09-2020, 11:02 AM

I'd take Jim Goodwin at Easter Road one day.

17-09-2020, 11:03 AM

He’d reject us again [emoji6][emoji106]

17-09-2020, 12:55 PM
Playing for Salford City at Goodison last night was Richie Towell - formerly of this parish around 2012.

17-09-2020, 02:38 PM
Greg Stewart makes a rate start for Rangers this afternoon, against Red Imps
4pm Ko
Mcgregor back in goals as well

17-09-2020, 02:40 PM

Always spoken very highly of Hibs

17-09-2020, 03:56 PM
Huns 2 up against The Red Imps

17-09-2020, 04:07 PM
The lad Roofe off injured with a calf injury. Seemingly he’s struggled with this at Leeds and Anderlecht
Looks like it will be Morelos up front for Rangers on Sunday then. If they were to sell Morelos, really light up front

17-09-2020, 04:13 PM
Rangers game looks like its being played on a hockey pitch.

Gaffer1875
17-09-2020, 04:19 PM
Wrong thread

17-09-2020, 04:46 PM
Rangers game looks like its being played on a hockey pitch.
4 nil up, both Defoe & Morellos score

17-09-2020, 05:30 PM
Spurs 1-0 down
Hibernians 0-0

Magpie
17-09-2020, 05:36 PM
Spurs 1-0 down
Hibernians 0-0

Spurs now 1-1. Plovdiv down to 9 men.

Magpie
17-09-2020, 05:41 PM
2-1 Spurs. Kane and Ndombele

17-09-2020, 05:43 PM
4 nil up, both Defoe & Morellos score

I hate them, and I hate Gerrard. Utterly disgusting but starting to think they are 'the people' once again. What short memories they have. I hope they win nothing.

17-09-2020, 05:43 PM
Motherwell game on the bbc sports app at 7.30

Magpie
17-09-2020, 05:45 PM
Plovdiv down to 8 men

17-09-2020, 05:47 PM
Motherwell game on the bbc sports app at 7.30

Online too

17-09-2020, 05:55 PM
Plovdiv down to 8 men

Another 2 and game abandoned 😁

17-09-2020, 06:20 PM
Coleraine v Motherwell live on the link below at 7.30

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/54061141

Gaffer1875
17-09-2020, 06:20 PM
Coleraine v Motherwell live on the link below at 7.30

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/54061141

Us open golf for me [emoji2]

17-09-2020, 06:22 PM
Shamrock Rovers still Holding Milan at 0-0

17-09-2020, 06:23 PM
........... and before the co-efficient stalwarts get their bit in, I hope Aberdeen and Motherwell come real croppers tonight. Unfortunately, The Rangers improved the co-efficient earlier today but in doing so, boosted their morale and confidence for our game at the weekend. A real tough one for us.

17-09-2020, 06:28 PM
I hate them, and I hate Gerrard. Utterly disgusting but starting to think they are 'the people' once again. What short memories they have. I hope they win nothing.

A man after my own heart. The things I’ve heard about Gerrard’s hatred of and pettiness towards Hibs would turn your stomach. A nasty, bitter small man.

17-09-2020, 06:29 PM
Shamrock Rovers still Holding Milan at 0-0

Just as i type that Milan score

Magpie
17-09-2020, 06:34 PM
Zlatan with the goal for Milan. Would love Hibs to get a big tie in Europe.

17-09-2020, 06:43 PM
The Motherwell game is alright when Tommy Wright isnt talking. You'd think he was at a funeral

17-09-2020, 06:51 PM
The #UEL match between Riga FC and Tre Flori has been abandoned after a storm in the Latvian capital forced part of the stadium's roof to collapse.

Riga FC are in discussions with UEFA to try to play the game tomorrow.

The winners of the tie play Celtic.

Magpie
17-09-2020, 07:18 PM
Ross McCrorie strikes again. 1-0 Dons

17-09-2020, 07:26 PM
Ross McCrorie strikes again. 1-0 Dons
According to the BBC it was McGeoch
Sorry correct that my football app says McGeoch, BBC
McCrorie, who knows.?

17-09-2020, 07:29 PM

Aberdeen twitter has it as McCrorie,tbf they look similar 😅

Magpie
17-09-2020, 07:30 PM

No idea, saw it on Twitter 😂

17-09-2020, 07:31 PM
Aberdeen twitter has it as McCrorie.....

So does the BBC.

17-09-2020, 07:38 PM
So does the BBC.
See my edit

17-09-2020, 07:39 PM
My app initially said Mc Geoch but it has since changed it to McCrorie so I’m presuming there was a mix up and it’s sorted now.

17-09-2020, 07:49 PM
Still only a goal in it but Aberdeen in control.

17-09-2020, 07:51 PM
Marseille 0 St Etienne 1 at HT.

17-09-2020, 08:07 PM
2-0 Aberdeen. Ryan Hedges direct from corner kick. 78mins played.

Magpie
17-09-2020, 08:07 PM
2-0 Aberdeen. Sporting Lisbon away next.

17-09-2020, 08:16 PM
Great tie

Magpie
17-09-2020, 08:18 PM
Motherwell down to 10 and now 2-2 in the 90th minute

17-09-2020, 08:18 PM
Coleraine 2 v 2 Motherwell

17-09-2020, 08:20 PM
Absolutely awful refereeing performance here.

Have to say I thought early on the home side were getting most niggly 50/50's, and that was before the ref made a point of booking a Motherwell coach for not a whole lot and giving 2 soft pens.

17-09-2020, 08:22 PM
Full time. Dons go thru 2-0.

17-09-2020, 08:23 PM
ET coleraine v murrawell

17-09-2020, 08:25 PM
Absolutely awful refereeing performance here.

Have to say I thought early on the home side were getting most niggly 50/50's, and that was before the ref made a point of booking a Motherwell coach for not a whole lot and giving 2 soft pens.

Must admit I had the same feeling about the ref even when they were 2 up. Motherwell have been absolutely honking though especially in the 2nd half.

17-09-2020, 08:33 PM
<div>
2-0 Aberdeen. Sporting Lisbon away next.</div>
Great tie.

Magpie
17-09-2020, 09:06 PM
Motherwell win on penalties

17-09-2020, 09:08 PM

3 0 three saves by Trevor Carson. Glad they went through.

17-09-2020, 09:08 PM
Keeper did really well

Magpie
17-09-2020, 09:10 PM
Lincoln or Liverpool v Leicester/Arsenal

Leyton Orient or Spurs v Chelsea/Barnsley

Carabao Cup draw

17-09-2020, 09:29 PM

Sporting club de portugal.

Only team with sporting Lisbon in their name are benfica.

Magpie
17-09-2020, 09:32 PM
Sporting club de portugal.

Only team with sporting Lisbon in their name are benfica.

Every day’s a school day as they say. I’m sure most people refer to them colloquially as Sporting Lisbon.

Magpie
17-09-2020, 09:34 PM
Spurs schedule could potentially be crazy over the next couple of weeks. Imagine if that was us 😂

Sun 20: Southampton (A)
Tue 22: Orient (A)
Thu 24: Shkëndija (A)
Sun 27: Newcastle (H)
Tue 29: Chelsea/Barnsley (H)
Thu 01: Europa League
Sat 03: Man Utd (A)

17-09-2020, 09:38 PM
Spurs schedule could potentially be crazy over the next couple of weeks. Imagine if that was us [emoji23]

Sun 20: Southampton (A)
Tue 22: Orient (A)
Thu 24: Shkëndija (A)
Sun 27: Newcastle (H)
Tue 29: Chelsea/Barnsley (H)
Thu 01: Europa League
Sat 03: Man Utd (A)

I’m guessing they’ll play a reserve side in their league cup games ....

Magpie
17-09-2020, 09:43 PM
I’m guessing they’ll play a reserve side in their league cup games ....

You would expect so. Don’t think the Man Utd game has been selected for TV yet either so that will probably be moved to a Sunday afternoon or Monday night.

18-09-2020, 05:40 AM
Every day’s a school day as they say. I’m sure most people refer to them colloquially as Sporting Lisbon.

Much like it's Celtic Glasgow or Hibernian Edinburgh on the continent.

18-09-2020, 05:56 AM
Motherwell just avoiding a very embarrassing result for Scottish football. After Kilmarnock losing to that Welsh side last season it wouldn't have been a good look.

18-09-2020, 06:09 AM
Motherwell just avoiding a very embarrassing result for Scottish football. After Kilmarnock losing to that Welsh side last season it wouldn't have been a good look.

Coleraine won away to Maribor in the last round so must have a bit about them.

18-09-2020, 08:31 AM
Assuming Aberdeen and Motherwell don’t make it any further, how much money have they already pocketed from these European runs?

EI255
18-09-2020, 10:00 AM
Watched Motherwell last night and they were truly awful.

I see Stephen Robinson is blaming the pitch. Aye, right.

Was difficult to know who were the full time and who were the part time club.

Coleraine hadn't played in over three weeks either.

If Motherwell continue that form they are heading down. OMG, they were bad.

EI255
18-09-2020, 10:04 AM
Coleraine won away to Maribor in the last round so must have a bit about them.No, there really wasn't. They are probably Scottish league one standard, at very best. They beat Maribor on pens. Anyone can park a bus. Watched them last night and they had two players clearly overweight too. Motherwell struggled against themselves at times. Hoof ball and no desire. They have no decent young guys either. Worrying times if you're a Well man.

Renfrew_Hibby
18-09-2020, 10:19 AM
No, there really wasn't. They are probably Scottish league one standard, at very best. They beat Maribor on pens. Anyone can park a bus. Watched them last night and they had two players clearly overweight too. Motherwell struggled against themselves at times. Hoof ball and no desire. They have no decent young guys either. Worrying times if you're a Well man.

Quite a turnaround in fortunes gor the well if thars the case. Why the dramatic decline in fortunes?

18-09-2020, 10:27 AM
Quite a turnaround in fortunes gor the well if thars the case. Why the dramatic decline in fortunes?

It’s been happening since the turn of the year, not just this season

18-09-2020, 10:31 AM

Think it’s just the inevitable decline once their team has been broken up. They’ve lost Turnbull, Hastie, James Scott, Gillespie, Kipre, Main over the last few seasons with Campbell soon to follow.

18-09-2020, 01:08 PM

They were never actually that good. Just had a good first half of last season. Bottom half the 2 years before under Robinson.

Magpie
18-09-2020, 01:31 PM
Motherwell were unlucky not to beat us a few weeks ago. But their record in their last 20 games or so is stinking.

Magpie
18-09-2020, 01:32 PM
Potentially Rangers v Galatasaray in the Europa League Play Off for anyone interested.

Magpie
18-09-2020, 05:41 PM
Diego Jota going to Liverpool for a reported £35m. Brought in as a back up or could Real Madrid be looking at Mane to replace Bale?

18-09-2020, 06:22 PM
Diego Jota going to Liverpool for a reported £35m. Brought in as a back up or could Real Madrid be looking at Mane to replace Bale?

Back up. Bale doesn't need replaced. He wasn't a first team player. They have Asensio, Vinicius and Rodyrgo for that position as well.

No chance Mane would be leaving regardless IMO. Would cost silly money.

18-09-2020, 06:41 PM

He'd be a good signing for them. I was impressed by him last season.

18-09-2020, 06:47 PM
Potentially Rangers v Galatasaray in the Europa League Play Off for anyone interested.

Who? don't think any team goes by that name anymore, perhaps you mean sevco, why would anyone be even remotely interested in what the hun do. This is a Hibs forum.

18-09-2020, 06:51 PM

Surely wrong thread.

18-09-2020, 06:53 PM

Thank god there will be no fans at that game.

Magpie
18-09-2020, 07:44 PM
Who? don't think any team goes by that name anymore, perhaps you mean sevco, why would anyone be even remotely interested in what the hun do. This is a Hibs forum.

I was commenting about a game on a thread which is specifically for talking about games not involving Hibs.

Magpie
18-09-2020, 07:47 PM
Surely wrong thread.

👍🏻 was sceptical of putting it in the other thread incase I got accused of not keeping on topic of Hibs signings.

18-09-2020, 08:04 PM
Bayern Munich 7-0 Schalke after 75 minutes. Ridiculous.

Magpie
18-09-2020, 08:05 PM
Bayern 7-0 Schalke

Gnabry hat trick and Sane debut goal.

Champions League winners again this season imo

18-09-2020, 08:06 PM
Bayern Munich 7-0 Schalke after 75 minutes. Ridiculous.

Schalke forums will be a hoot 😁

18-09-2020, 08:11 PM
Schalke forums will be a hoot 😁

I bet! Not acceptable for such a big club, even against a great Bayern team.

18-09-2020, 08:12 PM
8-0 now.

18-09-2020, 08:32 PM
Dunno how David Wagner still has a job. Stealing a living as a football manager.

Magpie
18-09-2020, 08:45 PM
Dunno how David Wagner still has a job. Stealing a living as a football manager.

Managed Dortmund Reserve team and lost more games than he won in 164 games- averaging 1.33 points per game.

Same scenario at Huddersfield managing 154 games and averaging 1.23 points per game.

Only one win in his last 19 games as manager of Schalke.

Surely he gets the sack by the end of the weekend?

18-09-2020, 09:07 PM
Managed Dortmund Reserve team and lost more games than he won in 164 games- averaging 1.33 points per game.

Same scenario at Huddersfield managing 154 games and averaging 1.23 points per game.

Only one win in his last 19 games as manager of Schalke.

Surely he gets the sack by the end of the weekend?

Amazing how far being Jurgen Klopps mate can get you.

18-09-2020, 09:13 PM
Amazing how far being Jurgen Klopps mate can get you.

Germany's version of Steve McClaren

19-09-2020, 09:09 AM
Great win for Coventry last night, another club embroiled in off field controversies
No idea what is the latest with them, as they are still playing at Birmingham’s stadium
Only watched a small bit, but Lee Wallace looks well past his sell by date, at this level

19-09-2020, 11:58 AM
Everton losing at home to WBA

19-09-2020, 12:05 PM
1-1 VAR correctly over ruled the linesman’s offside flag

19-09-2020, 12:17 PM
2-1 Everton great finish from James

19-09-2020, 12:18 PM
Red card for Gibbs of WBA crazy from him

19-09-2020, 12:21 PM
Slaven Billic red carded at HT for his protests

19-09-2020, 12:38 PM
2-2 stunning free kick
Though I wonder why Pickford didn’t make more of an effort to dive

19-09-2020, 12:38 PM
What an equaliser by Pereira, identical free kick to Sparky at the pbs in 2013.

On a 2nd look it wasn't as hard or as far in the top corner as Sparky's! Still a cracker.