View Full Version : Match Updates 2020-21 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 [50] 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80

07-02-2021, 05:39 PM
Has The Rangers' much predicted collapse finally started?

As hilarious as it would be, if Celtic win their two games in hand they'd be 15 points behind with 30 to play for. Can't see the huns losing five of their remaining 10 games.

Just hope we pump them post split!

Sorry, sarcasm on my part.

07-02-2021, 05:40 PM
Scotland will beat England at Wembley. Every major tournement we hear how great they are.

Well they got to the semi final at the last world cup, that's pretty good going.

If we can get away with only losing by a couple of goals we'll have done well.

07-02-2021, 05:54 PM
Salah really is a cheat...goes down like he's been shot every time someone so much as breathes in him in box
Modern football unfortunately, he is not alone 🙄

07-02-2021, 05:57 PM
Liverpool must now focus on getting top four. They are struggling.

Hope Everton finish above them. :tee hee:

07-02-2021, 05:59 PM
Liverpool aren't having the best title defense.

07-02-2021, 06:03 PM
Liverpool lost the league the day they decided to play centre midfielders at centre half instead of spending money to replace Van Dijk. You can't expect to win a league of England's quality by doing that.

Van Dijk is a huge miss but playing Fabinho and latterly Henderson at centre half is just asking for trouble.

Said the same earlier in the thread, not as if they couldn't afford it.

JXM73
07-02-2021, 06:03 PM
Mopes getting pumped again, pleasing....

07-02-2021, 06:12 PM
JFK was in the White House the last time Liverpool lost three consecutive league games at home: 1963. That after 68 home games unbeaten, too!

07-02-2021, 06:17 PM
England are one of the best teams in the world without a doubt. Scotland will get pumped at Wembley.

Think that was the consensus before the Calcutta Cup in the egg chasing yesterday too.

07-02-2021, 06:19 PM
Told my old man to watch out for Mount and Foden at the start of the season, great talents. England's new Lampard and Gerard (may even be able to fit them into the same team)?

Foden is an incredible talent, at least a level above Mount.

While Mount is a good player, I’d be surprised if he came close to Lampard or Gerrards level.

07-02-2021, 06:26 PM
Think that was the consensus before the Calcutta Cup in the egg chasing yesterday too.

Was it? Most reports I seen felt Scotland had a chance due to England's injuries and there being no crowd.

Scotland were also the shortest price they had been at Twickenham in over 10 years so not sure what consensus you picked up that we'd be pumped.

07-02-2021, 06:51 PM
Was it? Most reports I seen felt Scotland had a chance due to England's injuries and there being no crowd.

Scotland were also the shortest price they had been at Twickenham in over 10 years so not sure what consensus you picked up that we'd be pumped.

I dunno what price we’ve been previous years but we were 7/1 yesterday. England 1/6. If that’s not a clear favourite then I dunno what is.

07-02-2021, 06:58 PM
Just watching the Sheffield United v Chelsea game and McBurnie in particular. Inceredible he is playing at EPL level. Offers absolutely nothing. Breaks into a trot now and then but contributes nothing and looks as if he can't be @rsed.

07-02-2021, 06:58 PM
Nice finish from Mount there.

07-02-2021, 06:59 PM
Really want to see Werner do well. Think there is a brilliant wee player in there once he gets a bit of a streak.

Magpie
07-02-2021, 07:13 PM
Just watching the Sheffield United v Chelsea game and McBurnie in particular. Inceredible he is playing at EPL level. Offers absolutely nothing. Breaks into a trot now and then but contributes nothing and looks as if he can't be @rsed.

Doubt he be back in the EPL once Sheffield Utd get relegated. He will end up at Rangers one day.

Magpie
07-02-2021, 07:26 PM
That own goal, outrageous

07-02-2021, 07:26 PM
That own goal, outrageous

Shocker! ☺

Magpie
07-02-2021, 07:29 PM
2-1 Chelsea

07-02-2021, 07:32 PM
Calamitous stuff from both sides. Hopeless.

cannastar
07-02-2021, 07:36 PM
think iv lost track of the rules now sheff utd goalie takes out weirner and after an age the game is brought back and penalty awarded for a foul but no card shown. is it just me or is anyone else not understanding refereeing/var decisions.

07-02-2021, 07:39 PM
think iv lost track of the rules now sheff utd goalie takes out weirner and after an age the game is brought back and penalty awarded for a foul but no card shown. is it just me or is anyone else not understanding refereeing/var decisions.

Not a clue a) how the ref missed it, b) how the Lino on that side missed it, and c) how it wasn’t a yellow card.

07-02-2021, 07:41 PM
With Mcburnie and Burke up front I was shocked to see Sheff Utd had scored, and yes, Chelsea OG. £30 million for that pair, 2 league goals between them this season! Hope neither of them are anywhere near the Scotland Euro squad. I’d fancy them coming for Nisbet in the summer but doubt they want to take a chance on another Scottish striker!

07-02-2021, 07:42 PM
Betis 1 Barcelona 0

07-02-2021, 08:29 PM
England are one of the best teams in the world without a doubt. Scotland will get pumped at Wembley.

Not so sure we should have beaten them last time we played them and we are better now.

07-02-2021, 10:39 PM
Foden is an incredible talent, at least a level above Mount.

While Mount is a good player, I’d be surprised if he came close to Lampard or Gerrards level.

Agreed. Foden is a brilliant player!

Neither will come close to the levels Lampard Or Gerrard achieved though. Being Scottish I'm chuffed at that.

08-02-2021, 07:35 AM
Agreed. Foden is a brilliant player!

Neither will come close to the levels Lampard Or Gerrard achieved though. Being Scottish I'm chuffed at that.

Fodden already has a league title and looking like he’ll add another this season, 1 FA cup and 3 league cups all while still only 20. It looks like he’ll have a similar, perhaps even better, trophy cabinet than both.

Mount seems a decent talent but don’t think he’ll ever be as good as Gerrard or Lampard were.

08-02-2021, 12:23 PM
Fodden already has a league title and looking like he’ll add another this season, 1 FA cup and 3 league cups all while still only 20. It looks like he’ll have a similar, perhaps even better, trophy cabinet than both.

Mount seems a decent talent but don’t think he’ll ever be as good as Gerrard or Lampard were.

Bit more to it than trophies, though. Wilshere was a better player than Foden at 20 and he went nowhere due to injury.

08-02-2021, 12:43 PM
Bit more to it than trophies, though. Wilshere was a better player than Foden at 20 and he went nowhere due to injury.

That’s subjective. I’d probably say Fodden is at a comparable level to Wilshire at the same age. Fodden is undoubtedly lucky to have come through at Man City when he has, but not sure there will have been many 20 year olds that can match what he’s already won. Not many 20 year olds that are regulars in a Guardiola team either.

I don’t see him being a talisman to single handedly drag his team on like Gerrard, but I don’t see Lampard as that either. Gerrard is quite unique in that respect IMO. If Fodden continues as he is doing I think he’ll comfortably fit into a comparison with Gerrard and Lampard in terms of their careers. He could get an injury and never recover or Man City might become just one of the pack after Guardiola and his rate of trophies dry up.

08-02-2021, 02:20 PM

Two league titles already. 17/18 and 18/19.

08-02-2021, 02:41 PM
Two league titles already. 17/18 and 18/19.

Right you are. A minimum of 3 titles at the end of this season, 1 FA cup 3 league cups all by 21 is some going.

Magpie
08-02-2021, 04:05 PM

Wilshere’s best season in the PL (10/11) saw him get 1 goal and 3 assists in 35 appearances. Foden was 1 assist away from matching that yesterday.

In what respect do you think Wilshere was better?

CloudSquall
08-02-2021, 04:14 PM
Well they got to the semi final at the last world cup, that's pretty good going.

If we can get away with only losing by a couple of goals we'll have done well.

I think the kids call this "being cucked".

08-02-2021, 04:16 PM
Wilshere’s best season in the PL (10/11) saw him get 1 goal and 3 assists in 35 appearances. Foden was 1 assist away from matching that yesterday.

In what respect do you think Wilshere was better?

Well obviously the other parts of football. He got zero assist or goals vs Barcelona but went toe to toe with Xavi, Iniesta and Busquets and beat them. Wilshere was not an attacking midfielder like Foden is. He was an exceptional talent. Foden is also an exception talent to be fair, could be a wonderful player.

Magpie
08-02-2021, 04:20 PM
Well obviously the other parts of football. He got zero assist or goals vs Barcelona but went toe to toe with Xavi, Iniesta and Busquets and beat them. Wilshere was not an attacking midfielder like Foden is.

Fair enough. I’ve seen Victor Wanyama go toe to toe with those players and beat them. The defensive side of the game Wilshere was much better but Foden is the better of the two IMO.

08-02-2021, 04:24 PM
Fair enough. I’ve seen Victor Wanyama go toe to toe with those players and beat them. The defensive side of the game Wilshere was much better but Foden is the better of the two IMO.

:faf: come on. Wanyama sat back and had 19% possession. Wilshere went toe to toe with them for real. Wilshere was totally different. More McGinn to Fodens Allan. He let Nasri and Arshavin etc play. He won it back, drove, moved it forward.

Magpie
08-02-2021, 04:31 PM
:faf: come on. Wanyama sat back and had 19% possession. Wilshere went toe to toe with them for real. Wilshere was totally different. More McGinn to Fodens Allan. He let Nasri and Arshavin etc play. He won it back, drove, moved it forward.

I’d even go as far to say that Wanyama was a better defensive player to be fair.

Wanyama’s first season in the PL with Southampton compared to Wilshere in 10/11.

Wanyama-

Appearances- 23
Minutes played- 1,659
Tackles- 65
Tackles won- 53
Aerial battles won- 53

Wilshere-

Appearances- 35
Minutes played- 2,650
Tackles- 58
Tackles won- 42
Aerial battles won- 11

08-02-2021, 04:53 PM
I’d even go as far to say that Wanyama was a better defensive player to be fair.

Wanyama’s first season in the PL with Southampton compared to Wilshere in 10/11.

Wanyama-

Appearances- 23
Minutes played- 1,659
Tackles- 65
Tackles won- 53
Aerial battles won- 53

Wilshere-

Appearances- 35
Minutes played- 2,650
Tackles- 58
Tackles won- 42
Aerial battles won- 11
The defensive midfielder was the better defensively? No way.

Again, its like comparing Marv to Mcginn to Allan. 12 cm difference between them and you are comparing aerial battles.

Wilshere was real class on the pitch. Bit of a tit off it and really ruined by injury.

Magpie
08-02-2021, 04:54 PM
The defensive midfielder was the better defensively? No way.

Again, its like comparing Marv to Mcginn to Allan. 12 cm difference between them and you are comparing aerial battles.

Wilshere was real class on the pitch. Bit of a tit off it and really ruined by injury.

Dele Alli was also better than Jack Wilshere at his age.

08-02-2021, 04:57 PM
Dele Alli was also better than Jack Wilshere at his age.

Again, totally different players. Allis best patch was playing as a second striker, Wilshere was a central midfielder. Based on stats sure. Actual quality though, not in my view. Alli is finished at 24 without a trophy to his name or an injury to blame. Wilshere didn't have a club until the 18th of January and still has the same number of league appearences as Alli this season :faf:

Magpie
08-02-2021, 05:02 PM
Again, totally different players. Allis best patch was playing as a second striker, Wilshere was a central midfielder. Based on stats sure. Actual quality though, not in my view. Alli is finished at 24 without a trophy to his name or an injury to blame. Wilshere didn't have a club until the 18th of January and still has the same number of league appearences as Alli this season :faf:

I thought we were comparing the players at 20? It was only a few posts ago that you were claiming that trophies aren’t everything. Alli was superior to Wilshere in both attacking and defensive aspects when you compare them at that age, the stats are there to see. You are hyping Wilshere on a game against Barcelona, there are many players who have played well against the top clubs, Dele Alli went toe to toe with Kroos, Modric and Casemiro in a 3-1 win over Real Madrid too the season they went on to win it.

08-02-2021, 06:01 PM
Well obviously the other parts of football. He got zero assist or goals vs Barcelona but went toe to toe with Xavi, Iniesta and Busquets and beat them. Wilshere was not an attacking midfielder like Foden is. He was an exceptional talent. Foden is also an exception talent to be fair, could be a wonderful player.

Reminds me of the Tony Watt V Harry Kane debate. Aye Kane has all the stats in his favour but has he scored the winner against Barca?

08-02-2021, 06:02 PM
Bayern beating Ahl Ahly (Egypt) 1-0 at half time in the semi finals of the World club championship

Earlier Tigres of Mexico beat Palmeiras of Brazil 1-0 in the other semi final.

Match is on BBC red button (Ch 981 on a Sky box) and Iplayer.

08-02-2021, 06:02 PM
Klopp acting like a twat part 10

https://twitter.com/jamiecweir/status/1358794452794552323?s=19

08-02-2021, 06:08 PM
Klopp acting like a twat part 10

https://twitter.com/jamiecweir/status/1358794452794552323?s=19

His personality seems to have changed ...he does seem to be much less of a “wise owl” style coach When interviewed after a defeat or two ...

SJNB Hibby
08-02-2021, 06:09 PM
Bayern beating Ahl Ahly (Egypt) 1-0 at half time in the semi finals of the World club championship

Earlier Tigres of Mexico beat Palmeiras of Brazil 1-0 in the other semi final.

Match is on BBC red button (Ch 981 on a Sky box) and Iplayer.
Bayern might regret missing all those missed chances in the first 15 minutes when they were totally dominant
Wide open game and AL Ajly happy to go right at them

08-02-2021, 06:44 PM
2-0 Bayern a late second to wrap it up. Fair play to Al Ahly had a bit of go in the second half.

SJNB Hibby
08-02-2021, 06:46 PM
2-0 Bayern a late second to wrap it up. Fair play to Al Ahly had a bit of go in the second half.

Been a good game to wTch

08-02-2021, 06:47 PM
Reminds me of the Tony Watt V Harry Kane debate. Aye Kane has all the stats in his favour but has he scored the winner against Barca?

What?

Stats have Mallan as better than McGinn for Hibs. There is a little more to these things normally. Stats are a good basis for 2 players playing the same role. Wilshere and Foden did not do that.

08-02-2021, 06:48 PM
What?

Stats have Mallan as better than McGinn for Hibs. There is a little more to these things normally. Stats are a good basis for 2 players playing the same role. Wilshere and Foden did not do that.
It was a wee while ago but am sure I meant my post to be tongue in cheek.

08-02-2021, 06:49 PM
It was a wee while ago but am sure I meant my post to be tongue in cheek.

Ah right, sorry. Just came acorss as random slavers.

08-02-2021, 06:55 PM
Ah right, sorry. Just came acorss as random slavers.

I have that in my locker too.

08-02-2021, 07:05 PM
1 0 Leeds

08-02-2021, 08:10 PM
2 0 Leeds

08-02-2021, 08:52 PM
FT Leeds 2 Palace 0 that should secure their place for next season shirly :)

08-02-2021, 09:13 PM
1 0 Leeds

2 0 Leeds

FT Leeds 2 Palace 0 that should secure their place for next season shirly :)

And we're back to non Hibs games...thank you, the who was a better midfielder debate was getting monotonous, they are/were all very good midfielders.

09-02-2021, 02:51 AM
And we're back to non Hibs games...thank you, the who was a better midfielder debate was getting monotonous, they are/were all very good midfielders.

yer welcome :greengrin

09-02-2021, 04:08 AM

Yeah indeed. Its posts like "1-0" that keep this place exciting.

SJNB Hibby
09-02-2021, 06:18 PM
Watching Burnley---Bournemouth cup match. Anybody else watching overseas? Who's the Scots guy doing co-commentary? He's REALLY good, well spoken and intelligent

Bournemmouth doing well to lead 2-0

09-02-2021, 06:20 PM
Watching Burnley---Bournemouth cup match. Anybody else watching overseas? Who's the Scots guy doing co-commentary? He's REALLY good, well spoken and intelligent

Bournemmouth doing well to lead 2-0

The game is on BT Sport here, its a lass doing the co commentary here.

09-02-2021, 07:56 PM
That Donny Van Der Beek reminds me of watching Jarkko Wiss, running around following the ball but not actually doing anything to contribute.

09-02-2021, 08:20 PM
Sheffield Wednesday 2 Wycombe 0

Birmingham City 23rd in the league

09-02-2021, 08:22 PM
Yet another "big game" down South that would get fitba stopped. Absolute dross.

09-02-2021, 08:42 PM
1 0 Manchester United in ET.

09-02-2021, 09:24 PM
That Donny Van Der Beek reminds me of watching Jarkko Wiss, running around following the ball but not actually doing anything to contribute.

Very decent comparison tbh.

09-02-2021, 10:01 PM
Yet another "big game" down South that would get fitba stopped. Absolute dross.

Wish i hadnt bothered. Rubbish game.

09-02-2021, 10:28 PM
Dundee have had their last three home games postponed due to to weather. Personally think they should cancel the championship. Null and void I say! 😬

10-02-2021, 05:39 PM
Swansea City 0 v 3 Manchester City

Citee back to their best

10-02-2021, 05:41 PM
Dundee have had their last three home games postponed due to to weather. Personally think they should cancel the championship. Null and void I say! 😬

And as punishment for Dundee's inability to keep fixtures on the go, Hearts should be deducted 50 points.

10-02-2021, 06:30 PM
Killie 0 Motherwell 1

10-02-2021, 06:43 PM
Just watching Mourinho being interviewed before tonight’s game.

He’s like a new man. Smiling, joking and looking far better than during his time at Utd.

Good to see him back to his old self.

10-02-2021, 07:18 PM
st.mirren 0 celtc 1

from earlier it finished killie 0 motherwell 1

i've maybe missed what's going on but how come kilmarnock and paisley pitches don't have a drop of snow on them but Livi has 30ft of the stuff :confused: they like the white stuff huh

10-02-2021, 07:22 PM
st.mirren 0 celtc 1

i've maybe missed what's going on but how come kilmarnock and paisley pitches don't have a drop of snow on them but Livi has 30ft of the stuff :confused: they like the white stuff huh

Do you know where livingston is?

10-02-2021, 07:22 PM
st.mirren 0 celtc 1

There’s little snow in the west, compared to the East

10-02-2021, 07:25 PM
Do you know where livingston is?

no i don't really sorry

There’s little snow in the west, compared to the East

ta :aok:

10-02-2021, 07:27 PM
Ref seems to have forgotten his cards, yellow card offences by McGregor and Brown for wild tackles but strangely no bookings.

10-02-2021, 07:28 PM
Ref seems to have forgotten his cards, yellow card offences by McGregor and Brown for wild tackles but strangely no bookings.

McGregor got booked

according to bbc sport anyway

Souter96Mac
10-02-2021, 07:30 PM
McGregor got booked

Don't think he actually got booked.

Thought Brown's could've been red?

10-02-2021, 07:30 PM
McGregor got booked

Pretty sure he didn't Welsh early doors was booking also. So many horror show referees pandering to the infirm. Didn't even speak to brown or mcgregor

10-02-2021, 07:34 PM
no i don't really sorry

If you're in Bathgate then you proabbly should :hmmm:

10-02-2021, 07:38 PM
Don't think he actually got booked.

Thought Brown's could've been red?

Pretty sure he didn't Welsh early doors was booking also. So many horror show referees pandering to the infirm. Didn't even speak to brown or mcgregor

it is the BBC right enough but just noticed it's not given against him in the line-ups thingy

10-02-2021, 07:39 PM

Broonaldo playing in short sleeves, and it’s minus 6
Edouard probably got 6 layers on, and wearing thick gloves

10-02-2021, 07:43 PM

it is the BBC right enough but just noticed it's not given against him in the line-ups thingy

Pretty sure he wasn't booked ref never even spoke to him. Robertson was the ref that gave Hbs 2 fouls in the whole 90 mins at parkhead :greengrin

10-02-2021, 07:44 PM
Been no bookings at all so far. You can guarantee the first player booked will be wearing black and white.

10-02-2021, 07:48 PM
Pretty sure he wasn't booked ref never even spoke to him. Robertson was the ref that gave Hbs 2 fouls in the whole 90 mins at parkhead :greengrin

it was maybe rescinded immediately after the ref realised it was a sellick player :)

10-02-2021, 07:54 PM
down south

Everton 1 Spurs 1
Leicester 0 Brighton 0
Sheff u 1 Bristol city 0

10-02-2021, 07:55 PM
Everton 2-1

Lloris probably should have saved both the Everton goals.

10-02-2021, 07:59 PM
it was maybe rescinded immediately after the ref realised it was a sellick player :)

No doubt :greengrin

10-02-2021, 08:00 PM
Just watching Mourinho being interviewed before tonight’s game.

He’s like a new man. Smiling, joking and looking far better than during his time at Utd.

Good to see him back to his old self.

Not sure Mr Happy is going to last long :greengrin

10-02-2021, 08:08 PM
Sheffield Wednesday's 2 Wycombe 0

Birmingham City 23rd in the league

That's a shame

10-02-2021, 08:23 PM
Sure enough, first yellow card to a St Mirren player.

10-02-2021, 08:24 PM
st Mirren player first booked of course not to say it wasn't just that the three Celtic were also.

10-02-2021, 08:26 PM
st Mirren player first booked of course not to say it wasn't just that the three Celtic were also.

It definitely deserved a yellow - terrible tackle that's taken Welsh off the park.

10-02-2021, 08:27 PM
It definitely deserved a yellow - terrible tackle that's taken Welsh off the park.

Yep deserved yellow. Is Griffiths on the bench?

10-02-2021, 08:29 PM
Everton 3 Spurs 2
Leicester 1 Brighton 0

think i'l watch the Everton v Spurs game now

10-02-2021, 08:32 PM
Yep deserved yellow. Is Griffiths on the bench?

I think so, aye.

10-02-2021, 08:36 PM
Penalty Celtic.

10-02-2021, 08:36 PM
Everton 3 Spurs 3

10-02-2021, 08:37 PM
Penalty Celtc :rolleyes:

10-02-2021, 08:37 PM
2-0 Celtic, Edouard.

10-02-2021, 08:38 PM
I’ve been switching between games. 8 goals scored and I haven’t seen any of them.

10-02-2021, 08:38 PM
Non penalty total dive and laughable yellow. Sfa refs get tae fek

Yellow count st Mirren 3 Celtic 0 :faf:

10-02-2021, 08:39 PM
Not a penalty for me. Definitely of the 'soft' variety.

10-02-2021, 08:41 PM
And 2 St Mirren players booked in the fallout.

Don Robertson can't hide it.

4-0 sellick

3-0.

Christie.

10-02-2021, 08:43 PM
And 2 St Mirren players booked in the fallout.

Don Robertson can't hide it.

Horrific ref

10-02-2021, 08:44 PM
4-3 Everton

4-4 Kane, son assist

Victor
10-02-2021, 09:00 PM
Horrific ref

Agree. I think the St.Mirren players gave up after the penalty, probably decided it was a lost cause playing against Celtic and the referee. I think there is a lack of serious scrutiny of refs, partly because the TV coverage is sparse and the co-commentators are either useless(Walker) or bias (Boyd).

EI255
10-02-2021, 09:03 PM
Horrific refTbf, it was a deliberate stonewall, pen and the other player was booked for saying something rude to the ref.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

10-02-2021, 09:03 PM
Copa Del Rey Semi final first leg

Sevilla 2 Barca 0

EI255
10-02-2021, 09:04 PM
Not a penalty for me. Definitely of the 'soft' variety.Really?

Look again, as stonewall as you'll get. Pushed AND pulled. 100% pen all day long.

10-02-2021, 09:12 PM
Tbf, it was a deliberate stonewall, pen and the other player was booked for saying something rude to the ref.

Nah little or no contact and he has thrown himself. Books two players in one incident after ignoring three blatant Celtic yellows.

10-02-2021, 09:23 PM
extra time 5-4 Everton

wallpaperman
10-02-2021, 10:22 PM
Copa Del Rey Semi final first leg

Sevilla 2 Barca 0

Really good game, and while he’s too classy to gloat Rakitic gave Barca a giant GIRUY by scoring the second.

The return leg in a few weeks should be a cracker.

10-02-2021, 10:31 PM
What a cup tie at Goodison. Brilliant game, it could have finished 8-8.

10-02-2021, 11:47 PM
extra time 5-4 Everton

Decided not to watch it because most games recently have been guff. Wonderful.

10-02-2021, 11:53 PM
I liked Ancelotti's reaction after the winner from Bernard. Blows on hot cuppa, that's better.

Everton really hit the jackpot when they got him.

Renfrew_Hibby
11-02-2021, 07:31 AM
I liked Ancelotti's reaction after the winner from Bernard. Blows on hot cuppa, that's better.

Everton really hit the jackpot when they got him.

Is it really 26 years since the Toffees won something? When I was a kid it seemed like they won the league or a cup every other year.
Ancelloti's a class act and hopefully he can be the one to end 26 years of hurt, a top 4 finish and he will have paid back his wages 10 fold.

11-02-2021, 12:13 PM
Is it really 26 years since the Toffees won something? When I was a kid it seemed like they won the league or a cup every other year.
Ancelloti's a class act and hopefully he can be the one to end 26 years of hurt, a top 4 finish and he will have paid back his wages 10 fold.

Yup it is. I remember going to the 1970 FA Charity Shield pre-season Chelsea, the FA Cup holders v League champions Everton who won the game. They were some smooth outfit then.
They've had top sides periodically since but nothing like the dynasty of winning coaches over at Anfield. Although Moyes kept Everton competitive his side could be stultifyingly boring and maybe he hung on too long.

11-02-2021, 12:24 PM
Yup it is. I remember going to the 1970 FA Charity Shield pre-season Chelsea, the FA Cup holders v League champions Everton who won the game. They were some smooth outfit then.
They've had top sides periodically since but nothing like the dynasty of winning coaches over at Anfield. Although Moyes kept Everton competitive his side could be stultifyingly boring and maybe he hung on too long.

Didn’t Everton have one of the best sides around and were affected more than most post Heysel and English clubs being banned from Europe? Losing most of that team as a result.

SJNB Hibby
11-02-2021, 04:04 PM
Palmeiras first penalty in 3rd place playoff bonkers stupid

And they miss their 2nd
Al ahly up 1-0

SJNB Hibby
11-02-2021, 04:05 PM
Palmeiras first penalty in 3rd place playoff bonkers stupid

And they miss their 2nd
Al ahly up 1-0

4 of 5 penalties missed

SJNB Hibby
11-02-2021, 04:09 PM
4 of 5 penalties missed

Al Ahly win...pretty awful match

11-02-2021, 05:35 PM
Didn’t Everton have one of the best sides around and were affected more than most post Heysel and English clubs being banned from Europe? Losing most of that team as a result.

Yes, they were champions in 1984-85 and also won the European Cup Winners Cup. It was an excellent side which would have a good chance in the European Cup in 1985-86, but it wasn't to be after Heysel. They won the league again in 1986-87.

SJNB Hibby
11-02-2021, 06:56 PM
Bayern Munich win world club championship, and their 6th trophy in 9 months, but that was a p!$$ poor tournament
Only 4 goals in the last 4 games...1 a penalty and the other 3 by Bayern

SJNB Hibby
11-02-2021, 07:00 PM
Gilmour starting for Chelsea against barnsley..interesting to see if he is good enough for Scotland

11-02-2021, 07:00 PM
Cocoon by Timerider playing there as the players walk out at Barnsley, old skool classic! 🎶

SJNB Hibby
11-02-2021, 08:08 PM
Gilmour starting for Chelsea against barnsley..interesting to see if he is good enough for Scotland

Gilmour pretty anonymous so far, but barnsley playing very well

Magpie
11-02-2021, 09:14 PM
Bayern Munich win world club championship, and their 6th trophy in 9 months, but that was a p!$$ poor tournament
Only 4 goals in the last 4 games...1 a penalty and the other 3 by Bayern

Hansi Flick has won more trophies than he has lost matches at Bayern.

11-02-2021, 09:26 PM
FA Cup QF's

Everton v Man city
Leicester city v Man united
Bournemouth v Southampton
Chelsea v Sheff united

12-02-2021, 07:29 PM
Lol 🤣🤣🤣

12-02-2021, 07:30 PM
Dodgy Pen to Qos... 1-0

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

12-02-2021, 07:35 PM
Any penalty against that **** is welcome, how bad are these mugs 😯😆

Stanton Spence
12-02-2021, 07:37 PM
I thought the guy Jones playing right wing back for OTS looks like a decent player and giving the hertz a lot of trouble

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

12-02-2021, 07:40 PM
GMS is horrendous. What is it with Hearts, they have the ability to turn decent skillful players into absolute huddies.

Magpie
12-02-2021, 07:46 PM
Is it just me or does anyone else ****ing love it when Hearts are losing?

12-02-2021, 07:46 PM
GMS is horrendous. What is it with Hearts, they have the ability to turn decent skillful players into absolute huddies.

Exactly the kind of player I wouldn't want playing on a freezing cold February night in Dumfries

12-02-2021, 07:47 PM

You're not alone there, my friend! Absolutely love it!😂

12-02-2021, 07:48 PM

And long may it continue

12-02-2021, 07:49 PM

Dour, officious dinosaurs with no sense of imagination or savoir faire.

12-02-2021, 07:50 PM
Hearts will win their crappy wee league but good grief they’re pish.

12-02-2021, 07:58 PM
Some fud on laughback claiming they will get 65 points next season 😆😆😆

12-02-2021, 07:59 PM

Is there any chance of it just being you? 😀

NC1875

In the championship again aye

That Kastaneer is horrendous!

12-02-2021, 08:02 PM

Hearts always seem to do really well next season. Always seem to finish above Hibs

Magpie
12-02-2021, 08:03 PM
Is there any chance of it just being you? 😀

You never know mate 😅 it’s brightened up my day anyway!

I see that Stephen Dobbie is on the bench, would love to see him come on and seal the win.

12-02-2021, 08:05 PM
Wtf was Halkett moaning about there? Fud!

12-02-2021, 08:06 PM
Loving them losing their **** about decisions.

12-02-2021, 08:07 PM
Bunch of dirty bassas!

12-02-2021, 08:08 PM
Hearts are lucky there’s not another team in that league decent enough to challenge them.

They have dropped points and it could’ve been a closer run league if there was another decent team in there

Mr Grieves
12-02-2021, 08:09 PM
Bunch of dirty bassas!

The ball was 10 yards away when Irving took the boy out, cheating *****!

12-02-2021, 08:10 PM
Hearts are lucky there’s not another team in that league decent enough to challenge them.

They have dropped points and it could’ve been a closer run league if there was another decent team in there

Probably the weakest Championship I can ever remember.

12-02-2021, 08:10 PM
Oft that Henderson is one ugly bassa

12-02-2021, 08:11 PM
Probably the weakest Championship I can ever remember.

Yep. Even a Falkirk in there as good as they were when we were down there would’ve ran them all the way

There's no decent teams in that league, unfortunately Hearts are floating at the top of the cesspit.

Just turned the Hearts game on and what a bunch of thugs Neilson is assembling. Halkett is such an average footballer.

Hilarious to watch them struggle and seeing Neilson and McCulloch sweating it out on the side lines.

QOS have some speedy players which Hearts can’t deal with.

12-02-2021, 08:12 PM

There’s a few teams (Dundee Raith Dunfermline) who are half decent on their day, but drop far too many points drawing with each other.

12-02-2021, 08:12 PM
And this is the hearts team their fans reckon would finish 3rd in the premiership? ****ing LOL

Magpie
12-02-2021, 08:14 PM
Raith v Hearts last game of the season, could be fun.

12-02-2021, 08:16 PM

This - said it at start of season. They are lucky they haven’t got anyone running them close.

They have lost 3 games already this season. 4 if you include Alloa in cup.

Last time Hibs and Hearts got won league they only lost 3 in the full season.

12-02-2021, 08:17 PM

Hearts will have the league wrapped up way before then. Hearts lose the odd game but the other challengers can't take advantage.

12-02-2021, 08:18 PM

It’ll be over long before them.

12-02-2021, 08:19 PM
Hearts are dug***** and all the other teams taking points off each other is what will win them the league. Imagine having blown 10s of millions in that stand and that squad of players. Well played Anne, well played

12-02-2021, 08:19 PM
Halliday is absolutely garbage.

12-02-2021, 08:20 PM
I know our part time refs are crap in Scotland but they do get a ridiculous amount of abuse. Sounds even worse with no crowds. Compare to rugby and it’s embarrassing they can get away with it.

Magpie
12-02-2021, 08:20 PM
Hearts will have the league wrapped up way before then. Hearts lose the odd game but the other challengers can't take advantage.

Most probably. I’ll believe they will throw it away until the very end anyway 😄

12-02-2021, 08:21 PM
In the championship again aye

😆👍

12-02-2021, 08:22 PM
It's such a pity no one is there to take advantage of these Hearts slip ups. They are rank.

12-02-2021, 08:26 PM
Halliday is absolutely garbage.

Could have won the cup.

12-02-2021, 08:27 PM
That boy on the right wing for qots has had a great game. Had that Kingsley a few times.

12-02-2021, 08:27 PM
****ing annoys me we couldn’t beat this *****.

12-02-2021, 08:30 PM
The Preston away kit must be far easier on the eye than watching Hertz. 2-1 up away as well.

12-02-2021, 08:34 PM
1-1

Hearts get there 500th penalty of the season

Typical late pen !

12-02-2021, 08:35 PM
Typical late pen !

Doesn’t paper over how bad the big team actually is.:greengrin

12-02-2021, 08:36 PM
Horrendous defending from the young guy. Stonewall penalty

12-02-2021, 08:37 PM
Obviously the Fartz needing to keep up with Man Ure in the "most penalties which what we have won" competition

12-02-2021, 08:37 PM
Could have won the cup.

Halliday. The nearly man.

12-02-2021, 08:39 PM
1-1 FT

12-02-2021, 08:41 PM
They are actually rejoicing at equalising. Apparently Neilson is getting a reprieve. :faf::faf:

12-02-2021, 08:42 PM
Without doubt they are THE spawnyest team ever in the history of Scottish football

12-02-2021, 08:42 PM
The jambos will be buzzing with a point against QoS reserves.

ACLeith
12-02-2021, 08:44 PM
For family reasons Queens are my second Scottish team always look for them to do well in the Championship. For all their opponents had possession and territorial advantage how often did they test the keeper? Once?

Of course Hearts will win the league but they strut about thinking it’s a walk in the park. All the credit to Queens tonight.

12-02-2021, 08:45 PM
Ryan Stevenson the nick of that.

12-02-2021, 08:47 PM
They are actually rejoicing at equalising. Apparently Neilson is getting a reprieve. :faf::faf:

The mentality that will see them continue to be a yo-yo club

12-02-2021, 08:48 PM
Kickback is good reading if you are inclined.

I think there is now an acceptance that they are a bit shambolic and really badly run. They remind me a lot of Hibs during the Calderwood/Fenlon/Butcher era. A bit rudderless, making bad signings and not really having any plan for where they are going.

If that team was in the Premiership they would be in a relegation battle. They will need to improve big time if that isn't to the the case this time next year.

12-02-2021, 08:51 PM
Didn`t realise Hearts were playing tonight. May have tuned in for some laughs had I known. They can probably afford the odd duff result here and there but they seem to be having more of them now than earlier in season. Just a bang average side in the grand scheme of things.

Stanton Spence
12-02-2021, 08:52 PM
That boy on the right wing for qots has had a great game. Had that Kingsley a few times.

Sent from my SM-G935F using TapatalkI said that on this thread at half time isah jones is the guys name. I know absolutely nothing about him or his career so far but I'm assuming he's very young going by his interview at full time. He got man off the match and I think he will have a few scouts watching him between now and the end of the season

12-02-2021, 08:54 PM
Didn`t realise Hearts were playing tonight. May have tuned in for some laughs had I known. They can probably afford the odd duff result here and there but they seem to be having more of them now than earlier in season. Just a bang average side in the grand scheme of things.

They had a six week head start on the other teams with starting their pre season at the same time as the Premiership sides so no wonder. Caught them cold.

12-02-2021, 08:57 PM
Just noticed Hearts were playing. Who’s the pundit with the face tattoo? Each to their own but he looks like he’s just come straight from jail to the match!

12-02-2021, 08:58 PM
Is Ryan Stevenson interviewing himself for the East 17 Christmas classic stay another day?

12-02-2021, 09:00 PM
I said that on this thread at half time isah jones is the guys name. I know absolutely nothing about him or his career so far but I'm assuming he's very young going by his interview at full time. He got man off the match and I think he will have a few scouts watching him between now and the end of the season

On loan from Middlesbrough. Looked a player.

12-02-2021, 09:01 PM
What’s happened to the tall superstar who scored a couple in his first game.Surely not injured already.

12-02-2021, 09:03 PM
What’s happened to the tall superstar who scored a couple in his first game.Surely not injured already.

Believe it or not, yes. Wonder why let Wighton go to Dunfermline, looked like their best player early season. I suppose high player turnover is just the hearts way.

12-02-2021, 09:06 PM
If it wasnt for Hearts we'd be playing in the Bundesliga now.

12-02-2021, 09:09 PM
Kickback is good reading if you are inclined.

I think there is now an acceptance that they are a bit shambolic and really badly run. They remind me a lot of Hibs during the Calderwood/Fenlon/Butcher era. A bit rudderless, making bad signings and not really having any plan for where they are going.

If that team was in the Premiership they would be in a relegation battle. They will need to improve big time if that isn't to the the case this time next year.

They were discussing the prospect/expectation that they'll get 65 points in the Premiership next season. Roasters the lot of them.

Stanton Spence
12-02-2021, 09:12 PM
On loan from Middlesbrough. Looked a player.Do you know if he's been with QOTS all season or is he a January loan?
Looks like a player as you said and I'm assuming he's got a couple of years contract

12-02-2021, 09:27 PM
Do you know if he's been with QOTS all season or is he a January loan?
Looks like a player as you said and I'm assuming he's got a couple of years contract

January.

13-02-2021, 06:08 AM
Only watched about 15 mins of their last 2 matches on the last 2 Fri nights...and boy are they a brutal watch...they are very lucky that Championship is so poor and weak but they are gonna have a huge struggle on their hands next season if they don't improve that team...they'd deffo be bottom 3 in current premiership imho

13-02-2021, 07:06 AM

Against 10 man Raith.

Hearts associates were gushing over him saying he’d romp that league!! [emoji848] Long contracts for guff yet again.

13-02-2021, 09:08 AM
Most of them on kickback seem realistic as to how crap they are. A lot of happy clappers but I’d say the majority know they are looking at bottom six unless Benny factor pumps yet more money in. I don’t think that will make the slightest difference as their recruitment is a shambles. They have wasted tens of millions on utter garbage.

13-02-2021, 09:10 AM
Don't know what the fuss about Liam Boyce was. Every time I've seen him he's been utter mince.

13-02-2021, 09:13 AM
****** the Hearts! Still fustrating we couldnt beat them in the semi! But ****** em

13-02-2021, 09:13 AM
Don't know what the fuss about Liam Boyce was. Every tine I've seen him he's been utter mince.

His link up play last night was very good. He’s one of their better players.

13-02-2021, 09:20 AM
Neilson said in his pre-match interview his squad had been training on astro all week and the pitch wouldn't be a problem.

In his aftermatch interview he repeatedly blamed the poor performance on the pitch. The guy is s complete roaster. Glad he's their manager.

13-02-2021, 09:29 AM
Against 10 man Raith.

Hearts associates were gushing over him saying he’d romp that league!! [emoji848] Long contracts for guff yet again.

Hamstring problem????
Not fit to start with!!!

13-02-2021, 09:30 AM
Neilson said in his pre-match interview his squad had been training on astro all week and the pitch wouldn't be a problem.

In his aftermatch interview he repeatedly blamed the poor performance on the pitch. The guy is s complete roaster. Glad he's their manager.

Totally agree. Very arrogant think he knows it all and gives no credit to other teams. Fits the Hearts manager role perfectly

13-02-2021, 09:30 AM

Arabs fans were delighted when he left which tells u all u need to know about him mate...they were all over Twitter last night too saying if it wasn't for Shanklands goals last season they would still be down there under Robbie

13-02-2021, 10:57 AM

As someone who lives in Dundee now and as a result knows a lot of people who supports one of the two teams here, not one Dundee United fan was sad to see him go.

13-02-2021, 11:12 AM
Totally agree. Very arrogant think he knows it all and gives no credit to other teams. Fits the Hearts manager role perfectly

His arrogance following the Scottish Cup draw at Tiny Park and his we’ll just turn up and hit long diagonal balls comments came back to bite him big time.

He’s right out of the Potter school of management.

13-02-2021, 11:17 AM
As someone who lives in Dundee now and as a result knows a lot of people who supports one of the two teams here, not one Dundee United fan was sad to see him go.

Nothing to do with him being a Hearts guy but he is not very good.
Hearts must be hoping their player recruitment will improve under the new guy that came in from Preston.
Ours has improved under the Ross regime and the midfield additions in the last window have all but completed the rebuild.
As ever we will have adjustments to make in the summer in relation to players out of contract and at the end of loans unless we can persuade Marciano, Newell & Irvine to stick around.

13-02-2021, 11:41 AM

If only!

13-02-2021, 12:54 PM
Kamberi starts for Aberdeen today

13-02-2021, 12:58 PM
Sensational assist there from firmino

13-02-2021, 12:59 PM
What a goal for Liverpool, the drag back and pass and the finish were excellent.

13-02-2021, 01:01 PM
What a goal for Liverpool, the drag back and pass and the finish were excellent.

https://mobile.twitter.com/TheMayaka/status/1360589342088003584

13-02-2021, 01:04 PM
Pen to Leicester but contact looks out the box

VAR changes it to a freekick

13-02-2021, 01:07 PM
Freekick went straight in, looked offside, VAR says no.

1-1

13-02-2021, 01:08 PM
Klopp will be doing his - “I’m not complaining, look at me smiling and pretending I don’t mind, but I’ll be sarcastic and arsey about it” routine after the game I’m sure.

13-02-2021, 01:08 PM
2-1 Leicester.

Defensive **** up.

Great entertainment here.

13-02-2021, 01:10 PM
2-1 Leicester.

Defensive **** up.

Great entertainment here.

Ha! That was a hilarious howler between keeper and defender

13-02-2021, 01:11 PM
It's a funny old game!

13-02-2021, 01:12 PM
That's a shocker there from Alisson but then keeps liverpool from conceding a 3rd.

13-02-2021, 01:12 PM
3-1

Liverpool looking humpty at the back

13-02-2021, 01:13 PM
3-1 now, Liverpool falling to pieces.

13-02-2021, 01:14 PM
The title defence is going well. :tee hee:

13-02-2021, 01:15 PM
Liverpool really paying for such a small squad and playing them every game for 3 years. Undoubtedly still an excellent first team, among the best in the world, but past that they're average. A busy summer in store because with Euros and another crammed season ahead, they will only struggle further.

13-02-2021, 01:20 PM
Another goalkeeping howler and defence all over the place, huge collapse by Liverpool and it all started when they came back to finish off last season, they were so far ahead but toiled back then. I thought they bought a CH in January, where is he?

13-02-2021, 01:22 PM
Another goalkeeping howler and defence all over the place, huge collapse by Liverpool and it all started when they came back to finish off last season, they were so far ahead but toiled back then. I thought they bought a CH in January, where is he?

He is playing? Kabak. The other one, Pearson, has a knock.

13-02-2021, 01:23 PM

The boy they brought in on loan is playing, and I dunno if it’s communication issues, or nerves, but hes not looked good today.

The guy they bought from Preston seems a strange signing.

13-02-2021, 01:23 PM
He is playing? Kabak. The other one, Pearson, has a knock.

Davies is the other one.

13-02-2021, 01:25 PM
Davies is the other one.

Thats the one, sorry.

13-02-2021, 01:27 PM

Did this not happen to Klopp at Dortmund? Had a couple of v good seasons and then really fell apart. I think that was when Klopp left them

13-02-2021, 01:29 PM
I've got a weird feeling that Killie might get three points today.

The boy they brought in on loan is playing, and I dunno if it’s communication issues, or nerves, but hes not looked good today.

The guy they bought from Preston seems a strange signing.

Yeh, Davies they bought from Preston, not even in the squad, they need a CH got one and don't play him and play Henderson instead. Surely having Henderson in midfield would've made more sense.

Did this not happen to Klopp at Dortmund? Had a couple of v good seasons and then really fell apart. I think that was when Klopp left them

It was a case of a mad injury crisis there. They never fell apart. Just had a brutal 6 months with a side full of reserves. Second half of that season they were very good.

13-02-2021, 01:32 PM
It was a case of a mad injury crisis there. They never fell apart. Just had a brutal 6 months with a side full of reserves. Second half of that season they were very good.

Ah my memory not so good these days! Thanks for clarifying

13-02-2021, 01:33 PM

I think he likes a small strong squad but when injuries/suspensions kick in his depth in the squad is poor. Look at today's squad 4 youngsters, and injury prone Oxlade - Chamberlain, Shaqiri and a couple of guys I've never heard of.

13-02-2021, 01:49 PM
I've got a weird feeling that Killie might get three points today.

You on the sauce already? 😁

13-02-2021, 02:04 PM
Dundee United beating Livy 1-0

13-02-2021, 02:09 PM
Kamberi's looking good. :fibber:

13-02-2021, 02:09 PM
The title defence is going well. :tee hee:

Has to be one of the poorest attempts to retain a league title for a while. It's incredible, considering how brilliant they have been for the past couple of years. Nobody saw this coming; it shows how important good centre backs are; take note Ole Gunnar! Liverpool's top four place now in trouble.

13-02-2021, 02:10 PM
Murrawell 0 Hamilton 1

13-02-2021, 02:10 PM
2-0 Burnley v Crystal Palace.

13-02-2021, 02:12 PM
Has to be one of the poorest attempts to retain a league title for a while. It's incredible, considering how brilliant they have been for the past couple of years. Nobody saw this coming; it shows how important good centre backs are; take note Ole Gunnar! Liverpool's top four place now in trouble.

Never mind the top four, if Everton win their games in hand, Liverpool will be struggling to be the top club in their own city. :greengrin

13-02-2021, 02:15 PM
Murrawell 0 Hamilton 1

Has there been a murder at fir park? Section of the side stand with a large black sheet over it!

13-02-2021, 02:16 PM
Niall McGinn does an Advjaj in getting onto the end of a long ball into the box that puts him one on one with the keeper and immediately falls over at the shock of it.