View Full Version : Match Updates 2020-21 season non-Hibs games thread
17-02-2021, 09:21 PM
Must be getting on for 100 miles between Marseille and Nice.
Aye. 129 of them. Had to look it up mind you. Time derbies were about postcodes. But I'll bet those Johnnie Foreigners have arrondisements or something to catch us out.
17-02-2021, 09:22 PM
I'm a philistine and not a French one either, but I'd never have known Nice v Marseille was a derby. We seem to be nearer to Aberdeen than they are to one another. Do they treat this as local my Southside pal?
The cities are a couple of hours drive apart so it seems strange, but yeah definitely it’s considered as the big regional derby. There’s often bother between the ultras, I took the boy to the fixture a few years ago, his mum wasn’t keen on letting him until she found out Nice fans were banned from traveling! My best non Hibs match experience by a mile.
17-02-2021, 09:29 PM
Aye. 129 of them. Had to look it up mind you. Time derbies were about postcodes. But I'll bet those Johnnie Foreigners have arrondisements or something to catch us out.
Having said that Nice and Monaco are close together, a very nice coastal walk. Thats a bit nearer for a derby game!!
17-02-2021, 09:30 PM
Night and day. Villa are definitely Birmingham's good guys.
years ago non-league Worcester City played Birmingham in a pre-season friendly..Birmingham fans too the opportunity to smash all the windows in the local shops. Villa fans chipped in to help repair the damage, just to show who the good guys in Birmingham are !
17-02-2021, 09:34 PM
Having said that Nice and Monaco are close together, a very nice coastal walk. Thats a bit nearer for a derby game!!
Monaco don’t really have fans, not that anyone else wants to have a rivalry with anyway, they’re mostly just tourists wanting a day out:greengrin
17-02-2021, 09:35 PM
The cities are a couple of hours drive apart so it seems strange, but yeah definitely it’s considered as the big regional derby. There’s often bother between the ultras, I took the boy to the fixture a few years ago, his mum wasn’t keen on letting him until she found out Nice fans were banned from traveling! My best non Hibs match experience by a mile.
I'll take that as read. Different cultures and it's easy to forget what a wee village this country of ours is in relation.
Only ever been to PSG v Guingamp and that was 2002 and came with a heavy dose of right wing skins about - must get another in when we are allowed though.
17-02-2021, 09:35 PM
years ago non-league Worcester City played Birmingham in a pre-season friendly..Birmingham fans too the opportunity to smash all the windows in the local shops. Villa fans chipped in to help repair the damage, just to show who the good guys in Birmingham are !
I wouldnt paint Villa fans as angels they have certainly had their moments, but I do remember Birmingham coming to Blackpool for a League cup tie in the late 70s and going mental, smashed the illuminations up. The heretics.
17-02-2021, 09:37 PM
I’m a bit disappointed we didn’t get to see him play at ER!
Got to see him play against us in the 2nd leg in Molde. He’s the reason we got knocked out i feel. I think we would have won that 2nd leg if it wasn’t for him.
17-02-2021, 09:39 PM
I'll take that as read. Different cultures and it's easy to forget what a wee village this country of ours is in relation.
Only ever been to PSG v Guingamp and that was 2002 and came with a heavy dose of right wing skins about - must get another in when we are allowed though.
Funny how PSG still has skinheads causing bother. It’s the only way Paris is like late 1970s Edinburgh :faf:
17-02-2021, 09:41 PM
The fellah Alpay and his hanging effigy might disagree
https://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/aston-villa-player-alpay-ozalan-180766
17-02-2021, 09:45 PM
Funny how PSG still has skinheads causing bother. It’s the only way Paris is like late 1970s Edinburgh :faf:
Me and Mrs P (I was working on a job in Paris back then) took the opportunity to get along. I was genuinely shocked at the amount of them and I've been trampled by skins in cleaner places than that ranging from Tiffanys to Ingliston!
EI255
17-02-2021, 09:47 PM
Haha, Aberdeen's goal drought now making the news on Sky sports.
Talk yer way out that one Derek.
In Derek we trust right enough [emoji1787]
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
17-02-2021, 09:48 PM
Me and Mrs P (I was working on a job in Paris back then) took the opportunity to get along. I was genuinely shocked at the amount of them and I've been trampled by skins in cleaner places than that ranging from Tiffanys to Ingliston!
‘The Bourgogne Boys’ they’re called. Weirdos.
17-02-2021, 09:59 PM
‘The Bourgogne Boys’ they’re called. Weirdos.
Is it not Boulogne Boys (because the Parc des Princes is beside the bois de boulogne)?
17-02-2021, 10:01 PM
Is it not Boulogne Boys (because the Parc des Princes is beside the bois de boulogne)?
Yes you’re right. Ill pretend that was down to a typo:greengrin
17-02-2021, 10:04 PM
Yes you’re right. Ill pretend that was down to a typo:greengrin
They could’ve been tanked up on a fine pinot noir, to be fair. :wink:
17-02-2021, 10:06 PM
Could have been hero time for Kamberi... but he hit the post.
17-02-2021, 10:08 PM
Their slump in form has arrived at the perfect time for us. We need to take advantage whilst they are struggling. Third place is up for grabs here.
EI255
17-02-2021, 10:08 PM
Could have been hero time for Kamberi... but he hit the post.All sounds so familiar [emoji848]
Hmmm
17-02-2021, 10:28 PM
It will be interesting to see if Aberdeen get back on track at the weekend.
They are at home where they have been generally pretty good so far this season and playing against the one side that's actually in worse form than they are in Kilmarnock. It also happens to be one of the most one-sided fixtures in the league over the past 10 years in favour of Aberdeen.
An Aberdeen win against Kilmarnock is normally the proverbial "banker" so if Aberdeen lose this one then they really will be in trouble.
18-02-2021, 05:32 AM
Seventeen consecutive victories for Man City. Unstoppable just now.
Fantastic to watch them pinging it about. The ball seems tied to their feet! And just as Gundogan gets a strain back comes De Bruyne. Lucky white heather!
18-02-2021, 06:02 AM
Marseille are the working class immigrants city. Monaco and to a lesser extent are the well heeled end of the French Rivera. I once worked with a PSG fan from Paris and when I told him my French team was Marseille,there was a look of disdain
18-02-2021, 06:05 AM
I'm not.
He would have struggled to get through the tunnel - he looks as if has been on the Toblerone
Wakeyhibee
18-02-2021, 06:35 AM
Must be a ludite, I had to Google the distance and then "arrondisements" lol
18-02-2021, 06:54 AM
Fantastic to watch them pinging it about. The ball seems tied to their feet! And just as Gundogan gets a strain back comes De Bruyne. Lucky white heather!
Reminds me of the Tornadoes :greengrin
18-02-2021, 07:17 AM
I thought Aberdeen played reasonably well last night, and pinned Celtic back for most of the 2nd half. I certainly would not have called it eye bleeding football, they were playing some good stuff on the ground, but it did break down because there front pair are poor, and Ajer had a great game.
Aberdeen are still a decent side, and they can turn the corner just as easily as that other good side did, Hibs.
18-02-2021, 07:40 AM
I thought Aberdeen played reasonably well last night, and pinned Celtic back for most of the 2nd half. I certainly would not have called it eye bleeding football, they were playing some good stuff on the ground, but it did break down because there front pair are poor, and Ajer had a great game.
Aberdeen are still a decent side, and they can turn the corner just as easily as that other good side did, Hibs.
Agree thought they were decent though also Celtic were poor. No doubt they are a decent side and could easily go on a winning run. Absolutely vital we maintain our good form and keep the current gap and hopefully increase it.
Brummie_Hibs
18-02-2021, 08:11 AM
Night and day. Villa are definitely Birmingham's good guys.
The Blues are the more working class team. Good genuine supporters that have a bit of an edge.
Villa are more middle class, with fair weather fans.
I
18-02-2021, 08:41 AM
The Blues are the more working class team. Good genuine supporters that have a bit of an edge.
I
That's correct. It's Hearts and Hibs innit?
And Villa play in maroon. Bad.
18-02-2021, 10:20 AM
I
Yeah a fun edge. So edgy in fact that a supporter ran on to the pitch and assaulted Jack Grealish in the most cowardly way possible.
18-02-2021, 10:57 AM
Yeah a fun edge. So edgy in fact that a supporter ran on to the pitch and assaulted Jack Grealish in the most cowardly way possible.
Grealish’s ‘Casper’ moment:agree:
18-02-2021, 11:02 AM
They are at home where they have been generally pretty good so far this season and playing against the one side that's actually in worse form than they are in Kilmarnock. It also happens to be one of the most one-sided fixtures in the league over the past 10 years in favour of Aberdeen.
An Aberdeen win against Kilmarnock is normally the proverbial "banker" so if Aberdeen lose this one then they really will be in trouble.
It was always going to take a few games for new players to fit in You have to assume they will see this one as the game to kickstart Thier push fir third So we just need to take care of our game and see what happens
18-02-2021, 11:04 AM
Doubt they will lose but a draw is certianly on the cards imo
18-02-2021, 11:21 AM
T
It was always going to take a few games for new players to fit in You have to assume they will see this one as the game to kickstart Thier push fir third So we just need to take care of our game and see what happens
Kamberi will get a few goals.
T
Kamberi will get a few goals.
9 goals in his last 47 games. 4 of those goals came against lower division teams in the League Cup. If he doesn't hit the net this weekend he will have gone more than a year without scoring.
18-02-2021, 12:27 PM
Given their fixture list, this is a must-win game for Aberdeen. If They lose/draw and Hibs win, then it's all but over for them IMO.
SJNB Hibby
18-02-2021, 12:33 PM
That's correct. It's Hearts and Hibs innit?
And Villa play in maroon. Bad.
Claret actually. And regarding fair weather fans...didn't they set all sorts of attendance records when they were in the old 3rd division way back when? In fact the joke was that 20000 would turn up just to see the shirts on the washing line
Brummie_Hibs
18-02-2021, 12:33 PM
Supporters in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.
I'd say Hibs supporters have a 'bit of an edge' to them as well.
18-02-2021, 12:35 PM
Hibs fans having a punch up over who the bad guys are in Brum. :greengrin
Let me get my popcorn. :greengrin
18-02-2021, 12:40 PM
Andy Goram might agree. Both of him.
18-02-2021, 01:33 PM
Looking forward to catching a couple of the Europa League round of 32 matches tonight. Some kick off at 5.55pm and the other at 8pm.
Some interesting match ups amongst the ties, including
Red Star v AC Milan
Olympiakos v PSV
Real Sociedad v Man Utd
Slavia Prague v Leicester
Wolfsberger v Spurs
Antwerp v Rangers
Benfica v Arsenal
Granada v Napoli
Lille v Ajax
I reckon i'll take the Real Sociedad/ United game and then Benfica/Arsenal game (having a bit a leaning for Benfica)
Tonights Benfica v Arsenal match is the home for Benfica, the match being played in Rome and the Arsenal home return match is being played in Athens all due to covid restrictions.
18-02-2021, 01:53 PM
Royal antwerp.
18-02-2021, 01:55 PM
Looking forward to catching a couple of the Europa League round of 32 matches tonight. Some kick off at 5.55pm and the other at 8pm.
Red Star v AC Milan
Olympiakos v PSV
Real Sociedad v Man Utd
Wolfsberger v Spurs
Antwerp v Rangers
Benfica v Arsenal
Granada v Napoli
Lille v Ajax
I reckon i'll take the Real Sociedad/ United game and then Benfica/Arsenal game (having a bit a leaning for Benfica)
Tonights Benfica v Arsenal match is the home for Benfica, the match being played in Rome and the Arsenal home return match is being played in Athens all due to covid restrictions.
I forgot Thursday was European night for the wee teams!
Magpie
18-02-2021, 02:02 PM
Royal antwerp.
I fancy them to win tonight.
18-02-2021, 02:04 PM
See Arsenal and Man U going out in this round.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 02:06 PM
I think both will go through. Will be tough games though.
18-02-2021, 02:08 PM
Benfica are rebuilding and are struggling as much as Arsenal are this season. 0-0 twice and Benfica through on penalties :greengrin
18-02-2021, 02:14 PM
Red Star v AC Milan
Olympiakos v PSV
Real Sociedad v Man Utd
Wolfsberger v Spurs
Antwerp v Rangers
Benfica v Arsenal
Granada v Napoli
Lille v Ajax
Wolfsberg has roughly the same population as Musselburgh...
Can you imagine Musselburgh Athletic playing a European tie against Spurs!
18-02-2021, 02:17 PM
I cant remember a Hibs fan invading the park to assault someone in the last 20 years. Happy to be proven wrong on that.
Anyway, couldn’t really give a ****, mon John McGinns Villa.
18-02-2021, 02:18 PM
I forgot Thursday was European night for the wee teams!
you’ll remember next year. That’s if your wee team make the cut!
18-02-2021, 02:25 PM
I cant remember a Hibs fan invading the park to assault someone in the last 20 years. Happy to be proven wrong on that.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqD3TVCwEWo
18-02-2021, 02:25 PM
If the sticky buns win the Europa League and gain automatic entry to the Champions League group stages would 3rd place in the Prem get Champions League qualifiers? Are we allowed to cheer on the stickies if so?
Magpie
18-02-2021, 02:27 PM
Keith Jackson might have something to say about that 😅
Hearts are the only fanbase who I can think who have done it on more than one occasion? The Lennon incident when he was at Celtic and the Riordan penalty goal in 2009.
There may have been a hun incident against Celtic too.
18-02-2021, 02:28 PM
If the sticky buns win the Europa League and gain automatic entry to the Champions League group stages would 3rd place in the Prem get Champions League qualifiers? Are we allowed to cheer on the stickies if so?
No and No.
18-02-2021, 02:31 PM
No and No.
Hope they get pumped then.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 02:33 PM
The EFL have approved the takeover of Sunderland by Kyril Louis-Dreyfus who becomes club chairman, with immediate effect.
He's only 24-years-old and heir to a £2billion fortune.
18-02-2021, 02:37 PM
The EFL have approved the takeover of Sunderland by Kyril Louis-Dreyfus who becomes club chairman, with immediate effect.
He's only 24-years-old and heir to a £2billion fortune.
Clubs like that will benefit massively from the salary cap not coming into force.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 02:42 PM
Clubs like that will benefit massively from the salary cap not coming into force.
Yep. If they don’t get promoted this season then I’d have them down as favourites for next season.
18-02-2021, 02:50 PM
I stand corrected.
Kicking the ball away ain’t exactly the same as a sucker punch to the face from behind though is it?
18-02-2021, 03:40 PM
you’ll remember next year. That’s if your wee team make the cut!
My wee team? You mean European giants (6 time winners Liverpool). 😂
18-02-2021, 03:51 PM
Ran pitchside, kicked the ball, shat himself, got lifted.
18-02-2021, 04:36 PM
I stand corrected.
Kicking the ball away ain’t exactly the same as a sucker punch to the face from behind though is it?Not at all, but we have our share of morons too.
18-02-2021, 04:37 PM
Ran pitchside, kicked the ball, shat himself, got lifted.So what he did is OK with you? Each to their own I suppose.
He did just boot the ball and tavernier started on him. The huns fault all day long tbh
Magpie
18-02-2021, 05:24 PM
That goal from Bale..he’s still got it.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 05:30 PM
Spurs are hammering this team.
18-02-2021, 05:36 PM
Spurs are hammering this team.
They're ther 6th place Austrian team tbf, I would expect Hibs to beat them.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 05:41 PM
Beat Salzburg away recently so not too shabby.
18-02-2021, 05:41 PM
Sociedad 0 United 1 at half time. Good match quite a few chances, the majority have gone to United.
18-02-2021, 05:43 PM
If they've qualified for the Europa League, then got out the group stage beating CSKA Moscow and Feyenoord in the process I'm not exactly sure why anyone would expect us to beat them given our European record.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 05:43 PM
If they've qualified for the Europa League, then got out the group stage beating CSKA Moscow and Feyenoord in the process I'm not exactly sure why anyone would expect us to beat them given our European record.
😂👍🏻
18-02-2021, 05:45 PM
Europa Half times
Braga 0 Roma 1
Red Star 0 Milan1
krasnodar 1 Din Zagreb 1
Olympiakos 3 PSV 2
Sociedad 0 Man Utd 1
Slavia Prague 0 Leicester 0
Wolfsberger 0 Spurs 3
Young Boys 3 Leverkusen 0
Earlier full time
Dyn Kiev 1 Club Brugge 1
Magpie
18-02-2021, 05:46 PM
Europa Half times
Braga 0 Roma 1
Red Star 0 Roma1
krasnodar 1 Din Zagreb 1
Olympiakos 3 PSV 2
Sociedad 0 Man Utd 1
Wolfsberger 0 Spurs 3
Young Boys 3 Leverkusen 0
Earlier full time
Dyn Kiev 1 Club Brugge 1
Are Roma playing Braga or Red Star? 😉
18-02-2021, 05:46 PM
Watch us do it next season :wink:
18-02-2021, 05:47 PM
Are Roma playing Braga or Red Star? 😉
Corrected mate just cant type fast enough :greengrin
Newry Hibs
18-02-2021, 06:21 PM
Red star have scored thru" Kanga Kaku. What a great name.
18-02-2021, 06:41 PM
Leverkusen fought back from 3-0 down against Young Boys to make it 3-3 only for Young Boys to snatch a fourth in the last minute. 4-3
18-02-2021, 06:48 PM
Nae coming back from that riposte:aok:
18-02-2021, 06:48 PM
Europa Full times
Braga 0 Roma 2
Red Star 2 Milan 2
krasnodar 2 Din Zagreb 3
Olympiakos 4 PSV 2
Sociedad 0 Man Utd 4
Wolfsberger 1 Spurs 4
Young Boys 4 Leverkusen 3
Dyn Kiev 1 Club Brugge 1
18-02-2021, 07:33 PM
Granada 2 up against Napoli. Hoffenheim 2 up in Molde.
18-02-2021, 07:33 PM
Hope those Govan w***s get leathered. That's all I've got to say.
18-02-2021, 07:34 PM
Hope those Govan w***s get leathered. That's all I've got to say.
They'll not, royal antwerp have been up and down all season.
18-02-2021, 07:37 PM
They'll not, royal antwerp have been up and down all season.
Agree I'd be surprised if Antwerp knock Rangers out in this tie.
18-02-2021, 07:38 PM
Rangers up against another pish mob in Europe
18-02-2021, 07:38 PM
Why do Alex Rae (moron) and Stephen Craigan (moron) keep saying each others names? :confused:
18-02-2021, 07:39 PM
What's the keeper upto man ffs
18-02-2021, 07:39 PM
This keeper had looked dodgy with his kick outs and whatever that was...
18-02-2021, 07:41 PM
Whits the goalie daen Tam
18-02-2021, 07:45 PM
Was that a The Rangers player actually getting booked in the first half ?
1-1
18-02-2021, 07:45 PM
Cracking header.
18-02-2021, 07:46 PM
Bullet
18-02-2021, 07:47 PM
Why do Alex Rae (moron) and Stephen Craigan (moron) keep saying each others names? :confused:
Like Paul and Barry Chuckle
The tears in their voices on the equaliser was enjoyable
18-02-2021, 07:48 PM
Was that a The Rangers player actually getting booked in the first half ?
1-1
They’re no in Scotland
18-02-2021, 07:52 PM
Penalty I like this ref
Hahahaha hun *******s. Two raging bitter *******s on the commentary too [emoji23][emoji23]
A penalty against Rangers ?!?! Definitely not playing in Scotland !
18-02-2021, 07:53 PM
What happened?
Europa late games half times
Antwerp 2 Rangers 1
Granada 2 Napoli 0
Lille 0 Ajax 0
Benfica 0 Arsenal 0
Maccabi Tel Aviv 0 Shaktar 1
Molde 1 Hoffenheim 3
Salzburg 0 Villareal 1
that's not a penalty shirly
oh well :greengrin
18-02-2021, 07:54 PM
How did these fuds not see Davis kicking him. Blatant pen.
Hahahaha hun *******s. Two raging bitter *******s on the commentary too [emoji23][emoji23]
Bitter wee hunny bunnies
Magpie
Go on the Royal Antwerp
ACLeith
Is that the first they’ve conceded this season?
I thought it was but that fact it was 3 or 4 mins after the half should have ended us the funny part lol
Magpie
I believe so.
18-02-2021, 07:55 PM
Just like old times.
18-02-2021, 07:56 PM
To be fair hardly anyone has got the ball as far as the Rangers penalty box this season.
18-02-2021, 08:00 PM
Antwerp reserves doing well
Knock out in stages in Europe. This is where teams like Sevco learn their level.
ACLeith
To be fair hardly anyone has got the ball as far as the Rangers penalty box this season.
True they’ve usually been stamped on or crunched before then
Rumble de Thump
18-02-2021, 08:04 PM
There are more huns on BT Sport than you usually get on Rangers TV, and they are not coping well at all.
18-02-2021, 08:04 PM
Can't believe I'm supporting the Royals.
rossevenil
18-02-2021, 08:05 PM
Except Hibs who should have had 2 given !
18-02-2021, 08:07 PM
Except Hibs who should have had 2 given !
Aye, they don't have a Scottish referee tonight. It's tough in the real world.
18-02-2021, 08:12 PM
Benfica 1 Arsenal 0
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:12 PM
Benfica 1-0 Arsenal
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:13 PM
Benfica 1 Arsenal 0
4th in Portugal. Hibs would beat them.
18-02-2021, 08:14 PM
So what he did is OK with you? Each to their own I suppose.
Nope but there’s a clear difference between kicking a ball and running away, and lamping someone 😂
18-02-2021, 08:14 PM
5th in Portugal. Hibs would beat them.
Hibs would beat Benfica? Put the meths doon :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:15 PM
Hibs would beat Benfica? Put the meths doon :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
Rangers did 😋
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:16 PM
Benfica 1-1 Arsenal. Need an Arsenal win for £225 🤞
18-02-2021, 08:16 PM
4th in Portugal. Hibs would beat them.
I follow Benfica mate and they are having an awful season trying to rebuild after losing a few players. Not playing well again tonight to be fair. 1-1 as I type.
They are 4th btw not 5th.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:17 PM
I follow Benfica mate and they are having an awful season trying to rebuild after losing a few players. Not playing well again tonight to be fair. 1-1 as I type.
They are 4th btw not 5th.
Where did it all go wrong for them? Did the failure of Champions League hurt them financially?
18-02-2021, 08:17 PM
Rangers did 😋
Aye, and Liverpool are currently sixth in England. We'd beat them, tae :greengrin
18-02-2021, 08:18 PM
Can't believe I'm supporting the Royals.
You're not.
You're supporting the great old.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:18 PM
Aye, and Liverpool are currently sixth in England. We'd beat them, tae :greengrin
Hibernian 1-0 Liverpool. Porteous (86’)
18-02-2021, 08:22 PM
That goalie is absolutely dire. Wouldnt get a game for Annan
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:23 PM
Come on the Royal.
18-02-2021, 08:23 PM
this team would struggle in the SPL
18-02-2021, 08:25 PM
Where did it all go wrong for them? Did the failure of Champions League hurt them financially?
Quite simply constantly losing their best players to bigger clubs in Europe or at least clubs that can flash more cash. A bit like Ajax in a way. Diaz at City, Vinicius at Spurs, Todibo at Barca, Florentino went to Monaco, Fernandez to Galatassary all sold by Benfica since last season. Netted £70 million in transfer fees but it takes time to put a new team together and when they do they are likely to sell anyone decent again.
18-02-2021, 08:26 PM
Alex Rae is an embarrassment. Hes on BT sport and meant to be impartial but is acting like your typical greeting faced weegie prick
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:27 PM
Alex Rae is an embarrassment. Hes on BT sport and meant to be impartial but is acting like your typical greeting faced weegie prick
It’s like watching Rangers TV
18-02-2021, 08:28 PM
Pity the goalie didn't go off a half decent keeper saves that pen. The bias in the commentary is embarrassing. Are Rae's eyes painted on?
Rumble de Thump
I had to mute it. The summarisers and eejits in the studio are unbearable.
Magpie
Quite simply constantly losing their best players to bigger clubs in Europe or at least clubs that can flash more cash. A bit like Ajax in a way. Diaz at City, Vinicius at Spurs, Todibo at Barca, Florentino went to Monaco, Fernandez to Galatassary all sold by Benfica since last season. Netted £70 million in transfer fees but it takes time to put a new team together and when they do they are likely to sell anyone decent again.
Im surprised they went downhill so fast. Had some great players in the past.
18-02-2021, 08:29 PM
Ram that right up you pair of bias hun twats
18-02-2021, 08:30 PM
Absolutely a complete moron. Good to see a ref give decisions for two teams rather than the normal one team. Get in.
Good goal
Magpie
You beautyyy
Ram that right up you pair of bias hun twats
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious
18-02-2021, 08:31 PM
What a goal!!!!!!
there's just something about a 3-2 scoreline
this team would struggle in the SPL
Yet they've put 3 past a rangers team who have concede about 3 goals in their last 10 league games.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:32 PM
Yet they've put 3 past a rangers team who have concede about 3 goals in their last 10 league games.
Also beat Spurs. They are a good team, fancied them from the moment Rangers got drawn them. 2 away goal for Rangers will help a lot though.
18-02-2021, 08:34 PM
Its the first time Antwerp have played a knock out game in Europe since they lost 10-2 on aggregate to Newcastle in the mid 90s.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:35 PM
Its the first time Antwerp have played a knock out game in Europe since they lost 10-2 on aggregate to Newcastle in the mid 90s.
And here they are beating the best team in Scotland. Good on them.
18-02-2021, 08:47 PM
Benfica 1 Arsenal 1
Salzburg 0 Villarreal 2
antwerp 3 sevco 3
sevco easily the better team
should have got a 4th there....and the same at the other end
18-02-2021, 08:48 PM
Kent just walked through that defence
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:51 PM
This has been a great game. Antwerp unlucky twice. Surprised Arsenal aren’t winning btw.
18-02-2021, 08:52 PM
Thats never a penalty. Absolute joke
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:52 PM
Seck sent off. Rangers pen.
18-02-2021, 08:53 PM
deffo penalty i think :greengrin
This has been a great game. Antwerp unlucky twice. Surprised Arsenal aren’t winning btw.
Benfica and Arsenal are effectively playing two matches on neutral venues, All square in now a one off match.
if they don't give the penalty then surely the guy gets back on ? :)
EI255
18-02-2021, 08:54 PM
Kris Boyd has just szpunked up in the Sky studio.
18-02-2021, 08:55 PM
Kris Boyd has just szpunked up in the Sky studio.
Too much information, mate. NOBODY wants to see Kris Boyd's cum face.
18-02-2021, 08:55 PM
arsenal let me down...p@sh
18-02-2021, 08:56 PM
Europa late games full times
Antwerp 3 Rangers 4
Granada 2 Napoli 0
Lille 1 Ajax 2
Benfica 1 Arsenal 1
Maccabi Tel Aviv 0 Shaktar 2
Molde 3 Hoffenheim 3
Salzburg 0 Villareal 2
18-02-2021, 08:57 PM
Hunbelievable.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 08:57 PM
arsenal let me down...p@sh
Pish club mate.
18-02-2021, 09:01 PM
Some belting games tonight with plenty of goals.
18-02-2021, 09:01 PM
Does Alex Rae have to say Rory or Stephen every time he opens his squeeky mouth.
He is a truly awful commentator and now seems like he thinks he's good so doesn't shut his mouth for 10 seconds.
18-02-2021, 09:02 PM
Does Alex Rae have to say Rory or Stephen every time he opens his squeeky mouth.
He is a truly awful commentator and now seems like he thinks he's good so doesn't shut his mouth for 10 seconds.
And you know he's a Hun just by his coupon. Looks like an orc.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 09:03 PM
I hate Rangers with a passion. I hope they get Man Utd or Spurs in the next round so they get a right hiding.
18-02-2021, 09:04 PM
Rangers win comes at a price Tavernier out for Season and Roofe off injured
Pish club mate.
they don't do very well in europe for the money they must have
Magpie
they don't do very well in europe for the money they must have
Have they ever won a European trophy?
Think of the coefficient lads.
Magpie
Think of the coefficient lads.
Very true tbf.
18-02-2021, 09:05 PM
That was some game eh. Most enjoyable I’ve watched for a while.
Magpie
18-02-2021, 09:06 PM
Me too. Three penalties which you don’t often get in a game, the away goals will sort Rangers out but they are not good enough to beat a decent side.
18-02-2021, 09:07 PM
Can't bring myself to watch Rangers unless it's against us. Some result again in Europe for the pricks
Thought the second penalty looked dodgy looked like it came off the players body before his hand, may be wrong wouldn't mind a decent replay of it.
Have they ever won a European trophy?
the old fairs cup 69-70
and the old cup winners cup 93-94
source wikipedia
18-02-2021, 09:09 PM
the old fairs cup 69-70
source wikipedia
Yes, I remember them winning the ECWC. Not much to show for a club of that stature.
18-02-2021, 09:13 PM
He is without doubt a complete moron. I usually rate BT Sports football coverage, but that was painful to listen to tonight. 2 bitter huns on the commentary and 2 in the studio and not a brain cell between the 4 of them.
18-02-2021, 09:14 PM
Despite the result, that was a fairly enjoyable watch. Not enjoyable to listen to mind you...
18-02-2021, 09:30 PM
i'm not understanding this, in the predictions for qualification to European cups 2021/22 how come Livingston are in the Europa league spot and Hibs/Aberdeen in the Conference league spots :confused: updated 18th Feb
UEFA Country & Club Ranking and tables. | Football-coefficient.eu (football-coefficient.eu) (https://www.football-coefficient.eu/coefficient/#:~:text=UEFA%20Club%20Ranking%20%20%20%20order%20 ,%20%2032.000%20%2016%20more%20rows)
18-02-2021, 09:33 PM
Yes, I remember them winning the ECWC. Not much to show for a club of that stature.
they just don't seem capable of taking that extra step
18-02-2021, 09:38 PM
You obviously don’t watch much football !
Thought the Belgium team were really poor at times and their keepers wouldn’t start at Hibs.
Some of the defending was shocking - amazed they managed to score 3 but not that amazed as Hibs have shown that they can give Rangers a game x3 times this season already. Yes Rangers have improved but as others have said - play a half decent Euro side and they will get knocked out. They will definitely win the 2nd leg at Ibrox.
SJNB Hibby
18-02-2021, 09:45 PM
Thought the Dutch team were really poor at times and their keepers wouldn’t start at Hibs.
Some of the defending was shocking - amazed they managed to score 3 but not that amazed as Hibs have shown that they can give Rangers a game x3 times this season already. Yes Rangers have improved but as others have said - play a half decent Euro side and they will get knocked out. They will definitely win the 2nd leg at Ibrox.
Dutch???
18-02-2021, 09:54 PM
Thought the Dutch team were really poor at times and their keepers wouldn’t start at Hibs.
Dutch team 🤣🤣
18-02-2021, 09:55 PM
:greengrin Antwerp is in Belgium. As they say pride comes before a fall :wink:
18-02-2021, 09:58 PM
Ooft! That's a worse blunder than the goalie made for the first hun goal 🤭
*Which "they" do you think will win the second leg at Ibrox??
18-02-2021, 10:14 PM
Dutch???
They all look the same in those Benelux countries.
18-02-2021, 10:39 PM
the old fairs cup 69-70
source wikipedia
Surely not unless my memory is worse than I thought, Rangers won the Fairs Cup in 1972 and good on them for that but they’ve not won any other other European competition.
Tell me I’m not wrong please. We’d never hear the end of it if they’d won two European trophies as well as a world record... oh wait, that was Rangers Football Club, not The Rangers.
18-02-2021, 10:42 PM
Surely not unless my memory is worse than I thought, Rangers won the Fairs Cup in 1972 and good on them for that but they’ve not won any other other European competition.
Tell me I’m not wrong please. We’d never hear the end of it if they’d won two European trophies as well as a world record... oh wait, that was Rangers Football Club, not The Rangers.
That's Arsenal's record, mate. Rangers won the ECWC in Barcelona in 1972 - they also lost the final in 1967. The trophy had to be presented in the dressing room in 1972 because, would you believe, Rangers fans rioted in the stadium.
18-02-2021, 10:57 PM
I know it's because of covid rules but something strange about Real Sociedad having to play their game in Turin when Molde and Hoffenhiem have to travel to Spain to play each other.
19-02-2021, 05:44 AM
Rangers have won no major domestic trophies never mind a European one
19-02-2021, 05:58 AM
As I said, for a neutral, it was an exciting game to watch. End to end stuff, penalties, goalkeeping mistakes, last minute goal.
I’m not sure why you’re even bringing hibs into it? Bit of an OTT reaction to me saying it was an exciting watch. Strange.
Dutch team? You obviously don’t watch much football.
EI255
19-02-2021, 06:38 AM
I hate Rangers with a passion. I hope they get Man Utd or Spurs in the next round so they get a right hiding.There's a few tastier teams left than them. They've no chance of winning the Cup. Their defence was shown up for what it is last night. They simply haven't been tested in the SPL this season.
But I agree, I hate them with a passion too and look forward to seeing them getting spanked in the next round, IF they qualify.
EI255
19-02-2021, 06:39 AM
Rangers win comes at a price Tavernier out for Season and Roofe off injured
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkMost of their success this season has stemmed from Tavernier.
Such a pity he's gonna miss remaining Euro games for them [emoji1787]
19-02-2021, 06:39 AM
Dutch???
Ha! Very good - sorry Belgium. Posted late.
19-02-2021, 06:43 AM
As I said, for a neutral, it was an exciting game to watch. End to end stuff, penalties, goalkeeping mistakes, last minute goal.
I’m not sure why you’re even bringing hibs into it? Bit of an OTT reaction to me saying it was an exciting watch. Strange.
Dutch team? You obviously don’t watch much football.
Sorry i wasn’t having a go - it’s quite the opposite I do watch a lot of football so have watched quite a lot of decent games recently. Maybe I wasn’t neutral watching as wanted the huns to lose.
My point about Hibs is we have run them close without much of a budget at all so think a half decent team will beat them.
Made a mistake with the Dutch reference - I’ve ever been to Antwerp but never been to the stadium. Post edited above :)
19-02-2021, 07:34 AM
Was Taveniers injury a cruciate?
19-02-2021, 07:36 AM
Was Taveniers injury a cruciate?
Looked more like medial. Block tackle and possibly opened joint rather than twist
hibbie02
19-02-2021, 07:38 AM
i'm not understanding this, in the predictions for qualification to European cups 2021/22 how come Livingston are in the Europa league spot and Hibs/Aberdeen in the Conference league spots :confused: updated 18th Feb
UEFA Country & Club Ranking and tables. | Football-coefficient.eu (football-coefficient.eu) (https://www.football-coefficient.eu/coefficient/#:~:text=UEFA%20Club%20Ranking%20%20%20%20order%20 ,%20%2032.000%20%2016%20more%20rows)
Not sure how they have determined that. They also have Sevilla as the top Spanish Team and they are only 4th in La Liga. Maybe they have another club coefficient they are not telling us about...
19-02-2021, 07:58 AM
Ha! Very good - sorry Belgium. Posted late.
To be fair I'm sure Daryl what's his name in the studio called the Feyenoord at one point.
jws1875
19-02-2021, 08:03 AM
Has it maybe got something to do with the Scottish Cup potentially being cancelled? 5th place would only qualify for Europe if the Scottish Cup is cancelled/or won by a team already qualified. The way I'd expect it to work is 3rd place would get the Europa League while 4th & 5th would get Europa 2 places. They're maybe thinking because the Scottish Cup winner gets the Europa League place that 5th would get it as opposed to it all being adjusted.
Paul1642
19-02-2021, 08:12 AM
Has it maybe got something to do with the Scottish Cup potentially being cancelled? 5th place would only qualify for Europe if the Scottish Cup is cancelled/or won by a team already qualified. The way I'd expect it to work is 3rd place would get the Europa League while 4th & 5th would get Europa 2 places. They're maybe thinking because the Scottish Cup winner gets the Europa League place that 5th would get it as opposed to it all being adjusted.
Our three most recent years (including this once) are pretty great with the older 3 (including the one that drops of this season) are not so good. Two good years on the bounce and we could easily be up to 9th. Not sure what that means in real terms.
Almost in our favour for rangers and Celtic to up the European game and Hibs with a great chance to contribute :)
19-02-2021, 01:31 PM
Scotland Ladies winning 9-0 with about 15 minutes to go against Cyprus. Some good goals.
Correction 10-0
19-02-2021, 01:44 PM
Looked more like medial. Block tackle and possibly opened joint rather than twist
Shame.
19-02-2021, 01:56 PM
the old fairs cup 69-70
source wikipedia
They won the cup winners cup in 1972, their only European trophy.
19-02-2021, 02:01 PM
They were talking about arsenal
19-02-2021, 02:07 PM
It was Arsenal they were banging on about and I suppose they’ve one more than the Huns.
Hang on, make that two more the Huns.
19-02-2021, 02:07 PM
They were talking about arsenal
So I see. This clown has not read the thread properly. :idiot:
19-02-2021, 02:15 PM
Could it be because livingston are favourites for the only cup competition likely to be completed? :worried:
19-02-2021, 02:17 PM
Good result for the Scotland Ladies team winning 10 - 0 in Cyprus
19-02-2021, 06:22 PM
Could it be because livingston are favourites for the only cup competition likely to be completed? :worried:
nah surely not the league cup, besides, St.johnstone have a very good chance of winning it, i'm kinda hoping they do now because i don't want Livingston having just one less league cup win than us :)
19-02-2021, 06:29 PM
probably a few goals coming up in the Wolves v Leeds game......hopefully it's Leeds turn this time :)
then again, surprisingly 0-0 at HT :(
19-02-2021, 08:15 PM
probably a few goals coming up in the Wolves v Leeds game......hopefully it's Leeds turn this time :)
then again, surprisingly 0-0 at HT :(
Still 0-0 getting on for an hour. Its a decent game though.
19-02-2021, 08:18 PM
Still 0-0 getting on for an hour. Its a decent game though.
leeds miss philips in midfield for a bit of dig
19-02-2021, 08:21 PM
1-0 Wolves, hell of a strike but keeper unlucky. A pile driver from outside of the box came down off the underside of the bar and hit the keeper and went in.
19-02-2021, 08:21 PM
1-0 wolves OG comes off the bar and hits meslier....great control i guess :(
just a pity leeds chances are falling to cooper
Magpie
19-02-2021, 08:26 PM
Raphinha’s deliveries have been amazing from set pieces. Leeds need to put one away.
19-02-2021, 08:33 PM
thankfully won't have to watch Wolves again this season
19-02-2021, 08:35 PM
offisde :rolleyes: :( get VAR away from the game
19-02-2021, 08:40 PM
offisde :rolleyes: :( get VAR away from the game
Unlucky that was a belting finish. VAR is painful but offiside is about the only thing it actually works for IMO. Im not a fan generally but thats a thread all on its own.
19-02-2021, 08:48 PM
if time wasting was taken into account we would get another 20 mins
only 5 mins added though, i hate watching wolves :)
leeds should beg wolves to take costa back, the guy is rank
Magpie
20-02-2021, 12:02 PM
Southampton v Chelsea...I’ve seen better games.
Magpie
20-02-2021, 12:03 PM
Southampton 1-0 Chelsea
Oft and against the run of play. Saints have been encamped on their own 18 yard box since the start too!
Outstanding finish.
NthCarolinaHibs
20-02-2021, 12:07 PM
Southampton v Chelsea...I’ve seen better games.
A nap Saints would score after posting that.. 😂😂
Magpie
20-02-2021, 12:08 PM
A nap Saints would score after posting that.. 😂😂
Someone had to jinx it 😂
20-02-2021, 12:56 PM
Mallan on the Bench and his team currently winning 2-0
SJNB Hibby
20-02-2021, 01:01 PM
Didnt he go there to get game time?:confused:
Magpie
20-02-2021, 01:23 PM
Southampton 1-1 Chelsea FT
20-02-2021, 01:26 PM
another bad one for Brentford
FT Coventry 2 Brentford 0
20-02-2021, 01:29 PM
another bad one for Brentford
FT Coventry 2 Brentford 0
Seem to be having a bit of a bad spell Brentford, think that's 3 defeats on the trot now.
20-02-2021, 01:32 PM
Seem to be having a bit of a bad spell Brentford, think that's 3 defeats on the trot now.
:agree: they're just holding on to that 2nd automatic spot
20-02-2021, 01:33 PM
:agree: they're just holding on to that 2nd automatic spot
Fancy Watford to finish above them.
20-02-2021, 01:38 PM
Fancy Watford to finish above them.
Swansea sitting pretty, just one point behind both Brentford and Watford but with three games less played
20-02-2021, 02:08 PM
1-0 Livi
20-02-2021, 02:23 PM
Aberdeen 1-0 Kilmarnock
Motherwell 0-1 St Johnstone
20-02-2021, 02:32 PM
St Mirren 1-1 Livingston
20-02-2021, 02:33 PM
St Mirren 1-1 Livingston
Not good in their quest for 4th place. :greengrin
20-02-2021, 02:40 PM
Come on Killie.
Magpie
20-02-2021, 02:56 PM
Motherwell struggling, two hammerings at home in the space of a week.
20-02-2021, 03:03 PM
Motherwell struggling, two hammerings at home in the space of a week.
In free fall and serious danger of relegation
20-02-2021, 03:06 PM
Motherwell 0-3 St Johnstone
sparryheids 0 morton 1
Hearts 0-1 Morton
20-02-2021, 03:09 PM
Robinson has left Motherwell in a dreadful mess.
McSwanky
20-02-2021, 03:11 PM
Cumdog scores for Dundee
20-02-2021, 03:17 PM
If somebody could actually put together a run in that league then hearts would be in bother. As it is, second place hasn’t even won half their games.
20-02-2021, 03:21 PM
Jambos wanting Neilson out 😂😂
Hearts 0-1 Morton
Bustin ma coupon, that'll teach me. 😂
20-02-2021, 03:24 PM
........... then lost 3 goals in a row to lose the game. :greengrin
20-02-2021, 03:27 PM
Hearts 1 - 1 Morton