View Full Version : Match Updates 2020-21 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80

Keyser Sauzee
26-04-2021, 07:24 PM
Killie in the semi please, they’re a gang.

26-04-2021, 07:27 PM
Killie in the semi please, they’re a gang.

Not with Lafferty back. He's just the type to do us in the semi.

26-04-2021, 07:29 PM
Think I definitely like the finish on the day cup ties. Either me or a few thugs in both these sides.

26-04-2021, 07:30 PM
2-1 killie

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

26-04-2021, 07:31 PM
OFGS. 2-1 Killie. What are St M doing at the back there ?

26-04-2021, 07:32 PM
What’s wrong with Laugherty?

26-04-2021, 07:33 PM
Some deliveries from Chris Burke but take any of these teams in semi

26-04-2021, 07:34 PM
What’s wrong with Laugherty?Foot issue. Apparently minor

26-04-2021, 07:35 PM
What a dreadful game of football so far.

I've enjoyed it tbh. both teams look dangerous. St Mirren very vulnerable to crosses

26-04-2021, 07:35 PM
What’s wrong with Laugherty?
He’s a bigoted, nasty piece of **** with no decency or morals. Oh and he is an ex jambo and hun:greengrin

26-04-2021, 07:37 PM
Foot issue. Apparently minor

He’s a bigoted, nasty piece of **** with no decency or morals. Oh and he is an ex jambo and hun:greengrin

I'm not completely bed wetting, but there has rarely been a more obvious worst-case scenario candidate to knock us out of the cup than Kyle Lafferty.

26-04-2021, 07:38 PM
I'm not completely bed wetting, but there has rarely been a more obvious worst-case scenario candidate to knock us out of the cup than Kyle Lafferty.

Kyle Lafferty has played us before and done the square root of **** all in all but one Derby game

26-04-2021, 07:39 PM

yep. It’s a concern. I want him and killie dumped out on their arse tonight.

EI255
Some annoying punter screaming inside stadium when Killie scored.

Keep yer germs away dick heid

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

I’d take Kiltie at Hibs.

26-04-2021, 07:44 PM
I’d take Kiltie at Hibs.

Wasn’t a team like that who knocked hearts out?

26-04-2021, 07:44 PM
This game's not over. Come on you Saints.

Freedom the Killie midfielder had to stroll in and score the 2nd was horrific. Would never get that chance against a decent team.

26-04-2021, 07:46 PM
Kyle Lafferty has played us before and done the square root of **** all in all but one Derby game

Doesn't have to make any sense.

26-04-2021, 07:47 PM
Marv saying he hopes the Hibs go on to win it.

Keyser Sauzee
26-04-2021, 07:49 PM
Was beginning to think Leanne Crichton was a half decent pundit then she comes out with “Harkes has been a different animal this season”, he’s brutal ffs

EI255
26-04-2021, 07:51 PM
Marv saying he hopes the Hibs go on to win it.Legend.

26-04-2021, 07:53 PM
That's Millen, the son of the great Andy Millen

Chill oot Rob. [emoji23]

26-04-2021, 07:53 PM
Marv saying he hopes the Hibs go on to win it.

Loves the Hibs, Legend and smart guy as well.

26-04-2021, 07:56 PM
Sadly, St Mirren are a shambles.

rossevenil
26-04-2021, 07:57 PM
Ref`s of all the Quarters have been keen to keep the cards in their pockets except for our game....Mulumbu should have been carded in 1st half for persistent fouling if nothing else and the boy Power lucky to escape a yellow for what looked like a possible stamp although no surprise BBC only reshow those things if it involves Hibs players.

26-04-2021, 07:58 PM
Sadly, St Mirren are a shambles.They look very very poor here

Magpie
26-04-2021, 07:59 PM
Loves the Hibs, Legend and smart guy as well.

I hope he goes on to have a successful career as a manager.

26-04-2021, 08:04 PM
Sadly, St Mirren are a shambles.

Two very poor teams

26-04-2021, 08:06 PM
Are St mirren missing some players?

Wheres Cammy Macpherson or Kyle mcalister?

Also see Erahon just came on - he's looked deceny when I've seen them

26-04-2021, 08:07 PM
I’d take the winner of this in a heart beat.

JammyDoidger
Hibs would blooter the two of them.

Also an extra in Avatar.

26-04-2021, 08:08 PM
Actually think it has been a decent open attacking game

26-04-2021, 08:09 PM
We go full strength next weekend to secure third, and end up with a suspension and a bad injury, that has a knock on effect to the cup tie. Not only might we lose that game next week anyway, but it also leaves us short for the semi final. Which is more valuable to the club? And which is still 99% likely to happen even if we never picked up another point?

In comparison with winning the cup, third vs fourth is irrelevant. There’s also nothing anywhere which states that it’s £250k the difference.

The difference between 3rd and 4th last season was just over £200k. If we finish 3rd it will be an increase of £630k on last season and of course a reduction of £200k for Aberdeen. That's a swing of £830k to us from last season. Not to be sniffed at.

26-04-2021, 08:11 PM
The difference between 3rd and 4th last season was just over £200k. If we finish 3rd it will be an increase of £630k on last season and of course a reduction of £200k for Aberdeen. That's a swing of £830k to us from last season. Not to be sniffed at.

Watching Aberdeen yesterday I'd be surprised if they won another game this season let alone get enough points to beat us to 3rd.

26-04-2021, 08:12 PM
Are St mirren missing some players?

Wheres Cammy Macpherson or Kyle mcalister?

Also see Erahon just came on - he's looked deceny when I've seen them

McPherson on the bench not sure about McAlister. Think Wright has improved Killie

26-04-2021, 08:16 PM

If we won the cup, with all the merchandise and rise in season ticket sales that come with that, along with the huge revenues from the European run, the swing between us and Aberdeen would be in the millions. Ps Aberdeen won’t have lost anything from last season, they finished fourth and would finish fourth again. And again, the leagues done. Saturdays game is the least of our worries between now and the cup final.

Would like to see St Mirren win this if only for the reason that we tend to do well against them.

Plus two semis and possibly a final

Stairway 2 7
26-04-2021, 08:18 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.football.london/chelsea-fc/fixtures-results/chelsea-fans-fa-cup-wembley-20471485.amp

21000 could be at fa Cup final, surely some fans could watch ours if relocated

26-04-2021, 08:19 PM
Watching Aberdeen yesterday I'd be surprised if they won another game this season let alone get enough points to beat us to 3rd.

Now Huns are out the Cup, 3rd place is not what it could have been. They're done.

26-04-2021, 08:21 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.football.london/chelsea-fc/fixtures-results/chelsea-fans-fa-cup-wembley-20471485.amp

Looks like a proper, thought out plan of getting fans back. Up here our test events were 300 fans and then told to ram it, and now they’re essentially going in dry to the Euro’s.

26-04-2021, 08:21 PM
Not sure who I’d prefer in the semi final?

davhibby
26-04-2021, 08:23 PM
The winner of this has to be who we want in the draw. Definitely the worst teams left in, and we’ve won all of our games against them both so far this season

26-04-2021, 08:25 PM
Based on the defending and some of the goalkeeping in this game I'd fancy us to take a few of either of this pair.

The winner of this has to be who we want in the draw. Definitely the worst teams left in, and we’ve won all of our games against them both so far this seasonThey are the worst of the bottom 6 six sides

Of course it should be moved. And of course fans should be allowed. But this is Scotland and the SFA don't give an SFA about anyone other than the Glasgow Twins so will put zero pressure on the government to change anything.

26-04-2021, 08:27 PM
2-2

2-2

2-2 good goal saints

26-04-2021, 08:29 PM
You gotta love Scottish fitba !

26-04-2021, 08:29 PM
All these cup ties have been absolutely superb to watch

Heckys Wheel
26-04-2021, 08:33 PM
Not sure who I’d prefer in the semi final?

Has to be St Mirren. They’ve been hopeless tonight. Terrible at the back and even worse up top.

Is this year's Scottish Cup arguably the best one ever?

Huge chance for St mirren

I was in the process of typing how garbage that quanar boy has been since he came on - thought he was a stick on to score there [emoji23]

St Mirren should win it there.

I see Jim Goodwin is going down the Jack Ross route of wearing 2 jackets. Is it a Paisley thing? Why not just wear one thick jacket?

26-04-2021, 08:35 PM
I see Jim Goodwin is going down the Jack Ross route of wearing 2 jackets. Is it a Paisley thing? Why not just wear one thick jacket?https://www.backpacker.com/gear-reviews/the-art-and-science-of-layering-lead-gen/

Chorley Hibee
26-04-2021, 08:36 PM
Hibs v St Mirren final with the Dundee Chairman and Albert Kidd to present the cup and medals.

Just for the Jambo seethe.

Would rather St Mirren went through as you just know Lafferty would score against us

You gotta love Scottish fitba !

Scottish football gets a hard time but what would you rather watch? Any of the cup 1/4 finals or the English league cup final? Man Citybare very pretty but there wasn't any excitement in that game whereas all 1/4 final games have been exciting but maybe not the most technical football. Scottish fitba every time for me!!

26-04-2021, 08:37 PM
Has to be St Mirren. They’ve been hopeless tonight. Terrible at the back and even worse up top.

Think you maybe right but would be happy with either of these 2.

So

Utd v Perth Saints
Hibs v Killie/Paisley Saints

26-04-2021, 08:38 PM
What is it with goalkeepers and dodgy looking beards🤔

26-04-2021, 08:47 PM
Got to be hoping we get the winner of this tie given we have 6 wins out of 6 games against them this season.

26-04-2021, 08:48 PM
Got to be hoping we get the winner of this tie given we have 6 wins out of 6 games against them this season.

St Mirren please. Tommy Wright knows how to play against us and then there's Lafferty.

26-04-2021, 08:49 PM
Killie down to 10

26-04-2021, 08:51 PM
Killie down to 10Unfortunate

Kambamba off injured, no more subs

26-04-2021, 08:52 PM
Why are the BBC commentators favouring Kilmarnock in this match ? It's so obvious.

Pen killie

St mirren player got the ball didn't he?

Think the guy was playing for it.

Never a pen. Shocking decision

26-04-2021, 08:53 PM
Think the guy was playing for it.

Soft penalty!

GRA
3-2 to 10 man Killie. Turning into a topsy turvy game.

3-2 Kilmarnock

mayo hibee
Pretty blatant dive there.

David_D
I agree never a penalty

So the Killie man dived, but hey ho. Killie are winning so life is good at the BBC :greengrin

Pen killie

St mirren player got the ball didn't he?

He certainly did never a penalty

EI255
That bloody annoying guy screaming again. Must be right beside the commentary bit.

Killie twat.

26-04-2021, 08:54 PM
kin dive

The Killie player conned the ref there. Zero contact

Credit to the penalty taker? He rolled it down the middle it’s hardly a good penalty.

That was never a penalty. Poor decision by ref

Yep awful ref. Clearly got the ball.

Looks like the wrong decision but tough call on first viewing.

Don Robertson just keeps getting the big decisions wrong.

Don Robertson is a shocking ref

26-04-2021, 08:55 PM
Stinking decision, feel for them.

26-04-2021, 08:55 PM
Never a pen

Watch it jinx me, but I'm hopeful of drawing killie in the semi

26-04-2021, 08:56 PM
Unfortunate

Kambamba off injured, no more subs

Obviously didn't pay attention to Jack Ross's sub retention masterclass.

26-04-2021, 08:57 PM
Credit to the penalty taker? He rolled it down the middle it’s hardly a good penalty.

Rob MacLean even said it was clinical.

26-04-2021, 08:59 PM
Rob MacLean is a horrendous commentator.

That’s a howler from the ref.

EI255
Not sure I can put up with the screamer for another 15 mins! Wish he'd shut the fck up!

26-04-2021, 09:00 PM
No one gonna mention the dive? They’d be all over it if it was Boyle.

Not sure I can put up with the screamer for another 15 mins! Wish he'd shut the fck up!

Turn the sound off and put the radio on.

EI255
Rob MacLean is a horrendous commentator.Indeed. All very humdrum and BBC. He's actually a very boring commentator.

Keyser Sauzee
Killie still fighting for safety is another reason I want them in the semi, all other teams will be focusing solely on the cup while they may take they’re eye off the ball with other priorities.

26-04-2021, 09:01 PM
No one gonna mention the dive? They’d be all over it if it was Boyle.Saints player never made any contact, it's about as obvious as a dive you will see once you see the replay

No one's mentioned that at all

No one gonna mention the dive? They’d be all over it if it was Boyle.

100%

Not the first time we've seen that shocker of a ref make a head scratching decision. Where do they get these guys from?

EI255
Turn the sound off and put the radio on.Still won't escape the screamer though!

eezyrider
Not a penalty, but that's after seeing the replay. On first viewing I thought it was all the way. Tough one for the ref.

EZ

26-04-2021, 09:02 PM
Is this year's Scottish Cup arguably the best one ever?

only if we win it

26-04-2021, 09:05 PM
The Killie player conned the ref there. Zero contact

The St Mirren and Motherwell fans will take a great deal of consolation from the fact that, although they're out of a competition that could have led to a hugely lucrative European campaign, we don't have VAR in Scotland.

26-04-2021, 09:05 PM
Not a penalty, but that's after seeing the replay. On first viewing I thought it was all the way. Tough one for the ref.

EZ

Yeah I called-out “penalty” when seen it live. Missed the replays so still to change my mind but sounds from what everyone is saying that it shouldn’t have been.

26-04-2021, 09:06 PM
Not the first time we've seen that shocker of a ref make a head scratching decision. Where do they get these guys from?

Were you sure it wasn't a penalty when you first saw it?

That Quaner is never a footballer...

Still won't escape the screamer though!

Sent from my LG-H870 using TapatalkCOME ON HIBERNIAN!!!

St Mirren are a more attractive team on the ball.

26-04-2021, 09:07 PM
At least the St Mirren fans can be happy that we don't have VAR. The ST Mirren and Motherwell fans will take a great deal of consolation from the fact that, although they're out of a competition that could have led to a hugely lucrative European campaign, we don't have VAR in Scotland.

Is your point that you would want VAR in Scotland, HR?!

26-04-2021, 09:08 PM
At least the St Mirren fans can be happy that we don't have VAR. The ST Mirren and Motherwell fans will take a great deal of consolation from the fact that, although they're out of a competition that could have led to a hugely lucrative European campaign, we don't have VAR in Scotland.

Indeed HR indeed.

Tbh even if we did have it it would probably take the officials 15 minutes to decide and it wouldn’t be confident they’d get it right!

26-04-2021, 09:09 PM

If I’m reading it correctly I detect a heavy hint of sarcasm in his post! I may however be wrong!

26-04-2021, 09:10 PM

I do.

I want the rules surrounding it to be improved, but I'm sick of bad decisions deciding ganes so VAR is a necessity.

Indeed HR indeed.

Tbh even if we did have it it would probably take the officials 15 minutes to decide and it wouldn’t be confident they’d get it right!

Never happen, won’t suit the O.F.

If I’m reading it correctly I detect a heavy hint of sarcasm in his post! I may however be wrong!

Oh I do too. I’m just confirming he’s an advocate of VAR, as from being in total agreement with HR less than an hour ago, I will be completely at odds with his view on this 😀

26-04-2021, 09:11 PM
More intelligent play from the Killie diver, say the BBC.

26-04-2021, 09:12 PM
They've used the word "experience" in this game lots yet Boyle is a serial diver, two faced ****s

26-04-2021, 09:12 PM
Didn't realise Shaughnessy was at St Mirren now. Thought he'd be at a higher level.

26-04-2021, 09:13 PM
I do.

I want the rules surrounding it to be improved, but I'm sick of bad decisions deciding ganes so VAR is a necessity.
Not what they say in England

EI255
26-04-2021, 09:14 PM
Fingers crossed we draw Killie. They look gash.

26-04-2021, 09:15 PM
Pen St mirren

That looks a real dodgy call too

JXM73
Pelanty Saints

Penalty!!

Oft keeper!

Superb entertainment this

3-3

JXM73
3-3

GRA
It's 3-3... some drama in the cup games this week!

26-04-2021, 09:16 PM
Good stuff

That's never a pen either, evens it up though

Oooh looks like the keeper makes another howler. 3-3

Wish Colin Doyle had stayed at hearts.

Really enjoyed this game

That screams of evening things up 😂

Pelanty Saintshttps://www.mirror.co.uk/opinion/football-opinion/five-live-pay-pelanty-hiring-3372420

I don't think that was a penalty either.

Magpie
26-04-2021, 09:17 PM
Who would you prefer in the semi’s out of these pair?

Nearly 4-3 St Mirren

Ffs. Doyle is brutal. Guaranteed a mistake. Really wanted killie in the semi

Tommy Wrights face.....

Keeper what a save

mayo hibee
Not sure that was a pen either, ref saw a get out of jail card there I think.

GRA
Nearly a winner! Doyle has been dodgy but made a good save there.

Big save Doyle

I reckon St mirrens pen is a shocker of a. Call likes

EI255
Didn't realise Broadtoes was still in the top flight.

Penalties

Best tournament in the UK and it's not even close.

26-04-2021, 09:18 PM

I see to remember Doyle being good when he was at Birmingham?

Both of them are not pens. Shocking from the ref.

Saints should have won it at the death

bringbackbenny
The Killie keeper has sold 2 goals

EI255
Two teams who clearly can't defend here.

Not what they say in England

It is.

There is frustration surrounding the rules and their interpretation.

Of course there are a few folk who would prefer referees' bad decisions deciding the outcome of games as long as the game keeps flowing, but the vast majority want it.

PLEASE give us either of these sides in the Semi. They are both rank rotten.... but entertaining. And it would piss off the BBC too.

Who would you prefer in the semi’s out of these pair?

St Mirren.

Big save Doyle

I reckon St mirrens pen is a shocker of a. Call likes

Both penalty decisions were iffy.

Doyle anyone?

26-04-2021, 09:19 PM

If we win it then it is Neilson's fault, if St Mirren (one of their other favourite clubs), then it'll be their loaned out goalkeeper's fault. 😃

The Killie keeper has sold 2 goalsFirst goal yes but he clearly has the ball for the penalty

GRA
Both pens were dodgy... looks as if the ref knows the first was a shocker so trying to even things out... Two wrongs don't make a right though...

PLEASE give us either of these sides in the Semi. They are both rank rotten.... but entertaining. And it would piss off the BBC too.

Think I’m with you on this Onion so that means we will get either Utd or St J

26-04-2021, 09:20 PM
Both penalty decisions were iffy.That's a tad genrous! [emoji23]

Magpie
St Mirren.

That’s who I’m swaying towards too.

Well the bad penalty decisions even themselves out and now we have penalties

26-04-2021, 09:21 PM
That’s who I’m swaying towards too.

Kilmarnock's a better side with Lafferty.

St Mirren.

Killie for me

Goalie gets two hands to the ball and he gives a pen. Absolutely horrible ref. Decision after decision wrong. Like Collum in the extra time against Hearts two penalty decisions wrong. Standard of refereeing is so bad.

1-0 Kilmarnock

1-1

Magpie
Doyle 😭 wow

26-04-2021, 09:22 PM
Killie miss

Kilmarnock miss 1-1

Killie miss

It is.

There is frustration surrounding the rules and their interpretation.

Of course there are a few folk who would prefer referees' bad decisions deciding the outcome of games as long as the game keeps flowing, but the vast majority want it.
Every weekend MoTD critical of VAR frankly it's laughable at times

2-1 St Mirren

26-04-2021, 09:23 PM
2-2

Pinnock was in a rush there - good pen

3-2 St Mirren

3-2 after 3 pens

26-04-2021, 09:24 PM
3-3

Doyle 😭 wow

I was wanting St Mirren to go through but maybe it would be better Killie getting through with him in goal.

Top pen Ross Millen

Famous dad he has

4-3 St Mirren

4-3

1 pen each to go

Tshbola... Scores

4-4

26-04-2021, 09:25 PM
Yes, St M in the Semi.

St Mirren win 5-4 on penalties

Kyle mcalister for the win....

Scores

Every weekend MoTD critical of VAR frankly it's laughable at times

It's the way it's interpreted and used by the refs that's criticised, not the technology.

Magpie
Doyle is terrible. St Mirren in the semi final please.

EI255
26-04-2021, 09:26 PM
Would have preferred Killie in semi but great seeing them knocked out.

Apart from the miss, they were all cracking penalties

Hope so too tbh but I think we will get St J

HibeeEmma

Yes please

Happy with that

mayo hibee
26-04-2021, 09:27 PM
St Mirren could have taken 5 more and Doyle wouldn't have got near any of them.

Suppose St Mirren winning annoys Hearts fans so that will do for me.

Happy with that. I’d fancy us heavily against St Mirren

lafferty won’t be stopping us at least

We can't have a much better semi final line-up. Two of Dundee Utd, St Johnstone and St Mirren. Come on. PLEASE.

Would rather St Mirren went through as you just know Lafferty would score against us

Another wee bit of pee dries in! :greengrin

Think we will get StM in semi which suits us. They try to play a bit.

Right Marv you know what to do!

26-04-2021, 09:28 PM
Do us a favour Marv

St Mirren already beaten rangers in the cup

Killie worst team of those remaining. Oh well. Would rather St mirren than either of the other two

Utd it is

mayo hibee
26-04-2021, 09:29 PM
I'll take that. Glad to avoid St J - You'd never know, St Mirren might pick them off.

HendoDelivered
26-04-2021, 09:29 PM
Tough draw IMO

26-04-2021, 09:32 PM
It's the way it's interpreted and used by the refs that's criticised, not the technology.

I don’t think the “vast majority” are for it. I know lots and lots of fans that wish it had never got involved/would ***** off completely, or are glad it’s not in the Scottish game. This includes people that were originally all for it.

I don’t know of a single person that is still in support of it.

I also appreciate my circle of football following friends isn’t a reliable sample...

That’s why I asked really - as was quite surprised to see yourself being so vocal re wanting it, as not seen it for so long!

26-04-2021, 09:32 PM
Wanted St Mirren. Really didn’t want St Johnstone.

I’ll settle for united.

on another note, that cup sitting there beside them during the draw, what a thing of beauty the Scottish cup trophy is...

26-04-2021, 09:33 PM
We can't complain with a bottom 6 team

26-04-2021, 09:35 PM
Hibs - St. Mirren final please just to piss the jambos off even further

26-04-2021, 09:37 PM
I'm guessing we will be on the Sunday since we were 2nd out the hat

26-04-2021, 09:37 PM

Will just depend what BBC choose.

26-04-2021, 09:39 PM
I don’t think the “vast majority” are for it. I know lots and lots of fans that wish it had never got involved/would ***** off completely, or are glad it’s not in the Scottish game. This includes people that were originally all for it.

I don’t know of a single person that is still in support of it.

I also appreciate my circle of football following friends isn’t a reliable sample...

That’s why I asked really - as was quite surprised to see yourself being so vocal re wanting it, as not seen it for so long!

I live in England and everyone I talk to about it prefer the correct decisions to what happened regularly before.

Some of the decisions are frustrating, certainly, but so were the glaringly offside goals and wrongly given or denied penalties that we had before VAR.

The amount of blatant diving has also reduced, although it's still too frequent, but at least players are being booked now.

26-04-2021, 09:39 PM

I think we will be the Sunday but because we will be on premier sports.

26-04-2021, 09:40 PM
Tough draw IMO

But probably couldn’t have been better if we had drawn it ourselves, avoiding the only side of the 3 that’s beaten us all season. Funny game.

26-04-2021, 09:46 PM
Wanted St Mirren. Really didn’t want St Johnstone.

I’ll settle for united.

on another note, that cup sitting there beside them during the draw, what a thing of beauty the Scottish cup trophy is...

I enjoy Hibs Dundee Utd games and we usually do well against them so happy enough with that. My mate is a Dundee Utd diehard so he's already on the wind up. Would have preferred that to be the final though.

We'll just need to do the business in the semi and hope St Mirren do the job in their semi too

Cat Stanton
26-04-2021, 09:55 PM
St Mirren win 5-4 on penalties

Genuine question re. the penalties: is the goalie allowed to jump about like a fanny on the goal line before the kick is taken (as the St. Mirren 'keeper did every time)? Must be quite off-putting.

26-04-2021, 09:57 PM
Genuine question re. the penalties: is the goalie allowed to jump about like a fanny on the goal line before the kick is taken (as the St. Mirren 'keeper did every time)? Must be quite off-putting.

Yes as long as they stay on the line (unlike the Motherwell keeper for nisbets pen)

Cat Stanton
26-04-2021, 09:59 PM
Yes as long as they stay on the line (unlike the Motherwell keeper for nisbets pen)

Quite odd. The St. Mirren keeper's antics reminded me of Grobbelar several decades ago.

Anyway, cheers.

26-04-2021, 10:08 PM
Quite odd. The St. Mirren keeper's antics reminded me of Grobbelar several decades ago.

Anyway, cheers.

Keepers are allowed to try to put the kicker off as long as they stay on the line.

Remember Conrad Logan shouting stuff at the Dundee United players?

https://youtu.be/XdLK33NB4P8

26-04-2021, 10:41 PM
Keepers are allowed to try to put the kicker off as long as they stay on the line.

Remember Conrad Logan shouting stuff at the Dundee United players?

https://youtu.be/XdLK33NB4P8

Shouting isn’t allowed during the run up though. Conrad got away with it that day. Similar to players not being allowed to try and deceive a keeper with their run up, although that is also never penalised.

26-04-2021, 10:51 PM
Shouting isn’t allowed during the run up though. Conrad got away with it that day. Similar to players not being allowed to try and deceive a keeper with their run up, although that is also never penalised.

Players are allowed to feint in their run up to the ball at a penalty, they just can't feint to kick the ball once they have arrived at it.

26-04-2021, 11:00 PM
Players are allowed to feint in their run up to the ball at a penalty, they just can't feint to kick the ball once they have arrived at it.

I thought they had to continue their run or approach to the ball once they'd started it and that stopping and restarting wasn't allowed.

26-04-2021, 11:03 PM
I thought they had to continue their run or approach to the ball once they'd started it and that stopping and restarting wasn't allowed.

No they can stutter and stop during their run up but once they are at the ball they can't feint to shoot.

26-04-2021, 11:10 PM
No they can stutter and stop during their run up but once they are at the ball they can't feint to shoot.

You're right, thanks.

27-04-2021, 05:01 AM

They’re not allowed to stop during their run up anymore, and they’re not allowed to try and deceive the keeper with illegal feinting.

27-04-2021, 06:36 AM
They’re not allowed to stop during their run up anymore, and they’re not allowed to try and deceive the keeper with illegal feinting.Porto should retake his then

27-04-2021, 07:16 AM
They’re not allowed to stop during their run up anymore, and they’re not allowed to try and deceive the keeper with illegal feinting.

That's not what IFAB says.

If, before the ball is in play, one of the following occurs:

feinting to kick the ball once the kicker has completed the run-up (feinting in the run-up is permitted); the referee cautions the kicker

https://www.theifab.com/laws/chapter/34/section/103/

Can you point me to where it says that rule has now changed please?

27-04-2021, 06:17 PM
Elgin 3-0 up vs Stranraer after 15 minutes. Mental we didn't rest a few vs that rubbish.

27-04-2021, 06:33 PM
Elgin 3-0 up vs Stranraer after 15 minutes. Mental we didn't rest a few vs that rubbish.

Its not cost us though has it?

Beat Livingston an knocked out Motherwell.

No midweek game this week and no midweek game next week.

Plenty recovery time there.

27-04-2021, 07:10 PM
Its not cost us though has it?

Beat Livingston an knocked out Motherwell.

No midweek game this week and no midweek game next week.

Plenty recovery time there.

Maybe yes, you are probably right. I just strongly feel young players and reserves should be getting time in these games. BSC was the same, absolute skoosh for the first team without even trying.

Magpie
27-04-2021, 07:18 PM
Chelsea looking good.

27-04-2021, 07:22 PM
Chelsea looking good.

That was a well taken goal as well.

Werners miss from 3 yards should be instructive next time people slag off our strikers for missing "open goals".

27-04-2021, 07:27 PM
Has to be easier playing a semi final away from home at an empty training ground.

27-04-2021, 07:33 PM
Some goal by Benzema. Looks to be in the form of his life

27-04-2021, 07:36 PM
Some goal by Benzema. Looks to be in the form of his life

Agreed, never looked better.

Cracking game, CL always seems to deliver in the knock out stages.

27-04-2021, 07:36 PM
Stranraer 1 Elgin 4

27-04-2021, 07:41 PM
Looking like the rain might spoil this, which is a shame.

27-04-2021, 07:42 PM
That's not what IFAB says.

If, before the ball is in play, one of the following occurs:

feinting to kick the ball once the kicker has completed the run-up (feinting in the run-up is permitted); the referee cautions the kicker

https://www.theifab.com/laws/chapter/34/section/103/

Can you point me to where it says that rule has now changed please?

My bad, my comment was based more around stopping the run up. The attacker must continue their forward momentum, not stop dead like Nani/Ronaldo etc used to do. Feinting is fine as long as they don’t stop and start again.

27-04-2021, 07:45 PM
My bad, my comment was based more around stopping the run up. The attacker must continue their forward momentum, not stop dead like Nani/Ronaldo etc used to do. Feinting is fine as long as they don’t stop and start again.did John Aldridge no use to stutter on his run to take the penalty and does a man United player not do this , I can’t remember his name.

27-04-2021, 08:56 PM
did John Aldridge no use to stutter on his run to take the penalty and does a man United player not do this , I can’t remember his name.

Fernandes does the wee skip thing, all in a forward motion.

28-04-2021, 07:40 PM
Psg look terrific

28-04-2021, 07:46 PM
Psg look terrific

Yeah. Man City look nice passing the ball but not playing a striker isn’t helping them have a cutting edge. They will have to score a perfect goal or a belter.

I’m sure this is what Craig Levein thought he was doing.

28-04-2021, 08:03 PM
PSG showing their real quality over the past three games. I always turned my nose up at them before, but they are a joy to watch really and absolutely lethal when their front three kick into action. Can come from nowhere.

28-04-2021, 08:12 PM
Just goes to show how much I take notice of the champions league now, only found out tonight's game was on when I got a phone call from a friend who told me he was watching the game. And I never knew Chelsea played last night at all until I checked my phone to see their score.

Magpie
28-04-2021, 08:22 PM
PSG 1-1 City. Vital away goal.