View Full Version : Match Updates 2020-21 season non-Hibs games thread
26-08-2020, 09:56 PM
I read a lot of your replies MWHibbies , some i agree with and some I don't. I totally disagree with this one. A normal foul is part and parcel of football but a deliberate attempt to take somebody out is out of order and not in the spirit of sport.
It's not really any different from pulling a shirt or a tactical foul to stop a break though. Don't get me wrong, it's immensely frustrating. I've rarely been angrier than games in the championship Vs Falkirk where they would just hack Mcginn as he started a run but, assuming a booking or red card is given, that's it. When there is promotion or a cup or a CL place on the line, I'd take someone down every time.
h18eeynick
26-08-2020, 09:57 PM
You're old enough to remember dirty Leeds, the career of Graeme Souness and suchlike. It's hardly a new thing.
I get what you are saying and yes it happened but for a professional sports commentator to be saying that it should be a tactic to try and prevent a goal is simply wrong in my opinion. Players make a split second decision when making a tackle but deliberately bringing somebody down that has got the better of you makes you second class in my opinion. When Porteous halved Morellos at Easter Road near the East Stand touchline last season i was quite happy as I hate the guy but what Porto did was totally wrong and he knew what he was doing
h18eeynick
26-08-2020, 10:05 PM
It's not really any different from pulling a shirt or a tactical foul to stop a break though. Don't get me wrong, it's immensely frustrating. I've rarely been angrier than games in the championship Vs Falkirk where they would just hack Mcginn as he started a run but, assuming a booking or red card is given, that's it. When there is promotion or a cup or a CL place on the line, I'd take someone down every time.
I remember being at a Hibs v Hearts game at Easter Road a few years ago and they kept holding players at set plays by the jersey and the ref ignored it. They won 1 nil at a corner with minutes to go after lots of holding. They didnt even look at the ball . I came away shocked at how a team could do that and worst still , get away with it
26-08-2020, 10:09 PM
Seems like Lennys after match interview is causing a stir amongst the natives
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
26-08-2020, 10:11 PM
See he threw his players under the bus tonight again.
We are Well shot of him. Loose cannon and a disaster waiting to happen at Celtic. Hopefully he remains there until the final in December as it gives us a better chance of beating them than if they had a tactically astute manager who doesnt throw a tantrum constantly.
CloudSquall
26-08-2020, 10:12 PM
As much as I loved Lennon's time at Hibs his constant arsing about with team lineups in big games is beyond bizarre, has it ever paid off?
26-08-2020, 10:13 PM
Excellent. Absolute bellend of a man.
26-08-2020, 10:15 PM
It was dreadful defending it should never have got that far.
But once he does you have to stop him no matter what take the lot man and ball. Very naive to say or do otherwise you would have to say.
Chat going about that Browns legs have gone. Have to say the two 90mins I seen in the league so far he was uncharacteristically well off it.
Prof. Shaggy
26-08-2020, 10:44 PM
It’s like Kamberi up top at Tynie on his own against three hammer throwers on his own but worse tonight. Lennon should concertante on boiling an egg instead of trying to act like a matalan pep.
Oh, the bassa continuo... :violin:
mcohibs
27-08-2020, 04:53 AM
Seems like Lennys after match interview is causing a stir amongst the natives
Gets his tactics wrong then throws the players under the bus. All too familiar 🥱
27-08-2020, 05:55 AM
Tremendous piece of arrogance from Kerrydale Street:
'Hibs-level manager, Hibs-level result'
Is that right? :rolleyes:
Given 3 years on the bounce they have been punted out early doors definitely a Celtic level result.
27-08-2020, 06:02 AM
Assuming Eduardo was injured, you would have thought either Ajeti or Klijmaal both having been bought for millions would have started. One thing is for sure playing Christie up front took him out of his best position also. Playing Ntcham the whole game at what looked like number 10 was also very odd imo. Watched bits of it and don't think there was that much between the teams and to me not a huge shock this result given Ferencvaros comfortably tucked away the Swedish champions last week.
27-08-2020, 04:21 PM
tonight
Maribor v Coleraine..bbc online
Aberdeen v Runavik...premier sports 1
Motherwellv Glentoran... premier sports 2
27-08-2020, 04:26 PM
tonight
Maribor v Coleraine..bbc online
Aberdeen v Runavik...premier sports 1
Motherwellv Glentoran... premier sports 2
Any deals on premier sports that you’re aware of
Don’t fancy paying much for any more sport
27-08-2020, 04:30 PM
Yep refuse to pay for another channel
27-08-2020, 04:31 PM
Yep refuse to pay for another channel
Think they’ve got the Betfred cup as well
27-08-2020, 05:38 PM
FC Vadus 0-1 Hibernians after 38 mins
Daydreamer
27-08-2020, 05:49 PM
Saw there was a deal for £80 a one of payment for a year on the advertisement for the Edinburgh v Glasgow rugby game tomorrow where there was a discount code for £20 off. I paid the £50 one payment for a year last September so a £30 increase if I decide to take it this time.
Prof. Shaggy
27-08-2020, 05:54 PM
Saw there was a deal for £80 a one of payment for a year on the advertisement for the Edinburgh v Glasgow rugby game tomorrow where there was a discount code for £20 off. I paid the £50 one payment for a year last September so a £30 increase if I decide to take it this time.
A wee pandemic price-hike, eh?
27-08-2020, 05:55 PM
Thanks
27-08-2020, 06:02 PM
McGeough gets a rare start for Aberdeen tonight
Noticed ex Hibee, Bigirimana starts for Glentoran at Motherwell
27-08-2020, 06:13 PM
Expect Aberdeen to win 6/7-0
27-08-2020, 06:32 PM
you can get it through sky/virgin for £11.99/month
NthCarolinaHibs
27-08-2020, 06:40 PM
Dublin Bohemians holding old Videoton, 1-1, in extra time..great game to watch,so far..🖤❤️
27-08-2020, 06:42 PM
Aberdeen +3
27-08-2020, 06:50 PM
It was dreadful defending it should never have got that far.
But once he does you have to stop him no matter what take the lot man and ball. Very naive to say or do otherwise you would have to say.
Chat going about that Browns legs have gone. Have to say the two 90mins I seen in the league so far he was uncharacteristically well off it.
The best position for him now is as a sweeper behind two centre halves. He said he’d know when it’s time to stop. Every player says that but it very rarely happens and they play one season too many. Said once he’d like to finish playing at er. There’s a nice wee rumour to start. He doesn’t need the money as he’s earned big bucks at Celtic. As for Lennon just same old, same old. Everybody else’s fault. Their team has looked unbalanced and they haven’t a settled squad and it’s showing. They shouldn’t be put out by teams like Ferencvaros or is this now the standard of Scottish football. Sevco looked clueless in trying to break down Livi so I fear all the good work getting the co- efficient up could soon be undone.
27-08-2020, 06:52 PM
Hope Aberdeen get embarrassed tonight
Tory voting bsstards
27-08-2020, 07:01 PM
I remember being at a Hibs v Hearts game at Easter Road a few years ago and they kept holding players at set plays by the jersey and the ref ignored it. They won 1 nil at a corner with minutes to go after lots of holding. They didnt even look at the ball . I came away shocked at how a team could do that and worst still , get away with it
Zaliukas. Did it at every corner, wasn't booked once, and scored the ****ing goal.
27-08-2020, 07:11 PM
i keep switching between todders and fir park, no doubt i'l miss any goals
fir park looks so dull, is it premier sports SD cameras or some floodlights out, they do have form for dodgy floodlights :)
27-08-2020, 07:12 PM
This is murder. Aberdeen are awful to watch.
NthCarolinaHibs
27-08-2020, 07:13 PM
Dublin Bohemians holding old Videoton, 1-1, in extra time..great game to watch,so far..🖤❤️
Bohs lose on penalties..well done all the same..❤️🖤❤️🖤
27-08-2020, 07:14 PM
This is murder. Aberdeen are awful to watch.
They always are
But they will win , Which is what they usually do .
27-08-2020, 07:16 PM
Glentoran have 2 very good chances in a minute.
27-08-2020, 07:19 PM
Tory voting bsstards
Aberdeen will qualify but I can see Motherwell going out if they don't take a shake
Tory voting bsstards
Deary me.
we were 3-0 up after 29 mins v runavik, 4-0 at HT
aberdeen score
27-08-2020, 07:21 PM
Aboredeen are rank
27-08-2020, 07:24 PM
commentator said motherwell are looking for a lift
we could sell them our one in the FF seeing as it's not used much
Souter96Mac
27-08-2020, 07:44 PM
Could be some real pressure on Robinson if they get beat tonight - with Celtic on the weekend, they could be a bit of a wounded beast and could give them an absolute doing.
27-08-2020, 07:56 PM
Glentoran down to ten for the remaining 40 mins
Glentoran might just regret missing these chances
27-08-2020, 07:56 PM
Motherwell look poor. Glentoran down to 10 men now but Motherwell just never look like scoring.
27-08-2020, 08:02 PM
1-0 Well.
27-08-2020, 08:02 PM
1-0 motherwell
Maribor 0 Coleraine 1
Aberdeen 5 Runavik 0
Souter96Mac
27-08-2020, 08:11 PM
Glentoran have been unfortunate in this
27-08-2020, 08:17 PM
2-0 murrawell. that'll be that then
27-08-2020, 08:17 PM
ODonnell for Motherwell. What a goal ! 2-0
27-08-2020, 08:18 PM
ODonnell for Motherwell. What a goal ! 2-0
Great finish. Should have signed him 😉
27-08-2020, 08:19 PM
Glentoran have been unfortunate in this
They have, Craigans a biased prick towards them tho and another Jambo commentating.
Souter96Mac
27-08-2020, 08:19 PM
3-0, keeper has been woeful for the last 2 goals
27-08-2020, 08:20 PM
3-0
27-08-2020, 08:23 PM
4-0 Well. Tony Watt tap in
27-08-2020, 08:31 PM
5-0 Well
27-08-2020, 08:33 PM
5-0 Well
Long time coming.
Paul1642
27-08-2020, 08:39 PM
Long time coming.
Their performances have been much better than there results suggest. Just not been able to find the net until tonight. 3 of their next 4 league games are against Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen. Going to be a struggle for them to put points on the board! (Hopefully they get something against Aberdeen)
27-08-2020, 08:40 PM
Expect Aberdeen to win 6/7-0
Should have put money on it
vercol36
27-08-2020, 08:44 PM
Sweet Lord, Coleraine have taken Maribor to extra time!
27-08-2020, 08:50 PM
Should have put money on it
Aberdeen minus 2 was evens, free money. :thumbsup:
27-08-2020, 08:58 PM
Maribor miss a penalty
27-08-2020, 09:00 PM
Hibernians through after a 2-0 away win ✅
hibby rae
27-08-2020, 09:03 PM
Sweet Lord, Coleraine have taken Maribor to extra time!
Live on the BBC website too. Second half of et and Maribor just missed a pen.
27-08-2020, 09:05 PM
Their performances have been much better than there results suggest. Just not been able to find the net until tonight. 3 of their next 4 league games are against Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen. Going to be a struggle for them to put points on the board! (Hopefully they get something against Aberdeen)
Was just punning the guy that scored mate 🤣🤣🤣
27-08-2020, 09:06 PM
Live on the BBC website too. Second half of et and Maribor just missed a pen.
Have £20 on them to win in e/t too
27-08-2020, 09:19 PM
penalties it is
over 15k viewing online
HendoDelivered
27-08-2020, 09:20 PM
Tough game on Sunday for us.
27-08-2020, 09:31 PM
Coleraine win 5-4
27-08-2020, 10:02 PM
Shamrock Rovers won 12-11 on penalties tonight. Looking at the team the were playing and they were managed by Jarko Wiss
28-08-2020, 05:47 AM
Could this season actually be more of a level playing field for Scottish clubs in Europe? All leagues have just started. Usually most of the Scandinavian leagues have been well under way for example. Add the fact it's only one leg. The likes of Maribor losing at home to an Irish side is a real eye opener. Wonder if Aberdeen and Motherwell can get themselves into the groups.
28-08-2020, 05:49 AM
Tough game on Sunday for us.
Wouldn't read too much into that result. Hibs beat the same team 6-1 at the same stage in 2018 but yeah every game in this league is tough
29-08-2020, 01:57 PM
Killie v Dundee utd
Livingston v Ross co
St.johnstone v St.mirren
5:30 ko...Hamilton v Sevco
Four home wins would be nice
SJNB Hibby
29-08-2020, 02:03 PM
Killie v Dundee utd
Livingston v Ross co
St.johnstone v St.mirren
Too early in the season for that---best for everybody to drop points---draws all round for me, although Accies beating the Huns would be nice
29-08-2020, 02:03 PM
Killie v Dundee utd
Livingston v Ross co
St.johnstone v St.mirren
My friend is one of the 2,500 Brighton fans allowed in today (31,000 capacity stadium)
29-08-2020, 02:12 PM
Too early in the season for that---best for everybody to drop points---draws all round for me, although Accies beating the Huns would be nice
i don't want the three away teams getting even nearer to us, sevco losing would put us in pole position for winning the august league :)
29-08-2020, 02:12 PM
My friend is one of the 2,500 Brighton fans allowed in today (31,000 capacity stadium)
who are they playing ?
29-08-2020, 02:13 PM
Jealous? Moi?
29-08-2020, 02:15 PM
Killie v Dundee utd
Livingston v Ross co
St.johnstone v St.mirren
I want St Mirren to win.
They are our 'Buddies' after all.
29-08-2020, 02:15 PM
Killie v Dundee utd
Livingston v Ross co
St.johnstone v St.mirren
I'd prefer four draws and a nice wee win for us tomorrow
29-08-2020, 02:16 PM
who are they playing ?
Chelsea. They chose who got in on a loyalty points basis😎
29-08-2020, 02:34 PM
killie 1 dundee utd 0
29-08-2020, 02:39 PM
With you there bro.
29-08-2020, 02:49 PM
2-0 killie
WillowbraeHibby
29-08-2020, 02:50 PM
2-0 killie
Does for me.
29-08-2020, 02:52 PM
Does for me.
keeps utd 6 points behind us
29-08-2020, 02:52 PM
McAllister hooked for St Mirren after about 35 minutes as they just aren't in it
Souter96Mac
29-08-2020, 02:53 PM
Watched most of the St Johnstone game. Like they did against us, they are toothless upfront, but that boy McNamara on the right looks good. On loan from Milwall
29-08-2020, 02:54 PM
Dundee Utd have been every bit as good as Killie, apart from the most important bit. :greengrin
WillowbraeHibby
29-08-2020, 02:55 PM
keeps utd 6 points behind us
Long may that continue. :)
29-08-2020, 02:58 PM
St Johnstone will lose to a late goal again
29-08-2020, 03:07 PM
I reckon a 4th place finish is already a good bet for Hibs this season and a draw tomorrow would keep up our current, points in the bag, advantage over our rivals for 3rd.
5th place Ross County have just gone down to 10 men against bottom of the league Livingston, so the way things are shaping, Hibs gap to the pack should still be a generous 5 points after today. Kilmarnock & Livingston wins will leave Motherwell on their own at the bottom with a game against Celtic tomorrow.
29-08-2020, 03:08 PM
ross co down to ten, 2nd yellow
29-08-2020, 03:20 PM
1-0 livi
WillowbraeHibby
29-08-2020, 03:22 PM
Livi 1 up.. That's fine enough.
29-08-2020, 03:29 PM
1-0 St J
WillowbraeHibby
29-08-2020, 03:30 PM
St Johnstone 1 up.
29-08-2020, 03:30 PM
kille 2-0
Livi 1-0
St.johnstone 1-0
results going the way i wanted
WillowbraeHibby
29-08-2020, 03:34 PM
kille 2-0
Livi 1-0
St.johnstone 1-0
results going the way i wanted
Mind and want a Hibs win the 'morn.. :)
29-08-2020, 03:35 PM
Mind and want a Hibs win the 'morn.. :)
oh i'm sure i can stretch to that
:)
29-08-2020, 03:38 PM
Really bunching up behind us with teams the top 6 all losing and everyone taking points of eachother.
Tempting fate for a moment... but a win tomorrow would put us 9-10 points ahead of pretty much everyone you would ordinarily consider top 6 contenders.
Incredible start really.
WillowbraeHibby
29-08-2020, 03:38 PM
oh i'm sure i can stretch to that
:)
Good lad. :thumbsup:
29-08-2020, 03:39 PM
3-0 killie
WillowbraeHibby
29-08-2020, 03:39 PM
Oof... Killie well in here.
29-08-2020, 03:41 PM
All the top 6 teams losing.
29-08-2020, 03:42 PM
I reckon a 4th place finish is already a good bet for Hibs this season and a draw tomorrow would keep up our current, points in the bag, advantage over our rivals for 3rd.
5th place Ross County have just gone down to 10 men against bottom of the league Livingston, so the way things are shaping, Hibs gap to the pack should still be a generous 5 points after today. Kilmarnock & Livingston wins will leave Motherwell on their own at the bottom with a game against Celtic tomorrow.
5 points clear of Ross County and the rest of the pack and a game in hand
29-08-2020, 03:45 PM
Sweet, sweet pass from Saka and a stunning finish from Aubemayang to put Arsenal one up in the Community Shield.
29-08-2020, 03:47 PM
4-zilch killie
WillowbraeHibby
29-08-2020, 03:48 PM
Killie got this done and dusted...
EI255
29-08-2020, 03:49 PM
Can you hear the pop from Dundee? (more like a bang!!)
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
29-08-2020, 03:52 PM
Another beautiful pass from Saka sets up Nketiah but the keeper gets a hand to it. Saka is a precocious talent. Playing up top on the right today, it was only a few games ago that he was deputising as left-back!
29-08-2020, 03:53 PM
Another home win later on and a Hibs win tomorrow and could it be a Calrsberg weekend...?
29-08-2020, 04:13 PM
Another home win later on and a Hibs win tomorrow and could it be a Calrsberg weekend...?
What's your preference for Celtc v Motherwell?
29-08-2020, 04:15 PM
Can you hear the pop from Dundee? (more like a bang!!)
Mickey Melon will be going bananas.
8 points clear from the diddy clubs after tomorrow
29-08-2020, 04:17 PM
Mickey Melon will be going bananas.
When life hands you Melons... make Melonade.
29-08-2020, 04:18 PM
League Table as of 5PM
29-08-2020, 04:18 PM
What's your preference for Celtc v Motherwell?
Motherwell of course !
29-08-2020, 04:19 PM
Motherwell of course !
Good lad.
29-08-2020, 04:28 PM
Huns wearing their wee black and orange number
Cmon Accies!
29-08-2020, 04:30 PM
When life hands you Melons... make Melonade.
Yasss 🤣
29-08-2020, 04:34 PM
League Table as of 5PM
I like that!! All we need now is a Hamilton win, Motherwell to pull off a Ferencvaros at celtc park and us to pump a few past the sheep worriers and it will be a perfect weekend :greengrin
29-08-2020, 04:37 PM
1938 since hamilton beat the currants at home, 82 years jeezo
0-1
29-08-2020, 04:40 PM
1938 since hamilton beat the currants at home, 82 years jeezo
About time they won one! Cmon Accies
29-08-2020, 04:41 PM
Only 10 mins in but Scott Martin has looked decent
29-08-2020, 04:43 PM
Huns wearing their wee black and orange number
Cmon Accies!
Any Dutch person tuning in couldn't help but feel pride in a small handful of their footballers of yesteryear thanks to this touching tribute.
29-08-2020, 04:44 PM
This is going to be a funny old season. Everyone is taking points of each other.
We have a tough run of games coming up, if we can take anything above 7 points from the next 5 games I'd be fairly happy and we'd probably still be in a very good position with a more favourable run of fixtures to look forward to.
29-08-2020, 04:47 PM
About time they won one! Cmon Accies
that won't be happening today, or even a few more decades
FFS!
Scott Martin turned inside oot and had to pay to get back in the ground !
FFS!
Scott Martin turned inside oot and had to pay to get back in the ground !
Tbf he slipped on the plastic 😅
29-08-2020, 04:49 PM
League Table as of 5PM
Can see County sliding down the table, 2 points from their last 4 games, after a great start
29-08-2020, 04:50 PM
2-0. time to watch something else
29-08-2020, 04:51 PM
League Table as of 5PM
The Huns don’t like it up ‘em. They’ll crumble over the winter period and Hibernian will power past with our standard Spring run of great form. Lennon’s inevitable sacking will destabilise the lesser Greens, as the pressure of 10IAR will result in an implosion. The title is in the bag:flag:
29-08-2020, 04:52 PM
Defo need to beat The Sheep tomorrow
No mercy :greengrin
29-08-2020, 05:07 PM
Barker having a shocker, his end product hasn't improved any.
Surprised if he has much of a future there on this performance I reckon
29-08-2020, 05:12 PM
Tierney injured for a change.
29-08-2020, 05:13 PM
Barker struggling with the artificial material below him as well as on top.
29-08-2020, 05:15 PM
By the way that Liverpool collar is horrific.
sean04
29-08-2020, 05:18 PM
Big chance tomorrow to make a big gap between us and the rest
Off the bar
29-08-2020, 05:41 PM
Tierneys trophy record is phenomenal. I read after the FA cup he was averaging about 17 games per trophy won. That’ll be more like 15 now.
29-08-2020, 05:58 PM
Interesting game in the Community Shield given that Tierney and Robertson both started. Robertson played very well in an attacking sense in the first half, even though Arsenal were the better team. Almost all of Liverpool’s play went through him. He was quieter in the second half.
Tierney showed better in defence and was often drifting into the centre to cut out attacks. Nothing was getting past him really.
Arsenal seem to be coming back to a stronger position. It will be interesting to see how Arteta deploys Saliba and the guy from Lille. It looks all set for a back three with Luiz as the stepping-out defender. That means Tierney playing LWB, though he looks more than able to play on the left of a back three.
Big questions for Scotland in how they deal with having Robertson and Tierney available. Fit the players into a system? Accept you have two top-class players and build a system around them?
Just saw Arsenal’s goal again in the match summary, it really is a piece of work, literally from their own goal line. Worth watching on the highlights or YouTube or whatever.
29-08-2020, 06:00 PM
By the way that Liverpool collar is horrific.
That's what I thought looked back to front.
EI255
29-08-2020, 06:07 PM
Tierneys trophy record is phenomenal. I read after the FA cup he was averaging about 17 games per trophy won. That’ll be more like 15 now.That's incredible!
hibbydog
29-08-2020, 06:08 PM
I have no idea how Brandon Barker is getting a run in the Sevco team.
He’s a total chicken and doesn’t have a left foot.
29-08-2020, 06:14 PM
Interesting game in the Community Shield given that Tierney and Robertson both started. Robertson played very well in an attacking sense in the first half, even though Arsenal were the better team. Almost all of Liverpool’s play went through him. He was quieter in the second half.
Tierney showed better in defence and was often drifting into the centre to cut out attacks. Nothing was getting past him really.
Arsenal seem to be coming back to a stronger position. It will be interesting to see how Arteta deploys Saliba and the guy from Lille. It looks all set for a back three with Luiz as the stepping-out defender. That means Tierney playing LWB, though he looks more than able to play on the left of a back three.
Big questions for Scotland in how they deal with having Robertson and Tierney available. Fit the players into a system? Accept you have two top-class players and build a system around them?
Just saw Arsenal’s goal again in the match summary, it really is a piece of work, literally from their own goal line. Worth watching on the highlights or YouTube or whatever.
Arsenal weren’t the better team in either half. Great goal by a very good player, but they didn’t look like they’d closed the gap on Liverpool at all to me.
I thought they had a decent 5-10 mins right at the end of the game, but that’s all. Liverpool had all the territory pretty much throughout, and in a real game, rather than a glorified friendly, they’d have stepped up a level and won today. Arsenal did very little in the middle of the park.
Tierney did play really well, though it’s little wonder he looked better defensively than Robertson, given that Robertson hardly had to do any defending.
Arsenal look good on the counter, but this arsenal teams still going to struggle against other sides who sit in against them. Liverpool took the game to them, and they had chances to break. The majority of league sides won’t be like that. I don’t think Arsenal have enough quality to break teams down.
EI255
29-08-2020, 06:21 PM
Nothing to get excited about with The Rangers this evening.
EI255
29-08-2020, 06:23 PM
Let's batter the sheep tomorrow. Come on the Hibs! !
29-08-2020, 07:36 PM
Arsenal weren’t the better team in either half. Great goal by a very good player, but they didn’t look like they’d closed the gap on Liverpool at all to me.
I thought they had a decent 5-10 mins right at the end of the game, but that’s all. Liverpool had all the territory pretty much throughout, and in a real game, rather than a glorified friendly, they’d have stepped up a level and won today. Arsenal did very little in the middle of the park.
Tierney did play really well, though it’s little wonder he looked better defensively than Robertson, given that Robertson hardly had to do any defending.
Arsenal look good on the counter, but this arsenal teams still going to struggle against other sides who sit in against them. Liverpool took the game to them, and they had chances to break. The majority of league sides won’t be like that. I don’t think Arsenal have enough quality to break teams down.
Agree to disagree. Arsenal were all over them for a significant period in the first half. And Robertson didn’t have to defend much because Arsenal have a bias towards going down the left, especially when Lacazette is missing. Saying that, their goal came from a pass from Liverpool’s left......
29-08-2020, 07:50 PM
Arsenal beat them in a real game recently in the league as well.
Logie Green
29-08-2020, 08:45 PM
Tierneys trophy record is phenomenal. I read after the FA cup he was averaging about 17 games per trophy won. That’ll be more like 15 now.
Very impressive. He’ll do well to match Eric Black who started 150 games for Aberdeen and won 8 trophies or Neale Cooper who started 195 games for them and won 9 trophies. Phenomenal trophy hunting.
EI255
29-08-2020, 09:21 PM
Watching the Killie v DUFC highlights.
The lad Harkes at DUFC looks seriously overweight for a top flight footballer!
29-08-2020, 09:33 PM
Agree to disagree. Arsenal were all over them for a significant period in the first half. And Robertson didn’t have to defend much because Arsenal have a bias towards going down the left, especially when Lacazette is missing. Saying that, their goal came from a pass from Liverpool’s left......
The pass that led to the goal was a cross field ball from about 40 yards out, I dunno if you’re trying to apportion blame to Robertson there, but he’s not to blame for that goal at all.
Arsenal won’t finish as many points behind Liverpool as last season, but the gap will still be significant. Arsenal can challenge for a champions league place, not the league title. They’ll be challenging for 4th with Man Utd and Spurs. Man City, Liverpool and Chelsea will be top 3.
29-08-2020, 09:38 PM
The pass that led to the goal was a cross field ball from about 40 yards out, I dunno if you’re trying to apportion blame to Robertson there, but he’s not to blame for that goal at all.
Arsenal won’t finish as many points behind Liverpool as last season, but the gap will still be significant. Arsenal can challenge for a champions league place, not the league title. They’ll be challenging for 4th with Man Utd and Spurs. Man City, Liverpool and Chelsea will be top 3.
No point watching it now then I guess. How can you be so certain? Plenty could happen over 38 games.
29-08-2020, 09:42 PM
Arsenal beat them in a real game recently in the league as well.
And then lost to Villa in their next league game. And finished 45 points behind them. The two teams aren’t close at the moment. Liverpool are a far far better side.
I’m not a Liverpool fan, I don’t want them to win the league again next season, but it’s easy to see how much better they are than Arsenal.
29-08-2020, 09:47 PM
And then lost to Villa in their next league game. And finished 45 points behind them. The two teams aren’t close at the moment. Liverpool are a far far better side.
I’m not a Liverpool fan, I don’t want them to win the league again next season, but it’s easy to see how much better they are than Arsenal.
Of course. No one said different. The point is, you said Liverpool would beat them in a real match. The last real match they played, Arsenal won.
Liverpool were poor 3/4 years ago as well. They might be poor again in 3/4 years (especially with their lack of business in the past 2 years). Arsenal are making plenty positive moves and have beaten Liverpool, City and Chelsea at Wembley recently.
29-08-2020, 09:50 PM
No point watching it now then I guess. How can you be so certain? Plenty could happen over 38 games.
I’m obviously not certain, but Man City and Liverpool are miles better than the rest. Chelsea have brought in some very good players this season.
I don’t think Arsenal or Man Utd or Spurs are as good.
Let’s not forget where Arsenal just finished in the league. 8th. 2 points ahead of Sheff Utd and Burnley. 4 points ahead of Southampton.
Have they really improved the squad that much? They’ve signed a couple of defenders who are apparently pretty good (but neither of them has an international cap).
Like I said...Arsenal will be closer to the top teams than last season, but they’re not at that level just now.
All just my own opinion.
29-08-2020, 09:51 PM
Sky Soccer Saturday have vacancies lads......
29-08-2020, 09:52 PM
Of course. No one said different. The point is, you said Liverpool would beat them in a real match. The last real match they played, Arsenal won.
Liverpool were poor 3/4 years ago as well. They might be poor again in 3/4 years (especially with their lack of business in the past 2 years). Arsenal are making plenty positive moves and have beaten Liverpool, City and Chelsea at Wembley recently.
Arsenal will come back, and Liverpool will fall away. It happens. Not this season though.
EI255
30-08-2020, 11:52 AM
Ryan Kent has just won an award for the seasons most Chav haircut.
Well done you Chav.
30-08-2020, 12:49 PM
Lennon trying to prove a point and again playing without a recognised striker today.
30-08-2020, 12:55 PM
Lennon trying to prove a point and again playing without a recognised striker today.
He'll be gone soon if this keeps up. Imploding the same way it did in his last season with us.
30-08-2020, 12:56 PM
Has he lost the plot again? What's he doing? Celtic fans must be raging so all good.
30-08-2020, 12:58 PM
All about him constantly. Risking 3 points to try and make some weird point to the board/fans. Done the same here too. Embarrassing tbh.
30-08-2020, 12:59 PM
Did exactly the same at Hibs. Bizzare team selections to prove a point. Not sure what point he's trying to make this time though.
30-08-2020, 01:10 PM
wow what a stubborn man
30-08-2020, 01:13 PM
I thought that Klimala looked decent in our pre season friendly with them
So who's out the squad from euro defeat?
Not ajer, not ntcham
Edouard continues to be "injured"
30-08-2020, 01:15 PM
I assume Lennon had no say in the strikers that were signed? Crazy to buy players of that quality and not play them.
30-08-2020, 01:16 PM
I thought that Klimala looked decent in our pre season friendly with them
So who's out the squad from euro defeat?
Not ajer, not ntcham
Edouard continues to be "injured"
I think it’s the same team.
30-08-2020, 01:28 PM
They should have enough to beat Motherwell but playing no recognised striker when there's 8 million quids worth of them on the bench is very strange. That's like us playing Mallan up front with Doidge and Nisbet on the bench lol
30-08-2020, 01:34 PM
They should have enough to beat Motherwell but playing no recognised striker when there's 8 million quids worth of them on the bench is very strange. That's like us playing Mallan up front with Doidge and Nisbet on the bench lol
To be honest he’s the boss, he’s got a gameplan. If the other boys aren’t fit then that’s fair enough. Everything else is just media froth.
30-08-2020, 01:57 PM
I think it’s the same team.https://twitter.com/BH__67/status/1300063048619765760?s=19
Indeed
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200830/0b2d24a4cfc7e446684242018ec0e43d.jpg
30-08-2020, 02:14 PM
I assume Lennon had no say in the strikers that were signed? Crazy to buy players of that quality and not play them.
That’s looking exactly the case.
Watching Celtic right now, they're toothless, is Lennon trying to be too clever by not playing a striker, he has around 4 on the books yet doesn't play one. He did all this nonsense at Hibs before we got shot.
30-08-2020, 02:32 PM
Scott Brown already on a Yellow after 22 mins!
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
30-08-2020, 02:38 PM
No shots on target yet for Celtic? Almost like they need a striker on
30-08-2020, 02:42 PM
Celtic one up.
What I don't get is if the 2 strikers aren't match fit why not give them a half each or play one for 60mins and the other for 30mins.
30-08-2020, 02:47 PM
I can’t see Well coming back from this [emoji3525]
30-08-2020, 03:37 PM
Ajeti comes on and Scores for Celtic. It's a simple game really; play with strikers and might get a goal.
30-08-2020, 05:53 PM
Wifies Champions League Final about to start, Lyon (of course) v Wolfsburg
30-08-2020, 06:05 PM
I can’t see Well coming back from this [emoji3525]
Motherwell are a top team according to some people on here 😂
30-08-2020, 07:06 PM
Motherwell are a top team according to some people on here 😂
Bottom of the league now, but are better than that.
30-08-2020, 07:52 PM
Exciting but scrappy first half in ligue 1, Brest 1 Marseille 2. A few thousand fans making some authentic noise which is a blast from the past.
30-08-2020, 08:00 PM
Wifies Champions League Final about to start, Lyon (of course) v Wolfsburg
i managed to tune in for the last 30 seconds :rolleyes: anyway...lyon 3 wolfsburg 1..five in a row i think he said, wolfsburg hammered glasgow city 9-1 in an earlier round, they have a £10m player budget, wolfsburg,not glasgow.
30-08-2020, 08:33 PM
i managed to tune in for the last 30 seconds :rolleyes: anyway...lyon 3 wolfsburg 1..five in a row i think he said, wolfsburg hammered glasgow city 9-1 in an earlier round, they have a £10m player budget, wolfsburg,not glasgow.
Yep, Glasgow can’t compete with full time professional athletes.
Brest Marseille is still 1-2 but so scrappy, such poor technique and players absolutely blowing out of their erchies after 60 minutes. They are nowhere near ready physically. This is going to be an odd season, especially early doors when players are getting up to speed.
31-08-2020, 03:38 PM
Dom Malonga's team Lokomotiv Plovdiv have drew spurs at home in the europa league.
Hope he humiliates doherty
31-08-2020, 05:48 PM
Hope he humiliates doherty
I very much doubt he could, Doherty is the far better footballer by a mile.
31-08-2020, 07:30 PM
Are you sure he’s still there? A Plovdiv supporting taxi driver of mine recently with an affection for the Hibs seemed to think he was away.
31-08-2020, 07:53 PM
I very much doubt he could, Doherty is the far better footballer by a mile.
Studs to the knee tho. 👍
03-09-2020, 03:07 PM
Germany v Spain tonight looks tasty
03-09-2020, 05:23 PM
Was going to say the same but there’s loads of players out.
Latvia v Andorra just now is surprisingly not bad.
03-09-2020, 08:04 PM
Germany should be 2 up
03-09-2020, 08:16 PM
Kosovo equalise against Moldova 👍 Ireland losing to Bulgaria.
03-09-2020, 08:25 PM
Wales 1-0 up. Co-commentator sounds like Tom Kerridge.
03-09-2020, 08:34 PM
Finland done an absolute fantastic job rejuvenating their olympic stadium. Looks brilliant. If Finland can do it ............
03-09-2020, 08:42 PM
Germany 1 v 1 Spain FT
03-09-2020, 08:44 PM
What’s the score with the offside rule? The Spanish player is 100% offside when you count the players on the pitch, but there’s a German player who’s over the goal line, I’m guessing he still counts.
03-09-2020, 08:49 PM
What’s the score with the offside rule? The Spanish player is 100% offside when you count the players on the pitch, but there’s a German player who’s over the goal line, I’m guessing he still counts.
For defenders, counts as being on the bye line ..it’s to stop them stepping off the pitch deliberately
03-09-2020, 08:50 PM
I think players off the pitch are viewed as being on the goal line
03-09-2020, 08:51 PM
Looked miles offside and Ramos caused the added on time by taking the German Centre Half out at the disallowed goal :confused:
03-09-2020, 08:52 PM
I think players off the pitch are viewed as being on the goal line
OK
03-09-2020, 09:16 PM
Lokomotiv Plovdiv are artists as well as footballers! Very impressive and much better than just exchanging a team pennant before an important European game.
SJNB Hibby
04-09-2020, 07:47 PM
I see JC scored for Shrewsbury against Boro in the EFL Cup tonight---lost though
05-09-2020, 11:44 AM
Hearts currently losing to Burnley girls under 9's
WillowbraeHibby
05-09-2020, 11:51 AM
Hearts currently losing to Burnley girls under 9's
2-0
05-09-2020, 12:04 PM
Burnley have split their squad and are playing Mansfield in one game (inc their main strike force) and,Hearts in another, at the same time.
27min gone hearts 0 Burnley reserves 3
WillowbraeHibby
05-09-2020, 12:21 PM
Burnley have split their squad and are playing Mansfield in one game (inc their main strike force) and,Hearts in another, at the same time.
27min gone hearts 0 Burnley reserves 3
3-1 now.. They reckon it is a good run out for facing Celtic in the SC final... :confused: That's KB for you.
05-09-2020, 12:22 PM
3-1 now.. They reckon it is a good run out for facing Celtic in the SC final... :confused: That's KB for you.
Lets not even joke about that. Losing to them is unthinkable. And with how we've been playing recently, I'm not very confidenent.
WillowbraeHibby
05-09-2020, 12:23 PM
Lets not even joke about that. Losing to them is unthinkable. And with how we've been playing recently, I'm not very confidenent.
I'm saying nowt'... Got my own thoughts.. Kinda run parallel to yours.. :(
Garymcl
05-09-2020, 12:37 PM
4 1 now
05-09-2020, 12:39 PM
4 1 now
No Naismith either, wonder what’s wrong with him, he’s only had 6 months since lockdown, to get fit
WillowbraeHibby
05-09-2020, 12:39 PM
4 1 now
Pleasing... :wink:
WillowbraeHibby
05-09-2020, 12:43 PM
No Naismith either, wonder what’s wrong with him, he’s only had 6 months since lockdown, to get fit
He's getting there.. Easy does it.. :greengrin
05-09-2020, 12:53 PM
Decent return for Burnley.
Their main Strike force (McNeill,Wood etc) beating Mansfield 3-1 while the kids are giving hearts a 4-1 runaround
05-09-2020, 12:55 PM
Decent return for Burnley.
Their main Strike force (McNeill,Wood etc) beating Mansfield 3-1 while the kids are giving hearts a 4-1 runaround
Is kickback in meltdown
WillowbraeHibby
05-09-2020, 01:01 PM
Is kickback in meltdown
Nah, they're fine, playing against an established EPL team.. It's only a friendly.. :)
05-09-2020, 02:14 PM
Are they still alive as a club?:confused:
05-09-2020, 03:59 PM
Victor Pálsson lines up for Iceland
EI255
05-09-2020, 04:27 PM
An Ingerland flag on display I see. Smuggled in by media bod (or one of the players)?
EI255
05-09-2020, 04:36 PM
Good to know Craig Gordon is still rank.... Watch the fourth goal. Oops!!
https://youtu.be/dMxLg2pomsM
...and the pen and the corner for the 2nd.
05-09-2020, 04:44 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣
05-09-2020, 04:46 PM
The big spotty one looks likes he’s had a hand in 3 of the Burnley goals
05-09-2020, 05:08 PM
Not so good wi the feet right enough.
Played like an ex player doon the park.
05-09-2020, 05:52 PM
Iceland boy blazes a penalty over in the 92nd minute... lucky *******s
Couldn't hit a Bjarndoorson
05-09-2020, 06:01 PM
Hopefully continues his fine form into the new season and cup semi.
05-09-2020, 06:06 PM
OMG, I hope they play like that in the Semi Final.
05-09-2020, 06:09 PM
Listenened to sportsound from Thursday apparently Craig thinks not coming for cross at Kane goal wasnt much of a mistake. Ffs
05-09-2020, 06:30 PM
Listenened to sportsound from Thursday apparently Craig thinks not coming for cross at Kane goal wasnt much of a mistake. Ffs
Tbf, the mistake was Armstrong. Gordon was poor but Kane also took it very well. As a goalie, you maybe take the chance with Kane blows it, I dunno.
Absolute sickener though, the second Griffiths free kick would've been an iconic moment for ever.
05-09-2020, 07:28 PM
Tbf, the mistake was Armstrong. Gordon was poor but Kane also took it very well. As a goalie, you maybe take the chance with Kane blows it, I dunno.
Absolute sickener though, the second Griffiths free kick would've been an iconic moment for ever.
Yep however every goalie in the world comes for a ball where Kane volleys it at knee high within the 6 yard box. Let's not forget the first goal where he dived out the way of it. Only avoided the criticism because he played for Celtic. Horrific performance
05-09-2020, 07:47 PM
Yep however every goalie in the world comes for a ball where Kane volleys it at knee high within the 6 yard box. Let's not forget the first goal where he dived out the way of it. Only avoided the criticism because he played for Celtic. Horrific performance
Agree. A real keeper would've came an blootered Kane and everything else. Gordon was always stinking in the air. Just an absolutely excellent shotstopper.
06-09-2020, 12:27 PM
Brentford 1 v 0 Wycombe
Daryl Horgan on for Wycombe
06-09-2020, 12:38 PM
Hooorrrrggaaaaaannnnnn !!!!!!!!
Brentford 1 v 1 Wycombe
Boom 1-1 Horgan.
Horgan is unplayable here.
06-09-2020, 12:39 PM
Hooorrrrggaaaaaannnnnn !!!!!!!!
Brentford 1 v 1 Wycombe
Well played wee man!! Get in.
Horgan is unplayable here.
He’ll be a lot fitter than most of them, they are still in preseason
Kane O’Connor on the bench for Brentford.
If the ref played advantage there he was in on goal.
06-09-2020, 12:40 PM
He’ll be a lot fitter than most of them, they are still in preseason
Their season has started. This is a competitive match.
Decent finish. High into the net but should be scoring from there.
Brentford new ground looks a bit odd with the seat colours.
06-09-2020, 12:46 PM
Not as odd as the Wycombe keepers shirt, what’s that all about.
06-09-2020, 12:47 PM
I actually like it 😁
06-09-2020, 12:49 PM
Sporting Lisbon is a bit like that too. Don’t know if it’s supposed to make empty seats look occupied (once we are all back obviously)
06-09-2020, 12:50 PM
Shorts sponsors are Cherry Red Records. A fine label.
06-09-2020, 12:52 PM
Yeah I know, but Horgan will have played a lot more games than all of them
Where is big Uche?
06-09-2020, 12:54 PM
Yeah I know, but Horgan will have played a lot more games than all of them
Where is big Uche?
Wycombe manager said he was injured in training. Should be back next weekend.
Sporting Lisbon is a bit like that too. Don’t know if it’s supposed to make empty seats look occupied (once we are all back obviously)
Yes it does, I have been to Sporting Lisbon's ground.
Did a double header one day at Benfica and Sporting. Both nice grounds.
06-09-2020, 12:57 PM
Shorts sponsors are Cherry Red Records. A fine label.
Is the manager of Wycombe in a band?
06-09-2020, 01:01 PM
Is the manager of Wycombe in a band?
I think he’s a muso . Dressed all alt/rock like he should be in the Doobie Brothers.
06-09-2020, 01:03 PM
Yes it does, I have been to Sporting Lisbon's ground.
Did a double header one day at Benfica and Sporting. Both nice grounds.
I did the same over a week a few years back and took in Estoril as well. Great places to visit and it was European week so I caught CL and Europa as well as league games.
06-09-2020, 01:06 PM
Horgan takes an excellent penalty. Who knew?