View Full Version : Match Updates 2020-21 season non-Hibs games thread
06-12-2020, 03:39 PM
Taxi for Lennon
To add insult to injury Chris Kane is almost as bad a striker as the wee guy who plays for St Mirren
Can they get a winner to save Neil?
06-12-2020, 03:40 PM
Walls came tumbling down...
Best manager ever :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:thumbsup: :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
Cheerio Neil.
Ahd put ma cash oan hertz tae beat thum
06-12-2020, 03:41 PM
Surely Lennon won't survive this?
I think I heard on the radio that if Celtic failed to win today, it would be their longest winless streak at home for over 40 years.
1-1
Magpie
We could genuinely get 2nd
Celtic flatter than a witches.....
06-12-2020, 03:42 PM
At some point Lawell and Desmond will just be looking silly for not making a move.
It is but the money I'd win would be zero consolation for them winning the cup.
of course it would, you would have money to help you through the miserable feeling :agree: it's one reason i've bet so often against hibs, if we win i don't care i've lost cash, if we lose i at least have some cash comfort...it might not make up for losing a game but at least i can buy things to help me through the loss :greengrin
Celtic getting worse by the week. Good goal but the players have chucked it
1-1 lennon must stay
1-1. Still time left for them to win it.
Let's push for 2nd 😁🇳🇬
Jammy gits
Celtic will win this game now. Guaranteed. St Johnstone should have held the lead longer.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 03:43 PM
Wow Heung-Min Son!!!!
that was a fluke imo
Celtic flatter than a witches.....
Hadn’t heard that uttered by anyone bar my brother in law (from Preston) :)
What a goal from Son absolute peach.
06-12-2020, 03:44 PM
Some goal Spurs.
06-12-2020, 03:44 PM
Celtic fans scunnered they scored. Says it all
06-12-2020, 03:45 PM
Rangers won the corresponding fixture 3-0. :dunno:
1-1. Still time left for them to win it.
Even a 1-1 for Celtic is a poor result at home, still enough to get him booted out.
Spawny bassas!
Celtic fans scunnered they scored. Says it all
Good news for us. I think it's between us and Saints for 4th.
06-12-2020, 03:46 PM
Wonderful goal by Son
What a goal from Sonaldo! Peach!
Magpie
Another Kane assist.
06-12-2020, 03:47 PM
Even a draw's no good for them. Puts them 13 points behind Rangers and even if they win their 2 games in hand it still puts them 7 points behind with a trip to Ibrox just round the corner.
Either camera angles are weird or there's not a lot of social distancing going on at Spurs.
06-12-2020, 03:48 PM
Was Griffiths not offside for the equaliser
06-12-2020, 03:48 PM
Even a draw's no good for them. Puts them 13 points behind Rangers and even if they win their 2 games in hand it still puts them 7 points behind with a trip to Ibrox just round the corner.
If they don't score the board is taking the utter pish out the fans if Lennon isn't sacked.
Either camera angles are weird or there's not a lot of social distancing going on at Spurs.
Do all Jose coaching staff not live together or something in a bubble
06-12-2020, 03:50 PM
I don't like Stubbsy saying "we"
Son is different gravy
Top assist from kane too... Love that for fantasy team [emoji23][emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Also fancy Dons tae beat sellik
Do all Jose coaching staff not live together or something in a bubble
Meaning the fans in the stadium, showed them cheering the goal and they all looked to sitting very close, dozens of them.
06-12-2020, 03:51 PM
MK? :greengrin
06-12-2020, 03:52 PM
Full time 1-1.
I don't like Stubbsy saying "we"
Strong connection with Celtic, plus he's on their TV commentating, he was just our manager, was he not their captain?
06-12-2020, 03:52 PM
Hopefully Lennon’s sacked after today for the sake of the cup final
06-12-2020, 03:53 PM
lennon must stay
no, i mean go
no, i mean stay
i simply can't make my mind up
I hope Celtic's board have ordered more fencing.
boos ringing around a packed parkhead at FT
06-12-2020, 03:54 PM
Strong connection with Celtic, plus he's on their TV commentating, he was just our manager, was he not their captain?
Aye, doesn't mean I like it :greengrin
Celtic LOL
They are ****ing atrocious
If we win on Saturday we go 2nd :aok:
We could genuinely get 2nd
Nah I read on here we will be lucky to get top 6
06-12-2020, 03:55 PM
boos ringing around a packed parkhead at FT
https://frinkiac.com/meme/S06E18/1055136.jpg?b64lines=IGFsbDogQm9vISEgSSB3YXMgc2F5a W5nLAogImJvby11cm5zLiI=
Champions league here we come
Lennon has really made a complete mess of that job. He's finished as a top level manager.
That could be a vital point for Celtic in their quest for a top 6 finish.
06-12-2020, 03:56 PM
We beat Hamilton on Saturday we go 2nd for at least 24 hours
It's no, It's no
10 in a row
Cherrio!:na na:
They'll be jobbying in the streets of Cellik
Lennon has really made a complete mess of that job. He's finished as a top level manager.
He’s made an absolute arse of it.
Still though, born winner.
Green_one
06-12-2020, 03:57 PM
So much for those saying Celtic have spare games and will catch up.
Losing more ground each week while Rangers pile in goals. It’s all over bar the moaning unless they get a serious new manager
Happy with St J only picking up a point.
06-12-2020, 03:58 PM
As long as Hearts don't............. :Ummm:
06-12-2020, 03:59 PM
He’s made an absolute arse of it.
Still though, born winner.He's brought everything he learnt at Bolton to Darkheid this time around.
I can see the thieves giving them a fright in the final.
06-12-2020, 04:00 PM
He's brought everything he learnt at Bolton to Darkheid this time around.
Hopefully Celtic go the same way as Bolton.
06-12-2020, 04:00 PM
Rangers hypothetical collapse at some point looks more and more irrelevant as each week passes. Better enjoy the job Neil “born winner” Lennon is doing while we still can.
Even if there isn’t a candidate ready to take over surely the chance of a caretaker manager bounce is better than what they are getting now.
06-12-2020, 04:01 PM
Lose at Ibrox on 2nd Jan, and it’s bye bye 10 in a row
It’s just a shame that awful club from Govan will end it though
06-12-2020, 04:01 PM
Lennon's biggest mistake was not signing Kamberi. Nobody else to blame.
06-12-2020, 04:02 PM
If only we’d held on against Celtic a few weeks ago. We could have been really on for second place
When you consider the unbalanced team of overpaid journeymen he left us, he generally leaves a mess behind him.
Whoever takes the Celtic job is on a hiding to nothing if 10IAR is still seen as the goal.
Celtic basically now need to win just about every game for the rest of the season to come close to challenging for the title.
06-12-2020, 04:03 PM
Lose at Ibrox on 2nd Jan, and it’s bye bye 10 in a row
It’s just a shame that awful club from Govan will end it though
Leagues gone for them. Not a chance they will come back and win it. They may as well just give us Griffiths now too.
I am seriously getting worried about the cup final. Hearts are utterly gash but celtic seem to be even gasher at the moment. Hope Lennon gets the heave shortly and they get a bounce effect from a new manager
Is Xhaka the new Graeme Shinnie or Scott brown? Should have been booked in the first minute but wasnt and had 2 more fouls since and nothing.
06-12-2020, 04:05 PM
I am seriously getting worried about the cup final. Hearts are utterly gash but celtic seem to be even gasher at the moment. Hope Lennon gets the heave shortly and they get a bounce effect from a new manager
Punt Lennon, get Stubbs in as caretaker until NY. Sorted. He likes a win at Ibrox tae.
06-12-2020, 04:05 PM
Celtic basically now need to win just about every game for the rest of the season to come close to challenging for the title.
If they won every game they'd win the league. Never happening though.
06-12-2020, 04:06 PM
i wonder if lawell will leave when neil lennon does, surely sellick fans are still unhappy they lost out on a player that's probably worth £40m now, if only he and tom english had sanctioned a lousy £4m for SJM
and hell mend him for giving NL that contract extension...we advised him not to :)
06-12-2020, 04:06 PM
Celtc fans will be rioting in the streets of paradise after that result
06-12-2020, 04:08 PM
I’ve been critical of Mourinho and thought he was finished at the top level. I still have my doubts and half expect it to implode at some point. However credit where it’s due. The job he’s doing this season, with a decent but not that special, IMO, squad outside of Kane, Son and Reguilion is impressive. They’re more than the sum of their parts.
Dr What If?
06-12-2020, 04:09 PM
If only we’d held on against Celtic a few weeks ago. We could have been really on for second place
They way we lost our lead though....the atrocious decision for the penalty, the retaken free kick because they were fouling in our box. At the time I said 'its Celtic, a point gained'.....lets face it, it was two points stolen.
plhibs
06-12-2020, 04:10 PM
Meaning the fans in the stadium, showed them cheering the goal and they all looked to sitting very close, dozens of them.
I thought the same at Chelsea yesterday.
06-12-2020, 04:13 PM
If they won every game they'd win the league. Never happening though.
Yes I know, what I mean is they have little room for manoeuvre now though.
Rangers seem unstoppable at the moment so it's probably going to take something like that for them to win the title.
06-12-2020, 04:14 PM
I’ve been critical of Mourinho and thought he was finished at the top level. I still have my doubts and half expect it to implode at some point. However credit where it’s due. The job he’s doing this season, with a decent but not that special, IMO, squad outside of Kane, Son and Reguilion is impressive. They’re more than the sum of their parts.
Wish him success after watching the documentary on Netflix. Comes across completely different.
06-12-2020, 04:16 PM
Yes I know, what I mean is they have little room for manoeuvre now though.
Rangers seem unstoppable at the moment so it's probably going to take something like that for them to win the title.Finish the season early and just award them the title, they'll never accept a tainted title like celtc did last season[emoji16]
Magpie
2-0. Harry Kane.
Great game so far and what a fantastic goal from Kane. Could they win the league?
Fantastic counter by Spurs, great inter play and cracking goal for Kane.
06-12-2020, 04:17 PM
2-0 Spurs
Mourinho doing a great job there, they're very well set up
http://sportshub.cbsistatic.com/i/r/2017/05/06/3b3f5bae-6170-4d18-9fa9-9d298758ebb5/thumbnail/770x433/6edd49112b07281e11fa86cad538924d/wwe-kane-fire-glenn-jacobs.jpg
i wonder if lawell will leave when neil lennon does, surely sellick fans are still unhappy they lost out on a player that's probably worth £40m now, if only he and tom english had sanctioned a lousy £4m for SJM
and hell mend him for giving NL that contract extension...we advised him not to :)
They’ll regret that one for a long time. Apparently they also had the chance to get Ivan Toney from Peterborough in the summer but pissed about. He’s now tearing it up for Brentford and his value has now rocketed. Biscuit tin mentality still exists.
Magpie
Great game so far and what a fantastic goal from Kane. Could they win the league?
Said it after the United game definitely challengers.
Hope so. :aok:
Magpie
06-12-2020, 04:19 PM
If Spurs hold on and Brighton win tomorrow, Arsenal are 16th after 11 games.
Lacazette looks garbage and Aubameyang looks a shadow of the player since he signed his new deal, I wonder if he regrets signing now
06-12-2020, 04:23 PM
They’ll regret that one for a long time. Apparently they also had the chance to get Ivan Toney from Peterborough in the summer but pissed about. He’s now tearing it up for Brentford and his value has now rocketed. Biscuit tin mentality still exists.
my exact thoughts the moment they offered NL the extension, even though they really stuttered over the finishing line for the cup and league, rodgers team was easy on the eye whilst NL's team, using the same players, were simply NOT easy on the eye
Magpie
06-12-2020, 04:27 PM
Spurs looking set to take 7 points from Man City, Chelsea and Arsenal.
Wouldn’t put it past them to beat Liverpool at Anfield in the next week or two.
06-12-2020, 04:33 PM
Saying a prayer for all the Muslim virgins.
Care to explain?
Magpie
06-12-2020, 04:34 PM
Partey hooked off at half time.
06-12-2020, 04:38 PM
Care to explain?
Is Paradise not where suicide bombers claim to go?
06-12-2020, 04:39 PM
Partey hooked off at half time.
Injured apparently.
06-12-2020, 04:43 PM
🙄
06-12-2020, 04:50 PM
Arsenal are a strange team. They have some real quality, don’t often see them play all that badly and they look well coached/set up. Yet they have an uncanny ability of somehow being less than the sum of their parts. Don’t get me wrong they’re light years away from challenging for the title, but don’t think they should be too far off the top 4 mix if probably still falling short.
06-12-2020, 04:50 PM
personally, i think/hope they go to HELL...mixed-up cowards
but that's one for the Holy Ground :cb
06-12-2020, 04:53 PM
It's a good game with two completely different footballing styles. Spurs happy to sit back, work hard and hit really fast on the break. Arsenal actually play some decent stuff but just don't have the cutting edge of Son and Kane
06-12-2020, 04:54 PM
Arsenal are a strange team. They have some real quality, don’t often see them play all that badly and they look well coached/set up. Yet they have an uncanny ability of somehow being less than the sum of their parts. Don’t get me wrong they’re light years away from challenging for the title, but don’t think they should be too far off the top 4 mix if probably still falling short.
Dreadful form really. A brutal fixture list hasn't helped either but no excuse. They just cant seem to turn possession into goals. Not registering Ozil was madness.
06-12-2020, 04:57 PM
Arsenal are really poor. Tiernay the only one with pass marks
06-12-2020, 04:58 PM
personally, i think/hope they go to HELL...mixed-up cowards
but that's one for the Holy Ground :cb
There's no doubt they do and something I shouldn't have probably joked about.
06-12-2020, 04:58 PM
I still think they could draw here.
06-12-2020, 04:59 PM
There's no doubt they do and something I shouldn't have probably joked about.
Was a bad shout. Best we swiftly move on :greengrin
06-12-2020, 05:00 PM
I don’t think Arsenal have been bad at all. If Kane & Son were to swap sides with Aubameysng & Lacazette it would probably be Arsenal winning. Spurs are ruthless and clinical, everything Arsenal are not.
06-12-2020, 05:03 PM
Think Xhaka has some of the same criticisms of Newell. Good when things are going well but less so when they’re not.
06-12-2020, 05:09 PM
If Tierney could find a teammate with a cross, I'd agree. He is just as bad as any
Magpie
06-12-2020, 05:11 PM
Aubameyang what’s happened to him? Benteke scored more open play goals today than he has this season.
Spurs defended well, done exactly what Mourinho has wanted.
06-12-2020, 05:16 PM
Aubameyang what’s happened to him? Benteke scored more open play goals today than he has this season.
Spurs defended well, done exactly what Mourinho has wanted.
Signed a new deal and turned into Kamberi.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 05:21 PM
Full time. Spurs 2-0 Arsenal. A third consecutive clean sheet for Spurs after playing City, Chelsea and Arsenal.
Arsenal gone downhill big time, no European football next season imo.
Your right it looks like they ain’t social distancing , also singing and shouting which I thought was against the rules
06-12-2020, 05:23 PM
Wonder if Spurs fans are moaning about their style of play under Mourinho or it being boring :confused::greengrin
Magpie
06-12-2020, 05:25 PM
Wonder if Spurs fans are moaning about their style of play under Mourinho or it being boring :confused::greengrin
Would many supporters complain about being top of the league and beating their rivals if it meant not so entertaining to watch?
06-12-2020, 05:29 PM
Would many supporters complain about being top of the league and beating their rivals if it meant not so entertaining to watch?
I could probably think of a couple that would yes.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 05:32 PM
I genuinely can’t believe some people thought/think Aubameyang is better than Kane 🤯
Magpie
06-12-2020, 05:33 PM
I could probably think of a couple that would yes.
I’m sure they would still be part of the celebrations if they won a title at the end of it.
06-12-2020, 05:52 PM
I genuinely can’t believe some people thought/think Aubameyang is better than Kane 🤯
Judging Kane in the form of his life vs Aubameyang in a terrible spell? Dunno if that is fair.
Kane is quality, easily a better all round player. Aubameyang actually has trophies in his career, though.
06-12-2020, 05:55 PM
Kane is the 2nd best number 9 in the world after Lewandowski. He's a very very good player, better than Aubameyang.
06-12-2020, 06:22 PM
Same at Anfield, silly old boys in the crowd using facemasks as chin hammocks which is a pet hate of mine too.
​​
Hope so 👍
06-12-2020, 06:45 PM
If Tierney could find a teammate with a cross, I'd agree. He is just as bad as any
Maybe they need someone like Giroud up front if they are going to throw as many crosses in as they have today.
06-12-2020, 06:48 PM
Maybe they need someone like Giroud up front if they are going to throw as many crosses in as they have today.
I thought Tierney's crossing was pretty good to be honest. Pity that none if the strikers looked particularly interested in challenging the defenders for the ball.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 06:57 PM
Judging Kane in the form of his life vs Aubameyang in a terrible spell? Dunno if that is fair.
Kane is quality, easily a better all round player. Aubameyang actually has trophies in his career, though.
I think if any top team in the world had the choice of Kane or Aubameyang in their prime they would choose Kane.
06-12-2020, 07:11 PM
I think if any top team in the world had the choice of Kane or Aubameyang in their prime they would choose Kane.
No doubt. Kane is better. If I could choice of a career with trophies, or a career at Spurs, I'd chose the trophies.
Maybe. I'd say a style of play that suits a player they sold 2.5 years ago is more of a problem, though. Aubameyang needs to start scoring soon. If he goes 60 more games without a goal, Giroud will actually have a better goalscoring ratio for Arsenal.
06-12-2020, 07:25 PM
Could Clive tyldesley get any worse, abominable patter duly backed up by super ally. :rolleyes:
06-12-2020, 07:51 PM
No doubt. Kane is better. If I could choice of a career with trophies, or a career at Spurs, I'd chose the trophies.
The comparison was Kane v Aubameyang...Aubameyang hasn’t won anything either. A few German cups, nae league titles. Nowt.
06-12-2020, 08:05 PM
The comparison was Kane v Aubameyang...Aubameyang hasn’t won anything either. A few German cups, nae league titles. Nowt.
Yes. I answered that comparison. I then added one of my own. He clearly has won something. He's won more in English football than Kane. That isn't nowt. Is Hibs 2016 cup win nowt?
Magpie
06-12-2020, 08:10 PM
Maybe. I'd say a style of play that suits a player they sold 2.5 years ago is more of a problem, though. Aubameyang needs to start scoring soon. If he goes 60 more games without a goal, Giroud will actually have a better goalscoring ratio for Arsenal.
Fair enough, players want to win trophies and Aubameyang has that over Kane. But Kane is a way better player.
06-12-2020, 08:10 PM
Yes. I answered that comparison. I then added one of my own. He clearly has won something. He's won more in English football than Kane. That isn't nowt. Is Hibs 2016 cup win nowt?
Trophies for Hibs are different from the same kind of trophies that teams at the top level should be going for. Clearly.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 08:11 PM
Trophies for Hibs are different from the same kind of trophies that teams at the top level should be going for. Clearly.
I’d rather have Harry Kane’s career than Chris Dagnall’s career.
06-12-2020, 08:14 PM
So he has won trophies?
06-12-2020, 08:14 PM
A Scottish Cup winner with Hibs.
Dagnall’s career every time for me :greengrin
06-12-2020, 08:15 PM
Well obviously, Kane earns a fortune. Top player. Needs to join a top side soon.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 08:16 PM
Well obviously, Kane earns a fortune. Top player. Needs to join a top side soon.
Can’t get better than the team top of the league.
06-12-2020, 08:18 PM
So he has won trophies?
Yeah he has, and to be fair, at one of the middle tier teams in the England Prem, that’s a decent achievement I suppose.
06-12-2020, 08:18 PM
Can’t get better than the team top of the league.
Top after 11 games? Release the dvd already :greengrin
He could do much better.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 08:19 PM
Top after 11 games? Release the dvd already :greengrin
He could do much better.
He definitely could do better than Spurs, absolutely no doubt about. One of the best players in the world. But he’s part of a team top of the league. Better to be 1st than 16th chief.
06-12-2020, 08:25 PM
He definitely could do better than Spurs, absolutely no doubt about. One of the best players in the world. But he’s part of a team top of the league. Better to be 1st than 16th chief.
Yep, of course it is. If he keeps up his form, they might win a trophy for the first time since 2007 :greengrin
06-12-2020, 08:26 PM
Yeah he has, and to be fair, at one of the middle tier teams in the England Prem, that’s a decent achievement I suppose.
Yep. Better than 0 trophies with a much smaller club
Magpie
06-12-2020, 08:28 PM
Yep, of course it is. If he keeps up his form, they might win a trophy for the first time since 2007 :greengrin
Touché good sir, but I’m sure he’s enjoying another derby win for now.
06-12-2020, 08:33 PM
Touché good sir, but I’m sure he’s enjoying another derby win for now.
Aye. He'd make a good Jambo. Decent derby record, no cups. He's like Levein :greengrin
Magpie
06-12-2020, 08:35 PM
Aye. He'd make a good Jambo. Decent derby record, no cups. He's like Levein :greengrin
If Levein won golden boot of a World Cup I think he’d top it.
06-12-2020, 08:37 PM
If Levein won golden boot of a World Cup I think he’d top it.
Na. But Levein would bottle an open goal at 1-0 in the semi, just like Kane :greengrin
Magpie
06-12-2020, 08:38 PM
Na. But Levein would bottle an open goal at 1-0 in the semi, just like Kane
Even if it was offside.
06-12-2020, 09:25 PM
Get yourselves over to You Tube, it's comedy gold on AFTV today :greengrin
Magpie
06-12-2020, 09:32 PM
I had a great laugh I must admit.
06-12-2020, 09:41 PM
It is funny at times. Fair play to the guys, they make a fortune from it.
06-12-2020, 09:49 PM
It is funny at times. Fair play to the guys, they make a fortune from it.
Big Robbie seems a really good guy, and I like a couple of the regulars, such as Lee Judges, the bald bloke. But there are a couple of James Hunts too. It's always a good laugh when they are struggling.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 09:50 PM
I read a quote from Arteta the other day (after the home defeat to Wolves) that Arteta said that Arsenal put in 33 crosses for the first time in the PL last week and then today they put in 44 crosses but only 9 reached a player supposedly.
Will this tactic work in the PL with Aubmeyang and Lacazette? Burnley at home next week who I think are good at managing with that sort of tactic.
Are Arsenal relegation candidates?
06-12-2020, 09:53 PM
I read a quote from Arteta the other day (after the home defeat to Wolves) that Arteta said that Arsenal put in 33 crosses for the first time in the PL last week and then today they put in 44 crosses but only 9 reached a player supposedly.
Will this tactic work in the PL with Aubmeyang and Lacazette? Burnley at home next week who I think are good at managing with that sort of tactic.
Nah, but they are mid table candidates again, which isn't enough for a club that size. I think they will beat Burnley, but I don't think Arteta is their long term solution.
06-12-2020, 09:55 PM
They've won more games than bottom 3 combined. Definitely not.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 09:55 PM
Nah, but they are mid table candidates again, which isn't enough for a club that size. I think they will beat Burnley, but I don't think Arteta is their long term solution.
I’m going to choose Arsenal in the last man standing challenge I’m playing with my mates, but I agree, I think a big club like Arsenal took a big gamble on giving the job to a guy who has no previous experience as a manager.
Magpie
06-12-2020, 09:57 PM
“I admire Mikel a lot, he’s a great coach. It is no surprise he learned from Pep. Unfortunately they both have lost 2-0 to my Spurs.” - Jose Mourinho
I honestly admire this guy so much 😂
06-12-2020, 09:59 PM
“I admire Mikel a lot, he’s a great coach. It is no surprise he learned from Pep. Unfortunately they both have lost 2-0 to my Spurs.” - Jose Mourinho
Wasn’t that long ago on here that Arteta was being held up as proof that Mourinho was a dinosaur! It has been quite a turnaround.
Watching that documentary I was surprised how much I actually rated what Mourinho does.
06-12-2020, 10:01 PM
I think Arteta was outsmarted by Mourinho today. Arsenal had 69 per cent possession and made over twice as many passes, but Spurs had their tactics spot on, knowing Arsenal are always vulnerable at the back. It was a clever plan to hit them on the counter.
06-12-2020, 10:14 PM
He never actually said that though. As Mourinho as that sounds haha.
06-12-2020, 10:19 PM
Maybe he thinks Spurs will become a top club and he wants to be part of that?
My son and I were debating how good a player Kane is. His goalscoring record tells its own story, but his lack of medals says something else.
My argument was that great players win things. They play for teams who win things. How many truly great players fail to win trophies?
Spurs suit Kane and England have himas their main man. You wonder how adaptable he is though, could he play in a side that don’t just base their game on him and his style of play?
06-12-2020, 10:25 PM
My son and I were debating how good a player Kane is. His goalscoring record tells its own story, but his lack of medals says something else.
My argument was that great players win things. They play for teams who win things. How many truly great players fail to win trophies?
Spurs suit Kane and England have himas their main man. You wonder how adaptable he is though, could he play in a side that don’t just base their game on him and his style of play?
As a Man United fan, I think Kane would be perfect for them, but didn't he also grow up a Spurs fan? Not easy to leave the club you love.
06-12-2020, 10:28 PM
As a Man United fan, I think Kane would be perfect for them, but didn't he also grow up a Spurs fan? Not easy to leave the club you love.
Think he was an Arsenal fan? Got rejected by them?
06-12-2020, 10:29 PM
I thought he grew up an arsenal fan (definitely played for them when younger), although he will be anything but a Gooner now, really can’t see him leaving Spurs unless it was abroad, building something big there it seems.
06-12-2020, 10:30 PM
Kane is an unbelievable player. The number of assists he has provided for Son this season just underlines his quality.
He’s a Spurs fan living the dream and maybe now going to get that silverware he craves.
06-12-2020, 10:36 PM
I thought he grew up an arsenal fan (definitely played for them when younger), although he will be anything but a Gooner now, really can’t see him leaving Spurs unless it was abroad, building something big there it seems.
Think he was an Arsenal fan? Got rejected by them?
He was an Arsenal fan? I didn't know that!
06-12-2020, 10:44 PM
Kane's said loads of times he was a boyhood spurs fan who played briefly for arsenal.
06-12-2020, 10:46 PM
He was an Arsenal fan? I didn't know that!
I'm not sure where the idea of him supporting Arsenal's come from?
'Most of my family were Spurs fans and I grew up 15 minutes from the ground, so I was always going to be a Spurs fan,'
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2822161/amp/Harry-Kane-gone-Tottenham-fan-Spur-moment-sharp-shooter-pitching-starting-spot-White-Hart-Lane.html
06-12-2020, 10:48 PM
I'm not sure where the idea of him supporting Arsenal's come from?
'Most of my family were Spurs fans and I grew up 15 minutes from the ground, so I was always going to be a Spurs fan,'
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2822161/amp/Harry-Kane-gone-Tottenham-fan-Spur-moment-sharp-shooter-pitching-starting-spot-White-Hart-Lane.html
There was a pic of him as a youngster in an arsenal top with red hair copying Freddie Lujnberg (sp).
06-12-2020, 11:00 PM
I'm sure there was an article shared on here a couple of years ago about how he overcame rejection where he said he was an Arsenal fan as a kid. Then again, when have I ever got something right on these pages? :-)
Magpie
07-12-2020, 08:12 AM
I’m sure he’s a Spurs fan, wouldn’t think he’s an Arsenal fan going by how much he enjoys scoring and beating them anyway.
He has got two daughters and his wife is pregnant with a boy on the way, so his family are very much settled in London. He will be earning plenty of money at Spurs and they wouldn’t sell him unless he really wanted to go. He had a fantastic relationship with Pochettino and is now enjoying learning and playing under Mourinho imo. Winning these games against good teams and sitting top of the league will spread that belief and winning mentality right through the team and who else better than Mourinho to be the leader in that? It’s still early days but I do believe Spurs will be up there come the end of the season and will win a cup too.
07-12-2020, 08:21 AM
Played for them, but was never an Arsenal fan ..moved to Spurs as a kid as soon as he got the chance ....
Magpie
07-12-2020, 09:08 AM
Apparently since the beginning of October, Arsenal have had more foul throw-ins (5) than Premier League goals (4).
07-12-2020, 12:50 PM
07-12-2020, 12:55 PM
That was when he was in Arsenal's youth set up for a year, aged 8.
07-12-2020, 12:57 PM
That was when he was in Arsenal's youth set up for a year, aged 8.
Fair enough :aok:
Still looks like he is out celebrating some kind of cup win or title , If i was a spurs fan playing for Arsenal i'd be nowhere near a parade
Magpie
07-12-2020, 01:00 PM
Still looks like he is out celebrating some kind of cup win or title , If i was a spurs fan playing for Arsenal i'd be nowhere near a parade
“I wanted to wear a Tottenham kit but I don’t think that would’ve gone down [too] well.
I was eight years-old. I was at Arsenal for a year and obviously I was a kid, I just wanted to play football.
I’ve been at Spurs since I was 11 years-old, always loved the club.
I’ve been here 10 years and hopefully many more years to come.”
Interview with Kane on Spurs TV after he signed a new contract.
07-12-2020, 01:08 PM
Looks like he was celebrating an Arsenal league win hardly the same as playing for their youth team.
07-12-2020, 01:09 PM
Agree kind of flys in the face of him saying he has always been a Spurs fan.
07-12-2020, 01:16 PM
Agree kind of flys in the face of him saying he has always been a Spurs fan.
I have a nephew who has been with Aston Villa's academy set up and is currently with Oxford Utd. (he's only about 13). There are plenty of photos around of him in different strips, taking part in different events and joining in various celebrations. However, along with his Dad, brother & sister he's 100% Spurs daft and has a ST he uses whenever possible.
I don't think it's that unusual, especially for those good enough to play.
Magpie
07-12-2020, 02:36 PM
Paul Pogba’s agent Mino Raiola speaking today: “I can say that it’s over for Paul Pogba at Manchester United”
07-12-2020, 02:51 PM
Paul Pogba’s agent Mino Raiola speaking today: “I can say that it’s over for Paul Pogba at Manchester United”
Bet United on the eve of a champions league make or break game are loving the timing of that comment.
07-12-2020, 02:53 PM
Think Pogba is closer to Man Utd’s problems than he is the solution. They should have cashed in on him long ago.
07-12-2020, 02:54 PM
These big player agents have too much power in the game now
Wonder what can be done about it? Taking millions out of the game
07-12-2020, 03:54 PM
We beat Hamilton on Saturday we go 2nd for at least 24 hours
Plastic pitch makes it a tricky one for us But here’s hoping we take form from second hslf into this one and blow them away first half
07-12-2020, 03:57 PM
Rangers hypothetical collapse at some point looks more and more irrelevant as each week passes. Better enjoy the job Neil “born winner” Lennon is doing while we still can.
Even if there isn’t a candidate ready to take over surely the chance of a caretaker manager bounce is better than what they are getting now.
The Rangers don’t look like they are a team about to have a down turn in form They are winning and scoring goals and not conceding many They will no doubt drop points at some point But on present form Celtic will drop even more points in December
07-12-2020, 04:46 PM
Still the only trophy parade hes attended
07-12-2020, 04:58 PM
Still the only trophy parade hes attended
:top marks:thumbsup:
Spurs , Forever in Arsenal's shadows :agree:
Magpie
07-12-2020, 05:18 PM
:top marks:thumbsup:
Spurs , Forever in Arsenal's shadows :agree:
I was surprised to see that yesterday was the first time Spurs have won back to back games against Arsenal since the 60’s. Spurs are also now unbeaten in their last 7 home PL games against Arsenal. Harry Kane also became the all time goalscorer in NL derbies yesterday. Looking set for a fifth consecutive season finishing above Arsenal too. If they can win a trophy this season I think they will claim their bragging rights.
07-12-2020, 05:26 PM
I was surprised to see that yesterday was the first time Spurs have won back to back games against Arsenal since the 60’s. Spurs are also now unbeaten in their last 7 home PL games against Arsenal. Harry Kane also became the all time goalscorer in NL derbies yesterday. Looking set for a fifth consecutive season finishing above Arsenal too. If they can win a trophy this season I think they will claim their bragging rights.
Arsenal, during their worst period in years, have won 4 FA cups in 6 years. Spurs have won 3 trophies in 30 years. They've a bit to go yet. Making progress for sure. Big loans and a massive stadium to pay back will stall that progress, though.
In 30 more years, you think Spurs fans will be looking back thinking ''man, that time we finished above Arsenal was magic''? Na. Trophies matter more than a few higher finishes.
Magpie
07-12-2020, 05:28 PM
Arsenal, during their worst period in years, have won 4 FA cups in 6 years. Spurs have won 3 trophies in 30 years. They've a bit to go yet. Making progress for sure. Big loans and a massive stadium to pay back will stall that progress, though.
In 30 more years, you think Spurs fans will be looking back thinking ''man, that time we finished above Arsenal was magic''? Na. Trophies matter more than a few higher finishes.
Definitely. I think Spurs look set to achieve more than Arsenal over the next decade though, but time will tell.
07-12-2020, 05:31 PM
Definitely. I think Spurs look set to achieve more than Arsenal over the next decade though, but time will tell.
Sure. But 10 years ago, when Harry was in charge and Bale was crushing Inter Milan, Spurs looked likely to be more successful as well. They've won nothing and Arsenal have.
Magpie
07-12-2020, 05:34 PM
Sure. But 10 years ago, when Harry was in charge and Bale was crushing Inter Milan, Spurs looked likely to be more successful as well. They've won nothing and Arsenal have.
Don’t think Spurs ever looked like winning the title until Pochettino took over, they came close to a few domestic cups and a Champions League but ultimately failed. As a big fan of Mourinho I think that was a wise move by Levy and one that Arsenal should have took.
07-12-2020, 05:37 PM
Don’t think Spurs ever looked like winning the title until Pochettino took over, they came close to a few domestic cups and a Champions League but ultimately failed. As a big fan of Mourinho I think that was a wise move by Levy and one that Arsenal should have took.
Did Spurs ever actually look like winning a trophy at any point in the last 10 years? Certainly never came close to the title, other than finishing 3rd in a two horse race in 2016.
Magpie
07-12-2020, 05:38 PM
Did Spurs ever actually look like winning a trophy at any point in the last 10 years? Certainly never came close to the title, other than finishing 3rd in a two horse race in 2016.
Came very close the season after finishing 2nd with 86 points and a +60 GD but Chelsea were unstoppable that season.
07-12-2020, 05:38 PM
They were nailed on to win the title in 2015/16. Leicester won the run in, Tottenham fell apart and Arsenal finished second....
Arsenal have a lot of work to do and look to be years away from where they need to be. Spurs could really just do with winning something.
07-12-2020, 05:41 PM
Came very close the season after finishing 2nd with 86 points and a +60 GD but Chelsea were unstoppable that season.
Very close is an exaggeration IMO. Chelsea were top from week 12 and won it with 2 games to spare. Smacked Spurs in the FA Cup semi as well.
Magpie
07-12-2020, 05:42 PM
They were nailed on to win the title in 2015/16. Leicester won the run in, Tottenham fell apart and Arsenal finished second....
Arsenal have a lot of work to do and look to be years away from where they need to be. Spurs could really just do with winning something.
I think Arsenal were actually top of the league at Christmas/New Year that season, couldn’t tell you how far they were behind Spurs leading up to the final 5 games or so.
Magpie
07-12-2020, 05:44 PM
Very close is an exaggeration IMO. Chelsea were top from week 12 and won it with 2 games to spare. Smacked Spurs in the FA Cup semi as well.
Lost the least amount of league games, scored the most goals and conceded the least amount of goals. I think very close is a fair comment, if they turned 4 of their 8 draws into wins they would have won it but again ultimately failed.
07-12-2020, 05:54 PM
the Harry Kane thread
Magpie
07-12-2020, 06:31 PM
Brighton v Southampton should be a decent game, both teams like to play.
07-12-2020, 06:38 PM
I think Arsenal were actually top of the league at Christmas/New Year that season, couldn’t tell you how far they were behind Spurs leading up to the final 5 games or so.
Took a bit of digging, but Leicester were top at Xmas, Arsenal 2nd.
By Easter Arsenal were third and 6 behind points Spurs.
PS
The Magpies, of all people, gave Spurs a real doing in the final game to hand Arsenal 2nd.
Magpie
07-12-2020, 06:46 PM
Took a bit of digging, but Leicester were top at Xmas, Arsenal 2nd.
By Easter Arsenal were third and 6 behind points Spurs.
PS
The Magpies, of all people, gave Spurs a real doing in the final game to hand Arsenal 2nd.
Arsenal ended 2015 top of the league and were 3 points behind Spurs with 9 games left to play, that’s what I found anyway.
Yeah I think Moussa Sissoko scored a couple in that game too.
07-12-2020, 07:24 PM
Arsenal ended 2015 top of the league and were 3 points behind Spurs with 9 games left to play, that’s what I found anyway.
Yeah I think Moussa Sissoko scored a couple in that game too.
You did say Xmas / New Year.
Leicester were top at Xmas, joint top with Arsenal at New Year.
By Easter it was pretty much like I said.
This is how it looked with only 4 games left and 5 for Arsenal in 4th. A pretty drastic turn around to come don’t you think?
https://bleacherreport.com/articles/2633747-premier-league-table-2016-standings-week-35-fixtures-after-week-34-results
Seem to have gone off track a bit on the thread. Apologies all.
07-12-2020, 07:27 PM
Where the **** do folk find stats like who was top after the second round of fixtures 5 year ago :greengrin
SJNB Hibby
07-12-2020, 07:32 PM
Brighton 1-0. Arsenal 16th:greengrin:greengrin
SJNB Hibby
07-12-2020, 08:43 PM
Brighton 1-0. Arsenal 16th:greengrin:greengrin
2-1 Southampton, arsenal further away from a European spot
Magpie
07-12-2020, 09:47 PM
Didn’t realise Brighton’s home record has been so bad this year, they have only beaten Arsenal at home in the PL in 2020.
08-12-2020, 07:44 AM
There was a pic of him as a youngster in an arsenal top with red hair copying Freddie Lujnberg (sp).
Arsenal have a youth academy very close to where he grew up. No great surprise Kane got picked up by them but him and his family are categorically Spurs fans.
08-12-2020, 08:35 AM
I have a nephew who has been with Aston Villa's academy set up and is currently with Oxford Utd. (he's only about 13). There are plenty of photos around of him in different strips, taking part in different events and joining in various celebrations. However, along with his Dad, brother & sister he's 100% Spurs daft and has a ST he uses whenever possible.
I don't think it's that unusual, especially for those good enough to play.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 05:21 PM
Dunfermline have taken both manager of the month and player of the month for the 2nd month in a row.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 07:04 PM
Leipzig 1-0 Man Utd. 2nd minute.
08-12-2020, 07:05 PM
Leipzig 1-0 Man Utd. 2nd minute.
ex-man city or on loan from man city
08-12-2020, 07:06 PM
Utd draw to progress. Late Rashford show hopefully
Magpie
08-12-2020, 07:09 PM
Utd draw to progress. Late Rashford show hopefully
Wouldn’t be surprised to see Leipzig get at least 3 goals.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 07:10 PM
Greenwood probably should have scored there.
08-12-2020, 07:12 PM
Penalty Juventus!
08-12-2020, 07:13 PM
Barcelona 0-1 Juve - Ronaldo
Not convinced it was a penalty but they deserve their lead - been the better side.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 07:14 PM
Leipzig 2-0 United.
Barcelona 0-1 Juve - Ronaldo
Not convinced it was a penalty but they deserve their lead - been the better side.
Yep they’ve been really sharp in the first 10 mins
Never a penalty.
Man U [emoji23][emoji23]
Magpie
08-12-2020, 07:18 PM
Man U [emoji23][emoji23]
Not going to rule them out yet as they love a comeback, but yeah, Ole’s at the wheel.
08-12-2020, 07:21 PM
Barcelona 0-2 Juventus - McKennie
08-12-2020, 07:21 PM
Great goal Juventus! 0-2 v Barca
Magpie
08-12-2020, 07:23 PM
Leipzig are brilliant to watch, their manager will go on to be very successful.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 07:26 PM
PSG and Istanbul players have walked off the pitch in protest as apparently the assistant referee called a member of the Istanbul staff the ‘n-word’
Edit: now reading reports that the 4th official said ‘the black man’ when asked who should be booked from the Istanbul bench.
08-12-2020, 07:26 PM
Is there anyone in the VAR booth at the Barcelona vs Juventus game?
First penalty wasn't a penalty, that was a clear hand ball not given.
08-12-2020, 07:27 PM
PSG and Istanbul players have walked off the pitch in protest as apparently the assistant referee called a member of the Istanbul staff the ‘n-word’
WTF?! :confused:
08-12-2020, 07:27 PM
Wouldn’t be surprised to see Leipzig get at least 3 goals.
Hope so for you. Send a fence to old Trafford please and get Ole to ****. He’s that kamikaze a manager they will still qualify though.
08-12-2020, 07:28 PM
WTF?! :confused:
🤣🤣🤣🤣
08-12-2020, 07:32 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣
What...?
08-12-2020, 07:33 PM
What...?
****in mental that’s what mate.
08-12-2020, 07:34 PM
****in mental that’s what mate.
Sorry, I thought you were laughing at my reaction and I was mightily confused!
Absolutely mental indeed.
08-12-2020, 07:43 PM
Edit: now reading reports that the 4th official said ‘the black man’ when asked who should be booked from the Istanbul bench.
It’s hardly the n-word just sounds like the 4th official is a ****ing simpleton that needs his jammies.
08-12-2020, 07:46 PM
It’s hardly the n-word just sounds like the 4th official is a ****ing simpleton that needs his jammies.
There's video of Demba Ba confronting him (with audible footage from the BT Cameras) challenging him asking why 'he says 'this black guy', [when he doesn't use the same phrasing for any of the white players]'.
Ba was clearly irate.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 07:48 PM
Hence my edit
08-12-2020, 07:49 PM
There's video of Demba Ba confronting him (with audible footage from the BT Cameras) challenging him asking why 'he says 'this black guy', [when he doesn't use the same phrasing for any of the white players]'.
Ba was clearly irate.
I’m sure he was.
08-12-2020, 07:50 PM
https://twitter.com/tancredipalmeri/status/1336410081974493186?s=20
08-12-2020, 07:51 PM
Hence my edit
It’s your edit I’m quoting. Doesn’t make anything right but the difference in language used is significant. The 4th official sounds less like a racist than he does a moron.
Newry Hibs
08-12-2020, 07:58 PM
If you have maybe 7 or 8 people together and one is black, then whats wrong with saying 'the black man'? I would expect him to say 'the white man' if that was the most obvious distinction.
Man U looking poor yet again, does losing this mean they drop down to the Europa league, if so Ole should be gone as they were in pole position and they've screwed it up, their defence is brutal for a so called top English side.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 07:59 PM
PSG game to continue at 9pm
08-12-2020, 07:59 PM
There's still a massive part of me that thinks Man Utd will come back from this. God knows why but £20 ayipe kayeeee
08-12-2020, 08:00 PM
Juve 2 up at half time at Nou Camp. Well worth their lead
Magpie
08-12-2020, 08:02 PM
Man U looking poor yet again, does losing this mean they drop down to the Europa league, if so Ole should be gone as they were in pole position and they've screwed it up, their defence is brutal for a so called top English side.
As long as PSG avoid defeat and United lose, they are out. Or maybe the PSG result doesn’t matter, not 100% on that.
They need to be playing at the big table and losing here will hurt financially.
Why do managers mess around with formations when it's obvious is doesn't work, Ole going 3 at the back was wrong, they've played their best football with a back 4.
08-12-2020, 08:10 PM
VAR Penalty to Juventus.
08-12-2020, 08:10 PM
How does he give that and not give the one against Panjic in the first half...so inconsistent.
08-12-2020, 08:11 PM
Barcelona 0-3 Juventus - Ronaldo from the spot again.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 08:30 PM
Whoa! I feel good, I knew that I would, now!
08-12-2020, 08:31 PM
Shocking defending again. Would never guess these are premiership players
Another defensive cock up by Man U, do they do defending training at that club, truly brutal, McGuire haha how much.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 08:39 PM
United with their usual penalty.