View Full Version : Match Updates 2020-21 season non-Hibs games thread
03-02-2021, 09:16 PM
My word, that is an absolute shocker! How has he not been sent off for that?!
Incredible. That's worth two reds; he could have snapped the guy's shin in half.
Argylehibby
03-02-2021, 09:16 PM
My word, that is an absolute shocker! How has he not been sent off for that?!
Have a look at his jersey, that’s all you need to see.
03-02-2021, 09:17 PM
https://twitter.com/The_Tman10/status/1357068352355729408?s=08
Crikey
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Not that I would condone Roofe’s tackle but what goes around comes around for Davidson
A hatchet man if ever there was one
David_D
03-02-2021, 09:21 PM
5-3 Barcelona
03-02-2021, 09:22 PM
https://twitter.com/The_Tman10/status/1357068352355729408?s=08
Crikey
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
That's a disgrace.
Surely another retrospective ban coming their way.
Not that it helps St Johnstone of course.
03-02-2021, 09:24 PM
Huge shock at Anfield. Many a coupon destroyed tonight.
Pleasing.
03-02-2021, 09:27 PM
Pleasing.
03-02-2021, 09:27 PM
Disgusting. A potential career injury and only a yellow.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
03-02-2021, 09:29 PM
Has slippy G "not seen it yet"?
Had it been the other way around he would be spitting fire
Obnoxious team of leg breakers 😡
angus hibby
03-02-2021, 09:36 PM
Roofe’s tackle is indeed awful and without doubt should have been a red card.
Surprisingly, not much fuss made by St Johnstone players. Same last week when only Darren and I think Hallberg protested to the ref. Guaranteed if any of those tackles happen on the continent for example, opposition are surrounding the ref in big numbers, almost forcing the red card.
03-02-2021, 09:51 PM
Someone is going to get badly hurt in a Rangers game soon if the referees don’t start doing their jobs.
Logie Green
03-02-2021, 10:18 PM
Huns only need 6 more wins to win the league. Going by their upcoming fixtures their 6th match is away to Celtic.
Can’t stand them but it would be quite funny if they won it there. Or perhaps funnier if they won it the week before and Celtic give them a guard of honour......
SJNB Hibby
04-02-2021, 10:49 AM
Huns only need 6 more wins to win the league. Going by their upcoming fixtures their 6th match is away to Celtic.
Can’t stand them but it would be quite funny if they won it there. Or perhaps funnier if they won it the week before and Celtic give them a guard of honour......
Celtic winning all THEIR upcoming matches is a bit of a stretch---could be 2 post title winning OF matches---when did that last happen?
monarch
04-02-2021, 01:18 PM
I’ve just read that Dundee United fielded a player last night who had tested positive for COVID earlier this week but subsequently tested negative. Apparently the SFA advised United that they could field him as there had been a change in rules although opponents Motherwell were unaware of the change and apparently very few others were either. Seems strange that a change has been made mid season bearing in mind Alex Gogic’s earlier situation. Speaks volumes about the SFA’s communication process.
04-02-2021, 01:22 PM
I’ve just read that Dundee United fielded a player last night who had tested positive for COVID earlier this week but subsequently tested negative. Apparently the SFA advised United that they could field him as there had been a change in rules although opponents Motherwell were unaware of the change and apparently very few others were either. Seems strange that a change has been made mid season bearing in mind Alex Gogic’s earlier situation. Speaks volumes about the SFA’s communication process.
Personally I've no problem that the rule has been changed during the season as more becomes known about the virus. Clubs not all being made aware is wrong though.
04-02-2021, 02:03 PM
http://backpagefootball.com/why-liverpool-wont-win-the-premier-league-this-season/126313/
:devil:
monarch
04-02-2021, 02:26 PM
Personally I've no problem that the rule has been changed during the season as more becomes known about the virus. Clubs not all being made aware is wrong though.
In retrospect I agree with your comment about the rule change 👍
04-02-2021, 03:11 PM
True, the situation with Gogic was ridiculous at the time. Very poor if changes are not being communicated to all clubs at the same time.
Magpie
04-02-2021, 04:44 PM
Jose Mourinho has never lost back to back home league games in his career as manager. Could tonight be the night?
04-02-2021, 04:54 PM
So Ajeti has now been charged for simulation when he dived to get the penalty against Killie - does Celtic's 4-0 victory rightly get altered to 3-0 (i know the answer, but it highlights how paltry the 'punishment' will be). The penalty was awarded at a time when Killie were actually playing well and pushing - I still reckon Celtc would have won, but still...
Another example of just WHY we need VAR up here - especially when Edouard was also offside for the 3rd, not to mention Roofe's horrific challenge last night, or Morellos last week...
Magpie
04-02-2021, 04:58 PM
So Ajeti has now been charged for simulation when he dived to get the penalty against Killie - does Celtic's 4-0 victory rightly get altered to 3-0 (i know the answer, but it highlights how paltry the 'punishment' will be). The penalty was awarded at a time when Killie were actually playing well and pushing - I still reckon Celtc would have won, but still...
Another example of just WHY we need VAR up here - especially when Edouard was also offside for the 3rd, not to mention Roofe's horrific challenge last night, or Morellos last week...
I think VAR has to be included to help the officials. I think the lack of VAR also leads to players like Morelos doing thuggish things because they know they will probably get away with it. I understand people’s views on why it shouldn’t be brought in but I genuinely believe it would be good for the integrity of the game.
04-02-2021, 06:00 PM
I think VAR has to be included to help the officials. I think the lack of VAR also leads to players like Morelos doing thuggish things because they know they will probably get away with it. I understand people’s views on why it shouldn’t be brought in but I genuinely believe it would be good for the integrity of the game.
It’s not been proven to help officials in the EPL though, it’s piled the pressure on them. Knuckles, elbows and kneecaps being deemed offside for example will only lead to further outrage amongst us. Can’t say it’s been a success.
04-02-2021, 07:19 PM
Chelsea looking really good against a Spurs team that looks completely uninterested in doing anything with the ball.
04-02-2021, 07:23 PM
Pen for Chelsea
1-0
04-02-2021, 08:14 PM
It’s not been proven to help officials in the EPL though, it’s piled the pressure on them. Knuckles, elbows and kneecaps being deemed offside for example will only lead to further outrage amongst us. Can’t say it’s been a success.
The last thing I want when I get back into the football is to be sitting for 5 minutes waiting to see if someone’s fringe is offside. As much as I moan about bad decisions, the only technology I want in our games is goal line technology. At least with bad decisions they are in real time and the game goes on, I don’t watch American football due to it being stop start and I’d genuinely be put off watching football if it went the same way.
04-02-2021, 08:26 PM
The last thing I want when I get back into the football is to be sitting for 5 minutes waiting to see if someone’s fringe is offside. As much as I moan about bad decisions, the only technology I want in our games is goal line technology. At least with bad decisions they are in real time and the game goes on, I don’t watch American football due to it being stop start and I’d genuinely be put off watching football if it went the same way.
The offside decisions with VAR could be improved by introducing a limit on how long they can be reviewed - maybe 30 seconds? If it's not clear after 30 seconds that someone's offside then the goal stands.
04-02-2021, 08:48 PM
Jose Mourinho has never lost back to back home league games in his career as manager. Could tonight be the night?
Looking likely.
Liverpool have recently lost succesive home League matches to Burnley and Brighton. The attack of the Killer Bs strikes again!
Magpie
04-02-2021, 08:53 PM
Record broken for Mourinho. Times are starting to look tough for him at Spurs based on form. Basically nothing without Kane.
04-02-2021, 08:54 PM
Can’t be far until the Mourinho meltdown begins. Dele Alli and Bale probably the ones to be thrown under the bus first.
Magpie
04-02-2021, 09:06 PM
Can’t be far until the Mourinho meltdown begins. Dele Alli and Bale probably the ones to be thrown under the bus first.
I’m surprised they have dropped their standard so quick, I had them as guaranteed top four but now they be lucky to be finish top 6 based on recent performances. They need Kane back quick, nothing without him.
04-02-2021, 09:07 PM
The offside decisions with VAR could be improved by introducing a limit on how long they can be reviewed - maybe 30 seconds? If it's not clear after 30 seconds that someone's offside then the goal stands.
Just do as they do in rugby and have it as the naked eye. If you can’t clearly see he’s offside then he’s not gained an advantage in my eyes.
04-02-2021, 09:15 PM
They deserve as much criticism as anyone to be fair.
That Spurs team tonight is crying out for an in-form Alli or Bale, they’ll be paid plenty, but show absolutely **** all on the park.
04-02-2021, 09:25 PM
They deserve as much criticism as anyone to be fair.
That Spurs team tonight is crying out for an in-form Alli or Bale, they’ll be paid plenty, but show absolutely **** all on the park.
That is true, but surely also reflects badly on Mourinho not getting anything out of either. Spurs looked excellent earlier in the season but it looks like the inconsistent nature of this season and Kane & Son papered over a lot of the Spurs & Mourinho cracks.
04-02-2021, 09:34 PM
Just do as they do in rugby and have it as the naked eye. If you can’t clearly see he’s offside then he’s not gained an advantage in my eyes.
That would suit me fine - the way they've used VAR down in England is awful - drawing lines on a screen and waiting for the faintest of margins to decide on a player's position when nobody's even complained about offside (see Sako's goal the other night as an example) is a *******ised approach.
A quick glance at a monitor to see Roofe's almost broken Davidson's ankle from 2 angles to send him off within 10 seconds is perfectly acceptable though.
Magpie
05-02-2021, 11:47 AM
Ajax goalkeeper Andre Onana has been suspended by UEFA for 12 months for a doping violation.
05-02-2021, 06:05 PM
Ayr Utd game on BBC scotland channel tonight, 7.45pm Ko
05-02-2021, 06:54 PM
All they had to do was beat St Mirren 😂😂😂
05-02-2021, 07:05 PM
Who are they playing?
05-02-2021, 07:06 PM
It's nice that BBC Scotland give wee teams some exposure on the telebox.
Horrendous football on display sadly.
Sioux
05-02-2021, 07:28 PM
It's nice that BBC Scotland give wee teams some exposure on the telebox.
Horrendous football on display sadly.
Apparently its horrendous because its windy!! :greengrin
05-02-2021, 07:32 PM
The poppy thieves are woeful and Chewy coping a booking again 😀 this is real fun watching this 🤣🤣🤣
05-02-2021, 07:33 PM
Generally don’t think Hearts will win the league 👀
Magpie
05-02-2021, 07:36 PM
Anyone watching the Swansea v Norwich game? That foul throw was horrendous, don’t think the commentator was impressed either.
05-02-2021, 07:49 PM
Hearts get a dodgy penalty. Gobsmacked.
Sauzeesleftfoot
05-02-2021, 07:51 PM
Hearts get a dodgy penalty. Gobsmacked.
Quite simply not a penalty - the ball hits hit thigh, then his hand = no penalty.
Loud mouth neilson not shouting now!
05-02-2021, 07:52 PM
If the ball hits your arm from another part of your body it’s not a penalty, what a joke.
Shocking giving a pen for that. Used to think he was a good ref.
05-02-2021, 07:55 PM
Our officials really are garbage.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
05-02-2021, 07:55 PM
Generally don’t think Hearts will win the league 👀
They’ll walk the league but they, as it stands, won’t survive in the Premiership. The ref definitely got the penalty wrong. Not only in my opinion but in view of the written rules on hand ball in the penalty box.
Coach Jon
05-02-2021, 08:16 PM
Robbie Neilson has done a good job tonight, influencing the referee. Comes across as totally desperate yam fud.
05-02-2021, 08:24 PM
Naismith is by some distance the most unpleasant character in Scottish fitba.
05-02-2021, 08:27 PM
Hearts must be absolutely burning through the cash and they look slightly better than a rank Ayr side.
Will win this league at a canter mind.
05-02-2021, 08:34 PM
Ayr are absolutely honking. Offered nothing in this game
05-02-2021, 08:42 PM
Typical BBC Hearts love in, “the handball rule seems to change all the time” WTF. No it doesn’t, the ref gave a completely wrong penalty. Hearts new striker and GMS are hongking BTW, a 6’ 5” typical Hearts signing that Boyle could out jump. And Neilson’s an utter caveman tramp. That’s me feeling better now. 😂
05-02-2021, 08:55 PM
By miles. Matter of time before someone snaps him proper imo.
05-02-2021, 08:57 PM
My Jambo mate says that every time Hearts have a a decent looking side they **** things up by signing a load of new players and try to shoehorn them into the team. Usual hearts strategy, promotion is guaranteed but it'll all end in tears hopefully.
Watched the 1st 30 mins and then switched it over, Hearts were dreadful to say the least. Conditions looked brutal but even then the game was a shocker if you wanted to promote Scottish football, Hearts will win the league easily but are still looking like a lower half Premier team.
xyz23jc
05-02-2021, 09:21 PM
Worse than Kamberi... And that takes some doing!
:yw::grr:
05-02-2021, 09:29 PM
Typical BBC Hearts love in, “the handball rule seems to change all the time” WTF. No it doesn’t, the ref gave a completely wrong penalty. Hearts new striker and GMS are hongking BTW, a 6’ 5” typical Hearts signing that Boyle could out jump. And Neilson’s an utter caveman tramp. That’s me feeling better now. 😂
As per the rules as they are today it was probably a penalty. The touch off his leg is irrelevant depending on the position of his hand, one of those is making the body unnaturally bigger, which I don’t think there is a doubt that he did.
It’s ambiguous and needs tidied up but the rule certainly lends itself to that being given as a penalty.
05-02-2021, 09:35 PM
Hearts must be absolutely burning through the cash and they look slightly better than a rank Ayr side.
Will win this league at a canter mind.
They will walk it. Simply because they’re the most consistent of a pretty average bunch. Refs helping them along as well. Really gets on my wick they still had the cheek to try and cream Scottish football for 8m in the summer and here they are blowing another chunk of Anderson cash this window. A bunch of shameless charlatans. A despicable entity.
Magpie
05-02-2021, 09:42 PM
What’s the script with Hearts season tickets for next year? Didn’t they come out and guarantee supporters who bought a season ticket for this season 18 games whether they were allowed in or not. Therefore if no fans are allowed in this season, they are giving out thousands of free season tickets next season?
05-02-2021, 09:43 PM
What’s the script with Hearts season tickets for next year? Didn’t they come out and guarantee supporters who bought a season ticket for this season 18 games whether they were allowed in or not. Therefore if no fans are allowed in this season, they are giving out thousands of free season tickets next season?
They backtracked something rotten and said remote games were part of that guaranteed package.
05-02-2021, 09:44 PM
They backtracked something rotten and said remote games were part of that guaranteed package.
If you watched one of the games you consented to taking their “value” package IIRC. “Value” carrying a lot of weight.
05-02-2021, 09:46 PM
If you watched one of the games you consented to taking their “value” package IIRC. “Value” carrying a lot of weight.
Watched one of their home games on a stream and it was one of those automatic cameras. Utterly embarrassing, not sure if that’s what the paying customers got, but if it was I’d be utterly fuming. At least Hibs have made a decent effort to put something together for us.
05-02-2021, 09:46 PM
As per the rules as they are today it was probably a penalty. The touch off his leg is irrelevant depending on the position of his hand, one of those is making the body unnaturally bigger, which I don’t think there is a doubt that he did.
It’s ambiguous and needs tidied up but the rule certainly lends itself to that being given as a penalty.
His hand was in a completely natural position, the ball ricochet off his thigh and at great speed hit his hand milliseconds later. It was never a penalty and that is exactly why the other part of the body rule was included.
Magpie
05-02-2021, 09:47 PM
Ah yes, now I remember. They basically lied then 😂 shambles of a club.
05-02-2021, 09:49 PM
His hand was in a completely natural position, the ball ricochet off his thigh and at great speed hit his hand milliseconds later. It was never a penalty and that is exactly why the other part of the body rule was included.
His hand was away from his body, outwith the ‘natural silhouette’ that they talk about. The rule states ‘except for the above offences’ and one of those above offences is making the body unnaturally bigger. If the ref deemed that then the touch off his leg is irrelevant as per the rule. It’s daft and it should be cleared up, but that’s the rule as it is today.
06-02-2021, 01:12 AM
That Boyce is a horrible looking thing isn't he? He could only be a Hearts man.
06-02-2021, 06:58 AM
His hand was away from his body, outwith the ‘natural silhouette’ that they talk about. The rule states ‘except for the above offences’ and one of those above offences is making the body unnaturally bigger. If the ref deemed that then the touch off his leg is irrelevant as per the rule. It’s daft and it should be cleared up, but that’s the rule as it is today.
In the Villa game last week VAR didn’t award a penalty because they said the ball had flicked up off the Villa players thigh. His arm was stretched out.
06-02-2021, 07:13 AM
In the Villa game last week VAR didn’t award a penalty because they said the ball had flicked up off the Villa players thigh. His arm was stretched out.
Yet in the Liverpool Leeds game at the start of the season the same happened and they said they would still give a penalty now. Unfortunately that’s my point about the rule being ambiguous and down to perception, but it definitely states that the ball hitting your own body only saves you if your hand isn’t outstretched or above your shoulder.
When experts, refs and fans alike can’t understand the rules then it’s time they were sorted. Football isn’t a complicated game, and shouldn’t be made so by the rules and VAR.
06-02-2021, 11:33 AM
Aston Villa 1 v 0 Arsenal
Watkins
06-02-2021, 11:53 AM
Aston Villa 1 v 0 Arsenal
Watkins
Arteta has to go. They’re going to finish about 10th this season.
06-02-2021, 12:03 PM
Arteta has to go. They’re going to finish about 10th this season.
Recent form been excellent. Would've beat Wolves easily if not for the highly debatable red card. This game is a long way from over as well.
Arteta isn't perfect at all but I think they are definitely improving.
06-02-2021, 12:31 PM
Recent form been excellent. Would've beat Wolves easily if not for the highly debatable red card. This game is a long way from over as well.
Arteta isn't perfect at all but I think they are definitely improving.
2 wins in 6 games, looks like 2 in 7 after today.
A team like Arsenal should he better
06-02-2021, 12:41 PM
2 wins in 6 games, looks like 2 in 7 after today.
A team like Arsenal should he better
Thats one way to look at it.
5 wins, 2 draws, 1 loss in last 8 games isn't bad, though. Certainly an improvement on earlier form. Also has players like Pepe and Lacazette playing much better, and Partey returning.
Arteta isn't perfect, but Arsenal need long term surgery and have definitely taken positive steps (good summer transfer window, got rid of loads of deadwood in January.
06-02-2021, 12:41 PM
I can see Watkins ending up at one of the top teams for big money.
Magpie
06-02-2021, 01:26 PM
Villa 1-0 Arsenal FT
supermcginn
06-02-2021, 01:27 PM
72 million for Pepe must be the worst transfer deal in history. Arsenal could be as low as 13th after this weekends games, embarrassing for such a proud club.
06-02-2021, 01:29 PM
Jamie Gullan starts today for Raith
06-02-2021, 01:31 PM
72 million for Pepe must be the worst transfer deal in history. Arsenal could be as low as 13th after this weekends games, embarrassing for such a proud club.
Been excellent for weeks now actually. He is improving.
Great win for Villa, having a really good season.
SJNB Hibby
06-02-2021, 01:32 PM
The Arse losing-----good start to the weekend
06-02-2021, 01:34 PM
Been excellent for weeks now actually.
Great win for Villa, having a really good season.
📊@AVFCOfficial have equalled last season's final total of 35 points, with 17 games remaining
Villa complete a PL double over Arsenal for the first time since 1992-93, under Ron Atkinson
06-02-2021, 02:02 PM
1-0 sellick already v murrawell
06-02-2021, 02:06 PM
1-0 sellick already v murrawell
Shame they're just going through the motions though 😂 😂
06-02-2021, 02:31 PM
Newcastle 2 Soton 1, decent game so far.
06-02-2021, 02:40 PM
St Mirren 1 - 0 Kilmarnock
06-02-2021, 02:50 PM
Livingston 0 - 1 St Johnstone
06-02-2021, 02:54 PM
Jesus, in my head Dundee United were the other team making up the top 6. They’re 3 behind St Mirren who have 3 games in hand. When did that happen?
06-02-2021, 02:55 PM
Jesus, in my head Dundee United were the other team making up the top 6. They’re 3 behind St Mirren who have 3 games in hand. When did that happen?
Very important we beat them midweek
06-02-2021, 03:10 PM
Livingston 0 - 2 St Johnstone
06-02-2021, 03:21 PM
St Mirren 2 - 0 Kilmarnock
Ross County 0 - 1 Dundee Utd
Lendo
06-02-2021, 03:22 PM
Motherwell pull one back. 2-1
06-02-2021, 03:59 PM
all winning teams scored two goals today
Hibs 2 Aberdeen 0
Sellick 2 Murrawell 1
Livi 1 st.johnstone 2
Ross co 0 Dundee utd 2
st.mirren 2 Killie 0
Magpie
06-02-2021, 06:28 PM
Controversial red card for Soucek in the West Ham v Fulham game. Wasn’t intentional IMO.
06-02-2021, 06:31 PM
Terrible decision to give a red for that.
06-02-2021, 06:35 PM
That one was right up there in the absurd category. English referees are doing nothing to help themselves with regard to implementing VAR.
06-02-2021, 06:38 PM
:agree: I wonder if he just sent him off as he has to look as if he's doing the right thing by the letter of the law, but he knows it will be overturned on appeal. :confused:
06-02-2021, 07:26 PM
1-0 United Cavani
🇾🇪🇾🇪🇾🇪
Magpie
06-02-2021, 07:45 PM
1-0 United Cavani
🇾🇪🇾🇪🇾🇪
He’s an excellent player. His reading of the game is superb.
06-02-2021, 07:46 PM
What a goal from Fernandes, wow!
06-02-2021, 07:49 PM
What a goal from Fernandes, wow!
That was a beauty. Great signing.
06-02-2021, 07:49 PM
That was a beauty. Great signing.
Unreal player.
06-02-2021, 07:55 PM
Unreal player.
Amazing. Closest they’ll get to another Cantona.
06-02-2021, 08:00 PM
Amazing. Closest they’ll get to another Cantona.
my thoughts exactly. He’s looking more and more like a modern day Cantona with every passing game.
united’s biggest problem will be holding on to him if they continue to underachieve
Magpie
06-02-2021, 08:08 PM
Poor from De Gea. 2-1
06-02-2021, 08:09 PM
flippin heck that was good timing, just switched over and everton score within 10 seconds lol
06-02-2021, 08:10 PM
Poor from De Gea. 2-1
Very poor. £350,000 per week demands much better.
Magpie
06-02-2021, 08:11 PM
Brilliant goal. 2-2
06-02-2021, 08:12 PM
lol amazing timing
06-02-2021, 08:13 PM
Didn't see this coming. United's defence up to their old tricks. Good finish.
06-02-2021, 08:13 PM
Pish.
Magpie
06-02-2021, 08:16 PM
Didn't see this coming. United's defence up to their old tricks. Good finish.
Everton have a serial winner as manager. Night and day compared to Ole.
Magpie
06-02-2021, 08:29 PM
Poor from Olsen. 3-2
06-02-2021, 08:30 PM
Poor from Olsen. 3-2
Looked like he was knee capped there.
06-02-2021, 08:31 PM
Another poor piece of goalkeeping. 3-2. United better not blow the lead again.
06-02-2021, 08:48 PM
I thought that Pickford was a poor goalkeeper.
But I can see why he gets games now.
Magpie
06-02-2021, 08:52 PM
So are United fans supporting Liverpool tomorrow?
Magpie
06-02-2021, 08:54 PM
Wow! 3-3 right at the death. Brilliant.
06-02-2021, 08:59 PM
United's useless defence cocks it up again ☹
06-02-2021, 08:59 PM
How can you dominate a game for all but five minutes yet concede three goals? That's criminal.
United have scored the most goals in the league (49) but conceded the most in the top half (30). It's so obvious where the problem lies: until they sort out the central defence, they won't challenge.
06-02-2021, 09:01 PM
How can you dominate a game for all but five minutes yet concede three goals? That's criminal.
United have scored the most goals in the league (49) but conceded the most in the top half (30). It's so obvious where the problem lies: until they sort out the central defence, they won't challenge.
Hibs didn't sort out central defence but massively improved the record. Its about coaching and defending as a team.
06-02-2021, 09:03 PM
Pathetic defending, don't deserve to win titles with defending like that.
supermcginn
06-02-2021, 09:03 PM
Wow! 3-3 right at the death. Brilliant.
Another brilliant game in the epl. What a league.
Magpie
06-02-2021, 09:04 PM
Another brilliant game in the epl. What a league.
I’m looking forward to Liverpool v City tomorrow. I think City will win comfortably but it really depends on which Liverpool turn up.
06-02-2021, 09:04 PM
Hibs didn't sort out central defence but massively improved the record. Its about coaching and defending as a team.
But United aren't Hibs, and they just don't have the quality at centre back. Maguire and Lindelof will never be good enough. You need top class centre backs to win things.
Magpie
06-02-2021, 09:08 PM
But United aren't Hibs, and they just don't have the quality at centre back. Maguire and Lindelof will never be good enough. You need top class centre backs to win things.
As much as I’m warming to Ole, I don’t think he’s good enough either.
06-02-2021, 09:39 PM
Maybe pay £90 million for a central defender?
Oops, forgot that they already have!
06-02-2021, 09:44 PM
Maybe pay £90 million for a central defender?
Oops, forgot that they already have!
Aye, Maguire playing everybody onside from a free kick in the 95th minute. He's useless.
06-02-2021, 10:29 PM
Watching MOTD it was startling to hear a United manager interviewed, with his club sitting 2nd, Manchester United that is, that he wasn’t talking about winning titles! :greengrin: What’s happened to that club?
06-02-2021, 10:31 PM
Watching MOTD it was startling to hear a United manager interviewed, with his club sitting 2nd, Manchester United that is, that he wasn’t talking about winning titles! :greengrin: What’s happened to that club?
Their starting point was always far too far behind City and Liverpool. You can’t win the title in England (without a huge amount of luck anyway), in one season when you were so far away the previous year. City have been building for years and whilst poor last year, they strengthened in defence where they were weak and its showing. United are at least a year away from challenging but making great strides to do so.
Magpie
06-02-2021, 10:32 PM
Seems like an excuse to patch up poor results. I imagine it’s a different mentality in the dressing room though.
06-02-2021, 10:35 PM
Seems like an excuse to patch up poor results. I imagine it’s a different mentality in the dressing room though.
It’s not how the manager of the biggest club in the world should be talking though is it? They’re 2nd top!
06-02-2021, 10:37 PM
Taken a wee pleasure in Birmingham City losing. Heading for league one.
Magpie
06-02-2021, 10:43 PM
It’s not how the manager of the biggest club in the world should be talking though is it? They’re 2nd top!
I agree, but I’m not surprised he’s coming out with it really, they won’t win anything with him in charge.
07-02-2021, 11:02 AM
Noticed Bobby Madden not taking the knee at the start of today's game.
07-02-2021, 11:03 AM
He's getting on a bit. He might not get back up. :greengrin
Think Fergie would've been happen with a draw and not pushing for a title, says it all about Ole's mindset.
Magpie
07-02-2021, 12:10 PM
Spurs 1-0 West Brom. Kane
07-02-2021, 12:12 PM
That’s a shocking miss from Callaghan. Hearts *******.
Rangers haven’t been up to much here
Magpie
07-02-2021, 12:16 PM
2-0. Son
07-02-2021, 12:18 PM
I see there’s not a single British player in Wolves starting 11...maybe I’m a dinosaur, but that just feels wrong...never liked Wolves anyway..been there twice and the level of racism in the crown was beyond belief..swore I’d never go back.
Lendo
07-02-2021, 12:26 PM
I see there’s not a single British player in Wolves starting 11...maybe I’m a dinosaur, but that just feels wrong...never liked Wolves anyway..been there twice and the level of racism in the crown was beyond belief..swore I’d never go back.
Conor Coady and Max Kilman are both English. Both starting for Wolves today I believe (I might be wrong though).
07-02-2021, 12:34 PM
Conor Coady and Max Kilman are both English. Both starting for Wolves today I believe (I might be wrong though).
Yup, both English and both starting.
07-02-2021, 12:36 PM
1-0 huns
07-02-2021, 12:38 PM
Won't want to catch his apron on the slush
07-02-2021, 12:39 PM
Very harsh on Hamilton who have worked their socks off and have missed one or two glorious chances and then lose an own goal.
07-02-2021, 12:50 PM
1-1
07-02-2021, 12:50 PM
Hamilton equalise :greengrin
07-02-2021, 12:51 PM
Hamilton always get a result when you least expect it
Deserved equaliser for Accies.
Yaaas Hamilton, McGregor with the raging puss, what a state.
07-02-2021, 12:52 PM
Turned it off when it went 1-0 presuming it was over. GIRUY McGregor
07-02-2021, 12:52 PM
i like to think McGregor played his part in that goal by palming it to the accies player
07-02-2021, 12:56 PM
Well deserved for Hamilton.
07-02-2021, 12:57 PM
You’d never have known who was the top of the league team in this game. Hamilton as a minimum deserved a point
Surely The Rangers aren’t going to blow a 21 point lead.,,,
07-02-2021, 12:58 PM
https://twitter.com/footballdaily/status/1358374114050928640?s=20
Klopp being a twat again.
07-02-2021, 12:59 PM
Nope.
07-02-2021, 01:00 PM
I can see someone beating Rangers soon. Don't think they'll win the league unbeaten
07-02-2021, 01:07 PM
I can see someone beating Rangers soon. Don't think they'll win the league unbeaten
Wouldn't have minded the opportunity of playing 75 mins agiainst them with a man advantage
BegbieHSC
07-02-2021, 01:07 PM
Sticky buns are ragin.
How pleasing!
07-02-2021, 01:08 PM
You’d never have known who was the top of the league team in this game. Hamilton as a minimum deserved a point
Not going to happen but it would be very funny if they did
07-02-2021, 01:10 PM
https://twitter.com/TyBracey/status/1358401645726609411
McGinn getting Sean Dyche telt :greengrin
07-02-2021, 01:50 PM
FAF, quality.
Superb made my day that :greengrin
07-02-2021, 02:12 PM
Yaaas Hamilton, McGregor with the raging puss, what a state.
Aye, there was a wee clip of McGregor just after the whistle blew and he was going absolutely tonto at someone. God knoes what he will be like when he sees that the ball was going wide before he deflected it into his own net. Pleasing!
07-02-2021, 02:20 PM
Aye, there was a wee clip of McGregor just after the whistle blew and he was going absolutely tonto at someone. God knoes what he will be like when he sees that the ball was going wide before he deflected it into his own net. Pleasing!
https://twitter.com/tamsellicsoniii/status/1358413597173506050?s=21
07-02-2021, 02:31 PM
https://twitter.com/tamsellicsoniii/status/1358413597173506050?s=21
Ha ha ha - brilliant - the boy is permanently angry!
07-02-2021, 02:48 PM
Yup, both English and both starting.
BBC had a line up that had Coady on the bench..wrongly assumed Yon Max bloke was foreign...my bad.
07-02-2021, 02:49 PM
best thing I’ve heard in ages...cheers :greengrin:greengrin
Liverpool 0 Man City 0
Pen missed
07-02-2021, 04:08 PM
Great defending Fabinho again said no one ever. Hopeless penalty. Sums the game up so far.
07-02-2021, 04:08 PM
Absolutely honking penalty
07-02-2021, 04:09 PM
Great defending Fabinho again said no one ever. Hopeless penalty. Sums the game up so far.
You actually talk about Fabinho more than his own missus. Something you want to tell us? :greengrin
07-02-2021, 04:10 PM
Fabinho just isn't good enough at centre half. Painfully exposed.
07-02-2021, 04:10 PM
You actually talk about Fabinho more than his own missus. Something you want to tell us? :greengrin
I didnae think you'd miss that post for long. 😁
This is the two best teams in the league by a mile and it is a rubbish game.
07-02-2021, 04:13 PM
I didnae think you'd miss that post for long. 😁
I just laugh at the baiting. Its flattering
07-02-2021, 04:14 PM
This is the two best teams in the league by a mile and it is a rubbish game.
I know it's an old saying but football really isn't the same without fans.
07-02-2021, 04:17 PM
Mentioned him twice, once in response to a ludicrous claim that he’s been the best in the league, and now pointing out another huge error to join the long list of them while playing centre half, in a game that is ongoing. Almost every game he plays there now there’s a gaff from him.
07-02-2021, 04:38 PM
Queuing up in the middle. Liverpool’s would be better with poles playing right back and right centre back.
07-02-2021, 04:39 PM
Useless Scousers.
Can't even win on the odd occasion that I actually want them to win.
Magpie
07-02-2021, 04:39 PM
City just keeping on strolling.
07-02-2021, 04:40 PM
That's a huge goal.
Well this is like a damp sqib. :greengrin
Magpie
City for the Champions League? Wouldn’t put it past them doing the quadruple this season.
07-02-2021, 04:50 PM
Penalty Liverpool.
1-1 Salah.
Magpie
Game on. Salah scores the penalty.
07-02-2021, 04:51 PM
Very small touch on his arm, collapses. Modern day penalty but really shouldn’t be.
07-02-2021, 04:51 PM
Surely a red, no attempt to play the ball.
07-02-2021, 04:52 PM
Defender covering, hence why he went down.
wow, gets shot by a sniper and recovers to take a penalty :confused: so brave
If he gives the penalty he has to send him off.
Salah goes down like a sack of spuds with the slightest touch on his arm, almost like it's cheating.
Very small touch on his arm, collapses. Modern day penalty but really shouldn’t be.
It was an embarrassing fall to the deck after minimal contact.
:agree: No idea why his legs gave way, it just makes no sense whatsoever?
07-02-2021, 04:53 PM
If you did that in amateur football at the Jack Kane on a Saturday......
07-02-2021, 04:54 PM
Salah really is a cheat...goes down like he's been shot every time someone so much as breathes in him in box
07-02-2021, 04:55 PM
salah's arm all ripped to shreds, blood oozing out
nah
07-02-2021, 04:56 PM
Has The Rangers' much predicted collapse finally started?
07-02-2021, 04:56 PM
Sad but true. Those are always given now, but no way could that have knocked Salah over. It's just accepted in the game now that any contact is a foul.
07-02-2021, 04:57 PM
Sad but true. Those are always given now, but no way could that have knocked Salah over. It's just accepted in the game now that any contact is a foul.
And if they don’t go down they don’t get a penalty. I hate watching it to be honest.
07-02-2021, 04:58 PM
07-02-2021, 04:59 PM
More great defending from Fabiniho. :greengrin
07-02-2021, 05:00 PM
2-1 Manchester City
07-02-2021, 05:01 PM
Allison [emoji23]
Magpie
Easy.
As hilarious as it would be, if Celtic win their two games in hand they'd be 15 points behind with 30 to play for. Can't see the huns losing five of their remaining 10 games.
Just hope we pump them post split!
Gundogan is actually in unreal form.
07-02-2021, 05:02 PM
More great defending from Fabiniho. :greengrin
They really are missing Van Dijk and Matip.
Shocking from Allison; 2-1 City.
07-02-2021, 05:02 PM
And if they don’t go down they don’t get a penalty. I hate watching it to be honest.
Football is a contact sport though, nudges, contact and touches are allowed. He wasn’t fouled yet hit the deck for me.
07-02-2021, 05:03 PM
Football is a contact sport though, nudges, contact and touches are allowed. He wasn’t fouled yet hit the deck for me.
I totally agree, it’s a joke that that is now considered a penalty.
07-02-2021, 05:04 PM
3-1 disaster for Allison.
Allison 😂😂
Magpie
He’s had a mare
Keepers having a mare here.
2 central mids as CH's will always make you worse, should've went out and got a really good CH on loan. As I type keeper has another howler, how to screw up a season.
07-02-2021, 05:05 PM
the keepers got a correct score on
07-02-2021, 05:06 PM
Magnificent goalkeeping :faf::faf:
07-02-2021, 05:06 PM
Salah is a diver. Foden is class.
Allison blunderland
Magpie
07-02-2021, 05:08 PM
Man City will have the title wrapped up by April imo.
👀
07-02-2021, 05:08 PM
Allison blunderland
Guaranteed to see that on the back of a paper or two in the morning.
07-02-2021, 05:09 PM
2 central mids as CH's will always make you worse, should've went out and got a really good CH on loan. As I type keeper has another howler, how to screw up a season.
What really good centre back was available on loan? I think they done the best they could with brutal injuries. City were the same without Laporte last season.
07-02-2021, 05:09 PM
Guaranteed to see that on the back of a paper or two in the morning.
It's like watching Zibi play for a top team.
👀
Earlier than that. Both chasing clubs thrown the towel in this weekend.
1-4
Magpie
07-02-2021, 05:10 PM
Easy, easy, easy.
07-02-2021, 05:10 PM
4-1
07-02-2021, 05:11 PM
1-4
A mauling
07-02-2021, 05:11 PM
What a strike! Brilliant player Foden is turning into.
07-02-2021, 05:12 PM
time for double figures ?
Became a rout, Liverpool are really struggling, they need freshening up in the summer.
07-02-2021, 05:13 PM
Klopp out, Ross in? 😉
07-02-2021, 05:13 PM
Andy Robertson will be having nightmares about Phil Foden .....
07-02-2021, 05:14 PM
I think thats a hattrick of errors from the keeper, pretty sure he should have done better with the 4th too.
07-02-2021, 05:14 PM
Liverpool must now focus on getting top four. They are struggling.
07-02-2021, 05:15 PM
no goals for a few minutes now
Foden is immense.
Andy Robertson will be having nightmares about Phil Foden .....
Told my old man to watch out for Mount and Foden at the start of the season, great talents. England's new Lampard and Gerard (may even be able to fit them into the same team)?
I hate to say it but if Englands players click at the Euros we could be in for a spanking. Foden is class and the likes of Sancho, Sterling and Kane up against O'Donnell and Gallagher on the RHS is worrying
07-02-2021, 05:18 PM
Liverpool lost the league the day they decided to play centre midfielders at centre half instead of spending money to replace Van Dijk. You can't expect to win a league of England's quality by doing that.
Van Dijk is a huge miss but playing Fabinho and latterly Henderson at centre half is just asking for trouble.
07-02-2021, 05:20 PM
I hate to say it but if Englands players click at the Euros we could be in for a spanking. Foden is class and the likes of Sancho, Sterling and Kane up against O'Donnell and Gallagher on the RHS is worrying
England are one of the best teams in the world without a doubt. Scotland will get pumped at Wembley.
07-02-2021, 05:20 PM
Martin Tyler having as much of a mare as Allison, he hasnae half blethered some pish today.
Magpie
07-02-2021, 05:23 PM
I fancy Portugal to win it.
07-02-2021, 05:24 PM
Liverpool lost the league the day they decided to play centre midfielders at centre half instead of spending money to replace Van Dijk. You can't expect to win a league of England's quality by doing that.
Van Dijk is a huge miss but playing Fabinho and latterly Henderson at centre half is just asking for trouble.
You can't get away with it in the EPL; there are too many good forwards who will have a field day. No legislating for the goalie making two terrible mistakes in a couple of minutes, but City were far better.
07-02-2021, 05:26 PM
The idea I assume was to use Gomez and Matip, who are 2 very good players in their own right.
City couldn't deal without Laporte last season and didn't go signing someone in January. Its never that simple.
07-02-2021, 05:36 PM
Scotland will beat England at Wembley. Every major tournement we hear how great they are.
07-02-2021, 05:36 PM
Perfect time to repost this;
http://backpagefootball.com/why-liverpool-wont-win-the-premier-league-this-season/126313/