View Full Version : Match Updates 2020-21 season non-Hibs games thread
Magpie
17-01-2021, 11:11 AM
Serie A looking good this season, 7 points between 1st and 5th with the Milan teams leading the way.
AC Milan are also close to signing Mandzukic and Tomori.
Inter v Juventus on tonight at 7.45pm too.
17-01-2021, 11:22 AM
Motherwell 1-0 Rangers
17-01-2021, 11:23 AM
Motherwell 1-0 Rangers
Call the game now. :greengrin
17-01-2021, 11:25 AM
Motherwell beating the Govan globetrotters
17-01-2021, 11:26 AM
Only posting what Gavin Strachan said in his post match interview yesterday
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/55677130
Yeah not saying you're wrong apologies if it came across that way. I thought maybe you had read something about the quarantine rules.
17-01-2021, 11:27 AM
Rangers look pretty flat. They'll now go on a long beaten run and we'll overtake them on the last day of the season.
17-01-2021, 11:29 AM
I see Robbie Crawford is playing centre mid for Motherwell today
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
JimboHibs
17-01-2021, 11:29 AM
Welcome change watching a SPL side actually playing it out from the back.
17-01-2021, 11:30 AM
Yeah not saying you're wrong apologies if it came across that way. I thought maybe you had read something about the quarantine rules.
Not in the slightest
You are the Hibs.net Covid specialist though, you’ve given fantastic updates all through the Pandemic, thanks
17-01-2021, 11:31 AM
Motherwell 1-0 Rangers
Ok
Motherwell have a decent wee team but the players confidence looks shot, Alexander trying to get them to play out the back and you can see it's not natural for them. Can anyone tell me how a plainly unfit fat Morelos is actually playing for Rangers, a big fat gub you'd never tire of slapping, wipe that scowl right off his face.
17-01-2021, 11:47 AM
Half time 1-0.
I'm usually quite happy for Rangers and Celtic to win every game except against us but I'm quite happy with this scoreline since there's no chance of Motherwell catching us.
17-01-2021, 11:55 AM
Mugabe dictating play from the heart of the defence! 😏
17-01-2021, 11:57 AM
Mugabe dictating play from the heart of the defence! 😏
That sentence sends shivers down my spine
17-01-2021, 12:31 PM
1-1
1st time the Motherwell defence fell asleep, lot of pressure by Rangers.
17-01-2021, 12:33 PM
1st time the Motherwell defence fell asleep, lot of pressure by Rangers.
Aye, an Itten mess there.
17-01-2021, 12:33 PM
1-1
Been coming, Motherwell parked the bus this half
Tish boom
17-01-2021, 12:34 PM
:greengrin:
17-01-2021, 12:49 PM
Have rangers had their penalty yet?
Magpie
17-01-2021, 12:51 PM
The Rangers failing to win football games always puts a smile on my face.
17-01-2021, 12:53 PM
Motherwell have shat the bed to be fair. Played fairly well for a good while, then parked the bus, shelled the ball away at every opportunity, sat even deeper again, took off attackers and midfielders for defenders, dropped deeper again, and then eventually lost a goal.
cannastar
are we all thinking the same where did the four minutes extra time come from.
Paul1642
1-1 FT. Makes no difference to us really.
17-01-2021, 12:54 PM
That was some shift from the Motherwell players under almost constant pressure. A well deserved point and Sevco’s winning streak ends .
17-01-2021, 12:55 PM
Takes Motherwell off the bottom of the league, and gives them confidence for Aberdeen away next weekend
17-01-2021, 12:57 PM
are we all thinking the same where did the four minutes extra time come from.
Not really - 6 sub stoppages is 3 minutes, then the time wasting and kicking the ball away from the Well players. 4 was expected.
Motherwell have shat the bed to be fair. Played fairly well for a good while, then parked the bus, shelled the ball away at every opportunity, sat even deeper again, took off attackers and midfielders for defenders, dropped deeper again, and then eventually lost a goal.
TBF the Motherwell players played a fairly high tempo game for about 60 mins and then ran out of legs, Alexander is getting them playing a different way, good point for them.
Magpie
17-01-2021, 01:04 PM
Sheffield Utd 0-1 Spurs
17-01-2021, 01:05 PM
TBF the Motherwell players played a fairly high tempo game for about 60 mins and then ran out of legs, Alexander is getting them playing a different way, good point for them.
They had a bank of 4 and 5 parked on the edge of their box from the first minute of the second half. I’m afraid if you sit off Rangers and hand them the ball then you are going to concede. 28% possession at home and barely getting out your own half for an hour isn’t great.
17-01-2021, 01:06 PM
Won't happen, but Sevco losing the league from this position would be the most hilarious thing to happen to them .... since 2012.
cannastar
17-01-2021, 01:14 PM
boyd looks like he is going to cry
17-01-2021, 01:23 PM
Just realised it carried on SS football. Did they discuss the goal and whether it was offside or not? Looked half a yard off due to his outstretched leg at the time.
17-01-2021, 01:26 PM
Never really paid much attention to English football but think I'll give Man United Liverpool a watch. Hope it produces.
17-01-2021, 01:33 PM
Just realised it carried on SS football. Did they discuss the goal and whether it was offside or not? Looked half a yard off due to his outstretched leg at the time.
Yep looked offside to me also though appreciate camera angle wasn't in line. Thought the ref gave Rangers so many soft fouls almost like he isn't aware Kent Morelos Hagia just scream and fall over at every opportunity
17-01-2021, 01:33 PM
Takes Motherwell off the bottom of the league, and gives them confidence for Aberdeen away next weekend
Just been checking the fixtures. Aberdeen have 1 point less than us but have 2 games in hand so we need to turn 5 points to get back on level terms before the split.
Motherwell could easily get another draw at Pittodrie next week.
We have only 1 more game against an old firm team before the split and Aberdeen have 2.
We have one game to play against Livingston and Aberdeen have 2.
We need to beat Aberdeen when we play at Easter Road.
Lots of chances to catch Aberdeen after their crash yesterday.
Hopefully we get Irvine, Cadden & Magennis up to full speed by the Dundee Utd game at the end of the month or soon after.
17-01-2021, 01:37 PM
Just been checking the fixtures. Aberdeen have 1 point less than us but have 2 games in hand so we need to turn 5 points to get back on level terms before the split.
Motherwell could easily get another draw at Pittodrie
We have only 1 more game against an old firm team before the split and Aberdeen have 2.
We need to beat Aberdeen when we play at Easter Road.
Hopefully we get Irvine, Cadden & Magennis up to full speed by the Dundee Utd game at the end of the month or soon after.
Their two games in hand are Celtic and Livingston both away I think. Chances of them getting 6 points is very slim.
Magpie
17-01-2021, 01:40 PM
Sheffield Utd 0-2 Spurs. Nice finish from Kane.
17-01-2021, 02:16 PM
Listening to Souness rambling on at half time reminds me of how much I hated the **** when he was up here!
Blades back in it 1-2
17-01-2021, 02:20 PM
1-3 brilliant finish but I can’t imagine what’s being said on the SU forums about the fellah Norwood.
Magpie
17-01-2021, 02:20 PM
1-3 brilliant finish but I can’t imagine what’s being said on the SU forums about the fellah Norwood.
Wonderful goal
Bale must be delighted to have swapped the warm bench at Real for the freezing cold bench at Spurs.
17-01-2021, 03:07 PM
Henderson and Fabinho centre half, Shakiri centre midfield, surely a wet dream for United.
17-01-2021, 03:12 PM
Henderson and Fabinho centre half, Shakiri centre midfield, surely a wet dream for United.
Fabinho has probably been the best central defender in the league this season. He is absolutely brilliant there.
Magpie
17-01-2021, 03:12 PM
No excuses for United now 😏
17-01-2021, 03:15 PM
Fabinho has probably been the best central defender in the league this season. He is absolutely brilliant there.
It’s two central midfielders playing centre half, with two attacking full backs not renowned for their defending, and a completely makeshift midfield three. There’s no organisation between them and they are far stronger with their main centre halves. He’s not been the best centre half in the league this season.
17-01-2021, 03:21 PM
It’s two central midfielders playing centre half, with two attacking full backs not renowned for their defending, and a completely makeshift midfield three. There’s no organisation between them and they are far stronger with their main centre halves. He’s not been the best centre half in the league this season.
I know exactly what it is, mate. Of course it is makeshift, but Fabinho has played many games in his career there, he isn't a weak link.
Who has been better then? Fabinho seriously has been excellent. Ruben Dias has also been good.
17-01-2021, 03:23 PM
You've took that too far.
17-01-2021, 03:24 PM
No excuses for United now 😏
Curious Matic isn't playing from the start. I suppose they're going for it today.
17-01-2021, 03:25 PM
I'd be happy for United to get a point at Anfield.
17-01-2021, 03:26 PM
I know exactly what it is, mate. Of course it is makeshift, but Fabinho has played many games in his career there, he isn't a weak link.
Who has been better then? Fabinho seriously has been excellent. Ruben Dias has also been good.
Just look at three games ago, a proper centre half doesn’t get beaten in the air like Fabinho did for West Brom’s equaliser. They also organise the back line better for the Southampton goal last week.
Who has been a better centre half? Dias and Stones for starters, Dier (another makeshift centre mid but one that’s playing there as it’s his strongest position now), Zouma, I’d even say the likes of Konsa.
The point wasn’t even about him as an individual, but a centre half partnership of two midfielders, and Shakiri in the middle of the park is far weaker than it would normally be, and United should be relishing that with the pace they have in the team. I’d imagine the two full backs will have to be far more defensive than they are normally.
17-01-2021, 03:27 PM
Ggmu 🇾🇪🇾🇪🇾🇪
17-01-2021, 03:27 PM
You've took that too far.
I really haven't. Hes played 11 games there, they've conceded only 6 goals in those games and hes had a different partner almost every week. Guy has been excellent.
17-01-2021, 03:30 PM
Just look at three games ago, a proper centre half doesn’t get beaten in the air like Fabinho did for West Brom’s equaliser. They also organise the back line better for the Southampton goal last week.
Who has been a better centre half? Dias and Stones for starters, Dier (another makeshift centre mid but one that’s playing there as it’s his strongest position now), Zouma, I’d even say the likes of Konsa.
The point wasn’t even about him as an individual, but a centre half partnership of two midfielders, and Shakiri in the middle of the park is far weaker than it would normally be, and United should be relishing that with the pace they have in the team. I’d imagine the two full backs will have to be far more defensive than they are normally.
Completely untrue statment, proper centre halfs get beaten like that in the air all the time.
17-01-2021, 03:31 PM
Hope the thread goes well from here. Wouldn’t be nice if a fairly amicable weekend turns into a slagging match about these mobs!
I am surprised champions elect Manchester United are not a couple up yet.
0-0 Liverpool with most of the ball so far.
17-01-2021, 03:49 PM
Completely untrue statment, proper centre halfs get beaten like that in the air all the time.
He’s played at centre half 17 times this season, costing goals in a fair chunk of them. Fair few clean sheets against bottom half teams.
Went on at half time against Lincoln and lost 2 goals, went to centre half against Villa and lost 2 goals, gave penalty away against Sheffield United, was all over the shop for both penalties against Brighton, should’ve given a stonewall penalty away against Fulham, beaten for the goal against West Brom.
He doesn’t have the positional sense or the sense of danger as a centre half, which is normal as he’s a central midfielder. He’s been nowhere near ‘outstanding’ as you say.
17-01-2021, 03:57 PM
Only a matter of time before Liverpool score it seems.
17-01-2021, 03:58 PM
Only a matter of time before Liverpool score it seems.
They’ve dominated this so far.
17-01-2021, 03:59 PM
McGuire, just how poor is this guy? 80 million? Wow 😯
17-01-2021, 04:10 PM
Liverpool should be ahead - so many chances and poor finishing.
Liverpool definitely better team but Man U dangerous on usual counter attack.
17-01-2021, 04:11 PM
He’s played at centre half 17 times this season, costing goals in a fair chunk of them. Fair few clean sheets against bottom half teams.
Went on at half time against Lincoln and lost 2 goals, went to centre half against Villa and lost 2 goals, gave penalty away against Sheffield United, was all over the shop for both penalties against Brighton, should’ve given a stonewall penalty away against Fulham, beaten for the goal against West Brom.
He doesn’t have the positional sense or the sense of danger as a centre half, which is normal as he’s a central midfielder. He’s been nowhere near ‘outstanding’ as you say.
Exactly. Saved me the time posting similar.
17-01-2021, 04:11 PM
How many times does Rashford want to be offside? Awful.
17-01-2021, 04:13 PM
How many times does Rashford want to be offside? Awful.
Fabinho actually played him on when he stepped up a few minutes ago but was mistakenly given offside.
17-01-2021, 04:15 PM
Game not been entertaining enough. Klopp should go.
17-01-2021, 04:18 PM
I'll take 0-0 at half time.
17-01-2021, 04:18 PM
Not a classic, but it's intriguing and very tactical. Liverpool have dominated possession, but United are well organised are trying to hit them on the counter. Neither goalkeeper has had anything to do.
17-01-2021, 04:33 PM
Aye but apart from all that,Fabinho has probably been the best central defender in the league this season. :greengrin
17-01-2021, 04:42 PM
Aye but apart from all that,Fabinho has probably been the best central defender in the league this season. :greengrin:yawn:
That the Brighton penalty that no one even clamied for and Var gave? Poor one against Sheffield United no doubt. Villa goals not just both deflections?
Guy has been quality in a very makeshift back 4. Showing it again tonight.
Pogba in big games is absolutely crap.
I get he is brilliant at Huddersfield and Sheffield United though.
17-01-2021, 04:44 PM
Not a classic, but it's intriguing and very tactical. Liverpool have dominated possession, but United are well organised are trying to hit them on the counter. Neither goalkeeper has had anything to do.
Stretch!
17-01-2021, 04:44 PM
:yawn:
That the Brighton penalty that no one even clamied for and Var gave? Poor one against Sheffield United no doubt. Villa goals not just both deflections?
Guy has been quality in a very makeshift back 4. Showing it again tonight.
Doesn’t matter who claimed for it, it was a penalty, and it was caused by Fabinho being attracted to the ball in midfield area and leaving space in behind.
17-01-2021, 04:45 PM
Is this game any more entertaining than ours yesterday? I've had enough.
17-01-2021, 04:46 PM
This is dull as dishwasher so far. Man Utd have been hopeless.
17-01-2021, 04:48 PM
The onus is on Liverpool to win the game. United are 3 points clear of them as it stands.
Man Utd will be happy with a point.
17-01-2021, 04:48 PM
McGuire, just how poor is this guy? 80 million? Wow 😯
I say it every time I watch him...a very expensive donkey
17-01-2021, 04:50 PM
Most of the big big games down south are.
17-01-2021, 04:50 PM
The onus is on Liverpool to win the game. United are 3 points clear of them as it stands.
It’s not good to watch though, previous Man Utd teams would’ve gone there and won.
17-01-2021, 04:51 PM
:agree: Absolutely.
United's the away team and going into tonight with a 3 points lead.
They'll be quite happy to come away with a point tonight.
17-01-2021, 04:51 PM
Hes a deep midfielder, what some people call a quarterback. Plays in the CDM position but is asked to do more getting forward than a Makelele or ****e type. I wouldnt say hes a centre back and Klopp knows that. He might evolve into a good one of course, its happened with players before. And hes done a decent job since Klopps put him there and the goals against stats bear that out.
I think hes a great player.
17-01-2021, 04:54 PM
It’s not good to watch though, previous Man Utd teams would’ve gone there and won.
With 41 titles between them you’d hope for something more entertaining.
17-01-2021, 04:54 PM
Hes a deep midfielder, what some people call a quarterback. Plays in the CDM position but is asked to do more getting forward than a Makelele or ****e type. I wouldnt say hes a centre back and Klopp knows that. He might evolve into a good one of course, its happened with players before. And hes done a decent job since Klopps put him there and the goals against stats bear that out.
I think hes a great player.
There’s no doubt he’s a very good player. My original point was that a partnership of two midfielders at centre half is a weak link. The poster then stated he’s been outstanding all season there and probably the best in the league, which is complete nonsense for me, as shown by all of the errors I’ve posted above. Competent as a stand in but nowhere near as good as the best in the league.
Not sure 10 goals conceded in 13 full games, 2 halves and 2 x 30 mins, at centre half is that great a goals against record for a top team either.
17-01-2021, 04:56 PM
Most of the big big games down south are.
True.
17-01-2021, 04:57 PM
This is the usual overhyped game prior to kick off that was always destined to be a bit of a snore.
17-01-2021, 04:58 PM
With 41 titles between them you’d hope for something more entertaining.
A goal might open it up a bit, but I can’t see one coming.
17-01-2021, 05:03 PM
Man Utd havent won at Anfield for 5 years so you are having to go quite far back.
That was the chance! 😭
Magpie
A draw would suit Man City and other teams around the top perfectly. United need to start beating the big guns.
17-01-2021, 05:05 PM
Yep the big games Man City Liverpool, Manchester Derby and this game have all been brutal.
17-01-2021, 05:08 PM
Cavani winner written all over this. :agree:
17-01-2021, 05:09 PM
Cavani winner written all over this. :agree:
Mane winner I think :greengrin
Magpie
17-01-2021, 05:09 PM
Fabinho has been magnificent.
17-01-2021, 05:10 PM
Rashford has been *****
17-01-2021, 05:11 PM
Rashford has been *****
Substitute has been for is. :greengrin
If Pogba is a top drawer player, he puts that one away.
Fabinho has been magnificent.
Poor positioning for the Bruno chance and that one for Pogba there, then getting beat in the air at that corner. The small snippets of detail needed for top centre backs.
Great defending from Lindelof a few minutes back.
17-01-2021, 05:12 PM
There’s no doubt he’s a very good player. My original point was that a partnership of two midfielders at centre half is a weak link. The poster then stated he’s been outstanding all season there and probably the best in the league, which is complete nonsense for me, as shown by all of the errors I’ve posted above. Competent as a stand in but nowhere near as good as the best in the league.
Not sure 10 goals conceded in 13 full games, 2 halves and 2 x 30 mins, at centre half is that great a goals against record for a top team either.
Since he filled in for Van Dyke, which was supposed to be this terrible disaster, average goals against and expected goals actually improved. I'm not sure if this has changed but it was certainly the case around Christmas. I agree with you hes not the best in the league but hes done well IMO playing out of position.
17-01-2021, 05:15 PM
Since he filled in for Van Dyke, which was supposed to be this terrible disaster, average goals against and expected goals actually improved. I'm not sure if this has changed but it was certainly the case around Christmas. I agree with you hes not the best in the league but hes done well IMO playing out of position.
I agree, as a top sitting midfielder with good height, it’s quite normal for him to be able to fill in at centre half. There’s just lots of details like positioning and aerial ability that comes with experience, that I don’t feel he has yet.
17-01-2021, 05:17 PM
How much of an arrogant idiot is Fernandes.
17-01-2021, 05:18 PM
How much of an arrogant idiot is Fernandes.
For not leaving the field because he had an injured player on the ground so the sub was stalled?
17-01-2021, 05:19 PM
For not leaving the field because he had an injured player on the ground so the sub was stalled?
No the general attotude
17-01-2021, 05:19 PM
What a total snorefest this has been.
17-01-2021, 05:21 PM
As top of the table clashes go that was poor. An awful game. Our game yesterday was better.
17-01-2021, 05:22 PM
Thank the lord that’s over.
£5 on 0-0 at 16/1
Nice reward for sitting through 90 minutes of dross.
Magpie
Advantage Man City, win tonight and they are 2 points off top with a game in hand. United failing to beat one of the ‘top 6’ again.
Hopefully the FA Cup game will be more entertaining.
17-01-2021, 05:28 PM
How many billions for that?
cowdenhibby
17-01-2021, 05:36 PM
Well that is 90 minutes of my life I will not get back. Hate to think the total combined wages of these players. Also Pogba must be the most overrated player in history.
17-01-2021, 05:38 PM
Pretty pish game but a good result for those of a United persuasion.
Liverpool will be getting very worried, they're likely to be down to 4th in a couple of hours' time.
They should still have enough for a Champions League place though.
17-01-2021, 05:39 PM
Well that is 90 minutes of my life I will not get back. Hate to think the total combined wages of these players. Also Pogba must be the most overrated player in history.
Wonder if the Liverpool and Man U message boards are moaning about boring football ?
Lockdown has definitely shown the league to be even more over hyped - watch most games with no fake crowd noise and gives you a clear overview how average some games are.
Today’s result suits City. Not a bad result for Man U but psychologically they need to start winning important games.
Magpie
17-01-2021, 05:44 PM
Man Utd 1-6 Spurs
Man Utd 0-0 Chelsea
Man Utd 0-1 Arsenal
Man Utd 0-0 Man City
Liverpool 0-0 Man Utd
Just the 1 goal for United which was a penalty. If they can turn those draws into wins and score goals against the bigger teams then they will put themselves in for a chance. Today’s game just made me even more convinced that Man City are the best team in the league.
Liverpool will be getting very worried, they're likely to be down to 4th in a couple of hours' time.
Poor result for Man United. Liverpool had Henderson at centre half you couldn't score.
They have not won a big game yet and today was the chance with Liverpool having half a team out.
Neither team will win the league.
Magpie
17-01-2021, 07:03 PM
City looking pretty comfortable against Palace. Expect them to add to their 1-0 lead in the second half.
17-01-2021, 07:04 PM
City looking pretty comfortable against Palace. Expect them to add to their 1-0 lead in the second half.
Glorious pass from De Bruyne for the goal.....
Magpie
17-01-2021, 07:04 PM
Glorious pass from De Bruyne for the goal.....
He’s a pleasure to watch.
Magpie
17-01-2021, 07:06 PM
Inter 1-0 Juventus. 20 minutes played so far.
17-01-2021, 07:13 PM
Lol.... :fishin:
17-01-2021, 07:59 PM
Inter 2-0 Juve.
Magpie
17-01-2021, 08:03 PM
4-0 City. They are strolling at the moment.
Magpie
17-01-2021, 09:33 PM
Bilbao have beat Barcelona in the Spanish Super Cup. Messi sent off at the very end. His first in 753 appearances for Barca.
17-01-2021, 09:40 PM
Bilbao have beat Barcelona in the Spanish Super Cup. Messi sent off at the very end. His first in 753 appearances for Barca.
I’d be sent off every week playing in that team, no wonder he wanted out. Looking up and seeing Braithwaite in attack 😂 ref was horrendous though. Bilbao dived their way through ET, and anytime a Barca player ran past them they literally bear hugged them.
17-01-2021, 10:06 PM
4-0 City. They are strolling at the moment.
Watching the the highlights now and see how City put two players in front of the Palace wall at their 4th goal. They stand a good metre in front and not in it like the Celtic player did.
I hope that clueless imposter of a referee from last Monday watches TV.
18-01-2021, 07:28 AM
That was drab stuff at anfield yesterday and particularly poor from united. The win was clearly there for them if they’d really wanted it and I think they’ll come to regret not being more positive from the start. I mean how many cracks are you gonna get at a weekend Liverpool in an empty anfield without the kop baying for your blood. Opportunity missed. They should have gone for the throat.
on this evidence Liverpool won’t be retaining the title.
Magpie
18-01-2021, 07:16 PM
Absolute sitter missed by Aubameyang.
Magpie
18-01-2021, 08:34 PM
Absolute sitter missed by Aubameyang.
Made up for it in the second half with two goals. The start of a good run of form will do himself and Arsenal good going into the second half of the season.
18-01-2021, 08:54 PM
Steve Bruce's Newcastle are an assault on the eye. They are dreadful to watch the Geordies must be pulling their hair out with that side and management. Arsenal found a bit of form in the second half, thankfully from a viewing POV.
Magpie
18-01-2021, 08:54 PM
No goal from open play in 13 hours for Newcastle. Can’t see Bruce lasting much longer. I wonder if Benitez would go back.
18-01-2021, 09:05 PM
No goal from open play in 13 hours for Newcastle. Can’t see Bruce lasting much longer. I wonder if Benitez would go back.
They are are absolutely terrible to watch.
AdidasHibernian
18-01-2021, 09:09 PM
Newcastle being my English team it's Embarrasing how out his depth he is.
Half the squad can go with him this week hopefully.
For the first time in along time I turned it off at 2 nil having had a rough dialysis session earlier, that was nothing compared to watching that after it!
18-01-2021, 09:27 PM
Rafa was performing even worse than Bruce.
18-01-2021, 09:29 PM
Stolen from Facebook 🤣🤣🤣:
Been great to see Liverpool football club adhering to the coronavirus rules by not celebrating any goals over the past 3 league games. Keep up the good work 👏👏👏
18-01-2021, 10:07 PM
Palmeiras handing out a spanking to Corinthians ... he he he...
18-01-2021, 10:09 PM
And it’s 3x0
18-01-2021, 10:09 PM
Man Utd 1-6 Spurs
Man Utd 0-0 Chelsea
Man Utd 0-1 Arsenal
Man Utd 0-0 Man City
Liverpool 0-0 Man Utd
Just the 1 goal for United which was a penalty. If they can turn those draws into wins and score goals against the bigger teams then they will put themselves in for a chance. Today’s game just made me even more convinced that Man City are the best team in the league.
You can add the League Cup Semi-Final:
Man Utd 0-2 Man City.
18-01-2021, 10:14 PM
And Corinthians call themselves Timão (the Big Team) ...
18-01-2021, 10:52 PM
Made up for it in the second half with two goals. The start of a good run of form will do himself and Arsenal good going into the second half of the season.
Didnae do me any good, had Arsenal to win both halves, backed them on the handicap at 1-0 though so, nae harm done.
Milan HT-FT much more straightforward.
Magpie
19-01-2021, 02:30 AM
Rafa was performing even worse than Bruce.
Much loved in Newcastle though.
19-01-2021, 06:33 AM
Much loved in Newcastle though.
When Rafa was doing ***** it was Mike Ashley’s fault. When Steve Bruce is doing ***** it’s his own fault, it seems.
I dunno who decided on Joelinton for £40m, but that money could/should have been spent much better.
Magpie
19-01-2021, 07:16 AM
When Rafa was doing ***** it was Mike Ashley’s fault. When Steve Bruce is doing ***** it’s his own fault, it seems.
I dunno who decided on Joelinton for £40m, but that money could/should have been spent much better.
If they backed Rafa the same way they have backed Bruce I think they could have kicked on.
19-01-2021, 07:30 AM
If they backed Rafa the same way they have backed Bruce I think they could have kicked on.
Rafa got backed plenty. Well over a hundred million on players, mostly *****.
Who’s picking the signings is what I’d question?
supermcginn
19-01-2021, 09:15 AM
Rafa got backed plenty. Well over a hundred million on players, mostly *****.Who’s picking the signings is what I’d question?You are miles from the truth. Benitez had a minus net spend of 11 million at Newcastle, bruce has a net spend of over 100 million and a much higher wage structure.
19-01-2021, 10:18 AM
You are miles from the truth. Benitez had a minus net spend of 11 million at Newcastle, bruce has a net spend of over 100 million and a much higher wage structure.
Can’t be arsed with the “net spend” chat. I’m not talking about how good the balance sheet was.
Did he or didn’t he spend over £100m? Regardless of who he sold, he spent a ****load on players who weren’t very good. That’s where I’m not miles from the truth.
19-01-2021, 12:22 PM
Can’t be arsed with the “net spend” chat. I’m not talking about how good the balance sheet was.
Did he or didn’t he spend over £100m? Regardless of who he sold, he spent a ****load on players who weren’t very good. That’s where I’m not miles from the truth.
Net spend is a far better way to do it. Assume you just can't be arsed with it (similar to the lampard/klopp one) because it goes against your argument? Spending 100 million but having to sell 200 million worth makes you a worse side generally. Spending 100 million and selling no one makes you better.
Rafa had to sell players to buy. Bruce hasn't. That's a significant difference. Comparing Rafa to Steve Bruce is ridiculous as well. No offense to Bruce but he isn't near benitez.
19-01-2021, 12:57 PM
Net spend is a far better way to do it. Assume you just can't be arsed with it (similar to the lampard/klopp one) because it goes against your argument? Spending 100 million but having to sell 200 million worth makes you a worse side generally. Spending 100 million and selling no one makes you better.
Rafa had to sell players to buy. Bruce hasn't. That's a significant difference. Comparing Rafa to Steve Bruce is ridiculous as well. No offense to Bruce but he isn't near benitez.
Talking about the two of them at Newcastle is completely comparable. Bruce is outperforming him as shown on Sky Sports last night. Does it really make you better having a negative net spend? If you both spend £100m on a team that’s on the park then it doesn’t matter who has been sold, the team on the park still cost £100m.
19-01-2021, 01:43 PM
But Bruce doesn’t have the players to sell, nobody wants to buy those Newcastle players he has, so are we saying Rafa had a better squad available to him, and still did worse?
19-01-2021, 05:46 PM
West Ham 1 v 0 West Brom
19-01-2021, 05:50 PM
Talking about the two of them at Newcastle is completely comparable. Bruce is outperforming him as shown on Sky Sports last night. Does it really make you better having a negative net spend? If you both spend £100m on a team that’s on the park then it doesn’t matter who has been sold, the team on the park still cost £100m.
So if you have a team worth 300 million, then you sell 200 hundred million of that, then respend 100 million its the same as just spending 100 million?
Definitely not.
19-01-2021, 05:52 PM
So if you have a team worth 300 million, then you sell 200 hundred million of that, then respend 100 million its the same as just spending 100 million?
Definitely not.
On the pitch? Of course it is, unless you are saying Bruce (hypothetically) has that £200m in the squad that he never sold. Both teams would still have £100m worth of players on the park, regardless of how good the team must’ve been the season before when they had an extra £200m of quality in it.
Magpie
19-01-2021, 06:06 PM
West Ham 1 v 0 West Brom
I fancied West Ham as relegation candidates this season but they have been brilliant. They actually try to play football rather than hoof it.
19-01-2021, 06:18 PM
West Ham 1 v 1 West Brom
19-01-2021, 06:32 PM
2-1 The Hammers, Antonio.
Pete70
19-01-2021, 06:49 PM
Josh Vela starts for Shrewsbury tonight against Southampton in the FA Cup. It's on BT Sports 2
19-01-2021, 07:25 PM
1-0 Leicester
19-01-2021, 07:38 PM
1-0 Leicester
Yes ndidi :greengrin
19-01-2021, 07:53 PM
Expect the livi v celtic game to be called off tomorrow its snowing here just now and due some crazy weather over the next couple of day's.
19-01-2021, 08:00 PM
Leicester City 2 v 0 Chelsea
19-01-2021, 08:01 PM
Yes ndidi :greengrin
Pack yer bags, yer fired.........:greengrin
Magpie
19-01-2021, 08:05 PM
Leicester City top of the league.
19-01-2021, 08:06 PM
Lampard doesn't half get an easy time. He is getting next to nothing from players bought for millions.
Magpie
19-01-2021, 08:10 PM
Lampard doesn't half get an easy time. He is getting next to nothing from players bought for millions.
How much longer do you think the Russian mafia will give him?
19-01-2021, 08:26 PM
How much longer do you think the Russian mafia will give him?
Not that long don't think.
SJNB Hibby
19-01-2021, 08:36 PM
They're playing some lovely stuff...could've been 4 or 5 given some of the excellent chances they've had
Magpie
19-01-2021, 08:39 PM
They're playing some lovely stuff...could've been 4 or 5 given some of the excellent chances they've had
Wesley Fofana looks a really good player at the back too.
19-01-2021, 09:01 PM
Brendan Rodgers has done a fabulous job. It's amazing how Celtic have gone from him and how far he took them forward to their current car crash of a situation.
Paul1642
19-01-2021, 09:13 PM
Brendan Rodgers has done a fabulous job. It's amazing how Celtic have gone from him and how far he took them forward to their current car crash of a situation.
Agreed. He was excellent for Swansea and for Liverpool for the most part despite a poor ending. Really was an amazing appointment by Celtic at the time and he has since shown at Leicester he is a top Manger. Probably the best British Manager is the game right now unless I’m forgetting someone obvious:
angus hibby
19-01-2021, 09:18 PM
I'm currently doing a coaching course and on same course is a former Celtic analyst who is now working in Norway I think. He couldn’t speak highly enough of Rogers. Said it only took him 3 or 4 training sessions to completely transform the way Celtic played.
EI255
19-01-2021, 09:22 PM
Brendan Rodgers has done a fabulous job. It's amazing how Celtic have gone from him and how far he took them forward to their current car crash of a situation.Rodgers has a football brain.
Lennon doesn't.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
19-01-2021, 10:07 PM
It’s the kind of season reminiscent of the last time Leicester win the league....
Renfrew_Hibby
20-01-2021, 08:21 AM
It’s the kind of season reminiscent of the last time Leicester win the league....
I know. Hoping Everton can keep their sh/t together, win their games in hand and hang in there till the end.
20-01-2021, 03:00 PM
I hope Livingston give them a going over tonight. Even if it pulls them nearer us, I think it could be the final straw for Celtic and a swan song for NL.
Bangkok Hibby
20-01-2021, 03:04 PM
I hope Livingston give them a going over tonight. Even if it pulls them nearer us, I think it could be the final straw for Celtic and a swan song for NL.
**** that. We need to stay as far ahead of Livingston as possible.
20-01-2021, 03:09 PM
Lucky if its on going by the state of the snow on their pitch this afternoon
20-01-2021, 03:17 PM
Not for me. Hope Celtic hump them
20-01-2021, 03:25 PM
Juve v Napoli in the Italian Super Cup BT2 8pm is the match taking my eye tonight.
In England an improved Fulham v United might be a decent game. City play Villa in an early KO at 6pm.
20-01-2021, 03:26 PM
**** that. We need to stay as far ahead of Livingston as possible.
Nah. I’m confident we’ll stay ahead of them for the remainder of the season. Odd kick off time - 8.15 pm.
20-01-2021, 03:32 PM
Na we want a Celtic win. We want Lennon there for as long as possible also
20-01-2021, 03:33 PM
a sellick win is best for hibs, therefore a sellick win it is, i just can't understand anyone wanting Livi to catch up on us
Magpie
20-01-2021, 03:42 PM
Livingston have taken 19 points from their last 7 games. They are definitely a threat. Celtic win would be the preferred outcome I think.
20-01-2021, 03:59 PM
Lucky if its on going by the state of the snow on their pitch this afternoonI just dig out my drive and actually it's meting away
Definately should never be off
20-01-2021, 04:44 PM
Nah. I’m confident we’ll stay ahead of them for the remainder of the season. Odd kidck off time - 8.15 pm.
...... fitting in with Sky’s schedule.
20-01-2021, 04:56 PM
We definitely want a Celtic win tonight, Livingston's getting too close to us for my liking.
If they win tonight they go 6 points behind us with a game in hand and our next game is against Rangers.
SJNB Hibby
20-01-2021, 05:06 PM
Might be Villa's night after that double miss by Citeh
20-01-2021, 05:36 PM
Who are Livi due to play in their other postponed game? Is it Aberdeen?
20-01-2021, 05:38 PM
Yes
20-01-2021, 05:41 PM
Yeah Saturday 30th Jan, then it’s Aberdeen v Livvi on Tuesday 2nd Feb
20-01-2021, 05:51 PM
We definitely want a Celtic win tonight, Livingston's getting too close to us for my liking.
If they win tonight they go 6 points behind us with a game in hand and our next game is against Rangers.
Livi’s two after tonight is Aberdeen to be fair. Somethings got to give in both of those games.
20-01-2021, 06:02 PM
...... fitting in with Sky’s schedule.
I’m pretty sure that the increase in 20.15 kos is to work around the ban on tv gambling ads. 20.15 ko means they can show gambling ads at HT.
20-01-2021, 06:10 PM
Livi have made 7 changes for tonight, obviously an eye on the semi final at the weekend.
20-01-2021, 06:29 PM
Dont quite know how the City Villa game is still 0-0 after 70 minutes. Cracking game in the rain of Manchester.
SJNB Hibby
20-01-2021, 06:29 PM
City seem determined NOT to win this
20-01-2021, 06:35 PM
City seem determined NOT to win this
Both teams!
One of the best 0-0 games you’re likely to see!
SJNB Hibby
20-01-2021, 06:35 PM
Oh SJM!!!! aargh
20-01-2021, 06:36 PM
Oh SJM!!!! aargh
Aye he fluffed his lines there didnt he.
20-01-2021, 06:36 PM
Both teams!
One of the best 0-0 games you’re likely to see!
Definitely, it’s been a cracking game so far.
SJNB Hibby
20-01-2021, 06:38 PM
Villa will still think they can win this
Magpie
And there it is. 1-0 City.
1-0 city.
Goal City.
Could be offside?
SJNB Hibby
And there it is. 1-0 City.
Bugger
Magpie
20-01-2021, 06:39 PM
Goal City.
Could be offside?
Awful defending from Mings.
What a fantastic game this is
Magpie
20-01-2021, 06:40 PM
What a fantastic game this is
It’s been very good. Could easily be about 4-3
Awful defending from Mings.
Seen replay. Not offside.
20-01-2021, 06:46 PM
He was about 20 yards offside!!!
20-01-2021, 06:46 PM
He is offside and he is interfering with play because he wins the ball back, appalling decision.
20-01-2021, 06:47 PM
Shocking that both the ref and the VAR can get that so wrong.
Has to be off side that....he comes back from an offside position and interferes with play.
No way that could be considered a new phase of play surely! (Well it was but I’m totally lost as to how!)
Chorley Hibee
Quite incredible that VAR has seen nothing wrong in that decision.
20-01-2021, 06:48 PM
No lip reader but the ref was getting telt by Dean Smith wasn’t he?
He was about 20 yards offside!!!
Pen Man City.
Only offside if given 😄.
20-01-2021, 06:49 PM
What was a) the linesman and b) the ref in the VAR box actually looking at? Astonishing.
20-01-2021, 06:49 PM
Mcmanaman talks some amount of *****. What difference does it make if its on or off target? Its a handball and penalty.
SJNB Hibby
20-01-2021, 06:50 PM
Aaachh well
20-01-2021, 06:50 PM
Has to be off side that....he comes back from an offside position and interferes with play.
No way that could be considered a new phase of play surely! (Well it was but I’m totally lost as to how!)
My take on it too. The officials must have considered it to be a new phase of play but its not how i would read it.
2-0 penalty.
Been a great game and City probably deserve to win but Villa can consider themselves unlucky.
Robbo6-2
20-01-2021, 06:51 PM
Thats the main problem with VAR, it ruins football and they cant even get it right when they have it.
Will be the death of the game. EPL is boring as f now
20-01-2021, 06:52 PM
He is offside and he is interfering with play because he wins the ball back, appalling decision.
The worst VAR decision yet.
20-01-2021, 06:53 PM
What was a) the linesman and b) the ref in the VAR box actually looking at? Astonishing.
It’s so blatant that I’m thinking there must be a part of the offside rule we’re all missing. The guy must’ve been 10 yards offside.
20-01-2021, 06:54 PM
The worst VAR decision yet.
I would say so.
Chorley Hibee
20-01-2021, 06:58 PM
Just heard the rule behind the decision explained.
The game is finished.
Just heard the rule explained behind the decision.
The game is finished.
I was right. Mings played the ball so the player was back onside and could challenge for it.
Not a great rule though to be fair.
20-01-2021, 07:01 PM
It’s so blatant that I’m thinking there must be a part of the offside rule we’re all missing. The guy must’ve been 10 yards offside.
Allegedly as soon as Mings tries to play / control the ball the offside is null and void.
I get the ‘letter of the law’ says it’s good but to me and almost anyone watching it’s a player coming back from an off side position gaining an advantage!
Great game tho, really enjoyed that.
steve75
20-01-2021, 07:02 PM
It's only being discussed because we've all seen similar situations given as offside. Forget 'the letter of the law', all anybody wants is consistency.
Mad decision, mad reasoning.
20-01-2021, 07:03 PM
I was right. Mings played the ball so the player was back onside and could challenge for it.
The explanation given by Peter Walton (most pointless expert going) is a nonsense. 9 times out of 10 as soon as the offside player motions to play the ball/interfere the linesman would normally give offside.
This focus on Mings deliberately playing the ball is not the spirit of the rule and isn’t how it’s normally applied.
20-01-2021, 07:03 PM
Just heard the rule behind the decision explained.
The game is finished.
Me too. If that’s the rule it’s nonsense. He’s offside and clearly influencing the game. Mings mis controls but he’s influencing Mings by going towards him therefore the ball. Offside.
Chorley Hibee
20-01-2021, 07:04 PM
The thing is though, Mings isn't aware Rodri has come 10/15 yards from an offside position - Mings natural instincts are surely to play the ball?
20-01-2021, 07:14 PM
Allegedly as soon as Mings tries to play / control the ball the offside is null and void.
I get the ‘letter of the law’ says it’s good but to me and almost anyone watching it’s a player coming back from an off side position gaining an advantage!
Great game tho, really enjoyed that.
I saw that as well, but the player is behind Mings and out of his sight, he then robs him of the ball. He was offside and he gained an advantage from it.
Magpie
20-01-2021, 07:21 PM
Fulham 1-0 Man Utd
1-0 Fulham.
Deserved so far too.
20-01-2021, 07:30 PM
1-0 Livi
Livingston 1-0 Celtic
😂 not good for us but this is hilarious. That almost looks deliberate from Ajer.
Magpie
Livi 1-0 Celtic
20-01-2021, 07:31 PM
Barkas is honking
It is somewhat funny to be fair
Another disastrous goal from a set play
1-0 Livi reserves
Could've been 2-0
20-01-2021, 07:32 PM
😂 As bad as Terry Butcher
Ffs
Losing against the Livi reserves, oh dear
The gangster is outsmarting the best manager Scottish football has ever seen.
Barkas is honkingNowt he could do for the goal surely?
20-01-2021, 07:33 PM
lol 2-0
?
20-01-2021, 07:33 PM
😂 not good for us but this is hilarious. That almost looks deliberate from Ajer.
Why not good for us?? We are closer to Celtic than Livi in table just now
20-01-2021, 07:34 PM
Why not good for us?? We are closer to Celtic than Livi in table just now
That’s true to be fair. I was more meaning for moving clear of Livi. Although you’re right, every week that passes Celtic look worse and worse.
20-01-2021, 07:34 PM
?
i'm behind on the radio :greengrin
20-01-2021, 07:35 PM
If Celtic get beat tonight Lennon is gone. :nlgwa
Don't want livingston getting closer to us but I do love to see any of the bigot twins getting beat. Added to that the total collapse and meltdown of the team who were head and shoulders above every other team last year. Brilliant
i'm behind on the radio :greengrin
Was wondering how my sky had ended up behind! :greengrin