View Full Version : Match Updates 2020-21 season non-Hibs games thread
Off the bar
25-04-2021, 08:10 PM
Hun are out
Yes Rangers are out, great chance for Hibs now.
**** sake.
We now must win the Cup to ensure Group Stage football for Christmas, the league no longer matters
Just_Jimmy
that's magic.
come on Hibs
Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk
And Hibs become favourites for the Scottish Cup.
What a way to win a cup tie. The Rangers bottle it again
Ya dancer!!
https://media3.giphy.com/media/lszAB3TzFtRaU/200.gif?cid=ecabfe3b6pwznhplb2th9c3pe8vrk4rqa1ahqk yrrm7ijy6l&rid=200.gif&ct=g
Yassssss! **** the Huns 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
Wow - 1 trophy from 3 for the Huns. Fail.
Clark clearly off his line for the Roofe pen save as well. Wonder how long it is until they bring that up 😂
It may not help Hibs but that is funny as ****. Get it right up you ya hun *******s
pollution
25-04-2021, 08:11 PM
Feet on ground boys. Many a slip twixt spoon and mouth but this is wonderful for us !!!
Gerrit Right Up Ye!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 8 7 5
:greengrin:greengrin
St Johnstone's first win against the vile ones in the SC in 13 attempts
Regardless of possible ramifications that is just magic!
Listen to the Premier Sports team, they're ****ing gutted. GIRUY.
Rumble de Thump
Who will Stevie G blame?
25-04-2021, 08:12 PM
Awww naaaaw
Cruit
I didn't expect to enjoy that game at all but it was a stormer. What a turnaround.
hahahaha. :greengrin:greengrin
Excellent. Ultimately the huns winning would've been better for us but I only honestly love to see them get beat. Can't stand them.
Everyone that said us losing our semi final last year to St Johnstone was embarrassing should take note of this, we have no right to beat anyone. Whoever deserves to win the cup will win it.
Unhappily happy :greengrin
Magpie
25-04-2021, 08:13 PM
I’m even more nervous now 😭
Means 3rd place is effectively meaningless now. We have to win the cup to assure group stage euro football now.
Silversand
Holy crap, not sure whether to laugh [emoji1787] or cry [emoji22]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
It’s the SCOTTISH CUP. Off yer knees all you who rejoiced in 2016 and changed your user names as it’s time to do it again. Best possible result for any side wanting to win the cup.
HibeeSince85
Ross wanted third and to win a cup. Well now is the time to go and get it.
Means 3rd place is effectively meaningless now. We have to win the cup to assure group stage euro football now.
Yeah, that has the potential to be a disaster.
Nae luck torn faced Craigan, he will probably blame Hibs for his beloved huns defeat.
lets hope St Johnstone don't manage to do what we failed to do in 2016
I know it might have been better for Hibs if the Hun had gone through, but I hated when they scored and I cheered every penalty miss.
Giruy Gerard.
cjward2
25-04-2021, 08:14 PM
Stuart Cosgrove will being going off his nut.
The definition of mixed emotions. It could be an incredible season... or a total damp squib.
Feet on ground boys. Many a slip twixt spoon and mouth but this is wonderful for us !!!
100%. All of it.
I'm going to say it say it again. A goalkeeper doing that to McGregor is funny as ****. Get it up him and every other Hun. All about Hibs now and how we play. Played we can and we should win the cup
Haha but we have to win it now🤣
25-04-2021, 08:15 PM
Oh god, scares me now. All or nothing really. Don't win the cup, season is a bit of a waste. Win it and it could change direction of club for years to come.
Craziness eh.
****ing hope and pray the boys prove me wrong and go all the way. Never had a better chance
Incredible. Scottish ****ing football. 😍
Whoever is upset that Rangers are out needs a shake. We have a huge chance of winning another Scottish Cup and it's always good to see the huns beat.
25-04-2021, 08:16 PM
Oh god, scares me now. All or nothing really. Don't win the cup, season is a bit of a waste. Win it and it could change direction of club for years to come.
It also puts an astronomical amount of pressure on the players which is not a good thing.
A Rangers vs Hibs final was the ideal scenario, there's no such thing as an easy path to a cup and we now have two of the biggest cup games in recent history for us.
I'll have to watch Sportscene tonight, will Shelly be on??
25-04-2021, 08:17 PM
I am delighted to see the mighty ‘the’ get their come-uppence. Isn’t McGregor one of the nastiest creatures in Scottish football?
jingler1954
[CEN
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha just ha ha. GGTTH
Yep, our chances of winning it just increased with the undefeated champions being papped oot by the big lime green man [emoji23]
All 4 of the semi finalist will be thinking they can win this
2 top 6 sides and 2 bottom 6
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
It would be some season for St Johnstone if they were to win a double and end up in group stage Europe.
Just give Zander Clark the Scottish Cup now, that’s poetic !
lets hope St Johnstone don't manage to do what we failed to do in 2016
What a strange spin to put on it
Having to watch the end of this season on TV will finish me off.
It also puts an astronomical amount of pressure on the players which is not a good thing.
A Rangers vs Hibs final was the ideal scenario, there's no such thing as an easy path to a cup and we now have two of the biggest cup games in recent history for us.
The pressure is on the players of every team though, surely?
We can definitely win this!
Yeah, that has the potential to be a disaster.
Hardly.
25-04-2021, 08:18 PM
Whoever is upset that Rangers are out needs a shake. We have a huge chance of winning another Scottish Cup and it's always good to see the huns beat.
I don’t think anyone is upset but many know the possible consequences of them going out.
Yes Rangers are out, great chance for Hibs now.
They said that inLeague Cup snd look what happened
The Nightmare scenario is we finish third and iether don’t reach the final or get beat in final and miss out on Lucrative group stages of new European Competition
Now that is funny as. Put the hun back in their box for a day or 2. Anything that upsets them can only be a good thing.Let’s go win the cup now and make it a fabulous season.
**** 3rd place.
All guns blazing for the cup please.
Rumble de Thump
25-04-2021, 08:19 PM
Why would third place in the league become meaningless? Would Hibs and Aberdeen enter the same European competition at the same stage if we don't win the Scottish Cup?
Has Sevco bought Premier Sports
Co commentator and 3 pundits all stickies !!
Well done Zander and the Saintees.
No Huns at Hampden !!
Europe more important to us though.
Dundee Utd, St Johnstone Hibs and one of Killie / St Mirren?
Brilliant
I suspect that the Hibs players will be absolutely delighted at that outcome.
And, yes - if we lose one of the remaining matches, we dont get the shoe in to the group stages - but that means we need to do everything to win it.
25-04-2021, 08:20 PM
But we can get that by winning the cup
What a great chance to win the Cup :aok:
I don’t think anyone is upset but many know the possible consequences of them going out.
People do seem upset. I wouldn’t want rangers winning anything
Why would third place in the league become meaningless? Would Hibs and Aberdeen enter the same European competition at the same stage if we don't win the Scottish Cup?
Yes
We all want Hibs to have a great Euro campaign... BUT .... any trophy NOT won by Celtic or The Rangers is cause for celebration. Hibs now have a good chance to win the Cup, but if St J, Killie, St M or DUFC win it - so be it.
It's a great day for football in general and an antidote to the Super League / OF crap we've had to deal with all week.
BBC Sportsound a little deflated
It’s a great day for Hibs. Regardless of European ramifications.
We’re never going to win the Europa league though are we. I’ll take a Scottish cup win every time.
But we can get that by winning the cupWhy, can't we qualify?
25-04-2021, 08:21 PM
Excellent. Ultimately the huns winning would've been better for us but I only honestly love to see them get beat. Can't stand them.
:thumbsup: **** der hun and all who play for them
Up to us to just keep winning as many games as we can now
We’re never going to win the Europa league though are we. I’ll take a Scottish cup win every time.
European groups are worth more cash
Bob1875
25-04-2021, 08:21 PM
No, no it’s not.
25-04-2021, 08:22 PM
BBC Sportsound a little deflated
Imagine how Premier feel! Another cup ruined!
OtleyHibs
Anyone's trophy now, great chance for us to win it again!
I still want third, third is still a really good season for us...third and the Scottish Cup would be phenomenal!
Lets hope Hibs can use this opportunity. We will he favourites for the cup so lets hope our recent failures in semis dont repeat themselves
The Rangers have still never won the Scottish Cup
Oh ma aching sides !
Instead of planning routes to a good European spot, just enjoy the misery of Rangers. What will be will be in the cup. Carl’s berg weekend.:greengrin
25-04-2021, 08:23 PM
relax, we’re doing both
Than winning a cup? No chance.
Lucky we never bothered much about going through yesterday.
https://i.ibb.co/CHH8Yxr/64994-B51-DD3-F-4997-AB3-B-A98-B48-EBDE0-A.jpg (https://ibb.co/gRR9fsn)
What a great chance to win the Cup :aok:
Exactly! To hell with Europe. Win the cup! Game On!!!
Nevi_SOL
Now it all makes sense why fans around allowed in the stadium. No repeat of 2016
25-04-2021, 08:24 PM
It's a great day for football. Aberdeen anti-football defeated. Arrogant Hun football defeated. Sport is the winner today. We should all celebrate that.
wallpaperman
25-04-2021, 08:24 PM
I’m really conflicted with the result.
Must admit I wanted Rangers to win, and us to take our chances against them if we have to, but with the guarantee that we would have group stages of Europe to look forward to.
I’m usually optimistic where Hibs are concerned, but I have a bad feeling about this, and we end up getting punted out of Europe in the qualifying round by a team from Albania we’ve never heard of.
25-04-2021, 08:25 PM
Absolutely mate...we are now 2 very winnable games away from a second CUP WIN IN 5 YEARS...bring it on :)
Wakeyhibee
25-04-2021, 08:26 PM
I take it that's tongue in cheek.
I wouldn't mind if St Johnstone win the cup if we don't. Davidson has done a great job there, already for silverware and how many teams would have gone through losing a goal so late in extra time against a Rangers team that had only conceded 3 domestic goals at home this season? That's what you call character and team spirit.
That said what an opportunity for Hibs to win the cup now. Sure, we said that for the league cup as well. But 2 games to go and win 2 games against Dundee Utd, St Johnstone, Killie/St Mirren? Would have taken that start of the weekend!
SJNB Hibby
25-04-2021, 08:27 PM
Why, can't we qualify?
My thoughts too---it's not beyond us to qualify through the qualification rounds....people writing us off here...but to win the Cup???YES!!!!
Imagine how Premier feel! Another cup ruined!
i didn't realise they have both Semi Finals
One thing about today's results is that it would have made a defeat last night feel 100 times worse and would have been a huge opportunity missed. My thoughts on who I wanted to win changed several times during the game tonight. We now have a great chance to win the cup, though all the teams left will feel the same.
ACLeith
I thought I'd seen it all in this game but I was wrong.
I turned the game off when Rangers scored...only just say that they’re oot!
I’m delighted. It’s never easy to a cup in Scotland, but when there’s only 4 teams left and none of them are Rangers or Celtc, all the teams should fancy themselves to win it.
3rd place and a Scottish cup win? Potentially a brilliant season for us. C’mon Hibs!
25-04-2021, 08:28 PM
No, no it’s not.
Yes it is. About £4m more.
I’m really conflicted with the result.
Must admit I wanted Rangers to win, and us to take our chances against them if we have to, but with the guarantee that we would have group stages of Europe to look forward to.
I’m usually optimistic where Hibs are concerned, but I have a bad feeling about this, and we end up getting punted out of Europe in the qualifying round by a team from Albania we’ve never heard of.
awe ffs man we are no even there yet, last time we met an Albanian side we took 7 or 8 off them, its a great day for fitba and **** der hun and **** the diet hun while at it as well.
SJNB Hibby
So when was the last time neither of the OF reached either of the Cup Semis?
Does anyone know how many qualifying rounds we would need to get through to get into group stage of conference league for 3rd place (assuming we don't win the cup)?
pollution
It would be some season for St Johnstone were to win a double and end up in group stage Europe.
Pardon ?
All the folk who wanted to see the hun win, can you honestly say you weren't up out of your seat at the equaliser and the penalties. I know I was!! And I wasn't fussed either way if they win or not beforehand but I just ducking hate everything about them and it always gives me a warm fuzzy feeling to see them lose. All into Hibs now, we are the best team left in the cup so we need to prove it now
-Jonesy-
Rangers care more about defending statues than corner kicks in the final seconds of cup ties
25-04-2021, 08:29 PM
Trophy will be remembered more than a 3rd finish..especially the Scottish cup for the 2nd time in a short space of time!
Did Diddy Dodds just say wrt Unites form whether he reckoned they could win the cup - he then went on to say “we’ll Rangers are favourites” they’re not even in the next round without playing #fandango
Billy’s genius shines through yet again...
ABZHFC
For me, it is only because we aren't allowed to go to Hampden that I would have preferred we were assured 3rd got us Europe until Christmas (when we surely will be able to go, at least to home ties). Any other season when we could go to the semi and final as normal, I wouldn't even remotely have wanted the Huns to win tonight. Still cheered like **** when they missed their penalties, and fair play to Saints, if anyone but us is to win the cup I hope it is them, they deserve it for the season they have had.
Of course, we really can't turn down any chance to win the Scottish given our previous hoodoo, and I would love nothing more than for us to do that come May - especially fitting 5 years on from 21/05/16 - but there would just be a small part of me feeling sad as we went up to lift the trophy, a feeling that we had all missed out on it would probably make me feel quickly deflated.
Having said all that, I fear it will be academic as I see us struggling to overcome St Johnstone if we do have to face them in the semi or in the final, hopefully we get St Mirren and then face United in the final
I wouldn't mind if St Johnstone win the cup if we don't. Davidson has done a great job there, already for silverware and how many teams would have gone through losing a goal so late in extra time against a Rangers team that had only conceded 3 domestic goals at home this season? That's what you call character and team spirit.
That said what an opportunity for Hibs to win the cup now. Sure, we said that for the league cup as well. But 2 games to go and win 2 games against Dundee Utd, St Johnstone, Killie/St Mirren? Would have taken that start of the weekend!
You wouldn't mind another side taking both cups from us, and our spot in Europe? I'll be sick if that happens. Absolutely sick.
Magpie
Does anyone know how many qualifying rounds we would need to get through to get into group stage of conference league for 3rd place (assuming we don't win the cup)?
We would have to play the 2nd qualifying round, 3rd qualifying round and then a play off to reach the group stages.
Hardly.
So before today, we could have ended up with third, European group stages to look forward to next year and if we got Rangers in the final, an almost pressure free pop at the cup without any ramifications for not winning.
Now we have to win the cup and third could lead to not getting group football.
Yeah, if we now don't win the cup that could be a terrible outcome for us.
Magpie
25-04-2021, 08:30 PM
Trophy will be remembered more than a 3rd finish..especially the Scottish cup for the 2nd time in a short space of time!
Surely the experience of watching our club in the group stages of European football would be remembered more than a cup win where fans weren’t even able to attend?
25-04-2021, 08:31 PM
What a thrilling end to the season for Hibs - so much still to play for and huge prizes, while most others are now in holiday mode and season over.
Excited for next few weeks :flag:
In the long term, we want more cash for the good of our club and to aid success in the future surely? Success such as winning out national cup.
We can now do that by winning two very winnable games regardless of the draw. It’s absolutely nothing close to a done deal, but anyone not happy with tonight’s result and having a favourite’s chance of lifting the Scottish cup should really have another think at things in my opinion.
Even if the huns had won tonight we could have ended up not getting the full result we were after. We can now very conceivably take the lot, and it’s in our own hands.
Great weekend of results.
Absolutely mate...we are now 2 very winnable games away from a second CUP WIN IN 5 YEARS...bring it on :)
With no Boyle or Gogic for the semi final...
Boyle will be playing
25-04-2021, 08:32 PM
So before today, we could have ended up with third, European group stages to look forward to next year and if we got Rangers in the final, an almost pressure free pop at the cup without any ramifications for not winning.
Yeah, if we now don't win the cup that could be a terrible outcome for us.
good job we’re winning it then :greengrin
25-04-2021, 08:32 PM
We would have to play the 2nd qualifying round, 3rd qualifying round and then a play off to reach the group stages.
And even then we don’t have any chance of the Europa league. We must win the cup, the league is irrelevant now, said it earlier, rest all our players from now. No excuses.
25-04-2021, 08:33 PM
Surely the experience of watching our club in the group stages of European football would be remembered more than a cup win where fans weren’t even able to attend?
I think I would want a trophy...but I get what your saying.
Hibs fans would still party on Leith Links.
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?351701-Boyle-suspended-for-semi
one day maybe...
Who will Stevie G blame?
Anyone but say ST J deserved the win
The way some on here are behaving, it's as if Hibs were knocked out the Cup and The Rangers were our very last chance of a European campaign.
We've rarely had a better chance of winning the Cup and high time we had a little more faith in this team of ours.
25-04-2021, 08:35 PM
St Johnstone are probably favourites now considering they are league cup holders.
Wakeyhibee
If we're waiting for rounds of
V Formantine, Cowdenbeath, Queens Park, Brechin & then Fort William in the Final I'd give up if I'm honest. Excellent chance of winning a cup.
The history books dont show 2021 + £2m (or whatever it turns out)
Well, certainly got my 12.99’s worth of entertainment from Premier Sports this month, glad I signed up yesterday😂
wallpaperman
25-04-2021, 08:36 PM
awe ffs man we are no even there yet, last time we met an Albanian side we took 7 or 8 off them, its a great day for fitba and **** der hun and **** the diet hun while at it as well.
I hope you are right. :wink:
25-04-2021, 08:37 PM
The way some on here are behaving, it's as if Hibs were knocked out the Cup and The Rangers were our very last chance of a European campaign.
We've rarely had a better chance of winning the Cup and high time we had a little more faith in this team of ours.
It really is remarkable reading given the results and us with a semi final draw to look forward to. We should all be aware of how scarce cups can be..
Albeit I fully accept winning it wouldn’t quite be the same without a full hampden.
Every team still involved in the competition should be excited by today’s results. Absolutely no question.
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?351701-Boyle-suspended-for-semi
Still sounds a bit murky and muddled?
And even then we don’t have any chance of the Europa league. We must win the cup, the league is irrelevant now, said it earlier, rest all our players from now. No excuses.
The Rangers players had a 3 week "rest" before they tackled a knackered Hibs in the SC Final 2016. How did that work out ?
one day maybe...
25-04-2021, 08:38 PM
Completly with you on this. Lets win it and if thats the prize that comes wit this cup then we deserve it. Not because Rangers won the cup.. Mon the Hibs
Come on, folks. It's done. The Rangers are oot and that's that. We all move on and hopefully take this great chance to win the Cup. Be positive, not pessimistic.
St Johnstone are probably favourites now considering they are league cup holders.
They won’t be. Hibs will be favourites. Just as we were 3rd favourites behind rangers and aberdeeen before this weekend.
hibbydog
I’ll be utterly sick if we don’t win the cup now.
Yes all sides will fancy their chances, but we are rightly favourites and should be wiping the floor with them.
They let us down badly in the other two semis this season.
Time to right the wrongs. No excuses
25-04-2021, 08:39 PM
Have to say that's a bit bittersweet, guaranteed group stages could be a massive boost for Hibs moving forward, still possible but less likely now I'd say.
That being said if we manage to win the cup then this has definitely improved our chances of that....
This has made the cup all or nothing now for me.
25-04-2021, 08:39 PM
Without sounding really cheesy here - you can't put a price on what the SC would mean to the supporters. Money in the bank is all well and good as is a good run of games in Europe but we are never going to actually win the EL. Winning the SC again and having the trophy back at ER would mean so much more to the fans than a bigger bank balance.
The competition has opened right up, as it always does when the OF are out. We are favorites for obvious reasons but any one of those teams left in the competition is capable of beating us on their day and i'm pretty sure as hibs fans we are all fully aware of the dangers of getting too carried away. Great chance for us but we are going to have to give it absolutely everything.
25-04-2021, 08:40 PM
Come on, folks. It's done. The Rangers are oot and that's that. We all move on and hopefully take this great chance to win the Cup. Be positive, not pessimistic.
The very idea that any hibs fans need to “move on” from that club being knocked out a cup (especially one we are two games away from winning) is a bit sickening to be honest.
And some of us like to call our players soft touches and bottlers.
Without sounding really cheesy here - you can't put a price on what the SC would mean to the supporters. Money in the bank is all well and good as is a good run of games in Europe but we are never going to actually win the EL. Winning the SC again and having the trophy back at ER would mean so much more to the fans than a bigger bank balance.
The competition has opened right up, as it always does when the OF are out. We are favorites for obvious reasons but any one of those teams left in the competition is capable of beating us on their day and i'm pretty sure as hibs fans we are all fully aware of the dangers of getting too carried away. Great chance for us but we are going to have to give it absolutely everything.
I agree the cup would mean more to the fans but financially Europe is worth more. It’s irrelevant now anyway. Cup winners take it all and we need to take advantage of the opportunity.
25-04-2021, 08:42 PM
Happy sevco r out tbh , great opportunity to win silverware
25-04-2021, 08:43 PM
Just brilliant for us.
Absolutely the result we wanted. Take anyone in the semi and hopefully look forward to whatever in the final.
Oir chances of winning the Cup have massively increased without us doing a thing. Buzzing.
Imagine winning the cup the same year Hearts are pumped out by Brora. Their delusional fans would blame Neilson which would be nice.
25-04-2021, 08:43 PM
Yeah, if we now don't win the cup that could be a terrible outcome for us.Or we could have been put out of the semi by rangers who lost the final
We have it in our own hands and a great opportunity to win it ourselves
Ofcourse all 4 of the semi finalists will fancy it
25-04-2021, 08:45 PM
The Rangers players had a 3 week "rest" before they tackled a knackered Hibs in the SC Final 2016. How did that work out ?
Good job the players would only be getting 1 week off then eh? Give me that and not picking up any daft injuries or suspensions, and having a fit and energetic team ready to go.
Caversham Green
I despair.
Hibs are near certain to achieve our highest league place for many years. We are guaranteed European football and have a very good chance of winning the Scottish cup for the second time in five years. We might have to play in earlier European qualifying rounds than we would have liked if we don't win the cup, but we are still in Europe. Hands, if not whole arms would have been bitten off if we had been offered this position at the start of the season so why are so many people upset that The New Rangers are out of the cup? It gives us a better chance of winning it.
And third place in the league is the best we could realistically have hoped for - it is anything but meaningless.
Imagine winning the cup the same year Hearts are pumped out by Brora. Their delusional fans would blame Neilson which would be nice.
That’s a good point and yet another perk thrown into this all or nothing jackpot we’ve got our eyes on now.
Football just got a lot more exciting for me. With summer and the euros to follow. Bring on the vaccinations.
25-04-2021, 08:46 PM
Or we could have been put out of the semi by rangers who lost the final
And imagine wanting Rangers to beat a nice team in the final. That would be horrific.
They won’t be. Hibs will be favourites. Just as we were 3rd favourites behind rangers and aberdeeen before this weekend.
Dundee Utd were 2nd favs before tonight’s game.
I’ll be utterly sick if we don’t win the cup now.
Yes all sides will fancy their chances, but we are rightly favourites and should be wiping the floor with them.
They let us down badly in the other two semis this season.
Time to right the wrongs. No excuses
I think given we've got to two semi finals with neither of the OF, Hearts or Aberdeen in the draw it would be a massive blow to not walk away with a trophy this season. Especially as not winning it basically means another early exit from Europe is on cards rather than making millions and playing until Xmas.
League Cup semi final is in the past but the players now need to step up and show why we are 3rd in the league.
Still sounds a bit murky and muddled?
It's not Hoban played for Aberdeen today..Boyle is not suspended
25-04-2021, 08:47 PM
And imagine wanting Rangers to beat a nice team in the final. That would be horrific.
I’d already begun thinking about how I wouldn’t be able to watch it in that scenario, as couldn’t admit to myself I wanted the huns to win.
Won’t have to worry about that scenario for a good while again now 😎
ABZHFC
Or we could have been put out of the semi by rangers who lost the final
We have it in our own hands and a great opportunity to win it ourselves
Ofcourse all 4 of the semi finalists will fancy it
Not being funny or trying to get wide, but the highlighted sentence is exactly why I am more afraid this way round
So when was the last time neither of the OF reached either of the Cup Semis?
Just read on twitter someone saying that has never happened before.
25-04-2021, 08:48 PM
Dundee Utd were 2nd favs before tonight’s game.
I believe that’s completely false. With what bookies?
Lunatic
25-04-2021, 08:49 PM
Do people actually think we're now less likely to make it to the group stages in Europe?
Surely our odds of winning the Scottish Cup are now higher than our chances of making the final, with a 33% chance of playing the Rangers in the semi.
This is brilliant!
25-04-2021, 08:49 PM
They were second favourites in the game against Aberdeen!!
25-04-2021, 08:50 PM
Do people actually think we're now less likely to make it to the group stages in Europe?
Surely our odds of winning the Scottish Cup are now higher than our chances of making the final, with a 33% chance of playing the Rangers in the semi.
This is brilliant!
I think the idea is that rangers winning it also sealed group stages, regardless if we were in the final or not. But your last sentence is correct.
25-04-2021, 08:50 PM
365. The market hasn’t been reformed since tonight’s game.
25-04-2021, 08:51 PM
Exactly. For the last few weeks, our focus has been squarely on 3rd place and the potential Euro campaign, and naturally so. But things have changed. Today, both Aberdeen and The Rangers have been knocked out of the Cup leaving an in-form Hibs as the highest ranked team left in the Cup.
It's astonishing and revealing that so many think this is something to fear and regret. Let's hope the players have a little more belief in themselves than some of us have in them !
This is brilliant!
Of course we’re less likely, Rangers were well odds on to win the trophy and we are basically guaranteed third. We didn’t have to play Rangers in the final.
We’re also far more likely not to win the trophy so all swings and roundabouts.
They were second favourites in the game against Aberdeen!!
After the Aberdeen game.
25-04-2021, 08:52 PM
After the Aberdeen game.
Dundee United were shorter than Hibs to win the trophy?
25-04-2021, 08:53 PM
365. The market hasn’t been reformed since tonight’s game.
Not with 365 it hasn’t - who I bet with.
Betvictor currently has us 9/4 favourites. Obviously the market will alter again after tomorrow’s game and the draw.
25-04-2021, 08:54 PM
On the plus side, our Rangers supporting boss at work was saying that he hoped he got us in the final as he thought they’d win by six or seven, so that’ll be nice tomorrow.
hibee316
Exactly. For the last few weeks, our focus has been squarely on 3rd place and the potential Euro campaign, and naturally so. But things have changed. Today, both Aberdeen and The Rangers have been knocked out of the Cup leaving an in-form Hibs as the highest ranked team left in the Cup.
It's astonishing and revealing that so many think this is something to fear and regret. Let's hope the players have a little more belief in themselves than some of us have in them !
Of course the players will.
I'm not a player though, and saying positive things here makes no blind bit of difference to the results of games.
Fans are always going to be nervous as we have no control over it.
After the Aberdeen game.
Apart from Dundee United playing well today, what would make them favourites over us?
Every single bookie will have us as favourites now, we’re the third best team in the league.
It’ll be Hibs, St Johnstone, Dundee United, Killie/St Mirren in that order. Any bookie that goes against that would be nuts.
hibbydog
I’m not surprised by the reaction.
18 semi finals in 20 years, but only 2 trophies tells its own story.
We’ve been let down badly on the big occasion too often. That’s probs why there’s so much trepidation
25-04-2021, 08:56 PM
I wonder - when was the last time Hibs were favourites for the Scottish Cup??
An unusual position, and I can't say I'm particularly confident, but its a great position to be in (as it is for the others left in it as well).
25-04-2021, 08:56 PM
I’m not surprised by the reaction.
18 semi finals in 20 years, but only 2 trophies tells its own story.
We’ve been let down badly on the big occasion too often. That’s probs why there’s so much trepidation
Being nervous about it is natural, obviously.
Not being happy about the position we are in is pathetic though. In my opinion
I despair.
Hibs are near certain to achieve our highest league place for many years. We are guaranteed European football and have a very good chance of winning the Scottish cup for the second time in five years. We might have to play in earlier European qualifying rounds than we would have liked if we don't win the cup, but we are still in Europe. Hands, if not whole arms would have been bitten off if we had been offered this position at the start of the season so why are so many people upset that The New Rangers are out of the cup? It gives us a better chance of winning it.
And third place in the league is the best we could realistically have hoped for - it is anything but meaningless.
25-04-2021, 08:58 PM
Had a wee peek over on kickback and they're already slating him and saying that's us won two Scottish cups with him as their manager! 😂 Lovely stuff, and hope to god it turns out to be true!
25-04-2021, 08:59 PM
An unusual position, and I can't say I'm particularly confident, but its a great position to be in (as it is for the others left in it as well).
I love being in this position. And this may come back to bite me but I really think we will live up to the favourites tag.
25-04-2021, 08:59 PM
Not being funny or trying to get wide, but the highlighted sentence is exactly why I am more afraid this way roundIt's the old PTSD of a Hibs variety [emoji23]
ABZHFC
25-04-2021, 09:00 PM
I's not that I don't have faith in us, it's just that I've seen this script many times before, Hibs being expected to do something by everyone always spells danger in my eyes. I also fear that it is often the same fans who (rightly) will get excited/carried away by this situation that will then be ridiculously over the top in their criticism if/when we lose the semi or the final.
In a sense, with tonight happening the way it has, all our eggs are now in one basket, and if we were to fail to the win the cup, then next season we would look back on this season with nowhere near the same fondness that we would have had had Rangers gone on to win the cup against someone else as expected and we secured European football until Christmas (which we will actually be attend as a bonus).
Still, all in our hands now, I just pray the boys do it
hibbydog
25-04-2021, 09:00 PM
Being nervous about it is natural, obviously.
Not being happy about the position we are in is pathetic though. In my opinion
I hear you sir.
I’m simultaneously delighted and worried.
This is why I drink
Logie Green
25-04-2021, 09:02 PM
Probably just after David Gray’s winning goal. 😜
25-04-2021, 09:02 PM
10 major trophies in 146 years. Time to add to that.
One game at a time please folks, one game at a time!
The Pointer
25-04-2021, 09:09 PM
There is much to go on and it's tempting fate, but just another chance to be leaping about in the Harp and Castle again with some new heroes!
Anyone got Conrad's phone number?
25-04-2021, 09:12 PM
completely agree, most people on here think Saint Johnstone are an unbeatable mix of Real Madrid and Barcelona, the league would suggest otherwise......
25-04-2021, 09:15 PM
Of course the players will.
I'm not a player though, and saying positive things here makes no blind bit of difference to the results of games.
Fans are always going to be nervous as we have no control over it.
I think the players will be right up for this now. Not winning the Cup in 114 years and then the chance to win it twice in 6 years and become legends.
25-04-2021, 09:16 PM
I was unsure about what I wanted earlier but I'm quite buzzing now.
I really didn't want to be relying on Rangers for a favour or thinking about consolation prizes if we played them in a final.
Our destiny is entirely in our own hands now and we will live or die entirely by our own performances. That's pretty exciting.
25-04-2021, 09:17 PM
I was unsure about what I wanted earlier but I'm quite buzzing now.
I really didn't want to be relying on Rangers for a favour or thinking about consolation prizes if we played them in a final.
Our destiny is entirely in our own hands now and we will live or die entirely by our own performances. That's pretty exciting.Exciting and terrifying in equal measures [emoji23]
Fanfastic end to the season though
25-04-2021, 09:18 PM
Totally in hibs hands. One game at a time.
Just imagine being a hearts supporter right now and fretting over us winning it again hahaha :greengrin
Silversand
Oddshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210425/fa82e8ee6fe23f4022f3d0fee84b445f.jpg
25-04-2021, 09:19 PM
It's quite obvious that every team still in the competition has a good chance of winning, so I don't really see Hibs as big favourites.
Performances in one-off games are really different to being fairly consistent in the league... as we've seen already from today, and previous cup games this season.
Dundee United annihilated Aberdeen... St Johnstone are League Cup winners & just put (The) Rangers out... plus St Mirren knocked (The) Rangers out the League Cup.
25-04-2021, 09:19 PM
How many times have hibs been at hampden the past 20 years?
25-04-2021, 09:23 PM
Pardon ?
They'll fancy themselves to win the cup having already won the league Cup this season. Winning the Scottish would guarantee them group stage Europe. All I'm saying is that is almost unthinkable from St Johnstone and it would probably be their most successful season ever
25-04-2021, 09:25 PM
Just imagine being a hearts supporter right now and fretting over us winning it again hahaha :greengrin
On kickback, the minute we beat Motherwell, they turned their attention from hoping we’d lose that on penalties to laughing at the prospect of Rangers thumping us in the semis or final :greengrin
We had media darlings like Michael Owen and Steven Gerard who got off with it lightly too of course.
Exactly what I thought. Might take a few years to churn the squad to get it playing the way Glass wants, with lots of pain in the process. IMO, Aberdeen will be a much weaker side with McInness gone and we have a real chance to be the 3rd force.
I would agree, throw beckham, Ashley Cole, lampard, John terry in there as well
ABZHFC
25-04-2021, 09:28 PM
To put some context as to why many Hibs fans are very nervous now with our season pretty much riding on winning the Scottish Cup, this is our Hampden record in the twenty-first century.
2000 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Aberdeen, lost 2-1
2001 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Livingston, won 3-0
2001 - Scottish Cup Final: Celtic, lost 3-0
2002 - League Cup Semi Final: Ayr United, lost 1-0 (AET)
2004 - League Cup Semi Final: Rangers, drew 1-1 (Won 4-3 on penalties)
2004 - League Cup Final: Livingston, lost 2-0
2005 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Dundee United, lost 2-1
2006 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Hearts, lost 4-0
2007 - League Cup Final: Kilmarnock, won 5-1
2007 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Dunfermline, drew 0-0
2007 - Scottish Cup Semi Final Replay: Dunfermline, lost 1-0
2012 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Aberdeen, won 2-1
2012 - Scottish Cup Final: Hearts, lost 5-1
2013 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Falkirk, won 4-3 (AET)
2013 - Scottish Cup Final: Celtic, lost 3-0
2015 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Falkirk, lost 1-0
2016 - League Cup Final: Ross County, lost 2-1
2016 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Dundee United, drew 0-0 (Won 4-2 penalties)
2016 - Scottish Cup Final: Rangers, won 3-2
2017 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Aberdeen, lost 3-2
2018 - League Cup Semi Final: Celtic, lost 4-2
2019 - League Cup Semi Final: Celtic, lost 5-2
2020 - Scottish Cup Semi Final: Hearts, lost 2-1 (AET)
2021 - League Cup Semi Final: St Johnstone, lost 3-0
For the sadomasochists who have scrolled this far down, that is 7 successful Hampden trips from 24 this century (less than 30%), with 2 wins from 7 finals (again less than 30%). When you also add in the fact that of those 24 Hampden appearances, only a quarter have been against Celtic or Rangers, and about half have been ties against smaller sides than ourselves, then I think it's pretty clear to see why there are considerable nerves about this scenario
ABZHFC
25-04-2021, 09:29 PM
How many times have hibs been at hampden the past 20 years?
23 times
CloudSquall
25-04-2021, 09:33 PM
Looking at our record it seems that whoever cursed us in 1902 got so peeved off in 2016 they decided to curse us from beyond the grave and upped the ante by screwing us over at the SF stage instead.
Lunatic
25-04-2021, 09:36 PM
I think the idea is that rangers winning it also sealed group stages, regardless if we were in the final or not. But your last sentence is correct.
Oh yeah, you get nothing for being the runner up in the cup now. I forgot about that.
25-04-2021, 09:38 PM
To put some context as to why many Hibs fans are very nervous now with our season pretty much riding on winning the Scottish Cup, this is our Hampden record in the twenty-first century.
For the sadomasochists who have scrolled this far down, that is 7 successful Hampden trips from 24 this century (less than 30%), with 2 wins from 7 finals (again less than 30%). When you also add in the fact that of those 24 Hampden appearances, only a quarter have been against Celtic or Rangers, and about half have been ties against significantly smaller than ourselves, then I think it's pretty clear to see why there are considerable nerves about this scenario
That’s rather abysmal when broken down like that!!
Also competitions seem to “open up” for us in terms of the old firm on the end of a shock but we rarely take advantage
25-04-2021, 09:40 PM
We could’ve been at Hampden twice a year for a hundred years and it wouldn’t mean anything to this year, there’s no “curse” on us...we’ve got the best team left in the tournament, so we’re favourites. The favourite doesn’t always win the cup, but I’d always rather be the best team left in it than the underdog.
Gordy M
25-04-2021, 09:41 PM
That’s rather abysmal when broken down like that!!
Also competitions seem to “open up” for us in terms of the old firm on the end of a shock but we rarely take advantage
However, none of the results detailed above should have any bearing at all on the upcoming semi final.
25-04-2021, 09:43 PM
For the sadomasochists who have scrolled this far down, that is 7 successful Hampden trips from 24 this century (less than 30%), with 2 wins from 7 finals (again less than 30%). When you also add in the fact that of those 24 Hampden appearances, only a quarter have been against Celtic or Rangers, and about half have been ties against significantly smaller than ourselves, then I think it's pretty clear to see why there are considerable nerves about this scenario
I don’t think any single person on this thread has suggested we won’t be nervous going into these massive games. I’m a bit edgy thinking about it now. It’s the idea that we shouldn’t be delighted/grateful to be in the position we are that I don’t agree with. And hibs fans being disappointed rangers didn’t go through because of a likely eventuality, (not a certainty) while we became favourites for the cup as a result, didn’t sit well with some - including me.
It’s this sort of nervous excitement that you should follow a football team for. And quite frankly it’s a buzz I haven’t felt much about club football for a while now with everything that’s going on.
We should be excited about the challenge ahead.
ABZHFC
25-04-2021, 09:44 PM
However, none of the results detailed above should have any bearing at all on the upcoming semi final.
Of course not, they won't change the outcome, but when some on here are surprised/shocked/angered by the 'negativity' of other Hibs fans when we're in an objectively good position to win the cup, it is just worth reminding why so many of us are treading carefully even at this stage, we have seen it all before.
I would love nothing more than for Jack Ross and the boys to shut me up and win the thing, and I sincerely hope any fan who is confident will be laughing at me come May!
25-04-2021, 10:07 PM
Oddshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210425/fa82e8ee6fe23f4022f3d0fee84b445f.jpg
Those odds show that although Hibs are favourites there's very little in the odds between all the teams left
The winners of Killie and St Mirren will see their odds shorten also to around 3/1.
25-04-2021, 10:21 PM
Lets hope Hibs can use this opportunity. We will he favourites for the cup so lets hope our recent failures in semis dont repeat themselves
We have already lost two semi finals St Johnstone should be favourites imo
25-04-2021, 10:38 PM
Of course not, they won't change the outcome, but when some on here are surprised/shocked/angered by the 'negativity' of other Hibs fans when we're in an objectively good position to win the cup, it is just worth reminding why so many of us are treading carefully even at this stage, we have seen it all before.
I would love nothing more than for Jack Ross and the boys to shut me up and win the thing, and I sincerely hope any fan who is confident will be laughing at me come May!
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210425/4c4b3a138662d6ad35baac1edfdcdf9b.jpg
25-04-2021, 10:46 PM
We have already lost two semi finals St Johnstone should be favourites imo
the league table shows we’re comfortably the best team in the competition now.
if we take our chances (which we failed to do in both previous semi finals) we’ll win.
26-04-2021, 05:39 AM
For the sadomasochists who have scrolled this far down, that is 7 successful Hampden trips from 24 this century (less than 30%), with 2 wins from 7 finals (again less than 30%). When you also add in the fact that of those 24 Hampden appearances, only a quarter have been against Celtic or Rangers, and about half have been ties against smaller sides than ourselves, then I think it's pretty clear to see why there are considerable nerves about this scenario
Yes, what surprised me about that weve only played six of those games (W2 L4) against the ‘old firm’, and our win rate is even slightly worse when we haven’t played either of those two at Hampden :dunno:
My own Hampden win record? 0-6 :boo hoo:
26-04-2021, 06:00 AM
I wanted Rangers to win last night and I wanted a Hibs - Rangers final so that we could ensure our target was met, as long as we obviously got 3rd tied up.
Having said that it is always nice to see the Old Firm get knocked out of a cup that we're still in and Hearts are out of.
The fact that we're now favourites though and must go on and win the whole competition does frighten me a bit. Our almost identical experience just a few months ago in the League Cup makes me very nervous.
26-04-2021, 06:13 AM
the league table shows we’re comfortably the best team in the competition now.
if we take our chances (which we failed to do in both previous semi finals) we’ll win.
I accept that but equally we are the team that seem to be more prone to getting pegged back in later stages of games and conceding goals from crosses into the box
I just don’t think we handle being favourites
But you have to be in it to win it and it’s a great chance fir Ross to show we have learnt from our last two Hampden appearances
26-04-2021, 06:29 AM
If we navigate the semi without Boyle and Gogic then we have a real chance of winning it again.
26-04-2021, 06:30 AM
If we navigate the semi without Boyle and Gogic then we have a real chance of winning it again.
He isnt suspended.
26-04-2021, 07:38 AM
I just noticed... Man City won a cup yesterday?!
26-04-2021, 07:43 AM
Thanks for taking the time to do this. It should restore perspective. What it shows emphatically is that Hibs are not a cup side. The Famous Five, Turnbull's Tornadoes, McLeish and Mowbray sides all failed to win the Scottish Cup.
We have a bit of class, which tends to tell over the season, but as cup games with us this year (and with Rangers for that matter) it means little in the cup, and you win that with desire and hunger, rather than football. That was the lesson of 2016 when players like McGinn, Stokes and Gray simply refused to accept defeat.
Watch our St Johnstone and Hearts semi's, where we pretty much outplayed two inferior teams, and watch the way Dundee United and St Johnstone performed at Pittodrie and Ibrox respectively, and tell me 'our name is on the cup'. Had either of those sides got to 2-0 versus Motherwell at home with 9 mins left on the clock, I doubt they'd have needed to sweat through the penalties lottery to get to Hampden.
Like the Huns, we've been smashed out of two cup competitions this season, and I'd say we are the club in the last four less equipped for Scottish Cup success.
surely it’s not meaningless? If we don’t get the cup we'll still be in Europe, with a qualifying round or 2.
Think it’s a bit harsh on the consistency of our team across the season to say it’s meaningless, how often do we finish 3rd?
I despair.
brilliant post :top marks
26-04-2021, 08:25 AM
Holy ****, thats an appalling record.
It does suggest we're due a couple of wins though...
26-04-2021, 12:39 PM
What we've done in the past does not matter, it makes no difference to something that has not happened yet. The only people mentioning the past will be supporters and media.
The management and players will be focusing on what they can achieve, not what they cant change.
26-04-2021, 12:45 PM
surely it’s not meaningless? If we don’t get the cup we'll still be in Europe, with a qualifying round or 2.
Think it’s a bit harsh on the consistency of our team across the season to say it’s meaningless, how often do we finish 3rd?
Meaningless in relation to 3rd vs 4th now.
26-04-2021, 12:58 PM
Meaningless in relation to 3rd vs 4th now.
£250k isn't meaningless. It's a decent player for a year.
Some really shockers in that lot.
Losing to Livi in 2004 after knocking out the OF was a kick in the nuts
Losing to Dunfermline in 2007 after a replay was just heartbreaking
Losing to Falkirk after totally outplaying them in 2015 was difficult to take.
26-04-2021, 01:13 PM
And Ross County!!!
But we can only affect what is in front of us...
Time to dust down the time for heroes flag...
26-04-2021, 01:18 PM
£250k isn't meaningless. It's a decent player for a year.
We go full strength next weekend to secure third, and end up with a suspension and a bad injury, that has a knock on effect to the cup tie. Not only might we lose that game next week anyway, but it also leaves us short for the semi final. Which is more valuable to the club? And which is still 99% likely to happen even if we never picked up another point?
In comparison with winning the cup, third vs fourth is irrelevant. There’s also nothing anywhere which states that it’s £250k the difference.
26-04-2021, 01:22 PM
Failing to score against almost-relegated Dunfermline for three hours with the team we had was probably the worst one.
26-04-2021, 01:28 PM
We go full strength next weekend to secure third, and end up with a suspension and a bad injury, that has a knock on effect to the cup tie. Not only might we lose that game next week anyway, but it also leaves us short for the semi final. Which is more valuable to the club? And which is still 99% likely to happen even if we never picked up another point?
In comparison with winning the cup, third vs fourth is irrelevant. There’s also nothing anywhere which states that it’s £250k the difference.
I’d agree.
Chances are we’re getting 3rd even without picking up another point.
It’s worth the £250k gamble for the potential £4m that the European spot would apparently get you.
26-04-2021, 01:34 PM
Except £250k was the difference between 3rd and 4th last season.
Failing to score against almost-relegated Dunfermline for three hours with the team we had was probably the worst one.
Yes and a few weeks after destroying Kilmarnock in the league cup final. We had a brilliant team but the John Collins/players to Petrie thing killed us.
26-04-2021, 01:47 PM
Here are the figures quoted in April 2019 so would assume a similar split now between 3rd and 4th
https://spfl.co.uk/news/spfl-prize-pot-reaches-25m
26-04-2021, 03:10 PM
Those were hard to bear but on the flip side
We could easily have lost to Dundee United the year we won the cup
Should have lost the 4-3 game to Falkirk
Wish we had lost the 2-1 game to Aberdeen in 2012
Hibernianinc
26-04-2021, 04:56 PM
While a wee bit of grim reading, at the time those matches were being played we were lower in league placing than the opposition on 15 occasions.
I know it doesn’t have a direct bearing, just that more often then not we’ve been up again a team that (by another metric at that time) were better than us.
Obviously not the case for the 2 most recent defeats 🙄
26-04-2021, 05:31 PM
Lafferty out of tonights game.
26-04-2021, 05:37 PM
In an ankle boot apparently so could be a lengthy one. That's Killie goosed I reckon.
Edit: Killie calling it a minor injury.
26-04-2021, 05:44 PM
Good news for the Buddies. Match odds changed?
26-04-2021, 05:49 PM
Good hopefully St Mirren win tonight, I'd feel more confident against them than Kilmarnock.
26-04-2021, 05:49 PM
Thanks, I’ll forgotten about most of these games🙈😂
26-04-2021, 06:34 PM
Dickhead Lafferty isn’t playing tonight.
26-04-2021, 06:38 PM
Be willing St M on tonight.
And then look forward to drawing them in the semi.
Think St Mirren will get through tonight. Massive boost that in-form Lafferty is out through injury.
26-04-2021, 07:01 PM
If Killie win the Cup, presume they will not be able to play any of their European campaign at Rugby Park ? Or does UEFA allow plastic these days ?
26-04-2021, 07:03 PM
Two teams we shouldn’t be afraid of
26-04-2021, 07:04 PM
If Killie win the Cup, presume they will not be able to play any of their European campaign at Rugby Park ? Or does UEFA allow plastic these days ?
They finished 3rd a few years ago so whatever happened then.
26-04-2021, 07:04 PM
Doubt anyone is, 18/18 points against them this season. Absolute fodder.
26-04-2021, 07:07 PM
Chris Burke theatrical dive is "using all his experience" according to a chuckling BBC commentator.
26-04-2021, 07:07 PM
Tuned in out of interest but might just come back at full time for the draw, might be due to the pitch but not pretty viewing!
26-04-2021, 07:11 PM
Oh dear 1-0 Saints
Dearie me!
1-0 to St Mirren. Howler by the Hearts goalie 🤣
Howler from Killie keeper there.
Keeper [emoji85]
26-04-2021, 07:12 PM
Absolute shocker.
26-04-2021, 07:13 PM
What a dreadful game of football so far.
26-04-2021, 07:14 PM
Killie look a man short without Lafferty
26-04-2021, 07:15 PM
Woeful finish
26-04-2021, 07:19 PM
1-0 to St Mirren. Howler by the Hearts goalie 🤣
I find it really unfair that by all accounts he's absolutely horse****, yet pulled off an absolute wondersave from Whittaker the one time we've faced him.
26-04-2021, 07:22 PM
Fingers crossed for either of these teams in the semi.
26-04-2021, 07:23 PM
1-1
Killie equalise. Great corner and great header.