View Full Version : Match Updates 2022-23 season non-Hibs games thread
20-05-2023, 12:49 PM
All set up for us to gift Hearts 3rd place next week now 🤦🏽
This is the way
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 12:51 PM
Aberdeen seem to be over the nrw manager bounce, that bounce has stopped bouncing 🤣
20-05-2023, 12:52 PM
All set up for us to gift Hearts 3rd place next week now 🤦🏽
Aberdeen will beat St Mirren at home on Wednesday and Hearts won’t win at Ibrox. Third will be done by next Saturday.
20-05-2023, 12:53 PM
Not capitalising last week taking its toll
Shankland took his penalty well :wink:
Aberdeen will beat St Mirren at home on Wednesday and Hearts won’t win at Ibrox. Third will be done by next Saturday.
Aberdeen have been pish today so not sure they'll beat St Mirren. Hope they do obviously.
NC1875
20-05-2023, 12:54 PM
I hope so. Because we all know what happens if not.
20-05-2023, 12:55 PM
Not capitalising last week taking its toll
Not just last week. all season we have let teams of the hook with poor finishing
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 12:57 PM
Not just last week. all season we have let teams of the hook with poor finishing
And poor defending, and poor midfield play and ****ed with injuries to our best players
20-05-2023, 12:58 PM
We need to match the Hearts result today v Rangers
GreenGray
20-05-2023, 01:01 PM
Spot on, incredibly frustrating, no point playing well if you can’t score.
Aberdeen look awful today, the fact we will likely finish below them and hearts who had an awful run is pretty poor.
20-05-2023, 01:05 PM
Half decent he is. 😉
What you’ve done there, I see.
DIXIHIBS
20-05-2023, 01:09 PM
Spot on, incredibly frustrating, no point playing well if you can’t score.
Aberdeen look awful today, the fact we will likely finish below them and hearts who had an awful run is pretty poor.
All 3 teams have had poor runs this season tbf. 3 games to go and 3rd 4th and 5th still undecided points to that. We can probably all point to games we should have won but didnt. If anyone had shown any consistency, 3rd place would have been wrapped up by now.
plhibs
20-05-2023, 01:21 PM
Should be about 9/10 minutes added on the way they have been acting since they got the lead.
20-05-2023, 01:23 PM
Hearts have had 30 shots at goal - stats look like one way traffic
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Green Reaper
20-05-2023, 01:25 PM
Hearts have had 30 shots at goal - stats look like one way traffic
Pretty much has been as Don's sat in from the start and just hoofing it up the park
20-05-2023, 01:28 PM
Who's the hearts TV co commentator? He's really annoying.
20-05-2023, 01:32 PM
I like that result. If we are able to make up for some shocking results over the season with a double over the OF (who’s season is done), we could be in a third-place group stage European football shootout with Hearts and Aberdeen on the final day. Lose to Sevco tomorrow, and it’s probably 5th for us which is, realistically, a decent enough season and hopefully still European football.
badabing67
20-05-2023, 01:33 PM
So there it is a must win tomorrow
20-05-2023, 01:35 PM
So there it is a must win tomorrow
A draw in each of the next 2 games may keep us in with a shout of catching hearts
20-05-2023, 01:36 PM
👋🏼 4th
Wouldn’t put it past us getting beat next week and hearts jumping ahead of Aberdeen
Need dons to beat st mirren.
We were a penalty miss away from challenging for third
20-05-2023, 01:36 PM
Tomorrow is a must win.
I can also see St mirren taken points of the dons
20-05-2023, 01:37 PM
Tomorrow is a must win.
I can also see St mirren taken points of the dons
I hope not as it makes 3rd easier for them!!!!
20-05-2023, 01:38 PM
A win against either Rangers or Celtic now required for 4th, at least.
20-05-2023, 01:39 PM
Aberdeen under Robson being found out? Absolutely rotten two games in a row.
20-05-2023, 01:39 PM
Spurs are the comedy punchline they just keeps on giving 😁
BegbieHSC
20-05-2023, 01:40 PM
Not a great result for us, but a win tomorrow, and 3rd could actually be on...
20-05-2023, 01:40 PM
A win against either Rangers or Celtic now required for 4th, at least.
2 draws and a win against them will do (assuming they get beat midweek)
20-05-2023, 01:41 PM
2 draws and a win against them will do (assuming they get beat midweek)
We won’t get two draws against rangers n Celtic. Celtic will tank us at parkhead.
Edit: just realised it’s not parkhead but no sure our chances improve too much
20-05-2023, 01:42 PM
We won’t get two draws against rangers n Celtic. Celtic will tank us at parkhead.
Luckily we are playing them at ER
McGruber
20-05-2023, 01:43 PM
I like that result. If we are able to make up for some shocking results over the season with a double over the OF (who’s season is done), we could be in a third-place group stage European football shootout with Hearts and Aberdeen on the final day. Lose to Sevco tomorrow, and it’s probably 5th for us which is, realistically, a decent enough season and hopefully still European football.
This season overall has not been decent. 5th with a good Hearts and Aberdeen is decent, when they both have manager sacking seasons 5th behind it isn't that great. All assuming we get 5th, that's not guaranteed. That said, beat Rangers and 4th still possible
20-05-2023, 01:44 PM
I'm still pretty hopeful of a win against the hun. They are pretty average for a hun side and have zero to play for. Also think they probably will have sone of their better players out
20-05-2023, 01:49 PM
I'm still pretty hopeful of a win against the hun. They are pretty average for a hun side and have zero to play for. Also think they probably will have sone of their better players out
Is that the average team 37 points ahead of us in the league????
What does that make us then???
20-05-2023, 01:50 PM
And they shot their load last game 😁
20-05-2023, 01:53 PM
It’s only a good result for Hibs, if we win tomorrow
20-05-2023, 01:53 PM
We haven’t beaten Celtic at ER since 2018.
We haven’t beaten Rangers at ER since 2016.
We haven’t beaten Hearts at PBS since 2019.
This season is full of missed opportunities like last week. Sadly our own inconsistencies and poor form has meant we are likely to finish 5th. Frustrating as 3rd was there for the taking.
20-05-2023, 01:54 PM
As posted last week. Can see things turning with Robson very quickly. League football then Thursday European ventures. I’ll be surprised if he gets the full season.
20-05-2023, 01:55 PM
I’m genuinely starting to wonder what hibs team folk have been watching all season
20-05-2023, 01:57 PM
The points that Rangers have after 35 games this season has previously been enough to win the SPL, and is above their average points total across all SPL campaigns.
They don’t appear to be an outstanding team from watching them, but their performance since Beale came in has been excellent.
I fancy us to give them a game, but I felt that the last time (when some folk were saying that they were “there for the taking”) and it was one of the most one sided games I’ve ever seen at ER.
They’re far from average.
NC1875
Rotten most of the season and still above us unfortunately.
Read it again. Average for a hun side. They aren't all that good, we have been poor, we have had refereeing decisions go against us and they never ever do. So aye, we're not great but FOR A HUN SIDE, they are average
20-05-2023, 01:59 PM
I’d love LJ to be found out if it meant us sitting 3rd
20-05-2023, 02:01 PM
Spurs are the comedy punchline they just keeps on giving 😁
Shambles of a club from top to bottom
bringbackbenny
20-05-2023, 02:02 PM
Stevie Mallan scores in the english d2 play off.
20-05-2023, 02:04 PM
Read it again. Average for a hun side. They aren't all that good, we have been poor, we have had refereeing decisions go against us and they never ever do. So aye, we're not great but FOR A HUN SIDE, they are average
Have read it again, but for the life of me I can't see poor decisions against us by referees totalling 37 points?
Sorry!!
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 02:05 PM
Bring him back along with McGeough
A 30 yarder....in off a defender's head though tbf it probably would have tested the keeper.
20-05-2023, 02:07 PM
Goal St Mirren.
Boooooo.
bringbackbenny
A 30 yarder....in off a defender's head though tbf it probably would have tested the keeper.
And Stockport now equalised! 2 mins to go before pens.
Ffs St Mirren take the lead.
20-05-2023, 02:08 PM
Have read it again, but for the life of me I can't see poor decisions against us by referees totalling 37 points?
Sorry!!
They don't, but it helps make an average hun side look better than they are.
DIXIHIBS
20-05-2023, 02:10 PM
We haven’t beaten Celtic at ER since 2018.
We haven’t beaten Rangers at ER since 2016.
We haven’t beaten Hearts at PBS since 2018.
This season is full of missed opportunities like last week. Sadly our own inconsistencies and poor form has meant we are likely to finish 5th. Frustrating as 3rd was there for the taking.
Not sure about other 2 but we beat hertz 2-0 end of 2019...boxing day?
20-05-2023, 02:14 PM
dundee united keper mucks up, anderson pops it in from a real tight angle
20-05-2023, 02:15 PM
1-1 sellick
20-05-2023, 02:17 PM
Looks like Dundee United could drop and probably take Ross County or Killie with them???
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 02:19 PM
Albion rvrs 0 Spartans 1
I think Ive asked this question before but if Spartans win is that then into the Scottish leagues proper ?
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 02:19 PM
Looks like Dundee United could drop and probably take Ross County or Killie with them???
Please be killie
20-05-2023, 02:20 PM
that motherwell pitch looks great
considering the problems they've had with it in the past
20-05-2023, 02:21 PM
Please be killie
Yip from me, another plastic pitch away from the top league!!!
20-05-2023, 02:21 PM
Albion rvrs 0 Spartans 1
I think Ive asked this question before but if Spartans win is that then into the Scottish leagues proper ?
Yes
20-05-2023, 02:22 PM
Albion rvrs 0 Spartans 1
yes
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 02:22 PM
Cheers guys 👍
20-05-2023, 02:23 PM
Livi 1 Dundee U 1
only goal in the premiership games is Bournemouth 0 Man u 1
20-05-2023, 02:27 PM
Not sure about other 2 but we beat hertz 2-0 end of 2019...boxing day?
Good spot.
Bridge hibs
20-05-2023, 02:28 PM
Liverpool 0 villa 1
20-05-2023, 02:28 PM
Albion rvrs 0 Spartans 1
Yes and another plastic pitch.
20-05-2023, 02:30 PM
I know, but seems unfair you win your league, and have to play another 4 games to get into League 2
20-05-2023, 02:33 PM
Spartans pitch is quality, although it's artificial it's probably a higher standard than Livingston and Killie.
20-05-2023, 02:39 PM
Spartans pitch is quality, although it's artificial it's probably a higher standard than Livingston and Killie.
Its still plastic!!!
20-05-2023, 02:40 PM
2-1 St.Mirren.
Off the bar
20-05-2023, 02:41 PM
2-1 St.Mirren.
Ffs
20-05-2023, 02:41 PM
2-1 St mirren goal getting checked for offside
VAR says on 1-2
20-05-2023, 02:42 PM
Ffs
Bad news for us.
20-05-2023, 02:43 PM
2-1 St mirren goal getting checked for offside
I'm not watching the game, but I can see its offside from here!!!!
20-05-2023, 02:45 PM
I'm not watching the game, but I can see its offside from here!!!!
20-05-2023, 02:45 PM
Hopefully Aberdeen beat the Saints on Wednesday.
20-05-2023, 02:47 PM
straight red Killie player
still 0-1 v St Johnstone
20-05-2023, 02:51 PM
Celtic will still win today. Result I expected at Tynecastle. Hopefully we can get a win tomorrow then it's all to play for.
20-05-2023, 02:53 PM
Its still plastic!!!
I don't have any issue with plastic pitches at levels below the Championship. No way they should be allowed in the Premiership but at lower levels they make economic sense as well as often being community hubs for a lot of clubs in their wider area.
20-05-2023, 02:53 PM
Celtic will still win today. Result I expected at Tynecastle. Hopefully we can get a win tomorrow then it's all to play for.
Celtc defence poor without Carter-Vickers. I hope you’re right.
20-05-2023, 02:58 PM
I don't have any issue with plastic pitches at levels below the Championship. No way they should be allowed in the Premiership but at lower levels they may economic sense as well as often being community hubs for a lot of clubs in their wider area.
This is what I was going to say. Spartans and their community charity benefit hugely by having an artificial surface they can use and rent out all year round.
20-05-2023, 03:00 PM
Watching Wolves vs Everton 1-0 Half time.
Everton have had a few chances but no goal then wolves looked the better team and scored.
DCL off injured again.
20-05-2023, 03:07 PM
penalty Ross co @ Motherwell
VAR says naw
studio says yet another wrong decision by VAR
20-05-2023, 03:12 PM
that motherwell pitch looks great
considering the problems they've had with it in the past
And they have finally levelled it up as well!
Remember a couple of seasons ago going through there with Lewis on the left playing away from the Hibs fans…by the time he got to the bottom left of the pitch you were lucky if you could see his head the slope was so pronounced [emoji1787]
Silky
20-05-2023, 03:17 PM
2-1 St.Mirren.
Johnson out.
20-05-2023, 03:18 PM
Livi 2 Dundee u 1
20-05-2023, 03:19 PM
It’s really not quality as it gets so much use. They do look after it but when you see it up close it’s not exactly great.
DIXIHIBS
20-05-2023, 03:19 PM
Cmon celtic ffs.
20-05-2023, 03:20 PM
This is what I was going to say. Spartans and their community charity benefit hugely by having an artificial surface they can use and rent out all year round.
This is true - no way grass could withstand the usage.
20-05-2023, 03:24 PM
Since purchasing the Overgate shopping centre in Dundee, Mike Ashley is rebranding it to give it a Dundee United theme.
It’ll be called the Relegate.
20-05-2023, 03:24 PM
And they have finally levelled it up as well!
Remember a couple of seasons ago going through there with Lewis on the left playing away from the Hibs fans…by the time he got to the bottom left of the pitch you were lucky if you could see his head the slope was so pronounced [emoji1787]
i never realised they had a slope, most likely because i'm usually in the top section when there
ah well at least we made a song about ours :)
20-05-2023, 03:27 PM
Dundee u presently 3 points adrift at the bottom from Killie, and at home v killie on wednesday huge game for both
20-05-2023, 03:28 PM
Cmon celtic ffs.
St Mirren looking very comfortable atm. Celtic players don't look interested.
Should be 1-4. Curtis Main has missed 2 sitters
20-05-2023, 03:28 PM
Well they are leaving it very late
20-05-2023, 03:30 PM
St Mirren looking very comfortable atm. Celtic players don't look interested.
Should be 1-4. Curtis Main has missed 2 sitters
We're going to finish 6th aren't we 😢.
20-05-2023, 03:34 PM
The exact same thing happened a while back when McGhee beat us to 3rd with Motherwell. Went to Parkhead and won.
20-05-2023, 03:36 PM
Sackable offence.
20-05-2023, 03:38 PM
Don't worry mate, we will have the League Cup group stage.
Sackable offence.[emoji1787]
curtis main hits the post
sellick hit post at the other end
20-05-2023, 03:40 PM
[emoji1787]
To finish 6th now and hand the European place to st mirren would be absolutely criminal
20-05-2023, 03:40 PM
2-2 sellick
20-05-2023, 03:41 PM
To finish 6th now and hand the European place to st mirren would be absolutely criminalChill out mate, he's no Myra Hindley
I’m genuinely starting to wonder what hibs team folk have been watching all season
One that’s as likely to be half decent as it is to be absolutely mince, and one who gave Celtic a tough game with 10 men the last time we were through there?
Not saying I expect us to win either of these games but I don’t think it’s beyond us to make games with them uncomfortable, particularly home games that are dead rubbers for them where they might be under strength.
We just have to do what we can.
4 or 6 points from 9 is a big ask with the fixtures we have but it most probably gets us European football.
Can only hope this Iwata boy plays at centre half against us. Total mess.
20-05-2023, 03:43 PM
2-2 sellick
Great goal from McGregor. Lucky, lucky Celtic to be 2-2.
20-05-2023, 03:43 PM
Thankfully it’s 2-2
Great goal from McGregor. Lucky, lucky Celtic to be 2-2.
Phew!
20-05-2023, 03:47 PM
Can never trust celtic to do us a favour. It's not often I actually want them to win.
SJNB Hibby
20-05-2023, 03:50 PM
Looks like The Spartans are coming up
20-05-2023, 03:50 PM
4 minutes added time at Cliftonhill. Spartans see it out and Edinburgh will have 4 teams in the league set up next year.
Benny Brazil
20-05-2023, 03:51 PM
It’s really not quality as it gets so much use. They do look after it but when you see it up close it’s not exactly great.
When you play on it, it is one of the better artificial surfaces, but being a coach at Spartans youths am a bit biased 😀
Anyway cmon Spartans would be some achievement
20-05-2023, 03:53 PM
Spartans in League 2 next season.
20-05-2023, 03:54 PM
To finish 6th now and hand the European place to st mirren would be absolutely criminal
Agree. We need to bring it tomorrow.
20-05-2023, 03:55 PM
Is there such a thing as a Spartans fan, or is it folk who've played for them that follow them? Same with FC Edinburgh?
Spartans in League 2 next season.
Fantastic!
St mirren still two points behind us so will need 3 points from their games against
A- Aberdeen
H- Sevco
i'm confident they won't get 3 points from those two
20-05-2023, 03:56 PM
An achievement for any side to get out of the Lowland or Highland League as it's so weighted to maintaining the status quo.
Most of the teams who have gone up have added something to the league and with all due respect to the teams they have replaced, arguably with the exception of Brechin, there is a reason those who have gone down are miles away from coming back up.
Delighted for Spartans looked making it for a long time then Edin city seemed to gazump them great achievement hopefully they can stay up and push on up the leagues
20-05-2023, 03:57 PM
Penalty well
97th min
FT Livi 2 Dundee u 1
what a bummer for ross co conceding a late penalty at motherwell 1-0
Benny Brazil
Is there such a thing as a Spartans fan, or is it folk who've played for them that follow them? Same with FC Edinburgh?
There is - we even have our own ultras! But yes it tends to be people who have a connection to the club, either as a player, employee, kids who use the Community services or parents who have kids at the club
Steven79
20-05-2023, 03:58 PM
St mirren still two points behind us so will need 3 points from their games against
A- Aberdeen
H- Sevco
i'm confident they won't get 3 points from those twoWouldn't surprise me if they managed to get points from those two games.
Aberdeen are looking crap at the minute and Rangers could be on their holidays by that point.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
20-05-2023, 03:59 PM
An achievement for any side to get out of the Lowland or Highland League as it's so weighted to maintaining the status quo.
Most of the teams who have gone up have added something to the league and with all due respect to the teams they have replaced, arguably with the exception of Brechin, there is a reason those who have gone down are miles away from coming back up.
Very true. It's a shame to lose clubs from the league that have been part of it for years but it's how it has to be.
Reckon Brechin will be super fired up to make it third time lucky next season and I reckon they'll be the first club to come back.
I'd say I'm a bit of both. Played there but if Hibs are away and I don't make the trip then I'll usually head to Ainslie Park as a fan. They play Hibs in the cups and there is only one team I want to win though and they don't play in red and white. Averaging 2 or 300 at home games this season so there is definitely a lot of regular fans.
Like many clubs at that level they have a solid youth section and a lot of those lads go along and watch as they get in for free. Like most team below the Championship (and in the case of the likes of Queens Park even in the Championship) the ability to build a really big fanbase is limited.
Dundee utd are utter garbage and we haven't beaten them this season!!
20-05-2023, 04:01 PM
Wouldn't surprise me if they managed to get points from those two games.
Aberdeen are looking crap at the minute and Rangers could be on their holidays by that point.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
i think the best they can hope for is a point from each game but our GD is +10 over them at the mo
20-05-2023, 04:02 PM
Dundee utd are utter garbage and we haven't beaten them this season!!
I have been telling myself it's horrendous facts like that which are the reason we're not really in the mix for third, maybe not even fourth, but the result last week is fresher and it's what, irrationally, I'm still beilin about!
20-05-2023, 04:02 PM
quite astonishing Everton equalise at Wolves on 8 mins+ 54 seconds of 9 mins added
**** right off
20-05-2023, 04:05 PM
There is - we even have our own ultras! But yes it tends to be people who have a connection to the club, either as a player, employee, kids who use the Community services or parents who have kids at the club
What sort of crowds will they get in League 3
Hamilton V Airdrie 17.15 kick off live on BBC Alba, Airdrie one nil up from first game
20-05-2023, 04:06 PM
Yyyyeeeessssss. Yerry Mina!!!!!
20-05-2023, 04:09 PM
I have been telling myself it's horrendous facts like that which are the reason we're not really in the mix for third, maybe not even fourth, but the result last week is fresher and it's what, irrationally, I'm still beilin about!
It is things like that. St Johnstone at home when cruising at 1-0 and lost after MaGennis got sent off. Aberdeen last week, Motherwell 3-1 at home, utd 1-0 away. All horrible results off the top of my head. Need some consistency
Benny Brazil
20-05-2023, 04:10 PM
What sort of crowds will they get in League 3
As PB has said there is a core of around 300 who go regularly. With the run they have been on to get promoted and the interest that has generated within the club and the local area that could at least double next season - lots of younger kids have really bought into the club
20-05-2023, 04:13 PM
As PB has said there is a core of around 300 who go regularly. With the run they have been on to get promoted and the interest that has generated within the club and the local area that could at least double next season - lots of younger kids have really bought into the club
Great to hear, might get along to the odd game as well. Couple of ex Hibbes in the squad, Kevin Waugh and Gregor Woods too
20-05-2023, 04:23 PM
Josh Doig injured? Not even in their squad tonight
20-05-2023, 04:26 PM
You could say the same about Albion Rovers. 90% of Coatbridge will be Celtic and the other 10% will be Rangers.
One less West of Scotland team is a net gain for diversity in the league setup IMO.
Tully
20-05-2023, 04:32 PM
Josh Doig injured? Not even in their squad tonight
Injured
zitelli62
20-05-2023, 04:32 PM
Sorry I don't like Spartans I come from the area but played for craigroyston at the old city park ,Spartans always got priority with things like the Scottish cup but craigroyston couldn't because they ground shared always stuck in my throat then redevelopment came along guess who got the fancy ground and facilities not craigroyston.
I sound a bitter old man suppose I am though it's good another edinburgh club is in the league's but will always be a craigroyston man.
20-05-2023, 04:42 PM
I think Robson is going to be a disaster at Aberdeen. They've had a flukey run but back to their usual dross. Midweek and weekend football for them until Christmas if they stumble to 3rd. Disaster waiting to happen.
20-05-2023, 04:46 PM
Why all the union jacks in the Airdrie end?
JamesHFC
20-05-2023, 04:49 PM
Celtic equaliser was a relief. If we win tomorrow then the Aberdeen result suddenly becomes a decent result for us. The odds of us winning our remaining 3 games are an extremely long shot but anything can happen in football.
1 point from our remaining 3 games should see 5th wrapped up. Be surprised if the Saints take 4 points from their games.
20-05-2023, 04:49 PM
We hate jam tarts and we hate Airdree.
Accies do nothing for me but hope they build on their lead to gub that gang. Diamonds fans will be loving Rovers going down, really hope they don't have their dream day.
20-05-2023, 04:50 PM
They're mad for it. Mind them having a massive one at ER when we played them during the Great Adventure.
20-05-2023, 04:50 PM
Never been to Airdrie?
The Arsenal collapse continues, 0-1 down at Forest.
20-05-2023, 04:52 PM
Never been to Airdrie?
Many times, maybe I’m just nieve
20-05-2023, 05:03 PM
Many times, maybe I’m just nieve
There was one time at Broomfield when a flute band joined the home crowd early in the second half. Think it says it all about the flags.
20-05-2023, 05:10 PM
You could say the same about Albion Rovers. 90% of Coatbridge will be Celtic and the other 10% will be Rangers.
One less West of Scotland team is a net gain for diversity in the league setup IMO.
Teams like Albion are a frustration for me. They have history - they were formed only seven years after us - though their history is fairly undistinguished in fairness.
The frustration is that Coatbridge isn't small, it's got a bigger population than Falkirk or Greenock and isn't far off Kilmarnock, Perth and Ayr
EDIT - I said their history wasn't that distinguished but had forgotten about Bernie Slaven and Vic Kasule - two cult legends who found a kindred spirit in one another in North Lanarkshire :greengrin
20-05-2023, 05:16 PM
What’s Arteta’s issue with Tierney? Never plays him and playing Xhaka at left back ahead of him. Sure there’s a Scottish bias, but I’d rather have Tierney than Zinchenko.
20-05-2023, 05:16 PM
I wasn't having a pop, just something I've been wondering today.
20-05-2023, 05:17 PM
I see Craig Napier is ref fir the Accies V Airdrie game. Hopefully he stays at that level.
20-05-2023, 05:18 PM
Well done to the Spartans on their promotion but sadly like the vast majority of clubs in the bottom two leagues they actually don't enhance the Scottish professional game. Edinburgh does not need or can support 4 pro clubs. It's time the league was cut too around 32 clubs, two leagues of sixteen and they should be full time.
Bradford lost today in league 2 playoffs and have already told 15k season tickets for next year. Spartans and Edinburgh City will be lucky to have 500 between them.
20-05-2023, 05:19 PM
https://fb.watch/kEKC_KCHZy/
Sorry if posted
20-05-2023, 05:22 PM
Atalanta 3 v 1 Verona
20-05-2023, 05:29 PM
Well done to the Spartans on their promotion but sadly like the vast majority of clubs in the bottom two leagues they actually don't enhance the Scottish professional game. Edinburgh does not need or can support 4 pro clubs. It's time the league was cut too around 32 clubs, two leagues of sixteen and they should be full time.
Bradford lost today in league 2 playoffs and have already told 15k season tickets for next year. Spartans and Edinburgh City will be lucky to have 500 between them.
Bradford regularly have bigger crowds than us . Should we pack it in?
Two leagues of sixteen would be hopeless. We’’re coming to the end of a season when recently nearly every team in every league had something to play for. Two of sixteen would mean half the games
every week were meaningless.
HFC93
20-05-2023, 05:31 PM
Struggling to see why Bradford's crowds are relevant to Spartans getting promoted.
20-05-2023, 05:31 PM
My gut feeling is that I agree with you but I don't know if we can point to how that would improve the game and also that it wouldn't affect attendances, even if they are modest at a lot of places already.
Where I see a definite weakness in the current set up is the amount it must cost Stranraer to go to Peterhead, etc. I'd rather wee clubs (that is horribly patronising, Iknow) spent their limited money on players and facilities. We need to regionalise more but I'm not sure how we do it. Some of the distances travelled in the Highland League are mad for clubs on shoestrings but if you regionalise that league more, you'll kill some clubs.
Sorry, should have set up a new thread for this!
20-05-2023, 05:32 PM
Does cutting the number of teams in the league set up do anything for attendances though?
If you say to Brechin, Arbroath, Montrose and Forfar 'right sorry lads 4 of you is too many in relatively close proximity so only Arbroath are staying in the league set up' are fans of the other 3 going to start supporting them? They are more likely to follow their own team at whatever level they end up at or walk away from football altogether if the plan is just to shut clubs down entirely.
The Mercer takeover was over 2 decades ago but my grandad hasn't set foot in Tynecastle since. I doubt even the passage of time would have me or any of my family supporting a united Edinburgh team called Heart of Midlothian regardless of how successful they might have been.
We might sneer at certain clubs as 'tinpot' or whatever other words get thrown about but to their fans they are every bit as important as Hibs are to us. The for the greater good stuff is all a bit too old firm for my taste.
20-05-2023, 05:52 PM
Sit down, Airdrie.
20-05-2023, 06:02 PM
Sit down, Airdrie.
Stand up again.😂😂
20-05-2023, 06:02 PM
Stand up again.😂😂
Aye. Booooooooo!
20-05-2023, 06:04 PM
We could do with Airdie coming up as 2 of our youngsters are going there next season
20-05-2023, 06:05 PM
Does cutting the number of teams in the league set up do anything for attendances though?
If you say to Brechin, Arbroath, Montrose and Forfar 'right sorry lads 4 of you is too many in relatively close proximity so only Arbroath are staying in the league set up' are fans of the other 3 going to start supporting them? They are more likely to follow their own team at whatever level they end up at or walk away from football altogether if the plan is just to shut clubs down entirely.
The Mercer takeover was over 2 decades ago but my grandad hasn't set foot in Tynecastle since. I doubt even the passage of time would have me or any of my family supporting a united Edinburgh team called Heart of Midlothian regardless of how successful they might have been.
We might sneer at certain clubs as 'tinpot' or whatever other words get thrown about but to their fans they are every bit as important as Hibs are to us. The for the greater good stuff is all a bit too old firm for my taste.
I’m not sneering but most of the clubs in the bottom two leagues are poorer run and have smaller supports than some junior teams. No one can be happy with amount of league clubs there are in Scotland? Albion Rovers won’t be a loss to the league just like Berwick weren’t but neither would The Spartans or Edinburgh City. Having 2 full time leagues would enhance the game in Scotland. I’m also not saying teams should merge but the these clubs would find their level outwith the professional game.
20-05-2023, 06:05 PM
No time for Airdrie, but can't help a wry smile at Hamilton chucking a 2-1 playoff lead in the last minute.
20-05-2023, 06:07 PM
We could do with Airdie coming up as 2 of our youngsters are going there next season
Dunno they are scoring for fun the league they’re in. Won’t do Josh o Connor’s confidence any harm at all getting in on that kind of action.
20-05-2023, 06:14 PM
Lepizig just went 2-1 up at Bayern. Means Dortmund can go top with thier game in hand tomorrow.
Title going to last game of the season next week
20-05-2023, 06:16 PM
Gutted Bradford lost today, was ready to book my flight to London for the playoff final.
Just_Jimmy
20-05-2023, 06:19 PM
Lepizig just went 2-1 up at Bayern. Means Dortmund can go top with thier game in hand tomorrow.
Title going to last game of the season next week3-1. Dortmund will win it with 2 wins. Totally in their hands now.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
JamesHFC
20-05-2023, 06:20 PM
3-1. Dortmund will win it with 2 wins. Totally in their hands now.
Sacking Nagelsmann was premature. They were still in contention of all trophies at the time.
Just_Jimmy
20-05-2023, 06:26 PM
Sacking Nagelsmann was premature. They were still in contention of all trophies at the time.Delighted. I cannot stand them. Hopefully Dortmund can see it home.
There was one time at Broomfield when a flute band joined the home crowd early in the second half. Think it says it all about the flags.80s? was at a game then when that happened. A guy sat next to us in the boozer "for safety" as another local had bitten his ear off the night before.
The big NI style murals are also a bit of a giveaway.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
20-05-2023, 06:27 PM
Sacking Nagelsmann was premature. They were still in contention of all trophies at the time.
Totally. Was a really poor way to treat him and maybe a bit of karma for them.
JamesHFC
20-05-2023, 06:31 PM
Man City win the league with 3 games to spare. Won by a minimum of 10 points shall they win their remaining 3 games.
A huge win for Forest and are now safe. Keeping Cooper in charge paid off, glad they kept him after getting them up in the first place.
Donegal Hibby
20-05-2023, 06:41 PM
Man City win the league with 3 games to spare. Won by a minimum of 10 points shall they win their remaining 3 games.
A huge win for Forest and are now safe. Keeping Cooper in charge paid off, glad they kept him after getting them up in the first place.
Thought cooper was a dead man walking a while back though fair dues to Nottingham forest board for backing there manager as it's paid off big time . It just goes to show that sticking by a manager is sometimes the right decision :wink:
20-05-2023, 06:42 PM
Thought cooper was a dead man walking a while back though fair dues to Nottingham forest board for backing there manager as it's paid off big time . It just goes to show that sticking by a manager is sometimes the right decision :wink:
The recruitment head paid the price. How many players did they sign this season
Donegal Hibby
20-05-2023, 06:49 PM
The recruitment head paid the price. How many players did they sign this season
Think it was around about 20 players they took in . Must have had problems with there recruitment too!
20-05-2023, 06:50 PM
Looked a certain pen turned down for Hamilton by that awful ref Napier.
20-05-2023, 06:51 PM
Looked a certain pen turned down for Hamilton by that awful ref Napier.
He really is a poor poor ref.
20-05-2023, 06:57 PM
Off you pop Hamilton.
20-05-2023, 06:58 PM
Hamilton relegated after losing a play-off final on penalties after conceding in injury time. Now you know how we felt lads. :aok:
20-05-2023, 07:00 PM
What’s Arteta’s issue with Tierney? Never plays him and playing Xhaka at left back ahead of him. Sure there’s a Scottish bias, but I’d rather have Tierney than Zinchenko.
It's a tactical thing, happpened well before the slump. Arteta wants the LB to come in to the centre to allow an MF to push up - namely the one who isn't in either of the roles that Odegaard and Partey are first-choice for. That's usually been Xhaka, who has probably had the best season of his Arsenal career this term - virtually ever-present with seven goals and seven assists. Zinchenko does that better than Tierney, hence why he has started and with him out Xhaka sort of makes sense in a way (and he has played at LB a good few times in the past).
It's a shame because I think Tierney has always been great for Arsenal when called upon, great in defensive one-to-ones, great in making and showing for passes going up the left and great in whipping in pinpoint crosses. He can play LB, left wing-back and even left in a back three if required. It wasnt that long ago he was being talked about as long-term captaincy material.
Sadly I think its just one of those things where the manager wants to play a certain way and feels he already has the best peg for that hole. Tierney is far too good not to be starting regularly and wouldn't look out of place in a Champions' League squad. It would be nice for Arsenal to be able to keep him but in fairness to the player he probably has to move. At 25 he should be a stick-on and one of the proverbial first names on a team sheet.
20-05-2023, 07:00 PM
2 Hibs players, Aitken and O’Connor playing in the championship next season
20-05-2023, 07:01 PM
Torn on this one. Not mad keen on Hamilton but really don't like Airdrie.
Probably good for Hibs to have our loanees playing at a higher level so I'll lean towards being fairly happy.
20-05-2023, 07:05 PM
I trust Police Scotland will be getting prepared for the dawn raids on all the Airdrie punters that are on the pitch.
20-05-2023, 07:06 PM
Probably good for Hibs to have our loanees playing at a higher level so I'll lean towards being fairly happy.
I think Airdrie going up might actually restrict the two lads game time. Hope I’m wrong but it must influence the managers thinking.
20-05-2023, 07:07 PM
Hamilton relegated after losing a play-off final on penalties after conceding in injury time. Now you know how we felt lads. :aok:
That's great news :aok:
20-05-2023, 07:10 PM
Might not get as much game time at the higher level though?
20-05-2023, 07:12 PM
Glad John Rankin has suffered a relegation. I have an irrational dislike for the guy.
20-05-2023, 07:19 PM
Glad John Rankin has suffered a relegation. I have an irrational dislike for the guy.
Same here.
20-05-2023, 07:22 PM
Thought it was just me.
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-05-2023, 07:28 PM
Same, seriously dislike his face. Looks like his breath stinks of instant coffee.
20-05-2023, 08:35 PM
I think Airdrie going up might actually restrict the two lads game time. Hope I’m wrong but it must influence the managers thinking.
They had some team at one time with a great half back line out of which we took Jim Black, much maligned centre half from the Tornadoes team.
Some real hard F***ers amongst them and always very difficult to beat back in the day. the later side with the ex huns was just a dirty team on and off the park.
20-05-2023, 09:41 PM
They had some team at one time with a great half back line out of which we took Jim Black, much maligned centre half from the Tornadoes team.
Some real hard F***ers amongst them and always very difficult to beat back in the day. the later side with the ex huns was just a dirty team on and off the park.
Different club now. That one died.
20-05-2023, 10:06 PM
80s? was at a game then when that happened. A guy sat next to us in the boozer "for safety" as another local had bitten his ear off the night before.
The big NI style murals are also a bit of a giveaway.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Late 80s or very early 90s. Bit of a running battle after the game going back to the buses. A few of the flute crew involved in that.
ErinGoBraghHFC
21-05-2023, 08:55 AM
Teams like Albion are a frustration for me. They have history - they were formed only seven years after us - though their history is fairly undistinguished in fairness.
The frustration is that Coatbridge isn't small, it's got a bigger population than Falkirk or Greenock and isn't far off Kilmarnock, Perth and Ayr
EDIT - I said their history wasn't that distinguished but had forgotten about Bernie Slaven and Vic Kasule - two cult legends who found a kindred spirit in one another in North Lanarkshire :greengrin
I know one person who supports Albion Rovers… well, kind of. They support der hun but they go to Albion Rovers games if they can’t get a ticket. I’m not going to be a hypocrite and say everyone in Coatbridge should support their local team, you’ll no catch me at a Larkhall Thistle (fairly sure they’re closest to me but not 100%) game any time soon. But it is a bit mental how little support they have considering how many people live in Coatbridge, Glenboig etc.
21-05-2023, 12:48 PM
1-0 Leeds
inevitable when you set yet side up to defend and not much else 1-1
now Bamford off with his latest injury
Bamford lasted 30 mins, he'll be retiring soon if he keeps getting injured every time he kicks a ball.
21-05-2023, 01:12 PM
Bamford lasted 30 mins, he'll be retiring soon if he keeps getting injured every time he kicks a ball.
£75k/week
and a contract until 2026
21-05-2023, 01:22 PM
lord knows what's happened with Gnonto in recent months, he's been really poor probably just coincidence starting from around when he/his agent were starting to think he should really be at one of the top clubs instead.
21-05-2023, 02:03 PM
just about to say you wouldn't think leeds needed the win here and west ham players just had a game on thursday
and now 2-1
21-05-2023, 02:21 PM
Different club now. That one died.
You mean just like the team we now know as Sevco or the The rangers?
21-05-2023, 02:26 PM
another easy £500k for big Sam Allardyce
21-05-2023, 02:30 PM
3-1 The Hammers ft
Man City with about 10 changes to their team and still strolling against Chelsea, 1-0.
21-05-2023, 03:37 PM
Man City with about 10 changes to their team and still strolling against Chelsea, 1-0.
Joy to watch as usual. Chelsea starting to play better now.
21-05-2023, 03:39 PM
Party atmosphere at the Etihad 😴
21-05-2023, 04:22 PM
What a boring game 😴
21-05-2023, 04:55 PM
Every Chelsea player attacked, Chelsea making a statement as we speak.
21-05-2023, 05:00 PM
Party atmosphere at the Etihad 😴
The most plastic of plastic clubs. Title stripping on the way I hope :greengrin
davy67 +
21-05-2023, 05:01 PM
Rangers ladies losing to an injury time goal :wink:
21-05-2023, 05:04 PM
The most plastic of plastic clubs. Title stripping on the way I hope :greengrin
Even the title celebrations look lame.
Really hope Inter beat them in the champions league final.
21-05-2023, 05:05 PM
Some proper weirdos on that pitch.
21-05-2023, 05:19 PM
Those dressing room celebrations. :faf:
Seen better celebrations watching us score against Bonnyrigg.
21-05-2023, 05:27 PM
Abu Dhabi United Group buy another premiership title
Was at Wembley again for English non league cup finals.
Great stadium
Great transport links
Overpriced everywhere and the game was absolutely crap. Halifax 1 Gateshead 0.
MartinfaePorty
22-05-2023, 10:45 AM
I was at Carlisle v Bradford on Saturday. Fantastic weather, crowd over 15k, and folk able to eat and drink outside the ground. Game was very poor quality, but the extra time was exciting and a good old fashioned pitch invasion at the end. Hope they go up, as they have a very large fan base.
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 07:15 PM
Have to be honest, I thought that should have been a red card for Bruno
Paul1642
22-05-2023, 07:19 PM
Interesting season finales across Europe with some of the usual top teams being knocked from the top. Dortmund two points clear at the top of Bundesliga going into the last game. Athletico Madrid are 1 point ahead of Real with 3 to play in the battle for 2nd place. Juventus have just been docked 10 points (previously were docked 15 which was successfully appealed) which leaves them outwith any European places with 3 to play however they could still make the champions league if results go their way (they are currently 2-0 down after 30 minutes in one of those 3 games)
22-05-2023, 07:28 PM
Interesting season finales across Europe with some of the usual top teams being knocked from the top. Dortmund two points clear at the top of Bundesliga going into the last game. Athletico Madrid are 1 point ahead of Real with 3 to play in the battle for 2nd place. Juventus have just been docked 10 points (previously were docked 15 which was successfully appealed) which leaves them outwith any European places with 3 to play however they could still make the champions league if results go their way (they are currently 2-0 down after 30 minutes in one of those 3 games)
what on earth is going on over there in Italy with Juventus? 15 points off, 15 points back on, 10 points off.. it’s all a bit ridiculous
22-05-2023, 07:40 PM
Terrible game so far.
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 07:44 PM
Terrible game so far.
Aye , it's been really poor tbh . A goal might help improve it . Especially if it's for Newcastle btw :greengrin
A bit more composure required in final third. Newcastle trying to force things.
Willock and Joelinton big losses this evening.
22-05-2023, 07:58 PM
He should be off the park simple as that
Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 08:04 PM
what on earth is going on over there in Italy with Juventus? 15 points off, 15 points back on, 10 points off.. it’s all a bit ridiculous
Was going to say the same. What a mess.
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 08:12 PM
A bit more composure required in final third. Newcastle trying to force things.
Willock and Joelinton big losses this evening.
Agree , Leicester defending for there lives but surely there's a goal coming .
Both players have been excellent , especially Joelinton imo
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 08:14 PM
He should be off the park simple as that
Looked a bad one and I would have no complaints if it had been red tbh
22-05-2023, 08:14 PM
Such a one sided game. Bit boring. It's like Celtic v Ayr United or something.
Agree , Leicester defending for there lives but surely there's a goal coming .
Both players have been excellent , especially Joelinton imo
They are and it has a hint of sucker punch about it.
Joelinton has been a revelation
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 08:33 PM
They are and it has a hint of sucker punch about it.
Joelinton has been a revelation
It wouldn't surprise me if that happened tbh 😳
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 08:56 PM
Blow the whistle REF :worried:
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 08:59 PM
Champions League football for the Toon army :partyhibb
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 09:14 PM
It's in Everton's hands now . I know Leicester have west ham . Who's the toffees got ?
22-05-2023, 09:18 PM
It's in Everton's hands now . I know Leicester have west ham . Who's the toffees got ?
bournemouth at home
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2023, 09:21 PM
bournemouth at home
Thanks 👍 Good chance they could win that one
22-05-2023, 09:23 PM
If Everton win, they’re safe.
If Everton draw, and Leicester beat West Ham, Leicester survive and Everton go down on goal difference.
if Everton draw and Leeds beat Spurs by several goals, Leeds can stay up - unless Leicester win too.
anyway let’s keep it simple, if Everton win they’re safe, and Leicester and Leeds need to win to have a chance of survival.
If Everton win, they’re safe.
If Everton draw, and Leicester beat West Ham, Leicester survive and Everton go down on goal difference.
if Everton draw and Leeds beat Spurs by several goals, Leeds can stay up - unless Leicester win too.
anyway let’s keep it simple, if Everton win they’re safe, and Leicester and Leeds need to win to have a chance of survival.
To make it really simple they all need to win. :greengrin
23-05-2023, 06:34 AM
Must be a while since all three promoted clubs stayed up?
23-05-2023, 10:29 AM
Must be a while since all three promoted clubs stayed up?
Good observation. I’m not sure.
Brilliant from the promoted clubs.
23-05-2023, 07:05 PM
i see Sevco will enter the champions league in the 3rd qualifying round stage, i'd be very surprised if they didn't get through to the play-off round
they already know a couple of sides they could face in the qualifying round
Sturm Graz
Union Saint-Gilloise
Servette
Dnipro
Panathinaikos
a doddle for them imo
24-05-2023, 06:49 PM
VAR check, given
so soon
Sevco 0 Heartz 1
Livi 0 Motherwell 1, van veen, of course
24-05-2023, 06:52 PM
A bit sad to hear Tina Turner singing ‘Simply the Best’ at the start of the game at Ibrox. She died today at the age of 83.
24-05-2023, 06:55 PM
An early goal from Hearts might spur Aberdeen to push on against St Mirren.
24-05-2023, 07:02 PM
huge goal Dundee U 0 Killie 1
Aberdeen 1 St Mirren 0
24-05-2023, 07:07 PM
Fiorentina 1 Inter 0
cameronw-hfc
24-05-2023, 07:09 PM
Hearts 1-0 rangers. Terrible for us
24-05-2023, 07:10 PM