View Full Version : Match Updates 2022-23 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

04-08-2022, 08:45 PM
McFadden is an absolute slaver ......

04-08-2022, 08:45 PM
When United signed Levitt last season he had barely played any football. Certainly nowhere near proven at any senior level of the game.

He is proven now though....

04-08-2022, 08:46 PM
By next weekend Utd will be out of Europe and four or five points behind us in the league, IMO.

04-08-2022, 08:47 PM
No surprise really, he’s a good manager and showed that with us.

Not in his last 9 games he never.

He is proven now though....

Correct. So their strategy of signing a young, unproven player in midfield has worked out nicely for them. Hopefully the same for us with a couple we’ve signed this summer.

McGruber
Will he get them to third, like he did with us?

Don't see it

He'll probably hope not... he'll get the sack!

04-08-2022, 08:48 PM
When United signed Levitt last season he had barely played any football. Certainly nowhere near proven at any senior level of the game.

What would you say constitutes "proven"?

He was outstanding for them over a full season last season and should be reasonably expected to kick on and improve as a result of his exposure to first team football.

If Hibs were to sign someone who had been their best player the previous season, even if it had only been for that season on loan, then I'd consider that player to have proven himself to be up to playing at that level.

Aye but any time he's played, he's looked class.

Widhibs
Levitt and McGrath are very good footballers.

04-08-2022, 08:49 PM
What would you say constitutes "proven"?

He was outstanding for them over a full season last season and should be reasonably expected to kick on and improve as a result of his exposure to first team football.

If Hibs were to sign someone who had been their best player the previous season, even if it had only been for that season on loan, then I'd consider that player to have proven himself to be up to playing at that level.

Sorry, I meant before United signed him last season. He’d barely kicked a ball before they got him on loan.

04-08-2022, 08:49 PM
AZ decide to start playing with 5 mins left.

04-08-2022, 08:52 PM
Full time 1-0 Dundee Utd.

Fully expect them to go out next week but that's a great result for them.

Souter96Mac
04-08-2022, 08:52 PM
Probably bitter, but from what I've seen AZ have been pish. United look decent, similar to what we looked like in the covid season, difficult to break down, but not very attacking.

04-08-2022, 08:53 PM
Made up for the utter embarrassment Motherwell gave us. Great result.

04-08-2022, 08:53 PM
Well done,United. Thought they'd pay not scoring from their early pressure but they really deserved that.

04-08-2022, 08:54 PM
Correct. So their strategy of signing a young, unproven player in midfield has worked out nicely for them. Hopefully the same for us with a couple we’ve signed this summer.

Yes but they actually supplemented minimal unproven signings with more proven players with good SPFL and above experience. If Levitt didn't workout as a loan it wouldn't have mattered too much. Once he was proven, they actually signed him permanently.

We did sign McGeady and Marshall, but they have signed a lot more players who have proven they can cut it.

It could still work out for us, but the early signs haven't been good.

04-08-2022, 08:54 PM
Sorry, I meant before United signed him last season. He’d barely kicked a ball before they got him on loan.

Ah, ok.

I guess the point might be made that his credentials upon arriving at United were roughly the same as the raft of players who have just arrived at Easter Road?

04-08-2022, 08:55 PM
Can't even enjoy watching another teams game without folk moaning about hibs.

Mikey Stewart - Erse

Probably bitter, but from what I've seen AZ have been pish. United look decent, similar to what we looked like in the covid season, difficult to break down, but not very attacking.

AZ will be a different side at home. Still lots to do for Du.

Mikey_1875
Give it a rest Stewart

Not in his last 9 games he never.

9 games is a very small sample size out of 96.

It was a poor run but I had no doubt he would have improved is in January and got us in the top 6

Sgt. Hartman
04-08-2022, 08:56 PM
Mikey Stewart really can’t help himself eh. How much longer is he going to keep bringing it up.

04-08-2022, 08:56 PM
Are we going to scratch over bygones every time United play? Come on people. It's done.

04-08-2022, 08:57 PM
Thought that was really similar to us against Rijeka last year.

First pick team on the park, played well, probably not done enough to get them through the tie IMO though.

One or two players out the team and it’ll be totally transformed (like we found out last year).

04-08-2022, 08:57 PM
With the second coming of Messi and Ronaldinho in midfield feeding the SPFLs answer to Zlatan I can’t see them finishing lower than 3rd…

I know fair enough they look decent but some using it as a stick to beat Hibs with as per

JamesHFC
04-08-2022, 08:59 PM
Are we going to scratch over bygones every time United play? Come on people. It's done.

They are bang average. I’ll be surprised and disappointed if we don’t finish above them.

Ah, ok.

I guess the point might be made that his credentials upon arriving at United were roughly the same as the raft of players who have just arrived at Easter Road?

Certainly the point that I was trying to make.

The Wireless
9 games is a very small sample size out of 96.

It was a poor run but I had no doubt he would have improved is in January and got us in the top 6

Agree 100%

However we need to move on as it is now in the past.

LewysGot2
Mikey Stewart really can’t help himself eh. How much longer is he going to keep bringing it up.

Tiresome. He’s Jack Ross not Klopp or Guardiola.

Pals, eh. :rolleyes::wink:

Give it a rest Stewart

He just won't give it a rest...like a few posters on here tbh

Give it a rest Stewart

Sorry

Remember when we had posters on here actively wanting Jack Ross sacked? That turned out well eh. Clowns.

United look a bit better than us as it stands. If they get in to the group stages along with Hearts both will struggle to play Thursday/Sunday until Christmas. Might go in our favour.

04-08-2022, 09:01 PM
Christ, this going to turn into a Jack Ross shouldn’t have been sacked thread because they’ve won tonight?

I must’ve imagined we got pumped in Europe under him

hibbytam
04-08-2022, 09:01 PM
I know fair enough they look decent but some using it as a stick to beat Hibs with as per

But it IS a stick to beat Hibs with. It's exactly what we should be doing, but we're not, and don't look like doing any time soon. It shows where the last year or so of failure has got us.
With a manager Hibs sacked, and with a striker we should have signed.

04-08-2022, 09:02 PM
Remember when we had posters on here actively wanting Jack Ross sacked? That turned out well eh. Clowns.

Aye, most of us because the football was dreadful.

Ross is a serial "does no bad and then falls to bits" manager.

What's he saying?

I thought Utd worked hard and pressed well. Scored from the one piece if real quality play they produced. It’ll be a big ask in Alkmaar though as they’ll push on and I didn’t see much pace in the Utd side.

JamesHFC

We are above his team in the league. All the best to him but I can’t see him doing much there, they will probably scrape 6th.

04-08-2022, 09:03 PM
Aye, most of us because the football was dreadful.

Ross is a serial "does no bad and then falls to bits" manager.

Still can't admit your error. Pathetic.

04-08-2022, 09:03 PM
But it IS a stick to beat Hibs with. It's exactly what we should be doing, but we're not, and don't look like doing any time soon. It shows where the last year or so of failure has got us.

So are u writing off this season already?? How do u know we won't be back in Europe next season?? No point going on and on about last season it's done and rightly or wrongly Ross was sacked...I dont see the point in constantly bringing it up?? And FWIW I think it was a mistake but I've moved on...so should you

04-08-2022, 09:04 PM

Sitting pretty in the league just now.

Get boyle over the line and I’m completely convinced we’ll finish 3rd

Though Ross didn't win big games

norhfc
Which channel is showing the Dundee Utd game ?

United look a bit better than us as it stands. If they get in to the group stages along with Hearts both will struggle to play Thursday/Sunday until Christmas. Might go in our favour.

The £3m plus they would get wouldn’t benefit us.

They’ll be out of Europe this time next week and we will finish above them this season.

04-08-2022, 09:05 PM
Which channel is showing the Dundee Utd game ?

BBC Scotland.

04-08-2022, 09:06 PM

What error?

I still wouldnt want him back.

His team gave up a final minute goal at the weekend, we won 3 points via one - that seems to be the difference right now.......................

04-08-2022, 09:07 PM
Though Ross didn't win big games

1st win as Utd manager.

Define ‘Big Game’

All this swooning over Dundee United, give me a break. We’ll finish above them.

Hibees1973
04-08-2022, 09:09 PM

I've got the feeling that Ron and his son sacked Ross in order to get their own signing policy in place. It's clear from the players that Ross has signed that he would not have supported the signing strategy now at Hibs, mostly unproven and development players.

So, how can we judge if Ron has done the right thing in sacking Ross. That is difficult, but he punted Maloney early doors and now has Johnson in place.

A good measure of the strategy Ron has put in place would be if we finish above United in the league this season.

It is early days. Over to Ron and everyone at Hibs.

04-08-2022, 09:12 PM

Come on now Jack, your teams just won, away and enjoy it 😁

04-08-2022, 09:15 PM
Agree 100%

However we need to move on as it is now in the past.

Yeah 100%, fwiw I actually think Johnson is a really good manager and will do a similar job whilst playing better football.

Just need a couple more additions first.

Paulie Walnuts
04-08-2022, 09:21 PM
Dundee United will get pumped out in the return leg. And I won’t be in any way disappointed to see that happen.

Paulie Walnuts
04-08-2022, 09:24 PM

What’s the error?

Watching Jack Ross team was an absolute chore for a lot of people. I’m personally still delighted we binned him as I’d hate to still be watching us under him. We also finished 7th, 3rd and 7th when he was binned under him. It was hardly the glory days like some make it out to be, far from it Infact.

04-08-2022, 09:28 PM
Great result for Ross in a big game. But it’s classic Ross. He’ll win 1 in 10 like that, sitting in and trying to sneak a goal. We rightly punted him because he wasn’t that much use at breaking average teams down.

04-08-2022, 09:45 PM
Going to get tiresome if every positive Dundee United result is used to have a go at Hibs , especially by Hibs fans . Everyone`s got their own opinion on managers and a manager can be a good fit for one club but not for another . I`m not sure what`s going to happen this season , but I`m confident that we`re going to be in a strong position on and off the pitch in a couple of years´time , hopefully sooner . We were no worse than DU and Motherwell who have played in Europe last year and no better than Aberdeen or St Mirren who finished below us . Hopefully our squad development plans bring good results in the next year or so . By good results , I mean qualifying for Europe without having to play early qualification rounds ( aware this depends on Euro places available each year ) and playing attractive football . Suspect Steve Kean is more important for us than manager as we look to develop a strong squad in short and long term .

Sgt. Hartman
04-08-2022, 09:55 PM
Great result for Ross in a big game. But it’s classic Ross. He’ll win 1 in 10 like that, sitting in and trying to sneak a goal. We rightly punted him because he wasn’t that much use at breaking average teams down.

Look at the result at Rugby Park on Saturday, the epitome of a Jack Ross performance.

04-08-2022, 09:58 PM
Linfield 0 FC Zurich 2

Maribor 0 Helsinki 2

He's here!
04-08-2022, 11:24 PM
No surprise really, he’s a good manager and showed that with us.

Should never have sacked him. Ron Gordon admitted as much.

tonyrougier123
05-08-2022, 01:37 AM
Going to get tiresome if every positive Dundee United result is used to have a go at Hibs , especially by Hibs fans . Everyone`s got their own opinion on managers and a manager can be a good fit for one club but not for another . I`m not sure what`s going to happen this season , but I`m confident that we`re going to be in a strong position on and off the pitch in a couple of years´time , hopefully sooner . We were no worse than DU and Motherwell who have played in Europe last year and no better than Aberdeen or St Mirren who finished below us . Hopefully our squad development plans bring good results in the next year or so . By good results , I mean qualifying for Europe without having to play early qualification rounds ( aware this depends on Euro places available each year ) and playing attractive football . Suspect Steve Kean is more important for us than manager as we look to develop a strong squad in short and long term .

I have to agree we have to move on from Ross,and I was a huge supporter of his.
I think everything has been covered on that period in our history.he had his admirers and very vocal detractors.
We know what we will face with Jack Ross at Utd.

We have to focus on what we have (or don’t have) and get behind Johnson who could be a real good manager for us given time,backing and patience.

Now I’m away back to the transfer thread to moan about recruitment 😝.

05-08-2022, 04:03 AM
Good for jack, a good manager who won't take long proving the few haters wrong.

05-08-2022, 05:03 AM

Time will tell but I'm still comfortable with the decision we made.

05-08-2022, 05:13 AM
Ross is a good manager but I also believe we have a good manager now. Possibly even better than Ross.

05-08-2022, 05:13 AM
Time will tell but I'm still comfortable with the decision we made.

It was a dreadful decision last season, and certainly remains a dreadful decision until we see what Lee Johnson can do.

05-08-2022, 05:41 AM
Look at the result at Rugby Park on Saturday, the epitome of a Jack Ross performance.
Let's wait and see how we fare at Rugby Park.

05-08-2022, 05:48 AM
Let's wait and see how we fare at Rugby Park.

Let’s wait and see how we fare this season. We started well last week, huge test on Sunday.

05-08-2022, 06:03 AM
I enjoyed last night and thought United looked decent.

If we are good to watch this season I am quite happy for the likes of them and Aberdeen to be better too.

I just want to enjoy my fitba again and if that happens in a competitive league of a much higher standard than last season then bring it on.

05-08-2022, 06:56 AM
I enjoyed last night and thought United looked decent.

If we are good to watch this season I am quite happy for the likes of them and Aberdeen to be better too.

I just want to enjoy my fitba again and if that happens in a competitive league of a much higher standard than last season then bring it on.

Agree with that looking promising for the league and on first viewing we will need to be good to get in front of both United and Aberdeen which should mean a more competitive league. A good challenge to have and means all at the club including support from fans up their game.

05-08-2022, 07:05 AM
Agree with that looking promising for the league and on first viewing we will need to be good to get in front of both United and Aberdeen which should mean a more competitive league. A good challenge to have and means all at the club including support from fans up their game.

Great. Another mid table finish at best.

05-08-2022, 07:07 AM

What an utterly miserable take on things.

Hibees1973
05-08-2022, 07:13 AM

This is what it's going to be like until Ron gets a winning and attractive team to watch on the park. It was Ron, his son and Ben's decision to punt Ross which basically split our support down the middle.

Ron and his son's poor management of the club in appointing Maloney, an incoherent transfer policy and farcical administration of the club is only going to give his doubters more ammunition.

As I've said many Hibs fans won't move on from poor decisions in the past until we see progress on the pitch.

05-08-2022, 07:20 AM

Did we not sack Ross when we were sitting in 7th place? As well as crap football he was well on course to deliver us a mid table finish (or likely worse given we'd won 1 game in 9)

05-08-2022, 07:27 AM
It was a dreadful decision last season, and certainly remains a dreadful decision until we see what Lee Johnson can do.

We were in freefall and performances and discipline had crumbled. Checked now and we'd taken 4 points out of a possible 27 in the league.

All LJ has to do is get 1 draw in the next 8 games and he'll have matched that.

Ross may be a good manager but I saw nothing to suggest he had the ability to stop the slide.

Maloney was a poor appointment but that doesn't mean Ross should have stayed.

NC1875
05-08-2022, 07:39 AM

Meanwhile boring half of Dundee in the process 👍🏼

Hibees1973
05-08-2022, 07:43 AM
We were in freefall and performances and discipline had crumbled. Checked now and we'd taken 4 points out of a possible 27 in the league.

Ross may be a good manager but I saw nothing to suggest he had the ability to stop the slide.

Most of the Hibs fans I know have said that Ross should not have been sacked, but I do get your point of view.

Due to Ross getting us up to 3rd the previous season, I feel this merited him a bit more time. People do mention this run that we had under him, which is fact. However, he was not supported properly in the transfer window prior to his sacking and if I remember right, Hibs had a covid outbreak in the squad and the SPFL rammed a whole load of fixtures at us leading up to Christmas.

So, myself and other Hibs fans still have a real gripe over his sacking by Ron. The circumstances Ross had to work under should have given him additional breathing space.

Subsequent decisions made by Ron have been shown up to be abject failure. Let's see where we are around November/December then we can compare where we were under Ross at the same time in 2021 (in a League Cup Final and in 7th).

05-08-2022, 07:45 AM

No one said that we will have to be good to be ahead of United and Dons who are both likely to be better. Personally think we can and also not a given Hearts are going to do as well this season especially with their European games. Looking forward to it to be honest especially if we have energetic and talented attacking players.

05-08-2022, 07:45 AM

He has turned around those slides in his other jobs. Got off to a really poor start with st Mirren went longer than 9 games without winning - then went on a long unbeaten run

Your stats are all about the last 9 games . If LJ gets anywhere near Ross’s overall record he will be one of our best managers in modern times. You have to go back to the sixties to find a top league manager for Hibs with a better win ratio than Ross . Better than Mowbray and Turnbull I believe .

Can’t help but respect JR . He is a proven quality manager . I’ll be delighted if LJ turns out as good as him . He is in the seat now, so all support to LJ.

Let’s hope he gets off to a nice wee step forward this weekend [emoji119][emoji120]

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 07:54 AM

I’d have been gutted if I was going along this season to watch a Jack Ross team, especially one that I’ve no doubt would have been bottom 6 last season.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again - I hope he fails miserably.

Wanting the teams we’ll be competing with to do well and making our job harder and therefore less likely to be succesful in terms of qualifying for Europe and challenging for a cup? Wouldn’t be me but hey ho. It’s like the guys created a wee cult with the way some folk on here still worship him after averaging out a 6th place finish in his time here.

Thankfully they’ll be out of Europe this time next week imo.

05-08-2022, 07:57 AM

So true. The football was awful and Easter Road was deserted. He probably deserved another window but these things rarely happen in football nowadays.

05-08-2022, 07:58 AM
Meanwhile boring half of Dundee in the process 👍🏼

I honestly didn’t think their fans looked bored at all last night.

Maybe I picked up on it wrong?

05-08-2022, 08:06 AM
I honestly didn’t think their fans looked bored at all last night.

Maybe I picked up on it wrong?

Aye, looked awfully boring turning over one of the top Dutch sides at a capacity Tannadice.

Give me Falkirk away in the league cup anytime.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 08:25 AM
Aye, looked awfully boring turning over one of the top Dutch sides at a capacity Tannadice.

Give me Falkirk away in the league cup anytime.

AZ Alkmaar are in no way one of the top Dutch sides. They’ve won 6 major honours in their history and 2 in the last 40 years.

To put that into perspective, Ajax, PSV and Feyenoord have won 56, 34 and 28 respectively.

If we want to claim that they are a top Dutch side then really we’d be as well claiming they were up against one of the top Scottish sides.

05-08-2022, 08:29 AM
Why are folk acting like it was Ross that got United there? Is it because he started our massive slide down the league and that's how they ended up qualifying for Europe?

05-08-2022, 08:37 AM
Jack Ross debates are going to rage on all season. God forbid they get a result against us at any point.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 08:40 AM
Jack Ross debates are going to rage on all season. God forbid they get a result against us at any point.

Honestly wouldn’t be surprised to see posters lining up to congratulate him

05-08-2022, 08:43 AM
Honestly wouldn’t be surprised to see posters lining up to congratulate him

Definitely not. I want him to lose against us. I can be impartial though, unlike yourself

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 08:45 AM
Definitely not. I want him to lose against us. I can be impartial though, unlike yourself

Did I say anyone wouldn’t want him to lose?

Also, cool brag about your ability to be impartial. Some buzz for you although somewhat irrelevant to the topic.

Hibees1973
05-08-2022, 08:56 AM

Also, cool brag about your ability to be impartial. Some buzz for you although somewhat irrelevant to the topic.

Bit of a snide comment that one. We can all degenerate to that level, if necessary. Here's mine.

Over 2,300 posts since Feb this year. You don't get out much do you.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 08:59 AM
Bit of a snide comment that one. We can all degenerate to that level, if necessary. Here's mine.

Over 2,300 posts since Feb this year. You don't get out much do you.

And the comment I was replying to wasn’t snide I presume? :faf:

Following people around that you don’t know on the internet, gathering up statistics on them and making digs at them from behind a faceless account. Remind me, is it me or you that apparently doesn’t get out much?

05-08-2022, 09:16 AM

It's not snide though. You literally cannot say one good thing about a manager who had Hibs 3rd. Any chance you get you slaughter him. It's weird.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 09:22 AM
It's not snide though. You literally cannot say one good thing about a manager who had Hibs 3rd. Any chance you get you slaughter him. It's weird.

You’re correct, if you ignore the times I’ve said his record is undoubtedly pretty good and that he done well to get us third place, although it wasn’t great to watch then yes, I’ve never said one good thing.

It’s even weirder that Hibs fans want him to do well and make our job harder.

05-08-2022, 09:25 AM
You’re correct, if you ignore the times I’ve said his record is undoubtedly pretty good and that he done well to get us third place, although it wasn’t great to watch then yes, I’ve never said one good thing.

It’s even weirder that Hibs fans want him to do well and make our job harder.

Ooft, you almost managed it without a wee shot at him and the football there.

Don't think anyone wants him to be some massive success. I won't cry if he does well though. I only really care about Hibs.

Hibees1973
05-08-2022, 09:26 AM
And the comment I was replying to wasn’t snide I presume? :faf:

Following people around that you don’t know on the internet, gathering up statistics on them and making digs at them from behind a faceless account. Remind me, is it me or you that apparently doesn’t get out much?

Understand you don't get irony.

Bit of an error on your previous post. Can't remember the guys name but it was he who took the time to gather stats on me and link my posts.

Anyway I'm away out.

Enjoy your day on your laptop...you will get to 3,000 in no time.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 09:42 AM
Ooft, you almost managed it without a wee shot at him and the football there.

Don't think anyone wants him to be some massive success. I won't cry if he does well though. I only really care about Hibs.

People absolutely want him to be some success. There was plenty posts when he got appointed saying they hope he does well etc.

05-08-2022, 09:51 AM
What an utterly miserable take on things.

I was commenting on Jim's scenario which would have us struggling to be 6th or better.

05-08-2022, 10:06 AM
AZ Alkmaar are in no way one of the top Dutch sides. They’ve won 6 major honours in their history and 2 in the last 40 years.

To put that into perspective, Ajax, PSV and Feyenoord have won 56, 34 and 28 respectively.

If we want to claim that they are a top Dutch side then really we’d be as well claiming they were up against one of the top Scottish sides.

Dundee United finished 4th last season.

We have about 40 teams in the Scottish League setup, so yes, I would say currently Dundee United are one of the top Scottish sides if they finished 4th out of 40.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 10:07 AM
Dundee United finished 4th last season.

We have about 40 teams in the Scottish League setup, so yes, I would say currently Dundee United are one of the top Scottish sides if they finished 4th out of 40.

By that logic so are Ross County and Livi who finished 6th and 7th out of 42.

They’re not top Scottish sides though.

05-08-2022, 10:08 AM
I would expect United to finish above us this season.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 10:10 AM
I would expect United to finish above us this season.

I think they’ll be somewhere in and around where we end up. If we sign a decent centre mid before the end of the window then I’d expect us to be above them.

05-08-2022, 10:12 AM
By that logic so are Ross County and Livi who finished 6th and 7th out of 42.

They’re not top Scottish sides though.

If you qualify for Europe you are one of the best sides in the country.

Finishing 4th makes you a top side, not the best side, but very much amongst the best sides in the league, I'd have thought that was obvious, as err, they finished 4th.

That is not something that is easily done, as Hibs have hardly ever achieved that in the last 30 years or so.

Largshibby
05-08-2022, 10:27 AM

Well United were 4th last season so they are one of our top sides. I would say Hibs are too despite our track record of honours being worse than AZs (one mayor trophy every 15 years approximately compared to one every 10 for AZ).

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 10:32 AM
Well United were 4th last season so they are one of our top sides. I would say Hibs are too despite our track record of honours being worse than AZs (one mayor trophy every 15 years approximately compared to one every 10 for AZ).

Alternatively, you’re not ‘one of the top sides’ if you’re miles off the actual top sides.

Celtic and Rangers are scotlands top sides. It’s a complete stretch to put anyone else in that bracket in Scotland and it’s the same in Netherlands.

05-08-2022, 10:39 AM
Alternatively, you’re not ‘one of the top sides’ if you’re miles off the actual top sides.

Celtic and Rangers are scotlands top sides. It’s a complete stretch to put anyone else in that bracket in Scotland and it’s the same in Netherlands.

So you don't view Hibs as being one of the top clubs in Scotland?

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 11:46 AM
So you don't view Hibs as being one of the top clubs in Scotland?

When the top two clubs have won the league every season for nearly 40 years and won the league 107 times between them I don’t think anyone else in Scotland has a claim to be in the same category as those two, no.

Hibs are one of Scotland’s bigger clubs but our record of success and league finishes isn’t that of a top club. The exact same applies to everyone outside the OF and it applies to AZ Alkmaar imo.

He's here!
05-08-2022, 12:02 PM
When the top two clubs have won the league every season for nearly 40 years and won the league 107 times between them I don’t think anyone else in Scotland has a claim to be in the same category as those two, no.

Hibs are one of Scotland’s bigger clubs but our record of success and league finishes isn’t that of a top club. The exact same applies to everyone outside the OF.

I'd agree with that. We're one of the bigger clubs in terms of the crowds we can draw when doing well but we're not an especially big scalp for other teams. The likes of Motherwell, St Mirren, St Johnstone etc are unlikely to approach games against us with apprehension and it's not seen as a major shock when they beat us. To be a top club you have to carry a big-time vibe and we rarely do. As you say only the big two consistently do that.

05-08-2022, 12:21 PM
Understand you don't get irony.

Bit of an error on your previous post. Can't remember the guys name but it was he who took the time to gather stats on me and link my posts.

Anyway I'm away out.

Enjoy your day on your laptop...you will get to 3,000 in no time.

That was me! Thanks for remembering! :thumbsup:

I'll just gently remind you that I linked your previous threads obsessing about our owner, it took 30 seconds, I didn't gather any stats on you because why the **** would I?

Ok enjoy your afternoon.

05-08-2022, 12:36 PM
I'd agree with that. We're one of the bigger clubs in terms of the crowds we can draw when doing well but we're not an especially big scalp for other teams. The likes of Motherwell, St Mirren, St Johnstone etc are unlikely to approach games against us with apprehension and it's not seen as a major shock when they beat us. To be a top club you have to carry a big-time vibe and we rarely do. As you say only the big two consistently do that.

So when we finished 3rd under Jack Ross we weren't one of the top sides in the country?

He's here!
05-08-2022, 12:55 PM
So when we finished 3rd under Jack Ross we weren't one of the top sides in the country?

We were best of the rest, something we occasionally achieve but only very rarely consolidate with another strong season. As I said we generally don't carry the aura of a top club. Closest we came in recent years was probably under Lennon.

JGS56
05-08-2022, 01:04 PM
Chris Cadden extends his contract until 2025.

05-08-2022, 01:05 PM

You've managed to pick three sides there with rubbish recent records against us.

St Mirren 3 wins in 20 against Hibs. 11 Hibs wins.

We've won 4 of the last 5 against St Johnstone

Motherwell only won 1 of the last 10 against us. 4 Hibs wins.

All of these clubs celebrate like **** when they beat us tbh.

05-08-2022, 04:24 PM

Yep will be tortuous. Hope he doesn't win in the same manner as his team was schooled at Easter Road last season.

05-08-2022, 05:00 PM
Yep will be tortuous. Hope he doesn't win in the same manner as his team was schooled at Easter Road last season.

The only way the Ross talk will stop is if we do better than we did under him or Dundee United crash and burn. Both are unlikely imo. Until then people will always argue it was a mistake. I think we have a really good manager at the club now though now so I'm as optimistic as I've been in a while.

05-08-2022, 05:13 PM
Watched the first 3 episodes of Arsenal all or nothing today, another season behind the camera for this season does anyone know?

Palace vs Arsenal to kick off the premier League should be a good watch.

05-08-2022, 06:35 PM
Watched the first 3 episodes of Arsenal all or nothing today, another season behind the camera for this season does anyone know?

Don't think so.

05-08-2022, 06:40 PM
Don't think so.

Ok thanks. Enjoyable so far with some different methods from Arteta.

Don't see anything other than a City or Liverpool as champions but will be good to see how arsenal do this year.

Aftv is usually a laugh.

05-08-2022, 06:49 PM
Bayern Munich off to a flier away to Eintracht Frankfurt 2-0 after 12 minutes.

05-08-2022, 07:04 PM
Huge sitter from Arsenal.

05-08-2022, 07:19 PM
Arsenal looking quite sharp

05-08-2022, 07:22 PM
Gunners on fire 🔥 so far

05-08-2022, 07:23 PM
Arsenal in complete control

1-0

05-08-2022, 07:23 PM
Arsenal looking hot so far. Worth their goal. Plenty of quality in that Palace side, though, far from over.

05-08-2022, 07:24 PM
Zaha still a diving cheating **** ! Nothing changes

05-08-2022, 07:25 PM
Arsenal game is on Sky Showcase for folk that don't subscribe to Sky Sports.

05-08-2022, 07:31 PM
Zaha still a diving cheating **** ! Nothing changes
Most over rated, greetin faced, cheating chunt in world football. I hope Palace lose every game just because he plays for them.

05-08-2022, 07:34 PM
Nice to see Simon Murray still scoring goals :aok:

05-08-2022, 07:44 PM
Most over rated, greetin faced, cheating chunt in world football. I hope Palace lose every game just because he plays for them.

No just me then , Falls over at every god given oppurtunity and looks to the ref for help , Get up ya cheating **** !!!

05-08-2022, 07:45 PM

Do they show our friendly with them last season? Might give it a watch if they do.

05-08-2022, 07:48 PM
5-0 Bayern after 53 mins.

05-08-2022, 07:50 PM
Queen's Park 2-1 Ayr

05-08-2022, 07:52 PM
Arsenal looking good, but I can't see them sustaining any kind of challenge over the course of the season.

Given the amount of money they've spaffed in recent years, they appear to have recruited much better this off-season - Zinchenko and Jesus from Citeh will definitely be vital in how well they do this season.

05-08-2022, 07:55 PM
Arsenal looking good, but I can't see them sustaining any kind of challenge over the course of the season.

Given the amount of money they've spaffed in recent years, they appear to have recruited much better this off-season - Zinchenko and Jesus from Citeh will definitely be vital in how well they do this season.
I honestly thought that Arteta would do well with them. Once he got past his early wobble he's warmed to the task

JamesHFC
05-08-2022, 07:56 PM

A great starting 11 playing some great football but looking at the depth in their squad they are just a couple of injuries away from looking average. If Arteta wants them to achieve top four I think he will have to go with the ‘B team’ in the Europa League.

05-08-2022, 07:57 PM
1-5 Bayern.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 08:02 PM

Zinchenko is an outstanding signing.

Jesus I’m unsure of but he’s started very well. I’d be wary of him fading away.

05-08-2022, 08:04 PM
Zinchenko is an outstanding signing.

Jesus I’m unsure of but he’s started very well. I’d be wary of him fading away.

I’m surprised City let those two go to be honest

Paulie Walnuts
The only way the Ross talk will stop is if we do better than we did under him or Dundee United crash and burn. Both are unlikely imo. Until then people will always argue it was a mistake. I think we have a really good manager at the club now though now so I'm as optimistic as I've been in a while.

Better than we did under him when?

He averaged a 6th place finish spanning over 3 different seasons. Folk pining after him as if he delivered non stop success should stop a hell of a lot sooner than if we better a third place finish.

Paulie Walnuts
I’m surprised City let those two go to be honest

I understand Jesus a bit more. He didn’t start all that regularly I don’t think. Zinchenko i was very surprised about though.

Paulie Walnuts
05-08-2022, 08:05 PM
Also, I see Partey is starting…

05-08-2022, 08:05 PM
Surprised Martin Tyler is commentating tonight after his comments about Hillsborough.

05-08-2022, 08:14 PM
Surprised Martin Tyler is commentating tonight after his comments about Hillsborough.

A total nonsense - comments from 1992, and the worst word he used was 'other', which added all of the weight to the 'problem'.

He's been totally clear in his apology, which wasn't necessary IMO. Amazing they're being dragged up 30 years after he said it.

Potty78
05-08-2022, 08:18 PM
A total nonsense - comments from 1992, and the worst word he used was 'other', which added all of the weight to the 'problem'.

He's been totally clear in his apology, which wasn't necessary IMO. Amazing they're being dragged up 30 years after he said it.

I may be mistaken but I thought he said this on radio 4 yesterday🤷*♂️

05-08-2022, 08:23 PM
Better than we did under him when?

He averaged a 6th place finish spanning over 3 different seasons. Folk pining after him as if he delivered non stop success should stop a hell of a lot sooner than if we better a third place finish.

Sure we had the best points total outside the old firm spanning his time at the club including his one bad run. Sure we also had the best away record in our history. Two cup finals in a row and nothing less than a semi final in each cup run. If Lee beats that he'll be doing very well.

05-08-2022, 08:26 PM
Queen's Park 2-2 Ayr

05-08-2022, 08:27 PM
I may be mistaken but I thought he said this on radio 4 yesterday��*♂️

Yep, I'm a moron and I misread the bloody article earlier - you're quite right.

Still, I don't think what he said was anywhere near as bad as some are claiming - his unfortunate use of the word 'other' suggested he was conflating two issues into one narrative, which it clearly didn't seem like he was intending to do.

05-08-2022, 08:38 PM
FT Queens park 2 Ayr 3..penalty 90+2

05-08-2022, 08:40 PM
6-1 Bayern FT.

05-08-2022, 08:42 PM
2-0 Arsenal

05-08-2022, 08:45 PM
FT Queens park 2 Ayr 3..penalty 90+2

Some turn around that

05-08-2022, 10:04 PM
Steven Bradley MOTM for Dundalk again tonight. Lad seems to be enjoying it over there. Assist for the equaliser.

Hauge an unused sub.

06-08-2022, 12:03 PM
Fulham 1 v 0 Liverpool

Mitrovic

06-08-2022, 12:04 PM
Fulham 1-0 Liverpool

This weekend keeps getting better. :greengrin

06-08-2022, 12:04 PM
Fulham 1 Liverpool 0
Mitrovic is a great striker, could easily be playing with a top European side.

06-08-2022, 12:06 PM
Fulham have been absolutely brilliant so far.

06-08-2022, 12:30 PM
Fulham 1-0 Liverpool

If Carlsberg done Saturdays :thumbsup:

06-08-2022, 12:34 PM
Trent Alexander Arnold is a very good player, but he's not great at defending, IMO.

06-08-2022, 12:39 PM
Is Jasper still at Fulham?

06-08-2022, 12:45 PM
Fulham 1-0 Liverpool

Booooo.

06-08-2022, 12:52 PM
1-1

Pleasing.

06-08-2022, 01:00 PM
1-1

Pleasing.

2-1 Fulham, even more pleasing. :wink:

06-08-2022, 01:03 PM
Is Jasper still at Fulham?

06-08-2022, 01:06 PM
Apologies for slightly off topic question.
Which app do people use to keep up to date with football scores?

The BBC sports page is always about 5 minutes behind play, and dreadfully inconsistent about reporting updates.
The minutes played often doesn't change for ages, and just now they announce the Fulham goal but don't update the score.

So if someone can recommend a good app for reporting scores on the iPhone, that would be great.
TIA.

06-08-2022, 01:08 PM
2-2 booooo.

06-08-2022, 01:08 PM
2-1 Fulham, even more pleasing. :wink:

2-2 :greengrin

OldEast
06-08-2022, 01:10 PM

The BBC sports page is always about 5 minutes behind play, and dreadfully inconsistent about reporting updates.
The minutes played often doesn't change for ages, and just now they announce the Fulham goal but don't update the score.

So if someone can recommend a good app for reporting scores on the iPhone, that would be great.
TIA.

There's loads. Flashscore has never let me down?

06-08-2022, 01:10 PM
Mo Salaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!

06-08-2022, 01:11 PM
Fulham have been the better side, 10 mins left. Really good start to the English season.

06-08-2022, 01:12 PM
Great start from a fantasy perspective with both Mitrovic and Salah (captain) in my team :greengrin

06-08-2022, 01:27 PM
2-2 :greengrin

Two points dropped very very pleasing. :greengrin

06-08-2022, 01:38 PM
Class. Man u fans now celebrate Liverpool drawing in the hope they can finish under 20 points behind them 😁

06-08-2022, 01:59 PM
Balde and Delferriere both on the bench today for East Fife and FC Edinburgh

06-08-2022, 01:59 PM
FT Norwich 1 Wigan 1

great seeing Patrick Bamford starting for Leeds today, hopefully an end to his injury woes

06-08-2022, 02:05 PM
Bournemouth 1 Villa 0 3 mins

leeds 0 wolves 1 6mins, that defence still not been fixed

06-08-2022, 02:06 PM
Simms scores for Sunderland. Hearts will be a lot weaker without him.

06-08-2022, 02:15 PM
Raith 0 Dundee 1

Alloa 1 Kelty 0
Clyde 1 Peterhead 0

Spurs 2 Southampton 1

06-08-2022, 02:18 PM

TIA.

LiveScore

06-08-2022, 02:27 PM
St Mirren down to 10

06-08-2022, 02:28 PM
Leeds 1 Wolves 1

Aberdeen 1 St mirren 0, penalty, Declan gallacher red carded for his 2nd yellow card

Motherwell 0 St Johnstone 1

FC Edinburgh 0 Dunfy 1

06-08-2022, 02:29 PM
LiveScore

Fotmob

06-08-2022, 02:32 PM
Cracking goal from Jamie Murphy

Wull
06-08-2022, 02:34 PM
Watching the Dons game, hate to say it they look good going forward, but defence untested so far

06-08-2022, 02:36 PM
Brydon sent off for Edinburgh

06-08-2022, 02:40 PM
2-0 Aberdeen

06-08-2022, 02:43 PM
Probably Declan Gallaghers best match for Aberdeen today. Unless lump

Bridge hibs
06-08-2022, 02:44 PM
That guy Murphy for St Johnstone looks a handy player, replacement for McGeady ?

Torto7
06-08-2022, 02:45 PM
Rangers look horrendous. Long may it continue.

Wull
06-08-2022, 02:45 PM
Dons second goal, what was the St M keeper doing, sleeping dear o dear

Torto7
06-08-2022, 02:46 PM
Probably Declan Gallaghers best match for Aberdeen today. Unless lump

Stinking player. Unbelievable he played for Scotland.

06-08-2022, 02:48 PM
Aberdeen 3-0 easy street

06-08-2022, 02:49 PM
Stinking player. Unbelievable he played for Scotland.

Done alright for Scotland.

06-08-2022, 02:52 PM
Harry Clarke scores for Stoke. Good player.

McSwanky
06-08-2022, 02:53 PM

TIA.Fotmob (footy only) and Sofascore (multiple sports) are my go to apps.

06-08-2022, 02:54 PM
Aberdeen 3-0 easy streetCracking goal by the guy they just sighed on loan from Liverpool

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

06-08-2022, 02:55 PM
Watching the Leeds v Wolves game and the type of game Leeds play is exciting going forward, great high press but one ball over the top almost outdoes all of it. Fantastic to watch though.

06-08-2022, 03:08 PM
Ross County 0 v 1 Celtic

Kyogo

06-08-2022, 03:11 PM
The Rangers 1 v 0 Kilmarnock

Colak

06-08-2022, 03:11 PM
the sectarian twins both winning 1-0

06-08-2022, 03:14 PM
Aberdeen 3-1 St Mirren

06-08-2022, 03:14 PM
Aberdeen 3 v 1 St Mirren

06-08-2022, 03:15 PM
East Fife 0 Bonnyrigg rose 2

Aberdeen 3 St Mirren 1..penalty

McSwanky
06-08-2022, 03:18 PM
Ellis Simms scores 2 for Sunderland. Shame the gunts couldn't hold on to him [emoji16]

Ross County 1 v 1 Celtic

1-1 Ross co

Ross County 1-1 Celtic :faf:

06-08-2022, 03:19 PM
Newcastle United 1 v 0 Notts Forest

Paulie Walnuts
06-08-2022, 03:29 PM
I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see Cove into the Premiership next season.

Wouldn’t be surprised to see Bonnyrigg emulate their climb up the leagues as well.

06-08-2022, 03:34 PM
Morton 1-0 Cove Rangers

06-08-2022, 03:34 PM
2-1 Leeds ;)

spurs 4 southampton 1

06-08-2022, 03:39 PM
Newcastle 2 v 0 Forest

06-08-2022, 03:39 PM
Dreadful start for Villa.

06-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Dreadful start for Villa.

Agree sell McGinn 😀

Just to top up a perfect week

06-08-2022, 03:43 PM
Bournemouth 2 villa 0

Ross co 1 Sellick 2

06-08-2022, 03:44 PM
2-1 Celtic what a surprise.

06-08-2022, 03:47 PM
Motherwell 1 St johnstone 1

looks like it cam off of a st johnstone player again this week

2-0 ibrox bigots

morelos

4-1 Aberdeen

06-08-2022, 03:47 PM
Motherwell 1-1 St Johnstone

06-08-2022, 03:48 PM
Morelos scores for The Rangers.

Rangers 2-0 Kilmarnock

The Rangers 2 v 0 Kilmarnock

Freddo

06-08-2022, 03:49 PM
motherwell 1 st johnstone 2

06-08-2022, 03:51 PM
ross co 1 sellick 3

Ross County 1-3 Celtic

Motherwell 1-2 St Johnstone

06-08-2022, 03:57 PM
FT Leeds 2 Wolves 1, have to win these home games against other sides that will finish below 8th, good start

06-08-2022, 03:59 PM
St Mirren look like early relegation favourites.

06-08-2022, 04:10 PM
Desperately funny seeing Falkirk absolutely battered.

JamesHFC
06-08-2022, 04:44 PM
Fairplay to Fulham and Bournemouth, great results for them today.

I think Newcastle will go on to have a good season.

No surprise to see Spurs carry on from where they left off last season, title contenders for me this season.

Interested to see how United get on tomorrow.

06-08-2022, 04:46 PM

After they beat us I was going to stick a few quid on them winning the league. Glad I had a wee think about it and didn't bother.

06-08-2022, 04:57 PM

Inclined to agree, especially since I moved to Greater Dunfermline.

06-08-2022, 06:03 PM
Dele Alli has gone from being a bit part bench warmer at Spurs to a bit part bench warmer at Everton, what the hell has happened to him, used to be an exciting attacking player with bags of skill, looks a shadow of the player that he was.

06-08-2022, 06:07 PM
Dele Alli has gone from being a bit part bench warmer at Spurs to a bit part bench warmer at Everton, what the hell has happened to him, used to be an exciting attacking player with bags of skill, looks a shadow of the player that he was.

Yep, and in the commentary they said he was even rubbish in the warmup :greengrin

06-08-2022, 06:31 PM
After they beat us I was going to stick a few quid on them winning the league. Glad I had a wee think about it and didn't bother.

Tinpot wee club, we are their cup final for some reason

06-08-2022, 07:22 PM
I think there will be 4 or 5 very good teams outwith the old firm with the rest being utter mince.

07-08-2022, 01:41 PM
Man u 0 Brighton 2

39 mins played

07-08-2022, 01:44 PM
No surprise really. Brighton a good side and United are truly dreadful. United a long way behind arsenal and spurs never mind city and Liverpool

07-08-2022, 01:53 PM
Man u 0 Brighton 2

39 mins played

Play the same crap midfield and defence that did bugger all for them and guess what, still pish. Shaw, Dalot, Maguire, McTomminay and Fred are just bang average players who should be nowhere near a team of the standing of United, the gap between defence and midfield is brutal and there's very little urgency in the way they're playing. Van de Beek has had a good pre season yet he still can't get a start?

07-08-2022, 01:59 PM
https://twitter.com/days_scottish/status/1556243261953609728?t=KohTXtPymdGKkxr2QhBjFg&s=19

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

07-08-2022, 02:00 PM
I hope D.U. take the points today. I can’t stand Livingston and I still have enough time for Jack Ross to wish him well.

07-08-2022, 02:53 PM
Least Man u looked good in friendlies.

FT.

Man U 1 Brighton 2.

07-08-2022, 02:53 PM
Least Man u looked good in friendlies.

FT.

Man U 1 Brighton 2.

They really are pish.

07-08-2022, 02:54 PM
First ever win for Brighton at old trafford

07-08-2022, 02:58 PM
I watched the second half and united remind me a little of Hibs at times with the lack of quality and struggling to break down teams.

Gordy M
07-08-2022, 03:11 PM
Dundee ut 0-1 livi

07-08-2022, 03:12 PM
Dundee ut 0-1 livi

Ross out!

plhibs
07-08-2022, 03:21 PM
I watched the second half and united remind me a little of Hibs at times with the lack of quality and struggling to break down teams.

They like to play the ball between the back 3 a lot to keep control, too much as it gives the other team lots of time to get organized, Looks familiar:rolleyes::rolleyes:

07-08-2022, 03:23 PM
Dundee ut 0-1 livi

They will struggle to play twice a week. As will those melts from Gorgie.

07-08-2022, 03:23 PM
presently Dundee utd 0 Livingston 1 with 63 minutes on the clock

07-08-2022, 03:33 PM
If only we’d signed Levitt, McGrath and Fletcher.

JamesHFC
07-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Back to reality for Dundee United then, shock.

07-08-2022, 03:59 PM
Wonder if Mikey Stewart will dare criticise Jack Ross now?

supermcginn
07-08-2022, 04:00 PM
1 point in total v Killie and livi for Jack Ross. Genius

JamesHFC
07-08-2022, 04:01 PM
Wonder if Mikey Stewart will dare criticise Jack Ross now?

Hearts and Celtic in their next 3 games, will probably get knocked out of Europe on Thursday too. Looking forward to playing them next month.