View Full Version : Match Updates 2022-23 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

18-08-2022, 06:23 PM
That sibbicks a ****ing donkey

This team should be out of sight

Booked that’s a red

Quite possibly. Similar to the Bushiri's a couple of weeks back.

Zurich doing their best to keep the score down 😐

How bad is Sibbick though.

18-08-2022, 06:26 PM
That sibbicks a ****ing donkey

This team should be out of sight

….. but they’re not and a 2-1 defeat away for Hearts will probably see them through, unfortunately.

18-08-2022, 06:27 PM
Hahaha Forrest

18-08-2022, 06:28 PM
….. but they’re not and a 2-1 defeat away for Hearts will probably see them through, unfortunately.

Why’s that? This team aren’t certainly going to roll over at tynecastle. I’ve been surprised at how good they are with the ball.

The games not over yet either

18-08-2022, 06:31 PM
“Unbelievable atmosphere at tynecastle”

What an absolute myth

18-08-2022, 06:32 PM
Has mfadden lost the plot ? If hearts score now they could easily get a 3rd and take a lead over to tyncecastle ? What kin planet is he on !!

mcohibs
18-08-2022, 06:33 PM
Tynecastle atmosphere is the biggest myth in Scottish football.

Can hear a pin drop in the home end most times we play them there and that's their biggest game.

Where does that pish come from?

18-08-2022, 06:33 PM
Hahha the ref gave the drop ball when the Zurich keeper wasn't in his goals

[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

18-08-2022, 06:34 PM
The number of times players, of both sides, are rolling about the ground holding their faces is becoming farcical. This lot could do a lot worse than take an example from woman’s football.

18-08-2022, 06:35 PM
I think the gimps will get through this tie.

18-08-2022, 06:35 PM
The number of times players, of both sides, are rolling about the ground holding their faces is becoming farcical. This lot could do a lot worse than take an example from woman’s football.

Best thing about Women's football. Simulation is much more of a rarity.

davhibby
18-08-2022, 06:36 PM
Why’s that? This team aren’t certainly going to roll over at tynecastle. I’ve been surprised at how good they are with the ball.

The games not over yet either

Hearts would be winning this tonight if Neilson wasn’t obsessed with playing so defensively. I don’t think Hearts are great but Zurich have looked poor and Hearts sitting in has left them offering nothing going forward

18-08-2022, 06:37 PM
Zurich been quite wasteful going forward since their last chance

Reckon they’ll get another one before it finishes

18-08-2022, 06:38 PM
Hearts would be winning this tonight if Neilson wasn’t obsessed with playing so defensively. I don’t think Hearts are great but Zurich have looked poor and Hearts sitting in has left them offering nothing going forward

Zurich have looked better than hearts for me

18-08-2022, 06:38 PM
the swiss need a two goal lead here, heartz will score at least two at the Budge Arena

18-08-2022, 06:40 PM
Every time you see the Hearts fans they're talking amongst themselves. Looks like they're discussing their bowling club AGM. No noise at all.

18-08-2022, 06:41 PM
I think the gimps will get through this tie.

Agree. They will score a couple in the return leg. Zurich dont look very good (only seen the 2nd half) so unless they have a counter attacking threat, I don't see them coming out on top.

18-08-2022, 06:43 PM
Should’ve been 3

Hearts are pish at the back

18-08-2022, 06:45 PM
What a greedy *******!!!

Massive chance for 3-1

All he had to do was roll it to his team mate

JamesHFC
You’ve got to pass that and kill the tie 😂

Square the ****ing ball

Done the hard but with a great turn of pace, just square it.

18-08-2022, 06:47 PM
Cannot believe he hasn't squared that for a tap in! Stupid greedy *******.

Chorley Hibee
Truth is that we'd be delighted with this result.

This Zurich aren't anything special and think Hearts will win this tie with a bit to spare.

Everyone talking about hearts winning at tynie forgetting about their rank defence

This should’ve finished 4/5-1 and they’ll get chances next week as well

18-08-2022, 06:49 PM
Truth is that we'd be delighted with this result.

This Zurich aren't anything special and think Hearts will win this tie with a bit to spare.

Your last sentence is confusing me though. They’ve been well on top in this game. How will hearts win the tie with a bit to spare?

Zurich goalies had **** all to do all game.

18-08-2022, 06:49 PM
James McFadden sounds like he’s regurgitating all the Jambo crap he’s been fed by his BBC director. That apart, he sounds as boring as get out ….

18-08-2022, 06:50 PM
Zurich miles the better team

Confident the job will be finished at Tiny :cb

18-08-2022, 06:51 PM
Has mfadden lost the plot ? If hearts score now they could easily get a 3rd and take a lead over to tyncecastle ? What kin planet is he on !!

He’s awful to listen to. Didn’t mention the boy could have squared that chance, just went on about Gordon saving it.

Now slavering about how getting Europa League would impact Hearts budget. Ok but it’s marginal, they’ll be making great money either way.

He’s so ignorant of basic stuff. On Sky yesterday saying how Hibs have to plan and invest long term. Yet loads of Hibbies have moaned all summer that it’s long term investment we’ve focused on too much! Clueless McFadden

18-08-2022, 06:52 PM
Should’ve been 3 or 4.

Zurich will finish the job next week.

That's far from the worst result that they could have had.

Pleasing. They should have lost that by 4 or 5.

18-08-2022, 06:53 PM
He’s awful to listen to. Didn’t mention the boy could have squared that chance, just went on about Gordon saving it.

Now slavering about how getting Europa League would impact Hearts budget. Ok but it’s marginal, they’ll be making great money either way.

He’s so ignorant of basic stuff. On Sky yesterday saying how Hibs have to plan and invest long term. Yet loads of Hibbies have moaned all summer that it’s long term investment we’ve focused on too much! Clueless McFadden

He's a slavering fanny

They'll be delighted with that and fancy their chances of going through.

Hearts a stick on for the Europa League and you have to fancy them in next seasons Super Cup against the CL winners.

The Romanov era is back.

18-08-2022, 06:54 PM
0 corners and 2 shots on target will win you very few games.

18-08-2022, 06:55 PM
Zurich miles the better team

Confident the job will be finished at Tiny :cb

….. only because they were on the front foot all the time while Hearts were defending and countering for the most part. They’ll probably win comfortably at home.

18-08-2022, 06:55 PM
….. only because they were on the front foot all the time while Hearts were defending and countering for the most part. They’ll probably win comfortably at home.

What evidence is there to suggest they’ll win that tie comfy at home?

What a lot of *****. If hearts had dominated tonight then fair enough but hearts barely got near them.

Genuinely feel like I’ve just watched a different game from most.

JamesHFC
18-08-2022, 06:57 PM

Wouldn’t say they would win comfortably at home. Zurich should have scored at least another two tonight. They will get at least a draw next week. Celtic now for Hearts on Sunday.

18-08-2022, 06:59 PM
Sibbick looked like he'd won a raffle to play for Hearts this season, looked clueless.

18-08-2022, 07:01 PM
What evidence is there to suggest they’ll win that tie comfy at home?

What a lot of *****. If hearts had dominated tonight then fair enough but hearts barely got near them.

Genuinely feel like I’ve just watched a different game from most.

Zurich weren't even playing at home tonight so home advantage was taken away , Hardly any fans so the atmosphere wasn't intimidating , IMO zurich dominated that match for large parts of the game

This chat Hearts will win comfortable at Tiny i don't get

18-08-2022, 07:02 PM
Should have been 3-1 at the end there. Zurich are no mugs though, will need to be full "fortress Tynecastle" to get through I reckon

MelbourneHibees
18-08-2022, 07:03 PM
Was disappointed by Zurich tonight. They looked like they were protecting their lead rather than trying to extend it. Wake up call needed for them next week or I fear the full stadium/tiny pitch will get to them. Nice to see the ex Hearts boy getting it up them every chance.

JamesHFC
18-08-2022, 07:03 PM
Zurich weren't even playing at home tonight so home advantage was taken away , Hardly any fans so the atmosphere wasn't intimidating , IMO zurich dominated that match for large parts of the game

This chat Hearts will win comfortable at Tiny i don't get

One of their best players started on the bench tonight too. Not sure if he be there next week but it strengthens Zurich if he is and starts.

18-08-2022, 07:05 PM
One of their best players started on the bench tonight too. Not sure if he be there next week but it strengthens Zurich if he is and starts.

Aye the wee Italian guy i think , Hopefully still here next week

18-08-2022, 07:06 PM
Was disappointed by Zurich tonight. They looked like they were protecting their lead rather than trying to extend it. Wake up call needed for them next week or I fear the full stadium/tiny pitch will get to them. Nice to see the ex Hearts boy getting it up them every chance.

Where about??? They had 3 or 4 really good chances and were getting forward every time they had the ball

What the **** have people been watching 🤣

18-08-2022, 07:09 PM
Definitely a good result for them. They won't be disappointed at all.

Heard that comment They actually didn’t have one shot on target just before he said it and after he said it
Zurich have been losing a lot of goals and not won in Thier past five games
Yet looked comfortable second half ( which was all I saw ) and should have won by more
Yes will be a different match at tyncastle But Zurich look capable of going Thier and scoring
Heart's have Celtic at the weekend so will be interesting week to see how Hearts cope with the extra games

Zurich have looked better than hearts for me

Way better. A decent European team would have won about 4 1. Hearts in the tie but can't see the Swiss not scoring 2 or 3 next week.

18-08-2022, 07:10 PM
Wouldn’t say they would win comfortably at home. Zurich should have scored at least another two tonight. They will get at least a draw next week. Celtic now for Hearts on Sunday.

Hope Celtic smash them and wipe out a couple of their players too 👍especially Devlin, a very very very poor man’s Scott Brown who is more over rated than when folk compared Darren Mackie to Wayne Rooney years ago😂 just a very average player who puts the boot in and falls down like he’s shot when touched. Shows how poor Scottish pundits are when they gush about a player of such average ability.

MelbourneHibees
18-08-2022, 07:10 PM
Where about??? They had 3 or 4 really good chances and were getting forward every time they had the ball

What the **** have people been watching 🤣

The 2nd half was primarily Hearts attacking save for maybe minutes 75-85.

18-08-2022, 07:11 PM

What the **** have people been watching [emoji1787]

Poor decision making cost them this evening. (Zurich) I hope Sibbick plays next week!

I dint think hearts had a shot second half and Gordon was further up the field than most of them

18-08-2022, 07:13 PM
Sibbick looked like he'd won a raffle to play for Hearts this season, looked clueless.

Huge thank you to him for knocking us back

[emoji23][emoji23]

Not sure what game you were watching but every time Zurich had the ball they attacked

Wait, are you saying the majority of the 2nd half was hearts attacking?

That’s total bull****

Hearts barely got near them the 2nd half. Your eyes must be painted on.

18-08-2022, 07:14 PM
The "Hearts have been the better team" by some on here is baffling.

Zurich are technically miles and miles better than Hearts. It maybe took them 20 mins or so to work it out, but everything I saw after that suggested they were worthy winners.

If they took a 2 goal lead to the wee stadium, then it was tie over, but Hearts might spawn a goal.

I dont see them not conceding though, esp if Halkett injury is bad.

18-08-2022, 07:16 PM
Quite ironic Hearts celebrating a 2-1 defeat after their chat the other weekend.

18-08-2022, 07:16 PM

He's atrocious. 2 minutes to go and he says Hearts won't want to concede at this stage. So insightful!

18-08-2022, 07:20 PM
Aye the wee Italian guy i think , Hopefully still here next week

Gnonto. He looked a class above the rest when he appeared. He's the youngest scorer for the Italian national team, I read.

18-08-2022, 07:21 PM
Gnonto. He looked a class above the rest when he appeared. He's the youngest scorer for the Italian national team, I read.

That's him , 4 caps and 1 goal

18-08-2022, 07:25 PM

Really? They did nothing created no chances bar a silly penalty. Zurich should have scored more.

18-08-2022, 07:27 PM
Really? They did nothing created no chances bar a silly penalty. Zurich should have scored more.

That guy is at it

Rumble de Thump
18-08-2022, 07:37 PM
FC Zurich haven't won in their first five league games of the season, sit bottom of the Swiss Super League, yet won that game comfortably. Hearts were honkin.

18-08-2022, 07:47 PM
FC Zurich haven't won in their first five league games of the season, sit bottom of the Swiss Super League, yet won that game comfortably. Hearts were honkin.

And played 80 miles away from home in their ‘home leg’ 😂 Gordon saved that being 4 or 5 tonight. The boy that used to play for them was honking, missed a couple too. They’ll score a couple at Tynie, especially if they’ve lost Halkett. Hearts were Lilian Gish tonight 👍

18-08-2022, 07:54 PM
Hearts are bottom six with out Gordon.

18-08-2022, 08:00 PM

Hibs4185
18-08-2022, 08:06 PM

Hearts wouldn’t have got promoted from the championship without Gordon

ShetlandHibby
18-08-2022, 08:23 PM
To be fair Gordon made one save at the very end. The other couple were saves you’d expect any keeper to make. If they’d been a bit more adventurous and attacking they could’ve scored more than just a penalty. They seemed to panic when they went one up, they settled back down in the second half and played better. Sets it up for a good return match next week

18-08-2022, 08:52 PM
The midweek/weekend routine will hurt Hearts. Injuries already and Celtic up next. We need to take advantage of their busy schedule.

18-08-2022, 09:32 PM
Based on what I saw tonight I think Hearts have a good chance of progressing.

18-08-2022, 09:57 PM
I've just finished watching the game after being out earlier and managing to avoid the score.

I'd suggest that's a decent result for Hearts and they have a good chance of going through next week.

18-08-2022, 10:07 PM
Hearts are crap and will lose next week too.

Just for balance 😁

18-08-2022, 10:14 PM
FC Zurich were by some distance the better team and should have scored at least four. Fair enough the tie was in Switzerland but it wasn't at Zurich's home ground!

So think they'll do the damage next week and dump the Gorgie chumps out.

18-08-2022, 10:41 PM
The narrative has been written. ‘2-1 is a good result for Hertz’ ‘back at Tiny, with the special atmosphere’ ‘Boyce and Shankland, what a strike force’ every single touch Barry ‘cheers for 2016’ McKay touched is ‘world class’… do me a favour and it will be all the sweeter when the Swiss turn up next week and dump them out.

18-08-2022, 10:59 PM
The narrative has been written. ‘2-1 is a good result for Hertz’ ‘back at Tiny, with the special atmosphere’ ‘Boyce and Shankland, what a strike force’ every single touch Barry ‘cheers for 2016’ McKay touched is ‘world class’… do me a favour and it will be all the sweeter when the Swiss turn up next week and dump them out.

I think if we're honest we would say that if it was us taking a team back to Easter Road and only being 2-1 down from the first leg this place would be full of optimism about going through and rightly so.

Zurich could have scored more tonight but didn't so it's definitely game on next week.

18-08-2022, 11:03 PM
I think if we're honest we would say that if it was us taking a team back to Easter Road and only being 2-1 down from the first leg this place would be full of optimism about going through and rightly so.

Zurich could have scored more tonight but didn't so it's definitely game on next week.

F*** the Hertz

18-08-2022, 11:08 PM
F*** the Hertz

Absolutely. :agree:

phoenixfire
18-08-2022, 11:20 PM
Hearts weren't that impressive at all , definitely not the world beaters they think they are ! Some strange decisions by ref, and good goalkeeping by Gordon all in all think Zurich should have won at least 3-1 or 4-1 ! Good result for hearts sadly and at tiny they will be hopeful though I fancy Zurich to score at least one maybe two hoping that will be enough to knock the you know what's out:bye:

19-08-2022, 12:54 AM

They should have scored at least one more but need to remember that wasn't all that much of a home tie for Zurich tonight. They were the better side. If Hearts manage an early goal it's game on but on tonight's evidence, I'd expect Zurich to score over here.

Rumble de Thump
19-08-2022, 01:49 AM
If Hearts get a decent amount of good results like that defeat then they'll be getting demoted again or whatever they call it.

19-08-2022, 06:31 AM
Tynecastle will be rocking next week with a full house of 18k odd. Definitely have a chance of overturning that. Hopefully a raft of injuries against Celtic.

19-08-2022, 06:35 AM
Tynecastle will be rocking next week with a full house of 18k odd. Definitely have a chance of overturning that. Hopefully a raft of injuries against Celtic.

Not true, according to Robbie on this mornings radio, tynecastle will have 20000 hearts fans roaring them on next week...................

19-08-2022, 06:42 AM
Not true, according to Robbie on this mornings radio, tynecastle will have 20000 hearts fans roaring them on next week...................

Temporary stands?

19-08-2022, 06:55 AM

Pffftt! Yeah dream on Robbie, dream on.

BeLIEve what you want but FACT will prove you o so wrong!

19-08-2022, 07:04 AM
Of course **** the Hearts, but what I will say is I wish we had Barry McKay in our midfield. He’s everything we are missing right now. Magennis could be that though, whenever it is he comes back.

19-08-2022, 07:08 AM
Of course **** the Hearts, but what I will say is I wish we had Barry McKay in our midfield. He’s everything we are missing right now. Magennis could be that though, whenever it is he comes back.

Good player however the media love in with him is incredible. Every touch or simple pass last night was greeted with over exaggerated superlatives. His shot 1st half that went out for a throw was a thing of beauty.

19-08-2022, 07:18 AM
Temporary stands?
No it will be as one roaster on keekback said show images of groups of fans on their screens and it will look like the corners are filled in.🤣

19-08-2022, 07:24 AM
I am disappointed the BBC didn’t mention the… World Famous Tynecastle Special Atmosphere Which Every Player Loves Playing In It Will Be Rocking You Know….often enough.

Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2022, 07:51 AM
Tie is in the balance a bit.

Would still slightly fancy Zurich but Hearts have a real chance unfortunately.

Another goal for Shankland as well. Someone we should have been in for.

19-08-2022, 07:54 AM
Tie is in the balance a bit.

Would still slightly fancy Zurich but Hearts have a real chance unfortunately.

Another goal for Shankland as well. Someone we should have been in for.

Do you think he will be more or less effective than Boyle over the season?

Not having a go, but had we spent £500k on shankland, we may not have been able to get MB back.

Shankland slotted his pen well last night but looked quite anonymous outside that imo - Barrie Mackay is a good player though.

Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2022, 07:57 AM
Do you think he will be more or less effective than Boyle over the season?

Not having a go, but had we spent £500k on shankland, we may not have been able to get MB back.

Shankland slotted his pen well last night but looked quite anonymous outside that imo - Barrie Mackay is a good player though.

Depends what you class as effective. I think Shankland will score more, wouldn’t be surprised in the slightest to see him score 20-25 this season.

I’d rather have Boyle because I think he’ll offer more throughout the season but Shankland will be an exceptionally good player for Hearts. If it’s £500k he’s cost them then we should have avoided signing guys like McAllister for £200k etc and went for Shankland instead.

19-08-2022, 08:00 AM
Depends what you class as effective. I think Shankland will score more, wouldn’t be surprised in the slightest to see him score 20-25 this season.

I’d rather have Boyle because I think he’ll offer more throughout the season but Shankland will be an exceptionally good player for Hearts. If it’s £500k he’s cost them then we should have avoided signing guys like McAllister for £200k etc and went for Shankland instead.

Shankland was never signing for us over Hearts had we went in and challenged them.

19-08-2022, 08:01 AM

Lost count how many times 20,000 was mentioned. Seems if you repeat it enough fans start to believe it.

Special atmosphere etc.

Levein even admitted on radio that small pitch = less time in ball so you can make tackles and win the ball.

I’ve said many times before the small pitch at Tynie makes a huge difference. It’s like a different sport.

19-08-2022, 08:05 AM

I would be astonished.

The last player to score >20 goals was Edouard in 2019/20

Top scorer last season was Giacomacis with 13.......................

19-08-2022, 08:06 AM
My office Jambo is unbearable this morning. He has actually skipped from beating Zurich to now talking about qualifying from the Europa group stage. I’ve shut my office door.

19-08-2022, 08:07 AM
Financially they will do better in the Europa League, but I think they will get a good few thrashings. Pleasing

19-08-2022, 08:10 AM
Financially they will do better in the Europa League, but I think they will get a good few thrashings. Pleasing

If they qualify for the Europa, they will sell package deals for all matches to their fans - in the knowledge that 2 or 3 humpings in, the "attraction" may fall away.

Still, they get to make about £4m, so not to be sniffed at.

Just a pity the coefficient hadnt kicked in the year before.

19-08-2022, 08:14 AM
I’m not sure what everyone saying hearts have a good chance is seeing. They were beaten last night with Gordon making a few decent and one world class save. I didn’t see them test their goalie at all, unless I missed something. The Swiss team look much better technically, as European sides often do. Tynecastle will offer some form of home advantage but I’d expect league champions to be more than capable of coping with it.

19-08-2022, 08:15 AM
My office Jambo is unbearable this morning. He has actually skipped from beating Zurich to now talking about qualifying from the Europa group stage. I’ve shut my office door.

Funny that they were all going on about us celebrating a draw the other week. They seem delighted with their 2-1 defeat.

19-08-2022, 08:15 AM
I’m not sure what everyone saying hearts have a good chance is seeing. They were beaten last night with Gordon making a few decent and one world class save. I didn’t see them test their goalie at all, unless I missed something. The Swiss team look much better technically, as European sides often do. Tynecastle will offer some form of home advantage but I’d expect league champions to be more than capable of coping with it.

Correct, it’s the Hertz way. Take the positives out of a defeat. Spin the situation in their favour.

F*** them.

MelbourneHibees
19-08-2022, 08:18 AM

Someone was on here the other day claiming the opposite. Conference league they are more likely to actually win a game or 2 which is worth 500k per win.
They would also not have to share any TV with with Rangers if Ranger end up in the Europa League proper or something like that.
Still want them to get humped next week though.
Couldn't bare the thought of them getting to play Man U, Roma etc. Even of the inevitable 7 nil pumping were on the cards.

19-08-2022, 08:21 AM

A lot of the money is based on points is it not so Conference league may be better for them with assuming weaker teams in it. They did land lucky with Zurich I think a team in a bit of transition losing their coach, in poor league form and not playing at their home stadium. They have stayed in the tie when they probably shouldn't be so definitely got chance of going through.

19-08-2022, 08:21 AM
A lot of the money is based on points is it not so Conference league may be better for them with assuming weaker teams in it. They did land lucky with Zurich I think a team in a bit of transition losing their coach, in poor league form and not playing at their home stadium. They have stayed in the tie when they probably shouldn't be so definitely got chance of going through.

All on here

https://editorial.uefa.com/resources/0277-158b0bea495a-ba6c18158cd3-1000/20220704_circular_2022_47_en.pdf

Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2022, 08:22 AM

They only need to win by 1 to keep the tie going and they’re playing a team poorer than Celtic or Rangers.

I’d fancy Zurich still but a decent chance is exactly what they have imo.

19-08-2022, 08:22 AM

They were comfortably second best yesterday and were lucky to still be in the tie. They really are the spawniest team in world football. That makes me think a deflected last minute sclaff off a Swiss erchie and yam qualification is a distinct possibility. The second leg is probably their biggest game in recent years, probably bigger than promotion playoffs because of the money at stake. It will be a ****ing nightmare if they do it, I’m just grateful I don’t work in close proximity to any of them.

Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2022, 08:23 AM
I would be astonished.

The last player to score >20 goals was Edouard in 2019/20

Top scorer last season was Giacomacis with 13.......................

I wouldn’t read much into 13 goals last season, that was a complete outlier compared to normal seasons. He also scored 17 in all comps and only played 29 games.

I was also talking about all comps. Hearts will probably play 50+ games this season. 20 goals is more than achievable and I don’t think 25 is out the question at all for someone that takes penalties.

19-08-2022, 08:39 AM
I remember walking out the Malmo ground at full time 2-0 down, and thinking, we've got a chance next week. :faf:

Please if there's a god. :pray::pray::pray::pray:

19-08-2022, 09:00 AM
I remember walking out the Malmo ground at full time 2-0 down, and thinking, we've got a chance next week. :faf:

Please if there's a god. :pray::pray::pray::pray:

You must have been the only one?
Fenlon really made a mess of the team that night. Back 4 of
Stevenson right back
Forster and McPake in the middle and Hanlon left back

I'm Spartacus
19-08-2022, 09:35 AM
I don't think Hearts offered anything but I also thought they looked much better in the last half hour, but still offered nothing, I am jealous of Gordon and Mackay, they seem to have nothing in midfield and that Aussie right back is honking!

19-08-2022, 09:50 AM
Like many others I am quite confused about people gushing over the hearts performance, no doubt 2-1 is not a disaster to take back to the home leg but they were outplayed for the majority of the game and could easily have lost 2 more goals while they had really no chances other than a penalty.

Zurich aren't some amazing giant of a club either, their league title last season was incredible, but they are a mid table Swiss team at best.

19-08-2022, 09:54 AM
Like many others I am quite confused about people gushing over the hearts performance, no doubt 2-1 is not a disaster to take back to the home leg but they were outplayed for the majority of the game and could easily have lost 2 more goals while they had really no chances other than a penalty.

Zurich aren't some amazing giant of a club either, their league title last season was incredible, but they are a mid table Swiss team at best.

Hearts were poor last night . They’ll be disappointed with their performance . They’ll be OK with the score line , mind you , as they got away with it a little . That’s said, they are right in the tie and have a decent chance to progress . They will need to be much better next week though .

19-08-2022, 10:48 AM
I predict the mutants to lose 2-0 in the return.

19-08-2022, 10:56 AM
Not sure how I feel about this.

I'd rather watch them getting thumped each week in the Europa than picking up points in the Conference.

But I'd also rather they played a bunch of nothing sides instead of the chance of playing proper glamorous ties.

Prob best just to want them gubbed and not worry too much about it I suppose.

I'm Spartacus
19-08-2022, 10:58 AM
Hearts were poor last night . They’ll be disappointed with their performance . They’ll be OK with the score line , mind you , as they got away with it a little . That’s said, they are right in the tie and have a decent chance to progress . They will need to be much better next week though .

Have you heard boxer nose describe the performance? Oh my days!

"I thought we were outstanding," he told BBC Scotland

19-08-2022, 10:59 AM
Have you heard boxer nose describe the performance? Oh my days!

"I thought we were outstanding," he told BBC Scotland

Quite an incredible take on it. I was actually a bit surprised at how poor hearts played last night.

Bottle job Neilson will see to hearts playing ECL football until Xmas

19-08-2022, 11:06 AM
I actually think hearts have been poor all season so far. Gordon aside - once he retires they'll revert to their usual state of mind table obscurity.

Ross county - should have taken something off them.
Hibs - draw absolutely fair
Dundee utd - utd a mess and GK culpable for 3/4 goals.
Zurich - only saw first half but they were poor.

They'll get found out this season.

19-08-2022, 11:08 AM
I actually think hearts have been poor all season so far. Gordon aside - once he retires they'll revert to their usual state of mind table obscurity.

I reckon they’ll definitely struggle juggling the league and Europe. There’s their first serious injury on the back of last night

19-08-2022, 11:11 AM

100%…however the pre-written media narrative is in full swing.

19-08-2022, 11:12 AM

Honestly think they're a Barrie McKay injury away from being poor. Whilst I don't think McKay is amazing, he's a stand out for them and everything goes through him.

19-08-2022, 11:15 AM
Lost count how many times 20,000 was mentioned. Seems if you repeat it enough fans start to believe it.

Special atmosphere etc.

Levein even admitted on radio that small pitch = less time in ball so you can make tackles and win the ball.

I’ve said many times before the small pitch at Tynie makes a huge difference. It’s like a different sport.

It always surprised me that Hearts never installed an artificial pitch. Maybe a bit less so now but a plastic pitch, coupled with the small dimensions would have have played right into the hands of previous Hearts teams playing style.

JamesHFC
19-08-2022, 11:19 AM
Neil Lennon’s side won 2-0 away to Gent last night. Brandon Barker scoring a goal. Lenny doing what he does best - winning.

I'm Spartacus
19-08-2022, 12:07 PM

I actually thought Zurich were decent and quick and dangerous on the counter, for a team seemingly with zero confidence they weren't the worst.

19-08-2022, 12:12 PM
Neil Lennon’s side won 2-0 away to Gent last night. Brandon Barker scoring a goal. Lenny doing what he does best - winning.

It’s a a shame he stopped doing it with us.

19-08-2022, 12:16 PM
Don't expect any praise for Hearts on our forum, but the result is a decent one for them and they have every chance of progressing with a good result in Edinburgh - Zurich are no great shakes as a team, tie's certainly not over yet ...

JamesHFC
19-08-2022, 12:18 PM
It’s a a shame he stopped doing it with us.

Hands were pretty much tied once McGinn, Allan and McGeough left.

19-08-2022, 12:24 PM

Let it ****ing go man. He won 2 of our last 14 games before he was sacked.

19-08-2022, 12:30 PM

Yeah, once Stubbs team left, Lenny was humped. Hopeless at signing guys here.

19-08-2022, 12:33 PM

Shame he didn't win many of his last 15 games with us.

19-08-2022, 01:16 PM
Don't expect any praise for Hearts on our forum, but the result is a decent one for them and they have every chance of progressing with a good result in Edinburgh - Zurich are no great shakes as a team, tie's certainly not over yet ...

Yet hearts were a lot worse than them

No-ones praising hearts because they were *****

19-08-2022, 02:13 PM
Yeah, once Stubbs team left, Lenny was humped. Hopeless at signing guys here.

He did sign Marciano, Ambrose, Allan on loan, who were definitely good signings.

Some mixed bags such as Milligan, McLaren, kamberi, Laidlaw, Barker, Slivka, Holt.

And yes some poor signings like Nelom, Mavrias, the Lithuanian striker who's name I can't spell, Brian Graham, stokes, Murray.

Just pointing out that I don't think hopeless is the right term.

19-08-2022, 02:20 PM
He did sign Marciano, Ambrose, Allan on loan, who were definitely good signings.

Some mixed bags such as Milligan, McLaren, kamberi, Laidlaw, Barker, Slivka, Holt.

And yes some poor signings like Nelom, Mavrias, the Lithuanian striker who's name I can't spell, Brian Graham, stokes, Murray.

Big Dave

19-08-2022, 02:28 PM

Those mixed bags would all be starters for this team except Laidlaw.

19-08-2022, 02:35 PM
Big Dave

That's the one, matuylvicius? 😅

19-08-2022, 05:18 PM

Murray was one of his good ones. Certainly not poor.

Marciano and Ambrose are the only2 that were real consistent improvements from what he inherited.

19-08-2022, 05:36 PM

and also persuaded jason cummings to sign an extended contract and a transfer to Forest which was, according to sky sports, worth in excess of £1m when warburton signed him

cameronw-hfc
19-08-2022, 06:16 PM

And when he started blaming everyone and anyone besides himself after games. He was good for a while, but it got as toxic as I've seen it in recent years towards the end under Lenny. Some accusations of bullying certain players etc

berwickhibee
19-08-2022, 07:03 PM
Hibs 18s losing 2-0 at half time away to Dundee utd

19-08-2022, 07:08 PM
Partick Thistle 1-0 Inverness CT

19-08-2022, 07:09 PM

Still think he'll be back at Hibs one day :greengrin

Hibees1973
19-08-2022, 07:18 PM
Still think he'll be back at Hibs one day :greengrin

On the whole I would look on Lennon's time at Hibs as positive.

Any time the hun played us while he was in charge we always gave them a serious game. I was optimistic before playing them at this time.

Tomorrow, can't say I'm that hopeful.

19-08-2022, 07:21 PM
Brian Graham bring everything you want from a centre forward.

19-08-2022, 07:24 PM
On the whole I would look on Lennon's time at Hibs as positive.

Any time the hun played us while he was in charge we always gave them a serious game. I was optimistic before playing them at this time.

Tomorrow, can't say I'm that hopeful.

The Rangers team that Lennon got to face wasn’t really comparable to the Europa League finalists we’ll face tomorrow though was it?

19-08-2022, 07:24 PM
Jeez, no the argument about Lennon again

19-08-2022, 07:38 PM
Brian Graham bring everything you want from a centre forward.

Absolutely, if you're in league 1.

19-08-2022, 07:55 PM

It's amazing how a very late goal changes peoples view of the match. I felt we were lucky to escape not being 3 down at one point. At the end, I considered it to be daylight robbery rather than a deserved point.

The Hertz for many years have had a team that I've always considered as being workmanlike, lacking skill, but they generally are very competitive. Last season, they were lucky that all the other teams were poor. They had Gordon, were had to break down and had a goal threat.

They're poor often means 3rd or 4th in the table.

19-08-2022, 08:01 PM
It's amazing how a very late goal changes peoples view of the match. I felt we were lucky to escape not being 3 down at one point. At the end, I considered it to be daylight robbery rather than a deserved point.

The Hertz for many years have had a team that I've always considered as being workmanlike, lacking skill, but they generally are very competitive. Last season, they were lucky that all the other teams were poor. They had Gordon, were had to break down and had a goal threat.

They're poor often means 3rd or 4th in the table.

I said daylight robbery on the match thread when we scored but it was a weird game. I thought up until they scored we could have been a couple up and were winning all the 50/50's and second balls. A draw in the end was probably correct.

berwickhibee
19-08-2022, 08:12 PM
Dundee utd 2 Hibs 1 ft

Young team this year for hibs

19-08-2022, 08:17 PM

Aren’t these teams in the championship?

19-08-2022, 08:24 PM
Brian Graham is a good striker at his level. His level is nowhere near us.

19-08-2022, 08:39 PM
Norwich 2-0 up

19-08-2022, 08:46 PM
League 1?
Thistle in Championship, no?

cameronw-hfc
19-08-2022, 08:51 PM
Brian Graham is a good striker at his level. His level is nowhere near us.

He was bang average for us in the champ, seriously cant understand if anyone thinks he's worth it now at 34 when he wasn't 4/5 year's ago. Good backup for a low prem/high champ team.

19-08-2022, 08:52 PM
Like the look of Scott Tiffoney of Partick. Very fast and direct with a good end product

19-08-2022, 08:58 PM
Like the look of Scott Tiffoney of Partick. Very fast and direct with a good end product

I think he's olone now.

19-08-2022, 09:01 PM
Is View From the Terrace deid?

19-08-2022, 10:28 PM
You must have been the only one?
Fenlon really made a mess of the team that night. Back 4 of
Stevenson right back
Forster and McPake in the middle and Hanlon left back

We were steaming. :party:

19-08-2022, 11:21 PM
We were steaming. :party:

Was it you, or maybe Bolton, that made the "song" that obviously was meant to be the Carnival de Paris tune but was drunkenly messed up, that we still do today?

I'm sure I remember chat the next day on here about what an atrocious effort it was!

20-08-2022, 09:34 AM
Was it you, or maybe Bolton, that made the "song" that obviously was meant to be the Carnival de Paris tune but was drunkenly messed up, that we still do today?

I'm sure I remember chat the next day on here about what an atrocious effort it was!
That was Bolton with a little help from myself and Ronaldo7, Bolton was sleeping and just started mimicking the song from the other end while his eyes were closed, we joined in and it just took off. :greengrin

20-08-2022, 09:40 AM

Reminded me a lot of Crunchie. Definitely one I’d take a chance on. His close control and first touch was excellent for that level. Certainly a ‘bums off seat’ player if developed. Looks like he’d burst a gut until the last whistle too, good attitude on him by the looks of it.

20-08-2022, 10:36 AM
He was bang average for us in the champ, seriously cant understand if anyone thinks he's worth it now at 34 when he wasn't 4/5 year's ago. Good backup for a low prem/high champ team.

I don’t think anyone suggested anything other than he played well last night? Looked more mobile than I remember and bagged two goals. I liked him when he was with us, probably should have had more goals off him.

20-08-2022, 02:08 PM
Fulham 1 Brentford 0 after 50 seconds

Palace 0 villa 1 after 5 mins, 1-1 after 7 mins

20-08-2022, 02:45 PM
Dundee United 0-1 St Mirren

Poor Jack.

20-08-2022, 02:47 PM
Another masterclass underway from the 'best young manager in Scottish football'.

20-08-2022, 02:56 PM
HT

Arbroath 0 Queens Park 1

Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2022, 02:58 PM
DU getting beat and bottom of the table. How can it be with JR as manager?

20-08-2022, 03:03 PM
Personally, I don’t get the anti-Jack Ross sentiments. Ok, he didn’t set the heather on fire with us, especially at the end but he didn’t actively work against us and doesn’t deserve the negative comments.

20-08-2022, 03:06 PM
HT

Arbroath 0 Queens Park 1

Scott Allan to come on as super sun and save the day.

20-08-2022, 03:10 PM
Dundee utd 0 St Mirren 2 oooohhhh

poor defending

20-08-2022, 03:11 PM
Dundee Utd [emoji23][emoji23]

20-08-2022, 03:12 PM

i'm refusing to watch him in that colour of strip :greengrin

20-08-2022, 03:12 PM

Hope he shines.....

percy veer
20-08-2022, 03:13 PM
Personally, I don’t get the anti-Jack Ross sentiments. Ok, he didn’t set the heather on fire with us, especially at the end but he didn’t actively work against us and doesn’t deserve the negative comments.

If a new hibs manager had a start like that the media would be going wild, I think its directed more to them.

Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2022, 03:13 PM

And I don’t get the Jack Ross circle tug where people where posters were actually telling others to **** off if they didn’t want Dundee United to do well now.

Hope Jack Ross and Dundee United fail miserably, which they’re really doing a cracking job of so far. If they keep it up, our chances of success increase.

20-08-2022, 03:14 PM

I think it's more that, a couple of weeks ago, some people were looking back at JR with rose tinted specs.

The truth is, he is an ok manager, but is nowhere near as tactically switched on as LJ.

20-08-2022, 03:15 PM
have Motherwell finally sorted out the drainage problems they used to have for that pitch, or has it just been re-laid, looks good

Sgt. Hartman
20-08-2022, 03:16 PM
Jack Ross will be getting his jotters

20-08-2022, 03:20 PM
And I don’t get the Jack Ross circle tug where people where posters were actually telling others to **** off if they didn’t want Dundee United to do well now.

Hope Jack Ross and Dundee United fail miserably, which they’re really doing a cracking job of so far. If they keep it up, our chances of success increase.

I can’t comment on your first point as I didn’t see any of that but if you did, and took offence at it, fine. If the truth be told, I’m now indifferent to Jack Ross and Dundee United, but I don’t take any pleasure out of seeing folk having a go at him.

JamesHFC
20-08-2022, 03:20 PM
Jack Ross will be getting his jotters

Serial bottler.

20-08-2022, 03:23 PM
FC Edinburgh 0 Falkirk 2 booooo

20-08-2022, 03:24 PM
penalty Motherwell v Livi

never EVER a penalty, NEVER

1-0

20-08-2022, 03:25 PM
penalty Motherwell v Livi

Very interesting, but who for may I be so bold as to ask.

20-08-2022, 03:26 PM
Very interesting, but who for may I be so bold as to ask.

nut i'm not telling yi, it's a surprise

Tully
20-08-2022, 03:27 PM
2nd shocking penalty decision I've seen today

20-08-2022, 03:29 PM
st johnstone 0 Aberdeen 1 boooooo

Arbroath 0 Queens Park 2....would love to see them in the top flight :greengrin

Cove 0 Ayr utd 2....them as well

Palace 3 Villa 1

Fulham 2 Brentford 2

montano 2nd yellow for Livingston

Arbroath pull one back 1-2

Ross co down to 10 at home to Killie

20-08-2022, 03:40 PM
Scores not really going our way ……. that’s us down to 8th. :bitchy:

20-08-2022, 03:44 PM
Scores not really going our way ……. that’s us down to 8th. :bitchy:

Paisley next week where we have a good record, then home to Killie, then away to Dundee utd

Ross co 1 Killie 0

Torto7
20-08-2022, 03:49 PM
I'm surprised how crap Dun Utd look tbf.

20-08-2022, 03:49 PM
Wonder if JR’s pal Mikey Stewart will actually criticise them this week.

20-08-2022, 03:50 PM
3 zip St Mirren

Jack Ross this, Jack Ross that

wow Dundee utd 0 St Mirren 3....and once again, that keeper

20-08-2022, 03:52 PM

Different keeper today is it not?

This result is right out of his playbook at Hibs to be fair. We got skelped at home by lesser sides a few times when he was at the club.

20-08-2022, 03:53 PM
Jack Ross this, Jack Ross that

Already under pressure. Such a bad start.

20-08-2022, 03:55 PM
Different keeper today is it not?

This result is right out of his playbook at Hibs to be fair. We got skelped at home by lesser sides a few times when he was at the club.

just checked the team does appear so, i just looked at tellybox to see the keeper coming wayyyy out and assumed it was the same dude, flicking between games constantly doesn't help :(

20-08-2022, 03:55 PM
Wonder if JR’s pal Mikey Stewart will actually criticise them this week.

Course not.

I don't really mind Ross but the media love in does my nut in.

Hibs were just about right to sack him when we did, much like Fenlon it was the appointment of the successor that was the problem. Results like today aren't a rarity for a Ross team. Pumped at home from Rangers and Hearts in his 1st season with us, from Livi and Ross County in his 2nd and from Dundee Utd and Celtic in the run before he was emptied.

JamesHFC
20-08-2022, 03:57 PM

Next up for them, Celtic 👍

20-08-2022, 03:59 PM
quickly looked on soccerbase as i thought it would have been a long time since St Mirren won by so many at tannadice

only got down a bit and see St Mirren won 5-1 up there season two seasons ago lol

20-08-2022, 04:00 PM
Alright maybe jack ross sucks

20-08-2022, 04:00 PM
Next up for them, Celtic 👍

hopefully this run lasts at least until after 10th September

20-08-2022, 04:04 PM
Things are looking pretty grim for John James Ross

20-08-2022, 04:05 PM
have Motherwell finally sorted out the drainage problems they used to have for that pitch, or has it just been re-laid, looks good

Its been fine for about 4 or 5 years now. No issues with the pitch any more.

Sauerkraut
20-08-2022, 04:06 PM
OK this is but a rumour, not confirmed. Barisic was sent off in the tunnel after the game. Spitting mentioned.

20-08-2022, 04:07 PM
FT

St Johnstone 0 Aberdeen 1

Fulham 3 Brentford 2
Palace 3 Villa 1
Everton 1 Forest 1
Leicester 1 Southampton 2...Leicester down in 18th

FC Edinburgh 0 Falkirk 3, Huddies
Kelty 0 Dunfy 0

20-08-2022, 04:07 PM
OK this is but a rumour, not confirmed. Barisic was sent off in the tunnel after the game. Spitting mentioned.

He had certainly lost the plot

20-08-2022, 04:10 PM
Its been fine for about 4 or 5 years now. No issues with the pitch any more.

cool, only really noticed today after the camera zoomed in on a few players

Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2022, 04:10 PM

If that’s the case he should be given a huge ban.

20-08-2022, 04:13 PM

on another thread he gave the finger to home fans then spat on the pitch

must have carried on with his dirty behaviour

20-08-2022, 04:14 PM

Was that who it was? I certainly saw a Rangers player spitting at either our dugout or someone in the dugout seconds before he went up the tunnel. Glad it was spotted.

20-08-2022, 04:16 PM

With covid still looming over everything, if this was at / on someone else it should be treated even more harshly.

20-08-2022, 04:24 PM
according to sportsound dundee utd players held a "solutions meeting" :greengrin during the week....Jack was locked out of that one but will probably be involved in the next one

Renfrew_Hibby
20-08-2022, 04:30 PM
Hecky 3 JDT 0. If he had been in at the start of last season Sheff Utd would be in the prem.

GreenGray
20-08-2022, 04:33 PM

He gave a hibs fan the finger and spat on the pitch before heading down the tunnel, fuming

20-08-2022, 04:36 PM
He gave a hibs fan the finger and spat on the pitch before heading down the tunnel, fuming

That’s going to be a retrospective ban surely?

20-08-2022, 04:37 PM
Arbroath bottom of the league, scott allan got the last 22 mins, in fact he was one of four Arbroath subs on the 68th minute

20-08-2022, 04:38 PM
1-0 Arsenal

Top team

20-08-2022, 04:41 PM
2-0

Captain Odegaard again

20-08-2022, 04:43 PM
Arsenal so far ooft, brilliant to watch

20-08-2022, 05:06 PM
Union Berlin 1 Leipzig 0, nice goal, always nice seeing a Red Bull side getting beat ;)

2-0

2-1 7 mins remaining

20-08-2022, 06:01 PM
Gabriel Jesus looks like he is made for Arsenal

Offside there, but what movement he has !

20-08-2022, 06:03 PM
Gabriel Jesus looks like he is made for Arsenal

Offside there, but what movement he has !

Absolutely. He’s transformed Arsenal front line. A great signing

20-08-2022, 06:46 PM
No chance of Marseille keeping Saliba then.
What a player he is.

20-08-2022, 07:35 PM
Crikey, anyone see the penalty that Motherwell got against livi?

Even worse than the Rangers decision!

20-08-2022, 07:51 PM
No chance of Marseille keeping Saliba then.
What a player he is.

Never was I don't think. Arsenal weren't spending 30 million on him to never give him a chance. Expect a new deal to be announced in next few weeks. Boy is a star.

20-08-2022, 07:57 PM
Oh my gosh - the tackles at the Ross County game - 2 stick on red cards for. County both given as bookings

This about says it all [emoji1787]

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220820/9ec2f0251ef98692149389bc3c255038.jpg

20-08-2022, 10:27 PM
Never was I don't think. Arsenal weren't spending 30 million on him to never give him a chance. Expect a new deal to be announced in next few weeks. Boy is a star.

Well Nuno Tavares was excellent again tonight so everybody’s happy I guess :agree:

JamesHFC
21-08-2022, 10:23 AM
Hearts team to face celtic today.

Gordon, Atkinson, Sibbick, Rowles, Cochrane, Forrest, Haring, Halliday, GMS, Boyce, Ginnelly

Celtic should pump them.

21-08-2022, 10:28 AM

Gordon, Atkinson, Sibbick, Rowles, Cochrane, Forrest, Haring, Halliday, GMS, Boyce, Ginnelly

Celtic should pump them.

Is this on tv?

21-08-2022, 10:29 AM

Celtic should pump them.

Hope so, I've used my triple captain in my fantasy team and that man is Kyogo! Hoping for an absolute demolition, obviously.

21-08-2022, 10:31 AM

Celtic should pump them.

Guessing that line up has been leaked?
Can see why they would rest players for the European game

JamesHFC
21-08-2022, 10:42 AM
Is this on tv?

Don't think so mate.

JamesHFC
21-08-2022, 10:43 AM

Just the team I've been told by someone who's usually right.

21-08-2022, 10:49 AM
Don't think so mate.

21-08-2022, 10:49 AM

Celtic will rip that defence apart

21-08-2022, 10:59 AM

If thats the team then celtic will take at least 4 off them

21-08-2022, 11:02 AM

🤞

21-08-2022, 11:02 AM
That Hearts defence looks rank. Celtic to put 4 past them at least.

21-08-2022, 11:03 AM

:cb

21-08-2022, 11:12 AM

You were on the money the last time too ! :aok:

Paulie Walnuts
21-08-2022, 11:15 AM
You were on the money the last time too ! :aok:

Aye but they also admitted they guessed half of it :greengrin

21-08-2022, 11:17 AM
Can never say for certain that Hearts will get skelped from Celtc. For some reason they always seem to raise their game. I think Celtc will win, just not by such a margin.

21-08-2022, 11:18 AM

It's only on today because Hearts played on Thursday.

It will be on Celtic TV International.

Paulie Walnuts
21-08-2022, 11:19 AM
Can never say for certain that Hearts will get skelped from Celtc. For some reason they always seem to raise their game. I think Celtc will win, just not by such a margin.

Yeah I’m saying 2-0 Celtic.

21-08-2022, 11:29 AM
5-1 Celtc and end them as a club.

JamesHFC
21-08-2022, 12:00 PM
Aye but they also admitted they guessed half of it :greengrin

When asked if it was the team I said "might be, might not be" 😉

phoenixfire
21-08-2022, 12:08 PM
Hearts to get a 5-0 hammer to round of a carlsberg weekend:greengrin

Bridge hibs
21-08-2022, 12:20 PM
Watching Bristol City v Cardiff, Cedric Kipre Cardiff centre half is ****ing brutal, he struck gold leaving Motherwell to play regularly at that level via Wigan and West Brom

21-08-2022, 12:28 PM

Eh? Hearts at Celtic Park is one of the most one sided fixtures of the last decade in the SPL. Celtic regularly pump them there, and will again today.