View Full Version : Match Updates 2022-23 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

TelaStella
11-08-2022, 07:54 PM
Meh. I went into tonight half wanting United to get something from it but after three goals I’ve began to start enjoying it slightly and remembered how much of a dislike I actually have for that that team. Beat our malmo score line and it’s a bonus.

LewysGot2
11-08-2022, 07:54 PM
The midfield maestro that is Craig Sibbald, championship level player.

The Pound Shop Real Slim Shady

11-08-2022, 07:55 PM
This is just a plan so Dundee United can rest their best players in the second half for the Hearts game.

Bridge hibs
11-08-2022, 07:55 PM
Yep...and where are those posters tonight I wonder?? As For Mikey Stewart get it right roond yeIm here, I wanted Fletcher to sign 👍

11-08-2022, 07:56 PM
Mikey Stewart suggested he was a master “technician” in the first 5 mins tonight.

Not sure what he’s been up to in the Netherlands but that’s some take :faf:

11-08-2022, 07:57 PM
Hope the Utd defenders paid to get in as they are just spectators.

11-08-2022, 07:57 PM
Seeing the 1,300 or so United fans in the stadium makes you really jealous

Jealous of them getting an outstanding trip whilst we get fields in Greece.

That’s it really

Trinity Hibee
11-08-2022, 07:58 PM
https://twitter.com/stillgame_spfl/status/1557817138118885376?s=10&t=NUAN7va3gJ101ZOnPq7auw

Jealous of them getting an outstanding trip whilst we get fields in Greece.

That’s it really

Tripolis was class

https://twitter.com/simpsonsspfl/status/1557816160099471360?s=21&t=DBQWoEskRYnJW5McQ6j6TA

supermcginn
11-08-2022, 07:59 PM
I doubt it. Middleton playing and a competent keeper and it would still be tight. They didn’t have enough threat when they had the ball early on. The goalie threw the third in and they capitulated

Glenn Middleton? He'd have made zero difference he's as average as the rest of the so called Dundee utd superstars.

11-08-2022, 08:02 PM
What’s the record us v malmo ?

I thought Jack Ross was the Messiah according to Stewart!

He's just a very naughty boy

6-0

LewysGot2
Tripolis was class

It was

And there's 6

JamesHFC
What did he say at half time 😭

6 now !

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

11-08-2022, 08:03 PM
2 more goals please.

I have genuinely just burst out laughing at No6. This could be double figures

Bridge hibs
Oh ma sides 🤣🤣🤣

LewysGot2

9-0 aggregate

2-0
0-7

He could get sacked tonight.

11-08-2022, 08:04 PM
This could be double figures.

Are they still in the tie?

Red card coming soon, surely.

Stuarty1875
11-08-2022, 08:05 PM
This could get really embarrassing

Not sure what's worse - the scoreline or Sibbalds haircut

Has Jack resigned yet? Maybe Mikey should as well.

11-08-2022, 08:06 PM
They have brought in a lot of players who I would imagine will be on a fair wedge. This would not be in their plans.

**** me they've literally just re started haha, what a mess United are in. AZ are a decent team but they're not that good, United defence and midfield are a shambles.

JamesHFC
Straight to the pub, don’t blame them.

Dun Utd fans leaving already they must think the tie is over.

11-08-2022, 08:07 PM
Off to the cheese museum? :greengrin

Zambernardi1875
11-08-2022, 08:08 PM
Michael Stewart still not mention Jack Ross

Stewart is a total Bawbag!! This is a good team. They are honking and this could perry easily end up as a 10 zip spanking!

Mickey Stewart has just said United are a good team and have put together a good squad, is he on crack?

As soon as Utd lost a goal they were done. Zero attacking game plane

JamesHFC
Michael Stewart still not mention Jack Ross

If this was Hibs he would be tearing our manager apart, fact.

Sgt. Hartman
Aye Mikey needs to pipe down

11-08-2022, 08:09 PM
“small margins” says Mikey :faf:

11-08-2022, 08:10 PM
As soon as Utd lost a goal they were done. Zero attacking game plane

What? a Ross team with no attacking plan, surely not.

He's here!

Yeh, I was thinking about that. We lost 9-0 on aggregate, 7-0 at home. Pretty much our worst result of all time I think. Not sure if it's the worst ever for a Scottish club in Europe.

Following Motherwell's humiliation in Ireland this isn't great for our game.

JamesHFC
That United fan sleeping hahaha brilliant

well done those united fans that have stayed

The "massive" lad has had a few pehs! His workplace will be plastered in those images on Monday! 😁

11-08-2022, 08:11 PM
I thought Utd did start the game quite well, but their keeper effectively lost it for them.

United

Excellent in the first leg and excrement in the second

Completely zonked, wonder if he fell asleep at 1 - 0 lol

Montford
I doubt it. Middleton playing and a competent keeper and it would still be tight. They didn’t have enough threat when they had the ball early on. The goalie threw the third in and they capitulated

Thought the same
Should’ve been 4-4-1-1 (Middleton just of Fletcher)
Basically playing a 3 man midfield and getting torn apart in front of the back 2
How TF he couldn’t see that after the first 2 goals and made immediate changes is bizarre

Dutch tv director havin a right laugh here.

The massive lad has had a few pehs!

Crackingly descriptive t-shirt :greengrin

Sgt. Hartman
11-08-2022, 08:12 PM
Hahaha absolutely superb effort from the camera man

Yeh, I was thinking about that. We lost 9-0 on aggregate, 7-0 at home. Pretty much our worst result of all time I think. Not sure if it's the worst ever for a Scottish club in Europe.

Following Motherwell's humiliation in Ireland this isn't great for our game.

From memory I think der hun took an absolute pumping by someone over two legs, was something like 12-3. Can't be bothered checking tho

He's here!
Mickey Stewart has just said United are a good team and have put together a good squad, is he on crack?

United's squad does look good on paper (at least by Scottish top flight standards) but AZ are simply far too good for them. They'd probably give most sides in our league a doing.

11-08-2022, 08:13 PM
AZ now shooting on sight against Calamity Jane in goals for Utd

Work will be a hoot tomorrow hehe

He's here!
From memory I think der hun took an absolute pumping by someone over two legs, was something like 12-3. Can't be bothered checking tho

Yeh, that rings a bell. Think Celtic maybe lost 7-0 to Barca a few years back?

11-08-2022, 08:14 PM
I have nothing against Jack Ross but I wonder how Stewart and the rest will spin the JR tactical genius story.

Michael Stewart not got much to say…….wonder why🤔

United's squad does look good on paper (at least by Scottish top flight standards) but AZ are simply far too good for them. They'd probably give most sides in our league a doing.

Apart from when they play Livi at Tannadice…

Aye Tripolis was good but a trip to a Dutch side or even a Belgian side, nice and easy to get to. Everywhere a couple of hours away max. Ideal.

11-08-2022, 08:15 PM
Why was Middleton not starting?

Not that I think he’s amazing, but surely the high and confidence he’d be on after last week and the threat he offers with pace is enough to make him start?!

Tactical masterclass tonight.

Eintracht. Euro cup semi before the famous 7-3 Madrid final at Hampden.

SJNB Hibby

5 goals in first half against a Scottish team is a new rrcord:eek:

Mantis Toboggan
11-08-2022, 08:16 PM

12 - 4 to Eintracht Frankfurt. A team we all owe great thanks to once more.

11-08-2022, 08:17 PM
Fletcher has given it away every time he’s had it with his flicks and knock ons.

Bridge hibs
Lorraine Kelly, get it right roond ye 🤣🤣

I do actually feel sorry for their fans. They represent us well - made sure to clear up the square they were all partying at last night, travelled across in numbers and didn't cause trouble.

I do still find this really quite funny though.

11-08-2022, 08:18 PM
Ah, that's the one. I knew someone had pumped the hun. I like Eintracht Frankfurt a lot!!

Lorraine Kelly, get it right roond ye 🤣🤣

Is that Lorraine Kelly the TV character, or Lorraine Kelly who plays Lorraine Kelly the TV character?

Paulie Walnuts
It’s a real shame this, I and every other Hibs fan really wanted Jack Ross to be a roaring success.

11-08-2022, 08:19 PM
Waiting on Mikey Stewart lecturing us again about sacking Jack Ross tonight ...If it wasn't for Hibs the Arabs would have won that easily tonight, just ask Tricky Dicky Gordon.

11-08-2022, 08:19 PM
TBF Stewart’s trying not to diss the Scottish game too much.

Bridge hibs
11-08-2022, 08:20 PM
Is that Lorraine Kelly the TV character, or Lorraine Kelly who plays Lorraine Kelly the TV character?Wee screechy as I call her, her bloody voice goes right through me 🤬

11-08-2022, 08:20 PM
C’mon, this is rubbish, been ages since AZ scored

11-08-2022, 08:21 PM
We want 8.

is the cameraman actually stalking that dundee utd fan now

Garymcl
Levein saying he feels sorry for jack ross his team have let him down another drinking buddy love in :greengrin

Cat Stanton
11-08-2022, 08:24 PM
Hoping they take our record tonight.

Why all the anti united stuff on this thread tonight? Or is it just the anti Jack Ross lot again? I'm genuinely confused.

I want the old firm and Hearts to get pumped in Europe (obviously). But I want other Scottish teams to do well. I don't understand the gloating anti-united sentiment here unless, as I say, it's just all about Jack Ross again?

He's here!
11-08-2022, 08:25 PM
Apart from when they play Livi at Tannadice…

I'm talking about AZ :greengrin

11-08-2022, 08:25 PM
I have been a huge flag bearer for Jack Ross and think it was a mistake for Hibs to get rid of him. However, it is going to be a huge task for him to win over the Utd fans after this.

He's here!
11-08-2022, 08:27 PM
I also recall Scotland team winning a Euro or World Cup play-off first leg 1-0 against the Netherlands circa 20 years ago and then getting thrashed 6-0 (or maybe 7-0) in the return.

Edit: BBC have also just flagged that one up.

11-08-2022, 08:28 PM
AZ would batter anyone outside the old firm

Highly doubt this result will define Jack Ross and Dundee United

A draw and a lost so far and at tynie on Sunday after tonight's pasting will leave fans a bit nervous

11-08-2022, 08:29 PM
I also recall Scotland team winning a Euro or World Cup play-off first leg 1-0 against the Netherlands circa 20 years ago and then getting thrashed 6-0 (or maybe 7-0) in the return.

Faddy and fletch masterpiece from a corner

11-08-2022, 08:30 PM
7-0

Yasss 7.

7-0

Great trip that, in more ways than one! 😀

JamesHFC
🤡

Ouch it’s 7

He's here!
Why all the anti united stuff on this thread tonight? Or is it just the anti Jack Ross lot again? I'm genuinely confused.

I want the old firm and Hearts to get pumped in Europe (obviously). But I want other Scottish teams to do well. I don't understand the gloating anti-united sentiment here unless, as I say, it's just all about Jack Ross again?

United are annoying, not really sure why (though I did used to have to regularly endure the company of an utter bell*nd who supported them, so that might have a bearing). They achieved miracles in the 80s but over the years I've found them steadily more irritating. Bit like Aberdeen.

Euro 2004 play off - 6-1 defeat on aggregate after winning the first leg 1-0.

11-08-2022, 08:31 PM

It may be a bit of a reaction to having been told constantly over the summer how great JR is, what a mistake Hibs made, that all their signings were brilliant and they would finish above Hibs.

Musselbound
United

Excellent in the first leg and excrement in the second

Bit harsh. United have got 52% possession in second half according to commentator! :confused:

Pumped

Torto7
11-08-2022, 08:32 PM
That goalie is really bad.

Are the AZ fans singing “You’re ****ing ****” lol

I have been a huge flag bearer for Jack Ross and think it was a mistake for Hibs to get rid of him. However, it is going to be a huge task for him to win over the Utd fans after this.

Dundee Utd fans demanding 1970s Brazil football.

I'm not really getting it either to be honest.

This is a highly embarrassing night for Scottish football.

supermcginn
We want 10

No doubt Jack Ross will be " pleased with some aspects of the game "

11-08-2022, 08:33 PM
the dutch fans english is quite good lol

JamesHFC
11-08-2022, 08:34 PM

You be cheering on Hearts next week then.

I’m sure one of the things Ron or Ben touched on that went under the radar a bit was that once we lost a goal we very rarely got back into the game or won.

There was never or rarely a comeback.

This proves it and some, his team were getting battered and he’s not been able to change it whatsoever.

Don’t get me wrong I was one of Ross’ bigger fans and never wanted him sacked. But you can’t always try sit in and counter.

Souter96Mac
Thought United would lose tonight, but not by this margin. From what I saw last week, AZ looked pony. Maybe shows United aren't up to much

Bridge hibs

I want the old firm and Hearts to get pumped in Europe (obviously). But I want other Scottish teams to do well. I don't understand the gloating anti-united sentiment here unless, as I say, it's just all about Jack Ross again?Nothing to do with Jack Ross for me, I just dont like Dundee United

11-08-2022, 08:35 PM

Don’t want Utd getting group stage European football and all the money that brings.

JR losing is a wee bonus. No really because it’s him, just sick of hearing how good he is. There were posters on here chucking out a few insults, this time last week, at the Hibs supporters who wanted him out. Wonder what their thoughts on the second leg are.

11-08-2022, 08:36 PM
You be cheering on Hearts next week then.

That's not the same thing really.

11-08-2022, 08:36 PM
Sadly this just sums up Scottish football.

I have to be honest and say every team outside of Celtic and Rangers would probably be facing a similar result here.

Getting third or fourth in the league to get into europe now an irrelevance bar the bigot bros. Just not goodenough as hearts will find out as the struggle with two games a week. Great for getting some money in but as they have shown an extra £3m can be wasted very quickly.

11-08-2022, 08:37 PM
Come on AZ one more

Zambernardi1875

Utd fans come out like rats after a small hint of success thinking it’s the 1980s glory years again. Canny stand them, having Ross as the manager
now is a bonus

United are rubbish.

11-08-2022, 08:38 PM
Hearts are lucky gits to be getting them next up.

The vast majority of football fans in Europe won't even be aware of the score.....

Is the tie over?

11-08-2022, 08:39 PM
United are rubbish.

Nah, surely no. Mikey Stewart keeps telling us they're a good team.

Chorley Hibee
11-08-2022, 08:39 PM
The fact this garbage finished 4th, having lost more games than they won, shows just how bad everyone outside of the top 3 was last season.

11-08-2022, 08:42 PM
The fact this garbage finished 4th, having lost more games than they won, shows just how bad everyone outside of the top 3 was last season.

Sure does and a warning to hearts that they are bang average. We will find out in the next few weeks how good they are.

11-08-2022, 08:42 PM
Can't recall us getting the runaround from Malmo like Utd are getting here.

Trinity Hibee
11-08-2022, 08:43 PM

Oh we definitely did

11-08-2022, 08:45 PM
Hearts are lucky gits to be getting them next up.

MMmm i wouldn't count on that, not sure if it's so noticeable nowayears but whenever either the old firm got a hammering in europe the Scottish side facing them next quite often got a hammering, obvioulsy Dundee utd don't have the same resources but the players will really want to get over this, quickly

then again. you may be right :)

11-08-2022, 08:47 PM

We did but that was one of worst Hibs teams in living memory, this is a much vaunted Utd side

11-08-2022, 08:48 PM

I left at half time. Only time I've ever done that.

11-08-2022, 08:48 PM
Don’t want Utd getting group stage European football and all the money that brings.

JR losing is a wee bonus. No really because it’s him, just sick of hearing how good he is. There were posters on here chucking out a few insults, this time last week, at the Hibs supporters who wanted him out. Wonder what their thoughts on the second leg are.

He’s gone. The constant digs at him and the reluctance to accept he was good for us remains an odd attitude.

11-08-2022, 08:49 PM
Full time 7-1 on aggregate.

HendoDelivered
11-08-2022, 08:50 PM
Embarrassed.

11-08-2022, 08:52 PM
He’s gone. The constant digs at him and the reluctance to accept he was good for us remains an odd attitude.

I never said he didn’t do anything good for us.

He’s the manager of a rival now so, naturally, I don’t really want to see him have success now. I found some of the chat about how goo he and Utd are on the back of the first leg odder.

11-08-2022, 08:54 PM
Just another embarrassing result for a Scottish side in Europe. The night started with a hint of jealousy that United fans were partying in Holland but now I'm just thankful it wasn't us.

11-08-2022, 08:55 PM
United join ourselves and Celtic (16-17 in Barcelona) as having lost 7-0 over 90 minutes. The largest margin of defeat over 2 games is Celtic v PSG 7-1 + 5-0 in 17-18, but that was in a Champions League group.

I left at half time. Only time I've ever done that.

I wish I had. I stayed to the end. I still maintain Fenlon should have been sacked after that game. Jack Ross has some work to do to win over the United fans after tonight and a relatively poor start to the season.

It may be a bit of a reaction to having been told constantly over the summer how great JR is, what a mistake Hibs made, that all their signings were brilliant and they would finish above Hibs.
Exactly right

11-08-2022, 08:57 PM
MMmm i wouldn't count on that, not sure if it's so noticeable nowayears but whenever either the old firm got a hammering in europe the Scottish side facing them next quite often got a hammering, obvioulsy Dundee utd don't have the same resources but the players will really want to get over this, quickly

then again. you may be right :)

Hopefully you are spot on.

11-08-2022, 08:59 PM
Still waiting on the BBC guys asking if JR is under pressure.

Lendo
11-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Was a bit worried that United were about to steal the crown for the biggest aggregate European pumping from us tonight.

JimboHibs
11-08-2022, 09:01 PM

Not just last season,pretty much every season.The league is brutal,as the last 25 years have shown its near impossible for any club in Scotland to grow.We wouldn't have beat AZ over 2 legs.

11-08-2022, 09:03 PM

I'm quite happy to hold on to a grudge for that miserable SC cup final 'performance' he gave us so tonight was very pleasing.

11-08-2022, 09:05 PM

They should be

11-08-2022, 09:09 PM
I'm quite happy to hold on to a grudge for that miserable SC cup final 'performance' he gave us so tonight was very pleasing.

Agreed, just seen the result, very amusing!

11-08-2022, 09:10 PM

Any manager that loses 7-0 is under pressure. What makes it worse for them is that they were by far the better side in the home leg. That was a disaster for Dundee United and Jack Ross. I still think he'll do well there and a bit like us they've brought in a lot of players and they'll need time to gel. As they showed last week, they can be dangerous.

11-08-2022, 09:10 PM

Indeed he's gone. The constant eulogising how good a manager he is when he's in charge of our rival and isn't doing particularly great is a much odder attitude.

11-08-2022, 09:11 PM
I feel for United. We've been there, and it isn't a nice place. It takes a while to recover from a pumping like that.

11-08-2022, 09:15 PM

Yep, he's a short losing spell away from losing his job now, irrelevant of how long he lasts.

11-08-2022, 09:16 PM
I feel for United. We've been there, and it isn't a nice place. It takes a while to recover from a pumping like that.

Yeah, I know someone who travelled over and he's a good lad. They're passionate fans who love their team (like us) and aren't glory hunters like supporters of the two arsecheeks and they'll be hurting. Dundee's a good city with good people and they'll have spent a small fortune in travel, accommodation and tickets.

11-08-2022, 09:17 PM

Good, hopefully they take a while to recover and we get ourselves well in front of them in the league.

11-08-2022, 09:18 PM
Yeah, I know someone who travelled over and he's a good lad. They're passionate fans who love their team (like us) and aren't glory hunters like supporters of the two arsecheeks and they'll be hurting. Dundee's a good city with good people and they'll have spent a small fortune in travel, accommodation and tickets.

At least they’ll have had a few days in Amsterdam. Decent consolation!

11-08-2022, 09:19 PM
Since Ross has arrived

United 0 - 2 Sunderland
United 1 - 2 Fleetwood
United 1-1 Kilmarnock
United 1-0 Alkmar
United 0-1 Livingston
United 0-7 Alkmar

Hearts up next.

Early days and even though two were friendlies if they lose to hearts at the weekend a lot of United fans will be getting worried.

11-08-2022, 09:22 PM
Since Ross has arrived

United 0 - 2 Sunderland
United 1 - 2 Fleetwood
United 1-1 Kilmarnock
United 1-0 Alkmar
United 0-1 Livingston
United 0-7 Alkmar

Hearts up next.

Early days and even though two were friendlies if they lose to hearts at the weekend a lot of United fans will be getting worried.

Yes, any manager who loses by seven goals uses up much of his credit with fans, more so for a new guy. Ross needs to get a few wins quickly, before the United fans mutiny.

11-08-2022, 09:22 PM
Since Ross has arrived

United 0 - 2 Sunderland
United 1 - 2 Fleetwood
United 1-1 Kilmarnock
United 1-0 Alkmar
United 0-1 Livingston
United 0-7 Alkmar

Hearts up next.

They should be worried already.

Despite Stewart thinking he has ‘many levels to his game’ if we had signed Sibbald to be our mainstay in midfield I’d have started worrying big time right there and then!

11-08-2022, 09:28 PM
They should be worried already.

Despite Stewart thinking he has ‘many levels to his game’ if we had signed Sibbald to be our mainstay in midfield I’d have started worrying big time right there and then!

Absolutely, Sibbald is such an average player in the SPFL….actually that’s probably too much of a complement. I’d be wanting far better players than him.

11-08-2022, 09:29 PM

I don't. They lapped it up when they relegated us in 98 and they joined in with the rest of them when Malmö skelped us. Zero sympathy from me. Roond them.

11-08-2022, 09:34 PM
Since Ross has arrived

United 0 - 2 Sunderland
United 1 - 2 Fleetwood
United 1-1 Kilmarnock
United 1-0 Alkmar
United 0-1 Livingston
United 0-7 Alkmar

Hearts up next.

Dundee United were getting torn apart down the left side of their defence tonight constantly. Ross failed to fix it despite his half time subs.

Reminded me of our performances under Ross where the team completely failed to turn up. He didn't have a clue in those games how fix it either.

Overall he did well with Hibs, but when it went wrong, it went badly wrong.

11-08-2022, 09:37 PM
Not just last season,pretty much every season.The league is brutal,as the last 25 years have shown its near impossible for any club in Scotland to grow.We wouldn't have beat AZ over 2 legs.

Correctamundo. The standard outside the bigot bros has been going down each year. Nothing will change until the leagues are run for all the teams not just two. It happens every season yet nothing changes. No joy at utd score but not surprised in the slightest.

11-08-2022, 09:38 PM
Oh we definitely did

Only hibs game I’ve ever attended, and probably ever will, where I ended up clapping the other team’s performance.

11-08-2022, 09:46 PM

Malmö we’re an excellent side with some top players about to move onto bigger clubs. I was there and had my head in my hands not believing what I was seeing. We were completely dismantled.

Cat Stanton
11-08-2022, 10:09 PM

Wow! There's revisionism for you...

11-08-2022, 10:14 PM
Funny he’s not getting the results and performances just like he did when Martin Boyle carried hibs to 3rd place

11-08-2022, 10:28 PM
The last 2 weeks for United are very Jack Ross.

Capable of something pretty special but will always throw in a few absolute no show performances that get the result they deserve.

Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2022, 10:40 PM
And that tonight is exactly the kind of humiliating pish we’d still be experiencing when it really mattered had we kept Jack Ross.

When push comes to shove and the big moments come round, he’ll bottle it the vast majority of times. And he’ll usually bottle it badly.

11-08-2022, 10:49 PM
And that tonight is exactly the kind of humiliating pish we’d still be experiencing when it really mattered had we kept Jack Ross.

When push comes to shove and the big moments come round, he’ll bottle it the vast majority of times. And he’ll usually bottle it badly.

To be fair, AZ would be capable of that result against most SPL teams, including us on a bad night. I hope PSV do the same to Rangers :greengrin

11-08-2022, 10:49 PM
At least that's the JR love-in put to bed. Without doubt the most overrated manager in Scottish Football.
Talks a good game though.

Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2022, 10:57 PM
To be fair, AZ would be capable of that result against most SPL teams, including us on a bad night. I hope PSV do the same to Rangers :greengrin

Celtic and Rangers would breeze by them imo so with that in mind, getting beat 7-0 is an abomination that is really just reminiscent of some of JRs games as Hibs manager.

People were desperate to put the boot in to Hibs last week for sacking Jack Ross including some of our own supporters because they fluked a win in a game they deserved nothing from. Over the piece though, in the most important match of Uniteds season they haven’t just fell short, they’ve been absolutely miles off it just as we often were under JR when it really mattered.

Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2022, 10:59 PM

Alternatively, he’s gone and the constant digs at Hibs like we seen last season and even last Thursday based around Jack Ross and the reluctance to accept he regularly failed us when it really mattered remains an odd attitude. Especially when that attitude extends to people desperately wanting him to do well at his next club which makes Hibs doing well less probable.

12-08-2022, 04:48 AM
For United, read any of the teams that scraped into the top 6 last season. All were were all as bad as each other and that would have included Hibs had we not managed to escape to the safety of the bottom 6 :greengrin

JOD
12-08-2022, 04:55 AM

Yeah Jams still trying to do it.
🤗💚

Yorkshire HFC
12-08-2022, 05:58 AM
For United, read any of the teams that scraped into the top 6 last season. All were were all as bad as each other and that would have included Hibs had we not managed to escape to the safety of the bottom 6 :greengrin

Bad result - I seem to be one of the few who still supports all Scottish teams in Europe.

Just like I was supporting all the Scottish athletes in the CW Games, all the Scottish golfers in the majors, all the British players at Wimbledon etc. I thought that's what everyone did.

evy
12-08-2022, 06:30 AM
Bad result - I seem to be one of the few who still supports all Scottish teams in Europe.

Just like I was supporting all the Scottish athletes in the CW Games, all the Scottish golfers in the majors, all the British players at Wimbledon etc. I thought that's what everyone did.

Athletes at the CW were all competing for Scotland and golfers/tennis players only represent their countries during Davis/Billie Jean King Cup, Ryder/Solheim Cup etc or Olympics. Bizarre comparison.

12-08-2022, 06:39 AM

I believe every Scottish team except Celtic and Rangers would have been on the end of similar scoreline last night.

It was a very depressing night for Scottish football, coupled with Motherwell's even bigger embarrassment a couple of weeks ago at the hands of the mighty Sligo Rovers.

He's here!
12-08-2022, 07:33 AM
I believe every Scottish team except Celtic and Rangers would have been on the end of similar scoreline last night.

It was a very depressing night for Scottish football, coupled with Motherwell's even bigger embarrassment a couple of weeks ago at the hands of the mighty Sligo Rovers.

Agreed. I'm not convinced of the merits of Scottish clubbs outwith the big two qualifying for Europe. As you say, if it hadn't been United it would have been any other Scottish club (bar Rangers and Celtic) getting humiliated.

12-08-2022, 07:37 AM
Agreed. I'm not convinced of the merits of Scottish clubbs outwith the big two qualifying for Europe. As you say, if it hadn't been United it would have been any other Scottish club (bar Rangers and Celtic) getting humiliated.

We’ve had some good and some bad European nights in recent years …i great trips too

12-08-2022, 07:37 AM

I was thinking there’s a logical line of progression from Beatons performance as ref in the derby and Dundee Utds scoreline. When after decades we are STILL not penalizing foul play, time wasting, cheating, blatant obstruction and rewarding it, it’s not a surprise when other countries manage to flourish while we stagnate. I’ve said this before but if you watch a bit of ligue 1 or MLS or something and then go back to our league it’s like a different rule book. It starts with the officiating.

12-08-2022, 07:40 AM

I'm sure about that. Celtic and Sevco would beat AZ over 2 legs I think, and they aren't winning games by 7 goal margins domestically.

I'm not saying any other non OF team would have got through the tie, but I think it would be a stretch to say ourselves, Hearts, Aberdeen etc would have lost by the same margin.

The fact Dundee United won the first leg surely demonstrates this was mostly just a shocking display by them?

I think what this and the Motherwell result highlight is the ridiculousness of the oft repeated line that the OF doing well in Europe is good for Scottish football.

Clearly that isn't true as the rest of the league is still a very poor quality. The rest of us don't magically get better by Sevco reaching a final.

Zambernardi1875
12-08-2022, 08:00 AM

Only people that should be depressed are Utd fans

PPZPOL
12-08-2022, 08:04 AM

Possibly, but how bad were Dundee United? That wasn’t just a good team beating a poor side, it was laughably bad defending for a quite a few goals, we’re not talking about a team ripping through them, maybe later when the game was done but we know every team plays with a swagger when 3-4 up. The wheels came off and nobody knew how to stop it happening. Even after ht they couldn’t regroup and see out a minute of the second half.

12-08-2022, 08:10 AM

But Dundee Utd don't get beat 7-0 by Rangers or Celtic.

And Rangers or Celtic should be on a par, at least, with AZ.

Both would also likely heavily defeat Sligo.

12-08-2022, 08:40 AM
I was thinking there’s a logical line of progression from Beatons performance as ref in the derby and Dundee Utds scoreline. When after decades we are STILL not penalizing foul play, time wasting, cheating, blatant obstruction and rewarding it, it’s not a surprise when other countries manage to flourish while we stagnate. I’ve said this before but if you watch a bit of ligue 1 or MLS or something and then go back to our league it’s like a different rule book. It starts with the officiating.

I've said similar for a long time. The refereeing is at least part of the problem in Scottish football. It hinders us in Europe but it also stops it being as desirable a product as it could so less money comes into the game which also hinders us against other nations' teams. Referees almost appear to be on the park to guarantee the product is poorer and to make sure the two main sides and to a lesser extent Hearts get all the breaks

Mcbizz1998
12-08-2022, 08:43 AM
Get it up United, IMHO.

Zorro
12-08-2022, 08:45 AM
I know some very decent Utd fans who love their team, good football banter, and I feel their hurt as someone who stayed to the end of the Malmo drubbing and wished I hadn't. We were taken apart that night, and it trumps anything for me (yes, even the 5-1, by a country mile) as my worst ever experience watching Hibs. So while I don't feel sorry for Utd at all, I get it.

But what is bugging me about this is the same thing that bugged me on Sunday - obviously seeing things through a Hibs persepctive. If that was us last night, there would be so much chat in the media about the manager being under pressure, about how we hadn't turned up etc etc. We'd be getting pulled apart and having the loss examined and discussed and how, even though he was just in the door, how long would the manager last. Similarly on Sunday, if we had dominated a derby(as it seems to be in the minds of Jambos or the minds of the commentators at least...), only to have it 'snatched away from us' with the last kick of the ball, we'd be getting told how we had bottled it, got it tactically wrong, how this showed a weakness in the Hibs team. Instead, almost all we got was the Jambo narrative of how they wiz robbed, how they dominated, how lucky we were, how much gulf there still was between the 2 sides.

I can't help but think that, had we been on the receiving end of that last minute derby equaliser or a drubbing in Alkmaar, the chat in the media would have been very different. Maybe I am just paranoid!!

12-08-2022, 08:46 AM
Dundee Utd, or any other team in the SPL, that perform well in Europe will gain a distinct financial advantage over Hibs at domestic level. On that basis, I’m happy to watch them all fail.

He's here!
12-08-2022, 08:51 AM
We’ve had some good and some bad European nights in recent years …i great trips too

We had a reasonable run under Lennon but we were still a long way from making meaningful progress.

When you think of the calibre of clubs Hibs once competed with in Europe, these days (as you say) it's more about getting a decent wee trip out of the draw.

12-08-2022, 09:06 AM
We had a reasonable run under Lennon but we were still a long way from making meaningful progress.

When you think of the calibre of clubs Hibs once competed with in Europe, these days (as you say) it's more about getting a decent wee trip out of the draw.

Ah. Those were the days ….pre bosman and money in football …those days are gone unfortunately for ever …

We can still get a result or two - so certainly would never want to stop having access to European football …

12-08-2022, 09:10 AM

At last, something about Hibs that you remotely enjoy.

12-08-2022, 09:16 AM
At least that's the JR love-in put to bed. Without doubt the most overrated manager in Scottish Football.
Talks a good game though.

An interesting person. I nearly said intelligent but seeing his tactics in big games maybe not. Never forgive him for that Cup final. Best chance to win it in our history apart from maybe Clyde in 1958. His team was dire to watch. Worst since Calderwood.

12-08-2022, 09:18 AM
Blessing in disguise not scraping into Europe last season. Imagine playing AZ Alkmar with Shaun Maloney in charge and folk like Jasper running about aimlessly. Convinced the outcome would have been worse than last night. Rather we got our house in order in built towards Europe next season.

Sioux
12-08-2022, 09:23 AM
It sort of sums it up when the attraction of playing in Europe is such that the fans can go on a major piss up. And we wonder why Scottish football is a joke.

H18S NX
12-08-2022, 09:57 AM
I was thinking there’s a logical line of progression from Beatons performance as ref in the derby and Dundee Utds scoreline. When after decades we are STILL not penalizing foul play, time wasting, cheating, blatant obstruction and rewarding it, it’s not a surprise when other countries manage to flourish while we stagnate. I’ve said this before but if you watch a bit of ligue 1 or MLS or something and then go back to our league it’s like a different rule book. It starts with the officiating......Absolutely nailed it.

12-08-2022, 10:01 AM
I was thinking there’s a logical line of progression from Beatons performance as ref in the derby and Dundee Utds scoreline. When after decades we are STILL not penalizing foul play, time wasting, cheating, blatant obstruction and rewarding it, it’s not a surprise when other countries manage to flourish while we stagnate. I’ve said this before but if you watch a bit of ligue 1 or MLS or something and then go back to our league it’s like a different rule book. It starts with the officiating.Absolutely right, hard to disagree with any of that, the problem also extends to the people who run the system and are therefore presumably happy with what they have created as a refereeing system and oversight of the type of referee and other officials they appoint.

Musselbound
12-08-2022, 11:03 AM

Was Motherwell's defeat really that embarrassing or even surprising? It's a long time since non Old Firm clubs have been comfortably beating Irish opposition or other leagues of that standard. Every other year we get these types of results and poor performances from Scottish clubs and people always seemed shocked. I think it was ridiculous that Alexander was sacked based largely on that tie.

12-08-2022, 11:28 AM
It sort of sums it up when the attraction of playing in Europe is such that the fans can go on a major piss up. And we wonder why Scottish football is a joke.

Classic blame the fans, incredible

12-08-2022, 11:31 AM
Was Motherwell's defeat really that embarrassing or even surprising? It's a long time since non Old Firm clubs have been comfortably beating Irish opposition or other leagues of that standard. Every other year we get these types of results and poor performances from Scottish clubs and people always seemed shocked. I think it was ridiculous that Alexander was sacked based largely on that tie.

I'd say the Sligo result was worse than last night.

GreenGray
12-08-2022, 11:36 AM

I don’t think football is for you after reading this and some other of your other posts.

Yorkshire HFC
12-08-2022, 11:39 AM
Classic blame the fans, incredible

It's the fault of the clubs. What have Hibs (or any other club) put in place to try and grow the Scottish game?

Why do Scottish clubs obsess about trawling lower European and American leagues to try and unearth someone they can get one good season out of and then try and flog for £1m?

The clubs just see scraping into the top 6 as a good season. And the fans demand change if they don't.

What do the ruling bodies do to try and get Hamilton, Dunfermline, Falkirk etc. back into decent shape?

Where is the plan to make things better in 5 years time?

GreenGray
12-08-2022, 11:42 AM
It's the fault of the clubs. What have Hibs (or any other club) put in place to try and grow the Scottish game?

Why do Scottish clubs obsess about trawling lower European and American leagues to try and unearth someone they can get one good season out of and then try and flog for £1m?

The clubs just see scraping into the top 6 as a good season. And the fans demand change if they don't.

What do the ruling bodies do to try and get Hamilton, Dunfermline, Falkirk etc. back into decent shape?

Our owner and chairman is currently leading a group trying to improve the game[emoji106]

12-08-2022, 11:48 AM
I blame Motherwell and Dundee United for being utter gash. I doubt Hearts will be anywhere near as bad. I don't think it's down to the referees, clubs transfer policies or anything like that. Dundee United thoroughly deserved to beat them in the first leg and only have themselves to blame for the 2nd and sorry but Motherwell should be beating Sligo in their sleep. Nobody to blame but themselves and their own horrific performances.

Paulie Walnuts
12-08-2022, 11:53 AM
I blame Motherwell and Dundee United for being utter gash. I doubt Hearts will be anywhere near as bad. I don't think it's down to the referees, clubs transfer policies or anything like that. Dundee United thoroughly deserved to beat them in the first leg and only have themselves to blame for the 2nd and sorry but Motherwell should be beating Sligo in their sleep. Nobody to blame but themselves and their own horrific performances.

You must have been watching a completely different game from me last week.

Dundee United done a job on them but in no way did they thoroughly deserve to win imo. Alkmaar were the better side last week as well I’d say.

12-08-2022, 11:59 AM

Re the point about the ruling bodies being at fault: it wasn’t the leagues fault that Hamilton Accies sent a million quid by wire transfer to a Nigerian Prince, or the SFA’s fault Falkirk scrapped a successful youth system that saw them hit their best levels in years, or that dunfermline are chronically lacking in any financial management. I’ve got acquaintances who are well itk at Dunfermline and they are absolutely appalled at the state of their club, but what are SFA supposed to do about it?

He's here!
12-08-2022, 12:04 PM

Say, like Motherwell, we'd scraped a Euro spot under Maloney (yes, big stretch of the imagination required) via a deeply uninspiring run of results and performances and we'd held on to him for this season. I'd certainly have expected him to be sacked if we'd crashed out to a League of Ireland side in that manner.

12-08-2022, 12:06 PM
What was embarrassing was not so much that they lost. As you say, a shock result or two can always crop up in the early rounds of cup competition. It was the fact they were so thoroughly outplayed in both legs and could have lost by more. They'd had a full round of League Cup group fixtures beforehand so the excuse that the Irish side were further into their season doesn't really hold much water.

Motherwell didn’t play any league cup group fixtures, they get a bye for participating in Europe. The Sligo match was Motherwell’s first competitive game of the season.

He's here!
12-08-2022, 12:13 PM
You must have been watching a completely different game from me last week.

Dundee United done a job on them but in no way did they thoroughly deserve to win imo. Alkmaar were the better side last week as well I’d say.

I didn't watch it, but by all accounts I've read United played well in the first leg. What seemed OTT to me, however, was the outpouring of 'just like the 80s Euro glory days' coverage which accompanied the win. Just setting them up for a fall I thought.

He's here!
12-08-2022, 12:15 PM
Motherwell didn’t play any league cup group fixtures, they get a bye for participating in Europe. The Sligo match was Motherwell’s first competitive game of the season.

I stand corrected :greengrin That gives them more leeway I admit, though it was still a shocker.

Paulie Walnuts
12-08-2022, 01:31 PM
I didn't watch it, but by all accounts I've read United played well in the first leg. What seemed OTT to me, however, was the outpouring of 'just like the 80s Euro glory days' coverage which accompanied the win. Just setting them up for a fall I thought.

They played well much in the same way a smaller team has to play well to get a result against the OF. They dug in, made it difficult for Alkmaar and snatched a goal. I wouldn’t say they deserved to win though, Alkmaar had the better chances and far more of the ball imo.

12-08-2022, 06:41 PM
Dundee v Arbroath on the tellybox

12-08-2022, 06:48 PM
Dundee v Arbroath on the tellybox

Could be a decent game this…hopefully anyway

12-08-2022, 06:53 PM
Could be a decent game this…hopefully anyway

i fancy Dundee will come back up but they will have a big rebuilding job to stay up the following season

charlie adam will be a big miss

Musselbound
12-08-2022, 07:14 PM
I'd say the Sligo result was worse than last night.

Possibly was given that Motherwell lost both games I think. But losing any game 7-0 is humiliating and I thought that was a hard watch last night.

Say, like Motherwell, we'd scraped a Euro spot under Maloney (yes, big stretch of the imagination required) via a deeply uninspiring run of results and performances and we'd held on to him for this season. I'd certainly have expected him to be sacked if we'd crashed out to a League of Ireland side in that manner.

I don't think any manager should be sacked or have to resign one or two games into a season. I'm not sure if the league season was even underway. If Motherwell were that unsure of Alexsnder they could have sacked him last season like Hibs did with Maloney.

They played well much in the same way a smaller team has to play well to get a result against the OF. They dug in, made it difficult for Alkmaar and snatched a goal. I wouldn’t say they deserved to win though, Alkmaar had the better chances and far more of the ball imo.

I felt Alkmaar were playing within themselves at Tannadice and were rightly confident they could turn it round. It was a good performance from United in the first leg but nowhere near as convincing as the media made out. A draw would've been a pretty fair result.

Musselbound
12-08-2022, 07:27 PM
i fancy Dundee will come back up but they will have a big rebuilding job to stay up the following season

charlie adam will be a big miss

I'm far from convinced Dundee will be good enough. Think it could be a very tight league this season with a number of teams in with a decent shout. Adam will indeed be a huge miss for them.

12-08-2022, 07:29 PM
1-0 not too unexpected tbf

12-08-2022, 07:31 PM
I wouldn’t be surprised if Arbroath are nearer the bottom of the league this year. Last year was fantastic for them but I’m not sure they can repeat. Scoring goals will be a problem for them

12-08-2022, 07:33 PM
I'm far from convinced Dundee will be good enough. Think it could be a very tight league this season with a number of teams in with a decent shout. Adam will indeed be a huge miss for them.

i think only Partick/Raith and Morton may mount a challenge to Dundee, though Raith have got of to a stinker obviously long way to go, wonder if we will see any surprise package this season like last seasons Arbroath

12-08-2022, 07:52 PM
Ask this every time Dundee are on telly but what is going on with Paul McGowan’s heid? Looks like a lawnmower has been at it

12-08-2022, 08:04 PM
1-1

12-08-2022, 08:10 PM
2-1 Dundee. Poor goalkeeping

12-08-2022, 08:18 PM
[QUOTE=Scorrie;7062414]Ask this every time Dundee are on telly but what is going on with Paul McGowan’s heid? Looks like a lawnmower has been at it[/QUOTEhe must have done that himself looking in a mirror and thought yeh that’s pretty good.

12-08-2022, 08:26 PM
Arbroath equalise. Decent game this. 2-2

12-08-2022, 08:29 PM
lol trying to get a penalty

12-08-2022, 08:34 PM
that was a great cross and good header

3-2

12-08-2022, 08:35 PM
3-2 enjoyable game

12-08-2022, 08:35 PM
Some effort off the the back of his head and it's 3-2 to Dundee.

12-08-2022, 08:37 PM
4-2

12-08-2022, 08:38 PM
4-2 Dundee. Great goal. That Mulligan is a decent player. End to end midfielder

12-08-2022, 08:38 PM
4-2

12-08-2022, 08:41 PM
decent entertainment

12-08-2022, 08:42 PM
that was a great cross and good header

3-2it came off the back of his head rather lucky goal imo but the fourth was a cracker

12-08-2022, 08:42 PM
Brilliant game, hope we can get more of this on a Friday night. Seemed to be nil-nils every other week last season.

12-08-2022, 08:45 PM
Enjoyed that game

12-08-2022, 08:51 PM
it came off the back of his head rather lucky goal imo but the fourth was a cracker

i think he meant it :cb

anyways, can't beat friday night footy

Garymcl
12-08-2022, 09:01 PM
Huesca playing Levante huesca playing in Hibs gear will be supporting them in la liga

13-08-2022, 06:52 AM
Huesca playing Levante huesca playing in Hibs gear will be supporting them in la liga

https://estaticos-cdn.prensaiberica.es/clip/2310c8e9-72f0-4195-b390-e7f1e8eb52cc_16-9-discover-aspect-ratio_default_0.jpg

13-08-2022, 10:45 AM
Gerrard v Lampard… well I hate Gerrard but I love McGinn… I prefer Everton but I hate Lampard…

🤷 Nil - Nil and I’ll go for a snooze !

Green Reaper
13-08-2022, 11:16 AM
https://estaticos-cdn.prensaiberica.es/clip/2310c8e9-72f0-4195-b390-e7f1e8eb52cc_16-9-discover-aspect-ratio_default_0.jpg

That’s Huesca third strip for this season, home colours same as Barca. Cracking top though😄

13-08-2022, 11:24 AM
Gerrard v Lampard… well I hate Gerrard but I love McGinn… I prefer Everton but I hate Lampard…

🤷 Nil - Nil and I’ll go for a snooze !

Gerrard probably get sacked if they lose today.

13-08-2022, 11:33 AM
Gerrard probably get sacked if they lose today.

Can't see that happening

13-08-2022, 11:51 AM
Can't see that happening

Possible a bit early but his record is identical to Gary Neville at Valencia right now and he's laughed at as a big failure

13-08-2022, 11:53 AM
First 20 mins been a non event so far.

13-08-2022, 11:55 AM
Aston Villa 0-1 Everton

VAR rules it offside - still 0-0.

13-08-2022, 12:03 PM
Wan nil Villa. Nice finish.

Btw Everton are dug*****

13-08-2022, 12:32 PM
Wan nil Villa. Nice finish.

Btw Everton are dug*****

McGinn did well to start the move too....

13-08-2022, 01:08 PM
McGinn did well to start the move too....

He did!

13-08-2022, 01:17 PM
2-0 Villa

Long long season ahead for Lampard and Everton.

Think relegation is a real possibility for them this season!

Edit: I was saying 2-1 now

13-08-2022, 01:21 PM
Aston Villa 2-1 Everton

13-08-2022, 02:22 PM
Aberdeen 0-1 Motherwell

13-08-2022, 02:34 PM
Rangers 1-0 St Johnstone

13-08-2022, 02:44 PM
Aberdeen 1-1 Motherwell

13-08-2022, 03:06 PM
Aberdeen 2-1 Motherwell

13-08-2022, 03:11 PM
2-2

13-08-2022, 03:11 PM
Aberdeen 2-2 Motherwell

13-08-2022, 03:12 PM
St Mirren 1-0 Ross County

13-08-2022, 03:15 PM
Aberdeen 2-3 Motherwell

13-08-2022, 03:21 PM
Rangers 2-0 St Johnstone

Paulie Walnuts
13-08-2022, 03:29 PM
3 defeats from 3 as it stands for the Ross County racist.

Pleasing.

Paul1642
13-08-2022, 03:40 PM
Watching sky sports soccer Saturday for the first time this season. The current presenters really are a shadow of the old lot. Really poor.