View Full Version : Match Updates 2022-23 season non-Hibs games thread
19-03-2023, 08:54 PM
ouch sore one for the Madridians 2-1
20-03-2023, 01:48 AM
Fulham were a disgrace today and deserve everything that's coming to them. Wilian has never been shy about cheating but what were Mitrovic and Silva thinking? Self entitled dafties the pair of them and I hope Mitrovic gets a 10 game ban.
20-03-2023, 04:28 AM
Balogun hits the post when it looks easier to score andReimsfinally lose a game. Will Sell will be managing a top club in England before long, his main tactic judging by tonight seems to be a ridiculously high gugenpress.
Will Still. He's apparently a big west ham fan, so perhaps there in the summer.
20-03-2023, 06:37 AM
Fulham were a disgrace today and deserve everything that's coming to them. Wilian has never been shy about cheating but what were Mitrovic and Silva thinking? Self entitled dafties the pair of them and I hope Mitrovic gets a 10 game ban.
I agree , But how come Fernandes gets away scott free from pushing the linesman in the Liverpool game ?
20-03-2023, 06:57 AM
Will Still. He's apparently a big west ham fan, so perhaps there in the summer.
He is indeed.
I was intrigued by what he’s achieving up there in champagne country so I watched it carefully. Not understanding all the subtleties of football management but I’ve got to say it all seems pretty simple; very intense press high around the opponents penalty box and controlling the pace with lots of staccato quick passing and then slowing it down again. I’m not sure if that’s going to work against top teams who have the quality to pass through a high press most of the time. We’ll see.
I know he’s called Still, I think I had Will Self in my head. Now THAT would be an amusing managerial appointment.
Prof. Shaggy
20-03-2023, 09:38 AM
Jeezo that’s some price for a ticket. Official or tout?
On-line third party. So probably not face price.
20-03-2023, 10:26 AM
See the women are losing 4-0 to rangers at half time. Few unsavory stories been about the last few months about Gibson and his treatment of certain players etc, wonder if there's truth to it.
The girls don't seem to be as good a team as in recent years anymore
Just listened to his post match interview saying they played well in first half but 4.0 down. I think coaching kids on a Sunday morning is his level
20-03-2023, 11:33 AM
I agree , But how come Fernandes gets away scott free from pushing the linesman in the Liverpool game ?
He should have been hammered as well, no doubt about that. Perhaps yesterday was a consequence of that, I'm not sure but regardless, the FA need to come down hard to nip this in the bud.
20-03-2023, 06:45 PM
things just got even harder for Wigan Wigan Athletic docked three points for failing to pay players March wages (football.co.uk) (https://www.football.co.uk/news/wigan-athletic-docked-three-points-for-failing-to-pay-player/853950/)
Donegal Hibby
20-03-2023, 08:17 PM
things just got even harder for Wigan Wigan Athletic docked three points for failing to pay players March wages (football.co.uk) (https://www.football.co.uk/news/wigan-athletic-docked-three-points-for-failing-to-pay-player/853950/)
Seems to be a lot going on in the English championship .
https://www.coventrytelegraph.net/sport/football/football-news/championship-news-coventry-city-latest-26517945
21-03-2023, 06:20 AM
Juve 1 up now on Inter
Ridiculous VAR decision to allow the goal.
https://www.coventrytelegraph.net/sport/football/football-news/championship-news-coventry-city-latest-26517945
Huddersfield town in huge trouble too.
Donegal Hibby
21-03-2023, 06:11 PM
Barnsley v sheff weds skysports main event 8 o'clock. 1st against 4th .
21-03-2023, 06:37 PM
Burnley and Sheff Utd, and probably others, willing to break rules in their desperation to get to the league of milk and honey
Burnley will definitely go up
21-03-2023, 07:00 PM
Burnley and Sheff Utd, and probably others, willing to break rules in their desperation to get to the league of milk and honey
Burnley will definitely go up
https://news.sky.com/story/premier-league-offers-efl-30m-a-year-sweetener-to-seal-football-new-deal-12839581
21-03-2023, 07:12 PM
Barnsley 1 Sheff Wed 0
big crowd
make that 2-0
21-03-2023, 07:14 PM
Cracking atmosphere at the Yorkshire Derby.
Donegal Hibby
21-03-2023, 07:17 PM
Some start for Barnsley.
21-03-2023, 07:25 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/premier-league-offers-efl-30m-a-year-sweetener-to-seal-football-new-deal-12839581
parachute payments £44m in first season, £36m year two and £16m the 3rd year
i was positive it was a lot more than that but obviously that's not a lot compared to the £4bn chasm between combined premier league clubs and Championship clubs :shocked:
milk and honey right enough, what do we get up here, £350k or something like that :rolleyes: can't remember
21-03-2023, 07:35 PM
Barnsley 1 Sheff Wed 0
big crowd
make that 2-0
Is it not a democratic of South Yorkshire Derby
21-03-2023, 07:35 PM
2-1
2-2 73 mins
Accrington 0 Plymouth 2, Plymouth go top for now
Donegal Hibby
21-03-2023, 08:39 PM
Good game 2-2 . Wonder will we get a winner!
21-03-2023, 08:42 PM
Dundee with a 3-1 win at home vs Ayr.
Akinyemi will surely go in the summer.
21-03-2023, 08:44 PM
Really enjoying this, 3-2 Barnsley.
21-03-2023, 08:57 PM
4-2
21-03-2023, 08:58 PM
Magic entertainment, wasn't going to bother watching it either! 🙂
Donegal Hibby
21-03-2023, 09:01 PM
4-2 , what a game . Sheffield Wednesday record run of 23 games without defeat comes to end .
22-03-2023, 07:03 PM
Matt Doherty Captain of Eire versus Latvia
1-0
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-03-2023, 07:10 PM
Matt Doherty Captain of Eire versus Latvia
1-0
He’s the only player in that Éire team that’s name I recognise other than Kelleher, only a few years ago half the Ireland team were household names as well.
22-03-2023, 07:29 PM
2-1
Ferguson
Donegal Hibby
22-03-2023, 07:42 PM
He’s the only player in that Éire team that’s name I recognise other than Kelleher, only a few years ago half the Ireland team were household names as well.
Been on the decline for years . Having a manager at the moment that's utterly clueless isn't great either. If he wasn't a Dub he'd be gone long ago ! 2-2 awful stuff again .
22-03-2023, 07:49 PM
Everywhere reporting O'Dowda scored first 🤔
22-03-2023, 08:25 PM
3-2
JammyDoidger
22-03-2023, 08:36 PM
Everywhere reporting O'Dowda scored first 🤔
He did?
22-03-2023, 09:21 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65040042
Egyptian referee Mohamed Farouk has been suspended for using a spectator's mobile phone to disallow a goal in a league match.
Al-Nasr thought they had scored a late equaliser away to Suez in a second division match last Friday.
There is no video assistant referee (VAR) in Egypt's second tier, but Farouk used the phone to watch a replay after the home side protested there was a handball.
Farouk then ruled the goal out.
23-03-2023, 06:07 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65040042
Egyptian referee Mohamed Farouk has been suspended for using a spectator's mobile phone to disallow a goal in a league match.
Al-Nasr thought they had scored a late equaliser away to Suez in a second division match last Friday.
There is no video assistant referee (VAR) in Egypt's second tier, but Farouk used the phone to watch a replay after the home side protested there was a handball.
Farouk then ruled the goal out.
That is brilliant :greengrin
23-03-2023, 07:43 AM
He did?
I misread an earlier post, I had it in my mind that someone had said Doherty scored first! 🙄
Scotland u21s v Sweden u21s live on Youtube. Currently 1-1, Doig playing.
https://www.youtube.com/live/a7WS2zDdHNI?feature=share
23-03-2023, 06:13 PM
James Richardson on the Channel 4 coverage for the England game. What a man.
23-03-2023, 06:18 PM
James Richardson on the Channel 4 coverage for the England game. What a man.
The best in the business.
plhibs
23-03-2023, 06:22 PM
Are the under 21s playing in Spain ?
23-03-2023, 06:26 PM
That England team will get humped tonight!
23-03-2023, 06:31 PM
Are the under 21s playing in Spain ?
yes
23-03-2023, 06:36 PM
That England team will get humped tonight!
Wouldn’t have thought so, it’s a strong side.
Interested to see Italy’s number 9, haven’t seen him play before.
plhibs
23-03-2023, 06:40 PM
yes
Thanks i didn't realize it was a friendly game.
23-03-2023, 06:41 PM
Wouldn’t have thought so, it’s a strong side.
Interested to see Italy’s number 9, haven’t seen him play before.
With Philips and Maguire? Nah 😁
23-03-2023, 06:43 PM
WTF is this rendition of the Italy anthem about?
One of the great anthems reduced to sounding like a Poundland Pitbull song.
23-03-2023, 06:43 PM
1-3 p@sh
23-03-2023, 06:44 PM
At least they have their own anthem and not just a quarter share of one!
23-03-2023, 06:49 PM
Josh Doig gets co-commentators motm
23-03-2023, 06:49 PM
The English anthem was terrible as well, accompanied by loud booing.
23-03-2023, 06:50 PM
Scotland 2 Sweden 3
pick that one out
23-03-2023, 06:54 PM
You expect that to be a dirge though. The Italian anthem is usually an absolute banger but that was just dreadful.
23-03-2023, 06:59 PM
0-1 England. Scrappy goal but not undeserved.
23-03-2023, 07:00 PM
Young boy Bellingham looks good
Wonder if we could get him on loan ? 🤔
Donegal Hibby
23-03-2023, 07:03 PM
Young boy Bellingham looks good
Wonder if we could get him on loan ? 🤔
Not another bloody loan signing ! :grr:
23-03-2023, 07:05 PM
At least they have their own anthem and not just a quarter share of one!
You expect that to be a dirge though. The Italian anthem is usually an absolute banger but that was just dreadful.
I put it down to crap / indifferent organisation by the Italians. On another note, I briefly heard something on the news about English fans being shipped by bus in the opposite direction from the Stadium. What was that all about?
Donegal Hibby
23-03-2023, 07:26 PM
It's a pretty poor match just like Italy's performance .
23-03-2023, 07:28 PM
england 31/20 was easy money
imo :wink:
Italy are pretty poor and England are ok but some of England's passing is quite bad, lost possession numerous times.
Pen England handball, Kane makes it 2 and gets the record.
23-03-2023, 07:31 PM
What a miss!
23-03-2023, 07:32 PM
You'd have to think this England squad should in and around winning a trophy in the next 2 or 3 tournaments. Quality all over the park and alot of them with their best years ahead of them.
Get in :)
Never seen an Italian national team so dominated at home in a half of football.
Grealish
What a goal that would have been.
How Grealish miss that ?
What a miss!
Why not just side foot it?
Dublin making all the excuses under the sun for him!
23-03-2023, 07:34 PM
Oh no, it's coming home. :faf:
Donegal Hibby
Grealish done well to miss that to be fair :greengrin
Italy are really poor. Grealish misses a sitter but Ian Wright builds it up to a really difficult chance unluckily missed. Nonsense. A ten year old would have scored.
0-2 England.
I reckon you lot could hold Italy to 2 or 3 😀
23-03-2023, 07:39 PM
Good episode of Dragons Den tonight...
23-03-2023, 07:40 PM
Good episode of Dragons Den tonight...
Recording it ……… wish I watched it live now.
23-03-2023, 07:49 PM
I reckon you lot could hold Italy to 2 or 3
:saltireflag:fishin:
If Italy don’t pull the finger out, I can see the World beaters scoring another two or three.
23-03-2023, 07:51 PM
:saltireflag:fishin:
:)
Donegal Hibby
23-03-2023, 07:53 PM
I think the handball rule's gone completely mad . The Italian's using his arms to help him jumping , his arms behind him and the ball hits him , totally accidentally . Don't like to see penalties given for that .
23-03-2023, 07:54 PM
Cynical Italian, shocking.
Oh no, it’s Harry Kane cheating.
Garymcl
23-03-2023, 07:55 PM
Oh my it’s coming home AGAIN !! 😂😂😂
23-03-2023, 07:56 PM
Just imagine a midfield of Bellingham Rice and Newell.
23-03-2023, 07:56 PM
Italy are dung
23-03-2023, 07:59 PM
I think it was a penalty but I’m really impressed by what harry kane would have done if it didn’t hit the guys arm.
Top corner mate :)
23-03-2023, 08:00 PM
High boot there for Rice - not a red card on every occasion as some Hibs.net posters would have you believe 😉
23-03-2023, 08:01 PM
2-1
23-03-2023, 08:02 PM
Who is that lad up front for Italy? Never heard of him
23-03-2023, 08:03 PM
Who is that lad up front for Italy? Never heard of him
Plays in Argentina
Nice goal, Harry Maguire shown up again
Plays in Argentina
Nice goal, Harry Maguire shown up again
Should've had Will Fish in there instead. 😀
23-03-2023, 08:06 PM
I’ve nothing against the English team, which I rate quite highly, but when I hear the likes of Ian Wright pontificating and purring about them, I just love when they’re taken down a peg or two.
23-03-2023, 08:06 PM
Decent game now
23-03-2023, 08:08 PM
I’ve nothing against the English team, which I rate quite highly, but when I hear the likes of Ian Wright pontificating and purring about them, I just love when they’re taken down a peg or two.
What’s wrong with Ian Wright? What coverage is he on tonight?
23-03-2023, 08:10 PM
Ronaldo bagged a couple more goals tonight cyrrently 4-0 v Leichenstein
23-03-2023, 08:14 PM
What’s wrong with Ian Wright? What coverage is he on tonight?
I’ll pass on the first question.:greengrin Channel 4.
23-03-2023, 08:17 PM
Walker, time wasting at a throw in ……. yellow, good refereeing.
Think youre mixing up your Ian Wrights with your Dion Dublins :)
I didn't see him?
23-03-2023, 08:23 PM
Apologies …. I thought it sounded like Ian Wright. What I said about Ian Wright applies to Dion Dublin. :greengrin
Think youre mixing up your Ian Wrights with your Dion Dublins :)
Oops, that's a bit of a gaffe.
23-03-2023, 08:28 PM
Apologies …. I thought it sounded like Ian Wright. What I said about Ian Wright applies to Dion Dublin. :greengrin
Guess you aren't a Homes Under the Hammer fan 😁
23-03-2023, 08:30 PM
Aye you wouldnt want Ian Wright renovatin your house ;)
23-03-2023, 08:31 PM
Last minute penalty for Italy please.
Aye you wouldnt want Ian Wright renovatin your house ;)
Big mural of Martin Keown on your living room wall...
Strangely enough, I do watch it, but to be honest, I originally thought I was watching BBC1 and took him for Ian Wright.
23-03-2023, 08:33 PM
Gnonto is a great wee player but i see he's already making waves at Leeds, or his agent is, because he's had a good few games he already fancies a move elsewhere to either Italy or arsenal/man city, not happy that he's been on the bench a couple of times, interestingly the two games he was benched Leeds won, contracted until 2027 leeds will make a huge profit on him though
23-03-2023, 08:33 PM
Strangely enough, I do watch it, but to be honest, I originally thought I was watching BBC1 and took him for Ian Wright.
Too busy eyeing up the wee dundonian lass probably 😁
23-03-2023, 08:35 PM
two shocking corners followed by a shocking cross from the same player, lift the baw son fgs
23-03-2023, 08:42 PM
2-1 England. Great result for us Engerlunders 😀
Up-the-slope
23-03-2023, 08:44 PM
good result for England.. they played very well first half and were resilient second.
some weird reffing of yellows 4 for time wasting.. quite funny against Italy who used to be masters of winning 1-0 and defending / time wasting :greengrin
Yes, very impressive.
Certainly was and Harry Kane now top goal scorer for England with 54 goals.
23-03-2023, 10:23 PM
good result for England.. they played very well first half and were resilient second.
some weird reffing of yellows 4 for time wasting.. quite funny against Italy who used to be masters of winning 1-0 and defending / time wasting :greengrin
Is that them won the world cup again, is it going home? Result will only get the hopes back up ahead of another epic fail 😁
Donegal Hibby
23-03-2023, 10:48 PM
I think it was a penalty but I’m really impressed by what harry kane would have done if it didn’t hit the guys arm.
I can see why you think it's a penalty with the crazy rules about it now though for me the guys in no way tried to handle it , in fact he doesn't know anything about it . More and more in games we are seeing defenders trying to keep there arms behind there backs incase the attacker blast the ball of there arms or hands which is handing (no pun intended)the attacker a small advantage imo . I much prefer the way it use to be were it had to be a deliberate handball and not the nonsense we are witnessing now
24-03-2023, 06:12 AM
Thought England were excellent in the first half dominated the game moved the ball well and looked stronger and sharper. Less so second half and kind of rode their luck a little. Can't imagine Dortmund are going to be happy with Bellingham going off injured especially when he had a bandage on that knee. Also thought Southgate treated Foden shoddily by taking him off after 10 mins. Could easily have taken Saka off as he hadn't kicked a ball second half rather than kind of humiliating Foden
He's here!
24-03-2023, 07:19 AM
Is that them won the world cup again, is it going home? Result will only get the hopes back up ahead of another epic fail 😁
Like it or not, Southgate's record as England boss is excellent. His team appears to have the potential to get even better.
24-03-2023, 08:01 AM
I've been hearing how great England are all my life. That is probably the poorest Italy team of all time. Lost their previous game against Austria., didn't qualify for the last world cup, lost to North Macedonia at home in the qualifiers and recently lost 5-2 to Germany. I'd fancy Scotland to get something against them right now. Incredible fall from grace after winning the Euros.
bringbackbenny
24-03-2023, 08:35 AM
I've been hearing how great England are all my life. That is probably the poorest Italy team of all time. Lost their previous game against Austria., didn't qualify for the last world cup, lost to North Macedonia at home in the qualifiers and recently lost 5-2 to Germany. I'd fancy Scotland to get something against them right now. Incredible fall from grace after winning the Euros.
Chiesa seems to have injured forever, is he going to be back playing anytime soon? He was superb in the last Euros.
24-03-2023, 08:49 AM
Chiesa seems to have injured forever, is he going to be back playing anytime soon? He was superb in the last Euros.
The collapse in Verattis form is the thing that struck me. He’s now a weak link at PSG and he was completely eclipsed by Rice last night.
24-03-2023, 11:03 AM
The collapse in Verattis form is the thing that struck me. He’s now a weak link at PSG and he was completely eclipsed by Rice last night.
And Rice is average at best.
Lost_Mackem
24-03-2023, 11:49 AM
You'd have to think this England squad should in and around winning a trophy in the next 2 or 3 tournaments. Quality all over the park and alot of them with their best years ahead of them.
We’ve a million midfielders but no world class defenders and if Kane gets injured then nobody in the same bracket to replace him.
Donegal Hibby
24-03-2023, 02:25 PM
There's a few games on tonight all 7:45 .
France v Netherlands. Viaplay 1.
Sweden v Belgium. Viaplay 2 .
Inverness v Patrick BBC Scotland .
24-03-2023, 04:29 PM
There's a few games on tonight all 7:45 .
France v Netherlands. Viaplay 1.
Sweden v Belgium. Viaplay 2 .
Inverness v Patrick BBC Scotland .
Inverness v Partick it is then.
24-03-2023, 06:31 PM
Nohan Kenneh made his international debut on Friday as Liberia came from two goals down to draw with South Africa in African Cup of Nations qualifying.
However, the Hibs midfielder – currently on loan at Ross County – was substituted off at half-time with his side 2-0 down and watched from the bench as the visitors made their fightback at the Orlando Stadium in Soweto.
Donegal Hibby
24-03-2023, 06:44 PM
That French anthem is incredible .
Donegal Hibby
24-03-2023, 06:53 PM
France 1 v 0 Netherlands . Bad defending by the Dutch
24-03-2023, 07:04 PM
Nohan Kenneh made his international debut on Friday as Liberia came from two goals down to draw with South Africa in African Cup of Nations qualifying.
However, the Hibs midfielder – currently on loan at Ross County – was substituted off at half-time with his side 2-0 down and watched from the bench as the visitors made their fightback at the Orlando Stadium in Soweto.
Eek!
Donegal Hibby
24-03-2023, 07:10 PM
3 nil France and only 20 minutes gone , could get embarrassing for the Dutch tonight
24-03-2023, 07:18 PM
That **** Paul Hartley's Cove Rangers two down already. They've been shipping a quite incredible amount of goals since he returned to the club.
Marvin Bartley, however...
24-03-2023, 08:36 PM
That **** Paul Hartley's Cove Rangers two down already. They've been shipping a quite incredible amount of goals since he returned to the club.
Marvin Bartley, however...
Airdrie averaging 5 goals a game over their last 4 matches.
Incredible run of form they’re on.
24-03-2023, 08:52 PM
3 nil France and only 20 minutes gone , could get embarrassing for the Dutch tonight
I’ve just seen Mbappes second, I don’t think I’ve seen a goal quite like it before.
24-03-2023, 09:11 PM
Huge win for Arbroath away to Queens Park.
24-03-2023, 09:16 PM
I’ve just seen Mbappes second, I don’t think I’ve seen a goal quite like it before.
Canny find it amywhere
24-03-2023, 09:27 PM
Canny find it amywhere
Was on Twitter a while ago. It was a weird combination of double fake shot while running at the goal and then an actual shot third time, into the bottom corner from just outside the box.
24-03-2023, 10:12 PM
They had a bad curry, half the squad got the skoots. Sent a good few home.
alhibby
24-03-2023, 10:38 PM
Canny find it amywhere
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5nxDWpEwRMw&ab_channel=ViaplaySportsUK
25-03-2023, 07:10 AM
He is just epic.
25-03-2023, 07:22 AM
Queen of the South beginning to get it together under Bartley. Kicking myself I didn't think to go along to Meadowbank.
25-03-2023, 11:43 AM
Gunn,
Porteous, Hanley, Tierney
Hickey, Jack, McGregor, Robertson
McGinn, Armstrong
Adams
Paul1642
25-03-2023, 11:50 AM
Gunn,
McGinn, Armstrong
Adams
Delighted to see Porto start but unfortunately it’s a perfect example as to why our young players need to move on when the time is right for them.
Is he really a much better player than when he left two months ago, yet I highly doubt he would have been starting today if he was still playing for us.
25-03-2023, 12:09 PM
Delighted to see Porto start but unfortunately it’s a perfect example as to why our young players need to move on when the time is right for them.
Is he really a much better player than when he left two months ago, yet I highly doubt he would have been starting today if he was still playing for us.
he was great in the match against Ukraine, why would he not have been picked today :confused:
25-03-2023, 12:10 PM
Surprised to see Gunn get the nod in goals.
Clarke created this situation by constantly playing Gordon in friendlies and not giving the other pair experience but the 2 who have been in and around squads for years must be pretty disappointed right now.
Looks a pretty decent side. Certainly good enough to see off Cyprus.
25-03-2023, 12:33 PM
Gunn,
McGinn, Armstrong
Adams
Porteous over McTominay
Mcbizz1998
25-03-2023, 12:49 PM
Stuck a few quid on Porto first goal [emoji106]
Porteous over McTominay
McTominay continually played out of position by Clarke.
25-03-2023, 01:03 PM
head to head v Cyprus
Scotland - 7 wins
Draws- 0
Cyprus wins -0
25-03-2023, 01:15 PM
yellow card Armstrong
Not much happened so far.
CYPRUS looking for 0-0 already.
25-03-2023, 01:22 PM
1-0 sjm of course:thumbsup:
argggghh andy robertson possibly offside
given ;)
25-03-2023, 01:22 PM
Var…..
25-03-2023, 01:23 PM
Goal given!!!
Mcbizz1998
25-03-2023, 01:25 PM
Stuck a few quid on Porto first goal [emoji106]
Damn, got the wrong Hibby!
Porto playing well.
25-03-2023, 01:26 PM
i think robertson was offside :)
25-03-2023, 01:27 PM
What's that maroon rag doing at the front? 🤮
25-03-2023, 01:33 PM
Cypriot booked for diving
well done referee
cameronw-hfc
25-03-2023, 01:37 PM
Mcginns role for Scotland is so strange but suits him to a tee. He's almost playing up front with Che at times
25-03-2023, 01:38 PM
noticed that our last international at Hampden, very unpleasant on the eyes
Always an unwritten rule in my days, no club colours at Scotland matches but of course they would have to break that rule, repulsive supporters 💩
25-03-2023, 01:46 PM
Always an unwritten rule in my days, no club colours at Scotland matches but of course they would have to break that rule, repulsive supporters 💩
we can say it's a ...
Arbroath
Stenhousemuir
Kelty
flag
but it is certainly unusual to see a club flag at any international, so it could indeed be a jamboid flag, weirdos
25-03-2023, 01:47 PM
good challenge by Gogic on Adams in the box
corner
HT 1-0
25-03-2023, 01:50 PM
Gunn Fires that kick straight out
he's not had much to do
cameronw-hfc
25-03-2023, 01:51 PM
Mcginn is this generations McFadden. Doesn't matter how his club form ever is, you can always rely on him for scotland and often seems to be the one that steps and gets the important goals
25-03-2023, 01:52 PM
Surprised to see Gunn get the nod in goals.
Clarke created this situation by constantly playing Gordon in friendlies and not giving the other pair experience but the 2 who have been in and around squads for years must be pretty disappointed right now.
Looks a pretty decent side. Certainly good enough to see off Cyprus.
I can mind commenting at the time when we played the last round of friendlies. Gordon was still fit and was the ideal time to play some of the reseve keepers but he didn't, strange move.
Porto playing so well, but disappointing to go in at only 1 - 0 at half time.
25-03-2023, 02:16 PM
Adams injury, Dykes coming on
25-03-2023, 02:18 PM
Scotland really really lacking in the forward areas.
25-03-2023, 02:25 PM
Really poor stuff here just now.
25-03-2023, 02:28 PM
Armstrong and Jack off for McTominay and Christie
25-03-2023, 02:36 PM
porteous deserved yellow card
25-03-2023, 02:39 PM
Cyprus bringing on another striker
£2 on the draw :) hopefully we can hold on
Patterson on for Hickey
25-03-2023, 02:43 PM
Great professional foul to stop the attacker getting through.
25-03-2023, 02:45 PM
Been impressed with Gogic as a sweeper before being taken off for another attacker for the Cypriots.
Did Hibs ever try him in that role when we was screaming out for a hard tackling defender.
25-03-2023, 02:46 PM
Cyprus ranked 110th :Ummm:
25-03-2023, 02:47 PM
McTominay :thumbsup:
25-03-2023, 02:51 PM
No easy games in International football these days, long gone are the days when we would hammer this lot 5-0 away and then 8-0 at hampdump wi Colin Stein scoring 5 in the one game. Interesting to note that Jim Herriot played in goals when we beat them 8-0 he was with Brum I think, we had some team then.
Now they are just a yawn with pricey jerseys for sale.
25-03-2023, 02:52 PM
Agree - unfortunately.
25-03-2023, 02:53 PM
McTominay brace :thumbsup:
big mistake taking Gogic off
Cyprus down to 10
FT 3-0
hope Spain beat Norway tonight
25-03-2023, 02:59 PM
Mcginn only needs 4 more goals to overtake both Kenny Miller and Allie McCoist in Scotland goals.
25-03-2023, 03:02 PM
Been impressed with Gogic as a sweeper before being taken off for another attacker for the Cypriots.
Did Hibs ever try him in that role when we was screaming out for a hard tackling defender.
Aye, thought Goga played really well. Liked him at Hibs so pleased for him.
25-03-2023, 03:03 PM
Not as sweeper but as far as I'm aware he's always been considered to be someone who could play CH but who rarely excelled there.
I liked Gogic though. He certainly had his uses and I was disappointed when he left. We've had a few too may players like that over the years though and we can't keep them all.
McTominay :thumbsup:
I really rate the boy, he would start every match for me.
That was a horrible watch and we'll have to be miles better if we want to qualify
25-03-2023, 03:12 PM
That was a horrible watch and we'll have to be miles better if we want to qualify
:top marks:saltireflag
Mcbizz1998
25-03-2023, 03:15 PM
I quite enjoyed it.
25-03-2023, 03:17 PM
Hickey and Porto were excellent.
25-03-2023, 03:19 PM
The result, as ever, is the main thing.
Oh definitely and with how tight this group could end up between us and Norway those late goals could be a big positive. Spain are a whole different challenge and i can't see how we get any kind of result.
25-03-2023, 03:22 PM
Oh definitely and with how tight this group could end up between us and Norway those late goals could be a big positive. Spain are a whole different challenge and i can't see how we get any kind of result.
Wasn’t that impressed with Spain at the World Cup. Think we could sneak a draw.
25-03-2023, 03:26 PM
Willie soorpuss Miller on Porto today
https://www.bbc.com/sport/live/football/65001844
Have to agree wi him for once.
25-03-2023, 03:27 PM
I think it's hard to say as that is such a different challenge. In some ways it would be worse for Scotland to go into the Spain game complacent after a thorough pumping of a weaker team.
John McGinn didn't sound too happy with the performance in his post match interview so I don't think the squad will be under any illusions that they need to raise their game.
Games largely stand alone for me - hard to take much from this game into the next one.
And there's only so annoyed I ever get when Hibs play badly and go through to the next round of the cup against crap opposition - unlike when we're put out by, well, anyone.
Trinity Hibee
25-03-2023, 03:37 PM
Demetri Mitchell and James Scott both scoring for Exeter and Mallan scoring for salford
25-03-2023, 04:37 PM
Sitting in The Beechwood in Glasgow post-match. Not a classic but a good result. Definitely deserved to win as Cyprus showed nothing.
25-03-2023, 06:46 PM
Croatia v Wales stadium looks amazing
Trinity Hibee
25-03-2023, 06:50 PM
Croatia v Wales stadium looks amazing
Ye. Game is on BBC iplayer channel s4c
25-03-2023, 06:58 PM
12 mins Spain 1 Norway 0
Donegal Hibby
25-03-2023, 07:01 PM
12 mins Spain 1 Norway 0
It was coming Spain look good.
25-03-2023, 07:18 PM
Wales 1 down to Croatia. Could be a long night for the Welsh
25-03-2023, 07:24 PM
It was coming Spain look good.
the Norwegians not out of it yet though
Donegal Hibby
25-03-2023, 07:43 PM
the Norwegians not out of it yet though
Norway's had some good chances and look decent even without Haaland. Spain play nice football though maybe to much at times and aren't clinical enough. Decent game so far
25-03-2023, 08:23 PM
Norway should be at least drawing.
25-03-2023, 08:26 PM
2-0 Spain
25-03-2023, 08:26 PM
I didn't realise Belarus were allowed to play in these qualifiers? Humped by the Swiss, but I thought they would have been binned along with Russia.
25-03-2023, 08:27 PM
I didn't realise Belarus were allowed to play in these qualifiers? Humped by the Swiss, but I thought they would have been binned along with Russia.
Behind closed doors, for what it’s worth.
Allowed Russia to launch their invasion from their territory.
Should have been hoofed out like Russia.
25-03-2023, 08:28 PM
2-0 Spain
3-0 now.
Bit flattering. Both there for the taking.
Donegal Hibby
25-03-2023, 08:29 PM
3-0 Spain :greengrin
25-03-2023, 08:39 PM
3-0 now.
Bit flattering. Both there for the taking.
I believe that when I see it.
25-03-2023, 08:39 PM
Wow wales equalise in the 93rd minute!
Trinity Hibee
25-03-2023, 08:43 PM
Held on for most of that game but guess if you keep yourself within 1 goal that can always happen
25-03-2023, 08:47 PM
There’s something about the Welsh team I can’t stand. It’s probably just jealousy. Jealous of their recent success, and jealous that their generational talent was in key forward positions and not stockpiling left backs like our generational talents.
25-03-2023, 08:49 PM
There’s something about the Welsh team I can’t stand. It’s probably just jealousy. Jealous of their recent success, and jealous that their generational talent was in key forward positions and not stockpiling left backs like our generational talents.
Yep I'm the same and I feel the same way about Ireland.
25-03-2023, 09:05 PM
I know what you mean. Particularly galling as I had Croatia in my 5 game acca.
Last one to come in too. *******in Welsh.
25-03-2023, 09:08 PM
Demetri Mitchell and James Scott both scoring for Exeter and Mallan scoring for salford
There’s a spine of a team there and I think we could compete with those clubs on wages.
Fitting Scott in, with Mallan just behind would require a selection rethink though. I’m thinking one of Boyle or Nisbet, maybe the pair of them, would have to make way.
There’s a spine of a team there and I think we could compete with those clubs on wages.
Fitting Scott in, with Mallan just behind would require a selection rethink though. I’m thinking one of Boyle or Nisbet, maybe the pair of them, would have to make way.
Mibbes Naw
JamesHFC
25-03-2023, 11:02 PM
I mean Scotland will never reach the semi final of any major tournament in our lifetime.
cameronw-hfc
25-03-2023, 11:49 PM
Behind closed doors, for what it’s worth.
Allowed Russia to launch their invasion from their territory.
Should have been hoofed out like Russia.
Add Israel to that list too.
25-03-2023, 11:59 PM
I mean Scotland will never reach the semi final of any major tournament in our lifetime.
Or anyone's else's future lifetime for that matter.
Was there a Scotland game yesterday?
I’ll get used to not watching Scotland like i already have European football.
I ‘m getting rid of my subscriptions not adding to them for a reason.
26-03-2023, 06:43 AM
Was there a Scotland game yesterday?
I’ll get used to not watching Scotland like i already have European football.
I ‘m getting rid of my subscriptions not adding to them for a reason.
Yes, we won 3 . O, excellent start to our qualifying hopes
Trinity Hibee
26-03-2023, 07:22 AM
Mibbes Naw
Donegal Hibby
26-03-2023, 10:46 AM
Yep I'm the same and I feel the same way about Ireland.
Growing up as a Irish fan in the Jack Charlton era was simply the best time ever , he was without question the best manager we ever had or possibly will have . The team under big Jack had a spirit and fight I doubt we will see again, for the fans back then we didn't expect anything , it was all fun and every game like a party which made it all the more enjoyable.
https://youtu.be/r5PuNd5iguc
26-03-2023, 10:55 AM
Scotland Squad
Out - Che Adams
In- Lawrence Shankland
Bridge hibs
26-03-2023, 11:04 AM
Scotland Squad
Out - Che Adams
In- Lawrence Shankland
Spanish will be kacking their pants at the thought of facing the heid
26-03-2023, 11:46 AM
diving heider from 25 yards out for the winner on 90 mins could see him playing alongside Benzema in la liga next season
26-03-2023, 11:50 AM
Dylan McGeouch starts for Forest Green as Captain
26-03-2023, 11:58 AM
England v Ukraine: 'The whole country dreams of a win at Wembley' - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65054085)
Along with the majority of Scotland, Wales etc etc
26-03-2023, 12:07 PM
England v Ukraine: 'The whole country dreams of a win at Wembley' - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65054085)
Along with the majority of Scotland, Wales etc etc
Love the way they come out with 💩 like that 😆 not in my house anyway 😏
26-03-2023, 01:28 PM
I'm assuming England will be graciously giving Ukraine the win tonight as they expected us and Wales to?
26-03-2023, 02:34 PM
72 mins penalty Kazakhstan 1-2 v Denmark
85 mins 2-2
88 mins wow 3-2
scenes
26-03-2023, 02:54 PM
72 mins penalty Kazakhstan 1-2 v Denmark
85 mins 2-2
88 mins wow 3-2
scenes
I went away at 80 mins and came back in at 89 :greengrin
Denmark have chucked it here, totally complacent after those early goals, manager needs a bit of a skelp too for not shoring it up after the pen.
What a fantastic result if they can hang on here.
26-03-2023, 02:56 PM
Aimbetov who won this game for them just got a red card !!
26-03-2023, 02:58 PM
I went away at 80 mins and came back in at 89 :greengrin
Denmark have chucked it here, totally complacent after those early goals, manager needs a bit of a skelp too for not shoring it up after the pen.
What a fantastic result if they can hang on here.
and the 3rd goal scorer that stupidly lifted his shirt off in celebration thus picking up a yellow card now picks up a 2nd yellow :greengrin
i only started watching on 70 mins
#timing
Stairway 2 7
26-03-2023, 02:59 PM
What an end to the game, the equaliser was an absolute peach
26-03-2023, 03:05 PM
Ian Murray’s Raith Rovers about to kick off the challenge cup final on bbc alba
26-03-2023, 03:20 PM
Doesn't seem to be an English commentary available.
26-03-2023, 03:20 PM
Scott Martin ex Hibs, starts for Hamilton
Jamie Gullan still injured for Raith
26-03-2023, 03:21 PM
Doesn't seem to be an English commentary available.
It’s on Alba😀
Curried
26-03-2023, 03:23 PM
Is the war over now?
26-03-2023, 03:26 PM
It’s on Alba😀
Aye, I know. I don't usually bother with Alba games but, did there not used to be an option to change the Audio?
26-03-2023, 03:44 PM
Better hope we get a penalty!
Aye, I know. I don't usually bother with Alba games but, did there not used to be an option to change the Audio?
Just switched over, when did Raith get one of those crappy plastic pitches.
26-03-2023, 03:56 PM
Just switched over, when did Raith get one of those crappy plastic pitches.
Nae idea 🤔 The games at Falkirk though.
26-03-2023, 04:33 PM
Rovers goal incoming
26-03-2023, 04:34 PM
Pretty turgid stuff at Wembley so far.
Nae idea 🤔 The games at Falkirk though.
Oh well that'll explain it then. 👍
26-03-2023, 04:36 PM
come on referee
26-03-2023, 04:37 PM
Not sure how the commentator can say that isn't a red for the Hamilton player. Late and he puts 2 hands in the guys face with no attempt to play the ball. More suited to WWE than a football pitch.
26-03-2023, 04:37 PM
Not sure how the commentator can say that isn't a red for the Hamilton player. Late and he puts 2 hands in the guys face with no attempt to play the ball. More suited to WWE than a football pitch.Really? I thought it was never a red card
Very harsh
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
26-03-2023, 04:38 PM
England look poor, but only one team can win this. Once England score, they’ll go on to win easily.
Ukraine well organised but England playing 2 sitting mids, it's all slow and as you said turgid.
26-03-2023, 04:40 PM
Really? I thought it was never a red card
Very harsh
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
He's jumped into a guy and pushed him in the face with 2 hands. I don't see how the ref can do anything else.
If it was a coming together because he was just late going for the header then fair enough but there's clear intent to throw his hands into another players face.
26-03-2023, 04:41 PM
Kane goal ….. here we go.