View Full Version : Match Updates 2022-23 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

22-08-2022, 08:58 PM
Any truth in the rumour that Liverpool's about to appoint a new manager?

Some guy called Jurgen Doon apparently? :dunno:

22-08-2022, 08:58 PM
Man u close the gap on Fulham, Nottingham forest and Brentford.

Well done.

22-08-2022, 09:00 PM

Well done.
Thought you said you don't care :cb

22-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Thought you said you don't care :cb

It's a fact not a care. 👌

22-08-2022, 09:02 PM
It's a fact not a care. 👌
Enjoy your night mate its only a game o fitba :aok:

Well done.

Deary me, is that really the best you can come up with

Well done.

And Liverpool slip further towards the relegation zone. I demand a media frenzy.

22-08-2022, 09:03 PM
It's all gone a bit Pie and Bovril on here. 😀

22-08-2022, 09:07 PM
Gomez is anything but pish. Before these bad injuries, him and van dijk were an absolutely brilliant partnership.

When did he last have a good game? Long time ago. Used to be very good but he's a liability now.

22-08-2022, 09:07 PM
Van Dyke had worst ever game tonight.
You obviously didn’t see the 7-2 loss to Villa two years back!

22-08-2022, 09:08 PM
Two poor teams from tonight’s showing.

Liverpool are obviously much better than that and they’ll bounce back but I’ll be astonished if they win the league

22-08-2022, 09:09 PM
The question is whether United will show the same desire to win at Southampton next game? They look better without Maguire; he must remain dropped.

norhfc
22-08-2022, 09:11 PM
Klopps post match interview will be interesting, he’s no the best at losing tbh.

22-08-2022, 09:12 PM
Two poor teams from tonight’s showing.

Liverpool are obviously much better than that and they’ll bounce back but I’ll be astonished if they win the league

Spurs could win. They seem to conjure a goal from nowhere.

He's here!
22-08-2022, 10:09 PM
Thought United were excellent. Didn't think they had it in them.

He's here!
22-08-2022, 10:13 PM
I think this might be the end of this liverpool side.

Can’t see then challenging this year.

Wouldn't claim to have seen anything other than the odd goal from them last season but they went to the wire on all fronts and Klopp has done a terrific job there so bit early to be saying they're finished.

22-08-2022, 10:20 PM
Thought United were excellent. Didn't think they had it in them.

not many did. Strange game, football.

maybe Liverpool underestimated them.

23-08-2022, 07:41 AM
Liverpool have gone stale, 3-4 injuries and suspensions and their squad isn't great, they need a CH, competition RB and a top CM.

23-08-2022, 07:51 AM
Van Dyke had worst ever game tonight.

Had him over 0.5 tackles

Lost 😬

23-08-2022, 08:05 AM
Notice JDT has been battered twice on the trot at Blackburn after a positive start.

23-08-2022, 09:43 AM
Notice JDT has been battered twice on the trot at Blackburn after a positive start.

I backed them in a single last Wednesday night after their bright start, saw the highlights the following night, not good!😠

23-08-2022, 12:28 PM
Morelos left out of the Sevco squad for the PSV game due to 'fitness and attitude'

Meanwhile, they have appealed the Lundstrum red card but not fatty's one.

23-08-2022, 12:34 PM
Morelos left out of the Sevco squad for the PSV game due to 'fitness and attitude'

Meanwhile, they have appealed the Lundstrum red card but not fatty's one.

Surprising, I thought he had a watertight justification for taking a swing at our player twice in full view of the ref. He’s frustrated about being out of the side for so long, I’m sure Andy Walker made this abundantly clear. Free the Freddo One!

23-08-2022, 01:25 PM
i think they will be successful with the appeal for lundstram

not just because they are sevco, i really don't think it was a red after watching a replay

23-08-2022, 06:59 PM
Red Star Belgrade v Maccabi Haifa

damn impressive sight with those Red Star fans, especially behind the goals

23-08-2022, 07:22 PM
Villa (against Bolton) score direct from a corner, not something you see every day!

cameronw-hfc
23-08-2022, 07:34 PM
Villa (against Bolton) score direct from a corner, not something you see every day!

Pretty disgraceful performance from Villa so far. Sloe, no identity, poor in possession. Mcginn looks a shadow of himself right now, been awful for weeks. Only player looking half decent right now is Kamara.

23-08-2022, 07:35 PM
Pretty disgraceful performance from Villa so far. Sloe, no identity, poor in possession. Mcginn looks a shadow of himself right now, been awful for weeks. Only player looking half decent right now is Kamara.

Aye seen villa fans slating him the other. Wanting him dropped.

cameronw-hfc
23-08-2022, 07:36 PM
Aye seen villa fans slating him the other. Wanting him dropped.

I love John, but he needs to buck his ideas up and fast. He's been named captain whilst in the worst year of form probably in his whole career. Its getting a bit boring now coming away saying the midfield were dreadful and Mcginn was poor as well. Truly not sure what's wrong with him.

23-08-2022, 07:43 PM
crackin goal 2-0 Red Star (4-3)

23-08-2022, 08:02 PM
crackin goal 2-0 Red Star (4-3)

poor keeping right on HT 1-2(4-4)

Benfica 3 Dynamo Kyiv 0 (5-0)

Viktoria Plzen 0 FK Qarabag 1 (0-1)

23-08-2022, 08:10 PM
I love John, but he needs to buck his ideas up and fast. He's been named captain whilst in the worst year of form probably in his whole career. Its getting a bit boring now coming away saying the midfield were dreadful and Mcginn was poor as well. Truly not sure what's wrong with him.

Cant help but feel that Gerard has unnecessarily heaped the pressure on mcginn. He has all of a sudden become a bit of a scape goat and kind of polarised opinion on him.. Hopefully he doesn’t let the negativity affect him and he comes through it 👊🏼

cameronw-hfc
23-08-2022, 08:15 PM
Cant help but feel that Gerard has unnecessarily heaped the pressure on mcginn. He has all of a sudden become a bit of a scape goat and kind of polarised opinion on him.. Hopefully he doesn’t let the negativity affect him and he comes through it 👊🏼

It's not as sudden as you think. He's been gash for a year now, the captaincy hasn't helped, but he's been a pretty polarizing figure for a while now. He looks like he's shot of any confidence and almost everything he tries seems to go wrong.

Helensburghhibs
23-08-2022, 08:25 PM
If he's been that bad maybe we can but him back... Cashing in on the sell on percentage at the same time 😂

23-08-2022, 08:51 PM
It's not as sudden as you think. He's been gash for a year now, the captaincy hasn't helped, but he's been a pretty polarizing figure for a while now. He looks like he's shot of any confidence and almost everything he tries seems to go wrong.

He wouldn't be playing if he had been gash for a year. Still clearly one of Villas best players.

23-08-2022, 08:53 PM
Ooft 90th minute red star OG 2-2 (4-5) FT

cracking goal though lol

Plzen beat Qarabag 2-1

cameronw-hfc
23-08-2022, 08:56 PM
He wouldn't be playing if he had been gash for a year. Still clearly one of Villas best players.

He isn't, Villa are my English team, I see them every week. The issue the fans are having is Gerrard has his favourites and won't drop them, Mcginn being one. There's a reason more than half the support can't understand why he keeps playing, and its not that they want him gone, but it's clear to anyone that watches us that he's just not on it. It's been at least a year he's been poor. I know as Hibs fans those of you that don't see every Villa game will have your tinted specs on, but from someone that loves John just as much as the rest and watches them weekly, trust me, he's been poor for a while.

tonyrougier123
23-08-2022, 08:59 PM

Was one of their best players in that second half never seen the first mind you.

Gerrard has spent a few quid and they look no better than under dean smith at this point.

23-08-2022, 09:01 PM

The point im making is that Gerard has put him under the microscope in making him captain and even more so with the whole Mings circus so his performances are under more scrutiny than they would be normally.. He probably could do without the added pressure and circus surrounding his appointment as captain. Could be argued that Gerard has done it to give him the confidence and make him feel good , but I think he has definitely made a mistake which probably has negative implications for 2 players

tonyrougier123
23-08-2022, 09:02 PM
He isn't, Villa are my English team, I see them every week. The issue the fans are having is Gerrard has his favourites and won't drop them, Mcginn being one. There's a reason more than half the support can't understand why he keeps playing, and its not that they want him gone, but it's clear to anyone that watches us that he's just not on it. It's been at least a year he's been poor. I know as Hibs fans those of you that don't see every Villa game will have your tinted specs on, but from someone that loves John just as much as the rest and watches them weekly, trust me, he's been poor for a while.

Gerrard is the problem for villa,I’ve watched yous a lot also,tactics very rigid.
He’ll be punted soon I’d think based on what I’ve seen.

cameronw-hfc
23-08-2022, 09:03 PM
Was one of their best players in that second half never seen the first mind you.

Gerrard has spent a few quid and they look no better than under dean smith at this point.

He was better, as were the whole team tbf. I'm getting bored as a Villa fan of seeing pundits talk about how it's a top 8 squad man for man, which I agree with, then going out and playing like a bottom 6 team. They've gone and signed proven champions league players, and somehow Gerrard is turning them into championship players. He's a few losses away from being Villas worst ever coach, statistically.

cameronw-hfc
23-08-2022, 09:05 PM
Gerrard is the problem for villa,I’ve watched yous a lot also,tactics very rigid.
He’ll be punted soon I’d think based on what I’ve seen.

I agree. Man for man, that team is very, very good. Bailey, Ings, Mcginn, Luiz, Digne, Coutinho, Martinez, Buendia are all players that could and should be playing at the least in the conference league/europa league, but it looks like Gerrard just can't get a tune out of them.

Buendia has been Villas best player for about 6 months but he can't get a start. Gerrard was asked about it and snapped back something about "I pick the team, you dont".

23-08-2022, 09:05 PM
On a side note .. Chelsea are happy to pay 60 million for Antony Gordon from Everton.. Lads a good player with potential, but 60 million 😳 .. Its got Ross Barkley written all over it ..

Rumble de Thump
23-08-2022, 09:08 PM
Villa don't play McGinn in his best position so they're not going to get the best out of him.

23-08-2022, 09:09 PM
He was better, as were the whole team tbf. I'm getting bored as a Villa fan of seeing pundits talk about how it's a top 8 squad man for man, which I agree with, then going out and playing like a bottom 6 team. They've gone and signed proven champions league players, and somehow Gerrard is turning them into championship players. He's a few losses away from being Villas worst ever coach, statistically.

is that true? I find it hard to believe. Shocking if it is.

cameronw-hfc
23-08-2022, 09:09 PM
is that true? I find it hard to believe. Shocking if it is.

I can't remember the stat but he's lost over 50% of his games, only managers to worse his record is Remi Garde and Tim Sherwood.

Edit- here's a copy paste of the post in topic

Every Aston Villa manager to lose more than 50% of their games in charge:

57.1% Tim Sherwood
56.5% Remi Garde
52.4% STEVEN GERRARD

Should we lose to West Ham, Arsenal, and Man City, Gerrard will officially be the worst manager in our 148-year history.

cameronw-hfc
23-08-2022, 09:11 PM
Villa don't play McGinn in his best position so they're not going to get the best out of him.

He's been playing as a #8 for a while now, his best role. He's got plenty freedom to get forward he just looks shot of any confidence. It's not where he's playing, it's a case of a good player in a rut and the manager refusing to take him out if the firing line for a few weeks.

I don't think John needs replaced or anything, I just think it's obvious to all Villa fans he's struggling and could do with a few weeks out of the firing line, for his own sake.

tonyrougier123
23-08-2022, 09:12 PM
I agree. Man for man, that team is very, very good. Bailey, Ings, Mcginn, Luiz, Digne, Coutinho, Martinez, Buendia are all players that could and should be playing at the least in the conference league/europa league, but it looks like Gerrard just can't get a tune out of them.

Buendia has been Villas best player for about 6 months but he can't get a start. Gerrard was asked about it and snapped back something about "I pick the team, you dont".
The players you mentioned all good enough for Europe but it’s looking like villa are still a couple players short,I think mcginn could do with another player in there with him to bounce off,too much expectation and the rest of that midfield looks pretty attacking in style.
Maybe another centre mid to share the duties.

cameronw-hfc
23-08-2022, 09:13 PM
The players you mentioned all good enough for Europe but it’s looking like villa are still a couple players short,I think mcginn could do with another player in there with him to bounce off,too much expectation and the rest of that midfield looks pretty attacking in style.
Maybe another centre mid to share the duties.

Signed Kamara as a #6 and he's been one of the only bright lights this season. The midfield is a very decent one, Ramsay, Luiz and Mcginn are all very good #8s. It's a confidence thing for John, and tactical from Gerrard

24-08-2022, 06:28 PM
Fully expect the bams to go through but here's hoping they get leathered....

24-08-2022, 06:32 PM

But but but what about the co-efficient 😂

24-08-2022, 06:35 PM

Do you, form of late hasn’t been great. That wasn’t a champions league standard team that played at ER on sunday

24-08-2022, 06:36 PM
Do you, form of late hasn’t been great. That wasn’t a champions league standard team that played at ER on sunday

Yes think they will lose to PSV.

24-08-2022, 06:41 PM
They've been depressingly successful (at least in Europe) this past while - hope it comes to an arse grinding halt tonight and to hell with the coefficient.

24-08-2022, 06:48 PM
What happened to the Rangers team bus outside stadium tonight?

24-08-2022, 06:50 PM

PSV fans blocked the team bus and prevented them getting off the bus etc

24-08-2022, 06:53 PM

Penalty to Rangers.

24-08-2022, 06:54 PM
Penalty to Rangers.

Red card too

24-08-2022, 06:56 PM
**** the co-efficient

24-08-2022, 06:58 PM

Some Hibs fans in PSV shirts aggressively delayed their progress to the ground

24-08-2022, 07:00 PM

I think PSV will win tonight.

I'm less confident about Zurich winning tomorrow night.

24-08-2022, 07:02 PM
Some Hibs fans in PSV shirts aggressively delayed their progress to the ground

3 match ban for Porteous.

24-08-2022, 07:04 PM
Sevco fans dropping lit flares into PSV fans below them according to the radio

24-08-2022, 07:07 PM
3 match ban for Porteous.
:thumbsup:That was funny....

24-08-2022, 07:09 PM
Is Kevin Thomson a coach anywhere?

ger intae thum PSV

Is Kevin Thomson a coach anywhere?

Coach driver I’d heard

That’s a terrible offside decision. Why are they stopping play? I thought that’s what VAR was for

24-08-2022, 07:12 PM
Coach driver I’d heard

Why did he leave Kelty if not for another job strange one

24-08-2022, 07:13 PM

Penalty to Rangers.

24-08-2022, 07:14 PM
That’s a terrible offside decision. Why are they stopping play? I thought that’s what VAR was for

Yep awful decision

24-08-2022, 07:14 PM
Penalty to Rangers.

Just the one

24-08-2022, 07:17 PM
this dutch side is humpty, ranjurs to win

24-08-2022, 07:28 PM
Rangers playing well to be fair. Thats what you get when you cancel your fixtures with players at home doing DIY at the weekend while rangers were playing the worlds elite.:)

24-08-2022, 07:35 PM
Anyone else pop along to the FC Edinburgh game today? Few ex hibbys in the team. Was hoping to see Delfierre but he's not in the squad tonight. Danny Handlings got both Edinburgh goals so far

24-08-2022, 07:44 PM
PSV well on top at the moment.

24-08-2022, 07:44 PM
Decent game but spoilt by having to listen Katy ThomsHUN love with the bigots.

PSV missing 2 great chances there.

24-08-2022, 07:46 PM
Half time 0-0.

24-08-2022, 07:47 PM
Anyone else pop along to the FC Edinburgh game today? Few ex hibbys in the team. Was hoping to see Delfierre but he's not in the squad tonight. Danny Handlings got both Edinburgh goals so far

Maybe cuptied. Did he play for Hibs v Brechin a few weeks ago

24-08-2022, 07:49 PM
Maybe cuptied. Did he play for Hibs v Brechin a few weeks ago

He did

24-08-2022, 08:00 PM
He did

Makes sense. Another goal for Handling.

24-08-2022, 08:12 PM
Rangers hit the bar.

24-08-2022, 08:13 PM
Colak for a biggish laddie goes down awfy easy!

24-08-2022, 08:16 PM
1-0 Sevco

Pathetic defending.

24-08-2022, 08:16 PM
Booooo

24-08-2022, 08:17 PM
deffo humpty

24-08-2022, 08:17 PM
That is hilarious defending [emoji1787]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

24-08-2022, 08:20 PM
i wouldn't be putting all the blame on the defender, stupid ball out from that humpty keeper in the first place

The group stage of the Champions league is very financially rewarding of course but from a footballing point of view these two clubs are just having a play off to be the champions league group stage gun fodder. Not that im bitter or anything :)

lundstram picks up another yellow card

kent gets one as well

24-08-2022, 08:23 PM
PSV are really poor defensively.

24-08-2022, 08:28 PM
PSV have been dreadful tonight.

24-08-2022, 08:29 PM
PSV are really poor defensively.

They haven't much ability up front either.

24-08-2022, 08:30 PM
Good save McLaughlin.

24-08-2022, 08:32 PM
lundstram picks up another yellow card

kent gets one as well

And the Hun media gleefully endorsing blatant hacking down of opposition players.

https://i.postimg.cc/TY87jDVg/2-D582-C16-4401-40-D0-AFD5-1075818-B5-B10.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

24-08-2022, 08:33 PM
Brilliant. Love Rangers and Celtic getting an extra 30 million or so. Perfect. Wonderful.

24-08-2022, 08:36 PM
And the Hun media gleefully endorsing blatant hacking down of opposition players.

https://i.postimg.cc/TY87jDVg/2-D582-C16-4401-40-D0-AFD5-1075818-B5-B10.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Imagine the outcry if an opposition player in Scotland did this.

They are taking it in turn to foul as much as possible, trying to break up play!

24-08-2022, 08:40 PM

i bet he wanted to post similar on saturday :cb

The Rangers playing as well as they can. PSV are absolutely honking.

Wonder what ST will say about the professional tackle there??

24-08-2022, 08:41 PM
Was Airfield asking for a red there [emoji1787]

24-08-2022, 08:42 PM
Rangers have this won

PSV have almost no creativity - boring and slow

24-08-2022, 08:43 PM
Landed on their feet as usual. PSV are beyond awful in every department.

24-08-2022, 08:45 PM
Rangers seem to have a right problem with cramp.. noticed that on Saturday too, strange that.

they've only played two game but that PSV side are sitting 3rd with a game in hand with ajax at the top, crappy league

What a ****ing disaster this is.

24-08-2022, 08:47 PM
Rangers seem to have a right problem with cramp.. noticed that on Saturday too, strange that.

A Josh Campbell goal will cure it 👍🏻

24-08-2022, 08:50 PM
lol@ that attempt at a volley, PSV would struggle in our lowland league :)

24-08-2022, 08:51 PM
There it is

Full time PSV 0-1 Rangers

Rangers through to the Champions League group stages 3-2 on aggregate.

Sevco players telling the PSV player it's very bad to commit a cynical foul

Lendo
24-08-2022, 08:52 PM
****sake

24-08-2022, 08:53 PM
And all of Scottish football rejoiced as the rich get fabulously richer, whilst the rest should be delighted with scraps

**** off! That's a sickener that.

Don't think I can bring myself to watch the game tomorrow.

What a ****ing disaster for the rest of Scottish football. The bigot twins getting an additional £30m to £40m each.

24-08-2022, 08:55 PM
With everyone else playing every midweek we must be favourites to win the league.

Lendo
24-08-2022, 08:55 PM
Only a Hearts pumping the morn will cheer me up now.

JamesHFC
24-08-2022, 08:56 PM
What a ****ing disaster for the rest of Scottish football. The bigot twins getting an additional £30m to £40m each.

I don't think I will see a team other than Celtic or The Rangers win a league title for the rest of my lifetime.

24-08-2022, 08:57 PM
Heartz will win as well tomorrow night, they will score at least twice

He's here!
Full time PSV 0-1 Rangers

Rangers through to the Champions League group stages 3-2 on aggregate.

No two ways about it, that's a terrific result for them.

Yes, that's a massive pay day for the Rangers. They have done really well to qualify over there. Avoid the media for the next few days.

bringbackbenny
24-08-2022, 08:58 PM
Who cares, they were already financially way ahead in any case. Hopefully they'll waste the extra cash.

24-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Nearly 40 years since a non-OF team won the League - the money these two are going to get means I doubt I'll ever see a non OF team win the League - how effing depressing

24-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Who cares, they were already financially way ahead in any case. Hopefully they'll waste the extra cash.

That gap has just substantially increased.

24-08-2022, 09:01 PM
Aware it'll pale in comparison to what they and their bigot cousins will earn, but am I right in thinking this results in SOME money coming into the club?

If so, anyone know how much?

24-08-2022, 09:02 PM
Aware it'll pale in comparison to what they and their bigot cousins will earn, but am I right in thinking this results in SOME money coming into the club?

If so, anyone know how much?

We get some crumbs from the rich man's table? Trickledown economics in action.

24-08-2022, 09:02 PM

It's not like anyone would have come close to bridging it anytime soon before tonight.

They have a guaranteed warchest from their ST holders every year - exactly the reason neither club takes serious action against their problematic elements.

24-08-2022, 09:04 PM
We get some crumbs from the rich man's table? Trickledown economics in action.

I'm not suggesting it puts us in a position to kick on, but surely nobody is going to say money coming into the club is a bad thing from an operating point of view? Particularly in the current climate.

24-08-2022, 09:05 PM
I'm not suggesting it puts us in a position to kick on, but surely nobody is going to say money coming into the club is a bad thing from an operating point of view? Particularly in the current climate.

I would rather they hadn't qualified and gotten at least £30 million.

24-08-2022, 09:05 PM
Nearly 40 years since a non-OF team won the League - the money these two are going to get means I doubt I'll ever see a non OF team win the League - how effing depressing

Will always be an OF team - especially when you play them x4 a season in league.

Sad but true - 3rd and Europa League / conference has to be the target / plus cup runs.

24-08-2022, 09:08 PM
I would rather they hadn't qualified and gotten at least £30 million.

I don't disagree.

But silver linings and all that...

24-08-2022, 09:12 PM
Stopped caring what the old firm do in Europe long ago. We’ll not be challenging them for the title in my lifetime, hopefully European games are a distraction from league games and we can gain points from them to help us toward our main objective of qualifying for Europe ourselves.

Not unless another club gets a billionaire takeover, but that's never going to happen. If anything, it will be the Old Firm who benefit from that one day.

who knows what the long term impact on other clubs will be, we could start to see the league self destruct

24-08-2022, 09:23 PM
And will continue to increase

andyf5
24-08-2022, 09:23 PM
Rangers deserved that win, two Scottish teams in Champions League, our co-efficient goes up and potential opportunities for Hibs in Europe. Champions League team and they couldn't beat us. 😁

tonyrougier123
24-08-2022, 09:26 PM
Rangers deserved that win, two Scottish teams in Champions League, our co-efficient goes up and potential opportunities for Hibs in Europe. Champions League team and they couldn't beat us. 😁

Potentially 4th place group stage euro football next season.
With that incentive in mind I hope we push the boat out slightly to give Johnson 2-3 more players in.

Our co-efficient would go better if they were winning games in the Europa League rather than losing them in the Champions League.

Heartz will win as well tomorrow night, they will score at least twice

Ive got every condidence in Hearts to fail

24-08-2022, 09:30 PM
Our co-efficient would go better if they were winning games in the Europa League rather than losing them in the Champions League.

That’s a strange system then, surely having 2 teams qualifying to play in the champions league, irrespective of results when they get there, should be better than beating some diddy teams the 2nd/3rd tier of European competition🤷🏼

24-08-2022, 09:33 PM
Ive got every condidence in Hearts to fail

oh i do hope you're right, either way they are getting group stages in a European competition

#jealousas***k

Chorley Hibee
24-08-2022, 09:34 PM

I don't disagree, but it's no longer a problem unique to Scotland.

Almost every major league in Europe is dominated by one or a handful of clubs, and the uncertainty and joy the game once provided in abundance has been replaced by boredom and predictability.

IvanSproule
24-08-2022, 09:44 PM
Think this is a good thing for the league to be honest.

The way the other clubs get closer to the old firm isn't by waiting for them to be crap, it's by regularly qualifying for group stage Europe.

Them doing well in Europe makes that easier to achieve for the rest of the clubs.

24-08-2022, 09:46 PM
Got to feel sorry for the working girls in Amsterdam tonight.
Few curtains will be kept closed on the windows.

Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2022, 09:56 PM
I can actually see Rangers doing alright in the groups and with a favourable draw I wouldn’t be surprised to see them in the last 16. Id be surprised if they finish bottom of their group.

That being said, whilst I think celtic are a better side, I fancy them to get pumped rotten. The way they play will play right into the hands of teams at that level.

Chorley Hibee
24-08-2022, 09:59 PM

The way the other clubs get closer to the old firm isn't by waiting for them to be crap, it's by regularly qualifying for group stage Europe.

Them doing well in Europe makes that easier to achieve for the rest of the clubs.

It hasn't helped all the other leagues in Europe.

England, Germany, France, Spain, Italy and more all dominated by one or two clubs light years ahead of the rest.

I find it all rather depressing.

24-08-2022, 10:04 PM

It would need someone to do what Rangers have just done. Get 2nd in the league (not totally out of the question) then qualify for the Champions League group stage. They'd then have to use the income from it very wisely the next year.

Highly unlikely to happen unfortunately.

24-08-2022, 10:05 PM
With that incentive in mind I hope we push the boat out slightly to give Johnson 2-3 more players in.

Hmm not sure that’s right, is it not another automatic champs league place before 4th getting automatic group place?

Paulie Walnuts
24-08-2022, 10:09 PM
Hmm not sure that’s right, is it not another automatic champs league place before 4th getting automatic group place?

A guaranteed 4th team in the europa or conference league group stage is absolutely miles away I’m sure.

24-08-2022, 10:15 PM

We would need to break into the top 6 of the co-efficient table before 3rd place gets a spot in the Champions League qualifiers and 4th would be in the Europa League play offs.

That's a long way off.

IvanSproule
24-08-2022, 10:30 PM

England, Germany, France, Spain, Italy and more all dominated by one or two clubs light years ahead of the rest.

I find it all rather depressing.That's not true for 3 of the 5 leagues you've mentioned though.

What actually happens in England, Spain and Italy is there are a couple of dominant clubs followed by a few more clubs who consistently challenge and occasionally beat the dominant clubs to the title. They are able to do this because the super successful teams on their league open up the riches of European competition to the other teams.

I think Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen could be those clubs in Scotland.

Like Athletico Madrid, Napoli, Spurs, Atalanta etc

24-08-2022, 11:02 PM

It’s why for many, modern football has simply become boring and uninteresting. So many now only really have interest in their own clubs and don’t watch or follow any games other than their own. I’ve been like that with Hibs for a good few years now.

25-08-2022, 05:25 AM

Italy has 3 different champions in the last 3 years.

Spain the same.

France even has recent league wins from Lille and Monaco.

England has different champions all the time really.

They're all significantly more competitive than Scotland.

Yorkshire HFC
25-08-2022, 05:49 AM

This. It's like all things in life - wanting someone else to be rubbish isn't going to make you any better.

For me, it highlights the poor management of the teams in Scotland - Rangers are currently over achieving in Europe - when was the last time Hibs over achieved in anything?

I'd hope that Hibs can use this as inspiration to improve - Rangers couldn't beat us at the weekend.

Fans can run on emotion, but the owners of Hibs need to look at how they become part of improving Scottish football or continue being part of a mediocre product. And I'll always stick up for Scotland.

25-08-2022, 05:56 AM
We won't be closing the gap to the OF to be the same size as that between Atleti and Real, or Napoli and Inter any time soon. Wealth/income generation is a cycle and qualifying for the Group stages gets the OF the proper money to assemble squads to skoosh Scottish football and almost focus on Europe.

Forget about them, they are operating in a different ecosystem. I more fervently hope that we don't see a similar thing happen with Hearts, but a couple of years of Europa League group qualification could see them cement "best of the rest", at least from an income/wages they can offer perspective, for a good while

25-08-2022, 06:27 AM
We won't be closing the gap to the OF to be the same size as that between Atleti and Real, or Napoli and Inter any time soon. Wealth/income generation is a cycle and qualifying for the Group stages gets the OF the proper money to assemble squads to skoosh Scottish football and almost focus on Europe.

Forget about them, they are operating in a different ecosystem. I more fervently hope that we don't see a similar thing happen with Hearts, but a couple of years of Europa League group qualification could see them cement "best of the rest", at least from an income/wages they can offer perspective, for a good while

The money they get from FOH every year will be enough for that, if it’s spent wisely (something they haven’t always done). There is a real danger that from a relatively level playing field for most of the last decade Hibs are going to be left behind financially.

We need European group stage football.

25-08-2022, 06:35 AM
Number of league winners for each of the top 10 European leagues since 1984/85 (the last time Celtic or Rangers failed to win the Scottish league);

France - 10
England - 9
Belgium - 7
Italy - 7
Austria - 6
Germany - 6
Spain - 5
Netherlands - 5
Portugal - 4
Scotland - 2

25-08-2022, 07:07 AM
Number of league winners for each of the top 10 European leagues since 1984/85 (the last time Celtic or Rangers failed to win the Scottish league);

France - 10
England - 9
Belgium - 7
Italy - 7
Austria - 6
Germany - 6
Spain - 5
Netherlands - 5
Portugal - 4
Scotland - 2

that’s a poor showing for Spain to be honest. Out of the big two, only three other clubs have got their hands on the title in near 40 years.

miles better than Scotland, mind, but still poor imo

25-08-2022, 07:13 AM
that’s a poor showing for Spain to be honest. Out of the big two, only three other clubs have got their hands on the title in near 40 years.

miles better than Scotland, mind, but still poor imo

It is, but then you have to remember Real Madrid and Barcelona are probably the two biggest football clubs in the world. Massively difficult to compete with them over a 38 game season.

25-08-2022, 07:24 AM

France - 10
England - 9
Belgium - 7
Italy - 7
Austria - 6
Germany - 6
Spain - 5
Netherlands - 5
Portugal - 4
Scotland - 2

That's an interesting stat.

I also had a look at the last 10 years just to see if the petrodollars era has made the major leagues less competitive compared to the last 35 years that you are measuring. They haven't really, Since 2011-12 over the last ten campaigns there's been 5 different winners in England, 4 in France, Spain and Portugal, 3 in Belgium, Holland and Italy (all in the last three years! Prior to that it was Juve with 7 straight), and Germany and Austria just 2.(Bayern with the last nine titles though, Red Bull with a similarly untouchable run in Austria).

I also had a memory of English football being way more competitive when I was young and followed it religiously at primary school. But looking back that's just memory playing tricks, between 1975-85 there were only 4 different league winners (Liverpool Everton Forest and Villa), so it's always good to check these things.

Helensburghhibs
25-08-2022, 07:25 AM
What the old firm do beyond hopefully slipping up against us and making sure they beat our rivals Is irrelevant. If anything them being in the champions league gives me a game to watch during the week.

The only gap I'm interested in is the one to hearts as it could be us taking advantage and getting the European nights. Rangers as much as some people think otherwise are not our rivals. They were for 2 maybe 3 years when they were building but the situation now is back to how I've always known it with them and celtic miles ahead over a season. That sits fine with me, if we get 3rd, Europe and start building our own finances we will progress as a club.

25-08-2022, 07:29 AM
If Hearts have no shots on target, lose two goals and have 31% possession against Zurich do they go through? Trying to work out the yamenomics for tonight 😁

25-08-2022, 07:32 AM
If Hearts have no shots on target, lose two goals and have 31% possession against Zurich do they go through? Trying to work out the yamenomics for tonight 😁

Depends if they get the 2 late red cards that caused the defeat.

“2 red cards” x “mins left in the game” / “big team grandeur” = real number of goals scored

If they do get knocked out, it’s not “knocked out” it’s “demoted”

25-08-2022, 07:34 AM

I don't know but no doubt they will have been 'outstanding' and it will have 'felt like a win'.

25-08-2022, 07:41 AM
Depends if they get the 2 late red cards that caused the defeat.

“2 red cards” x “mins left in the game” / “big team grandeur” = real number of goals scored

If they do get knocked out, it’s not “knocked out” it’s “demoted”

they’ll probably spend three months taking it through the courts appealing against the demotion to the conference league. Because “it’s the right thing to do”.

25-08-2022, 08:00 AM
And with Rangers getting into the Group stages, Hearts just get more coefficient money from UEFA

25-08-2022, 08:04 AM
And with Rangers getting into the Group stages, Hearts just get more coefficient money from UEFA

Underlines the impact of us crumbling last season from a comprehensive third place the season before

25-08-2022, 08:15 AM

Is that correct? Nightmare

25-08-2022, 08:16 AM
they’ll probably spend three months taking it through the courts appealing against the demotion to the conference league. Because “it’s the right thing to do”.

For the good of the game :greengrin

25-08-2022, 08:34 AM
The money they get from FOH every year will be enough for that, if it’s spent wisely (something they haven’t always done). There is a real danger that from a relatively level playing field for most of the last decade Hibs are going to be left behind financially.

We need European group stage football.

Agreed with your last sentence, but honestly when did we last reach that or equivalent stage in Europe?

Getting top 4 this season and then subsequently having a proper go at Europe for a change is absolutely vital

Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2022, 08:44 AM
Agreed with your last sentence, but honestly when did we last reach that or equivalent stage in Europe?

Getting top 4 this season and then subsequently having a proper go at Europe for a change is absolutely vital

You only have to finish 3rd for it now though so you just get there by default. Before, you would have to beat at least two really decent sides to get there.

25-08-2022, 08:45 AM

You've made a very valid point re Hearts, the OF will only get richer as Scottish football guarantees them European football every season, but hearts could be on the verge of putting financial daylight between the rest of the league with the FOH money and a European run, worrying times.

25-08-2022, 08:49 AM
I'm fully expecting Sevco to get weakest possible draw, too. Why not, everything else falls their way.

25-08-2022, 08:50 AM
You only have to finish 3rd for it now though so you just get there by default. Before, you would have to beat at least two really decent sides to get there.

:agree: That’s the really big change for Scottish clubs, the removal of the need to have a two legged playoff for finishing 3rd. Whoever does that this year will catch up a bit financially with hearts, if it’s hearts, the other nonOF clubs start to look in trouble. We haven’t got past more than two ties in European competition from what I can see from (wiki) since 73-74 Cup Winners Cup, we got to the quarter final, and we’ve never reached ‘the group stages’ of a euro competition in the modern sense since then I don’t think?

25-08-2022, 09:33 AM

They’re under no pressure in a great no lose situation No matter how they play or what they do they’ll be playing at least 3 months of European football.

25-08-2022, 09:42 AM
They’re under no pressure in a great no lose situation No matter how they play or what they do they’ll be playing at least 3 months of European football.

Indeed. Wish it was us tonight. So glad we totally ****ed up last season.

25-08-2022, 10:00 AM
I know this gets attached to a lot of seasons, but THIS season is a really big one for the club. If we could do the unlikely and get a third place finish with a new boss and a rebuilt team it would be an amazing achievement, and would enable us to be in the mix for European football and be at least getting close to Hearts ability to pay the best wages behind the Glasgow two.

25-08-2022, 10:05 AM
I know this gets attached to a lot of seasons, but THIS season is a really big one for the club. If we could do the unlikely and get a third place finish with a new boss and a rebuilt team it would be an amazing achievement, and would enable us to be in the mix for European football and be at least getting close to Hearts ability to pay the best wages behind the Glasgow two.

All true that ….can’t see us getting the consistency for third place . Hearts are too experienced imho. Also think Aberdeen look great going forward (not so sure about defence mind you ). If we could get 4th/5th and progress throughout the season , I’d be happy

JamesHFC
25-08-2022, 11:47 AM
For anyone who gives a ****.. Hearts team tonight.

Gordon

Smith
Rowles
Kingsley
Cochrane

Devlin
Grant

Forrest
Boyce
McKay

Shankland

25-08-2022, 11:48 AM

Gordon

Smith
Rowles
Kingsley
Cochrane

Devlin
Grant

Forrest
Boyce
McKay

Shankland

All *****.

25-08-2022, 11:49 AM

Gordon

Smith
Rowles
Kingsley
Cochrane

Devlin
Grant

Forrest
Boyce
McKay

Shankland

Stick it on the FC Zurich fans forum, James

25-08-2022, 12:34 PM
I can actually see Rangers doing alright in the groups and with a favourable draw I wouldn’t be surprised to see them in the last 16. Id be surprised if they finish bottom of their group.

That being said, whilst I think celtic are a better side, I fancy them to get pumped rotten. The way they play will play right into the hands of teams at that level.

No chance of an Old Firm final then?

25-08-2022, 12:51 PM
[QUOTE=Stub
I'm not sure it's that

Is it not the case that it's the Scottish Cup winner/runner-up that gets the highest placing

If we'd won the cup last year, we'd have been playing Zurich in the play-off game
Hearts - as 3rd place but no cup final - would have been playing AZ Alkmaar (instead of Dundee Utd) in the earlier round

It's all about the cup

25-08-2022, 01:02 PM
I'm not sure it's that

Is it not the case that it's the Scottish Cup winner/runner-up that gets the highest placing

If we'd won the cup last year, we'd have been playing Zurich in the play-off game
Hearts - as 3rd place but no cup final - would have been playing AZ Alkmaar (instead of Dundee Utd) in the earlier round

It's all about the cup

You no longer get a Euro place for being runner-up in the cup, if the winner has already qualified. It changed quite a few years ago.

25-08-2022, 04:57 PM
Group F:
Real Madrid
RB Leipzig
Shakhtar Dontesk
Celtic

Group A:
Ajax
Liverpool
Napoli
Rangers

That's Rangers out.

25-08-2022, 05:07 PM
Group F:
Real Madrid
RB Leipzig
Shakhtar Dontesk
Celtic

Group A:
Ajax
Liverpool
Napoli
Rangers

That's Rangers out.

Can we offer Shakhtar the opportunity to make ER their base?

Renfrew_Hibby
25-08-2022, 05:10 PM

How cool would that be.

25-08-2022, 05:11 PM

Presume they’ll play in Poland, like the National team

25-08-2022, 05:16 PM
Group F:
Real Madrid
RB Leipzig
Shakhtar Dontesk
Celtic

Group A:
Ajax
Liverpool
Napoli
Rangers

That's Rangers out.
Hope the pwicks lose every game 8-0

25-08-2022, 05:18 PM
Presume they’ll play in Poland, like the National team

I think the proposal was for Easter Road to be the base for Celtic's home game.

25-08-2022, 05:36 PM
Lovely finish for West Ham. 4-1 on agg now

25-08-2022, 05:41 PM
Really surprised at what short work Neil Lennon's Omnia Nicosia are making of Gent. Beat them 2 nil away and currently 2 up at home.

25-08-2022, 05:44 PM
Really surprised at what short work Neil Lennon's Omnia Nicosia are making of Gent. Beat them 2 nil away and currently 2 up at home.

Europa league too. Decent level Really
Good motivational manager.

25-08-2022, 06:42 PM
Hearts chum sending me a gloating message

Aldo ya HIV bassa. Nothing better than European Nite under the lights. 20k full stadium whilst you’re stuck in the hoose. 1-5 blah blah

So I replied there will be nowhere near 20k as no many Zurich fans so maybe around 17k

PS your Tiny Stadium only holds 19852

Yeah I wish it was us and yes I’m childish and bitter but didn’t get a response!

GRA
25-08-2022, 06:47 PM
Hearts chum sending me a gloating message

Aldo ya HIV bassa. Nothing better than European Nite under the lights. 20k full stadium whilst you’re stuck in the hoose. 1-5 blah blah

So I replied there will be nowhere near 20k as no many Zurich fans so maybe around 17k

PS your Tiny Stadium only holds 19852

Yeah I wish it was us and yes I’m childish and bitter but didn’t get a response!

Tired of all this nauseating pro-Jambo chat from the media. They are no as good as they think they are. Zürich will show them up for what they are and the '20K' in 'northern Europes most atmospheric stadium' 🤣🤣🤣 will be as quiet as church mice.

25-08-2022, 06:47 PM
Any one up for Hertz Bingo?

I’ll start

‘Kingsley showing all his experience there’

Helensburghhibs
25-08-2022, 06:48 PM
New disco lights at tynecastle, maybe they are included in the attendance. BTW nowhere near 20k as there's substantial segregation. All irrelevant though. Still wish it was us

25-08-2022, 06:48 PM
Tired of all this nauseating pro-Jambo chat from the media. They are no as good as they think they are. Zürich will show them up for what they are and the '20K' in 'northern Europes most atmospheric stadium' [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787] will be as quiet as church mice.

They all miss the point. It doesn’t hold 20k.

Do we hear RG or LJ saying will will have 20 plus thousand at our games. NO.

We all know

25-08-2022, 06:50 PM

I’ll start

‘Brave’ ‘Plucky’ ‘Bungalow’ ‘Atmosphere’ ‘Cardigan’

Green Reaper
25-08-2022, 06:51 PM

I’ll start

‘hearts fantastic attacking threat’

Helensburghhibs
25-08-2022, 06:53 PM
"fan owned" "foundation of hearts" "unlucky" "europa conference isn't that bad"

25-08-2022, 06:54 PM
Wonder if Zurich have been training at the Pitz at sight hill to get used to the pitch size at Tiny??

25-08-2022, 06:55 PM
Please ffs Zurich don't let these battery licking, nonce employing, charity robbing ***** win.

ruthven_raiders
25-08-2022, 06:55 PM
My wife was on the no 4 on slateford road a short while ago and Fenian b******* was being belted out by the jambos, they never change 🙄

Bridge hibs
25-08-2022, 06:57 PM
Heard the tramps let off fireworks early morning outside the hotel the Zurich players were staying in, how very ****ing original 🤣

25-08-2022, 06:58 PM
“Hearts are not as bad a team as Zurich are making them out to be”

“Fine margins”

“The energy and passion, roared on by this capacity crowd is evident for all to see”

“Hearts fans heading for the vomitoriums”

“They (Hearts) are a good, solid side”

“Robbie Neilson can be proud of the effort”

25-08-2022, 06:59 PM
Heard the tramps let off fireworks early morning outside the hotel the Zurich players were staying in, how very ****ing original 🤣

I heard it was the wrong hotel as Zurich were staying at a different one in the same chain. Might be a load of rubbish but I'm believing it.

Helensburghhibs
25-08-2022, 06:59 PM
And it's a sellout..... (pause)...... In terms of home support 🤣😂

The Wireless
25-08-2022, 07:00 PM
My wife was on the no 4 on slateford road a short while ago and Fenian b******* was being belted out by the jambos, they never change 🙄
Sad closet Huns. C’mon Zurich.

25-08-2022, 07:02 PM
Every Barry McKay pass has to be ‘world class’

davy67 +
25-08-2022, 07:02 PM

I’ll start

World class save from Craig Gordon

25-08-2022, 07:03 PM
And it's a sellout..... (pause)...... In terms of home support 🤣😂

Except for the main stand corner at the Gorgie road end…it’s a sell out

25-08-2022, 07:03 PM
Except for the main stand corner at the Gorgie road end…it’s a sell out

Except for the segregation…it’s a sell out

Except for the seats in the away end…it’s a sell out

25-08-2022, 07:04 PM
Really hope Zurich get the first this evening.

25-08-2022, 07:04 PM
‘Plastic Owl’
‘Gary Locke Shower Shame’

25-08-2022, 07:06 PM
Exclusive Stendl jackets….

NC1875
25-08-2022, 07:07 PM
Could the owner of the brown Rover 827 registration J4MBO please contact the nearest steward

25-08-2022, 07:07 PM
The famous Tynecastle atmosphere hasn't got going yet. If it wasn't for the Zurich fans it would be silent but for a few ripples of applause.

Needing a win to earn a game changing prize, they should be raising the roof.

Green Reaper
25-08-2022, 07:09 PM
The famous Tynecastle atmosphere hasn't got going yet. If it wasn't for the Zurich fans it would be silent but for a few ripples of applause.

Needing a win to earn a game changing prize, they should be raising the roof.
The famous tiny atmosphere is only ever created by away fans

25-08-2022, 07:11 PM
Yay! Electric Atmosphere!!! Thank you commentator. 12 minutes and it’s done and dusted.

Bridge hibs
25-08-2022, 07:12 PM
I heard it was the wrong hotel as Zurich were staying at a different one in the same chain. Might be a load of rubbish but I'm believing it.Same, I quite believe those muppets would get the wrong hotel 🤣

The famous tiny atmosphere is only ever created by away fans

No chips in that stand either, what will the Swiss think

Helensburghhibs
Rob McLean thinks if he keeps saying the atmosphere is electric then we will believe it. Even though all that's coming through is some clapping and the away fans

Rumble de Thump
The commentator keeps talking about Boyce as though he's a member of MENSA :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2022, 07:13 PM
Only seen bits and pieces of the first leg but what a draw this is for hearts.

Zurich look very average.

Getting a bit feisty now. We've had a spelling lesson. H E A R T S spells Hearts then the song kind of died and a few people shouted shoot.

It's like La Bombonera so it is.

Has Gok Wan given Neilsen a makeover? 🤔

25-08-2022, 07:15 PM
is this team from Zurich gonna turn up here or whit

25-08-2022, 07:16 PM
Has Gok Wan given Neilsen a makeover? 🤔

Trump levels of denial about his hair loss. Just accept it and get it shaved Robbie.

25-08-2022, 07:17 PM
Hearts playing well. Zurich offering **** all.

davhibby

If they’d played the team that’s out there tonight they’d have won last week. Zurich looked poor last week, Hearts just ended up being worse.

yellow card for some heartz player called Grant

yerauldda
Cochrane has been good. Surprised at how bad Zurich are.

25-08-2022, 07:18 PM
Zurich don't look up to much but they do look quick on the counter.

Longer it goes, the more chance of them nicking one I reckon.

ErinGoBraghHFC
25-08-2022, 07:19 PM
Hearts playing well, aye, but without that wee **** Devlin they’re half the team they are with him playing. Hope he gets sent aff n Zurich sneak a 1-0 win

25-08-2022, 07:20 PM
Barrie McKay is a good player but if ever a guy had a face suited to Hearts and Rangers then it's him.

wee short e rse Mackay deserved a yellow there for a couple of kicks at two zurich players

is this team from Zurich gonna turn up here or whit

They'll be sh****g themselves from this atmosphere.

It's like Boca meets Ajax meets Red Star in there - from the 250 Zurich fans.

Rumble de Thump
When commentating or co-commentating on a Hearts game for the BBC you obviously have to pretend you're watching Barcelona.

25-08-2022, 07:21 PM
On the basis that I want them to score every time they cross the halfway line, bit annoyed how pish Zurich are. Could've been in three or four times but played completely the wrong pass.

25-08-2022, 07:22 PM
They'll be sh****g themselves from this atmosphere.

It's like Boca meets Ajax meets Red Star in there - from the 250 Zurich fans.

i'm just glad the 800 away fans are making this famous atmosphere we hear about

Yep its a bit like a Hearts v St Mirren game so far. They can't be as bad as this surely.

ErinGoBraghHFC
Barrie McKay is a good player but if ever a guy had a face suited to Hearts and Rangers then it's him.

He does, but Andy Halliday looks like he should be stood at a taxi rank outside a Masonic having a fag at 1am

25-08-2022, 07:23 PM
When commentating or co-commentating on a Hearts game for the BBC you obviously have to pretend you're watching Barcelona.

Rob McLean seems to think it's ok for the commentator to criticise the ref. Just tell us who's got the ball you boring sod.

25-08-2022, 07:25 PM
What do these commentators not get about advantage? Twice a Hearts players has been fouled, twice the ref has let it go because they have the ball and twice we have been treated to the MacLean musings of 'he's given fouls for less'.

Useless tosser.

25-08-2022, 07:26 PM
The gushing over Hertz is incredible

25-08-2022, 07:28 PM
Hearts will kick themselves if they don't win this, Zurich are mediocre at best.

‘Hertz very easy in the eye’ Deary me

NC1875
The gushing over Hertz is incredible

Yip, Zurich have been terrible. You’d think Hearts were Barcelona and ripping them to shreds listening to it.

25-08-2022, 07:30 PM
I'm surprised Zurich aren't starting Gnonto who made a strong impression in the first leg. He'd certainly be quicker than the Hearts backs.