View Full Version : Match Updates 2022-23 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89

18-01-2023, 07:52 PM
bet365

not very clear

Hibs-6/5
them- 19/10

Moved already to 7/5 Hibs and 13/8 Hearts. Probably go off both 7/5

#2 Double Tap
18-01-2023, 07:53 PM
bet365

not very clear

Hibs-6/5
them- 19/10

2.4 to 2.62.

Slight fav.

18-01-2023, 07:53 PM
Moved already to 7/5 Hibs and 13/8 Hearts. Probably go off both 7/5

yep just took another look the now

i got the early bird price 25 mins ago

Gordy M
18-01-2023, 07:54 PM
Hearts away from home are very different to at home. Bookies will look at records . Hearts won 3 from 10 away, we have lost 3 from 10 at home so can see why we were slight favourites.

18-01-2023, 07:54 PM
2.4 to 2.62.

Slight fav.

go away with all that fractional nonsense :greengrin

#2 Double Tap
18-01-2023, 07:55 PM
go away with all that fractional nonsense :greengrin

Haha.

18-01-2023, 07:58 PM
Celtic 3-0 St Mirren

18-01-2023, 07:58 PM
VAR checking sellick 3rd for offside

given 3-0

18-01-2023, 07:59 PM
Up to 6th, Europe here we come

Willis1875
18-01-2023, 08:02 PM

Get in there

TrumpIsAPeado
18-01-2023, 08:04 PM

Unseen work.

Willis1875
18-01-2023, 08:05 PM
5-0

18-01-2023, 08:05 PM
Hearts 5-0 Aberdeen

ShadesLongThrow
18-01-2023, 08:06 PM
Big half here for Doidge who’s aiming to get his first touch of the ball. What has happened to him?

18-01-2023, 08:06 PM
heartz go nap

5-0

18-01-2023, 08:07 PM
Goodwin's a goner surely.

18-01-2023, 08:07 PM
Hibs v Aberdeen could be without any managers.

JamesHFC
18-01-2023, 08:08 PM
Big half here for Doidge who’s aiming to get his first touch of the ball. What has happened to him?

Hasn't seemed to have recovered from that injury unfortunately.

18-01-2023, 08:08 PM
Kilmarnock 1-2 Rangers

I'm Spartacus
18-01-2023, 08:10 PM
What number gets Goodwin sacked?

18-01-2023, 08:10 PM
Goodwin's a goner surely.

I'd think so.

18-01-2023, 08:11 PM
How bad is Ross McCrorie? Thank **** we never signed him.

Willis1875
I'd think so.

I hope they pick up Appleton before we find ourselves looking for a manager

ehf

And people are wanting Johnson sacked? The man’s a football genius!

18-01-2023, 08:13 PM
Here is the penalty Hearts got. You have to laugh!

https://twitter.com/Barlosthecat/status/1615813714300571687?t=Ih9jSKqKTKg9f9OfWyhA7A&s=19

18-01-2023, 08:14 PM
1958- Heartz 5 Aberdeen 1
1965- Heartz 6 Aberdeen 3
2010- Heartz 5 Aberdeen 0
2023 5-0 for now

18-01-2023, 08:15 PM

https://twitter.com/Barlosthecat/status/1615813714300571687?t=Ih9jSKqKTKg9f9OfWyhA7A&s=19Honestly i have literally no idea how they decide on what's handball and what isnt

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

HendoDelivered
18-01-2023, 08:15 PM
As much as some folk don't agree. Hearts are a good side this season.

18-01-2023, 08:16 PM
Sir Patrick of Bamford 4-0 Leeds

Celtic 4-0 St Mirren

Zambernardi1875
False sense of just having to turn up and win. Well stuff them 2 zip

Kilmarnock down to 10 men.

As much as some folk don't agree. Hearts are a good side this season.

Nah. Everyone else is crap. Same as when we got third.

18-01-2023, 08:17 PM
False sense of just having to turn up and win. Well stuff them 2 zip

I’ll give you the having to turn up and us winning because of it but a clean sheet? Come on

18-01-2023, 08:17 PM
still 3-0 sellick

18-01-2023, 08:18 PM
Celtic 4-0 St Mirren

Offside 3-0.

18-01-2023, 08:19 PM
Honestly i have literally no idea how they decide on what's handball and what isnt

I can help you out here. If you’re playing against a team in *****y maroon or hun blue, it’s a pen, otherwise not.

18-01-2023, 08:20 PM

https://twitter.com/Barlosthecat/status/1615813714300571687?t=Ih9jSKqKTKg9f9OfWyhA7A&s=19

VAR is bringing the game into disrepute in Scotland.

We should never have been trusted with it.

18-01-2023, 08:23 PM
Sir Patrick of Bamford 4-0 Leeds
Leeds have really missed him.

18-01-2023, 08:24 PM
Well, maybe they've used up all their goals for this week.

18-01-2023, 08:25 PM
Leeds have really missed him.

:agree: and now a double 5-0

hopefully get s a run without injury

MelbourneHibees
18-01-2023, 08:26 PM

That's clearly a pen. Takes it away from the Hearts player who is about to header it. As obvious a handball as you will see.

18-01-2023, 08:29 PM
Leeds 5-1 game on

4-0 sellick

Kilmarnock 1-3 Rangers

Celtic 4-0 St Mirren

Up-the-slope
18-01-2023, 08:30 PM
i thought Shinnie was the answer to Aberdeen being solid in centre midfield

That's clearly a pen. Takes it away from the Hearts player who is about to header it. As obvious a handball as you will see.

Hahaha and you claimed the St Mirren one last week wasn't a penalty.

How sad do you have to be to go undercover on a rival's forum.

:lolyam:

bringbackbenny

But the problem is St Mirren had similar not given on Friday. And also we didn't same at Ibrox.

18-01-2023, 08:31 PM
Hearts crowd only a couple of hundred less than our attendance on Saturday.😁

18-01-2023, 08:31 PM
:greengrin:agree:

Huns 1/4 at kick off. Now evens - fifty quid on.

I hope some of you took the Evens.

18-01-2023, 08:32 PM
Celtic go 4 up v St Mirren and Hibs storm into the top 6 without kicking a ball....!

Willis1875
18-01-2023, 08:34 PM
5-1 Aberdeen on the brink of death

18-01-2023, 08:34 PM
Hearts 5-1 Aberdeen

18-01-2023, 08:35 PM
5-1 heartz, VAR checking

offside of course 5-0

18-01-2023, 08:36 PM

Aye about as obvious as this one at ibrox when Nesbit was about to control the ball.

https://twitter.com/free_to_leave/status/1609999914884562944?s=46&t=4RHUQNUCMGP8SzYLtLcs5A

corrupt referee *****.

18-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Hearts 5-1 Aberdeen

Offside, 5-0.

18-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Offside, 5-0.

Full time Hearts 5-0 Aberdeen

18-01-2023, 08:38 PM
Full time Celtic 4-0 St Mirren

18-01-2023, 08:38 PM
Imagine travelling down from Aberdeen on a freezing Wednesday night, just to see that performance. Not good.

18-01-2023, 08:39 PM
penalty Cardiff

5-2

FT

boreham wood/Accrington beware :)

18-01-2023, 08:40 PM
Well, maybe they've used up all their goals for this week.Aye but doubt the same applies to their seemingly limitless supply of favourable penalty decisions

18-01-2023, 08:41 PM
Casemiro booked and misses the game v Arsenal.

Could easily have been a red card to be fair.

18-01-2023, 08:42 PM
killie 2 sevco 3

18-01-2023, 08:43 PM
i see Sevco are playing in their tribute to the Netherlands strip

18-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Kilmarnock 2-3 Rangers

18-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Celtic go 4 up v St Mirren and Hibs storm into the top 6 without kicking a ball....!

The turning point of our season…..

18-01-2023, 08:48 PM
nice shot from lafferty but keeper saves

18-01-2023, 08:48 PM
3 mins added time at rugby Park

18-01-2023, 08:50 PM
i see Sevco are playing in their tribute to the Netherlands strip
Stoney broke owners and financially astute kit suppliers playing to the gallery filled with their moronic fans.

18-01-2023, 08:51 PM
Full time Kilmarnock 2-3 Rangers

FT Killie 2 Sevco 3

Mcbizz1998
Palace late equaliser

Crystal Palace 1-1 Manchester Utd

Awful result. 🙄

18-01-2023, 08:53 PM
nice free kick for palace on 90+1 mins

18-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Palace 1 Man U 1, good free kick but thought De Gea could've maybe got closer to it.

18-01-2023, 08:54 PM
Full time Crystal Palace 1-1 Manchester Utd

DIXIHIBS
18-01-2023, 08:54 PM
The turning point of our season…..

Beat the sheep next week and up to 5th...happy days👍

18-01-2023, 08:55 PM
ooh palace so very nearly win it

18-01-2023, 08:58 PM
Points dropped v non-Old Firm teams;

Ross County - 37
Kilmarnock - 34
St Johnstone - 33
Dundee Utd - 31
Motherwell - 31
Hibs - 28
St Mirren - 28
Aberdeen - 25
Livingston - 21
Hearts - 16

18-01-2023, 09:00 PM
Goodwin sounds like a broken man, can't see him staying on.

Wonder what Cormack is thinking. Maybe him and RG on the phone arranging to swap managers or something.

18-01-2023, 09:02 PM
commiserations to Richard Gordon

18-01-2023, 09:04 PM
Full time Crystal Palace 1-1 Manchester Utd

🙌🙌🙌

18-01-2023, 09:06 PM
Beat the sheep next week and up to 5th...happy days👍

Bit of perspective right there.

MelbourneHibees
18-01-2023, 09:10 PM
Aye about as obvious as this one at ibrox when Nesbit was about to control the ball.

https://twitter.com/free_to_leave/status/1609999914884562944?s=46&t=4RHUQNUCMGP8SzYLtLcs5A

corrupt referee *****.
Exactly. The refereeing around this all is horrendous.

MelbourneHibees
18-01-2023, 09:13 PM
But the problem is St Mirren had similar not given on Friday. And also we didn't same at Ibrox.

Oh don't worry I know! They standard of refs up here is just beyond brutal.

18-01-2023, 09:13 PM
Casemiro booked and misses the game v Arsenal.

Could easily have been a red card to be fair.

Great news for the Gunners.

18-01-2023, 09:23 PM
Stoney broke owners and financially astute kit suppliers playing to the gallery filled with their moronic fans.

they always seem to come up with more £££'s though unfortunately

18-01-2023, 09:28 PM
5-1 heartz, VAR checking

offside of course 5-0Obviously :greengrin26396

18-01-2023, 09:42 PM
lol :hilarious

18-01-2023, 09:43 PM
a rather nice goal, wee Gnonto's first goal tonight

FA Cup replay - Leeds 1-0 Cardiff: Wilfried Gnonto scores 'sublime' volley inside 30 seconds - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/64325521)

18-01-2023, 10:44 PM
To be fair to Aberdeen they played 120mins on Sunday and played a chunk of that game with 10 men. Heads will be down and players fatigued. I would have fancied playing them at ER.

19-01-2023, 12:00 AM
a rather nice goal, wee Gnonto's first goal tonight

FA Cup replay - Leeds 1-0 Cardiff: Wilfried Gnonto scores 'sublime' volley inside 30 seconds - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/64325521)

Almost as good as Di Canio’s :greengrin

19-01-2023, 05:29 AM
Gnonto gave Hearts the runaround last season. I predict a bright future.

19-01-2023, 06:40 AM

Ross County - 37
Kilmarnock - 34
St Johnstone - 33
Dundee Utd - 31
Motherwell - 31
Hibs - 28
St Mirren - 28
Aberdeen - 25
Livingston - 21
Hearts - 16

Doesn’t this stat almost always just reflect the ‘actual’ league, since we’re counting 80% of each teams ‘actual’ games? I’m not sure what we’re learning from it at this point, since it accurately replicates the league positions.

I'm Spartacus
19-01-2023, 09:24 AM

Ross County - 37
Kilmarnock - 34
St Johnstone - 33
Dundee Utd - 31
Motherwell - 31
Hibs - 28
St Mirren - 28
Aberdeen - 25
Livingston - 21
Hearts - 16

It's clear that you don't have to be good enough to beat the old firm, just good enough to beat the rest.

19-01-2023, 10:10 AM
It's clear that you don't have to be good enough to beat the old firm, just good enough to beat the rest.
Unfortunately its been that way for years, no matter how good our or their team is, you make your points playing the rest!
Against the Old Firm its a lottery for picking up points, we've got a good record lately against them, but we then lose to the rest???

19-01-2023, 12:58 PM
Anyone see the Palace goal last night. Great strike from a free kick off the bar and in.

Good leeds goal scored too.

Must have been a night for great goals.

19-01-2023, 01:07 PM
Anyone see the Palace goal last night. Great strike from a free kick off the bar and in.

The guy didn't seem to know what to do after tae, barely celebrated at all. Great free kick.

19-01-2023, 01:10 PM
Gnonto gave Hearts the runaround last season. I predict a bright future.

This season, wasn't it?

19-01-2023, 03:55 PM
This Hibs team could learn a thing or two about heart and fight from Andy Murray

19-01-2023, 04:28 PM
This Hibs team could learn a thing or two about heart and fight from Andy Murray

Does this Hibs team lack heart and fight? Plenty late goals say otherwise.

This Hibs team lacks quality, nothing more.

19-01-2023, 04:32 PM

….and football IQ of course.

19-01-2023, 04:36 PM

Dini bring my post into disrepute with flimsy facts

19-01-2023, 05:04 PM
Ronaldo vs Messi has been a good game so far, 2-2 half time.

Messi has 1 goal and ronaldo 2.

Live on youtube for anyone without sky.

19-01-2023, 05:05 PM

Maybe Judy can show Johnson a thing or two?

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2023, 07:18 PM
Probably the best result for Newcastle United and Man U would be a city win here .

Zambernardi1875
19-01-2023, 07:23 PM
Maybe Judy can show Johnson a thing or two?

Judy is our new DoF just waiting on Andy to get knocked out until announcing

19-01-2023, 07:45 PM
Manchester City 0-1 Tottenham

19-01-2023, 07:46 PM
Manchester City 0-2 Tottenham

TrumpIsAPeado
Manchester City 0-1 Tottenham

A gift

2-0 now

0-2 Spurs.

Helping arsenal out.

0-2. Man C look in a right mess!

And the last thing Arsenal fans were expecting 😁

19-01-2023, 07:48 PM
Half time 0-2.

Mikey_1875
19-01-2023, 07:48 PM
Boos at the Etihad.

19-01-2023, 07:50 PM
I love Spurs.

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2023, 07:51 PM
Man city very poor here , we know now why man u beat them :agree:

19-01-2023, 07:53 PM
Pep out! Get him on the blower Ron.

LunasBoots
19-01-2023, 08:09 PM
Arsenal's league this season, Peps team selections of late seem weird aswell

19-01-2023, 08:10 PM
Manchester City 1-2 Tottenham

19-01-2023, 08:12 PM
2-2

Manchester City 2-2 Tottenham

4 goals in about 8 minutes.

LunasBoots
Arsenal's league this season, Peps team selections of late seem weird aswell

*spoke too soon 😁

19-01-2023, 08:13 PM
Good game, good game! 😀

19-01-2023, 08:13 PM
Spurs man, what a mess. Cant trust them to do anything.

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2023, 08:15 PM
Great game , totally different city this half

19-01-2023, 08:17 PM
Spurs hit the bar.

19-01-2023, 08:18 PM
Spurs hit the bar.

Should've scored.

19-01-2023, 08:21 PM
Kane moaning about the city player going down too easy there. He’s the master of the slightest touch and fall down!

3-2 Manchester City

Spurs keeper is a joke. Rubbish.

Ardenttwo
19-01-2023, 08:22 PM
Should've scored.

3-2

JamesHFC
19-01-2023, 08:22 PM
That's why their champions.

19-01-2023, 08:23 PM
Spurs keeper is a joke. Rubbish.

Yeh, pretty awful keeping.

They should put forster in for a bit.

19-01-2023, 08:24 PM
Cracking strike but Lloris has had another shocker there!

19-01-2023, 08:24 PM
That's why their champions.

Because they beat the bottlers of London?

19-01-2023, 08:25 PM
Spurs bottling another game.

JamesHFC
19-01-2023, 08:26 PM
Because they beat the bottlers of London?

Because they are able to comeback when the pressure is on them. I thought you loved Spurs?

19-01-2023, 08:27 PM
Yeh, pretty awful keeping.

They should put forster in for a bit.

So many poor keepers around these days.

Best two seem to be Arsenal and Newcastle ones.

Rest just make mistake after mistake. Pretty poor.

19-01-2023, 08:32 PM
Because they are able to comeback when the pressure is on them. I thought you loved Spurs?

I thought Spurs were title challengers with a class squad?

What pressure is on City? only the pressure spawned from their own poor performances.

19-01-2023, 08:34 PM
I really hope someone takes the lone guy who keeps booing next to the commentary gantry outside and...don't let him back in!

Son is a shadow of the player he once was - what a dreadful season he's had.

JamesHFC
19-01-2023, 08:37 PM
I thought Spurs were title challengers with a class squad?

What pressure is on City? only the pressure spawned from their own poor performances.

They're in the CL knockouts and been affected by the injuries of Kulusevski, Richarlison, Romero & Bentancur over the course of the season. No surprise to see them only in 5th.

2-0 down at home after a Derby defeat with the team in 1st 8 points ahead, of the course the pressure was on. Hopefully Spurs can get a late equaliser for you.

19-01-2023, 08:38 PM
man city fans are not the noisiest huh

they do cheer when they score though tbf :greengrin

TrumpIsAPeado
19-01-2023, 08:41 PM
That situation was a carbon copy of the one at Tynecastle last night, no penalty though

19-01-2023, 08:45 PM
Be funny if spurs score now.

Hope do.

19-01-2023, 08:46 PM
They're in the CL knockouts and been affected by the injuries of Kulusevski, Richarlison, Romero & Bentancur over the course of the season. No surprise to see them only in 5th.

2-0 down at home after a Derby defeat with the team in 1st 8 points ahead, of the course the pressure was on. Hopefully Spurs can get a late equaliser for you.

Come on, Richarlison and his zero league goals is no loss.

Hopefully mate.

19-01-2023, 08:48 PM
man city fans are not the noisiest huh

they do cheer when they score though tbf :greengrin

Both Manchester teams awful when it comes to atmosphere.

Not a patch on both Liverpool teams, Leeds etc.

Based on attending all the grounds for premiership games.

19-01-2023, 08:48 PM
4-2

JamesHFC
19-01-2023, 08:50 PM

Hopefully mate.

Two crucial goals in the CL. Should get a game ahead of Son in his form.

19-01-2023, 08:52 PM
Two crucial goals in the CL. Should get a game ahead of Son in his form.

Conte ball making some good forwards look like pub players. Arteta ball got Nketiah playing like Pele. Big manager diff.

JamesHFC
19-01-2023, 08:53 PM
City should kick on from there now. Expect they will beat Wolves, Spurs & Villa before their game against Arsenal.

Donegal Hibby
19-01-2023, 08:57 PM
City 59% possession , 16 shots , 6 on target . Spurs 9 shots , 3 on target. Top four pulling away from the rest .

JamesHFC
19-01-2023, 08:58 PM
Conte ball making some good forwards look like pub players. Arteta ball got Nketiah playing like Pele. Big manager diff.

Son had the golden boot under him last season where they finished above Arteta's Arsenal. Difficult to criticise Conte who has won the PL & Serie A on several occasions. He's lost both his staff member & close friend to bereavement this season, might be affecting him, who knows. No denying he's a top manager though.

19-01-2023, 09:05 PM
Son had the golden boot under him last season where they finished above Arteta's Arsenal. Difficult to criticise Conte who has won the PL & Serie A on several occasions. He's lost both his staff member & close friend to bereavement this season, might be affecting him, who knows. No denying he's a top manager though.

Perhaps that is true.

Well behind Arsenal with an ageing squad and Kane away in the summer. Will be a tough rebuild.

19-01-2023, 09:21 PM

… like Doidge was? 🫣😂

I should have added I’m purely jesting.

19-01-2023, 09:29 PM
… like Doidge was? 🫣😂

I should have added I’m purely jesting.

Doidge has more goals for hibs this season than Richarlison does for Spurs. That's rough.

19-01-2023, 10:00 PM
I really hope someone takes the lone guy who keeps booing next to the commentary gantry outside and...don't let him back in!

Son is a shadow of the player he once was - what a dreadful season he's had.

Exhaustion. Full season, injury, new season two games a week including champions league group stages, second injury, speeded up rehab, World Cup, straight into the season again.

As for Lloris, I’ve defended him before because he’s a gambling keeper whose high profile mistakes are much more publicized than his frequent rescuing of certain goals because of his movement, but, enough is enough now. His form makes him a liability.

cameronw-hfc
19-01-2023, 11:09 PM
So many poor keepers around these days.

Best two seem to be Arsenal and Newcastle ones.

Rest just make mistake after mistake. Pretty poor.

Emi Martinez best in the prem currently, Ramsdale in second.

20-01-2023, 02:10 AM

Oh yes forgot about him was thinking of top teams in league.

20-01-2023, 04:23 AM

Allison clear of both.

20-01-2023, 05:58 AM
Exhaustion. Full season, injury, new season two games a week including champions league group stages, second injury, speeded up rehab, World Cup, straight into the season again.

As for Lloris, I’ve defended him before because he’s a gambling keeper whose high profile mistakes are much more publicized than his frequent rescuing of certain goals because of his movement, but, enough is enough now. His form makes him a liability.

Yep would definitely be dropping Lloris. First two goals should have done way better imo.

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2023, 06:54 PM
Hecky's sheff Utd 1 up after 5 minutes

20-01-2023, 07:39 PM
Hecky's sheff Utd 1 up after 5 minutes
Heading for the EPL, but didn't do it at Hibs, strange, maybe punted too quickly.

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2023, 07:59 PM
Heading for the EPL, but didn't do it at Hibs, strange, maybe punted too quickly.
It was a very bad run he was on though I wonder if we had stuck by him would he have turned it around ?

Potty78
20-01-2023, 08:03 PM
It was a very bad run he was on though I wonder if we had stuck by him would he have turned it around ?

Strange one for me, certainly kicked on since us

20-01-2023, 08:52 PM

He’s a good coach. He has been given a great squad - relative to the level - at Sheff Utd. I doubt he’s heavily involved in recruiting players but they haven’t had to sign many there in his tenure.

At Hibs when he (seemingly) was heavily involved in signings, he made a total hash of it. Tom James, Josh Vela. Doidge who he didn’t seem to want to play.

That’s the difference IMO

JamesHFC
20-01-2023, 08:58 PM
He’s a good coach. He has been given a great squad - relative to the level - at Sheff Utd. I doubt he’s heavily involved in recruiting players but they haven’t had to sign many there in his tenure.

At Hibs when he (seemingly) was heavily involved in signings, he made a total hash of it. Tom James, Josh Vela. Doidge who he didn’t seem to want to play.

He also got sacked as soon as Boyle was making a return from injury, having him available earlier might have saved him his job. Ross went onto get 3rd and a couple of good cup runs after being given the next 3 transfer windows so I expect Hecky would have done alright given longer.

20-01-2023, 09:04 PM
looking very much like Burnley and Sheff utd will get those two automatic spots for promotion to the league of milk and honey

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2023, 09:12 PM
looking very much like Burnley and Sheff utd will get those two automatic spots for promotion to the league of milk and honey
Haven't seen Burnley of late but watched sheff Utd game and they are going to have to spend big if they want any chance of staying up , there current team will easily be relegated imo

20-01-2023, 09:34 PM

We took the lead is so, so many games. It was absurd. He was clearly doing many things well.

20-01-2023, 10:36 PM
Juve docked 15 points for more naughtiness over in Italy. Which well and truly eliminates them from the title race there, but they’ll undoubtedly appeal so it could get reduced/overturned

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2023, 10:43 PM
Yeah and me too , thought Hecky spoke well when he was our manager and maybe unlucky at us to some degree as well . When the Hibs job became available before LJ got it one of my choices for our job was Liam manning and when a Preston fan here asked me who Id like he instantly ruled out manning saying he was English championship bound a year later he was sacked after a excellent season , rumours of lack of investment and bad recruitment lead to his downfall is what I heard . Sometimes I think the manager isn't entirely to blame but maybe the club isn't getting run to its potential and let's a manager down .
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liam_Manning

20-01-2023, 10:54 PM
Haven't seen Burnley of late but watched sheff Utd game and they are going to have to spend big if they want any chance of staying up , there current team will easily be relegated imo

i'm surprised Burnley are running away with it, they lost a lot of money getting relegated and were due to repay a £65m loan when they went down, lost a good keeper(pope) to newcastle and several others, odds are probably one or both of them will come back down the following season, Brentford and Fulham appear to have stopped the trend of sides going back down pretty soon after promotion and have had a great season so far in the top league, Norwich deserve the title of the yo-yo champions though.

Donegal Hibby
20-01-2023, 11:32 PM
​
i'm surprised Burnley are running away with it, they lost a lot of money getting relegated and were due to repay a £65m loan when they went down, lost a good keeper(pope) to newcastle and several others, odds are probably one or both of them will come back down the following season, Brentford and Fulham appear to have stopped the trend of sides going back down pretty soon after promotion and have had a great season so far in the top league, Norwich deserve the title of the yo-yo champions though.
Was told Vincent kompany had Burnley playing good football though hadn't seen much of them , Brentford and Fulham have done amazingly well but would think both Burnley and sheff Utd will drop back down again with whoever wins the play-offs . might have a bet on that 😁

21-01-2023, 10:58 AM
Middle of the table clash in the lunchtime kick off at Anfield between Liverpool and Chelsea.

Both sides should still be in the top half of the table by the end of the weekend but it's a big opportunity for the winner to get closer to a possible Conference League place.

21-01-2023, 11:02 AM
That Liverpool starting lineup is as weak as they’ve had for a long time.

Mikey_1875
21-01-2023, 11:21 AM
Pitch at Parkhead not looking too clever either.

21-01-2023, 11:22 AM
Middle of the table clash in the lunchtime kick off at Anfield between Liverpool and Chelsea.

Both sides should still be in the top half of the table by the end of the weekend but it's a big opportunity for the winner to get closer to a possible Conference League place.

21-01-2023, 11:29 AM
Efe 34 playing for Greenock Morton versus the Smellies on BBC 1

21-01-2023, 11:29 AM
Efe 34 playing for Greenock Morton versus the Smellies on BBC 1

Morton have been the better team first 13 mins

The pitch is in a shocking state

21-01-2023, 11:32 AM
No danger this is a pen

Bull ****. Deflects up on to his hand

No way that is a penalty, surely Clancy won’t give it

LunasBoots
That's ridiculous, that's not a pen, games goosed

21-01-2023, 11:34 AM
What’s he meant to do with his arm there?

Never a penalty

Just Ditch VAR , that’s a shocking decision, no way Ambrose could have avoided the ball there.

Skol
How anyone can give a penalty for that is beyond belief. So many reasons not to give that.

That's never a penalty in a million years, I'm honestly so close to being done with Scottish football

The game's broken if that's a penalty

21-01-2023, 11:35 AM
The game's broken if that's a penalty

That’s not a pen if it’s up the other end.

**** VAR

Farcical decision. Clueless refereeing by Clancy. The one we didn't get in Derby was much more one than that farce. Natural position of arm rebounded into the player. Decision has ruined the game

Again highlights the farce of a decision the non penalty at Tynecastle v St Mirren.

The games a bogey.

That's never a penalty.

It gets deflected off the defenders boot up to Efe's hand and goes away from goal.

Rumble de Thump
VAR was never going to help Scottish football. The problem has always been the match officials.

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 11:36 AM
Ridiculous decision to give a penalty there when you consider the blatant ones they haven't given. A handball is just a lottery now wither it's given or not!

Is VAR not supposed to be an aid to referees? How can he look at that and still give a pen?

That’s an absolute shocker of a decision- farce.

21-01-2023, 11:37 AM
They should just change the rules, anything that touches the arm/hand is a pen.

At least that way it’s the same for everyone.

How can anyone..I mean anyone look at that and think its a penalty..doesn't even warrant a second glance

Jesus wept

2-0 now

Kyogo

TrumpIsAPeado
21-01-2023, 11:38 AM
Well we know who the big 3 are :rolleyes:

JJP
Never ever a penalty. VAR has somehow made refereeing in Scotland even worse.

TrumpIsAPeado

Unless it's in the Rangers, Hearts or Celtic box.

21-01-2023, 11:39 AM
I don’t what ways up with penalties anymore.

21-01-2023, 11:39 AM
Can't be bothered watching the game now,have switched it off..we are just watching cheats..the game is rigged

21-01-2023, 11:40 AM

Our city friends way out in front

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/scottish-premiership/topErhalteneElfmeter/wettbewerb/SC1

At least that way it’s the same for everyone.

Exactly this. Leaving Scottish referees to interpret anything is asking for bother.

That’s not a pen if it’s up the other end.

**** VAR

Wouldn't have even been looked at. Pathetic commentating as well basically saying you have seen them given and not. Give an opinion please

21-01-2023, 11:41 AM
Can't be bothered watching the game now,have switched it off..we are just watching cheats..the game is rigged

I’ve done the same.

21-01-2023, 11:43 AM
VAR has turned out exactly as I expected in Scotland. Find excuses not to give non-OF teams goals and find any reason to give OF a goal/penalty.

Donegal Hibby
21-01-2023, 11:44 AM
Was Clancy not doing VAR when we didn't get the penalty at Ibrox yet he thought that was a penalty :confused:

21-01-2023, 11:45 AM
Wouldn't have even been looked at. Pathetic commentating as well basically saying you have seen them given and not. Give an opinion please

"Make your own minds up" which equates to "we're not saying anything to upset Celtic fans watching"

21-01-2023, 11:47 AM
Someone from the SFA needs to come out and explain, using specific examples, why some have been given and some haven't. They no longer have the excuse of ref's view being obscured or only get one look at it.

21-01-2023, 11:48 AM
Celtic pitch looks worse than ours.

21-01-2023, 11:49 AM
Was Clancy not doing VAR when we didn't get the penalty at Ibrox yet he thought that was a penalty :confused:

Alan Muir but they are all basically as clueless and incompetent as each other

Muir Clancy Collum Napier etc never ever give the impression they understand the game. Probably never played the game either

21-01-2023, 11:49 AM
VAR has turned out exactly as I expected in Scotland. Find excuses not to give non-OF teams goals and find any reason to give OF a goal/penalty.

Pretty much what I thought might happen before it came in.

21-01-2023, 11:50 AM
"Make your own minds up" which equates to "we're not saying anything to upset Celtic fans watching"

Indeed

21-01-2023, 11:51 AM
I don’t what ways up with penalties anymore.

Me neither. Or offside. Add in VAR and I'm not enjoying football like I used to.

21-01-2023, 11:51 AM
Someone from the SFA needs to come out and explain, using specific examples, why some have been given and some haven't. They no longer have the excuse of ref's view being obscured or only get one look at it.

We all know the answer.
Celtic, Rangers , Hearts - award penalty
Anyone else - no penalty

21-01-2023, 11:52 AM

Absolutely should definitely wont

21-01-2023, 11:54 AM
Me neither. Or offside. Add in VAR and I'm not enjoying football like I used to.

They basically broken it..Scottish football is becoming unwatchable unless you support the 3 teams who are helped by the establishment

TrumpIsAPeado
21-01-2023, 11:55 AM
Alan Muir but they are all basically as clueless and incompetent as each other

That excuse suits them, as long as it's not the other "c" word.

h1bs4life
21-01-2023, 12:00 PM

St Mirren denied a stonewaller compared to the one just given in the last minute against Hertz.
VAR is turning into an excuse to find penalties for certain teams and potentially not give them to others
The ref on the pitch has got the perfect excuse now he can blame the faceless wonder in the VAR studio for bringing it to there attention.
Think I have only see one ref stick by his decision after going to look at VAR

21-01-2023, 12:02 PM
That excuse suits them, as long as it's not the other "c" word.

Was thinking of more than one other c word when I was typing that :greengrin

21-01-2023, 12:03 PM
4-0 now.

TrumpIsAPeado
21-01-2023, 12:04 PM
Was thinking of more than one c word when I was typing that :greengrin

Likewise :greengrin

snedzuk
21-01-2023, 12:07 PM
Away to Motherwell in the first half, Youan I think fired in a low cross and a Well defender stuck out a foot, the ball ricochetd up and hit his hand, went out and Hibs had a corner. I shouted out 'penalty', knowing full well it wasnt - the ball clearly played the man. But it was a lot more of an 'offence' than Ive just watched given against Efe. Zero consistency applied using this awful system.

In more farce, only three ties in this round will have VAR, including ours. So doubtless there will be something else controversial in one of these while something blatant passes by in one of the other ties. Level playing field??

21-01-2023, 12:07 PM
How come we can have VAR when other games in the same round of a competition don’t?

That doesn’t feel right to me.

21-01-2023, 12:08 PM
Not watching it but I'm glad the Beeb picked such a plum tie by the sounds of things.

21-01-2023, 12:09 PM
Both teams a shadow of what they were recently at Anfield.

hibbycraig
21-01-2023, 12:09 PM
A team needs to protest VAR by having their arms taped to their sides for the whole game. Make it look so stupid that they have to change it.

21-01-2023, 12:10 PM
What has happened to these two recently? Liverpool looking particularly poor.

GRA
21-01-2023, 12:12 PM

My thoughts exactly. Won't improve a thing of we still have the same incompetent ****** running the game.

Skol
21-01-2023, 12:14 PM
The penalty has ruined this game. Morton we’re putting up a good fight, but the penalty scunnerred them and it’s four at half time.

Celtic would have won comfortably and don’t need a helping hand like that.

snedzuk
21-01-2023, 12:15 PM
A team needs to protest VAR by having their arms taped to their sides for the whole game. Make it look so stupid that they have to change it.

Watch Efe at the fourth goal and how he puts his hands behind his back - totally unnatural and may as well be taped there!

21-01-2023, 12:16 PM
Still wish we’d managed to keep Ambrose.

21-01-2023, 12:27 PM
They basically broken it..Scottish football is becoming unwatchable unless you support the 3 teams who are helped by the establishment

Had a look the other day and Hearts had only won 4 games when they hadn't got a penalty. They were against the bottom 3 clubs, Motherwell, Dundee United and Ross Co twice. They've since beaten St Mirren without a penalty but St Mirren were denied a more obvious one than Celtic's today, which probably would have led to a draw. It can be argued the one v Aberdeen didn't make a difference as they won 5-0 but Aberdeen were only 2 down at the time with 50 minutes left. It was a very dodgy penalty decision and taking it to 3-0 killed the game.

All that said, I've not seen all their penalties but have seen several which were highly dubious. I imagine there will have been wrong decisions which have gone against them but would imagine not as many that have gone for them. Hopefully VAR doesn't ruin tomorrow's game.

21-01-2023, 12:30 PM
It’s just *****. Celtc were 1/50 to win this game, Morton were given nae chance. Still, they turn up and try to attack. First 15 mins they’re doing great. Then at the first opportunity they get, VAR and the ref just gift Celtc a pen.

The commentators - “oh well we’ve seen them given”. Gutless sycophants.

Morton might as well have not turned up.

21-01-2023, 12:31 PM
How in ****s name is that not a penalty if the other one was?!

snedzuk
21-01-2023, 12:35 PM

Exactly.

Skol
21-01-2023, 12:39 PM

Because it was four nil and the game is over as a contest.

TrumpIsAPeado
21-01-2023, 12:53 PM
Common sense decision in the Liverpool/Chelsea game and only took the ref a few seconds to determine that it clearly wasn't a handball foul.

21-01-2023, 01:00 PM
5-0

21-01-2023, 01:04 PM
Nolan Kenneh starts for Ross County.

21-01-2023, 01:05 PM
How long until footballers start wearing special equipment to stick their arms to their sides throughout the game?

21-01-2023, 01:18 PM
How long until footballers start wearing special equipment to stick their arms to their sides throughout the game?

Weighted sleeves to keep the arms down.

21-01-2023, 01:21 PM

Excellent news. Hope he does well. I'm sure he will.

hibbycraig
21-01-2023, 01:21 PM

I honestly think one team should do it. Falling about everywhere cos they've got no balance, get pumped and make it a massive news story.

snedzuk
21-01-2023, 01:25 PM
Weighted sleeves to keep the arms down.

Just keep your arms in the shirt and have the sleeves flapping about - probably be awarded against you for 'sleeveball'

21-01-2023, 01:27 PM
Full time Liverpool 0-0 Chelsea

Mid-table obscurity beckons for both sides as neither team can ignite a push for the Europa Conference League qualification.

21-01-2023, 01:27 PM
My thoughts exactly. Won't improve a thing of we still have the same incompetent ****** running the game.

Sportsound savaging Scottish officials for their use of VAR - even though it favoured Celtic today. All VAR has done up here is highlight just how bad our refs are - something we've all known for decades but was easily hushed up as there was little forensic scrutiny of incidents or decisions. VAR has changed that.

Refs bringing the game into disrepute up here :cb

21-01-2023, 01:35 PM

Other loan watch;

Doidge on the bench for Kilmarnock