View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread
21-04-2024, 05:13 PM
I've gone from ambivalent about this to being full on supporting Coventry. It would just be even more of a sickener if they lost on penalties now. As bad as they are United will be back at Wembley sooner rather than later, who knows in Coventry's case.
This is what cup games are all about
Desperate for these Coventry fans to get their day in a final.
Classic cup game this.
That's a BS decision on the offside.
21-04-2024, 05:14 PM
VAR at it's worst - ok maybe technically correct but it just sucks the life out of me. A moment like that taken away due to a cm or two.
21-04-2024, 05:14 PM
That's why the offside rule needs to be changed.
VAR takes a lot of excitement out of the game.
21-04-2024, 05:16 PM
There are not enough frames per second to call that offside. VAR is an utter nonsense.
21-04-2024, 05:16 PM
Very tight call the lines looked to be touching
Hope Coventry win the pens
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
21-04-2024, 05:17 PM
What a rubbish penalty😅😅😅😅
1st pen sums utd up.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
I'm a Man U fan but want Coventry to win, purely to get shot of Ten Haag and start the clear out.
What a rotten penalty
Casemiro has been at it all season [emoji23] completely finished
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Terrible penalty to start with, sums up Man U attitude.
21-04-2024, 05:18 PM
That's a penalty. 2 keepers aren't saving that. Side netting job.
21-04-2024, 05:18 PM
Casemiro and his 350k a week making a right mess of it. A truly terrible signing he's been.
Trinity Hibee
21-04-2024, 05:19 PM
MU should just fold
21-04-2024, 05:20 PM
2 cracking pens by Coventry
21-04-2024, 05:20 PM
I had him down as missing. Looked so nervous then hits an absolute beauty right in the top corner.
21-04-2024, 05:21 PM
I had him down as missing. Looked so nervous then hits an absolute beauty right in the top corner.Same [emoji1][emoji1] shows you what I know
21-04-2024, 05:21 PM
Back to all square
21-04-2024, 05:22 PM
Poor penalty again.
I never get why any players puts a penalty anywhere between 1 and 3ft off the ground, it's exactly where the keeper is diving naturally.
Manure are going to sneak this.
Ratboy gloating at the keeper
21-04-2024, 05:23 PM
Oh dear… that was unfortunate
Oh dear.
Fernandes is one of the most unlikeable knobs in football
Coventry boy let nerves get to him
21-04-2024, 05:24 PM
Man U are very unlikeable.
oh boy shocker
Trinity Hibee
MU should be embarrassed by these mind games
Why did they draw the line from the boot of the Utd player and not from outstretched hand??
Aah that's a shame.
The reaction of the United players and management says it all. Barely a celebration.
Man U through, very lucky though and well done to Coventry for making a good game of it, Ten Haag stays in charge at least to the final.
21-04-2024, 05:26 PM
Why did they draw the line from the boot of the Utd player and not from outstretched hand??
Your hand cannae be offside.
Off the bar
Can’t score with the hand. The line has to be drawn from a part of the body you can legally touch the ball with.
**** that. This is the day and match I completely flipped my view on VAR. Coventry should be in that final and decisions like that one are killing football.
Mantis Toboggan
Man U are very unlikeable.
Every time I seem to watch them they are garbage to the point of it being embarrassing but then win anyway. Can't see that happening in the final at least.
Can’t score with the hand. The line has to be drawn from a part of the body you can legally touch the ball with.
Ta. Daftie I am. I should know that.
21-04-2024, 05:27 PM
MU should be embarrassed by these mind games
Blame the referee in the World Cup Final letting that Argentine twat get away with whatever he wanted in the shootout. Utter disgrace.
21-04-2024, 05:28 PM
Manure are going to sneak this.
Ratboy gloating at the keeper
Yep classy
Donegal Hibby
21-04-2024, 05:28 PM
Chalking off that goal was harsh , how I hate VAR . Coventry FC you done your fans proud today :applause:
21-04-2024, 05:29 PM
Cup is about getting through, but that was horrible outcome for Coventry. Lucky with the pen decision near the end, but VAR screwed them (and all the neutrals) in the end. VAR will kill this game we all love.
Another Cup Final for Ten Hag. What a gaffer.
My daughters never watched a penalty shoot out before and she’s crying for Coventry 😂
Poor penalty again.
I never get why any players puts a penalty anywhere between 1 and 3ft off the ground, it's exactly where the keeper is diving naturally.
Just the pressure of the moment, it must be a really heavy burden taking a penalty in the shoot out in such a big game
Bet these guys are scudding the penalties in when practising at training
Only person on the Man U side who went up in my estimation there was Harry Maguire. Looked pretty decent to me.
21-04-2024, 05:30 PM
Aah that's a shame.
The reaction of the United players and management says it all. Barely a celebration.
Yes Hojland scores one player comes to congratulate him
21-04-2024, 05:30 PM
You have to admire a plucky underdog that gives everything they’ve got and make a spectacle of it, so I think you have to say well done Man United. What a big day for all of them.
Ta. Daftie I am. I should know that.You probably would be correct pre VAR though, aldo.
21-04-2024, 05:31 PM
Just the pressure of the moment, it must be a really heavy burden taking a penalty in the shoot out in such a big game
Bet these guys are scudding the penalties in when practising at training
Especially when you thought you’d won the game 5 minutes earlier.
21-04-2024, 05:31 PM
No going back but VAR is destroying football. Inconsistent for decisions like penalties and concerned with millimetres for offsides. All wrong.
You probably would be correct pre VAR though, aldo.
Aye probably.
21-04-2024, 05:33 PM
Forest statement”
Forest said: "Three extremely poor decisions - three penalties not given - which we simply cannot accept. We warned the PGMOL that the VAR is a Luton fan before the game but they didn’t change him. Our patience has been tested multiple times. NFFC will now consider its options."
Caversham Green
21-04-2024, 05:34 PM
That is everything that is wrong with VAR and the offside rules. One of the iconic moments in cup football negated because a line on a video screen decided that a tiny part of the forward was closer to the goal than a tiny part of the defender. It's not what the offside rules were introduced for.
Goals are the single most important part of football and VAR actively looks for ways to disallow them. It's just wrong.
21-04-2024, 05:38 PM
When they introduced VAR, the offside rule should have been changed to the so called Wenger offside proposal, This is killing the game the game is about goals not looking at a toe being offside. Olden days if you were deemed to be in line you were onside.
21-04-2024, 05:39 PM
That is everything that is wrong with VAR and the offside rules. One of the iconic moments in cup football negated because a line on a video screen decided that a tiny part of the forward was closer to the goal than a tiny part of the defender. It's not what the offside rules were introduced for.
Goals are the single most important part of football and VAR actively looks for ways to disallow them. It's just wrong.
My sentiments exactly. It's been an awful addition to the game. 'Progress' eh.
Fernandes is one of the most unlikeable knobs in football
You took the words out of my mouth, just watching the sneering way he spoke to Coventry goalkeeper, awful, however there is no way that lot will win against Man City.
21-04-2024, 05:47 PM
100%. The player has gained no material advantage from the position he is in. If he is a centimetre further back he stills gets to the ball first.
The art of playing on the shoulder of the last man has been taken out of the game because you are now being judged on literally millimetres and it's really just luck if you are that precise.
They really need to sort out the offside rule because it was surely never meant to be implemented like this.
21-04-2024, 05:51 PM
Hertz falling apart at Hampden v the Huns as usual.
Is it true they have never beaten rangers/the rangers at Hamdump?
21-04-2024, 06:00 PM
You took the words out of my mouth, just watching the sneering way he spoke to Coventry goalkeeper, awful, however there is no way that lot will win against Man City.
He really is a horrible little **** !!
In a way them getting through it will be good to see City school them in the final , And all the flailing arms from Rat boy won't make a difference
21-04-2024, 06:03 PM
In a way them getting through it will be good to see City school them in the final , And all the flailing arms from Rat boy won't make a difference
He really is a horrible person
21-04-2024, 06:05 PM
Couldn’t believe these 2 facts from BBC website!!
A first Old Firm Scottish Cup final since 2002.
A first Old Firm match on council telly since 2011.
Its quite surprising how relatively few OF SFA cup finals there has been considering their grip on Scottish football and how many times each club has won it.
May will only be the 15th OF cup final and as you point out only the second this century (which is virtually a quarter of the way through)
21-04-2024, 06:15 PM
100%. The player has gained no material advantage from the position he is in. If he is a centimetre further back he stills gets to the ball first.
The art of playing on the shoulder of the last man has been taken out of the game because you are now being judged on literally millimetres and it's really just luck if you are that precise.
They really need to sort out the offside rule because it was surely never meant to be implemented like this.
I preferred offside when there had to be space between the two bodies
Offside by a millimetre of a pinkie as it looks like Coventry’s goal was - is ridiculous
21-04-2024, 06:24 PM
I switched over the United game at 3-0 to take in the Fulham Liverpool game. Honestly cant beieve the final score!!!
21-04-2024, 06:31 PM
It must be impossible to 'play on the shoulder' now. When literally your stride pattern and a part of your body you can score with is the difference between being on and off. As you say it comes down to luck.
I thought watching it live at the time it might be off - and I thought at the time certain Coventry celebrations were tempered just incase. Just sad.
Said it many times on other threads, the game has forgotten the essence of what should be deemed a foul - for cheating to gain a deliberate advantage.
21-04-2024, 06:31 PM
I preferred offside when there had to be space between the two bodies
Offside by a millimetre of a pinkie as it looks like Coventry’s goal was - is ridiculous
thats exactly what it should be for me, no attacker gets an advantage because his big toe is a few mm ahead
Trinity Hibee
21-04-2024, 06:34 PM
That is true. Never beaten them at Hampden
Paulie Walnuts
21-04-2024, 06:38 PM
21-04-2024, 06:46 PM
The sad thing is, the folk that make the rules will just argue that VAR has made the correct call, which technically it has.
Football fans rarely agree on anything but you’ll struggle to find anyone that actually likes VAR.
21-04-2024, 08:07 PM
Where is the cut off then, is 1ft an advantage? We will then have the same issue with a line being drawn 1mm over. For me it’s either it’s used as is or binned.
Chorley Hibee
21-04-2024, 08:28 PM
thats exactly what it should be for me, no attacker gets an advantage because his big toe is a few mm ahead
VAR is simply an added layer of protection brought about for the bigger teams, and a tool used to bail them out as and when required.
There's no way that a decision that tight can be conclusive.
How can they be certain they've frozen play at the precise moment the through ball was played?
For decisions that miniscule, there should be a threshold applied. Fall within that threshold, the decision should be with the on-field officials.
It should be used for clear and obvious errors and nothing else, and if I had my way, it would be consigned to the dustbin of history.
21-04-2024, 08:39 PM
Silva looking for a penalty 😂
That's hilarious, if not posted already
https://twitter.com/BBCSportScot/status/1782122131700240659?t=sVzbT_GyAxjR6SIfNSPGTw&s=19
Bridge hibs
21-04-2024, 08:45 PM
https://twitter.com/BBCSportScot/status/1782122131700240659?t=sVzbT_GyAxjR6SIfNSPGTw&s=19
What the actual **** 🤣🤣 when I saw it on tv I thought he had tripped over the ball 🤣🤣
21-04-2024, 09:02 PM
His teammate Antony seems an equal nice fella!
21-04-2024, 09:04 PM
Real Madrid v Barcelona was a brilliant watch.
21-04-2024, 09:26 PM
VAR is simply an added layer of protection brought about for the bigger teams, and a tool used to bail them out as and when required.
There's no way that a decision that tight can be conclusive.
How can they be certain they've frozen play at the precise moment the through ball was played?
For decisions that miniscule, there should be a threshold applied. Fall within that threshold, the decision should be with the on-field officials.
It should be used for clear and obvious errors and nothing else, and if I had my way, it would be consigned to the dustbin of history.
Don't know what the frame rate that is used in VAR. I have seen some of lines drawn when the ball is away from the players foot so it not accurate. I would rather see it used to show a players body parts are not fully in front of the last defender
Donegal Hibby
21-04-2024, 11:06 PM
It was abit like the one that happened to ' Devon Loch ' only that was a horse 🤭
22-04-2024, 12:12 AM
It was abit like the one that happened to ' Devon Loch ' only that was a horse 🤭
Penalty to The Rangers surely.
22-04-2024, 06:29 AM
It must be impossible to 'play on the shoulder' now. When literally your stride pattern and a part of your body you can score with is the difference between being on and off. As you say it comes down to luck.
I thought watching it live at the time it might be off - and I thought at the time certain Coventry celebrations were tempered just incase. Just sad.
Said it many times on other threads, the game has forgotten the essence of what should be deemed a foul - for cheating to gain a deliberate advantage.
Talking of cheating to gain a deliberate advantage, i see chelsea managed to avoid any financial wrongdoing sanction this season by selling two hotels for £76 million, to a ‘sister company’. Meanwhile they have 4000 loan players all over europe getting paid from somewhere. Football is ****ed.
Trinity Hibee
22-04-2024, 06:57 AM
Rashford 😂😂
https://x.com/centredevils/status/1782113573499514895?s=42&t=Lf2Je9-hRg6uExdvfVlCgA
22-04-2024, 07:32 AM
Real are the best although a bit sloppy at the back yesterday.
I'm Spartacus
22-04-2024, 10:54 AM
Can't be true, beat them in the 98 cup final??
Trinity Hibee
22-04-2024, 10:57 AM
Can't be true, beat them in the 98 cup final??
That was Celtic park
22-04-2024, 06:02 PM
Rashford 😂😂
https://x.com/centredevils/status/1782113573499514895?s=42&t=Lf2Je9-hRg6uExdvfVlCgA
He swaps the limping leg lol
22-04-2024, 06:04 PM
That’s hilarious
babahibs
22-04-2024, 06:44 PM
Check out Fred's goal for Fenerbahce tonight, woof!
22-04-2024, 07:07 PM
AC Milan 0 Inter 1
22-04-2024, 07:20 PM
B'oro 1 Leeds 2 17 mins played
Donegal Hibby
22-04-2024, 07:22 PM
Middlesbrough 1 - 2 Leeds . Bamford . If there was VAR they'd have probably found a way to rule that out like Coventry's.
22-04-2024, 07:31 PM
pathetic defending yet again 2-2
more goals to come
Think Leeds are actively determined to avoid promotion. :confused:
22-04-2024, 07:40 PM
what a goal 2-3 wee willy gnonto offside linesman should really see that though :)
22-04-2024, 07:41 PM
what a goal 2-3 wee willy gnonto offside linesman should really see that though :)
Only the 2 yards off side :cb
22-04-2024, 07:43 PM
Bamford misses a great chance
shockerooni
22-04-2024, 07:43 PM
Only the 2 yards off side :cb
i think it was more than that tbf
22-04-2024, 07:49 PM
i think it was more than that tbf
So as a Leeds fan do you like var or happy without ? Genuine question.
22-04-2024, 07:55 PM
AC Milan 0 Inter 1
0-2
22-04-2024, 07:56 PM
So as a Leeds fan do you like var or happy without ? Genuine question.
Leeds have *not had the rub of the green recently, two penalties not given against Sunderland to start with, i think they should have had one against Blackburn as well, Championship should have VAR there's been a few instances this season and not just against Leeds a lot at stake at both ends of the table
*apart from that offside goal tonight :)
22-04-2024, 07:57 PM
Never saw it last night, watched the repeat this afternoon, Bellingham in injury time again. 🙂
22-04-2024, 08:25 PM
4-2 Leeds.
22-04-2024, 08:26 PM
out of nothing 4-2 Leeds
22-04-2024, 08:27 PM
AC Milan 0 Inter 1
1-2
22-04-2024, 08:30 PM
Andy Hinchcliffe just never stops criticising, what a misery he is. Just can't see the good side of any move, it's all about poor defending. Brutal.
Donegal Hibby
22-04-2024, 08:46 PM
Gnonto's a good player.
22-04-2024, 08:50 PM
1-2
3 red cards at the end there and Inter crowned champions
22-04-2024, 08:50 PM
take james back off and put Gnonto back on
22-04-2024, 08:52 PM
too casual leeds 3-4
cheeky wee £5 on B'oro 8th goal
22-04-2024, 09:00 PM
Leeds hold on pheeeeww
They do make life difficult but got there in the end.
Donegal Hibby
22-04-2024, 09:05 PM
Good game . Leeds United have been probably the most entertaining team to watch in the Championship this year imo.
Renfrew_Hibby
22-04-2024, 09:27 PM
3 red cards at the end there and Inter crowned champions
I think that's Inters 20th title meaning they get a 2nd star above their crest.
Quite a way to do it, 'away' from home against your city rivals. About 20 years ago AC Milan were miles ahead of Inter in the number of Serie A titles they had and all the chat was how they would soon have 2 stars and how it would be years and years before Inter managed a second... AC are still waiting for their 2nd star!
22-04-2024, 09:56 PM
I think that's Inters 20th title meaning they get a 2nd star above their crest.
Quite a way to do it, 'away' from home against your city rivals. About 20 years ago AC Milan were miles ahead of Inter in the number of Serie A titles they had and all the chat was how they would soon have 2 stars and how it would be years and years before Inter managed a second... AC are still waiting for their 2nd star!
Yeah inter had a 17 year title drought which ended somewhat fortuitously in 2006 when they were handed the title after the winners juventus were forcibly relegated after one of their many scandals. Inter have hardly looked back since (at least domestically)
AC Milan were an awesome team in the late 80s through to the mid 90s
23-04-2024, 07:06 PM
Good start for Arsenal.
Playing their first choice midfield for the first time this season I think. Looks okay so far.
23-04-2024, 07:10 PM
WTF is going on. That's got to be a red for Jackson.
alhibby
23-04-2024, 07:28 PM
Arsenal really are great to watch
Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk
Trinity Hibee
23-04-2024, 07:30 PM
Arsenal really are great to watch
Was just about to say that. Really good
23-04-2024, 07:35 PM
The two in the middle of the park for Chelsea must be the biggest waste of money in football.
Donegal Hibby
23-04-2024, 07:39 PM
Arsenal had a bit of good fortune when Chelsea outbid them for Mudryk . Another big signing at Chelsea that's been poor.
23-04-2024, 07:42 PM
Arsenal had a bit of good fortune when Chelsea outbid them for Mudryk . Another big signing at Chelsea that's been poor.
Arteta would've done a lot more with him than Chelsea have I think. But yes. Trossard has been absolutely excellent in his place.
23-04-2024, 07:54 PM
They’ll bottle it as usual. Man City will run out comfortable winners again.
23-04-2024, 07:56 PM
He would have had a defined role at Arsenal. Not just another “galactico”.
23-04-2024, 08:03 PM
They’ll bottle it as usual. Man City will run out comfortable winners again.
Yes, I'd expect the side with 115 financial doping charges to win the league as well. Arsenal are bottling nothing. They didn't last season either. Injuries ruined them.
23-04-2024, 08:08 PM
2-0 Arsenal.
23-04-2024, 08:10 PM
I take it Palmer's injured?
23-04-2024, 08:11 PM
Yes, I'd expect the side with 115 financial doping charges to win the league as well. Arsenal are bottling nothing. They didn't last season either. Injuries ruined them.
He's best ignored
23-04-2024, 08:12 PM
I take it Palmer's injured?
Huge miss for them
alhibby
23-04-2024, 08:14 PM
3-0, Odegard is some player,
23-04-2024, 08:15 PM
Chelsea getting ripped a new hole here
23-04-2024, 08:15 PM
3-0, Odegard is some player,
Quality player
23-04-2024, 08:16 PM
Great finish by Havertz but there was a definite foul on the Chelsea winger before that.
When they're on song, Arsenal are a delight to watch.
23-04-2024, 08:20 PM
That's 2 great chances that Jackson has missed.
23-04-2024, 08:23 PM
Arsenal could get anything they want here. Chelsea are absolutely shocking defensively.
23-04-2024, 08:28 PM
Arteta looking gutted that White made an arse of the cross 😂
23-04-2024, 08:29 PM
Arsenal's goal difference will be hard to overturn if it comes to that
Arsenal are the real deal. Just a shame, for them, they’re up against Pep’s Man City.
This could be 6 or 7
Odegaard is simply different class and has a vision not many players have
Mind when I said Ben White was world class.
Potechino must be on a shoogly peg, his tenure at Chelsea is very poor for the money they've spent. This will put them into a negative goal difference.
23-04-2024, 08:31 PM
Arsenal are the real deal. Just a shame, for them, they’re up against Pep’s Man City.
Man city for me win every game and win the league , It's not because Arsenal have bottled it but up against the best team in Europe
23-04-2024, 08:32 PM
Mind when I said Ben White was world class.
He absolutely is , And anyone saying different need a reality check
23-04-2024, 08:34 PM
Chelsea remind me of Hibs. You could argue the case for most of their players, individually, being quality. Lots of “least of their problems” when looking at what to you would improve. A team of individuals who are MUCH less than the sum of their parts.
23-04-2024, 08:35 PM
Man city for me win every game and win the league , It's not because Arsenal have bottled it but up against the best team in Europe
Yeah. Losing the league to a team who go 16 wins (if they win all), 3 draws, from the last 19 games isn't bottling.
We should be grateful for Arsenal and Liverpool for keeping it interesting.
He absolutely is , And anyone saying different need a reality check
Suppose it depends on your definition of world class. He’s a very good player, I’m not sure he’s in that very top bracket though.
Yes. It's unfortunate. I can see arsenal slipping up away at spurs, and Liverpool away at villa. Five wins and a draw will likely do it for city
23-04-2024, 08:37 PM
Chelsea remind me of Hibs. You could argue the case for most of their players, individually, being quality. Lots of “least of their problems” when looking at what to you would improve. A team of individuals who are MUCH less than the sum of their parts.
Was going to post something very similar. They actually played pretty well at points in the first half but they just look so incredibly soft.
23-04-2024, 08:39 PM
Leicester 4 Southampton 0, saints have been very poor, at least they can prepare for the play-offs now
make that 5-0
Leicester fans with they daft clacker things, hurry up and dock them points just for that alone
23-04-2024, 08:39 PM
Yeah. Losing the league to a team who go 16 wins (if they win all), 3 draws, from the last 19 games isn't bottling.
We should be grateful for Arsenal and Liverpool for keeping it interesting.
Spot on :agree:
23-04-2024, 08:42 PM
Poch for the chop? 🤔
23-04-2024, 08:43 PM
This could be 6 or 7
Odegaard is simply different class and has a vision not many players have
And an incredible work rate as well!
Does he ever stop running? He’s a hugely impressive player.
He's here!
23-04-2024, 08:52 PM
Be great to see Arsenal win the league.
23-04-2024, 08:52 PM
Brilliant song choice at full time :faf:
23-04-2024, 08:57 PM
Kai Havertz scored again
23-04-2024, 08:57 PM
Brilliant song choice at full time :faf:
60 million down the drain :greengrin
Kai Havertz scores again :cb
Poch for the chop? 🤔
Wonder if board will indicate a full review of the club forthcoming?
Donegal Hibby
23-04-2024, 09:02 PM
Poch for the chop? 🤔
If they have sense they will stick with him . Good manager imo .
23-04-2024, 09:07 PM
Edit - pointless arguing with him, I need to sleep tonight.
23-04-2024, 09:12 PM
Any team that protects a sex offender and fabricates injuries to prevent him from travelling with the squad for games in Spain doesn’t deserve trophies to be honest. But I’m sure you’ll have the last word again and bore me into submission with yet more drivel.
Oh right, okay.
Partey, if guilty, should spend his life in jail. Arsenal haven't exactly managed it well but he's been convicted of nothing. I personally wouldn't have played him.
Why would they fabricate an injury? He's already made of wheatabix and they could just, I dunno, not pick him? More likely he was just injured mate.
Dunno why you feel the need for a personal shot at me. Very weird stuff. Have I upset you?
Trinity Hibee
23-04-2024, 09:12 PM
That was superb from Arsenal. Really hope they win the league as they are great to watch.
23-04-2024, 09:13 PM
Edit - pointless arguing with him, I need to sleep tonight.
Aww, don't delete it and run off :faf:
23-04-2024, 09:22 PM
Was going to post something very similar. They actually played pretty well at points in the first half but they just look so incredibly soft.
Yep, really poor at the back. Chelsea really missed Palmer today, I'm not saying they would've won but it would've been a closer probably better game to watch. Arsenal are a really good side though, and even though people are right to say they haven't bottled it, they still throw in the occasional wobbly, for example when they were beaten deservedly by Villa who themselves are a bit in and out but still having a cracking season. Liverpool have looked pretty ordinary the last few games, you'd have to say right now it's hard to see past Man City, they really are consistent and have done it all before.
23-04-2024, 09:25 PM
That was superb from Arsenal. Really hope they win the league as they are great to watch.
It's a shame they couldn't find a way to beat villa. I know villa were excellent and got their tactics spot on but that was a damn shame and will probably cost arsenal
24-04-2024, 02:59 PM
Lamia 1 v 0 PAOK
Slivka
24-04-2024, 07:30 PM
1-0 Everton. They’ve been the better team.
K-Zazu
24-04-2024, 07:46 PM
Just noticed that ex jambo Andy Irving scored a hat trick for his team in Austria today, then read into him a bit more and noticed that West Ham have bought him? Must have missed that one.
Donegal Hibby
24-04-2024, 07:51 PM
Crystal palace 0- 0 Newcastle United . Half- Time . Palace been the better team so far .
24-04-2024, 07:57 PM
1-0 Everton. They’ve been the better team.
I think the time has come for Liverpool to give up on Darwin Nunez. The best you can say about him is he very occasionally looks like a competent forward if you want someone to assist others, but he’s just one of the most wasteful strikers ive ever seen in great positions. Terrible tonight.
24-04-2024, 08:01 PM
Did someone attach a foot pump to Wayne Rooney’s ersehole and go to town on it? He’s absolutely colossal.
24-04-2024, 08:09 PM
Bournemouth can't hold on to a lead Wolves 1 Bournemouth 1
VAR may save them here
it does still 0-1 a tad fortunate
after a quick google if Bournemouth managed to hold on to leads like villa do they would be two points off a CL place :shocked:
oh oh Bournemouth red card for a tackle on matt doherty
24-04-2024, 08:13 PM
Man United are not a serious club.
Donegal Hibby
24-04-2024, 08:14 PM
Crystal palace 1 - 0 Newcastle United . Well worked goal in fairness.
24-04-2024, 08:21 PM
2-0 Everton
2-0 Everton
Well well :greengrin
Bournemouth can't hold on to a lead Wolves 1 Bournemouth 1
VAR may save them here
it does still 0-1 a tad fortunate
after a quick google if Bournemouth managed to hold on to leads like villa do they would be two points off a CL place :shocked:
oh oh Bournemouth red card for a tackle on matt doherty
Goal ruled out
24-04-2024, 08:37 PM
Goal ruled out
i know
i said
:cb
i know
i said
:cb
Oh OK, sorry
Funny how Liverpools fortunes changed after Klopp said he was leaving.
24-04-2024, 08:47 PM
Same happened at Man Utd when Ferguson said he was retiring IIRC, then he changed his mind didn’t he?
Donegal Hibby
24-04-2024, 08:49 PM
Crystal palace 2-0 Newcastle United . Palace well worthy of 2-0 unfortunately.
Same happened at Man Utd when Ferguson said he was retiring IIRC, then he changed his mind didn’t he?
You've got to think a good few players signed probably because he's the manager, similar to Pep at City.
24-04-2024, 09:00 PM
He announced he was leaving in January. They've had 2 weeks of bad form in April. I don't think it's related.
It's quite clearly more to do with Salah, Konate, Matip, Allison, Trent, Robertson, Thiago, and Jota missing huge chunks of the season and that catching up with them. He's done a brilliant job to keep them anywhere near it.
Mcbizz1998
24-04-2024, 09:01 PM
Great scenes at Goodison. Pleased for the fans.
24-04-2024, 09:02 PM
And then there were two.
Come on Arsenal!
24-04-2024, 09:06 PM
Well, that has fair lifted my football spirits!! Great to see Everton win and how fantastic is it to see an old fashioned proper football stadium rocking like that.
24-04-2024, 09:14 PM
It's not too early to have an opinion. Before a ball is kicked favourites to win the league are touted.
Update - it was too early.
Talk of a quadruple to finish with a caraboa cup, lovely.:na na:
24-04-2024, 09:36 PM
Still another trophy in the cabinet GIRUY 😀
babahibs
24-04-2024, 09:50 PM
Finish the season with only one trophy!!!!
If only!!!
24-04-2024, 09:55 PM
Well, that has fair lifted my football spirits!! Great to see Everton win and how fantastic is it to see an old fashioned proper football stadium rocking like that.
Delighted for them. Only their second derby win in the last 30, and their first at home since 2010 (And we thought our derby record was crap :greengrin).
The fact its come in klopps last derby to probably finish liverpools title hopes is the stuff of dreams for everton fans after yet another wretched season.
24-04-2024, 10:01 PM
Everton are old school.
24-04-2024, 11:21 PM
Delighted for the fans tonight. Everton wins in the fixture don't happen very often.
25-04-2024, 12:07 AM
Did someone attach a foot pump to Wayne Rooney’s ersehole and go to town on it? He’s absolutely colossal.He's a big old boy... loves a takeaway that fella.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
25-04-2024, 06:31 AM
Everton are old school.
Their football certainly is. Dyche could get a role in the next Jurassic park film 😄
25-04-2024, 07:19 PM
Great diving header by De Bruyne.
Donegal Hibby
25-04-2024, 07:25 PM
De Bruyne's header was almost has good as Campbells against the dons there . Great header all the same.
25-04-2024, 07:29 PM
0-2
game
set
and match
MKHIBEE
25-04-2024, 07:34 PM
0-2
game
set
and match
yep, 3.0, time to watch the rugby
25-04-2024, 07:37 PM
yep, 3.0, time to watch the rugby
i'll watch the Rugby League game now :)
Donegal Hibby
25-04-2024, 08:54 PM
Really good performance from City on what is normally a tough place to go . Hard to see where they are going to drop points from in their remaining fixtures , possibly Spurs ? . Though Arsenal have them next which won't be easy . Getting beat by Villa at home is looking very costly now .
25-04-2024, 09:13 PM
Just can't see Arsenal winning more games than City. Tonight had to go against City for Arsenal to have a chance.
25-04-2024, 09:30 PM
Just can't see Arsenal winning more games than City. Tonight had to go against City for Arsenal to have a chance.
Tonight was never going against City. Brighton come out and play, 9/10 city will hump any side that does that. A desperate, scrappy, defensive Nottingham forest will be tougher than Brighton for City I think.
I don't think City will slip up though. You just never know I guess.
26-04-2024, 01:42 PM
Everton rule nathan patterson out for the rest of the season
26-04-2024, 03:46 PM
Airdrie giving United a guard of honor tonight. Pretty embarrassing.
26-04-2024, 04:08 PM
Maybe they should boo them on to the park. :greengrin
26-04-2024, 04:21 PM
What’s embarrassing? Is it not traditional?
26-04-2024, 04:22 PM
What’s embarrassing? Is it not traditional?
They've not technically won the league yet…
26-04-2024, 04:24 PM
They've not technically won the league yet…
I didn’t realise that. So why a guard of honour at all? Don’t think embarrassment comes into it - it’s just wrong!
Edit - would be the miracle of all miracles if that goal difference advantage could be turned around though
26-04-2024, 07:27 PM
Megwa doing pretty well.
Glad to see aiken on the bench too. Seems to have been out for about half the season.
Sheffhibee
26-04-2024, 07:31 PM
Megwa hasn't put a foot wrong in this game so far. Very calm and assured performance ⚽
Airdrie playing very well, with Megwa doing well also, United's keeper made a wonderful save to keep it at 0-0.
26-04-2024, 07:54 PM
Mikey Stewart saying megwa should get a scottish passport...
Isn't he scottish?
Think English
26-04-2024, 07:55 PM
Think English
Aye, born in London.
Had it in my head he was scottish.
Born in London, Nigerian decent.
Leeds bottling it yet again, 2 down against QPR of all teams. :rolleyes:
26-04-2024, 08:22 PM
Not sure jo'c has had a touch since he came on.
26-04-2024, 08:33 PM
Jo'c cuts in and really decent effort well saved.
Donegal Hibby
26-04-2024, 08:34 PM
Leeds bottling it yet again, 2 down against QPR of all teams. :rolleyes:
3-0 now Lyndon Dykes
Scotland manager there too .
26-04-2024, 08:39 PM
I expect multiple pages in tomorrows daily record investigating these Dundee Utd fans
26-04-2024, 08:39 PM
the tactical genius that is Daniel ****e, double sub AFTER losing a 3rd goal, needed changed at HT but nah
when his plan A isn't working....just stick to it anyway and hope something happens
still, another £40 profit in my Bet365 account :)
i fancy whoever it is Leeds play in the play-offs
26-04-2024, 08:46 PM
4-0 qpr
26-04-2024, 08:47 PM
Leicester promoted
27-04-2024, 11:04 AM
West Ham v Liverpool
Nunes and Salah benched
27-04-2024, 12:08 PM
This women's semi final would get fitba stopped.
Renfrew_Hibby
27-04-2024, 12:26 PM
This women's semi final would get fitba stopped.
Not watching but I did catch Shelly Kerr before kick off. Thought I was seeing Yogi with a wig on for a second.
27-04-2024, 12:39 PM
not often Andy Robertson scores 1-1
27-04-2024, 12:46 PM
Tell you what, non scouse Liverpool fans disappear like ghosts when things stop going well. The pub I'm in that was absolutely rammed with them every game when they were going for a quadruple a few weeks ago is empty today.
27-04-2024, 12:55 PM
wee bit of pinball in the west ham box amongst the home players 1-2
2-2
rangers score against celtic in the SF with 6 mins remaining 1-0
2-0
27-04-2024, 01:27 PM
Been a real collapse from Liverpool who had things in their hands a few weeks ago.
Corstorphine Hibby
27-04-2024, 01:28 PM
Not watching but I did catch Shelly Kerr before kick off. Thought I was seeing Yogi with a wig on for a second.
😄
27-04-2024, 02:15 PM
Livingston 1-0 Ross County
MKHIBEE
27-04-2024, 03:30 PM
Harbottle just on for Colchester who will avoid relegation if they win, 1.0 up at the moment
Donegal Hibby
27-04-2024, 03:32 PM
Newcastle United 4-1 sheff Utd . Isak with 2:greengrin
Sheff Utd now dead 5-1
KdyHby
27-04-2024, 03:50 PM
Was at a thoroughly entertaining Thornton Hibs 5 0 victory against Dalkeith, Thornton's promotion campaign going very well
27-04-2024, 03:55 PM
Was at a thoroughly entertaining Thornton Hibs 5 0 victory against Dalkeith, Thornton's promotion campaign going very well
Good to hear I was at Falkirk Stadium last night watching my home town team Cupar Hearts reaching the Amateur Scottish Cup Final ,for the second year in a row .Won it last year against tonight’s opponents Steins
Sloop67
27-04-2024, 04:24 PM
West Ham v Liverpool
Nunes and Salah benched
Salah none too happy with Klopp apparently
27-04-2024, 04:46 PM
Barnet v Solihull play off semi.
Much more fun than the Juve v Milan borefest
27-04-2024, 04:54 PM
Much more fun than the Juve v Milan borefest
Certainly been pretty grim so far.
Salah none too happy with Klopp apparently
He'll be off to the Saudi league at the end of the season, last big money pay day.
Everton v Brentford, 30 mins played and zero shots on target from both teams, dire football so far.
27-04-2024, 05:05 PM
Barnet 0-2 Solihull.
Been all Barnet too😁
27-04-2024, 05:44 PM
Went to watch Sheff Wed beat West Brom 3-0 today. Wednesday played well, over 33,000 attendance, great atmosphere. Hillsborough is a bit creaky round the edges but a great old school venue (if that floats your boat). Put themselves in a great shout of staying up despite being in the bottom 3 virtually all season.
27-04-2024, 06:00 PM
Went to watch Sheff Wed beat West Brom 3-0 today. Wednesday played well, over 33,000 attendance, great atmosphere. Hillsborough is a bit creaky round the edges but a great old school venue (if that floats your boat). Put themselves in a great shout of staying up despite being in the bottom 3 virtually all season.
Their new coach has done brilliantly
27-04-2024, 06:00 PM
He'll be off to the Saudi league at the end of the season, last big money pay day.
It must be tough getting by on the £200k odd a week he’s likely on at Liverpool! 😀
Leverkusen just made it 2-2 with Stuttgart with a 96th minute equaliser. Their long unbeaten run is still going! Amazing how many late goals they have scored.
27-04-2024, 06:38 PM
Leverkusen just made it 2-2 with Stuttgart with a 96th minute equaliser. Their long unbeaten run is still going! Amazing how many late goals they have scored.
It’s genuinely unbelievable stuff!
27-04-2024, 06:39 PM
Barnet 0-2 Solihull.
Been all Barnet too😁
They’re a cut above.
27-04-2024, 06:56 PM
What a fabulous 6 days for everton