View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread
03-03-2024, 03:46 PM
Another peach!
03-03-2024, 03:49 PM
Not sure why players have started this celebration of pretending to fire a rifle at the support but they need to stop it, that's really not ok
03-03-2024, 03:50 PM
2 goal of the season contenders in one game.
03-03-2024, 03:52 PM
Some finish by Fodden. Only 23 and his trophy haul is up there with anyone else.
5 titles
2 FA cups
4 league cups
1 Champions league
1 Super Cup
1 Club World Cup
2 Charity Shields (do they count?)
At 23!!! Scary.
03-03-2024, 03:54 PM
Not sure why players have started this celebration of pretending to fire a rifle at the support but they need to stop it, that's really not ok
What's not ok about it? They don't have a gun. It's not real.
03-03-2024, 03:54 PM
Other than his amazing finish for the goal, Rashford has continued his absolute diddy form today.
03-03-2024, 03:56 PM
What's not ok about it? They don't have a gun. It's not real.
No way? It isnt? :rolleyes:
03-03-2024, 03:57 PM
No way? It isnt? :rolleyes:
What’s the problem then?
03-03-2024, 03:59 PM
Only in a world were idiots rule is it not relevant.
Games been ruined by people who don’t ****ing know the game.
When a player is pushed from behind whilst jumping and he’s looking in the opposite direction from the ball because he doesn’t know were the ball is and it accidentally hits his arm, that’s not a penalty in anyone’s book.
A joke of a decision and anyone that says that’s a penalty doesn’t know the game.
Do you watch football much? Loads of similar decisions every week. Think people are overplaying the contact on him.
03-03-2024, 04:01 PM
Other than his amazing finish for the goal, Rashford has continued his absolute diddy form today.
Yes been very poor. The chance in the first half where he miscontrolled
Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 04:08 PM
Do you watch football much? Loads of similar decisions every week. Think people are overplaying the contact on him.
I think it’s widely agreed that there’s a problem with the handball rule. Unfortunately common sense has escaped all of our referees and they seem to be on a work to rule! Or that’s how it feels because they’re surely having a laugh!
Games up the pole!
03-03-2024, 04:09 PM
I think that applies to all United's forward players.
03-03-2024, 04:09 PM
I think that applies to all United's forward players.
true :aok:
It's like watching a cup game with Man City against a lower league team just now.
Keyser Sauzee
03-03-2024, 04:10 PM
Could Onana do better there?
Edit: maybe a bit harsh it’s a good finish.
03-03-2024, 04:10 PM
Foden again. Deserved lead for City.
Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 04:11 PM
Foden is a .....🤖
Think keeper should save that
Could Onana do better there?
Edit: maybe a bit harsh it’s a good finish.
Think so
03-03-2024, 04:12 PM
Twice Foden has done it, with what’s happening in the world someone really needs to have a word with him.
03-03-2024, 04:13 PM
does foden think he's a gun-slinging cowboy or whit
Greensunshine
United getting what they deserve. Sat back the whole game. It was only a matter of time.
Q. Did Rashford crack a smile after he scored? Never seen such a miserable looking laddie.
Twice Foden has done it, with what’s happening in the world someone really needs to have a word with him.
He's not the only one, another player this weekend was doing a machine gun thing but I'm forgetting who it was.
Stairway 2 7
03-03-2024, 04:14 PM
Some finish by Fodden. Only 23 and his trophy haul is up there with anyone else.
5 titles
2 FA cups
4 league cups
1 Champions league
1 Super Cup
1 Club World Cup
2 Charity Shields (do they count?)
At 23!!! Scary.
Jeez some stats.
Midfield with Foden Saka Bellingham and Rice for the next 10 years or so, England should really be winning something unfortunately
03-03-2024, 04:16 PM
City are like a cat playing with a mouse here.
03-03-2024, 04:20 PM
3-1
03-03-2024, 04:21 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖
03-03-2024, 04:21 PM
Imagine United will be delighted. Anything to stop Liverpool or Arsenal winning it.
Keyser Sauzee
03-03-2024, 04:23 PM
Does Ten Hag make the summer?
03-03-2024, 04:25 PM
United are dreadful, Ten Haag will do well to keep his job I think
Jeez some stats.
Midfield with Foden Saka Bellingham and Rice for the next 10 years or so, England should really be winning something unfortunately
Aw, man. Dinnae. I'm just about to have my tea! Some truths just shouldn't be said.
foden's gun has back-fired on him
03-03-2024, 04:27 PM
Fair result I think.
Foden is some player. Both him and Bellingham for England is a frightening thought, they are both absolutely top drawer.
Jeez some stats.
They had Beckham, Gerrard, Lampard, Scholes, Rooney and didn't win anything with them. I'm pretty hopeful/confident they can go ahead and win nowt with this new batch.
Donegal Hibby
Imagine United will be delighted. Anything to stop Liverpool or Arsenal winning it.
Hard to see past City though Liverpool have a better chance than arsenal . Arsenal still lacking a top class striker imo.
03-03-2024, 04:29 PM
Hard to see past City though Liverpool have a better chance than arsenal . Arsenal still lacking a top class striker imo.
Massive game next week with Liverpool home to City. Bookies pricing City up as favourties at 13/10 just now
03-03-2024, 04:29 PM
They had Beckham, Gerrard, Lampard, Scholes, Rooney and didn't win anything with them. I'm pretty hopeful/confident they can go ahead and win nowt with this new batch.
I like this better!
Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 04:30 PM
Really? It’s a blooming goal celebration ffs! 🤣🤣🤣
03-03-2024, 04:30 PM
03-03-2024, 04:32 PM
Arsenal got the best chance conversion out of all 3 and only 2 goals less than Liverpool with SU tomorrow. Bit of a lazy analysis to say their missing striker imo.
Arsenal absolutely played City and Liverpool off the pitch at home this season as well. They do have a tough run in though.
03-03-2024, 04:33 PM
Fair result I think.
Foden is some player. Both him and Bellingham for England is a frightening thought, they are both absolutely top drawer.
To be fair Foden has largely been anonymous for England. Think Bellingham is a game changer.
03-03-2024, 04:36 PM
Really? It’s a blooming goal celebration ffs! 🤣🤣🤣
And there are many many more that he could do that didn't mimick pulling the trigger of a firearm pointing at a crowd. It's really poor taste and he needs to do a whole lot better than that
03-03-2024, 04:40 PM
Arsenal got the best chance conversion out of all 3 and only 2 goals less than Liverpool with SU tomorrow. Bit of a lazy analysis to say their missing striker imo.
Arsenal absolutely played City and Liverpool off the pitch at home this season as well. They do have a tough run in though.
I don't think it's lazy to point out that Arsenal are missing a top class striker, at all.
I think most people would agree with it. I've got family who support Arsenal who would agree.
Ollie Watkins or Ivan Toney would be great signings for Arsenal.
03-03-2024, 04:41 PM
Hibernian- Tick
Bournemouth- Tick
FC Lorient- Tick(so far)
03-03-2024, 04:44 PM
Hibernian- Tick
Bournemouth- Tick
Aston Villa - Tick
FC Lorient- Tick(so far)
Ftfy
03-03-2024, 04:46 PM
Ftfy
i've never managed to decipher this
is it nawty :hmmm:
03-03-2024, 04:50 PM
Fixed That For You
03-03-2024, 04:52 PM
**** the ****in yams
03-03-2024, 04:54 PM
Fixed That For You
i've only just noticed the addendum :greengrin
anyway Rennes 0 FC Lorient 2 89 mins... Tick
03-03-2024, 04:55 PM
**** the ****in yams
now that does sound much better
03-03-2024, 04:56 PM
i've only just noticed the addendum :greengrin
anyway Rennes 0 FC Lorient 2 89 mins... Tick
03-03-2024, 04:57 PM
Exactly. Been hearing the same line re England winning stuff every year since as long as I can remember.
I think Arsenal are right in this title race, saying that I think of the 3 they are the least likely to win it.
Man City and Liverpool have managers who are both simply better and but also experienced at winning things. I suspect that will be vital.
FC Lorient have let the group down badly by conceding a goal on 94 mins 1-2 :grr: 2-0 2-0 2-0 looked good
03-03-2024, 04:58 PM
I don't think it's lazy to point out that Arsenal are missing a top class striker, at all.
I think most people would agree with it. I've got family who support Arsenal who would agree.
Ollie Watkins or Ivan Toney would be great signings for Arsenal.
It is a bit. What is it based on? They score plenty. They create plenty. They convert a higher % of chances than City and Liverpool.
Toney and Watkins wouldn't make this Arsenal team much better if at all. A fit jesus is as good a player as both.
Obviously Haaland or Kane would make them better but injuries to Partey, Tomiyasu, Timber, Zinchenko, Jesus etc have hurt them more than lack of striker imo.
03-03-2024, 05:09 PM
I would guess that out of the three, United fans would love Arsenal to win it.
03-03-2024, 05:11 PM
It is a bit. What is it based on? They score plenty. They create plenty. They convert a higher % of chances than City and Liverpool.
Toney and Watkins wouldn't make this Arsenal team much better if at all. A fit jesus is as good a player as both.
Obviously Haaland or Kane would make them better but injuries to Partey, Tomiyasu, Timber, Zinchenko, Jesus etc have hurt them more than lack of striker imo.
It's based on the Arsenal squad lacking a top quality striker. Arsenal have 2 real "centre forwards" in Jesus and Nketiah. One has 4 league goals this season, the other has 5.
They do convert a higher % of chances than City and Liverpool, but so do Newcastle, Villa, West Ham and Spurs. You don't think they could improve their attacking options either?
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/premier-league/chancenverwertung/wettbewerb/GB1
The bit in bold - couldn't disagree with you more. Ollie Watkins has the second most goals in the league with 16 this season, and the joint most assists with 10. You don't think he improves Arsenal?
03-03-2024, 05:17 PM
It's based on the Arsenal squad lacking a top quality striker. Arsenal have 2 real "centre forwards" in Jesus and Nketiah. One has 4 league goals this season, the other has 5.
They do convert a higher % of chances than City and Liverpool, but so do Newcastle, Villa, West Ham and Spurs. You don't think they could improve their attacking options either?
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/premier-league/chancenverwertung/wettbewerb/GB1
The bit in bold - couldn't disagree with you more. Ollie Watkins has the second most goals in the league with 16 this season, and the joint most assists with 10. You don't think he improves Arsenal?
I don't think Ollie Watkins is the difference in Arsenal winning the title or not, no. Very good player having a great season though.
Arsenal get goals from everywhere. Trossard, Havertz, Martinelli, Saka, Odegaard all score goals. Jesus general play enables that massively. So does the play of Havertz and Trossard when they play up top.
Watkins would also cost disgusting money. No danger Villa let him go.
Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 05:17 PM
FODEN the sniper because he likes to shoot for goal.
Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 05:22 PM
If Arsenal had Haaland or Salah they would win the premier though as it stands it's the one area they are weaker than the other two in not having a really top class striker imo .
03-03-2024, 05:22 PM
Interesting post-match comments from Rodgers on Sky - clearly calls out the officiating as the reason for the defeat and name-checks John Beaton twice!
I’d personally like to see Monty and the Club do this when we feel aggrieved - make no mistake, Rodgers knew what he was doing and this will be the narrative over the next few days.
I agree with him but would go even further.....
- don't think Celtic pen should have been given
-don't think it was a sending off
-don't think Hearts was a penalty
-don't think Shankland was offside.
Staggeringly bad officiating.
03-03-2024, 05:23 PM
Massive game next week with Liverpool home to City. Bookies pricing City up as favourties at 13/10 just now
Surprised at that tbh. Liverpool at home are very tough. I think Liverpool’s 99th minute goal yesterday may well prove to be vital in winning the title.
03-03-2024, 05:44 PM
Surprised at that tbh. Liverpool at home are very tough. I think Liverpool’s 99th minute goal yesterday may well prove to be vital in winning the title.
That's how I see it too. I wouldn't be surprised if Liverpool don't drop another point.
I'd probably rather arsenal won it, I'm not sure i really want to listen to a month of media fawning over klopp's fairytale ending but it'll certainly be deserved if they do it
Really surprised Ten Haag is still at United, he's had enough time and money to turn things around and still United are bang average, Ratcliffe won't be happy.
Rennes 1 Lorient 2 puts Lorient up to 13th in the table. Pretty tight at the bottom though.
Chorley Hibee
03-03-2024, 05:55 PM
Probably reflective of Liverpool's injury list at present.
Just_Jimmy
03-03-2024, 06:02 PM
Really surprised Ten Haag is still at United, he's had enough time and money to turn things around and still United are bang average, Ratcliffe won't be happy.He'll be gone shortly. They'll lose 15 games this season.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 06:02 PM
FODEN the sniper because he likes to shoot for goal.
03-03-2024, 06:12 PM
If Arsenal had Haaland or Salah they would win the premier though as it stands it's the one area they are weaker than the other two in not having a really top class striker imo .
Why do those teams score less goals and convert less chances with those players?
If Arsenal had Allison they'd win the league. He has been unreal for Liverpool this season. His xg prevented is insane.
03-03-2024, 06:14 PM
Rennes 1 Lorient 2 puts Lorient up to 13th in the table. Pretty tight at the bottom though.
Do we want Lorient staying up? Could potentially mean a player is more likely to move to us than Ligue 2?
03-03-2024, 06:18 PM
Why do those teams score less goals and convert less chances with those players?
If Arsenal had Allison they'd win the league. He has been unreal for Liverpool this season. His xg prevented is insane.
Arsenal have the same number of goals as City (62) and less than Liverpool (64) in the league this season.
03-03-2024, 06:21 PM
When you talk about converting chances, the difference between the clubs is less than 1% for City and less than 2% with Liverpool.
I think you’re making too much of it
03-03-2024, 06:28 PM
Arsenal have the same number of goals as City (62) and less than Liverpool (64) in the league this season.
With a game in hand, Vs Sheffield united. So they average more than city per game right now anyway.
03-03-2024, 06:29 PM
When you talk about converting chances, the difference between the clubs is less than 1% for City and less than 2% with Liverpool.
I think you’re making too much of it
I'm not the one saying they need to spend probably 100 million because they don't score enough though.
03-03-2024, 06:32 PM
I'm not the one saying they need to spend probably 100 million because they don't score enough though.
I’m not saying they “need” to do anything. I couldn’t care less if they buy a new striker.
I’m just stating the fact that they miss a top class striker, and if they didn’t they’d have a better chance of winning the league.
I’ve nae horse in that race. I dinnae care who wins. My “English team” is Bradford.
03-03-2024, 06:35 PM
I’m not saying they “need” to do anything. I couldn’t care less if they buy a new striker.
I’m just stating the fact that they miss a top class striker, and if they didn’t they’d have a better chance of winning the league.
I’ve nae horse in that race. I dinnae care who wins. My “English team” is Bradford.
It's not a fact, though, because statistically they aren't "missing" what a top class striker provides.
Why are city with Haaland scoring less goals than Arsenal?
Pointless discussion anyway. I did not miss this.
03-03-2024, 06:40 PM
Pointless discussion anyway. I did not miss this.
😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
LewysGot2
03-03-2024, 07:24 PM
Even Liverpool don't have Allison the now 😉
Victor
03-03-2024, 07:40 PM
I agree with him but would go even further.....
- don't think Celtic pen should have been given
-don't think it was a sending off
-don't think Hearts was a penalty
-don't think Shankland was offside.
Staggeringly bad officiating.
I think Beaton was very clever today. He gives Celtic a penalty, that never was a penalty. As he then uses that decision to counter any claims of being biased. He then has a Celtic player sent off for an offence that the referee had correctly given as a booking and then gives Hearts a penalty that was even less of a penalty that the one Celtic got. All in all a good days work in support of his favoured club. The only thing he couldn’t affect was Hearts incredible luck. The fact that Idah’s penalty was a no better than a pass back, and the misplaced ricochet from a falling Hearts player that landed at Shanklands feet, for the second goal. If that had been a Hibs player he would have been booked for diving!
03-03-2024, 07:43 PM
Even Liverpool don't have Allison the now 😉
True. Although their back up is terrific too. Not going to try spell his name.
Bakerman
03-03-2024, 07:51 PM
I think Beaton was very clever today. He gives Celtic a penalty, that never was a penalty. As he then uses that decision to counter any claims of being biased. He then has a Celtic player sent off for an offence that the referee had correctly given as a booking and then gives Hearts a penalty that was even less of a penalty that the one Celtic got. All in all a good days work in support of his favoured club. The only thing he couldn’t affect was Hearts incredible luck. The fact that Idah’s penalty was a no better than a pass back, and the misplaced ricochet from a falling Hearts player that landed at Shanklands feet, for the second goal. If that had been a Hibs player he would have been booked for diving!
If that was handball given for the hearts penalty, then every handball should be a penalty, the guy knew nothing about it. Its not var that is corrupt, the guys viewing it however? Its like Alice in Wonderland, with the establishment no longer caring that its out there in the domain. Its never been more evident.
LewysGot2
03-03-2024, 07:51 PM
True. Although their back up is terrific too. Not going to try spell his name.
Kelleher 😆
(Aye, I know what you meant 🤭)
Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 08:15 PM
Arsenal I'd expect after Monday to have scored more goals than City and Liverpool though I wonder how many more would they have with a top quality striker and extra points on top of that too .By the end of the season I'd expect that to change and arsenal still to finish 3rd behind the other two which is down to an area the gunners could improve imo .
03-03-2024, 08:27 PM
Arsenal I'd expect after Monday to have scored more goals than City and Liverpool though I wonder how many more would they have with a top quality striker and extra points on top of that too .By the end of the season I'd expect that to change and arsenal still to finish 3rd behind the other two which is down to an area the gunners could improve imo .
Man City have a top quality striker and they are not scoring more goals than Arsenal. Arsenal really wouldn't have many more goals with a different striker. It would change the team a lot.
03-03-2024, 08:28 PM
If that was handball given for the hearts penalty, then every handball should be a penalty, the guy knew nothing about it. Its not var that is corrupt, the guys viewing it however? Its like Alice in Wonderland, with the establishment no longer caring that its out there in the domain. Its never been more evident.
The acid test of whether a law is any good is the fairness test. If you’re up in the air leaping for a ball right at the edge of the box, and one of your own teammates nudges you which makes you change your movement, put up your arm slightly different direction and the ball brushes your arm as you try to regain your balance, an award of a pen against you is CLEARLY unfair. Why are we making our game deliberately less fair? Apart from folk who hate football, who can possibly benefit?
03-03-2024, 08:34 PM
The acid test of whether a law is any good is the fairness test. If you’re up in the air leaping for a ball right at the edge of the box, and one of your own teammates nudges you which makes you change your movement, put up your arm slightly different direction and the ball brushes your arm as you try to regain your balance, an award of a pen against you is CLEARLY unfair. Why are we making our game deliberately less fair? Apart from folk who hate football, who can possibly benefit?
THE THE THE RANGERS! It has never been so obvious as in the last 12 years that those who run Scottish Fitba are as corrupt as the conservatives!
Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 08:47 PM
Man City have a top quality striker and they are not scoring more goals than Arsenal. Arsenal really wouldn't have many more goals with a different striker. It would change the team a lot.
Fair enough mate , I'm not a gunners fan anyhow though I do like watching them in fairness , while you disagree I still think if they are going to win the league they will need one to do it .
03-03-2024, 08:52 PM
Fair enough mate , I'm not a gunners fan anyhow though I do like watching them in fairness , while you disagree I still think if they are going to win the league they will need one to do it .
They need a Partey replacement first. Expect that to be where the big money goes this summer.
Sparrows tongue
03-03-2024, 08:57 PM
Isn’t that Foden just a wee ****my ned?
If you saw him on the street, you’d cross the road. :agree:
Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 09:08 PM
Rodgers raging post match.
https://youtu.be/mK7c5OJbP7k?si=EQmIRR-w8avAEHbM
03-03-2024, 09:13 PM
Rodgers raging post match.
https://youtu.be/mK7c5OJbP7k?si=EQmIRR-w8avAEHbM
https://media.tenor.com/YmlDZPyN5nwAAAAM/nevermind-whatever.gif
Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 09:39 PM
Another reason it will keep happening I suppose .
03-03-2024, 09:42 PM
Another reason it will keep happening I suppose .
Against Celtic and Sevco, hope so.
Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 10:13 PM
Against Celtic and Sevco, hope so.
Honestly I couldn't care less about Celtic or Sevco though I'd rather see all games getting refereed fairly and with a level of consistency which isn't happening . Penalty today compared to ours at Aberdeen is ones given for a accidental handball and the others not for a deliberate one though I suppose it doesn't matter though! .
03-03-2024, 10:18 PM
Honestly I couldn't care less about Celtic or Sevco though I'd rather see all games getting refereed fairly and with a level of consistency which isn't happening . Penalty today compared to ours at Aberdeen is ones given for a accidental handball and the others not for a deliberate one though I suppose it doesn't matter though! .
I'd happily see decisions go against them for as long as they've gone for them. So about a hundred odd years of dodgy decisions should balance things out.
The press for the decisions today will be off the charts this coming week because it's Celtic. **** them.
03-03-2024, 10:33 PM
https://youtu.be/7zNwGXuLVKU?si=EovsnU0sAEIvnfPK
Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 10:46 PM
I'd happily see decisions go against them for as long as they've gone for them. So about a hundred odd years of dodgy decisions should balance things out.
The press for the decisions today will be off the charts this coming week because it's Celtic. **** them.
Nah , can't agree with you there mate . Personally I was hoping hertz took a right pumping today , I normally do btw . Things won't ever balance themselves out ,they will normally get more decision against us all though what happened today and like all season shows inconsistency , incompetence and the worst one of them all is corruption as well .
I hope the press do so the problems are in the spotlight more in order to make the game better because at the minute it's a f***ing disaster IMO .
03-03-2024, 11:26 PM
Lewis Ferguson scores the winner for Bologna @ Atlanta(1-2) to take them 4th in serie A
03-03-2024, 11:51 PM
Lewis Ferguson scores the winner for Bologna @ Atlanta(1-2) to take them 4th in serie A
Want to see him start against Germany at the Euro's along with Shankland but can't see that happening.
04-03-2024, 12:12 AM
Want to see him start against Germany at the Euro's along with Shankland but can't see that happening.
came a long way from his Hamilton to Aberdeen days, valued at £15.5m on transfer market, for some reason i thought he was a striker but apparently an attacking midfielder :)
Stairway 2 7
04-03-2024, 05:32 AM
He's very unlucky we have Mcginn, Mctominey and Gilmour probably ahead of him and Mcgregor does well for Scotland too. Great debth and we'll need them all. He definitely brings something different very dynamic, I've loved watching him this season they love him there
He has a point, red card was a yellow, no intent just dangerous and the penalty the guy was pushed by his own player and had no clue where the ball is, not incompetence but corruption, we've seen it against us all season, authorities are wanting Rangers to win the league this year, that simple.
04-03-2024, 07:24 AM
Start penalising referees by suspending them for repeated errors - they get paid around £900 a game, half that on VAR. Repeat mistakes should result in a 5 game suspension from all matches. Hit them in the pocket. No point demoting them as that carries on their ineptitude to the lower league teams.
Crunchie
04-03-2024, 07:42 AM
He has a point, red card was a yellow, no intent just dangerous and the penalty the guy was pushed by his own player and had no clue where the ball is, not incompetence but corruption, we've seen it against us all season, authorities are wanting Rangers to win the league this year, that simple.
Garbage, was Rodgers complaining at the ridiculous penalty they got against us for a collision of heads? Corruption my arse. Both clubs get more dodgy decisions than the rest of Scottish football combined.
04-03-2024, 08:05 AM
Yep, i thought he spoke quite well, agree with him. And i wish our managers, all of them in recent history, not just Monty, would react the same.
Musselbound
04-03-2024, 09:43 AM
He's very unlucky we have Mcginn, Mctominey and Gilmour probably ahead of him and Mcgregor does well for Scotland too. Great debth and we'll need them all. He definitely brings something different very dynamic, I've loved watching him this season they love him there
Still only 24 as well so no doubt his time will come for Scotland.
04-03-2024, 04:38 PM
Celtic send a letter to the SFA re the award of a penalty against them versus Hearts for handball
STV News at six
04-03-2024, 07:07 PM
1-0 to the Arsenal.
Donegal Hibby
04-03-2024, 07:08 PM
Sheff Utd could get a doing here .
04-03-2024, 07:08 PM
Arsenal in great league form just now. Feel sorry for SU that it's their turn to get leathered by the Gunners.
04-03-2024, 07:09 PM
Sheff Utd will get a doing here .
Ftfy
04-03-2024, 07:09 PM
Credit to the Sheff Utd fans for turning up but it must be soul destroying to watch your team getting pummelled every week
04-03-2024, 07:13 PM
0 - 2 - og!
er 0 - 3
04-03-2024, 07:14 PM
0-2 after 12 minutes. Own goal.
04-03-2024, 07:14 PM
Whoopsie, bungle from Bogle....
04-03-2024, 07:15 PM
Error, whoopsie again. 3-0. This will be ugly.
04-03-2024, 07:15 PM
If Arsenal keep their foot on the gas here this is 8 or 9
04-03-2024, 07:16 PM
0-3 after 14 minutes...
Oh dear! ☺️
By half time if they want to.
Donegal Hibby
Ftfy
Glad you did :greengrin
04-03-2024, 07:17 PM
A substitution after 16 mins - that must be a record for a tactical change!
04-03-2024, 07:17 PM
Hopefully Steve Clarke has turned this off and scored McBurnie off his list of Scottish players...
04-03-2024, 07:18 PM
A substitution after 16 mins - that must be a record for a tactical change!
Player going off looked like he was close to tears.
04-03-2024, 07:18 PM
Wouldn’t be a surprise, and it’d be the second time they’ve lost 8 goals this season in the league tae.
8-0 defeat at home to Newcastle earlier in the season.
They lost 5-0 at home to both Brighton and Villa in February.
Celtic send a letter to the SFA re the award of a penalty against them versus Hearts for handball
STV News at six
Didn't think either theirs or the Hearts one were penalties and thought the high boot was dangerous play. Celtic weren't particularly hard done by, they got their free gift 1st and missed it.
2 ridiculous penalties in a row Hearts have been gifted.
04-03-2024, 07:19 PM
Folk saying Arsenal need a goal scorer 😂
04-03-2024, 07:21 PM
Folk saying Arsenal need a goal scorer 😂
They’re playing Sheff Utd.
It’s like saying Hibs don’t need a defender cos we kept a clean sheet v Ross County.
Donegal Hibby
04-03-2024, 07:23 PM
Some of the fans had enough and leaving after 16 minutes.
04-03-2024, 07:23 PM
They’re playing Sheff Utd.
It’s like saying Hibs don’t need a defender cos we kept a clean sheet v Ross County.
They’re top scorers in the league without having goal scorer
04-03-2024, 07:24 PM
They’re top scorers in the league without having goal scorer
Who said they didn’t have goal scorers? That must be on a different forum.
04-03-2024, 07:25 PM
4-0
04-03-2024, 07:25 PM
Fore!!!!!!!!!!
04-03-2024, 07:26 PM
4-0 fans pouring out the stadium
04-03-2024, 07:29 PM
Who said they didn’t have goal scorers? That must be on a different forum.
You’re right, it was a top class striker folk said they need
04-03-2024, 07:30 PM
You’re right, it was a top class striker folk said they need
Yep.
And come July, when the seasons done, and they’ve won nothing…again.
Maybe they’ll go buy one?
04-03-2024, 07:30 PM
No PL team has hit double figures in a game....yet!
04-03-2024, 07:33 PM
Yep.
Possibly. And then next season when they still don’t win anything, what then?
04-03-2024, 07:36 PM
That's really poor from Arsenal, they failed to score from their last attack.......
04-03-2024, 07:36 PM
Possibly. And then next season when they still don’t win anything, what then?
New manager
04-03-2024, 07:38 PM
The way this game's going Arsenal could be 5-0 up at half time, playing away from home. Not sure that's ever been done in a top league in Britain.
04-03-2024, 07:39 PM
That's really poor from Arsenal, they failed to score from their last attack.......
As I was saying
0-5. Arsenal are class.
Best team to watch in the Premier league this season.
The way this game's going Arsenal could be 5-0 up at half time, playing away from home. Not sure that's ever been done in a top league in Britain.
Didn't think either theirs or the Hearts one were penalties and thought the high boot was dangerous play. Celtic weren't particularly hard done by, they got their free gift 1st and missed it.
2 ridiculous penalties in a row Hearts have been gifted.
High foot from jambo in derby. Foul to Hibs, no card.
https://i.ibb.co/gZx9mrC/Screenshot-20240304-200709-Gallery.jpg
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
04-03-2024, 07:49 PM
Sheff Utd have lost 71 goals in 27 league games so far with a goal difference of -49 . I think the record for most goals lost in a premier League season is 100 . Anyone know what club ?
04-03-2024, 07:50 PM
Sheff Utd have lost 71 goals in 27 league games so far with a goal difference of -49 . I think the record for most goals lost in a premier League season is 100 .
Their last 3 home games have finished 0-5, 0-5, 2-5.
04-03-2024, 07:53 PM
Sheff Utd have lost 71 goals in 27 league games so far with a goal difference of -49 . I think the record for most goals lost in a premier League season is 100 . Anyone know what club ?
Swindon
04-03-2024, 07:53 PM
Swindon Town 1993-94
04-03-2024, 07:54 PM
Swindon
Damn you!
04-03-2024, 07:55 PM
Damn you!
I saved precious time by only typing Swindon lol
Donegal Hibby
04-03-2024, 08:05 PM
Swindon
Swindon Town 1993-94
👍
Donegal Hibby
04-03-2024, 08:07 PM
Their last 3 home games have finished 0-5, 0-5, 2-5.
They could beat the record for most goals lost in a season the way they are going.
04-03-2024, 08:12 PM
https://x.com/fbawaydays/status/1764758401035153502?s=46&t=D_9KaoRnzKU_iJPtdJwUXQ
yonder1875
04-03-2024, 08:14 PM
Sheffield United are awful, we all know that.
But it’s the way that Arsenal did that to them in the first half was unbelievable, it was a joy to watch. They’ve been magnificent this calendar year since they found their shooting boots again after a strange dry spell infront of goal despite creating many chances.
Hope they win the league as for me they are the best side in the league and they don’t have 116 charges against them.
04-03-2024, 08:20 PM
Benny Blanco 6-0
04-03-2024, 08:37 PM
Sheffield United are awful, we all know that.
But it’s the way that Arsenal did that to them in the first half was unbelievable, it was a joy to watch. They’ve been magnificent this calendar year since they found their shooting boots again after a strange dry spell infront of goal despite creating many chances.
Hope they win the league as for me they are the best side in the league and they don’t have 116 charges against them.
Nope, not for me, if Sheff Utd were at all competitive this would've been a good game to watch but they're pish, they're getting relegated and acting like it, and you learn nothing new about Arsenal. I expected them to win easily and they did.
percy veer
04-03-2024, 08:43 PM
High foot from jambo in derby. Foul to Hibs, no card.
https://i.ibb.co/gZx9mrC/Screenshot-20240304-200709-Gallery.jpg
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
why doesnt it surprise me , and naismith has been banging on about managers complaining about VAR
04-03-2024, 08:44 PM
Yep.
Again, how is a striker holding them back? They score more than anyone and concede less?
04-03-2024, 08:48 PM
why doesnt it surprise me , and naismith has been banging on about managers complaining about VARCan't say I remember that tbh and unfortunately cant find it on the highlights
It's certainly looking dangerous though and if we actually got a free kick how's he no even been booked at least?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
yonder1875
04-03-2024, 08:54 PM
Nope, not for me, if Sheff Utd were at all competitive this would've been a good game to watch but they're pish, they're getting relegated and acting like it, and you learn nothing new about Arsenal. I expected them to win easily and they did.
Fair enough but Arsenal have also schooled Liverpool, West Ham, Burnley and Newcastle in the last 4 games too. And anyone who actually watched those games would have seen how impressive the actual performances were in addition to the scorelines.
yonder1875
04-03-2024, 08:56 PM
Again, how is a striker holding them back? They score more than anyone and concede less?
Just a lazy opinion tbh.
Arsenal are behind in the league so I make them 3rd faves and they have a tougher run in but people only deal in extremes so they’ll be labelled bottle jobs if they don’t win it and one of these other top sides do.
04-03-2024, 09:02 PM
Thousands of Sheff Utd fans left before half time, their club look happy enough to take the parachute payment again, another couple of seasons they'll probably be back up again and relegated again, teams like them swap leagues virtually every season and make plenty of money from being *****. Thank God for Sky...
Donegal Hibby
04-03-2024, 09:06 PM
I don't think it's a question of it holding them back more of if they added one it would improve them which surely you agree with too ? . Even now with Liverpool to play Man City and Arsenal a chance to go top I'd still say they are 3rd favourites to win the title .
04-03-2024, 09:10 PM
I don't think it's a question of it holding them back more of if they added one it would improve them which surely you agree with too ? . Even now with Liverpool to play Man City and Arsenal a chance to go top I'd still say they are 3rd favourites to win the title .
There are many 4 strikers in the world that improve Arsenal. None have been available until now. Osimhen might be in the summer. Otherwise it's a punt on a youngster like Sesko or Ferguson.
04-03-2024, 09:16 PM
I'm not saying they don't score. I'm not saying they're ****. All I've said is they're still a top class striker away from being a top side.
Arsenal score plenty goals, plenty good goals to watch too. When the possession based 100 passes then a goal doesn't work, then what?
They're 1-0 down in the Champions League after losing at Porto without having a shot on target. They lost 2-0 in the FA Cup to a hugely weakened Liverpool team.
Look at City, they set up playing the same passing football as Arsenal a couple of years back. Goals aplenty, spread about the many forward players. Didnae get them over the line though. Sign Haaland. Top-class striker, direct. Champions League first season.
I read yesterday that Fabrizio Romano says they're considering a move for Gyokeres, for £80m.
04-03-2024, 09:18 PM
Just a lazy opinion tbh.
Arsenal are behind in the league so I make them 3rd faves and they have a tougher run in but people only deal in extremes so they’ll be labelled bottle jobs if they don’t win it and one of these other top sides do.
https://www.football365.com/news/wright-urges-arsenal-sign-killer-january-top-end-striker-identified#:~:text=%E2%80%9CThe%20calibre%20of%20p layer%20Arsenal,will%20slot%20in%20straight%20away .
Is it lazy for Ian Wright to think it too? What does he know about top class strikers at a team like Arsenal anyway.
04-03-2024, 09:21 PM
I'm not saying they don't score. I'm not saying they're ****. All I've said is they're still a top class striker away from being a top side.
Arsenal score plenty goals, plenty good goals to watch too. When the possession based 100 passes then a goal doesn't work, then what?
They're 1-0 down in the Champions League after losing at Porto without having a shot on target. They lost 2-0 in the FA Cup to a hugely weakened Liverpool team.
Look at City, they set up playing the same passing football as Arsenal a couple of years back. Goals aplenty, spread about the many forward players. Didnae get them over the line though. Sign Haaland. Top-class striker, direct. Champions League first season.
I read yesterday that Fabrizio Romano says they're considering a move for Gyokeres, for £80m.
Nice . Chelsea won the CL with Havertz up front. Why can't Arsenal?
They played Liverpool off the pitch in the FA cup. Something that happens to any side, regardless of their strikers. Or else City would win every game.
City literally implode without Rodri. Couldn't buy a win when he was suspended. Why don't they get the same nonsense?
04-03-2024, 09:26 PM
:aok: Arsenal don't win anything.
Liverpool won it with Djimi Traore at left back, so maybe that's the secret, signing a **** left back?
04-03-2024, 09:27 PM
Liverpool won it with Djimi Traore at left back, so maybe that's the secret, signing a **** left back?
Arsenal have won quite a bit mate. Even their current manager has won a major trophy while in charge of them.
04-03-2024, 09:28 PM
They played Liverpool off the pitch in the FA cup. Something that happens to any side, regardless of their strikers. Or else City would win every game.
City literally implode without Rodri. Couldn't buy a win when he was suspended. Why don't they get the same nonsense?
Aye, and if they didn't have Rodri anymore, folk would say they need a top player in that role if they want to win things.
I dinnae see how that supports your point?
I also don't see why you care so much if someone else thinks Arsenal would be in with a better chance of winning trophies if they had a top class striker. It's just an opinion, you dinnae have to agree.
Donegal Hibby
04-03-2024, 09:42 PM
There are many 4 strikers in the world that improve Arsenal. None have been available until now. Osimhen might be in the summer. Otherwise it's a punt on a youngster like Sesko or Ferguson.
I have read that Arsenal are willing to sell Nketiah with both spurs and Newcastle interested and that Arsenal have drawn up a short list of 3 or 4 strikers , Osimhen is one though Chelsea are reported to be leading the race for him.
Arsenal goals are coming from a lot of different players which is a good thing though I still think Arteta knows he needs a top quality striker and I fully expect him to sign one in the summer for a lot of money maybe as much as Rice cost them . If they do it will obviously improve them in a area that probably need too .
04-03-2024, 10:09 PM
Aye, and if they didn't have Rodri anymore, folk would say they need a top player in that role if they want to win things.
I dinnae see how that supports your point?
I also don't see why you care so much if someone else thinks Arsenal would be in with a better chance of winning trophies if they had a top class striker. It's just an opinion, you dinnae have to agree.
Of course not. I know I'm free to disagree. So are you.
Neither is fact. I do believe mine is based on fact/stats more than the idea the need a striker.
I've already said Kane/Harland/mbappe improve them. Very few others though.
Stairway 2 7
05-03-2024, 09:43 AM
Of course not. I know I'm free to disagree. So are you.
Neither is fact. I do believe mine is based on fact/stats more than the idea the need a striker.
I've already said Kane/Harland/mbappe improve them. Very few others though.
The 3 you mentioned would but wouldn't come
Gyokeres, Lautaro Martínez, Osimhen, Lewandowski, Marcus Thuram, Darwin Nunez, Serhou Guirassy, Ollie Watkins, Lois Openda
I think they all improve Arsenal, although some wouldn't go i think they would be able to get a few.
05-03-2024, 10:10 AM
The 3 you mentioned would but wouldn't come
Gyokeres, Lautaro Martínez, Osimhen, Lewandowski, Marcus Thuram, Darwin Nunez, Serhou Guirassy, Ollie Watkins, Lois Openda
I think they all improve Arsenal, although some wouldn't go i think they would be able to get a few.
Martinez yes. Lewandowski on the come down and not worth the silly wages anymore. Osimhen toiled with injuries. Gyokeres, possibly but not proven at that level. Others aren't better than a fit Jesus.
Who are you dropping for one of these guys? Because none of that attacking unit are failing Arsenal.
There is a reason man united and Liverpool have had to sign projects like Hjolund and Nunez. Very few world class strikers right now.
Stairway 2 7
05-03-2024, 10:20 AM
Martinez yes. Lewandowski on the come down. Osimhen toiled with injuries. Gyokeres, possibly but not proven at that level. Others aren't better than a fit Jesus.
Who are you dropping for one of these guys? Because none of that attacking unit are failing Arsenal.
Haverts has 8 goals in 37 this season martinelli 8 in 32, Jesus 4 goals in 18 Premier games. You'd drop any of them when in a poor scoring run, it's a squad game and all mentioned would improve Arsenal's squad if they are to win the big trophies.
I agree with Ian Wright's assessment above that they need a killer striker although it's hard in January I'm sure it's where they will focus in the summer
05-03-2024, 10:35 AM
Haverts has 8 goals in 37 this season martinelli 8 in 32, Jesus 4 goals in 18 Premier games. You'd drop any of them when in a poor scoring run, it's a squad game and all mentioned would improve Arsenal's squad if they are to win the big trophies.
I agree with Ian Wright's assessment above that they need a killer striker although it's hard in January I'm sure it's where they will focus in the summer
Those guys bring much more than scoring power though. Havertz is a brilliant presser, outlet for long balls, interceptions, hold up play. He's vital.
Martinelli plays left wing with zero support from fullback and causes havoc.
As I say, kane, Haaland etc improve them. Few others. They have squad options. Any striker they sign has to be the finished article to genuinely improve them.
VoltaireHibs
05-03-2024, 01:14 PM
Those guys bring much more than scoring power though. Havertz is a brilliant presser, outlet for long balls, interceptions, hold up play. He's vital.
Martinelli plays left wing with zero support from fullback and causes havoc.
As I say, kane, Haaland etc improve them. Few others. They have squad options. Any striker they sign has to be the finished article to genuinely improve them.
Haaland's a pretty good example of the problems of a focal point striker. I think City play better football when he's not in the team. He's adapting quite well at City (goals scored is phenomenal), but I do think he stops them playing their natural game as he's an easy get out.
It would be the same at Arsenal. At the moment they are unbelievably fluid and must a total nightmare to defend against, but stick a focal point striker up there and I suspect they'd become more predictable.
The player they should have bought, imo, was Hojlund. Young, mobile, increasingly clinical but also has good technique and would have brought a physicality which is the only thing you could argue that they lack. But as you say, they're banging them in at a frightening rate so not sure why anyone at Arsenal would want to change it.
05-03-2024, 01:42 PM
Haaland's a pretty good example of the problems of a focal point striker. I think City play better football when he's not in the team. He's adapting quite well at City (goals scored is phenomenal), but I do think he stops them playing their natural game as he's an easy get out.
It would be the same at Arsenal. At the moment they are unbelievably fluid and must a total nightmare to defend against, but stick a focal point striker up there and I suspect they'd become more predictable.
The player they should have bought, imo, was Hojlund. Young, mobile, increasingly clinical but also has good technique and would have brought a physicality which is the only thing you could argue that they lack. But as you say, they're banging them in at a frightening rate so not sure why anyone at Arsenal would want to change it.
Haaland scored 50 odd goals and they won the treble in his first season so I don’t think he’s really caused them too many problems.
VoltaireHibs
05-03-2024, 04:51 PM
Haaland scored 50 odd goals and they won the treble in his first season so I don’t think he’s really caused them too many problems.
Yes, I agree that he's not caused real problems, but he does disrupt their style a fair bit imo. He's certainly not a typical Pep player. He's also a bit of a one off. As MW said, Haaland is one of the very few strikers that may, may, improve Arsenal. But he would also disrupt that attack that comes from all directions.
Donegal Hibby
05-03-2024, 05:01 PM
Quite a few English championship games on Skysports red button 7:45 and some National League games on NL TV .
Ipswich v Bristol City 8:00 SSM .
Bayern M v Lazio 8:00 TNT 1.
Real Sociedad v PSG 8:00 TNT 2 .
I will probably watch Leeds v Stoke though .
Donegal Hibby
05-03-2024, 07:12 PM
Coventry 1- 0 Rotherham Simms
Sunderland 0-1 Leicester :LOL: . Vardy .
05-03-2024, 07:20 PM
finally Leeds 1 Stoke 0
Donegal Hibby
05-03-2024, 07:35 PM
finally Leeds 1 Stoke 0
2 or 3 nil wouldn't flatter Leeds here , thought they had a good shout for a penalty too.
05-03-2024, 07:36 PM
I’m just listening to the Champions League games on Radio 5. The commentary game is Bayern v Lazio with Vicki Sparks and Pat Nevin.
However they cut to Conor Macnamara who is doing the PSG game. He was saying that Mbappe’s goal was struck so hard that it actually dislodged the netting from the posts. Conor said it was Hot Shot Hamish stuff.
When they cut back to Vicki and Pat, Mr. Nevin then asked his Co-commentator if she knew who Hot Shot Hamish was - cue silence mainly because Vicki Sparks is only 33 lol
05-03-2024, 07:37 PM
2 or 3 nil wouldn't flatter Leeds here , thought they had a good shout for a penalty too.
after watching seven replays i still couldn't make my mind up
Trinity Hibee
05-03-2024, 07:49 PM
That 2nd Bayern goal was possibly offside but if it was it was an arm that was off. No mucking about. Goal given virtually straight away
05-03-2024, 08:05 PM
That 2nd Bayern goal was possibly offside but if it was it was an arm that was off. No mucking about. Goal given virtually straight away
Yep, I suppose the question is - are we just mucking about with it too much, looking for bawhair decisions?
05-03-2024, 08:11 PM
Celtc lose the appeal against the red card v Hearts.
Bakerman
05-03-2024, 08:14 PM
Celtc lose the appeal against the red card v Hearts.
Hearts seem to be one of the few teams, that have have been treated favorably, regularly from Var.
05-03-2024, 08:24 PM
Leeds have dropped two gears the last 15 mins, £5 stoke next goal
05-03-2024, 08:26 PM
Harry Kane with his 2nd and Bayerns 3rd.
33 goals in 33 matches. What a striker !
05-03-2024, 08:29 PM
And not a medal to his name
Aw aye the Audi cup
raeburnhibs
05-03-2024, 08:30 PM
Yes he is, but he has contrived to join Bayern, a team who always win their league, in a year they almost certainly won't
Donegal Hibby
05-03-2024, 08:49 PM
Late drama in the Ipswich game , 2-2 and now penalty to Ipswich . Keeper saves it ! 4 minutes to go .
Ardenttwo
05-03-2024, 08:52 PM
Late drama in the Ipswich game , 2-2 and now penalty to Ipswich . Keeper saves it ! 4 minutes to go .
3-2.
Donegal Hibby
Ipswich score in the 89 minutes Ipswich 3-2 Bristol city.
Ipswich are the jammiest shower in this championship 3-2 v Bristol City on 89 mins, then again they just keep going, 8 mins added on
Ardenttwo
05-03-2024, 08:53 PM
Ipswich score in the 89 minutes Ipswich 3-2 Bristol city.
Some game. See Hogg assistant at Bristol City.
Trinity Hibee
05-03-2024, 08:53 PM
Yep, I suppose the question is - are we just mucking about with it too much, looking for bawhair decisions?
We absolutely are. Actively look long for reasons to disallow goals or question the referee and to make him look again. Invariably when a referee is asked to look again he changes his mind. Obviously the derby inexplicably is contrary to that.
05-03-2024, 08:55 PM
32 years since Ipswich won six on the bounce
Donegal Hibby
05-03-2024, 08:56 PM
Some game. See Hogg assistant at Bristol City.
Sure is , might be another twist yet with 8 minutes added time . Assistant to Liam manning . Good manager imo.
Bakerman
05-03-2024, 08:58 PM
We absolutely are. Actively look long for reasons to disallow goals or question the referee and to make him look again. Invariably when a referee is asked to look again he changes his mind. Obviously the derby inexplicably is contrary to that.
Clancy resembled Craig Thompson when being contrary to var. Looked like a cardigan wearing, mercer tory, smug git, when running back towards the penalty spot. No doubt about it.
05-03-2024, 09:10 PM
Watford sitting on 12th with 44 points and 3rd bottom side on 38 points
been a great season again in the championship
Mango Man
05-03-2024, 09:11 PM
Hearts seem to be one of the few teams, that have have been treated favorably, regularly from Var.
100%, even last season, the amount of penalties they would get was a joke, Shankland seemed to score every week with them, and also sending offs for other teams happened very frequently against them, it's just carried on to this season.
I remember saying to a jambo mate of mine just as VAR was coming to Scotland, that Hibs are exactly the kind of team that would get screwed over with it, we are just that kind of team.
05-03-2024, 09:11 PM
Watford sitting on 12th with 44 points and 3rd bottom side on 38 points
been a great season again in the championship
Championship is unbelievable.
05-03-2024, 09:14 PM
Championship is unbelievable.
should expand the Premier league to 24 teams
just for this season though:whistle:
He's here!
05-03-2024, 09:16 PM
Pretty sure Arsenal have won more major trophies than any English team bar Man U and Liverpool.
Bakerman
100%, even last season, the amount of penalties they would get was a joke, Shankland seemed to score every week with them, and also sending offs for other teams happened very frequently against them, it's just carried on to this season.
I remember saying to a jambo mate of mine just as VAR was coming to Scotland, that Hibs are exactly the kind of team that would get screwed over with it, we are just that kind of team.
They have been beneficiaries, while we have been at the wrong end of decisions. Its just been farcical almost. We need change from the lanarkshire mob, no doubt.
Donegal Hibby
English championship is very exciting this year with some very good football being played. I've actually enjoyed watching it more than the premier League this year tbh which is partly down to there being no VAR as well.
05-03-2024, 09:26 PM
Aston Villa have reported a loss of £119.6m for season 2022-23, wages increased from £137m to £194.2m
they should sell SJM for £70m :)
hope the PL are keeping an eye on their finances, Villa have form from their promotion season
05-03-2024, 09:31 PM
Aston Villa have reported a loss of £119.6m for season 2022-23, wages increased from £137m to £194.2m
they should sell SJM for £70m :)
hope the PL are keeping an eye on their finances, Villa have form from their promotion season
Was thinking the same earlier :greengrin. They'll sell Ramsey first I'd imagine.
05-03-2024, 09:43 PM
Was thinking the same earlier :greengrin. They'll sell Ramsey first I'd imagine.
or ollie watkins
05-03-2024, 09:50 PM
or ollie watkins
Can't see that unless they get an outrageous fee for him. They'll be struggling to replace Watkins.
Trinity Hibee
06-03-2024, 06:19 AM
English championship is very exciting this year with some very good football being played. I've actually enjoyed watching it more than the premier League this year tbh which is partly down to there being no VAR as well.
Just looked at the table. Can’t believe Leicester have blown a huge lead. Also the relegation battle involving about 8 or 9 teams is crazy. Will be a very exciting end to the season.
06-03-2024, 06:27 AM
If they finish 4th they should be fine. Huge money from CL.
Donegal Hibby
06-03-2024, 07:10 AM
Just looked at the table. Can’t believe Leicester have blown a huge lead. Also the relegation battle involving about 8 or 9 teams is crazy. Will be a very exciting end to the season.
A big lead blown by Leicester alright and now with Ipswich and Leeds putting pressure on it will be interesting to see how they handle it , anyone's guess who's going to win it now . Your right the relegation battles mad with teams near mid table still not out of danger, a couple of decent sized clubs involved too . Probably see a few more twists at both ends of the table before the end of the season too .
Trinity Hibee
06-03-2024, 07:17 AM
A big lead blown by Leicester alright and now with Ipswich and Leeds putting pressure on it will be interesting to see how they handle it , anyone's guess who's going to win it now . Your right the relegation battles mad with teams near mid table still not out of danger, a couple of decent sized clubs involved too . Probably see a few more twists at both ends of the table before the end of the season too .
Nisbets millwall and Porto’s Watford not safe. Millwall in particular in danger of going down. It wouldn’t look such a great move if he drops to league 1
Don't really care, both wanted away, they chose where to go.
Donegal Hibby
06-03-2024, 09:07 AM
Don't really care, both wanted away, they chose where to go.
I was of the same opinion though after a rethink I would rather see both clubs and them doing well on the chance they might make us some cash in the future .
06-03-2024, 09:30 AM
Nisbet in particular couldn't wait to get away for a payday. If he ends up in League 1 as we start looking at European Groups (all going well) then I can't say I'll feel too bad for him.
06-03-2024, 09:40 AM
I was of the same opinion though after a rethink I would rather see both clubs and them doing well on the chance they might make us some cash in the future .
If they get relegated, they might be forced to sell players...
06-03-2024, 09:42 AM
Nisbet in particular couldn't wait to get away for a payday. If he ends up in League 1 as we start looking at European Groups (all going well) then I can't say I'll feel too bad for him.
Football is a job at the end of the day and Nisbet has suffered some very bad injuries, he'd know he was maybe one bad tackle away from a career ender.
Don't have any ill feeling towards the guy whatsoever personally. Done well for us, got us a few million and secured a move that will set him up for life financially.
Donegal Hibby
06-03-2024, 10:11 AM
If they get relegated, they might be forced to sell players...
Good point though that would probably effect how much we would get for them too though I suppose a piece of cakes better than none at all .
06-03-2024, 10:12 AM
Good point though that would probably effect how much we would get for them too though I suppose a piece of cakes better than none at all .
Yep, and they could get sold on again.
06-03-2024, 10:42 AM
Yep, and they could get sold on again.
How much for the gourd?
06-03-2024, 11:20 AM
I would imagine both clubs are thinking that the moves haven't been too great for them either. Nisbets more so through injury and Porteous not living up to expectations (according to Watford fans anyway).
Stairway 2 7
06-03-2024, 12:07 PM
Football is a job at the end of the day and Nisbet has suffered some very bad injuries, he'd know he was maybe one bad tackle away from a career ender.
Don't have any ill feeling towards the guy whatsoever personally. Done well for us, got us a few million and secured a move that will set him up for life financially.
Fit Fitba fans are bizarre. If your pal said he got a new job downsouth on 4 times the wages, no one would think where is your loyalty I don't care if you fail.
Unless a player goes to the old firm then I wish them good luck
06-03-2024, 12:19 PM
Fit Fitba fans are bizarre. If your pal said he got a new job downsouth on 4 times the wages, no one would think where is your loyalty I don't care if you fail.
Some would probably argue that it’s bizarre that you would adapt your opinion to suit your dislike of Celtic and rangers. Especially when a move there is less upheaval for a player.
But for what it’s worth, I entirely agree with you 😁
06-03-2024, 12:47 PM
If I was at Hibs on 2k and got offered a move to Celtic or Rangers for 12k a week, I'd be off along the motorway in a shot.
And that applies for 99% of people despite what they may claim. It's easy to say something like that to show how much of a fan you are, completely different scenario if it were be reality.
06-03-2024, 01:14 PM
If I was at Hibs on 2k and got offered a move to Celtic or Rangers for 12k a week, I'd be off along the motorway in a shot.
And that applies for 99% of people despite what they may claim. It's easy to say something like that to show how much of a fan you are, completely different scenario if it were be reality.
Bolton or Sunderland or whatever, sure. Never ever Rangers and Celtic. I would never be able to wear those shirts with what they represent.
06-03-2024, 02:00 PM
Bolton or Sunderland or whatever, sure. Never ever Rangers and Celtic. I would never be able to wear those shirts with what they represent.
Easy to say as it will never happen, different when a contract worth millions is put out infront of you.
06-03-2024, 03:39 PM
Easy to say as it will never happen, different when a contract worth millions is put out infront of you.
It's not for me personally. I don't become a bigot for any price. Simple really.
06-03-2024, 03:53 PM
It's not for me personally. I don't become a bigot for any price. Simple really.
If only we could be all be as morally righteous as yourself the world would be a better place.
06-03-2024, 03:58 PM
So all those players are bigots, that's some claim
VoltaireHibs
06-03-2024, 04:12 PM
The majority of them are from abroad and have zero idea of the kind of club they're moving to. The Scottish ones tend to be supporters and already fairly immersed in that culture. If I had an offer of 10k a week from Rangers or Celtic I'd be asking my agent what English teams were offering. I'm with MW on this, no amount of money would persuade me to join them.
VoltaireHibs
06-03-2024, 04:28 PM
If only we could be all be as morally righteous as yourself the world would be a better place.
I don't think having morals you stand by makes you morally righteous. He's not asking you to do it.
06-03-2024, 04:39 PM
The majority of them are from abroad and have zero idea of the kind of club they're moving to. The Scottish ones tend to be supporters and already fairly immersed in that culture. If I had an offer of 10k a week from Rangers or Celtic I'd be asking my agent what English teams were offering. I'm with MW on this, no amount of money would persuade me to join them.
As already pointed out, very easy to say that when it's never going to happen, I'd imagine most people would jump at life changing money. Doesn't automatically make them bigots either
VoltaireHibs
06-03-2024, 04:49 PM
As already pointed out, very easy to say that when it's never going to happen, I'd imagine most people would jump at life changing money. Doesn't automatically make them bigots either
It doesn't make them bigots, no. But it probably makes them hypocrites. Probably. I had an inheritance tax situation, I could have used a two year tax avoidance scheme to avoid it, easily, but I paid the tax because I believe in fair taxation and paying for public services. It wasn't chump change either.
Some things are worth more than money, but likewise I wouldn't judge anyone that took the dosh. We all have our red lines.
06-03-2024, 04:51 PM
I don't always agree with MWHibbie on here, so this is not a thoughtless bit of automatic support (but btw, I enjoy MWHibbies conrtributions even where I disagree)
On this occasion I'm with them 100%
If you are a Gazza or a Di Canio, sure you haven't been brought up in the bigotry - but they quickly wore it like a cloak to ingratiate themselves with the "ultra" bigots of both clubs. Graham Spears had a good phrase for it - "cultural transvestites".
For that reason I greatly admire folk like Lewis Ferguson and Josh Doig who have gone overseas and developed as players, earning more money than they would have at their clubs in Scotland, but without joining the Pondlife
06-03-2024, 04:58 PM
I don't always agree with MWHibbie on here, so this is not a thoughtless bit of automatic support (but btw, I enjoy MWHibbies conrtributions even where I disagree)
On this occasion I'm with them 100%
If you are a Gazza or a Di Canio, sure you haven't been brought up in the bigotry - but they quickly wore it like a cloak to ingratiate themselves with the "ultra" bigots of both clubs. Graham Spears had a good phrase for it - "cultural transvestites".
For that reason I greatly admire folk like Lewis Ferguson and Josh Doig who have gone overseas and developed as players, earning more money than they would have at their clubs in Scotland, but without joining the Pondlife
Each to their own, if you could say no to thousands of pounds more each week then great, personally don't think I could but now in my 40s that's never going to happen!
VoltaireHibs
06-03-2024, 05:06 PM
Each to their own, if you could say no to thousands of pounds more each week then great, personally don't think I could but now in my 40s that's never going to happen!
Yes, our window of opportunity has probably passed. 😉
Stairway 2 7
06-03-2024, 05:13 PM
Some would probably argue that it’s bizarre that you would adapt your opinion to suit your dislike of Celtic and rangers. Especially when a move there is less upheaval for a player.
But for what it’s worth, I entirely agree with you 😁
I'm not adapting my opinion, I'm saying I wouldn't want them to do well as they are a direct rival its not about disliking them, although coincidentally i do ha. I would understand them moving 100% I'd do the same.
06-03-2024, 05:23 PM
Probably not, no. Im no perfect person and I don't claim to be. I just feel very strongly about bigotry.
Perhaps they aren't, but wearing that strip and never saying a word about the vile songs sung is enabling it imo.
06-03-2024, 05:28 PM
It's also hypocritical if the suggestion is any player who plays for them is a bigot or enabled it.
How many players have we had, that some people claiming this have likely cheered and supported, have played for them?
In recent years we've had Riordan, Ian Murray, Scott Allan, Dylan McGeough. I'd imagine there's a fair chance, when he's not at Premier League level anymore, SJM has a year or 2 at the end of his career plays a season or 2 at Celtic. The definition given on here would make him a bigot or has enabled bigotry.
The clubs greatest ever player played for Celtic.
I'd assume those claiming they are bigots have never cheered a goal or spoken highly of them. That would be a tad hypocritical.
VoltaireHibs
06-03-2024, 05:33 PM
It's also hypocritical if the suggestion is any player who plays for them is a bigot or enabled it.
How many players have we had, that some people claiming this have likely cheered and supported, have played for them?
In recent years we've had Riordan, Ian Murray, Scott Allan, Dylan McGeough. I'd imagine there's a fair chance, when he's not at Premier League level anymore, SJM has a year or 2 at the end of his career plays a season or 2 at Celtic. The definition given on here would make him a bigot or has enabled bigotry.
I'd assume those claiming they are bigots have never cheered a goal or spoken highly of them. That would be a tad hypocritical.
I don't think anyone is saying they are automatically bigots (although some certainly become that), rather that they're condoning the continuation of sectarianism in Scotland by playing for two teams who's support and ethos remain situated somewhere around the 18th century.
Stairway 2 7
06-03-2024, 05:33 PM
Agreed its nonsense to say every player is a bigot, what about every fan are they also a bigot to a man/woman/kid
One point of correction Gordon Smith never played for the Celtic.. Although Saint Pat did and he's no bigot
06-03-2024, 05:35 PM
Probably not, no. Im no perfect person and I don't claim to be. I just feel very strongly about bigotry.
Perhaps they aren't, but wearing that strip and never saying a word about the vile songs sung is enabling it imo.
Merely play devils advocate. You, and me, go to watch a club that enable bigotry in Scottish football by saying nothing. Is there not an argument that alongside a principled stand of never joining the Old Firm going to watch a club that enables bigotry should also be a line in the sand?
06-03-2024, 05:41 PM
Merely play devils advocate. You, and me, go to watch a club that enable bigotry in Scottish football by saying nothing. Is there not an argument that alongside a principled stand of never joining the Old Firm going to watch a club that enables bigotry should also be a line in the sand?
I'm pretty ashamed Hibs never speak out about it, yes. Although it's a lot more of an indirect route than actually playing for Rangers and Celtic, you may have a point.