View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread
16-11-2023, 05:27 PM
The Georgians are giving the Latins a run for their money in the simulation lark.
This referee is extremely poor. Buying every bit of their antics.
We complain about our refs, they're great compared to this numpty, he's brutal.
The Georgians are giving the Latins a run for their money in the simulation lark.
Glad we've knocked the d***heads out.
16-11-2023, 05:31 PM
home players taking a helluva beating here
16-11-2023, 05:32 PM
Every time I look up at the screen a Georgia player is writhing around on the pitch. Literally nothing's changed since 2007 lmao
The rolling about after every challenge is ridiculous and this ref is buying it every time.
Time to get Dykes off, he's done nowt all gane, time for Tifal man.
16-11-2023, 05:35 PM
This games shows the need for a fit first choice XI for the Euros.
16-11-2023, 05:37 PM
This is where VAR is a shame. What this game needs is a good old fashioned 'reason to go down' tackle from Scotland.
This is pitiful stuff from the Georgians.
16-11-2023, 05:39 PM
This games shows the need for a fit first choice XI for the Euros.
Some of this squad won’t be at the Euro’s next year.
16-11-2023, 05:39 PM
get McTominay off
:(
16-11-2023, 05:42 PM
Cheating ****.
16-11-2023, 05:42 PM
Cheating ****.
Which one? :greengrin
16-11-2023, 05:43 PM
absolutely pathetic that number 6 Georgian player
16-11-2023, 05:43 PM
The fact that Georgia still employ play acting as their primary game management strategy 16 years after we first saw them do this shows that FIFA don't give a **** about stamping it out.
16-11-2023, 05:46 PM
Cyprus 1 Spain 3
16-11-2023, 05:48 PM
87 mins Shankland for Dykes
fgs Clarke give players at least some time to have any effect
ridiculous time for a sub when chasing the game
16-11-2023, 05:49 PM
Cyprus 1 Spain 3
A wee chink in the armour.:greengrin
16-11-2023, 05:49 PM
I wouldn't necessarily say any of them NEVER turned up for Scotland. But certainly not with the same consistency they turned up for their domestic teams.
Of course, different systems, different manager styles etc, not the same teammates. Perhaps I am being harsh, but McGregor should be the heartbeat of this team - instead, he opts for wee one-twos and backward passes more often than he takes us forward. He's frustrating.
He's very good at keeping possession of the ball, something that Scotland for years were terrible at. It's no coincidence as we've got better at that side of the game with players like him and Gilmour that we've produced better results.
16-11-2023, 05:50 PM
:7: mins added
16-11-2023, 05:52 PM
2-2
2-2 the shank :greengrin:greengrin
Great header from Shankland.
Brilliant goal you Hearts *******. Now finish them.
16-11-2023, 05:53 PM
Massive forehead to the rescue!
Up-the-slope
It feels wrong to be happy that Shankland has scored :wink:
Bridge hibs
Heiiiiidddd !!!
Is there VAR for this game, you'd never have thought it with the Georgians play acting.
BobbyT1875
16-11-2023, 05:54 PM
Biggest forehead in football. I’d never celebrate a hertz player scoring.
16-11-2023, 05:55 PM
Might as well turn of the TV now, this Georgian's going to run down the rest of the clock play acting.
16-11-2023, 05:57 PM
Oops
16-11-2023, 05:57 PM
If that goes in it's an amazing team goal.
16-11-2023, 05:58 PM
Do Spain play Georgia on Sunday? Hope Georgia get one over them. 🤞
Only what we deserved against these cheating gits.
MelbourneHibees
16-11-2023, 05:59 PM
Is there VAR for this game, you'd never have thought it with the Georgians play acting.
What would VAR have to do with that?
16-11-2023, 05:59 PM
Scotland's very own slabheid to the rescue....
16-11-2023, 06:01 PM
FT Cyprus 1 Spain 3
Heiiiiidddd !!!
https://i.ibb.co/vJfKQ0k/Flu-XCBMWABY2-UFO.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)
Stairway 2 7
16-11-2023, 06:02 PM
16 points with one to play really is exceptional for Scotland in that group
What would VAR have to do with that?
Maybe over turn some free kicks that weren't and stop them play acting holding their faces when no ones near them, VAR is there to assist the ref, if he's seen most of what went on tonight, then it says more about him.
16-11-2023, 06:06 PM
Maybe over turn some free kicks that weren't and stop them play acting holding their faces when no ones near them, VAR is there to assist the ref, if he's seen most of what went on tonight, then it says more about him.
Var don't overturn free kicks as far as I know unless it's in relation to a goal.
Quite happy with that TBH. The game would be unbelievably stop start if they started getting involved in any kind of dubious free kick awarded. Would end like up NFL with the amount of time the game stopped and started.
Has probably just sealed his move to Rangers in January.
16-11-2023, 06:09 PM
Do Spain play Georgia on Sunday? Hope Georgia get one over them. 🤞
I don’t think Spain will slip up, but our draw tonight means that they still have to get a draw on Sunday to win the group. If they lose and we win, we finish top. I think my arithmetic is right.:greengrin
16-11-2023, 06:15 PM
surprised we've only ever played Georgia six times
W-3
L-2
D-1
should be due a tie with Israel soon shirly
16-11-2023, 06:28 PM
Has probably just sealed his move to Rangers in January.
Please let this happen. Less jambos in the Scotland team the better.
16-11-2023, 06:31 PM
Please let this happen. Less jambos in the Scotland team the better.
Seconded 😏
16-11-2023, 06:33 PM
Or, well done Steve Clarke
16-11-2023, 06:50 PM
Is that Victor Pallson playing for Iceland?
16-11-2023, 06:52 PM
Is that Victor Pallson playing for Iceland?
Yep.
16-11-2023, 06:59 PM
Yep.
In the pub and couldn't hear anything but wondered
Var don't overturn free kicks as far as I know unless it's in relation to a goal.
Quite happy with that TBH. The game would be unbelievably stop start if they started getting involved in any kind of dubious free kick awarded. Would end like up NFL with the amount of time the game stopped and started.
Yeah, I forgot they don't get involved unless a goal or serious foul play, just so pissed off watching them cheat at every opportunity, feigning injury etc, I just wish VAR did get involved in all that BS.
16-11-2023, 07:51 PM
He was a Scotland player tonight.
16-11-2023, 07:53 PM
Slovakia 3 Iceland 1
4-1
16-11-2023, 08:13 PM
It was a great header from Shankland and a deserved point. Their fouling and play acting was a disgrace.
Caught Sportsound post match driving home. Levein etc spouting guff that Shankland is different from any other forward we have in linking up play, penalty box striker etc. Seemed to have completely forgotten about Nesbit. Embarrassing amateurism.
16-11-2023, 08:15 PM
It was a great header from Shankland and a deserved point. Their fouling and play acting was a disgrace.
Caught Sportsound post match driving home. Levein etc spouting guff that Shankland is different from any other forward we have in linking up play, penalty box striker etc. Seemed to have completely forgotten about Nesbit. Embarrassing amateurism.
Shankland very different to Niz tbh.
16-11-2023, 08:19 PM
4-2 Slovakia
He's here!
16-11-2023, 10:51 PM
Back in the days I went to Scotland games I remember once not being able to fully get behind the team because John Robertson had been handed a rare start. When Scotland scored I had to check it wasn't him before celebrating. Thankfully it was McCoist.
Part of the reason I drifted away from watching Scotland games was I came to realise I didn't really like most of the players. Most weeks I'd be booing them against Hibs who, when all's said and done, are the only team that matters.
17-11-2023, 12:16 AM
Shankland is apparently Scotlands best striker now after 1 goal and 10 minutes play. He must be on his way to Ibrox with this level of accolade.
Budge will sell him in January as she'll have to pay for the hotel overspend somehow or other.
Haaland injured so could well be out for Sunday.
https://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/1835926/Erling-Haaland-injury-Man-City-Liverpool-Norway
17-11-2023, 05:09 AM
Haaland injured so could well be out for Sunday.
https://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/1835926/Erling-Haaland-injury-Man-City-Liverpool-Norway
Wonder if Man City will go for Shankland
MKHIBEE
17-11-2023, 05:17 AM
Wonder if Man City will go for Shankland
Couldn’t afford him according to Hearts
17-11-2023, 07:56 AM
Back in the days I went to Scotland games I remember once not being able to fully get behind the team because John Robertson had been handed a rare start. When Scotland scored I had to check it wasn't him before celebrating. Thankfully it was McCoist.
Part of the reason I drifted away from watching Scotland games was I came to realise I didn't really like most of the players. Most weeks I'd be booing them against Hibs who, when all's said and done, are the only team that matters.
It didn't seem to matter back in the 60s when Scotland used to beat England with several Old Firm players. Hearts and Hibs didn't have any significant internationalists then but they'd have got full support regardless.
It's definitely more toxic now.
17-11-2023, 08:04 AM
So you were delighted it was the boy who played and managed The Rangers, not to mention assaulting one of our players, who scored rather than the guy who stood up to Mercer when our very existence was threatened?
Each to their own.
17-11-2023, 08:28 AM
So you were delighted it was the boy who played and managed The Rangers, not to mention assaulting one of our players, who scored rather than the guy who stood up to Mercer when our very existence was threatened?
Each to their own.
Great point. Personally find it pretty easy to differentiate between supporting my club and country. Who cares who scores
Paulie Walnuts
17-11-2023, 08:37 AM
I wouldn’t be surprised to see Nisbet drop out the squad for Shankland when everyone’s fit. He’s not been up to much down south so far from the looks of things.
Trinity Hibee
17-11-2023, 08:54 AM
Shankland is a goal scorer and that’s a massive plus for any squad but I rarely see him offering anything more.
For international football I can’t see him getting ahead of dykes or Adams and starting games. I think the proof is shown in that those 2 have got us to a major tournament with ease this time. Also got us to the last euros.
Shankland has a role in coming off the bench and he is in better form that Nisbet but I think he’s got a limited role to play.
Strange take on things, supporting your country and your club are 2 different things, one is full of Scotsmen and the other has multi nationals.
17-11-2023, 09:56 AM
Shame we couldn't beat the Georgians, but well done to Shankland for grabbing the goal.
The national team desperately need a striker who is an actual goalscorer, if he can do the job then I couldn't give a flying **** who he plays for.
17-11-2023, 10:27 AM
Great point. Personally find it pretty easy to differentiate between supporting my club and country. Who cares who scores
I don’t think anyone that genuinely supports their national team gives a **** which club a player is at, as long as he’s doing well for Scotland. There’ll be a few people (ones that insist he’s crap and only scores penalties) not best pleased he scored last night but that’s okay. He rightly got his chance, albeit with limited time, and was pleased he grabbed us a draw.
Was a nice change being able to enjoy the jambo git being on the scoresheet for once.
17-11-2023, 10:28 AM
I don’t think anyone that genuinely supports their national team gives a **** which club a player is at, as long as he’s doing well for Scotland. There’ll be a few people (ones that insist he’s crap and only scores penalties) not best pleased he scored last night but that’s okay. He rightly got his chance, albeit with limited time, and was pleased he grabbed us a draw.
Was a nice change being able to enjoy the jambo git being on the scoresheet for once.
I think he's crap and only scores penalties. Quite happy he scored last night though
17-11-2023, 10:44 AM
I think he's crap and only scores penalties. Quite happy he scored last night though
He has scored 6 in his last 6 games only one of which was a penalty.
Apologies if you were being sarcastic.
17-11-2023, 10:46 AM
Very much this.
17-11-2023, 10:59 AM
He has scored 6 in his last 6 games only one of which was a penalty.
Apologies if you were being sarcastic.
I'm not totally serious, but he scores a crazy amount from the spot. 10 in the league last season is insane.
He's a good player, but I don't think he'd cut it at a better level.
17-11-2023, 11:07 AM
Strange take on things, supporting your country and your club are 2 different things, one is full of Scotsmen and the other has multi nationals.
Aren’t international teams filled with multi nationals as well nowadays 😀
darwenhibby
17-11-2023, 11:10 AM
For the first time in a generation we have a national team that is competitive and gives us belief we can go further than before in a tournament!!
Now people are complaining what team they play for!
Let’s go back to being total Tom kite and listen to that Scotland get battered arrogance we have to here from those self righteous bar stewards
17-11-2023, 11:57 AM
I'm not totally serious, but he scores a crazy amount from the spot. 10 in the league last season is insane.
He's a good player, but I don't think he'd cut it at a better level.
I reckon we will soon find out if he can cut it at Ibrox.
17-11-2023, 12:05 PM
I reckon we will soon find out if he can cut it at Ibrox.
He’d easily start every week (and score goals) for every team outside Celtic in our league, in my opinion.
I really hope Rangers aren’t his next destination. But it won’t surprise me if you’re right.
17-11-2023, 04:27 PM
Melkerson on the bench tonight for Norway under 21’s v Ireland
The Veteran
17-11-2023, 04:49 PM
With a mindset like that I wouldn't be trusting traffic light colours if I were you.
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2023, 04:55 PM
He’d easily start every week (and score goals) for every team outside Celtic in our league, in my opinion.
I really hope Rangers aren’t his next destination. But it won’t surprise me if you’re right.
I wonder if sevco would have the dosh to sign him after backing Beale the way they did ? , think hertz have been quoted as saying they would want 4 or 5 mill for him too .
Stanton Spence
17-11-2023, 05:27 PM
I know they’ve never really had a great side but how bad have Northern Ireland become?
2 0 down and you bring on Conor Washington and Josh Magennis!! That’s depressing
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2023, 06:19 PM
Falkirk v Dundee Utd 7:40 on ALBA.
bringbackbenny
17-11-2023, 06:34 PM
U21's 2-0 up away to Belgium, live on YouTube
17-11-2023, 06:47 PM
Falkirk 1 Dundee United 0, 4 mins
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2023, 06:47 PM
Falkirk 1 v 0 Dundee Utd
17-11-2023, 07:04 PM
Comedy equaliser for United.
17-11-2023, 07:14 PM
2-1 United
17-11-2023, 07:18 PM
Harry Kane booked for diving for England when it’s a clear foul. They have VAR…I don’t really understand how that’s not been overturned??
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2023, 07:33 PM
I remember the good Dundee Utd team of the 80's and wishing we had some of there players , I don't think there's one Utd player in this current team I can think of that I'd want at Hibs tbh .
17-11-2023, 07:34 PM
Harry Kane booked for diving for England when it’s a clear foul. They have VAR…I don’t really understand how that’s not been overturned??
I'll applaud any referee who has the knowledge to spot a cheating footballer leaving their trailing leg to initiate a tiny bit of contact then falling over. Kane and Sterling, amongst others, are constantly at it.
SJNB Hibby
17-11-2023, 07:36 PM
U21's 2-0 up away to Belgium, live on YouTube
That Kieran Bowie is some player. And we're winning every header from the umpteen corners Belgium have had. Under the cosh, but look dangerous on the break
17-11-2023, 07:36 PM
England go in 1-0 up at half time against Malta.
An own goal.
Southgate has picked a really boring team for this game. 4 defenders at the back, Alexander Arnold in a midfield (so another defender) with Henderson and Gallagher. 3 attacking minded players only in their team…at home to the team ranked 173rd in the world. When they’ve already won the group.
I’m always glad not to be an England fan, but I’d no have been happy at all to have paid money to go to watch them tonight if I was.
SJNB Hibby
17-11-2023, 07:37 PM
That Kieran Bowie is some player. And we're winning every header from the umpteen corners Belgium have had. Under the cosh, but look dangerous on the break
Bloody hell, what a miss from 5 yards
17-11-2023, 07:38 PM
I'll applaud any referee who has the knowledge to spot a cheating footballer leaving their trailing leg to initiate a tiny bit of contact then falling over. Kane and Sterling, amongst others, are constantly at it.
Is that how you saw it?
Even with blue tinted specs I saw an absolutely clear pen
SJNB Hibby
17-11-2023, 07:56 PM
Bloody hell, what a miss from 5 yards
Finished 2-0...great win for the boys
17-11-2023, 07:59 PM
FT Finland 4 Northern ireland 0
Pukki still doing the bizz for the national side by scoring one and an assist for another
17-11-2023, 08:04 PM
Desmond at Falkirk.
17-11-2023, 08:06 PM
Sam Stanton scored the opener for Raith in the other game.
17-11-2023, 08:07 PM
England go in 1-0 up at half time against Malta.
An own goal.
Southgate has picked a really boring team for this game. 4 defenders at the back, Alexander Arnold in a midfield (so another defender) with Henderson and Gallagher. 3 attacking minded players only in their team…at home to the team ranked 173rd in the world. When they’ve already won the group.
I’m always glad not to be an England fan, but I’d no have been happy at all to have paid money to go to watch them tonight if I was.
They’ve got so many brilliant players. It’s reassuring to know that they don’t have the guy in charge capable of getting the very best out of them.
17-11-2023, 08:09 PM
3-2 Falkirk
For all the really good top players England have, the can be very boring to watch.
17-11-2023, 08:10 PM
4-2 Falkirk, good entertainment.
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2023, 08:12 PM
4-2 now . Jim Goodwin looking abit sick 😂
17-11-2023, 08:13 PM
greedy shoulda coulda been a 5th
17-11-2023, 08:18 PM
Grant Irvine refereeing Falkirk v Utd who was absolutely atrocious refereeing a few weeks back. Having another shocker. He looks like one of them that has never kicked a ball in his life and has no idea about the game. He’s had more touches of the ball than some of the players.
17-11-2023, 08:24 PM
Is that how you saw it?
Even with blue tinted specs I saw an absolutely clear pen
Absolute stonewaller. Kane ran straight and kept running, ball goes past the keeper who continues his slide into Kane. No brainer for me. HoboHarry you would expect that to be a penalty for Scotland.
Donegal Hibby
17-11-2023, 08:40 PM
Falkirk 4 v 2 Dundee Utd , decent cup game .
17-11-2023, 08:44 PM
Absolute stonewaller. Kane ran straight and kept running, ball goes past the keeper who slides into Kane. No brainer for me.
Kane stuck his leg out to make sure the goalie hit it. But the goalie was daft enough to give him the chance. Penalty, even if he knows what he’s doing.
K-Zazu
17-11-2023, 09:05 PM
What’s everyone’s thoughts on international football/breaks? Personally can’t stand them myself, I mean France playing the mighty Gibraltar tomorrow what is really the point 🤣
17-11-2023, 09:14 PM
What’s everyone’s thoughts on international football/breaks? Personally can’t stand them myself, I mean France playing the mighty Gibraltar tomorrow what is really the point 🤣
If Scotland were playing at 3 o’clock tomorrow it’d be all right.
But generally hate them, especially when Hibs have just won and you want the next game.
17-11-2023, 09:41 PM
Why is Southgate playing the likes of Henderson & Maguire in a dead rubber at home to Malta? What’s he hoping to learn? Why is he even still playing a 33 year old Henderson who plays in a pub league?
It’s worrying to think what an elite manager could win with a spine of Stones, Rice, Bellingham, Fodden, Saka & Kane to work with.
ErinGoBraghHFC
17-11-2023, 10:07 PM
Why is Southgate playing the likes of Henderson & Maguire in a dead rubber at home to Malta? What’s he hoping to learn? Why is he even still playing a 33 year old Henderson who plays in a pub league?
It’s worrying to think what an elite manager could win with a spine of Stones, Rice, Bellingham, Fodden, Saka & Kane to work with.
Martin Keown this morning reckoned that Southgate IS an elite manager. Hopefully the FA agree.
It's ridiculous, the players he has at his disposal are outstanding yet he continues to persevere with some of the old guard.
Donegal Hibby
18-11-2023, 12:03 AM
mikel arteta charged by FA for comments after Newcastle United game , wonder will arsenal and arteta admit they are wrong this time ? 🤔 .
https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/24763853/mikel-arteta-charged-by-fa-newcastle-arsenal-rant/
Arteta must be feeling slightly embarrassed now :faf:
18-11-2023, 08:40 AM
Grant Irvine refereeing Falkirk v Utd who was absolutely atrocious refereeing a few weeks back. Having another shocker. He looks like one of them that has never kicked a ball in his life and has no idea about the game. He’s had more touches of the ball than some of the players.
Yep utterly clueless. Just another robot and a control freak with zero people skills. Clancy will be delighted.
18-11-2023, 01:19 PM
Armenia 1 Wales 0 on Viaplay.
The Veteran
18-11-2023, 01:39 PM
Always delicious to read about Wales losing.
At anything.
18-11-2023, 02:08 PM
Haaland not playing tomorrow.
18-11-2023, 02:09 PM
It's 1-1 now , also available on S4C if you want to brush up on your Welsh
18-11-2023, 02:20 PM
It's 1-1 now , also available on S4C if you want to brush up on your Welsh
Nah, no thanks. Gave up on it at HT.
18-11-2023, 03:14 PM
Marvin Bartley can’t be far away from being sacked
The Veteran
18-11-2023, 03:26 PM
He likes a bit of the sack, does old Marv. :greengrin
18-11-2023, 03:46 PM
Dunfermline have now hit the woodwork 7 times.......and are still 0-1 down v Inverness!
18-11-2023, 03:49 PM
Dunfermline have now hit the woodwork 7 times.......and are still 0-1 down v Inverness!
1-1 now, nice goal.....off the woodwork😂
18-11-2023, 03:52 PM
Was going to post the same thing. Shame as I thought this was a good move for him. Hopefully can turn things round. I’ve known a few Doonhamers over the years who were decent blokes.
18-11-2023, 04:51 PM
The Robot 🤖 pulls out of the Norway squad injured
LewysGot2
18-11-2023, 04:54 PM
The Robot 🤖 pulls out of the Norway squad injured
Aye, along with Rodri and others...just as well Man City don't have an important game next weekend (phew)
18-11-2023, 04:55 PM
I have a feeling of Norway could qualify this weekend Haaland would be playing.
18-11-2023, 06:47 PM
Ireland could be on the end of a bit of a pumping here.
18-11-2023, 06:53 PM
France 2 up v Gibraltar after 4 mins, OG x 2!
18-11-2023, 07:00 PM
Ireland could be on the end of a bit of a pumping here.
1-0 Holland.
18-11-2023, 07:21 PM
France 2 up v Gibraltar after 4 mins, OG x 2!
5-0, Gibraltar down to 10 men.
18-11-2023, 07:23 PM
7-0 now
My favourite score
18-11-2023, 07:47 PM
Ken it's just Gibraltar, but France are deadly. Argentina got lucky that France had players missing in Qatar. Would love to see a full strength France steamroll the Euros (until we beat them in the final, of course, 😄)
18-11-2023, 07:59 PM
Netherlands 1 ROI 0
i can't find the article i was reading yesterday but it was saying a defeat for ROI tonight would actually work out better for them :hmmm:
can't remember why though :greengrin
Newry Hibs
18-11-2023, 08:15 PM
Netherlands 1 ROI 0
i can't find the article i was reading yesterday but it was saying a defeat for ROI tonight would actually work out better for them :hmmm:
can't remember why though :greengrin
It's to do with netherlands qualifying directly may leave RoI a chance to make the play offs
18-11-2023, 08:19 PM
11 nil France
Trinity Hibee
18-11-2023, 08:22 PM
12-0 😂
18-11-2023, 08:22 PM
11 nil France
12-0
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
18-11-2023, 08:24 PM
12-0
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Zut alors!
Trinity Hibee
18-11-2023, 08:25 PM
Ruled out. Back to 11-0. VAR trying to steal the show again
18-11-2023, 08:29 PM
It's to do with netherlands qualifying directly may leave RoI a chance to make the play offs
had a wee sketch at the group tables, toppers France have Greece away and Netherlands have Gibraltar away Netherlands are presently 6 points behind France with one game each to play if it's the top two(i presume) in each group that go through then both will qualify anyway.
i think it possibly meant something to do with Greece 3 points behind the Netherlands but ROI winning would still mean Greece would need to beat France and Gibraltar to beat Netherlands, neither will happen and Ireland can't qualify anyway whatever happens, i really need to find that article again :greengrin
18-11-2023, 09:02 PM
1-1 now, nice goal.....off the woodwork[emoji23]
8 times the woodwork hit. What a great game for entertainment. Far more than I’ve seen in a Hibs game for a very long time.
18-11-2023, 09:07 PM
14-0 France at FT 🤯
Had both teams to score
18-11-2023, 09:25 PM
Had 15 nil bloody VAR
Trinity Hibee
18-11-2023, 09:29 PM
Had 15 nil bloody VAR
😂 what odds?
18-11-2023, 09:35 PM
Gibraltar to have no shots was 4/1 Sky Bet
Landed
18-11-2023, 09:38 PM
Gibraltar to have no shots was 4/1 Sky Bet
Landed
McTominay to score and Patterson to be booked is 18/1 for tomorrow night.
18-11-2023, 09:46 PM
8 times the woodwork hit. What a great game for entertainment. Far more than I’ve seen in a Hibs game for a very long time.
Cant watch much of us then. Hibs are many things, but our games aren't really boring. We've had 11 games with 4 or more goals in them this season already.
19-11-2023, 08:44 AM
I knew you would end up being a par in the end 🤣
14-0 France at FT 🤯
These 2 teams should never be playing each other in these competitions, what in hell are Gibraltar going to learn from such a hammering. There should be a lower level competition for these teams to gain access to the main competition.
Trinity Hibee
19-11-2023, 09:40 AM
These 2 teams should never be playing each other in these competitions, what in hell are Gibraltar going to learn from such a hammering. There should be a lower level competition for these teams to gain access to the main competition.
Whilst I see your point would it not then be the same as the big clubs having a closed shop super league? These teams have been hammered for years now but it is still at qualifying stage and not the major tournaments themselves.
One problem it would solve if they weren’t in the main qualifying is that is would cut down on a couple of effectively meaningless games a year for teams with an already stretched football calendar
Bridge hibs
19-11-2023, 09:41 AM
If they gained access to the main competition via a lower level comp then they would still be expected to face the likes of France etc. Gibraltar are always going to be canon fodder
HarpOnHibee
19-11-2023, 10:03 AM
Sending off changed the game.
Helensburghhibs
19-11-2023, 01:00 PM
To be fair this is the lower level competition to gain entry into the actual tournament
The Veteran
19-11-2023, 03:10 PM
Not that it matters a row of beans, but you just know that Scotland will make a dogs breakfast of it tonight!
19-11-2023, 03:30 PM
Not that it matters a row of beans, but you just know that Scotland will make a dogs breakfast of it tonight!
I think we’ll perform tonight and go out with a convincing win.
The Veteran
19-11-2023, 03:40 PM
It'll be a draw, in my opinion.
Frankenstein Messi will probably not score again!!
Is a draw even that bad?
Yes want to win but does it really matter.
19-11-2023, 03:43 PM
Really want McTominay to score again.
The Veteran
19-11-2023, 03:49 PM
Is a draw even that bad?
Yes want to win but does it really matter.
I'm not saying that a draw would be bad, I'm just saying that we'll likely make a mess of it!
And, no, it doesn't really matter (which is exactly what I said about 15 minutes ago).
19-11-2023, 03:51 PM
As do i , No Odegaard ? Defo no Haaland and that's their 2 best players
Scotland win tonight for me
19-11-2023, 03:55 PM
👍
I’d have been confident of winning even with them at full strength. I make us strong favourites without Haaland and I didn’t realise Odegaard was a doubt!
19-11-2023, 03:56 PM
I'm not saying that a draw would be bad, I'm just saying that we'll likely make a mess of it!
And, no, it doesn't really matter (which is exactly what I said about 15 minutes ago).
How would that be making a mess of it, in that case?
I’m guessing the Frankenstein messi means Mctominay?! He probably will score again.
19-11-2023, 03:56 PM
I wouldn't say tonight doesn't matter. We've lost 3 and drawn 1 in our last 4 games, albeit against the best in the world in the losses. I think it's important to finish with a positive result, and I think we will.
The Veteran
19-11-2023, 04:04 PM
How would that be making a mess of it, in that case?
I’m guessing the Frankenstein messi means Mctominay?! He probably will score again.
It was a light-hearted post. I wish I hadn't bothered. :rolleyes:
The Frankenstein bit was also light-hearted - I was meaning Shankland. I wish I hadn't bothered. :rolleyes:
4-0 Scotland!! :aok:
19-11-2023, 04:20 PM
The Frankenstein bit was also light-hearted - I was meaning Shankland. I wish I hadn't bothered. :rolleyes:
You’re perfectly entitled to think Scotland won’t win - both of mine were genuine questions.
Cracking gags now you’ve explained them though 😁
hibby rae
19-11-2023, 04:22 PM
The Frankenstein Le Tissier would be more apt for Shankland given his penchant for covid conspiracies
Oh really, how do you just know that, pray tell.
19-11-2023, 04:32 PM
Hope Shankland starts. It’s about time that Clarke finds out whether he can play upfront for 90 minutes at this level.
19-11-2023, 04:37 PM
Really want McTominay to score again.
Here’s hoping, Steve. Every chance - he never stops!
19-11-2023, 05:13 PM
Hoping and expect a win but I think it’s academic because Spain won’t slip up in their game.
Sloop67
19-11-2023, 05:14 PM
That's a fabulous goal from Sweden to put them 2 up Vs Estonia
19-11-2023, 05:21 PM
Hoping and expect a win but I think it’s academic because Spain won’t slip up in their game.
Yep - not really thinking about pipping Spain as chances are so slim. Just want a good performance and result to finish what’s been an excellent campaign 👍
The Veteran
19-11-2023, 05:26 PM
Yep - not really thinking about pipping Spain as chances are so slim. Just want a good performance and result to finish what’s been an excellent campaign 👍
Oh, I couldn't agree more! :aok:
1875Sean
19-11-2023, 05:44 PM
Jacob Brown starting, few co-owners on twitter unhappy
19-11-2023, 05:48 PM
What a lot of people are forgetting is that Brown is playing at a level miles above Shankland. Not sure when he last scored a goal mind you.
19-11-2023, 06:06 PM
He has the luxury of giving players some game time. I am sure there will be plenty of substitutions. A number of these players might not be at the Euros especially if the Newcastle 4 pledge their allegiance to Scotland.
For that reason alone I’m delighted with Clarkes decision.
I've never heard of this guy. Off to Google I go...
Trinity Hibee
19-11-2023, 06:08 PM
Sorry but shankland is not a lone striker at international level. Great option for later in games though.
19-11-2023, 06:14 PM
Noticed Rocky was an unused sub today
They lost 1-0, so he should be flying back soon
Sorry but shankland is not a lone striker at international level. Great option for later in games though.
Wish Stewart would stfu about Shankland. He came on and scored well done but has hardly ripped up trees this season also looks overweight to me. Brown deserves a run imo.
I've never heard of this guy. Off to Google I go...
He did really well when he came on in a recent game. France maybe?
Trinity Hibee
19-11-2023, 06:17 PM
Wish Stewart would stfu about Shankland. He came on and scored well done but has hardly ripped up trees this season also looks overweight to me. Brown deserves a run imo.
I thought he looked overweight too in the Motherwell game. Was a bit surprised
19-11-2023, 06:50 PM
McKenna nowhere near strong enough at that goal there
19-11-2023, 06:53 PM
McKenna nowhere near strong enough at that goal there
School boy defending again for the goal
19-11-2023, 06:56 PM
Penalty Scotland? VAR check…
19-11-2023, 06:57 PM
1–1! Sjm
Trinity Hibee
19-11-2023, 06:58 PM
Love him!
19-11-2023, 07:01 PM
MS likes the sound of his own voice, eh.
babahibs
19-11-2023, 07:02 PM
Happy it's given but that's never a pen.
19-11-2023, 07:04 PM
What’s happened to the keeper Angus Gunn is he injured as I see sad sack is in goal tonight ?
19-11-2023, 07:06 PM
Be better off with Marshall in goal that this hearts ****
19-11-2023, 07:07 PM
Dreadful defence once again, keeper nowhere to be seen there 💩
19-11-2023, 07:08 PM
We really are poor at defending on the left hand side, really missing Tierney and Robertson.
19-11-2023, 07:08 PM
Clark should be nowhere near the Euro’s.
Pish keeper.
Defending the last 2 games has been shocking, play like that in the finals and we'll be beat every game.
19-11-2023, 07:09 PM
Sounds like they’ve still no managed to move Block 7 from that section 😁
Curried
19-11-2023, 07:09 PM
Left back missing in action.
19-11-2023, 07:10 PM
Spain 1 Georgia 1
We really are poor at defending on the left hand side, really missing Tierney and Robertson.
Taylor is a really bang average player and is only there because he's contracted to Celtic.
19-11-2023, 07:12 PM
Clark, Taylor and McKenna all struggling. If we have to rely on guys like them at the finals we'll get pumped.
Curried
19-11-2023, 07:13 PM
Doig for Taylor quick smart.
19-11-2023, 07:15 PM
Clark and Taylor are utterly garbage
Off the bar
19-11-2023, 07:18 PM
2-2
19-11-2023, 07:18 PM
2-2!
19-11-2023, 07:22 PM
Doig surely worth a run out. Taylor been crap in both games. Wonder if any of the conditional add ons we have include a payment of/when capped at international level.
Should bring the boy Brown on at half time….
19-11-2023, 07:24 PM
Og 😄
19-11-2023, 07:24 PM
Taylor is a really bang average player and is only there because he's contracted to Celtic.
Yep why not stick Doig on at HT, surely would do better.
19-11-2023, 07:25 PM
Doig surely worth a run out. Taylor been crap in both games. Wonder if any of the conditional add ons we have include a payment of/when capped at international level.
Should bring the boy Brown on at half time….
I’d bring both Doig and Shankland on at half time. Hopefully Clarke is as keen with the subs tonight as he was on Thursday.
19-11-2023, 07:26 PM
I'd get Lewis Ferguson on for MacLean. Must be a better option.
19-11-2023, 07:27 PM
Still being somehow in with a shout at topping the group is amazing.
19-11-2023, 07:30 PM
We are getting humped down our left hand side. Hopefully sorted at half time
Paul1642
19-11-2023, 07:30 PM
Great block. Defence look poor though but most of the first choice staters will be back when it matters.
Lucky again there, all down the left again.
19-11-2023, 07:37 PM
Martin Dowden
BBC Scotland at Hampden
This is excellent viewing. We could analyse goal concessions and all sorts of areas as Steve Clarke and his team undoubtedly will. But this is highly entertaining for everyone inside Hampden.
Pretty ironic statement from BBC guy saying how good it is to watch Scotland at Hampden. Just a shame that the rest of us can't see it.
JammyDoidger
19-11-2023, 07:40 PM
So poor in defence and toothless upfront, our midfield literally drag us through games. We need that extra centre half in for cover.
Dykes for Brown
Gilmour for McLean
Doig for Armstrong
I'd like to try Doig at LCB in Tierney's usual position.
19-11-2023, 07:42 PM
Taylor was being swamped because McLean wasn’t tracking the full back. Switching Armstrong over has helped. But it’s clear both teams don’t have much in depth.
19-11-2023, 07:45 PM
So poor in defence and toothless upfront, our midfield literally drag us through games. We need that extra centre half in for cover.
Dykes for Brown
Gilmour for McLean
Doig for Armstrong
I'd like to try Doig at LCB in Tierney's usual position.
Can’t play a LWB without bringing in another CH and push Patterson onto RWB. Your changes Would leave the team dysfunctional
JammyDoidger
19-11-2023, 07:48 PM
Can’t play a LWB without bringing in another CH and push Patterson onto RWB. Your changes Would leave the team dysfunctional
Doig would be the centre half, same as the usual shape with Doig doing the tierney role
Clark
Hendry
McKenna
Doig
Paterson
Gilmour
McGregor
Taylor
Mctominay
McGinn
Dykes
19-11-2023, 07:50 PM
McTominay's corners have been nothing short of freakin abysmal
NC1875
19-11-2023, 07:51 PM
McTominay's corners have been nothing short of freakin abysmal
Apart from the one we got our 2nd goal from 😂
19-11-2023, 08:00 PM
3rd yellow card for the Norwegians
19-11-2023, 08:01 PM
yasssss :thumbsup:
Paul1642
19-11-2023, 08:01 PM
Armstrong has been fantastic second half. Great goal. How did that get through 4 players!
19-11-2023, 08:02 PM
That was a really good goal from Armstrong
SJNB Hibby
19-11-2023, 08:02 PM
What a goal!!
Paul1642
19-11-2023, 08:03 PM
Spain unfortunately also just scored.
2-1 spain
SJNB Hibby
All we need is 1 goal from Georgia
Jacob Brown helping Shankland's chances of moving up the pecking order. Lost the ball just about every time and now a glaring miss, though luckily we still managed to score.
Gordy M
19-11-2023, 08:04 PM
Still being somehow in with a shout at topping the group is amazing.
We have only lost one game? Id imagine if you only lose one game you will always be in with a shout?
Paul1642
19-11-2023, 08:05 PM
We have only lost one game? Id imagine if you only lose one game you will always be in with a shout?
19 points (as it stands) from a group of 5 would have seen us group winners in a fair few groups and coming down to head to head in a few others.
19-11-2023, 08:06 PM
Is there a benefit to winning the group? Better draw in the finals?
Paul1642
19-11-2023, 08:08 PM
Yeah. Winning the group would make us a pot 1 team which would in theory get us a much easier group. We need to win this by 2 goals to be a pot 2 team. We are pot 3 as it stands however in terms of difficulty there is absolutely nothing between pot 2 and 3 really. Some very strong and a few weaker teams in both.
Paulie Walnuts
19-11-2023, 08:08 PM
If we win by 2 or win and score 4 then we go into pot 2 regardless of what Spain do.
19-11-2023, 08:09 PM
Yeah. Winning the group would make us a pot 1 team which would in theory get us a much easier group. We need to win this by 2 goals to be a pot 2 team. We are pot 3 as it stands however in terms of difficulty there is absolutely nothing between pot 2 and 3 really. Some very strong and a few weaker teams in both.
Thanks 👍
19-11-2023, 08:12 PM
ferguson for Mclean
Dykes for Brown
Christie for Armstrong
What is the point of Jacob Brown, he has a strike rate of around 1 in 6, not exactly a goal scorer.
Garymcl
19-11-2023, 08:13 PM
Does anybody else notice re zander Clarke always dives like a kid in the local park even when the ball has beaten him hilarious
19-11-2023, 08:14 PM
look here Mikey
Shanks ain't coming on for now
19-11-2023, 08:15 PM
Shut the **** up Mikey
19-11-2023, 08:19 PM
Assume Brown starting was he is much more athletic than Shankland and they didn't want to start Dykes again and give him Brown a shot. Stewart's whining about Shankland is nauseating.
Paul1642
19-11-2023, 08:20 PM
look here Mikey
Shanks ain't coming on for now
I’d have given him a shot. Brown was out the blue for me and didn’t impress. Dykes isn’t good enough I feel, and disregarding that it’s for Hearts, a striker who is scoring goals in the SPFL should get the nod over one who’s not scoring in the English championship IMO.
19-11-2023, 08:23 PM
I’d have given him a shot. Brown was out the blue for me and didn’t impress. Dykes isn’t good enough I feel, and disregarding that it’s for Hearts, a striker who is scoring goals in the SPFL should get the nod over one who’s not scoring in the English championship IMO.
Not mobile enough for the way we play
Trinity Hibee
19-11-2023, 08:24 PM
* English premiership
19-11-2023, 08:25 PM
Not mobile enough for the way we play
Dykes has played almost every game for us this campaign, playing this way.