View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread
Just_Jimmy
26-03-2024, 06:35 PM
Aw for **** sake. Naismith.Rather listen to him than Shelly Kerr...
All in all tho, a truly third division collection of pundits.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
26-03-2024, 06:37 PM
Did Georgia no finish 4th in Scotlands group ? How are they penalties away from the Euros ?
SJNB Hibby
26-03-2024, 06:40 PM
Did Georgia no finish 4th in Scotlands group ? How are they penalties away from the Euros ?
Nations League----how we ended up beating Serbia to get to Euro 2020/21
26-03-2024, 06:42 PM
Anthem getting booooooooooed tae ****. Lovely.
26-03-2024, 06:42 PM
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooooooooooo
:)
26-03-2024, 06:44 PM
Mad to think that Shelly Kerr, to all intents and purposes, an absolute jakeball, is more qualified to speak about football than Steven NaiBadges
26-03-2024, 06:45 PM
Mad to think that Shelly Kerr, to all intents and purposes, an absolute jakeball, is more qualified to speak about football than Steven NaiBadges
😂😂😂😂😂
26-03-2024, 06:46 PM
Ooooh that kit is rank.
26-03-2024, 06:48 PM
has dykes got a neck under that tattoo :Ummm:
help me understand just why
26-03-2024, 06:48 PM
Lyndon Dykes body is bruised all over, except for his face. Is he fit enough to play?
26-03-2024, 06:49 PM
has dykes got a neck under that tattoo :Ummm:
help me understand just why
He’s called Lyndon. Id do anything to distract from that as well.
26-03-2024, 06:49 PM
take the throw in fgs
26-03-2024, 06:50 PM
Aw he got to play dykes in there.
26-03-2024, 06:56 PM
what a cross that was from SJM
hibeerealist
26-03-2024, 06:57 PM
Anthem getting booooooooooed tae ****. Lovely.
Aye, very classy fae us Scots
Anthem's should NOT be bood show some respect ****** phannies
26-03-2024, 06:58 PM
Germany 1 v 1 Holland
26-03-2024, 06:58 PM
Donegal Hibby
26-03-2024, 07:00 PM
Belgium 1-0 up :greengrin
26-03-2024, 07:01 PM
:clown:
Belgium 1-0 up :greengrin
1-1
26-03-2024, 07:03 PM
Great scenes from Georgia, qualified on pens in Greeces place.
26-03-2024, 07:04 PM
Hope you’re saying the same thing when the rangers fans are singing it at Ibrox in a few days.
26-03-2024, 07:04 PM
wonder what the pass count for both sides is up to now
Scotland passing the ball around nicely, but where's the goal threat?
hibeerealist
26-03-2024, 07:07 PM
Hope you’re saying the same thing when the rangers fans are singing it at Ibrox in a few days.
NAW a don't - the hun coming to ER for a league game is NOT an international canny believe I need to point that out to a so called adult
26-03-2024, 07:10 PM
Scotland passing the ball around nicely, but where's the goal threat?
Horrible strips and awful match. Scotland playing for the point.
26-03-2024, 07:11 PM
Polish fans singing sheep ****ging …. in polish to the Welsh fans 😀
26-03-2024, 07:12 PM
Totally agree ….. embarrassing.
This match is garbage. Its the perfect example of how utterly boring modern football can be. Sidieways, sidieways, sidieways, forward 10 yards, back ten yards, sidiewayes etc etc
Donegal Hibby
Rep of Ireland 0-1 Switzerland shaqiri 😡
Horrible strips and awful match. Scotland playing for the point.
Need to start winning games again or Scotland will be heading home from Germany in quick time.
26-03-2024, 07:13 PM
This is utterly dire. No threat up top whatsoever - Northern Ireland so passive too, just sitting back. Ball is just stuck doing nothing between the 18 yard boxes.
26-03-2024, 07:15 PM
Ukraine 0 v 1 Iceland
26-03-2024, 07:15 PM
c'mon andy robertson that's absolutely rank man
Ukraine 0 Iceland 1
26-03-2024, 07:19 PM
Scotland 0 v 1 Northern Ireland
paterson gifts it away 0-1
Patterson double cock up, good goal from NI. Deserved that. Scotland have awful approach to game.
VoltaireHibs
Haha, Patterson. What a liability.
Lovely ping mind.
Patterson is absolutely pish at RB.
Patterson isn't very good is he
That’s absolutely pathetic from Patterson.
ErinGoBraghHFC
What the absolute ****
Scotland 0-1 Kingdom of Larkhall
Brutal watch this, could have done with a couple players in the team with a point to prove, like ferguson and shankland, clear that dykes and Christie for example will be on the plane let’s see what else we have
rotherhamrob
26-03-2024, 07:20 PM
🤣🤣🤣 like watching us,one chance against you =1 goal
Patterson is absolutely pish at RB.
And the problem is there isn't better available
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-03-2024, 07:21 PM
Hickey is far better
2-1 Belgium
Patterson was gash the other night every time the ball went to him the move broke down
Can Hickey play there or is he a left back ?
Shows how much notice I take of Jambo’s
26-03-2024, 07:22 PM
I'd frankly take Craig Gordon there if this is as good as we have...
Robertson going off injured too. What a great night this is for Scotland so far.
26-03-2024, 07:22 PM
Scotland have lost their way and their mojo.
26-03-2024, 07:23 PM
lewis ferguson for robertson, injured i think
We’re offering very little in the final third. We have very little to offer.
It’s hard to play football without any out and out attackers. You can’t rely on midfield players doing the business forever.
Feels like things are fizzling out a bit for Steve Clarke.
26-03-2024, 07:24 PM
Ukraine 1 v 1 Iceland
VAR Offside
Ukraine 0 v 1 Iceland
26-03-2024, 07:25 PM
Hickey will come in for Patterson at the Euros if he's fit. Hopefully he can get games between now and the end of the season. He's a far better player at this point in their careers.
26-03-2024, 07:26 PM
Trying to be too casual in defence ….. got our comeuppance. Commentator saying that N.Ireland at least have something to hold on to ……. as if we are putting pressure on them and likely to score at will. Not the case, I’m afraid. We are so ordinary.
NC1875
26-03-2024, 07:27 PM
Patterson looks absolutely terrified to try and beat his man.
VoltaireHibs
26-03-2024, 07:28 PM
Feels like things are fizzling out a bit for Steve Clarke.
I've watched Scotland for decades and the one thing that's consistent is we are usually crap in friendlies. Doesn't look great though. Lots of good midfielders, very little else.
Hickey will come in for Patterson at the Euros if he's fit. Hopefully he can get games between now and the end of the season. He's a fat better player at this point in their careers.
Hopefully McGregor is fit as well a big miss imo gilmour doesn’t offer the same as he does
26-03-2024, 07:28 PM
Trying to be too casual in defence ….. got our comeuppance. Commentator saying that N.Ireland at least have something to hold on to ……. as if we are putting pressure on them and likely to score at will. Not the case, I’m afraid. We are so ordinary.
Should be 0-2. I'd take ordinary now,
26-03-2024, 07:29 PM
shoulda coulda been two
26-03-2024, 07:30 PM
Nathan Patterson is having an absolute shocker.
26-03-2024, 07:31 PM
Need to take Patterson off.
NC1875
Patterson again. He’s been terrible 🤦🏽
Jpdhfc
Nathan Patterson is having an absolute shocker.
allways dose dont know why he gets a game
Mcbizz1998
Get Patterson off immediately
26-03-2024, 07:32 PM
We look terrible
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-03-2024, 07:33 PM
Just a reminder that Patterson is supposed to be a £12m footballer.
Hickey is far better
When fit
Hibees1973
26-03-2024, 07:34 PM
Patterson now doing a wee hop now and again to feign injury.
Get him aff.
I've watched Scotland for decades and the one thing that's consistent is we are usually crap in friendlies. Doesn't look great though. Lots of good midfielders, very little else.
No elite centre halves and no elite strikers - that’s been the problem for 20+ years. Academies need to be targeted and get these areas looked at as a priority. Porteous, Hanley, Adams, Dykes, Hendry are not elite players at this level and won’t ever be.
Absolutely toothless from Scotland.
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo oooooooo
26-03-2024, 07:35 PM
Patterson should be nowhere near another Scotland squad again.
Him and Dykes can be subbed at half time please.
26-03-2024, 07:35 PM
Shankland to save our bacon second half ? !!!🧐
EGL2000
26-03-2024, 07:36 PM
That's so so poor.
26-03-2024, 07:36 PM
Looks like Patterson hasn't recovered from getting slapped on the head by Dyche. Hardly anyone showing for the ball though, it's been awful. Christie has been as bad.
Always said these friendlies we played against the top countries could dent our confidence.
26-03-2024, 07:37 PM
Patterson is absolute garbage
Hibees1973
The way Northern Ireland are playing is likely how we will play in Germany. We won't be a very good watch over there.
Sit deep, defend and try and counter attack.
Problem is our goals against record is abysmal.
Patterson should be nowhere near another Scotland squad again.
Him and Dykes can be subbed at half time please.
Ever??? Behave. He's been excellent for us until the last 2 games, just a young laddie going through a rough patch. Who do we play instead? Ralston?
26-03-2024, 07:38 PM
possession
77%/23%...pfftt
attempts on target
0/1
passes
402/83...pffttt
Shelly Kerr looks bloody unwell. Jesus.
EGL2000
Looks like Patterson hasn't recovered from getting slapped on the head by Dyche. Hardly anyone showing for the ball though, it's been awful. Christie has been as bad.
Always said these friendlies we played against the top countries could dent our confidence.
Northern Ireland are very far from a top country.... They have won 4 games in 19.
26-03-2024, 07:39 PM
Ever??? Behave. He's been excellent for us until the last 2 games, just a young laddie going through a rough patch. Who do we play instead? Ralston?
Hickey will be back soon.
No elite centre halves and no elite strikers - that’s been the problem for 20+ years. Academies need to be targeted and get these areas looked at as a priority. Porteous, Hanley, Adams, Dykes, Hendry are not elite players at this level and won’t ever be.
Spot on, defence and attack populated with workman like players, need better.
26-03-2024, 07:40 PM
Agree
Gone are the days when we had players like Dalglish, Souness, Hansen etc
26-03-2024, 07:41 PM
Brutal watch this, could have done with a couple players in the team with a point to prove, like ferguson and shankland, clear that dykes and Christie for example will be on the plane let’s see what else we have
Personally don't think Ferguson is anywhere near good enough
26-03-2024, 07:41 PM
Northern Ireland are very far from a top country.... They have won 4 games in 19.
I'm obviously not taking about Northern Ireland!
26-03-2024, 07:42 PM
Steve Clarke must be glad it’s so close to the Euros as if there was more time to go he’d be in danger of not leading the team out in Germany.
SJNB Hibby
26-03-2024, 07:42 PM
Agree
Speaking as a mathemitician....let's take this to the extreme------we're playing Russia.......?
26-03-2024, 07:43 PM
Guessing you haven't watched much Serie A this season? He's been phenomenal. Reason big teams like Juve and Napoli are looking at him.
Personally have him over McGregor if both were fit.
26-03-2024, 07:44 PM
The captain of a Serie A team certainly should be good enough. Hasn't had a chance.
Could be 3 down and all caused by Patterson. He has been awful. Gilmorton is getting tons of ball but all between or CHs and the half way line. McGinn been anonymous, Dykes is a carthorse, Christie is average, CHs are OK but nothing more. Pretty poor fare tonight
I don’t mean this to sound arsey Jim, but do you watch much Serie A? He’s been exceptional this season!
26-03-2024, 07:45 PM
Sloppy after a comfortable opening 15/20
The sort of game where you'd have to ask whether Billy Gilmour is "needed"
Get the ball forward and players around our striker (Get Shankland or Adams on)
Hibs 0 Rangers 0 came up on the screen whilst the half time analysis was on 🤷*♂️
probably been a better watch than that half
Cmon Scotland shut up they English wannabes.
I don’t mean this to sound arsey Jim, but do you watch much Serie A? He’s been exceptional this season!
Could be playing Champions League football next season with Bologna.
One of serie A’s best performing midfielders linked with Juve and AC Milan I think he deserves an Opportunity in a friendly, he’s on now with a change of shape would be interesting to have seen him play from the start in the role Christie was playing though.
K-Zazu
26-03-2024, 07:48 PM
Really? Based on what?
Paul1642
26-03-2024, 07:48 PM
Steve Clarke must be glad it’s so close to the Euros as if there was more time to go he’d be in danger of not leading the team out in Germany.
Jeezo. In the last year our only 4 defeats (3 of which away from home) have been friendlies vs England, Netherlands and France and a competitive game against Spain. Arguably 4 of the best teams in the world with France and England being top 5.
I don’t think Clarke is sweating it quite yet.
26-03-2024, 07:50 PM
How sh/te is Naebadges as a pundit? Mind you they’re all crap because the game is not going according to plan and their rehearsed script is up the creek. Unfortunate for our team but quite funny to listen to them having to back-peddle and waffle.
Get Adams and Shankland on
Really? Based on what?
He isn't that good
26-03-2024, 07:52 PM
Guessing you haven't watched much Serie A this season? He's been phenomenal. Reason big teams like Juve and Napoli are looking at him.
Personally have him over McGregor if both were fit.
McGregor is so many times a better player
26-03-2024, 07:53 PM
I get he has done well in Italy just never been that impressed by him
26-03-2024, 07:54 PM
Patterson is beyond pish.
Chris Cadden is a better RB option than Nathan Patterson
Speaking as a mathemitician....let's take this to the extreme------we're playing Russia.......?
Seems extreme :greengrin
26-03-2024, 07:55 PM
Patterson is beyond pish.
He is a decent player playing poorly
26-03-2024, 07:56 PM
Are England still getting beat?
Andymac85
26-03-2024, 07:58 PM
McGregor is so many times a better player
Assume you are on the wind up.
26-03-2024, 08:00 PM
Are England still getting beat?
1-2
dmc1875
26-03-2024, 08:00 PM
Patterson is absolutely woeful
26-03-2024, 08:01 PM
Shelly Kerr looks bloody unwell. Jesus.
Nae wonder watching this Its draining
Mcbizz1998
26-03-2024, 08:01 PM
The northern Irish fans appear to just be a bunch of sticky buns? Rule Brittania being belted out and booing every touch of any player who has a celtoc
connection.
26-03-2024, 08:04 PM
Wales 0 v 0 Poland
Getting feisty
26-03-2024, 08:05 PM
still no unforced sub by clarke, he must be happy enough with this crap
26-03-2024, 08:06 PM
Clarke not fancy a sub here? It's a friendly FFS. Try something different.
26-03-2024, 08:06 PM
Spain 1 Brazil 0
26-03-2024, 08:09 PM
possession
81%/19% Mmm
26-03-2024, 08:10 PM
Exactly. NI are excellent at what they set out to do …… defend and counter-attack. We are hopeless at what we set out to do. A few changes needed to salvage something from this shambles.
26-03-2024, 08:11 PM
NI fans are probably used to this trip. Basically a bunch of horrible Huns.
babahibs
26-03-2024, 08:11 PM
I get he has done well in Italy just never been that impressed by him
Ferguson's been excellent since he's come on.
26-03-2024, 08:13 PM
Can't believe how bad Ryan Christie has been. So good for Bournemouth.
26-03-2024, 08:13 PM
Am sure Gilmour has lots of great games.
Unfortunately I never seem to catch them.
26-03-2024, 08:14 PM
Ferguson's been excellent since he's come on.
Has he?
Ricky Bobby
26-03-2024, 08:16 PM
Fans of a country that are not part of Great Britain, singing Rule Britannia 🙄
26-03-2024, 08:16 PM
bloody heck john mcginn fgs
26-03-2024, 08:18 PM
SJM’s worst game in a Scotland shirt.
26-03-2024, 08:19 PM
that is absolutely shocking that pass to no one
Someone that got into the game for nothing is criticising those that paid to get in for booing.
Yep, was just thinking the exact same. These commentators get on my thruppenies. It's not like they will have to schlep back to the car and drive up to Inverness or wherever after this garbage.
babahibs
Has he?
Yeah he's been decent, putting in a lot of work, making some good runs.
Be lucky to score a goal in Germany
26-03-2024, 08:21 PM
Spain 2 Brazil 1
Mcbizz1998
26-03-2024, 08:22 PM
Why does that idiot commentator McLeod keep going on about World Cup qualifiers when he is clearly referring to the Euro qualifiers. He’s done it 3 times.
AugustaHibs
26-03-2024, 08:22 PM
Hope we don’t regret having Clarke in charge for the euros
26-03-2024, 08:23 PM
NI well organised but really dirty. Scotland useless.
Patterson is absolutely awful.
Hendry clearing one off their line.
26-03-2024, 08:24 PM
oh for the love of god
Patterson is ****ing terrible
Terrible cross from Paterson, it's the basics.
I can't watch anymore of this pish, I've switched over, now Scotland'll score hopefully. Doesn't take away from the fact that they've been really ***** tonight.
82% possession 😂
26-03-2024, 08:25 PM
This 100%
26-03-2024, 08:25 PM
Modern football is an eye bleeding watch at times. This game has been absolutely dreadful.
26-03-2024, 08:26 PM
Right back is a massive issue.
26-03-2024, 08:27 PM
Dead unlucky from Shankland there.
26-03-2024, 08:28 PM
Ukraine 2 v 1 Iceland
Modern football is an eye bleeding watch at times. This game has been absolutely dreadful.
Difficult when the opposition is well organised and physical
I can't watch anymore of this pish, I've switched over, now Scotland'll score hopefully. Doesn't take away from the fact that they've been really ***** tonight.
I was doing my Indie radio show so missed the 1st half thankfully, now switched off and watching Countdown.
Dead unlucky from Shankland there.
Terrible miss imo
Coupled with our complete lack of pace.
Hope we don’t regret having Clarke in charge for the euros
Without Clarke would we even be there.
26-03-2024, 08:29 PM
Coupled wolith our complete lack of pace.
Agree
26-03-2024, 08:31 PM
Chris Cadden is better than Patterson. Hes an athelete but hes not a footballer.
He has done miracles to get this lot to two sets of finals.
Exactly. Laughable statement really.
26-03-2024, 08:32 PM
away tae **** armstrong ya huddie yi
26-03-2024, 08:32 PM
Hopefully hickey back in for the euros and mcgregor also commentator McLeod doing my tits in.
26-03-2024, 08:33 PM
None of them get pass marks for me tonight - every one of them poor.
Patteron's movement in this second half has been decent - getting up and down the line well and into good positions, but his final ball is on a par with mine!
Players and coaches should be utterly ashamed of themselves.
26-03-2024, 08:34 PM
So boring and predictable. This is like Hibs earlier in the season.
26-03-2024, 08:35 PM
We are going to be the worst team at the Euros aren't we?
26-03-2024, 08:36 PM
I still think we’ve got a few mediocre players in the squad
26-03-2024, 08:37 PM
Another performance like the last euros and I reckon Clarke will walk
No :greengrin
Its been so one dimensional though. Slow pass sideways, followed by slow pass sideways.
crash
Another sitter shanked it
26-03-2024, 08:38 PM
our opponents have offered absolutely **** all to this game
Andymac85
Shankland is so bloody slow.
*** sitter by Ant and Dec 🙈suppose its hard to just tap it with that forehead.
26-03-2024, 08:39 PM
Armstrong has 50 caps.
26-03-2024, 08:40 PM
Wales 0 v 0 Poland
Extra time and pens
Via Play 2
Its been so one dimensional though. Slow pass sideways, followed by slow pass sideways.
Agree should have been two forwards on much earlier
sickening
50 years last time we got beat at home by that shower
our opponents have offered absolutely **** all to this game
Yet they won
Get in lol
God, that was dire
I still think we’ve got a few mediocre players in the squad
Just a few.
Germany 2 v 1 Holland FT
26-03-2024, 08:41 PM
Cracking preparation for the euros. Well in lads
We really aren’t as good as we’re made out to be
Only player who gets pass marks for me is Tierney. The inly player who's first thought wasn't about how to pass the ball backwards. We were every bit as negative as NI tonight. Awful
Worst Scotland game for a while.
Poor stuff, doesn't bode well for Euros.
26-03-2024, 08:42 PM
At least we got a laugh at Shankland's attempt to chase that through ball from Adams.
70 damn minutes it took clarke to make a change, 70 freakin minutes
cameronw-hfc
I must be the only one that doesn't really care about the last 2 games going by the last few pages. We have performed when it's mattered under Clarke recently, would rather we got our stinkers out of the way in the friendlies.
Still think we will cause an upset at the Euros, and do alright.
I watched some matches between utterly boring park the bus teams playing boring sideways teams in the past but that match wins the trophy. Utterly, utterly pish
Only player who gets pass marks for me is Tierney. The inly player who's first thought wasn't about how to pass the ball backwards. We were every bit as negative as NI tonight. Awful
I agree along with Ferguson in the second half.
26-03-2024, 08:43 PM
Shocking from Scotland. Most of those players would be told to forget Germany.
26-03-2024, 08:43 PM
bullied by a young team, little idea of what to do and too many so called top players playing well below par
26-03-2024, 08:45 PM
Bottom line is these are just build up games. Few issue positions keeper centre half and striker. What is clear is that we simply cannot afford any injuries to our better players.
26-03-2024, 08:46 PM
i done a pre-game double on Northern ireland/England
i certainly didn't expect the latter to be the one that downed the punt
O'Neill will certainly make Aberdeen harder to beat if he gets the job.
We were legends in our own eyes, now we know the truth.
26-03-2024, 08:47 PM
bullied by a young team, little idea of what to do and too many so called top players playing well below par
Bullied physically no doubt
26-03-2024, 08:48 PM
At least we got a laugh at Shankland's attempt to chase that through ball from Adams.
Two sitters missed in two games and runs like he’s in treacle. Not the answer for Scotland up front that’s for sure.
Musselbound
Yeah Tierney was decent second half. Thought Armstrong made a bit of a difference too. But so many below par it was embarrassing. No creativity at all and NI looked pretty comfortable in their low block apart from a couple of late chances. Far too little to late.
I must be the only one that doesn't really care about the last 2 games going by the last few pages. We have performed when it's mattered under Clarke recently, would rather we got our stinkers out of the way in the friendlies.
Agree
26-03-2024, 08:49 PM
Two sitters missed in two games and runs like he’s in treacle. Not the answer for Scotland up front that’s for sure.
Still play him over Dykes. At least the heed is in those positions to get the chances.
26-03-2024, 08:50 PM
We just lack any imagination or creativity final third. It’s all reliant on midfielders getting on the end of things and when you get a reasonably organised team, that ain’t going to happen. McToninay probably won’t score as many goals in the rest of his Scotland career as he did in the qualification campaign.
So difficult to play football, at any level, without a striker capable of playing at that level. We’re unfortunate that the squad is just imbalanced.
26-03-2024, 08:51 PM
Only friendlies but Germany have just beat France and Holland 🙈
26-03-2024, 08:52 PM
Spain 2 Brazil 2
26-03-2024, 08:53 PM
Bullied physically no doubt
yip
26-03-2024, 08:53 PM
When you are up against two banks of four you need to play in between the banks of four and be quick and pass and move. You also need to take out the banks by playing the ball long and over the top of them. NI were well drilled and disciplined but players need to work things out on the field. Patterson should be nowhere near the squad.
26-03-2024, 08:55 PM
Only friendlies but Germany have just beat France and Holland 🙈
The Germans getting their act together just before a home tournament is no real surprise.
LewysGot2
26-03-2024, 08:58 PM
Bradley looks like a real prospect- in fact he's already a cracking player at a young age. However, he's the only NI player of that stature.
We were pedestrian, ordinary and lacking in guile. The Shanklandstein love in is weird, he may finish well from 12 yards but he runs like he's towing a caravan. Kris Boyd is clearly his role model.
Patterson is awful and gifted Bradley an opportunity he didn't need twice to be given.
Boring stuff.
26-03-2024, 08:59 PM
Not just you, C 👍
Was a very poor performance and frustrating night, but it doesn’t dampen my enthusiasm for June one jot.
The same way England failing to win their last couple of games won’t stop those insisting they’re about to win something.
26-03-2024, 09:01 PM
Craziness how much the bbc team are pushing the shankland narrative
He’s no good enough for where we want to be as a National team
26-03-2024, 09:02 PM
We lack a striker as good as our midfield. Dykes is a decent option, but when you're up against packed defences as well drilled as NI were tonight, you need to be able to pull a goal out of nowhere.
26-03-2024, 09:03 PM
The Germans getting their act together just before a home tournament is no real surprise.
Good news that they are.
England are a real concern coming into this tourny.
With no South American teams there to deal with them, we need European powerhouses to be at it.
26-03-2024, 09:05 PM
At least when Shankland came on we got on the end of chances. A superb block stopped him scoring and the header with the goalie wasn't a great chance.Of the three strikers he should be first choice.
england equalised on 90+ 5 FT 2-2
Trinity Hibee
It is mad. He is far too slow for this level. He’s an SPFL player and that is it.
26-03-2024, 09:06 PM
It’s not that mental.
Out of the players we have available to us his goalscoring record is outstanding and he’s the best finisher in the squad.
I would prefer we had someone closer to Haaland quality but it’s hardly a surprise that people think Shankland is our best option, and it’s not just the bbc (who I don’t like either).
He missed another very good chance tonight though. Having said that, we didn’t even look like having a chance until he was on the pitch.
LewysGot2
26-03-2024, 09:08 PM
Watching SC4 coverage of Wales v Poland. Into Extra Time. Poland turning up the heat just now
26-03-2024, 09:09 PM
Good news that they are.
England are a real concern coming into this tourny.
With no South American teams there to deal with them, we need European powerhouses to be at it.
Aye but no so good when we play them first.
26-03-2024, 09:09 PM
Watching SC4 coverage of Wales v Poland. Into Extra Time. Poland turning up the heat just now
Hope Lewandowski sends them through.
Musselbound
26-03-2024, 09:10 PM
At least when Shankland came on we got on the end of chances. A superb block stopped him scoring and the header with the goalie wasn't a great chance.Of the three strikers he should be first choice.
Unlucky maybe with the block but I thought the header was a very good chance at the level we need to be at.
Come on Poland 🇵🇱.
Wales look knackered now and Poland the more likely to nick it in this final 5.
These Welsh bucket hat efforts are a ****ing abomination
26-03-2024, 09:11 PM
Probably our poorest performance under SC. Not what we needed after a run of poor results. But let's not get carried away we absolutely deserve to be at the euros and I've no doubt the team that beat Spain and Norway will turn up
Shankland is a goal scorer, of course he should be there. We'd be apoplectic at thr thought of the leading league scorer not making the squad if he played for us. Patterson was very poor. Need Hickey and Mcgregor fit for the summer
None of the teams in our group will be as defensive as NI. So hopefully more open games for our creative players
26-03-2024, 09:11 PM
First time I’ve bothered to watch a Scotland game in ages.
They were abysmal.
Credit to NI I thought - very well drilled defence who carried out their game plan perfectly.
Scotland need to be able to come up with much better than that though.
You can’t criticise Clarke’s overall record - but he manages to chuck in quite a lot of utterly hopeless performances and results with the good ones.
With the selections I don’t really know what he was hoping to learn.
If Clarke wasn’t as loyal as he is to his favourites I’d have said that Chris Cadden has everything to play for in finishing the season strongly, as there is (or certainly should be) a RB shirt up for grabs.
26-03-2024, 09:12 PM
These Welsh bucket hat efforts are a ****ing abomination
Find the Welsh a bit tedious. The media love in for them is overdue a pause.
26-03-2024, 09:13 PM
Just been said they have never been involved in a penalty shootout
LewysGot2
26-03-2024, 09:13 PM
They sing way better than we do 😆
26-03-2024, 09:14 PM
Unlucky maybe with the block but I thought the header was a very good chance at the level we need to be at.
The goalie made a poor effort which put Shankland off I think but he had to get it over the goalie while keeping it down-not easy.At least he was there to try for it.
26-03-2024, 09:17 PM
Welsh player red carded with seconds to go
pretty harsh like
penalties it is
Mepham just red carded for the leek munchers.
Ft 0-0
LewysGot2
Cerdyn coch Cymru (just learned the Welsh fur "yer sent aff son"
Penalties
26-03-2024, 09:18 PM
First time I’ve bothered to watch a Scotland game in ages.
They were abysmal.
Credit to NI I thought - very well drilled defence who carried out their game plan perfectly.
Scotland need to be able to come up with much better than that though.
You can’t criticise Clarke’s overall record - but he manages to chuck in quite a lot of utterly hopeless performances and results with the good ones.
Weird might, as with the selections I don’t really know what he was hoping to learn.
If Clarke wasn’t as loyal as he is to his favourites I’d have said that Chris Cadden has everything to play for in finishing the season strongly, as there is (or certainly should be) a RB shirt up for grabs.
While I don’t necessarily disagree with all your points, Smartie, you’ve made a fair few definitive conclusions for someone that’s only watched one Scotland game in ages!
It was a bit of a cock-up if he refrained from making as many changes as he wanted to ensure of the win.. then got beat by Northern Ireland. But the poor performances and results have tended to come in friendlies.
Hopefully Hickey is back fit shortly. Cadden quite rightly won’t be in Clarke’s thinking. Playing himself into a position where he’s a guaranteed starter for Monty would be good work on his comeback.
26-03-2024, 09:19 PM
Spain 3 Brazil 2
LewysGot2
26-03-2024, 09:19 PM
They cannae half sing proper like 👏👏
26-03-2024, 09:23 PM
No sure. Cannae make out a word they're singing.
LewysGot2
26-03-2024, 09:24 PM
Nearly unlucky 13 for Moore
26-03-2024, 09:27 PM
penalties are good, so far
LewysGot2
26-03-2024, 09:28 PM
Sudden death looms
4-4
5-4 Poland
Dan James, saved wales out
LewysGot2
Poland through
26-03-2024, 09:29 PM
Ya beauty !
See ya Welsh dicks
26-03-2024, 09:29 PM
They’ll can spend all summer perfecting their nice wee singing voices now.
26-03-2024, 09:30 PM
Good stuff. Never fancied Dan James for that at all.
hope Dan James doesn't hit any penalty like that for Leeds on Friday :)
Bye bye Wales.
Ha ha ha enjoy watching us on the Tele Wales no luck 🇵🇱🇵🇱
Shame. No issue with Wales. Lovely country, nice people.
26-03-2024, 09:31 PM
At least they won the singing.
Shame. No issue with Wales. Lovely country, nice people.
26-03-2024, 09:34 PM
FT Spain 3 Brazil 3(90+6 Pen)
good game, good game