View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread
26-11-2023, 12:45 PM
Aberdeen doing what they think gives them the best chance of winning. We were similar when we went down to 10 yesterday. Games against teh Uglies are a free hit and if you are in the position of getting a result I can't see an issue with sitting in. They are riding their luck but so did we yesterday and teh result is all that matters sometimes
26-11-2023, 12:47 PM
Glasgow Rangers you let your club die ! 😂
26-11-2023, 12:47 PM
You let your club die......
26-11-2023, 12:48 PM
Can’t believe how bad Rangers have been. Plodding and overplaying everything. Clueless actually. How the **** did they stick 4 past us?
26-11-2023, 12:48 PM
What price a sevco pen, to start the bleating and bigotry.
Thats no football. No such team named as R*ngers, Died a while ago.
26-11-2023, 12:49 PM
I think I've heard the commentator say "foul by Shinnie" 4 times already in the first 22 minutes. How often does he get booked for persistent fouling, as it seems to be the main part of his game?
There's almost an acceptance that he is a tough tackler rather than a dirty fouler and he gets the benefit of the doubt. Handy player to have in your team, if he can dish it out with no punishment.
26-11-2023, 12:51 PM
Just seen that Terry Venables has passed away, he was a character for sure. R.I.P.
Bridge hibs
26-11-2023, 12:52 PM
Lammers 🤣🤣
That’ll be a pen.
Right on queue.....
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Bound to get it too
26-11-2023, 12:53 PM
Absolutely shocked.
Should be. Foul anywhere else on the pitch for me.
Penalty incoming.
Here we go.
Was the ball in when the tug happened. That view behind the goals means nothing
26-11-2023, 12:54 PM
Penalty to Rangers
Here it comes
Corruption at its finest.
Pulled his shirt and whilst he made a meal of it penalty.
Tbh quite funny as Robsons roasters have just sat in the whole second half
26-11-2023, 12:55 PM
Similar to the one against us. There is a foul from Lammers there potentially at the same time. Good for us though so not complaining too much
Haha
It’s a pull on his shirt. Soft but a foul
Typical
Levels of corruption that wouldn't be out of place in North Korea
I don’t think so in that case. Lazy defending. Just do your job. Sheep got what they deserved for not crossing the half way line for the last hour.
26-11-2023, 12:56 PM
Penalty to Rangers
Pen to the team with no such name.
:faf::faf::faf::lolrangers:
Similar to teh one against us. There is a foul from Lammers there potentially at teh same time. Good for us though so not complaining too muchYep - you can't just look at the tug, the tug is exacerbated due to the block from the guy making no attempt to play the ball
Helensburghhibs
It helps us but theres no way hes getting the ball and the fact theres a block. Shambles 😂
He pulled his jersey and it’s clear as day. That would be a foul anywhere else on pitch so in the box penalty
26-11-2023, 12:57 PM
Pulled his shirt and whilst he made a meal of it penalty.
Tbh quite funny as Robsons roasters have just sat in the whole second half
That happens in The Rangers box and it doesn't even get looked at by VAR.
It’s a pull on his shirt. Soft but a foul
It's the fact that you know Hibs would never get a penalty like that. Wouldn't be checked by VAR and wouldn't be talked about after.
VAR makes it so easy to give penalties to the OF, especially at set pieces.
Still, serves Aberdeen right for the penalty farce against us.
LunasBoots
Godson going down like he's made of feathers again, more players should do it the bars been set
Chorley Hibee
Its not necessarily the wrong decision by the officials, but it's the type of decision you'll see countless times in any other game, and not once be pulled up by officials.
It's only when it involves Rangers they decide to act upon it.
There you have it.
VAR would not have even checked that if it was us. Rangers supporter Andrew Dallas will be scrutinising everything.
Yep - you can't just look at the tug, the tug is exacerbated due to the block from the guy making no attempt to play the ball
Shirt pull was first. Very similar to the one they got against Hearts. Brain dead defending IMO.
Lammers should be winning it there for me.
Bridge hibs
26-11-2023, 12:58 PM
Love how players get pulled backwards in the box but they seem to fall forwards 🤣
Shirt pull was first. Very similar to the one they got against Hearts. Brain dead defending IMO.He grabs his shirt first but it's barely a tug until he's stopped dead in his tracks due to the block
Couldn't have put it better. Every time there is an incident with that team its checked. Have seen many incidents like that not checked. Goldsons dive Tom Daley would have been proud of that.
:faf::faf: They even themselves out over 150 years or so I am told.
The game is as corrupt as a nine bob note, the sympathisers may say different.
He's here!
Similar to the one against us. There is a foul from Lammers there potentially at the same time. Good for us though so not complaining too much
Yep, good for us. That's all that matters.
26-11-2023, 12:59 PM
How bad is that Lammers! Honestly don’t think he’d get a game for us.
Stonewall penalty for me, though would it have been given against the Currants. Don’t know what McFadden was taking about saying the referee needed to consider if Goldson would have got to the ball though ?
He grabs his shirt first but it's barely a tug until he's stopped dead in his tracks due to the block
Just don’t grab the shirt and you don’t have an issue. It’s stupidity.
It's the fact that you know Hibs would never get a penalty like that. Wouldn't be checked by VAR and wouldn't be talked about after.
VAR makes it so easy to give penalties to the OF, especially at set pieces.
Still, serves Aberdeen right for the penalty farce against us.
Of course and it’s what Robson deserves for his second half anti football tactics in the second half.
Tbh it benefit us so happy with that
Helensburghhibs
26-11-2023, 01:01 PM
Strap in for half hour of sky justifying the decision 😂
Mcbizz1998
26-11-2023, 01:01 PM
It’s a penalty. I hate the **** but I also greatly enjoy seeing Aberdeen bottle it. They are one of our rivals for 3rd, glad they dropped points.
26-11-2023, 01:02 PM
Just don’t grab the shirt and you don’t have an issue. It’s stupidity.Watch any corner and you will see shirts being held and tugged
The block causes the shirt hold to become a foul
It's a free kick to Aberdeen before rangers get a penalty for me
Obviously that was never happening though [emoji1787]
Edit - Naismith highlighted that very thing before hearts conceeded the pen against them
It's funny as it benefits us but we are just as likely to be on the wrong end in a few weeks
26-11-2023, 01:03 PM
Shirt pull was first. Very similar to the one they got against Hearts. Brain dead defending IMO. The shirt pull only matters when the ball comes into play. At that point Lammers appears to be fouling too. Similar to Marshall being fouled in the one against us. The pen we never got yesterday and the Vente one in the semi were much more pens than that today. The bookings we seem to get for pretty much every foul have to be looked at. Other teams get away with foul after foul, often in the same game, as we are getting booking for next to nothing. Refereeing is getting worse month on month and the inconsistencies that could previously be ruled out by refs not seeing it or having a poor angle now just look like favouritism at best and corruption at worst.
This is exactly it. Does anyone think Aberdeen get that decision if they are a goal down in this game?
That's now 68 matches since Rangers last had a penalty awarded against them.
Seemed like a clear pull on the shirt to me.
26-11-2023, 01:05 PM
Watch any corner and you will see shirts being held and tugged
Edit - Naismith highlighted that very thing before hearts conceeded the pen against them
It's funny as it benefits us but we are just as likely to be on the wrong end in a few weeks
The boy had the run on him and he pulled him. If you do that, with VAR, you’ll likely concede a penalty. Folk are only debating it because Rangers got it IMO. It’s pretty blatant for me.
Hearts incident was very similar and right decision then as well for me.
Tully
26-11-2023, 01:06 PM
Happened to hibs at paisley daft shirt pull but penalty was given
Donegal Hibby
26-11-2023, 01:06 PM
Thought Nick Walsh and Var would give Sevco a penalty today , in fairness though it was a definite Penalty imo .
26-11-2023, 01:09 PM
It probably is a penalty, the issue is if the roles were reversed and that's Aberdeen at Ibrox they don't get the pen.
Torto7
26-11-2023, 01:10 PM
Penalty to Sevco the most used phrase in Scottish fitba. Corrupt to the core.
26-11-2023, 01:11 PM
Hmmm.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231126/a01afe1d1f5337003e4d1d21272703fc.jpg
26-11-2023, 01:17 PM
Good time to get Aberdeen next Sunday, hammered by Celtic, scunnered last minute by The Rangers today and hopefully beaten in Europe on Thursday and a wee bit of fatigue after. And some payback for the semi.
hibstag
26-11-2023, 01:21 PM
That is the issue that other team similar incidents aren't reviewed.
Yes it penalty but not for everyone and not in every game.
There was a weird bit of commentary on 88 mins when crocker said we understand that there will be at least 5mins added on, it felt as if they are trying to work out how much to add. at that point (88 mins) if they were adding 5on, to get significantly more (up to 7) the game would have to stop.
As it turned out the game did stop and they played significantly more.
26-11-2023, 01:22 PM
A good start from Spurs in the first 20 minutes.
26-11-2023, 01:23 PM
I don’t see the big deal. I’m sure Crocker said during commentary it was only their 7th penalty in the last 4 games.
26-11-2023, 01:24 PM
That is the issue that other team similar incidents aren't reviewed.
Yes it penalty but not for everyone and not in every game.
The funniest bit of commentary came on 88 mins when crocker said we understand that there will be at least 5mins added on as if they are trying to work out how much to add, at that point 88 mins to get more the game would have to stop.
I think it's because it's always a minimum of the time added.
26-11-2023, 01:24 PM
A good start from Spurs in the first 20 minutes.
1-0. Spurs are excellent to watch under Ange.
26-11-2023, 01:25 PM
1-1 spurs villa
Might be just offside
26-11-2023, 01:25 PM
1-1. Some game.
Edit maybe offside.
26-11-2023, 01:26 PM
Fine strike from Lo Celso, little deflection takes it away from the keeper.
26-11-2023, 01:26 PM
1-1. Some game.
Edit maybe offside.Weird, one angle looks off, the reverse angle looks on
26-11-2023, 01:27 PM
Weird, one angle looks off, the reverse angle looks on
Yeah it’s a strange one. Said it before though if they can’t decide in 2 minutes the goal should be given. Though they did get the decision right in the end.
26-11-2023, 01:28 PM
If that's offside it's literally a mm or 2. Var is destroying the attacking side of the game.
26-11-2023, 01:29 PM
Watkins equaliser disallowed by VAR.
Tully
26-11-2023, 01:31 PM
If that's offside it's literally a mm or 2. Var is destroying the attacking side of the game.
Similar to Boyle in semi final
26-11-2023, 01:33 PM
[QUOTE=Callum_62;7516656]Watch any corner and you will see shirts being held and tugged
As was pointed out at the times no-one had any memory of Naismith in a blue jersey complaining about the
the inherent bias towards Rangers; seemed to suit him just fine at the time.
Today's penalty was a foul, as most have said there are many such incidents in every game played, it's who gets them & when
that's the problem.
Perhaps it's time to say any shirt pull in the box is a penalty, or yellow card for the attacking team player. There would be cricket scores
for a few weeks & a lot of 6-a-sides but like any rule change, players would get used to it being enforced. Would make the game much less physical though,
no idea what it would actually look like beyond a lot more goals being scored.
Bridge hibs
26-11-2023, 01:50 PM
Tavernier has scored 13 times v the mutton fiddlers, 11 of them penalties 😵
HIBS NUTS
26-11-2023, 01:51 PM
The problem is not with, is a shirt pull a penalty.
The problem is APPARENTLY no rangers player has pulled a shirt at a corner or cross ball, for 68 games in the league.
Or of course VAR would have intervened as they do now, on a weekly basis.
26-11-2023, 01:56 PM
What a header that is from Torres
26-11-2023, 02:46 PM
It’s a penalty. I hate the **** but I also greatly enjoy seeing Aberdeen bottle it. They are one of our rivals for 3rd, glad they dropped points.
Rangers are our main Rivals for 2nd..glad they dropped points :greengrin
26-11-2023, 03:00 PM
McGinn was excellent second half there. Popping up all over the place
26-11-2023, 03:06 PM
Agree, it’s good to be able to appreciate his style of play without it being through gritted teeth. He’s a proper good manager, and this is so much better to watch than the majority of English premier league games.
I think spurs might just be the best team in London right now. Funny how things work out.
Aged like milk
26-11-2023, 03:24 PM
C'mon everton!!!!!!!!!
26-11-2023, 03:34 PM
Pick that one out Pickford.
26-11-2023, 03:36 PM
What a strike, brilliant effort.
26-11-2023, 03:36 PM
What a goal that was 😮👍❤
26-11-2023, 04:00 PM
Utd stand in manager Van der Gaag i remember him playing for Motherwell ! Done no bad for himself
Donegal Hibby
26-11-2023, 04:06 PM
Don't know how Everton are not level here !
26-11-2023, 04:19 PM
Man U are crap
Donegal Hibby
26-11-2023, 04:27 PM
Man U are crap
Lucky bu**ers though ! .
26-11-2023, 05:06 PM
Lucky bu**ers though ! .
That’s for sure
26-11-2023, 06:47 PM
Juventus v Inter about to kick off on TNT Sports
Lucky bu**ers though ! .
Whilst the big decisions were correct, I felt the ref was very lenient with Man Utd compared to Everton. Booked Everton players whilst not doing the same for similar challenges by Utd players, Fernandes should have been booked for going through someone’s ankle, Everton player booked for complaining that garnacho blatantly kicked the ball away, while garnacho not even spoken to. Commentary chalked it up to the ref not seeing the kick away, but there’s 3 other officials around the pitch, seriously saying no one saw it? Just a poor performance from the ref. Cracking goal from garnacho though
26-11-2023, 07:15 PM
1-0 Juventus
26-11-2023, 07:20 PM
1-0 Juventus
1-1
26-11-2023, 08:16 PM
If Garnocho doesn’t win goal of the season, I would love to see the goal that beats it. The thing that made it all the more difficult was the fact he was running away from goal to meet the cross. Very rarely do those go in.
Trinity Hibee
26-11-2023, 08:21 PM
James Tavernier has now scored 12 penalties…
…against Aberdeen.
Just Aberdeen. 😀
Henrik Larsson scored 14 penalties in Scottish football.
26-11-2023, 08:23 PM
If Garnocho doesn’t win goal of the season, I would love to see the goal that beats it. The thing that made it all the more difficult was the fact he was running away from goal to meet the cross. Very rarely do those go in.
An absolutely wonderful strike.
Mcbizz1998
26-11-2023, 08:34 PM
James Tavernier has now scored 12 penalties…
…against Aberdeen.
Just Aberdeen. 😀
Henrik Larsson scored 14 penalties in Scottish football.
That’s absolutely mental haha!
27-11-2023, 07:23 PM
Fulham 1 Wolves 1, decent game so far.
27-11-2023, 08:17 PM
How's that a penalty? Clearly plays the ball.
27-11-2023, 08:19 PM
Fulham 1 Wolves 1, decent game so far.
Until it was ruined by another **** penalty call that should have been overturned after VAR studied it for minutes.
27-11-2023, 08:22 PM
Until it was ruined by another **** penalty call that should have been overturned after VAR studied it for minutes.
Wolves have had some absolute shockers against them this season.
27-11-2023, 08:23 PM
Absolutely.
27-11-2023, 08:32 PM
Ref evens it up penalty to Rangers
27-11-2023, 08:34 PM
Ref evens it up penalty to Rangers
Except that one was a stonewall penalty.
Donegal Hibby
27-11-2023, 08:39 PM
Good game with plenty of goals:greengrin
Donegal Hibby
27-11-2023, 08:51 PM
Jez , that's not a penalty!
27-11-2023, 08:52 PM
2 of the softest pens you'll see.
27-11-2023, 08:53 PM
Ref goes from almost stopping the game to book wilson for diving, to being told by VAR to give a penalty.
Football really is ****.
But apparently it’s just because Scottish refs are bad.
27-11-2023, 08:53 PM
Are Fulham the English Rangers?
27-11-2023, 08:56 PM
Ref goes from almost stopping the game to book wilson for diving, to being told by VAR to give a penalty.
Football really is ****.
But apparently it’s just because Scottish refs are bad.
VAR is ruining it. The ref had the most perfect view of it. The boy on VAR then needs to look at it 20 times to make his mind up. That’s not clear and obvious and you can guarantee he’s not sure himself.
Donegal Hibby
27-11-2023, 08:56 PM
I agree with smith ' players made his mind up to go down ' really soft penalty. VAR is destroying football.
27-11-2023, 09:16 PM
How on earth anyone can look at that first one over and over again and still give a penalty is completely beyond me.
May21/05/216
27-11-2023, 09:49 PM
Get rid of var it's killing the game
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
27-11-2023, 09:50 PM
I thought the Wolves manager spoke very well and a lot what he said was spot on.
28-11-2023, 08:27 AM
I thought the Wolves manager spoke very well and a lot what he said was spot on.
https://twitter.com/SkySportsNews/status/1729427649364140077?t=eJADiTs_2tuAm0kCKD4D1Q&s=19
Surprisingly calm consider the events that went against his side
Feel for managers getting a camera shoved in their face almost immediately after full time to explain or opine on refereeing decisions during a match. Needs scrapped
Donegal Hibby
28-11-2023, 08:43 AM
https://twitter.com/SkySportsNews/status/1729427649364140077?t=eJADiTs_2tuAm0kCKD4D1Q&s=19
Surprisingly calm consider the events that went against his side
Feel for managers getting a camera shoved in their face almost immediately after full time to explain or opine on refereeing decisions during a match. Needs scrapped
Yeah wasn't easy for him though conducted himself well and got his points across that were valid.
28-11-2023, 01:32 PM
They have. VAR has really been cruel to them.
Paul1642
28-11-2023, 05:15 PM
All Lazio so far and they should really be ahead by now. I believe anything other than a win for Celtic kills any chance in them dropping to the Europa League. Will be nice for them to be out by Xmas. Rangers next please.
28-11-2023, 05:21 PM
All Lazio so far and they should really be ahead by now. I believe anything other than a win for Celtic kills any chance in them dropping to the Europa League. Will be nice for them to be out by Xmas. Rangers next please.
Bernardo seems very very average and o Reilly is having a stinker.
Tully
28-11-2023, 05:23 PM
Hartson what a bore
Paul1642
28-11-2023, 05:25 PM
Hartson what a bore
Awful. There must be a more entertaining former Celtic player willing to take a few quid from BT.
Bridge hibs
28-11-2023, 05:25 PM
Hartson what a bore
He gets on my tits, his squeaky voice, brilliant celtc, magnificent, superb 6 inch pass by Forrest
Paul1642
28-11-2023, 05:27 PM
He gets on my tits, his squeaky voice, brilliant celtc, magnificent, superb 6 inch pass by Forrest
As bad as watching Celtic TV. He must be watching a different game from me if he thinks Celtic are playing well.
Donegal Hibby
28-11-2023, 05:30 PM
Maybe it's just me though found this Celtic game pretty boring so far and John Hartson isn't helping matters either🥱
Tully
Ohh ah up the ra what a bunch of cretins
Bridge hibs
As bad as watching Celtic TV. He must be watching a different game from me if he thinks Celtic are playing well.
He very rarely says a bad word about celtc, even when they were leathered by Athletico he couldn't bring himself around to criticising them, all about the sendings off, baw heided squeaky voiced prick
28-11-2023, 05:32 PM
Has Kyogo actually touched the ball yet?
28-11-2023, 05:32 PM
He literally said ‘we’ll take that’ when Celtic got a decision in their favour.
28-11-2023, 05:34 PM
Has Kyogo actually touched the ball yet?
Aye, both of them.
28-11-2023, 05:44 PM
Aye, both of them.
I see he had a shot on target in the first minute. I tuned in shortly after.
EastStandGates
28-11-2023, 05:50 PM
There's less bias on CelticTV than there is on a neutral channel with Hartson commentating.
Donegal Hibby
28-11-2023, 06:29 PM
Lazio 2- 0 Celtic 😀
28-11-2023, 06:35 PM
Some of these penalty awards 😂
Edit: correctly ruled out by VAR. No chance that happens in Scotland.
28-11-2023, 06:37 PM
Clear push says Hartson!
28-11-2023, 06:37 PM
Clear push says Hartson!
Total moron eh? If that's in the Celtic box he's saying it's never a pen and it's diving.
JammyDoidger
28-11-2023, 06:38 PM
John Hartson needs dropped, what a roaster man.
28-11-2023, 06:38 PM
Clear push says Hartson!
No way that's getting overturned, he says.
S******.
28-11-2023, 06:41 PM
John Hartson needs dropped, what a roaster man.None so blind as those who cannot see, he is the lesser greens Kevin Thomson/Kenny Miller figure when they are getting whipped in games outside their SPFL comfort zone.
Celtic have a problem with conceding late goals
28-11-2023, 06:58 PM
Celtic have a problem with conceding late goals
Celtic are so much worse under Rodgers than they were under Postecoglou. Still easily win the league mind you.
28-11-2023, 07:00 PM
Celtic are so much worse under Rodgers than they were under Postecoglou. Still easily win the league mind you.
I'd prefer they win it to those Sevco ***** but I don't have much faith in Rodgers to be able to pull it off.
28-11-2023, 07:01 PM
didn't realise they play the hundreds of years old Z-cars music at Vicarage road as well :LOL: can they not play the music from 'the Bill' or summit like that instead
small crowd as well
28-11-2023, 07:06 PM
Maloney 1 up in the sacked Hibs manager derby with Johnson.
Think Maloney doing a decent job there considering the financial issues and points deduction.
28-11-2023, 07:08 PM
3 mins Watford 0 Norwich 1
28-11-2023, 07:08 PM
Mbappe should be booked right there for simulation aswell as being embarrassed about it.
28-11-2023, 07:14 PM
Poor ball from Porteous leads to lovely strike from the Norwich boy. Some start for them.
28-11-2023, 07:14 PM
12 mins, **** up by Porteous 0-2
28-11-2023, 07:15 PM
**** up by Porteous 0-2
Porteous gives it away and some finish !!
28-11-2023, 07:23 PM
Porteous gives it away and some finish !!
19 managers in 11 years, wonder if Ismael will see the season out
28-11-2023, 07:25 PM
1-0 Newcastle
28-11-2023, 07:27 PM
1-0 Newcastle
What a group that is !
Donegal Hibby
28-11-2023, 07:27 PM
Yasss Cmon Newcastle 1-0
28-11-2023, 07:33 PM
Watford pull one back 1-2
make that 2-2
28-11-2023, 07:33 PM
City 2-0 down :faf:
I expected Newcastle to fall away a bit this year and get smashed in this CL group mostly down to the fact I don’t buy into the Eddie Howe hype…..how little about football do I know! More than decent first half here and right in the mix
28-11-2023, 08:03 PM
PSG started like a train but running out of ideas now
Interesting second half coming up
28-11-2023, 08:15 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖
28-11-2023, 08:21 PM
Maloney 3 Johnson 0
Donegal Hibby
28-11-2023, 08:24 PM
PSG started like a train but running out of ideas now
Interesting second half coming up
Think Newcastle will tire , not alot of options on the bench either. Be surprised if they hang on .
Ross County 1 St Mirren 0
28-11-2023, 08:34 PM
Good result for us.
28-11-2023, 08:37 PM
Man City 2 v 2 Leipzig
28-11-2023, 08:39 PM
Maloney 3 Johnson 0
Johnson only managing at 85% effort tonight. Wonder what the score would have been if he was being chased by a lion.
Donegal Hibby
28-11-2023, 08:43 PM
Newcastle under some pressure now.
28-11-2023, 08:47 PM
3-2 Citee
28-11-2023, 08:47 PM
Quite a few folk said a wee while ago that St Mirren would fall back a bit. I didn’t think they would but it looks like I might have been wrong. If we can keep going in the right direction, and St Mirren have shot their bolt, we could have a meaningful run.
Mikey_1875
28-11-2023, 08:57 PM
Don’t have much time for the Toon but that is a joke!
Toon robbed there
Decent Ref tae
What an absolutely disgraceful call in the Newcastle game.
28-11-2023, 08:58 PM
Corruption? Scandalous decision.
What an absolutely disgraceful call in the Newcastle game.
Shocking decision. Absolute joke
TrinityHFC
Shambles.
HendoDelivered
28-11-2023, 08:59 PM
Embarrassing
28-11-2023, 08:59 PM
If I speak, I'm in trouble.
Donegal Hibby
28-11-2023, 09:00 PM
**** VAR , sick of it . Scandalous decision!
28-11-2023, 09:01 PM
Am I missing something here, I thought the rule was it wasn’t a penalty if the ball came off a player onto their arm ?
the poor Barcodes
not even watching but that's a penalty
i'm sure of it
Can't quite believe that, from being sure it was a penalty then almost convinced it couldn't be given from seeing the first replay.
Can't help but feel Newcastle could have done a little bit more to keep themselves away from such situations. Out on their feet maybe and blocking machines for the last 20 minutes, but absolutely no effort to play more than one pass to help them up the pitch.
Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk
28-11-2023, 09:02 PM
**** VAR , sick of it . Scandalous decision!
Hibeesforever
28-11-2023, 09:03 PM
VAR is such a joke...never a penalty...Bigger team favoured...
Am I missing something here, I thought the rule was it wasn’t a penalty if the ball came off a player onto their arm ?
It's not VAR that's at fault. Refs just seem to make it up on the spot.
There is absolutely no consistency.
Donegal Hibby
:na na: 😂
28-11-2023, 09:04 PM
Rule is VAR can give whatever it wants as long as it ruins the game and means it’s all we’re talking about afterwards.
And I wanted an Mbappe goal tonight.
TrinityHFC
28-11-2023, 09:04 PM
Supposedly, yes. Ref only seemed bothered about the picture of the ball hitting the arm.
28-11-2023, 09:06 PM
It's not VAR that's at fault. Refs just seem to make it up on the spot.
There is absolutely no consistency.VAR has told the ref to look at it though, which can't help but put the thought in his head he'd be in a minority to stick with no penalty.
If the game continues without the ref being told to go to the screen, no one bats an eyelid.
Of the three shouts PSG had, it was far the least convincing of the shouts. Gordon's nudge probably was, and I can't see how you give this handball but not the earlier one.
Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk
Paul1642
28-11-2023, 09:09 PM
Brutal for Newcastle. Just minutes before I commented that I thought the ref had been excellent.
I was under the impression that body onto hand wasn’t a foul however I completely feel like I just don’t understand handball rules anymore. It’s also completely unnatural to expect a player to move his body with his arms pinned to his sides at all times.
28-11-2023, 09:24 PM
Brilliant result for us that. Some good business in January and we have a great chance of finishing third
28-11-2023, 09:25 PM
Genuinely struggling to enjoy football anymore
Corrupt to the core across the board.
Donegal Hibby
28-11-2023, 09:33 PM
I can't understand why a similar incident involving Miley was ruled not to be a penalty yet VAR decides that's worth the Ref looking at . Absolute bonkers the way decision are being made in football how !.
scm70nyd1973
28-11-2023, 09:36 PM
Genuinely struggling to enjoy football anymore
Corrupt to the core across the board.
I’m starting to feel this way too - I thought it (VAR) would resolve a load of things but it’s almost now got to the stage where it is emphasising corruption- and I used to think that corruption, cheating etc was a load of baloney - the game is getting feched by the minute - poor stuff 🤬
I know things are getting bad when I can’t enjoy a bit of good old schadenfreude involving teams I can’t stand (Newcastle being one of them)
29-11-2023, 05:00 AM
I can't understand why a similar incident involving Miley was ruled not to be a penalty yet VAR decides that's worth the Ref looking at . Absolute bonkers the way decision are being made in football how !.
Do you now agree with Arteta and Arsenal that refereeing standards are terrible?
29-11-2023, 07:58 AM
Brutal for Newcastle. Just minutes before I commented that I thought the ref had been excellent.
I was under the impression that body onto hand wasn’t a foul however I completely feel like I just don’t understand handball rules anymore. It’s also completely unnatural to expect a player to move his body with his arms pinned to his sides at all times.
Read this morning on BBC Sports that EUFA have not taken up the recommendation that body to hand should not be given. Seems like it was not a rule change as much as a recommendation.
Musselbound
29-11-2023, 08:56 AM
Read this morning on BBC Sports that EUFA have not taken up the recommendation that body to hand should not be given. Seems like it was not a rule change as much as a recommendation.
I did wonder if 'the rules' could be different in Scotland or England from other countries. So a further grey area that leaves fans like me feeling that I just don't know what a lot of the rules are meant to be any more.
Mcbizz1998
29-11-2023, 09:08 AM
The thing that annoyed me most about that decision last night was the minimal amount of time the ref took to view it. He looked at one angle and immediately made his decision - there was then a replay shown on TNT that made it much clearer, a view that the ref wouldn't have even seen.
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2023, 09:09 AM
Do you now agree with Arteta and Arsenal that refereeing standards are terrible?
Cmon now seriously? , you surely must realise now that Arteta was mostly wrong in what he was complaining about in did the ball cross the line ( proven it didn't ) , was Gordon offside ( proven he wasn't ) , did Joelinton foul the arsenal player ( opinions split) , should Bruno have been sent off ( definitely) as should the arsenal player too though so both decisions worked out in both clubs favour in they didn't face losing one of there better players to suspension and no team gained any advantage. Some folk in the media have said the only decision that the referee got wrong was the two sending off decision which imo is probably correct.
The decision last night to award a penalty for the ball hitting the players body and then his elbow after another one very similar was ruled out showed once again how bad VAR is for football. I do believe what Eddie Howie said afterwards in the referee was under that much pressure from the home crowd to give it he did buckle, bottom line is VAR should never have asked the referee to look at it in the first place after the other similar one was deemed not a penalty . McCoist is right in if we are going to give penalties for that we are as well to give up.
Arteta gripe is totally a different situation than that of last night , whatever team it be arsenal, Liverpool , Man U surely most fans don't want to see penalties given for something like that ! ! .
29-11-2023, 11:08 AM
Cmon now seriously? , you surely must realise now that Arteta was mostly wrong in what he was complaining about in did the ball cross the line ( proven it didn't ) , was Gordon offside ( proven he wasn't ) , did Joelinton foul the arsenal player ( opinions split) , should Bruno have been sent off ( definitely) as should the arsenal player too though so both decisions worked out in both clubs favour in they didn't face losing one of there better players to suspension and no team gained any advantage. Some folk in the media have said the only decision that the referee got wrong was the two sending off decision which imo is probably correct.
The decision last night to award a penalty for the ball hitting the players body and then his elbow after another one very similar was ruled out showed once again how bad VAR is for football. I do believe what Eddie Howie said afterwards in the referee was under that much pressure from the home crowd to give it he did buckle, bottom line is VAR should never have asked the referee to look at it in the first place after the other similar one was deemed not a penalty . McCoist is right in if we are going to give penalties for that we are as well to give up.
Arteta gripe is totally a different situation than that of last night , whatever team it be arsenal, Liverpool , Man U surely most fans don't want to see penalties given for something like that ! ! .
I don't want to see goals given with clear, two handed pushes on defenders either.
What happened to Newcastle was simply a bad decision coming back around. Such a shame.
29-11-2023, 11:10 AM
I don't want to see goals given with clear, two handed pushes on defenders either.
What happened to Newcastle was simply a bad decision coming back around. Such a shame.
Let go you are top of the league :greengrin
supermcginn
29-11-2023, 11:13 AM
Good to see you've seen sense, you said it was because officials were biased towards Newcastle because they are getting paid by Saudi Arabia.
29-11-2023, 11:16 AM
Good to see you've seen sense, you said it was because officials were biased towards Newcastle because they are getting paid by Saudi Arabia.
Well, they literally are though. That's not my opinion. They are being paid to work on the side by Newcastles owners.
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2023, 11:48 AM
Point is not everyone thought it's a foul like you did though ! , everyone I've heard so far have been unanimous in THAT shouldn't have been a penalty. It is such a shame because if it happens once it could happen again and next time it could be against your beloved arsenal. Thought Eddie Howie conducted himself well about it though in he didn't go off on one ranting and raving. Good listen here .
https://youtu.be/fISgQuLhGho?si=2W7zCF-rylBHl9DV
29-11-2023, 12:14 PM
Point is not everyone thought it's a foul like you did though ! , everyone I've heard so far have been unanimous in THAT shouldn't have been a penalty. It is such a shame because if it happens once it could happen again and next time it could be against your beloved arsenal. Thought Eddie Howie conducted himself well about it though in he didn't go off on one ranting and raving. Good listen here .
https://youtu.be/fISgQuLhGho?si=2W7zCF-rylBHl9DV
I love Hibs mate. No other club.
I can't see anything that happens to Newcastle as a shame really. Sportwashing front for an evil regime.
Eddie Howe is a nice, classy guy. Conducts himself well when ignoring his bosses murdering journalists.
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2023, 01:18 PM
I love Hibs mate. No other club.
I can't see anything that happens to Newcastle as a shame really. Sportwashing front for an evil regime.
Eddie Howe is a nice, classy guy. Conducts himself well when ignoring his bosses murdering journalists.
The way your going on about decisions that happened in the Newcastle United v arsenal game in your stance in defending Arteta when it's been proven he's wrong in at least 2 out of 4 of them would suggest otherwise or the fact you've dragged up something that's happened weeks ago when there's been a bigger talking point last night that is ruining football on two fronts . Sportswashing again ! Yeah I do remember you said at the time referees were employed by Newcastle and cheated the GOONERS :faf:
MKHIBEE
29-11-2023, 01:22 PM
Aparently this ruling was not adopted for UEFA Competitions.
29-11-2023, 01:47 PM
The way your going on about decisions that happened in the Newcastle United v arsenal game in your stance in defending Arteta when it's been proven he's wrong in at least 2 out of 4 of them would suggest otherwise or the fact you've dragged up something that's happened weeks ago when there's been a bigger talking point last night that is ruining football on two fronts . Sportswashing again ! Yeah I do remember you said at the time referees were employed by Newcastle and cheated the GOONERS :faf:
I didn't say Arsenal were cheated. I asked if you believed officials should be officiating Newcastle games when they make money on the side working for Newcastle's owners. This is a fact. They work games in the Saudi league which is largely owned by PIF, who own Newcastle.
You on the other hand, were shouting corruption last night based on nothing at all.
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2023, 03:30 PM
I didn't say Arsenal were cheated. I asked if you believed officials should be officiating Newcastle games when they make money on the side working for Newcastle's owners. This is a fact. They work games in the Saudi league which is largely owned by PIF, who own Newcastle.
You on the other hand, were shouting corruption last night based on nothing at all.
Well if your not saying arsenal were cheated I fail to see a problem then ! .Wrong again , I said I was sick of VAR decisions and whatever league they work in doesn't mean Newcastle own them or pay there wages . You on the other hand seem to be full of conspiracy theories that you have no proof of whatsoever . Interesting to see how the FA will deal with Arteta's amazing outburst too :wink: . though you will probably be telling me next that they are also on Newcastle's payroll 😂
29-11-2023, 03:33 PM
Well if your not saying arsenal were cheated I fail to see a problem then ! .Wrong again , I said I was sick of VAR decisions and whatever league they work in doesn't mean Newcastle own them or pay there wages . You on the other hand seem to be full of conspiracy theories that you have no proof of whatsoever . Interesting to see how the FA will deal with Arteta's amazing outburst too :wink: . though you will probably be telling me next that they are also on Newcastle's payroll 😂
I provided proof. Do you think I'd make up them refereeing games in Saudi? Why would I do that. Its all over the bloody internet :faf:
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2023, 04:03 PM
I provided proof. Do you think I'd make up them refereeing games in Saudi? Why would I do that. Its all over the bloody internet :faf:
Refereeing games in Saudi which probably went thru the English FA first anyhow doesn't mean Newcastle own or were paying them against arsenal .
The big point from last night which could effect every team is you can now blast a ball at a defender hit any part of his body and if it ricochets to the back of his elbow it's a penalty .
Unfortunately as a upset arsenal fan you'd rather drag up something from weeks ago you think arsenal were hard done by . Your not Marty McFly by any chance? . Time to move on ! 😂
29-11-2023, 04:16 PM
Refereeing games in Saudi which probably went thru the English FA first anyhow doesn't mean Newcastle own or were paying them against arsenal .
The big point from last night which could effect every team is you can now blast a ball at a defender hit any part of his body and if it ricochets to the back of his elbow it's a penalty .
Unfortunately as a upset arsenal fan you'd rather drag up something from weeks ago you think arsenal were hard done by . Your not Marty McFly by any chance? . Time to move on !
I didn't say that. I asked you a simple question then and now. I didn't say Arsenal were victims of corruption. In my opinion, referees working for club owners on the side should not be refereeing games involving or effecting those clubs. That is all. Its a conflict of interest. Its not better because it went through the FA.
Last nights decision was no worse than Brunos elbow or joelintons push. All were wrong. You cannot go around elbowing opponents in the head, just as you cant give penalties for that.
I'm not an upset Arsenal fan at all. Arsenal are top of the league and top of their CL group. Why would Arsenal fans be upset?
This is nothing to do with football loyalties. I think last night, Arsenal vs Newcastle, Liverpool vs Spurs and Chelsea vs Spurs have been some of the worst refereed matches I've ever seen and they've all been in a few months. Standards are woeful and Arteta and Klopp were right to point it out.
29-11-2023, 04:31 PM
Proverbial downpour prior to Galatasaray v Man U game
Could make for testing conditions if pitch cuts up
Donegal Hibby
29-11-2023, 04:46 PM
I didn't say that. I asked you a simple question then and now. I didn't say Arsenal were victims of corruption. In my opinion, referees working for club owners on the side should not be refereeing games involving or effecting those clubs. That is all. Its a conflict of interest. Its not better because it went through the FA.
Last nights decision was no worse than Brunos elbow or joelintons push. All were wrong. You cannot go around elbowing opponents in the head, just as you cant give penalties for that.
I'm not an upset Arsenal fan at all. Arsenal are top of the league and top of their CL group. Why would Arsenal fans be upset?
This is nothing to do with football loyalties. I think last night, Arsenal vs Newcastle, Liverpool vs Spurs and Chelsea vs Spurs have been some of the worst refereed matches I've ever seen and they've all been in a few months. Standards are woeful and Arteta and Klopp were right to point it out.
It was a lot worse than Bruno's elbow and worse than Havertz leg breaking challenge . Unlike you others in ex players . Referees and pundits aren't convinced it was a push from joelinton
Arteta's outbursts of the referee getting many many things wrong about the Newcastle goal and it being a disgrace wasn't accurate which is why he's getting dragged up before the FA and why a arsenal legend said he should have taken time out before speaking to the media .
This of course you are unwilling to accept because your wearing red arsenal blinkers unfortunately. Anyhow Cmon Galatasaray.
29-11-2023, 04:49 PM
Just listening to the Man U game on the radio (young folk may need to Google that!) but the noise coming from Galatasaray fans is incredible as is the whistling when Man U get the ball
Crazy atmosphere.
The Galatasary keeper spat the dummy out after the goal and chased Garnacho (Spl) 40 yards to confront him.
29-11-2023, 05:04 PM
Fernandez!!!!
2-0 United
What a game
29-11-2023, 05:07 PM
Antony playing really well.
29-11-2023, 05:18 PM
2-1
29-11-2023, 05:31 PM
Icardi goal looked onside to me
K-Zazu
29-11-2023, 05:32 PM
TNT sports is like man united tv
29-11-2023, 05:59 PM
McTominay = goal machine
2-3 that keeper
29-11-2023, 06:07 PM
McTominay = goal machine
Onana = error machine
29-11-2023, 06:07 PM
Onana = error machine
my auld Nana would have kept that out
29-11-2023, 06:10 PM
Terrible goalkeeper 😮🙄
29-11-2023, 06:15 PM
3-3
29-11-2023, 06:16 PM
Galatasary should shoot on sight v onana
29-11-2023, 06:29 PM
man you hit the post
29-11-2023, 06:30 PM
Unbelievable game in Istanbul. Could be about 6-6
29-11-2023, 06:35 PM
pinball in the box
29-11-2023, 06:41 PM
United being bottom of that group after 5 games should see ETH binned.
29-11-2023, 06:43 PM
Hope not , He's doing just fine , Along with that inept goalkeeper
29-11-2023, 06:45 PM
Moot point perhaps but they won't be bottom later on tonight
29-11-2023, 06:49 PM
Hope not , He's doing just fine , Along with that inept goalkeeper
Onana is a very good keeper tbh. Dunno what's happening but he was brilliant for Inter last season.
29-11-2023, 06:51 PM
35 seconds leeds goal called offside
20 seconds later Leeds 0 Swansea 1
3 mins 30 seconds Leeds 1 Swansea 1
29-11-2023, 06:52 PM
Onana is a very good keeper tbh. Dunno what's happening but he was brilliant for Inter last season.
Fair enough but he's been useless in the here and now for Man utd , Saved a last minute penalty and done bugger all since
29-11-2023, 06:54 PM
Moot point perhaps but they won't be bottom later on tonight
2-0 up and 3-1 tonight and still never won the match
It will cost them a place in the knockout stages
K-Zazu
29-11-2023, 06:54 PM
He’s not.
29-11-2023, 07:07 PM
1-0 Benfica v Inter Reserves
29-11-2023, 07:13 PM
2-0
Trinity Hibee
29-11-2023, 07:20 PM
That Man U game was a fantastic watch but why did MU get rid of De Gea and spend £50m or whatever it was on onana? He’s an absolute bombscare and has cost them big time in Europe this season. He doesn’t look anything like a goalkeeper. Says it all about the amount of money they have pissed away in recent years. Embarrassing and should be dropped.
Surely worth getting de gea back in in Jan.
29-11-2023, 07:25 PM
Real are brilliant. Losing the lead they soon equalise. Losing possession they quickly regain it.
29-11-2023, 07:27 PM
Arsenal skooshing it. 3-0. Havertz been absolutely brilliant. Was only a matter of time until he found form.
29-11-2023, 07:28 PM
That Man U game was a fantastic watch but why did MU get rid of De Gea and spend £50m or whatever it was on onana? He’s an absolute bombscare and has cost them big time in Europe this season. He doesn’t look anything like a goalkeeper. Says it all about the amount of money they have pissed away in recent years. Embarrassing and should be dropped.
Surely worth getting de gea back in in Jan.
I thought de Gea had run his race but you're right that Onana hasn't shown much to warrant his move. They'd have been better sticking with Dean Henderson lol. They should try and get Ramsdale from Arsenal.
29-11-2023, 07:30 PM
Martinelli 4-0 this is ridiculous by Arsenal
Running riot.
4-0 Gunners
29-11-2023, 07:31 PM
I thought de Gea had run his race but you're right that Onana hasn't shown much to warrant his move. They'd have been better sticking with Dean Henderson lol. They should try and get Ramsdale from Arsenal.
Arsenal would just laugh at them. He's not long signed a new deal. Would be 60million plus.
4-0 Arsenal. Scary good.
29-11-2023, 07:33 PM
Arsenal would just laugh at them. He's not long signed a new deal. Would be 60million plus.
4-0 Arsenal. Scary good.
He hardly getting a game and his international place is in jeopardy. If he wants to be sure of going to the Euros he'll need to force a move even if it's a loan.
29-11-2023, 07:34 PM
3-0
29-11-2023, 07:39 PM
He hardly getting a game and his international place is in jeopardy. If he wants to be sure of going to the Euros he'll need to force a move even if it's a loan.
He won't go anywhere this season I don't think. It certainly won't be man United.
It's a strange one. He's still young, he could get his place back. I'm not convinced Raya is perfect, but he's very good on the ball.
29-11-2023, 07:39 PM
HT Leeds 2 Swansea 1
HT Sheff Wed 0 Leicester 1
Ipswich 2 Millwall 0
29-11-2023, 07:43 PM
Ipswich 3 v 0 Millwall
29-11-2023, 07:50 PM
5-0. Another brilliant goal.
Arsenal's first 11 is as good as anyone's. Just keeping them fit.