View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

Donegal Hibby
14-02-2024, 09:03 PM
I see Burger scored for Stoke tonight, bet he relished that goal

Im getting my coat 🫣

I thought Coventry's goose was cooked tonight though kitching served up a late equaliser.

14-02-2024, 09:16 PM
that's a nice multi-coloured multi-design main stand roof at PittodrieIt's a dump.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Bridge hibs
14-02-2024, 09:33 PM
I thought Coventry's goose was cooked tonight though kitching served up a late equaliser.

Eccles was gutted though, thought it would be a cakewalk 🫣

14-02-2024, 10:18 PM
It’s difficult to think that Motherwell have won 2 games in their last 21 and find themselves above us

I canny wait for this season to get tae ****

14-02-2024, 10:22 PM
We have only won twice away to Aberdeen in last 16 games which takes us back to 2012.

Or, 2 wins in our last 6 up there [emoji6]

14-02-2024, 10:44 PM
It’s difficult to think that Motherwell have won 2 games in their last 21 and find themselves above us

A horrible statistic and shows how poor we have been this season.

There needs to be a transformational change in the way the football side of the club is run. Underperformance will hopefully be eradicated in the Foley era.

14-02-2024, 10:50 PM

Feel I've I've been saying your last sentence around February time quite a lot in recent seasons

15-02-2024, 07:00 AM
Who’s worked up? What will be will be

I’d rather they went into the game v us having been smashed by Motherwell

Nor has anyone said we can effect anything tonight?

Sometimes a team get a reaction after a pumping like us against Celtic performance wise.

15-02-2024, 07:01 AM
Or, 2 wins in our last 6 up there [emoji6]

Should have been two in a row with Nisbet missing pen.

15-02-2024, 08:18 AM
Just noticing ourselves and Aberdeen have an identical league record. Same goals scored and conceded too. Presumably we're above them based on the head to heads?

15-02-2024, 05:32 PM
Feyenoord 1 Roma 0

15-02-2024, 06:12 PM
Roma Equalise.

King Cosell
15-02-2024, 07:15 PM
Biereth (the boy that was on loan at Motherwell) scored Strum Graz's opener, they beat Slovan Bratislava 4-1 in the ECL play-off. He's got a big future.

15-02-2024, 07:36 PM
It's a dump.

i know, i was being facetious :greengrin

15-02-2024, 07:39 PM
Watching the Braga vs Qarabag game. Zoubir is still playing for Qarabag. Feels like he’s been there for years. Some career he’s had there in terms of European games considering he didn’t really set the heather on fire at Hibs.

If you think the FFL looks bad on TV, you should check out the sparseness of the crowd in the stand the camera is facing onto at Braga!

15-02-2024, 08:14 PM
Watching the Braga vs Qarabag game. Zoubir is still playing for Qarabag. Feels like he’s been there for years. Some career he’s had there in terms of European games considering he didn’t really set the heather on fire at Hibs.

If you think the FFL looks bad on TV, you should check out the sparseness of the crowd in the stand the camera is facing onto at Braga!

Zoubir has just scored. Initially disallowed for offside but given by VAR

15-02-2024, 08:22 PM

Zoubir was wrong place, wrong time at Hibs. Had he joined us a year later he’d have probably achieved a cult hero status at the club.

https://youtu.be/j_6wCqmu9lI?si=T6lycyQ6Oc0ENmQc

Get Boozy back on HibsTV

15-02-2024, 08:27 PM
Zoubir was wrong place, wrong time at Hibs. Had he joined us a year later he’d have probably achieved a cult hero status at the club.

https://youtu.be/j_6wCqmu9lI?si=T6lycyQ6Oc0ENmQc

Get Boozy back on HibsTV

An assist for him now too… actually he’s also scored a second as well. 4-1. Two goals and an assist for Zoubir.

Their first was a penalty and although it was someone else who won it, a penalty probably could have been given in the same play when Zoubir was brought down.

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2024, 05:26 PM
Raith rovers v Dundee Utd BBC SCOTLAND . 7:45 .
Raith really need to win this won to keep the pressure on.

West brom v Southampton . 8:00 . Skysports football .
Wonder can saints bounce back after defeat in there last game ended a run of 25 unbeaten?.

16-02-2024, 05:41 PM
Raith rovers v Dundee Utd BBC SCOTLAND . 7:45 .
Raith really need to win this won to keep the pressure on.

Swansea v Southampton . 8:00 . Skysports football .
Wonder can saints bounce back after defeat in there last game ended a run of 25 unbeaten?.

Think Southampton are at West Brom mate.

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2024, 06:17 PM
Think Southampton are at West Brom mate.

Been a long day 😂. Thanks buddy 👍

KdyHby
16-02-2024, 06:35 PM
At Rovers v Arabs, first sell out for Rovers in 20 years

16-02-2024, 06:40 PM
Looking forward to the raith vs united match

Huge game. Reminds me of our match vs united in the Jan/Feb of our promotion year. A win here for them and they'll cruise to the title you have to imagine

16-02-2024, 06:47 PM

Backed D. Utd. at even money but just saw that Jim ‘loser’ Goodwin was still with the Arabs. Ah well, too late to get my money back. Heart before head here ….. c’mon Raith. I can bear the cash loss. :greengrin

16-02-2024, 06:49 PM
Come on, Rovers!

Green-Hibee-7
16-02-2024, 06:52 PM

The camera angle is absolutely terrible. Why is it so low to the pitch.

16-02-2024, 06:53 PM
Another game where it’s quite interesting to see how it goes..Raith v Dundee Utd.

Good crowd too - like Morton v Motherwell last week shows that dans of clubs are about it they do well.

Rangers and Celtic suck the life out of Scottish football.

16-02-2024, 06:54 PM
The camera angle is absolutely terrible. Why is it so low to the pitch.

Horribly low - sure the last Raith game I watched it was slightly higher up and gave a better view.

16-02-2024, 06:55 PM
Great move united. Should have been 0-1. Cracking save dabrowski

hfc-1875
16-02-2024, 06:57 PM
Not seen loads of him but do u think we were a bit quick in getting rid of dabrowski? If I remember rightly he played in a derby and had a good game didn’t he and then we let him go not long after? I’ve not seen him loads just a few of the Friday night games but looks a good shot stopper

16-02-2024, 06:57 PM
Goal rovers

Chorley Hibee
16-02-2024, 07:07 PM
Not seen loads of him but do u think we were a bit quick in getting rid of dabrowski? If I remember rightly he played in a derby and had a good game didn’t he and then we let him go not long after? I’ve not seen him loads just a few of the Friday night games but looks a good shot stopper

Personally, I think it's been a huge error of judgement.

16-02-2024, 07:08 PM
Good old fashioned game, end to end. Come on Rovers.

16-02-2024, 07:14 PM
Great game so far end to end

Looking like a mistake letting Dabrowski go but early doors

16-02-2024, 07:15 PM

Good keeper

16-02-2024, 07:21 PM
Dundee United are very, very average.

16-02-2024, 07:23 PM
Cracking game.

16-02-2024, 07:28 PM
Dundee United are very, very average.

Just equalised

16-02-2024, 07:28 PM
Just equalised
O.G. surely?

16-02-2024, 07:30 PM

He wanted to play, it was unfair to make him warm the bench every week.

Cracking game.

Yep, very good indeed.

I see Tony Watt's still being a dick - screaming in Dabrowski's face after Utd equalised

Another big save from Dabrowski

16-02-2024, 07:31 PM
I see Tony Watt's still being a dick - screaming in Dabrowski's face at Utd equalised

He apologised at the next corner.

16-02-2024, 07:32 PM
He apologised at the next corner.

I must have missed that when typing my original post lol

16-02-2024, 07:33 PM
I must have missed that when typing my original post lol

I was watching them closely for afters :greengrin

16-02-2024, 07:34 PM
He wanted to play, it was unfair to make him warm the bench every week.

IMO he’s a better goalie than Marshall has been and would have had a good run of games at a top level in the last couple of seasons.

16-02-2024, 07:36 PM
Craig Sibbalds tattoos are brutal

16-02-2024, 07:39 PM
[QUOTE=green day;7587120]Craig Sibbalds tattoos are brutal[/QUOTE Yeh what’s with leaves going up his neck and head. Like you say they look brutal.

Chorley Hibee
16-02-2024, 07:55 PM
IMO he’s a better goalie than Marshall has been and would have had a good run of games at a top level in the last couple of seasons.

He should have been our first pick goalkeeper now.

Our loss and Raith's gain.

16-02-2024, 08:06 PM
United well on top now

16-02-2024, 08:18 PM

He should have been our first pick goalkeeper now.

Our loss and Raith's gain.
Flapping all over the place. No way would he be our first pick.

16-02-2024, 08:24 PM

He's made a couple of decent saves but appears flapping any time a cross comes near him

16-02-2024, 08:25 PM

I wonder if he wanted to go for guaranteed 1st team football and maybe we have 1st option on him, I was surprised we let him go as we all know keepers can take a few years to mature and he was still a young lad .

16-02-2024, 08:25 PM
“Dick right in the mouth”

Finally one of them makes the joke

16-02-2024, 08:35 PM
What a goal!

What a hit!

Screamer

16-02-2024, 08:36 PM
Wow what a goal

Rover 2-1. 88tb min

[QUOTE=green day;7587120]Craig Sibbalds tattoos are brutal[/QUOTE Yeh what’s with leaves going up his neck and head. Like you say they look brutal.

He’s gone to seed. :greengrin

What a screamer!

16-02-2024, 08:37 PM
Goal of the season from Raith!

scm70nyd1973
16-02-2024, 08:38 PM
What a screamer!

An absolute rasper - good on him and RR 😁

16-02-2024, 08:39 PM
A. How far behind are the BBC? There were posts on here about the goal minutes before the BBC mentioned it.
B. After the goal, they took ages to update the onscreen score.
C. How incompetent are the BBC?

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2024, 08:39 PM
Yasss , what a goal ! . Cmon Raith :greengrin

Pytheas
16-02-2024, 08:40 PM
Ian Murray has played this game perfectly.
His subs always seem to change the game in their favour.

16-02-2024, 08:41 PM
A. How far behind are the BBC? There were posts on here about the goal minutes before the BBC mentioned it.

Coverage of the game has been more than decent IMO.

16-02-2024, 08:41 PM
Backed D. Utd. at even money but just saw that Jim ‘loser’ Goodwin was still with the Arabs. Ah well, too late to get my money back. Heart before head here ….. c’mon Raith. I can bear the cash loss. :greengrin

Good old Roth Raivers. Happy with that……. Poor JG ……. never could stand the guy and pleased for Ian Murray

16-02-2024, 08:43 PM
Big Kev saves!

16-02-2024, 08:43 PM
Save by Dobrowski

16-02-2024, 08:44 PM
He's no a fan of crosses is big Kevin? Great save though

16-02-2024, 08:44 PM
We should have promoted Dabrowski to first choice keeper IMO.

16-02-2024, 08:45 PM
Really enjoyed that.

16-02-2024, 08:47 PM
Dabrowski saves the day for RR. :aok:

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2024, 08:47 PM
Cracking game and great result for Raith . 👏
Goodwin :faf:

16-02-2024, 08:50 PM

Yep the leaves up his neck is a great look 👀 bet he plays a banjo in his spare time

16-02-2024, 08:51 PM
Well done Raith. Didn't see that coming after Raith's recent run of poor form.

16-02-2024, 08:52 PM
I love Kev. Just not sure if he’s a top level no1.

16-02-2024, 08:55 PM
What a goal. Delighted Raith won especially against a United team led by Goodwin and having Watt and Sibbald in it

16-02-2024, 08:55 PM
How well Ian Murray speaks

16-02-2024, 08:56 PM

Nah disagree he would have been at fault if United had equalised as he should have come for the cross. Very good shot stopper

16-02-2024, 08:58 PM
I love Kev. Just not sure if he’s a top level no1.

Good shot stopper but unconvincing at crosses. Looks for fouls all the time. Plenty time to learn.

16-02-2024, 08:58 PM
Ian Murray spoke well. Feels a wee bit strange…… Rightly or wrongly, I always think of Raith Rovers as a more Jambo orientated team but, Hibs influence won tonight. :greengrin

Chorley Hibee
16-02-2024, 09:03 PM

Have you been watching Marshall this past year and a half?

He's much better than Marshall.

16-02-2024, 09:09 PM

He really isnt

16-02-2024, 09:16 PM

He's not much better than Marshall, both give me the fear whenever a cross comes anywhere near them.

16-02-2024, 10:31 PM

We shouldn’t have let him go IMO, perfect second choice/understudy for Marshall. And he loves the Hibs too.

vuefrom1875
16-02-2024, 10:49 PM

Mickey mouse bbc weggie.

vuefrom1875
16-02-2024, 10:52 PM
How well Ian Murray speaks

Serving his apprenticeship ....next hibs manager 26/27.

16-02-2024, 10:53 PM
United are trying their absolute hardest to throw away the title.

16-02-2024, 11:03 PM

Both United and Raith have had the chance to pull clear of the other, neither have been able to do so. Would love it if United blew it, but sadly think they'll finish top.

16-02-2024, 11:05 PM

I don't thinks that is fair. They've been banging in the goals and they have a decent gap on third place. You can level a lot of criticism at Jim Goodwin but his team are going for it.

I'd prefer to give Raith the credit for sticking with them. Beating Dundee United home and away has allowed them to do just that. Good going for Ian Murray, and a team that nobody was tipping as contenders.

16-02-2024, 11:05 PM

I hope they do, horrible club imo

16-02-2024, 11:47 PM
I hope they do, horrible club imo

In what way, out of interest?

Goodwin/Watt aside obviously 😁

As a club I’ve never really minded them.

17-02-2024, 05:32 AM
In what way, out of interest?

Goodwin/Watt aside obviously ��

As a club I’ve never really minded them.
Jim McLean and Maurice Malpas had me wishing damnation on them decades ago. I always wished that David Narey had played for some other team, what a fabulous player he was...

17-02-2024, 05:55 AM
Huge win for Rovers that. Pleased for Murray.

VoltaireHibs
17-02-2024, 09:59 AM
Jim Goodwin, what a bitter fud of a man,

"You can see the reaction... I'm not sure what time they're giving the medals out at, but the celebrations will be pretty good by the sound of it. The result isn't going to define what will happen at the end of the season."

17-02-2024, 10:01 AM
What a goal by Scott Brown!

Raith Rovers 2-1 Dundee United: Scott Brown goal puts Fifers a point off Scottish Championship summit - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/68144329)

Cabbage-Patch
17-02-2024, 10:01 AM
Murray the early favourite for next Hibs manager? The foreign league experiments have failed so why not go for an up and coming Scottish manager. Hibee through and through too👍

17-02-2024, 10:04 AM
Murray the early favourite for next Hibs manager? The foreign league experiments have failed so why not go for an up and coming Scottish manager. Hibee through and through too[emoji106]I'd say there's almost no chance of that to be honest - in my opinion

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

BS44
17-02-2024, 10:08 AM
No away fans at Ibrox tomorrow for the women's derby, looks as though some dodgy rangers fans have bought tickets for celtic end

Donegal Hibby
17-02-2024, 10:50 AM
I was reading an article that said Everton will probably have to sell both Branthwaite and Onano to balance the books
(Utd & spurs to clubs mentioned to be interested) . I then came on this .
https://www.footballinsider247.com/sources-everton-face-200m-disaster-decision-days-away/

17-02-2024, 12:07 PM
Jim Goodwin, what a bitter fud of a man,

"You can see the reaction... I'm not sure what time they're giving the medals out at, but the celebrations will be pretty good by the sound of it. The result isn't going to define what will happen at the end of the season."

Kind of thought he might say something like that. How dare Raith celebrate scoring a last minute winner to go within a point of the league leaders. They clearly should have just shook hands with the scorer and restarted the game.

17-02-2024, 12:08 PM
No away fans at Ibrox tomorrow for the women's derby, looks as though some dodgy rangers fans have bought tickets for celtic end

Jeezo how pathetic is that

17-02-2024, 12:09 PM
1-0 Liverpool, Nunez.

17-02-2024, 12:10 PM
1-0 Liverpool, Nunez.

Cracking finish

17-02-2024, 12:11 PM
1-0 Liverpool, Nunez.

Nice finish surprise he didn't pass the ball as was clear two on one with the keeper. Confident finish though

Donegal Hibby
17-02-2024, 12:12 PM
Leeds 1-0 up away to Plymouth and after hitting the post. Play really good football Leeds.

17-02-2024, 12:48 PM
2-0 Liverpool

17-02-2024, 01:01 PM
3-0 Salah.

17-02-2024, 01:08 PM
3-1 Toney.

Keepthefaith
17-02-2024, 01:09 PM
How is that not a penalty to Brentford and we concede that first one v Celtic?! EPL really have changed their threshold!

17-02-2024, 01:09 PM
How is that not a penalty to Brentford and we concede that first one v Celtic?! EPL really have changed their threshold!

Looked a certain penalty

17-02-2024, 01:10 PM

Got me beat, seemed blatant to me.

Coach Jon
17-02-2024, 01:11 PM

Agree, that was a stonewall penalty for Brentford.

Donegal Hibby
17-02-2024, 01:14 PM
Leeds 2 up .

17-02-2024, 01:17 PM
Looks like a penalty for Liverpool ignored also. Strange refereeing from Oliver who is usually one of the better refs

17-02-2024, 01:19 PM
4-1 Gakpo.

17-02-2024, 03:27 PM
preston burts ear drums with that shankland goal 1-0 heartz

Dundee 2-0

penalty st mirren, saved

17-02-2024, 03:48 PM
Riley Harbottle scores an OG for an equaliser

17-02-2024, 03:51 PM
2-0 jamboids

ooft Sellick 1 Killie 1

Brendans return really not going too well

oh oh goal check, given

17-02-2024, 03:54 PM
Lesser Greens bottle crashing.

17-02-2024, 03:55 PM
Lesser Greens bottle crashing.

Disaster for Scottish football

17-02-2024, 03:55 PM
Burnley's turn to get leathered by Arsenal.

17-02-2024, 04:00 PM
Hammers getting pumped again, Phillips has been a disaster since arriving.

17-02-2024, 04:01 PM
Livi finally get a win after 17 games

17-02-2024, 05:14 PM
Man City 0 v 1 Chelsea

Sterling

17-02-2024, 05:48 PM
Man City 0 v 1 Chelsea

Sterling

Very poor performance from City so far.

18-02-2024, 10:40 AM
St J v Huns I predict minimum two St J defenders booked in first 35 mins. If Huns are still not well ahead by 60 mins St J down to ten men.

If that fails, penalty for the Huns.

Bridge hibs
18-02-2024, 11:27 AM
Borefest at Perth, pitch is boggy

18-02-2024, 11:29 AM
St Johnstone and Livi should be put down as football clubs. Terrible to watch, terrible pitches.

K-Zazu
18-02-2024, 11:29 AM
Why is Kenny Miller a commentator on Sky Sports, probably the most biased drivel I’ve ever heard. Woeful.

Daydreamer
18-02-2024, 11:33 AM
Why is Kenny Miller a commentator on Sky Sports, probably the most biased drivel I’ve ever heard. Woeful.

He is probably the most biased and worst commentator I have ever heard. It's got to the stage now I turn the sound off when he is on. A blabbering weapon.

Victor
18-02-2024, 11:38 AM
That’s how to break down the St.Johnstone stubborn defending. Shoot from outside the box!

18-02-2024, 11:41 AM
The Huns manger love in with the 4th official again, where have we seen this before :Ummm:

raeburnhibs
18-02-2024, 11:42 AM

The fan boy bias is the point; Sky pandering.....

18-02-2024, 11:46 AM
The fan boy bias is the point; Sky pandering.....

Thinking of cancelling Sky, the love in it has with der hun is nauseating

expresso
18-02-2024, 11:54 AM
That St Johnstone centre half who set up the Hun goal is a future transfer target for us with that style of defending, pathetic.

scm70nyd1973
18-02-2024, 12:34 PM
It just does not get any easier listening to Kenny Miller - where the fechin hell do they get them from - truly awful - and I don’t particularly dislike him but just get someone who doesn’t sound like a complete trumpet - pleeeeeease 🙏

18-02-2024, 12:34 PM
That’s a pen. Amazed the ref didn’t give it right away

18-02-2024, 12:35 PM
The ref is giving St Johnstone a lot of decisions today for some reason but this is going to be a pen to the stickies.

Penalty to Rangers

St J v Huns I predict minimum two St J defenders booked in first 35 mins. If Huns are still not well ahead by 60 mins St J down to ten men.

If that fails, penalty for the Huns.

Maybe I should start placing bets on stuff. Only a sending off missing from an accumulator 🤣

So predictable

scm70nyd1973
18-02-2024, 12:38 PM
Penalty to Rangers

It was a penalty to be fair - ours yesterday was v difficult to call of course 🤬

Bridge hibs
18-02-2024, 12:39 PM
Tavernier scores his 250th penalty for the rangers

Victor
That’s a pen. Amazed the ref didn’t give it right away

I think it was because he wasn’t sure, which is fine. He did look across to the linesman to help him, but for some reason he didn’t want to get involved!

Kenny Miller is almost unbearable listening.

Victor
18-02-2024, 12:41 PM
Dessers. That’s all [emoji23]

hibstag
18-02-2024, 12:41 PM

He gets so many ug can practice funny run ups now WTF was that... Boyle tries that its retaken for double movement

Victor
18-02-2024, 12:43 PM
Another penalty incoming

18-02-2024, 12:44 PM
This is given as a pen but the Devlin one yesterday wasn't. Scottish fitba in a nutshell.

For once they’re both clear penalties

I rest my case m'lud.

18-02-2024, 12:45 PM
Hibs claim for handball, no penalty.

Huns claim for handball, penalty.

Shock.

This is given as a pen but the Devlin one yesterday wasn't. Scottish fitba in a nutshell.

They’re different but both should definitely be penalties. And no doubt rangers would’ve got yesterday’s one too.

LewysGot2

251st...

Victor
Unbelievable. Rangers get one, well after the incident. They are obviously reviewing everything when it concerns Rangers, but our claims are ignored.

bringbackbenny
18-02-2024, 12:47 PM
Unbelievable. Rangers get one, well after the incident. They are obviously reviewing everything when it concerns Rangers, but our claims are ignored.

Our one was reviewed by VAR but, unsurprisingly, the ref wasn't subsequently asked to review at pitch side 🫣

Victor
18-02-2024, 12:48 PM
My only concern with the second was: How can it be deliberate handball if you have your back to play? Or does it not have to be deliberate now?

18-02-2024, 12:49 PM
My only concern with the second was: How can it be deliberate handball if you have your back to play? Or does it not have to be deliberate now?

Has it ever had to be deliberate?

big gogs
Another penalty incoming

Penalty to rangers for handball, Aberdeen player the same yesterday,no penalty to us.i wonder why.😀

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk What has deliberate got to do with it

Victor
Our one was reviewed by VAR but, unsurprisingly, the ref wasn't subsequently asked to review at pitch side 🫣

There was no mention of it being reviewed on Hibs TV. Was it mentioned at the ground?

18-02-2024, 12:50 PM
Penalty to rangers for handball, Aberdeen player the same yesterday,no penalty to us.i wonder why.😀

Corrupt Scottish football and corrupt referees

Victor
18-02-2024, 12:51 PM
Has it ever had to be deliberate?

Think so. Maybe someone who knows the real rules could help!

scm70nyd1973
18-02-2024, 12:53 PM
The penalty rule these days is spoiling the game more than VAR is 🤬

It’s like having a long conversation with your wife - you think you’ve been holding your own but at the very end she pulls you up about something you mentioned when you didn’t even realise you’ve said it (usually after a night out with the lads).

18-02-2024, 12:54 PM
The penalty rule these days is spoiling the game more than VAR is 🤬

They were both clear pens though

18-02-2024, 12:55 PM
There was no mention of it being reviewed on Hibs TV. Was it mentioned at the ground?

There was (on hibs tv). Checked and not deemed worth a review from the referee… go figure.

18-02-2024, 12:58 PM
The penalty rule these days is spoiling the game more than VAR is ��

It’s like having a long conversation with your wife - you think you’ve been holding your own but at the very end she pulls you up about something you mentioned when you didn’t even realise you’ve said it (usually after a night out with the lads).

I'd change the rules so unless its a clear and obviously deliberate handball, its no free kick or pen.

scm70nyd1973
18-02-2024, 12:58 PM

They were - it’s just that you don’t expect it as the game moves onto a different phase .

scm70nyd1973
18-02-2024, 01:00 PM
I'd change the rules so unless its a clear and obviously deliberate handball, its no free kick.

The old rule IIRC was deliberate hand ball and seeking to gain an advantage- it seemed to work okay - had flaws (a bit subjective) but I much preferred it - made total sense.

Victor
18-02-2024, 01:04 PM
There was (on hibs tv). Checked and not deemed worth a review from the referee… go figure.

I didn’t hear that. I saw the incident and Myziane appealing, but can’t remember Cliff or Kevin Harper mentioning it again. Then again I do tend to stop listening to Cliff when he goes to ‘natter’ mode.

MelbourneHibees
18-02-2024, 01:11 PM
Think so. Maybe someone who knows the real rules could help!

If that was the case then think if a player is on the line and ends up facing towards the stand. Player then shoots and strikes his hand stopping it from going in the net. No penalty. That would be mad!

18-02-2024, 01:11 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIt's not unbelievable.

18-02-2024, 01:14 PM
Sheffield United down to 10

Mason Holgate sent off

18-02-2024, 01:15 PM
Horrendous tackle

18-02-2024, 01:15 PM
correct Red card for that sheff u player after just 12 mins, dreadful challenge

18-02-2024, 01:17 PM
Horrendous tackle

An absolute shocker 😲

scm70nyd1973
18-02-2024, 01:17 PM
Warnock would claim it was attempted murder with malice aforethought and a clear motive 😡

Victor
18-02-2024, 01:19 PM
If that was the case then think if a player is on the line and ends up facing towards the stand. Player then shoots and strikes his hand stopping it from going in the net. No penalty. That would be mad!

If you were deliberately stopping the ball it would be. But if you were in a defensive wall (indirect free kick) and turned your back it shouldn’t be, unless you are standing with your arms out.

Broxburn Greens
18-02-2024, 01:20 PM

I agree they were both penalties. The question to be answered is if they were at the other end of the pitch are they given?

The threshold for either of the OF to be awarded a penalty is far lower than for any other team.

The threshold for The Rangers to be awarded a penalty is lower than that for Celtic.

18-02-2024, 01:22 PM
Sheffield United 0 v 1 Brighton

Buoananotte

Steven79
18-02-2024, 01:25 PM
I agree they were both penalties. The question to be answered is if they were at the other end of the pitch are they given?

The threshold for either of the OF to be awarded a penalty is far lower than for any other team.

The threshold for The Rangers to be awarded a penalty is lower than that for Celtic.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNot convinced.by that considering the penalties Celtic got at Easter Road.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

18-02-2024, 01:25 PM
Sheffield United 0 v 2 Brighton

Welbeck

18-02-2024, 01:30 PM
Sheffield United 0 v 2 Brighton

Welbeck

Terrible side The Blades. Got to laugh at the fans booing Mitoma.

Victor
18-02-2024, 01:33 PM
Terrible side The Blades. Got to laugh at the fans booing Mitoma.

Just shows that changing the Manager doesn’t always work. Sometimes you just have rubbish players!

hibstag
18-02-2024, 01:38 PM
Not convinced.by that considering the penalties Celtic got at Easter Road.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Yep my feeling is that VAR 'refs' the gruesome twosome games were the slightest possible infringment is reviewed and penalised, whilst the system barely reviewing other match incidents other than looking for offside at goals or looking for non existent contact in the box (I'm thinking the Duk pen as t Aberdeen 5 minutes to find something...)

Helensburghhibs
18-02-2024, 01:52 PM
Another joke var decision, this time in the Sheffield game. As soon as the defender plays it, the striker is by default onside imo

hibstag
18-02-2024, 01:58 PM
Should refs be getting pulled up for missing these penalties that are VAR awarded, there is rangers getting two just now to ease to three points and if its clear and obvious error surely the ref is at fault.
By the same argument they must have a justification for not awarding ours yesterday either on the Field or when incidents were reviewed

18-02-2024, 01:59 PM
The issue in Scotland is the lack of consistency in the VAR studio. The handball in The Rangers game today is a prime example.Compared to ours yesterday.
The Rangers first penalty there seemed to be a foul on a saints player in the build up to the penalty. Watched an English game where they looked at the build up to a penalty as it was deemed to be in the same phase of play and it was brought back for a foul against the attacking team. Don't know if that is looked at in Scotland. There was more contact in the Celtic v Killie game and no penalty given to Killie than the contact in The Rangers game today.

The referee has to make decisions in a split second but surely 3 refs on the VAR desks can ensure a correct decision in arrived at, otherwise get rid of it.

18-02-2024, 02:03 PM
The issue in Scotland is the lack of consistency in the VAR studio. The handball in The Rangers game today is a prime example.Compared to ours yesterday.
The Rangers first penalty there seemed to be a foul on a saints player in the build up to the penalty. Watched an English game where they looked at the build up to a penalty as it was deemed to be in the same phase of play and it was brought back for a foul against the attacking team. Don't know if that is looked at in Scotland. There was more contact in the Celtic v Killie game and no penalty given to Killie than the contact in The Rangers game today.

The referee has to make decisions in a split second but surely 3 refs on the VAR desks can ensure a correct decision in arrived at, otherwise get rid of it.

Better still, get rid of them!

18-02-2024, 02:06 PM
Another joke var decision, this time in the Sheffield game. As soon as the defender plays it, the striker is by default onside imo
The current offside rule is an ass.

18-02-2024, 02:08 PM
correct Red card for that sheff u player after just 12 mins, dreadful challenge

Just saw it, looked deliberate. Should be a lengthy ban for Holgate.

Helensburghhibs
18-02-2024, 02:19 PM
The current offside rule is an ass.

I hink the rule is fine. How they can say the defenders touch is unintentional is mental. If they think a defender isn't trying to play the ball in his own 6 yard box just shows they have never kicked a ball in anger themselves

18-02-2024, 02:24 PM
I hink the rule is fine. How they can say the defenders touch is unintentional is mental. If they think a defender isn't trying to play the ball in his own 6 yard box just shows they have never kicked a ball in anger themselves

The ball deflected off a Sheffield United players arm onto the defender as far as I could see.

18-02-2024, 02:34 PM
So the current offside rule by that logic is an ass then.

18-02-2024, 02:44 PM
4-0 Brighton

LunasBoots
18-02-2024, 02:44 PM
0-4 brighton

Victor
18-02-2024, 02:52 PM
Make that 0-5

Victor
18-02-2024, 02:53 PM
Sheffield should have stuck with Heckingbottom

18-02-2024, 02:55 PM
Really pleased for Chris Wilder 5-0 down at home he seems like a likeable chap :greengrin

On a positive note good to see Billy Gilmour playing well for Brighton

Victor
18-02-2024, 02:56 PM
Really pleased for Chris Wilder 5-0 down at home seems like a likeable chap :greengrin

On a positive note good to see Billy Gilmour playing well for Brighton

He’ll be getting touted for Hibs shortly

18-02-2024, 02:58 PM
He’ll be getting touted for Hibs shortly

Who Chris Wilder or Billy Gilmour :wink:

Victor
18-02-2024, 02:59 PM
Who Chris Wilder or Billy Gilmour :wink:

Both! With his goal scoring record, Gilmour will fit right in!

18-02-2024, 03:00 PM
WTF is that Tom Davies haircut all about?:faf:

Victor
18-02-2024, 03:00 PM

Must have the same barber as Harry McKirdy

18-02-2024, 03:01 PM
Both! With his goal scoring record, Gilmour will fit right in!:thumbsup:

McKirdies half brother

18-02-2024, 03:34 PM
Not sure what the Luton defender was thinking there lol. 1-0 Man U in less than a minute.

18-02-2024, 03:38 PM
2-0

18-02-2024, 03:43 PM
I called a 4-0 result for united. That might be the half time score at this rate.

Edit, mibbees naw lol

18-02-2024, 03:46 PM
2-1 United

18-02-2024, 03:53 PM
Isn't confidence an amazing thing. Hojlund on a great run, I'm pleased for him

18-02-2024, 03:56 PM
Isn't confidence an amazing thing. Hojlund on a great run, I'm pleased for him

Rashford on the other hand looks to me like he wants to be somewhere else.

18-02-2024, 04:02 PM
Rashford on the other hand looks to me like he wants to be somewhere else.
Going to PSG by all accounts. Not been at the races this season for Utd.

18-02-2024, 04:10 PM
This games grand.

How casemiro hasn't been sent off though...

18-02-2024, 04:10 PM
This games grand.

How casemiro hasn't been sent off though...

That wasn’t worth a second yellow for me

18-02-2024, 04:11 PM
Strange old game this one.

Definately needs to leave from what I've seen, his race is run at united.

Just seen the score from Bramall Lane, Sheffield United have taken some amount of thrashings this season.

18-02-2024, 04:16 PM
Get up Rashford. Embarrassing

18-02-2024, 04:16 PM
Still laying there. He deserves a kick in the baws.

18-02-2024, 04:22 PM
Still laying there. He deserves a kick in the baws.

I've no idea why ETH is picking him. I'd have him training with the reserves with that body language.

18-02-2024, 04:23 PM
Just seen the score from Bramall Lane, Sheffield United have taken some amount of thrashings this season.
To be fair they had a defender sent off after 12 minutes.

18-02-2024, 04:30 PM
That wasn’t worth a second yellow for me

Think stick on yellow

18-02-2024, 04:42 PM
To be fair they had a defender sent off after 12 minutes.

Should've been arrested! 😊

18-02-2024, 04:49 PM

Sheffield captain said it was a fair tackle and not a red lol....

18-02-2024, 04:55 PM
Sheffield captain said it was a fair tackle and not a red lol....

I want him as a witness in my upcoming murder charge. :greengrin

18-02-2024, 05:16 PM
I remember when we lost out on Luke Berry to luton and couldn’t believe he’d chose them over us

He’s now playing against Man Utd in the premier league

Footballs weird

LewysGot2
18-02-2024, 05:44 PM
Bayern about to lose again to Bochum. You have to think Xavi Alonso's team are closing in on a title win. Bayern being Spursed? Or is it Tuchel effect?

Neuer keeping the score down in added on time. Atmosphere sounds immense

18-02-2024, 05:45 PM
Murder or manslaughter?

LewysGot2
18-02-2024, 05:47 PM
3-2 Bochum FT

18-02-2024, 05:57 PM
3-2 Bochum FT

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 07:12 PM

Good match. He can swan about there and look disinterested and no one will notice.

VoltaireHibs
18-02-2024, 07:13 PM
Bayern about to lose again to Bochum. You have to think Xavi Alonso's team are closing in on a title win. Bayern being Spursed? Or is it Tuchel effect?

Neuer keeping the score down in added on time. Atmosphere sounds immense

It's deffo the Curse of Kane. Quite funny if he missed out on the Bundesliga having gone there to win things.

18-02-2024, 07:22 PM
Good match. He can swan about there and look disinterested and no one will notice.

Indeed :greengrin

18-02-2024, 07:42 PM
Monza 2 AC Milan 0 ht

Posh Swanny
18-02-2024, 08:03 PM
They’re different but both should definitely be penalties. And no doubt rangers would’ve got yesterday’s one too.

Aye, one is smashed into the player from a few yards away and he has his back to the ball. The other is floated in from 40 yards away and the player watches it calmly on to his forearm. Both 100% pens but I could entertain an argument about 'mitigating factors' for the Rangers one today. Not giving the one at Pittodrie yesterday is an absolute joke and Hibs should be speaking to the powers that be and asking WTF is going on. That's two stone wallers and two debatables not given to us in the last three games FFS.

18-02-2024, 08:35 PM
Monza 2 AC Milan 0 ht

2-1, Milan down to 10 men.

18-02-2024, 08:43 PM
2-1, Milan down to 10 men.

2-2

18-02-2024, 08:46 PM
2-2

3-2 Monza

18-02-2024, 08:51 PM
3-2 Monza

4-2

18-02-2024, 09:13 PM
Penalty to rangers for handball, Aberdeen player the same yesterday,no penalty to us.i wonder why.��

With the title race so tight, and following the crisis summit between Rangers and SFA to discuss the one decision that didn’t go in their favour this season, referees will have been reminded in the strongest terms that under no circumstances can any further wrong calls be awarded against either of the Old Firm.

Any doubt whatsoever and you have to err in their favour. Hibs? Doesn’t really matter that much.

19-02-2024, 07:28 PM
I don't often watch Palace or Everton but I'm surprised at how poor they both are

19-02-2024, 07:33 PM
I don't often watch Palace or Everton but I'm surprised at how poor they both are
Better watching paint dry as this game is brutal to watch at the moment.

19-02-2024, 07:43 PM
Better watching paint dry as this game is brutal to watch at the moment.

Honestly feels like I'm back watching Highland League, they can't even do the basics.

19-02-2024, 07:47 PM
That was the crappiest half of football I've seen in ages. Utter rubbish.

19-02-2024, 07:48 PM
Dreadful. I thought Everton were meant to be half decent now.

19-02-2024, 07:48 PM
I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty but that was brutal.

19-02-2024, 07:49 PM
I wonder what the combined weekly wage is for that.

19-02-2024, 07:52 PM
The new Palace coach is in the stands probably regretting his current life choices.