View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

Paul1642
19-11-2023, 08:25 PM
Dykes has played almost every game for us this campaign, playing this way.

I think he means Shankland.

Bridge hibs
19-11-2023, 08:25 PM
Does anybody else notice re zander Clarke always dives like a kid in the local park even when the ball has beaten him hilariousHe dives in slow motion, Ive seen a hot air balloon get up and down quicker

19-11-2023, 08:26 PM
I think he means Shankland.

He does, that’s my point 👍

Not mobile enough for the way we play

Agree Shankland has zero pace and couldn't have done what Brown did

I’d have given him a shot. Brown was out the blue for me and didn’t impress. Dykes isn’t good enough I feel, and disregarding that it’s for Hearts, a striker who is scoring goals in the SPFL should get the nod over one who’s not scoring in the English championship IMO.

Scotland need strikers that can run about and put a heck of a shift in tbf, i don't think that's shankland, for now

19-11-2023, 08:27 PM
He does, that’s my point 👍

Dykes is much more athletic than Shankland

19-11-2023, 08:27 PM
Shocking goal to lose there. Very poor

19-11-2023, 08:28 PM
well i didn't see that one coming 3-3 :rolleyes:

Schoolboy defending this, all down our left again.

Dykes has played almost every game for us this campaign, playing this way.

Was talking about square heid

Paul1642
19-11-2023, 08:29 PM
Frustrating. It’s been all Scotland the whole half.

Clark should never be picked again, howling.

Clark absolute torture

19-11-2023, 08:30 PM
think it's safe to say zander clark hasn't covered himself in glory tonight

nor in Georgia

Liam Kelly doesn't fill me with confidence either

we need 48 year old craig gordon back

19-11-2023, 08:31 PM
Scotland need strikers that can run about and put a heck of a shift in tbf, i don't think that's shankland, for now

I’m no going to get on at Clarke given what he’s done for us, but I think the only reason any posters aren’t a little surprised Shankland hasn’t got more than 10 mins over these two games (after rescuing a point on Thursday) is because they’re hibs fans.

On now - hopefully he or anyone can rescue the win this time!

19-11-2023, 08:34 PM
Shots

9-13

on target

2-7

19-11-2023, 08:34 PM
Clark should never be picked for a national squad again. Absolutely terrible tonight.

19-11-2023, 08:36 PM
I’m no going to get on at Clarke given what he’s done for us, but I think the only reason any posters aren’t a little surprised Shankland hasn’t got more than 10 mins over these two games (after rescuing a point on Thursday) is because they’re hibs fans.

On now - hopefully he or anyone can rescue the win this time!

Not really Shankland wasn't originally in the Georgia squad. Isn't the most mobile so made sense not to start as a sole striker. Nothing at all to do with who he plays for.

19-11-2023, 08:39 PM
Shankland looked more capable than Brown did! Clark, McLean, Brown just not good enough but Scotland are off to Germany

Brummie_Hibs
19-11-2023, 08:39 PM
Clark, Taylor and Brown not good enough

K-Zazu
19-11-2023, 08:45 PM
For Shankland to be given about 3 minutes especially after scoring on Thursday is pretty weird tbh, the game was a dead rubber

19-11-2023, 08:46 PM
still not beat Norway at Hampden since 1978

head-to-head inc 9 friendlies

Scotland- W 10
Norway- W 3
Draws -7

19-11-2023, 08:47 PM
Did Stewart have a bet on Shankland to score? Let go son

19-11-2023, 08:48 PM
still not beat Norway at Hampden since 1978

head-to-head inc 9 friendlies

Scotland- W 10
Norway- W 3
Draws -7

1978 you say. Geez, I was there .

19-11-2023, 08:48 PM
Not sure Shankland suits our style but he would be a good player to have on the bench. Clark, Taylor and Brown, assuming everyone is fit, shouldn't be in the squad. Disappointing not to win but a great campaign and we really play some nice football at times, not wildly different to the way Montgomery wants to play imo

zitelli62
19-11-2023, 08:53 PM
Don't think Clarke rates shankland last season he had something like mid teens goals yet nisbet was just back from injury after 3 games he was in the squad ahead of him told its own story.

19-11-2023, 08:54 PM
1978 you say. Geez, I was there .

25 Oct 1978
Scotland v Norway (https://www.11v11.com/matches/scotland-v-norway-25-october-1978-234948/)
W
3-2
UEFA European Championship

07 Jun 1979
Norway v Scotland (https://www.11v11.com/matches/norway-v-scotland-07-june-1979-235278/)
W
0-4
UEFA European Championship

JammyDoidger
19-11-2023, 08:55 PM
Clark was abysmal over the 2 games really, surprised he started again tonight. He shouldn't be on the plane, neither should Taylor or brown, the centre backs are also atrocious. Midfield drags us through as always.

19-11-2023, 08:56 PM
Bit of a mad stat, this.
Scotland have both scored and conceded three or more goals in a match for the first time since May 1969, a 5-3 win over Wales.

19-11-2023, 08:56 PM
Not sure Shankland suits our style but he would be a good player to have on the bench. Clark, Taylor and Brown, assuming everyone is fit, shouldn't be in the squad. Disappointing not to win but a great campaign and we really play some nice football at times, not wildly different to the way Montgomery wants to play imo
Not sure what our style is, but one thing for sure that Scottish defence needs a bit of work or they'll get embarrassed in Germany.

19-11-2023, 08:57 PM
Clark was abysmal over the 2 games really, surprised he started again tonight. He shouldn't be on the plane, neither should Taylor or brown, the centre backs are also atrocious. Midfield drags us through as always.

The centre backs have all been excellent through the campaign, bar Cooper when he played.

19-11-2023, 08:58 PM

I think he deserved more time than he was given. Brown looked totally lightweight and ineffective and he knows what he gets from Dykes.

just trying to add a few more bob to his fee to Rangers.

JammyDoidger
The centre backs have all been excellent through the campaign, bar Cooper when he played.

McKenna is minging, Hendry and Porteous are alright but not going to go any further than where we are now with them at the back. Tierney makes a massive difference to the way we play. He's crucial to it all imo.

I don’t want to see Zander Clark playing again for Scotland.

19-11-2023, 08:59 PM
McKenna is minging, Hendry and Porteous are alright but not going to go any further than where we are now with them at the back. Tierney makes a massive difference to the way we play. He's crucial to it all imo.

So they're alright now but were atrocious a minute ago. OK.

GRA
19-11-2023, 09:02 PM
For a dead rubber I really enjoyed that game. Not reading too much into the score or 5 game winless streak. We'll be much more solid defensively once Tierney, Gordon/Gunn & Robertson are back.

19-11-2023, 09:05 PM
I think he deserved more time than he was given. Brown looked totally lightweight and ineffective and he knows what he gets from Dykes.

Don't disagree with that however we were 3 2 up and he probably wanted to see out a win.

JammyDoidger
19-11-2023, 09:05 PM
So they're alright now but were atrocious a minute ago. OK.

Think that was me trying to convince myself, when you look at the teams we are going to come up against in the nations league, then the euros then aye, stuff if they're borderline atrocious tbh. Our midfield drags us through games. Take Tierney and robbo out the rest are all over the place. Still be some party though.

19-11-2023, 09:08 PM
missed the first few mins, looks great

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/404546159_7353788404632887_3168452461480612731_n.j pg?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5f2048&_nc_ohc=gjxkOOWJ7DgAX9wj9Pk&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfBs3dTDcMF-3FCLtpq1_6Egi3nWBG_auTNBEW59pFx2HA&oe=65606226

19-11-2023, 09:10 PM
If Shankland isn't good enough, Brown has absolutely no right being near a Scotland shirt. Utterly awful tonight.

19-11-2023, 09:10 PM
Don't disagree with that however we were 3 2 up and he probably wanted to see out a win.

Fair point. Shankland definitely has his weaknesses (as do all our strikers) but after his goal in the previous game it would have been fair to give him a better chance tonight imo.

19-11-2023, 09:13 PM

Shanklands official stats and data on speed, runs etc are shocking. But he can put it in the back of the net at the appropriate level. They know that at national level so only bring him on when it’s punting balls in the box time.

jakedance
19-11-2023, 09:14 PM
Some of the criticism here is pretty over the top. This is the best Scotland team and manager we’ve had in a long time. We know we don’t have strength in depth but it’s not like we can go out and sign players. I rarely agree with Clarke’s selections but he obviously knows who to pick to get results. Two draws, with a depleted squad, from tricky games when we’ve already qualified is great going. The way he’s shored up our defence with the players we have is miraculous. Only fifteen teams have conceded fewer in qualifying.

JammyDoidger
19-11-2023, 09:18 PM
Some of the criticism here is pretty over the top. This is the best Scotland team and manager we’ve had in a long time. We know we don’t have strength in depth but it’s not like we can go out and sign players. I rarely agree with Clarke’s selections but he obviously knows who to pick to get results. Two draws, with a depleted squad, from tricky games when we’ve already qualified is great going. The way he’s shored up our defence with the players we have is miraculous. Only fifteen teams have conceded fewer in qualifying.

We've conceded at least 2 goals in each of our last 5 games. The last 2 in particular are cause for concern. Especially tonight, against a Norway team without Haaland and Odegaard, the games don't get any easier. Don't want to lose this feel good factor.

19-11-2023, 09:20 PM
If Shankland isn't good enough, Brown has absolutely no right being near a Scotland shirt. Utterly awful tonight.

Scotland can't afford to be starting a striker who basically stands about with his finger up his arse for most of the game, no matter how good his touch and finish is. Brown wasn't great but ran himself into the ground. He's a Premiership player, he's playing at a completely different level from Shankland.

Main problems tonight were left back and keeper, normal service will be resumed there in plenty time.

Rumble de Thump
19-11-2023, 09:24 PM
BBC Radio Scotland commentators going completely over the top with the Shankland cheerleading. I'm not sure it will dawn on them that all the other strikers in and around the Scotland squad play at a much higher level than Shankland. He's scored a tap in from a rebound against San Marino and a goal against Georgia that was a header straight at the keeper. I'm glad it went in but how it wasn't easily kept out will remain a mystery.

19-11-2023, 09:27 PM
Not really Shankland wasn't originally in the Georgia squad. Isn't the most mobile so made sense not to start as a sole striker. Nothing at all to do with who he plays for.

I respectfully* disagree Jim 👍

*On the basis that you’re a good poster, and when all is said and done, he’s still a hearts **** 😁

JammyDoidger
19-11-2023, 09:27 PM

We've conceded at least 2 goals in each of our last 5 games. The last 2 in particular are cause for concern. Especially tonight, against a Norway team without Haaland and Odegaard, the games don't get any easier. Don't want to lose this feel good factor.

19-11-2023, 09:28 PM

i'd take Belgium, Romania and Slovenia for now, need to see who the play-off winners are

19-11-2023, 09:29 PM
Scotland can't afford to be starting a striker who basically stands about with his finger up his arse for most of the game, no matter how good his touch and finish is. Brown wasn't great but ran himself into the ground. He's a Premiership player, he's playing at a completely different level from Shankland.

Main problems tonight were left back and keeper, normal service will be resumed there in plenty time.

Brown couldn't convert a single first touch into a pass, couldn't get into space, and not once did he manage to get turned toward goal and get a shot off...

If we've learned nothing from Oli McBurney, we're destined to fail. 'Premier League striker' means absolutely **** all.

I agree entirely on Clark and Taylor.

19-11-2023, 09:33 PM
Brown couldn't convert a single first touch into a pass, couldn't get into space, and not once did he manage to get turned toward goal and get a shot off...

If we've learned nothing from Oli McBurney, we're destined to fail. 'Premier League striker' means absolutely **** all.

That’s a good point.

I thought Brown would be a lot better and didn’t have an issue with him getting some time over the two games. But he was pretty poor - it doesn’t matter what league he’s playing in.

19-11-2023, 09:36 PM
That’s a good point.

I thought Brown would be a lot better and didn’t have an issue with him getting some time over the two games. But he was pretty poor - it doesn’t matter what league he’s playing in.

Would you mind editing your post, WR? I have had a few and realised after posting that my post read as more personal than I intended.

Cheers (and apologies to HN - my initial post was dickish).

19-11-2023, 09:38 PM
Reading the fallout on social media to Shankland’s omission, it’s such a typically Hearts thing to be doing to be making it all about them.

I wonder if they will still be calling him “Shanks” when he’s charging down on their goal in a Rangers strip in a few months time ?

Mcbizz1998
19-11-2023, 09:40 PM

i'd take Belgium, Romania and Slovenia for now, need to see who the play-off winners are

I’d like another pop at Spain. Hopefully reduce Rodri to a snivveling mess again.

19-11-2023, 09:40 PM
BBC Radio Scotland commentators going completely over the top with the Shankland cheerleading. I'm not sure it will dawn on them that all the other strikers in and around the Scotland squad play at a much higher level than Shankland. He's scored a tap in from a rebound against San Marino and a goal against Georgia that was a header straight at the keeper. I'm glad it went in but how it wasn't easily kept out will remain a mystery.

I think that might be (kind of) their point though. We could do with someone getting on the end of scraps, scoring tap-ins, a regular goal scoring striker. Albeit shankland offers more than just those.

You could count on one hand the amount of times Christian Doidge, at his best, kicked the ball cleanly for us when finishing. But we weren’t half glad for his run of goals, however they were going in.

He already gets stick for scoring penalties on here. I think we’ll have to let him have tap-ins and headers quite close to the keeper 😁

As I say. In Steve Clarke we trust and not the time to over analyse or heavily criticise. I just think it was a little strange the time he got compared to the other two, given the circumstances and their relative contributions.

19-11-2023, 09:41 PM

Belgium, Albania and the winner of play-off c.

19-11-2023, 09:42 PM
Would you mind editing your post, WR? I have had a few and realised after posting that my post read as more personal than I intended.

Absolutely 👍

Edit: or absolutely not, I should say!

Rumble de Thump
19-11-2023, 09:49 PM
I think that might be (kind of) their point though. We could do with someone getting on the end of scraps, scoring tap-ins, a regular goal scoring striker. Albeit shankland offers more than just those.

You could count on one hand the amount of times Christian Doidge, at his best, kicked the ball cleanly for us when finishing. But we weren’t half glad for his run of goals, however they were going in.

He already gets stick for scoring penalties on here. I think we’ll have to let him have tap-ins and headers quite close to the keeper 😁

As I say. In Steve Clarke we trust and not the time to over analyse or heavily criticise. I just think it was a little strange the time he got compared to the other two, given the circumstances and their relative contributions.

All the goals count. I was just making the point that his two goals for Scotland couldn't really have been less impressive and certainly weren't anything our other strikers aren't capable of. And that the other strikers are also regularly playing against far superior opposition, so anyone being mystified about him not getting more game time is a bit odd. Anyway, it won't really matter when our younger strikers get promoted from the under 21s and start banging the goals in.

19-11-2023, 10:13 PM

Not at all, your post was fine :aok:

20-11-2023, 05:56 AM
I respectfully* disagree Jim 👍

*On the basis that you’re a good poster, and when all is said and done, he’s still a hearts **** 😁

Your probably right :greengrin

20-11-2023, 06:01 AM

What the last two games have allowed Clarke to do is try out four at the back and see how it impacts the team both attacking and defending wise while giving some guys a run. Makes complete sense to do so but certainly highlighted some limitations. Would be amazed if we aren't playing three at the back come the Euros with hopefully all our top players fit.

The Veteran
20-11-2023, 02:13 PM
It'll be a draw, in my opinion.

Frankenstein Messi will probably not score again!!

2/2. :aok:

If anyone needs any more devastatingly accurate predictions, I'm here for you.

20-11-2023, 02:15 PM
2/2. :aok:

If anyone needs any more devastatingly accurate predictions, I'm here for you.

Go on then ?

Ukraine v Italy looks tasty

The Veteran
20-11-2023, 02:30 PM
Go on then ?

Ukraine v Italy looks tasty

2-2

Shankland won't score.

Put your mortgage, life savings and a pair of your oldest socks on it, Billy.

You won't be disappointed and you can thank me later. :thumbsup:

20-11-2023, 06:43 PM
That Macedonian anthem is an absolute shocker....

20-11-2023, 07:10 PM
That was a penalty

20-11-2023, 07:11 PM
How with var is that not a penalty?

20-11-2023, 07:27 PM
And how was this one given?? Never a pen.

20-11-2023, 07:29 PM
And how was this one given?? Never a pen.

Justice

20-11-2023, 07:32 PM
That Mudryk is one diving **** !!

20-11-2023, 07:55 PM
Looked offside that, no sure why it's taken so long?

20-11-2023, 07:58 PM
Arf arf arf.

20-11-2023, 08:02 PM
Looked offside that, no sure why it's taken so long?

I’m all for VAR but that was ridiculous. You didn’t even need lines to call that.

20-11-2023, 08:07 PM
Arf arf arf.
That didn't age well lol

20-11-2023, 08:23 PM
2-0 nothern ireland v Denmark

Sergio sledge
20-11-2023, 08:38 PM
How has VAR not looked at that Ukraine penalty shout in injury time?

20-11-2023, 08:39 PM

Penalty !

Fratelli
20-11-2023, 08:41 PM
Forza Italia!

Chiesa is one heck of a player!

20-11-2023, 08:43 PM
LOL England.

20-11-2023, 08:45 PM
LOL England.

Another scintillating display of football from everyone’s favourite team that are the most likely side to win every tournament they play in.

20-11-2023, 08:54 PM

That is simply a corrupt decision. Confident ref shrivels into his shell when a decision to be made. For it not to be looked at just imo confirms how bent the decision was. Wasn't a Scottish ref was it?

20-11-2023, 09:01 PM
Another scintillating display of football from everyone’s favourite team that are the most likely side to win every tournament they play in.

They won the World Cup in 1966 don't you know?

Dan Sarf
20-11-2023, 09:13 PM
They won the World Cup in 1966 don't you know?

What!? England won the World Cup?? Why haven't they mentioned it before?

20-11-2023, 09:20 PM
Italy to be in pot 4 if Croatia win tomorrow night.

21-11-2023, 04:53 AM

They're really only second to France in Europe in terms of their squad. The quality they've got is incredible. Made Scotland look like diddies recently.

21-11-2023, 05:48 AM
They're really only second to France in Europe in terms of their squad. The quality they've got is incredible. Made Scotland look like diddies recently.

Which makes their last two performances inexplicable.

21-11-2023, 06:24 AM
Scotland confirmed pot 3 I’m told. Kind of glad I didn’t get the tickets I applied for. I gambled on us being in pot 2

21-11-2023, 06:40 AM
Which makes their last two performances inexplicable.

Already qualified, starting some new players, manager toiling a bit. It's not that crazy.

21-11-2023, 07:25 AM
Already qualified, starting some new players, manager toiling a bit. It's not that crazy.

I wouldn't bother with the voice of reason stuff, some guys are not for turning.

21-11-2023, 07:26 AM
Undefeated since the World Cup everyone should be impressed but some eye bleeding boring football and negative over cautious tactics employed by their Manager along the way and in their last two games but hey ho they have qualified already so so what ?

Who cares about the capacity crowd that turned up on Friday expecting to be entertained against the minnows of Malta ?

If you want entertained go to the cinema

I consciously avoid watching their games as I now know what to expect

As an outsider looking in Harry Kane is a diamond a talismanic figure scoring in his last eight consecutive internationals prior to last night a real superstar an absolute legend

I would love it just love it if someone knocks them out ( insular I know ) I just hope Scotland manage to avoid them as they are still the team most likely

21-11-2023, 08:09 AM
Undefeated since the World Cup everyone should be impressed but some eye bleeding boring football and negative over cautious tactics employed by their Manager along the way and in their last two games but hey ho they have qualified already so so what ?

Who cares about the capacity crowd that turned up on Friday expecting to be entertained against the minnows of Malta ?

If you want entertained go to the cinema

I consciously avoid watching their games as I now know what to expect

As an outsider looking in Harry Kane is a diamond a talismanic figure scoring in his last eight consecutive internationals prior to last night a real superstar an absolute legend

I would love it just love it if someone knocks them out ( insular I know ) I just hope Scotland manage to avoid them as they are still the team most likelyChatting during the game to my English chum last night and his outlook is it's a patch of poor form, a place he'd rather be in now than next summer.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

21-11-2023, 08:34 AM
Chatting during the game to my English chum last night and his outlook is it's a patch of poor form, a place he'd rather be in now than next summer.

Yip please do not get me wrong I expect England to win and to win convincingly the last two performances have been flat to say the least

Playing Malta for example ranked 237th in the world ( I just made that up ) :greengrin with four across the back and a DM

Dearie me !

Rashford no shots on target and he persists with his favourites Jordan Henderson who looks done tbh

I once had a Rep from down South who was in Inverness for the Cameroon 3-2 game

He could not believe the pub was in uproar every time Cameroon scored

He asked me if we want everyone to win apart from England?

Pretty much mate !

21-11-2023, 11:13 AM
Good team - as usual.

Will win **** all - as usual.

The usual suspects will slaver their usual pish - as usual.

Roll on the summer. At least when we’re in Germany we’ll miss most of the media and punditry.

MKHIBEE
21-11-2023, 11:15 AM
What!? England won the World Cup?? Why haven't they mentioned it before?

They did once, you were otherwise engaged

MKHIBEE
21-11-2023, 11:18 AM
Chatting during the game to my English chum last night and his outlook is it's a patch of poor form, a place he'd rather be in now than next summer.

My lads get back from the game today. They will say it’s much the same every time under Southgate, with the odd good performance thrown in.

Trinity Hibee
21-11-2023, 11:40 AM
I watched the second half. Englands build up play last night was so pedestrian. They’ve fallen into this “pass the ball to death” idea that it’s the only way to beat teams. They’ve got players who can shoot from outside the box or who can be direct but chose not to do it last night.

21-11-2023, 12:07 PM
I watched the second half. Englands build up play last night was so pedestrian. They’ve fallen into this “pass the ball to death” idea that it’s the only way to beat teams. They’ve got players who can shoot from outside the box or who can be direct but chose not to do it last night.

So frustrating

I would really love to see them play with the handbrake off

They have the players

They did it against Scotland when under no pressure

King Cosell
21-11-2023, 12:13 PM
Boyle starts, should be an easy enough win, so hopefully he won't play more than an hour. Miller on the bench.

21-11-2023, 01:19 PM
Palestine 0 v 1 Australia

Souttar

21-11-2023, 01:27 PM
Lewis Miller on for Ryan Strain

Match on Socceroos YouTube

21-11-2023, 01:36 PM
Jeez Australia are awful. No midfield whatsoever.

King Cosell
21-11-2023, 02:23 PM
Boyle starts, should be an easy enough win, so hopefully he won't play more than an hour. Miller on the bench.

Boyle off, bang on 60 mins. :cb

Bridge hibs
21-11-2023, 02:25 PM
Boyle off, bang on 60 mins. :cb

Ffs I tuned in to see Boyle playing, only to see him walking off 🤬

21-11-2023, 02:34 PM
That yam donkey Rowles booked

21-11-2023, 02:45 PM
Lewis Miller on for Ryan Strain

Match on Socceroos YouTube

Good news that Strain is injured, hopefully out for a while.

21-11-2023, 07:38 PM
U21s ten to go. A pretty turgid a fair where Hungary are the better team. The **** with the vuvuzela is really rippin ma knittin.

21-11-2023, 07:43 PM
Penalty the sweaty socks. :thumbsup:

21-11-2023, 07:45 PM
Penalty missed. Keeper off his line for me. 3 mins plus stoppages to go.

21-11-2023, 07:53 PM
Finishes 0-0. Decent point to be honest. 3 would have been a steal.

21-11-2023, 08:02 PM
Greece 2 France 1

21-11-2023, 08:18 PM
Greece 2 France 1

Desmond

21-11-2023, 08:20 PM
Some of the worst refereeing I've ever seen over this round of fixtures, Wales the victims tonight and it looks like they're out.

21-11-2023, 08:25 PM
Some of the worst refereeing I've ever seen over this round of fixtures, Wales the victims tonight and it looks like they're out.

Luckily we’ve got the wales-supporting equivalent of Dion Dublin in the commentary box to tell us all about it.

What’s the point in co-commentators when they offer nothing except from being more biased than your average supporter and whining all game?

21-11-2023, 08:26 PM

Really ? I think Wales players have been throwing themselves to the ground , Especially Brennan Johnson ....Stonewall penalty for Turkey not sure what Davies was complaining about ..Saying that Wales should have had a penalty in the first half

Harry Wilson another one diving at every tackle

21-11-2023, 08:35 PM
Really ? I think Wales players have been throwing themselves to the ground , Especially Brennan Johnson ....Stonewall penalty for Turkey not sure what Davies was complaining about ..Saying that Wales should have had a penalty in the first half

Harry Wilson another one diving at every tackle

Aye they've been at it alright but there should have been at least one VAR check. As close rivals I don't want them to qualify.

21-11-2023, 08:37 PM
Luckily we’ve got the wales-supporting equivalent of Dion Dublin in the commentary box to tell us all about it.

What’s the point in co-commentators when they offer nothing except from being more biased than your average supporter and whining all game?

Come on Dublin is on another level! Totally clueless as well as ridiculously biased. I found the Welsh pundit far less annoying than Mikey Stewart the other night.

21-11-2023, 09:01 PM
Aye they've been at it alright but there should have been at least one VAR check. As close rivals I don't want them to qualify.

Me neither

I hope Wales get wasted in the playoffs , Sorry if that offends anyone

The Veteran
21-11-2023, 09:06 PM
Me neither

No need to apologise.

It’s perfect. :thumbsup:

21-11-2023, 09:15 PM
Me neither

Would be pleasing if they lost the play-off final on penalties.

Sloop67
21-11-2023, 09:19 PM
Me neither

Its always great to see Wales being done over by a slightly dodgy penalty, a tradition started by Joe Jordan

21-11-2023, 09:57 PM
i wouldn't write off Wales just yet

they're capable of beating any of these sides :agree:

A Uefa draw on Thursday will decide whether it is Finland, Ukraine or Iceland that Wales will face in a single leg semi-final in Cardiff on Thursday, 21 March.
The final would be five days later, with the hosts also decided by a draw.

22-11-2023, 06:10 AM
i wouldn't write off Wales just yet

they're capable of beating any of these sides :agree:

A Uefa draw on Thursday will decide whether it is Finland, Ukraine or Iceland that Wales will face in a single leg semi-final in Cardiff on Thursday, 21 March.
The final would be five days later, with the hosts also decided by a draw.

Think Ukraine would beat Wales

Donegal Hibby
22-11-2023, 03:40 PM
Big game on tonight TNT 1 8:00 Barnet v Oldham🤭

McSwanky
22-11-2023, 10:14 PM
https://twitter.com/bryansgunn/status/1727400474507362583?t=pV__GBCaGdGVkDQB5Qfrkw&s=19

Even the cheeky English know that the Hertz are just Cream Buns in disguise

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

23-11-2023, 06:11 AM
I see that the England u17s were beaten by Uzbekistan in the FIFA Under-17 Men's World Cup - Round of 16. I always find it interesting how some of the 'lesser' nations appear to be getting better at football. Uzbekistan national team have improved in recent years and are now ranked 73rd in the World. They've not really tested themselves against the European or South American teams that often, but they are starting to be more successful against the other Asian teams.

England U17 v Uzbekistan U17 - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/67500841)

23-11-2023, 06:12 AM
I see that the England u17s were beaten by Uzbekistan in the FIFA Under-17 Men's World Cup - Round of 16. I always find it interesting how some of the 'lesser' nations appear to be getting better at football. Uzbekistan national team have improved in recent years and are now ranked 73rd in the World. They've not really tested themselves against the European or South American teams that often, but they are starting to be more successful against the other Asian teams.

England U17 v Uzbekistan U17 - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/67500841)

Incredible result that.

Donegal Hibby
24-11-2023, 04:13 PM
Rotherham V Leeds skysports 8:00 .
Pars v Raith BBC SCOTLAND 7:45 I think is a better option.

24-11-2023, 04:20 PM

…Miami Dolphins @ the New York jets on sky sports, the better option for me 😁

Donegal Hibby
24-11-2023, 05:33 PM
…Miami Dolphins @ the New York jets on sky sports, the better option for me 😁

A sport I could never really take too though did use to look out for the Green bay packers score . Don't know if that's a good or bad thing 😂

24-11-2023, 05:35 PM
A sport I could never really take too though did use to look out for the Green bay packers score . Don't know if that's a good or bad thing 😂

It was a good thing this week 👍

Each to their own though and I’ll let this thread get back on track 😁

Big nose.

24-11-2023, 05:57 PM
Anyone got a Pars - Raith preference?

24-11-2023, 06:09 PM

I'd like Raith to win.

On the basis that I prefer Ian Murray to James McPake and I'd like to see the boy lewis vaughan do well.

Donegal Hibby
24-11-2023, 06:09 PM

I've always liked the Pars , probably my 2nd favourite Scottish club. Cmon ye pars 🏁

24-11-2023, 06:14 PM
I'd probably if pushed go for Dunfermline but like to see big Kev do well

24-11-2023, 06:25 PM
I'd like Raith to win.

On the basis that I prefer Ian Murray to James McPake and I'd like to see the boy lewis vaughan do well.

If Lewis had remained injury free he’d have been at Hibs that’s for sure. Cracking striker and he deserves everything he gets from the game given his set backs - terrific attitude and perseverance. Great lad too.

Garymcl
24-11-2023, 06:27 PM
A trip to any one of them on the next round would be brilliant take a huge support over Raith away started it all on 2016 🇳🇬

24-11-2023, 06:29 PM

Has to be Scottish football option every time for me. Enjoy the game

24-11-2023, 06:42 PM
A trip to any one of them on the next round would be brilliant take a huge support over Raith away started it all on 2016 🇳🇬

Plastic pitch now though 🙁

24-11-2023, 06:47 PM
Hottest tickets in town that bbc guy said numerous times
.home end 1/2 empty
( or 1/2 full ) if your that type

Up-the-slope
24-11-2023, 07:04 PM
good goal Raith

Up-the-slope
24-11-2023, 07:05 PM
Jack Hamilton reminds me of Nish.. big handfull for defenders and has a good touch for a big guy

24-11-2023, 07:07 PM
Nice goal for Raith :aok:

24-11-2023, 07:07 PM
Hottest tickets in town that bbc guy said numerous times
.home end 1/2 empty
( or 1/2 full ) if your that type

Really poor crowd. Thought it would be heaving.

24-11-2023, 07:08 PM
6 mins

Rotherham 0 Leeds 1

24-11-2023, 07:12 PM
It was a good thing this week ��

Each to their own though and I’ll let this thread get back on track ��

Big nose.

mon the Packers, and Jets and Eagles....can't watch the Jets tonight due to this damn footy

anyway...

Up-the-slope
24-11-2023, 07:15 PM
Raith playing lovely football... well in control and should be further ahead

24-11-2023, 07:20 PM
I’m watching the Polish tri-cities Derby, Arka Gdynia v Lechia Gdansk. They are playing in a blizzard and the pitch is covered in snow. I have no idea where the ball is half the time. Old Skool fitba. :greengrin

0-0 at half time.

babahibs
24-11-2023, 07:47 PM
I'm watching Koln v Bayern, there's a massive banner right behind one of the goals 'ALL COPS ARE B#ST#RDS'
Wow, that would never be allowed here.

24-11-2023, 07:47 PM
widny be Leeds without a **** up 1-1, first time they've got in the box

24-11-2023, 08:09 PM
2-0 Raith, Stanton

24-11-2023, 08:12 PM
Ian Murray doing a fantastic job as he has done at every club except St Mirren which was a basket case at the time.

Must be in line for a bigger job in the near future.

24-11-2023, 08:14 PM
3-0 Raith

scenes on the pitch, abandon the game that'll teach the dafties :)

penalty Dunfy, Dabrowski saves

Up-the-slope
24-11-2023, 08:20 PM
Raith are not a team that SPL teams will want in next round playing like they are... as has been said Ian Murry doing a good job to get an attractive and winning team

24-11-2023, 08:26 PM
Collum gives a ludicrous penalty and big Kev saves it so justice is done.

24-11-2023, 08:26 PM
Dabrowski saves the pen. 👏👏

Up-the-slope
24-11-2023, 08:27 PM
Dabrovski penalty save ... and then some antics giving it up the striker...suprised no booking, Good string wrist to save

24-11-2023, 08:30 PM
Ian Murray doing a fantastic job as he has done at every club except St Mirren which was a basket case at the time.

Must be in line for a bigger job in the near future.
He certainly is.

24-11-2023, 08:32 PM
Arka Gydnia 1 - Lechia Gdańsk 0. The good guys win. Like watching a winter match from the seventies, superb entertainment. :greengrin

24-11-2023, 08:34 PM
Dunfermline are a funny one. Big, if sleeping fanbase, cracking stadium, good history. Just seem to be floundering around the lower leagues. Did they not have German investors/owners? A club I have a bit of a soft spot for. Would like to see them in the top league.

24-11-2023, 08:38 PM
Dunfermline are a funny one. Big, if sleeping fanbase, cracking stadium, good history. Just seem to be floundering around the lower leagues. Did they not have German investors/owners? A club I have a bit of a soft spot for. Would like to see them in the top league.

Won't be anytime soon if tonight is a fair reflection.

They were absolutely brutal.

24-11-2023, 08:40 PM
Won't be anytime soon if tonight is a fair reflection.

They were absolutely brutal.

Yeah, awful. Was impressed by Rovers.

24-11-2023, 08:49 PM

I'm the same. They deserve to be in the top league.

To be fair, they've just been promoted. They're going in the right direction. Who knows? They might get consistent enough that they come up in the play offs, but it's probably expecting too much that they'll go up in successive seasons. And you can only imagine how badly they'd do in the Premiership if they scrape their way up.

If they're not on our patch in three seasons from now then they are in a bad place.

Donegal Hibby
24-11-2023, 08:59 PM
Rotherham 1 v 1 Leeds .Two points dropped by Leeds United tonight .

24-11-2023, 09:25 PM
I'm the same. They deserve to be in the top league.

To be fair, they've just been promoted. They're going in the right direction. Who knows? They might get consistent enough that they come up in the play offs, but it's probably expecting too much that they'll go up in successive seasons. And you can only imagine how badly they'd do in the Premiership if they scrape their way up.

If they're not on our patch in three seasons from now then they are in a bad place.

Yeah maybe too soon for them. They seemed absolutely miles off Rovers tonight. One of my first games was at EEP when Brian Welsh scored a late equaliser. Must have been 5k Hibs fans there that day. Also remember the boy doing the Kinsman dive on the shocking artificial turf and looking like he was wearing an Ajax shirt after.

24-11-2023, 09:45 PM
Yeah maybe too soon for them. They seemed absolutely miles off Rovers tonight. One of my first games was at EEP when Brian Welsh scored a late equaliser. Must have been 5k Hibs fans there that day. Also remember the boy doing the Kinsman dive on the shocking artificial turf and looking like he was wearing an Ajax shirt after.

Used to love a trip through to EEP. Friendly in July and we'd take thousands

I always remember a league game in the mid to late 90s. I must have been about 8 or 9. Willie Miller got a red card (2nd booking) for catching a ball that was going over his head and well out of play. Mental

24-11-2023, 09:48 PM

Was at both! Mind the boy doing himsel irreparable harm on the plastic, but not the Welsh goal - to my shame I left before it. Heard the roar in the park on way back to the station!

24-11-2023, 09:48 PM

More like 10k that day, i think that draw relegated us?:confused:

24-11-2023, 09:51 PM
More like 10k that day, i think that draw relegated us?:confused:

Nah. It prolonged the agonising hope. We were away to Celtc the next week and managed to draw or just lose by a goal (cannae mind that detail but mind EEP before it for some reason!). Whatever the combo, it all came down to the United game. Deep breath, GL. Deep breath.

25-11-2023, 12:00 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖

Coach Jon
25-11-2023, 12:05 PM
Haaland is a robot 🤖

Good finish, but terrible defending by Liverpool, left him in space which is fatal.

25-11-2023, 12:31 PM
Good finish, but terrible defending by Liverpool, left him in space which is fatal.

I thought that it was a pretty poor contact but, it ended up in the net which is all that matters.

25-11-2023, 12:56 PM
Allison really does need to be stronger, more commanding there even though it’s disallowed!

25-11-2023, 12:57 PM
😂 that's never a foul on Alison. Crazy they get that and we got **** all for the assault on Marshall last season.

25-11-2023, 12:57 PM
😂 that's never a foul on Alison. Crazy they get that and we got **** all for the assault on Marshall last season.

Very true.

25-11-2023, 12:58 PM

It was soft but there was probably enough contact not to make it a clear and obvious error.

25-11-2023, 12:59 PM
Our refs Don't play to the same rules foul on the goalkeeper all day long.

25-11-2023, 01:07 PM
Tidy finish from TAA. Save at other end then right up other end to score

25-11-2023, 01:08 PM
Tidy finish from TAA. Save at other end then right up other end to score

Magnificent finish. Calm and precise.

25-11-2023, 01:09 PM
Magnificent finish. Calm and precise.

First touch was superb to get it out from under his feet

25-11-2023, 01:10 PM
First touch was superb to get it out from under his feet

He can't defend but he can play fitba.

25-11-2023, 01:13 PM
He can't defend but he can play fitba.

Agree. Great on the and can pass and finish. Centre mid is better suited position

Cardinal G
25-11-2023, 01:45 PM

That Ross County equaliser still rankles with me after he was clearly taken out, then to see the VAR review this week only identified 3 errors and that wasn't one just capped my annoyance off. Technology is fine but human error undermines our confidence in it.

25-11-2023, 01:56 PM
That Ross County equaliser still rankles with me after he was clearly taken out, then to see the VAR review this week only identified 3 errors and that wasn't one just capped my annoyance off. Technology is fine but human error undermines our confidence in it.
They probably cherry picked these tree amongst others.

The Veteran
25-11-2023, 02:17 PM
Better point for Liverpool than it is for Manchester Cheaty. :aok:

25-11-2023, 02:58 PM
Bonnyrigg 0-1 up away to Albion.

Dunbar 1-2 Alloa.

25-11-2023, 03:08 PM
QoS turn it around v Dundee U 2-1

25-11-2023, 03:13 PM
QoS turn it around v Dundee U 2-1

Mon the Bartman.

25-11-2023, 03:19 PM
Mon the Bartman.

2-2 :I'm waiti

25-11-2023, 03:20 PM
wow preston is ecstatic at that hertz goal

he's so excited

VAR checking

25-11-2023, 03:26 PM
sellick penalty saved

25-11-2023, 03:26 PM
1-0 Jambos. Agent Levein doing his part.:greengrin

25-11-2023, 03:31 PM
Hecky's hands are off the wheel

0-3 v Bournemouth

25-11-2023, 03:33 PM
1-0 Jambos. Agent Levein doing his part.:greengrin

Shankland scores. If he doesn’t they don’t.
They will miss him big time if he moves in Jan

Paul1642
25-11-2023, 03:43 PM
Hecky's hands are off the wheel

0-3 v Bournemouth

He will inevitably end up getting the sack which is a bit of a shame because this is how Sheffield United’s season would have went under most managers.

25-11-2023, 03:50 PM
motherwell 1st attack of the 2nd half and score sellick 1 motherwell 1

Brendan is dropping quite a few points on his return

25-11-2023, 03:50 PM
Fantastic, goal Motherwell!

hfcok
25-11-2023, 03:56 PM
Porto in goals for Watford 😳

Paul1642
25-11-2023, 04:00 PM
Celtic getting to play until they score 😂

25-11-2023, 04:02 PM
FT sellick 1 motherwell 1

Sevco will win the league this season :agree:

FT Heartz 1 st johnstone 0

FT SC Montrose 3 Edin City 0

ET getting played at Broxburn v Buckie

Broxburn keeper wants to draw Hearts at Tinycastle

or Hibs at ER where he said he will walk out doing a 5-1, Roaster

25-11-2023, 04:45 PM
Dundee utd out
Well done marv

25-11-2023, 04:46 PM
QoS beat Dundee U 4-3 on Penalties

FT SC Hamilton 0 Kelty 2

scm70nyd1973
25-11-2023, 04:46 PM
Dundee utd out
Well done marv

Yahodie 😁

25-11-2023, 04:47 PM
Dundee utd out
Well done marv

Aye, pleased with that. He doesnae seem to be on top of it though. Hope it's a turning point for him this season.

25-11-2023, 04:50 PM
FT sellick 1 motherwell 1

Sevco will win the league this season :agree:

FT Heartz 1 st johnstone 0

FT SC Montrose 3 Edin City 0

ET getting played at Broxburn v Buckie

Broxburn keeper wants to draw Hearts at Tinycastle

or Hibs at ER where he said he will walk out doing a 5-1, Roaster

Unlucky Broxburn. The keeper can watch Hibs in the next round on his tv. Fud.

25-11-2023, 04:56 PM
Unlucky Broxburn. The keeper can watch Hibs in the next round on his tv. Fud.

beat 4-5 on penalties, nae luck for the Roaster

Hope it's Hibs v Buckie :)

25-11-2023, 04:59 PM
Dundee utd out
Well done marv

Getting them off Call of Duty seems to have worked.
Jim Goodwin and the Scottish Cup don’t go.

25-11-2023, 05:12 PM
Ramsdale is having a few moments in this game.
Englands number 4.

25-11-2023, 05:14 PM
Dick Campbell steps down as Arbroath manager after losing at Spartans 2-1 in the SC

25-11-2023, 06:09 PM
Dundee utd out
Well done marv

Brilliant result get it up you Goodwin

25-11-2023, 06:22 PM
Late goal for Arsenal 0-1

25-11-2023, 06:24 PM
beat 4-5 on penalties, nae luck for the Roaster

Hope it's Hibs v Buckie :)

That would be a classic, what with the Hibs logo for Bevvy an playing against Buckie.
As for the 5-1 roaster real shame, but hey ho, **** him as well.

25-11-2023, 06:25 PM
Kai Huddie, I mean Havertz, sending Arsenal top.

25-11-2023, 08:08 PM
Down in gateshead and Newcastle for the weekend, returning to the hotel in gateshead, near to the Glasshouse and baltic buildings about 4:30. Clear as anything I could hear "you're not singing anymore" followed by a huge roar. Checked the score, the magpies had just scored 2nd and 3rd goals in a minute. The sound was amazing.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2023, 10:55 AM
As much as I don't like them I think a sevco win today is the best result for Hibs .

26-11-2023, 11:11 AM
Shinnie going down like he’d been shot but jumps right up as they attack

26-11-2023, 11:12 AM
As much as I don't like them I think a sevco win today is the best result for Hibs .

100%, we’ll be nowhere near Rangers at the end of the season, the more points they take off our rivals the better……..just as Aberdeen score🙄😂

26-11-2023, 11:13 AM
So easy

Shinnie going down like he’d been shot but jumps right up as they attack

Whats new?

1-0 The Sheep

26-11-2023, 11:15 AM
1-0 The Sheep

Great finish to be fair

26-11-2023, 11:15 AM
1-0 The Sheep

Baa,baa, baa.

He's here!
26-11-2023, 11:16 AM
Boo. Mon the Rangers.

Curried
26-11-2023, 11:17 AM
Root Wan ...... Great strike from Miovski

26-11-2023, 11:18 AM
Officials will be in discussion now to bring forward the Rangers penalty award.

26-11-2023, 11:19 AM

As much as I dislike saying it, we should be hoping that Rantic beat everyone they play - apart from us obviously.

26-11-2023, 11:20 AM
2 late tackles from Shinnie, I wonder how many he’ll get away with this game before a card is dished out.

26-11-2023, 11:23 AM
2 late tackles from Shinnie, I wonder how many he’ll get away with this game before a card is dished out.

Just said the same thing. Second one alone is a booking

26-11-2023, 11:26 AM
Why was Cantwell not booked for that ridiculous effort to con the ref

26-11-2023, 11:26 AM
Cantwell you little cheating rat…..probably expects a penalty for those tho. Should be retrospectively punished for blatant dives like that.

26-11-2023, 11:29 AM

Do you really need to ask?

26-11-2023, 11:29 AM
Just said the same thing. Second one alone is a booking

I think I've heard the commentator say "foul by Shinnie" 4 times already in the first 22 minutes. How often does he get booked for persistent fouling, as it seems to be the main part of his game?

26-11-2023, 11:30 AM
Do you really need to ask?

No probably not. Same as the dozen or so fouls by Shinnie before he’s even spoken too

26-11-2023, 11:31 AM
Like others, I think a Rangers win is more in our favour. But there’s something deeply satisfying about seeing Rangers getting beaten. Win,win.

26-11-2023, 11:31 AM

Honestly - it wasn't even subtle, that dive couldn't be bettered by Tom Daley. Walsh of course just lets it go without even speaking to the player, never mind issue a caution.

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2023, 11:35 AM
Walsh hopefully to the rescue here with the usual sevco penalty!.

Monktonhall 7
26-11-2023, 11:35 AM
What about Devlins foul on Balogun? Miles worse than anything Miller did yesterday, but no card. Just sums our refs up. Not got a clue.

26-11-2023, 11:44 AM
How's that not a passback?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

26-11-2023, 11:45 AM
What about Devlins foul on Balogun? Miles worse than anything Miller did yesterday, but no card. Just sums our refs up. Not got a clue.
I think it just means the consistency isn't there. I wouldn't expect either to be carded in an alternate (well reffed) world.

Bridge hibs
26-11-2023, 11:50 AM
The rangers are really missing wee chubby Morelos, an annoying little **** but he knew where the pokey was

26-11-2023, 11:59 AM

Of course it is. No debate. We’re not competing with the *** for our league prize.

Edit - when did the commonly use term for that horrible club become banned on here?

Donegal Hibby
26-11-2023, 11:59 AM

I think that's at least 5 fouls he's done up to now , baffling how much he gets away with in games .

Monktonhall 7
26-11-2023, 12:09 PM
I think it just means the consistency isn't there. I wouldn't expect either to be carded in an alternate (well reffed) world.

I agree. Every game refereed differently with a different set of interpretations of the rules. Cantwells dive in first half not even worthy of a talk from the ref.

26-11-2023, 12:16 PM
For all my disliking of Sevco at least they are trying to play. Robson must practice get the ball either hoof it or throw self down at every opportunity at slightest touch or kick foul kick foul. Just a gang

26-11-2023, 12:18 PM
Its kind of nauseating wanting them to score… 🤢

26-11-2023, 12:33 PM
For all my disliking of Sevco at least they are trying to play. Robson must practice get the ball either hoof it or throw self down at every opportunity at slightest touch or kick foul kick foul. Just a gang

Its actually worse that the old McInnes version of Aberdeen.

26-11-2023, 12:34 PM
Its actually worse that the old McInnes version of Aberdeen.

Definitely looks that way. They are just sitting in looking to either give away or pick up fouls.

26-11-2023, 12:34 PM
This really is a poor poor game.

26-11-2023, 12:37 PM
Aberdeen were actually all right when they wanted to participate in the game first half. No interest in playing now though. Will be justified if they hold on but hopefully the **** score.

26-11-2023, 12:39 PM
Sheep not half riding their luck and diving at every opportunity, dreadful team 💩