View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 [54] 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

Coach Jon
19-03-2024, 09:07 AM
It's nothing to do with bias. City are fighting it. Forrest and Everton didn't.

Everton appealed it and the punishment was reduced, I think Forest might also.

19-03-2024, 09:13 AM

the four points given is a reduction from an original six points because Forest helped with the investigation early doors

19-03-2024, 10:13 AM
It’s absolutely shocking. Everton and Forest easy targets. City 115 charges and still the square root of heehaw done. I mean, even our biased and rotten league managed to deal with The Thes financial cheatin…and that’s saying something :rolleyes:

There's not "heehaw done". There has been dialogue between the 2 parties since the charges were brought. Every single charge of the 115 will be discussed during that dialogue. Some will be accepted, others compromised on, others denied.

They're now at the point where a formal hearing is expected sometime later this year.

19-03-2024, 10:26 AM
He was watching Man u warm up before the game with his tongue out lol , He's an odd ball for sure

Maybe he was just concentrating a lot :greengrin

VoltaireHibs
19-03-2024, 10:29 AM
Completely disagree, the EPL are having to cross every T and dot every I because they will be up against some of best lawyers in the world. The case is massive and they can't afford to be made to look like fools in court. If Man City are even found guilty for a third of the offenses they are f****d.

Yeah, I await to see if your last sentence is true. I have zero faith in them being properly punished.

Donegal Hibby
19-03-2024, 10:32 AM

Guy on the local radio here said Everton have another charge coming up against them , anyone know if this is true? .

VoltaireHibs
19-03-2024, 10:35 AM
Guy on the local radio here said Everton have another charge coming up against them , anyone know if this is true? .

Yes, another points deduction incoming I think.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/everton-find-out-second-psr-28843855.amp

Donegal Hibby
19-03-2024, 11:11 AM
Yes, another points deduction incoming I think.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/everton-find-out-second-psr-28843855.amp

Worrying times for the Everton fans even if they don't throw the book at Everton this time and issue a similar point deduction they are back into the relegation places .

19-03-2024, 12:13 PM
Worrying times for the Everton fans even if they don't throw the book at Everton this time and issue a similar point deduction they are back into the relegation places .

I think part of evertons defence is "double counting" ie we were points deducted for much of this already, as the offences look at the 3 year picture, and evertons main outlay is the new stadium (less than it is players). So that might be a lower deduction than forest got, if what everton is saying can be proven to be true

19-03-2024, 02:19 PM

Aye. But they fully cooperated. City aren't.

Neil4Hibs
19-03-2024, 02:30 PM
The only thing that could be argued is that in theory, VAR sounds great. But The way it’s being implemented is atrocious and that is causing delays, inconsistencies, goals being chopped off/red cards being given when no one else sees anything wrong with the original call. Until that is ironed out, if it ever is, then it’s not working.

You only need to look at the decisions and time it’s taking to reach the decisions as evidence.

I completely agree, it is a good thing but the implementation everywhere is awful. It is designed to stop clear and obvious errors but is being used to look at every little aspect. It should just be obvious offsides (not 2 to 3cm, how can they tell exactly when the ball left the passer's foot!?), obvious handball, penalty decisions or really dangerous tackles that the ref has missed.

Any VAR check that takes more than 30 seconds is not a clear and obvious error, I would make it a maximum 1 minute and if no decision then on field decision stands.

19-03-2024, 02:45 PM
I see Klopp took the huff with a reporter after the match and basically called the reporter fat and stormed off

I don't think klopp intended it that way, and the reporter himself didn't take it that way.

That said, klopp is undoubtedly a bit of an arse when things don't go his way, but most winners are I suppose.

VoltaireHibs
19-03-2024, 03:27 PM
I don't think klopp intended it that way, and the reporter himself didn't take it that way.

That said, klopp is undoubtedly a bit of an arse when things don't go his way, but most winners are I suppose.

As the old saying goes - Show me a good loser, and I'll show you a loser.

19-03-2024, 06:40 PM
i see Brentford and Brighton both looking into a partnership with Dundee United Dundee United in talks with 2 Premier League clubs as Hibs style investment in early stages (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/dundee-united-in-talks-with-2-premier-league-clubs-as-hibs-style-investment-in-early-stages/ar-BB1k7i3n?ocid=msedgntp&pc=U531&cvid=670ed3bf9265478fade01bf65fffe877&ei=136)

21-03-2024, 05:37 PM
Scotland v Kazakhstan under 21’s, live on Scottish
national team YouTube channel
7pm KO
Josh Doig captains the side. Scotland are sitting in 2nd place, 3 points behind Spain , and they are having a good campaign
The 9 group winners and the 3 best runners up qualify for the finals
The other 6 runners up will have play offs and 3 teams will qualify for the finals in Slovakia

https://www.youtube.com/live/UcIitHUtSLM?si=-xm7_pj4gZwR0BJf

21-03-2024, 06:30 PM
2-0 Scotland, Doig double

21-03-2024, 06:40 PM
3-0 Scotland, Tommy Conway of Bristol City

21-03-2024, 06:47 PM
Welsh anthem is so good. Actually think Finland reasonable bet at 4 to 1

21-03-2024, 06:51 PM
just two mins 1-0 wales, dreadful start for finland just dreadful

i predict wales v poland on tues

hfc-1875
21-03-2024, 06:53 PM
Bit random but was having a look at the footbal tonight and noticed a v.palsson playing right back for Iceland and realised it was the boy that played for us.

Had a wee wiki search looks like he’s had a decent enough career after us played at shalke and currently at Eupen in Belgium

21-03-2024, 06:54 PM
game over for finland after just two mins 1-0 wales

i predict wales v poland on tues

Really don’t want Wales to qualify. Want all eyes on Scotland. Wales have had enough tournaments.

It’s our time.

21-03-2024, 06:56 PM
Bit random but was having a look at the footbal tonight and noticed a v.palsson playing right back for Iceland and realised it was the boy that played for us.

Had a wee wiki search looks like he’s had a decent enough career after us played at shalke and currently at Eupen in Belgium

That’s him
Henri Anier on the bench for Estonia too

21-03-2024, 07:05 PM
Really don’t want Wales to qualify. Want all eyes on Scotland. Wales have had enough tournaments.

It’s our time.

same here they've landed very lucky with the draw, home tonight then should they win another home game in the final v Poland or Estonia

Poland 1 Estonia 0

21-03-2024, 07:26 PM
and that certainly is game Wales 2 Finland 0 37 mins

Finland are utter Rank, hope we get them in future Euro draws

21-03-2024, 07:28 PM
same here they've landed very lucky with the draw, home tonight then should they win another home game in the final v Poland or Estonia

Poland 1 Estonia 0

I think Poland can take care of the current wales team in the final. And certainly hope they do.

Donegal Hibby
21-03-2024, 07:35 PM
Finland still in this 2-1 HT.

21-03-2024, 07:41 PM
I think Poland can take care of the current wales team in the final. And certainly hope they do.

big advantage playing at home, though i don't watch Wales often the times i have done i've thought they carry a lot of luck

21-03-2024, 07:45 PM
FT Georgia 2 Luxembourg 0

HT Greece 4 Kazakhstan 0

HT Bosnia-Herzegovina 0 Ukraine 0
HT Israel 1 Iceland 2

HT Poland 1 Estonia 0, Estonia down to ten after the 27th minute
HT Wales 2 Finland 1

21-03-2024, 07:52 PM
Poland 2 Estonia 0

Wales 3 Finland 1

Friendly Portugal 3 Sweden 0

Italy v Venezuela- 9pm, that's an awfy late KO time

lugz
21-03-2024, 07:54 PM
When do Wales and Poland play each other? Should be a good game.

21-03-2024, 08:02 PM
Bosni-Herz 1 Ukraine 0, nice goal slight deflection i think.

VAR check completed 1-0

21-03-2024, 08:06 PM
Bosni-Herz 1 Ukraine 0, nice goal slight deflection i think.

VAR check completed 1-0

Bit sick of Ukraine as well.

World football darlings. Plus humped us then jammy wales (the Bale show) in Cardiff (again) stopped them.

On the plus side, Israel 1-2 down and hopefully nowhere near the Euros.

I have tickets for Slovakia vs the Path B winner in Düsseldorf. Would hate it to be Isreal there.

21-03-2024, 08:08 PM
When do Wales and Poland play each other? Should be a good game.

Wales will be in the same group as France, Holland and Austria at the Euro’s if they qualify.

21-03-2024, 08:12 PM
Bit sick of Ukraine as well.

World football darlings. Plus humped us then jammy wales (the Bale show) in Cardiff (again) stopped them.

On the plus side, Israel 1-2 down and hopefully nowhere near the Euros.

I have tickets for Slovakia vs the Path B winner in Düsseldorf. Would hate it to be Isreal there.

commentator just mentioned that game, OG putting wales through, another OG tonight, Ukraine do seem to have went off the boil a tad since hammering us

Poland 3 Estonia 0

Portugal 5 Sweden 1

21-03-2024, 08:27 PM
Iceland winning 3-1 against Israel is quite impressive.

21-03-2024, 08:31 PM
Deserved equaliser for Ukraine after 84 mins 1-1

Greece 5 Kazakhstan 0

Poland 5 Estonia 1

21-03-2024, 08:31 PM
Iceland winning 3-1 against Israel is quite impressive.

1-4 now, and we can barely beat them when we play them.

21-03-2024, 08:32 PM
Wales fans and their stupid ****in bucket hats.

21-03-2024, 08:34 PM
Ukraine go ahead on 87 mins 2-1

bummer for Bosnia-Herz

21-03-2024, 08:34 PM
Ukraine go ahead on 87 mins 2-1

Oooft!

21-03-2024, 08:37 PM
Oooft!

8 mins added

21-03-2024, 08:37 PM
8 mins added

Time, but would rather be in Ukraines position.

21-03-2024, 08:39 PM
Wales 4 Finland 1....wee Dan James with the 4th, Finland obviously didn't improve in the 2nd half, p@sh

good result for Wales though

21-03-2024, 08:44 PM
Always amazes that Finland have never done much, ever. Jari Litmanen leading the line in the 90s, what a player he was.

21-03-2024, 08:45 PM
FT toughie for Bosnia-Herzegovina, four in a row losing in the play-offs to...

Portugal
Ireland
Northern Ireland
Ukraine

Ukraine v Iceland in Poland tuesday

Wales v Poland

Georgia v Greece

21-03-2024, 08:48 PM
Wales fans and their stupid ****in bucket hats.

That song they sing in Welsh is brilliant

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=iLXtf1XFczk

21-03-2024, 08:49 PM
Always amazes that Finland have never done much, ever. Jari Litmanen leading the line in the 90s, what a player he was.

Got to the last Euros

Renfrew_Hibby
21-03-2024, 09:13 PM

Ice hockey/bandy, ski jumping and obviously other winter sports have always taken priority. Football just never took hold properly, just like in neighbouring Russia.

Rally driving is also a national obsession too.

21-03-2024, 09:44 PM
dock them 10 points :)

Leicester City have been charged by the Premier League with allegedly breaking spending rules during their last three seasons in the top flight.
Leicester have been referred to an independent commission for breaching profit and sustainability rules (PSR) and failing to submit audited finances.

If found guilty the Championship high-flyers (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/championship/table) could face a points deduction.
The Foxes are also subject to a separate financial probe by the English Football League (EFL).

Leicester, who were relegated at the end of last season, said they were "surprised" and "disappointed" by the timing of the Premier League's actions, when the club is not in the top flight.

The club added they would "defend" themselves "from any unlawful acts by the football authorities, should they seek to exercise jurisdiction where they cannot do so".

"LCFC remains willing and eager to engage constructively with the Premier League and the EFL to seek the proper resolution of any potential charges, by the right bodies, and at the right time," the Foxes said.

Leicester are yet to make their accounts for their last season in the Premier League publicly available, but in the 12 months up to May 2022 they lost a club record £92.5m.

A year earlier, in the season when they lifted the FA Cup for the first time, the club reported a pre-tax loss of £33.1m.
Top-flight rules permit clubs to make losses of £105m over a three-year period, or £35m per campaign, before facing sanctions.

VoltaireHibs
21-03-2024, 11:07 PM

It's a very very small country. Basically Helsinki then some towns. Nice place though.

21-03-2024, 11:14 PM
Always amazes that Finland have never done much, ever. Jari Litmanen leading the line in the 90s, what a player he was.Didn't Ajex have a youth training complex there? He was their product iirc.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

He's here!
22-03-2024, 06:41 AM

Almost as good as big Mixu...

I worked with a guy from Finland in London once. He was an ice hockey fanatic and said it's the top sport in Finland. I don't think football's any bigger there than various other sports.

22-03-2024, 07:20 AM
Finland has an incredibly harsh climate also

22-03-2024, 08:17 AM

Excellent. Passionate and stirring!

BS44
22-03-2024, 09:15 AM
It's a very very small country. Basically Helsinki then some towns. Nice place though.

It's a huge country - four times the size of Scotland. Germany is only 2.5 times bigger by area despite having a population that is 15 times the size of Finland.

He's here!
22-03-2024, 09:28 AM
It's a huge country - four times the size of Scotland. Germany is only 2.5 times bigger by area despite having a population that is 15 times the size of Finland.

Think it's big in terms of land mass but only has a small population, possibly less than Scotland.

I watched their ice hockey team win gold at the last Olympics, beating the Russians. That was a massive deal in Finland.

22-03-2024, 11:09 AM
Think it's big in terms of land mass but only has a small population, possibly less than Scotland.

I watched their ice hockey team win gold at the last Olympics, beating the Russians. That was a massive deal in Finland.

Especially given their history with Russia.

22-03-2024, 11:20 AM
Excellent. Passionate and stirring!

Agree link here to the song and translation. Superb

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=llkwpwdk2ro

22-03-2024, 03:49 PM
Jo Jo on the bench for Ghana

22-03-2024, 04:36 PM
Norway 1 Czech Republic 0

22-03-2024, 04:36 PM
Norway 1 Czech Republic 0

1-1

22-03-2024, 04:43 PM
1-1

Great game so far. 👏

22-03-2024, 04:46 PM

They had to get a replacement for the non politically correct Delilah

22-03-2024, 05:00 PM
See papers are saying Shankland starts tonight.

There seems to be no movement yet on the Newcastle 4, who seem to be down the pecking order for England. If we managed to get 2 of the 4 in the squad for the Euros that would strengthen the side.

22-03-2024, 05:03 PM
See papers are saying Shankland starts tonight.

There seems to be no movement yet on the Newcastle 4, who seem to be down the pecking order for England. If we managed to get 2 of the 4 in the squad for the Euros that would strengthen the side.

Good. About time Shankland gets a start.

22-03-2024, 05:16 PM
Good. About time Shankland gets a start.
Got the heads up from the manager😁

22-03-2024, 05:19 PM
Got the heads up from the manager😁

His head will win us the Euro's. :greengrin

22-03-2024, 05:34 PM
https://content.invisioncic.com/g326913/monthly_2024_03/20240322_183308.thumb.jpg.13b4ce5f70b21c9c00c1212d 56138674.jpg

22-03-2024, 05:35 PM
Shankland starting, just as he will on 14 June (and 14 July).

22-03-2024, 05:40 PM
https://content.invisioncic.com/g326913/monthly_2024_03/20240322_183308.thumb.jpg.13b4ce5f70b21c9c00c1212d 56138674.jpg

Decent lineup that. 👏

22-03-2024, 05:42 PM
1-1

1-2, The Czechs are bouncing ☺️

Great free kick.

Paul1642
22-03-2024, 06:08 PM

Glad to see it. Got my full support when he’s not wearing maroon. His goal scoring record since joining hearts is way too high to not start at the expense of the others scoring 4-5 a season in English leagues IMO.

I appreciate Dykes brings other things to the team but goals win games and we can’t rely on McTomminay to score at his current rate.

zitelli62
22-03-2024, 06:41 PM
What channel is the scotland game on.

22-03-2024, 06:50 PM

Not convinced but hopefully. A good game and a goal from him tonight wouldn’t do any harm.

Then he can be ***** for the next few games he plays before finding form in the summer again.

22-03-2024, 06:58 PM
some stadium

retractable pitch, roof

and a motorway below the pitch

hibeerealist
22-03-2024, 07:00 PM
What channel is the scotland game on.

its on viaplay

22-03-2024, 07:06 PM
christie hits the bar

actually keeper touches onto the bar

22-03-2024, 07:11 PM
Scotland played well so far.

22-03-2024, 07:12 PM
100% winning the Euro’s if we play like this.

22-03-2024, 07:25 PM
I think we are the better team. Mind you I think the Netherlands are laid back playing a friendly but we are throwing everything into it. If we score, they will come to life.

22-03-2024, 07:26 PM
100% winning the Euro’s if we play like this.

I have an odd feeling that although we won’t win it, we may do a Wales and get quite far.

22-03-2024, 07:29 PM
1-0 :(

22-03-2024, 07:30 PM
I think you call that ‘against the run of play.’

22-03-2024, 07:30 PM
Shocking by Gilmour. Stood and put his hands behind his back. A couple of steps and that shot is blocked easily. Such a good half up until then

SJNB Hibby
22-03-2024, 07:31 PM
I think you call that ‘against the run of play.’

22-03-2024, 07:35 PM
I think we are the better team. Mind you I think the Netherlands are laid back playing a friendly but we are throwing everything into it. If we score, they will come to life.

We just lack that really special player in the final third. If we had that, like they had with Bale, we’d be a really good side.

Played well tonight but we can become a bit predictable, just really wish we had something different be it that top striker or a good out and out wide player or something like that.

22-03-2024, 07:39 PM

This is nothing like their strongest team tbh.

22-03-2024, 07:42 PM
Netherlands with the finish Scotland have been lacking... so far. Been close, but no cigar. Having said that, they've been playing the kind of football that's been sadly lacking with previous managers (to many to bother naming). They look strong and very organised. Play like this in the Euros and we might actually get out of the group stage

22-03-2024, 07:50 PM

No chance imo

22-03-2024, 07:56 PM
good save Gunn

22-03-2024, 08:00 PM
Scotland are a proper side. Imagine if we had a talisman up front like Bale.

22-03-2024, 08:00 PM
Memphis should have scored. Mind you, I think it was a penalty with Hendry pulling his jersey. Good save, ‘tho.

22-03-2024, 08:04 PM
Delighted to see Porteous maturing into a very good centre back, certainly for Scotland.

22-03-2024, 08:05 PM
some stadium

retractable pitch, roof

and a motorway below the pitch

Car park no?

22-03-2024, 08:05 PM

We look so good up to a point yet we could end up going to the Euros and end up struggling to score or not scoring at all.

22-03-2024, 08:06 PM
Shankland just a level below what's needed. Too slow by about half a yard.

Him, Christie and Patterson the only players not really making their case well imo.

22-03-2024, 08:07 PM
Useless jambo

22-03-2024, 08:08 PM
shankland one on one hits the bar

p@sh

Huddy, had to score

Shankland should have scored.

Terrible miss by fat jambo

22-03-2024, 08:09 PM
Shankland just a level below what's needed. Too slow by about half a yard.

Him, Christie and Patterson the only players not really making their case well imo. I'd agree with the other two but I think Christie has done pretty well

Our Jambo talisman misses a sitter.:greengrin

Brutal miss

Jpdhfc
wankland not good enough at this level

22-03-2024, 08:10 PM
Scotland missing a real quality striker like Wales had with Bale. (Just realised several others have said the same thing!!).

We have a lot of decent players but in close games we need to take the chances.

Shanklands lack of speed is so obvious at this level. There is a reason he’s playing SPFL and not English leagues.

Pete70
Taxi for Shankland

Shankland's a dick

crash
22-03-2024, 08:11 PM
He shanked it there.

22-03-2024, 08:12 PM
I couldn’t stand the love in and the way they were drooling over Shankland. I thought if he scored it would be unbearable. So I put £10 on him to score anytime. 😡😡😡 It’s actually my fault he missed. 😫

22-03-2024, 08:14 PM
Scotlands press, particularly when the Dutch defence and keeper have it is sensational. I’d love for Hibs to adopt Scotland’s blueprint.

22-03-2024, 08:16 PM
I couldn’t stand the love in and the way they were drooling over Shankland. I thought if he scored it would be unbearable. So I put £10 on him to score anytime. 😡😡😡 It’s actually my fault he missed. 😫

Nah... not your fault he couldn't hit a barn door fromm six yards... off now, thank eff

Up-the-slope
22-03-2024, 08:17 PM
TBF Shankland - he won the ball in the first place...

I remember the days when Scotland friendlies were woeful with it looking like players didn't care... great to see a squad fighting for each other and places in squad with a real tournament to come

22-03-2024, 08:17 PM
Poor effort from SJM

22-03-2024, 08:18 PM
2-0

22-03-2024, 08:18 PM
2-0 and don’t think the Dutch have even played that well.

Got a feeling the 1st euro game against Germany will be similar.

22-03-2024, 08:19 PM
don't take yer chances and that's wha.... ach

22-03-2024, 08:20 PM
Wtf is Souttar doing

Hibees1973
22-03-2024, 08:20 PM
That miss kind of sums up that Shankland has found his level at the Yam.

Might not be that great for us if he stays with them. He doesn't seem interested in signing a new contract so they will be desperate to get a fee for him this summer.

I reckon he should sign an extended contract with them. That's his level.

22-03-2024, 08:21 PM
Reality sets in. We huff and puff, try like the clappers, albeit with some good football but they don’t get out of first gear and increase their lead.

LunasBoots
Wtf is Souttar doing

Overhyped player

Souttar should not be in the Euro Squad.

22-03-2024, 08:22 PM

Might not be that great for us if he stays with them. He doesn't seem interested in signing a new contract so they will be desperate to get a fee for him this summer.

That miss probably cost him a starting place at the Euros and also probably kept his price tag lower.

Soutter like shankland looks out of his depth

VoltaireHibs

If the blue cheek wins the league then I think they'll take him for about 3.5 million. He's not champs league level, but none of the Huns are, but he'll score plenty for them domestically.

22-03-2024, 08:23 PM
So many chances actually pretty good performance in general play and actually creating the chances

expect McTominay to score with that chance

That’s another sitter.

Had to score. We have definitely been the better team but you have to take your chances

22-03-2024, 08:24 PM
Scotland need to start winning games again, current losing run has gone on too long.

don't take yer chances and that's wha.... ach

Couldnae score in a brothel wi ...........

Hulk1875
Enjoyable friendly good to see us comfortable on the ball
Passing it about.. wanted shankland to have a good
Game and be the answer to goal scoring striker but maybe better with dykes or adams bringing others into the game. I’d go with shankland again next game get better feel for his team mates

22-03-2024, 08:25 PM
Robertson’s crossing has been dreadful.

Hulk1875
22-03-2024, 08:25 PM
I had 2-2 on tonight aswell Should Atleast have 1 goal

22-03-2024, 08:28 PM
Wasteful in front of goals, a wonder strike and poor defending and we're 2 down, playing fairly well but as some else said, another losing performance.

22-03-2024, 08:30 PM
3-0 :rolleyes:

freakin easy header

awful

22-03-2024, 08:31 PM
Gordon starts on Tuesday.

Piss poor defending a free header and it's 3-0, a bad losing habit is happening.

EGL2000
Got to take your chances at this level.

Poor defending there from Scotland. Got a bit of work to do before the Euros I reckon, not least in taking chances

22-03-2024, 08:32 PM
Got to take your chances at this level.

And not give away cheap goals

**** off

bloody hell 4-0

22-03-2024, 08:33 PM
Souttar with one of the worst sub cameo appearances I've ever seen.

22-03-2024, 08:33 PM
Souttar again ffs

22-03-2024, 08:34 PM
Dutch strikers showing the quality you need in front of goal.

Scotland defending woeful.

Played well but 4-0 down…

18 goals lost in last 6 games…

22-03-2024, 08:34 PM
Michael Stewart praising this performance but ffs we're getting beat 4-0 and all too easy for the Dutch, we have poor defenders it's that simple plus our options off the bench are poor.

22-03-2024, 08:35 PM
-18 last six matches

i'm not sure where the problem is

22-03-2024, 08:35 PM
Dutch strikers showing the quality you need in front of goal.

Scotland defending woeful.

Played well but 4-0 down…

18 goals lost in last 6 games…

That's as poor as you can get especially at international level.

22-03-2024, 08:36 PM
Men against boys. The Netherlands knew they didn’t have to bust a gut but to sit back, allow us to huff and puff and then score at will. Not happy to say that but that’s my take on it.

22-03-2024, 08:36 PM
I know it is a friendly but look a shadow of our self after Gilmour taken off

22-03-2024, 08:39 PM
A keeper who plays for Norwich isn’t going to get us far sadly.

The keeper situation is a concern.

22-03-2024, 08:39 PM
FT thankfully

22-03-2024, 08:40 PM
A keeper who plays for Norwich isn’t going to get us far sadly.

The keeper situation is a concern.

Gunn has done well recently not great tonight though

Hibees1973
The three group games at the Euros are going to be tight, nervy affairs.

Think McGinn is the highest goalscorer in the side, with McTominay a regular contributor as well. However, it's going to hurt us not having an international class forward. Adams, Dykes and Shankland are some way short at this level.

It's likely to stop us advancing to the knock out phase.

That's as poor as you can get especially at international level.

To be fair…

England
Spain
France
Holland

All better than Scotland and have finishers who are world class.

The subs basically made us worse, you'd hope during a real game we arent forced into making all those subs at once. Starting 11 is an OK team, and some of the subs are up to the standard but others are miles off.

If only we had a goalscorer though, even Shankland can't score a 1v1, we just miss sitter after sitter.

Half of those subs won’t be at Euro’s in the summer which is a bonus.

22-03-2024, 08:44 PM
I know it is a friendly but look a shadow of our self after Gilmour taken off

Ferguson has been getting rave revues at club level but Soutar is just poor(big huddy), Ralston is a back up RB at Celtic, Adams/McLean and Armstrong are playing Championship football and are not International class, outwith our top eleven we have poor depth in the squad and tonight it showed.

22-03-2024, 08:45 PM
Michael Stewart praising this performance but ffs we're getting beat 4-0 and all too easy for the Dutch, we have poor defenders it's that simple plus out options off the bench are poof.

Reported 🤣

Gunn has done well recently not great tonight though

Maybe but there is a reason Scotland squad doesn’t have a single keeper in the EPL playing regularly.

lugz
The three group games at the Euros are going to be tight, nervy affairs.

Think McGinn is the highest goalscorer in the side, with McTominay a regular contributor as well. However, it's going to hurt us not having an international class forward. Adams, Dykes and Shankland are some way short at this level.

It's likely to stop us advancing to the knock out phase.

Can't see the Germany or Hungary game being particularly tight unfortunately, probably lose both by 2+ goals.

As the wise Ron Burgundy once said “well, that escalated quickly”

22-03-2024, 08:48 PM
Reported 🤣

:greengrin edited now.

Hibees1973
22-03-2024, 08:49 PM
Ferguson has been getting rave revues at club level but Soutar is just poor(big huddy), Ralston is a back up RB at Celtic, Adams/McLean and Armstrong are playing Championship football and are not International class, outwith our top eleven we have poor depth in the squad and tonight it showed.

Exactly.

Maybe time for a reset. At our best we are functional, well organised and hard to beat. No better than that.

Need to get back to that and not losing so many goals.

Ach, we're just luring our tournament opponents into a false sense of security.

Can't see the Germany or Hungary game being particularly tight unfortunately, probably lose both by 2+ goals.

I’m very, very confident we won’t lose three games.

Still a good chance to go and qualify from the group.

22-03-2024, 08:53 PM

Top two and most 3rd place finishers? Should do, never have a better chance.

lugz

Switzerland is the big one for me. Think people are sleeping on Hungary

Agree with some of that. Think a fully sharp Adam’s is good enough. Got to defend better than that. Also Ferguson isn’t the same as Gilmour player wise.

22-03-2024, 08:56 PM

I reckon it won’t be too dissimilar to the last Euros.

We’ll lose the first game. Second will be very tight. And it’ll be win or bust in the third.

Teams have qualified with three points since the format change. Sure Portugal drew their three group games when they won it.

22-03-2024, 09:59 PM
If we had been more clinical as you have to be at this level the score could easily have been 4 - 4

22-03-2024, 10:03 PM
If we had been more clinical as you have to be at this level the score could easily have been 4 - 4

Our 3 most likely goalscorers all either had good chances or at least half decent chances. On another night Shankland, McGinn and McTominay all score. Christie should have been on the sheet too. Strange one as we were very good for 70 mins but with finishing as poor as I’ve seen us in a long time.

I think if we’d scored when on top and still right in the game we’d never have shipped the late goals.

23-03-2024, 09:22 AM
Think our euros will be another glorious failure tbh. Too much hype about qualifying and now will leave us with disappointment in Euros.

23-03-2024, 01:39 PM
Dundee united have cut several hundred from the Raith Rovers allocation for today

23-03-2024, 01:40 PM
Dundee united have cut several hundred from the Raith Rovers allocation for today

Think it’s next week, playing Caley today😀

23-03-2024, 01:47 PM
Think it’s next week, playing Caley today😀

i should have known that, i mentioned during the week Raith were due to play Airdrie today but cancelled due to Airdrie playing in the challenge cup final tomorrow, doh

that and the fact i just put a bet on Dundee United to beat ICT today half an hour ago :)

LunasBoots
23-03-2024, 02:21 PM
1 nil Caley

23-03-2024, 02:54 PM
DU booed off at HT

Arbroath 0 Harry Wraggs 1
Ayr 0 Queens park 1
Morton 0 Dunfy 0

Louis moult from the half way line 1-1

Morton 0 Dunfy 1
Ayr 0 Queens park 2

Falkirk 3 Edin City 0

23-03-2024, 03:17 PM
Some goal by Moult to equalise for Dundee United. 40 yard hoof over his shoulder in off the bar.

23-03-2024, 03:58 PM
My local club Chesterfield win 3-0 National League Champions and back in the football league.
Exhuberance on the pitch at the mo :)

Donegal Hibby
23-03-2024, 04:10 PM
You know if Raith rovers could beat Dundee Utd at tannadice and win their game in hand they'd be in a lovely position in the league .

Up-the-slope
23-03-2024, 06:07 PM
Brasil playing in a really odd blue... just wrong... compared to Englands minor strip blip... this is a huge no no

Up-the-slope
23-03-2024, 06:09 PM
Brasils playing out from the back makes Hibs.... well look like..... :greengrin

23-03-2024, 06:22 PM
Brasil playing in a really odd blue... just wrong... compared to Englands minor strip blip... this is a huge no no

Always support a team in blue against the English!

In fact, support anyone who play against the English!

23-03-2024, 06:26 PM
Always support a team in blue against the English!

In fact, support anyone who play against the English!

Absolutely!

I actually like a lot of the England squad as players. Bags of talent, good to watch playing the game and most have their heads screwed on. But as soon as they play for England I hope they get hammered.

Dmas
23-03-2024, 06:41 PM
Absolutely!

I actually like a lot of the England squad as players. Bags of talent, good to watch playing the game and most have their heads screwed on. But as soon as they play for England I hope they get hammered.

I’m same as you, I enjoy watching English football, it always look like these guys play with the handbrake on when in an England strip never understand it,it’s good though as it stops them winning anything

Up-the-slope
23-03-2024, 06:42 PM
I was ripping the Brasil strip... not saying I wasn't supporting them... I got married in Brasil :greengrin. I also have an original blue away strip from 20 years or so ago that a Brasilian friend gave me as a gift :cb

23-03-2024, 06:52 PM
Chilwell has wasted three decent opportunities in good position for England starting to remind me of Patterson last night 😬

23-03-2024, 06:53 PM
Walker off injured. Sure would be great for England to have Ben White in the squad.

Up-the-slope
23-03-2024, 07:19 PM
its like a library crowd wise...

23-03-2024, 07:26 PM
If Harry Maguire and Ben Chillwell are good enough to start for England, there’s hope for Obita and Fish yet!

linlithgowhibbie
23-03-2024, 07:28 PM
Was at Linlithgow Rose v Bo'ness Utd this PM. One red card, 8,9,10 yellows, lost count. Was a game of "Never mind the ball get the man", add in a last minute winner for Bo'ness and a mini pitch invasion,,, decent day out!

23-03-2024, 07:30 PM
its like a library crowd wise...

Bit of noise from the away end only.

The English premier league players will be used to that.

23-03-2024, 07:35 PM
Germany one up against France after a goal in seven seconds.

I'm very much a Francophile but hope Germany win this. They might get carried away with themselves and France get a reminder they need to try - Scotland fans are going to be relying on them at some point in the tournament!

23-03-2024, 07:41 PM
17 year old scores for Brazil

Pleasing.

Germany one up against France after a goal in seven seconds.

I'm very much a Francophile but hope Germany win this. They might get carried away with themselves and France get a reminder they need to try - Scotland fans are going to be relying on them at some point in the tournament!

Probably posted already but Austria scored after six seconds earlier today!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfMPNpbopsI

Up-the-slope
23-03-2024, 07:44 PM
the VAR must be drunk... defo offside from Brasil in build up... I'd be raging if that was Hibs...

But its England :greengrin

23-03-2024, 07:47 PM
the VAR must be drunk... defo offside from Brasil in build up... I'd be raging if that was Hibs...

It wasn’t, boy at top of the screen (left backish position) played him on by half a yard at least. Obscured by another player so not obvious at first.

23-03-2024, 07:53 PM
Germany look very good. France for me are the best team in the world.

7 seconds must be a world record surely?

23-03-2024, 07:54 PM
HT France 0 Germany 1

23-03-2024, 07:58 PM
Germany look very good. France for me are the best team in the world.

7 seconds must be a world record surely?

Not even the quickest today. Austria scored after 6.

23-03-2024, 08:04 PM
Not even the quickest today. Austria scored after 6.

That’s bonkers- two goals on the same night probably at exactly the same time scored on 6 and 7 seconds. What the hell going on?

23-03-2024, 08:07 PM
2-0 Germany

23-03-2024, 08:08 PM
Which channel Germany game on

23-03-2024, 08:09 PM
Which channel Germany game on

Viaplay

23-03-2024, 08:12 PM
Viaplay

Ta

23-03-2024, 08:19 PM
Germany should be 3 or 4 up. Scary.

23-03-2024, 08:36 PM
Germany have been very good but, France have been really disappointing so far.

23-03-2024, 08:55 PM

Your wrong have another look at the whole sequence.

Corstorphine Hibby
23-03-2024, 09:30 PM
Germany have been very good but, France have been really disappointing so far.

That sounds like a quote from Winston Churchill.

VoltaireHibs
24-03-2024, 11:09 AM
That sounds like a quote from Winston Churchill.

😂😂

LewysGot2
24-03-2024, 03:26 PM
Air-dire v TNS final on BBC Alba the noo...OConnor on the bench

Seekyit
24-03-2024, 03:27 PM
Air-dire v TNS final on BBC Alba the noo...OConnor on the bench

Where’s Megwa? Injured?

Seekyit
24-03-2024, 03:28 PM
1-0 tns

24-03-2024, 03:32 PM
Since when did Welsh teams get to play in the challenge cup?

24-03-2024, 03:33 PM
Since when did Welsh teams get to play in the challenge cup?

Been happening for a few years now.

hibstag
24-03-2024, 03:46 PM
Where’s Megwa? Injured?
Cup tied played for us in earlier round I think

hibstag
24-03-2024, 03:48 PM
On the challenge cup I've seen slightly less Union Jacks at ibrox on old firm day....

Seekyit
24-03-2024, 03:49 PM
Cup tied played for us in earlier round I think

Ah, Hibernian B. Cheers.

24-03-2024, 03:57 PM
Im flicking between Alba and S4C. Im now Tri lingual.

crash
24-03-2024, 04:07 PM
Im flicking between Alba and S4C. Im now Tri lingual.
What a great first half that was, should be about 3-3 by now, very entertaining game.

24-03-2024, 04:12 PM
TNS 1 v 1 Airdrieonians HT

BBC Alba

Co commentary from Owain Tudur Jones

24-03-2024, 04:27 PM
Josh O’Connor on

Donegal Hibby
24-03-2024, 04:40 PM
O'Connor done well in winning the penalty.

24-03-2024, 04:41 PM
TNS 1 v 2 Airdrieonians

Todorov pen

O’Connor pulled down inside the box

24-03-2024, 04:41 PM
The Donald trump banner, make Airdrie great again 😂

24-03-2024, 04:42 PM
Why are new saints not wearing their home kit?

24-03-2024, 05:12 PM
Pitch invasion.

24-03-2024, 06:10 PM
I just can’t take to women’s football.

The standard is miles away from the men and the goalkeepers need smaller goals. Fair play they get big crowds down south. I watch the athletics, the golf and the tennis and they are a very high standard but the football is miles off. Even more so up here.

International (friendly) weekends are ****

24-03-2024, 06:49 PM

The standard is miles away from the men and the goalkeepers need smaller goals. Fair play they get big crowds down south. I watch the athletics, the golf and the tennis and they are a very high standard but the football is miles off. Even more so up here.

Think womens boxing is pretty good. A welcome addition to a fight night card.

I struggle a bit too with the womens football. Id rather watch a national league game in England. I actually know a couple of girls who play for my local club Chesterfield but im not enticed to watch their games seeing the quality ive seen from the English top flight stuff. I know thats not very modern day woke to say that but there you go.

Victor
24-03-2024, 07:27 PM
Was at Linlithgow Rose v Bo'ness Utd this PM. One red card, 8,9,10 yellows, lost count. Was a game of "Never mind the ball get the man", add in a last minute winner for Bo'ness and a mini pitch invasion,,, decent day out!

Ah, sorry I missed it, I had other commitments. It must have been pretty boisterous though, as I could hear the crowd, quite clearly from The Peel!

24-03-2024, 08:32 PM

Women have had a long time in those sports to get to that level. Womens football in terms of a parallel to the men's game is not really that old

24-03-2024, 08:59 PM
Women have had a long time in those sports to get to that level. Womens football in terms of a parallel to the men's game is not really that old

They’re getting there on manufactured outrage stage though.

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/angry-hearts-fans-fume-rangers-28878784

Hearts should keep Tinycastle to themselves in future .

24-03-2024, 09:01 PM

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/angry-hearts-fans-fume-rangers-28878784

Hearts should keep Tinycastle to themselves in future .

Huns At Heart

24-03-2024, 09:33 PM

Hearts should keep Tinycastle to themselves in future . Very The Rangers - Classless and Tacky

26-03-2024, 05:38 PM
Shankland benched for Dykes and what does Lewis Ferguson have to do for a start?

I'm aware our midfield is strong, but it's a friendly against NI. Boys tearing Serie A up this season.

26-03-2024, 05:48 PM
Shankland benched for Dykes and what does Lewis Ferguson have to do for a start?

I'm aware our midfield is strong, but it's a friendly against NI. Boys tearing Serie A up this season.

Aye it's strange. Slotting him in there isn't going to disrupt things too much surely? Looks like he's well down the pecking order with McGregor out.

26-03-2024, 06:01 PM
I don't get why guys like McGinn, McTominay, Dykes, Tierney and Gunn are starting tonight. You aren't going to learn anything about them you don't already know. Different in June when you want to get the team gelled leading up to a competitive game but surely tonight is geared up for guys like Ferguson, Shankland, Clark or Kelly, Souttar and so on.

The squad is all but set for the Euros. Probably McGreggor and Hickey to come in and guys like Doig waiting for an injury but I would have thought tonight is perfect for a bit rotation and to see who you can trust when you have to mix it up in Germany.

26-03-2024, 06:03 PM
I don't get why guys like McGinn, McTominay, Dykes, Tierney and Gunn are starting tonight. You aren't going to learn anything about them you don't already know. Different in June when you want to get the team gelled leading up to a competitive game but surely tonight is geared up for guys like Ferguson, Shankland, Clark or Kelly, Souttar and so on.

:agree: Couldn't agree more. Weird one.

pollution
26-03-2024, 06:06 PM
Can I watch this game on the BBC i player Welsh coverage even though I live in Scotland ?

26-03-2024, 06:08 PM

The squad is all but set for the Euros. Probably McGreggor and Hickey to come in and guys like Doig waiting for an injury but I would have thought tonight is perfect for a bit rotation and to see who you can trust when you have to mix it up in Germany.

Scotland need a win tonight from a confidence booster, the winless run needs to come to an end. We need to keep a clean sheet too. So the side needs to be as close to his starting 11 for euros

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-03-2024, 06:10 PM
Can I watch this game on the BBC i player Welsh coverage even though I live in Scotland ?

Go to your settings and change location to Scotland, you’ll get it then

26-03-2024, 06:10 PM
Scotland need a win tonight from a confidence booster, the winless run needs to come to an end. We need to keep a clean sheet too. So the side needs to be as close to his starting 11 for euros

We really don’t though. We're playing Gibraltar and Finland in June for that kind of stuff.

26-03-2024, 06:14 PM
Better to go into the Euros with 3 straight wins, perhaps change it a bit against Gibraltar. We’ve had a poor run of results recently - need to stop it now

pollution
26-03-2024, 06:20 PM
Go to your settings and change location to Scotland, you’ll get it then

Changes to Wales, thank you.

I didn't know I could do that !

SJNB Hibby
26-03-2024, 06:28 PM
Whats our thoughts on who we'd prefer to win the qualifiers tonight? None in our group, but in the off chance we might get to round 2, our how it might affect the third placed teams if that's our route?
Wales v Poland-----I'd rather avoid Lewandowski, but agree Wales have had their day in the sun and need to get back to their level
Ukraine v Iceland----heart says Ukraine---head says Iceland(Purely football perspective here)
Georgia v Greece----late in E/T now, probably prefer Georgia

26-03-2024, 06:33 PM
Aw for **** sake. Naismith.