View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

12-07-2023, 04:33 PM
We should maybe try and get the other centre half as well, say we can develop the partnership.

12-07-2023, 04:38 PM
Fish playing really well, hope not too well that they change their mind. :worried:

12-07-2023, 04:39 PM
Fish playing really well, hope not too well that they change their mind. :worried:

Aye, he hasn't put a foot wrong so far.

JammyDoidger
12-07-2023, 04:39 PM
Tell you what I'd take more than will fish out of that team, they're all so comfortable on the ball. Some right good players in that young United side.

12-07-2023, 04:50 PM
easy 3 points for man u

12-07-2023, 04:55 PM
Fish had a really good second half in Oslo

12-07-2023, 04:58 PM
Fish had a really good second half in Oslo

Good to hear, trouble is if he goes on to play in the Lyon game and does well they might want to keep him :confused:

12-07-2023, 05:00 PM
Good to hear, trouble is if he goes on to play in the Lyon game and does well they might want to keep him :confused:

I doubt they would keep him , he's unlikely to get a game, they will send him out on loan and it's looking likely it will be Hibs.

Paul1642
12-07-2023, 05:01 PM

He’s not going to be in with a sniff of their first team, only the most gifted youngsters have the slightest chance at a club like that, so the only change or mind they could have is to loan him to a better club. If this was his first season on loan to us it would be possible however it seems unlikely given the fact that they were apparently happy for him to return earlier today.

I look forward to watching him next season 😁

12-07-2023, 05:29 PM
FT Fleetwood Town 0 Heartz 2

12-07-2023, 05:34 PM
not looking great for Reading, league one starts on Aug 5th and they only have seven players then face a winding-up order a few days later Peterborough United's first League One opponents have seven players and no manager, new club and a new country for ex-Posh star and some interesting League One signings (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/peterborough-united-s-first-league-one-opponents-have-seven-players-and-no-manager-new-club-and-a-new-country-for-ex-posh-star-and-some-interesting-league-one-signings/ar-AA1dLjxu?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=a27798240f4d4e4d9366fb2ba20db609&ei=45)

Just_Jimmy
12-07-2023, 07:14 PM
Fish playing really well, hope not too well that they change their mind. :worried:Utd rate him. I said that last season. They might move him on to bring in money, but they'll want to develop him.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

14-07-2023, 05:36 PM
The Republic of Ireland's behind-closed-doors practice match against Colombia was abandoned after 20 minutes after becoming what the Football Association of Ireland said was "overly physical".

It has been reported that midfielder Denise O'Sullivan had to go to hospital for a scan on a shin injury sustained in Friday's game

tug.lismore
14-07-2023, 05:52 PM
not looking great for Reading, league one starts on Aug 5th and they only have seven players then face a winding-up order a few days later Peterborough United's first League One opponents have seven players and no manager, new club and a new country for ex-Posh star and some interesting League One signings (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-gb/sport/football/peterborough-united-s-first-league-one-opponents-have-seven-players-and-no-manager-new-club-and-a-new-country-for-ex-posh-star-and-some-interesting-league-one-signings/ar-AA1dLjxu?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=a27798240f4d4e4d9366fb2ba20db609&ei=45)How does a team facing a winding up order afford to go to Spain for a preseason training camp?

Something not right about that.

Sent from my M2007J17G using Tapatalk

Paul1642
14-07-2023, 06:26 PM
How does a team facing a winding up order afford to go to Spain for a preseason training camp?

Paid for far in advance is the only thing I can think of. Still paid for with money they couldn’t afford though.

14-07-2023, 06:41 PM
How does a team facing a winding up order afford to go to Spain for a preseason training camp?

Wouldn't cost much to take 7 players 😂

tug.lismore
14-07-2023, 08:17 PM
Paid for far in advance is the only thing I can think of. Still paid for with money they couldn’t afford though.Yeah I was thinking that but still expect further expense when out there. Just seems daft.

Have they made sure that they paid the local newsagent and the any face painters first?

Any charities due money whilst they swan off to sunny Spain?

15-07-2023, 06:27 AM
See the Scottish League Cup kicks off today. Bet Ross county are delighted to have to travel to Stranraer! Weren’t the group stages regionalised?

Steven79
15-07-2023, 07:23 AM
See the Scottish League Cup kicks off today. Bet Ross county are delighted to have to travel to Stranraer! Weren’t the group stages regionalised?Not any longer.

But I'm sure we had Ross County away to Berwick one year when it was regionlised.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

15-07-2023, 08:14 AM
Fife derby on Viaplay at 17.15

Paul1642
15-07-2023, 08:21 AM
See the Scottish League Cup kicks off today. Bet Ross county are delighted to have to travel to Stranraer! Weren’t the group stages regionalised?

Wow. For some reason I really wasn’t expecting it this early.

15-07-2023, 08:28 AM
Spartans v Dundee Utd 3pm at Ainslie Park for anyone looking for a game to watch.

andrew70
15-07-2023, 10:48 AM
Raith Rovers v Dunfermline for me today. Surprised at the lack of ticket sales with it being a derby.

15-07-2023, 12:45 PM
Nisbet scores a pen, currently 0-1 up away to Gillingham.

Gateshead 2-1 Newcastle.

JammyDoidger
15-07-2023, 01:12 PM

Gateshead 2-1 Newcastle.

Struggled to do that for us, typical😂

Steven79
15-07-2023, 01:15 PM
Struggled to do that for us, typical[emoji23][emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

15-07-2023, 01:42 PM

Gateshead 2-1 Newcastle.

Good. Hope he keeps it up. £20 million transfer to Brentford or someone next season would do nicely.

King Cosell
15-07-2023, 02:12 PM
1-0 Spartans

15-07-2023, 02:15 PM
Good. Hope he keeps it up. £20 million transfer to Brentford or someone next season would do nicely.

Millwall do not sell for big money. Record transfer is £7.6m and next one is less than £4m. Hopefully he moves and we get something

15-07-2023, 02:16 PM
Killie 1 nil up
Dundee UTD 1 nil down

King Cosell
15-07-2023, 02:41 PM
With Falkirk & Partick Thistle in this group, Jim Goodwin could be out of a job before the league starts.

15-07-2023, 02:48 PM
Dundee Utd are awful.

This isn't a lower league team sneaking one against the run of play. 1-0 isn't a fair reflection of the game purely because Spartans should be 2 or 3 ahead.

15-07-2023, 02:56 PM
With Falkirk & Partick Thistle in this group, Jim Goodwin could be out of a job before the league starts.

I dont wish bad on many people, but make the exception for Jim Badloss.

15-07-2023, 03:04 PM

Think they need a Welsh striker ?

15-07-2023, 03:05 PM
United in Pursuit.

Of Spartans.

Paul1642
15-07-2023, 03:11 PM

I imagine the league cup is right at the bottom of their priority’s this season. We went out to Falkirk and Morton last season and still only missed out on 4th (to a hearts team who were high flying at the start of the season and were put out the league cup by the relegated Kilmarnock) by a whisker and weren’t too far from 3rd.

As happy as i would be to win it again I think most clubs treat at as a side event and it’s not a great indicator of how a teams season is going to go. United certainly won’t be sacking their manager for being put out of it.

On a side note do we have any players out on loan playing today?

15-07-2023, 03:16 PM
Montrose 1st midden 0 54 mins

15-07-2023, 03:17 PM
I imagine the league cup is right at the bottom of their priority’s this season. We went out to Falkirk and Morton last season and still only missed out on 4th (to a hearts team who were high flying at the start of the season and were put out the league cup by the relegated Kilmarnock) by a whisker and weren’t too far from 3rd.

As happy as i would be to win it again I think most clubs treat at as a side event and it’s not a great indicator of how a teams season is going to go. United certainly won’t be sacking their manager for being put out of it.

On a side note do we have any players out on loan playing today?

All true, but a bad start in the LC sections puts clubs on the back foot from the start, with us being an example last season.
We turned it around eventually but there was a lot of negativity carried well into the league campaign due to our omni-shambles of a start.
And now Montrose are leading St. Mirren........

King Cosell
15-07-2023, 03:17 PM
Stenhousemuir 1 St Johnstone 0

King Cosell
15-07-2023, 03:22 PM
Tony Watt missed a pen, still 1-0 Spartans.

King Cosell
15-07-2023, 03:29 PM
Montrose 1 St Mirren 0

King Cosell
15-07-2023, 03:33 PM
Josh O'Connor on to save the day.

15-07-2023, 03:38 PM
Imagine having Darvel and Spartans on your CV. Nightmare for Goodwin

15-07-2023, 03:43 PM

Lovely photo of Goodwin looking cheery in the BBC feed......:tee hee:

EGL2000
15-07-2023, 03:45 PM
Number of upsets today.

15-07-2023, 03:49 PM

Darvel sandwiched between 0-5 and 0-6 defeats in edinburgh, then he had to watch Aberdeen’s sensational run to third while he took United down…. his self confidence must be through the floor

15-07-2023, 03:52 PM
Jim Goodwin :faf:

EGL2000
15-07-2023, 03:52 PM
Spartans 1-0 Dundee United full time!

Paul1642
15-07-2023, 03:53 PM
Simon Murray got a Hatrick

15-07-2023, 03:56 PM
Some shocking results for Premiership and Championship teams today.

Priority or not it's one of only 2 chances of silverware or a cup run to generate income and a fair few have made things difficult for themselves. Add to that the reaction of fans to these kind of results and it puts pressure on early doors.

Looking at the St Johnstone squad and their result today they look a team in big trouble this season.

Up-the-slope
15-07-2023, 03:58 PM
Some of the results today put a training game defeat to a premiership team into perspective :greengrin

15-07-2023, 04:03 PM
Three ex Hibbys in the Rovers team v Pars and managers two ex Hibs captains.

15-07-2023, 04:04 PM
Some shocking results for Premiership and Championship teams today.

Priority or not it's one of only 2 chances of silverware or a cup run to generate income and a fair few have made things difficult for themselves. Add to that the reaction of fans to these kind of results and it puts pressure on early doors.

Looking at the St Johnstone squad and their result today they look a team in big trouble this season.

Yeah. Wonder who gets to play them on the opening day eh??

15-07-2023, 04:04 PM
Airdrie were 0-0 with dumbarton

O'connor and aiken (among others) come on and they win 2-0.

Probably a coincidence, but a good start for them anyway.

Up-the-slope
15-07-2023, 04:05 PM
Lovely photo of Goodwin looking cheery in the BBC feed......:tee hee:

Not quite the dream he had while snoozing on his summer holiday sun lounger :faf:

leith lynx
15-07-2023, 04:06 PM
Three ex Hibbys in the Rovers team v Pars

Four! (Keith Watson)

BS44
15-07-2023, 04:24 PM
Three ex Hibbys in the Rovers team v Pars and managers two ex Hibs captains.

Is it on TV?

15-07-2023, 04:25 PM
Is it on TV?

Viaplay.

15-07-2023, 04:41 PM
Spartans 1-0 Dundee United full time!

Screwed my coupon.

15-07-2023, 04:45 PM
30 yard screamer from Gullane off the bar..

15-07-2023, 04:48 PM
Lewis Mccann puts Pars one up.

aljo7-0
15-07-2023, 04:51 PM
Lewis Mccann puts Pars one up.

Lewis McCann grew up a Hibs fan like his big brother Ali.

EGL2000
15-07-2023, 04:52 PM
Lewis McCann grew up a Hibs fan like his big brother Ali.

Playing very well.

15-07-2023, 04:56 PM
Fantastic finish

15-07-2023, 04:58 PM
1:1, great wee goal.

15-07-2023, 05:07 PM
Half-time all even, decent crowd from the look of it & very competitive.
Had always been sorry Gullane & Stanton didn't make it at Hibs, both good players but I guess the fact they are playing
at Raith suggest Hibs knew the weren't quite good enough.

15-07-2023, 05:12 PM
United, eh?

15-07-2023, 05:17 PM
Had always been sorry Gullane & Stanton didn't make it at Hibs, both good players but I guess the fact they are playing

I remember Sam coming on, or maybe even making his debut, against Celtic. He looked a class above any of the midfielders we had at the time. I think it was the season we went down but can’t be sure.

15-07-2023, 05:24 PM

I've always been a big Jamie Gullan fan , for me Jamie and Porteous were the stand outs in our cup winning youth team. He had a dreadful time with injuries last season. If he stays fit expect him and Hibby Lewis Vaughan to score plenty this season.

15-07-2023, 05:39 PM
I've always been a big Jamie Gullan fan , for me Jamie and Porteous were the stand outs in our cup winning youth team. He had a dreadful time with injuries last season. If he stays fit expect him and Hibby Lewis Vaughan to score plenty this season.

I've always liked Vaughan. Good player. Reckon he could make the step up. Injuries have held him back I reckon.

MartinfaePorty
15-07-2023, 05:49 PM
Mate was at Ochilview, supporting Saints. Says they were absolutely dire.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

15-07-2023, 05:54 PM
I've always liked Vaughan. Good player. Reckon he could make the step up. Injuries have held him back I reckon.

I'm not sure. I think he's a fine penalty box player but maybe not good enough for highest level. Had a horrendous time with injuries though.

Pete70
15-07-2023, 06:08 PM
Quite enjoyed the RR v Pars game. Good tempo to it and a couple of good goals. It’s now gone to pens.

15-07-2023, 06:53 PM
Porto’s fault.

K-Zazu
15-07-2023, 07:02 PM
Mate was at Ochilview, supporting Saints. Says they were absolutely dire.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

It’s pre season,

15-07-2023, 07:05 PM
It’s pre season,

No really , It's the League cup

15-07-2023, 08:15 PM
Dave Bowman wanting to have a square go with a couple of United fans giving the players and coaches a bit of grief when they were walking off today was quite amusing.

I'm generally off the view that if fans give it out then you need to take a bit back but after you have just been turned over by a League 2 team, coming on the back of relegation them keep your head down and ignore it.

16-07-2023, 05:15 AM
No really , It's the League cup

As we found out to our cost last season

16-07-2023, 05:31 AM
Dave Bowman wanting to have a square go with a couple of United fans giving the players and coaches a bit of grief when they were walking off today was quite amusing.

I'm generally off the view that if fans give it out then you need to take a bit back but after you have just been turned over by a League 2 team, coming on the back of relegation them keep your head down and ignore it.

Tend to agree best policy to take it on the chin.

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 06:42 AM

Bowman is an utter prick, many years ago his family owned or ran the Hamilton Lodge pub on the prom and a group of us walked in with our hibs scarves on and he refused to serve us and s******ed as we were ushered out by a Female bar member. It wasnt a pub policy as we had been in many times before with a few jambo friends and it was never an issue wearing club colours, as was the same when his Dad ran a pub at St Andrews Sq bus station, his Dad good lad and always welcoming

So get it up ye ya jambo tosser 🤣

16-07-2023, 07:11 AM
Bowman is an utter prick, many years ago his family owned or ran the Hamilton Lodge pub on the prom and a group of us walked in with our hibs scarves on and he refused to serve us and s******ed as we were ushered out by a Female bar member. It wasnt a pub policy as we had been in many times before with a few jambo friends and it was never an issue wearing club colours, as was the same when his Dad ran a pub at St Andrews Sq bus station, his Dad good lad and always welcoming

So get it up ye ya jambo tosser [emoji1787]

I used to drink in the "hammy" decades ago and often used the Traveller's Tryst as I worked directly above it, got on well with Andy Bowman who was often behind the bar, good lad. I think your assessment of Davey rings true.

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 07:39 AM
I used to drink in the "hammy" decades ago and often used the Traveller's Tryst as I worked directly above it, got on well with Andy Bowman who was often behind the bar, good lad. I think your assessment of Davey rings true.

Sent from my SM-A750FN using TapatalkAh the Travellers Tryst, could never remember what it was called. Yeah Andy didnt have that smart arse attitude his prick of a Son had

16-07-2023, 07:42 AM
Ah the Travellers Tryst, could never remember what it was called. Yeah Andy didnt have that smart arse attitude his prick of a Son hadHe worked for, or with, Tommy Preston at the Travellers I think. Or the sub office as we used to call it [emoji16]

16-07-2023, 07:54 AM
Ah the Travellers Tryst, could never remember what it was called.

Was it also called The Highwayman at one point, or did I imagine that?

16-07-2023, 07:56 AM
Was it also called The Highwayman at one point, or did I imagine that?Highwayman was about 30 yards away, actually on the old bus station where the SMT buses used to pull in

16-07-2023, 07:57 AM
Highwayman was about 30 yards away, actually on the old bus station where the SMT buses used to pull in

Ah, thanks, that's the one I thought we were talking about.

16-07-2023, 08:02 AM
Ah, thanks, that's the one I thought we were talking about.Big cavern of a place, pretty rough as I recall. We used to go in before or after away games where we travelled by the old SMT's run by Alexander & Sons....

16-07-2023, 08:33 AM
Big cavern of a place, pretty rough as I recall. We used to go in before or after away games where we travelled by the old SMT's run by Alexander & Sons....

Yep, used to frequent it circa 1974/5

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 08:36 AM
Yep, used to frequent it circa 1974/5

Horrible dark place, only accidentally visited in desperation, Tryst was a bit more welcoming 🤣

16-07-2023, 08:44 AM
Highwayman was about 30 yards away, actually on the old bus station where the SMT buses used to pull in

Aye Travellers was the sub office, Highwayman was the branch office for us hard working civil servants. 😁

16-07-2023, 08:57 AM

I was mascot in the League Cup semi against Dundee Utd at Tynecastle and Bowman refused to shake my hand

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 09:02 AM
I was mascot in the League Cup semi against Dundee Utd at Tynecastle and Bowman refused to shake my handNow that doesnt surprise me in the slightest 🤬

16-07-2023, 10:24 AM

My memory is of Bowman’s mum running The Temple in Porty? I had a massive argument with her while watching a Rangers game on the TV. Total roaster like her son.

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 10:50 AM
My memory is of Bowman’s mum running The Temple in Porty? I had a massive argument with her while watching a Rangers game on the TV. Total roaster like her son.

I actually got on well with his Mum and Eddie who owned the Temple, Mrs Bowman knew my Dad well which may have helped, how she knew him I dont know but knowing my Dad it would have been pub related 😃

16-07-2023, 03:19 PM
Maloney's Wigan won in a closed doors game against Hearts 3-0. Hearts have played a fair few friendlies I believe.

16-07-2023, 04:06 PM
Maloney's Wigan won in a closed doors game against Hearts 3-0. Hearts have played a fair few friendlies I believe.

Maloneyball finally working?

Bridge hibs
16-07-2023, 04:14 PM

And have only won one 😃

Donegal Hibby
16-07-2023, 04:16 PM
Maloneyball finally working?

Or the hertz manager is beginning to get across his new ideas on how he wants his hertz team to play ! :wink:

16-07-2023, 04:27 PM
Or the hertz manager is beginning to get across his new ideas on how he wants his hertz team to play ! :wink:

Which one?

16-07-2023, 05:49 PM

He had to beat them eventually I suppose.

16-07-2023, 07:43 PM
He worked for, or with, Tommy Preston at the Travellers I think. Or the sub office as we used to call it [emoji16]

Yep, Tommy was the landlord there for many a year, I used to clean the windows in tge bus depot offices with my dad and he'd leave to finish off, he'd be in the Tryst with a large rum in his hand talking to Tommy.

18-07-2023, 10:28 AM
West Ham 1 Spurs 0, Ings.

18-07-2023, 10:32 AM
West Ham 1 Spurs 0, Ings.

2-0 Mubama

18-07-2023, 10:44 AM
Postacoglu out.

18-07-2023, 10:46 AM
Postacoglu out.

They started the better of the 2 teams, their defence is horrendous though.

18-07-2023, 10:51 AM
Fabianski keeping Spurs at bay so far.

Dmas
18-07-2023, 10:53 AM
Poor finishing and terrible defending letting spurs down

18-07-2023, 10:55 AM
2-0 ht

18-07-2023, 10:59 AM
Teams from the same division playing each other pre season has to be the most tinpot thing around.

18-07-2023, 11:04 AM
They started the better of the 2 teams, their defence is horrendous though.

Turned it on with 5 mintes to go to h/t, good save from flapihandski to keep it 2-0.

18-07-2023, 11:15 AM
Wouldn't be surprised if Spurs still manage to win.

18-07-2023, 11:36 AM
2-0 ht

2-1 Lo Celso

18-07-2023, 11:38 AM
2-2 Udogie

18-07-2023, 11:45 AM
3-2 Scamacca

Dmas
18-07-2023, 11:47 AM
Big Ange up against it defensively it seems some cracking stuff going forward though

18-07-2023, 03:31 PM
3-2 ScamaccaPreseason but always nice to beat those Spurs *******s.

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk

18-07-2023, 05:35 PM
Bayern Munich 18-0 up at half time v's FC Rottach-Egern

18-07-2023, 05:49 PM
Dundee Utd V Partick thistle on Viaplay tonight, plus a full round of League Cup ties. Some tasty ones too

Paul1642
18-07-2023, 06:26 PM
Bayern Munich 18-0 up at half time v's FC Rottach-Egern

Finished 27-0. No holding back there. 2 players got hatricks and and other 2 scored 5 each. Good for confidence regardless of the opposition I guess.

18-07-2023, 06:32 PM
Louis Moult on the bench tonight for Dundee United

18-07-2023, 07:02 PM
Craig Sibbald must have the worst haircut in football

18-07-2023, 07:02 PM
Finished 27-0. No holding back there. 2 players got hatricks and and other 2 scored 5 each. Good for confidence regardless of the opposition I guess.

Think it was Jock stein who had his teams play lower level teams, so they could all get in amongst the goals, to do just that even if playing against Rotten Eggs, you can only beat the team you are up against.
Think the most goals I seen Hibs score in a proper game was 11 a couple of times, I missed the Peebles Rovers game as just too young when Joe Baker scored 9 (still never beat his brother Gerries record of 10)
Goals are what we go to see, they are what football is all about.

18-07-2023, 07:11 PM
Think it was Jock stein who had his teams play lower level teams, so they could all get in amongst the goals, to do just that even if playing against Rotten Eggs, you can only beat the team you are up against.
Think the most goals I seen Hibs score in a proper game was 11 a couple of times, I missed the Peebles Rovers game as just too young when Joe Baker scored 9 (still never beat his brother Gerries record of 10)

Most I saw was 9, I think. FC Besa iirc.

18-07-2023, 07:12 PM
1-0 Newcastle v The Huns, Almiron.

18-07-2023, 07:19 PM
Good goal Plastic Whistle. Dundee United are pish.

18-07-2023, 07:20 PM
Good goal Plastic Whistle. Dundee United are pish.

Lovely goal from the jags.

18-07-2023, 07:23 PM
Only seen the last 10 minutes but Partick seem to have maintained their passing style from last season. Good to watch.

Dundee Utd understandably disjointed

18-07-2023, 07:24 PM
Must be tough being a United fan right now.

18-07-2023, 07:27 PM
I really enjoy Jim Goodwin suffering. Not too displeased to see utd fans in general having a ****ty time

18-07-2023, 07:30 PM
I really enjoy Jim Goodwin suffering. Not too displeased to see utd fans in general having a ****ty time

:agree: :greengrin

Fanforlife
18-07-2023, 07:30 PM
Most I saw was 9, I think. FC Besa iirc.was 7 -1 v Besa,Scored 9 v Rosenberg though,both European Ties😀👍

18-07-2023, 07:43 PM

Said it before but work in Dundee and the arrogance they have when it comes to Dundee FC is worse than them across the city with us. Getting a fair bit of karma now. Really have no time for Dundee United at all. Quite enjoying seeing them toil and taking their best player.

18-07-2023, 07:50 PM
was 7 -1 v Besa,Scored 9 v Rosenberg though,both European Ties😀👍

Yes, of course it was. I often get them mixed up.

Rosenberg scored first to make it 3-3 on aggregate and we started to get a bit nervous.

We needn't have worried because a few moments later, we'd scored another 3!

I remember singing "we want 7" during both games of course! :greengrin

18-07-2023, 07:52 PM
Saw Hibs hit 8 v Killie in 1983 in the league as well. Barely believable when you consider we were distinctly average then

18-07-2023, 07:59 PM
Saw Hibs hit 8 v Killie in 1983 in the league as well. Barely believable when you consider we were distinctly average then

I was there. We also beat Ayr 8-1 in the early 70s.

18-07-2023, 08:04 PM
Fundee United

18-07-2023, 08:04 PM

King Cosell
18-07-2023, 08:05 PM
Partick 2-1 up.

Mantis Toboggan
18-07-2023, 08:05 PM
Why did united think persisting with Goodwin was a good idea? He got them relegated!

18-07-2023, 08:07 PM
Spartans drawing 1-1 with Falkirk.

King Cosell
18-07-2023, 08:07 PM

Utterly bizarre, think we were averaging less than a goal per game at the time.

Tully
18-07-2023, 08:10 PM
Nisbet with a double so far for millwall 3 in 2 games

18-07-2023, 08:12 PM

Lovin it .can’t wait for the boos at full time

18-07-2023, 08:15 PM
1-0 Newcastle v The Huns, Almiron.

1-1 Lammers

18-07-2023, 08:19 PM

Three now.

18-07-2023, 08:23 PM

Can you be sold twice in the same window😀

18-07-2023, 08:34 PM
boooo FT Spartans 1 Falkirk 2

QoS 3 Motherwell 3

sectarian bigots 1 Newky Brown Ale 2

18-07-2023, 08:36 PM

Kerching

18-07-2023, 08:39 PM
2-1 The Geordies

18-07-2023, 08:43 PM
Two games, two losses for Jim Goodwin :greengrin

18-07-2023, 08:45 PM
Two games, two losses for Jim Goodwin :greengrinHe must be on some run looking at the end to last season too

Fans must be raging

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Bridge hibs
18-07-2023, 08:46 PM
Nae luck Jim Lossloss, GIRUY 🤣

18-07-2023, 08:49 PM
Hahahahahaha Goodwin hahahahahahahahaha. Total ****** and how he is gettinga gig at some of the top teams in Scotland is a mystery to me. Absolutely useless

18-07-2023, 08:50 PM
Motherwell win 5-4 on pens at Palmerston

will Dundee utd ever win again

King Cosell
18-07-2023, 09:00 PM
Record saying Jim Goodwin runs a "gauntlet of rage as fizzing punters fume over Partick Thistle defeat...". Quite good for them, tbf.

18-07-2023, 09:02 PM
I rated Goodwin at St Mirren. Thought they played some really good football. He's now one sacking away from the scrapheap.

18-07-2023, 09:25 PM
2-1 The Geordies

8000 Newcastle fans there tonight

18-07-2023, 10:03 PM
I was there. We also beat Ayr 8-1 in the early 70s.
So was I standing on the old top East terrace.

18-07-2023, 11:01 PM
Hahahahahaha Goodwin hahahahahahahahaha. Total ****** and how he is gettinga gig at some of the top teams in Scotland is a mystery to me. Absolutely useless

Pumped out the league cup already I assume with defeats to Spartans and Partick. As much as I do like to see the top teams in the Premiership, it would be quite funny if they struggle this season.

ErinGoBraghHFC
18-07-2023, 11:18 PM
Most I saw was 9, I think. FC Besa iirc.

I think the most I’ve seen is 6, on a few occasions. Seen us concede 7 though unfortunately

JamesHFC
19-07-2023, 03:42 AM
The downfall of Dundee Utd is actually madness. I don't know how Jack Ross managed to make such a mess of it.

I wouldn't be surprised if Robbie Neilson ends up back there at some point this season.

19-07-2023, 05:51 AM
Pumped out the league cup already I assume with defeats to Spartans and Partick. As much as I do like to see the top teams in the Premiership, it would be quite funny if they struggle this season.

I don't think they're out yet.

Paulie Walnuts
19-07-2023, 05:53 AM

9-0 for me V Montrose is my biggest. Dobbie got a hatrick I think.

19-07-2023, 06:11 AM
The downfall of Dundee Utd is actually madness. I don't know how Jack Ross managed to make such a mess of it.

I wouldn't be surprised if Robbie Neilson ends up back there at some point this season.

Incredible they thought Goodwin a better option in the first place. (Presuming they did of course.)

Paulie Walnuts
19-07-2023, 06:16 AM
Incredible they thought Goodwin a better option in the first place. (Presuming they did of course.)

They went from Ross to Fox to Goodwin. Fox on the face of it may have just about kept them up.

Edit: maybe not actually as his record includes cup games.

19-07-2023, 06:17 AM
Can you be sold twice in the same window😀

Can’t remember if that was the case with Scott Bain for is in the mega deal final day madness

19-07-2023, 06:40 AM
They went from Ross to Fox to Goodwin. Fox on the face of it may have just about kept them up.

Edit: maybe not actually as his record includes cup games.

Goodwin should have kept them up reasonably comfortably in my opinion with the squad they had.
Man's an imposter.

19-07-2023, 06:43 AM
Alan ‘Mad’ McGregor still hanging about The Rangers like a bad smell

Thought he had retired ?

Should’ve after Boyler put three past him

EGL2000
19-07-2023, 08:15 AM
Always think aiden fitzpatrick looks a real good player at Partick whenever I see him. Still young as well.

19-07-2023, 10:29 AM
The road closures and traffic problems for a foreign friendly in Edinburgh is ridiculous, no one here cares about Man U.

19-07-2023, 10:37 AM
The road closures and traffic problems for a foreign friendly in Edinburgh is ridiculous, no one here cares about Man U.

Sadly the worst kind of football fans do care.

19-07-2023, 10:50 AM

I'm guessing they do or they wouldn't have decided to come up

richard_pitts
19-07-2023, 10:56 AM
I'm guessing they do or they wouldn't have decided to come up

would be easier to get to Murrayfield from Croydon than from some parts of Edinburgh - fast train to Gatwick and a tram from the airport.:wink:

19-07-2023, 10:58 AM
Minimum £40 for an exhibition friendly match at a rugby stadium.

Football is humped.

Paulie Walnuts
19-07-2023, 11:01 AM
Minimum £40 for an exhibition friendly match at a rugby stadium.

Football is humped.

For 2 hours of a lot of forms of entertainment held in a venue and performed live you’d be about that if not considerably more.

A musical, a concert, other sporting events. I’m not sure it’s that bad a price tbh. It’s Man Utd, it’s one of the biggest names in sport.

19-07-2023, 11:28 AM
For 2 hours of a lot of forms of entertainment held in a venue and performed live you’d be about that if not considerably more.

A musical, a concert, other sporting events. I’m not sure it’s that bad a price tbh. It’s Man Utd, it’s one of the biggest names in sport.

Well you pay it by all means. I thinks it stinks.

19-07-2023, 11:39 AM

Indeed. Great price if you're interested in going.

I've paid double for plenty gigs.

He's here!
19-07-2023, 11:42 AM

Think you'll find plenty do.

He's here!
19-07-2023, 11:44 AM
I think the most I’ve seen is 6, on a few occasions. Seen us concede 7 though unfortunately

We beat Montrose 9-0 in the League Cup under Bobby Williamson.

19-07-2023, 12:09 PM
We beat Montrose 9-0 in the League Cup under Bobby Williamson.

Tanked Livingston 7-0 at home too on a midweek night IIRC, slightly more recently I think.

Paulie Walnuts
19-07-2023, 12:10 PM
Well you pay it by all means. I thinks it stinks.

I’m not paying it, I’m not interested.

Do you ever go to concerts, musicals, any other form or sporting event at a reasonably high level?

19-07-2023, 12:21 PM
Fish on the bench this afternoon

19-07-2023, 12:57 PM
I’m not paying it, I’m not interested.

Do you ever go to concerts, musicals, any other form or sporting event at a reasonably high level?

The Proclaimers a few weeks ago at £55 a ticket. How?

19-07-2023, 01:01 PM
Most of the upper tier at Murrayfield is empty.

19-07-2023, 01:05 PM
Most of the upper tier at Murrayfield is empty.

Ridiculous kick off time, and price for me.

Appreciate £40 isn't extortionate compared to other stuff but it's a friendly with half a team after only a couple training sessions in the middle of the afternoon

monarch
19-07-2023, 01:07 PM
Ref is John Beaton !!
And Lyon play in blue.

19-07-2023, 01:08 PM
Ridiculous kick off time, and price for me.

Appreciate £40 isn't extortionate compared to other stuff but it's a friendly with half a team after only a couple training sessions in the middle of the afternoon

During the school holidays. Plenty of kids will be delighted to go and see some top class players. And Aaron Wan-Bissaka.

19-07-2023, 01:11 PM
Ref is John Beaton !!
And Lyon play in blue.

That Lyon shirt is pretty nice.

19-07-2023, 01:16 PM
Looks like quite a decent crowd at the man utd game

19-07-2023, 01:25 PM
It’s more expensive today to watch Man Utd than it was in the Europa League last season. There are thousands of United fans in Scotland but upwards of £40 for a 1400 kick off midweek for a friendly is a joke. But it will better attended than Hibs & Hearts euro ties combined

19-07-2023, 01:31 PM
Don't have much a problem with the price as these exhibition types are a bit freakshow-ish, and it's a particular type of fan that goes. It's never really going to be cheaper.

Can't see how it's a GREAT price though, nor comparable to a gig. You'd expect other entertainment to be at peak levels - you're getting an inferior version of a competitive game here which will likely end up a half arsed training session beyond half time.

Paul1642
19-07-2023, 01:32 PM
I’m personally not interested in going to see Man United vs Lyon however if it was a game involving two of Barca, Real, Bayern, Man City, Arsenal, Inter, Napoli so on i would be interested.

Scottish football fans might not be interested in todays game but there are plenty of foreign residents / students in Edinburgh who might well be delighted to watch Man U locally.

Stairway 2 7
19-07-2023, 01:37 PM
It's up to anyone how they spend their money or what they enjoy, clearly loads as its busy. But mental to me spending £40 minimum for a kick about or £100 min for Taylor Swift singing to a backing track there next year

Fools and their money

19-07-2023, 01:44 PM
Turned it on to see if Will Fish was playing. He's not so it's off again.

19-07-2023, 01:46 PM
Alan ‘Mad’ McGregor still hanging about The Rangers like a bad smell

Thought he had retired ?

Should’ve after Boyler put three past him in 29 minutes

FTFY :wink:

Rumble de Thump
19-07-2023, 01:48 PM
It shows how badly Scottish football has been marketed over the decades. The obsession with ensuring Celtic and Rangers/Sevco get everything they need to stay at the top in Scotland has meant zero competition, zero entertainment and zero serious interest from football fans, especially those outside of Scotland.

Stairway 2 7
19-07-2023, 01:53 PM
It shows how badly Scottish football has been marketed over the decades. The obsession with ensuring Celtic and Rangers/Sevco get everything they need to stay at the top in Scotland has meant zero competition, zero entertainment and zero serious interest from football fans, especially those outside of Scotland.
I thought the spl was the most watched league in Europe per capita

English teams play friendlies all over Europe (Oslo last week) and the world, due to it being the most watched league in the world.

Paulie Walnuts
19-07-2023, 01:53 PM
The Proclaimers a few weeks ago at £55 a ticket. How?

Considerably more than the Man Utd game then for a similar length of entertainment by a band that are a lot less of a powerhouse in their industry than Man Utd are.

19-07-2023, 01:59 PM
Considerably more than the Man Utd game then for a similar length of entertainment by a band that are a lot less of a powerhouse in their industry than Man Utd are.

But presumably the Proclaimers had something approaching their strongest starting line-up out?

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 02:02 PM
I’d have paid £40 to see Utd’s reserves if I’d never seen United at Old Trafford before, I can’t blame folk. Personally I’ll just wait until my Manc pal has a spare ticket for a home game next season and I’ll go to that instead but not everyone has that luxury of knowing a season ticket holder.

19-07-2023, 02:19 PM
But presumably the Proclaimers had something approaching their strongest starting line-up out?

The Who was 100 quid and half the band is dead.

Gorebridge Hibb
19-07-2023, 02:21 PM
Turned it on to see if Will Fish was playing. He's not so it's off again.He came on at HT

19-07-2023, 02:24 PM

I was there for about 6 hours, with music on for say 4 of them and watching a band who don't tour that often.

I'm not really sure what your point is, music and football are quite far removed IMO, the only thing they have in common are stadiums and big crowds.

19-07-2023, 02:25 PM

They did indeed, and the fiddle player they brought on for a cameo was very good as well.

Rumble de Thump
19-07-2023, 02:42 PM
I thought the spl was the most watched league in Europe per capita

English teams play friendlies all over Europe (Oslo last week) and the world, due to it being the most watched league in the world.

Yes. Our league is now very far from being the most watched.

19-07-2023, 02:46 PM

It wouldn't be me but, you're correct, just have a quick scan of ticket prices in The Dugout for that Swift lassie! 😳

19-07-2023, 02:47 PM
A bit of a joke there is no League cup highlights show.

Even viaplay have only uploaded the two games that have been shown live and nothing else.

I understand I can easy just search every game individually on YouTube, just would be nice for a highlight show.

19-07-2023, 02:48 PM

Came on early in the 2nd half.

He's here!
19-07-2023, 02:48 PM
Looks like quite a decent crowd at the man utd game

48,484 according to the BBC live feed. Loads of kids there in Man U shirts (including a couple I teach whose dad is a season ticket holder at Old Trafford).

Stairway 2 7
19-07-2023, 02:50 PM
Yes. Our league is now very far from being the most watched.

It would never be the most watched we've 5 million people. Just checked and yes it's still by far the most watched in Europe per capita. Other European leagues particularly small ones, should ask how is Scotland getting the fans in. I'm still stunned how good our own average attendance is

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/12810174/scottish-football-tops-european-attendance-per-capita-table-ahead-of-second-placed-netherlands

Scottish football attendances are some distance ahead of the rest of Europe on a population basis; Scotland is 65 per cent clear of second-placed Netherlands; Over four million fans went to matches across the top four divisions last season

Stairway 2 7
19-07-2023, 02:51 PM
48,484 according to the BBC live feed. Loads of kids there in Man U shirts (including a couple I teach whose dad is a season ticket holder at Old Trafford).

48k announced at stadium

Never caught your edit. Went past people with Manchester accents and a few weegies going there

He's here!
19-07-2023, 02:54 PM

Fish is playing.

19-07-2023, 02:54 PM
It would never be the most watched we've 5 million people. Just checked and yes it's still by far the most watched in Europe per capita. Other European leagues particularly small ones, should ask how is Scotland getting the fans in. I'm still stunned how good our own average attendance is

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/12810174/scottish-football-tops-european-attendance-per-capita-table-ahead-of-second-placed-netherlands

Scottish football attendances are some distance ahead of the rest of Europe on a population basis; Scotland is 65 per cent clear of second-placed Netherlands; Over four million fans went to matches across the top four divisions last season

What percentage of that is down to the 2 cheeks?

It's still a good effort from us, Aberdeen and Hearts in the hope of getting a sniff of a cup win and/or qualifying for Europe though.

He's here!
19-07-2023, 02:59 PM
48k announced at stadium

Never caught your edit. Went past people with Manchester accents and a few weegies going there

It was always going to be popular. Good way to fill a school summer holiday afternoon for kids (£15 for under-16s). Not really getting why it annoys folk. I think it's quite a good event for Edinburgh to host. They did the same with Liverpool last summer.

EGL2000
19-07-2023, 03:06 PM
What percentage of that is down to the 2 cheeks?

It's still a good effort from us, Aberdeen and Hearts in the hope of getting a sniff of a cup win and/or qualifying for Europe though.

I don't know the percentages but I do know if you take out the two uglies we are still either the 3rd or 4th highest. Just shows how good Scottish fans are across the country.

19-07-2023, 03:10 PM
I don't know the percentages but I do know if you take out the two uglies we are still either the 3rd or 4th highest. Just shows how good Scottish fans are across the country.

True, I just don't understand it really. It never stopped me doing the same with the national team either right enough. 😀

Take the cheeks out the equation and it's obviously just for the love of the game methinks.

19-07-2023, 05:31 PM
Looking at Champions League qualifying scores tonight
Klakavik, Faroe Champions winning 3-0 away at Ferencvaros. That’s a big shock

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 05:36 PM
Looking at Champions League qualifying scores tonight
Klakavik, Faroe Champions winning 3-0 away at Ferencvaros. That’s a big shock

Brilliant, always good to see the wee countries doing well. Mon the Faroese (unless we end up playing Vikingur, in that case **** the Faroe Islands)

19-07-2023, 05:36 PM
A bit of a joke there is no League cup highlights show.

Even viaplay have only uploaded the two games that have been shown live and nothing else.

I understand I can easy just search every game individually on YouTube, just would be nice for a highlight show.

https://spfl.co.uk/news/viaplay-cup-matchday-2-highlights

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-07-2023, 05:37 PM
Klaksvik scored 3 from 7 shots with 24% possession, we’re in a game of football manager aren’t we? This is a simulation.

19-07-2023, 05:43 PM
FK Qarabag 4 Lincoln Red imps 0 (6-1)

19-07-2023, 05:45 PM
It was always going to be popular. Good way to fill a school summer holiday afternoon for kids (£15 for under-16s). Not really getting why it annoys folk. I think it's quite a good event for Edinburgh to host. They did the same with Liverpool last summer.

Time flies mate, Liverpool game was July 2019

19-07-2023, 05:50 PM
FK Qarabag 4 Lincoln Red imps 0 (6-1)

Zoubir scored the 1st one

Fuzzywuzzy
19-07-2023, 05:59 PM
Thought fish did ok (if I got the right player 48??). Wasn't a great game to watch but kids seemed happy enough.

19-07-2023, 06:05 PM
Klaksvik scored 3 from 7 shots with 24% possession, we’re in a game of football manager aren’t we? This is a simulation.

That's most of our defeats to Livi in the last 25 years. And St Johnstone. And Ross County.

19-07-2023, 07:46 PM
Edinburgh City 3-3 Kelty Hearts HT score

Yokohama 6-4 Celtic FT result from this morning.

Rumble de Thump
19-07-2023, 07:54 PM

There are about 8 billion people on this planet. Most of the people who watch English football aren't in England.

19-07-2023, 07:55 PM
FC Edinburgh 3 Kelty 5.. FC Edinburgh were 3-0 up

Arbroath 1 Coodenbeath 1

19-07-2023, 08:13 PM
1 each Larne vs Helsinki 5 mins to go. Not great quality but was rooting for Larne as that's where the wife is from.

Looks like they'll fall short with Helsinki holding a goal advantage from 1st leg

19-07-2023, 08:17 PM
1 each Larne vs Helsinki 5 mins to go. Not great quality but was rooting for Larne as that's where the wife is from.

Looks like they'll fall short with Helsinki holding a goal advantage from 1st leg

Goal for Larne. Get in. Extra time looming

19-07-2023, 08:32 PM
2nd red card for cowdenbeath in the last minute still 1-1

penalties

quite poor penalties from both sides but the cowden keeper did save three, two cowden penalties just missed the moon

FT Arbroath win the penalties

19-07-2023, 10:27 PM

penalties

quite poor penalties from both sides but the cowden keeper did save three, two cowden penalties just missed the moon

Went to the game as well. Balde looked good. Was tough watching Scott Allan being given a torrid time by the Cowdenbeath midfield, he almost had to drop into the back line to get any space to play at times.

20-07-2023, 05:15 AM

15 QUID for kids to watch a Man U reserves training match! :fuming:

20-07-2023, 07:29 AM
Women’s World Cup

New Zealand 0 v 0 Norway

BBC1

Is it just me or is the standard not that great ?

Paul1642
20-07-2023, 08:01 AM

penalties

Imagine saving three pens and still loosing the shootout!

20-07-2023, 08:07 AM
New Zealand 1 v 0 Norway

Good goal

LewysGot2
20-07-2023, 03:19 PM
Watching Santa Coloma v Penybont on YouTube

Stadium is very basic and similar conditions to Marbella- so Hibs preseason will have been useful in this respect if we end up playing here next week or the week after. Still 0-0 so no further forward knowing whether we'll be needing to play next week if Andorra.

Tell you what though those Welsh fans are nippy. Pretty jingoistic nonsense being chanted.

Green Reaper
20-07-2023, 03:44 PM
Watching Santa Coloma v Penybont on YouTube

Stadium is very basic and similar conditions to Marbella- so Hibs preseason will have been useful in this respect if we end up playing here next week or the week after. Still 0-0 so no further forward knowing whether we'll be needing to play next week if Andorra.

Tell you what though those Welsh fans are nippy. Pretty jingoistic nonsense being chanted.

Have you got a link to that, can't seem to find on youtube

20-07-2023, 03:47 PM
Have you got a link to that, can't seem to find on youtube

https://www.youtube.com/live/4UAUdRtrxqk?feature=share

Green Reaper
20-07-2023, 03:50 PM
https://www.youtube.com/live/4UAUdRtrxqk?feature=share

👍

LewysGot2
20-07-2023, 03:51 PM
0-0 ht

20-07-2023, 04:04 PM
I see Chelsea beat Wrexham 5-0 and also Arsenal won 5-0 Vs the MLS all-stars.

Havertz on the score sheet after being laughed at for his performance in the skill challenge.

Dublin07
20-07-2023, 04:18 PM
Those welsh fans are annoying but some of the antics of Santa coloma players is farcical.

20-07-2023, 04:22 PM
Went to the game as well. Balde looked good. Was tough watching Scott Allan being given a torrid time by the Cowdenbeath midfield, he almost had to drop into the back line to get any space to play at times.

one of the commentator dudes said whenever any of the players turn up wearing a new design of boots scott allan has to have a pair as well :)

not sure if he was exaggerating

King Cosell
20-07-2023, 05:21 PM
Santa Coloma 1-0 up.

King Cosell
20-07-2023, 05:27 PM
FC Europa got 3 players sent off. Dirty gets.

Green Reaper
20-07-2023, 05:47 PM
Ft 2-0 S.Coloma

21-07-2023, 12:36 AM
I see Chelsea beat Wrexham 5-0 and also Arsenal won 5-0 Vs the MLS all-stars.

Havertz on the score sheet after being laughed at for his performance in the skill challenge.I'm sure all the Arsenal players were super pumped to do a "Skill Challenge" before a warm up game against nobody's.

Other than my boy Jmi of course, disgrace he started on the bench.

21-07-2023, 12:41 AM
Women’s World Cup

New Zealand 0 v 0 Norway

BBC1

Is it just me or is the standard not that great ?The standard is improving day by day for the women's game.

The game is the game. No matter who is playing.

21-07-2023, 08:43 PM
Dunston vs Gateshead seemed a bit lively.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/dunston-vs-gateshead-clash-abandoned-30525567.amp