View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread
MKHIBEE
31-03-2024, 04:17 PM
I think theres been very little between City and arsenal so far?
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
A borefest, awful game
31-03-2024, 04:18 PM
A borefest, awful game
You're being too kind there. Was looking forward to this as well 😴
31-03-2024, 04:19 PM
A bit of a non event of a 45 minutes, this. Arsenal doing what they need to do, Man city shouting at the ref a lot.
Think we’ve had our ration of really good Sky English games for the weekend with Newcastle yesterday.
31-03-2024, 04:21 PM
Think we’ve had our ration of really good Sky English games for the weekend with Newcastle yesterday.
I missed it, i was watching Montrose 1 Falkirk 7 on alba. The hipsters choice :greengrin
MKHIBEE
31-03-2024, 04:23 PM
You're being too kind there. Was looking forward to this as well 😴
So was I
31-03-2024, 04:33 PM
The length of adverts nowadays really doing ma thrupennies in 😬
Paul1642
31-03-2024, 04:37 PM
That weird game of thrones, “change channel depending which side you let on” that sky just done was very cringey.
31-03-2024, 04:42 PM
Citeh really love a moan at the ref.
31-03-2024, 04:46 PM
It’s the returning to the studio, realising they’ve got a spare 15 seconds, saying “coming up next, the second half” then ****ing back off for one last advert that really gets me.
Donegal Hibby
31-03-2024, 04:47 PM
Citeh really love a moan at the ref.
That must be were Arteta picked it up then :wink:
31-03-2024, 04:49 PM
That weird game of thrones, “change channel depending which side you let on” that sky just done was very cringey.
Had me totally confused had to check my phone to see if the game had started then a pishy trailer followed by what seemed like 10 minutes of ads still don’t know if I am red or green ?
31-03-2024, 04:50 PM
Didn’t realise Kevin Keegan was Pep’s assistant
31-03-2024, 04:51 PM
Draw written all over this …… suits Liverpool.
scm70nyd1973
31-03-2024, 04:56 PM
Draw written all over this …… suits Liverpool.
I’m hoping for a cheeky wee Rodri fechup leading to a Gooners goal late on 🙏
But by then I might have fallen asleep- sooooo bored the noo ☹️
It’s the returning to the studio, realising they’ve got a spare 15 seconds, saying “coming up next, the second half” then ****ing back off for one last advert that really gets me.
It’s not a realisation, they’re exploiting an advertising loophole. They have a set of adverts, then have the presenter say a couple of sentences to set up the second half, then they show the show ‘sponsor’, which doesn’t count towards the time they can have advertising on during the show
Ads have to be no more than a given maximum in an hour, so they cram as much as possible when the match isn’t on, that’s why there’s only about 3 minutes of actual half time analysis
31-03-2024, 05:12 PM
It’s not a realisation, they’re exploiting an advertising loophole. They have a set of adverts, then have the presenter say a couple of sentences to set up the second half, then they show the show ‘sponsor’, which doesn’t count towards the time they can have advertising on during the show
Ads have to be no more than a given maximum in an hour, so they cram as much as possible when the match isn’t on, that’s why there’s only about 3 minutes of actual half time analysis
👍 aye I realise it’ll be worth millions to them - just saying what it seems like to a viewer, and how it’s annoying.
31-03-2024, 05:18 PM
Surely that must be a penalty for that head knock on the box on Haaland
Halland clearly wins the ball first and Saliba sticks the head on him
Not even a mention of the word penalty
31-03-2024, 05:21 PM
Haaland tries throwing himself to the ground the same trick that he tried against Porto in Norway but the Ref and VAR no interested
Getting desperate
Donegal Hibby
31-03-2024, 05:27 PM
Poor game , good result for Liverpool though.
31-03-2024, 05:27 PM
Great defensive performance from Arsenal. Haaland easily pocketed by Saliba and Gabriel again.
31-03-2024, 05:30 PM
Liverpool now favourites imo.
31-03-2024, 05:32 PM
Way too early for that. They still have United, Villa, Everton (who will be right up for it I think) West Ham away and Spurs at home.
Its still too close to call. City are most likely to win all their remaining games IMO.
31-03-2024, 05:36 PM
Great defensive performance from Arsenal. Haaland easily pocketed by Saliba and Gabriel again.
Great finisher but if he’s not in a game where he’s getting chances, he can look like a big lumbering huddy.
31-03-2024, 05:37 PM
In the bookies’ opinion too. Albeit it’s all still very close.
Ralphy C
31-03-2024, 05:38 PM
Surely that must be a penalty for that head knock on the box on Haaland
Halland clearly wins the ball first and Saliba sticks the head on him
Not even a mention of the word penalty
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalkwoulda been a penalty for Celtic anyway. but i assume thats what you meant, and a shirt pull in the box just after that woulda been one for Sevco.:confused:
31-03-2024, 05:43 PM
Way too early for that. They still have United, Villa, Everton (who will be right up for it I think) West Ham away and Spurs at home.
Its still too close to call. City are most likely to win all their remaining games IMO.
It's not too early to have an opinion. Before a ball is kicked favourites to win the league are touted.
31-03-2024, 05:45 PM
It's not too early to have an opinion. Before a ball is kicked favourites to win the league are touted.
You're right I guess. All I've done in given my opinion.
31-03-2024, 05:48 PM
You're right I guess. All I've done in given my opinion.
You do realise you responded to my post that said in my opinion Liverpool are favourites, to say it's too early for that? How can it be too early to have an opinion 🤣🤣
31-03-2024, 05:50 PM
City there for the taking today I thought. They were well off their usual standard and Arsenal didn’t take advantage. They won’t win the league, another season without a trophy for them.
Poor game to watch.
31-03-2024, 05:51 PM
City there for the taking today I thought. They were well off their usual standard and Arsenal didn’t take advantage. They won’t win the league, another season without a trophy for them.
Poor game to watch.
Arsenal will finish 3rd IMO. So a step back from last season.
31-03-2024, 05:51 PM
You do realise you responded to my post that said in my opinion Liverpool are favourites, to say it's too early for that? How can it be too early to have an opinion 🤣🤣
Ffs, what a waste of bandwidth this conversation is.
Okay, I'm deeply sorry for suggesting its too early for an opinion, even though that's clearly not what I meant.
It is, IMO, too early to say anyone is more likely than anyone else. All 3 of them have some very difficult games against sides with a lot to play for. It should be a good watch
31-03-2024, 05:53 PM
Arsenal will finish 3rd IMO. So a step back from last season.
Poor game to watch.
31-03-2024, 05:54 PM
Liverpool are 6/5 fav to win the league now, who's opinion are they basing that on?:faf:
31-03-2024, 05:54 PM
What’s amusing?
31-03-2024, 05:57 PM
What’s amusing?
Best ignored TBH.
31-03-2024, 05:59 PM
Best ignored TBH.
Far too early to have that opinion…
31-03-2024, 06:00 PM
I love my fans
31-03-2024, 06:09 PM
Far too early to have that opinion…
31-03-2024, 07:59 PM
A ‘’woke” performance from Citeh.
01-04-2024, 12:03 AM
Klopp thumping his chest like a scene from Planet Of The Apes is a tad tedious now.
01-04-2024, 05:41 AM
Very strangely written article on the BBC RE Emma Hayes pushing her male opponent.
Know nothing about the arsenal manager but the language - headline of 'Arsenal manager says Hayes comments irresponsible'. Would a better headline not be Hayes confronts Arsenal manager at FT. 'they initially shook hands before she pushed him away' makes it sound as though he went for her and she protected herself.
It goes on to bring up past accusations towards him of behaviour on the touchline from another manager.
Hayes accuses him of 'male aggression' and 'when he is calm we can have a conversation. She pushed him. Going to have a few regrets this morning I think.
01-04-2024, 06:35 AM
Very strangely written article on the BBC RE Emma Hayes pushing her male opponent.
No nothing about the arsenal manager but the language - headline of 'Arsenal manager says Hayes comments irresponsible'. Would a better headline not be Hayes confronts Arsenal manager at FT. 'they initially shook hands before she pushed him away' makes it sound as though he went for her and she protected herself.
It goes on to bring up past accusations towards him of behaviour on the touchline from another manager.
Hayes accuses him of 'male aggression' and 'when he is calm we can have a conversation. She pushed him. Going to have a few regrets this morning I think.
Don't know anything about the incident however difficult to call it male aggression when she is the one being physically aggressive.
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2024, 07:45 AM
Don't know anything about the incident however difficult to call it male aggression when she is the one being physically aggressive.
https://x.com/fanzinewsl/status/1774481600908058775?s=46&t=Lf2Je9-hRg6uExdvfVlCgA
scm70nyd1973
01-04-2024, 09:05 AM
The thing about having an early opinion is that it takes away the fear of an early opinion being wrong
01-04-2024, 11:07 AM
https://x.com/fanzinewsl/status/1774481600908058775?s=46&t=Lf2Je9-hRg6uExdvfVlCgA
Embarrassing from Hayes obviously doesn’t like to lose
01-04-2024, 11:56 AM
Embarrassing from Hayes obviously doesn’t like to lose
Sore loser
01-04-2024, 11:57 AM
Canaries 1 up, Foxes on the run
Back in it 1-1
01-04-2024, 12:36 PM
Mansfield v Accrington postponed
01-04-2024, 12:37 PM
Mansfield v Accrington postponed
I was going to put Mansfield in my acca too.
01-04-2024, 12:51 PM
Leicester 2 v 1 Norwich
01-04-2024, 01:21 PM
There should be two rounds of Scottish premiership games over the Easter long weekend. Would love a wee game at Easter Road today
01-04-2024, 01:23 PM
Leicester 3 v 1 Norwich
Vardy
01-04-2024, 01:26 PM
Norwich soooo bad in that second half absolute dug meat
01-04-2024, 01:37 PM
There should be two rounds of Scottish premiership games over the Easter long weekend. Would love a wee game at Easter Road today
There’s never been games during the day on Good Friday or Easter Monday in Scotland as far as I’m aware.
01-04-2024, 01:39 PM
There’s never been games during the day on Good Friday or Easter Monday in Scotland as far as I’m aware.
It would be better playing 2 games in April, rather than in December/January
Traditionally Scots didn’t get 2 days holiday at Easter, but everyone I know now does, so it could work
01-04-2024, 02:02 PM
i'm going to watch crewe v forest green for a bit, doidgealdo starts
put a couple of £ on them even if they are holding up the league table :)
Crewe 0 FGR 1(not doidge)
make that 0-2 (still not doidge)
wow make that 0-3 (nope, not doidge) FGR lowest scorers in the league tae
27 mins played
nine games in the championship and not one goal yet
01-04-2024, 02:33 PM
i'm going to watch crewe v forest green for a bit, doidgealdo starts
put a couple of £ on them even if they are holding up the league table :)
crewe 0 fgr 1(not doidge)
make that 0-2 (still not doidge)
wow make that 0-3 (nope, not doidge) fgr lowest scorers in the league tae
27 mins played
nine games in the championship and not one goal yet
3-0 now.
01-04-2024, 02:37 PM
3-0 now.
i've flicked over to Cambridge v Wigan...1-0 have FGR,Wigan and Lincoln(winning at Carlisle 0-1) in todays bet
Wigan just had a rather p@sh penalty saved :rolleyes:
Coventry 1(simms) Cardiff 1
Sunderland 0 Blackburn 2
B'oro 1 Sheff Wed 0
01-04-2024, 03:04 PM
Got the EFL games on in the background as I do other things.
Huddersfield score right on half time and all the commentators and pundits say what a great time to score. But I have never really agreed with this thinking.
You score a goal but then have half-time, losing all the momentum from scoring said goal?
01-04-2024, 03:19 PM
West Brom 0 Watford 2
looking forward to the Ipswich v Southampton game at 5:30pm hope the away side wins :)
Sunderland 0 Blackburn 4
Coventry 1 Cardiff 2
Stoke 1 Huddersfield 1
West Brom 1 Watford 2
01-04-2024, 03:38 PM
McKirdy getting second half for Swindon.Good to see.
01-04-2024, 03:50 PM
Sunderland 1 Blackburn 5
Rotherham 2 Millwall 1
West Brom 2 Watford 2
01-04-2024, 03:58 PM
RIP Sunderland
Donegal Hibby
01-04-2024, 04:17 PM
Sunderland :bye:
01-04-2024, 05:30 PM
Got the EFL games on in the background as I do other things.
Huddersfield score right on half time and all the commentators and pundits say what a great time to score. But I have never really agreed with this thinking.
You score a goal but then have half-time, losing all the momentum from scoring said goal?
I guess on the flip side, it takes away the “at your most vulnerable after scoring a goal”.
01-04-2024, 05:45 PM
Southampton playing some decent football here
still winning 2-1
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2024, 06:05 PM
Southampton playing some decent football here
still winning 2-1
Soton have been excellent.
Now 2-2 though as Ipswich have equalised.
Championship is a superb league
01-04-2024, 06:13 PM
they could end up chucking this now, just not taking those chances and a couple of great saves by the ipswich keeper
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2024, 06:14 PM
they could end up chucking this now, just not taking those chances and a couple of great saves by the ipswich keeper
Possibly but I’d back them in the play offs
01-04-2024, 06:21 PM
what a tozzer getting a red card
some acting by the ipswich player though after 9/10
Donegal Hibby
01-04-2024, 06:24 PM
The English championship has been so much better without VAR .
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2024, 06:26 PM
100%
01-04-2024, 06:31 PM
01-04-2024, 06:33 PM
incredible they've done it again with probably last kick of the game 3-2 **** off southampton huddies
won £57 though and if leeds win that'll be a double up as well :)
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2024, 06:34 PM
Incredible. 3-2 Ipswich last kick of game
01-04-2024, 07:12 PM
1-0 Leeds
great play by Rutter in the lead up
not often you see the referee taking part in a minutes applause, nice touch
great goal Hull 1-1 maybe give Leeds a bloody shake here
01-04-2024, 07:31 PM
1-0 Leeds
great play by Rutter in the lead up
not often you see the referee taking part in a minutes applause, nice touch
What was that all about? Seemed a bit odd that the fans had their backs to the pitch.
01-04-2024, 07:40 PM
What was that all about? Seemed a bit odd that the fans had their backs to the pitch.
i think it's for the two fans murdered in Turkey 20+ years ago they were facing the banner from what i could see
Dan james back to being the worst footballer in the four leagues
penalty Leeds 86 mins summerville takes the ball off of Piroe who was getting ready to take it.... 2-1 :)
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2024, 08:52 PM
Always amazes me when professional players argue over who takes pens
Donegal Hibby
01-04-2024, 08:52 PM
Is that challenge on Summerville not abit similar to the one on Boyle in the Celtic game ? 🤔
01-04-2024, 08:53 PM
7 mins added which is about right, i think Hull have been the better side
01-04-2024, 08:59 PM
what a goal by Dan James
brilliant :greengrin 3-1
01-04-2024, 08:59 PM
Dan james back to being the worst footballer in the four leagues
Aye?
Donegal Hibby
01-04-2024, 09:03 PM
Great finish by James . Massive win for Leeds .
01-04-2024, 09:03 PM
business end of the season all about the points, bummer for Hull
at the Bottom Rotherham avoided relegation at least for another game by beating Millwall 2-1
only six points between 17th and 2nd bottom
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2024, 09:05 PM
Really enjoy the play off semis in the championship so looking forward to them. Superb games today with no VAR interference
Hibeesforever
01-04-2024, 09:08 PM
Would love our Premiership to be a three way shoot out, Championship is so exciting....
Trinity Hibee
01-04-2024, 09:10 PM
Would love our Premiership to be a three way shoot out, Championship is so exciting....
As long as the third team is us
01-04-2024, 09:10 PM
And it has already been agreed who is taking before they go on the pitch.
01-04-2024, 09:13 PM
having time to think about it now(and not just because he scored) but Piroe had only been on the pitch for a few mins so not even time to get settled so the correct decision
01-04-2024, 09:24 PM
Ipswich and Leeds games were great.
The Wireless
01-04-2024, 10:26 PM
And it has already been agreed who is taking before they go on the pitch.
Piroe is normally the penalty kick taker however was just on the pitch and hardly touched the ball. It was a sensible move as things worked out and was taken by a player who is high in confidence.
The Wireless
01-04-2024, 10:29 PM
To think Southampton went 5 months undefeated in this league and are only 4th is crazy.
02-04-2024, 06:36 AM
what a goal by Dan James
brilliant :greengrin 3-1
Great goal Dan knew you would be happy. :greengrin
02-04-2024, 03:06 PM
Great goal Dan knew you would be happy. :greengrin
my tongue was firmly in cheek when i said he was the worst footballer in the four leagues he's not really,not quite but he was terrible last night and if Gnonto had been fit he absolutely would've been subbed at HT but he did take that goal superbly always worth a punt when the keeper is up the other end at a corner but i'd bet a large % of footballers would put it wide, i think he's maybe found his level this season in the championship and not good enough for the top league, i don't think he ever gets a full game for wales and is used as a sub for his speed, his passing is poor, but i used to say the same about martin boyle in his first/second season for us.
Donegal Hibby
02-04-2024, 06:46 PM
Newcastle United 1-0 Everton :partyhibb
02-04-2024, 06:58 PM
Poor performance from Everton here. Really need to get something this evening given Forest are winning
02-04-2024, 07:21 PM
West Ham 0 v 1 Spurs
Donegal Hibby
02-04-2024, 07:52 PM
Bloody VAR again . Wish Newcastle would get a 2nd here . These jammy evertonians might just nick one :worried:
02-04-2024, 07:53 PM
Bloody VAR again . Wish Newcastle would get a 2nd here . These jammy evertonians might just nick one :worried:
Hopefully.
If Newcastle don’t get all three points this evening Isak will have nightmares about the miss.
Trawkovski with an off the ball trip because he couldn’t keep up with Murphy
Everton are just a gang
This is going to be a penalty to Everton
The anti football team with a chance to get back in it.
02-04-2024, 08:18 PM
If Newcastle don’t get all three points this evening Isak will have nightmares about the miss.
Everton are just a gang
Anti football or anti human rights? Everton are the good guys here.
02-04-2024, 08:19 PM
Leicester announce a loss of £89.7m for season 2022/23 following a loss of £92.5m the previous season
dock them several points :agree:
dock Ipswich as well whether they have a loss or not :)
and Southampton for good measure
If you say so!
Donegal Hibby
02-04-2024, 08:32 PM
Hopefully.
Everton are just a gang
Sad really what kind of team Everton's become . Newcastle should have been out of sight in that one and only themselves to blame unfortunately.
Definitely. Not sure what Isak was thinking. Whole goal to aim for and he hit the defender on the line.
11 first teamers out not helping.
02-04-2024, 08:50 PM
Certainly sad to see what decades of neglect has done to a wonderful old club. Hopefully the new stadium injects new life into them. Would love nothing more than to see a strong Everton in the Premier league.
It's also sad to see Newcastle run by that regime, but that's a different story.
Donegal Hibby
02-04-2024, 08:53 PM
Definitely. Not sure what Isak was thinking. Whole goal to aim for and he hit the defender on the line.
11 first teamers out not helping.
Unlike Isak who's been excellent this season.
Injuries have hindered Newcastle quite badly this season , I don't think there's another club in the premier that's had more .
Newcastle are moving in the right direction though 👍.
Unlike Isak who's been excellent this season.
Injuries have hindered Newcastle quite badly this season , I don't think there's another club in the premier that's had more .
Newcastle are moving in the right direction though [emoji106].
He’s had an outstanding season and he’s delivered. Hope they can hold onto him.
Don’t think there is but Heay that’s what happens.
They are but they may need to bring in a CH given the long term injuries to Botman and Lacelles.
Donegal Hibby
02-04-2024, 09:12 PM
Certainly sad to see what decades of neglect has done to a wonderful old club. Hopefully the new stadium injects new life into them. Would love nothing more than to see a strong Everton in the Premier league.
It's also sad to see Newcastle run by that regime, but that's a different story.
Actually like Everton , big club with tradition though the way they play football is such a shame to see now .
I've no control over who owns Newcastle and as a fan of them for many years I just continue to want to see them do well and hopefully win a trophy someday . When they do I will celebrate it and nothing else will matter to me . That's purely from a football point of view though .
03-04-2024, 12:21 AM
Bournemouth won again
The are now above Chelsea although Chelsea have a couple of games in hand
03-04-2024, 05:43 AM
Bournemouth won again
The are now above Chelsea although Chelsea have a couple of games in hand
Only 4 points behind West Ham in 7th, and they've played a game less. Won 4 out of their last 5 games in the league and drawn the other, the best record in the entire league outwith Liverpool and Arsenal.
Very well run club are Bournemouth.
03-04-2024, 09:57 AM
Only 4 points behind West Ham in 7th, and they've played a game less. Won 4 out of their last 5 games in the league and drawn the other, the best record in the entire league outwith Liverpool and Arsenal.
Very well run club are Bournemouth.
Maybe we can get their manager on a loan deal [emoji38]
LewysGot2
03-04-2024, 05:19 PM
Know nothing about the arsenal manager but the language - headline of 'Arsenal manager says Hayes comments irresponsible'. Would a better headline not be Hayes confronts Arsenal manager at FT. 'they initially shook hands before she pushed him away' makes it sound as though he went for her and she protected herself.
Just read something today that gives more context than the barge from Hayes at FT.
Apparently the Arsenal manager was booked during the game for an incident where he confronted a Chelsea player. Hayes saying he crossed a line and the yellow should have been red. Its this she's saying she was referring to. Didn't see the game so don't know but it does look like there has to have been a precursor incident earlier.
MKHIBEE
03-04-2024, 05:27 PM
Just read something today that gives more context than the barge from Hayes at FT.
Apparently the Arsenal manager was booked during the game for an incident where he confronted a Chelsea player. Hayes saying he crossed a line and the yellow should have been red. It’s this she's saying she was referring to. Didn't see the game so don't know but it does look like there has to have been a precursor incident earlier..
More on the incident here.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/68705202
The Arsenal manager has previous for his attitude to opponents
03-04-2024, 05:34 PM
Apparently the Arsenal manager was booked during the game for an incident where he confronted a Chelsea player. Hayes saying he crossed a line and the yellow should have been red. Its this she's saying she was referring to. Didn't see the game so don't know but it does look like there has to have been a precursor incident earlier.
Not sure that's entirely correct. He was booked for the incident with Cuthbert where (according to him) he was telling her there was no multi ball on play because that's what Chelsea wanted.
If Hayes is using this as a defence for pushing him, it's a flimsy one. I know she is on her way out and to the States but this and her same sex relationships stuff recently have done her no good at all.
03-04-2024, 07:00 PM
More on the incident here.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/68705202
The Arsenal manager has previous for his attitude to opponents
The video of it doesn’t show what she’s describing.
You can see the Arsenal manager complaining about the ball, and obviously you can’t make out what’s being said, but it’s the Chelsea player who goes storming towards the Arsenal manager, not the other way around.
03-04-2024, 07:05 PM
The video of it doesn’t show what she’s describing.
You can see the Arsenal manager complaining about the ball, and obviously you can’t make out what’s being said, but it’s the Chelsea player who goes storming towards the Arsenal manager, not the other way around.
She knows she’s done wrong and has tried to turn it round with her comments IMO. If the push, not that it was some kind of serious assault or anything, was the other way round it would be front page news with charity groups, MP’s and anyone else who fancied chipping in having their say.
03-04-2024, 07:14 PM
Looking at that Aston Villa line up tonight for their visit to Man City I think they've chucked it and are looking to Saturday's game against Brentford.
Poor show in my opinion.
03-04-2024, 07:22 PM
Looking at that Aston Villa line up tonight for their visit to Man City I think they've chucked it and are looking to Saturday's game against Brentford.
Poor show in my opinion.
Martinez ill, McGinn suspended and Watkins injured. Don’t think there are too many other first picks missing and it’s just a case that their squad isn’t particularly strong.
03-04-2024, 07:27 PM
Martinez ill, McGinn suspended and Watkins injured. Don’t think there are too many other first picks missing and it’s just a case that their squad isn’t particularly strong.
When I saw the teams on Flashscore Martinez was listed as a sub, but that has changed now.
Tielemans should be starting, thought McGinn's suspension had been served.
Donegal Hibby
03-04-2024, 07:52 PM
The talent on Man City's bench tonight is unreal .
cameronw-hfc
03-04-2024, 08:02 PM
Nah its a pretty janky line-up. Doing ok though. Martinez, Watkins and Mcginn out, Tielemans on the bench, Pau Torres on the bench, Bailey on the bench, Duran, Zaniolo and Iroegunam all second choice players starting ahead of regulars on the bench. Strange line-up
Paulie Walnuts
03-04-2024, 08:03 PM
That is a rotten wall. Thrown that away there.
Donegal Hibby
03-04-2024, 08:03 PM
Very poor from villa there . 2-1 City .
Donegal Hibby
03-04-2024, 08:40 PM
3-1 city . Best team in the league imo .
03-04-2024, 08:44 PM
Villa should get that champions league place ahead of Newcastle and spurs , Sorry i mean Man u and spurs
03-04-2024, 08:47 PM
Foden hat trick. That lad is some player
03-04-2024, 08:50 PM
Foden hat trick. That lad is some player
He is fantastic.
I can't believe there is a question over him playing in the Euros for England.
03-04-2024, 09:12 PM
Great team, as are arsenal. But this title is going to Anfield
He's here!
03-04-2024, 09:21 PM
Be good to see Arsenal win the league but I think you're right, City will do it.
Donegal Hibby
03-04-2024, 09:29 PM
Great team, as are arsenal. But this title is going to Anfield
Be good to see Arsenal win the league but I think you're right, City will do it.
It would be nice to see either Liverpool or Arsenal win it this year though I do think City are the strongest team with maybe the easier run ins too . I'd personally like to see Liverpool win it purely because it's Klopp's last season though .
03-04-2024, 09:34 PM
It would be nice to see either Liverpool or Arsenal win it this year though I do think City are the strongest team with maybe the easier run ins too . I'd personally like to see Liverpool win it purely because it's Klopp's last season though .
Arsenal are the team I want to win it. Klopp has won plenty already and I'd be delighted for Arteta. 20 years since the invincibles too, it just feels like it should be their time again.
I think liverpool will win it, cant see them dropping hardly any points from here on but im hoping, given my rotten luck in football generally, that if I say it's going to be Liverpool often enough it won't happen :greengrin
03-04-2024, 09:34 PM
Not a huge fan of Arsenal, never have been, don't really know why. But even I'd like them to win the league this year. Liverpool won a few years ago and Klopp is a bit of a helmet. And City are City.
Donegal Hibby
03-04-2024, 11:02 PM
Arsenal are the team I want to win it. Klopp has won plenty already and I'd be delighted for Arteta. 20 years since the invincibles too, it just feels like it should be their time again.
I think liverpool will win it, cant see them dropping hardly any points from here on but im hoping, given my rotten luck in football generally, that if I say it's going to be Liverpool often enough it won't happen :greengrin
My mates an Arsenal fan , never let him off with when we were looking for a manager he offered to drive Arteta to ER because he didn't start well there . 😂
My opinion is the 3 play good football , city's the best , Liverpool are imo more direct and clinical , Arsenal are behind City though probably play a nicer style of football than Liverpool . Still for Klopp though , real character who will be a big miss not just to Liverpool but the league in general .
04-04-2024, 12:26 AM
It’s funny you should say that, as Klopp is one of the reasons I wouldn’t want the scousers to win it 😁*
I know enough cretinous, slavering, stubborn, know-it-all, absolute bellend Arsenal fans to turn me against them, much as I like watching them at their best.
And I can’t really be doing with city either.
In conclusion, I guess I won’t have a strong opinion on the run-in other than Imost of the games will be over-hyped, and ruined by VAR if not already ***** 😁
*but scousehibee on here is a decent guy
04-04-2024, 01:35 PM
Good post! EV should have won the match in the end.
04-04-2024, 06:09 PM
Another almighty thrashing for sheff united incoming
Donegal Hibby
04-04-2024, 06:25 PM
It’s funny you should say that, as Klopp is one of the reasons I wouldn’t want the scousers to win it 😁*
I know enough cretinous, slavering, stubborn, know-it-all, absolute bellend Arsenal fans to turn me against them, much as I like watching them at their best.
And I can’t really be doing with city either.
In conclusion, I guess I won’t have a strong opinion on the run-in other than Imost of the games will be over-hyped, and ruined by VAR if not already ***** 😁
*but scousehibee on here is a decent guy
Funny you say that too as I thought everyone quite liked Klopp , always thought he's fair in what he says and a bit of a character , actually like Pepe too though not so keen on Arteta .
One of the worst things to be introduced into football is VAR imo , hate it .
Another good reason it would be nice if Liverpool win it is Scouse Hibee 👍
04-04-2024, 06:26 PM
Not a fan of Arteta. If you ordered Pep from Wish then you’ll get him.
04-04-2024, 07:01 PM
When i lived in St Albans, if i was not playing on a Tuesday night, i'd go to either Spurs or Arsenal when they were at home.
In those days you could just pay at the gate.
I took my lad along and told him to pick one of them as his 2nd team, Hibs obviously his 1st. :wink:
He chose Arsenal, so for that reason i'd love for them to win the league. :greengrin
Man U started well again eh? 🤣
Chelsea 2-0 pen Palmer, Man U need around 8 new players and a new manager, how Ten Haag is still in situ is beyond belief.
04-04-2024, 07:36 PM
Man u absolute dug***** , Pleasing
04-04-2024, 07:54 PM
2-2
Thankfully for Man U, Chelsea have an absolutely pish defence 2-2.
supermcginn
04-04-2024, 07:55 PM
Twice in 5 days you've shot your bolt too early, maybe wait till a team is 3 goals down next time.
04-04-2024, 07:56 PM
Twice in 5 days you've shot your bolt too early, maybe wait till a team is 3 goals down next time.
Nah your alright i'l still call Man u dug***** if it's ok with you :aok:
TBF at that time they were crap.
04-04-2024, 08:07 PM
2-1 Liverpool.
:hyper
Donegal Hibby
04-04-2024, 08:09 PM
What a goal from Mac allister . 2-1 Liverpool
04-04-2024, 08:20 PM
3-1. Gakpo.
04-04-2024, 08:31 PM
The Chelsea United game is pretty good viewing. End to end stuff
04-04-2024, 08:36 PM
Can’t be good for the heart being a Liverpool fan just now. They’re digging out the wins but they don’t half make it more difficult than they need to. Their games are nearly always a good watch because of it.
04-04-2024, 08:44 PM
LOL at Chelsea
04-04-2024, 08:45 PM
Some baw fae Antony !
Donegal Hibby
04-04-2024, 08:47 PM
What a Jammy lot Man U are 😡
04-04-2024, 08:49 PM
Not a fan of Arteta. If you ordered Pep from Wish then you’ll get him.
Pretty harsh comment about a manager who may finish above Peps team this season and might yet win the title.
Arteta is a lot younger than Guardiola and has done a brilliant job at arsenal. He has made a struggling club relevant again after years of stagnation. Has Pep ever done that? Or has he only taken on clubs that were always likely to be in title races?
04-04-2024, 08:55 PM
What a Jammy lot Man U are [emoji35]
People always say that about good teams
04-04-2024, 09:06 PM
People always say that about good teams
United aren't a good team. They have some good players, but collectively they're a flaky mess of a team who are capable of winning a few games but are always only a week or two away from a honking performance.
04-04-2024, 09:15 PM
Chelsea 12th. 😂
04-04-2024, 09:17 PM
United aren't a good team. They have some good players, but collectively they're a flaky mess of a team who are capable of winning a few games but are always only a week or two away from a honking performance.
They’re awful yeah - have been crap this season especially
04-04-2024, 09:17 PM
They’re also not so jammy tonight
What a Jammy lot Man U are [emoji35]
[emoji1787][emoji3]
What a game
04-04-2024, 09:19 PM
:smug::smug::smug:
04-04-2024, 09:19 PM
That was mental
04-04-2024, 09:20 PM
Some game that purely because both defences are absolutely awful
Some spectacle
04-04-2024, 09:21 PM
Man utd are dug*****
2 terrible defences considering the stature of both clubs, particularly Man u with Varane, Maguire, an ageing Evans and Casemiro who's legs seem to have gone.
04-04-2024, 09:30 PM
2 terrible defences considering the stature of both clubs, particularly Man u with Varane, Maguire, an ageing Evans and Casemiro who's legs seem to have gone.
Casemiros legs had gone before he arrived at United its why Madrid let him go.
Enjoyed the game was a cracker, lots of incident, lots of goals and ebbed and flowed. Id take it over two great teams cancelling each other out like City and Arsenal did.
04-04-2024, 09:31 PM
Enjoyed the game was a cracker, lots of incident, lots of goals and ebbed and flowed. Id take it over two great teams cancelling each other out like City and Arsenal did.
You’re right, I’d rather watch tonight’s game
04-04-2024, 09:32 PM
2024 and Man u are still playing Jonny Evans , sums it up really
04-04-2024, 09:35 PM
That’s been Man U’s problem, stroking their ego as a big lol lib and bringing in superstars as a quick fix like Varane, Casemiro, Di Maria etc. Big money for guys whose career is on the way down. They should be signing players who are around 23/24 and on the cusp of becoming the next big star.
04-04-2024, 09:36 PM
If mainoo just chooses the easy pass instead of spreading it wide and out of play, united run down the clock and win.
He cost his team the game.
Trinity Hibee
04-04-2024, 09:39 PM
Turned off after the penalty to make it 3-3 on 99 mins. Can’t believe it ended 4-3.
ETH won’t last long now.
Chelsea 12th. 😂
10th :greengrin and go 7th IF they win their game in hand
04-04-2024, 09:55 PM
Wonder how many Chelsea fans left at 2-3 😃
Donegal Hibby
04-04-2024, 10:01 PM
[emoji1787][emoji3]
What a game
Quite happy that one backfired on me 😂
K-Zazu
04-04-2024, 10:32 PM
Varane's injury record is ridiculous. Total liability
05-04-2024, 07:15 AM
Man U have been done to death, Ten Haag hasn’t worked and will be gone in the summer, but Chelsea are the bigger story. How can you spend the money theyve spent, recruited one of the best managers in the game and still be playing like that and be midtable? Absolutely laughable season.
05-04-2024, 09:44 AM
Turned off after the penalty to make it 3-3 on 99 mins. Can’t believe it ended 4-3.
ETH won’t last long now.
It would be incredible if he keeps his job going into next season.
Just looking at the table, 30 games, 15 wins, 3 draws, 12 defeats.
United see themselves at least historically and commercially, as part of Europe's elite. Its hard to imagine Real, Barca, Bayern, Milan, Inter, Juve, Liverpool or City keeping a manager after a season like that. Especially as its his second season and they've gone backwards from last year.
Trinity Hibee
05-04-2024, 10:06 AM
It would be incredible if he keeps his job going into next season.
Just looking at the table, 30 games, 15 wins, 3 draws, 12 defeats.
United see themselves at least historically and commercially, as part of Europe's elite. Its hard to imagine Real, Barca, Bayern, Milan, Inter, Juve, Liverpool or City keeping a manager after a season like that. Especially as its his second season and they've gone backwards from last year.
Maybe it’s the translation but when I hear his interviews I don’t get the feel of a manager who knows what is expected at MU. He’s not been helped by previous managers signings either, not dissimilar to ourselves. However, new investment coming in I can see them wanting to start afresh. I haven’t seen any progress from MU in his 2 years, if anything they may have gone backwards.
Man U have been done to death, Ten Haag hasn’t worked and will be gone in the summer, but Chelsea are the bigger story. How can you spend the money theyve spent, recruited one of the best managers in the game and still be playing like that and be midtable? Absolutely laughable season.
The new owners haven’t got a clue, handing out these massive contracts to young players giving them absolutely no incentive to perform well.
As for Poch, massively over rated. Living off getting spurs to the champions league final. He came 3rd in a 2 horse race the year Leicester won the league and spurs were the closest challengers, he also failed to win the league one season with PSG which is next to impossible to do.
Anyway still an unhappy Chelsea fan despite last night 😂 Poch out.
Donegal Hibby
05-04-2024, 10:58 AM
Ten Hags signings haven't been great either imo .
https://www.givemesport.com/man-utd-ranking-every-erik-ten-hag-signing/
05-04-2024, 01:49 PM
Ten Hags signings haven't been great either imo .
https://www.givemesport.com/man-utd-ranking-every-erik-ten-hag-signing/
They've been mostly awful with no clear plan.
I remember the patter when they got Varane and Arsenal got Ben White. Arsenal were getting slaughtered. Casemiro another. Done it all with nothing to prove is not what united need. They need young, hungry, motivated.
05-04-2024, 01:51 PM
They've been mostly awful with no clear plan.
I remember the patter when they got Varane and Arsenal got Ben White. Arsenal were getting slaughtered. Casemiro another. Done it all with nothing to prove is not what united need. They need young, hungry, motivated.
Both have probably won the same amount of trophies in the last five years so your point is moot.
05-04-2024, 01:57 PM
Expected movement this morning on ETH if I'm honest. Especially with Liverpool to come on Sunday.
Market has Southgate and Graham Potter the front runners. So maybe explains why no movement as neither particularly inspiring
I'd like to see them call big ange personally
Pitch inspection
🗓️ Saturday April 6
🏆 cinch Premiership
⚽️ @DundeeFC v @MotherwellFC
▪️Inspection at 11.00am
05-04-2024, 05:01 PM
Both have probably won the same amount of trophies in the last five years so your point is moot.
Pardon? You can't seriously think United's business has been as good as Arsenals because of trophies won in 5 years?
What United player gets in Arsenals first team?
Trinity Hibee
05-04-2024, 05:14 PM
Pitch inspection
🗓️ Saturday April 6
🏆 cinch Premiership
▪️Inspection at 11.00am
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/24235305.spfl-told-no-ridiculous-dundee-vs-motherwell-options/
05-04-2024, 05:18 PM
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/24235305.spfl-told-no-ridiculous-dundee-vs-motherwell-options/
Decent chance Well will refuse to play on Sunday or behind closed doors. Good on them. This isn't their problem at all. The obvious question is would the league be suggesting this if either of the gruesomes were affected?
Edit: I see the living dead are due at Dens on Wednesday. Closed doors somewhere on the Thursday afternoon surely if rain persists?
05-04-2024, 05:46 PM
Pitch inspection
🗓️ Saturday April 6
🏆 cinch Premiership
▪️Inspection at 11.00am
Surely if it's postponed then the only option is a point deduction. That'll be their fifth postponement this season apparently? You only get about 19 home games! Crazy.
I'm honesty not just saying that cause it's Dundee by the way. I'd be saying the same if it was Livi and the points deduction would have no baring on our final league position.
05-04-2024, 05:49 PM
suits us if Dundee end up playing every 2nd day :greengrin
babahibs
05-04-2024, 06:01 PM
Expected movement this morning on ETH if I'm honest. Especially with Liverpool to come on Sunday.
Market has Southgate and Graham Potter the front runners. So maybe explains why no movement as neither particularly inspiring
I'd like to see them call big ange personally
Ange must be in the running for some of the really big jobs, I've got a wee feeling he could be Anfield bound.
05-04-2024, 06:35 PM
Ange must be in the running for some of the really big jobs, I've got a wee feeling he could be Anfield bound.
Why though? 2 early cup exists and 5th place? Is he doing well enough for Liverpool?
MKHIBEE
05-04-2024, 07:03 PM
Decent chance Well will refuse to play on Sunday or behind closed doors. Good on them. This isn't their problem at all. The obvious question is would the league be suggesting this if either of the gruesomes were affected?
Edit: I see the living dead are due at Dens on Wednesday. Closed doors somewhere on the Thursday afternoon surely if rain persists?
They obviously don’t want a rested Dundee team to face the Huns
05-04-2024, 07:30 PM
If Dundee can't play the game due to their ****ty pitch then Motherwell should be awarded the win.
05-04-2024, 07:39 PM
They obviously don’t want a rested Dundee team to face the Huns
Strange that it just happens to be Celtic that have loaned the covers to Dundee as well. They’ll be happy for the game to be on and Dundee to have the extra days rest I suppose….
babahibs
05-04-2024, 07:41 PM
Why though? 2 early cup exists and 5th place? Is he doing well enough for Liverpool?
Just a feeling really, I think he would really suit Liverpool and Liverpool would suit him, they look like a good fit.
Trinity Hibee
05-04-2024, 08:52 PM
Saw someone online rightly point out that DU haven’t had games called off due to rain. Dundee need punished for this farce
06-04-2024, 08:43 AM
Rotherham United relegated from Championship
MKHIBEE
06-04-2024, 08:54 AM
Rotherham United relegated from Championship
They must be due another spell in administration
06-04-2024, 11:34 AM
1-0 Palace.
Pleasing.
06-04-2024, 12:05 PM
1-0 Palace.
Pleasing.
1-1 with possibly the goal of the season. :top marks
06-04-2024, 12:07 PM
If Dundee can't play the game due to their ****ty pitch then Motherwell should be awarded the win.
Nah, game should be played and dundee deducted points.
We don't want motherwell going into next week with a chance if top 6!
scm70nyd1973
06-04-2024, 12:07 PM
1-0 Palace.
Pleasing.
Very
scm70nyd1973
06-04-2024, 12:08 PM
1-1 with possibly the goal of the season. :top marks
Very not
06-04-2024, 12:12 PM
We don't want motherwell going into next week with a chance if top 6!
We do want to go in to next week with things in our own hands though.
06-04-2024, 12:18 PM
We don't want motherwell going into next week with a chance if top 6!A win for us today rules Motherwell out of the top 6
LewysGot2
06-04-2024, 12:18 PM
That Palace claim for a penalty would have been given up here...depending on what team was involved, of course 😉
scm70nyd1973
06-04-2024, 12:33 PM
That Palace claim for a penalty would have been given up here...depending on what team was involved, of course 😉
Depending on the team it would also have been a sending off
06-04-2024, 01:26 PM
FT Norwich 1 Ipswich 0
over to you Leeds
06-04-2024, 01:28 PM
I thought our derby record was poor , Ipswich haven't beat Norwich for 15 years !!
Chorley Hibee
06-04-2024, 01:37 PM
I thought our derby record was poor , Ipswich haven't beat Norwich for 15 years !!
They've only played each other 14 times in those 15 years.
Still a bad record though.
06-04-2024, 01:42 PM
full house for the St Mirren v Gimps game
06-04-2024, 01:49 PM
Remember Motherwell's farce of a pitch causing an enormous backlog of fixtures over 15 years ago, and potentially doing us out of third place?
How the **** has nothing changed?
06-04-2024, 01:55 PM
Sixheid misses the Hearts game today through illness. The one game we need them to win 🙄
06-04-2024, 02:17 PM
1-0 Coventry after 9 mins and very nearly a 2nd
looking like another p@ss poor leeds away performance
pity they can't play all games at Elland Road
06-04-2024, 02:22 PM
Sixheid misses the Hearts game today through illness. The one game we need them to win 🙄
Said it on another thread they won’t bust a gut to win today I expect st Mirren to st least take a point
06-04-2024, 02:39 PM
1-0 Jambos.. ….. suits us. :aok:
06-04-2024, 02:42 PM
1-0 Jambos.. ….. suits us. :aok:
Only if we can win. Need to do our part
06-04-2024, 02:56 PM
Remember Motherwell's farce of a pitch causing an enormous backlog of fixtures over 15 years ago, and potentially doing us out of third place?
How the **** has nothing changed?
When did it do us out of 3rd? Under Yogi? Don't remember that.
06-04-2024, 03:17 PM
2-0 Coventry
another Daniel f*rke p@ss poor away day performance
06-04-2024, 03:17 PM
2-0 Coventry. Leeds throwing away their opportunity to go top.
06-04-2024, 04:05 PM
Leeds finally getting what's been coming from their last few games...a defeat 2-1
their goal coming from a striker that should be staring instead of Patrick Bamford, Bamford just one that it appears totally undroppable by f arke
06-04-2024, 04:26 PM
Luton 2 Bournemouth 1
Lorient 3rd from bottom
are we sure we want the Black Knights :duck:
06-04-2024, 05:06 PM
Don’t understand that Arsenal penalty being given. Clearly played the ball.
MelbourneHibees
06-04-2024, 05:10 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣
06-04-2024, 05:10 PM
That doesn't mean something isn't a foul. Hasn't for a long while now.
06-04-2024, 05:12 PM
That doesn't mean something isn't a foul. Hasn't for a long while now.
It still does mean something. Never a pen for me especially when the ref had a great view. Sure Arteta would have had something to say if in the other box.
06-04-2024, 05:13 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣
Assume you think it was a pen
06-04-2024, 05:13 PM
It still does mean something. Never a pen for me especially when the ref had a great view. Sure Arteta would have had something to say if in the other box.
If Ben White made that challenge, Arteta wouldve had plenty to say. A clear foul.
06-04-2024, 05:19 PM
If Ben White made that challenge, Arteta wouldve had plenty to say. A clear foul.
Would he? White could pull a knife and he wouldn’t admit it was a foul. Not a clear foul for me but hey ho.
06-04-2024, 05:59 PM
didn't realise Falkirk v Cove was on live, 70 mins played and it's 4-1 Watch: Falkirk v Cove Rangers in Scottish League 1 - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/live/cn0d9p9yp0et#player)
06-04-2024, 06:28 PM
Cracking goal by Dylan Tait, and man of the match. Maybe he's screwed the nut at last under McGlynn.
06-04-2024, 06:34 PM
Comfortable for Arsenal. What a signing Havertz has been. Real bit of genius that from Arteta
06-04-2024, 06:40 PM
Comfortable for Arsenal. What a signing Havertz has been. Real bit of genius that from Arteta
Doesn't get any easier , Arsenal controlled the game from start to finish , Another brilliant performance by Havertz , What a player he has been ,
Rock solid at the back again and a very good goal difference
Trossard or Mudryk :tee hee:
06-04-2024, 06:41 PM
Doesn't get any easier , Arsenal controlled the game from start to finish , Another brilliant performance by Havertz , What a player he has been ,
Rock solid at the back again and a very good goal difference
Trossard or Mudryk :tee hee:
Looking good for 3rd
06-04-2024, 09:08 PM
Just seen the hearts penalty. Laughable. Penalty for Rang...er Hearts. Then Saints don't get a pen for far more of an offence. There has never been a luckier team in the history of fitba.
06-04-2024, 11:04 PM
What a **** penalty Dickinson via Clancy gave to Motherwell today.
Not complaining in the grand scheme of things, all things considered, but what a state the game is in.
So am I right in saying Alan Muir has now gone against VAR recommendation twice in 2 months and on both occasions Hearts have benefited. WTF?
07-04-2024, 06:35 AM
NFC : Breaking:
Frankie Dettori rides six winners at Santa Anita
07-04-2024, 06:36 AM
"The penalty was clear" said Brighton manager De Zerbi.
07-04-2024, 08:29 AM
Hope Celtc pump Sevco later. No away fans at all, right?
07-04-2024, 08:33 AM
Hope Celtc pump Sevco later. No away fans at all, right?
I would imagine that most on here couldn’t care less.
07-04-2024, 08:50 AM
I would imagine that most on here couldn’t care less.
I always care when it comes to The Rangers 2012. I don’t want them winning the league.
07-04-2024, 10:15 AM
In the ideal world neither wins it but in the real one would be happy if The Rangers never won anything so it's Celtic for me by process of elimination.
07-04-2024, 10:16 AM
Hope for var controversy. Dodgy pens. Violent red cards. Greeting fans on both sides.
one day maybe...
07-04-2024, 10:58 AM
And the lovely ditties begin 🤦🏼*♂️
[emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]