View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

03-03-2024, 11:32 AM
He’s a clown who once sent off Stevenson ridiculously - he’s always been poor.

You’ve just reminded me of that and it turns out I’m still annoyed !

mcohibs
03-03-2024, 11:33 AM
Chris Sutton calling out the delay for the offside - struggling to understand why people don't get this. It's pretty obvious they have to wait for play to unfold these days - its the only sensible way to do things with VAR in operation.

The frustration is when the offside is so clear that both sets of players know it’s going to be flagged when play stops. Linesmen aren’t flagging now despite players being clearly about 4 yards offside

03-03-2024, 11:34 AM
Its just another element of the whole VAR farce. We’ve already seen serious injuries happen in these 30 seconds of dead time’. They should have the confidence to make the call otherwise you may as well not have assistants.

If he's flagged early and got it wrong a perfectly good goal would have been ruled out. As pointed out above Marcondes goal v Aberdeen would have been ruled out. It's one of the only sensible things about VAR.

I don’t think it’s a red or a penalty… but in fairness to the refs, we appear split on these decisions. They’re being slaughtered for giving decisions one way when there’s a 50/50 split on what the outcome should be. In situations like that I have sympathy with the situation even if I disagree.

Greensunshine
Hearts vs Celtic

Football is dead, they’ve actually gone and ruined the game I love!

First of all, never a penalty!

Then there’s the sending off. Dangerous play? Or just a case of high feet trying to nick the ball?
A yellow card would suffice for me.

Then there’s the Celtic goal that was called offside. One of these days somebody is going to needlessly get seriously injured going into a tackle that they really don’t need to be going into because it’s been called offside, only the referee still hasn’t blown his whistle!

I’m seeing players slide in to win the ball completely clean and because his momentum takes him through to collide with the opposing player, he’s in danger of being sent off!

What a joke! They’ve absolutely ruined the ****ing game!

03-03-2024, 11:35 AM
The frustration is when the offside is so clear that both sets of players know it’s going to be flagged when play stops. Linesmen aren’t flagging now despite players being clearly about 4 yards offside

Yeh but surely people can put up with that occasionally rather than have perfectly good goals ruled out?

03-03-2024, 11:35 AM
It's certainly a white hot cauldron of electric atmosphere at the PBS today.

😴

03-03-2024, 11:36 AM
Eight defensive players in their team. Eight.

And they are playing against ten men now. Surely to god Stevie NaiCourage will bring an attacker on.

And by the way, if you were one of the SEVEN THOUSAND (no laughing at the back) on the waiting list you’d be raging. Tiny is absolutely bereft of cardigans today.

Indeed. Not just the odd empty seat but hundreds (not including the segregated area) so they will report attendance as 18k plus

03-03-2024, 11:36 AM
If he's flagged early and got it wrong a perfectly good goal would have been ruled out. As pointed out above Marcondes goal v Aberdeen would have been ruled out. It's one of the only sensible things about VAR.

No, its an annoying byproduct of var. Get rid of VAR as most fans seem to want and the assistants would revert to the way they used to do it.

Sparrows tongue
03-03-2024, 11:37 AM
Where are all the supporters of ‘Edinburgh’s big team’?

Yeh but surely people can put up with that occasionally rather than have perfectly good goals ruled out?

Ive already pointed out that serious injuries have occurred while the dead time is occurring. It makes no sense.

Have you seen how long it takes them sometimes to draw lines to check properly?

There are plenty of offside decisions that have seemed obvious either way over the years that have turned out to be wrong. Linesman keeps his flag down until play stops then they check it - common sense.

They don’t draw the lines on every offside check.

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 11:39 AM
No, its an annoying byproduct of var. Get rid of VAR as most fans seem to want and the assistants would revert to the way they used to do it.

Amen to that 🙏

Ive already pointed out that serious injuries have occurred while the dead time is occurring. It makes no sense.

People can get injured at any point of a game - ludicrous argument.

Have you seen how long it takes them sometimes to draw lines to check properly?

There are plenty of offside decisions that have seemed obvious either way over the years that have turned out to be wrong. Linesman keeps his flag down until play stops then they check it - common sense.

Common sense would be for the linesmen to keep his flag down but tell VAR he is going to flag when the play stops. VAR can then start to draw the lines immediately and potentially call the offside before play stops thereby by reducing the amount of delays/time added on.

Only last night, linesman kept the flag down in the Villa game when Watkins was through. Put it up after the ball was in the net. VAR checked it, gave the goal.

Don’t disagree with getting rid of VAR, but they’re right to keep the flag down even if it can be a bit of a pain in the arse.

03-03-2024, 11:40 AM
Common sense would be for the linesmen to keep his flag down but tell VAR he is going to flag when the play stops. VAR can then start to draw the lines immediately and potentially call the offside before play stops thereby by reducing the amount of delays.

I think that's what they do though.

03-03-2024, 11:41 AM
If this is given as a penalty the game is totally ****ed

That’s a penalty for me.

Has to be a pen that same as Rocky’s v Hearts ?

That’s a penalty for me.

[emoji102]

03-03-2024, 11:42 AM
If this is given as a penalty the game is totally ****ed

That’s a penalty for me.

This can't be a penalty. Not a single hearts players was bothered to appeal.

Ach, the game is totally ****ed.

If this is given as a penalty, i'm finished with football.

one day maybe...
That’s not a penalty

Why is that monitor over beside the radges ?

Greensunshine
OMG!

That’s not a ****ing penalty for Hearts! Help ma boab!

Football is dead!

Hearts are lucky as ****. That isn’t a penalty. Never, ever a penalty.

03-03-2024, 11:43 AM
Penalty to hearts

Joke

The penalties they get are ridiculous. It hits Johnston then immediately hits Iwata it’s just not a penalty.

Never a pen for me. Player was nudged in the back and was looking in the other direction.

LunasBoots
The problem in Scotland is they've set a threshold which is so poor which is obviously a problem that accidents like that are given

USA_Hibee
They are the luckiest team in the league. Always have been.

1-0 Hearts

Stuarty1875
03-03-2024, 11:44 AM
Never a pen

Mcbizz1998
That’s a penalty for me.

Are you serious?

Yet the officials decide that sticking the arm out at Aberdeen wasn’t one.

Game is ****ing corrupt.

Scottish fitba is a total joke.

03-03-2024, 11:45 AM
The penalties they get are ridiculous. It hits Johnston then immediately hits Iwata it’s just not a penalty.

That part is of no relevance - still a pen. Although that's what happened when we played Celtic recently and we never got the pen we should have.

LunasBoots
How many calls have Hearts got this season at Tynecastle....

In fact I'll go as far to say since they got relegated before and came back up they have received a ridiculous number of dodgy calls

Only last night, linesman kept the flag down in the Villa game when Watkins was through. Put it up after the ball was in the net. VAR checked it, gave the goal.

Don’t disagree with getting rid of VAR, but they’re right to keep the flag down even if it can be a bit of a pain in the arse.

Ederson and John Stones both injured in dead time recently. It makes you wonder what the point of it all is.

I don’t necessarily disagree that in the var environment we’rein theyre in a no win situation.

Football is finished.

2 VAR penalties to Hearts in four days, none to Hibs in two years.

Hart calling Shankland a *****bag. :faf:

Hibs would have got neither pen but would have had the man sent off.

machibby
If that's a penalty the game is broken

Never a pen, but nae surprise to see it given.

03-03-2024, 11:46 AM
Madness. The guy got bumped by the other Celtic player causing his arm to go backwards, a natural reaction when being knocked off balance. If the rules say that's a penalty the game has been turned into a lottery.

it did touch the players arm but watching the replay i'm convinced the player was pushed forward by the celtic player at the back of him on to it

and with Brother Beaton on VAR it was always going to be given as a penalty

That part is of no relevance - still a pen. Although that's what happened when we played Celtic recently and we never got the pen we should have.

The ball changes direction though does that not count as mitigation?

The iffy officiating side of the game is suffocating it. With drones, technology and sophisticated AI, the day might come when they can do away with human officials completely.:greengrin

Genuinely surprised anyone thinks that wasn’t a penalty. The rule may be a joke but it’s a standard award these days.

none to Hibs in two years.

Is this true?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Why did Shankland not take it??

ChilliEater
They're not checking the infringement, they're just trying to remember the decisions hierarchy. They know The Rangers are top, but can't quite be sure whether Celtic or Hearts are second. It's usually Celtic, but Rangers losing yesterday bumps them down a spot.

LunasBoots
03-03-2024, 11:47 AM
Hibs would have got neither pen but would have had the man sent off.

Nope, in fact since Hearts where relegated and came back up they've recieved a ridiculous number of calls

Yet again it's not VAR that's the problem here. It's the corrupt/incompetent (delete as you feel appropriate) officials working with it.

The ball changes direction though does that not count as mitigation?

Only if it hits off yourself.

Johnson also jumped into the other boy, pushing him into the position in the first place. Its crazy that intent seems to have no bearing on whether a decision is given.

Mcbizz1998
Genuinely surprised anyone thinks that wasn’t a penalty. The rule may be a joke but it’s a standard award these days.

You are the only one who thinks it was. Well, you and John Beaton.

Bobo
Typical Merrick performance, drag teams down to their level and are bloody anointed with the amount of pathetic decisions they get!

If that’s a pen then just change the rules to say it’s a pen everytime it hits a hand or arm. Lose any ambiguity.

I should clarify - it's not ever a penalty when it's a handball against our opposition - but it always seems to be a penalty when it's against us (or for hearts)

These referees are ducking hopeless.

It hit his elbow, but it was having no impact on the game, the Hearts boy wasn’t getting it
Too many penalties deciding games now

I would want that penalty.

I’m convinced that those operating VAR absolutely hate football.

Appears to be an orchestrated campaign to ruin what was once a great game and occasion.

one day maybe...
We had one similar at Ibrox a few years ago. verdict not given

03-03-2024, 11:48 AM
Fk me the game is so corrupt. The other smelly team lose yesterday now their pals are making sure Smeltic don't win. Cant make it up

03-03-2024, 11:48 AM
You are the only one who thinks it was. Well, you and John Beaton.

And me.
Its the rules that are push.

03-03-2024, 11:49 AM
How can VAR decide that was a penalty but ours at Aberdeen wasn't. Totally bizarre.

It is 100% relevant.

Sparrows tongue
Booooo!!

How can VAR decide that was a penalty but ours at Aberdeen wasn't. Totally bizarre.

The one at Aberdeen was a lot clearer than this one

Under the current handball rules it is a penalty. What is annoying about VAR is the lack of consistency in what is looked at in games.

03-03-2024, 11:50 AM
I've no idea what is a penalty regarding handball now but that should never be called a penalty imo

It's totally accidental, and he's pushed which causes his arm to come up

Also Joe Hart was right [emoji23]

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

We had one similar at Ibrox a few years ago. verdict not given

What about the one against Celtic at Easter Rd, similar thing but obviously no penalty to Hibs.

2-0 Shankland

2-0 Hearts.

It’s unreal. A deliberate move to the ball isn’t a pen. A ball dropping onto the back of someone’s arm, who cannae see it, and that impedes nothing, is a pen.

03-03-2024, 11:51 AM
Game over, celtic are honkin as it is and down to 10

Sparrows tongue
And me.
Its the rules that are push.

At a pish it was a penalty.

2-0

game set and match

Donegal Hibby
Handball rules crazy , that should never be a penalty. Two soft penalties that lots had lately now .

People think Hibs have no spine. We are nothing compared to Celtic.

Looks offside.

03-03-2024, 11:52 AM
Is football actually now pish?

Offside.

Offside

Haha

03-03-2024, 11:53 AM
Goal ruled offside

Looked tight!

Nae goal for the Heid. Offside

Remember when you attended a match and you knew what had just happened?

Skol
Var is having a shocker here. Totally spoiling the game.

USA_Hibee
03-03-2024, 11:54 AM
Lots of empty seats but no doubt a full house etc etc

HendoDelivered
Fancy hearts to give them a doing

i think offside was the correct decision, shanklands shoulder was off :agree:

sellick are still NOT winning this game though

Seems that if a ball hits an arm, in any situation, it is now a penalty, unless you’re playing against Hibs of course. Makes that Aberdeen decision even more horrific. Player’s challenge for headers, make tackles, protect their bodies when falling….given that balls naturally ricochet with shots on goals combined with the number of players that can be in the box at one time it’s going to create these situations. Crazy that these are all penalties now.

Sparrows tongue
03-03-2024, 11:55 AM
Ha Ha Ha Ha!

03-03-2024, 11:55 AM
Forrest ****ed that. All the time in the world to put Shankland in. The ball should’ve been quicker and Hearts should be 2-0 up.

Celtc all over the place. Iwata thinks he’s playing walking football

LunasBoots
03-03-2024, 11:56 AM
Can we go back to accidental handball, modern football is goosed

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 11:56 AM
Did someone say Hearts are the luckiest team?

🤣🤣🤣🤣

03-03-2024, 11:57 AM
Honestly, the refs and their Var monitors are the main event these days. What a load of nonsense.

it wasn't a pen and the Shankland goal should have stood. End of.

03-03-2024, 11:58 AM
It is 100% relevant.

Where's that from? Both these articles say the opposite:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/54321867

https://www.sportingnews.com/uk/football/news/handball-football-rules-changes-fifa-uefa-hand-ball-soccer/tdnqkct6nzocrbfvscrxvtzl

I've heard its said recently on TV that deflection off player from same team doesn't stop it being handball, but being honest I'm not sure anyone actually knows anymore.:greengrin

Off the bar
03-03-2024, 11:59 AM
2 VAR penalties to Hearts in four days, none to Hibs in two years.

We got one at Pittodrie when McKirdys shot hit someone’s arm.

Sparrows tongue
Celtic are pish.

EGL2000
Honestly, the refs and their Var monitors are the main event these days. What a load of nonsense.

Why should it stand when's he clearly offside. I thought straight away when I seen it he's off.

Shanklands offside. It didnae even look that close to me.

The Curtis Main and Dylan Vente ones were millimetres out, but this one was definitely offside.

03-03-2024, 12:00 PM

it wasn't a pen and the Shankland goal should have stood. End of.Shanklands goal clearly shouldn't have stood

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 12:01 PM
Alan “Biscuits Preston came up with an idea on how to make offside better and give the attacking side the benefit of the doubt.

So when drawing the lines, if there’s any part of the attacking players body onside. ie; in line with any part of the last defender then It’s a legitimate goal.

Not Biscuits biggest fan but I think that’s something that could make the game better.

Thoughts ???

glenberviehibee

100% Agree

Shanklands shoulder is in front of the defenders, you can score a goal off of the shoulder

not even a close call

it's offside, fact

LunasBoots
Did someone say Hearts are the luckiest team?

🤣🤣🤣🤣

Celtic, Rangers and Hearts are, get more calls than anybody else, have for long enough.

03-03-2024, 12:02 PM
Even Kris Boyd said it's never a penalty for hearts

Which made me about fall off my chair [emoji23]

03-03-2024, 12:04 PM
Alan “Biscuits Preston came up with an idea on how to make offside better and give the attacking side the benefit of the doubt.

So when drawing the lines, if there’s any part of the attacking players body onside.

Not Biscuits biggest fan but I think that’s something that could make the game better.

Thoughts ???

Better still, just do away with the lines altogether and bring back being in line with the last defender.

03-03-2024, 12:04 PM
Good old jambos, arguably the worst 2 penalty decisions all season go in their favour.

Have to say Celtic look spineless without McGregor, whether they've won their last 10 when he was absent or not.

Skol
03-03-2024, 12:05 PM
The offside is the only var decision there where a case can be made for it being correct. However, shanklands body was in line and although you can score with a shoulder, it’s unlikely.

The Captain....
VAR's overuse by incompetent officious wee twats ruining another game. Don't think either were pens or that it was a sending off. The only one they got right imo was Shankland was off.

It's at the point you're questioning why we bother to have a ref on the pitch.

Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk

Better still, just do away with the lines altogether and bring back being in line with the last defender.How do you know they are in line without lines?

So when drawing the lines, if there’s any part of the attacking players body onside. It’s a legitimate goal.

Thoughts ???
Arsene Wenger has been banging on about that for years. Biscuit head wouldnt have a genuine idea if one bit him on his nose.

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 12:06 PM
Better still, just do away with the lines altogether and bring back being in line with the last defender.

That’s what I was trying to say but I didn’t quite explain it properly. Sounds like a way to go for me.

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 12:08 PM
Arsene Wenger has been banging on about that for years. Biscuit head wouldnt have a genuine idea if one bit him on his nose.

I knew the **** had stolen it, far too clever for him! lol

So when drawing the lines, if there’s any part of the attacking players body onside. ie; in line with any part of the last defender then It’s a legitimate goal.

Thoughts ???

Is Biscuits trying to steal Wenger's idea? I find it hard to believe a Jambo would steal anything.

https://i.ibb.co/N2HJJdg/Screenshot-20240303-130641-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/TMF77xD)

Donegal Hibby
People think Hibs have no spine. We are nothing compared to Celtic.

They're definitely not as good as they were under Ange though in fairness they are missing the best midfielder in the league today .

03-03-2024, 12:10 PM
I knew the **** had stolen it, far too clever for him! lol
:agree::jamboak::lolyam::jamboclow

That Hearts TV “studio” is hilarious. I’ve seen garden sheds bigger

Why is it when one half of the OF lose the other half has a mate the next day?

Always happens.

Also, when did the Huns lose two in a row? Not a great result for us yesterday.

03-03-2024, 12:11 PM

Always happens.

JIt will be 3 in a row by next Sunday evening [emoji6]

Allyg69
03-03-2024, 12:12 PM

Thoughts ???

Sounds like a good idea to me

03-03-2024, 12:12 PM

Not under the current handball and offside rules which are both a mess hope IFAB are going to act.

LunasBoots
03-03-2024, 12:13 PM

Always happens.

Injuries are starting to catch up with them now. Tough match in Portugal then we can clean them up on Sunday

Even Kris Boyd said it's never a penalty for hearts

Which made me about fall off my chair [emoji23]

He's used to watching Rangers players alley-oop in their box and never concede a penalty. Even he would find it hard to justify that it was penalty. Should never have been given but refs seem to make it up as they go along given the rules these days.

Allyg69
Neither were penalties and it certainly wasn't a straight red.

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 12:14 PM
Is Biscuits trying to steal Wenger's idea? I find it hard to believe a Jambo would steal anything.

https://i.ibb.co/N2HJJdg/Screenshot-20240303-130641-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/TMF77xD)

That’s a much better way to go for me. It would give the attacker the benefit and it would make the game much less controversial.

03-03-2024, 12:14 PM
It’s a clear red. I thought it was harsh at first, but on replay his foot is far too high with a hearts players head so close. You cannae do that nowadays.

Unless it’s Joe Newell advancing in the The rangers box. No pen, no foul, no card.

03-03-2024, 12:15 PM
The one at Aberdeen was a lot clearer than this one

Thing is, I can understand how decisions aren't given at the time, if a referee can't see it properly, but the whole point of VAR is to eradicate on field incorrect decisions. Watching that today, just pisses me off even more the Aberdeen one as it was one of the most blatant penalties you'll see.

03-03-2024, 12:16 PM
Yeah, I think I disagree with all the big calls in that first half.

Not enough in the challenge for the penalty.

Yellow for dangerous play.

No intent for the handball.

Shankland was “level”.

I appreciate these opinions probably reflect an understanding of an earlier version of the laws of the game, pre var.

03-03-2024, 12:17 PM
That’s a much better way to go for me. It would give the attacker the benefit and it would make the game much less controversial.

Is that not going to be the rule from next season or has it not been voted in yet? Seem to remember seeing something about it changing to whole body offside for next term.

03-03-2024, 12:18 PM
I have been saying this on here since the start of hibs.net so Wenger copied my idea.

I definitely think we should be considering some fairly radical rule changes for the var era.

This one, amongst others, makes sense.

They could really do with tightening up handball.

ChilliEater
I'm not a fan of the Wenger proposal - it's just the same rule using a different part of the body and will lead to the same issues with the lines that we have now. I'd rather we kept it the same, but made the lines a bit thicker and you're not offside if they're touching - basically, if you're inline your onside.

03-03-2024, 12:19 PM
Where's that from? Both these articles say the opposite:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/54321867

https://www.sportingnews.com/uk/football/news/handball-football-rules-changes-fifa-uefa-hand-ball-soccer/tdnqkct6nzocrbfvscrxvtzl

I've heard its said recently on TV that deflection off player from same team doesn't stop it being handball, but being honest I'm not sure anyone actually knows anymore.:greengrin

My screenshot is from the Q&A section on handball of the IFAB website.

https://www.footballrules.com/offences-sanctions/handball/

LunasBoots
03-03-2024, 12:19 PM
Unless you have pro refs who understand football it won't work.

Se7enUp
03-03-2024, 12:20 PM

Thoughts ???

It just shifts the arguments to a slightly different location really

03-03-2024, 12:23 PM
2-0 Hearts

Shankland

03-03-2024, 12:24 PM
They have been guff but that’s game over now.

03-03-2024, 12:24 PM
yer teams p@sh Rodgers

even with eleven

03-03-2024, 12:25 PM
Nice strike by the Foreheid

Unless you have pro refs who understand football it won't work.

Giving these ***** more money to do their job is absolutely the last thing I’d be considering as a way to improve standards.

EGL2000
That's some finish to be fair.

03-03-2024, 12:26 PM
Our point is looking pretty good now.

Injuries are starting to catch up with them now. Tough match in Portugal then we can clean them up on Sunday

Forgot about Europe.

Can they lose 3 in a row?

Shankland has proven to be a great goalscorer at this level, I was certainly one that doubted him when at Dundee United. Sooner he ****s off the better.

Let’s hope the heid isn’t there next season, he’s the only difference between them and the rest of the league.

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 12:27 PM
It just shifts the arguments to a slightly different location really

I don’t think there’s any perfect solution but we’re talking about giving the attacking player a much better chance of being onside which is good for the game.

We all want to see more goals.

No sure we will catch up with Celtic

Their* it should have been three for us !

Keyser Sauzee
03-03-2024, 12:29 PM
Let’s hope the heid isn’t there next season, he’s the only difference between them and the rest of the league.

He’s got to be a nailed on starter for Scotland in the summer

Shankland has proven to be a great goalscorer at this level, I was certainly one that doubted him when at Dundee United. Sooner he ****s off the better.

Seems to do quite well without this service that our forwards can't score without.

Yeah I was just thinking that - transfer in the summer

03-03-2024, 12:31 PM

Thinking that too. A goal in the Euros would see him off.

03-03-2024, 12:33 PM

No chance of that. Clarke will stick with the tried and trusted. Shankland can't run and press and that's no good for us.

K-Zazu
No chance Shankland will start for Scotland at the Euros imo, will be Adams or Dykes

Just looked at league goal scoring stats for this season, not a Hibs player in the top 20. Highest is 4 league goals. Our defence has come under much criticism this season but to have our highest league goal scorer on 4 goals after 28 games is an awful stat.

03-03-2024, 12:37 PM
I'm not a fan of the Wenger proposal - it's just the same rule using a different part of the body and will lead to the same issues with the lines that we have now. I'd rather we kept it the same, but made the lines a bit thicker and you're not offside if they're touching - basically, if you're inline your onside.

Yeah that's what I wrote the other week on here. Keep the rule as it is but give the striker the benefit of the doubt if the lines drawn are touching or overlapping in any way. Whole body would give strikers an insane advantage.

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 12:38 PM

I’ve got a horrible feeling he’s going to sign a new lucrative contract given to him by this benefactor Anderson.

I think he’s probably the happiest he’s ever been, he’s top dog at Hearts and he’s already been been around a few different clubs and it didn’t really work out for one reason or another, so I think if he’s given a decent cheque, then don't be surprised if he were to stay at Hearts.

On a side note, now that we’re rolling in the wonga, I’d stick a sneaky bid in for him. lol

03-03-2024, 12:39 PM
Just looked at league goal scoring stats for this season, not a Hibs player in the top 20. Highest is 4 league goals. Our defence has come under much criticism this season but to have our highest league goal scorer on 4 goals after 28 games is an awful stat.

Prior to today day we have scored the same number as Hearts.Poor defending has been our downfall.

03-03-2024, 12:39 PM

Shankland is 20 goals ahead of their next highest.

Without him they would be about 10th.

03-03-2024, 12:40 PM
Burnley 0 Bournemouth 1

03-03-2024, 12:40 PM

To be fair we’ve also scored twice about nine times this season and not won. That’s on the defence. We do need more from Vente though, Shankland buries that chance that he dummied yesterday.

03-03-2024, 12:42 PM
I’ve got a horrible feeling he’s going to sign a new lucrative contract given to him by this benefactor Anderson.

I think he’s probably the happiest he’s ever been, he’s top dog at Hearts and he’s already been been around a few different clubs and it didn’t really work out for one reason or another, so I think if he’s given a decent cheque, then don't be surprised if he were to stay at Hearts.

On a side note, now that we’re rolling in the wonga, I’d stick a sneaky bid in for him. lol
If he wants to win medals he'll be off

03-03-2024, 12:43 PM

If he was going to sign an extension to his contract he would have done it by now.

He’ll be gone in summer. Brendan Rodgers must surely be interested.

03-03-2024, 12:47 PM
Hearts have a set play folder!…..every page ‘get the ball to Shankland as quick as possible’

If he was going to sign an extension to his contract he would have done it by now.

I’m not sure it will matter whether Rodgers is interested, I doubt he’ll be having much say on Celtics signings next season.

He will be at Sevco

I’m not sure it will matter whether Rodgers is interested, I doubt he’ll be having much say on Celtics signings next season.

You’re probably right tbh.

03-03-2024, 12:50 PM

Because you think Rodgers is leaving? Lawwell jnr just got resigned and I'm pretty sure it's partly because Rodgers wasn't happy with the January window. Rodgers will have far more influence moving forward methinks.

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 12:51 PM
Joe Hart - He’s had a great career however he can’t ****ing kick a ball. He’s useless!

It’s no wonder Pep got shot of him.

03-03-2024, 12:51 PM
Because you think Rodgers is leaving? Lawwell jnr just got resigned and I'm pretty sure it's partly because Rodgers wasn't happy with the January window. Rodgers will have far more influence moving forward methinks.

I don’t think Rodgers will be there next season.

03-03-2024, 12:52 PM

Nah. That game will never be anything other than two points dropped

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 12:54 PM

I don’t think they can blame Rodger’s for having a ***** transfer window. I agree with the previous poster, I think you’ll see a better Celtic next season. Once Rodger’s gets the players that he wants.

He’s a good manager, Celtic won’t get a better one.

03-03-2024, 12:54 PM
3rd March 2024 Celtic concede their first penalty in the League today

Hibs have conceded 9

03-03-2024, 12:55 PM

I think he will be. Looks to me like he would have already quit if the same policy was to continue but it seems he's win a fairly serious battle.

03-03-2024, 12:58 PM
Feb 2018 last time the old squirm both got beat on the same weekend

Sellick away to Killie and Sevco at home to us :)

03-03-2024, 01:01 PM
I do feel a bit dirty about the Fartz winning but having them at 8/1 is softening the mood lol

03-03-2024, 01:01 PM
It will cost them £6 million to sack him

03-03-2024, 01:02 PM
Celtic players clearly not interested in playing for Rodgers. They were dreadful.

Back to back league wins for hearts against celtic

18 years last time heartz had back to back wins against sellick

03-03-2024, 01:04 PM
I wonder how long ago both of the old firm lost on the same weekend in the league.

03-03-2024, 01:05 PM
Celtic are absolute rubbish

03-03-2024, 01:07 PM
It will cost them £6 million to sack him
Think he'll just walk.

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 01:09 PM
I do feel a bit dirty about the Fartz winning but having them at 8/1 is softening the mood lol

I only got 5/1 with bet in play. I’ll take it though!

LunasBoots
03-03-2024, 01:11 PM
Both teams where garbage, Celtic are miles off where you'd expect them to be.

03-03-2024, 01:12 PM
I wonder how long ago both of the old firm lost on the same weekend in the league.

Feb 2018

03-03-2024, 01:13 PM
If he wants to win medals he'll be off

If he sticks around he might win one at Hearts. He's the difference.

Both teams where garbage, Celtic are miles off where you'd expect them to be.

I don’t think Hearts were garbage. Thought they pressed Celtc high up the park really well. Forced loads of mistakes.

Celtic are absolute rubbish

Infuriating that we didn't take a deserved point against them at home. Should have beaten them really.

Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 01:18 PM
I don't think it's Rodgers fault what's happening there , more a lack of ambition from the Celtic board in backing him in the January window , with the head of scouting and recruitment and leading scout having resigned it would suggest to me Rodgers has had a say in what's happening and will remain the manager for next season.

VoltaireHibs
03-03-2024, 01:19 PM
Just seen the Hearts team about to play Celtic, think Celtic might fill their boots again today.

And this is why I never enter a bookies. 😂

03-03-2024, 01:19 PM
attendance at the Tinycastle 17,748, 7k waiting list missed out on a famous win

03-03-2024, 01:23 PM
attendance at the Tinycastle 17,748, 7k waiting list missed out on a famous win

382,252 no?

03-03-2024, 01:24 PM
Rodgers is a decent manager but over hyped at times.

VoltaireHibs
03-03-2024, 01:27 PM
I don’t think they can blame Rodger’s for having a ***** transfer window. I agree with the previous poster, I think you’ll see a better Celtic next season. Once Rodger’s gets the players that he wants.

He’s a good manager, Celtic won’t get a better one.

I think Rodgers is a good manager, but I also think that he made a mistake coming back, and my gut feeling is he knows that. He spoke, after his Leicester emptying, about taking time out, then jumped right back in. Should have stuck with his initial thought, and gone on sabbatical for a year or two, he'll always get quoted for decent jobs.

Fratelli
03-03-2024, 01:31 PM
Interesting post-match comments from Rodgers on Sky - clearly calls out the officiating as the reason for the defeat and name-checks John Beaton twice!

I’d personally like to see Monty and the Club do this when we feel aggrieved - make no mistake, Rodgers knew what he was doing and this will be the narrative over the next few days.

VoltaireHibs
03-03-2024, 01:34 PM
I think he will be. Looks to me like he would have already quit if the same policy was to continue but it seems he's win a fairly serious battle.

Spot on. Lawwell's laddie getting pumped out the door to 'pursue new opportunities' was a battle won. Celtic have a massive war chest and it will be opened and spent in the close season otherwise I think Rodgers would walk. Guys minted for many lifetimes, he's not at Celtic for the dosh. Still think, as per my post above, he probably shouldn't have taken the job, but if he's staying it'll be his way or the highway.

Rumble de Thump
03-03-2024, 01:34 PM
It's easier to win a game when you have a man advantage for the vast majority of it, and the ref gifts you a penalty.

03-03-2024, 01:35 PM
They really are the luckiest *******s out there. We play well against celtic. Celtic get two pens, we get denied at keast one stonwaller, miss various chances and lose. They get a softish sending off, a dodgy penalty and beat them.

03-03-2024, 01:36 PM
Interesting post-match comments from Rodgers on Sky - clearly calls out the officiating as the reason for the defeat and name-checks John Beaton twice!

I’d personally like to see Monty and the Club do this when we feel aggrieved - make no mistake, Rodgers knew what he was doing and this will be the narrative over the next few days.I can see why... [emoji23][emoji6]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20240303/de6ea86a508ae620564b4ec3fda9cc6b.jpg

03-03-2024, 01:37 PM

Agree thought it was a penalty under the present poor rules. Outside the body silhouette played the ball. Sending off is kind of similar to the Vassell one at ER which think was Beaton also. Tend to think the level of conduct should come into it. Little or no power so imo red is ridiculously harsh. Didn't think the Celtic pen was one either.

03-03-2024, 01:41 PM
Spot on. Lawwell's laddie getting pumped out the door to 'pursue new opportunities' was a battle won. Celtic have a massive war chest and it will be opened and spent in the close season otherwise I think Rodgers would walk. Guys minted for many lifetimes, he's not at Celtic for the dosh. Still think, as per my post above, he probably shouldn't have taken the job, but if he's staying it'll be his way or the highway.

They need to jettison Lawwell Snr as well if they want to move forward, he seems to prioritize the old firm brand over success in Europe which for the life of me I don't understand.

03-03-2024, 01:43 PM
i'd love to hear Brother Beaton explain just why he didn't see one celtic player push the handball dude forward onto the ball and then give that as a penalty, it's quite surreal

VoltaireHibs
03-03-2024, 01:48 PM
They need to jettison Lawwell Snr as well if they want to move forward, he seems to prioritize the old firm brand over success in Europe which for the life of me I don't understand.

They've built their warchest by being just ambitious enough to get into the champs league and collect the participation cheque. It's pretty smart on a business level. But for anyone manager wanting to progress in the champs league, which is a lottery for all but the biggest teams, it's no use. Ange saw the way the wind was blowing and jumped off the ship.

03-03-2024, 01:48 PM

I’d personally like to see Monty and the Club do this when we feel aggrieved - make no mistake, Rodgers knew what he was doing and this will be the narrative over the next few days.
In the same interview he also said of the penalty "we got one against Motherwell last week"???
Just goes to show, its never their fault it someone else every time!!!

03-03-2024, 01:52 PM
Burnley 0 Bournemouth 2

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 02:12 PM
Agree thought it was a penalty under the present poor rules. Outside the body silhouette played the ball. Sending off is kind of similar to the Vassell one at ER which think was Beaton also. Tend to think the level of conduct should come into it. Little or no power so imo red is ridiculously harsh. Didn't think the Celtic pen was one either.

What absolute nonsense. Outside silhouette my arse!

The player was pushed into the ball and didn’t even know were the ball was. Completely accidental and even a blind Donkey could see that!

It was a shockingly bad decision and it shows that these refs are absolutely ****ing clueless about football

03-03-2024, 02:21 PM

The player was pushed into the ball and didn’t even know were the ball was. Completely accidental and even a blind Donkey could see that!

It was a shockingly bad decision and it shows that these refs are absolutely ****ing clueless about football

I think the point is that under the current laws as Jim points out, it is a penalty.

It`s the rules that need to be changed as that wasn't deliberate hand ball like it used to be in the olden days!

03-03-2024, 02:23 PM

Accidental isn't relevant

03-03-2024, 02:38 PM

Death threats a plenty this weekend towards refs.

03-03-2024, 02:38 PM
Bournemouth 5 points behind Chelsea now

03-03-2024, 02:39 PM
Raaaasssshhhhhfffooorrrrd !!!!!’

That is pure filth from Rashford.

well there's a shock Man C 0 Man U 1

a belter as well

What a goal that is btw.

It was never a penalty, not in past rules and not in current rules. The player was pushed in the air and as he was falling the ball came down on his arm when he was desperately trying to regain his balance.

If you think about it, it’s actually a penalty for Rangers given by Beaton. The sending off was a yellow card only and Celtics penalty was at least worth debate but should not have been given either.

03-03-2024, 02:40 PM
Absolute belter by rashford

03-03-2024, 02:44 PM
Bournemouth 5 points behind Chelsea now

with four winnable home games in a row for them against...

Sheff U
Luton
Everton
Crystal Palace

03-03-2024, 02:46 PM
What a strike from Rashford.

Utd need to take something from this game, good start so far, but it’s citeh and it could end up 4-1.

03-03-2024, 02:48 PM
Does Onana normally pass the ball this well? Hes like Pirlo in a keepers body

03-03-2024, 02:49 PM
Odd game so far. All City but United look dangerous every time they get into attacking positions. City look really shaky at the back.

03-03-2024, 02:54 PM
Odd game so far. All City but United look dangerous every time they get into attacking positions. City look really shaky at the back.Rashford could've had a hatrick already

03-03-2024, 02:55 PM
That should really have been 2.

The much maligned Onana has been pretty outstanding today so far. Two big saves and dominating every cross ball.

03-03-2024, 02:57 PM
VAR slowing things down to look at a clip that clearly never a pen

03-03-2024, 03:04 PM
Arsenal women beat Spurs women in front of 60000 crowd, women's game taking off in England.

03-03-2024, 03:06 PM
with four winnable home games in a row for them against...

Sheff U
Luton
Everton
Crystal Palace

🍒

03-03-2024, 03:06 PM
Arsenal women beat Spurs women in front of 60000 crowd, women's game taking off in England.

My daughter goes to watch games in London a fair bit; Chelsea Real madrid the other week got a huge crowd as well. Erin Cuthbert there now.

03-03-2024, 03:10 PM
Quick question on today and midweek.

Why do the gimps get the VAR box in the wheatfield and not the main stand like everyone else?

VoltaireHibs
03-03-2024, 03:10 PM
Death threats a plenty this weekend towards refs.

Rodgers was basically dog whistling that to the Celtic support. Massive deflection from a really poor result. And if anyone wants to consider McGregor influence on Celtic then today was a great example of his importance. Superb player that dictates games quietly and without fuss.

VoltaireHibs
03-03-2024, 03:12 PM
My daughter goes to watch games in London a fair bit; Chelsea Real madrid the other week got a huge crowd as well. Erin Cuthbert there now.

Now? She's been there for 6 years. Cracking player.

03-03-2024, 03:16 PM
wow Marcondes/Vente would have buried that chance

03-03-2024, 03:17 PM
Now? She's been there for 6 years. Cracking player.

I dont really follow The womens game, she told me her name and i remembered her as being one of our best players in internationals.

03-03-2024, 03:17 PM
Miss of the season

03-03-2024, 03:18 PM
Kevin De Bruyne's bouffant gelled hair do is an absolute disgrace.

03-03-2024, 03:18 PM
Haaland :faf:

Donegal Hibby
03-03-2024, 03:19 PM
The 🤖 malfunctioning . ( My post will probably backfire on me later :greengrin )

Greensunshine
03-03-2024, 03:19 PM
Accidental isn't relevant

Only in a world were idiots rule is it not relevant.

Games been ruined by people who don’t ****ing know the game.

When a player is pushed from behind whilst jumping and he’s looking in the opposite direction from the ball because he doesn’t know were the ball is and it accidentally hits his arm, that’s not a penalty in anyone’s book.

A joke of a decision and anyone that says that’s a penalty doesn’t know the game.

03-03-2024, 03:20 PM
from the beeb page

Manchester United goalkeeper Andre Onana is getting some stick from the home fans for the time he is taking to get the ball back into play.

Yesterday, IFAB agreed to a trial which would limit goalkeepers to keeping the ball for only eight seconds.

The trial can be started at League One level and below if the EFL asked for it.

I think some City fans would quite like it to start here, immediately.

VoltaireHibs
03-03-2024, 03:24 PM
from the beeb page

Manchester United goalkeeper Andre Onana is getting some stick from the home fans for the time he is taking to get the ball back into play.

Yesterday, IFAB agreed to a trial which would limit goalkeepers to keeping the ball for only eight seconds.

The trial can be started at League One level and below if the EFL asked for it.

I think some City fans would quite like it to start here, immediately.

City are full of the dark arts, eff them. Tactical fouling was pretty much invented by Pep.

03-03-2024, 03:32 PM
Only in a world were idiots rule is it not relevant.

Games been ruined by people who don’t ****ing know the game.

When a player is pushed from behind whilst jumping and he’s looking in the opposite direction from the ball because he doesn’t know were the ball is and it accidentally hits his arm, that’s not a penalty in anyone’s book.

A joke of a decision and anyone that says that’s a penalty doesn’t know the game.

:top marks:agree:

03-03-2024, 03:33 PM
Does Onana normally pass the ball this well? Hes like Pirlo in a keepers body

03-03-2024, 03:37 PM
Hello Jonnyboy. :thumbsup: