View Full Version : Match Updates 2023-24 season non-Hibs games thread
05-10-2023, 08:15 PM
100+ minutes gives Robson an excuse if the drop points against St Johnstone on Sunday. Here's hoping he needs to use it.
👍
05-10-2023, 08:21 PM
One thing struck me. Duk got clattered twice on the head during the first half.
The first one resulted in several minutes of attention from the medical staff.
There is no doubt if that was rugby he was quite rightly going off for a head injury assessment. In fitba you are dusted down and sent back out there.
It's wrong and it needs to change.
Donegal Hibby
05-10-2023, 08:28 PM
Anyone know how much Beale has spent on players since being appointed sevco manager? Roughly like?
05-10-2023, 08:30 PM
**** the sheep
Donegal Hibby
05-10-2023, 08:31 PM
Aberdeen 0-1 :big grin:
Aberdeen are dogsh*t!
Told you! 😀
05-10-2023, 08:36 PM
Aberdeen 0-1 😀
looks like we’re heading for a hat-trick in Europe this week. Well done guys.:greengrin
Donegal Hibby
05-10-2023, 08:37 PM
Why was I not surprised when the Aberdeen commentator said " Duk goes down "
05-10-2023, 08:41 PM
That Duk’s a diving ****
05-10-2023, 08:47 PM
****ing hell he’s at it again.
When’s the media in scotland going to pick up on Duks constant diving about?
05-10-2023, 08:48 PM
1-1 fs
05-10-2023, 08:49 PM
Really poor from the HJK central defender there, gifted them the equaliser.
Donegal Hibby
05-10-2023, 08:50 PM
Awful defending 🤬
05-10-2023, 08:51 PM
shoulda coulda been game there
05-10-2023, 08:53 PM
SJM scores for Aston Villa on 90+5
05-10-2023, 08:54 PM
McGinn!
Donegal Hibby
05-10-2023, 08:54 PM
Duk looking for a penalty again.
05-10-2023, 09:06 PM
SJM pulling Villa to a win.
05-10-2023, 09:07 PM
Horrible team Aberdeen with a slobbering halfwit of a manager.
Playing 3 static CB's against 1 striker and lumping it forward was shocking. I doubt they produced more than 1 or 2 flashes of football in whole game. I actually thought McGrath was their best player but he disappeared last 20 minutes.
Loved watching the SJM goal and crowd reaction. A proper football club and fans.
He's here!
05-10-2023, 09:29 PM
Loved watching the SJM goal and crowd reaction. A proper football club and fans.
Those sweat-retaining shirts they've been lumbered with need to go tho.
Donegal Hibby
05-10-2023, 09:36 PM
Aberdeen are nothing special . I thought there was a lot of niggling wee fouls in the game . Duk is dangerous to go near, always going down looking for a penalties .
06-10-2023, 05:37 AM
Aberdeen would have been looking to win that game. Poor result. They have a much small budget than Aberdeen.
06-10-2023, 06:21 AM
Aston Villa almost held by a Serbian team with a 9,000 capacity stadium. A very physical side who didn't allow Villa the space that Hibs gave them.
Bridge hibs
06-10-2023, 07:17 AM
Anyone know how much Beale has spent on players since being appointed sevco manager? Roughly like?
Rangers transfer hits and misses as boss sacked after £18m spending spree
So pretty much 18m on guff, what surprised me last night was how very average the rangers looked against a so called inferior team with only a tiny fraction of their budget, hardly any fans in a ground they share with 2 other teams and in which they dont even own
Butland is by far their best player and boy they ****ing need him. Dessers and Lammers are shockingly poor, Wright is just Wright and flatters to deceive, Goldson, Tavernier and Barasic are decent but defensively prone to errors more often or not, Raskin is decent and grafts and Sima can be a danger at times
Im loving it, no more than that ****ing shower of mutants deserve and long may they suffer
He's here!
06-10-2023, 09:13 AM
My boss is a Geordie who was at the game last night and he seems happy enough this morning. With the two local lads getting their or goals and the atmosphere as it was, I don’t think many of them woke up feeling that they’d sold their soul this morning…..
Easy to turn a blind eye when your team's winning and clearly the majority of Toon fans don't give **** who's footing the bill if it buys them success. Problem is we're not just talking about the increasing commercialisation of football here, we're talking about a football club being owned by the Saudi dictatorship, an inhumane regime whose abuse of human rights should IMO preclude them from being able to buy clubs like Newcastle to divert international attention away from their abhorrent crimes. The relationship of UK governments (both Labour and Tory) with the Saudi state down the years has come under justified attack, but when it comes to this barbaric state taking over one of the UK's most popular sporting institutions most of the fans are happy to shrug it off because 'it's fitba' ken'.
06-10-2023, 09:34 AM
Easy to turn a blind eye when your team's winning and clearly the majority of Toon fans don't give **** who's footing the bill if it buys them success. Problem is we're not just talking about the increasing commercialisation of football here, we're talking about a football club being owned by the Saudi dictatorship, an inhumane regime whose abuse of human rights should IMO preclude them from being able to buy clubs like Newcastle to divert international attention away from their abhorrent crimes. The relationship of UK governments (both Labour and Tory) with the Saudi state down the years has come under justified attack, but when it comes to this barbaric state taking over one of the UK's most popular sporting institutions most of the fans are happy to shrug it off because 'it's fitba' ken'.
It hasn't diverted attention from their crimes, though. If anything, it's drawn attention to them.
In the longer term, if Saudi commit humanitarian crimes or kill journalists, people aren't going to just ignore it because Newcastle are playing well.
I think the concept, and effect, of sportswashing is exaggerated.
He's here!
06-10-2023, 12:33 PM
It hasn't diverted attention from their crimes, though. If anything, it's drawn attention to them.
In the longer term, if Saudi commit humanitarian crimes or kill journalists, people aren't going to just ignore it because Newcastle are playing well.
‘Gigantic victory for sportswashing’: old truths will haunt golf’s new dawn | Golf | The Guardian (https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2023/jun/06/saudi-liv-pga-tour-divisions-within-golf)
Hardly. As this article makes clear, the Saudi state are now a massive player when it comes to global sports. There might be some unease about it, but when all's said and done sport affords them a soft landing because by and large most fans just want to watch the action rather than worry about human rights.
Credit to these Newcastle fans for taking a stand, but as they make clear it seems a bit of a forlorn battle while the team rides the crest of a wave:
Home (nufcfansagainstsportswashing.org.uk) (https://www.nufcfansagainstsportswashing.org.uk/)
06-10-2023, 03:51 PM
I've got some sympathy with this opinion.
06-10-2023, 03:53 PM
I just read in The Metro that West Ham are now unbeaten in their last 17 European games, a new British record. 😀
Praise the lord for porn. 🔨🔨🔨
06-10-2023, 06:01 PM
I just read in The Metro that West Ham are now unbeaten in their last 17 European games, a new British record. 😀
Its true! But you have to bear in mind they never play Champions League opposition. Still its a great achievement.
Donegal Hibby
06-10-2023, 06:23 PM
Birmingham v West Brom . skysports football 8:00 o'clock. On paper not a great game though least it's something to watch . Will go 2-1 West Brom .
06-10-2023, 06:44 PM
Birmingham v West Brom . skysports football 8:00 o'clock. On paper not a great game though least it's something to watch . Will go 2-1 West Brom .
I really struggle to watch Birmingham because of the stadium - anything right to left is like COVID era. Games at that level really need a bit of atmosphere and tension to them.
Donegal Hibby
06-10-2023, 07:10 PM
I really struggle to watch Birmingham because of the stadium - anything right to left is like COVID era. Games at that level really need a bit of atmosphere and tension to them.
I see what you mean , Least we have an early goal though 1-0 West Brom 👍
06-10-2023, 07:17 PM
I see what you mean , Least we have an early goal though 1-0 West Brom 👍
Nice to see West Brom playing in a tradional "Jeff Astle" kit. The first kit I can remember West Brom playing in. I always associate Birmingham playing in that blue shirt with the broad white band on the front (ala Trevor Francis Blues kit)
Green Reaper
06-10-2023, 07:22 PM
Hallelujah!
Donegal Hibby
06-10-2023, 07:25 PM
How was that a penalty?:confused:
06-10-2023, 07:28 PM
never ever ever ever ever ever EVER is that a penalty for birmingham, not in a month of sundays, not in a year of suundays is that a penalty
never ever, joe newell would surely agree
Donegal Hibby
06-10-2023, 07:45 PM
Thought West Brom were the better team before an awful penalty decision changed the game .
Donegal Hibby
06-10-2023, 08:51 PM
Excellent freekick from Birmingham 3-1 .
He's here!
06-10-2023, 10:03 PM
I've got some sympathy with this opinion.
On what basis?
Spurs missing chance after chance v Luton.
07-10-2023, 12:19 PM
Spurs down to ten
Bisouma off for simulation second bookable offence
07-10-2023, 12:53 PM
Spurs down to ten
Bisouma off for simulation second bookable offence
Embarrassing dive that was.
07-10-2023, 01:24 PM
Sunderland 0 Middlesbrough 4
He's here!
07-10-2023, 01:39 PM
Sunderland 0 Middlesbrough 4
Sunderland had a player red carded at the end of the first half and all the goals came in the second half. Still a bit of a blow for Mowbray tho as they've been going well.
He's here!
07-10-2023, 01:42 PM
Spurs missing chance after chance v Luton.
Late winner takes them top. Some manager they've landed.
07-10-2023, 01:57 PM
Late winner takes them top. Some manager they've landed.
Late winner? According to live score it was in the 52nd minute
07-10-2023, 02:17 PM
Everton 1 up!!
07-10-2023, 02:21 PM
Burnley beating Chelsea
07-10-2023, 02:43 PM
Man utd 1 down at home to Brentford
Everton 2 up
07-10-2023, 03:03 PM
Man utd 1 down at home to Brentford
Everton 2 up
Even at 2-0 I'm not confident Everton are going to get the points.
07-10-2023, 03:09 PM
Even at 2-0 I'm not confident Everton are going to get the points.
Yeah, it's so much like being Hibs fan it's unreal
07-10-2023, 03:45 PM
2-0 livi against Motherwell, great result for them.
Sloop67
07-10-2023, 04:00 PM
Man United grab 2 late goals 2-1
07-10-2023, 06:08 PM
McTominay comes on as sub with 5minutes to go and scores 2. Surely make the manager think.
07-10-2023, 06:31 PM
Apparently they did a lap of honour.
I can understand the euphoria of scoring twice in stoppage time to win, but jesus, its Brentford at home in the league. Its not exactly bayern in the 99 CL final is it?
Just seen the injury to Basham of Sheff Utd!
OMG [emoji1785]
Just seen the injury to Basham of Sheff Utd!
OMG [emoji1785]
I went and looked after seeing this. Ffs. Shocker.
🫣
David Busst was probably the worse I have every seen! Career ending!
Sloop67
08-10-2023, 06:22 AM
Fleetwood pumped 1-4 at home by Wycombe Wanderers
eaststandstoner
08-10-2023, 06:53 AM
Fleetwood pumped 1-4 at home by Wycombe Wanderers
How long do you think before Johnson starts talking about lions chasing players haha
08-10-2023, 09:41 AM
How long do you think before Johnson starts talking about lions chasing players haha
“Let your lessons be your teacher”, “play with will and skill”, and “we’ve the best fans in the world by the way, they clapped us off” - where do you start 😂
https://www.fleetwoodtownfc.com/news/2023/october/johnson-post-wycombe-h/
08-10-2023, 10:25 AM
St Mirren v The Rangers
Kick off 12 noon
Sky Sports Football
C’mon The Saintees
08-10-2023, 10:28 AM
St Mirren v The Rangers
Kick off 12 noon
Sky Sports Football
C’mon The Saintees
Do we really want St Mirren stretching their lead over us? I dislike Sevco as much as the next person, but I like Hibs more.
If St Mirren win today they go 9 points ahead of us. That's not an insignificant amount.
08-10-2023, 10:32 AM
On what basis?
Probably on the same basis as hibbyradge.
08-10-2023, 10:32 AM
Do we really want St Mirren stretching their lead over us? I dislike Sevco as much as the next person, but I like Hibs more.
If St Mirren win today they go 9 points ahead of us. That's not an insignificant amount.
With almost a quarter of the season gone. Hun result is easily the best result for Hibs.
08-10-2023, 10:34 AM
Yeah but Huns in free fall
08-10-2023, 10:37 AM
Yeah but Huns in free fall
We aren't going to finish above them though. We hopefully will finish above St Mirren but absolutely no guarantee of that.
08-10-2023, 10:59 AM
We aren't going to finish above them though. We hopefully will finish above St Mirren but absolutely no guarantee of that.
We will. Robinson has form for his side's falling away after good starts.
08-10-2023, 11:01 AM
Absolutely
08-10-2023, 11:05 AM
We will. Robinson has form for his side's falling away after good starts.
Perhaps, but as a said that's absolutely not guaranteed or being close to be guaranteed. I'd rather they didn't go 9 points ahead of us today.
08-10-2023, 11:19 AM
Naw just hate the Hun with a vengeance
Pile on the agony
I reckon we catch the Saints and finish behind the Hun
Just imho
08-10-2023, 11:20 AM
Pile on the agony
Just imho
Me too.
Would love to see rangers get humped today.
08-10-2023, 11:22 AM
Pile on the agony
Just imho
Yip.
'Mon the Buddies.
He's here!
08-10-2023, 11:25 AM
Yep, Sevco win is best for us today. Also need them to get their act together in time to take care of the yams in the cup semi.
08-10-2023, 11:26 AM
Yep, Sevco win is best for us today. Also need them to get their act together in time to take care of the yams in the cup semi.
I’d rather have Hearts in the cup final.
He's here!
08-10-2023, 11:27 AM
They'd won two on the bounce before yesterday. Think he'll do fine there. All the best to him.
08-10-2023, 11:28 AM
Rangers penalty
08-10-2023, 11:29 AM
Very soon i would think,as a leopard never changes its spots.
08-10-2023, 11:30 AM
Who are we more likely to beat in the final?
It's true we have a great record against the huns at hampden, and a deplorable one against hearts... but Naismiths team are nothing to fear. Playing hearts (if we get past aberdeen) would be a fantastic opportunity to not only win a cup but also end their cherished hampden hoodoo against us
FFS !
Penalty to Rangers
Red card Ryan Strain
St Mirren red card too
Bridge hibs
Red card saints
He's here!
08-10-2023, 11:31 AM
We've won our last 3 Hampden clashes with Sevco and lost the last 4 against the yams (in other words every single timr we've played them there). Best if Sevco take care of them in the semi. Of course we also need to beat the sheep which won't be straightforward.
08-10-2023, 11:32 AM
St Mirren 0 - 1 Rangers
Hearts have never beaten The Rangers at Hamdump
No way. Rangers every time.
He's here!
08-10-2023, 11:33 AM
Hearts have never beaten The Rangers at Hamdump
Also assuming Lowry won't be allowed to play which will weaken the yams.
eaststandstoner
08-10-2023, 11:34 AM
Stonewaller for rangers tbh, the sending off is harsh tho
08-10-2023, 11:35 AM
No way. Rangers every time.
Hearts always seem to want it more against us more fight more determination could play brilliantly beat us then go out and lose to Killie at home
08-10-2023, 11:35 AM
FFS !
Penalty to Rangers
Red card Ryan Strain
Excellent
Donegal Hibby
08-10-2023, 11:37 AM
Penalty given by Nick Walsh to his club and player sent off to make things easier for them . Wondering what's the difference between ours yesterday and that one :confused:
eaststandstoner
08-10-2023, 11:40 AM
They'd won two on the bounce before yesterday. Think he'll do fine there. All the best to him.
Lost heavy at home to Oxford and then yesterday, I dunno if he does mate but good luck to him.
eaststandstoner
08-10-2023, 11:43 AM
“Let your lessons be your teacher”, “play with will and skill”, and “we’ve the best fans in the world by the way, they clapped us off” - where do you start [emoji23]
https://www.fleetwoodtownfc.com/news/2023/october/johnson-post-wycombe-h/
[emoji1787] so pretty much straight away then
We've won our last 3 Hampden clashes with Sevco and lost the last 4 against the yams (in other words every single timr we've played them there). Best if Sevco take care of them in the semi. Of course we also need to beat the sheep which won't be straightforward.
They’ve also not beaten us in their last 3 attempts, despite 2 of them being at home.
Penalty given by Nick Walsh to his club and player sent off to make things easier for them . Wondering what's the difference between ours yesterday and that one :confused:
Not seen our shout from yesterday as I was at the game but the Rangers one is a stonewall penalty and red card - absolute stupidity by the St Mirren player.
That’s two abominations of decisions in one.
08-10-2023, 11:45 AM
Not seen our shout from yesterday as I was at the game but the Rangers one is a stonewall penalty and red card - absolute stupidity by the St Mirren player.
Was about to post the exact same.
08-10-2023, 11:47 AM
Would be very amusing if St Mirren draw this from here.
08-10-2023, 11:51 AM
Right guys what’s this wee box thing fitba players have in the nape of their backs between their shoulder blades nowadays ?
I take it it’s to monitor heart rate beat and miles run etc
Noticed all the players had them on MOTD
08-10-2023, 12:09 PM
Right guys what’s this wee box thing fitba players have in the nape of their backs between their shoulder blades nowadays ?
What you said. It is a GPS that also monitors heart rate etc.
08-10-2023, 12:15 PM
It’s to measure statistics in case they get chased by a lion.
LunasBoots
08-10-2023, 12:19 PM
Sevco crap again, shame Strain got sent off
08-10-2023, 12:20 PM
It’s to measure statistics in case they get chased by a lion.
Thought it was to measure their game intelligence? 😀
08-10-2023, 12:20 PM
What you said. It is a GPS that also monitors heart rate etc.
👍
Manxhibs
08-10-2023, 12:21 PM
I think they’ll get another penalty to help them out, as they’re still not looking like the better team.
08-10-2023, 12:26 PM
Sevco crap again, shame Strain got sent off
Why is it a shame? St Mirren are 6 points ahead of us in the race for 3rd place before todays game, if they drop points it’s good for us. Strain missing other games through suspension will also benefit us.
Donegal Hibby
08-10-2023, 12:34 PM
If that's a penalty we should have had one too . Sending off very harsh imo and has spoilt the game hopefully the buddies can nick a equaliser though 🤞
08-10-2023, 12:36 PM
If that's a penalty we should have had one too . Sending off very harsh imo and has spoilt the game hopefully the buddies can nick a equaliser though 🤞
Maybe we should have, as I said I’ve not seen it - doesn’t change the fact the Rangers one is a stonewaller though.
Why is the sending off harsh? The St Mirren players literally reaches out to touch the ball with his hand, it wasn’t an accidental contact. The contact results in the ball deflecting away from the Rangers player at the back post. The only person responsible for spoiling the game is the St Mirren defender who made a stupid decision to handle the ball.
Donegal Hibby
08-10-2023, 12:45 PM
Maybe we should have, as I said I’ve not seen it - doesn’t change the fact the Rangers one is a stonewaller though.
Why is the sending off harsh? The St Mirren players literally reaches out to touch the ball with his hand, it wasn’t an accidental contact. The contact results in the ball deflecting away from the Rangers player at the back post. The only person responsible for spoiling the game is the St Mirren defender who made a stupid decision to handle the ball.
I actually thought it was accidental and was ball to hand rather than hand to ball though I've only seen it once so could be wrong. 2-0 Huns now 😡
LunasBoots
08-10-2023, 12:47 PM
Why is it a shame? St Mirren are 6 points ahead of us in the race for 3rd place before todays game, if they drop points it’s good for us. Strain missing other games through suspension will also benefit us.
Of course, I just don't like Rangers very much, thought the red was harsh aswell, we will see the same thing in other games only get a yellow this season.
08-10-2023, 12:48 PM
I actually thought it was accidental and was ball to hand rather than hand to ball though I've only seen it once so could be wrong. 2-0 Huns now 😡
I can't tell if he reached out or his arm came to that position with his natural running motion. Very similar to a player using their arms to get lift and the ball hitting them when they are above their heads. Two rules though, Pen to Rangers and no pen to Hibs
HarpOnHibee
08-10-2023, 12:59 PM
Wonder what their punishment will be for their song book this weekend. I'm going to go out on a limb here and say bugger all.
08-10-2023, 01:11 PM
1-0 The Hammers, Soucek.
08-10-2023, 01:21 PM
Brighton 1 v 0 Liverpool
Gift from ex Brighton man McAllister
eaststandstoner
08-10-2023, 01:21 PM
1-0 Brighton
08-10-2023, 01:23 PM
Game should be replayed.
HarpOnHibee
08-10-2023, 01:40 PM
Liverpool are laughable defensively. You'd think Klopp would have addressed their biggest weakness in all the time that he's been there.
08-10-2023, 01:40 PM
SaaaaalllllllaaAahhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!
08-10-2023, 01:45 PM
2-1 Liverpool
Salah pen
HarpOnHibee
08-10-2023, 01:47 PM
2-1 Liverpool
Salah pen
Joke decision.
08-10-2023, 01:48 PM
The amount of times Liverpool concede the first goal is incredible, as is the amount of times they are able to recover. Strong mentality Klopp has instilled there
08-10-2023, 01:51 PM
Liverpool are laughable defensively. You'd think Klopp would have addressed their biggest weakness in all the time that he's been there.
They were absolutely incredible defensively for years.
It's a defensive mid like Fabinho and pre injury van dijk theyre missing.
08-10-2023, 02:00 PM
Joke decision.
Whit? 😂
Brighton player should have been sent off
08-10-2023, 02:09 PM
Whit? 😂
Brighton player should have been sent off
Yes surprise no discussion about a red clearly denying a goalscpring opportunity
08-10-2023, 02:18 PM
1-0 The Hammers, Soucek.
1-1, subject to VAR.
08-10-2023, 02:19 PM
1-1, subject to VAR.
Goal stands.
08-10-2023, 02:21 PM
2-1 Newcastle
Donegal Hibby
08-10-2023, 02:22 PM
1-1, subject to VAR.
Game on .Cmon the Magpies.
08-10-2023, 02:41 PM
Brighton 2 v 2 Liverpool
08-10-2023, 02:46 PM
Sheep 1 v 0 St Johnstone
Correction
Sheep 0 v 0 St Johnstone
Sheep 1 v 0 St Johnstone
Considine forgot who he was playing for.
08-10-2023, 02:49 PM
2-1 Newcastle
2-2
Keepthefaith
08-10-2023, 02:51 PM
sheep goal disallowed
08-10-2023, 03:19 PM
Quite depleted Arsenal and City sides today. Should still be good game.
08-10-2023, 03:25 PM
Wonder what their punishment will be for their song book this weekend. I'm going to go out on a limb here and say bugger all.
Who would punish them?
08-10-2023, 03:37 PM
Is it just me or is the camera in the Arsenal game weird? The angle looks like it keeps moving.
On sky football they are using a new camera angle, game mode there calling it supposed to be like the view you’d get playing fifa not convinced myself tho
Usual cameras on the other channel
08-10-2023, 03:44 PM
On sky football they are using a new camera angle, game mode there calling it supposed to be like the view you’d get playing fifa not convinced myself tho
Ah right.
Yeah it's terrible, I'll stick with the standard camera angle.
08-10-2023, 03:51 PM
That'll take a bit of getting used to, back to Main Event.
plhibs
08-10-2023, 03:52 PM
That Ducky guy at Aberdeen really likes to hit the ground every time someone goes near him.
HarpOnHibee
08-10-2023, 03:57 PM
That Ducky guy at Aberdeen really likes to hit the ground every time someone goes near him.
Yep and Aberdeen commentary screaming "foul" whenever a breeze blows him over. They're worse than the bairns in the stand.
That'll take a bit of getting used to, back to Main Event.
Aye it’s not for me I’ve tried it for a bit of time but it’s rotten
08-10-2023, 04:00 PM
Aberdeen 0 v 0 St Johnstone FT
08-10-2023, 04:02 PM
Kovacic lucky to only get booked
Just_Jimmy
08-10-2023, 04:03 PM
Kovacic lucky to only get bookedI don't understand how that's not a red. He's out of control and late and catches him (no where near the ball either).
There's been a few dodgy of iffy reds last few weeks and I don't see how that's not at least as bad.
Inconsistent as usual.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
08-10-2023, 04:06 PM
Aberdeen 0 v 0 St Johnstone FT
Good to see.
08-10-2023, 04:07 PM
Holy ****, he's not sent Kovacic off for that. Thats as clear a booking as you'll ever see.
How is that not a red for Kovacic?
Horrific refereeing.
Unbelievable!
Tully
08-10-2023, 04:08 PM
What is the point of var stonewall red card for Man City player then gets away with another one
08-10-2023, 04:08 PM
Horrific refereeing.
5 points was the difference between these sides last season. Thats Arsenal winning one game vs City. Decisions like that literally win or lose leagues. No wonder Klopp has been angry all week.
08-10-2023, 04:09 PM
That’s a horrific decision.
08-10-2023, 04:16 PM
Horrific refereeing.
Corrupt as that decision. City do get a few decisions
08-10-2023, 04:16 PM
5 points was the difference between these sides last season. Thats Arsenal winning one game vs City. Decisions like that literally win or lose leagues. No wonder Klopp has been angry all week.
Totally agree
Holy ****, he's not sent Kovacic off for that. Thats as clear a booking as you'll ever see.
He should have gone for his first challenge
eaststandstoner
08-10-2023, 04:29 PM
Kovacic is a Lucky laddie, 2 yellows imo
08-10-2023, 04:35 PM
Think Mr Oliver must have taken delivery of 2 first class Etihad flight tickets during the week.
08-10-2023, 05:11 PM
Think Mr Oliver must have taken delivery of 2 first class Etihad flight tickets during the week.
He was literally in Dubai last week refereeing.
08-10-2023, 05:11 PM
Arsenal 0 v 0 Man City
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
08-10-2023, 05:16 PM
Arsenal 1 v 0 Man City
Drumlanrig
08-10-2023, 05:22 PM
Arsenal 1 v 0 Man City
Just come in from having a wee swally and thought I saw Marinello on the back of an Arsenal shirt?
LewysGot2
08-10-2023, 05:25 PM
Just come in from having a wee swally and thought I saw Marinello on the back of an Arsenal shirt?
Martinelli 🤣
Drumlanrig
08-10-2023, 05:27 PM
Oh no , it’s Martinelli!
I need to stay oot the boozer on a Sunday, I’d gone back 40 years there!
08-10-2023, 05:30 PM
Always good to see Citeh lose
Drumlanrig
08-10-2023, 05:33 PM
Always good to see Citeh lose
Aye but never good to see Arsenal win!
08-10-2023, 05:35 PM
Should've been a leathering had Oliver done his job.
Good guys won in the end. Positive result for football. City 3 losses without Rodri. All that money and mince without 1 player.
08-10-2023, 05:56 PM
Arsenal 0 v 0 Man City
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Yep snore fest
08-10-2023, 06:03 PM
City must be getting used to losing games now
08-10-2023, 06:18 PM
Missed the match completely, was at a hockey game but I’m guessing Saliba had Haaland well under control.
08-10-2023, 06:40 PM
Oh no , it’s Martinelli!
I need to stay oot the boozer on a Sunday, I’d gone back 40 years there!
Cough..... 50
08-10-2023, 07:16 PM
Missed the match completely, was at a hockey game but I’m guessing Saliba had Haaland well under control.
Both of the Arsenal centre backs strolled it.
08-10-2023, 09:17 PM
Napoli 1 Fiorentina 3, very decent game.
08-10-2023, 09:19 PM
Ajax in the relegation play off place.
Should've been a leathering had Oliver done his job.
Good guys won in the end. Positive result for football. City 3 losses without Rodri. All that money and mince without 1 player.
I think De Bruyne's absence may also be relevant!
09-10-2023, 10:03 AM
I think De Bruyne's absence may also be relevant!
Both sides had key players missing tbf.
09-10-2023, 01:43 PM
Yep snore fest
Fairly typical now when an EPL game gets the big build-up on sky all week. Arsenal win at least prolongs a bit of competition before the inevitable city run-away title though.
09-10-2023, 02:06 PM
Fairly typical now when an EPL game gets the big build-up on sky all week. Arsenal win at least prolongs a bit of competition before the inevitable city run-away title though.
Already been some absolutely crackers this season. Arsenal Spurs and Arsenal United were great games.
09-10-2023, 02:17 PM
first EPL game i've watched this season but only watched the first half and flicked channels, the game was rank, maybe it got better in the 2nd half
i'll stick to watching English Championship games this season :)
Donegal Hibby
09-10-2023, 06:06 PM
first EPL game i've watched this season but only watched the first half and flicked channels, the game was rank, maybe it got better in the 2nd half
i'll stick to watching English Championship games this season :)
Burton v Cambridge skysports main event . Think its going to be a classic 😂
09-10-2023, 06:11 PM
Agreed, wasn't a great game and that's between the two top teams in the league. The biggest talking points were again around around the use of VAR and refereeing rather than any great moments of brilliance or a great game.
Donegal Hibby
09-10-2023, 07:32 PM
Burton 2-0 Cambridge.
09-10-2023, 07:50 PM
Good piece by Jonathan Wilson on Sunday’s game at the Emirates.
Typical Wilson in that he can describe the nuances of what was really going on, on the pitch, while making broader points, in this case about Guardiola and the potential shift in how the top teams battle each other.
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2023/oct/09/arsenal-manchester-city-jonathan-wilson-analysis
09-10-2023, 07:50 PM
Agreed, wasn't a great game and that's between the two top teams in the league. The biggest talking points were again around around the use of VAR and refereeing rather than any great moments of brilliance or a great game.
It's one game, though. Watch all 38 games of both teams and you'll see countless moments of brilliance.
The game featured some of the best defenders in the world too. I mean, Saliba, Gabriel, Ben White and Dias had brilliant games.
09-10-2023, 08:06 PM
The goal just about came in time before the sky team were forced into going full ‘what a great 0-0 its been’ full of tactical masterclass and defensive brilliance that only proper EPL fans could understand (or swallow).
09-10-2023, 09:41 PM
The goal just about came in time before the sky team were forced into going full ‘what a great 0-0 its been’ full of tactical masterclass and defensive brilliance that only proper EPL fans could understand (or swallow).
It literally was though. Nothing to do with being a proper EPL fan. Arsenal limited City to a record low number of attempts under Pep. It was a world class defensive performance.
10-10-2023, 05:49 PM
Maloney v Johnson tonight in the last two sacked Hibs managers derby.
7pm KO
Donegal Hibby
10-10-2023, 07:11 PM
Wigan 0-2 Fleetwood . :greengrin
10-10-2023, 07:18 PM
Always knew LJ would come good
Not over yet though
10-10-2023, 07:18 PM
1-2 now.
10-10-2023, 07:34 PM
1-2 now.
2-2
10-10-2023, 07:40 PM
El Sackedio sounds like an entertaining game.
10-10-2023, 07:48 PM
3-2 Wigan.
3-3. Pens.
10-10-2023, 07:48 PM
3-2 Wigan. LJ will be gone soon no doubt.
Said at the time but really think he should've taken some time out before taking another job.
10-10-2023, 07:50 PM
Said at the time but really think he should've taken some time out before taking another job.
Don’t think it would make much difference. He’s just a poor coach and manager.
10-10-2023, 07:57 PM
Drawn one. Won two. Lost heavily to Wycombe who are considerably higher in the table. Competitive in a cup group game...
The Wycombe result probably hurts him the most. Not too shabby a showing overall having taken over a struggling side.
Needs a couple of positive results but it seems we said that his entire tenure with us.
10-10-2023, 07:58 PM
3-3. Pens
Wigan win on pens.
10-10-2023, 08:00 PM
He's doing pretty well down there compared to his predecessor
Donegal Hibby
10-10-2023, 09:20 PM
He's doing pretty well down there compared to his predecessor
Think his predecessor only managed something like 1 point from 6 games and they've picked up something like 7 out of there last 5 games under LJ . I'm not sure though think Maloney's got something like 3 points from there last 5 games . In Fleetwood and Wigan's situation I'd rather points in the bag than progression in the cup .
11-10-2023, 05:43 AM
Think his predecessor only managed something like 1 point from 6 games and they've picked up something like 7 out of there last 5 games under LJ . I'm not sure though think Maloney's got something like 3 points from there last 5 games . In Fleetwood and Wigan's situation I'd rather points in the bag than progression in the cup .
Agree. I'm pretty sure that in both clubs situations they'll have been happy to sacrifice the football league trophy. It's league points they need. LJ has done well to get as many as quickly considering their form when he joined.
Maloney is in trouble though. 4 league defeats in a row. 6 league defeats in 7 games. I don't think management is for him.
11-10-2023, 02:23 PM
Agree. I'm pretty sure that in both clubs situations they'll have been happy to sacrifice the football league trophy. It's league points they need. LJ has done well to get as many as quickly considering their form when he joined.
Maloney is in trouble though. 4 league defeats in a row. 6 league defeats in 7 games. I don't think management is for him.
I think management is for him, just not at the level Wigan and Hibs operate at.
eaststandstoner
11-10-2023, 03:32 PM
Drawn one. Won two. Lost heavily to Wycombe who are considerably higher in the table. Competitive in a cup group game...
The Wycombe result probably hurts him the most. Not too shabby a showing overall having taken over a struggling side.
Needs a couple of positive results but it seems we said that his entire tenure with us.
Sure his 1st game against Oxford at home he lost 3-0 as well mate
JammyDoidger
11-10-2023, 06:17 PM
Dylan Levitt on the bench for wales tonight.
12-10-2023, 04:37 PM
Watching Latvia v Armenia, oddly entertaining, it's like 2 primary school teams playing. 😄
12-10-2023, 04:49 PM
Watching Latvia v Armenia, oddly entertaining, it's like 2 primary school teams playing. 😄
1-0 Latvia ht
12-10-2023, 05:20 PM
Latvia player sent off
12-10-2023, 05:26 PM
2-0 Latvia
12-10-2023, 05:31 PM
Gunn
Hickey
Porteous
Hendry
McKenna
Robertson
McGinn
McTominay
McGregor
Christie
Dykes
12-10-2023, 06:10 PM
Gogic marking Haaland tonight, come on the Alex
13-10-2023, 06:04 PM
Scotland U21's game live on Scotland National Teams YouTube channel, 1-0 after 2 minutes.
13-10-2023, 06:07 PM
Scotland U21's game live on Scotland National Teams YouTube channel, 1-0 after 2 minutes.
Good second goal for 2-0
13-10-2023, 06:19 PM
Adverts are really getting on my nerves.
13-10-2023, 06:32 PM
3-0
13-10-2023, 06:42 PM
3-1
13-10-2023, 07:40 PM
South Africa play Eswatini today, never even heard of the country before. Learn something new every day so I'll go bed a little less stupid tonight.
13-10-2023, 07:41 PM
South Africa play Eswatini today, never even heard of the country before. Learn something new every day so I'll go bed a little less stupid tonight.
Swaziland in colonial times :wink:
Donegal Hibby
14-10-2023, 03:58 PM
Peterhead v Dundee Utd 5:30 BBC ALBA
14-10-2023, 03:58 PM
Peterhead v Dundee Utd 5:30 BBC ALBA
Well minded. Forgot about that 👍
14-10-2023, 04:39 PM
1-0 United.
14-10-2023, 04:40 PM
Just can't take to Middleton. Probably stems from his time here.
14-10-2023, 04:44 PM
Good strike but poor from keeper, Utd look like they’ll win comfortably
14-10-2023, 06:39 PM
man united fans should be very happy with this Manchester United: Qatari businessman Sheikh Jassim 'withdrawing from process' to buy club | Football News | Sky Sports (https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11667/12984553/sheikh-jassim-withdrawing-from-process-to-buy-man-utd)
Manchester United: Qatari businessman Sheikh Jassim 'withdrawing from process' to buy club
14-10-2023, 07:01 PM
Watched a load of football today with no Hibs game. Had a few coupons on the go so just streamed relevant games.
Haven't noticed before just how boring and formulaic football has become. Almost every single team, regardless of level try and play the same now. Boring possession based football with the centre halfs seeing far too much of the ball at feet. Players scared to make passes over the top incase they lose possession. So so dull!
If I didn't love and follow Hibs I honestly don't think I'd watch modern football.
15-10-2023, 07:19 AM
Watched a load of football today with no Hibs game. Had a few coupons on the go so just streamed relevant games.
Haven't noticed before just how boring and formulaic football has become. Almost every single team, regardless of level try and play the same now. Boring possession based football with the centre halfs seeing far too much of the ball at feet. Players scared to make passes over the top incase they lose possession. So so dull!
If I didn't love and follow Hibs I honestly don't think I'd watch modern football.
That's how I feel. In saying that I watched the Australia game as there was Hibs interest and quite enjoyed it. Started watching the Peterhead Dundee United game and ended up switching it over. Can barely watch 5 minutes of an English game. Just doesn't interest me.
Trinity Hibee
15-10-2023, 01:22 PM
Well put and I share many of those thoughts. I find myself watching very few games nowadays. You just don’t see players/teams given the freedom as much as they used to even 20 years ago.
15-10-2023, 04:58 PM
FT Georgia 4 Cyprus 0
15-10-2023, 05:14 PM
Am I correct in assuming that Scotland and Spain are equal on head to head, Spain have a much better goal difference than Scotland (+6). So the only way we can top the group is on points
I presume a draw tonight would be the perfect outcome for Scotland, meaning 2 wins would top it. Can’t see Spain dropping any points in their last 2 games after tonight
15-10-2023, 05:33 PM
i want a draw tonight, Norway are then out and spain can only reach 19, of course it means Scotland would then need to beat both Georgia and Norway to top the group, if Spain win all three remaining games and Scotland win their remaining two then Scotland and Spain would both be on 21 but spain will have a huge +GD at the end, i'd rather we didn't lose top spot on GD
Trinity Hibee
15-10-2023, 06:00 PM
i want a draw tonight, Norway are then out and spain can only reach 19, of course it means Scotland would then need to beat both Georgia and Norway to top the group, if Spain win all three remaining games and Scotland win their remaining two then Scotland and Spain would both be on 21 but spain will have a huge +GD at the end, i'd rather we didn't lose top spot on GD
Agreed. Want to qualify ASAP but would be nice to still have top spot to play for after tonight.
15-10-2023, 06:37 PM
Tonight I feel Spanish.
15-10-2023, 06:42 PM
Tonight I feel Spanish.
A draw is much better than a Spain win surely?
15-10-2023, 06:43 PM
Agreed. Want to qualify ASAP but would be nice to still have top spot to play for after tonight.
We qualify at just the same time if it’s a draw or a Spain win. The draw is ideal for winning the group.
15-10-2023, 07:05 PM
1-0 Spain.
pollution
15-10-2023, 07:06 PM
1-0 Spain.
Here we go.....
Stairway 2 7
15-10-2023, 07:08 PM
Anyone any ideas
15-10-2023, 07:09 PM
Why did Morata put it in?? Must have known there was a danger of being offside.
Anyone any ideas
Nope but why didn't the Spanish player just let ball go in net.
15-10-2023, 07:09 PM
Anyone any ideas
WTF is going on with VAR?
This is nonsense. Didn’t the Norwegian lad not play them on anyway?
JammyDoidger
15-10-2023, 07:12 PM
UEFA doing everything in the power to make sure Scotland won't be in Germany, what a shambles btw, ruling goals out for the fun of it now.
15-10-2023, 07:13 PM
What have UEFA got against Scotland? I get they probably want Spain and Haaland there but this is becoming a farce.
Trinity Hibee
15-10-2023, 07:16 PM
https://x.com/viaplaysportsuk/status/1713633879108485548?s=42&t=Lf2Je9-hRg6uExdvfVlCgA
15-10-2023, 07:16 PM
Was it not that he was offside in the 1st phase so when the Norwegian defender plays the ball he comes from an offside position. If he did not touch the ball into the net it would have been a goal he should have left it
Trinity Hibee
15-10-2023, 07:17 PM
They really need to start letting fans in the ground and on tv listen to the officials decision making. Games are farcical now
Trinity Hibee
15-10-2023, 07:18 PM
Was it not that he was offside in the 1st phase so when the Norwegian defender plays the ball he comes from an offside position. If he did not touch the ball into the net would it have been a goal?
I believe as the defender deliberately touched the ball it becomes a different phase of play or at least that is what is being mentioned. So morata was off at first ball in but when defender touches it he’s onside. Morata shouldn’t have touched it though
15-10-2023, 07:19 PM
Was it not that he was offside in the 1st phase so when the Norwegian defender plays the ball he comes from an offside position. If he did not touch the ball into the net would it have been a goal?
Think the reason the ref ends up going to the monitor is because the subjective bit about whether the ball was intentionally played comes in. Of course it was intentionally played, the boy flew through the air to reach it!