View Full Version : Match Updates 2021-22 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

Potty78
22-07-2021, 08:39 PM
By the sounds of radio Scotland Aberdeen are brilliant and just beat real madrid again🤦*♂️

22-07-2021, 08:43 PM
Thats a good result for Aberdeen.

22-07-2021, 10:48 PM
Mueller starts for Orlando. Live on Skysports in about 40 minutes.

22-07-2021, 11:07 PM
That's an outstanding result for Aberdeen.

23-07-2021, 10:23 PM
That's an outstanding result for Aberdeen.

There’s talk of another star above their badge it was so good. The Sportsound team are away for a lie down in a dark room to recover the exhaustion induced by elation.

24-07-2021, 10:54 AM
Team GB Women 0 v 0 Japan

Live BBC

24-07-2021, 12:00 PM
Japan 0 v 1 Team GB

Ellen White 74

24-07-2021, 12:15 PM
Kim little is captain of the GB team 👍

24-07-2021, 12:21 PM
Japan 0 v 1 Team GB FT

Team GB qualify for the Quarter Finals

CloudSquall
24-07-2021, 12:51 PM
Boooooooooooo

24-07-2021, 02:06 PM
Ross County 1 v 0 Montrose

Spittal

24-07-2021, 02:13 PM
Celtic 1 v 0 West Ham

McGregor

24-07-2021, 02:15 PM
Livingston 1 down against the Blue Brazil

24-07-2021, 02:26 PM
Celtic 1 v 1 West Ham

Antonio

24-07-2021, 02:31 PM
Arbroath 0 v 2 Kelty Hearts

24-07-2021, 02:32 PM
2-1 West Ham.

Barkas is awful eh?

Celtic look fantastic going forward but absolutely brutal defensively. Like really bad.

24-07-2021, 02:34 PM
Antonio showing a burst of pace

24-07-2021, 02:34 PM
Celtic Keeper is worse than honking

SJNB Hibby
24-07-2021, 02:35 PM
I see Celtics b-team were held 1-1 by east kilbride

SJNB Hibby
24-07-2021, 02:36 PM
Livingston 1 down against the Blue Brazil

1-1 now

24-07-2021, 02:39 PM
3-1 west ham

2-1 Livi

Hamilton 0 Albion rovers 2

24-07-2021, 02:40 PM
3-1 west ham

2-1 Livi

Celtic's defence is very poor.

24-07-2021, 02:41 PM
I know it's Hearts and their rank. But I reckon they have a real chance at home to Celtic first game of the season.

Ideal time to play them. Surely they'll have a new keeper/three or so defenders sooner rather than later.

24-07-2021, 02:43 PM
Celtic's defence is very poor.

didn't realise it was on the tellybox until i looked in here, so only saw last two mins :)

24-07-2021, 02:51 PM
didn't realise it was on the tellybox until i looked in here, so only saw last two mins :)
Premier Sports

24-07-2021, 02:52 PM
HT's

Arbroath 1 Kelty 2
East Fife 2 Elgin 2
Dundee 3 Forfar 0
Ross co 2 Montrose 0
Livingston 2 Cowdenbeath1
Raith Rovers 0 Alloa 0
Hamilton 0 Albion Rovers 2
Motherwell 1 Annan Athletic 0
QoS 2 Airdrie 0
Kilmarnock 1 Stranraer 0
Morton 0 Clyde 0

24-07-2021, 02:55 PM
Premier Sports

i've switched channels again and will now be watching *Motherwell v Annan

*IPTV

Arbroath 2 Kelty 2

24-07-2021, 03:11 PM
Some Celtic fans booing Griffiths when he's subbed on.

24-07-2021, 03:12 PM
Killie 2 Stranraer 1
Livi 3 Cowdenbeath 1
Arbroath 3 Kelty 2
Dundee 3 Forfar 1
Morton 1 Clyde 1
Ross co 4 Montrose 1
Hamilton 1 Albion Rovers 2
QoS 4 Airdrie 0
East Fife 2 Elgin 3

Motherwell 2 Annan 0

Sellick 2 West ham 6

H18S NX
24-07-2021, 04:45 PM
That's some strip the Huns have, Black and Orange,wonder why?

24-07-2021, 04:45 PM
listening to Livi's Martindale it was interesting him saying their players that have had two covid vaccinations are recovering a lot more quicker than those that have just had the one

24-07-2021, 05:00 PM
Quite impressed that Celtic managed to take 2 from The Hammers! 😃

24-07-2021, 10:05 PM
Quite impressed that Celtic managed to take 2 from The Hammers! 😃

Celtic 2 Hammers 6

24-07-2021, 10:16 PM
Celtic 2 Hammers 6

Ive had the pub league text.

I replied with Hibs 2 Arsenal 1

25-07-2021, 02:11 AM
https://twitter.com/PremierSportsTV/status/1418966423318274062?s=19

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

25-07-2021, 03:09 AM
Mexico giving Honduras a chasing. 3-0 and not even half time yet.....

25-07-2021, 06:29 AM
I know it’s only pre season but Celtic look just as bad if not worse this year.

They’ll be nowhere near Rangers. Why they appointed that Aussie boy is anyone’s guess. I’d have expected Hibs to be considering someone like that, not a club with Celtics money.

25-07-2021, 06:36 AM

They’ll be nowhere near Rangers. Why they appointed that Aussie boy is anyone’s guess. I’d have expected Hibs to be considering someone like that, not a club with Celtics money.

Only thing that might get them close to Rangers is the champions league groups. No chance of Celtic making them, and decent chance for Rangers. Playing twice a week might take its toll.

FWIW I don’t think it’s the managers fault, he might end up a dud but Lennon will have left an absolutely ****show to sort out. I reckon they’ll start off woefully bad but improve as the season goes and be too strong for the rest of us.

25-07-2021, 07:54 AM

:agree: I'm getting the impression that he won't last long there.

25-07-2021, 09:26 AM
:agree: I'm getting the impression that he won't last long there.

Especially if they have a lot of fans getting into Celtic Park, fan power!

Not all is his fault though, don’t think Hibs fans would be happy without a manager for a number of months either

25-07-2021, 11:51 AM

He feels like their Caixinha. Wouldn't bet against Hearts getting something next weekend.

25-07-2021, 12:17 PM

There’s a phrase for him only being able to use what he has at his disposal.

They’re a bit of a shambles right now, a perfect example of what happens when a football club becomes complacent.

I feel sorry for him, he seems decent and is being hung out to dry a bit, and should only be judged once he’s got at the very least a new keeper, back 4, and cover. Their current defenders are honking and nowhere near the level Celtic should be wanting to be at.

25-07-2021, 02:26 PM
St Mirren 1 v 0 Partick Th

Jamie McGrath pen

25-07-2021, 03:55 PM
St Mirren 2 v 0 Partick Th

Shaughnessy

25-07-2021, 04:17 PM
There’s a phrase for him only being able to use what he has at his disposal.

They’re a bit of a shambles right now, a perfect example of what happens when a football club becomes complacent.

I feel sorry for him, he seems decent and is being hung out to dry a bit, and should only be judged once he’s got at the very least a new keeper, back 4, and cover. Their current defenders are honking and nowhere near the level Celtic should be wanting to be at.

The guys been in the door about a month. Lennon left a terrible mess behind and you can't judge a new manager after such a short space of time.

25-07-2021, 04:18 PM
St Mirren win their section and will be seeded in tonight’s draw

25-07-2021, 04:22 PM
Is that Boyce playing centre mid for them today? Can't see him being a great midfielder at all.

25-07-2021, 04:29 PM
The Hertz need to score at least two goals and win to be seeded.

25-07-2021, 04:51 PM
The Hertz need to score at least two goals and win to be seeded.

I'm watching it what a bore fest 😴😴

25-07-2021, 04:52 PM
ICT should have scored there.

25-07-2021, 04:53 PM
St Mirren win their section and will be seeded in tonight’s draw

Not true, if hearts win 2-1 or by 2 or more, it’ll be drawn between st mirren and Dundee United as both sides have 12 points +8 9-1.

25-07-2021, 04:55 PM
Hertz squad is poor and they've added one left back on loan to it. Could be some panic buys coming up, doesn't make much sense. Hopefully they have the poor season I reckon they might.

KdyHby
25-07-2021, 04:57 PM
Hertz squad is poor and they've added one left back on loan to it. Could be some panic buys coming up, doesn't make much sense. Hopefully they have the poor season I reckon they might.

They'd still up their game against us 😠

25-07-2021, 04:58 PM
Rangers v Madrid just starting 🇪🇸

25-07-2021, 05:00 PM

Naturally, always happens. But their squad is pretty rubbish.

25-07-2021, 05:05 PM

I just read some pish on social media about the hun being the most successful club side of all time. Madrid fans just confused by that.

h1bs4life
25-07-2021, 05:06 PM
Naturally, always happens. But their squad is pretty rubbish.

Not much of a game , has Billy Dodds swallowed John Robertson he has put on a few pounds

25-07-2021, 05:09 PM
1-0 Real Madrid

25-07-2021, 05:33 PM
Billy Dodds seriously needs to start a wee health kick, he does not look healthy at all.

BS44
25-07-2021, 05:36 PM
Not true, if hearts win 2-1 or by 2 or more, it’ll be drawn between st mirren and Dundee United as both sides have 12 points +8 9-1.

According to Radio Scotland St Mirren are definitely seeded, hearts have to win and score at least two goals

Home and then away goals scored are two of the ways that who gets the last seed can be decided

25-07-2021, 05:44 PM
Unless hearts get a few more bodies in with some quality I’m not worried about them threatening for 3rd or 4th at all this season

25-07-2021, 05:51 PM
According to Radio Scotland St Mirren are definitely seeded, hearts have to win and score at least two goals

Home and then away goals scored are two of the ways that who goes through can be decided

Hopefully they're unseeded and we get them at home. 1-0 now though.

25-07-2021, 05:51 PM
1-0 Hearts

Jamie Walker

25-07-2021, 05:53 PM
Try telling that to St Mirren TV then :greengrin

25-07-2021, 05:53 PM
Hopefully they're unseeded and we get them at home. 1-0 now though.

Aye I’d rather get them now than at a semi final stage

25-07-2021, 05:55 PM
Inverness looked alright in the first half but been so poor this half.

25-07-2021, 06:00 PM

Home and then away goals scored are two of the ways that who gets the last seed can be decided

What a shame it would be if they missed out on being seeded due to away goals scored.

25-07-2021, 06:01 PM
Gardyne straight red card

25-07-2021, 06:02 PM
Gardyne straight red card

Bad tackle, he can't really complain about it being a red. Is he from Andorra?

25-07-2021, 06:05 PM
A very Hertz performance. Dull and insipid.

25-07-2021, 06:08 PM
1-0 FT. That's them unseeded then eh?

Sioux
25-07-2021, 06:09 PM
Bring them on!

davym7062
25-07-2021, 06:10 PM

this

25-07-2021, 06:16 PM
Bring them on!oh dear here we go again.

25-07-2021, 06:36 PM
vile buns beating real madrid 2-1

25-07-2021, 06:39 PM
a French-Portuguese friendly love-in tonight

FC Porto v Lille
Benfica v Marseille
Sporting v Lyon

25-07-2021, 07:17 PM

This plus is beating Arsenal - maybe Scottish football isn't so pish afterall?

25-07-2021, 09:08 PM

C'mon Atletico 😉

25-07-2021, 09:23 PM
Saying it through gritted teeth, rangers look good

27-07-2021, 12:45 PM
Canada Women 1 v 1 Team GB

Caroline Weir 85

SJNB Hibby
27-07-2021, 02:15 PM
Canada Women 1 v 1 Team GB

Caroline Weir 85

I think Canada plays Brazil and GB plays the Aussies, couple of interesting matches

28-07-2021, 02:39 PM
I'm tempted to stick a wedge on Midjytlland tonight. Celtic's squad looks very poor just now.

28-07-2021, 03:33 PM
I'm tempted to stick a wedge on Midjytlland tonight. Celtic's squad looks very poor just now.

Could Angie be sacked before the first league game of the season do you think? :greengrin

28-07-2021, 03:54 PM

I’d be very surprised to see Celtic progress tonight.

28-07-2021, 04:12 PM

After watching the first game, i'd still take celtic to go through, just.

28-07-2021, 04:34 PM
I think Celtic will struggle. A win tonight and in Gorgie however could be a springboard for them.

28-07-2021, 04:47 PM
If Celtic can avoid injuries and avoid losing the head, I think they might scrape through. I won’t be surprised if they bow out, however.

28-07-2021, 05:00 PM
What time does it kick off and is it on telly?

28-07-2021, 05:01 PM
What time does it kick off and is it on telly?

Premier 6.45pm

28-07-2021, 05:02 PM
That Celtic defence tonight looks vulnerable

28-07-2021, 05:09 PM
Premier 6.45pm

Thanks. Better get back from the pub then!

28-07-2021, 05:16 PM
I think Celtic will struggle. A win tonight and in Gorgie however could be a springboard for them.

Actually think Celtic will tuck them away fairly comfortably tonight. Were the much better team until the red.

Don't think that about the next round though, likely to be PSV.

28-07-2021, 05:20 PM

Aye, vulnerable is one word. I would say jobby.

28-07-2021, 05:20 PM

Absolutely same defence that was ripped apart by West Ham. Midjtlland didn't look impressive however assume they will be better at home with assume a crowd behind them. Thought Celtic looked good going forward so think will be a few goals.

28-07-2021, 05:30 PM
After watching the first game, i'd still take celtic to go through, just.

Yep tend to agree

28-07-2021, 05:33 PM
That defence.... Wow!

28-07-2021, 05:36 PM
That defence.... Wow!

I feel sorry for the new manager; he's been handed total garbage to deal with.

28-07-2021, 05:48 PM
I feel sorry for the new manager; he's been handled total garbage to deal with.

Don't feel sorry for him at all. The guy will be on a fortune.

28-07-2021, 05:49 PM
That defence.... Wow!

Wouldn't fancy any of them at Easter Road.

28-07-2021, 05:50 PM
I feel sorry for the new manager; he's been handled total garbage to deal with.

Looking at the starting XI tonight and the fact that Edouard and Christie could be away, notwithstanding the fact that they will recruit, this season will be the year the old firm can be split.

Still a huge, huge ask.

28-07-2021, 06:10 PM
This is a very poor Celtic side, Taylor and Ralston are bang average fullbacks, 2 very young CH's, Edouard who doesn't look interested and the rest just decent, unless they get in 4-5 really good signings they'll be mile behind Rangers again and are there for the taking for 2nd spot.

Also hands up who forgot about the away goal rule being scrapped and thought this would be even harder for Celtic tonight.

28-07-2021, 06:10 PM
I see the new manager has given up on Barkas already, Bain between the sticks tonight.

I'm having a bit of a mare today, i've missed the first 20 minutes of this match after giving up on a game of golf this afternoon to watch the Hibs game. :greengrin

28-07-2021, 06:13 PM
This is a very poor Celtic side, Taylor and Ralston are bang average fullbacks, 2 very young CH's, Edouard who doesn't look interested and the rest just decent, unless they get in 4-5 really good signings they'll be mile behind Rangers again and are there for the taking for 2nd spot.

Also hands up who forgot about the away goal rule being scrapped and thought this would be even harder for Celtic tonight.

I keep hearing this every season, yet we never ever get near them, or anyone else, and we have folk frightened of Livi overtaking us for 4th place as Aberdeen are guaranteed 3rd.

28-07-2021, 06:15 PM

Yep not sure the Danes are any better struggling to put two passes together

28-07-2021, 06:16 PM

A poor Celtic side is still the 2nd best SPL side, has been that way for how many years now? 30?

28-07-2021, 06:17 PM
I keep hearing this every season, yet we never ever get near them, or anyone else, and we have folk frightened of Livi overtaking us for 4th place as Aberdeen are guaranteed 3rd.

Unless they recruit very well soon, this Celtic team is the worst I've seen in many a year.

28-07-2021, 06:18 PM

Also hands up who about the away goal rule being scrapped and thought this would be even harder for Celtic tonight.

Celtic really lack pace, other than Abada and Forrest who both play the same wing.

Truly boring 35 minutes of football.

28-07-2021, 06:28 PM
Two terrible teams imo

28-07-2021, 06:32 PM
Unless they recruit very well soon, this Celtic team is the worst I've seen in many a year.
:agree: They will recruit, and with what they spend it will be in a better bargain bucket that we will ever look in.

28-07-2021, 06:32 PM
You look at that Celtic side and it’s crystal clear that Doig, Boyle and Nisbet would enhance the quality of the team instantly. I can’t understand why Celtic don’t try and sign all three in all honesty.

28-07-2021, 06:35 PM
:agree: They will recruit, and with what they spend it will be in a better bargain bucket that we will ever look in.

Probably but unless they get their finger out they could be a few points behind from the get go.

The game is that boring I just realised I was scrolling on my laptop and not even watching the game the last 10 mins.

28-07-2021, 06:36 PM
You look at that Celtic side and it’s crystal clear that Doig, Boyle and Nisbet would enhance the quality of the team instantly. I can’t understand why Celtic don’t try and sign all three in all honesty.

They won't pay the money we are wanting for all 3, that simple.

28-07-2021, 06:38 PM

Agreed 100%.

28-07-2021, 06:48 PM
Belter from Callum McGregor

0-1

28-07-2021, 06:48 PM
WOW :top marks

28-07-2021, 06:51 PM
That was Messi’esque

28-07-2021, 06:55 PM
Great goal by that wee man.

28-07-2021, 06:55 PM
Great goal by that wee man.

Brilliant goal

Hibeesforever
28-07-2021, 07:01 PM
Oh dear for Celtic....1-1

28-07-2021, 07:02 PM
Forrest should have put it beyond doubt wan-wan now

£60m for all three and they can have them.

Hahahaha

Forrest should’ve scored. 30 seconds later Celtic lose a goal

28-07-2021, 07:03 PM
What a poor goal to lose defensively.:rolleyes:

28-07-2021, 07:04 PM
Scott Bain is atrocious.

28-07-2021, 07:06 PM
Are they out of Europe altogether if they lose tonight?

28-07-2021, 07:08 PM
Are they out of Europe altogether if they lose tonight?

No, into Europe league qualifiers at I think round 3.

28-07-2021, 07:10 PM
No, into Europe league qualifiers at I think round 3.Thank you.

SJNB Hibby
28-07-2021, 07:13 PM
They'd play Jablonec(Slovenia??)

28-07-2021, 07:16 PM
How bad is the Celtic CB, Murray? Jeezo.

28-07-2021, 07:17 PM
How bad is the Celtic CB, Murray? Jeezo.

I think he's only just turned 18 and making his 1st ever start. Should be nowhere near a Champions League qualifier at this stage in his career.

28-07-2021, 07:18 PM
Eduard reminds me of Kamberi in his disinterested days

28-07-2021, 07:18 PM
This Celtic defence is horrendous. Absolutely awful

28-07-2021, 07:20 PM
Celtic look terrible

28-07-2021, 07:21 PM
This Celtic defence is horrendous. Absolutely awful

I think they have done reasonably well tonight. :confused:

28-07-2021, 07:28 PM
Celtic although not as good as previous season are still the better team here, and apart from a poor goal given away, they have defended well and created a number of decent chances.

Still want them pumped. :greengrin

28-07-2021, 07:29 PM
Hearts will be chuffed if this goes to ET.

28-07-2021, 07:29 PM
Eduard reminds me of Kamberi in his disinterested days

Very much so.

28-07-2021, 07:31 PM
Edouard has been brutal! Head is clearly elsewhere.

28-07-2021, 07:32 PM

I don't see it for all 3.
Will give you Boyle.
They desperately need a dynamic player and that is Martin.

P.S. Eduard is struggling to make any impression tonight. Just looks like Johnny Average running the channels. No better than Nisbet at this point.

28-07-2021, 07:40 PM
Is Griffiths injured or just so far out the picture at Celtic that he's not even on the bench.

28-07-2021, 07:41 PM
Celtic have done well here considering who's playing in defence plus Bain is awful and Edouard anonymous. They might get a result at the piggery after all.

Oops 2-1!

28-07-2021, 07:42 PM
2-1. Celtic out.

That'll be that for Celtic.

Is Griffiths injured or just so far out the picture at Celtic that he's not even on the bench.

Apparently injured.
Left in Glasgow.

July and the new manager is probably bored with his issues and inability already.

2-1 to the Danes haha

28-07-2021, 07:43 PM
Defending was horrible there. Boy had time to take a touch about 2 yards out

28-07-2021, 07:44 PM
That defence just won't do. Diabolical.

:bye: Celtic

Edouard has been brutal! Head is clearly elsewhere.

He’s been awful for ages. He just doesn’t like match fit or even interested.

The Danish team forwards all look more lively than him.

It’s a pretty average Celtic team. Wouldn’t surprise me if Hearts beat them at the weekend.

28-07-2021, 07:45 PM
Dearie me !

( Been dying to say that since last season....apart from the Euro Final of course :greengrin )

Fantastico

Celtic are poor

Argylehibby
28-07-2021, 07:46 PM
He’s been awful for ages. He just doesn’t like match fit or even interested.

The Danish team forwards all look more lively than him.

It’s a pretty average Celtic team. Wouldn’t surprise me if Hearts beat them at the weekend.

I’d be more surprised if this Celtic team won at the weekend.

Sellick doing their best to damage our coefficiency again

Celtics young back 4 have all given a decent account of themselves.

But Christie, Edouard, the new Israeli boy and then especially Forrest have let them down. No quality going forward at all. The lad Soro is bang average aswell.

What a shambles this manager had to inherit.

Celtic are poor

100% huns title to lose - they are a mess and several players short of a title challenging team. Celtic fans know this and pressure will mount if they get off to a slow start in the league.

28-07-2021, 07:47 PM
I actually think that Celtic may struggle to make 2nd this season. If we get some consistency then we can have a real go this season .

JXM73
28-07-2021, 07:48 PM
Angie shooglie-peg-to-go off to a flier, more random signings this week from arse end of beyond... this implosion could be fun to watch...

28-07-2021, 07:48 PM
Actually feel for there manager a bit

Totally thrown under the bus with lack of signings

No way should you go into a European qualifier with what looks like a pre season friendly line up that you are giving some youth a run out

28-07-2021, 07:49 PM
This has got to be one of the worst Celtic sides I can remember in my time.

Apart from maybe two players in that 11 you could quite easily replace them all. Celtic fans must be fuming. Some state Lennon left them in.

Also kinda funny. :greengrin

28-07-2021, 07:50 PM
Mad to think this Danish team were only formed 22 years ago.

Nice little 12,000 capacity stadium - these are the types Scottish teams should be looking at - good facilities too.

28-07-2021, 07:50 PM
The Aussie was a bizarre choice as manager. Put all their eggs in Howes basket and when it fell through they didn't have a clue.

28-07-2021, 07:51 PM
This has got to be one of the worst Celtic sides I can remember in my time.

Apart from maybe two players in that 11 you could quite easily replace them all. Celtic fans must be fuming. Some state Lennon left them in.

Also kinda funny. :greengrinLennon left in February, there squad appears to have gotten worse since then too!

They were light years behind Rangers last season. If anything the gap has widened. Celtic are in a mess thatvwill take more than a season or two to rectify. Its up to the likes of us and Aberdeen to capitAlise.

The situation Celtic find themselves in is especially bizarre given they knew from about January that Lennon needed sacked.

StevesFamau5
28-07-2021, 07:52 PM

Nice little 12,000 capacity stadium - these are the types Scottish teams should be looking at - good facilities too.Quite like the stadium as well. The rolling video boards are a bit flashy. Is that what Ron is looking for at Hibs. Would be pretty impressive if true for ER along with some green lighting as well.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

28-07-2021, 07:53 PM

Nice little 12,000 capacity stadium - these are the types Scottish teams should be looking at - good facilities too.

Our best chance of progress in the CL was only formed 8 years ago

Paul1642
I do feel sorry for the boy. Few mangers could succeed with the squad he has been given and lack of signings. Crazy to think that 12 months ago they were unstoppable and getting ready to celebrate 10 in a row 😂

StevesFamau5
This Celtic team as it is right now... Do the Yams get 3 points on Saturday night? Or will Celtic scrape it?

28-07-2021, 07:54 PM
This Celtic team finishes below Hibs

28-07-2021, 07:54 PM

A team like Celtic should beat them comfortably; they are in a real mess and need several good signings quickly.

28-07-2021, 07:55 PM
This Celtic team as it is right now... Do the Yams get 3 points on Saturday night? Or will Celtic scrape it?

I thought Hearts played the worst Celtic side in years in the cup final back in December. Until I saw this game.

28-07-2021, 07:56 PM
Celtic are honking.

28-07-2021, 07:56 PM
They've just brought on a 19 year old left back and worse still, Albian Ajeti [emoji23]

ddoc
28-07-2021, 07:57 PM
I’d be more surprised if this Celtic team won at the weekend.

Hearts fans will be thinking they are in with a good chance of picking up 3 points, or at least a draw. A good time to get Celtic, morale down, and a bit knackered after an extra time game this early in the season.

StevesFamau5
28-07-2021, 07:57 PM
I thought Hearts played the worst Celtic side in years in the cup final back in December. Until I saw this game.Aye that's my thinking. They're hopeless. Lacking any urgency and drive. Ryan Christie looks like someone shat in his cereal, greetin faced wee prick.

28-07-2021, 08:08 PM
Can only seeing the spl league going one way, not to Celtic

28-07-2021, 08:08 PM
Celtic’s champions league record is atrocious lately

Should have made us a respectable offer for McGinn.

28-07-2021, 08:09 PM
Celtic are utterly awful. Against what is a Kilmarnock sized club.

Quite embarrassing for them, amusingly.

28-07-2021, 08:10 PM
Hearts fans will be thinking they are in with a good chance of picking up 3 points, or at least a draw. A good time to get Celtic, morale down, and a bit knackered after an extra time game this early in the season.

Well they did say Celtic were now their main rivals

28-07-2021, 08:11 PM
If Celtc go out here, this new boss could be one defeat away from being jottered.

28-07-2021, 08:13 PM
Celtic are honking.

This Celtic manager will be gone by Xmas, when they realise the Huns are already uncatchable.

:faf: oh well.

Anyone who thinks this place is bad after a bad game should have a read of the Celtic forums

28-07-2021, 08:14 PM
Edouard is the epitome of wage thief. Total waster

28-07-2021, 08:16 PM
Embarrassing for Scottish football but has to be down to the failure of their board to reinvest. They have millions in the bank but have given their manager a dreadful squad to play with

:bye: Celtic.

If Celtc go out here, this new boss could be one defeat away from being jottered.No chance

I reckon the fans will turn on the board before the manager (quite right too)

This Celtic team finishes below Hibs

Sadly I don't think so.

28-07-2021, 08:18 PM
Quite like the stadium as well. The rolling video boards are a bit flashy. Is that what Ron is looking for at Hibs. Would be pretty impressive if true for ER along with some green lighting as well.

Not sure but I think so. Stadium looked good and advertising boards looked the part.

28-07-2021, 08:18 PM
Celtic’s champions league record is atrocious lately

Should have made us a respectable offer for McGinn.

:agree: Celtic & their media puppets will already be working on who they can target at Hibs (Nisbet, Boyle, erm... ) to make them feel better about themselves. It's the Celtic way :greengrin

28-07-2021, 08:20 PM
Sadly I don't think so.

I don’t think we will have a better chance than this season if we keep getting our recruitment right.

vuefrom1875
28-07-2021, 08:24 PM

Hate to say but jambos in with a shout on Sat after watching this celtc dross .

If Celtc go out here, this new boss could be one defeat away from being jottered.

No way, he's been left a complete mess to sort out and he'll get plenty time.

No chance

I reckon the fans will turn on the board before the manager (quite right too)

The board deserves all the abuse.

What’s the new manager meant to do with that squad? That back 4 tonight was even worse than in the first leg. It’s a back 4 that’s nae better than most bottom 6 teams in the SPL.

Celtc were miles off Rangers last season, this season they’ll be even further back.

delbert
28-07-2021, 08:29 PM
:agree: Celtic & their media puppets will already be working on who they can target at Hibs (Nisbet, Boyle, erm... ) to make them feel better about themselves. It's the Celtic way :greengrin

Well after tonight they will now know the price for Nisbet is now 10 million and a 50% sell on fee - oh and exactly the same for Boyle !!

28-07-2021, 08:29 PM
Sadly I don't think so.

If we’re as consistent as we were last season you never know. I think they’ll struggle to get as many points as they did last year.

would help if we could hold onto seemingly comfortable leads against them... Hanlon!!! :confused:

28-07-2021, 08:31 PM
Celtc result amuses me.

28-07-2021, 08:38 PM
Second place is there for the taking, we just have to show the desire and belief that we can stay ahead of Celtic.....

28-07-2021, 08:40 PM
Edouard is the epitome of wage thief. Total waster

He was dreadful. You can imagine what the greatest fans in the world thought about that display.

Paul1642
28-07-2021, 08:45 PM
If they had just stumped up for super John they would be preparing for 11 in a row right now

Hibs4185
28-07-2021, 08:56 PM
If they had just stumped up for super John they would be preparing for 11 in a row right now

It is amazing how you can pinpoint there decline to losing out on SJM.

Block
28-07-2021, 08:57 PM

Totally. Would have easily emulated Scott Brown and built their team around him. Penny pinching has ended up costing them an absolute fortune and prestige.

Block
28-07-2021, 09:02 PM
I don't see it for all 3.
Will give you Boyle.
They desperately need a dynamic player and that is Martin.

P.S. Eduard is struggling to make any impression tonight. Just looks like Johnny Average running the channels. No better than Nisbet at this point.

Squirrel would in my opinion be the biggest loss to us if we were to lose him. He panics defences when on form and can score for fun when in the mood. I love big Doidge the hard working hero and think Nisbet is a top striker but for me I'd be more saddened at losing the Squirrel and his entertaining exciting style. Don't want to lose any of that trio though.

28-07-2021, 09:02 PM
They need quick fixes would not be surprised if an offer or two comes our way. They will need to spend big to sort it out otherwise The Rangers will dominate them for a few years.
Love it when the uglies have problems

28-07-2021, 09:10 PM
Spoke to Celtic supporting mates and they thought they were doing us a favour offering what they did. Their arrogance at the time was astounding saying SJM would only be a squad player. I told them that he would be the best player at their club, they said he would be lucky if he started many games. They have now said that if SJM had been signed they would have got 10 in a row.
They don't need a biscuit tin now the need the whole factory.

Allez Hibs
28-07-2021, 09:13 PM
Celtic result tonight is BANTER. We should really be having a go at them for 2nd.

BegbieHSC
28-07-2021, 09:16 PM
Wouldn’t be surprised to see Celtic do some domestic shopping, to beat quarantine rules for their Europa League qualifiers. They are diabolical, and need just about a new starting 11.

I’d be on alert for some derisory offers for Doig, Nisbet, Boyle.

Also wouldn’t be surprised if they are looking at the likes of Lewis Ferguson, Ali McCann, Kerr and McCart.

Feel for the manager - the board have absolutely shafted him.

28-07-2021, 09:22 PM
Already looking forward to Hibs being criticized for not finishing 2nd.

28-07-2021, 09:25 PM
You could see that result coming a mile away. Celtic are an absolute shambles. How they’ve managed to go from the Brendan Rogers team to this so quickly I’d astonishing

28-07-2021, 09:26 PM

Odd thing to look forward to.

28-07-2021, 09:40 PM

Just what I was thinking.

28-07-2021, 09:44 PM
Already looking forward to Hibs being criticized for not finishing 2nd.Or the "only second cos Celtic were sh%^&". There's nae joy in some folks.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

MikeyS
28-07-2021, 09:44 PM

Someone I know who works at Celtic is adamant that was one of the big factors in Rodgers leaving them following transferwindow. Couldn't put up with the penny pinching

28-07-2021, 09:45 PM
What happened to the two supposed players they had unearthed from Sheff Wed?

Allez Hibs
28-07-2021, 09:45 PM

On the defensive already?

They were there for the taking last season.

28-07-2021, 09:47 PM
You could see that result coming a mile away. Celtic are an absolute shambles. How they’ve managed to go from the Brendan Rogers team to this so quickly I’d astonishing

It’s not quite so astonishing when you see who was in charge in between…

28-07-2021, 09:50 PM
In terms of mismanagement over the last few years it’s up there with hearts, but in very different ways.

hearts have pished away millions of £££ of FOH members money on an endless stream of expensive rubbish, and of course mismanaged stadium development, whilst keeping the likes of Levein in at least two separate jobs at the club for far too long despite him being completely incompetent at both.

celtic’s problem is playing it cheap when they were in a huge position of strength. Millions and millions sitting in the bank, a top class manager in Brendan Rogers, and their rivals in disarray at the time. Yet they sat on their money, dithered, refused to pay for top quality, treaded water, and now the chickens have well and truly come home to roost.

I have no desire to see a decade of Hun domination, but the longer Celtic and hearts keep on self sabotaging in their own unique ways the better.

28-07-2021, 09:51 PM

the signs of decline were there in the latter days of Rogers time there. And it’s down to the board.

28-07-2021, 09:55 PM

Even then, Lennons mismanagement of them was something to behold. A semi competent manager should have been able to have at least kept them at a reasonable level considering what he inherited.

It’s going to take them a good couple of seasons anyway to come close to fixing this mess.

Allez Hibs
28-07-2021, 10:03 PM
Surely, the new guy is looking at it and asking in the boardroom - why can't Hibs finish 2nd?

How many years is that now Celtic haven't been in the Champions League with their disco lights!

28-07-2021, 10:08 PM
the signs of decline were there in the latter days of Rogers time there. And it’s down to the board.

Decline, but from a starting point of winning something like 10 out of 10 trophies. They were dropping into “just” winning the majority of trophies, not the depths they have fallen to.

Celtc look like the Petrie years.

AliboyFC
28-07-2021, 10:17 PM
**** the celtic. 2nd place is on!

28-07-2021, 10:28 PM
In terms of mismanagement over the last few years it’s up there with hearts, but in very different ways.

hearts have pished away millions of £££ of FOH members money on an endless stream of expensive rubbish, and of course mismanaged stadium development, whilst keeping the likes of Levein in at least two separate jobs at the club for far too long despite him being completely incompetent at both.

celtic’s problem is playing it cheap when they were in a huge position of strength. Millions and millions sitting in the bank, a top class manager in Brendan Rogers, and their rivals in disarray at the time. Yet they sat on their money, dithered, refused to pay for top quality, treaded water, and now the chickens have well and truly come home to roost.

I have no desire to see a decade of Hun domination, but the longer Celtic and hearts keep on self sabotaging in their own unique ways the better.

Celtic should have been looking at 20 in a row nevermind 10. Pennypinching has really bitten them on the arse. They had absolutely no plan when Rodgers left, offering Lennon the job in the dressing room after a game was bizarre. They didn't have a plan when Howe said no after chasing him for weeks and they seem a rudderless ship. If they were run as well as we are off the park they'd be untouchable in Scotland.

28-07-2021, 10:30 PM
Wouldn’t be surprised to see Celtic do some domestic shopping, to beat quarantine rules for their Europa League qualifiers. They are diabolical, and need just about a new starting 11.

Also wouldn’t be surprised if they are looking at the likes of Lewis Ferguson, Ali McCann, Kerr and McCart.

They'll need to be setting their sights higher than that or the misery in Europe will be long term....

28-07-2021, 11:32 PM
On the defensive already?

They were there for the taking last season.

Disagree that they were there for the taking but the signs of decline were there.

Last season Celtic finished on 77 points, only once in the last ten seasons has a club bettered that (Aberdeen in 18/19 season). The difference between 2nd and 3rd was actually quite similar to normal seasons, it just felt like they were consistently stumbling as we'd seen then roll over teams consistently for the previous 9 seasons.

Last ten years 2nd and thirds place points.
20/21 - Celtic 77, Hibs 63
19/20 - Rangers 67, Motherwell 46 (league cut short)
18/19 - Aberdeen 78, Kilmarnock 67
17/18 - Aberdeen 73, Rangers 70
16/17 - Aberdeen 76, Rangers 67
15/16 - Aberdeen 71, Hearts 67
14/15 - Aberdeen 75, ICT 65
13/14 - Aberdeen 70, Motherwell 68
12/13 - Motherwell 63, St Johnstone 56
11/12 - Rangers 73, Motherwell 62

28-07-2021, 11:38 PM
Decline, but from a starting point of winning something like 10 out of 10 trophies. They were dropping into “just” winning the majority of trophies, not the depths they have fallen to.

Celtc look like the Petrie years.

Absolutely. It's probably a quick fix to begin chalk for the Scottish league but it won't come cheap. Unfortunately they have the resources so if they chose to, they could stop the rot as quickly as it began whereas for clubs like Hibs, Aberdeen, etc. it is a long term project and a bit of luck in keeping the best players happy and at the club.

As for Europe, they're miles away and possibly will be for a long time. That should have been to focus when they were winning 8 and 9 titles in a row, not just treading water with the league.

28-07-2021, 11:40 PM
Disagree that they were there for the taking but the signs of decline were there.

Last season Celtic finished on 77 points, only once in the last ten seasons has a club bettered that (Aberdeen in 18/19 season). The difference between 2nd and 3rd was actually quite similar to normal seasons, it just felt like they were consistently stumbling as we'd seen then roll over teams consistently for the previous 9 seasons.

Last ten years 2nd and thirds place points.
20/21 - Celtic 77, Hibs 63
19/20 - Rangers 67, Motherwell 46 (league cut short)
18/19 - Aberdeen 78, Kilmarnock 67
17/18 - Aberdeen 73, Rangers 70
16/17 - Aberdeen 76, Rangers 67
15/16 - Aberdeen 71, Hearts 67
14/15 - Aberdeen 75, ICT 65
13/14 - Aberdeen 70, Motherwell 68
12/13 - Motherwell 63, St Johnstone 56
11/12 - Rangers 73, Motherwell 62

on a separate note, I’d forgotten Motherwell have finished top 3 four times in the last ten years.

Really shows up how much we’ve underachieved.

29-07-2021, 01:27 AM
The job that Ange has to do at Celtic is enormous after watching that game earlier. To go into a Champions league qualifier with a back 4 and keeper that would make a bottom 6 team blush is criminal from the boards point of view. He needs the best part of about 4 players in defence/keeper areas and then he will likely need to go and replace Edouard and Christie if they bugger off (which if I was a Celtic fan I'd want the club to punt them asap as they look uninterested). I can't believe how bad that squad has gotten in the space of 2 or so seasons.

I feel sorry the new guy, it's going to be a minor miracle if he can keep them in spitting distance of Rangers come January and it will be an achievement in itself if he can keep Celtic in 2nd comfortably come the split. I also have no doubt if he goes 6 or 9 points behind Rangers by November time (which is massively possible) he may find himself out the door despite it not really being reflection on him and his ideas.

Hibs and Aberdeen should be looking at tonights game and deciding to go find that extra bit of cash for their primary targets to really see if a Champions league place is possible for next season.

29-07-2021, 05:52 AM

Would aberdeen and our players not be cup tied for the European competitions though? Or is there a loophole around that these days?

29-07-2021, 06:29 AM
It would not surprise me to see the new guy walk because of the board not getting in the players, it's only making his reputation worse.

davy67 +
29-07-2021, 06:58 AM
Would aberdeen and our players not be cup tied for the European competitions though? Or is there a loophole around that these days?

Im not sure if the qualifiers count towards being cup tied

29-07-2021, 08:08 AM
It would not surprise me to see the new guy walk because of the board not getting in the players, it's only making his reputation worse.

He’s an Aussie who has relocated from Japan to Glasgow. He’s got a lot riding on this… can’t imagine he would give up so quickly unless he assesses that the situation really is hopeless.

29-07-2021, 08:13 AM
He’s an Aussie who has relocated from Japan to Glasgow. He’s got a lot riding on this… can’t imagine he would give up so quickly unless he assesses that the situation really is hopeless.

My thoughts were he's got a decent rep in Australia and the far East, he obviously seen this as a chance to enhance his credentials in Europe, if he feels the board are screwing him around, he may feel sod this and off he goes.

29-07-2021, 08:15 AM
My thoughts were he's got a decent rep in Australia and the far East, he obviously seen this as a chance to enhance his credentials in Europe, if he feels the board are screwing him around, he may feel sod this and off he goes.

I know absolutely nothing about this guy, is managing celtic the pinnacle of his career so far?:confused:

29-07-2021, 08:21 AM
I know absolutely nothing about this guy, is managing celtic the pinnacle of his career so far?:confused:

He's successfully managed his national team.

29-07-2021, 08:24 AM

Mostly Australia and far East as I said but 4 years the Aussie national team, I'd say managing Celtic would be his biggest job so far.

29-07-2021, 08:34 AM
Mostly Australia and far East as I said but 4 years the Aussie national team, I'd say managing Celtic would be his biggest job so far.

Celtic is definitely his biggest gig so far imo.

He doesn’t look like he can handle the pressure one bit.

29-07-2021, 08:35 AM

Rodgers knew he couldn’t keep winning everything as the squad was going down in terms of quality. The mistake was in not getting a hungry manager who wanted to further their career. Instead they went for Lennon and all the issues he brings as he would put up with the biscuit tin mentality. I don’t care who out of the ugly sisters wins the league but watching them decline so rapidly is amusing but also alarming as it reflects badly on our league. As for going for second we need to get real. If they get a decent keeper in and two Centre halves them we will be well behind them. It would take a season of being extremely lucky with injuries to be able to challenge for second. Not convinced Aberdeen are anywhere good enough to be second either btw. I’m not swayed by one good qualifier result. We can live in hope of being second but accept it’s likely to be third or fourth. Qualifying for Europe two years in a row would show real progress.

29-07-2021, 05:43 PM
Hacken 1-0 Aberdeen

Aberdeen winning 5-2 on aggregate.

29-07-2021, 06:04 PM
2-0 Hacken, Aberdeen 5-3 up.

Hacken down to 10 men.

29-07-2021, 06:21 PM
Listened to part of the sheep botherers game on radio on way home. They were being heavily criticised by Willie Miller in particular. Sounds like they were pretty pish tonight. Hope that continues

JXM73
29-07-2021, 06:24 PM
Feyenoord.net be going into meltdown, 2-1 down at home to drita of kosovo

29-07-2021, 06:24 PM
2-0 Hacken, Aberdeen 5-3 up.

Hacken down to 10 men.

Likely playing Breidablik in the next round as they're 2-0 up on Austria Wien.

29-07-2021, 06:25 PM
Aberdeen win 5-3 on aggregate.

29-07-2021, 06:29 PM
1-0 Rijeka, 3-0 on aggregate.

29-07-2021, 06:49 PM
Half time - 3-0 Rijeka on aggregate.

29-07-2021, 07:34 PM
Likely playing Breidablik in the next round as they're 2-0 up on Austria Wien.

Looks like a very good draw for Aberdeen.

29-07-2021, 07:52 PM
Full time 3-0 Rijeka on aggregate.