View Full Version : Match Updates 2021-22 season non-Hibs games thread
14-09-2021, 06:08 AM
Without being an expert in Burnley finances, they’ve made well over £100m in profit in recent years, they have revenues of well over £100m. While they don’t have the money some clubs have, they’re hardly skint. It doesn’t come cheap but Bournemouth managed it for years and stayed up with it, Brighton likewise.
But Bournemouth are now relegated, that's the point. Bournemouth had extremely rich owners and spent huge amounts. They are completely different.
Brighton play decent football now, they didn't always
Burney don't spend the money they make from being in the Premier league. Or at least not much of it. They're a well run club punching above its weight. Football would be boring if everyone played the same passing football.
14-09-2021, 06:19 AM
Without being an expert in Burnley finances, they’ve made well over £100m in profit in recent years, they have revenues of well over £100m. While they don’t have the money some clubs have, they’re hardly skint. It doesn’t come cheap but Bournemouth managed it for years and stayed up with it, Brighton likewise.
Brighton spent more than twice what Burnley did in the off season, around £50 million including a highly rated midfielder from Red Bull Leipzig. Burnley bought a ligue 1 journeyman fullback called Cornet for £13 million, that was about it. I think their model is rubbish to watch and I don’t like Dyches football either but you can’t say it’s not economical for the owners.
14-09-2021, 06:28 AM
But Bournemouth are now relegated, that's the point. Bournemouth had extremely rich owners and spent huge amounts. They are completely different.
Brighton play decent football now, they didn't always
Burney don't spend the money they make from being in the Premier league. Or at least not much of it. They're a well run club punching above its weight. Football would be boring if everyone played the same passing football.
That’s their issue if they don’t want to spend it, they can’t say they don’t have it. Bournemouth spent average amounts in premier league terms, bringing in the revenue that they do, they should be able to!
Dyche got found out big time last night sticking with 4-4-2 when Everton changed it and in the end is lucky it wasn’t 6/7. He even blamed the players after the game and said the shape had nothing to do with it.
14-09-2021, 06:30 AM
Brighton spent more than twice what Burnley did in the off season, around £50 million including a highly rated midfielder from Red Bull Leipzig. Burnley bought a ligue 1 journeyman fullback called Cornet for £13 million, that was about it. I think their model is rubbish to watch and I don’t like Dyches football either but you can’t say it’s not economical for the owners.
I’m not doubting what they spent, but that’s their choice, they have made profits every year totalling well over £100m, if they don’t want to spend it that’s their issue - it’ll eventually bite them on the arse and hopefully that’s this year. Brutal.
14-09-2021, 06:45 AM
Cornet isn't a journeyman. 185 games for Lyon following a breakthrough season at Metz. He's a promising young footballer at 24.
Allez Hibs
14-09-2021, 07:06 AM
Difficult to criticise Burnley for being an established Premier League Club.
If folk are criticising Burnley, are Newcastle exempt from criticism? Total basket case of a club.
14-09-2021, 07:18 AM
Cornet isn't a journeyman. 185 games for Lyon following a breakthrough season at Metz. He's a promising young footballer at 24.
I watch probably ten Lyon games a season and the highlights of every game, he’s absolutely nothing special.
14-09-2021, 07:19 AM
I watch probably ten Lyon games a season and the highlights of every game, he’s absolutely nothing special.
Ok, but he's not a journeyman. Valdas Trakys was a journeyman :greengrin
14-09-2021, 07:21 AM
Agree their style is horrible. Got to give him credit for keeping them up but horrific to watch and makes no attempt to develop huge emphasis on physicality running round kicking teams with two giants up front and launch. Craig Levein probably thinks they are great though.
Yeah, that’s the issue I have with Burnley/Dyche too. By all means consolidate your position in the prem, but they’ve done that, and over time surely you aspire to improve as a football side?
It cannae be fun to be a Burnley fan. It’ll prob take them being relegated for them to see their team go into a season looking to actually achieve something (other than just avoiding relegation).
14-09-2021, 07:23 AM
Difficult to criticise Burnley for being an established Premier League Club.
If folk are criticising Burnley, are Newcastle exempt from criticism? Total basket case of a club.
Even Alan Shearer publicly threw in the towel on Newcastle on MOTD on Saturday night and the season has just started :greengrin
14-09-2021, 07:25 AM
Ok, but he's not a journeyman. Valdas Trakys was a journeyman :greengrin
OK, he’s certainly been bouncing around ligue 1 for a long time anyway, (good old wiki tells me he made his debut at 16 and hes now 24, so a ‘young journeyman’ maybe? :greengrin
14-09-2021, 07:45 AM
OK, he’s certainly been bouncing around ligue 1 for a long time anyway, (good old wiki tells me he made his debut at 16 and hes now 24, so a ‘young journeyman’ maybe? :greengrin
A journeylad?
14-09-2021, 08:00 AM
Was good at one stage. His negative tactics have been sussed out.
No trophies won since 2017.
This. He was phenomenal early on. What he did at Porto and Inter was unparalleled given those clubs resources and status.
But now? Well, there's a reason he's at a team competing in the Europa Conference League. He may still have a few tricks but he's increasingly toxic in the way his teams play and how he deals with his players.
As I said earlier about his good start - we've been here before and it's not ended well. Let's see where the team are come May.
14-09-2021, 08:44 AM
A journeylad?
14-09-2021, 08:50 AM
He's a trumpet!
14-09-2021, 04:59 PM
1-0 Man Utd. Ronaldo.
14-09-2021, 04:59 PM
Ronaaaaalllllldddddoooooooooooooo!!!!!
14-09-2021, 05:25 PM
Seville 0 v 1 Salzburg
Susic pen
Salzburg have missed two pens
Wan-Bissaka sent off for Man Utd
14-09-2021, 05:28 PM
Seville 1 v 1 Salzburg
Rakitic pen
14-09-2021, 05:30 PM
That’s their issue if they don’t want to spend it, they can’t say they don’t have it. Bournemouth spent average amounts in premier league terms, bringing in the revenue that they do, they should be able to!
Dyche got found out big time last night sticking with 4-4-2 when Everton changed it and in the end is lucky it wasn’t 6/7. He even blamed the players after the game and said the shape had nothing to do with it.
Bournemouth had something like the 11th highest net spend in Europe over a 4/5 year period. They had very rich owners and spent a lot of money. They wasted most of it and went down.
Dyche maybe got found out in 1 game, but any Bournemouth fan would swap places with Burnley in a heartbeat. Even Eddie Howe did.
Great to hear the Man U fans encouraging the officials with their "Come on you reds" chant :greengrin
14-09-2021, 05:37 PM
He's a trumpet!
It’s a bloody euphonium
Ronaldo clear through and dives.
Magpie
14-09-2021, 06:07 PM
Seville 1 v 1 Salzburg
Rakitic pen
4 penalties in the first half, don’t think I’ve seen that before.
14-09-2021, 06:16 PM
En Nesyri sent off for Seville
14-09-2021, 06:32 PM
It defies belief the commentator isn’t making more of that De Gea save. It might have been hitting the bar but the athleticism to get a fingertip to it is off the charts.
Magpie
14-09-2021, 06:38 PM
Ole’s at the wheel.
14-09-2021, 06:38 PM
14-09-2021, 06:39 PM
I like a laugh!
14-09-2021, 06:39 PM
Ronaldos face.
Magpie
14-09-2021, 06:40 PM
Until United sort their defence, they won’t win anything major. City, Chelsea and Liverpool clear in that department imo.
14-09-2021, 06:46 PM
Siebaaaaa-tcheuuuuuuuuuuu! Or something like that.
14-09-2021, 06:46 PM
Until United sort their defence, they won’t win anything major. City, Chelsea and Liverpool clear in that department imo.
Man United deservedly got beaten. They were wasting time at every opportunity and throwing themselves to the ground constantly to try and win free kicks.
Well done the Young Boys.
14-09-2021, 06:59 PM
Man Utd are going to become a Ronaldo show not a football team.
14-09-2021, 07:02 PM
Zenits black players take a knee with Chelsea players, Zenits white players don’t.
Not a good look, but will resonate for the most dodgy fan base in world football.
Magpie
14-09-2021, 07:03 PM
Man Utd are going to become a Ronaldo show not a football team.
Who needs a trophy when you can shout ‘SIU’ every now and again.
14-09-2021, 07:34 PM
Barca 0 Bayern 1
horrible deflection
56 mins, Barca 0 Bayern 2
14-09-2021, 09:02 PM
FT Barca 0 Bayern 3
Magpie
14-09-2021, 09:13 PM
It’s been 7 months since Lewandowski failed to score in a competitive game for Bayern.
Magpie
14-09-2021, 09:31 PM
FT Barca 0 Bayern 3
That’s the first time Barca have lost their opening CL match since Newcastle in 1997.
Bayern have won their last 17 opening CL games with an aggregate of 45-2.
Allez Hibs
14-09-2021, 09:36 PM
This could be the season Barcelona finish a lowly 5th outside the Champions League places. In the 90s and early 00s they were prone to the odd bad season and finishing outside the top 3.
14-09-2021, 10:46 PM
Bournemouth had something like the 11th highest net spend in Europe over a 4/5 year period. They had very rich owners and spent a lot of money. They wasted most of it and went down.
Dyche maybe got found out in 1 game, but any Bournemouth fan would swap places with Burnley in a heartbeat. Even Eddie Howe did.
That depends, a lot of those clubs aren’t good enough to achieve any real success, therefore I’m sure their fans would rather enjoy decent football while staying up for a few seasons, than kick punt and bully their way to the odd 3 points to stay in the league by the skin of their teeth year on year. Burnley have zero plan other than to get as big a profit as possible come the end of each season.
Also - net spend is all well and good - but £150m over 5 years is nothing really when you think of what they are bringing in revenues wise. Don’t need rich owners down south to pay that money. Burnley could’ve spent that in 1 window and broke even over the same period, they chose profits over improving their squad. I’ve little doubt those sides will be swapping places come the end of the season and good riddance to them.
14-09-2021, 10:55 PM
This could be the season Barcelona finish a lowly 5th outside the Champions League places. In the 90s and early 00s they were prone to the odd bad season and finishing outside the top 3.
I think Barcelona fans had better brace themselves for a miserable few years. The debt will cripple them and the team already looks like the empty husk of what it was.
Magpie
14-09-2021, 11:40 PM
That depends, a lot of those clubs aren’t good enough to achieve any real success, therefore I’m sure their fans would rather enjoy decent football while staying up for a few seasons, than kick punt and bully their way to the odd 3 points to stay in the league by the skin of their teeth year on year. Burnley have zero plan other than to get as big a profit as possible come the end of each season.
Also - net spend is all well and good - but £150m over 5 years is nothing really when you think of what they are bringing in revenues wise. Don’t need rich owners down south to pay that money. Burnley could’ve spent that in 1 window and broke even over the same period, they chose profits over improving their squad. I’ve little doubt those sides will be swapping places come the end of the season and good riddance to them.
Burnley qualified for the Europa League only a couple of seasons ago. Beat Aberdeen then got knocked out by Olympiacos in the play off. First time they achieved that in 51 years.
14-09-2021, 11:51 PM
Burnley qualified for the Europa League only a couple of seasons ago. Beat Aberdeen then got knocked out by Olympiacos in the play off. First time they achieved that in 51 years.
4 years ago, and arguably with one of the lowest points totals to have done it. Never had a positive goal difference any year in the league since promotion, never scored more than 45 goals in a season. Literally a team of 6ft+ brutes.
HibeeBigFly
15-09-2021, 07:48 AM
Bournemouth have been loss making for four years in a row. If any English side is going to do a Gretna my money would be on them.
4 years ago, and arguably with one of the lowest points totals to have done it. Never had a positive goal difference any year in the league since promotion, never scored more than 45 goals in a season. Literally a team of 6ft+ brutes.
Burnley is just a small town club punching above their weight.
Good on them. Maybe if everyone in the town went to turf Moor rather than watch Man u on tv they could push on more.
Allez Hibs
15-09-2021, 10:29 AM
Good on them. Maybe if everyone in the town went to turf Moor rather than watch Man u on tv they could push on more.
Yep fully agree. It's a bit harsh to criticise Burnley for anything IMO.
Yup, Burnley loves it's club and has the biggest support per head of population of any English club. If Hibs enjoyed the same the same intensity of support as Burnley, average crowds would be somewhere around 50,000.
15-09-2021, 10:51 AM
Yup, Burnley loves it's club and has the biggest support per head of population of any English club.
Burnley have always been a well run club in financial terms and also well managed. It would have been easy to fall into the trap that the likes of Bradford City, Blackpool, and Hull fell into and overspent. Bradford City did stay in the PL for two seasons but wrecked the club financially in the process and plummeted down to tier three.
Sometimes clubs that come up from the championship have to walk before they can run, we've seen all too many trying to play expansive football with the big boys and end up yoyoing up and down all the time Norwick, Bournemouth, W Brom etc. Burnley have taken the pragmatic approach and Dyche has made them a stuffy hard to beat team who'll win a few and get a few draws enough to keep them in the league, maybe not the prettiest of football but ask the Burnley fans where they'd rather be playing their football most seasons.
15-09-2021, 04:49 PM
Sometimes clubs that come up from the championship have to walk before they can run, we've seen all too many trying to play expansive football with the big boys and end up yoyoing up and down all the time Norwick, Bournemouth, W Brom etc. Burnley have taken the pragmatic approach and Dyche has made them a stuffy hard to beat team who'll win a few and get a few draws enough to keep them in the league, maybe not the prettiest of football but ask the Burnley fans where they'd rather be playing their football most seasons.
All the same, there’s a middle ground. They must have millions burning a hole in their pockets. You’d think when Dyche leaves they might change the formula a bit. If I was a burnley fan I’d want to see something different.
15-09-2021, 05:02 PM
Sheriff 1 v 0 Shakhtar
15-09-2021, 05:07 PM
Besiktas 0 v 1 Dortmund
Bellingham
norwayhibs
15-09-2021, 05:24 PM
Besiktas 0 v 1 Dortmund
Bellingham
Fantastic goal, but what’s with the Dortmund shirt, no club logo, just BVB 09 across the front :confused:
15-09-2021, 05:36 PM
Besiktas 0 v 2 Dortmund
Youknowwho
15-09-2021, 06:03 PM
Sheriff 2 v 0 Shakhtar
15-09-2021, 06:19 PM
Fantastic goal, but what’s with the Dortmund shirt, no club logo, just BVB 09 across the front :confused:
It’s Pumas horrible new template with the two horizontal lines between the club name in block font, quite widespread Marseille, Dortmund, also Man City 3rd strip I think
norwayhibs
15-09-2021, 06:46 PM
Finished 2-1 to Dortmund
15-09-2021, 07:09 PM
Great San Siro atmosphere.
15-09-2021, 07:14 PM
Justice in my opinion, never a penalty.
15-09-2021, 07:16 PM
Bruges 0 PSG 1
Allez Hibs
15-09-2021, 07:19 PM
Good. That wasn't a penalty.
Lendo
15-09-2021, 07:26 PM
Jack Hendry starting for Brugge, facing Neymar, Messi and Mbappe. It’s going to be a long night.
15-09-2021, 07:27 PM
Brugge 1 PSG 1
15-09-2021, 07:33 PM
2-0 city
15-09-2021, 07:35 PM
Bruges v PSG is a damn fine game btw
105mph
15-09-2021, 07:39 PM
Brozovic such a fantastic player, does everything. Croatia really do have a tremendous midfield, Brozovic Perisic and Modric all playing here tonight. Still 0-0, Inter on top.
O dear Liverpool… how many chances 1-1
Make that 1-2
15-09-2021, 07:48 PM
Scousers. :faf:
15-09-2021, 07:49 PM
Not sure what the rest of the game has been like but I just tuned in about a minute before Milan scored their equaliser and then they scored another. Liverpool we’re all over the place defensively, sauntering back, getting dragged out of position. Good movement by Milan but Liverpool were a shambles.
15-09-2021, 07:51 PM
3-1 city HT.
Magpie
15-09-2021, 07:51 PM
Not sure what the rest of the game has been like but I just tuned in about a minute before Milan scored their equaliser and then they scored another. Liverpool we’re all over the place defensively, sauntering back, getting dragged out of position. Good movement by Milan but Liverpool were a shambles.
Completely different team with Van Dijk.
Allez Hibs
15-09-2021, 07:55 PM
Marvelous.
LunasBoots
15-09-2021, 08:04 PM
Liverpool have been rubbish, without van dyk, Thiago and Mane the team looks all over the place, some defenders playing the offside line while others don't seem to know what that is.
Magpie
15-09-2021, 08:05 PM
2-2 Liverpool
15-09-2021, 08:06 PM
2-2 Liverpool
<3
Comeback is on.
Magpie
15-09-2021, 08:07 PM
Surely only a matter of time until Messi grabs the winner for PSG.
15-09-2021, 08:08 PM
It’s Pumas horrible new template with the two horizontal lines between the club name in block font, quite widespread Marseille, Dortmund, also Man City 3rd strip I think
Yup. Up there with the worst strips of all time these ones.
15-09-2021, 08:10 PM
3-2 City now
15-09-2021, 08:27 PM
4-2 man city
3-2 liverpool
15-09-2021, 08:32 PM
Notts forest getting beat at home 2-0 by Middlesbrough, one win out of seven and bottom of the league
6-3 man city...poor game
Magpie
15-09-2021, 08:46 PM
City game has been a cracker. PSG dropping points too.
15-09-2021, 08:53 PM
Harsh on inter based on the first half, but Real grab a last minute winner.
15-09-2021, 08:59 PM
Not sure Milan will ever be that outclassed and only lose 3-2. They couldnt handle Liverpools pace at all. They got mullered 3-2
15-09-2021, 09:01 PM
Liverpool have been rubbish, without van dyk, Thiago and Mane the team looks all over the place, some defenders playing the offside line while others don't seem to know what that is.
Totally disagree. Look at any of the stats. Total one way traffic from start to finish
15-09-2021, 09:18 PM
What difference would it make, they don’t spend the money anyway. That’s a choice they make, it shouldn’t give them leeway. They’ve been in the league for years and have no intention of showing any ambition other than to boot people up and down the place.
15-09-2021, 09:23 PM
What difference would it make, they don’t spend the money anyway. That’s a choice they make, it shouldn’t give them leeway. They’ve been in the league for years and have no intention of showing any ambition other than to boot people up and down the place.
Dont know what the population of Burnley is but its not the biggest of towns. I would imaginevthem getting gates of 20000 as a percentage of a towns population woukd be as high as anyones in the Premier League.
15-09-2021, 09:29 PM
Dont know what the population of Burnley is but its not the biggest of towns. I would imaginevthem getting gates of 20000 as a percentage of a towns population woukd be as high as anyones in the Premier League.
Of course, but it wouldn’t make any difference to their ambition if fans watched them rather than Man Utd IMO. They have money to improve their team and style and choose not to. That’s Dyche and for me he’s a dinosaur. 4-4-2 - big brutes at the back and up front, big keeper, shell it long and kick everything that moves. Modern day Tony Pulis Stoke.
15-09-2021, 11:11 PM
Read your post then got in and watched the game, you’re miles off,they were far from rubbish and played some great stuff.
15-09-2021, 11:37 PM
Notts forest getting beat at home 2-0 by Middlesbrough, one win out of seven and bottom of the league
6-3 man city...poor game
Without a hint of irony?
16-09-2021, 01:54 AM
Apparently that was the first time AC played Liverpool in any European competition outside of a final.
Which I was shocked at. Thought they must have met each other before.
16-09-2021, 06:01 AM
Read your post then got in and watched the game, you’re miles off,they were far from rubbish and played some great stuff.
Yep Liverpool were very good and should have been out of sight first half. Bizarrely then went behind but played well to turn it around. The players coming in were good imo Gomez Origi Keita.
LunasBoots
16-09-2021, 08:52 AM
6-3 man city...poor game
Hughton sacked this morning, Forest have been a poisoned chalice job for a long time.
16-09-2021, 09:02 AM
Hughton sacked this morning, Forest have been a poisoned chalice job for a long time.
Forest have sacked at least one Manager a year since 2010. Madness...:rolleyes:
16-09-2021, 09:39 AM
Forest have sacked at least one Manager a year since 2010. Madness...:rolleyes:
Madness, madness, they call it madness,
It's plain to see, that is what they mean to me,
Madness, madness, I call it gladness
Allez Hibs
16-09-2021, 12:09 PM
Sean Dyche has signed a 4 year contract at Burnley. Good on them.
16-09-2021, 12:23 PM
Without a hint of irony?
without a smiley
16-09-2021, 12:26 PM
not even a year into a two-year contract
16-09-2021, 01:57 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210916/4fcb5ff97d0076b05e36ad1f08989e5f.png
16-09-2021, 02:01 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210916/4fcb5ff97d0076b05e36ad1f08989e5f.png
Very strange sure that has happened before. Assume Robertson means a security risk to Lennon and Sutton.
16-09-2021, 02:07 PM
Very strange sure that has happened before. Assume Robertson means a security risk to Lennon and Sutton.
Security risk to Rangers 'everyone anyone' campaign more like. It's a UEFA game and they will want to avoid anyone spotting Neil Lennon and then all the songs begin.
16-09-2021, 02:35 PM
Why would Lennon be a commentator on the Rangers game anyway
16-09-2021, 02:38 PM
I think Celtic are the early game tonight and Rangers the later one so he was probably due to do the studio pundit for Celtic game. They would then use the same studio for the later game no idea if the plan was he just do one or both likely bring in Rangers folk for second one.
16-09-2021, 02:50 PM
Why not? I'd rather have a co-commentator that can string sentences together unlike half wits like Billy Dodds et al......
16-09-2021, 04:19 PM
If I was Lenny I wouldn't go near Ibrox. He's a glutton for punishment.
16-09-2021, 05:13 PM
2-0 celtic.
16-09-2021, 05:14 PM
Celtic 2 up in Betis. Started the game really well though Soro should definitely have been sent off for a clear second yellow as you will see. John Hartsons bias is torture to be fair, we and us.
16-09-2021, 05:17 PM
2-1, thats better.
Mikey_1875
16-09-2021, 05:19 PM
What a game
16-09-2021, 05:20 PM
2-2 :thumbsup:
H18S NX
16-09-2021, 05:20 PM
Everytime I hear "Montoya" I keep picturing Zorro in my head.
16-09-2021, 05:27 PM
Everytime I hear "Montoya" I keep picturing Zorro in my head.
The Princess Bride for me. ‘Hallo. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.’
16-09-2021, 05:43 PM
1 0 The Hammers HT, Antonio first scorer yet again.
16-09-2021, 05:55 PM
3-2 Betis.
16-09-2021, 05:55 PM
2 0 The Hammers, Rice
16-09-2021, 05:57 PM
4-2.
16-09-2021, 05:58 PM
Celtic defence 😂
16-09-2021, 05:59 PM
plenty time for a few more
please do not fix that sellick defence until at least we've played them
16-09-2021, 05:59 PM
Hartson had them winning the group after 20 minutes 😂
Sioux
16-09-2021, 06:00 PM
That wee joker in the middle of the park, Soro, is absolutely hopeless.
LunasBoots
16-09-2021, 06:00 PM
Looks like the Celtic of last season, still awful.
16-09-2021, 06:24 PM
and this is what they could have got
Group win per match = £537k
Draw in group stage = £179k
4-3
Ralston and Jota have looked good this evening in attack.
16-09-2021, 06:35 PM
Ralston and Jota have looked good this evening in attack.
Fair play to Ralston who is doing all he can to grab his first team Opportunity ….
Magpie
16-09-2021, 06:47 PM
Arsenal playing tonight?
H18S NX
16-09-2021, 06:57 PM
The Princess Bride for me. ‘Hallo. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.’...Spot on HB,ma auld heid no the same as it used to be m8.
16-09-2021, 06:59 PM
There’s only one Montoya
Manilito
Sadly dead now
Davy Mac
16-09-2021, 07:01 PM
Aww FFS they cannae help themselves, and the cry was no .......what a bunch of cretins they are.
Looks like BT turning off their pitch side mikes during certain songs!
16-09-2021, 07:05 PM
The Rangers take the ‘knee’ against racism
Davy Mac
16-09-2021, 07:06 PM
The irony....lol
16-09-2021, 07:08 PM
Looks like BT turning off their pitch side mikes during certain songs!
I’m surprised there not turning them, with their treatment of Sutton and Co today
I know!
16-09-2021, 07:11 PM
🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈
LunasBoots
16-09-2021, 07:12 PM
Clear banned songs being sung.
Do they not now say it is against all types of discrimination not just racism? Which would be even more ironic.
Craigen…. Really strong yellow card WTF
No attempt to play the ball. Waist high??
LunasBoots
16-09-2021, 07:14 PM
Goldson with those studs up again
16-09-2021, 07:16 PM
Goldson with those studs up again
Should have been a red
16-09-2021, 07:17 PM
Should have been a red
Reminded me of Broonie v Slivka at Easter Road
16-09-2021, 07:25 PM
get in Lyon
16-09-2021, 07:26 PM
Aha
Aha
Aha Aha Aha
The's 0 v Lyon 1, a cracking goal.
Beautiful goal
16-09-2021, 07:28 PM
Oh how utterly splendid. Now another 4 for Lyon please.....
LunasBoots
Should have been a red
Seems to get away with them far to much.
aye build those gallows you shower of sectarian filth
16-09-2021, 07:29 PM
What a finish that is simply unsaveable
I have watched the game for 5 mins and they are on 4th sectarian song.
How is this acceptable.
16-09-2021, 07:38 PM
Noticed Pep begging some City fans to turn up at the weekend. One thing money isn't buying them.
AliboyFC
16-09-2021, 07:45 PM
Noticed Pep begging some City fans to turn up at the weekend. One thing money isn't buying them.
Surprised the USA haven't bombed the ethiad stadium for the oil.
16-09-2021, 07:52 PM
Paqueta is a fantastic player. A class above anyone in hun uniform.
16-09-2021, 07:54 PM
Magnificent night of football so far. Very pleasing.
16-09-2021, 08:08 PM
Bottle chucked at Emerson as he takes a corner, not mentioned by the commentary team except to say there is a pocket of Lyon fans there :dunno:
16-09-2021, 08:13 PM
eventually :thumbsup:
16-09-2021, 08:14 PM
we want three
or more
16-09-2021, 08:14 PM
One way traffic second half.
Pleasing.
WTF was Kent trying to do on the edge of his own box. :faf:
16-09-2021, 08:17 PM
Alex Rae is the worst pundit ever. Hope his ugly Hun puss is tripping him.
16-09-2021, 08:17 PM
It's always a pleasure watching these dregs of humanity getting well beaten. Hope Lyon go for the jugular and hump them.
16-09-2021, 08:18 PM
Paqueta is a fantastic player. A class above anyone in hun uniform.
Yep he looks tremendous. What nationality is he?
16-09-2021, 08:20 PM
Alex Rae is the worst pundit ever. Hope his ugly Hun puss is tripping him.
Not sure he is any worse than Craigan to be honest whose pearl of wisdom was at 2 down that Rangers need the next goal. :faf::faf:
16-09-2021, 08:21 PM
Yep he looks tremendous. What nationality is he?
Brazilian. Great to watch, getting a few caps now.
16-09-2021, 08:24 PM
Best dive since Amadou times.
16-09-2021, 08:25 PM
Brazilian. Great to watch, getting a few caps now.
First time I have seen him so good and strong on the ball
CL0762
16-09-2021, 08:26 PM
Rangers should’ve got rid of Barasic & Kent when they had the chance. Utter honking.
16-09-2021, 08:31 PM
Kent off looks like an injury. Fair chance he will miss our game if hamstring or similar.
16-09-2021, 08:40 PM
Rangers giving away so many free kicks. Fouls that never go against them in the league.
Rangers should’ve got rid of Barasic & Kent when they had the chance. Utter honking.
Both are good players.
Good to see what a game is like when refs aren't scared of giving a decision against Rangers.
LunasBoots
16-09-2021, 08:42 PM
Barasic is very good, Kent I'll always think is overrated
16-09-2021, 08:43 PM
Will the hun hordes be allowed to travel to Lyon i wonder?
16-09-2021, 08:44 PM
He can’t defend to save his life. Boyle against him last year in the first game showed that. Him and Tavernier are lucky they don’t need to defend much. Two cracking results tonight. Get it up the pair of them.
CL0762
16-09-2021, 08:44 PM
Think Barasic has hit his peak with Rangers, been poor since the start of the season compared to the levels he set before. Maybe honking a bit harsh.
Kent flatters to deceive majorly, never been fussed with him.
16-09-2021, 08:46 PM
What’s the point of an uncontested drop ball? Might as well just give a free kick. The ref having to go over and drop the ball for absolutely nae reason.
16-09-2021, 08:46 PM
Think Barasic has hit his peak with Rangers, been poor since the start of the season compared to the levels he set before. Maybe honking a bit harsh.
Kent flatters to deceive majorly, never been fussed with him.
I think Kent’s an excellent player. He pulls us all over the place and creates the space that others punish.
He’s the first player I’d want to be missing against us.
Not sure he has what it takes to raise his game against stronger European opposition but he’s a menace every time we play them.
16-09-2021, 08:50 PM
I think Kent’s an excellent player. He pulls us all over the place and creates the space that others punish.
Not sure he has what it takes to raise his game against stronger European opposition but he’s a menace every time we play them.
Agree his movement and dribbling is superb.
16-09-2021, 08:50 PM
What’s the point of an uncontested drop ball? Might as well just give a free kick. The ref having to go over and drop the ball for absolutely nae reason.
Then you give the team an opportunity to either lump it long if defending or put a dangerous ball into the box. With a drop ball you only need to give them a couple of yards so they generally have to go backwards.
16-09-2021, 08:52 PM
They got rid of contested drop balls at the end of the season before last. Injury risk :dunno:
16-09-2021, 08:52 PM
Think he is massively overhyped. Not a touch on Boyle
16-09-2021, 08:53 PM
merci Lyon
merci
16-09-2021, 08:53 PM
An absolute stroll for Lyon.
16-09-2021, 08:54 PM
Job done. We'll done Lyon
16-09-2021, 08:54 PM
I watched the Leicester Napoli game, two teams I generally enjoy watching, finished 2-2 it didnt disappoint, good game.
Magpie
16-09-2021, 09:54 PM
Another five goals for Mourinho’s Roma tonight.
17-09-2021, 09:09 AM
Scotland Women play Hungary tonight on Bbc Alba 7pm.
17-09-2021, 04:20 PM
Was the Lyon team bus attacked by the animals last night?
17-09-2021, 04:56 PM
£14 to watch Edin city tonight. For some reason I thought div 2 would be a lot cheaper.
17-09-2021, 05:00 PM
£14 to watch Edin city tonight. For some reason I thought div 2 would be a lot cheaper.
They need to live.
17-09-2021, 05:32 PM
Was the Lyon team bus attacked by the animals last night?
Think it was a wind up m8 ?
17-09-2021, 06:52 PM
Scotland Women play Hungary tonight on Bbc Alba 7pm.
1-0 Sco at half time
17-09-2021, 07:14 PM
13 mins Newcastle 0 Leeds 1
17-09-2021, 07:31 PM
13 mins Newcastle 0 Leeds 1
It’s been a really enjoyable game. In Newcastle’s position they can’t keep missing clear cut chances like they do. Saint Maximam is an absolute joy to watch.
17-09-2021, 07:33 PM
It’s been a really enjoyable game. In Newcastle’s position they can’t keep missing clear cut chances like they do. Saint Maximam is an absolute joy to watch.
i wouldn't know, the TV is only 3ft away but i've been busy on the PC for the first half hour :greengrin
Hungary 0-2 Scotland women
i saw that dive by the newcastle player though, good refereeing
17-09-2021, 07:39 PM
i wouldn't know, the TV is only 3ft away but i've been busy on the PC for the first half hour :greengrin
Hungary 0-2 Scotland women
Well quit watching porn then:greengrin End to end game. Ritchie hit the post a couple of minutes back.
17-09-2021, 07:40 PM
Well quit watching porn then:greengrin End to end game. Ritchie hit the post a couple of minutes back.
i keep that stuff for ER :wink:
17-09-2021, 07:42 PM
Edinburgh City 1 v 1 Stirling Albion
Innes Murray
17-09-2021, 07:45 PM
1-1 leeds, huddies :(
cooper doesn't cover himself in glory standing off the man
what a chance for junior firpo, £15m and balloons it over the bar
17-09-2021, 07:51 PM
Fabulous game at St James’ Park
Edit -first half was, second half not so much
17-09-2021, 08:05 PM
Fabulous game at St James’ Park
Agree very good game. Thought Leeds were denied a clear penalty but a good game. St Maximin is some player. He'd look even better in a green shirt with white sleeves, if only :greengrin
17-09-2021, 08:12 PM
Edinburgh City 2 v 2 Stirling Albion
17-09-2021, 08:14 PM
good 3 points for Scotland women, 0-2
17-09-2021, 08:23 PM
Have to say Leeds look very pretty in that kit. :wink: You couldnt imagine Revie's Leeds turning out in that could you? :greengrin
17-09-2021, 08:29 PM
please please marcello take Roberts back off again, bielsa has a seriously poor blind spot for tyler roberts
then another dreadful pass 90 seconds later
17-09-2021, 08:45 PM
well deserved for that cheat of an owner
Derby County: Championship club file notice to appoint administrators - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58604851)
Derby County are set to go into administration amid their continued financial problems.
The club, which is up for sale, said despite negotiations with a number of "credible parties", identifying a buyer was unlikely in the short term.
It means they could face a 12-point deduction in the Championship.
17-09-2021, 08:55 PM
FT 1-1 both sides still without a win after five games
17-09-2021, 08:58 PM
good 3 points for Scotland women, 0-2
Good result, dreadful game from what I seen.
17-09-2021, 08:58 PM
FT 1-1 both sides still without a win after five games
Leeds are a good watch generally but i think more teams have worked them out or will work them out this season. Thats Bielsa all over, plan A full stop.
17-09-2021, 09:06 PM
Good result, dreadful game from what I seen.
win first then bother about the performance :agree: Home to Faroes on tuesday, ER would have been great for them but unfortunately it's at Hampden
Leeds are a good watch generally but i think more teams have worked them out or will work them out this season. Thats Bielsa all over, plan A full stop.
:agree: he just will not change that shape, 38 shots between both sides tonight
as for Tyler Roberts, i'm convinced he has something over the boss :( as for dan james, obviously time will tell but imo another dreadful overpaid fee again by victor orta, he didn't learn from the £15m spaffed up against a wall for helder costa
18-09-2021, 11:58 AM
Wolves 0 v 1 Brentford
Toney pen
18-09-2021, 12:02 PM
Toney has had two goals disallowed
18-09-2021, 12:05 PM
Wolves 0 v 2 Brentford
Lendo
18-09-2021, 12:25 PM
Had Wolves -1 on my coupon……
Traore is an absolute monster, looks more like an NFL or Rugby player than a footballer.
18-09-2021, 12:54 PM
Baptiste Brentford sent off
18-09-2021, 02:11 PM
0-1 Hearts
18-09-2021, 02:12 PM
1-1 Hearts
18-09-2021, 02:12 PM
1-1
18-09-2021, 02:13 PM
Just as well Hearts had an amazing transfer window
MKHIBEE
18-09-2021, 02:23 PM
]well deserved for that cheat of an owner[/I]
Derby County: Championship club file notice to appoint administrators - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/58604851)
Derby County are set to go into administration amid their continued financial problems.
The club, which is up for sale, said despite negotiations with a number of "credible parties", identifying a buyer was unlikely in the short term.
It means they could face a 12-point deduction in the Championship.
Perhaps so, not so well deserved for those who lose their jobs.
18-09-2021, 02:47 PM
2-1 Ross County
18-09-2021, 02:47 PM
Ross County 2 v 1 Hearts
18-09-2021, 03:05 PM
In the cup Nitten Star, Bonnyrigg Rose and Haddington all winning at HT
SJNB Hibby
18-09-2021, 03:25 PM
Bradley scored for Ayr.
And Oli Shaw for Killie
18-09-2021, 03:25 PM
Hearts 2-2
Hearts 2-2
They’ll go onto win this now. Dodgy penalty in last couple of mins
18-09-2021, 03:40 PM
Aberdeen 0-1 St Johnstone
18-09-2021, 03:40 PM
18-09-2021, 03:41 PM
They’ll go onto win this now. Dodgy penalty in last couple of mins
Hopefully not
18-09-2021, 03:59 PM
Only a matter of time before we hear that Scott Brown is in temporary charge.
18-09-2021, 04:01 PM
Only a matter of time before we hear that Scott Brown is in temporary charge.
18-09-2021, 04:07 PM
Wonder if hearts players acknowledged their supporters at the end. Brave move if they did.
18-09-2021, 04:35 PM
Stephen Glass a bit spikey and defensive in the post match BBC interview today...wonder how long he will last?
McGinn off, doesn't seem to be injured, he took a couple of tablets earlier, maybe energy tabs or salt tabs but possibly suffering from the Covid he had a few weeks ago.
18-09-2021, 05:13 PM
McGinn off, doesn't seem to be injured, he took a couple of tablets earlier, maybe energy tabs or salt tabs but possibly suffering from the Covid he had a few weeks ago.
He took a knock to the face at an early corner. Just before he was taking the tablets he was telling them 'its my jaw'.
Ah! Cheers never seen that, got the game on but with sound off, listening to some tunes with the wife, obviously pain killers he took then.
18-09-2021, 05:31 PM
Inter Milan currently 6-0 up at home to Bologna with 20 minutes still to play, Hickey was torn an absolute new one by Dumfries, he was immediately hooked after the 4th goal as the boy Dumfries was involved in the first 4 goals.
18-09-2021, 05:54 PM
Aston Villa 1 v 0 Everton
Cash
18-09-2021, 05:57 PM
Aston Villa 2 v 0 Everton
Digne og
18-09-2021, 06:04 PM
Aston Villa 3 v 0 Everton
Bailey
18-09-2021, 06:55 PM
Inter Milan currently 6-0 up at home to Bologna with 20 minutes still to play, Hickey was torn an absolute new one by Dumfries, he was immediately hooked after the 4th goal as the boy Dumfries was involved in the first 4 goals.
I was watching it until three nil, absolute destruction. Inter look really good, i watched them last week too. Brozovic a joy to watch.
18-09-2021, 08:23 PM
Salernitana 0 Atalanta 1, Salernitana very unlucky to be one down, smash and grab from Atalanta (not often you would say that)
18-09-2021, 09:04 PM
Stephen Glass not looking too clever in that interview on Sportscene
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
18-09-2021, 09:06 PM
Stephen Glass not looking too clever in that interview on Sportscene
Reminded me of Cathro a little.
19-09-2021, 10:29 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-to-appeal-ben-woodburn-decision-as-robbie-neilson-labels-booking-a-shambles-3388219