View Full Version : Match Updates 2021-22 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

29-08-2021, 06:25 PM
Congratulations to Manchester United in creating a new record in English football of 28 away league games unbeaten :applause::applause:

HH81 is away for a lie doon.

When is the trophy parade? Possibly do it in Bristol or Torquay.

Talking of Torquay was chatting to their players yesterday as staying in same hotel as me this weekend. Bet they wish local fans supported them instead 😁

29-08-2021, 06:27 PM
Will already be sleeping if they watched the game to be fair (unless Wolves high intensity game had them on the edge of their seat).

Nope I'm still awake.

Wolves the better team. All 3 games today on sky were rubbish. Super Sunday my arse.

On another note tried a local chippy, 4/10. Better than the football though.

29-08-2021, 06:29 PM
When is the trophy parade? Possibly do it in Bristol or Torquay.

Talking of Torquay was chatting to their players yesterday as staying in same hotel as me this weekend. Bet they wish local fans supported them instead ��

Fair play to be honest, travelling from Torquay to Manchester to watch their favourites is some effort. Even further than Lancashire lads travelling to Scotlands finest City to watch their favourites. Its a global game when you're a massive club like Hibs you draw support from all over. :wink::greengrin

29-08-2021, 06:30 PM
Fair play to be honest, travelling from Torquay to Manchester to watch their favourites is some effort. Even further than Lancashire lads travelling to Scotlands finest City to watch their favourites. Its a global game when you're a massive club like Hibs you draw support from all over. :wink::greengrin

To be fair the local based fans will never have been to games.

Us England based fans do 😁

29-08-2021, 06:39 PM
Looking back at the replay, definitely a foul for me.

It’s both a foul and a red card, he’s over the ball, straight leg, catches the player half way up the shin with his studs. That’s more of a red than Xhaka’s yesterday.

29-08-2021, 06:44 PM
It’s both a foul and a red card, he’s over the ball, straight leg, catches the player half way up the shin with his studs. That’s more of a red than Xhaka’s yesterday

You don't mean Pogba? He didn't touch the guy, who looked at the referee then decided to hit the deck a few seconds later. There was no contact. The referees have been told this season to look out for players choosing to go down for fouls.

29-08-2021, 06:49 PM
You don't mean Pogba? He didn't touch the guy, who looked at the referee then decided to hit the deck a few seconds later. There was no contact. The referees have been told this season to look out for players choosing to go down for fouls.

He did touch the guy, you can see his shin pad move round his leg due to it. There is also a still of it which shows it for the shocker it is.

29-08-2021, 06:51 PM
He did touch the guy, you can see his shin pad move round his leg due to it. There is also a still of it which shows it for the shocker it is.

29-08-2021, 06:51 PM

No way. He looks at the referee then sits down to get the foul. VAR reviewed it, too.

29-08-2021, 06:52 PM
I didn’t realise Aberdeen didn’t allow any Ross County fans in today!

29-08-2021, 06:54 PM

Is that right? Absolute nonsense if true

29-08-2021, 06:55 PM
No way. He looks at the referee then sits down to get the foul. VAR reviewed it, too.

Was a red card to be honest. Over the ball didn't touch the ball. Clear contact

29-08-2021, 06:55 PM

I notice they had a bigger crowd today than we had yesterday. Find that hard to believe

29-08-2021, 06:56 PM

How he goes down makes absolutely no difference, it’s a horrendous tackle and he does make contact. The still shows this and so does the video with his shin pad moving round his sock.

29-08-2021, 06:57 PM

Just said it on sportscene

29-08-2021, 06:58 PM
Benfica 2 Tondela 1, the Eagles come back from 0-1 down at half time to grab a win and move to the top of the Premeira liga.

29-08-2021, 06:58 PM
How he goes down makes absolutely no difference, it’s a horrendous tackle and he does make contact. The still shows this and so does the video with his shin pad moving round his sock.

Nah, he feigned contact and demanded a foul. Referees have been instructed to spot it, and VAR supported the decision, as did Carragher in commentary.

29-08-2021, 07:00 PM
Nah, he feigned contact and demanded a foul. Referees have been instructed to spot it, and VAR supported the decision.

Understandable why you think he missed the player but it was infact the only thing he kicked all day.

Foul.

29-08-2021, 07:01 PM
Nah, he feigned contact and demanded a foul. Referees have been instructed to spot it, and VAR supported the decision.

Are you just completely ignoring the still photo which has Pogba’s studs embedded into his leg? Mike Dean thought they both kicked the ball which was completely wrong, and even if there was no contact it’s still a red card (see Xhaka yesterday).

29-08-2021, 07:03 PM

It’s true, no St Johnstone fans at St Mirren either

29-08-2021, 07:05 PM
Are you just completely ignoring the still photo which has Pogba’s studs embedded into his leg? Mike Dean thought they both kicked the ball which was completely wrong, and even if there was no contact it’s still a red card (see Xhaka yesterday).

The photo shows no such thing. They both went for the ball, both missed the ball and each other. You are going to have to get over it; the referee, VAR and commentator all agreed.

29-08-2021, 07:09 PM
The photo shows no such thing. They both went for the ball, both missed the ball and each other. You are going to have to get over it; the referee, VAR and commentator all agreed.

Both missed the ball? The player literally kicked the ball away 😂 I’m ‘over it’ as it doesn’t concern me one bit, to say there was no contact I’d suggest you get down to your nearest specsavers tomorrow though. The photo shows quite clearly his studs are making contact with his shin.

29-08-2021, 07:10 PM
Reims v PSG, 0-1 PSG Mbappe.

Mbappe, Neymar, Messi on the bench. Reims havent faced anything like this since the 50s and coming up against most of the Famous5.

29-08-2021, 07:11 PM

Incredible var didn't pick that up.

29-08-2021, 07:13 PM
Incredible var didn't pick that up.

Can only presume they’ve had a quick look (first glance doesn’t look like contact) and said that’s enough. When you watch the close up you can see his shin pad move round his leg, and that still shows it quite clearly. They got away with it today, that foul and also all the missed chances.

Tommy75
29-08-2021, 07:20 PM
The crowd being entirely of a Hunnish persuasion could prove the difference. The fans make a massive difference in Old Firm games. I would make Sevco favourites due to that and Celtic's awful defence.

Why were Celtic not given tickets? I thought away clubs were entitled to a certain number of tickets or are there new covid rules? Sorry if this has been discussed elsewhere but seems to have passed me by!

29-08-2021, 07:23 PM
Why were Celtic not given tickets? I thought away clubs were entitled to a certain number of tickets or are there new covid rules? Sorry if this has been discussed elsewhere but seems to have passed me by!

Yes, COVID. Celtic said they cannot guarantee any tickets for Rangers at Parkhead, as they currently have a red zone policy. Rangers responded by giving them no tickets today.

29-08-2021, 07:23 PM

Celtic refused to make guarantees to Rangers that there would be tickets for away fans in the return game so Rangers returned the favour. A shambles but not unexpected from that pair. Like children fighting over their last sweetie.

29-08-2021, 07:24 PM

Some clubs have said that the use of a "red zone" (the area where the subs currently need to sit meaning the fans who usually sit there need to be relocated) has meant that they can't accommodate any away fans.

29-08-2021, 07:26 PM

There was defo contact…as you say you can see his shin pad move.

But how substantial that contact is I’m not sure. It certainly wasn’t enough to make him go down in the first place and he even stopped and had a look at the ref!

So to me it’s more of a skiff than a studs in the shin tackle and was nothing like the Arsenal red card yesterday.

29-08-2021, 07:27 PM
Yes, COVID. Celtic said they cannot guarantee any tickets for Rangers at Parkhead, as they currently have a red zone policy. Rangers responded by giving them no tickets today.

All clubs have a red zone, it's just that some clubs have said that it means they can't have any away fans as a result.

In Rangers' case they appear to be able to accommodate away fans but because Celtic don't, they revoked their offer of several hundred tickets for Celtic fans as Celtic said they couldn't guarantee that they could return the favour in January.

29-08-2021, 07:28 PM
Nah, he feigned contact and demanded a foul. Referees have been instructed to spot it, and VAR supported the decision, as did Carragher in commentary.

I didn't see the game but I completely agree with this.

29-08-2021, 07:28 PM
There was defo contact…as you say you can see his shin pad move.

But how substantial that contact is I’m not sure. It certainly wasn’t enough to make him go down in the first place and he even stopped and had a look at the ref!

So to me it’s more of a skiff than a studs in the shin tackle and was nothing like the Arsenal red card yesterday.

If his leg is planted it’s a potential leg breaker, it’s the exact type of tackle they’re trying to get rid of. Over the ball and straight leg - very high contact point. The reason I say it’s worse than Xhaka’s as he lunges in front of the player, not directly into him. Both still reds.

29-08-2021, 07:29 PM
All clubs have a red zone, it's just that some clubs have said that it means they can't have any away fans as a result.

In Rangers' case they appear to be able to accommodate away fans but because Celtic don't, they revoked their offer of several hundred tickets for Celtic fans as Celtic said they couldn't guarantee that they could return the favour in January.

Celtic can also accommodate away fans, they just choose not to.

29-08-2021, 07:31 PM
Celtic can also accommodate away fans, they just choose not to.

I'm not sure of the specifics, does that also apply to St Mirren and Aberdeen?

29-08-2021, 07:34 PM
I didn't see the game but I completely agree with this.

:hilarious:hilarious

29-08-2021, 07:36 PM
I'm not sure of the specifics, does that also apply to St Mirren and Aberdeen?

Going by the amount of empty seats at both, absolutely. Celtic after refusing tickets last week then put tickets on a general sale. There isn’t a club in the country that have that many season ticket holders that they can’t have a small amount of away fans at worst. Think Rangers will have the biggest % of STH’s compared to capacity and they can have away fans.

29-08-2021, 08:12 PM
Messi on for Neymar. PSG 2 up.

29-08-2021, 08:16 PM

Poor Reims, it's the football equivalent of bullying: Messi, Neymar, Di Maria, Mbappe etc etc

29-08-2021, 08:16 PM
Just seen the mighty sheep dropped points today. Pleasing.

Maybe should have waited to get their signing in rather than pick any old sheite up early. :greengrin

Willis1875
29-08-2021, 08:28 PM

This has been a tough watch,Stop/Start pish

29-08-2021, 08:37 PM
Abraham already looking a great signing for Roma. 2 assists last week, and a goal tonight.

29-08-2021, 08:40 PM
Abraham already looking a great signing for Roma. 2 assists last week, and a goal tonight.

Tammy Abraham is a good player and I think the move will do him good. Just on the edge of things at Chelsea, I think he'll do well in Italy.

29-08-2021, 10:20 PM
I think Celtic will win the league this season. Between us and Rangers for 2nd 😅

It's a fair shout.:aok:

29-08-2021, 10:57 PM

How would anyone tell?

Just_Jimmy
29-08-2021, 10:59 PM
It’s both a foul and a red card, he’s over the ball, straight leg, catches the player half way up the shin with his studs. That’s more of a red than Xhaka’s yesterday.

it's not in anyway a red card. it's not even a foul. Dean doesn't give it and VAR reviewed it, even the commentary team didn't think it was a foul. there's an anti pogba agenda in football which is led by souness and it's pathetic.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

29-08-2021, 11:02 PM
How would anyone tell?

30-08-2021, 06:40 AM
it's not in anyway a red card. it's not even a foul. Dean doesn't give it and VAR reviewed it, even the commentary team didn't think it was a foul. there's an anti pogba agenda in football which is led by souness and it's pathetic.

I actually really like Pogba 😂 it’s straight leg, over the ball, studs into the shin of his opponent at pace. It ticks every box for a red card. I’m not sure what part doesn’t even make it a foul at best.

30-08-2021, 06:47 AM

Sent from my Pixel 3a using TapatalkNot even a foul? [emoji23]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

30-08-2021, 08:15 AM
Hate these days down here in England, will loose count the amount of people who will say something today thinking my Hibs snood is a celtic one.

30-08-2021, 10:41 AM

I hope we're closely watching which clubs aren't letting away fans in for some reciprocity later.

30-08-2021, 12:38 PM
I hope we're closely watching which clubs aren't letting away fans in for some reciprocity later.

Why? So we can do it just out of spite and cost ourselves revenue?

The league should be stepping in here and looking to sort this out but for Hibs to do it ‘just because they did it to us’ when we could easily accommodate away fans would be a bit odd I’d say.

30-08-2021, 02:59 PM
Why? So we can do it just out of spite and cost ourselves revenue?

The league should be stepping in here and looking to sort this out but for Hibs to do it ‘just because they did it to us’ when we could easily accommodate away fans would be a bit odd I’d say.

If clubs don’t take our away fans then absolutely we should be doing likewise. It’s not out of spite, it’s sheer principles. They’re mugging our own off.

30-08-2021, 05:45 PM
If clubs don’t take our away fans then absolutely we should be doing likewise. It’s not out of spite, it’s sheer principles. They’re mugging our own off.

I’d rather take their money for what would be empty seats and let them watch us pump them.

30-08-2021, 05:58 PM
I’d rather take their money for what would be empty seats and let them watch us pump them.

I don’t want any of them anywhere near our stadium.

30-08-2021, 06:02 PM
I don’t want any of them anywhere near our stadium.

Unfortunately the next 2 games against them are on Wednesday nights, so there’s no way we will sell out without them

30-08-2021, 06:03 PM
Unfortunately the next 2 games against them are on Wednesday nights, so there’s no way we will sell out without them

And I still wouldn’t give any club that doesn’t give us anything.

30-08-2021, 06:42 PM
Just reading that Aberdeen moved their red zone supporters into the away section yesterday
They also have away 1000 free tickets as a marketing initiative
Clubs using lots of ways to block away fans
Wonder if they’ll turn down Rangers and Celtic money

30-08-2021, 07:16 PM
And I still wouldn’t give any club that doesn’t give us anything.

Starve them of the green pound 😉

01-09-2021, 02:04 PM
World Cup Qualifiers

Kazakhstan 0 v 1 Ukraine

Yaremchuk

01-09-2021, 03:30 PM
Kazakhstan 1 v 1 Ukraine

Valiuilin

01-09-2021, 03:49 PM
Kazakhstan 1 v 2 Ukraine

Sikan 90+3

01-09-2021, 03:51 PM
Kazakhstan 2 v 2 Ukraine

Valiuilin 90+4

Mikers110
01-09-2021, 05:28 PM
For anyone interested in womens football, Glasgow City in Champions league action just started on Alba.

01-09-2021, 07:20 PM
Norway 1 v 0 Holland

Haaland

01-09-2021, 07:35 PM
McGrath has just assisted a goal to put Ireland 1-0 up away to Portugal.

01-09-2021, 07:36 PM

Ireland with Shane Duffy at the back. Funny old game...

01-09-2021, 07:39 PM

Ronaldo missed a penalty too.

expresso
01-09-2021, 08:11 PM
McGrath playing really well

01-09-2021, 08:19 PM
McGrath will be at Aberdeen next window guaranteed

01-09-2021, 08:36 PM
Portugal 1 v 1 Eire

01-09-2021, 08:44 PM
Portugal 1 v 1 Eire

Ronaldo Unbelievable

01-09-2021, 08:48 PM
89 minutes Portugal 0 Ireland 1

Full time Portugal 2 Ireland 1 two Ronaldo headers.

Fought well Ireland tonight though.

01-09-2021, 09:00 PM
Ronaldo breaks the all time scoring record tonight

Another record

110 international goals

01-09-2021, 09:06 PM
89 minutes Portugal 0 Ireland 1

Full time Portugal 2 Ireland 1 two Ronaldo headers.

Fought well Ireland tonight though.

Ronaldo is scary in the late game. Cant imagine him vs Hibs if we had a 2-0 lead.

01-09-2021, 09:30 PM
Ronaldo has 245 goals from international games and Champions League appearances combined.

785 overall. Absolutely insane

01-09-2021, 09:33 PM
Ronaldo is scary in the late game. Cant imagine him vs Hibs if we had a 2-0 lead.

Hanlon would have him in his pocket.

01-09-2021, 09:33 PM
Ronaldo has 245 goals from international games and Champions League appearances combined.

785 overall. Absolutely insane
Must make him GOAT ?

🤔

01-09-2021, 11:28 PM
Must make him GOAT ?

🤔
His work ethic and how he looks after himself is a lesson to all players. Can see him playing for another 5 years.

delbert
02-09-2021, 11:27 AM
For anyone remotely interested, Griffiths and Cummings both scored for Dundee this morning in a first team bounce game against Hearts, which finished 3-2, Halliday, Boyce and Henderson for Hearts, pretty much full strength sides other than players away with international squads and no Charlie Adam for Dundee

02-09-2021, 12:19 PM
For anyone remotely interested, Griffiths and Cummings both scored for Dundee this morning in a first team bounce game against Hearts, which finished 3-2, Halliday, Boyce and Henderson for Hearts, pretty much full strength sides other than players away with international squads and no Charlie Adam for Dundee
Thanks for that

02-09-2021, 04:30 PM

Don't spread it or Hearts will claim to be top of the league

02-09-2021, 04:42 PM
Don't spread it or Hearts will claim to be top of the league

I thought they already were. :greengrin

02-09-2021, 05:04 PM
Ronaldo breaks the all time scoring record tonight

Another record

110 international goals

Best player of all time

02-09-2021, 05:15 PM
Boyle starts v China, 1900 ko.

02-09-2021, 06:28 PM
Boyle makes it 2-0 for The Aussies.

expresso
02-09-2021, 06:37 PM

Is this game on anywhere?

02-09-2021, 06:45 PM

Nae idea, got the score from livescore.

02-09-2021, 06:49 PM
Sweden 0 v 1 Spain

02-09-2021, 06:50 PM

Nowhere official on UK TV I don't think.

It's pretty easy to find though, I'm watching it but mention of the site's banned on here so can't comment I'm afraid.

02-09-2021, 06:50 PM
Sweden 1 v 1 Spain

02-09-2021, 06:52 PM
Estonia 1 v 0 Belgium

02-09-2021, 06:54 PM
Hungarian fans boo the ‘knee’ ?

02-09-2021, 06:55 PM
Boyle makes it 2-0 for The Aussies.He's on some roll!

02-09-2021, 07:00 PM
Poland 1 v 0 Albania

Lewandowski

02-09-2021, 07:02 PM
Boyle's goal here for anyone on Twitter.

https://twitter.com/Socceroos/status/1433504275993268228?s=19

02-09-2021, 07:04 PM
Italy 1 v 0 Bulgaria

Chiesa

02-09-2021, 07:04 PM

https://twitter.com/Socceroos/status/1433504275993268228?s=19Some strike! Irvine was the first across to congratulate him.

02-09-2021, 07:08 PM
Estonia 1 v 1 Belgium

Vanaken

02-09-2021, 07:12 PM
Lithuania 0 v 1 Northern Ireland

Ballard

The Tubs
02-09-2021, 07:13 PM
Hungarian fans boo the ‘knee’ ?

It's terrible that they force me to support England when this happens.

02-09-2021, 07:17 PM
Estonia 1 v 2 Belgium

Lakaku

02-09-2021, 07:18 PM
CR#7

Will wear the number 7 strip for Man Utd this season

andrew70
02-09-2021, 07:20 PM
Nowhere official on UK TV I don't think.

It's pretty easy to find though, I'm watching it but mention of the site's banned on here so can't comment I'm afraid.

It’s on the OneFootball app

02-09-2021, 07:21 PM
CR#7

They sold James to free up 21 for Cavani I reckon.

02-09-2021, 07:21 PM
Czech Republic 1 v 0 Belarus

Barak

02-09-2021, 07:26 PM
Lichtenstein 0 v 1 Germany

T Werner

02-09-2021, 07:27 PM
CR#7

Cavani was already allocated #7, is that even allowed?

02-09-2021, 07:28 PM
Italy 1 v 1 Bulgaria

02-09-2021, 07:29 PM
Cavani was already allocated #7, is that even allowed?
Cavani to take #21

SSN

02-09-2021, 07:31 PM
Poland 2 v 1 Albania

Buksa

ddoc
02-09-2021, 07:32 PM

Boyle injured and substituted. Hope it is not a serious one.

Just_Jimmy
02-09-2021, 07:33 PM
Cavani was already allocated #7, is that even allowed?yes if a player moves to an unallocated number, not if they SWAP.

so James left meaning 21 was unallocated.

cavani took 21 meaning 7 was unallocated

ronaldo took 7.

02-09-2021, 07:35 PM

Oh no. Can any Aussie Hibbies enlighten us?

02-09-2021, 07:38 PM

Surely not

02-09-2021, 07:39 PM

Oh dear , hope he is ok , form has been tremendous

ddoc
02-09-2021, 07:40 PM
Oh no. Can any Aussie Hibbies enlighten us?

Brought down from behind on one of his usual runs. Physio’s on the pitch but he walked off.
No update from the commentary team.

02-09-2021, 07:41 PM
Brought down from behind on one of his usual runs. Physio’s on the pitch but he walked off.
No update from the commentary team.

Hopefully a precaution

02-09-2021, 07:49 PM
yes if a player moves to an unallocated number, not if they SWAP.

so James left meaning 21 was unallocated.

cavani took 21 meaning 7 was unallocated

ronaldo took 7.

It still required permission to change it.

02-09-2021, 07:51 PM

https://twitter.com/Socceroos/status/1433504275993268228?s=19

Boyle looks a good player. If only he was Scottish!

02-09-2021, 07:54 PM
Sitter from Kane. 🤣🤣

Kane shudda buried that

Anyway...What does Grealish do ?

02-09-2021, 07:57 PM
That's a bad one from Declan Rice - only a yellow!

02-09-2021, 07:58 PM
1-0 England Sterling

02-09-2021, 07:58 PM
Rice lucky to stay on there! I don't get the fuss about him, seems a pretty average lump of a midfielder

02-09-2021, 07:59 PM
Grealish gets it right for once with a half assist

Well played

02-09-2021, 08:00 PM
Boyle looks a good player. If only he was Scottish!
He is, unfortunately the powers that be in Scottish football didn't think he was good enough for the Scottish national team, go figure. 🤔

02-09-2021, 08:00 PM
3-1 Poland

2-1 Sweden

02-09-2021, 08:03 PM
He is, unfortunately the powers that be in Scottish football didn't think he was good enough for the Scottish national team, go figure. [emoji848]To be fair, folk on here were generally pretty surprised when there was talk of him being called up for Australia. I could be wrong but I don't recall too many folk saying that he should be playing for Scotland at that time.

02-09-2021, 08:06 PM
2-0 England Kane

02-09-2021, 08:07 PM
2-0 Kane

ddoc
02-09-2021, 08:13 PM
Hopefully a precaution

Mark Milligan says Boyle was holding his hamstring as he came off. Really do hope it is not a serious injury.

He's here!
02-09-2021, 08:13 PM
That was a really good finish from Kane. Had to reposition himself but still got great power behind the header.

02-09-2021, 08:14 PM
FFS !

3-0 England

Maguire header on target 6/1 Skybet

02-09-2021, 08:15 PM
England have come onto a game, looking good.
Northern Ireland on a roll as well.

02-09-2021, 08:18 PM
England have come onto a game, looking good.

It's what good players can do, switch it up a few gears and turn it on, they do have some very good players all at a good age.

02-09-2021, 08:26 PM
They need to have empty stadiums in these countries if monkey chants are going to continue.

02-09-2021, 08:26 PM
England have made Hungary look like a pub team, from start to finish. Their fans are a credit to them :rolleyes:

02-09-2021, 08:30 PM
It's what good players can do, switch it up a few gears and turn it on, they do have some very good players all at a good age.

England defence is dodgy but Hungary couldn't get close enough to find out. Teams who have the slightest bit of ambition and drive about them will do.

0-4 and rightly so. Hungary have been awful.

02-09-2021, 08:31 PM
They need to have empty stadiums in these countries if monkey chants are going to continue.

Yup. Time to start really getting tough. The current strategy isn't working.

02-09-2021, 08:31 PM
4-0 England

Assist from Grealish and set Kane up twice for assists he should have converted

Fair Play

Tobias Funke
02-09-2021, 08:39 PM
Glad England pumped them sore, horrible racist ****s.

02-09-2021, 08:40 PM
England defence is dodgy but Hungary couldn't get close enough to find out. Teams who have the slightest bit of ambition and drive about them will do.

Look back at the scalps Hungary took in the Euros - not the mugs you suggest.

He's here!
02-09-2021, 08:42 PM
Outstanding result for England in what looked a tricky fixture. They're the real deal, no question. Clutching at straws to claim otherwise.

Good win for Northern Ireland too.

02-09-2021, 08:51 PM
4-0 England

Assist from Grealish and set Kane up twice for assists he should have converted

Fair Play
Aye, from his 3 good chances a hat trick was available for Kane but I give him credit for the ground he covered over the 90 minutes to give his best for the team. I feel that this part of his game is well under rated.

02-09-2021, 08:54 PM
Outstanding result for England in what looked a tricky fixture. They're the real deal, no question. Clutching at straws to claim otherwise.

Good win for Northern Ireland too.
👍

Aye, from his 3 good chances a hat trick was available for Kane but I give him credit for the ground he covered over the 90 minutes to give his best for the team. I feel that this part of his game is well under rated.

Must come, surely? I was going to suggest that away supporters should be allowed in but think what the locals would do to them outside of the game.

EI255
02-09-2021, 09:02 PM
Glad England pumped them sore, horrible racist ****s.Yeah. The Hungarian fans got a lot of credit at the Euros and everyone singing their praises.

The reality is, they are racist thugs.

They travelled to Seville in big, organised numbers too and dished out their bile whilst looking for fights.

Looks like they enjoy the "Russian model" of black clad, white supremacist football hooligans. Sad, sad, sad people.

About ten years behind Europe that lot.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

02-09-2021, 09:03 PM

They need to be barred from international competition and embargo’s out on their clubs meaning nobody can be transferred in or out.

02-09-2021, 09:08 PM
Yeah. The Hungarian fans got a lot of credit at the Euros and everyone singing their praises.

They travelled to Seville in big, organised numbers too and dished out their bile whilst looking for fights.

Looks like they enjoy the "Russian model" of black clad, white supremacist football hooligans. Sad, sad, sad people.

I’m no fan of the Hungarian fans but it’s not like the rest of Western Europe have a shiny record in the racist fan stakes. Are we remembering the reaction to the English penalty defeat, booing the knee, and the daily racist abuse on social media?
Also a growing problem in Italy.

02-09-2021, 09:11 PM
I’m no fan of the Hungarian fans but it’s not like the rest of Western Europe have a shiny record in the racist fan stakes. Are we remembering the reaction to the English penalty defeat, booing the knee, and the daily racist abuse on social media?
Also a growing problem in Italy.

When it’s as in your face as monkey chants - something that has been eradicated here but for a very rare, lone moron - something has got to be done.

Renfrew_Hibby
02-09-2021, 09:12 PM
Yeah. The Hungarian fans got a lot of credit at the Euros and everyone singing their praises.

Black clad mob with a superior attitude you say? Thought you were describing the Union Bears there for a second. Silly me

02-09-2021, 09:27 PM
England fans did also boo the players taking the knee; however, the racist bile of the Hungarian support is intolerable and something has to be done. There is no mitigation for monkey chants in 2021; UEFA and FIFA have held high profile anti-racism campaigns for many years, which everyone is aware of.

03-09-2021, 04:46 AM

Keep reading this, but its never proven. England don't lose many goals at all.

03-09-2021, 06:59 AM
Keep reading this, but its never proven. England don't lose many goals at all.

If only they could master the ancient art of the ‘Penalty Shootout’ :greengrin

03-09-2021, 07:25 AM
I didn't realise Spain lost a record last night going back nearly 30 years.

Until last night they hadn't lost a World Cup qualifier since 1993, which spanned 66 matches - 52 wins and 14 draws.

pollution
03-09-2021, 11:43 AM
As much as the racist thugs hogged the headlines, remember the majority of the ordinary Hungarian fans are disgusted by these idiots.

The minority of the crowd does not need goading from a celebrating English player sporting writing the average thug would not comprehend to spark off.

03-09-2021, 12:09 PM
As much as the racist thugs hogged the headlines, remember the majority of the ordinary Hungarian fans are disgusted by these idiots.

The minority of the crowd does not need goading from a celebrating English player sporting writing the average thug would not comprehend to spark off.

Without trying to deflect this thread, Hungary (and Poland) are currently led by deep right wing governments..Hungary have almost overridden Democracy in the way they have cemented far right power …the socio-political environment in these places will also be generating hate and racism across their societies..

FIFA, UEFA and the EU have to take a major stand ..or it is making a mockery out of all of their “respect” etc initiatives ..

Hungary should be kicked out of the tournament ..amongst others …

03-09-2021, 12:34 PM
Without trying to deflect this thread, Hungary (and Poland) are currently led by deep right wing governments..Hungary have almost overridden Democracy in the way they have cemented far right power …the socio-political environment in these places will also be generating hate and racism across their societies..

FIFA, UEFA and the EU have to take a major stand ..or it is making a mockery out of all of their “respect” etc initiatives ..

Hungary should be kicked out of the tournament ..amongst others …

I’d disagree about Poland being led by a deep right Government, it’s more of a left/right hybrid. On issues such as abortion, gay rights etc they have used the popularity of the church to help push a ‘traditional ‘ agenda yet their 500 plus programme has delivered on promises to give a leg up to the poorer members of society. It defies categorisation.
I’d suggest that it’s the socio-economic policies that kept the law and a justice party in power with widespread push back against their more regressive agenda, especially in the cities. Poland is far from a lost cause. I am biased though, I love the country and it’s people.:greengrin

Hungary should be kicked out of the tournament now though, their fans are toxic.

03-09-2021, 12:49 PM
I’d disagree about Poland being led by a deep right Government, it’s more of a left/right hybrid. On issues such as abortion, gay rights etc they have used the popularity of the church to help push a ‘traditional ‘ agenda yet their 500 plus programme has delivered on promises to give a leg up to the poorer members of society. It defies categorisation.
I’d suggest that it’s the socio-economic policies that kept the law and a justice party in power with widespread push back against their more regressive agenda, especially in the cities. Poland is far from a lost cause. I am biased though, I love the country and it’s people.:greengrin

Hungary should be kicked out of the tournament now though, their fans are toxic.

Polish government is without doubt a right wing populist government. My Polish colleagues love their country too . they are deeply troubled by the government. Their view this week was a strong belief that the EU should be taking significant action against the Polish government. Only recently have they taken action against media in country to silence their critics …horrible environment being created there

03-09-2021, 01:01 PM
Polish government is without doubt a right wing populist government. My Polish colleagues love their country too . they are deeply troubled by the government. Their view this week was a strong belief that the EU should be taking significant action against the Polish government. Only recently have they taken action against media in country to silence their critics …horrible environment being created there

Ill stick with the old Right/Left labels no longer being fit for purpose. The ruling party in Poland are on the traditional right for some issues and the traditional left for others. Their main popularity lies in more rural areas with plenty of resistance elsewhere. The EU have already threatened action against them for their attempts to weaken the judiciary. That , along with a population that is far from compliant, should keep them in check until the next election when I fully expect to see them defeated.

A bit too political for here maybe, apologies, I’ll stop now.

03-09-2021, 04:41 PM
Ill stick with the old Right/Left labels no longer being fit for purpose. The ruling party in Poland are on the traditional right for some issues and the traditional left for others. Their main popularity lies in more rural areas with plenty of resistance elsewhere. The EU have already threatened action against them for their attempts to weaken the judiciary. That , along with a population that is far from compliant, should keep them in check until the next election when I fully expect to see them defeated.

A bit too political for here maybe, apologies, I’ll stop now.

Yes me too - apologies for taking the thread off track [emoji106]

03-09-2021, 07:31 PM
I didn't realise Spain lost a record last night going back nearly 30 years.

Until last night they hadn't lost a World Cup qualifier since 1993, which spanned 66 matches - 52 wins and 14 draws.

I saw that too, pretty amazing stat.

03-09-2021, 07:44 PM
]England defence is dodgy but Hungary couldn't get close enough to find out. Teams who have the slightest bit of ambition and drive about them will do.
[/B]

To be fair there isnt alot of evidence to back that up. England have kept something like 18 clean sheets in the last 25 games and the ratio doesnt alter a tremednous amount going back further covering a World Cup, a Nations league and a European Campionship. Englands defence is as good as virtually anyone else in Europe or indeed world football.

03-09-2021, 08:36 PM
To be fair there isnt alot of evidence to back that up. England have kept something like 18 clean sheets in the last 25 games and the ratio doesnt alter a tremednous amount going back further covering a World Cup, a Nations league and a European Campionship. Englands defence is as good as virtually anyone else in Europe or indeed world football.

And it includes the likes of Jordan Pickford, Kyle Walker and Harry McGuire. It’s truly remarkable stuff.

Keyser Sauzee
04-09-2021, 04:21 PM
Does anyone know where I can stream the Cyprus v Russia game?

04-09-2021, 04:23 PM
Does anyone know where I can stream the Cyprus v Russia game?

http://www.hesgoal.com/

Keyser Sauzee
04-09-2021, 04:25 PM
http://www.hesgoal.com/

👍🏼

04-09-2021, 05:04 PM
ROI 1-0 down to Azerbaijan at ht
They really are struggling just now

04-09-2021, 05:15 PM
ROI 1-0 down to Azerbaijan at ht
They really are struggling just now

No score change after 80 minutes.
The goal was great.
Think ROI are struggling because their team is made up of predominately Irish players now.
Horgan on as sub.

04-09-2021, 05:38 PM
Horgan, Collins and Doherty all on for Ireland.

04-09-2021, 05:38 PM
The goal was great.
Think ROI are struggling because their team is made up of predominately Irish players now.
Horgan on as sub.

3 ex Hibs players on for them now.

04-09-2021, 05:40 PM
The goal was great.
Horgan on as sub.

Have the rules changed?

04-09-2021, 05:42 PM
Nisbet starting for scotland tonight

04-09-2021, 05:43 PM
Have the rules changed?

Nah, Scottish players are now playing for Scotland thankfully.

04-09-2021, 05:51 PM
Goal Sean Duffy 87 mins
1-1 deep in injury time

04-09-2021, 06:04 PM
Nah, Scottish players are now playing for Scotland thankfully.

I’m totally confused now?

04-09-2021, 06:05 PM
I’m totally confused now?

Ireland used to benefit from Scottish guys like McGeady and McCarthy playing for them.

Now that they’ve got actual Irish players playing for them and Scottish guys are playing for Scotland instead, they’re toiling.

04-09-2021, 06:06 PM
Ireland used to benefit from Scottish guys like McGeady and McCarthy playing for them.

Now that they’ve got actual Irish players playing for them and Scottish guys are playing for Scotland instead, they’re toiling.

That’s nonsense of course.

04-09-2021, 06:15 PM
That’s nonsense of course.

Is it? :confused:

McGeady and McCarthy both played for them.

They no longer have any Scottish born players playing for them

They’re struggling.

What part is nonsense :confused:

04-09-2021, 06:17 PM
Is it? :confused:

McGeady and McCarthy both played for them.

They no longer have any Scottish born players playing for them

They’re struggling.

What part is nonsense :confused:

The part where that is the cause.

04-09-2021, 06:19 PM
The part where that is the cause.

Ah of course.

What’s the cause then?

McGeady and McCarthy were two of their best players and a big part of them being a decent side whilst they played.

04-09-2021, 06:26 PM
Ah of course.

What’s the cause then?

McGeady and McCarthy were two of their best players and a big part of them being a decent side whilst they played.

I can’t really be bothered about a drawn out discussion about the Irish international team over the last 30 or so years to disprove that their current issues have anything to do with not playing two players who were born in Scotland.

It is too ridiculous.

04-09-2021, 06:27 PM
I can’t really be bothered about a drawn out discussion about the Irish international team over the last 30 or so years to disprove that their current issues have anything to do with not playing two players who were born in Scotland.

It is too ridiculous.

Well I never seen that coming.

04-09-2021, 06:27 PM
How many tickets have been sold?

04-09-2021, 06:28 PM
Well I never seen that coming.

Okay.

It is too ridiculous.
Were they not one of the 1st countries to use the grand parent rule?

Another feature on Sky about Marshall saving the penalty in Serbia before a game.

Build a ****ing bridge and move on ffs.

How many tickets have been sold?

I’d heard around 45,000 or so

04-09-2021, 06:30 PM
Ah of course.

What’s the cause then?

So if Ireland were good because they had two Scottish (in your view) players, why are we not very good with 9 or 10 Scottish players in the team?

04-09-2021, 06:31 PM
I’d heard around 45,000 or so

Didn't realise it would be as much as that? Good to hear

04-09-2021, 06:32 PM
Another feature on Sky about Marshall saving the penalty in Serbia before a game.

Build a ****ing bridge and move on ffs.

Why they were talking about Robertsons international career and that would be an obvious highlight

04-09-2021, 06:33 PM
So if Ireland were good because they had two Scottish (in your view) players, why are we not very good with 9 or 10 Scottish players in the team?

What? :confused:

04-09-2021, 06:39 PM

It is too ridiculous.

McGeady was the best Scottish player of his generation.
He decided to play for Ireland instead of Scotland and that decision adversely affected Scotland and boosted the quality of the Ireland team.
The effect of losing McCarthy to Ireland about the same time doubled that effect.
They represented 20% of their outfield players so not insignificant
Fortunately Scottish players are no longer making this choice and that is to our benefit and to the detriment of the Irish national team.

04-09-2021, 06:41 PM
He decided to play for Ireland instead of Scotland and that decision adversely affected Scotland and boosted the quality of the Ireland team.
The effect of losing McCarthy to Ireland about the same time had a similar effect on both countries.
Fortunately Scottish players are no longer making this choice and that is to our benefit and to the detriment of the Irish national team.

Yup.

Quite how that can be described as nonsense is laughable really. As you say, McGeady would have been our best player, McCarthy would have been right up there as well. Both would have made a huge difference to our squads, both would have been a huge loss to ROI.

04-09-2021, 06:49 PM
The effect of losing McCarthy to Ireland about the same time doubled that effect.
They represented 20% of their outfield players so not insignificant

McGeady was not the best player of his generation. Nonsense.

Darren Fletcher was miles better than McGeady hence why he played for arguably the biggest club in the world for over10 years.

04-09-2021, 06:50 PM
Scotland starting brightly

04-09-2021, 06:52 PM
Yup.

Quite how that can be described as nonsense is laughable really. As you say, McGeady would have been our best player, McCarthy would have been right up there as well. Both would have made a huge difference to our squads, both would have been a huge loss to ROI.

They were both Irish though and entitled to play for who they choose.

04-09-2021, 06:53 PM
Israel 1 Austria 0

04-09-2021, 06:54 PM
Scotland starting brightly

Patterson looks shaky. I suspect he may be overhyped because he plays for Sevco.

04-09-2021, 06:55 PM
They were both Irish though and entitled to play for who they choose.

They both would have played for Scotland as their first choice had it not been for a stupid rule regarding schools football for McGeady and McCarthy not being called up through the youth groups. Both have said as much. Both see themselves as Scottish and would have played for Scotland in normal circumstances.

04-09-2021, 06:58 PM
dykes 1-0 :thumbsup:

04-09-2021, 06:59 PM
Patterson looks shaky. I suspect he may be overhyped because he plays for Sevco.

He did ok there though! Great from Nisbet as well

Well worked goal that. Thought Nisbet had possibly held on to it a bit long at first.

Paterson will go on to have a very good career.

Good goal

04-09-2021, 07:00 PM
brilliant seeing the fans there

04-09-2021, 07:00 PM
Nisbet and Paterson both look like they belong in this team.

Opposition isn't up too much but they have slotted in well.

04-09-2021, 07:02 PM
credit the Moldovans playing two up top

04-09-2021, 07:09 PM
Israel 2 Austria 0

great result for them if they win

free header tierney 4 or 5 yards out, heads it in to the ground

04-09-2021, 07:12 PM
Sitter from tierney.

04-09-2021, 07:14 PM
We should be three up at least.

04-09-2021, 07:17 PM
England playing on ITV, they look awful, nowhere near the levels they were playing at during the Euros

04-09-2021, 07:20 PM
England playing on ITV, they look awful, nowhere near the levels they were playing at during the Euros

They were very good the other night by all accounts.

Edit: never mind 😂

04-09-2021, 07:22 PM
wow Israel 3 Austria 0

3-1

04-09-2021, 07:22 PM
They were very good the other night by all accounts.

Edit: never mind 😂

They must’ve had some injury list having to bring Scholes out of retirement.

04-09-2021, 07:24 PM
Really poor movement since the goal from our two strikers. They are both better than what we are seeing.

04-09-2021, 07:28 PM
Really poor movement since the goal from our two strikers. They are both better than what we are seeing.

I’m not sure Dykes is……

04-09-2021, 07:30 PM
I think Nisbet would show better if he wasnt playing alongside Dykes. Not much synergy between the two.

04-09-2021, 07:30 PM
Ht 1-0

3-1 Isreal

0-0 Denmark in the faroes

no goal says var whatever

04-09-2021, 07:35 PM
Soccer Aid game has been better 😂

04-09-2021, 07:36 PM
We've huffed and puffed as they say but 2 sitters missed by Robbo and Tierney. Thought Nissy would be more of the link up player but Dykes seems to be in that role.

04-09-2021, 07:38 PM
Moldova will come out second half thinking they can get something out of this game if it continues in this vein

04-09-2021, 07:41 PM
Scotland really are ***** aren't they.

04-09-2021, 07:47 PM

Safe to say we absolutely fluked our way to the Euros.

We won’t be near a tournament again any time soon.

04-09-2021, 07:48 PM
Ukraine 1 France 0 at half time.

04-09-2021, 07:50 PM
Safe to say we absolutely fluked our way to the Euros.

We won’t be near a tournament again any time soon.

That draw with England will go down as our greatest achievement for decades.

04-09-2021, 07:52 PM
We need another goal soon.

CloudSquall
04-09-2021, 07:53 PM
At the very least the Republic of Ireland have taken the "most humpty team in the British Isles" crown away from us:agree::greengrin

04-09-2021, 07:56 PM
Welsh Cup results today

Aberystwyth Town 9 Aber Valley 0
Bala Town 17 Brymbo 1

I presume its football rather than rugby cup.

04-09-2021, 08:00 PM
At the very least the Republic of Ireland have taken the "most humpty team in the British Isles" crown away from us:agree::greengrin

Book yourself a wee weekend away to Drogheda, maybe bring that up in the boozer?

04-09-2021, 08:01 PM

Sadly, yes. Nisbet has been poor, as has 5 or 6 Scotland players. Eye-bleeding stuff against rubbish opposition.

04-09-2021, 08:03 PM
Some of the chances that we are passing up are almost beyond belief.

04-09-2021, 08:03 PM
Sadly, yes. Nisbet has been poor, as has 5 or 6 Scotland players. Eye-bleeding stuff against rubbish opposition.

He did well to find Gilmour who should have scored.

04-09-2021, 08:05 PM
Some of the chances that we are passing up are almost beyond belief.

Gilmore missed real sitter after a fantastic pass by Nisbet

04-09-2021, 08:05 PM
3-2 Israel.

04-09-2021, 08:06 PM
Should have been Dykes off for me not Nisbet.

Just_Jimmy
04-09-2021, 08:06 PM
Should have been Dykes off for me not Nisbet.Agree but Clarke loves a big Huddy. 2024 with this dross... joy

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

04-09-2021, 08:07 PM
Scotland really are Tom Kite. We won't be near another finals anytime soon sadly. We are a turgid watch

I think Nisbet will be a bit full of regret tonight now he’s been removed.

Got to contribute more than two good passes at this level, I’m sure he will learn from it though.

skyehibee
Not Nisbet’s best game I thought

Nisbet was better first half, poorer 2nd. Would’ve had a good assist though if Gilmour finished his chance which he should’ve.

04-09-2021, 08:08 PM
**** sake taking off Nisbet who has created two fantastic chances and instrumental
in the goal and keeping Dykes on….��

4-2 Israel

I think Nisbet will be a bit full of regret tonight now he’s been removed.

Got to contribute more than two good passes at this level, I’m sure he will learn from it though.

Bit Harsh the service to the 2 strikers hasn't been great all night and he played his part in the goal and setting up Gilmour. Not his best performance but the team have been dreadful overall

:agree::agree::agree:

Denmark were 6 nil up at this stage v Moldova. Scotland far too slow and pedestrian and lacking ruthlessness- very frustating. Moldova are hopeless.

04-09-2021, 08:09 PM
Bit Harsh the service to the 2 strikers hasn't been great all night and he played his part in the goal and setting up Gilmour. Not his best performance but the team have been dreadful overall

You’ve pretty much described what I said in a different way - we are in agreement he made two good passes?

4-2 Israel

Think we're watching the wrong game.

:agree::agree::agree:

Denmark were 6 nil up at this stage v Moldova. Scotland far too slow and pedestrian and lacking ruthlessness- very frustating. Moldova are hopeless.

Yeah, but Denmark are 0-0 with the Faeroes :greengrin