08-09-2021, 08:39 PM
Good goal that. He seemed to enjoy it.:greengrin
08-09-2021, 08:42 PM
Arf, arf arf.......
CloudSquall
08-09-2021, 08:57 PM
The BBC updates page seems to want to really push the fact that the group is still all in England's hands.
That's of course true, but the necessity to repeat it seems to suggest that those south of the border are scared of another arse collapse :greengrin
1875godsgift
08-09-2021, 09:03 PM
The BBC updates page seems to want to really push the fact that the group is still all in England's hands.
That's of course true, but the necessity to repeat it seems to suggest that those south of the border are scared of another arse collapse :greengrin
Does anybody else automatically give Terry Butcher's comments a 'thumbs down' without actually reading them or are am I just being petty??
08-09-2021, 09:17 PM
[QUOTE=CloudSquall;6686539]The BBC updates page seems to want to really push the fact that the group is still all in England's hands.
That's of course true, but the necessity to repeat it seems to suggest that those south of the border are scared of another arse collapse :greengrin[/QUOTE
How many is "those" anyway? All of them? One reporter? Care to quantify.
CloudSquall
08-09-2021, 09:26 PM
How many is "those" anyway? All of them? One reporter? Care to quantify.
Oooft, case in point, two points dropped and heads are being lost :greengrin
08-09-2021, 09:31 PM
michael smith hearts and northern ireland just comitted a shocking tackle just hope he doesnt do the same to one of ours on sunday. seen players sent off for that type of challenge.
Really surprised that wasn't a red card. Looked reckless and deliberate
08-09-2021, 11:50 PM
England are a very good team - sadly
You tend to find that when you have 60 million folk to choose from
09-09-2021, 07:07 AM
And the richest domestic league in the world by a distance:
That being said though, a lot of Scottish folk get far too carried away in thinking they’re *****.
They’re one of the best teams in the world as they should be.
09-09-2021, 07:10 AM
That post makes even less sense than your first one.
I never noticed that, Poland were the best team they played in their group and gave them a really good test, Poland were 21st in FIFA rankings, dropped to 27 but still a bloody good team.
And the richest domestic league in the world by a distance:
That being said though, a lot of Scottish folk get far too carried away in thinking they’re *****.
They’re one of the best teams in the world as they should be.
The English national team can't buy players so that's hardly relevant.
LunasBoots
09-09-2021, 08:31 AM
They can't but they invest billions into producing talented young players for the future compared to the other home nations.
09-09-2021, 08:53 AM
It’s completely relevant. The clubs in the top league in England have an overall wealth that dwarfs that of the clubs in every other country. This gives them more money than anyone else to put into facilities, sports science and whatever else to help produce players.
09-09-2021, 09:47 AM
It’s completely relevant. The clubs in the top league in England have an overall wealth that dwarfs that of the clubs in every other country. This gives them more money than anyone else to put into facilities, sports science and whatever else to help produce players.
But most of that money is spent on bringing in players from elsewhere.
Bloody stupid argument.
Allez Hibs
09-09-2021, 09:52 AM
Their players are battling for spots in teams with the best players because it's the richest league in the world and these teams can afford the best players.
How much will Marcus Rashford develop playing with Ronaldo, Mason Mount playing with Lukaku and Jack Grealish playing for Man City under Guardiola?
Allez Hibs
09-09-2021, 09:55 AM
Bloody stupid argument.
It's not stupid when you think about it where homegrown English players are playing in sides with these players.
Would Scotland benefit from having an experienced Premier League Manager as we have a number of established Premier League players now and manage it like a Premier League side?
09-09-2021, 10:05 AM
Although Denmark only have about 5m, Belgium anout 11m so its not the be all and end all.
09-09-2021, 10:21 AM
Bloody stupid argument.
Ah yes you’re right. Those things have no impact on the quality of English players because they also use the money for signing foreign players. Gotcha.
HibsGW
09-09-2021, 10:31 AM
Bloody stupid argument.
Surely you agree that if Scottish football had English football’s money, and every club had £60m training centres and the level of professionalism that comes with it and top class coaches who Scotland currently can’t afford that it’d lead to Scotland producing better players? Josh Doig could currently be playing alongside significantly better players, having came through significantly better academy systems and been coached by world class coaches, rather than just whoever some of the better guys in Edinburgh area are?
09-09-2021, 10:31 AM
Ah yes you’re right. Those things have no impact on the quality of English players because they also use the money for signing foreign players. Gotcha.
Yes but no but it also enables EPL clubs to spread the wealth by paying exorbitant fees for lower League players in most cases prolonging their clubs survival and creating a knock on effect as they seek to find suitable replacements
Tommy75
09-09-2021, 10:38 AM
The debate around the riches of the Premier League and the impact this has on the English national team is an interesting one. Both side of the argument seem pretty reasonable to me.
It's a strange one because despite all thier riches and abundance of world/top class players over the last 30 years or so, England have massively under achieved when compared to the likes of France, Germany and Italy whose leauges have nowhere near the same level of money floating about.
Magpie
09-09-2021, 11:13 AM
Some goal from Harry Kane, cracker.
He’s scored in 15 consecutive qualifying games for England. 12 goals from Rooney’s record of being England’s top goalscorer.
Watching Brum v Derby, half empty stadium and bang average football on show, only reason we lose players to that league is wages, definitely not the football quality.
10-09-2021, 07:58 PM
Watching Brum v Derby, half empty stadium and bang average football on show, only reason we lose players to that league is wages, definitely not the football quality.
Half empty due to stadium repairs, top tiers and main stand is full, capacity 15,000 tonight.
10-09-2021, 07:59 PM
10-09-2021, 08:00 PM
Just woke up. Is this pish not finished yet?
Half empty due to stadium repairs, top tiers and main stand is full, capacity 15,000 tonight.
You'd have thought they'd arrange at least one camera on that side to show the crowd now and then, still a pi sh game.
Graeme Shinnie off at half time, don't think it's an injury, he was anonymous most of the 1st half.
10-09-2021, 08:07 PM
You'd have thought they'd arrange at least one camera on that side to show the crowd now and then, still a pi sh game.
Think we've all seen more Pish games in our lives than good ones. If I was to list all the pish games Ive seen at Easter Road I'd still be writing the list on Sunday. Just makes those good days better.:wink:
It's the way they make the EFL Championship out to be a really good league and it's no better than our Premier league.
10-09-2021, 08:21 PM
It's the way they make the EFL Championship out to be a really good league and it's no better than our Premier league.
To be fair it’s usually promoted as a hugely competitive league, which it is….and ours isn’t!
10-09-2021, 08:23 PM
Apart from all the big sides that play in it, the media coverage and a different winner every season it’s exactly the same.
10-09-2021, 08:23 PM
The debate around the riches of the Premier League and the impact this has on the English national team is an interesting one. Both side of the argument seem pretty reasonable to me.
It's a strange one because despite all thier riches and abundance of world/top class players over the last 30 years or so, England have massively under achieved when compared to the likes of France, Germany and Italy whose leauges have nowhere near the same level of money floating about.
They’ve also got a significantly smaller population than those three.
Success generally follows either money or population or most likely a mixture of both in football. Rarely does a team with neither - like Croatia - manage to do anything.
10-09-2021, 08:28 PM
They’ve also got a significantly smaller population than those three.
Success generally follows either money or population or most likely a mixture of both in football. Rarely does a team with neither - like Croatia - manage to do anything.
im not sure the population thing stands up.
England pop is 56million
italy pop is 60million
Spain pop is 46 million
Italy and Spain have had multiple tournament wins
10-09-2021, 08:49 PM
im not sure the population thing stands up.
England pop is 56million
italy pop is 60million
Spain pop is 46 million
Italy and Spain have had multiple tournament wins
Spain wasn’t mentioned in the post I mentioned. They do however have a national team that when successful it was generally made up of players from the two richest/most expensively assembled teams on the planet.
Italy is about 8% more, France is about 20% more and Germany is about 60% more in terms of population.
Apart from all the big sides that play in it, the media coverage and a different winner every season it’s exactly the same.
Talking about standard
10-09-2021, 08:54 PM
Spain wasn’t mentioned.
Italy is about 8% more, France is about 20% more and Germany is about 60% more.
i realise Spain wasn’t mentioned, but in the context of looking at what is necessary for a nation to achieve a decent amount of success at tournament level, I was pointing out that Spain and Italy have both done that, and neither has a significantly higher population than England.
10-09-2021, 08:55 PM
Talking about standard.
Glad I didn’t disappoint but the standard is reflected in everything I mentioned. Literally a different league.
Yes its competitive but I was talking about standard of games, I've watched a few and I'd say our top 6 would compete very well in the Championship, I think it's over hyped as a league.
One thing I do agree on is it's competitiveness, very seldom is it ever bossed like our league is by the OF but that's down to our set up and our authorities in Scotland.
11-09-2021, 10:34 AM
I see Goldson is out of the Rangers team today, he’s played every minute the last in 81 games!
That’s some record
Patterson hasn’t recovered from his injury he picked up with Scotland
Callum Davidson signs new contract until 2025
11-09-2021, 11:04 AM
Some good BT sports fare later…An absolute belter at 5pm from Italy, Napoli-Juve. Followed by Monaco at Marseille (or Atalanta-Fiorentina if you prefer).
11-09-2021, 11:11 AM
i realise Spain wasn’t mentioned, but in the context of looking at what is necessary for a nation to achieve a decent amount of success at tournament level, I was pointing out that Spain and Italy have both done that, and neither has a significantly higher population than England.
I get that, but to suggest that money plays no part is simply incorrect.
England have under achieved when you compare the finances and population they have with other countries.
11-09-2021, 11:13 AM
The Championship in England is a cracking league. Big attendances, not as sanitised as the Premier League and hugely competitive.
11-09-2021, 11:32 AM
That’s a terrible support St Johnstone have today
11-09-2021, 11:36 AM
That’s a terrible support St Johnstone have today
Just back to normal not they’re out of Europe. Embarrassing they have one stand and can’t even fill it. Where are the daytrippers?
AliboyFC
11-09-2021, 11:46 AM
Just back to normal not they’re out of Europe. Embarrassing they have one stand and can’t even fill it. Where are the daytrippers?
I was about to say that. Gloryhunters...
11-09-2021, 12:03 PM
St Johnstone battling well and defending strongly especially in the midfield. Still look solid.
11-09-2021, 12:26 PM
Ali Crawford holding his own in midfield
11-09-2021, 12:33 PM
Rangers fans holding up a banner that says “Police State Scotland” and “**** the SNP”. Do the SNP not hold the Govan seat?
11-09-2021, 12:37 PM
1-0 St Johnstone
11-09-2021, 12:37 PM
MikeyS
11-09-2021, 12:39 PM
McCart is having a decent game and I've been impressed by the new centre half Muller from Millwall.
AliboyFC
11-09-2021, 12:41 PM
Wow st johstone couldn't even fill one stand. That's embarrassing I've just realised that rangers have the whole stadium.
Torto7
11-09-2021, 12:42 PM
C'mon Saints. The usual filth being sung all game by Scotland's shame.
11-09-2021, 12:43 PM
McCart is having a decent game and I've been impressed by the new centre half Muller from Millwall.
Reckon St J are going to throw money at McCart to get him on a new deal.
AliboyFC
11-09-2021, 12:43 PM
Piss off man
11-09-2021, 12:44 PM
Stupid challenge
11-09-2021, 12:45 PM
Maybe we accept that there’s a reason that teams don’t “turn up” (whatever that means) against St Johnstone.
11-09-2021, 12:45 PM
Why would you go to ground there
11-09-2021, 12:46 PM
Morelos should be off
11-09-2021, 12:46 PM
Maybe we accept that there’s a reason that teams don’t “turn up” (whatever that means) against St Johnstone.
Is this suggesting we turned up in the final? Because we never. You would’ve barely known we got off the bus
But that’s by the by
11-09-2021, 12:47 PM
Should be straight red for Morelos
11-09-2021, 12:47 PM
Is this suggesting we turned up in the final? Because we never. You wouldn’t have even known we got off the bus
No, it’s suggesting a reason that teams regularly don’t seem to “turn up” (again, whatever the hell that means) against St Johnstone and maybe it’s that they’re a much tougher team to beat than given credit for.
Torto7
11-09-2021, 12:48 PM
Sectarian chant again there.
11-09-2021, 12:49 PM
I don't see how that's a penalty tbh.
Kent was already going to ground before the challenge was made and even then he's barely touched him.
Ah wait, it's The Rangers so of course it's a penalty, my bad. :rolleyes:
Tully
That,'ll be the minority singing about fenians blood
No, it’s suggesting a reason that teams regularly don’t seem to “turn up” (again, whatever the hell that means) against St Johnstone and maybe it’s that they’re a much tougher team to beat than given credit for.
Aw there’s no argument that they’re a tough team to beat. I think you know what people mean when they refer to not turning up. Barely laying a glove on them. Done almost nothing of note all game.
As I said, that’s been and gone now.
I don't see how that's a penalty tbh.
Kent was already going to ground before the challenge was made and even then he's barely touched him.
Ah wait, it's The Rangers so of course it's a penalty, my bad. :rolleyes:
Was a stonewaller for me. Stupid challenge in the box and took Kent’s left leg away from him
11-09-2021, 12:51 PM
Wow st johstone couldn't even fill one stand. That's embarrassing I've just realised that rangers have the whole stadium.
As a club though they are not doing too badly with the money that they get, wherever it comes from.
11-09-2021, 12:52 PM
Aw there’s no argument that they’re a tough team to beat. I think you know what people mean when they refer to not turning up. Barely laying a glove on them. Done almost nothing of note all game.
And maybe there’s a good reason that teams don’t “lay a glove on them”.
It’s another one of those phrases that one person uses and you get a whole load more that parrot it thinking it makes them sound like Alex Ferguson. It doesn’t.
11-09-2021, 12:52 PM
Nothing said but McLaughlin wipes out o’halloran with a hip to the head in the box. Is that not a penalty ?
Torto7
11-09-2021, 12:53 PM
They've been at it since the first minute and I'll bet the cowards in the media will just ignore it. Anti Irish racism is clearly allowed in modern Scotland.
I think Muller looks very average
Time you let it go then.
11-09-2021, 12:54 PM
Time you let it go then.
It wasn’t me who brought it up
11-09-2021, 12:55 PM
And maybe there’s a good reason that teams don’t “lay a glove on them”.
It’s another one of those phrases that one person uses and you get a whole load more that parrot it thinking it makes them sound like Alex Ferguson. It doesn’t.
Yea fair enough it is probably an overused saying
We were just horrendously ***** on the day to coin a better phrase
They've been at it since the first minute and I'll bet the cowards in the media will just ignore it. Anti Irish racism is clearly allowed in modern Scotland.
Crocker apologised at one point in case we heard bad language, but it’s OK if we hear religious bigotry being sung.
It wasn’t me who brought it up
Course it was.
AliboyFC
It's so embarrassing 😂. It's a football game and they sing ***** like this.
Helensburghhibs
11-09-2021, 12:56 PM
Nothing said but McLaughlin wipes out o’halloran with a hip to the head in the box. Is that not a penalty ?
😄 not even close
11-09-2021, 12:56 PM
Course it was.
Alrighty then 👍🏼
11-09-2021, 12:58 PM
Alrighty then 👍🏼
Post #3820. First mention. Don’t see anyone else talking about it.
But that’s by the by!
Torto7
Crocker apologised at one point in case we heard bad language, but it’s OK if we hear religious bigotry being sung.
Yeah thats common. A wee swear word is bad but signing about being up to your knees in fenian blood is a great atmosphere.
Post #3820. First mention. Don’t see anyone else talking about it.
But that’s by the by!
Don’t have a clue why you’re still going on about it
Let it go
😄 not even close
Stonewaller for me, contact to the head before he reached the ball.
Harry Kane must be having his worst ever game in football today.
Dreadful performance from him.
Torto7
11-09-2021, 01:00 PM
I'm a fan of Kane he's a grafter but has talent. The St J one.
11-09-2021, 01:00 PM
Let it go
Oh I see.
11-09-2021, 01:01 PM
O’Halloran gave Hellander a bit of a time of it today
11-09-2021, 01:01 PM
Let it go
You did bring it up tho 😂
11-09-2021, 01:02 PM
Didn’t he just :greengrin
11-09-2021, 01:02 PM
The poster I replied to was referring to the final in his post, think that was pretty clear without actually mentioning it
But fair enough I’ll accept I brought it up. It can be dropped now 👍🏼
Helensburghhibs
11-09-2021, 01:03 PM
Stonewaller for me, contact to the head before he reached the ball.
You must be on the windup.
On another note I seen people shout for Rooney instead of Paul mginn for Scotland last week. He looks like a bit of a headless huddy from what I've seen today
11-09-2021, 01:04 PM
Palace 1 v 0 Spurs
Zaha pen
11-09-2021, 01:04 PM
The poster I replied to was referring to the final in his post, think that was pretty clear without actually mentioning it
Blinding! I’ll let it go too now.
11-09-2021, 01:05 PM
Fair enough, maybe you can read between the lines better than I can.
What final? :greengrin
11-09-2021, 01:05 PM
Blinding! I’ll let it go too now.
Fantastic.
11-09-2021, 01:06 PM
Fantastic.
Only if you do.
Fair enough, maybe you can read between the lines better than I can.
What final? :greengrin
5-1. Forever in our shadow. Bla bla
Some goal from Tav there
2-1 Huns
Tavernier
11-09-2021, 01:07 PM
2-1 Huns
TavernierTop strike
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Keyser Sauzee
11-09-2021, 01:07 PM
Zander Clark’s positioning questionable there
Green-Hibee-7
11-09-2021, 01:09 PM
On both occasions Rangers scored, Andy Walker has jinxed it saying St Johnstone are either solid defensively or good defending and then boom they score.
My hatred of his commentary has me convinced he is responsible for Rangers winning 😂
Torto7
11-09-2021, 01:11 PM
Zander Clark’s positioning questionable there
Yeah I dont get the hype with him. Hes a decent shotstopper but lacks everything else.
11-09-2021, 01:12 PM
2-0 Palace
Edouard
11-09-2021, 01:14 PM
First touch Edouard!
11-09-2021, 01:20 PM
You must be on the windup.
On another note I seen people shout for Rooney instead of Paul mginn for Scotland last week. He looks like a bit of a headless huddy from what I've seen today
Need to see it again. But you make contact with someone’s head and it’s a foul.
11-09-2021, 01:21 PM
3-0 Palace
Edouard
11-09-2021, 01:22 PM
Edouard is a top player. A real bargain for Palace I think
Magpie
11-09-2021, 01:22 PM
Fantastic debut for Edouard.
Spurs didn't even have a shot and could have been 5 or 6.
So poor.
Helensburghhibs
11-09-2021, 01:23 PM
Need to see it again. But you make contact with someone’s head and it’s a foul.
I've not seen a rule that states that. He jumped for the ball and grazed ohalleran who didn't jump. Was never a foul
Palace are impressive. Gallagher is a good acquisition. They always tend to be a bit lightweight away from Selhurst though.
Magpie
Spurs didn't even have a shot and could have been 5 or 6.
So poor.
Riddled with injuries, international break didn’t go well for them. Son a big miss.
11-09-2021, 01:24 PM
Delightful events at Selhurst Park.
11-09-2021, 01:38 PM
Edward. Lolhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210911/42d4eee994679c2b9e1bcde46f3d1398.jpg
Riddled with injuries, international break didn’t go well for them. Son a big miss.
No excuses to be that bad.
Be funny after all the hype if it was Man U 0 Newcastle 1.
All the best Newcastle.
11-09-2021, 02:00 PM
Yeah I dont get the hype with him. Hes a decent shotstopper but lacks everything else.
:agree: His heroics last season masked a lot of deficiencies.
11-09-2021, 02:26 PM
Motherwell 1 v 0 Sheep
Van Veen
11-09-2021, 02:33 PM
No goals in any of 6 premier league 3pm kick offs so far. I doubt all 6 0-0 at HT has ever happened.
BegbieHSC
11-09-2021, 02:35 PM
Tom James running the show for Leyton Orient apparently… Just scored.
BegbieHSC
11-09-2021, 02:35 PM
Motherwell 1 v 0 Sheep
Van Veen
Hahahahaha
11-09-2021, 02:48 PM
Hellish news. Ronaldo scores, another month of hype ensues.
11-09-2021, 02:50 PM
Roooonnnnnnaaaalllldddooooooooo!
Just_Jimmy
11-09-2021, 02:50 PM
Hellish news. Ronaldo scores, another month of hype ensues.It's hardly hype. The boy is the best player in the world.
And it'll be a season or more, not just a month. Enjoy
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
11-09-2021, 02:52 PM
Ronaldo!!
11-09-2021, 02:53 PM
It's hardly hype. The boy is the best player in the world.
It’s suffocating and it’s hype. It’s everywhere.
He’s not a boy either!
11-09-2021, 02:55 PM
Hellish news. Ronaldo scores, another month of hype ensues.
:partyhibb
11-09-2021, 02:56 PM
https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/hype
Bet not 1000s empty seats like Leeds game today.
Then again fair few as my brother had spares again today. M
11-09-2021, 02:57 PM
:partyhibb
Made it down there yet or are you still sitting in those baked beans? :greengrin
11-09-2021, 03:06 PM
Tedious ronaldo pish
Might well be, but 780 goals is quite an achievement
11-09-2021, 03:15 PM
Man Utd 1 v 1 Newcastle
Manquillo
11-09-2021, 03:16 PM
Tedious ronaldo pish
11-09-2021, 03:18 PM
Might well be, but 780 goals is quite an achievement
I see Pele has had a bit of surgery on his colon. He’s doing well it seems though.
11-09-2021, 03:18 PM
2-0 Motherwell lol
Been in good firm since we beat them
11-09-2021, 03:20 PM
They played well when we beat them as well. I don’t think our result against them should be undervalued.
11-09-2021, 03:20 PM
Easy now, we’ve not faced any decent teams yet remember 😜
11-09-2021, 03:21 PM
Man Utd 2 v 1 Newcastle
11-09-2021, 03:21 PM
Bet not 1000s empty seats like Leeds game today.
Then again fair few as my brother had spares again today. M
Leeds play tomorrow so probably lots of empty seats today
Just_Jimmy
11-09-2021, 03:22 PM
It’s suffocating and it’s hype. It’s everywhere.
He’s not a boy either!The boys scored again...
Enjoy
11-09-2021, 03:22 PM
Aw for ****s sake. I preferred Man U when it was combovers and hard nuts.
11-09-2021, 03:24 PM
https://media1.giphy.com/media/QjTAjja6qYQhi/200.gif
Man Utd fans right now.
Aw for ****s sake. I preferred Man U when it was combovers and hard nuts.
Viva Ronaldooooooo.
Arbroath two up against Hamilton.
I’m a big fan of Dick Campbell, unbelievable job he’s doing there.
11-09-2021, 03:26 PM
Viva Ronaldooooooo.
Spoken like a true tourist. Or it would be if you toured!
Bridge hibs
11-09-2021, 03:26 PM
Aberdeen storming the league, thats what happens when you spend big and get your quality signings in early
Ron the con, get the finger oot
Manchester's number 1 winning at Leicester.
11-09-2021, 03:32 PM
Spoken like a true tourist. Or it would be if you toured!
:faf: Love it!
11-09-2021, 03:33 PM
:faf: Love it!
Been yet? It’s great.:aok:
11-09-2021, 03:33 PM
Caley jags 3 Maryhill jags 1
mon the jags
3-0 Arbroath, i can see Hamilton begging chipper to come back
11-09-2021, 03:36 PM
Shows what a terrible league that is when a club sign a 36 year old and he scores 2 goals on his debut. 😁
11-09-2021, 03:37 PM
Caley jags 3 Maryhill jags 1
mon the jags
Hope the jags win, not keen on the jags because of their love in with Hearts. Hope they get pumped every game, starting against the Jags today.
They played well when we beat them as well. I don’t think our result against them should be undervalued.
It shouldn't but we still can't count it as a big game. 😀
11-09-2021, 03:39 PM
Man Utd 3 v 1 Newcastle
Fernandes
11-09-2021, 03:40 PM
Bruuuuunooooo!
11-09-2021, 03:40 PM
Hope the jags win, not keen on the jags because of their love in with Hearts. Hope they get pumped every game, starting against the Jags today.
i'd have preferred an away jags win today at the home of the other jags due to the home jags love-in with the sparryheids
meanwhile i hope everyone is getting their Covid-19 Jags
Ayr 3 Dunfy 1....what on earth is going on with the Pars
Motherwell 2 Aberdeen 0...giggles
3-0 Sellick v Ross co
11-09-2021, 03:41 PM
Fernandes goal, what a beauty
Nice to see a non-rapist score for man utd
11-09-2021, 03:43 PM
Great work :cb
???
Shows what a terrible league that is when a club sign a 36 year old and he scores 2 goals on his debut. 😁
It seems very popular though.
Tommy75
11-09-2021, 03:45 PM
Aberdeen storming the league, thats what happens when you spend big and get your quality signings in early
They have looked pretty poor. Been very lucky with some goalkeeping blunders going in their favour.
Been yet? It’s great.:aok:
Not even in top 3 grounds in England any more. Stand roofs leaking, seats shabby and leg room awful.
11-09-2021, 03:46 PM
early ko crystal palace 3 spurs 0....was 'arry kane not playing today
11-09-2021, 03:52 PM
Man Utd 4 v 1 Newcastle
Lingard
Magpie
11-09-2021, 03:52 PM
Another two assists for Pogba today, he’s having a brilliant start to the season.
11-09-2021, 03:53 PM
Lingaaaaaard! Am I doing it right?
11-09-2021, 03:55 PM
FT Stranraer 0 Edin city 1
Man city top of the league again.
11-09-2021, 03:58 PM
Patrick Viera is a cool cat. Hope Palace do well this season.
11-09-2021, 04:00 PM
6-2, they only won :6:--:2:
Sheff u 6 Peterborough 2
Dundee 0 Livingston 0
St Mirren 0 Dundee U 0
11-09-2021, 04:01 PM
Classy post mate :rolleyes:
Just_Jimmy
11-09-2021, 04:07 PM
Not even in top 3 grounds in England any more. Stand roofs leaking, seats shabby and leg room awful.Correct. Its been badly mismanaged like a lot around the club. The football side looks a lot better but no utd fans are fooled, it's on the back of the backlash to the super league nonsense.
Correct. Its been badly mismanaged like a lot around the club. The football side looks a lot better but no utd fans are fooled, it's on the back of the backlash to the super league nonsense.
We shall see if the football side has improved when they play a Chelsea, Man City or Liverpool.
He's here!
11-09-2021, 04:24 PM
Glass is shaping up to be a Jim Duffy type appointment for Aberdeen.
11-09-2021, 04:25 PM
Hamilton thumped 4-0 by Arbroath.
11-09-2021, 04:26 PM
More a Daniel Stendel appointment. A team who have spent years being a negative hoofball team won’t become a free flowing attacking outfit this quickly.
11-09-2021, 04:26 PM
I’m glad they got beat but I’ve got to say I ****ing hate Motherwell. Hoping they don’t do well this year.
11-09-2021, 04:31 PM
Aberdeen's breaking away from the teams around them must be on hold for another week.
11-09-2021, 04:31 PM
Napoli are battering Juve but losing 1-0 to an early Morata goal
11-09-2021, 04:34 PM
The sheep fans are beginning to see through him.
11-09-2021, 04:45 PM
Laaakkaakkkuuuuuuuuuuuuu
11-09-2021, 04:47 PM
He had a paned expression on his face at full time.
Just_Jimmy
11-09-2021, 04:51 PM
We shall see if the football side has improved when they play a Chelsea, Man City or Liverpool.I should have said investment into the football side. You're correct, we'll need to see but they have a far better squad this season.
11-09-2021, 05:15 PM
He had a paned expression on his face at full time.
Must now realise if he doesn’t turn things round he will be out a job sooner than he thought
11-09-2021, 05:19 PM
I’m not yet aware of anyone being in the frame to replace him though.
11-09-2021, 05:19 PM
Aberdeen's breaking away from the teams around them must be on hold for another week.
Not at all, there's definitely a gap forming. 😂
11-09-2021, 05:21 PM
I don’t think Glass is going to last the full season.
11-09-2021, 05:22 PM
Napoli equalizer, another Scezeny mistake. 1-1I’ve seen plenty of Edinburgh derbies like this where we’ve had all the play but just can’t get the goals.
11-09-2021, 05:39 PM
Laaakkaakkkuuuuuuuuuuuuu
Uvavu.
11-09-2021, 05:41 PM
Howler by Ming's there for Villa.....
11-09-2021, 05:42 PM
Uvavu.
Uranu
11-09-2021, 05:42 PM
Uranu
Indeed :greengrin
11-09-2021, 05:44 PM
Indeed :greengrin
Back to the good days 😀
11-09-2021, 06:18 PM
McGinn raging there, rightly, it was never a foul
11-09-2021, 06:26 PM
Attwell is shocking. Fit right in up here
11-09-2021, 06:47 PM
I don’t think Glass is going to last the full season. He might end up half emptied
11-09-2021, 06:52 PM
McGinn raging there, rightly, it was never a foul
Thought SJM played very well tonight. Was a great game, Chelsea's class tolled in the end but Villa played very well in the first half.Stupid mistake from Mings for the second goal gave Chelsea the game, not the easiest team in the world to chase down a deficit to let aone a two goal deficit.
11-09-2021, 11:47 PM
i don't think many sides will take points at Chelski this season
11-09-2021, 11:55 PM
Aberdeen not won in 6 games
Surprised considering how early there got there transfers in
12-09-2021, 09:37 AM
Just as well Aberdeen got their signings in early...
12-09-2021, 09:39 AM
Is there another team in the country that gets as many pens as the Hun, oh wait perhaps the diet Huns will run them close once more this season.
Magpie
12-09-2021, 09:44 AM
Is there another team in the country that gets as many pens as the Hun, oh wait perhaps the diet Huns will run them close once more this season.
To be fair we had more than them the season the pandemic struck, we also got the same amount of penalties as them last season. Also had one more than them in the league this season so far.
Liverpool player with bad injury.
Leeds 0 Liverpool 2
I'm happy they never showed any replays of it and the Leeds player sent of looked in shock, more than likely a leg break.
12-09-2021, 04:59 PM
Leeds 0 Liverpool 2Only saw it live then they wouldn't show replays. Think it was a horror leg break...
Feel terrible for the young Liverpool kid, that being said not sure it was a red card as I though it was a good tackle in real time until he stayed down
12-09-2021, 05:00 PM
Young Harvey Elliott stretchered off with a broken leg
Leeds United player Struijk sent off
Magpie
12-09-2021, 09:40 PM
Mourinho celebrates his 1000th game as manager by running down the touchline after scoring a 90th minute winner. Won every competitive game as Roma manager so far. One of the legends of the game.
1000 games
640 wins
25 trophies
Young Harvey Elliott stretchered off with a broken leg
Leeds United player Struijk sent off
Dislocated ankle seemingly, struggled to pop it back in, I think the medics finally did it but the ligament damage could see him out for the whole season, wasn't even a bad challenge, seen it again last night and it was a normal looking tackle, it was just one of those weird unlucky ones.
13-09-2021, 07:20 AM
Mourinho celebrates his 1000th game as manager by running down the touchline after scoring a 90th minute winner. Won every competitive game as Roma manager so far. One of the legends of the game.
1000 games
640 wins
25 trophies
We'll see where they are come the end of the season. Or even at Christmas.
13-09-2021, 07:40 AM
We'll see where they are come the end of the season. Or even at Christmas.
He could lose every game until retirement and he's still be a legend of the game. He's started very well at Roma as well.
13-09-2021, 07:48 AM
Dislocated ankle seemingly, struggled to pop it back in, I think the medics finally did it but the ligament damage could see him out for the whole season, wasn't even a bad challenge, seen it again last night and it was a normal looking tackle, it was just one of those weird unlucky ones.
It was an innocuous looking challenge
I thought at first his studs got caught in the turf
Can’t help but feel for the young man and the Leeds player
Looked like a good tackle at the time but ref said that even without VAR he was off according to the co-commentator ?
Salah’s distress was telling
It was a bad one
Hope he makes a full and complete recovery
13-09-2021, 07:49 AM
1000 games
640 wins
25 trophies
Thanks for reminding me, i missed all the série a yesterday, will catch it later. Interesting to see Roma’s development, Tammy Abraham has started very well seemingly.
Magpie
13-09-2021, 12:36 PM
Thanks for reminding me, i missed all the série a yesterday, will catch it later. Interesting to see Roma’s development, Tammy Abraham has started very well seemingly.
Mourinho seems to get the best out of strikers everywhere he goes.
13-09-2021, 02:02 PM
It was an innocuous looking challenge
I thought at first his studs got caught in the turf
Can’t help but feel for the young man and the Leeds player
Looked like a good tackle at the time but ref said that even without VAR he was off according to the co-commentator ?
Salah’s distress was telling
It was a bad one
Hope he makes a full and complete recovery
Commentary said this and I couldn’t believe it, the ref never even gave a foul so no idea why he thought himself it was a red. Either VAR told him or he’s seen the outcome and sent him off.
Mourinho seems to get the best out of strikers everywhere he goes.
He started pretty well at Spurs there’s still time for mourinho to spoil a good thing makes it all the more interesting to watch, on that subject BT’s coverage is absolutely brilliant of serie A, night and day to what sky have done to the UK bundesliga coverage don’t understand why they bothered acquiring the rights
13-09-2021, 02:09 PM
Commentary said this and I couldn’t believe it, the ref never even gave a foul so no idea why he thought himself it was a red. Either VAR told him or he’s seen the outcome and sent him off.
They (commentators) seemed to suggest he was sent off due to the severity of the injury. Which is very odd, if true.
13-09-2021, 04:42 PM
Rangers not giving Motherwell fans any tickets for Sunday’s “flag day” game
Magpie
13-09-2021, 04:48 PM
Rangers not giving Motherwell fans any tickets for Sunday’s “flag day” game
How are the Old Firm getting away with not allowing away supporters into their ground, pathetic.
13-09-2021, 04:50 PM
How are the Old Firm getting away with not allowing away supporters into their ground, pathetic.
Covid red zone reasons
https://www.glasgowlive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/motherwell-fans-locked-out-rangers-21559465
Mikey_1875
13-09-2021, 04:59 PM
Chances are we won’t be getting any tickets in a few weeks time then. Not sure how they initially planned on giving Celtic tickets and only pulled out when they found out they weren’t going to be getting any. Sounds like just another pathetic excuse to follow suit of the other half.
13-09-2021, 05:21 PM
1000 games
640 wins
25 trophies
Was good at one stage. His negative tactics have been sussed out.
No trophies won since 2017.
Magpie
13-09-2021, 05:57 PM
Was good at one stage. His negative tactics have been sussed out.
No trophies won since 2017.
Still a brilliant manager. Took Spurs to their first domestic final in six years but was unfairly sacked imo less than a week before the final. Man Utd haven’t won a trophy since he left. He’s started well at Roma, I’m not too sure why he gets so much criticism. Everyone goes on about his ‘negative’ tactics but all the teams he has managed have scored many goals.
Roma have scored 16 goals in the 5 games he has managed so far.
Real Madrid scored 121 goals under his management in 11/12, a La Liga record.
In March last season, Spurs scored their 100th competitive goal of the season under his management, the second team after Bayern Munich to do that in Europe’s top 5 leagues.
Top manager, I’d love to see him get another trophy at Roma.
13-09-2021, 06:11 PM
Chances are we won’t be getting any tickets in a few weeks time then. Not sure how they initially planned on giving Celtic tickets and only pulled out when they found out they weren’t going to be getting any. Sounds like just another pathetic excuse to follow suit of the other half.
Dunfermline got tickets for their match at Ibrox last month so we might.
13-09-2021, 07:57 PM
Covid red zone reasons
https://www.glasgowlive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/motherwell-fans-locked-out-rangers-21559465
Yet could give tickets to supporters clubs and their membership scheme. I’ll be absolutely furious if we give either of them tickets if they aren’t giving us any.
13-09-2021, 08:21 PM
Everton 2 v 1 Burnley
13-09-2021, 08:22 PM
3-1
13-09-2021, 08:23 PM
Everton 3 v 1 Burnley
13-09-2021, 08:23 PM
A quite magnificent strike from Andros Townsend, Gray makes it 3-1 as I type.
13-09-2021, 08:26 PM
Then another but chalked off for offside
13-09-2021, 08:27 PM
Struggle a bit with Burnleys style so happy to see them getting horsed.
13-09-2021, 08:32 PM
Burnley goal chopped off for offside.
Renfrew_Hibby
13-09-2021, 08:34 PM
Struggle a bit with Burnleys style so happy to see them getting horsed.
This could well be the year that they go down.
Been punching above their weight for years.
13-09-2021, 08:37 PM
For what they spent vs their rivals, they've honestly done brilliantly to stay up so long.
13-09-2021, 08:40 PM
Dyche being shown up for the limited manager he is. Slight tweak from Benitez and he’s lost the plot. Never even tried to change it until it was too late.
13-09-2021, 08:42 PM
Dyche being shown up for the limited manager he is. Slight tweak from Benitez and he’s lost the plot. Never even tried to change it until it was too late.
Dyche may be limited, but he is also very good. Keeping them up is very impressive for so long.
Agree
13-09-2021, 09:00 PM
Burnley were in control for most of the first half but they didn't shore up their lead and the defenders were too slow for the nippy guys breaking forward. They really fell apart.
13-09-2021, 09:01 PM
Good achievement but a proper dinosaur. 11 boys running about leathering everything that moves.
13-09-2021, 09:03 PM
Good achievement but a proper dinosaur. 11 boys running about leathering everything that moves.
Playing to the strengths of the average players he can afford. Do you think wonderful football comes cheap?
13-09-2021, 09:18 PM
Playing to the strengths of the average players he can afford. Do you think wonderful football comes cheap?
Without being an expert in Burnley finances, they’ve made well over £100m in profit in recent years, they have revenues of well over £100m. While they don’t have the money some clubs have, they’re hardly skint. It doesn’t come cheap but Bournemouth managed it for years and stayed up with it, Brighton likewise.
14-09-2021, 05:57 AM
Without being an expert in Burnley finances, they’ve made well over £100m in profit in recent years, they have revenues of well over £100m. While they don’t have the money some clubs have, they’re hardly skint. It doesn’t come cheap but Bournemouth managed it for years and stayed up with it, Brighton likewise.
Agree their style is horrible. Got to give him credit for keeping them up but horrific to watch and makes no attempt to develop huge emphasis on physicality running round kicking teams with two giants up front and launch. Craig Levein probably thinks they are great though.