View Full Version : Match Updates 2021-22 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

09-01-2022, 02:55 PM
Leeds going to get beat from that error with VAR.

Not created much but the person running var today shouldn't get a game for a few weeks.

2-0 West Ham

09-01-2022, 02:56 PM
ah well don't mind getting beat with a legitimate goal

09-01-2022, 02:58 PM
Mr VAR can ram those bubbles where the sun doesn't shine

09-01-2022, 03:25 PM
Leeds going to get beat from that error with VAR.

Not created much but the person running var today shouldn't get a game for a few weeks.

2-0 West Ham should never get a game ever again. unnacceptable decision

09-01-2022, 03:34 PM
Cardiff just got a way with certain penalty decision agaisnt them in the last minute of extra time. No VAR but a sure fire handball and thats against preston and Im a Blackpool lad. (Game was on S4C)

09-01-2022, 03:39 PM
I think that the use of VAR in competitions like the FA Cup shouldn’t be allowed. If only some grounds have it then it isn’t fair or consistent across the tournament

09-01-2022, 03:39 PM
Watching the Cameroon Burkina faso match some of the tackles are brilliant :greengrin

1 0 Burkino faso now pen to Cameroon

09-01-2022, 03:40 PM
I think that the use of VAR in competitions like the FA Cup shouldn’t be allowed. If only some grounds have it then it isn’t fair or consistent across the tournament

Agree

09-01-2022, 03:50 PM
Second pen Cameroon bit soft imo

09-01-2022, 03:53 PM
Both pens for me Jim. They do like a tackle in the African nations dont they? :greengrin

09-01-2022, 04:05 PM
FA Cup

Crystal Palace v Hartlepool
Bournemouth v Boreham wood
Huddersfield v Barnsley
Peterborough v QPR
Cambridge v Luton
Southampton v Coventry
Chelsea v Plymouth
Everton v Brentford
Kidderminster v West ham
Man u/Aston villa v Middlesbrough
Liverpool v Cardiff
Spurs v Brighton
Stoke v Wigan
Notts Forest/Arsenal v Leicester
Man city v Fulham
Wolves v Norwich

09-01-2022, 04:09 PM
That Arsenal strip is very smart.

09-01-2022, 04:11 PM

Not sure white numbers on a white shirt works :greengrin

09-01-2022, 04:13 PM

Yep dont get that

09-01-2022, 04:13 PM

Might make it difficult for the commentators but I like it.

09-01-2022, 04:14 PM
Yep dont get that

https://news.sky.com/story/amp/arsenal-to-wear-all-white-jerseys-in-no-more-red-campaign-against-youth-violence-12510817

09-01-2022, 04:15 PM

Can't even read the sponsors, they'll no be happy with that, why not just do it in another colour instead of red then.

09-01-2022, 04:16 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/amp/arsenal-to-wear-all-white-jerseys-in-no-more-red-campaign-against-youth-violence-12510817

Yep was aware of that just difficult to make out the players

09-01-2022, 04:17 PM
Can't even read the sponsors, they'll no be happy with that, why not just do the numbers and sponsors in red?

or pick another colour if the symbolism of the campaign is to have no red on the kit.

09-01-2022, 04:18 PM
The attendances have been impressive. Is the FA Cup enjoying a renaissance?

09-01-2022, 04:26 PM
or pick another colour if the symbolism of the campaign is to have no red on the kit.

I edited my post accordingly when I realised there was a reason red was omitted, as you say pick another colour, or simply plain black.

yonder1875
09-01-2022, 04:30 PM

I know the message is the important part but that’s one of the nicest kits I’ve ever seen.

Adidas and Arsenal always seem to do good stuff.

09-01-2022, 04:38 PM
The fact people are talking about it and posting the link to the article shows it has worked.

09-01-2022, 04:40 PM
The fact people are talking about it and posting the link to the article shows it has worked.

Indeed and perhaps thats the most important thing. The message.

09-01-2022, 05:20 PM
👌

09-01-2022, 05:27 PM
Arsenal have been poor today, no intensity or composure.

09-01-2022, 05:30 PM
just cause arsenal are playing in Leeds strips they don't have to play like them as well :)

eye-bleeding

09-01-2022, 05:44 PM
You can see why Arsenal haven't rotated much this season. Cedric is levels below Tomiyasu, Nketiah much worse than Lacazette as well.

Their quality players such as Martinelli, Odegaard and Saka been quiet tonight as well. Overall been a pretty rubbish match actually.

09-01-2022, 05:49 PM
You can see why Arsenal haven't rotated much this season. Cedric is levels below Tomiyasu, Nketiah much worse than Lacazette as well.

Their quality players such as Martinelli, Odegaard and Saka been quiet tonight as well. Overall been a pretty rubbish match actually.
Poor or as Roy Keane said it's Rubbish 😅 however 25000 in the ground.

09-01-2022, 05:50 PM
Please somebody score. I really can’t take extra time.

09-01-2022, 05:50 PM
1-0 forest good

09-01-2022, 05:51 PM
1-0 Forest, thoroughly deserved, cracking finish.

Magpie2.0
09-01-2022, 05:51 PM
You love to see it.

09-01-2022, 05:53 PM
Cracking goal, great scenes.

09-01-2022, 05:58 PM
Roma beating Juve 3-1. Mourinho doing a good job there in a very tough Serie A.

09-01-2022, 05:59 PM
3 minutes left, 1 down in a cup tie and they are playing at walking pace. Remarkable.

09-01-2022, 06:02 PM
the all-whites got what they deserved

Zilch Nowt Nada

forest v leicester

09-01-2022, 06:03 PM
Been a decent weekend for FA Cup football.

Nice to see upsets and so called bigger teams get beaten.

09-01-2022, 06:05 PM
Love an FA cup shock on council tv. Wish ITV still had the champions league.

09-01-2022, 06:06 PM
Roma beating Juve 3-1. Mourinho doing a good job there in a very tough Serie A.

3-3

09-01-2022, 06:08 PM
3-3

Hopeless manager Mourinho, should've retired years ago.

09-01-2022, 06:08 PM
3-3

3-4

09-01-2022, 06:09 PM
twice in 26 years arsenal have been knocked out in the 3rd round....both times to forest

09-01-2022, 06:11 PM
Some game here, wow, Jose way past his best,Roma defence is brutal

09-01-2022, 06:13 PM
Hopeless manager Mourinho, should've retired years ago.

According to Maitland Niles , He is the best manager ever

That should go down well With Arsenal fans when he returns to the Emirates :rolleyes:

09-01-2022, 06:14 PM
nah no way, the ball bounced off his knee up to his arm

saved

09-01-2022, 06:15 PM
In this weekend of cup upsets, it’s worth pointing out and remembering that just recently a Brora Rangers team who had only been training for two weeks and had only played something like five games in a calendar year beat the world famous Heart of Midlothian. 2-1 in our version of the FA Cup, and none of the upsets this weekend compare to that so the world of football should all just focus on that Brora result really.

The bruiser on 😄

Saved!

Magpie2.0
09-01-2022, 06:16 PM
Roma miss a pen to make it 4-4. What a game.

09-01-2022, 06:17 PM
shocking play acting

;)

Magpie2.0
09-01-2022, 06:19 PM
Two penalties and a red card in the first two matches of the AFCON.

09-01-2022, 06:41 PM
Roma miss a pen to make it 4-4. What a game.

Serie A is just brilliant

inglisavhibs
09-01-2022, 06:44 PM
twice in 26 years arsenal have been knocked out in the 3rd round....both times to forest
Arsenal fans will be less than pleased with the team they put out, did they really think they could put out a weakened team and be certain of beating Forest? Lets hope Hibs don't make same mistake against Cove, strongest team please.

09-01-2022, 07:09 PM
According to Maitland Niles , He is the best manager ever

That should go down well With Arsenal fans when he returns to the Emirates :rolleyes:

He won't be returning to Arsenal. If its not Roma he'll go somewhere else

Nothing wrong with him saying that tbf, Mourinho has as much a claim as anyone really.

09-01-2022, 07:13 PM
Arsenal fans will be less than pleased with the team they put out, did they really think they could put out a weakened team and be certain of beating Forest? Lets hope Hibs don't make same mistake against Cove, strongest team please.

Well, between covid, suspension and afcon, it wasn't miles away from their strongest side. Only Tierney, Lacazette and Ramsdale missing.

Xhaka covid, Gabriel suspended, smith Rowe and Tomiyasu injured, Partey at afcon.

You cannot play your strongest side every game. Hibs have already played nearly 30 games this season

09-01-2022, 07:13 PM
In this weekend of cup upsets, it’s worth pointing out and remembering that just recently a Brora Rangers team who had only been training for two weeks and had only played something like five games in a calendar year beat the world famous Heart of Midlothian. 2-1 in our version of the FA Cup, and none of the upsets this weekend compare to that so the world of football should all just focus on that Brora result really.

Hearts fans will cringe for years to come every time the Scottish Cup starts. The media will talk about it every season. Lovely. How funny if Auckinleck pump them out this time.

09-01-2022, 08:13 PM
Inter 2 Lazio 1

Magpie2.0
09-01-2022, 09:57 PM
Steven Gerrard’s first signings look set to be Coutinho and Digne. Decent signings for Villa. They are also after Kerr Smith from Dundee Utd.

10-01-2022, 10:27 AM
Just watched last night's Lyon 1 v PSG 1 game, decent enough but, none of the excitement levels of the Serie A games from yesterday.

10-01-2022, 12:02 PM
Senegal v Zimbabwe

Just starting on Sky Sports

10-01-2022, 01:53 PM
Senegal 1 v 0 Zimbabwe

Mane pen 90+5

10-01-2022, 06:45 PM
Man Utd or Aston Villa tonight? I want the best for John McGinn, but I detest rat face, Gerrard. :confused:

10-01-2022, 07:03 PM
1-0 Manchester Utd.

McTominay. 🇾🇪

10-01-2022, 07:15 PM
Mcginn with a decent effort.

Been all villa since the poorly defended goal.

10-01-2022, 07:41 PM
Man U are at this moment a mid table club and are playing like it, too many top players going through the motions and too many average mid table players who should be nowhere near the club.

10-01-2022, 07:42 PM
Rashford really poor these days

10-01-2022, 07:54 PM
Rashford really poor these days

Him and Fernandes are both extremely poor, I wonder if Ole going has hit them both, they're not playing with a smile on their faces, both look troubled.

10-01-2022, 08:01 PM
Him and Fernandes are both extremely poor, I wonder if Ole going has hit them both, they're not playing with a smile on their faces, both look troubled.
You may well be right, I just get the impression Rashford, and others, are kind of going through the motions.

10-01-2022, 08:05 PM
Get in there 1-1.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:05 PM
1-1, it was coming.

Disallowed.

10-01-2022, 08:09 PM
How is that disallowed. Shocking decision.

10-01-2022, 08:10 PM
Goal disallowed. Gerrard’s puss is a picture. :greengrin

10 mins later not given. Man u would have got it no doubt.

VAR ruining the game..utter rubbish..officials desperate to find a reason to disallow that.

The number of bookable offences by Man U players that haven't been punished is mounting up

10-01-2022, 08:11 PM
Man Utd players immune from cards

10-01-2022, 08:12 PM
I've no idea why that goal is disallowed

Ramsey just stands there and cavani runs into him while watching the flight of the ball

Hows that a foul against the villa player?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Shaws 345th foul ..no card

VAR ruining the game..utter rubbish..officials desperate to find a reason to disallow that.

Totally agree.

Checked it about 25 times to find one thing.

10-01-2022, 08:13 PM
They really were desperate to find something wrong with that goal.

10-01-2022, 08:14 PM
Villa another one ruled out offside.

Correct this time.

10-01-2022, 08:14 PM
The number of bookable offences by Man U players that haven't been punished is mounting up

Absolute joke. Shaw must have committed 10 himself.

10-01-2022, 08:15 PM
Trying to find anyway to disallow that goal .VAR a joke

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:15 PM
Be surprised if Villa don’t get something here, United look rotten again.

10-01-2022, 08:17 PM
I've no idea why that goal is disallowed

Ramsey just stands there and cavani runs into him while watching the flight of the ball

Hows that a foul against the villa player?

Totally agree why should the Villa player have to get out the way. No way on earth United get that chopped off.

10-01-2022, 08:18 PM
Luke Shaw dives and gets a foul for nothing..I actually dislike Shaw more than Gerrard !

10-01-2022, 08:20 PM
Fred booked for his first tackle.

Shaw made 19 fouls and not had a word. Oliver is a clown reminds me of Beaton.

10-01-2022, 08:21 PM
Ref decides he does have a yellow card after all.

10-01-2022, 08:21 PM
How is that disallowed. Shocking decision.

Anything that annoys Gerrard is fine in my book :greengrin

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:22 PM
Wouldn’t rule out a Shaw red card.

10-01-2022, 08:22 PM
Shaw finally booked haha.

10-01-2022, 08:23 PM
I know Rashford has done a lot of good things in his life, but choosing that abomination of a hairdo isn’t one of them.

10-01-2022, 08:24 PM
Shaw finally gets a Booking [emoji23]

Villa are aboslutely all over them here

10-01-2022, 08:24 PM
Shaw should be off by now..finally gets a yellow

10-01-2022, 08:25 PM
How are United ahead? They are absolutely awful.

10-01-2022, 08:26 PM
Villa only have themselves to blame here losing to an appealing man u team. They are crap.

10-01-2022, 08:26 PM
How are United ahead? They are absolutely awful.

decent goalie and VAR

10-01-2022, 08:28 PM
Villa only have themselves to blame here losing to an appealing man u team. They are crap.

to be fair they also have a terrible VAR decision to blame

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:28 PM
Rashford has been poor. Bowen much worthy of a place in the next England squad.

10-01-2022, 08:29 PM
to be fair they also have a terrible VAR decision to blame

Yes was poor but had 80% of the game and can't score. Poor that.

10-01-2022, 08:30 PM
Rashford is mince ….lazy git

10-01-2022, 08:33 PM

Shaw should be off by now, 2-3 bookable tackles.

Villa deserve something from this game.

10-01-2022, 08:33 PM
Villa need to up it again

Games drifting away from them

10-01-2022, 08:35 PM
Villa need to up it again

Games drifting away from them

Yep been poor the last 15.

10-01-2022, 08:36 PM
Mad that Gerrard is managing against Man United at Old Trafford and is probably sitting there thinking about Ryan Porteous.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:40 PM
Bruno pretty anonymous without the penalties. A one season wonder to say the least.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:40 PM
Mad that Gerrard is managing against Man United at Old Trafford and is probably sitting there thinking about Ryan Porteous.

🤣

10-01-2022, 08:41 PM
Rashford is mince ….lazy git
He's a disgrace on this showing

10-01-2022, 08:44 PM
That more of a foul than Ramseys. [emoji23]

10-01-2022, 08:45 PM
That proves VAR is fixed..Luke shaw smacks a Villa forward in the face and draws blood…nothing doing..Villa player stands still and Man Utd player runs into him..they spot it.

10-01-2022, 08:46 PM
That proves VAR is fixed..Luke shaw smacks a Villa forward in the face and draws blood…nothing doing..Villa player stands still and Man Utd player runs into him..they spot it.

Can't wait until it starts in Scotland.....

10-01-2022, 08:47 PM

lots of goals against Celtic and Rangers disallowed….lots of penalty’s against them still missed.

Magpie2.0
Villa have been very unlucky. I fancy them to get a result at home to United on Saturday.

How was that not a villa free kick.

Oliver is a clown.

10-01-2022, 08:48 PM
I’ve got a more powerful shot than Greenwood :greengrin

10-01-2022, 08:49 PM
Gerrard exiting yet another domestic cup competition. His record is *****.

10-01-2022, 08:50 PM
English fitba just as corrupt as ours.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:50 PM
Don’t understand why Lingard isn’t getting a chance. Fantastic for West Ham last season, will bring just as much to the pitch as Greenwood and Rashford.

10-01-2022, 08:51 PM
Don’t understand why Lingard isn’t getting a chance. Fantastic for West Ham last season, will bring just as much to the pitch as Greenwood and Rashford.

doesn’t sell as many shirts

10-01-2022, 08:53 PM
Man u miles away from challenging for anything

Villa poor finishing, poor defending and only have themselves to blame.

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:54 PM
Alan Shearer spot on, if VAR can’t be used in every match it shouldn’t be used at all.

10-01-2022, 08:54 PM
Gerrard exiting yet another domestic cup competition. His record is *****.

I’ve little time for Man.U but I’ve even less time for a team managed by Gerrard, even one with one our favourite ex players.

10-01-2022, 08:55 PM
He's a disgrace on this showing

he should stick to politics :)

Magpie2.0
10-01-2022, 08:57 PM
Man u miles away from challenging for anything

Villa poor finishing, poor defending and only have themselves to blame.

Unless there is some sort of overnight miracle I don’t think they will be in the Champions League next season. They have the squad but there are problems within there. Ronaldo probably regretting the move to a certain extent.

ACLeith
10-01-2022, 08:57 PM

Was speaking to someone I've known for a while, who has reached the stage of a linesman in the Championship.

I asked him his thoughts on VAR coming in next season. His comment was that it is "VAR Lite", due to the costs involved. They won't have all the cameras for the different angles but will rely on the TV pictures.

Whatever the system, we all know what the impact will be, it'll make things even more biased.

10-01-2022, 09:38 PM
Was speaking to someone I've known for a while, who has reached the stage of a linesman in the Championship.

I asked him his thoughts on VAR coming in next season. His comment was that it is "VAR Lite", due to the costs involved. They won't have all the cameras for the different angles but will rely on the TV pictures.

Whatever the system, we all know what the impact will be, it'll make things even more biased.

It will ruin Scottish football.

10-01-2022, 09:44 PM
he should stick to politics :)
I really think that is part of the problem, he's being distracted by his non football activities, admittedly they are good causes, but his main job, football is suffering.

10-01-2022, 09:52 PM
I really think that is part of the problem, he's being distracted by his non football activities, admittedly they are good causes, but his main job, football is suffering.

Unfortunately - or fortunately for the families he’s helping, his ‘second’ job is far more important than his first. Now while that doesn’t help Man Utd - I’d far rather his football struggled and he helped hundreds of thousands of starving children than sticks the ball in the back of the net, and I’m sure most fans agree.

The unfortunate part is that he shouldn’t have to.

10-01-2022, 09:56 PM
Unfortunately - or fortunately for the families he’s helping, his ‘second’ job is far more important than his first. Now while that doesn’t help Man Utd - I’d far rather his football struggled and he helped hundreds of thousands of starving children than sticks the ball in the back of the net, and I’m sure most fans agree.

The unfortunate part is that he shouldn’t have to.

I agree… much more important, and great to see him using his voice in this way…. it’s also just speculation that it is hampering his football…hasn’t he had a back injury recently ?

10-01-2022, 09:59 PM
I agree… much more important, and great to see him using his voice in this way…. it’s also just speculation that it is hampering his football…hasn’t he had a back injury recently ?

I’ve just never seen him as that great a footballer. Pace to burn but often flatters to deceive. I agree it is just speculation about his charity work affecting his football, but I certainly wouldn’t describe it as a ‘problem’.

He has also been injured and just looks devoid of any confidence at all.

11-01-2022, 06:36 AM
I’ve just never seen him as that great a footballer. Pace to burn but often flatters to deceive. I agree it is just speculation about his charity work affecting his football, but I certainly wouldn’t describe it as a ‘problem’.

He has also been injured and just looks devoid of any confidence at all.

he looks like he doesn’t actually like his teammates, his manager, the fans or actually football itself. I’ve rarely seen a top level player look so disinterested in a game and show so little desire. If I was his manager he wouldn’t be anywhere near the pitch.

11-01-2022, 07:35 AM
Last nights farcical VAR scenes at Old Trafford is exactly what will happen when it’s brought to Scotland, and it will be in the Old Firm’s favour. They’ll spend minutes analysing every last pixel to try to come up with an excuse to give decisions to Rangers and Celtic. The big clubs get them in England. It will be no different here.

people hoping to VAR in Scotland because it will balance out the old firm bias are kidding themselves.

11-01-2022, 07:49 AM
Last nights farcical VAR scenes at Old Trafford is exactly what will happen when it’s brought to Scotland, and it will be in the Old Firm’s favour. They’ll spend minutes analysing every last pixel to try to come up with an excuse to give decisions to Rangers and Celtic. The big clubs get them in England. It will be no different here.

people hoping to VAR in Scotland because it will balance out the old firm bias are kidding themselves.

100% correct. They will end up getting at least a pen every game.

Steven79
11-01-2022, 08:08 AM
100% correct. They will end up getting at least a pen every game.

Yep! And it will be refs that favour the Old Firm doing the VAR so it will be pointless.

11-01-2022, 01:17 PM

Embarrassing so it was. If it’s offside the VAR official gives it. No need for the ref to go over. The fact that was the first infringement and they went on to check every single other thing was ridiculous. To then go back to the first part of the play and hold things up for minutes. And folk wonder why I don’t want it anywhere near our game. That’s not football, not at all.

11-01-2022, 03:26 PM
Watching Nigeria v Egypt in the ACN. Utter pish. Salah is on the park and I’m not sure the ball has even been within 10ft of him 25 mins in. The biggest highlight is the balls seem to be ***** and keep deflating.

11-01-2022, 03:59 PM
Heard the whistle and players shouting when I was at the ticket office buying for the Cove game. Sadly I couldn’t find anyone strong enough to give me a lift over at the turnstiles 😆

11-01-2022, 05:22 PM
Heard the whistle and players shouting when I was at the ticket office buying for the Cove game. Sadly I couldn’t find anyone strong enough to give me a lift over at the turnstiles 😆

Nae stena stairlifts kicking about naw? 😉

11-01-2022, 05:34 PM

VAR is awful.

Pundits spent years bleating that ‘all we want is consistency’ to justify it. Well, it’s not brought consistency so it’s failed on its own terms - as well as taking the momentum out of the game, it’s just become another tedious talking point.

11-01-2022, 05:36 PM

Nae stena stairlifts kicking about naw? 😉

11-01-2022, 06:38 PM

Those problems are nothing to do with VAR. They are all to do with the people operating it. The system is good and it works. Watch the recent euros to see that.

11-01-2022, 08:36 PM
Those problems are nothing to do with VAR. They are all to do with the people operating it. The system is good and it works. Watch the recent euros to see that.

Without the official there is no VAR. The fact it’s not a one off isolated incident either says it’s a bigger problem than just individuals. If we want football to be an armchair sport then crack on with VAR, if we want to keep it as a spectator sport; an entertainment and relatively off the cuff then VAR has zero place.

11-01-2022, 08:50 PM
Reading 0 v 7 Fulham

My favourite result

11-01-2022, 08:56 PM
Without the official there is no VAR. The fact it’s not a one off isolated incident either says it’s a bigger problem than just individuals. If we want football to be an armchair sport then crack on with VAR, if we want to keep it as a spectator sport; an entertainment and relatively off the cuff then VAR has zero place.

It's working just fine in leagues and competitions with decent refs.

11-01-2022, 09:02 PM

I’ve watched plenty of games that have huge delays still. Even the euros still had big delays for decisions. Just because some are better than England (not hard) doesn’t mean it’s an improvement. There’s no consistency, which is the thing it’s supposed to give. There’s absolutely zero chance it works up here and I don’t want it anywhere near our game.

11-01-2022, 09:04 PM
Two worldies from Andy Carroll both offside

Got to feel for him

https://twitter.com/nocontextfootie/status/1481015191282331648?s=21

12-01-2022, 08:50 AM

I have to agree on this point. It's the poor levels of application that cause the delays and weird decisions that upset a lot of folk.

12-01-2022, 09:00 AM

well it definitely shouldn’t be anywhere near Scotland in that case!

12-01-2022, 04:57 PM
Oh dear!

https://www.skysports.com/amp/football/news/13962/12514133/tunisia-0-1-mali-ibrahima-kone-hits-winner-in-game-marred-by-early-full-time-whistle

12-01-2022, 05:29 PM
Oh dear!

https://www.skysports.com/amp/football/news/13962/12514133/tunisia-0-1-mali-ibrahima-kone-hits-winner-in-game-marred-by-early-full-time-whistle

We should get him here to referee Celtic and Rangers games. Would cut out the 8 minutes of injury time when they aren't winning.

12-01-2022, 05:44 PM
Why are Barcelona playing Real Madrid in the Spanish super cup in Saudi Arabia?

12-01-2022, 05:47 PM

Because football is ****ed.

12-01-2022, 05:52 PM
Because football is ****ed.
Imagine an Edinburgh derby or an old firm game being moved to another country. How long before there’s league games being played abroad?

12-01-2022, 05:53 PM
Imagine an Edinburgh derby or an old firm game being moved to another country. How long before there’s league games being played abroad?

These same teams still haven’t officially dropped their interest in the super league either: they will have games played in the highest bidders garden soon.

12-01-2022, 05:54 PM

Would we want a Hibs v Celtic friendly in USA to grow our fan base and revenue ?

12-01-2022, 05:56 PM

Final was played there in 2019 also. All about the ££.

12-01-2022, 05:57 PM
Would we want a Hibs v Celtic friendly in USA to grow our fan base and revenue ?

Would it though? It might for Celtic, I can’t imagine too many Americans buying Hibs tops over Celtic ones, especially as it would probably be in east coast cities with massive Irish roots.

12-01-2022, 06:09 PM
Are fans allowed in stadiums in Spain? If so it's ridiculous to have a semi final in Saudi Arabia.

12-01-2022, 06:13 PM

IIRC wasn’t there some talk of an EPL “39th game” to be held abroad a few years ago?

SJNB Hibby
12-01-2022, 06:14 PM
Would it though? It might for Celtic, I can’t imagine too many Americans buying Hibs tops over Celtic ones, especially as it would probably be in east coast cities with massive Irish roots.

Boston? I'd be there

12-01-2022, 06:15 PM
Poor game so far in Riyadh

12-01-2022, 06:15 PM

Some things, to me at least, are worth more than money.

12-01-2022, 06:18 PM
Are fans allowed in stadiums in Spain? If so it's ridiculous to have a semi final in Saudi Arabia.

I think they are allowed to use 75% of the stadium's capacity, at least that was the case a couple of weeks ago but not sure if that's since been changed.

12-01-2022, 06:26 PM
Real Madrid 1 -0 Barca

12-01-2022, 06:29 PM
How bad are Barcelona 😯

12-01-2022, 07:01 PM
Heavy chaps West Ham. The opposite of the sylph-like top three sides in the prem. They don't mind humping it up the park!

12-01-2022, 07:22 PM

Its nothing to do with Covid, all to do with cash. Saudis pay silly money for sporting events. WWE, Football, F1

All part of the sportswashing really.

12-01-2022, 07:29 PM
OH HELL YES. Preferably in Houston, Austin or Dallas though, not the east coast :greengrin

12-01-2022, 07:39 PM
OH HELL YES. Preferably in Houston, Austin or Dallas though, not the east coast :greengrin

Heard last year Hibs were exploring USA friendly options - not sure if anything will come of it though.

12-01-2022, 07:43 PM
Heard last year Hibs were exploring USA friendly options - not sure if anything will come of it though.
Anywhere around here would be fantastic, a Celtic supporting old schoolfriend of mine lives in Austin so we'd likely meet up for that - would be some weekend :greengrin

12-01-2022, 07:56 PM

New York would be best :agree:

12-01-2022, 08:03 PM
New York would be best :agree:
Well probably but my idea is still my preferred option :wink:

12-01-2022, 08:05 PM

Friendly? 100% but never a competitive game. Once Scottish league or cup games are played outside if Scotland then the games is done for me.

12-01-2022, 08:09 PM
that's two big decisions in the spurs v chelsea game VAR has got right :agree:

12-01-2022, 08:20 PM

3 now after the disallowed goal. At least two of them looked obvious to the naked eye as well but there we go.

Still hate it but it’s done it’s job tonight 😀

JXM73
12-01-2022, 08:20 PM

Make it 3...poor spuds

12-01-2022, 08:34 PM
3 now after the disallowed goal. At least two of them looked obvious to the naked eye as well but there we go.

Still hate it but it’s done it’s job tonight 😀

Make it 3...poor spuds

missed the third, putting the kettle on:cb but i did think the first was a stick-on penalty at the time:agree:

12-01-2022, 08:36 PM
Why don’t they just blow for full time in the spurs game? They’re 3-0 down, it’s a cup game, they’re not coming back from this. The spurs fan probably got injured in the stampede to get out the stadium.

12-01-2022, 09:08 PM
Oh dear!

The ref must be of Scottish descent.

12-01-2022, 09:21 PM
Friendly? 100% but never a competitive game. Once Scottish league or cup games are played outside if Scotland then the games is done for me.

The super cup isn’t competitive to be fair - glorified friendlies. They’ve changed it from the league vs cup winner to include 4 teams and play it in Saudi over a few days.

12-01-2022, 09:38 PM
The super cup isn’t competitive to be fair - glorified friendlies. They’ve changed it from the league vs cup winner to include 4 teams and play it in Saudi over a few days.

I was talking specifically about Scottish football, England, Spain etc sold their soul long ago.

12-01-2022, 09:42 PM
I was talking specifically about Scottish football, England, Spain etc sold their soul long ago.

I agree completely. Was just on the back of someone saying Scottish football would be done if we played a glorified friendly abroad. We’ve already started inviting daft teams of other nations into our lower league cup, sold our soul to allow B teams to skip the pyramid for moneys sake. If we had a super cup which is essentially just a money maker anyway, then going abroad with it wouldn’t bother me one bit.

13-01-2022, 06:01 PM
Napoli 2 Fiorentina 2, 9 man Napoli equalise in the 95th minute to take the game into extra time.

13-01-2022, 06:05 PM
Napoli 2 Fiorentina 2, 9 man Napoli equalise in the 95th minute to take the game into extra time.

It's incredible.

13-01-2022, 06:22 PM
3-2 Fiorentina

13-01-2022, 06:22 PM

Did any Fiorentina players hi-five their fans while the game went into injury time?

13-01-2022, 06:28 PM
4-2 Fiorentina

13-01-2022, 06:39 PM
5-2 Fiorentina

13-01-2022, 07:09 PM
Granit Xhaka is an absolute liability.

13-01-2022, 07:17 PM

Keeper did him zero favours there.

bringbackbenny
13-01-2022, 07:33 PM

Arsenal have been better since he departed 😅

13-01-2022, 08:27 PM
Take away the crowd and this is Albion Rovers v Cowdenbeath.

13-01-2022, 08:29 PM
Liverpool v Arsenal what a very poor game.

13-01-2022, 08:30 PM
Not even that good.

13-01-2022, 08:34 PM

Tbh, covid, afcon and injuries are the main reason for that. Both sides well under strength.

13-01-2022, 08:37 PM
Tbh, covid, afcon and injuries are the main reason for that. Both sides well under strength.
Nonsense still have international players sitting on the bench. No excuses.

13-01-2022, 08:40 PM

Plenty internationals on the pitch.

13-01-2022, 08:46 PM
Does being an international make you a good player these days?

Both teams are well under strength regardless of their reserve guys being internationals or not.

13-01-2022, 08:50 PM

Both teams are well under strength regardless of their reserve guys being internationals or not.

Of course. Colin Murdock, I rest my case.

13-01-2022, 08:52 PM

I struggle to understand how he still gets a game. Not a very good footballer and a clown. Struts around occasionally firing a crap long range shot and getting red carded.

Arsenal would address a lot of their troubles as a club by getting rid of duds like him.

13-01-2022, 08:55 PM

Both teams still had a few hundred millions pounds of talent on the pitch. Both teams were poor technically

JamesHFC
13-01-2022, 09:22 PM
I struggle to understand how he still gets a game. Not a very good footballer and a clown. Struts around occasionally firing a crap long range shot and getting red carded.

Arsenal would address a lot of their troubles as a club by getting rid of duds like him.

He should never have played for the club again after taking his shirt off, swearing and cupping his ears towards the fans as captain.

14-01-2022, 03:14 PM
Partick v Killie live tonight on the BBC Scotland channel/IPlayer
A few ex Hibees in both teams, plus Dan Mackay on loan from Hibs

Paul1642
14-01-2022, 05:30 PM
Leicester vs Burnley off due to Covid. If Burnley also can’t play Watford on the 18th then they will have 5 games in hand over Norwich. Shambles.

Arsenal have now requested the spurs game to be postponed. Can’t help but feel like teams are taking the piss when they have a few top players out.

Not usually a fan of Scotlands winter break but It has probably come at a good time this year.

JamesHFC
14-01-2022, 05:42 PM
Leicester vs Burnley off due to Covid. If Burnley also can’t play Watford on the 18th then they will have 5 games in hand over Norwich. Shambles.

Arsenal have now requested the spurs game to be postponed. Can’t help but feel like teams are taking the piss when they have a few top players out.

Not usually a fan of Scotlands winter break but It has probably come at a good time this year.

Apparently Arsenal only have one player with covid. They knew for a long time that AFCON was happening and have sent players out on loan. Put some younger players on the bench and get on with it imo.

Paul1642
14-01-2022, 05:47 PM
Apparently Arsenal only have one player with covid. They knew for a long time that AFCON was happening and have sent players out on loan. Put some younger players on the bench and get on with it imo.

Absolutely. One player should mean nothing to their ability to field a squad, especially with the new isolation rules.

14-01-2022, 05:49 PM
MacKay starts in the bench for Killie

Bridge hibs
14-01-2022, 06:56 PM
MacKay starts in the bench for Killie55 year old Burke starts ahead of him 🤣

14-01-2022, 07:08 PM
Absolutely. One player should mean nothing to their ability to field a squad, especially with the new isolation rules.

Liverpool got the league cup semi off with 5 false positives, the odds of which are something like 0.0001% (somehow wasn't investigated) and they could've just played kids anyway.

Arsenal game should go ahead, but so should that game. Its a can of worms now.

14-01-2022, 07:43 PM
The usual VAR capers at Brighton.

14-01-2022, 08:01 PM
killie penalty shaw scores

no idea where foster was supposed to put his arm

14-01-2022, 08:01 PM
Dodgy pen for Killie slotted away by Oli Shaw.

14-01-2022, 08:02 PM
Watching a bit of Partick vs Killie. Horrendous quality.

Killie get a lucky penalty. Pleasingly conceded by that tit Richard Foster.

14-01-2022, 08:02 PM
Ludicrous penalty decision for Killie v Partick.

14-01-2022, 08:03 PM
Dan MacKay on for Killie.

14-01-2022, 08:04 PM
Ludicrous penalty decision for Killie v Partick.

Walsh is a horrific referee

14-01-2022, 08:06 PM
Watching a bit of Partick vs Killie. Horrendous quality.

Killie get a lucky penalty. Pleasingly conceded by that tit Richard Foster.

I started watching but turned it off, now watching Stay Close on the stick.

14-01-2022, 08:10 PM
lovely through ball from oor daniel but oli flicks it over the bar

14-01-2022, 08:10 PM
Mackay just played a great ball through for Shaw.

Not hard to see why we let Shaw go, he’s missed two absolute sitters now. Did score their pen though

Tarrahib
14-01-2022, 08:12 PM
Great through ball from Mackay. Shaw should have scored.
Brian Graham should also have scored for Patrick.

14-01-2022, 08:16 PM
This Brighton game has been pretty poor.

14-01-2022, 08:17 PM

Playing on the right. Good to see him back - done well so far. 1st game since September (around 4 months).

Really not sure about the penalty award - it hit the hand but really didn’t mean it.

14-01-2022, 08:29 PM
thistle goal 1-1

86 mins

14-01-2022, 08:30 PM
thistle goal 1-1

Great finish. Killie looking like a typical Mcinnes team already. Sat back since they went 1-0 up when they were well on top

14-01-2022, 08:30 PM
Thistle equalise after McInnes reverts to type and brings on a defender for a forward inviting pressure on to them. Can't believe some folk wanted him at ER.

14-01-2022, 08:31 PM
1-0 Palace

fife hfc
14-01-2022, 08:33 PM
Glad we dodged the bullet of McInnes getting the job, so negative. Mackay looked okay but then Mcinnes decided to sit back and defend the lead and he hasn't been seen going forward.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

14-01-2022, 08:34 PM
James McFadden talking utter nonsense about how great a game it’s been at Thistle. It’s been woeful stuff.

Think Raith are the only team worth watching in the Championship - at least they try to pass the ball.

14-01-2022, 08:35 PM
Great through ball from Mackay. Shaw should have scored.
Brian Graham should also have scored for Patrick.you can see why we got shot off Ollie shaw.

14-01-2022, 08:48 PM
1-0 Palace

1 each

GreenGray
14-01-2022, 08:53 PM
Mind people on this saying that they wanted McInnes or that Getting Maloney over him lacked ambition. Tonight’s game is what happens when you get McInnes. 1-0 up, play negative and put all your centre Half’s on

14-01-2022, 08:56 PM
Mind people on this saying that they wanted McInnes or that Getting Maloney over him lacked ambition. Tonight’s game is what happens when you get McInnes. 1-0 up, play negative and put all your centre Half’s on

McInnes isn't daft, he way of playing is proven to work. I wouldn't want him, but ultimately, he wins a lot more than he loses.

15-01-2022, 12:06 AM

Liverpool we’re missing Salah and Mane, but brought Firmino back in. So in reality still had two of their usual four attacking options (which they pick three from). The rest of the side was full strength. Arsenal were missing Smith Rowe and Odegaard, but still had capable players coming in in their place.

The game was absolutely brutal and Liverpool not having a shot on target until the last few minutes sums the whole thing up. If the clubs can’t deal with a couple of key players missing then it’s been a gross failure in regards to their recruitment team.

15-01-2022, 01:34 AM
Mind people on this saying that they wanted McInnes or that Getting Maloney over him lacked ambition.

Don't remember that, no.

15-01-2022, 08:05 AM
Liverpool we’re missing Salah and Mane, but brought Firmino back in. So in reality still had two of their usual four attacking options (which they pick three from). The rest of the side was full strength. Arsenal were missing Smith Rowe and Odegaard, but still had capable players coming in in their place.

The game was absolutely brutal and Liverpool not having a shot on target until the last few minutes sums the whole thing up. If the clubs can’t deal with a couple of key players missing then it’s been a gross failure in regards to their recruitment team.

No one said they couldn't deal with it. Both were clearly under strength, that's a fact. Both of those clubs have recruited extremely well recently. It was 1 match.

15-01-2022, 11:37 AM
Poor distribution from the Chelsea keeper nearly cost them a goal there.

15-01-2022, 12:31 PM
No one said they couldn't deal with it. Both were clearly under strength, that's a fact. Both of those clubs have recruited extremely well recently. It was 1 match.

You said they were both ‘well under strength’ - having 10 out of 11 starters playing isn’t well under strength. And if it is then serious words are required as to how that happened to the champions of 2 years ago. Also if a couple of backups can’t come in and perform to a better standard than that then again, there’s big issues. A team is very rarely at full strength.

It also wasn’t just one match, Liverpool have been poor a fair bit this season, arsenal likewise go from being extremely good (city) to woefully poor Liverpool Forest and majority of the big games early in the season.

15-01-2022, 12:52 PM
How many divers can man city fit into one team

15-01-2022, 01:00 PM
Goalie should be saving that imo

15-01-2022, 01:04 PM

He took a slight step to his right just as De Bruyne hit the shot I think.

15-01-2022, 01:11 PM

Harsh! Great strike.

15-01-2022, 01:13 PM

Mind people not wanting miller ,Collins ,Stubbs etc .
Maybe He’s been caught going for the 2nd goal with the majority of the game played so He thinks better to sit on a 1 nil lead . There’s good & bad points in all managers

15-01-2022, 01:23 PM
Title race done south of the border

15-01-2022, 01:28 PM

You don't like man city do you? I can tell....

JamesHFC
15-01-2022, 01:28 PM
Title race done south of the border

Wouldn’t be surprised to see City get another 100+ points.

15-01-2022, 01:29 PM
Luton blew a HT 2-0 lead only for bournemouth to level it 2-2

only for a last kick winner for Luton 3-2 :greengrin scot Kal Naismith 90+7

15-01-2022, 01:55 PM
You said they were both ‘well under strength’ - having 10 out of 11 starters playing isn’t well under strength. And if it is then serious words are required as to how that happened to the champions of 2 years ago. Also if a couple of backups can’t come in and perform to a better standard than that then again, there’s big issues. A team is very rarely at full strength.

It also wasn’t just one match, Liverpool have been poor a fair bit this season, arsenal likewise go from being extremely good (city) to woefully poor Liverpool Forest and majority of the big games early in the season.

Liverpool were missing 2 of the best players in the world. Impacts any side.

Arsenal were missing nearly a dozen. Again, impacts any team.

Like, 99.9% of teams they are inconsistent. Arsenal have a very young side with much to learn. Liverpool are a very good side. With one side down to 10 it was always going to become a very tight game.

15-01-2022, 02:00 PM
Liverpool were missing 2 of the best players in the world. Impacts any side.

Arsenal were missing nearly a dozen. Again, impacts any team.

Like, 99.9% of teams they are inconsistent. Arsenal have a very young side with much to learn. Liverpool are a very good side. With one side down to 10 it was always going to become a very tight game.

Do you never think to yourself maybe I could just let a post go without challenging it?

15-01-2022, 02:02 PM
Do you never think to yourself maybe I could just let a post go without challenging it?