View Full Version : Match Updates 2021-22 season non-Hibs games thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

15-08-2021, 03:47 PM
lol heartz score again

15-08-2021, 03:48 PM
34 shots at goal for Sellik. 3 goals.

15-08-2021, 03:48 PM
oh my that sellick defence again

15-08-2021, 03:49 PM
34 shots at goal for Sellik. 3 goals.

Pity they hadn’t scored with even a quarter of them

15-08-2021, 03:51 PM
Livi at ER please

15-08-2021, 03:55 PM
St Johnstone anywhere we owe them big time.

15-08-2021, 03:55 PM
hearts out. Closing in on 60 years without the wee cup now.

15-08-2021, 04:01 PM

Embarrassing record.

15-08-2021, 04:04 PM
Wee team wee cup
Wee team big cup

15-08-2021, 04:14 PM
neilson said 'the pitch is big here'

tbf robbie most pitches in Scotland are big, compared to the wee one at Tiny

He's here!
15-08-2021, 04:31 PM

Sounds like Celtic could have scored 10. Quite a turnaround from their awful start to the season.

15-08-2021, 04:33 PM
neilson said 'the pitch is big here'

tbf robbie most pitches in Scotland are big, compared to the wee one at Tiny

Two of the biggest pitches in Scotland at Celtic and Brora right enough.

15-08-2021, 04:41 PM
Brilliant goal by Son.

15-08-2021, 04:43 PM
Man City losing.

Pleasing.

15-08-2021, 04:46 PM
Big chance missed by Spurs

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

15-08-2021, 04:54 PM
Really enjoying the refs letting challenges go this season. For too long players have won fouls by falling over at the slightest contact but the EPL refs have been great so far. Here's hoping ours are the same.

15-08-2021, 04:55 PM
As much as the Eepeeell has pundits waxing lyrical about technical abilities, it's often only when it looks like it might boil over into a punch up that it becomes exciting.

15-08-2021, 05:01 PM
Exact same players that Mourinho had but Spurs today looks night and day as to how they are set up.

Edit, exact same players minus Kane.

15-08-2021, 05:02 PM
Exact same players that Mourinho had but Spurs today looks night and day as to how they are set up.

Mourinho beat City 2-0 at home last season tbf. Nuno and him play similar counter attacking styles.

15-08-2021, 05:07 PM
Mourinho beat City 2-0 at home last season tbf. Nuno and him play similar counter attacking styles.

Mourinho’s tactics were often all out defend and hope Son & Kane can create something out of nothing, rather than counter attacking IMO. Early days but encouraging for Spurs.

EI255
15-08-2021, 05:15 PM
Grealish looks like Mickey Mouse. It's not a good look.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

15-08-2021, 05:24 PM
100 million for Grealish. Peps biggest mistake.

Halmyre Hibee
15-08-2021, 05:26 PM
Are there any highlights from all the League Cup ties today?

15-08-2021, 05:30 PM
Grealish looks like Mickey Mouse. It's not a good look.

Minnie Mouse closer I think.

15-08-2021, 05:31 PM
Are there any highlights from all the League Cup ties today?

I don't think so.

Magpie
15-08-2021, 05:46 PM
Spurs unbeaten at home to City since 2015.

15-08-2021, 05:49 PM
Spurs unbeaten at home to City since 2015.

does that mean Pep has never won there (at least as City manager)?

15-08-2021, 05:57 PM
does that mean Pep has never won there (at least as City manager)?

Manchester City beat them a couple of times when Spurs were playing at Wembley.

15-08-2021, 08:44 PM
100 million for Grealish. Peps biggest mistake.

He's a very good player and will be fine at City. They need a proper striker; it will be interesting to see what happens with Kane.

15-08-2021, 08:44 PM
Exactly, the dons are being used as a side who've prepared well for Europe and the new season by those bashing the club for not getting bodies in early enough, yet here they are, root toot toot, oot the league cup, beaten by bloody Raith Rovers. :faf:

Perhaps they'd have been better off waiting for better quality players, that do come available the later the window is open.

Only the bigot bros can afford squads to make a dent in Europe. Unless we get big money for Doig the squad will only be increased with a couple of loans for cover. The dons result today says it all.

15-08-2021, 09:15 PM
Only the bigot bros can afford squads to make a dent in Europe. Unless we get big money for Doig the squad will only be increased with a couple of loans for cover. The dons result today says it all.

If we had no injuries, we could have a bench that included the likes of Stevenson Hallberg, Cadden, McGregor, Gogic, Wright, Allan, McKay, Bradley, Doidge, and that does not include anyone else we might bring in before the window closes.

It's not bad is it?

I think we are on the right track for us to make a dent in one of the European comps, probably the bottom one but we have to start somewhere. :thumbsup:

15-08-2021, 09:31 PM
If we had no injuries, we could have a bench that included the likes of Stevenson Hallberg, Cadden, McGregor, Gogic, Wright, Allan, McKay, Bradley, Doidge, and that does not include anyone else we might bring in before the window closes.

It's not bad is it?

I think we are on the right track for us to make a dent in one of the European comps, probably the bottom one but we have to start somewhere. :thumbsup:

That all sounds great, but couple those first five words with Hibs and we all know that’s never going to be the case 😂 it’s actually brutal how bad our luck is with long termers.

15-08-2021, 09:32 PM

It's not bad is it?

Couldn't agree more. No club can account for 5 or 6 injuries. You'd have squads for 30 plus players.

17-08-2021, 06:01 PM
German Super Cup

Dortmund v Bayern

Kick off 7.30pm

Sky Sports

Both sides playing strong sides tbf

17-08-2021, 06:49 PM
Millwall 0 v 1 Fulham

17-08-2021, 06:58 PM
2-0 Fulham

17-08-2021, 07:26 PM
Dortmund 0 v 1 Bayern. HT

Lewandowski

17-08-2021, 07:42 PM
Dortmund 0 v 2 Bayern

Mueller

17-08-2021, 07:57 PM
Dortmund 1 v 2 Bayern

Reus

17-08-2021, 08:06 PM
Dortmund 1 v 3 Bayern

Lewandowski

SJNB Hibby
17-08-2021, 08:10 PM
Dortmund 1 v 3 Bayern

Lewandowski

What is this? The German Super Cup?

17-08-2021, 08:12 PM
What is this? The German Super Cup?
Ja

Stairway 2 7
17-08-2021, 08:15 PM
Thought it looked very empty but just read 25,000 allowed in Germany. Spain 40% of capacity at the start and Italy only 25%. Scotland going for it more than a lot of countries

SJNB Hibby
17-08-2021, 08:23 PM
Thought it looked very empty but just read 25,000 allowed in Germany. Spain 40% of capacity at the start and Italy only 25%. Scotland going for it more than a lot of countries

So are more Spanish fans allowed in after kick off? , or do some of them have to leave?

EI255
17-08-2021, 08:27 PM
Most amusing listening to the Fulham fans ripping the **** out of Millwall, at Millwall.

17-08-2021, 08:38 PM
Dortmund 0 v 2 Bayern

Mueller

Looking forward to January

17-08-2021, 08:42 PM
Looking forward to January
Freudian slip :greengrin

17-08-2021, 08:50 PM
Played well there Fulham. Dont think there is a single team in the Championship with a 100% record now with all the cllubs having only played 2 or 3 games.

Shock in the Champions League qualifer where Dinamo Zagreb are currently losng 3-0 to Tiraspol from Moldova (well officially Moldova, they would claim to be from the break away state of Transnistria (think thats spelt right)

18-08-2021, 06:42 AM
Played well there Fulham. Dont think there is a single team in the Championship with a 100% record now with all the cllubs having only played 2 or 3 games.

Shock in the Champions League qualifer where Dinamo Zagreb are currently losng 3-0 to Tiraspol from Moldova (well officially Moldova, they would claim to be from the break away state of Transnistria (think thats spelt right)

Fulham should have, no idea how they never won on the opening day. Will take a very very good side to stop them winning the league.

18-08-2021, 06:55 PM
Celtic have already survived a penalty scare and alkmar have hit the post. They are getting murdered.

18-08-2021, 06:56 PM
Celtic have already survived a penalty scare and alkmar have hit the post. They are getting murdered.

It’s been a cracking start to the game, 2 teams playing at pace

18-08-2021, 06:57 PM
It’s been a cracking start to the game, 2 teams playing at pace

Is it available on tv somewhere ?

18-08-2021, 06:57 PM
1-0 Celtic

Furuhashi

18-08-2021, 06:58 PM
That Kyogo looks like some signing so far

18-08-2021, 06:59 PM

Not officially

Sure does.

Very much so.

18-08-2021, 07:01 PM
1-0 Celtic

Furuhashi

He could well be the best signing for them in a long time

18-08-2021, 07:03 PM

Celtic TV via IPTV if you have it.

18-08-2021, 07:03 PM
He could well be the best signing for them in a long time
Scoring record was good at his old club but he is described as a winger ?

Looks the real deal

18-08-2021, 07:23 PM
Celtic are much improved from last season. I don’t think Rangers will get their own way this season.

18-08-2021, 07:23 PM
Aye he looks good. Interestingly the surname Starfelt in Swedish is the equivalent to the Irish surname Duffy:greengrin

Torto7
18-08-2021, 07:26 PM
Celtic moving the ball well. Theres some openings when they turn the ball over though.

18-08-2021, 07:37 PM
Celtic are much improved from last season. I don’t think Rangers will get their own way this season.

Still need to sort their defence.

18-08-2021, 08:08 PM
2-0 Celtic. A bit fortunate.

18-08-2021, 08:18 PM
Sellick 2-0
Malmo 2-0

gies the money

18-08-2021, 08:24 PM
Hartson commentators sidekick on Cellik tv tonight.
He is a very very very boring man.

18-08-2021, 08:40 PM
Hartson commentators sidekick on Cellik tv tonight.
He is a very very very boring man.

He’s as thick as pig s£it. Commentator says there will be at least 4 or 5 mins added on and when 5 is decided Hartson complains about it.

18-08-2021, 08:46 PM
Thankfully watching Celtic TV with no sound so don't have to listen to their crap.

Celtic are much improved from their 1st few games, they look fitter and are playing a very expansive style of football, if they get in the 3-4 players they want they'll push Rangers.

18-08-2021, 08:51 PM
Thankfully watching Celtic TV with no sound so don't have to listen to their crap.

Celtic are much improved from their 1st few games, they look fitter and are playing a very expansive style of football, if they get in the 3-4 players they want they'll push Rangers.

Think they have a right back just about signed and have been linked with a striker so they are getting stronger but still think they are a bit short as expect them to loose a few still. Also think they need a CB

18-08-2021, 09:08 PM

I mentioned here at the weekend how Aberdeen got it tight for having a go at qualifying for the Europa Conference. Tonight they said that the Japanese guy had to leave the J League as it was ***** basically. Such weird crap they come out with.

18-08-2021, 09:09 PM
Watched Benfica 2 PSV 1 match. Champions league qualifier. Decent match PSV a little unlucky not to be playing the return on level terms (and I say that as someone who follows Benfica from afar). As I said decent game but both clubs would be gun fodder in the Champions League groups.

18-08-2021, 09:15 PM
Celtic TV via IPTV if you have it.

Thanks guys. Unfortunately not, had to rely on sportsound - yes I know 🤢

18-08-2021, 09:23 PM
Watched Benfica 2 PSV 1 match. Champions league qualifier. Decent match PSV a little unlucky not to be playing the return on level terms (and I say that as someone who follows Benfica from afar). As I said decent game but both clubs would be gun fodder in the Champions League groups.

I’m surprised to hear that you think that about Benfica.

Alot of cracking players - Otamendi,Weigl, Joao Mario, Grimaldo, Rafa, Pizzi, Vertonghen, Everton, Vinicius.. on paper they should be a very handy team looking to challenge to get out Champions League groups I’d have thought.

Although in saying that, when they played Rangers last season someone (who I’m presuming was you) said similar in that they were in a bit of a transition and weren't currently a great side.

18-08-2021, 10:02 PM
Not sure why you are surprised to hear that Calum if you have seen much of Benfica over the last season ir so or indeed watched tonights match. Struggling at the mo by their own standards not that great a surprise looking at the players they have sold over the last year or so. Way off the pace in the portuguese league last season hopefully better this season but would be happily surprised if they finished top of the pile.

18-08-2021, 11:20 PM
Not sure why you are surprised to hear that Calum if you have seen much of Benfica over the last season ir so or indeed watched tonights match. Struggling at the mo by their own standards not that great a surprise looking at the players they have sold over the last year or so. Way off the pace in the portuguese league last season hopefully better this season but would be happily surprised if they finished top of the pile.
I think that Benfica are struggling, by their historical standards, because Portuguese football does not attract the sort of money available in Spain or Italy or Germany. That has impacted on teams such as Porto and Benfica in much the same way that Scottish clubs have against English teams.

SJNB Hibby
19-08-2021, 12:18 AM
I think that Benfica are struggling, by their historical standards, because Portuguese football does not attract the sort of money available in Spain or Italy or Germany. That has impacted on teams such as Porto and Benfica in much the same way that Scottish clubs have against English teams.

Spurs playing a 2nd xl Thursday, maybe they could just withdraw and we take their place?

19-08-2021, 05:34 AM

It’s interesting watching the ‘second tier’ of European sides at the moment. Famous old names like Benfica or Marseille who are operating in the E5-20 million bracket per player instead of the E30million and (way)over bracket the super clubs operate in. As the financial gap between the rich and the ridiculously rich is getting wider the more it’s looking like a super league in all but name anyway. These teams are hoping for players that want to find bargains who want to play every week instead of being 2rd or 3rd choice at Chelsea, or to stumble on a coach with a tactical approach that will give them an advantage. Lyon and Atalanta have shown it’s possible in recent years.

19-08-2021, 05:36 AM
I see Dave Cormack has been Tweeting photos of Qarabag's pitch and complaining about it. What an absolute attention seeking twat. Hope they get pumped.

19-08-2021, 05:48 AM
I see Dave Cormack has been Tweeting photos of Qarabag's pitch and complaining about it. What an absolute attention seeking twat. Hope they get pumped.

Did he watch Aberdeen games last season Pittodrie had more sand on it than the nearby beach. :greengrin

Getting his excuses in early. Enormous ego on the boy

19-08-2021, 06:00 AM
Did he watch Aberdeen games last season Pittodrie had more sand on it than the nearby beach. :greengrin

Getting his excuses in early. Enormous ego on the boy

Wait until Qarabag visit Pittodrie. They'll think they're in a third world country.

19-08-2021, 06:06 AM

I just think individually they look like they should be able to compete at a high level.

You know more about them than me though, other than their games against Rangers where they were poor I never watch them!

19-08-2021, 10:37 AM
Disappointing to see Celtc win last night; here's hoping The Rangers 2012 can produce another of their comedy European performances tonight. Few things in football are as enjoyable as watching the Old Firm getting their yearly European pumpings.

19-08-2021, 11:05 AM
Disappointing to see Celtc win last night; here's hoping The Rangers 2012 can produce another of their comedy European performances tonight. Few things in football are as enjoyable as watching the Old Firm getting their yearly European pumpings.

I disagree, having Celtic and Rangers in the group stages is good for the coefficient but it also means they're playing on multiple fronts and means their squads will be stretched game wise, playing every thursday/sunday can be hard going and could help the teams just behind them like us and Aberdeen.

19-08-2021, 11:14 AM
I disagree, having Celtic and Rangers in the group stages is good for the coefficient but it also means they're playing on multiple fronts and means their squads will be stretched game wise, playing every thursday/sunday can be hard going and could help the teams just behind them like us and Aberdeen.

I understand that view; however, we couldn't even qualify for the Europa Conference League groups, so the coefficient is of little value. The Old Firm are going to finish in the top two league places regardless, and European failure reduces their income, so, on balance I prefer to see them fail asap. :greengrin

19-08-2021, 11:29 AM
I understand that view; however, we couldn't even qualify for the Europa Conference League groups, so the coefficient is of little value. The Old Firm are going to finish in the top two league places regardless, and European failure reduces their income, so, on balance I prefer to see them fail asap. :greengrin

Think we all do, but the monies in the Europa league aren’t massive in comparison with the Championship League

19-08-2021, 01:09 PM
There's not been too much evidence of that in their last few fairly successful Euro campaigns. Malmo has been about their first blip. Their record has been excellent in the main. Much as I hate to say it.

19-08-2021, 01:12 PM

If we had got the draw Aberdeen did I'd say there's a good chance we'd qualify for the Conference League. As with lots of things it's the luck of the draw.

19-08-2021, 01:59 PM
There's not been too much evidence of that in their last few fairly successful Euro campaigns. Malmo has been about their first blip. Their record has been excellent in the main. Much as I hate to say it.

They did very well last season, but we don't require long memories to recall their wonderful European defeats to the likes of Progres Niederkorn, Unirea, Viktoria Zizkov etc. So many tremendous nights.

JammyDoidger
19-08-2021, 03:40 PM
Abdellah Zoubir starts against the sheep.

19-08-2021, 03:40 PM
Aberdeen are resting new signing Boyle tonight

19-08-2021, 03:54 PM

I’m not sure if I subscribe to this theory. The negatives can be outweighed by the added value of experience, confidence boost and financial gain. And remember that Celtic and Rangers have big squads to deal with the issue.

19-08-2021, 03:57 PM
Aberdeen are resting new signing Boyle tonight

He’s cup tied unfortunately for them. He’ll be available for the groups!

19-08-2021, 04:14 PM
Considine seems to have picked up a really bad injury
Not sure if the pitch caused it or not

19-08-2021, 04:27 PM

Pitch looks horrific very bobbly. Think the pitch is helping Aberdeen more than Qarabag who look like they have a number of very good technical players.

19-08-2021, 04:28 PM
Qarabag just keep launching the ball up. Can't play on the deck the pitch is so bad.

19-08-2021, 04:30 PM
1-0 Qarabag get that right roond ye

19-08-2021, 04:30 PM
1 0 Qarabag

19-08-2021, 04:31 PM
😁

hibee316
19-08-2021, 04:34 PM
1 0 Qarabag

For Scottish football I shouldn't be happy with this..

... but I am :)

19-08-2021, 04:35 PM
Just noticed St Johnstone on Premier Sports 2, 6pm ko

19-08-2021, 04:36 PM
We better get our CH target in before Aberdeen try and hijack any of our targets 👀

19-08-2021, 04:36 PM
For Scottish football I shouldn't be happy with this..

... but I am :)

Renfrew_Hibby
19-08-2021, 04:37 PM

Going from bad to worse for the Dandies.
I know I shouldn't but I hope they get pumped.

19-08-2021, 04:38 PM
Aberdeen midfield look non existent. Nobody challenging a kick out from the keeper.

19-08-2021, 04:40 PM
1-0 Qarabag get that right roond ye

GIRUY Cormack 😀

19-08-2021, 04:50 PM

19-08-2021, 04:58 PM
We've got to want Qarabag to win this otherwise Aberdeen might pip us to the big screens.

19-08-2021, 05:12 PM
We've got to want Qarabag to win this otherwise Aberdeen might pip us to the big screens.

Naw, I think that the big screens sign the contract tomorrow 😉

19-08-2021, 05:13 PM

They'll put in an under value bid to Ron for ours.

19-08-2021, 05:15 PM
St Johnstone game is as boring as every other St Johnstone game.

19-08-2021, 05:17 PM
1-0 St Johnstone

It might be but it works for them

The commentators on Red TV are obviously biased, but some of their comments have been laughable.

1-0 St Johnstone

Very good goal

Almost 2

19-08-2021, 05:18 PM
And there they go, 1-0

Horrible to watch, but effective.

Hate them

davhibby
Hope St Johnstone get through, they deserve it for their efforts last season and gives the fans something to enjoy in person after missing out on the cup finals

Incredible from St Johnstone, really amazing what they're doing just now.

19-08-2021, 05:20 PM
Hope St Johnstone get through, they deserve it for their efforts last season and gives the fans something to enjoy in person after missing out on the cup finals
I hope they get completely rammed. Maybe just me......

Magpie
19-08-2021, 05:23 PM

I agree. Reaching the group stages gives them the finances to be able to improve.

Yes just you lol you have to look at Thier success in cup games It’s impressive , so no fluke

Same. Can't see it happening though unfortunately.

19-08-2021, 05:25 PM
I agree. Reaching the group stages gives them the finances to be able to improve.

And we'll not be able to buy any of their players this window.

19-08-2021, 05:27 PM
The commentators on Red TV are obviously biased, but some of their comments have been laughable.

Aye, Rob McLean moaning about the constant fouling and no player being booked. Just like watching Aberdeen eh!

Yes just you lol you have to look at Thier success in cup games It’s impressive , so no fluke

Based on the responses it isn't just me

As Magpie said, if they get group stages, it's a vast cash injection that we are not getting.

Why anyone would want a competitor to get that is beyond me, frankly.

Was just thinking that. Rob MacLean is woeful. Poor Aberdeen.

And we'll not be able to buy any of their players this window.

Yep definitely don't want that. LASK look pretty poor though Saints playing well.

19-08-2021, 05:31 PM
Aye if st J mae the groups there’s no chance they let McCart leave for us. They’ll not need the cash

Magpie
19-08-2021, 05:31 PM
Only a matter of time until clubs start head hunting Callum Davidson.

19-08-2021, 05:32 PM
Sick of St Johnstone too to be honest. Want them pumped.

19-08-2021, 05:33 PM
Based on the responses it isn't just me

As Magpie said, if they get group stages, it's a vast cash injection that we are not getting.

Why anyone would want a competitor to get that is beyond me, frankly.

I was teasing but the reality is we had our opportunity now they have theirs
I would rather they didn’t benefit financially over us but if they prove to be good enough to progress then so be it
They have brought in plenty new players with group stages in mind so if they do qualify it’s down to that speculate to accumulate

19-08-2021, 05:33 PM

Aye he’ll end up at a championship club down south imo

19-08-2021, 05:34 PM
Aberdeen look a bit off the boyle

St Johnstone are so effective at what they do. Ridiculously well drilled and carry a threat when they counter.

Would be a good thing for us. Their players are generally not amazing, but he has them playing a system that's really tricky to break down - as we found last season.

19-08-2021, 05:36 PM
They’re going on about Aberdeen doing better next week on a better pitch. I actually think Qarabag would benefit from that as well, look decent with the ball on the ground

19-08-2021, 05:38 PM
St J doing what they do well but this Austrian mob look murder

19-08-2021, 05:39 PM
The co commentator in the Aberdeen game sounds like Jack or Victor from Still Game making wee comments here and there

19-08-2021, 05:41 PM
The co commentator in the Aberdeen game sounds like Jack or Victor from Still Game making wee comments here and thereBased on a comment on facebook, ex Don Willie Gardner. A few fans looking to kill themselves....

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

19-08-2021, 05:44 PM
Rob MacLean saying Scott Brown was just showing concern for the injured player hahahaha. He was telling the ref to get him off the park

Keyser Sauzee
19-08-2021, 05:45 PM
Can see Aberdeen beating this team at Pittodrie.

19-08-2021, 05:46 PM

Qarabag all over them first half. Poor second half.

19-08-2021, 05:47 PM
Bit of a bugger that we didn't get some Icelandic part timers, the quality in this conf league is awful.

19-08-2021, 05:48 PM
Rob MacLean saying Scott Brown was just showing concern for the injured player hahahaha. He was telling the ref to get him off the park

Tbf the guy was down on the deck as if he was out cold. **** all wrong with him in the end.

19-08-2021, 05:54 PM
I’d take the defender Medina from Qarabag.

19-08-2021, 05:55 PM
I’m sure the Dandy Dons will be looking forward to playing their next game on a decent pitch.....hang on, they are playing at the PBS

19-08-2021, 05:55 PM

No doubt about it So we could have sheep and st Johnstone in the group stages

19-08-2021, 05:57 PM
25 mins to take a free kick

19-08-2021, 05:58 PM
No doubt about it So we could have sheep and st Johnstone in the group stages

Only plus is I can’t see either squad lasting that well playing Thursday/Sunday. St Johnstone especially.

19-08-2021, 05:59 PM
I reckon that Qarabag will be better on a decent pitch as well

19-08-2021, 05:59 PM
There is no plus to our rivals getting millions of pounds added to their budget.

None.

19-08-2021, 06:01 PM
Lask 0 St Johnstone 1 at HT great result for them

19-08-2021, 06:01 PM
Bit of a bugger that we didn't get some Icelandic part timers, the quality in this conf league is awful.

We deffo got unlucky in the draw with Rijeka and if we had beat them it was Paok...compared to what Aberdeen and St J have faced tonight

19-08-2021, 06:06 PM
St Johnstone looking decent against what appears to be poor opposition. Maybe time to move on to other players on our list of potential signings.

19-08-2021, 06:09 PM
We deffo got unlucky in the draw with Rijeka and if we had beat them it was Paok...compared to what Aberdeen and St J have faced tonight

The advantages of St J’s players turning up at Hampden eh

bringbackbenny
19-08-2021, 06:09 PM
St Johnstone looking decent against what appears to be poor opposition. Maybe time to move on to other players on our list of potential signings.

So far the Austrians have been awful

19-08-2021, 06:10 PM
Middleton somehow fails to make it 2-0.

Awful.

19-08-2021, 06:11 PM
The advantages of St J’s players turning up at Hampden eh

Agreed we deffo blew it that day and not just in terms of the Cup Final but Europe this season too

St johnstone muck up two great chances in 2 mins

bringbackbenny

Awful.

Rotten finish but pitiful defending in the buildup

Awful.

He looked clueless. Davidson will be raging.

19-08-2021, 06:12 PM
This mob look worse than us at trying to break St J down. Dreadful.

19-08-2021, 06:12 PM
So far the Austrians have been awful

They have but Saints playing well and should be more than 1-0 up.

19-08-2021, 06:13 PM
Penalty LASK.

This mob look worse than us at trying to break St J down. Dreadful.

No they don’t

Orchard_Hibs
Agreed we deffo blew it that day and not just in terms of the Cup Final but Europe this season too

This is how I feel, if we had had the swedes that the dons had in the first round we would have won 1-0 at home then got beat away. We only have our selves to blame this year. For the record until Daz got sent off I thought we looked most likely to score but ultimately we should have been going there with a 2 or 3 goal lead.

19-08-2021, 06:14 PM
Poor mistake from McCart...

wow what an idiotic challenge by McArt

Terrible attempt at a challenge

1-1.

Dreadful defending by McCart. Really doesn’t impress me at all.

19-08-2021, 06:15 PM

Obviously itching for his move to us...haha

This is how I feel, if we had had the swedes that the dons had in the first round we would have won 1-0 at home then got beat away. We only have our selves to blame this year. For the record until Daz got sent off I thought we looked most likely to score but ultimately we should have been going there with a 2 or 3 goal lead.

Yup before the red card we looked like we night edge it last week but who knows ...sadly we never got to find out

They have but Saints playing well and should be more than 1-0 up.

And yet, they are 1-1 Mccart mistake at penalty

That’s taken a 0 off the end of his price tag.

19-08-2021, 06:17 PM
They’re going on about Aberdeen doing better next week on a better pitch. I actually think Qarabag would benefit from that as well, look decent with the ball on the ground

Yep a better pitch will definitely suit Qarabag more than Dons I think. In saying that 1 0 defeat is a reasonable result for them.

19-08-2021, 06:18 PM
Prediction - St J will get a man sent off tonight.

Probably for simulation

19-08-2021, 06:18 PM
Yep a better pitch will definitely suit Qarabag more than Dons I think. In saying that 1 0 defeat is a reasonable result for them.

Aye definitely not a bad result away from home, especially all the way to baku

19-08-2021, 06:21 PM
Dreadful defending by McCart. Really doesn’t impress me at all.

Twice I've watched him closely now and more convinced I don't want us signing him

19-08-2021, 06:23 PM
Twice I've watched him closely now and more convinced I don't want us signing him

Just made another mistake there

Maybe his heads been turned

19-08-2021, 06:24 PM

Another poor bit of play. No thanks.

19-08-2021, 06:24 PM
McCart well below the standard of our current central defenders.

19-08-2021, 06:25 PM
McCart well below the standard of our current central defenders.

It certainly looks that way...he looks poorer that all 3 of our centre halves to me...not keen on what I've seen

19-08-2021, 06:28 PM
The boy Booth looks good at left wing back :rolleyes:

19-08-2021, 06:29 PM
McCart showed enough last season to know he is a good player. Obviously trying to get Saints knocked out so he can get an earlier move. :greengrin

19-08-2021, 06:31 PM
Mccarthorse isn't better than Hanlon or Porteous.

19-08-2021, 06:33 PM
1-0 Rijeka v PAOK.

19-08-2021, 06:34 PM

Nice

19-08-2021, 06:35 PM

I think you’re putting the cart before the horse there.

19-08-2021, 06:39 PM
LASK are bloody awful. We definitely got unlucky with the draw.

19-08-2021, 06:40 PM

They’ve been extremely poor.

19-08-2021, 06:45 PM
LASK hit the post.

Glen Middleton showing some of his Hibs form tonight

King Cosell
Shaun Rooney always looks like he's had a few cans.

Willis1875
19-08-2021, 06:48 PM

Rijeka weren’t too hot either,1st leg they were bloody hopeless

19-08-2021, 06:49 PM

I'm genuinely surprised at how bad they are. Most of their teams first touch is a shocker.

19-08-2021, 06:50 PM
1-1 full time.

King Cosell
19-08-2021, 06:52 PM
Rijeka 1-0 up.

19-08-2021, 06:53 PM

This lot are far worse.

19-08-2021, 06:56 PM

Rijeka were away from home though. This Austrian mob were at home and looked terrible.

19-08-2021, 06:58 PM

Rijeka were miles ahead of this Austrian mob

19-08-2021, 07:00 PM
Only plus is I can’t see either squad lasting that well playing Thursday/Sunday. St Johnstone especially.

Agree with that although they will be able to afford to strengthen Thier squads without having to sell presumably

19-08-2021, 07:01 PM
Are those Govan w*****s losing yet?

19-08-2021, 07:15 PM
Tottenham 1-0 down.

19-08-2021, 07:24 PM
Are those Govan w*****s losing yet?
Unfortunately not. After watching the first 20 minutes I can’t see this mob giving them many problems. Neat and tidy on the ball at times but look like they aren’t on the same level as der der hun.

19-08-2021, 07:43 PM
Lundstrum sent off [emoji23]

Off the bar
19-08-2021, 07:48 PM
Pictures on Twitter suggest the Hun have sent Kent out with a shirt with the wrong sponsor on it!

19-08-2021, 07:49 PM
Sevco denied a penalty claim at Ibrox. Very rare occurrence. This is going much better than I expected.

19-08-2021, 07:54 PM
Pictures on Twitter suggest the Hun have sent Kent out with a shirt with the wrong sponsor on it!

Have you got the link?

19-08-2021, 07:55 PM
Sevco denied a penalty claim at Ibrox. Very rare occurrence. This is going much better than I expected.

Denied a penalty AND a man sent off, unheard of

19-08-2021, 07:55 PM

Funny how continental refs don't give a helping hand to the huns the way Scottish refs do :hmmm:

Off the bar
19-08-2021, 07:57 PM
Have you got the link?

https://twitter.com/oldfirmfacts1/status/1428439384425222146?s=21

Kent is in a 32 red sponsored shirt and the rest have unibet

Willis1875
19-08-2021, 07:58 PM
Is betting company’s allowed on strips in Europe?

Off the bar
19-08-2021, 07:59 PM
Have you got the link?

This pic is clearer than the previous one.

19-08-2021, 08:00 PM
https://twitter.com/oldfirmfacts1/status/1428439384425222146?s=21

Kent is in a 32 red sponsored shirt and the rest have unibet

Thanks. Maybe his Mum was saving a few quid by getting 2 years use out of it.

19-08-2021, 08:04 PM
Denied a penalty AND a man sent off, unheard ofMind the 'penalty claim' was a clear foul to Alaskhert

19-08-2021, 08:04 PM
PAOK equalised v Rijeka in the 94th minute.

1-1 full time.

19-08-2021, 08:05 PM
They’ve subbed him coz they don’t have a proper shirt for him:greengrin

Off the bar
19-08-2021, 08:11 PM
They’ve subbed him coz they don’t have a proper shirt for him:greengrin

Ha ha amateur hour stuff

19-08-2021, 08:17 PM
All very funny but the only Scottish team out of Europe are the Hibs, we should be doing better at the level we went in at.

19-08-2021, 08:20 PM
Morelos misses a great chance.

19-08-2021, 08:22 PM
All very funny but the only Scottish team out of Europe are the Hibs, we should be doing better at the level we went in at.

Only Scottish team top of the league is Hibs.

We had a tough draw and a player got sent off. It happens. Can only do better next time.

19-08-2021, 08:26 PM
Bollocks. Fat boy scores.

19-08-2021, 08:27 PM
just listen to what that means to rangers, just listen

wtf does the commenator expect, a wee clap

H18S NX
19-08-2021, 08:29 PM
Thought Morelos was offside,looked like it.

Magpie
19-08-2021, 08:44 PM
The Old Firm bottled the Champions League qualifier, that’s pleasing enough.

19-08-2021, 08:50 PM
Thought Morelos was offside,looked like it.

Certainly would have been good to get a better view of it

19-08-2021, 08:57 PM
Only 1-0 at Greyskull and all to play for in Armenia. It would be delicious to see them drop into the Conference League.

19-08-2021, 09:05 PM
Only 1-0 at Greyskull and all to play for in Armenia. It would be delicious to see them drop into the Conference League.
It'll be up in the mid 30's temperature wise I was reading. Hopefully the Sevco mob will out on their feet by half time....

19-08-2021, 09:35 PM
PAOK equalised v Rijeka in the 94th minute.

1-1 full time.

Great result for Rijeka and sounds like they were unlucky not to win.

Paok are normally a decent side, getting put out by Rijeka was definitely not the embarrassment some are still making out.

19-08-2021, 09:58 PM
Great result for Rijeka and sounds like they were unlucky not to win.

Paok are normally a decent side, getting put out by Rijeka was definitely not the embarrassment some are still making out.

It wasn't a total embarrassment but a host of missed chances at home and a few moments madness plus comedy defending cost us in Rijeka. A fully fit squad and I reckon we would have went through.

19-08-2021, 10:10 PM
It'll be up in the mid 30's temperature wise I was reading. Hopefully the Sevco mob will out on their feet by half time....

Am I right in thinking they've got that, and then the journey back, just a few days before the first Old Firm game of the season?

Keyser Sauzee
19-08-2021, 10:10 PM
Am I right in thinking they've got that, and then the journey back, just a few days before the first Old Firm game of the season?

Yes

20-08-2021, 06:46 AM

Also the only Scottish team that got beat and never got a 2nd bite at the Euro cherry - the Uglies and St J have all lost and been given another opportunity

20-08-2021, 07:13 AM
Also the only Scottish team that got beat and never got a 2nd bite at the Euro cherry - the Uglies and St J have all lost and been given another opportunity

Yep finishing third didn’t work out the way we thought it would

20-08-2021, 07:16 AM
It wasn't a total embarrassment but a host of missed chances at home and a few moments madness plus comedy defending cost us in Rijeka. A fully fit squad and I reckon we would have went through.

Yep a very frustrating tie but we go again this year. If we can secure third and us, Rangers or Celtic win the Scottish then it's guaranteed group stage football.

20-08-2021, 07:24 AM
Yep finishing third didn’t work out the way we thought it would

When it comes to who you get it's all luck. We could have finished 4th but won the cup and drawn completely different teams to St Johnstone.

Hard lesson for this team to learn but you need to be taking your chances at home. Hopefully this is a driver for the rest of the season. Europe aside it look like a lesson has been learned.

20-08-2021, 07:39 AM
It might sound harsh, but our failure in Europe was down to our own failings.

We didn’t kill off the home leg when we were dominant and we didn’t add enough depth over the summer to be able to get through a tie against an opponent of difficulty we knew we might face.

We’re not out because of a difficult draw, although we might have got away with our own failings if we’d got really lucky and drawn a much weaker opponent.

Put it this way - we’re not going to do better next year if all we do differently is to go in hoping for a better draw. We need to attack better, defend better, and have an adequate squad in place for the round when the better teams come in.

If we don’t, then brace yourselves for more “fine margins” and “big games” chat.

20-08-2021, 07:50 AM
Rijeka showed their calibre last night. Rijeka then PAOK is arguably the toughest route to the groups a Scottish side faced this season. Certainly UCL sides. Extremely unlucky.

JXM73
20-08-2021, 09:44 AM

We didn’t kill off the home leg when we were dominant and we didn’t add enough depth over the summer to be able to get through a tie against an opponent of difficulty we knew we might face.

We’re not out because of a difficult draw, although we might have got away with our own failings if we’d got really lucky and drawn a much weaker opponent.

Put it this way - we’re not going to do better next year if all we do differently is to go in hoping for a better draw. We need to attack better, defend better, and have an adequate squad in place for the round when the better teams come in.

If we don’t, then brace yourselves for more “fine margins” and “big games” chat.

What a load of *****, you must be a hoot at parties...

20-08-2021, 09:49 AM
Rijeka showed their calibre last night. Rijeka then PAOK is arguably the toughest route to the groups a Scottish side faced this season. Certainly UCL sides. Extremely unlucky.

Galatasary then LASK is tougher tbf.

20-08-2021, 09:55 AM

Only the Galatasaray tie is tough. Rijeka are a much better side than LASK if anything last night is to go by. They looked a really poor side.

Aye I know they had good results in Europe last year or the year before. But they were shocking last night.

20-08-2021, 09:59 AM
Not really when you consider they got papped by Galatasaray and still got a chance at LASK. So it was pretty easy to get past Galatasaray, win or lose they got another shot at qualifying for a group stage

20-08-2021, 10:02 AM
What a load of *****, you must be a hoot at parties...

What, so next year do you think we should just rock up and hope we get a better draw?

FWIW I'm happy with almost everything Hibs are doing at the moment.

I was hacked off at the European failure, and still am, because I don't think we were adequately prepared. I think Jack Ross probably agrees, and the money that doing well in Europe can generate could go a very long way, so it was a defeat that stung.

For those who say Rijeka are a decent side - yes, they probably are. We're not far from being better than them, but to go into games like that in future with confidence, we'll need to improve, not moan about draws.

20-08-2021, 10:15 AM

I think there is truth in this. If we'd taken our chances in the first game we could have approached the second tie differently. The sending off changed the second tie completely and if we'd had the CF in by then that Ross himself said we needed things might have played out differently.

It's definitely a bad day at the office, but it was a difficult tie also which played it's part in those things happening. Like yourself I'm disappointed as I don't think we gave a true reflection of this team's abilities but we're continuing to recruit, something we've done well so far so if it takes a bit longer to get the right guy then I'm okay with that.

20-08-2021, 01:14 PM
What, so next year do you think we should just rock up and hope we get a better draw?

FWIW I'm happy with almost everything Hibs are doing at the moment.

I was hacked off at the European failure, and still am, because I don't think we were adequately prepared. I think Jack Ross probably agrees, and the money that doing well in Europe can generate could go a very long way, so it was a defeat that stung.

For those who say Rijeka are a decent side - yes, they probably are. We're not far from being better than them, but to go into games like that in future with confidence, we'll need to improve, not moan about draws.

A better draw would help, of course it would - especially if we are going to compare how we have done against other Scottish teams who had easier draws.

Unfortunately in recruitment you can't just have everything you want in place for a particular time that is still early in the window. What we will be trying to do is make improvements in the squad each window so that you have more good players already here when we play those ties, hopefully, next year.

20-08-2021, 05:16 PM

Yeah but Saints lost the first game however had the escape route.

20-08-2021, 05:18 PM
Raith v Dunfermline on BBC1 Scotland channel tonight, 7.45pm ko

20-08-2021, 06:43 PM
Rovers v Pars game might be off before it's even started. Floodlight failure.

20-08-2021, 06:43 PM
Game might not go ahead cos the floodlights aren’t working