View Full Version : Match Updates 2021-22 season non-Hibs games thread
04-09-2021, 08:09 PM
I think Nisbet did pretty well. Certainly not poor.
04-09-2021, 08:10 PM
Yeah, but Denmark are 0-0 with the Faeroes :greengrin
This is true :greengrin
04-09-2021, 08:11 PM
Moldova are absolutely dreadful. We've been really poor but missed 3 sitters. It's hard when 2 of your best players are toiling as in Robertson and Tierney.
Not Nisbet’s best game I thought
No it wasnt but i think alot of that was the lack of synergy between Dykes and Nisbo. Dykes is a championship striker with a bang average championship club. Nisbet has to have more promise than Dykes surely? He's short on ability and doesnt think like an international striker for me. Very very moderate. Nibo represents hope, Dykes doesnt. Would like to have seen Kev playing alongside McAdams.
We’re so poor in the final third. Lack of real quality in that area. Should be cruising here.
04-09-2021, 08:12 PM
Agree, thought he has done well
04-09-2021, 08:13 PM
Agree. His movement was good all night. Two good passes as well as a couple of times he could have done better.
Crap performance from Scotland though. Really poor team.
H18S NX
04-09-2021, 08:14 PM
Honestly,I would have took Nisbet off too,followed by Dykes.
04-09-2021, 08:14 PM
This is true :greengrin
they seem to be holding Scotland to a single goal quite comfortably…..
04-09-2021, 08:16 PM
Gilmore/Robertson off for Cooper and McLean on
04-09-2021, 08:16 PM
Callum McGregor is one of the most overrated players to play for Scotland ever. Everything about him is just so dull. From his lack of creativity,to his inability to grow facial hair and his crap haircut.
04-09-2021, 08:17 PM
Winning 1-0 at home to the team bottom of the group (below the Faroe Islands), with people like Dykes as one of our mainstays.
Incredible stuff.
Davy Mac
04-09-2021, 08:18 PM
We are so timid and passive, we look like we cannae be ersed. Soccer Aid on ITV is more interesting than this lot.
04-09-2021, 08:18 PM
Ally McCoist my man of the match for trying to remain positive.
04-09-2021, 08:19 PM
hope we can hold on here
04-09-2021, 08:20 PM
We are so timid and passive, we look like we cannae be ersed. Soccer Aid on ITV is more interesting than this lot.
If we lose to Austria on Tuesday I think that will be the beginning of the end for Clarke. The two penalty wins in the play off have carried him this far - Tuesday is huge for him.
Davy Mac
In fact,the teams performance is a reflection of the Managers personality.
Such a ***** game. So far from being anywhere near a 'Team' despite having some of the best individual players we've had in years. How is Christie still on? He's gash.
04-09-2021, 08:21 PM
Clarke ain't going anywhere for a few years at least
Such a ***** game. So far from being anywhere near a 'Team' despite having some of the best individual players we've had in years. How is Christie still on? He's gash.
On paper we should be so much better. As you say, we’ve got a squad that individually is the best in years. I know he got us to the Euros but in some respects I’d say we are underperforming under him.
CloudSquall
Book yourself a wee weekend away to Drogheda, maybe bring that up in the boozer?
Sure will do, thanks for the tip :thumbsup:
04-09-2021, 08:22 PM
If we lose to Austria on Tuesday I think that will be the beginning of the end for Clarke. The two penalty wins in the play off have carried him this far - Tuesday is huge for him.
I have to agree, Clarke should be doing better with the calibre of players at his disposal, he appears far to timid in team selection and tactics , if he departed after tonight’s game I wouldn’t be fussed
In fact,the teams performance is a reflection of the Managers personality.
A miserable git whose teams play eye bleeding football.
love the mobile light show
:saltireflag
approx 35k tonight
04-09-2021, 08:24 PM
I have to agree, Clarke should be doing better with the calibre of players at his disposal, he appears far to timid in team selection and tactics , if he departed after tonight’s game I wouldn’t be fussed
No idea who would replace him though.....
04-09-2021, 08:24 PM
Turnbull coming on for Dykes
04-09-2021, 08:25 PM
Clarke ain't going anywhere for a few years at least
Correct, just signed a new contract.....
Turnbull coming on for Dykes
Turnbull should have been on earlier. Can't expect him to do much in 5 and a half minutes.
I've been that bored watching this that I've been onto NHS Scotland and downloaded my Covid passport to my phone cause I've a gig at the Usher hall on the 18th and made some crackers and cheese. So many decent players but unlike say England they just don't seem to be able to gel as a team.
04-09-2021, 08:27 PM
We've have been insipid against bottom of the bin opposition. If Nisbet wanted an opportunity to show his talent, this was as good as any but was ineffective and just not good enough. Horrible stuff from the national side, yet again.
Still on...
In agreement with the rest of the guys who've been saying Clarke has been given an easy time for a while now thanks to qualifying. Not easy on the eye and you know any decent side should be able to turn us over without leaving second gear.
There he is. Loves smashing the ball over the bar.
Turnbull should have been on earlier. Can't expect him to do much in 5 and a half minutes.
a pet hate of mines, no chance to have any effect on the game
christie fluffs our latest chance
ridiculous
Magpie
04-09-2021, 08:28 PM
These Soccer aid teams would give Scotland a game.
On paper we should be so much better. As you say, we’ve got a squad that individually is the best in years. I know he got us to the Euros but in some respects I’d say we are underperforming under him.
Even when you look at the subs we’ve brought on it’s the captain of Celtic, the captain of Leeds, one of the best young players in Scotland and a Premier League striker.
Clarke’s no getting enough from them but at the same time he can’t put the ball in the net for them. There’s another shocker from Christie as I type.
Correct, just signed a new contract.....
if the qualifiers are gone by the end of next week ,as seems likely , not sure he will be around for much longer
04-09-2021, 08:30 PM
Denmark score
H18S NX
Commentator said since the start of the euro's we have had 41 attempts at goal,and scored 1,say's it all really.
Is there something wrong with me, I thought we would win this by at least four
04-09-2021, 08:32 PM
We've have been insipid against bottom of the bin opposition. If Nisbet wanted an opportunity to show his talent, this was as good as any but was ineffective and just not good enough. Horrible stuff from the national side, yet again.Knock Nisbet if you want, but for me Scotland have been poorer in attack since he was hooked.
04-09-2021, 08:32 PM
Knock Nisbet if you want, but for me Scotland have been poorer in attack since he was hoojef.
04-09-2021, 08:33 PM
No mate, we should be easily scoring 3+ goals against pub teams like this. Shocking stuff.
04-09-2021, 08:35 PM
Moldova 175th in the world rankings
04-09-2021, 08:35 PM
You didn’t factor in The Clarke personality
Non existent And seems to rub off on the players
04-09-2021, 08:36 PM
pheeeeew FT stunning victory
some of these players need to take a look at themselves for not taking simple chances
Austria will be fired up against us
Knock Nisbet if you want, but for me Scotland have been poorer in attack since he was hooked.
Facts speak fir themselves he set a goal up when on We haven’t scored since he went off
You didn’t factor in The Clarke personality
Non existent And seems to rub off on the players
Oh how true is that!
04-09-2021, 08:37 PM
Say what you want about the scoreline but after tonight's results qualification is more than back on.
More entertainment in the Soccer Aid game.
I didn’t even watch the game as most games when he has been in charge have been a turgid watch
04-09-2021, 08:38 PM
More entertainment in the Soccer Aid game.
They’d probably beat Scotland as well.
04-09-2021, 08:38 PM
Pretty grim stuff but decent night for us with Austria losing.
04-09-2021, 08:39 PM
Knock Nisbet if you want, but for me Scotland have been poorer in attack since he was hooked.
Doesn't come close to proving he's international quality. We need better at this level.
A win that feels like a loss in some ways in the bizarre psychology of football. Totally underwhelming.
Say what you want about the scoreline but after tonight's results qualification is more than back on.
Really………..
Austria will beat us comfortably at home , then that’s the Ba burst
Nisbet whilst no great shakes was the reason for most of our attacks. Involved an a good few one two's that should've been put away.
I'd have kept him on and taken of Dykes.
04-09-2021, 08:40 PM
5-2 Israel what a scoreline that is
Pretty grim stuff but decent night for us with Austria losing.
Israel have caused us all sorts of problems so wouldn’t read too much into it
I didn’t even watch the game as most games when he has been in charge have been a turgid watch
And when we are under the cosh?
04-09-2021, 08:42 PM
It's hard to get enthusiastic about the National Team when you see such a miserable 90 minutes.
Davy Mac
04-09-2021, 08:43 PM
Really………..
Austria will beat us comfortably at home , then that’s the Ba burst
Goundhog day.
Very little individual magic encouraged in this team, typical Scottish mentality - keep to the system and do the basics - aye ok then.
04-09-2021, 08:43 PM
Nisbet whilst no great shakes was the reason for most of our attacks. Involved an a good few one two's that should've been put away.
I'd have kept him on and taken of Dykes.
Completely agree, Nisbet has a much better footballing brain than Dykes who is pretty much one dimensional and is hardly prolific at putting the ball in the net
04-09-2021, 08:45 PM
Completely agree, Nisbet has a much better footballing brain than Dykes who is pretty much one dimensional and is hardly prolific at putting the ball in the net
I didn’t think either of them were particularly good tonight tbh …..Adams looked brighter in his short cameo …
And there you have it, that says it all.
04-09-2021, 08:47 PM
Honestly thought Nisbet was decent and we looked poorer when he went off.
But can't see us getting anything away to Austria on Tuesday and wouldn't bet on us beating Israel at home after that.
Disappointing as it seems like normal service resumed after qualifying for the Euros. Frustrating as we have a really good squad of players to choose from.
04-09-2021, 08:49 PM
Missed 4 sitters and never looked like conceding. That's the positives, if you change missing sitters to creating good chances. But so many negatives that I'm not even going to go there.
norhfc
04-09-2021, 08:49 PM
Thought Nisbet was doing ok, pretty obvious we just can’t score in fact we didn’t come close. On to Tuesday, we need to go for it or it will be just another subdued defeat.
Magpie
04-09-2021, 08:51 PM
Scotland will come 4th.
mcohibs
04-09-2021, 08:51 PM
Thought Nisbet was doing ok, pretty obvious we just can’t score in fact we didn’t come close. On to Tuesday, we need to go for it or it will be just another subdued defeat.
We scored.
04-09-2021, 08:52 PM
Kris Boyd sounds like he is getting his Scotland career mixed up with Denis Law’s. Tube.
EdinburghHibern
04-09-2021, 08:54 PM
How much longer should Steve Clarke be given?
Take the penalty shoot-out win out and he has been bang average.
04-09-2021, 08:54 PM
Kris Boyd sounds like he is getting his Scotland career mixed up with Denis Law’s. Tube.
Boyd is a lot of things, mainly a massive weapon. But he has a good scoring record for Scotland. Even if two of his goals were against the Faroe's
04-09-2021, 08:57 PM
Best thing about that game was seeing Nisbet come off in one piece.
04-09-2021, 08:59 PM
He'll get the rest of this qualifying campaign. When we drop points in the first 3 or 4 games of the Euro qualifiers then he'll get punted with an additional pay off thanks to the new contract.
Everything is condensed into a 3 year cycle this time around so I think he'll go around June 2023.
04-09-2021, 09:03 PM
Overall performance was decent although the finishing was very poor. Most important thing was to take the 3 points though so job done.
I think that big Israel win over Austria could be one of the most important results in the group. In the second round of fixtures Israel play away to Denmark (on Tuesday) and then in Glasgow and in Austria so I can see them falling away. I think Austria are our biggest challengers for 2nd still and their points and goal difference just took a beating. Roll on Tuesday.
04-09-2021, 09:08 PM
Boyd is a lot of things, mainly a massive weapon. But he has a good scoring record for Scotland. Even if two of his goals were against the Faroe's
What is his record?
hhibs
04-09-2021, 09:08 PM
I didn’t think either of them were particularly good tonight tbh …..Adams looked brighter in his short cameo …
Not the way I saw it.
04-09-2021, 09:09 PM
Patterson and Gilmour were the 2 best players on the park tonight.
Clarke will still pick O’Donnell over Patterson for Tuesday.
04-09-2021, 09:09 PM
Did I hear right that he has Austin McPhee on his staff?
04-09-2021, 09:11 PM
What is his record?
18 caps, 7 goals, mostly in either meaningless games or against pish opposition.
04-09-2021, 09:12 PM
As long as I can remember Scotland has never had a team who can blow teams away, this is a Moldovan side who lost 8-0 in Denmark. A win is a win, that's about it for Scotland. We are not good enough to beat teams convincingly.
04-09-2021, 09:17 PM
One of the best Scottish strikers of all time. His stats don't lie. Still a hun prick though.
04-09-2021, 09:17 PM
18 caps, 7 goals, mostly in either meaningless games or against pish opposition.
Not Denis Law then or the battering ram of a striker he would have us think.. Thanks for that J.
04-09-2021, 09:18 PM
One of the best Scottish strikers of all time. His stats don't lie. Still a hun prick though.
18 caps?
04-09-2021, 09:22 PM
Not Denis Law then or the battering ram of a striker he would have us think.. Thanks for that J.
He is well within his rights to criticise tonight though.
04-09-2021, 09:25 PM
He is well within his rights to criticise tonight though.
Not based on his own exploits but within his rights? Of course.
04-09-2021, 09:27 PM
He's not even close. John McGinn already has more international goals than Boyd from midfield.
04-09-2021, 09:28 PM
Not based on his own exploits but within his rights? Of course.
He might be a fud, but his goal record for Scotland is pretty good, all things considered. I think he can criticise with authority tonight.
04-09-2021, 09:36 PM
Did I hear right that he has Austin McPhee on his staff?
Yes, as do Aston Villa. He clearly is highly valued as a coach.
04-09-2021, 09:37 PM
He might be a fud, but his goal record for Scotland is pretty good, all things considered. I think he can criticise with authority tonight.
Baws. Wiki has him scoring a couple in the Kirin cup, a couple against the Faroes and the other three in friendlies sometime after refusing to play for Scotland again. You’re right though, he speaks with the authority of a fud.
04-09-2021, 09:39 PM
If I was a betting man I would place a significant sum of money on us not qualifying.
Not good enough.
04-09-2021, 09:42 PM
Yes, as do Aston Villa. He clearly is highly valued as a coach.
This valued as a coach thing, jeez.. Cathro earlier this week, McPhee on the Scotland staff, I see wee Gollum in there tonight as well….let’s get Levein out the crapper..
And there you have it, that says it all.
04-09-2021, 09:46 PM
Baws. Wiki has him scoring a couple in the Kirin cup, a couple against the Faroes and the other three in friendlies sometime after refusing to play for Scotland again. You’re right though, he speaks with the authority of a fud.
You are talking baws on this. He has still scored more for his country than tonight's three Scotland strikers have in total despite Boyd playing 13 games less than the 3 of them overall. There are plenty of occasions to have a go at Boyd the fud. Tonight isn't one of them.
04-09-2021, 09:48 PM
Does a honking advert for a Portland mattress company count as an achievement at international level?
04-09-2021, 09:49 PM
Not even close. Look at Hbs legend Lawrie Reilly and compare.
04-09-2021, 09:51 PM
You are talking baws on this. He has still scored more for his country than tonight's three Scotland strikers have in total despite Boyd playing 13 games less than the 3 of them overall. There are plenty of occasions to have a go at Boyd the fud. Tonight isn't one of them.
I know the level I want strikers scoring at. He didn’t do it at that level any better than the three tonight have.
(I’ll have a go at him any time I fancy by the way)
04-09-2021, 09:55 PM
I know the level I want strikers scoring at. He didn’t do it at that level any better than the three tonight have.
By all means do! He's a total specimen of a human being. But if it's one thing I think he's qualified in having an opinion on in it's the strikers role.
04-09-2021, 09:57 PM
Will ye aye :banana:
04-09-2021, 09:57 PM
By all means do! He's a total specimen of a human being. But if it's one thing I think he's qualified in having an opinion on in it's the strikers role.
04-09-2021, 10:03 PM
By all means do! He's a total specimen of a human being. But if it's one thing I think he's qualified in having an opinion on in it's the strikers hole.
Fixed that for you.
04-09-2021, 10:03 PM
Will ye aye :banana:
Aye.
04-09-2021, 10:30 PM
I’m sure he means in the domestic game. His record at club level is pretty impressive.
04-09-2021, 10:51 PM
But if it's one thing I think he's qualified in having an opinion on in it's the strikers role.
Theres some rhyming slang in here I’m guessing.
04-09-2021, 10:59 PM
Theres some rhyming slang in here I’m guessing.
... 'It's being an ********'? In which case I agree
cannastar
04-09-2021, 11:27 PM
just watched the soccer aid game and darren fletcher still got it. also impressed by martin compston his passing was imensse think he hardly wasted a ball. can see how he was on mortons books as a youngster very good player. similar height to scotlands best player tonight billy gilmour think we have a right player in him and patterson looks exciting also both just play naturally and with no fear. credit to steve clarke if he is letting them play that way its about time scotland had a coach who realised we will never match the more technically gifted teams but just let our players express themselves never did baxter law or dagliesh any harm at international level.
04-09-2021, 11:39 PM
Honestly thought Nisbet was decent and we looked poorer when he went off.
But can't see us getting anything away to Austria on Tuesday and wouldn't bet on us beating Israel at home after that.
Disappointing as it seems like normal service resumed after qualifying for the Euros. Frustrating as we have a really good squad of players to choose from.
Nisbet was handed a great opportunity tonight, by a manager who clearly rates him. I was at the game & to be honest, he was very poor. That the team performance got worse as the game went on is not in doubt, but I don't think the removal of a totally ineffective forward had much to do with that. If he wasn't a Hibs player, hard to imagine anyone would be complimenting him on tonight's showing.
04-09-2021, 11:47 PM
Mueller is playing for Orlando live on Sky sports football. We have been mentioned a few times only 8 mins gone.
04-09-2021, 11:50 PM
Nisbet was handed a great opportunity tonight, by a manager who clearly rates him. I was at the game & to be honest, he was very poor. That the team performance got worse as the game went on is not in doubt, but I don't think the removal of a totally ineffective forward had much to do with that. If he wasn't a Hibs player, hard to imagine anyone would be complimenting him on tonight's showing.
You honestly think Clarke clearly rates Nisbet? I suppose we'll find out on Tuesday!
Other than that I hope you at least had a good night after the game! 🙂👍
05-09-2021, 12:09 AM
Mueller scores. Oh no been given to guy who put cross in.
05-09-2021, 12:31 AM
Mueller has looked OK in the first half
Hulk1875
05-09-2021, 12:42 AM
Might be at bit biased but Nisbet nice wee ball for first goal then also another pass to set up gilmour in second half which he should have finished more than some of the players on the team
Hulk1875
05-09-2021, 01:10 AM
3-2 Orlando only just put it on look comfortable
Passing ball about. Mueller won’t be out of place in our hibs team who like to play football
05-09-2021, 08:45 AM
Might be at bit biased but Nisbet nice wee ball for first goal then also another pass to set up gilmour in second half which he should have finished more than some of the players on the team
That would be my view. Linked the play up well. Like the team his performance dipped in the second half however personally thought he did ok but came off at the right time. Don't think he was very poor at all.
rossevenil
05-09-2021, 08:46 AM
Lack of creativity going forward other than driving runs by SJM from midfield and Robertson down the left.
Young Gilmour having to come far to deep to pick up and build,lad shouldn`t be having to come so deep to do his work....
Can someone tell me how the hell Ryan Christie stayed on the park ??? Did he actually do anything in the 1st 75mins before I heard him being fouled?
Nisbet while not looking particularly threatening in the end created the goal with a lovely through ball for Patterson and also a couple of other nice pieces of play,while Dykes despite being the game winner for me seemed to be fairly hopeless with touch and bringing others into play.And i`m not suggesting Nisbet was that much better but why not try him with Adams for the last 20...
It was a god awful watch and looked more to me like a get a goal and make sure we don`t concede performance.....better hope we aren`t in a position requiring goal difference at the end of the day as guaranteed the others will take more than 1-0 at home against Moldova!
Awful to watch
05-09-2021, 09:05 AM
He scored more than Henrik Larrson in Scotland to be fair
05-09-2021, 09:05 AM
He's not even close. John McGinn already has more international goals than Boyd from midfield.
Not meaning for Scotland but in general
05-09-2021, 09:22 AM
He scored more than Henrik Larrson in Scotland to be fair
Ok thought we were talking about international records.
05-09-2021, 09:35 AM
5 big games left to try and secure a runners up spot. 4 points from next 2 are a must as a min
Austria away - Tuesday
Israel at home 9th October
Faroes away 12th October
Moldova away 12th November
Denmark home 15th November
How do the play offs work, if we get 2nd?
05-09-2021, 09:40 AM
5 big games left to try and secure a runners up spot. 4 points from next 2 are a must as a min
Austria away - Tuesday
Faroes away 12th October
If we win the next two that'll be us. Easy task right enough.
05-09-2021, 09:41 AM
If we win the next two that'll be us. Easy task right enough.
That’s one way to look at it
Mikey_1875
05-09-2021, 09:41 AM
Austria away - Tuesday
Faroes away 12th October
10 runners up join the 2 best nations league places and go into 3 groups of 4 for a semi final/final with the winner of each group getting to the finals.
05-09-2021, 09:52 AM
Austria away - Tuesday
Faroes away 12th October
Here is the link to it. 10 runners ups in the group plus two nation league teams split into three pathways of 4 teams made up of single game semi finals and finals. The winner of each route qualifies for World Cup. Think the home teams for the semi final is based on the 6 teams with the best runner up group record.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA)
05-09-2021, 11:12 AM
Here is the link to it. 10 runners ups in the group plus two nation league teams split into three pathways of 4 teams made up of single game semi finals and finals. The winner of each route qualifies for World Cup. Think the home teams for the semi final is based on the 6 teams with the best runner up group record.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA)
Noticed play off dates aren’t until March 2022. If Scotland were to get to them, wonder what the spfl would do for the following seasons fixtures?
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_–_UEFA_Second_Ro und
05-09-2021, 11:21 AM
I was out this morning and watched a bit of a game, young lads maybe 12 or 13. Watching and listening to one coach in particular was a grim spectacle.
Opposing team tried a through ball, deflected off a defender and ran through to the keeper. Keeper took a touch and was greeted with a shout of 'pick it up, that's no a pass back'. Keeper took another touch. Same shout. Keeper then pinged a lovely 40 yard cross field pass right to feet, player was able to take it right in his stride. Cue Jurgen Klopps Scottish cousin. '**** was that? Nae passes across the goal. Get it picked up and get it in the ****ing mixer.'
WTF is that about? Give that guy 6 months and he'll have knocked all the football out of that young lad. You watch top teams now playing triangle passes inside their own 6 yard box and we have a guy barking out prehistoric beliefs about not passing across your own goal. How can we expect players to cope with that as adults if they don't do it as kids? No wonder we look miles behind so many other countries technically.
Young lads should be actively encouraged to pass the ball in tight areas, keep it short and express themselves. If they lose the ball and lose a goal why should it matter? Get the ball down and try it again and again. It won't happen though because some parents won't accept their kids team losing and coaches like that guy today are the same. The irony is they would end up with a lot more to be proud of if they could put their short term competitive nature to one side. At 17/18/19 by all means play to win. If you develop the technical aspect at that younger age you will be able to do it with a bit of swagger and style.
05-09-2021, 11:23 AM
U21's game live on BBC Tuesday 17:30.
Few Hibs players in the squad.
05-09-2021, 11:37 AM
12 and 13 year olds playing football should firstly be about being outside having fun with your pals and getting exercise. I know that there has to be a winning element to it but it's not the be all and end all at that age. Kids who have a bit of talent will stand out anyway.
05-09-2021, 11:51 AM
I was out this morning and watched a bit of a game, young lads maybe 12 or 13. Watching and listening to one coach in particular was a grim spectacle.
Opposing team tried a through ball, deflected off a defender and ran through to the keeper. Keeper took a touch and was greeted with a shout of 'pick it up, that's no a pass back'. Keeper took another touch. Same shout. Keeper then pinged a lovely 40 yard cross field pass right to feet, player was able to take it right in his stride. Cue Jurgen Klopps Scottish cousin. '**** was that? Nae passes across the goal. Get it picked up and get it in the ****ing mixer.'
WTF is that about? Give that guy 6 months and he'll have knocked all the football out of that young lad. You watch top teams now playing triangle passes inside their own 6 yard box and we have a guy barking out prehistoric beliefs about not passing across your own goal. How can we expect players to cope with that as adults if they don't do it as kids? No wonder we look miles behind so many other countries technically.
Young lads should be actively encouraged to pass the ball in tight areas, keep it short and express themselves. If they lose the ball and lose a goal why should it matter? Get the ball down and try it again and again. It won't happen though because some parents won't accept their kids team losing and coaches like that guy today are the same. The irony is they would end up with a lot more to be proud of if they could put their short term competitive nature to one side. At 17/18/19 by all means play to win. If you develop the technical aspect at that younger age you will be able to do it with a bit of swagger and style.
If the guy has his first couple of badges, he’ll have been taught to teach expressive skills exactly as you describe. Whether he did his standard or goalie pathway. Unfortunately sometimes folk either forget or weren’t listening in the first place, the SFA content is actually spot on.
05-09-2021, 11:52 AM
Ladies 2-0 up against Spartans in the opening league fixture (HT)
05-09-2021, 11:56 AM
I believe Ethan Laidlaw has scored a hat-trick for the u17s against Wales. Game still on going
Mikey_1875
05-09-2021, 12:08 PM
Definitely believe that the SFA are now teaching the right things and it’s more of a mentality issue among the public/coaches these days. It might be another generation or two before it starts to take full effect. You only need to look at the laughter in the stands as an example when the Andorran mob came to ER and they had both centre halves either side of the keeper when a bye kick was being taken trying to build out from the back. It is ingrained in them to play like that regardless of ability.
Im certainly not an advocate of full tiki taka and quite enjoy teams playing with a mix of building from the back and long raking diagonals, it’s the best way to keep the opposition guessing as well imo. There are a lot of amateur coaches in the country doing the right things but examples like the one further up at youth level are embarrassing and is why we still have a fair bit to go before we start to emulate the successes of other similar sized countries.
05-09-2021, 12:36 PM
Definitely believe that the SFA are now teaching the right things and it’s more of a mentality issue among the public/coaches these days. It might be another generation or two before it starts to take full effect. You only need to look at the laughter in the stands as an example when the Andorran mob came to ER and they had both centre halves either side of the keeper when a bye kick was being taken trying to build out from the back. It is ingrained in them to play like that regardless of ability.
Im certainly not an advocate of full tiki taka and quite enjoy teams playing with a mix of building from the back and long raking diagonals, it’s the best way to keep the opposition guessing as well imo. There are a lot of amateur coaches in the country doing the right things but examples like the one further up at youth level are embarrassing and is why we still have a fair bit to go before we start to emulate the successes of other similar sized countries.
For all the sfa teach the right things, they courses, certainly up to 1.3 aren't very good.
In addition, people are predisposed to coach how they were coached. Unfortunately a lot of people were coached badly and Unfortunately continue that trend.
davhibby
05-09-2021, 12:55 PM
Noticed play off dates aren’t until March 2022. If Scotland were to get to them, wonder what the spfl would do for the following seasons fixtures?
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/2022_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_–_UEFA_Second_Ro und
The premiership won’t be playing for the majority of November/December whether Scotland are in the World Cup or not.
alhibby
05-09-2021, 02:54 PM
Belarus 2 Wales 3, Gareth Bale Hat Trick, 2 penalties and a 93rd minute winner
Great result for Wales
05-09-2021, 03:27 PM
Great result for Wales
Was a very good result, they could have and should have been dead and burried at halftime.
05-09-2021, 03:29 PM
If the guy has his first couple of badges, he’ll have been taught to teach expressive skills exactly as you describe. Whether he did his standard or goalie pathway. Unfortunately sometimes folk either forget or weren’t listening in the first place, the SFA content is actually spot on.
Once you've passed your badges you don't have to teach the content any more. It's an issue I see a lot of and it annoys me greatly.
05-09-2021, 04:11 PM
nothing serious i hope, as long as he's fit and raring to go in january :)
Magpie
05-09-2021, 05:26 PM
Bale putting a lot of doubters to shame, also a regular in the Madrid team this season. Far from finished.
Got to wonder what the problem is with Lingard at Man U, he's been outstanding tonight.
The problem is he doesn’t play against Andorra every week.
There is that but last season he was a standout at West Ham on loan, definitely something up at Man U.
05-09-2021, 05:52 PM
Brazil v Argentina, World Cup qualifier on Premier sports tonight, 8pm ko
05-09-2021, 06:00 PM
He should have joined West Ham permanently IMO. Will be a bit part player at United, he would be a key part of a pretty good West Ham side.
cannastar
05-09-2021, 06:01 PM
is it just me or does anyone else think that alexander arnold should play in the middle of rice/ phillips but in a more forward position as he can spray the ball about just reminds me of beckenbauer at times but obviously his bosses dont see it. i think he is a special player.
05-09-2021, 06:04 PM
is it just me or does anyone else think that alexander arnold should play in the middle of rice/ phillips but in a more forward position as he can spray the ball about just reminds me of beckenbauer at times but obviously his bosses dont see it. i think he is a special player.
He's got a talent no doubt but for me he gives the ball away far too much and defensively pretty average. If he'd have been fit I would have left him out of Englands Euro squad.
05-09-2021, 06:09 PM
There is that but last season he was a standout at West Ham on loan, definitely something up at Man U.
Yeah, hes just not good enough for United. Decent player, but nothing special. Hes competing with Bruno Fernandes for a spot and he just doesn't have a prayer.
05-09-2021, 06:10 PM
Belgium v Czech republic looks the pick of the bunch tonight
05-09-2021, 06:11 PM
Yeah, hes just not good enough for United. Decent player, but nothing special. Hes competing with Bruno Fernandes for a spot and he just doesn't have a prayer.
I like Fernandes but he does seem to have a habit of being non descript in big matches for both United and Portugal.
He showed at W. Ham what he can do when playing against top opposition every week.
05-09-2021, 07:06 PM
Belgium v Czech republic looks the pick of the bunch tonight
I'm on Switzerland v Italy. Decent so far and a great atmosphere in the ground with so many Italian desendants living in Switzerland.
0-0 after 20 minutes
05-09-2021, 07:12 PM
I'm on Switzerland v Italy. Decent so far and a great atmosphere in the ground with so many Italian desendants living in Switzerland.
0-0 after 20 minutes
1-0 Belgium, started off watching switzerland v italy as i couldn't find Belgium v Czech game then found it on hes***l, now switching between those two games plus Brazil v Argentina, no doubt i'l miss most of any goals doing that :)
The Tubs
05-09-2021, 07:13 PM
Apparently the Argentinians locked themselves in the dressing room so the players who hadn’t completed quarantine couldn’t be pulled out. We now have chaos on the pitch as the health authorities interrupt the game.
05-09-2021, 07:16 PM
wow brazilian government officials on the pitch trying to deport(or at least quarantine) argentinian players lol deary me
05-09-2021, 07:27 PM
2-0 Belgium 40 mins
backheel flick to the scorer ala scott allan
Magpie
05-09-2021, 07:34 PM
Apparently the Argentinians locked themselves in the dressing room so the players who hadn’t completed quarantine couldn’t be pulled out. We now have chaos on the pitch as the health authorities interrupt the game.
The rules in South America are that anyone arriving from out-with must quarantine for 14 days I believe? If that is so and there is no special permission for professional athletes then they shouldn’t be there.
AugustaHibs
05-09-2021, 07:35 PM
Why are Brazil suddenly giving a **** about covid now?
05-09-2021, 07:35 PM
Switzerland 0 Italy 0 at half time. Fair game. Close to call so far.
05-09-2021, 07:37 PM
Because they are playing Argentina?
05-09-2021, 07:45 PM
Brazil v Argentina about to get abandoned i think
Messi and Neymar swapping tops in the tunnel, they shouldn't need a cycle in the washing machine
AugustaHibs
05-09-2021, 07:47 PM
Because they are playing Argentina?
That’s what I think it is. More political/rivalry than actually caring about the virus
05-09-2021, 07:48 PM
Been saying this for years, but this is one of the reasons why we stagnate as a football nation. At an early age, football should be about playing with your mates and having fun. However, I've seen so many Mr Angry's and Wannabe Mourinho's taking control of the boys football teams at an age when the boys should be developing.
05-09-2021, 07:58 PM
Shocking penalty miss from Italy.
The Tubs
05-09-2021, 08:05 PM
It's the health authority not the federal government so they're technicians who are enforcing the law not politicians who might flout it.
AugustaHibs
05-09-2021, 08:10 PM
It's the health authority not the federal government so they're technicians who are enforcing the law not politicians who might flout it.
Ahh okay makes more sense. I’m just thinking of their bat**** crazy president
05-09-2021, 08:11 PM
3-0 Belgium
only two backheel flicks in the lead up to that goal
05-09-2021, 08:21 PM
Brazil vs Brazil is a cracker
05-09-2021, 08:24 PM
Shocking penalty miss from Italy.
They scored the important ones in July
05-09-2021, 08:42 PM
Italy set record of 36 international games undefeated, they were level with spain before tonight
05-09-2021, 08:51 PM
Been saying this for years, but this is one of the reasons why we stagnate as a football nation. At an early age, football should be about playing with your mates and having fun. However, I've seen so many Mr Angry's and Wannabe Mourinho's taking control of the boys football teams at an age when the boys should be developing.
That's it in a nutshell. No way forward thinking coaches will get away with trying to develop players at the expense of results. The parents soon see to that not to mention the why isn't my laddie playing conundrum. A radical idea would be to only allow a couple of parents from each side thereby virtually eliminating the barracking. Wishful thinking obviously.
05-09-2021, 10:18 PM
That's it in a nutshell. No way forward thinking coaches will get away with trying to develop players at the expense of results. The parents soon see to that not to mention the why isn't my laddie playing conundrum. A radical idea would be to only allow a couple of parents from each side thereby virtually eliminating the barracking. Wishful thinking obviously.
We have "silent sideline" weekends here in the states. Kids tend to enjoy them.
06-09-2021, 10:06 AM
https://twitter.com/thevanaramanl/status/1434815338466709504?s=21
06-09-2021, 08:49 PM
Anyone have the mispleasure of sitting through EFL League 1 game Bolton Vs Burton tonight? Nil Nil with a mnute to go.
Utterly woeful standard. Shocking decision making all over the pitch, slow players, shooting horrendous. Passes to nobody.
Davy Mac
06-09-2021, 09:12 PM
Anyone have the mispleasure of sitting through EFL League 1 game Bolton Vs Burton tonight? Nil Nil with a mnute to go.
Utterly woeful standard. Shocking decision making all over the pitch, slow players, shooting horrendous. Passes to nobody.
Tell you what, there was a better programme about the early days of SKY and Man Utd/Cantona/Fergie etc, honestly, bloody brilliant watch feels like a different world we lived in then. Tears to the eye stuff.
Hibeesforever
06-09-2021, 09:22 PM
Tell you what, there was a better programme about the early days of SKY and Man Utd/Cantona/Fergie etc, honestly, bloody brilliant watch feels like a different world we lived in then. Tears to the eye stuff.
I watched that programme, brilliant seeing the footage of those days...Shearer £3.6 million....Utd couldn't afford him but got lucky with Cantona being available....
06-09-2021, 09:52 PM
Did we not play Blackburn pre season that year
Wakeyhibee
06-09-2021, 11:17 PM
Did we not play Blackburn pre season that year
Yes 3-0 Hibs
Souter96Mac
07-09-2021, 07:05 AM
Massive game for Scotland tonight, win and it could well put us in the driving seat for 2nd, as Israel are away to Denmark.
Unfortunately Scotland don't tend to win these big games, but hopefully we can tonight.
My team would be:
Gordon
Hendry Hanley Tierney
O'Donnell McGinn Gilmour McGregor Robertson
Dykes Adams
But I don't think Clarke will start two strikers.
07-09-2021, 07:08 AM
More concerned about Nisbet playing than anything else.
07-09-2021, 07:32 AM
Massive game for Scotland tonight, win and it could well put us in the driving seat for 2nd, as Israel are away to Denmark.
Unfortunately Scotland don't tend to win these big games, but hopefully we can tonight.
My team would be:
Gordon
Hendry Hanley Tierney
O'Donnell McGinn Gilmour McGregor Robertson
Dykes Adams
But I don't think Clarke will start two strikers.
I think that will be the team to be honest.
Numptie
07-09-2021, 09:37 AM
The boys are really up for it tonight - lets no get beat. That's a great attitude to a game that many have said is a 'must win' if we are to come second.
JammyDoidger
07-09-2021, 11:02 AM
Boyle not in squad for Australia v Vietnam, not sure why he couldn't have just come home. Seems unnecessary travelling to Vietnam to not even make the bench.
07-09-2021, 11:05 AM
World Cup Qualifier
Azerbaijan v Portugal
Kick Off 5pm
Sky Sports
07-09-2021, 11:06 AM
Boyle not in squad for Australia v Vietnam, not sure why he couldn't have just come home. Seems unnecessary travelling to Vietnam to not even make the bench.
Very concerning for us.
07-09-2021, 11:08 AM
Glad of that suppose they maybe wanted to give him a chance and the fact he was appearing to be training suggests that however wouldn't like to think he had aggravated training on it. Hopefully ok for Sunday however we will see about that. Certainly wouldn't be gambling him on Sunday.
JammyDoidger
07-09-2021, 11:11 AM
Very concerning for us.
He's no even Australian too, that makes it worse!
07-09-2021, 02:50 PM
I agree but not sure we can insist he comes back unless injury is so bad he can’t play and needs treatment
Said it was 50/50 if he would play or not so I guess they wanted to give him the chance
07-09-2021, 03:15 PM
Ronaldo misses tonight’s match through suspension
07-09-2021, 04:26 PM
Azerbaijan 0 v 1 Portugal
B Silva
07-09-2021, 04:28 PM
Scott and Doig start for Scotland under 21’s
Steven Bradley on the bench for Ayr v Raith, 6pm ko
07-09-2021, 04:29 PM
Under 21 game live on bbc Scotland channel. Just kicking off now.
07-09-2021, 04:31 PM
Azerbaijan 0 v 2 Portugal
An Silva
07-09-2021, 04:40 PM
Fingers crossed both get through the game without an injury!
07-09-2021, 04:42 PM
Under 21 game live on bbc Scotland channel. Just kicking off now.
Nicely worked goal by Scotland, Middleton scores.
07-09-2021, 04:52 PM
Nicely worked goal by Scotland, Middleton scores.
I think he’s kicking on and turning into a decent wee player.
He’s unlikely to get much of a chance at Rangers and I’d like to see us go for him.
It was unfortunate for him that he was with us when he was the last time.
07-09-2021, 05:07 PM
Josh Doig booked
07-09-2021, 05:22 PM
I think he’s kicking on and turning into a decent wee player.
He’s unlikely to get much of a chance at Rangers and I’d like to see us go for him.
It was unfortunate for him that he was with us when he was the last time.
He was absolutely awful here. Can't blame Hecky imo.
07-09-2021, 05:31 PM
Azerbaijan 0 v 3 Portugal
Jota
07-09-2021, 05:37 PM
Scott missed a good chance there
07-09-2021, 05:39 PM
Scott missed a good chance there
Has to at least hit the target! Did well to control the ball though.
07-09-2021, 05:39 PM
How has Scott no scored there ?
Never even hit the target or worked the keeper
Dearie me !
07-09-2021, 05:42 PM
I dont think Scott has had many recent games?
Quite pleased he is getting this match, I think he is looking sharper each game I think.
He is a big laddie, and seems to do quite well in the air - yes he missed that one, but he keeps getting into good positions.
Pleased Scott is getting a game but he looks of the pace a bit.
Missed a bit of a sitter but as I type good turn and shot.
07-09-2021, 05:48 PM
Good again from Scott there. And unlucky not to score. Definitely looking sharper as Green Day pointed out above.
07-09-2021, 05:56 PM
Scottish Championship
Ayr United 0 v 2 Raith Rovers HT
07-09-2021, 05:59 PM
Dan Mackay coming on
07-09-2021, 06:00 PM
3 Hibs players on the park now for the under 21s.
07-09-2021, 06:03 PM
Disaster for Scotland !
1-1
07-09-2021, 06:04 PM
75 mins 1-1
no surprise really
07-09-2021, 06:15 PM
I hope we’ll be offering a pre-contract to Rudden in January.
07-09-2021, 06:23 PM
FT wan-wan
07-09-2021, 06:25 PM
Scottish Championship
Ayr United 0 v 2 Raith Rovers HT
Tait playing for Raith. Bradley subbed on for Ayr. Still 0-2.
07-09-2021, 06:32 PM
Ayr doon t 10
Afolabi sent off
07-09-2021, 06:36 PM
Raith doon t 10
Riley-Snow sent off
07-09-2021, 06:40 PM
Ayr doon t 9
Muirhead sent off
07-09-2021, 06:49 PM
Holland 1 v 0 Turkey
07-09-2021, 07:02 PM
Holland 2 v 0 Turkey
Depay
07-09-2021, 07:09 PM
Odonells absolute awful. Wrong thread
07-09-2021, 07:11 PM
France 1- 0 Finland. Griezmann outside of his foot from 15 yds.
07-09-2021, 07:57 PM
France 1- 0 Finland. Griezmann outside of his foot from 15 yds.2-0 France. Griezmann again from a very tight angle.
(watching in stereo!)
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210907/5e94868fcee2909d587da791e86530e0.jpg
07-09-2021, 09:33 PM
Maybe it was Hecky that got nothing out of him. Can remember he was on the bench in a home Derby. Got 10 mins and looked very good.
07-09-2021, 09:40 PM
He was dreadful here.
He’s definitely the kind of guy that would end up back here and be every bit as bad as first time round imo.
Well suited to smaller teams.
07-09-2021, 09:49 PM
Maybe it was Hecky that got nothing out of him. Can remember he was on the bench in a home Derby. Got 10 mins and looked very good.
I thought he started off pretty well with us but his form dropped off fairly quickly - the whole team was pretty pedestrian at best though.
08-09-2021, 07:32 AM
I remember feeling he never got a decent crack of the whip here and was unlucky with the few chances that he got and was never really truly accepted by the fans being on loan from The Rangers
Anytime I have seen him for Saints and Wee Scotland he has looked lively and dangerous
One turn last night was sublime with his back to goal he flicked the ball over his head deceiving the defence and found himself clean through on goal
One small criticism - often electing to shoot when teammates in better positions to score
Looks like a different player and playing with more confidence than the guy we had
Looks a better option than what we have at the moment either starting or from the bench
Would not have a qualm about starting him on Sunday if still here
:duck:
Highwayman
08-09-2021, 01:54 PM
Noted when checking the Under 21 line up for the game against Turkey that it looked like Josh Doig was listed as LCB with Calvin Ramsay as LB.
To those who watched the game is this how they lined up and how did Josh Doig play.
Also how did James Scott and Dan Mackay perform.
08-09-2021, 02:36 PM
Noted when checking the Under 21 line up for the game against Turkey that it looked like Josh Doig was listed as LCB with Calvin Ramsay as LB.
To those who watched the game is this how they lined up and how did Josh Doig play.
Also how did James Scott and Dan Mackay perform.
Watched the game Ramsay was right back with Josh left back. Montgomery of Celtic was in front of Josh in midfield. Dan didn't get much more than 10 mins. James did ok could have linked the play better few nice touches also missed a very good chance to make it 2 0 when he put it wide. Josh was very good and one of our best players in the game. Decent watch to be fair.
08-09-2021, 05:37 PM
Emma Raducanu through to Semi Final of Tennis US Open 6-3 6-4
08-09-2021, 05:46 PM
Armenia 1 v 1 Liechtenstein FT
green with envy
08-09-2021, 05:46 PM
Bizarre post to add.
08-09-2021, 05:47 PM
Bizarre post to add.
Quiet day :greengrin
08-09-2021, 05:49 PM
Bizarre post to add.
:greengrin I'll let is pass, its an amazing achievement. Hope she wins it.
08-09-2021, 05:57 PM
:greengrin I'll let is pass, its an amazing achievement. Hope she wins it.
Thanks
08-09-2021, 06:57 PM
Italy 1 v 0 Lithuania
08-09-2021, 07:03 PM
Wasn’t overly fussed who won between England and Poland but after listening to the commentary for 15 minutes I hope Poland hump them.Intensely annoying pair of twats.
cannastar
08-09-2021, 07:12 PM
michael smith hearts and northern ireland just comitted a shocking tackle just hope he doesnt do the same to one of ours on sunday. seen players sent off for that type of challenge.
08-09-2021, 07:12 PM
Putting age and cost aside. Hypothetically, if you could sign either Lewandowski or Kane who would you sign?
08-09-2021, 07:14 PM
Grealish has really grown on my since he got decked by the Birmingham fan, however, he seems to be acting like a bit of a knob the last few games. Screaming at the ref and opponents here - not his usual style.
Great result for her bright future if she is well managed, also Jamie Murray through to next round.
08-09-2021, 07:15 PM
Putting age and cost aside. Hypothetically, if you could sign either Lewandowski or Kane who would you sign?
Lewandowski every day of the week and I say that as someone who really rates Kane.
cannastar
08-09-2021, 07:19 PM
bailey peacock farrell the new paul cooper of ipswich town for his penalty saves.
08-09-2021, 07:20 PM
Grealish has really grown on my since he got decked by the Birmingham fan, however, he seems to be acting like a bit of a knob the last few games. Screaming at the ref and opponents here - not his usual style.
He really is a diving git !!
08-09-2021, 07:23 PM
Swiss miss a penalty in Belfast
08-09-2021, 07:24 PM
michael smith hearts and northern ireland just comitted a shocking tackle just hope he doesnt do the same to one of ours on sunday. seen players sent off for that type of challenge.
his keeper got him outta jail there - hopefully his luck runs out Sunday - clogger.
08-09-2021, 07:35 PM
his keeper got him outta jail there - hopefully his luck runs out Sunday - clogger.
Peacock Farrell is on a ridiculous run of form, 4 clean sheets to start the season and 4 penalties faced, all 4 saved too. No chance Sheff Wednesday keep him after his loan period.
08-09-2021, 08:08 PM
Peacock Farrell is on a ridiculous run of form, 4 clean sheets to start the season and 4 penalties faced, all 4 saved too. No chance Sheff Wednesday keep him after his loan period.
Burnley have great keepers, whoever trains them there is doing a good job. Heaton (now away) and Pope both been excellent for them since they got promoted.
08-09-2021, 08:12 PM
Did I just hear the commentator on the NI game say we tried to sign a player (striker) that is at or went to Accrington Stanley? Dione Charles
08-09-2021, 08:14 PM
He has just hobbled off - hope he's out for Sunday
Some goal from Harry Kane, cracker.
08-09-2021, 08:28 PM
He has just hobbled off - hope he's out for Sunday
Aye that would be good
08-09-2021, 08:33 PM
England are a very good team - sadly
08-09-2021, 08:37 PM
1-1 😂😂😂😂